View Full Version : McKinley to get first crack at forward pocket
Woosha seems to have signalled his intentions to play McKinley at forward pocket, he will try out in the pre season cup and if he is successful you can expect him to be playing Round 1, he has been quite impressive in training, his pack marking is 2nd to none and his crumbing is improving out of sight, I think he would partner Brad Smith very well, plus he is a lump of a lad already (seems to be the type of guy who can put on muscle fast) and is definetly ready to kick 30-40 goals at AFL level if given the chance.
94_Eagles
6 Jan 2006, 19:41
I like this kid.
weagles_fan
7 Jan 2006, 00:11
Sook.
theorangeapple
7 Jan 2006, 00:18
Sook.
I really hope people dont pidgeon hole him because of the way he reacted when drafted. I would hazard a guess that the vast majority of young players would get emotional when they find out they have been drafted to the other side of the country. I think Juddy would have reacted the same way. Its a shame Ben's response was on national television.
On Ben himself, from what I have seen at training, he will have a good impact this year. I am pretty excited by him.
I really hope people dont pidgeon hole him because of the way he reacted when drafted. I would hazard a guess that the vast majority of young players would get emotional when they find out they have been drafted to the other side of the country. I think Juddy would have reacted the same way. Its a shame Ben's response was on national television.
On Ben himself, from what I have seen at training, he will have a good impact this year. I am pretty excited by him.
TOA very glad to hear that you are coming around :D as I have said previously quality kid and a quality player:thumbsu:
Bestbird
7 Jan 2006, 02:18
You would think that Morton and LeCras would be in the mix as well. Both were impressive at times in the WAFL as small forwards
from what i hear emanating out of claremont, morton is being groomed as a wingman for the big leagues. i wonder how many game he will play this year.
Dunno why but I can see this kid going home within 2 or 3 years.
stinger05
10 Jan 2006, 14:40
Mate your a **************** what type of fan do you think you are.
ive always seen McKinley as a leading forward instead of the crumbing forward..i see him more on the forward flank cause i think he will get in the way of the other taller forwards..if he can stick to a game plan and just crumb and not lead into the "hot spot" i think he will play an integral part of the eagles team in years to come.
Debaser
15 Jan 2006, 17:09
If he gets a few games early and can find a niche in the side, and possibly a premiership in the next few years I don't see why we couldn't hold on to him. Although, Des Headland won his premiership and demanded to come home.
Kirke Special
13 Sep 2007, 03:47
[idiotic - Mr E.]
And then he got OP and struggled at WAFL level. Considering we offered him a 2 yr contract id say Woosh still thinks as highly of him as he did back then
thefamilyguy
13 Sep 2007, 12:04
Needs to get a LOT of fitness by the start of next season. He's got about the same fitness as Sampi at the moment. IE. None.
Lots of promise, i would love to see him running around in a pocket.
Needs to get a LOT of fitness by the start of next season. He's got about the same fitness as Sampi at the moment. IE. None.
Lots of promise, i would love to see him running around in a pocket.
About sums it up.
Lynch takes a mark
13 Sep 2007, 13:26
its certainly not by choice that he's unfit
he is very committed to training, if he get a good preseason than I would love him in the forward line - smart player.
Forrest Gimp
13 Sep 2007, 16:09
Eagles Mods are generous. Im suprised Kirke Special hasn't been carded yet. What a wanker.
Scotland
13 Sep 2007, 16:19
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=27179
Hmmmm.
:)