View Full Version : Australian Bigfooty Medal

mcphee_is_a_gun
5 Jan 2006, 17:41
ok guys after every match Australia play this year everyone can vote the best 3 players in there opinion i will give everyone a week after the match to post there 3,2,1 before voting closes for that purticular match. After every match i will tally up all votes recieved and who ever get the most votes all up wil be given the 3 votes the 2nd highest vote count 2 votes and 3rd highest one.

The first match we can vote on is the 3rd test vs South Africa i'll put a thread up at the conclusion of that match.

Thoughts???

Kane McGoodwin
5 Jan 2006, 17:45
Sounds like a good idea to me. Have stickied the thread to see if we get interest from other posters.

Star
5 Jan 2006, 18:32
Yep, good idea.

Even better if the trolls dont get involved.

ben.carbonaro
5 Jan 2006, 18:53
It's unofficial though, will someone be talking to Cricket Australia so an award can be given to the winner?

eddiesmith
5 Jan 2006, 19:03
Sensational idea :thumbsu:

F/D
5 Jan 2006, 19:05
Punter looks the safe bet this test...

ben.carbonaro
5 Jan 2006, 19:09
Sensational idea :thumbsu:

Excellent, did you want me to e-mail CA about this now?

mcphee_is_a_gun
5 Jan 2006, 19:14
Punter looks the safe bet this test...
Probably unless we can get some play tomorrow.

F/D
5 Jan 2006, 19:17
Probably unless we can get some play tomorrow.
Punter MOTS?

mcphee_is_a_gun
5 Jan 2006, 19:26
Punter MOTS?
Yep he probably will be.

Lonie_from_50
5 Jan 2006, 19:39
WTF - I did this like what, 2 months ago...asked if i could have it stickied by you Kane, and completely ignored it :mad:

Lonie_from_50
5 Jan 2006, 19:42
BigFooty Australian Cricketer of the Year (http://bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=206372)

Oh yeah, Kane, sorry bout that, wasn't you who i sent the PM to, was DaveW for the sticky.

MUFC442
5 Jan 2006, 19:50
Excellent, did you want me to e-mail CA about this now?
Try.

starz
5 Jan 2006, 19:50
Most runs in the series will be Ponting.
Most wickets in the series will probably be Warne but Lee is only one or two behind and 90% of Lee's wickets are the top order.

But yea Ponting would be my pick for MOTM & MOTS.

johnnyhoward
5 Jan 2006, 19:59
Try.
Don't worry, Carbs is well connected, one way or another he'll get this award recognised ;)

Mikes4
5 Jan 2006, 20:05
Don't worry, Carbs is well connected, one way or another he'll get this award recognised ;)

Yeah, they might even present it during the Allan Border Medal night. :rolleyes:

ben.carbonaro
5 Jan 2006, 20:06
Try.

I'm writing the e-mail now, but won't get a reply for about a week or so as the CA offices are closed at the moment.

Will post the e-mail here.

ben.carbonaro
5 Jan 2006, 20:06
Yeah, they might even present it during the Allan Border Medal night. :rolleyes:

Don't know how that will work.

ben.carbonaro
5 Jan 2006, 20:10
Dear Cricket Australia,
I am regular poster on the online forums at www.bigfooty.com and in particular, the cricket board.

The other regular posters on the Cricket board have devised an award they wish you to know about.

This is the post introducing it from the user Mcphee_is_a_gun

ok guys after every match Australia play this year everyone can vote the best 3 players in there opinion I will give everyone a week after the match to post there 3,2,1 before voting closes for that particular match. After every match I will tally up all votes received and who ever get the most votes all up will be given the 3 votes the 2nd highest vote count 2 votes and 3rd highest one.

The first match we can vote on is the 3rd test vs. South Africa I’ll put a thread up at the conclusion of that match.

Was wondering if you would be interested in supporting this award and furthermore, allowing a representative from the forums to ward the winning player with the medal or other prize as decided to be appropriate by the cricket board members?

Please let me know ASAP.

Regards,
Ben
==================
Ben Carbonaro
Netball Reporter
Sports Australia Media
Email: benc@itrevolution.com.au

mcphee_is_a_gun
5 Jan 2006, 21:12
Dear Cricket Australia,
I am regular poster on the online forums at www.bigfooty.com and in particular, the cricket board.

The other regular posters on the Cricket board have devised an award they wish you to know about.

This is the post introducing it from the user Mcphee_is_a_gun

ok guys after every match Australia play this year everyone can vote the best 3 players in there opinion I will give everyone a week after the match to post there 3,2,1 before voting closes for that particular match. After every match I will tally up all votes received and who ever get the most votes all up will be given the 3 votes the 2nd highest vote count 2 votes and 3rd highest one.

The first match we can vote on is the 3rd test vs. South Africa I’ll put a thread up at the conclusion of that match.

Was wondering if you would be interested in supporting this award and furthermore, allowing a representative from the forums to ward the winning player with the medal or other prize as decided to be appropriate by the cricket board members?

Please let me know ASAP.

Regards,
Ben
==================
Ben Carbonaro
Netball Reporter
Sports Australia Media
Email: benc@itrevolution.com.au
good stuff mate :thumbsu: not that i think anything will come of it.

pluga_4
5 Jan 2006, 21:13
why don't we line it up with the AB medal voting period ?

which means from the 1st of the vb series finals ?

mcphee_is_a_gun
5 Jan 2006, 21:15
why don't we line it up with the AB medal voting period ?

which means from the 1st of the vb series finals ?
It doesnt really matter does it? I rekon start from this current test as this is the first match we've play this year.

ben.carbonaro
5 Jan 2006, 21:27
good stuff mate :thumbsu: not that i think anything will come of it.

Thanks mate.

I reckon something might come of it.

Lonie_from_50
5 Jan 2006, 21:52
Why are you actually going through sending to Cricket Australia???

On a yearly basis, we start at 3rd test, but on an organised basis, I think it is better we start at the Twenty20 International/VB Series.

mcphee_is_a_gun
5 Jan 2006, 22:06

On a yearly basis, we start at 3rd test, but on an organised basis, I think it is better we start at the Twenty20 International/VB Series.
hmmm... ok looks like we'll start it with the 20/20 match then.

MUFC442
5 Jan 2006, 23:51
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v406/manutd04/crap.jpg

:(

Blues_Man
5 Jan 2006, 23:54
Shouldn't this stuff be on the humour board ?? :D

ben.carbonaro
6 Jan 2006, 00:05

I am going through Cricket Australia because if they recognise it, it means the player who wins it can actually be presented with something.

Rob B
6 Jan 2006, 00:27
Presented with what? :o

eddiesmith
6 Jan 2006, 00:29
Presented with what? :o
I havent decided yet, but obviously if Ponting is going to win then I would be the man to present his 'award' ;) :p

Rob B
6 Jan 2006, 00:30
Has to be Shane Warne. A champion as ever and was the only player to perform all year and not let themselves down in the Ashes :thumbsu:

LarryLong
6 Jan 2006, 05:40
Ben, you forgot to add to your email:

"and while I've got your attention, I'd like to encourage the players to check out BigFooty.com and find out why they are no good and should be dropped from the test side" :)

Mikes4
6 Jan 2006, 06:02
I am going through Cricket Australia because if they recognise it, it means the player who wins it can actually be presented with something.

Couldn't we just get someone to yell to them from the boundary one game and make the presentation that way? Or ask for their autograph and sneakily put it into their pocket? On a serious(if it can be serious) note, I think you'd need to have everyone register as a voter somehow, or else one game you might have 250 people cast votes, the next 32. That seems a bit unfair.

Jaymin
6 Jan 2006, 08:14
And Ben can you also please email the ABC to see if we can have this award printed in the next ABC Cricket Book.

Lonie_from_50
6 Jan 2006, 08:53
Nah, I will write to WISDEN

They will now have reduced it to 4 WISDEN Cricketers of the Year, and then add 1 BIGFOOTY AUSTRALIAN Cricketer of the Year :)

Blues_Man
6 Jan 2006, 10:03
Maybe the ACB will do away with the Allan Border medal altogether and just go with " The Big Footy Posters Medal " with Ben presenting the award every year in his phat pants and diors :thumbsu:

YOTC
6 Jan 2006, 10:08
Maybe we should team up with sportfm905.

I mean we have given them alot of business over the past couple of seasons, its about time they gave us something back (except for calling the cricket) ;)

Lonie_from_50
6 Jan 2006, 10:23
How about BigFooty FM

Ahh, great idea.

Renegade
9 Jan 2006, 12:03
what a joke. Why not go for a TV broadcast, get a few bigfooty skanks to do the red carpet interviews and Ben to read out the votes.

F/D
9 Jan 2006, 16:31
Hahaha lovely thread :D

ben.carbonaro
10 Jan 2006, 10:39
And Ben can you also please email the ABC to see if we can have this award printed in the next ABC Cricket Book.

Will see what I can do.

Received a reply from Cricket Australia today, even if it was a brief reply at least it means they are going to follow what we are doing with this one.

Lachy Pattterson at CA sent me this.

Thanks Ben,

Will keep an eye on the results.

Cheers

Lachy

Public Enquiries | Cricket Australia | www.cricket.com.au

Blues_Man
10 Jan 2006, 18:54
Yup sounds like this concept is going places :thumbsu:

MUFC442
11 Jan 2006, 09:07
Will see what I can do.

Received a reply from Cricket Australia today, even if it was a brief reply at least it means they are going to follow what we are doing with this one.

Lachy Pattterson at CA sent me this.

Thanks Ben,

Will keep an eye on the results.

Cheers

Lachy

Public Enquiries | Cricket Australia | www.cricket.com.au (http://www.cricket.com.au)

Can ask them why Victoria got ripped off in the VB Series by niot having a representative?

ben.carbonaro
11 Jan 2006, 11:15
Lachy would have no idea, he only answers the general e-mails and I doubt if he would ever speak to Mr Hohns.

Rough_Edges
13 Jan 2006, 13:17
Will there be voting for the ODI today?

mcphee_is_a_gun
13 Jan 2006, 14:05
Will there be voting for the ODI today?
Yep i'll post a thread up once the match is finished.

mcphee_is_a_gun
14 Jan 2006, 11:39
Leaderboard After 20/20 Match

3. Damien Martyn
2. Andrew Symonds
1. Nathan Bracken

mcphee_is_a_gun
17 Jan 2006, 16:41
Leaderboard After Game 4 Of VB Series

6. Martyn
6. Lee
4. Symonds
3. Hussey
2. Jaques
1.Mcgrath
1. Bracken
1. Hogg

Star
26 Jan 2006, 18:22
Leaderboard After Game 4 Of VB Series

6. Martyn
6. Lee
4. Symonds
3. Hussey
2. Jaques
1.Mcgrath
1. Bracken
1. Hogg

Who? :mad:

mcphee_is_a_gun
26 Jan 2006, 18:24
Who? :mad:
haha :p votes will be updated later tonight or tomorrow

Star
26 Jan 2006, 18:27
Good job McPhee

And good concept too

Will be good to compare individual game votes to the AB medal

mcphee_is_a_gun
26 Jan 2006, 21:53
Leaderboard After Game 5 Of VB Series

6. Martyn
6. Lee
6. Symonds
3. Hussey
3. Clarke
2. Jaques
1.Mcgrath
2. Bracken
1. Hogg

mcphee_is_a_gun
1 Feb 2006, 15:23
BigFooty Medal Leaderboard after VB Game 8

9. Symonds
7. Lee
6. Martyn
4. Hussey
3. Gilchrist
3. Clarke
3. Hogg
2. Jaques
2. Katich
2. Bracken
1.Mcgrath

jimmy_c8
1 Feb 2006, 15:26
Good job McPhee, keep up the good work mate :thumbsu:

mcphee_is_a_gun
1 Feb 2006, 15:30
Good job McPhee, keep up the good work mate :thumbsu:
my pleasure.

Lonie_from_50
5 Feb 2006, 18:02
Go Roy

Good stuff mcphee!

mcphee_is_a_gun
5 Feb 2006, 18:12
Go Roy

Good stuff mcphee!
thanks mate, friday nights votes will be added tonight or tomorrow.

Sorry guys i'll be back on friday to post the updates.

mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Feb 2006, 19:09
BigFooty Medal Leaderboard after the VB Series

14. Symonds
9. Lee
9. Gilchrist
7. Hussey
7. Martyn
7. Clarke
5. Hogg
5. Katich
4. Ponting
3. Bracken
2. Jaques
1.Mcgrath

Sorry for taking so long fr the update but these are the standing after the VB Series!