View Full Version : VAFA B Section 2006
couchgrinder
6th January 2006, 07:12
Who are the contenders in B Section for 2006 ?
Are Uni Blacks good enough to have a tilt at A Grade in 2007 ?
Will the Old Essendon & SKOBS games be bloodbaths ???
Any goss on latest signings ???
Slay Master G
6th January 2006, 07:29
I think that VAFA should play both OE v. SKOB games at HQ on a Sunday and charge $10 entry, they will pack the place out. There will be blood!!! Right from the 1st bounce in the reserves game until beers at the Anglers Tavern afterwards.
The Big Pineapple is fired up to the point where he only wants to play 2 games this year, against SKOB!
couchgrinder
6th January 2006, 07:40
I heard a rumour Dave Calthorpe could be suiting up a few times this year for OE , I heard he's dropped a few kilos off his rotund guts.
How will Collegians fair this year ?
Slay Master G
6th January 2006, 11:51
I heard a rumour Dave Calthorpe could be suiting up a few times this year for OE , I heard he's dropped a few kilos off his rotund guts.
How will Collegians fair this year ?
A huge chance to go back up I would think, two definite and possibly a 3rd big signings. No losses from last years squad that should have stayed in A Grade.
What club do you align yourself with CG?
couchgrinder
6th January 2006, 12:48
Not really aligned with any partcular club , played for SKOB for a season many years ago after finishing school at SKC but dont really know many blokes down there now. Played in the EDFL for a couple of seasons then discovered I was better at chasing p ssy than a sherrin.
Know a few boys down at Old Essendon and have watched them a bit.
Its just a good standard of footy. Hope to catch a few games in 2006 and see the much anticapated OE v SKOBS, other than that I generally follow any team that plays OX ...
Slay Master G
6th January 2006, 13:46
then discovered I was better at chasing p ssy than a sherrin.
Big call!
You should really get together with Knight Rider and compare notes, he too is a lady killer from way back.
Eddie Woloschek
6th January 2006, 13:50
other than that I generally follow any team that plays OX ...
Gee, you've had some fun watching the Ammos then.
couchgrinder
6th January 2006, 13:56
Gee, you've had some fun watching the Ammos then.
you gotta admit xavs are good but its always satisfying to see the giants get slayed ,it was great to see their cocky club 18s get ko'd in 2005:)
couchgrinder
6th January 2006, 14:00
Big call!
You should really get together with Knight Rider and compare notes, he too is a lady killer from way back.
i've heard about this knight rider bloke , is he the man with the boat ??
Alphonse
6th January 2006, 14:13
i've heard about this knight rider bloke , is he the man with the boat ??
He is indeed the man with the boat.
Interesting choice to go watch OEG if you more interested in chasing tarts. I have been up on Keilor Hill many times and it was like having a sausage sizzle in the middle of the Sahara it was that dry on talent.
Only ones there are few who have managed to extricate themselves from the Snake Pit, longing for a better life than is offered in the valley.
couchgrinder
6th January 2006, 14:21
He is indeed the man with the boat.
Interesting choice to go watch OEG if you more interested in chasing tarts. I have been up on Keilor Hill many times and it was like having a sausage sizzle in the middle of the Sahara it was that dry on talent.
Only ones there are few who have managed to extricate themselves from the Snake Pit, longing for a better life than is offered in the valley.
whats the stock like at NOBSPOBAFC these days ? Will the addition of the big school in ballarat to NOBS lead to more poonaani ?
btw maybe someone could come up with a ladder of all ammo clubs and how they rate re their women supporters ... i seem to remember old scotch to be full of hot looking gold diggers ...
Alphonse
6th January 2006, 14:46
whats the stock like at NOBSPOBAFC these days ? Will the addition of the big school in ballarat to NOBS lead to more poonaani ?
btw maybe someone could come up with a ladder of all ammo clubs and how they rate re their women supporters ... i seem to remember old scotch to be full of hot looking gold diggers ...
You would hope so wouldn't you?
Not sure yet though. I think Collegians lead the table at the moment, Parade would have to be somewhere near the bottom.
Slay Master G
6th January 2006, 14:48
There is no talent at all at NOBs. If the Ballarat boys bring their Nanna's down it will be an improvement.
I have had many a great day at the Gillon, but none of the highlights came from off field endeavours. No wonder the hot dogs served at the Gillon are some of the finest in the VAFA, lots of expertise. (I wonder why the burgers are so good at Elsternwick on A Grade GF day???)
Hence Alphonse is heading off the the greener pastures of Brazil and the Mother Country to relieve years of build up at the Gillon Oval and ventures to the Bratwurst and HotDog Pavilion.
Slay Master G
6th January 2006, 14:54
You would hope so wouldn't you?
Not sure yet though. I think Collegians lead the table at the moment, Parade would have to be somewhere near the bottom.
Refer to above post, the best talent ever seen at a football game bar none was at this years A Grade GF. Was like being at Boutique the quality and ratio was that good. Hence Xavs and UniBlues must be up there. As are Scotch & OM's (pray for a sunny day at the Junction)
Collegians secret is in the canteen, they sure know how to whip up a hot dog in there!
The Big Pineapple
6th January 2006, 14:59
Collegians secret is in the canteen, they sure know how to whip up a hot dog in there!
SMG,
Fletch will kill you if he hears you speaking like that... I've still got the scars to prove it from a dance floor incident at prince.
Oh by the way, Boutique tonight???
TBP
Benny MOF
8th January 2006, 19:28
Go the sharks in '06
brian speaking
8th January 2006, 19:29
No losses from last years squad that should have stayed in A Grade.
You are kidding yourself Heritage. How can you say a club that lost 13 games out of 18 should have stayed in A Grade? Your real test will come this year to see if you guys can win the flag. You are pumping yourselves up about Arnott and co, I must remind you that there are 9 other clubs with their own 'gun' signings.
As we all know, a couple of injuries and it can all go pear shaped.
brian speaking
8th January 2006, 19:30
Go the sharks in '06
Benny, I have heard that Pittsy will line up again this year, any other additions to the Sharks?
Slay Master G
9th January 2006, 07:15
You are kidding yourself Heritage. How can you say a club that lost 13 games out of 18 should have stayed in A Grade? Your real test will come this year to see if you guys can win the flag. You are pumping yourselves up about Arnott and co, I must remind you that there are 9 other clubs with their own 'gun' signings.
Brian Brian Brian
You are a fair clown aren't you? Would really love to know your real identity so that we can sit down & have a chat about life, and sort our little differences in a non-violent manner. Perhaps you could come to the Captain Stabbin boat party....?
Yes 2006 will be a test, and injuries will play a part, but unlike yourself Brian, we won't blame the world for our own shortcomings and incompetence.
Good luck with your pre-season, Brian.
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 09:47
Heritage,
looking forward to playing your ex team mates that you abandoned last year? Your injury proved that what goes around comes around. You would want to be very careful if you do in fact decide to play again, another injury to that leg would be very unfortunate and dare I say bloody painful.
You will have to be very careful of people smothering any kicks you may get, but then again, you have been smothered by your old man all of your life.
Slay Master G
9th January 2006, 10:04
Heritage,
looking forward to playing your ex team mates that you abandoned last year? Your injury proved that what goes around comes around. You would want to be very careful if you do in fact decide to play again, another injury to that leg would be very unfortunate and dare I say bloody painful.
You will have to be very careful of people smothering any kicks you may get, but then again, you have been smothered by your old man all of your life.
Who the ******** do u think you are Brian? How would u know anything about me or my family other than the hear say and crap that gets mentioned on these boards.
If in fact I do decide to play, I am looking forward the OEG game. But more than anything, I look forward to playing against cats like you.
I really hope I find out who you are Brian. But don't be worried about what I will do, I can't fight.
Alphonse
9th January 2006, 10:26
Heritage,
Gee Brian that is a pretty low comment, i dont think anyone who loves the Ammo game would wish an injury on another player.
The Big Pineapple
9th January 2006, 10:38
Heritage,
I think you have outstayed your welcome buddy!!!
It's time you ********ed off. We don't need your crap around here!!!
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 11:16
I think you have outstayed your welcome buddy!!!
It's time you ********ed off. We don't need your crap around here!!!
Have you girls noticed that you are really the only ones that post on here? why don't you all go and talk on msn? It's fine for SMG(sorry, I won't use your name again) to hang ********e on everyone else but when it's slung his way he doesnt like it?
I agree about my comments being low, and I take them back. The problem is SMG, most of my mates at PEGS are spewin at you and saying it was not you that made the decision to leave them.
jogger
9th January 2006, 11:17
Having played against Collegians this season and knowing a few people at the club i must agree with SMG, Collegians were pretty unlucky to go down, apparently they were forced to use 42 players in the first 6 games and then went on to lose 5 games by under 10 points in the second half of the year.
But the fact is they did go down and you're right, the pressure is now on to perform, however a great strength that they did have this season was the fact that they had no champions but they played as a unified team week in, week out. I think recruits such as Arnott would only bolster an already very competitive outfit. Lets face it, he did come 4th in the SANFL league b&f!!!
By the way no side pumps up their recruits more than SKOB, do the brian!
Bad luck about Greenham going out to Roxburgh park with rombotis for some $$$. Get back in your box brian.
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 11:22
Having played against Collegians this season and knowing a few people at the club i must agree with SMG, Collegians were pretty unlucky to go down, apparently they were forced to use 42 players in the first 6 games and then went on to lose 5 games by under 10 points in the second half of the year.
But the fact is they did go down and you're right, the pressure is now on to perform, however a great strength that they did have this season was the fact that they had no champions but they played as a unified team week in, week out. I think recruits such as Arnott would only bolster an already very competitive outfit. Lets face it, he did come 4th in the SANFL league b&f!!!
By the way no side pumps up their recruits more than SKOB, do the brian!
Bad luck about Greenham going out to Roxburgh park with rombotis for some $$$. Get back in your box brian.
Jerker, I mean jogger,
you are right about these facts. SKOB will not be a major player this year, I hear they are rebuilding. Greenham has not played for SKOB since mid year when he decided he had had enough. Arnott should be good to watch, it's always a great get when these guns don't go to Xavs. My money, beleive it or not, is on the Lions and the Blacks to play off, with maybe Old Brighton and OEG making up the numbers.
The Big Pineapple
9th January 2006, 11:24
most of my mates at PEGS are spewin at you and saying it was not you that made the decision to leave them.
Who are these so called mates???
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 11:27
Who are these so called mates???
Sorry pineapple, I don't want to bring names onto this board who are'nt active contributors. It would be unfair to them. I am only sorry that I have retired form playing as we may have had some altercation after the game whilst enjoying a beer. Like SMG, I'm a lover, not a fighter.
The Big Pineapple
9th January 2006, 11:33
Sorry pineapple, I don't want to bring names onto this board who are'nt active contributors. It would be unfair to them. I am only sorry that I have retired form playing as we may have had some altercation after the game whilst enjoying a beer. Like SMG, I'm a lover, not a fighter.
Fair enough then.
In regards to the Heritage move to Coleggians, what some people at OEG don't realise that football is not the be all and end all. The Heritage family including James made lifestyle change and as they say a change is as good as a holiday. James did not owe OEG anything and the fact they have turned on him so quickly highlights that they were not in fact true friends, but just pretenders exploiting Jame's football ability. His true friends have remained in contact with him and not held any grudges for him moving to the OC. In fact his true friends have supported this move while some people at OEG have not realised that life goes and that there is more to life than football.
Cheers,
TBP
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 11:48
Fair enough then.
In regards to the Heritage move to Coleggians, what some people at OEG don't realise that football is not the be all and end all. The Heritage family including James made lifestyle change and as they say a change is as good as a holiday. James did not owe OEG anything and the fact they have turned on him so quickly highlights that they were not in fact true friends, but just pretenders exploiting Jame's football ability. His true friends have remained in contact with him and not held any grudges for him moving to the OC. In fact his true friends have supported this move while some people at OEG have not realised that life goes and that there is more to life than football.
Cheers,
TBP
Fair comment TBP,
obviously I have never even spoken to SMG, the OEG fellas need to take a step back and get on with life. I have been guilty of using this forum to sling s h i t at people but I went a bit to far. I hope he does play this year and kicks a bag against his so called 'mates'. He is probably sick of the drivel coming out of PEGS about he and his family. I suppose all it has done is mean he won't return there, which is sad for PEGS.
Slay Master G
9th January 2006, 11:51
Have you girls noticed that you are really the only ones that post on here? why don't you all go and talk on msn? It's fine for SMG(sorry, I won't use your name again) to hang ********e on everyone else but when it's slung his way he doesnt like it?
I agree about my comments being low, and I take them back. The problem is SMG, most of my mates at PEGS are spewin at you and saying it was not you that made the decision to leave them.
At the end of the day, there is politics at every club and coming from SKOB, u of all people should know that. So Brian, I think u should get over it, all the ********** being talked about is last years news, so get the crap off your liver cos its over. Find a new topic.
I'm more than happy to discuss these issues over a beer with u Brian (God knows I probably have had a beer with you in the past, considering you are a SKOB from the Essendon area).
I think TBP's post above says it all really.
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 11:56
At the end of the day, there is politics at every club and coming from SKOB, u of all people should know that. So Brian, I think u should get over it, all the ********** being talked about is last years news, so get the crap off your liver cos its over. Find a new topic.
I'm more than happy to discuss these issues over a beer with u Brian (God knows I probably have had a beer with you in the past, considering you are a SKOB from the Essendon area).
I think TBP's post above says it all really.
SMG, I agree, can you reveal any other recruits down there at The Lions den?
Benny MOF
9th January 2006, 11:59
Brian
Not sure about Murray plaing this year, will have to wait and see. Not sure of the other signings, I'm not all that involved as I'm new to the club.
I must say, your back peddle in the above posts was more than called for. Some pretty ordinary comments there.
I can't really talk cos of all the crap I have slung around on these boards but you really have to draw the line at slandering a person's family and wishing career ending injuries upon them. Not even your mate Popey deserves that.
So in future, lift your game.
Also, can we get over Heritage, he takes up too much space on these boards!
MOF
Benny MOF
9th January 2006, 12:00
SMG, I agree, can you reveal any other recruits down there at The Lions den?
A key defender from the school with AFL experience is close to being signed. I think you should be able to figure that one out
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 12:02
A key defender from the school with AFL experience is close to being signed. I think you should be able to figure that one out
Nick Stone, well known around the traps. A quality bloke also.
brian speaking
9th January 2006, 12:07
Should be a few players in B Section with AFL experience.
Old Brighton; Jackson
Collegiens: Arnott, Stone
SKOB: Ryan, Garlick, Williams, Ukovic
OEG: Calthorpe?
Blacks: Groom, Lalich
Beaumaris: Pitts
Anyone else know of any impending ex AFL players for B Section 06?
couchgrinder
9th January 2006, 12:27
Old Brighton; Jackson
Garlick will play cameos again and Ryan is finished , Luke Williams will be good addition to SKOB
Slay Master G
9th January 2006, 13:11
Nick Stone, well known around the traps. A quality bloke also.
Not sure about Nick, he may be getting a job in the harbour city which may restrict his availability.
Disco Bickie
9th January 2006, 13:43
Old Brighton; Jackson
Maybe they should put together a B grade combined side to play Xavs in A grade next season??? Might have some competition for a change. :D
couchgrinder
9th January 2006, 14:10
Maybe they should put together a B grade combined side to play Xavs in A grade next season??? Might have some competition for a change. :D
we can only hope the xavs players become as cocky and complacent as their hangers on
jogger
9th January 2006, 15:35
Old Brighton; Jackson
Pretty sure that both Lalich and Groom have finished their time at Blacks.
Luke Williams has signed at Sandringham. Ukovic was meant to go to SKOB last year wasn't he?
How many games did SKOB win when Greenham stoped playing? He is nothing short of a massive loss!
Caulfield: D.Kellaway
Slay Master G
10th January 2006, 12:15
we can only hope the xavs players become as cocky and complacent as their hangers on
How did you fare with the ladies on the weekend couchgrinder....?
Disco Bickie
10th January 2006, 12:23
Hey Knobgrinder,
The score is on the board as far as Xavs are concerned.
And you know what they say, if you can't beat them... join them!
Rhombus
10th January 2006, 12:36
Latest rumour: Lance Picioane to EDFL club East Keilor for a lovely bunch of coconuts per game.
couchgrinder
10th January 2006, 14:16
Hey Knobgrinder,
The score is on the board as far as Xavs are concerned.
And you know what they say, if you can't beat them... join them!
whatever you say bisco dickie , you cant argue with xavs success and i have family at xavier but i think i speak for a few people on this forum when i say hell would freeze over before i'd join xavs
couchgrinder
10th January 2006, 14:45
How did you fare with the ladies on the weekend couchgrinder....?
pretty good smg , took a flying visit to sydney for the weekend , met some lovely ladies at the newport arms up on the northern beaches , if you're ever up that part of the world i recommend you take a ganders at it , great pub , massive beer garden overlooking the pittwater and fantastic stock , i reckon you and the knight rider would love it
eddiesmith
11th January 2006, 22:51
Friars will walk away with another B Grade premiership in 2006 :)
Scribe
12th January 2006, 07:58
Friars will walk away with another B Grade premiership in 2006 :)
Sorry to be pedantic, but I think you'll find the Friars have only ever been in A Grade once (2004) and that was after finishing runners up to De La Salle in the 2003 B Grade GF. Hence they've never won one. So it would be rather difficult for them to win "another B Grade premiership".
Of more substance however, is your prediction that they'll finish first. Is this based on anything which has transpired in offseason?
Personally, I think they'd be on the 6th or 7th line of betting at present, comfortably behind SKOB and Collegians, with Old Brighton, Old Essendon, MHSOB and probably even Uni Blacks more fancied. That'd leave Beaumaris, Mazenod and Caulfield behind them. Mind you it was pretty tight last year, so hopefully the same will be the case in 2006.
Alphonse
12th January 2006, 08:13
Sorry to be pedantic, but I think you'll find the Friars have only ever been in A Grade once (2004) and that was after finishing runners up to De La Salle in the 2003 B Grade GF. Hence they've never won one. So it would be rather difficult for them to win "another B Grade premiership".
Of more substance however, is your prediction that they'll finish first. Is this based on anything which has transpired in offseason?
Personally, I think they'd be on the 6th or 7th line of betting at present, comfortably behind SKOB and Collegians, with Old Brighton, Old Essendon, MHSOB and probably even Uni Blacks more fancied. That'd leave Beaumaris, Mazenod and Caulfield behind them. Mind you it was pretty tight last year, so hopefully the same will be the case in 2006.
We played whitefriars in the last game, a heap of their players retired after the game. I would suggest they would really struggle and would be big candidates for relegation. They were awful for large parts of the season last year, only saved by some early wins, after us they were the worst team in the section.
couchgrinder
12th January 2006, 08:14
Personally, I think they'd be on the 6th or 7th line of betting at present, comfortably behind SKOB and Collegians, with Old Brighton, Old Essendon, MHSOB and probably even Uni Blacks more fancied. That'd leave Beaumaris, Mazenod and Caulfield behind them. Mind you it was pretty tight last year, so hopefully the same will be the case in 2006.[/quote]
I wouldnt rate SKOB that highly , i dont reckon they're top 4. i i think Collegians , Uni blacks , Old Brighton , Old Essendon with Mazenod and Beaumaris back to C grade
Slay Master G
12th January 2006, 08:25
I wouldnt rate SKOB that highly , i dont reckon they're top 4. i i think Collegians , Uni blacks , Old Brighton , Old Essendon with Mazenod and Beaumaris back to C grade
For a bloke who has no involvement in SKOB, you seem to know a fair bit about the comings and goings of the club.
Has Tim Duggan recovered from his gooch reconstruction? Will he be right for Round 1?
couchgrinder
12th January 2006, 08:58
For a bloke who has no involvement in SKOB, you seem to know a fair bit about the comings and goings of the club.
Has Tim Duggan recovered from his gooch reconstruction? Will he be right for Round 1?
a reconstructured gooch , as you could well appreciate smg , will never be the same but thanks to modern medical breakthroughs and the later start of season 2006 , his gooch will be good for round 1 or so i am led to believe.
sounds like his gooch went through a bit of trauma ...
brian speaking
12th January 2006, 10:47
SMG,
it is correct that SKOB are rebuilding. It is wrong however as couchgrinder says, to assume they won't be strong in B Section. We all know they have a strong recruiting division, and any side with Williams, Ukovic, a fit D Ryan and a dozen or so games from Garlick has the petential to damage oppo side on it's day.
It will be exciting for some of the young kids also to get a crack at the big time also, remembering that 18 under 19 kids from last seasons junior side tasted senior footy, and really the SKOBBERS were very close to a 7 win season if they had some luck.
Anyhoo, are there any 'sleepers' in B Section that we are all not giving any credit too?
By the way, Tim Duggans uncle will be a great addition to SKOB and I believe he has brought a couple of EDFL guns with him.
couchgrinder
12th January 2006, 11:11
[quote=brian speaking]SMG,
it is correct that SKOB are rebuilding. It is wrong however as couchgrinder says, to assume they won't be strong in B Section. We all know they have a strong recruiting division, and any side with Williams, Ukovic, a fit D Ryan and a dozen or so games from Garlick has the petential to damage oppo side on it's day.
dont get me wrong brian speaking , i would love to see skevs back into A Section but i just dont reckon they can cut it this year. Its true they did blood a lot of young players last year but there have also been some big losses , marchesani has gone and he was a great ball winner and Williams has apprently re-signed with Sandringham. They will challenge for finals but I wouldnt have them knocking on the door of A Section.
BTW when are SKOBS going to find a new home ? Didnt the VAFA tell them to ditch Righetti ? When i was in Year 8 i hated playing on that ground let alone senior football. How do you attract great players when you play at that hole ?
Slay Master G
12th January 2006, 11:51
Brian
I haven't written SKOB off, think they will be in the top 4 for sure. Despite their losses, the difference between A & B Sections is substantial, so I expect them to be right up there.
The Old Essendon games will be a real test for their young blokes however.
brian speaking
12th January 2006, 12:23
Brian
I haven't written SKOB off, think they will be in the top 4 for sure. Despite their losses, the difference between A & B Sections is substantial, so I expect them to be right up there.
The Old Essendon games will be a real test for their young blokes however.
Slayer,
What have you heard about your new sworn enemy, OEG? Did they lose the Biggs boys as rumour had it pre-christmas? I have also heard of big losses at Beauy, Whitefriars, MHSOB(massive losses), NOBS and Mazenod. It may be a 5 team comp this year with Blacks the 'surprise' packet.
we all know that the APS old boys sides will always be strong, ie Collegiens, SKOB, Caulfield(scholarship city) and Old Brighton. SKOB have lost Greenham and Marcha, but you will always have that. They are fortunate that their Under 19 side has been winning Section 1 flags and playing in Finals since 1999.
couchgrinder
12th January 2006, 12:40
is fantapants dollman still gonna play at skob this year ? rumour has it he may be joining his brother up at roxburgh park
Slay Master G
12th January 2006, 12:42
Slayer,
What have you heard about your new sworn enemy, OEG? Did they lose the Biggs boys as rumour had it pre-christmas?
Brian
For the record, I have no known enemies at OEG, in fact many of my best friends still play there. Couldn't tell you about the Biggs boys, they have been training at both OEG and Bendigo Bombers, as has Flaherty. Several of their younger players are travelling throughout the year and Danny Ryan will probably not play after post season knee and shoulder reconstructions. They do however, have a solid group of last year's schoolkids coming up. They will probably be like last year (4th) if brothers Biggs and Flaherty play, if not, they may struggle.
Would take a bit of interest out of the comp if the Biggs boys didn't play against SKOB....
brian speaking
12th January 2006, 13:02
Brian
Would take a bit of interest out of the comp if the Biggs boys didn't play against SKOB....
SMG,
it might be best for all concerned if the Biggs boys make it at Bendigo. As far ascouch goes, of course fanta is playing at SKOB, that is one of the most stupid things I have read on this blog site. Fanta is SKOB.
Slay Master G
12th January 2006, 13:33
SMG,
it might be best for all concerned if the Biggs boys make it at Bendigo. As far ascouch goes, of course fanta is playing at SKOB, that is one of the most stupid things I have read on this blog site. Fanta is SKOB.
I thought it would have been quite obvious to you by now that the Biggs boys can handle themselves, I can't wait for the game, it would be silly for SKOB to lose plaing undisciplined footy just to get even, as Archer & Stevens did with the Roos against Carey a few years back.
brian speaking
12th January 2006, 14:00
I thought it would have been quite obvious to you by now that the Biggs boys can handle themselves, I can't wait for the game, it would be silly for SKOB to lose plaing undisciplined footy just to get even, as Archer & Stevens did with the Roos against Carey a few years back.
Slay,
I dont think there will be any major drama with OEG, the four points are what matters most. Most of the boys don't know much about what happened as it has been kept low key(except here), we are better to move on to other things, like why Jonno Dixon is such an ego maniac and why J Horn doesn't rate R Chard.
Slay Master G
12th January 2006, 14:21
Slay,
I dont think there will be any major drama with OEG, the four points are what matters most. Most of the boys don't know much about what happened as it has been kept low key(except here), we are better to move on to other things, like why Jonno Dixon is such an ego maniac and why J Horn doesn't rate R Chard.
Why all the angst towards Dixon?
Jono Dixon
12th January 2006, 14:35
Slay,
If you have a problem with me how about you take it up with me one on one?
brian speaking
12th January 2006, 18:20
If you have a problem with me how about you take it up with me one on one?
Relax Jono,
think yourself lucky enough that myself and others rate you high enough to hang it on you. GO through these posts and you will see yourself mentioned several times, probably coz we know u can play...both on and off the field.
Keep smilin!!!
sammyg
13th January 2006, 08:59
Who is this Dixon character anyway?
Handsome.B.Wonderful
13th January 2006, 09:18
I don't think this board contains enough angst towards Dixon or his mates read: Heritage, Fletcher, Unsworth, Healey, Walsh, Kenna, Ramsden, Hillas and Parker. These blokes are getting around like rockstars, I think it's time the real Melbourne celebrities such as Eammon Healey and Murray Makris got some more of the well deserved appreciation and publicity that they are having to share.
These guys have been p#ssing down our back and telling us its raining for too long.
The Big Pineapple
13th January 2006, 09:52
I don't think this board contains enough angst towards Dixon or his mates read: Heritage, Fletcher, Unsworth, Healey, Walsh, Kenna, Ramsden, Hillas and Parker. These blokes are getting around like rockstars, I think it's time the real Melbourne celebrities such as Eammon Healey and Murray Makris got some more of the well deserved appreciation and publicity that they are having to share.
These guys have been p#ssing down our back and telling us its raining for too long.
I think Sam Dawson is the real unsung hero of the VAFA social scene.
A true "E" grade celebrity he would rise up the ranks if he stopped going back to the well.
Handsome.B.Wonderful
13th January 2006, 10:07
I think Sam Dawson is the real unsung hero of the VAFA social scene.
A true "E" grade celebrity he would rise up the ranks if he stopped going back to the well.
Yes I know many of you have invested time and faith in him. If I remember correctly he burst onto the scene a couple of years ago but in recent times has disappeared into obscurity.
Its just a matter of time before he realizes that certain "Wells" are only holding him back. If I was a betting man I'd say he'd be back in form in time for the Sydney Easter Carnival. After all he has always been a big game performer
The Big Pineapple
13th January 2006, 10:22
Yes I know many of you have invested time and faith in him. If I remember correctly he burst onto the scene a couple of years ago but in recent times has disappeared into obscurity.
Its just a matter of time before he realizes that certain "Wells" are only holding him back. If I was a betting man I'd say he'd be back in form in time for the Sydney Easter Carnival. After all he has always been a big game performer
TBP & SMG are also locked in for the Easter Carnival... just have to convince Knight Rider to come. Knighta is thinking of going to Perth instead with a lovely blonde he has met over summer months!
Knighta's changed man... he used to be cool!
Handsome.B.Wonderful
13th January 2006, 10:39
TBP & SMG are also locked in for the Easter Carnival... just have to convince Knight Rider to come. Knighta is thinking of going to Perth instead with a lovely blonde he has met over summer months!
A certain large feline was heard to say at a christmas function that Easter may be too close to week one of the VAFA season for his attendance.
Not myself though....I don't mess with Jesus, he's such a nice guy
Slay Master G
13th January 2006, 11:59
A certain large feline was heard to say at a christmas function that Easter may be too close to week one of the VAFA season for his attendance.
Not myself though....I don't mess with Jesus, he's such a nice guy
I heard the same from that large feline, he's getting a little weak in his old age. The Easter carnival is going to be huge, I hope that Rambo can repeat his gargantuan efforts of last year, they are in folklore.
Channel 10 are bringing out a new soapie called Dawson's Well. Set in the tower of terror premises in a leafy Melbourne suburb.
Alphonse
13th January 2006, 13:24
Having been to the last two Easter carnivals I cant recommend it highly enough. You must purchase tickets to the lawn party on AJC Derby Day. If the weather is good, you just cant go wrong. Cargo upstairs afterwards. Even noted battlers can get amongst it there.
Sadly I wont be there this year, as I will be o/s. Possible chance to fly in if horse is running.
sammyg
13th January 2006, 13:34
Sadly I wont be there this year, as I will be o/s. Possible chance to fly in if horse is running.
Possible moron for flying from OS just to see your nag lose!
The Big Pineapple
13th January 2006, 13:43
Possible moron for flying from OS just to see your nag lose!
It's the sport of kings Sammy... and we all know that Alphonse is a corporate high flyer!!!
sammyg
13th January 2006, 13:46
Big P, forgot he will probably fly in on his private jet with a host of glamorous eastern european hoes from the Analbolic series!
justin timberlake
13th January 2006, 14:22
Filming for Dawson's new series begings tonite at Momo's. I am making a guest appearance as popstar/ stud and TBP is playing a undercover Mi6 agent.
The VAFA community should get down there for roles as extras.
Knight Rider
13th January 2006, 14:33
TBP it sounds like you're ready to gloat, however wait till the boat, and then we'll see who sinks or floats....
But yes I'm off to Perth for a week to catch up with Judd and Bec, surf the great beaches and see the sights.
Oggy's cousin
19th January 2006, 11:08
Big P, forgot he will probably fly in on his private jet with a host of glamorous eastern european hoes from the Analbolic series!
And your point?
The Oggmonster has been ploughing his way through Eastern Europe for the past 12 months - he sends his regards and to tell you that they "love it". One up the bum no harm done...
franky norton
6th February 2006, 09:40
beaumaris will struggle to win a game this year. moving up into b grade will find them way out of their depth. Under the guidance of Russell Barnes things could be abit different if he gets the right players how ever if game plans are needed then its gonna be a long season for the sharks. Relegation is assured
FootyFreak69
25th February 2006, 10:30
well, brian speaking, or should we be calling you nick????????
ithink we shouldn't kid ourselves. skob are in big, big trouble. can you confirm the massive rumour that lucas has left???
The Wizard
26th February 2006, 17:42
Heard he's playing at the same country club a few Skobs went to last year. Could you blame him though, the club is in a shambles with it's ground issues..
brian speaking
27th February 2006, 15:13
well, brian speaking, or should we be calling you nick????????
ithink we shouldn't kid ourselves. skob are in big, big trouble. can you confirm the massive rumour that lucas has left???
Hello Freak,
you can call me what ever you like, however you will never learn my true identity. Shall I call you Wayne, Mmmike, Damien or Paul?
In regards to Matthieu, I have a funny feeling you may see him run around in the Green, Gold and Blue again. He is a great SKOB man, along the lines of another true SKOB man Marcus Dollman. Expect Matty to play many more years and great games in number 10.
SKOB are in safe hands now that one J Horn has decided to hook up again with his great mate Damien Ryan. It is a year of opportunity at SKOB, regardless of where they play their home games. Expect SKOB to win around 9 games this year and provide some new names for the VAFA under 23 team, including Charles, Dowd and Wissell.
brian speaking
27th February 2006, 15:15
Heard he's playing at the same country club a few Skobs went to last year. Could you blame him though, the club is in a shambles with it's ground issues..
Wizard,
perhaps you can contact Tony D and offer some assistance? All positive suggestions will be appreciated.
The Wizard
27th February 2006, 17:33
Wizard,
perhaps you can contact Tony D and offer some assistance? All positive suggestions will be appreciated.
I don't know why they never tried playing games at Kevin Bartlett years ago. Righetti was always a bad option, it wasn't good enough for the Year 8's.
A club with the contacts of a private school should be doing a lot better off the field. Fullstop.
Son of a Gun
27th February 2006, 19:35
haven't played Righetti for a few years, is it worse than MHSOB's shocking oval (which is only marginal better than Brindisi)?
couchgrinder
28th February 2006, 05:55
haven't played Righetti for a few years, is it worse than MHSOB's shocking oval (which is only marginal better than Brindisi)
put simply the ground is substandard for football let alone VAFA A/B Section footy but the club aknowledges this , when SKOB first entered A grade they played at Glenferrie , maybe they could return there next year now that the Hawks are at Waverly .
Destination A Grade
28th February 2006, 06:43
My mail is that he HAS gone country to play his footy. Not sure if it is the club that you imply.
juicyskipper
28th February 2006, 14:17
Just wondering how Jono Dixon and the prancing horses pre seasons are going?? Never seen 2 bigger men scared on a footy field like these 2. Benny mof would agree. These blokes are 2 busy licking each others gooches to get a kick.
Handsome.B.Wonderful
1st March 2006, 08:51
These blokes are 2 busy licking each others gooches to get a kick.
That's no laughing matter!
Everyone knows they've been plagued with Osteitis-Goochis.
I think its great that these two can help each other get over this dreaded injury.
juicyskipper
1st March 2006, 19:58
jono dixon = mentally weak = typical wesley scum
Born with a silver spoon up his arse. Not the the only thing iv heard down that way
Handsome.B.Wonderful
2nd March 2006, 08:17
Born with a silver spoon up his arse. Not the the only thing iv heard down that way
Do you take life too seriously or is it just footy?
FootyFreak69
2nd March 2006, 08:18
My mail is that he HAS gone country to play his footy. Not sure if it is the club that you imply.
the mail has now been confirmed. lucas is heading to balranald. he is one of a long list of walkers from skob.
it has nothing to do with the ground - they can't stand the recruiting officer at skob. apparently he's a peanut and would lie to his own mother.
brian speaking
2nd March 2006, 08:54
the mail has now been confirmed. lucas is heading to balranald. he is one of a long list of walkers from skob.
it has nothing to do with the ground - they can't stand the recruiting officer at skob. apparently he's a peanut and would lie to his own mother.
Interesting comment, I have heard the same about the Old Camberwell coach, apparantly he tries to steal players from the club that he previously coached for. Heard on the same grapevine that he tried to take half a dozen blacks players, and when they didnt want to go, he tried to have other clubs outside of C grade recruit them...quality person.
candy_pants
2nd March 2006, 09:14
Interesting comment, I have heard the same about the Old Camberwell coach, apparantly he tries to steal players from the club that he previously coached for. Heard on the same grapevine that he tried to take half a dozen blacks players, and when they didnt want to go, he tried to have other clubs outside of C grade recruit them...quality person.
No need to be bitter about it Brian, that's just Amateur football for you. Every club does it.
Handsome.B.Wonderful
2nd March 2006, 09:53
Interesting comment, I have heard the same about the Old Camberwell coach, apparantly he tries to steal players from the club that he previously coached for.
What!!!!!!
Are you trying to tell me he's RECRUITING?
He's gone too far this time
jogger
2nd March 2006, 10:03
What else have you heard. I've heard collegians have recruited a few handy types this season. Dixon might be the least of your worries...
jogger
2nd March 2006, 10:06
Tom Simpson has signed with VFL club, Coburg. Another big loss. Instead of talking about who's left SKOB it might be easier to list the blokes who are still there.
brian speaking
2nd March 2006, 11:32
Tom Simpson has signed with VFL club, Coburg. Another big loss. Instead of talking about who's left SKOB it might be easier to list the blokes who are still there.
Yes, it will be an interesting year for SKOB, I still predict that they will 3 to 6 in B section, I would rather be there than keep losing first semi finals hey ff?
brian speaking
2nd March 2006, 11:36
Great to see Simmo having a crack at VFL, Andy Collins rates him highly. Another St Kevins boy who has learnt his footy at SKOB and now will hopefully play 100 VFL senior games.
Can we confirm that the Old Camberwell coach is hated by his players and this has led to mass walkouts???
FootyFreak69
2nd March 2006, 11:46
Great to see Simmo having a crack at VFL, Andy Collins rates him highly. Another St Kevins boy who has learnt his footy at SKOB and now will hopefully play 100 VFL senior games.
Can we confirm that the Old Camberwell coach is hated by his players and this has led to mass walkouts???
brian, this is apparently indeed true.