View Full Version : A Distinct lack Of Talent

Pages : [1] 2 3

The Dice Man
7 Jan 2006, 23:14
https://www.musashi.com.au/cpa/htm/..%2F..%2Fcpa%2Fdat%2Fteam_athlete%2Fwidth200height0ESSENDON .jpg

From this moment on, for season 2006 the club formerley known as the Essendon Football Club shall be named;

A Distinct Lack of Talent

Go forth and spread the word, as it is truth you spread.

MOJOE
7 Jan 2006, 23:43
A few weeks ago you were pumping us up? Is it 2005 all over again?

The Dice Man
7 Jan 2006, 23:45
A few weeks ago you were pumping us up? Is it 2005 all over again?

I like you Mojoe, so just pretend A Distinct Lack of Talent is code word for your beloved Bombers.

(and no, i think its going to be worse than 2005 for you :()

FuManchu
7 Jan 2006, 23:46
I like you Mojoe, so just pretend A Distinct Lack of Talent is code word for your beloved Bombers.

and us too, I fear

taff wa
7 Jan 2006, 23:47
Oh I can hear the Essendon chant now:

clap clap clap NO TALENT clap clap clap.

The Dice Man
7 Jan 2006, 23:49

Thats the spirit:thumbsu: :D

and us too, I fear

No I think you will improve on 05's results. You were decimated by injury.

The Old Dark Navy's
7 Jan 2006, 23:50
Oh I see. I was concerned with all the talk about depression in the media lately. Thought, after midnight, Dice Man has had a few drinks, fell into a deep hole and started doing a critical self appraisal.

Glad to see you are alright Dice Man.

MOJOE
7 Jan 2006, 23:50

... as we ''cheer'' Collingwood off the field after another loss to Essendon

MOJOE
7 Jan 2006, 23:51

All will be decided during the Essendon Gabba game next month - ie if Henneman stars, we're stuffed.

The Dice Man
7 Jan 2006, 23:53
Oh I see. I was concerned with all the talk about depression in the media lately. Thought, after midnight, Dice Man has had a few drinks, fell into a deep hole and started doing a critical self appraisal.

Glad to see you are alright Dice Man.

Cheers ODN, but Im ok, no need to worry yourself about lil ole me.

taff wa
7 Jan 2006, 23:53
... as we ''cheer'' Collingwood off the field after another loss to Essendon

But as per most of the other contributors on here Collingwood has the poorest list anyway.

Jaymin
7 Jan 2006, 23:55
Now i remember why i don't visit this section of the board until the season starts.

Surely you could have at least waited til February to post this drivel?

The Dice Man
7 Jan 2006, 23:58
Now i remember why i don't visit this section of the board until the season starts.

Surely you could have at least waited til February to post this drivel?

It's a catchy thread title isnt it?

Keep an eye out for it during the season;)

Bentleigh
7 Jan 2006, 23:59

--> my new favorite phase.

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2006, 00:01
Mr. The Dice Man , A question.

What is it that Patrick Ryder of Essendon has?

ChrisFooty
8 Jan 2006, 00:02
Another top quality thread posted on BF message boards. :cool:

The Dice Man
8 Jan 2006, 00:04
Mr. The Dice Man , A question.

What is it that Patrick Ryder of Essendon has?

hmmm, can I phone a friend?

mcphee_is_a_gun
8 Jan 2006, 00:05
Another top quality thread posted on BF message boards. :cool:
Im beggining to wonder were all these stupid people come from.

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2006, 00:06

If that person is jcraw1, by all means.

Their mothers private parts.

jcraw1
8 Jan 2006, 00:07

It's the side effect of tin collections 16 years ago... Remember, he may be special, but he's a person with feelings too... :eek:

Tiberius
8 Jan 2006, 00:08
I've always found Essendon games an excellent place for spotting talent. Not sure about the team this year though.

The Dice Man
8 Jan 2006, 00:10
It's the side effect of tin collections 16 years ago... Remember, he may be special, but he's a person with feelings too... :eek:

You going to try and use a 16 year old joke too hey?

mcphee_is_a_gun
8 Jan 2006, 00:11
You going to try and use a 16 year old joke too hey?
how would you know its 16 yrs old you've only been alive 10.

jcraw1
8 Jan 2006, 00:12
I've always found Essendon games an excellent place for spotting talent. Not sure about the team this year though.

I think Essendon will be fine this season. The players who lacked heart are gone (Murphy, Cupido), replaced with talent who have solid character and who want to win. Their midfield, which was their achilles heal in seasons past, is much improved with the likes of Monfries, Standon and Dyson, and a healthy Matthew Lloyd will benefit from the experienced Scott Camporeale delivering the ball onto his chest in the forward line.

I think the list is stronger, the young players are a year older and they'll be better from the experiece of the year past.

Jaymin
8 Jan 2006, 00:14

--> my new favorite phase.

Surely being a Richmond supporter you'd be use to that phrase by now?

Tiberius
8 Jan 2006, 00:15
I think the list is stronger, the young players are a year older and they'll be better from the experiece of the year past.[/QUOTE]

Presumably the older and middle range players are a year older as well.

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2006, 00:17
young players are a year older

Quailty posting.

jcraw1
8 Jan 2006, 00:18
I think the list is stronger, the young players are a year older and they'll be better from the experiece of the year past.

Presumably the older and middle range players are a year older as well.[/QUOTE]

Right, but the youth coming through the last few years should relieve some of the pressure on the older guys, or at least that's the theory. Guys like Dyson and Stanton are not rookies anymore, and suprises like Lovett and Lovett-Murray continue to grow with confidence.

The goal is to not depend on the older guys as much as years past, which is how team's avoid dropping too far down the ladder (again, in theory).

The Dice Man
8 Jan 2006, 00:19
how would you know its 16 yrs old you've only been alive 10.

Guffaw guffaw hic.. hic...

Are you for real?

You are displaying A Distinct Lack of Intelligence

mcphee_is_a_gun
8 Jan 2006, 00:20
Guffaw guffaw hic.. hic...

Are you for real?

You are displaying A Distinct Lack of Intelligence
You show the maturity of a person that age so i assumed that was how old you were :confused:

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2006, 00:25
Presumably the older and middle range players are a year older as well.

Right, but the youth coming through the last few years should relieve some of the pressure on the older guys, or at least that's the theory. Guys like Dyson and Stanton are not rookies anymore, and suprises like Lovett and Lovett-Murray continue to grow with confidence.

The goal is to not depend on the older guys as much as years past, which is how team's avoid dropping too far down the ladder (again, in theory).

Can't agree champ.

I don't think its the job of the pups to be moving you up the ladder, more your middle teir who should be standing up:

Rioli, Heffernan , Bolton, Henneman, Hille, Cole, Ramanauskas, Peverill etc.*

*dunno how many of them are still contracted to you.

tigerdan
8 Jan 2006, 00:27

No, it's

clap clap clap WE'RE NEVER DOWN FOR LONG clap clap clap

If you say it enough times it must be true.

jcraw1
8 Jan 2006, 00:30
Can't agree champ.

I don't think its the job of the pups to be moving you up the ladder, more your middle teir who should be standing up:

Rioli, Heffernan , Bolton, Henneman, Hille, Cole, Ramanauskas, Peverill etc.*

*dunno how many of them are still contracted to you.

But are you talking about moving up the latter, or not falling further? To move up there have to be improvements right across the board without anyone taking a step back, but to avoid dropping futher down while maybe moving up a peg or two we need the young guys (a.k.a. "the future") to stand tall and relieve some of the pressure of the veterans such as Hird, Fletcher, etc. The key to Essendon's season, in my eyes, are the likes of Kepler Bradley, Ricky Dyson, Brent Stanton, and Angus Monfries.

If someone young who hasn't really made a dent such as Courtney Johns or Jobe Watson can turn it on and make an impact all the better.

The bottom line, though, is I believe the list this season is improved over last.

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2006, 00:34
No, it's

clap clap clap WE'RE NEVER DOWN FOR LONG clap clap clap

If you say it enough times it must be true.

Clap Clap Clap HIRD'S GOT 7 MORE YEARS IN HIM YET Clap Clap Clap

jcraw1
8 Jan 2006, 00:38

Dude you're losing points ;)

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2006, 00:40
But are you talking about moving up the latter, or not falling further?

It would be a pretty similar concept I reckon.

How bout this - try getting the number of wins you did last year. If you do that before Round 22 try keep on winning

:thumbsu:

To move up there have to be improvements right across the board without anyone taking a step back, but to avoid dropping futher down while maybe moving up a peg or two we need the young guys (a.k.a. "the future") to stand tall and relieve some of the pressure of the veterans such as Hird, Fletcher, etc. The key to Essendon's season, in my eyes, are the likes of Kepler Bradley, Ricky Dyson, Brent Stanton, and Angus Monfries.

If someone young who hasn't really made a dent such as Courtney Johns or Jobe Watson can turn it on and make an impact all the better.

The bottom line, though, is I believe the list this season is improved over last.

Alot of people are creaming them selfs over 18-21 year olds expecting 2nd-4th year players to make the major inproment. Of course you need them to continue to grow and develop but if you look at top 4 teams and grand final winning sides they have a very strong middle teir: the say 23-28 year old group.

When Richmond went from schit to decent, 2004 --> 2005 it wasn't Meyer, Tambling and Deledio which did it, it was the likes of Cogs, Hall, Newman, Hyde taking the next step.

When Collingwood went from GF's to poo (02/03 --> 04/05) it wasn't that Buckly, Rocca, Clement were suddenly crap (although there did get injures) but the B tier players started playing not to their full abilities.

Sheedy is going to want his kids to mature and get bettter but its the 22-28 year olds inproving that'll make or brake his season.

Longy413
8 Jan 2006, 08:28

That's a very good question. I don't think you can.

mcphee_is_a_gun
8 Jan 2006, 09:21
That's a very good question. I don't think you can.
:D :p :D :p

Bentleigh
8 Jan 2006, 11:03
..That's a very good question. I don't think you can.

:D

Jimbeam
8 Jan 2006, 12:12
But are you talking about moving up the latter, or not falling further? To move up there have to be improvements right across the board without anyone taking a step back, but to avoid dropping futher down while maybe moving up a peg or two we need the young guys (a.k.a. "the future") to stand tall and relieve some of the pressure of the veterans such as Hird, Fletcher, etc. The key to Essendon's season, in my eyes, are the likes of Kepler Bradley, Ricky Dyson, Brent Stanton, and Angus Monfries.

did it ever occur to u that its very likely that another 15 or so teams are also going to improve this year also.. the dons arent the only side with room for a lot of improvement.. this is a 16 team comp, fairly even comp i might add.. without a doubt dyson and co will improve.. thats a given, just how much is the question..

Alberton_Magpie
8 Jan 2006, 12:41
Wow Tigers and Magpies Fan trying to bag out Essendon....Essendon is better than both Collingwood and Richmond!!!!

hollis_tom
8 Jan 2006, 12:51
Well done mate, this thread has quality all over it

RustyG
8 Jan 2006, 13:32
Now,Now,McPhee and Dice Boy.
There's enough room on the swings for both of you little fella's.
Now run along and play nicely.:)

H Dolphin
8 Jan 2006, 14:20
Just what bigfooty needs, a thread started by a supporter of one club slagging off another club.

The Dice Man
12 Jan 2006, 00:09
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/05/johnst.jpg

Just thought this pic was appropriate for the thread title :)

(Notice the way he holds a football? I think he's somewhere inbetween thinking he's playing Twister and Hot Potato)

Hawks88bestever
12 Jan 2006, 00:30
Surely it's...

CLAP CLAP CLAP - (any aboriginal player) IS THE NEW MICHAEL LONG - CLAP CLAP CLAP

douggie the don
12 Jan 2006, 00:45

(Notice the way he holds a football? I think he's somewhere inbetween thinking he's playing Twister and Hot Potato)

Have you changed the name of the thread to
A Distinct lack of Match Fitness?????????

This is hilarious, Essendon being slagged off by richmond and collingwood supporters.............
We need some blues and hawks fans in here posting, the cake needs it's icing.

LoneStar
12 Jan 2006, 00:48

--> my new favorite phase.And what phase would Richmond be entering atm? Set your Tiger phasers to stun?

SpringChoke
12 Jan 2006, 07:48
https://www.musashi.com.au/cpa/htm/..%2F..%2Fcpa%2Fdat%2Fteam_athlete%2Fwidth200height0ESSENDON .jpg

From this moment on, for season 2006 the club formerley known as the Essendon Football Club shall be named;

Can anyone else see the irony in a Tigers supporter bagging Essendon for having "a distinct lack of talent"?

Seth
12 Jan 2006, 08:13
Have you changed the name of the thread to
A Distinct lack of Match Fitness?????????

This is hilarious, Essendon being slagged off by richmond and collingwood supporters.............
We need some blues and hawks fans in here posting, the cake needs it's icing.

Aren't too many pies supporters getting stuck in. Who started the thing, a Tigers supporter. Actually from 50 posts there is 1 on pg 1. So direct the bull5h!t remarks about pies supporters to the appropraite clubs being Richmond and Hawthorn it seems.

Makes me laugh Richmond supporters starting these types of threads. Just wait until the mid year bubble burst once again and the backstabbing and calling for terry's tanned head and large wallet to be axed.

Don't you love this time of year though.

Seth
12 Jan 2006, 08:14
And what phase would Richmond be entering atm? Set your Tiger phasers to stun?

Now that is hilarious!! Great post.

nonchalance
12 Jan 2006, 09:47

How the ******** did you find a picture of Courtney Johns with a shirt on?
I didn't think they existed.

Longy413
12 Jan 2006, 14:20

I actually saw him at Highpoint today looking at t-shirts.

Must have been buying presents.

ant555
12 Jan 2006, 17:15
I actually saw him at Highpoint today looking at t-shirts.

Must have been buying presents.

Nah just getting his winter wardrobe in order ;)

The Dice Man
14 Feb 2006, 15:49
I just got my tickets to see this mob take on the Bears at Cararra next week, and if they play anything like they did up here last year, I will be a very happy chap :thumbsu:

The Dice Man
15 Feb 2006, 12:45
I just got my tickets to see this mob take on the Bears at Cararra next week, and if they play anything like they did up here last year, I will be a very happy chap :thumbsu:

What's the GO? Arent any Bummer fans going to this match? Although I cant blame you after how they played there last year:thumbsd:

I was hoping Vanda would be coming up for it, I might even let the fool buy me a drink or 6.

MOJOE
15 Feb 2006, 12:58
What's the GO? Arent any Bummer fans going to this match? Although I cant blame you after how they played there last year:thumbsd:

I was hoping Vanda would be coming up for it, I might even let the fool buy me a drink or 6.

Last year's game could have been won - instead Sheedy turned his focus on 'the kids' after 3/4 time...

I'm sure you didnt care - prancing around in your old Tigers jumper would have brought plenty of attention to your cause.

The Dice Man
15 Feb 2006, 13:11
Last year's game could have been won - instead Sheedy turned his focus on 'the kids' after 3/4 time...

I'm sure you didnt care - prancing around in your old Tigers jumper would have brought plenty of attention to your cause.

Hahahaha, couldve won, my ass! You were woeful and only Matthews resting his senior core in teh second half gave you any respectability.

For the record, there were quite a few Tiger jumpers there, and didnt little Dweezle Zantuck cop it.

Im aiming for Captain Girlpants this year:thumbsu:

local
15 Feb 2006, 13:15

The more puzzling quesion is, "How did you find a picture of courtney johns with a football in his hands?"

OneEyedHawk
15 Feb 2006, 13:21
Aren't too many pies supporters getting stuck in. Who started the thing, a Tigers supporter. Actually from 50 posts there is 1 on pg 1. So direct the bull5h!t remarks about pies supporters to the appropraite clubs being Richmond and Hawthorn it seems.
Makes me laugh Richmond supporters starting these types of threads. Just wait until the mid year bubble burst once again and the backstabbing and calling for terry's tanned head and large wallet to be axed.

Don't you love this time of year though.
You'd be well served taking your own advice?

2 responses from Hawthorn supporters in 4 pages, 1 of them not even commenting on the subject of the thread.

MadDawg
15 Feb 2006, 13:25
http://afc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/image/004950ac.jpg
This guy has a distinct lack of talent, didn't stop Richmond drafting him ahead of Pavlich :eek:

The Dice Man
15 Feb 2006, 13:28
This guy has a distinct lack of talent, didn't stop Richmond drafting him ahead of Pavlich :eek:

Yeah but we at least got rid of him and sent him to St.Kilda once it was obvious he is never going to be anything.

But one clubs garbage is another club's treasure I guess.

local
15 Feb 2006, 13:42

http://richmondfc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/person/289387ai.jpg

Yeah but we got this guy after the dopey hawks let him go.

Cheers! :D :thumbsu:

OneEyedHawk
15 Feb 2006, 14:11

Cheers! :D :thumbsu:
He walked into that one. But the Tuck situation has already been covered at length.

Billy Nicholls however.....;)

MadDawg
15 Feb 2006, 14:27
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/05/14/wbfranklin_wideweb__430x312.jpg

Here's another laughable mistake by the Richmond recruiters :D :thumbsu:

local
15 Feb 2006, 14:31

Cheers! :thumbsu:

http://0wn3d.dk/owned/Mc-Own3d.jpg

That was too easy :D

The Dice Man
15 Feb 2006, 14:31
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/ffximage/2005/05/14/wbfranklin_wideweb__430x312.jpg

Here's another laughable mistake by the Richmond recruiters :D :thumbsu:

Premature ejaculation an ongoing problem for you is it?

Coughlan
15 Feb 2006, 14:40
i dont think the problem is a distinct lack of talent but a distinct lack of heart

MadDawg
15 Feb 2006, 15:54
Premature ejaculation an ongoing problem for you is it?

Not at all I'm a freakin Stallion

http://0wn3d.dk/owned/Mc-Own3d.jpg

That was too easy :D

but this guy definetely suffers from it, those are the destinct words of a premature ejaculator.

Johnson#26
15 Feb 2006, 15:58
Better than many give them credit for. A smokey for the top eight. 2007, along with Collingwood and prehaps the Hawks and Tigers, will be the year they truely come of age.

They have some quallity kids, and if Hird can remain in the game a little while longer...

The Dice Man
25 Feb 2006, 00:56
Nice to see Captain Girlypants be totally insignificant in tonights match against the Brisbane reserves.

I look foward to more inspiring performances.

The Dice Man
25 Feb 2006, 00:57
double post

The Dice Man
25 Feb 2006, 00:59
triple post

MOJOE
31 Mar 2006, 23:09
[IMG]

From this moment on, for season 2006, the club formerley (sic) known as the Richmond Football Club shall be named:

TheGeneral
31 Mar 2006, 23:11
A distinct lack of tall forwards.

http://www.aussiepinshop.com.au/ezi/images/afltigers.gif

DynamoUltra
31 Mar 2006, 23:12
I love how these threads come back and bite people in the arse.

The Dice Man
31 Mar 2006, 23:12
I'll cop that on the chin Mojoe(luckily I dont have a glassjaw), but of course you know there's another 21 weeks for us, and 22 for you. ;)

VANDA
31 Mar 2006, 23:13
From this moment on, for season 2006, the club formerley (sic) known as the Richmond Football Club shall be named:

Beautiful work MOJOE. :thumbsu:

MOJOE
31 Mar 2006, 23:15
I'll cop that on the chin Mojoe(luckily I dont have a glassjaw), but of course you know there's another 21 weeks for us, and 22 for you. ;)

The loss will surely make headlines in the Gold Coast Bulletin. :thumbsu:

The Dice Man
31 Mar 2006, 23:18
The loss will surely make headlines in the Gold Coast Bulletin. :thumbsu:

Doubt that, but I dont read that paper anyway.

Oi and next time you're going to plagarise someones work... ahh doesnt matter ;)

beaver's army
31 Mar 2006, 23:25
A distinct lack of tall forwards.

http://www.aussiepinshop.com.au/ezi/images/afltigers.gif
um thats one thing we have.

who have carlton got? fev thats it.

MOJOE
31 Mar 2006, 23:32
Doubt that, but I dont read that paper anyway.

Oi and next time you're going to plagarise someones work... ahh doesnt matter ;)

Just to give you the credit with proper referencing...

The Dice Man, Feriss, A Distinct Lack of Talent (2005) Big Footy.com, http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=218755 at 1 April 2006.

The Dice Man
8 May 2006, 13:12
I love it when Im right :D

Longy413
8 May 2006, 13:24
I love it when Im right :D

How were you right?
We had enough talent on display. Lovett, Lovett-Murray, Stanton, Laycock, Watson, Monfries all did good things. Those along with McPhee, Fletcher and Lucas gave us a sniff.

If anything you were proven wrong.

The Dice Man
8 May 2006, 13:28
How were you right?
We had enough talent on display. Lovett, Lovett-Murray, Stanton, Laycock, Watson, Monfries all did good things. Those along with McPhee, Fletcher and Lucas gave us a sniff.

If anything you were proven wrong.

Whatever gets you through the night ;)

Longy413
8 May 2006, 13:32
Whatever gets you through the night ;)

It's simple. You beat us by 2 points.
Either Richmond also has a distinct lack of talent, or you're wrong.

Which one is it?

The Dice Man
8 May 2006, 13:36
It's simple. You beat us by 2 points.
Either Richmond also has a distinct lack of talent, or you're wrong.

Which one is it?

Neither. Life and football are never so clearcut.

Just consider the ages of the clubs who met on saturday night. We had 8 players UNDER 21 years of age, our bench consisted of 4 players with 11 games between them and one of them had 10 of those games.

Add into the mix Raines, Newman, Hartigan, etc etc and Im pretty comfortable with teh bunch of kids down at Tigerland.

The Dons have some good kids too, cept it seems thats about all you've got! And I cannot express how relieved I am we didnt get Queen Solomon from you... That would've been too much.

mustapha
8 May 2006, 13:53

Just consider the ages of the clubs who met on saturday night. We had 8 players UNDER 21 years of age, our bench consisted of 4 players with 11 games between them and one of them had 10 of those games.

Add into the mix Raines, Newman, Hartigan, etc etc and Im pretty comfortable with teh bunch of kids down at Tigerland.

The Dons have some good kids too, cept it seems thats about all you've got! And I cannot express how relieved I am we didnt get Queen Solomon from you... That would've been too much.

Richmond have and should have a good list of kids. Thats what happens when you are pathetic for a few years in the AFL.

The Dice Man
8 May 2006, 13:55
Richmond have and should have a good list of kids. Thats what happens when you are pathetic for a few years in the AFL.

What's Essendon's excuse then?:D

FuManchu
8 May 2006, 13:57
What's Essendon's excuse then?:D
they have a richmond player as a coach?

mustapha
8 May 2006, 14:02
Last year was the first year that we missed the finals since 1997. We haven't sunk to the depths of Richmond, yet;). This year you are seeing teams who were strong in the early part of this decade really struggling. That is the way this "everybody gets a turn at success" AFL system works. At least the priority picks are gone.

The Dice Man
8 May 2006, 14:06
Last year was the first year that we missed the finals since 1997. We haven't sunk to the depths of Richmond, yet;). This year you are seeing teams who were strong in the early part of this decade really struggling. That is the way this "everybody gets a turn at success" AFL system works. At least the priority picks are gone.

Agree on the priority picks.

Not so sure I agree on the bolded part, remember Collingwood played in 2 GFs at the start of this decade and although it's early, they are getting the runs on teh board.

Perhaps they are an exception to the rule?

mustapha
8 May 2006, 14:23
Could be an exception. They had two good years but they really struggled in the years before and after. Brisbane, Essendon, North and Port had longer periods at the top.

A couple of good years, a couple of shocking years then another couple of good years is probably the best way to succeed in this ridiculous system.

The Dice Man
8 May 2006, 14:33
Could be an exception. They had two good years but they really struggled in the years before and after. Brisbane, Essendon, North and Port had longer periods at the top.

A couple of good years, a couple of shocking years then another couple of good years is probably the best way to succeed in this ridiculous system.

Still not sure. Collingwood suffered alot of injuries to key players in 04/05 which woud explain to an extent why they didnt perform. In my eyes their squad this year isnt alot different from then, its just they've got all their matchwinners on teh park.

I also dont subscribe to this theory you must come down to go up. The teams that have just missed out on GFs teh last 2 years in St.Kilda and Geelong are poles apart.

St,Kilda got a stack of early picks, Geelong didnt get any yet they are seemingly at the same point in the 'premiership clock'.

I think recruiting is the key. Top 10 drafted players dont always equal top ten players and many of the games top players now are late picks.

In fact going back to Richmond's drafting pre-2004, it was our late picks (50+) who are proving to be the better players.

Im pretty sure Geelong are full of players drafted late too.

Also must remember, no team that has had a stack of early picks has won a premiership this century (although Im not completley sure about Brisbane's premiership players and where alot of them were drafted at...)

Longy413
8 May 2006, 14:40

Just consider the ages of the clubs who met on saturday night. We had 8 players UNDER 21 years of age, our bench consisted of 4 players with 11 games between them and one of them had 10 of those games.\

That's all well and good when you use Under 21 as the defining variable.
A lot of our young players are 21. Winderlich, Watson, Laycock and the like. These blokes are still developing kids. Also Lovett in his 2nd year of footy, Lovett-Murray in his 3rd. 23 years old but still developing kids.

The average age of each side was 23.7 compared to 24.7
In reality the difference was JON playing instead of Kane Johnson. Or Scott Camporeale playing instead of Henry Slattery.

In reality, both teams had a lot of young players, you won by two points. Neither team has a distinct lack of talent. The end result means you were wrong. Be man enough to admit that.

nut
27 May 2006, 23:54

LOL. What are A Distint Lack of Talent paying for the spoon? Noty much value now.

danstar84
28 May 2006, 00:31
The days of remaining competitive while rebuilding are gone now. Every team WILL spend time at the bottom after a successful period. You then get the early draft picks, and best talent in the country to build a side around.

We have suffered from a lack of top draft picks. It is showing now. We have also picked up some average early picks. It is our turn down the bottom now. We need to pick up some good players in the next few years, and look to 2008 as a period when we should be on the way up.

This is a STUPID thread.

tomthetiger
28 May 2006, 00:46
and us too, I fear

All i can say is :o

tomthetiger
28 May 2006, 00:48
I agree, they say you shouldnt kick a man when hes down. Anyway, whats the point? I think its well established that Essendon are, and will be, the big strugglers of 2006 a long with the Blues. Lets just get over it ;)

FuManchu
28 May 2006, 00:50
Wow Tigers and Magpies Fan trying to bag out Essendon....Essendon is better than both Collingwood and Richmond!!!!
Interesting