View Full Version : Poker Books
Anyone have any recommendations for Poker Books. Im looking into buying one in the next fortnight.
Daytripper
9 Jan 2006, 13:56
I bought Dan Harrington's :
Harrington on Hold 'em Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: Strategic Play (Vol. 1) (Paperback)
off Amazon about two months ago.
About to order Volume 2.
Has improved my play about ten fold. Gives you tips that I would never have ever thought about before. Have applied them both online and in live games and been successful with some of his stratagies.
If you want a book on No Limit you generally have to order from overseas as most of the books written locally concentrate on pot limit poker.
OldSchool
9 Jan 2006, 17:46
I bought Dan Harrington's :
Harrington on Hold 'em Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments: Strategic Play (Vol. 1) (Paperback)
off Amazon about two months ago.
About to order Volume 2.
Has improved my play about ten fold. Gives you tips that I would never have ever thought about before. Have applied them both online and in live games and been successful with some of his stratagies.
If you want a book on No Limit you generally have to order from overseas as most of the books written locally concentrate on pot limit poker.
I haven't finished it yet but can recommend it was well.
I find a number of Poker Books are weak on advising players how to best calculate the pot odds and it's often the mistake online players make.
Daytripper
9 Jan 2006, 21:14
I haven't finished it yet but can recommend it was well.
I find a number of Poker Books are weak on advising players how to best calculate the pot odds and it's often the mistake online players make.
Calculating pot odds has been a god send for me. Makes it so much easier to work out when to call.
The other fascinating aspect has been the approach to betting depending on what position you are in relation to the dealer.
For example QKo suit UTG is bet completely differently to QKo suit on the button.
Everything he says makes sense when you think about it.
Also like how the book is laid out with practical examples and quizzes.
This thread inspired me to order volume 2 today. Also ordered the biography of Stu Ungar "The Rise and Fall of Stuey (The Kid) Ungar, The Worlds Greatest Poker Player" as an extra !!!
Great to see that my thread inspired you :)
Although after reading your post, Im quite dissappointed as I was basically planning to buy it in Australia from a bookstore or something. Cant believe Amazon was the way to go, now I have to wait until I get back to Japan.
As already stated, Harrington's books are great value. The way he thinks about differnt scenarios and the approach he take into tournaments have helped my tournament play a helluva lot but there is also useful information that can be adapted to cash games.
It is hard to find many (good) books strictly dedicated to no limit holdem, although more are being released as the game grows in popularity. I am about halfway through "Mastering No-Limit Hold'em - A Guide to Cash Games" (Russell Fox & Scott T. Harker) which offers sound advice and obviously caters for casino based cash games where blinds and antes are constant etc, so in that regard it is definitely worth a read. Nothing groundbreaking like Harrington's stuff though.
I have also just purchased Phil Gordon's Little Green Book from ebay and am waiting to receive it. There have been glowing reviews for it across most poker forums and it's not all that expensive.
Just make sure, before you buy one that you read a few reviews on places like amazon to see who the target audience of the book is. Most likely, you want to read about advanced concepts and many books out there will disappoint you with basic information that you already know.
Borgsta
10 Jan 2006, 18:39
Most likely, you want to read about advanced concepts and many books out there will disappoint you with basic information that you already know.
Yeah I have found that to be a problem before. Is there anywhere in Melbourne that sells poker books, cos everyone seems to get them off the net and I could:ve done that a while ago.
When I first started searchinf for texts, I found nothing around Melbourne. The major book shops are able to order them in from the States and will charge you through the roof for it as well.
Even if they were available here, the discount mass book sellers on ebay sell them at such competitive prices it would probably still be cheaper to go through them. If you do search on ebay, make sure you search "worldwide" and through all "ebay stores", as all the sellers are located in America.
Crosby87
13 Jan 2006, 21:26
I ordered Super System by Doyle Brunson two days ago (should arrive Monday). I couldn't find many poker books around Melbourne and couldn't order online because of lack of trust in sharing my bank details with the entire world, so I googled it and tried Collins Booksellers, and found that they accept money orders. You just gotta order it online and send them the money order and they'll send it out.
Link:
http://www.collinsbooks.com.au/featuredbook1.asp?StoreURL=collinsbooks&bookid=1580420818
They also have a couple more books, Super System 2, which I plan on getting, and Hellmuth's book. One more, but I can't remember it right now.
I should note that the book isn't entirely on Texas Hold'em. As it was written in the late '70's, it features chapters on Texas Hold'em, Seven Card Stud, Seven Stud 8/OB and Five Card Draw. I plan on getting SS2 because it has chapters on every other popular game - Omaha, 2-7 Triple Draw and Chinese Poker.
However, the book is easily the most popular book amongst professional players, hailed as poker's "bible".
Crosby87
13 Jan 2006, 21:30
Edit - they have A LOT more poker books than first thought.
Carefree-Rob
1 Feb 2006, 10:34
Hey
I am just curious if anyone knows a store in Melbourne where I may be able to purchase this book, I have rang the big stores like Angus and Robertson and none of them have so yea.
Here is a link to it on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0929712242/qid=1138756537/sr=11-1/ref=sr_11_1/103-1561586-5511863?n=283155
Thanks.
Rob.
I recently bought Harringtons Guide from ebay and I gotta say its probably your best bet. Mine got delivered within a week from America to Japan so its a pretty good service.
This one (http://cgi.ebay.com/Kill-Phil-No-Limit-Holdem-Poker-Tournament-Strategies_W0QQitemZ4608890252QQcategoryZ378QQssPageNameZWDV WQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) can be bought straight away and shipped to Aus for $31 (American).
Just make sure you check out the realiability of the seller and make sure they ship worldwide.
red+black
1 Feb 2006, 11:17
I can recommend Phil Gordon's Little Green Book (http://lgb.philgordonpoker.com/), $14 on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1416903674/).
http://www.pokercardgames.com/Howard_Lederer_Poker_Books-Little_Green_Book_Cover.jpg
red+black
1 Feb 2006, 11:27
This one (http://cgi.ebay.com/Kill-Phil-No-Limit-Holdem-Poker-Tournament-Strategies_W0QQitemZ4608890252QQcategoryZ378QQssPageNameZWDV WQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) can be bought straight away and shipped to Aus for $31 (American).
$25 US on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0929712242/), although have to add shipping. Here's (http://www.pokernews.com/news/2005/12/kill-phil-poker.htm) a review of Lee Nelson's Kill Phil book.
Carefree-Rob
1 Feb 2006, 12:20
I can recommend Phil Gordon's Little Green Book (http://lgb.philgordonpoker.com/), $14 on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1416903674/).
http://www.pokercardgames.com/Howard_Lederer_Poker_Books-Little_Green_Book_Cover.jpg
I just bought that, good read.
red+black
18 Mar 2006, 10:39
I saw 3 copies of Kill Phil in Borders, Highpoint (Melb).
Anyone know of a good book that focuses on short-handed or more specifically heads-up play. I reckon I suck heads-up, and the two times I've made a final two (one SitnGo, one satellite) I've been 2:1 chip leader or better and lost easily. I see Harrington's volume 2 has chapters on these topics (don't have the book yet). Does anyone know of other books?
Phil Gordon wrote an article (http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/poker/columns/story?columnist=gordon_phil&id=2325711) on ESPN in February about what hand to push all-in when you are low-stacked. He found that these hands have +EV against any random hand :
- any pocket pair
- any Ace or King
- any suited Queen
- Q-5o or any better unsuited Queen
- J-6 or any better suited Jack
- J-8 offsuit or any better Jack
- T-9o, T-7s, T-8s, T-9s, 9-8s
Anyway, anyone know any books as I mentioned?
red+black
18 Mar 2006, 10:45
Coming out in October, Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book : More Lessons and Hand Analysis in No Limit Texas Hold'em:
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/1416927190.01._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_V57029619_.jpg
Carefree-Rob
18 Mar 2006, 17:22
Coming out in October, Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book : More Lessons and Hand Analysis in No Limit Texas Hold'em:
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/1416927190.01._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_V57029619_.jpg
Sweet :)
red+black
18 Mar 2006, 22:50
As it turns out, I won a Sit n Go on pokerroom.com earlier, super aggressive. My first win in anything. Called with Hachem (7-3 off), flop is 3-3-A, he goes all in, I call, he has A-rag. I win $25, woohoo!
Still need a couple books though. I think I'll check out Border's for Harrington's books.
Daytripper
19 Mar 2006, 10:33
As it turns out, I won a Sit n Go on pokerroom.com earlier, super aggressive. My first win in anything. Called with Hachem (7-3 off), flop is 3-3-A, he goes all in, I call, he has A-rag. I win $25, woohoo!
Still need a couple books though. I think I'll check out Border's for Harrington's books.
I've got Harringtons Vol 2 and his theories on being short stacked and playing at final tables are very interesting and informative.
You'll never forget about 'M' and 'Q' once you read it.
Reckon you'll find it hard to get from Borders though. Just order it off Amazon. Only takes 3-4 weeks to arrive.
Carefree-Rob
19 Mar 2006, 12:27
I saw 3 copies of Kill Phil in Borders, Highpoint (Melb).
Anyone know of a good book that focuses on short-handed or more specifically heads-up play. I reckon I suck heads-up, and the two times I've made a final two (one SitnGo, one satellite) I've been 2:1 chip leader or better and lost easily. I see Harrington's volume 2 has chapters on these topics (don't have the book yet). Does anyone know of other books?
Phil Gordon wrote an article (http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/poker/columns/story?columnist=gordon_phil&id=2325711) on ESPN in February about what hand to push all-in when you are low-stacked. He found that these hands have +EV against any random hand :
- any pocket pair
- any Ace or King
- any suited Queen
- Q-5o or any better unsuited Queen
- J-6 or any better suited Jack
- J-8 offsuit or any better Jack
- T-9o, T-7s, T-8s, T-9s, 9-8s
Anyway, anyone know any books as I mentioned?
Thanks for the heads up on Kill Phil. I rang Borders at Melb Central and they had a few copies in so I booked it and went down today on a Sunday on Public Transport to get it. Damn I am addicted.
Borgsta
19 Mar 2006, 18:09
Reckon you'll find it hard to get from Borders though. Just order it off Amazon. Only takes 3-4 weeks to arrive.
I got volume 1 off ebay and it only took 5 days to get from America to Japan. Was very very happy with the service, but either way buying online is the better option. Cheaper too!
red+black
19 Mar 2006, 19:17
http://internettexasholdem.com/ (http://internettexasholdem.com/poker-book/book-information/free-texas-hold-em-book/) has an offer where if you sign up to a poker site via their links, you get two free books. I reckon I'll grab Harrington's books then.
EDIT: On second thoughts, there is some eligibility criteria, and their forum has comments from people saying that they lost more money trying to gain the free books that it wasn't worth it. Damn!
red+black
22 Mar 2006, 11:07
Picked up Harrington vol2 yesterday for $40 at Angus & Robertson, but none of their stores have vol1. Borders has vol1 for $64 but it's in real shabby nick so i told them they can forget it, even with a discount. Collins don't have it but can get it for $56. Amazon has it for US $19.
EDIT: Actually just called A+R in Perth and they have it for $37. Getting it mailed over.
Carefree-Rob
22 Mar 2006, 15:24
Just curious.
How long does it take you guys to finish a book? I swear I cannot put them down once I start.
red+black
22 Mar 2006, 16:37
Just curious.
How long does it take you guys to finish a book? I swear I cannot put them down once I start.
My problem is that I have heaps of books at one time that I read a chapter here and there, I struggle to remember when I read just one book from start to finish.
Carefree-Rob
23 Mar 2006, 19:33
Oi, just curious. Have you read Kill Phil?
red+black
23 Mar 2006, 22:01
Don't have it (yet). Flicking through Harro #2 at the moment, should receive #1 Friday. Also keep the green book close by, and i've got some limit books that i haven't properly sat down with yet.
Daytripper
24 Mar 2006, 06:31
Oi, just curious. Have you read Kill Phil?
From what I've read of the reviews isn't Kill Phil's premise 'when in doubt go all-in'.
Most of the poker forums I visit aren't that complimentary about it.
red+black
29 Mar 2006, 00:34
Sklansky and Ed Miller have a book due in May - No Limit Hold 'em: Theory and Practice (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/188068537X/104-9660331-3675967)
Borgsta
29 Mar 2006, 07:54
http://internettexasholdem.com/ (http://internettexasholdem.com/poker-book/book-information/free-texas-hold-em-book/) has an offer where if you sign up to a poker site via their links, you get two free books. I reckon I'll grab Harrington's books then.
EDIT: On second thoughts, there is some eligibility criteria, and their forum has comments from people saying that they lost more money trying to gain the free books that it wasn't worth it. Damn!
I actually read this and signed up before you posted the "edit". Well I ordered my books last night after getting my 100 points from pokerroom and winning $470. Will keep u updated as to when I get my books. I ordered:
Slanky's Theory of Poker
Harrington on Hold em 2
Got 1 of the books today which seems strange. Have sent off an email but even if they dont live up to their promise Im still happy. The Harrington book is about to be read by me. :)
red+black
15 Apr 2006, 14:08
From what I've read of the reviews isn't Kill Phil's premise 'when in doubt go all-in'.
Most of the poker forums I visit aren't that complimentary about it.
Some people/forums may not be complimentary, but I feel that I need at to least be familiar with the strategy if only to be to able to recognise it in other players.
So does anyone know where I can get it cheaply? $54 at Borders, $47 and Angus-Robertson. Can anyone do better? For God's sake, the book is under $16 on amazon, why on earth would I want to pay $50 :rolleyes:
Crosby87
15 Apr 2006, 16:27
The only poker book I've bothered to read is Super System (the original), but I plan on getting Sklansky's Theory of Poker soon, and I've read some good things about Harrington's books, so I may look into them.
But I definitely want Theory of Poker.
red+black
5 Aug 2006, 12:09
Found this (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1416936424/sr=1-49/qid=1154742928/ref=sr_1_49/103-3568914-8911026?ie=UTF8&s=books) by accident, Phil Gordon's Poker Box Set, out in a couple months:
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/1416936424.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_V62350529_.jpg
Phil Gordon admits he may not be the best poker player in the world, although he finished 4th at his first WSOP ME in 2001, but he had said he would like to be the best poker teacher in the world.
Carefree-Rob
5 Aug 2006, 12:15
Found this (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1416936424/sr=1-49/qid=1154742928/ref=sr_1_49/103-3568914-8911026?ie=UTF8&s=books) by accident, Phil Gordon's Poker Box Set, out in a couple months:
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/1416936424.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_V62350529_.jpg
Phil Gordon admits he may not be the best poker player in the world, although he finished 4th at his first WSOP ME in 2001, but he had said he would like to be the best poker teacher in the world.
I like his books, they are very good for covering a general thought process.
Carefree-Rob
6 Aug 2006, 10:11
Hmmm, I want to buy Harringon Vol1 today, any idea of a store I could go to and purchase it today. Im bored, need something to read NOW!
red+black
6 Aug 2006, 10:15
Borders
Carefree-Rob
6 Aug 2006, 17:02
Borders
Borders didnt have it in, ended up going city to meet up with friends and Readers Feast Bookstore (next to Nike Store on Bourke St) had the book, for about 42dollars which considering its 52 everywhere else here, wasnt that bad at all. Read about 80 pages on the train home, I prob. have it done by tonight (then re-read it another millions times :p)
red+black
6 Aug 2006, 17:24
Dan Harrington's phenomenal results at the WSOP Main Event:
1987: 6th
1995: 1st
1996: 17th
2003: 3rd
2004: 4th
red+black
7 Aug 2006, 02:00
Just read over at 2p2 that the black book in the Phil Gordon box set is actually his first book, The Real Deal (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0689875908). Therefore, for those interested, I'd recommend just buying the Green and Blue separately.
Im reading Phil Gordan's Little Green Book now. Im hoping it will improve my game.
red+black
8 Aug 2006, 19:26
Everything last month was focused on one thing, and one thing only: the release of my “Secrets of Professional Pot-Limit Omaha (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1904468306)” (SOPPLO) book. As promised, we have tried to get the book out before the official October 1 release date, and the way things look now, we expect the book to be out before the end of August. We have high expectations of the book, and of course I have raised the bar myself because of some of the statements that I have recently made about this work. Of course, because there are not as many PLO players as there are Hold’em players, we cannot expect sales to go as well as the “Hold’em On The Come” (HOTC) book, and quite frankly that is not even our intention. We simply hope that this SOPPLO book will prove to be more than just a decent addition to PLO literature – but rather a book that will give PLO the new injection it needs. - Rolf Slotboom (http://www.rolfslotboom.com/)
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/1904468306.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_V51295903_.jpg
sainter
23 Oct 2006, 17:06
I won't apologise for bumping this thread because it's worth keeping on the first page.
Can anybody tell me if Super System II is the sequel to Super System or just an updated edition? I was going to buy SS II but thought I'd check if reading the first book is necessary.
red+black
23 Oct 2006, 17:35
Dude, don't apologise for bumping. The book is available online at http://www.doylespokerroom.com/poker/poker_online.cfm and from the foreword and intro:
Super/System 2 gathers together the greatest poker players and theoreticians today. This book is not meant to replace the original Super/System, but to be an extension of that great work, with more games, new authors, and most importantly, more professional secrets from the best in the business.
With the completion of Super/System 2, Doyle has created two powerful works that every serious poker player simply must own. This makes the two-volume set of Super/System a full library of the best playing advice, strategies and professional concepts ever put into print. Own both these books, and you’ll have the complete masterpiece of poker.
Almost all of the poker principles in Super/System are still applicable today, and that’s why you’ll find them on these pages, along with analyses of more games and the unveiling of new secrets. When I decided to publish Super/System 2, the task seemed monumental to this seventy-year-old poker player who, after all these years, is still active in his chosen profession. But today’s explosion in the popularity of poker has kept me inspired to push forward with Super/System 2, in which we have adapted our writings to account for the dramatic changes that have taken place in the world of poker over the past few decades. Today’s younger players rising through the ranks, playing alongside old-timers who used decks of cards as baby rattlers when they were still in the crib, are playing a different brand of poker than we played in the old days. And we’re playing new poker games that we didn’t play back them, so I’ve drafted some new people to join my original team of writers.
Crosby87
23 Oct 2006, 19:47
Can anybody tell me if Super System II is the sequel to Super System or just an updated edition? I was going to buy SS II but thought I'd check if reading the first book is necessary.
Not really necessary at all from what I've been told. I've only read I, haven't gotten around to reading II, but I was told to buy SS II and didn't listen.
sainter
24 Oct 2006, 23:29
Thanks.
I've heard it described as The Bible for poker players so I'm keen to read it.
red+black
25 Oct 2006, 00:37
Latest books I'm waiting to receive from Amazon:
"Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book: More Lessons and Hand Analysis in No Limit Texas Hold'em" - Phil Gordon; Hardcover; $14.28
"The Psychology of Poker" - Alan N. Schoonmaker; Paperback; $15.72
"Secrets of Professional Pot-Limit Omaha" - Rolf Slotboom; Paperback; $13.57
Borgsta
25 Oct 2006, 00:39
Im getting
Harrington on Hold'Em 3
Caro's book of Tells
Super System I.
They actually arrived today but I have to grab them from the post office.
The Dice Man
31 Oct 2006, 12:47
Recentley finsihed reading as Fiction book about a scam in the World Series of Poker, and the author mentioned a book that I wondered if anyone here had heard of.
It's titled Read the Dealer by Steve Forte, and is actually a Blackjack book, here's a blurb I found...
This is the manuscript that, unfortunately, forced many casinos to change their policy of always peeking unders tens. It is the first and only intensive study of how to beat a blackjack dealer through applied psychology. Although this material is for the most part obsolete (due to dealers no longer peeking under tens) you will no doubt find it fascinating. The material is still very valid, however, in all games where the dealer "does" peek under tens. You may still find these type of games overseas and in small out of the way casinos. Manual is a glue bound manuscript and includes illustrations throughout.
The fiction book Im reading gave me the impression thsi could be a very handy book for honing poker skills, or more accuratley, your reading tells skills.
I think in general, my card play is ok, it's not bad and its not great, but its the reading of other people where Im falling down, and it sounds like this book could be handy.
Has anyone got this book, heard of it, or possibly know if it's available anywhere, as it's out of print right now.:o
red+black
6 Nov 2006, 12:35
Soon to become THE definitive text on poker math, 2006 WSOP double bracelet winner Bill Chen's book is finally being released (actually due in 2005): William Chen - The Mathematics of Poker (http://www.amazon.com/Mathematics-Poker-William-Chen/dp/1886070253/sr=8-1/qid=1162783665/). In no way will this be an introductory text.
I) Basics
Covers basic probability and statistical concepts, as well as Bayes' theorem, inference from observed data.
II) Exploitive play
Covers odds, reading hands, reading strategies, a little bit about data mining, playing accurately in cards exposed situations, hand vs distribution situations, and distribution vs distribution situations.
III) Optimal play
Introduces game theory, concept of the nemesis, and then solves many different poker-like toy games. Concepts touched on by these toy games are:
--Jam-or-fold (contains solution to HU JoF NL holdem)
--betting and bluffing ratios
--card removal (AKQ game)
--NL bet sizing
--all manner of [0,1] games
--multi-street games without draws - bet sizing across multiple streets
--multi-street games with open and closed draws - also exposed hand vs known distribution play on turn and river.
IV) Risk
Covers risk of ruin calculations, also risk of ruin based on a sample (includes the uncertainty of the win rate). Covers Kelly utility, game selection (CE choice of limits), portfolio theory, and backing agreements.
V) Other Topics
Covers tournaments, both necessary adjustments (based on the theory of doubling up) and also statistical inference based on tournament payout structures and results.
Covers multiplayer games, collusive alliances, and so on.
http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/1886070253.01._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_V37635074_.jpg
red+black
11 Nov 2006, 22:18
In an interview over at 2p2 mag, Action Dan has announced that he is about to start a 2-3 book series on cash games.
red+black
22 Jan 2007, 15:14
bump
Soon to become THE definitive text on poker math, 2006 WSOP double bracelet winner Bill Chen's book is finally being released (actually due in 2005): William Chen - The Mathematics of Poker (http://www.amazon.com/Mathematics-Poker-William-Chen/dp/1886070253/sr=8-1/qid=1162783665/). In no way will this be an introductory text.
I) Basics
Covers basic probability and statistical concepts, as well as Bayes' theorem, inference from observed data.
II) Exploitive play
Covers odds, reading hands, reading strategies, a little bit about data mining, playing accurately in cards exposed situations, hand vs distribution situations, and distribution vs distribution situations.
III) Optimal play
Introduces game theory, concept of the nemesis, and then solves many different poker-like toy games. Concepts touched on by these toy games are:
--Jam-or-fold (contains solution to HU JoF NL holdem)
--betting and bluffing ratios
--card removal (AKQ game)
--NL bet sizing
--all manner of [0,1] games
--multi-street games without draws - bet sizing across multiple streets
--multi-street games with open and closed draws - also exposed hand vs known distribution play on turn and river.
IV) Risk
Covers risk of ruin calculations, also risk of ruin based on a sample (includes the uncertainty of the win rate). Covers Kelly utility, game selection (CE choice of limits), portfolio theory, and backing agreements.
V) Other Topics
Covers tournaments, both necessary adjustments (based on the theory of doubling up) and also statistical inference based on tournament payout structures and results.
Covers multiplayer games, collusive alliances, and so on.
http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/1886070253.01._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_V37635074_.jpg
Just finished this one.
Good book, not for beginners or anyone with less than a 1st year year uni maths/stats background though.
Falchoon
23 Jan 2007, 11:35
Latest books I'm waiting to receive from Amazon:
"Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book: More Lessons and Hand Analysis in No Limit Texas Hold'em" - Phil Gordon; Hardcover; $14.28
Phil certainly hits a lot of sets ;)
I limped in with 22 the other day and hit the 2. Got run down by 47 off :thumbsd:
I like Phil's book because he prefaces it by saying he doesn't think his way is the only way, and he expects (and wants) you to disagree with the way he plays some hands. He just tries to get you thinking.
One of my favourite hands in the book is one of the simplest. I can't remember stack sizes or blinds, so this will be a bit out of context. But it's middle stages (I think) of a tournament, and he's on the BB. Folded to Harrington who makes a standard raise to 3-4BB. Both Dan and Phil have medium or above sized stacks. Gordon thinks for a bit and folds AQ.
His reasoning behind it is that he's in no rush, and that even though Dan is the kind of player who would make a blind steal in this spot, he's also a very solid player. And being out of position, against a solid player, with a hand like AQ...you're almost never going to win a big pot. If you win a pot, it will be a small one...and you can definitely lose big.
This concept (being out of position against a good player) translates well to cash games also. So if you're up against an EP raise from a good, solid player and you have AJ on the big blind - take a second to atleast think about it before you call.
red+black
24 Jan 2007, 14:10
That's similar to the HSP hand where Gus has 55 and raises, Negreanu has 66 and either calls or re-raises and Esfandiari gets AQo in the SB, and jokingly berates the dealer saying how his hand is junk OOP to those guys in a raised pot.
Yeah exactly. People will look at that and be like...why the hell is he folding that hand?!? And if he knew what the other two had he would probably call.
But what's the best case scenario? If he flops A or Q-high neither Gus nor Daniel are gonna put much more money in with their hands. Unless of course the flop is Q62 or something, in which case he's going to lose a lot.
Knowledge
28 Jan 2007, 22:52
Just ordererd
Doyle Brunson's - Super System's
and
Phil Helmuth's - Readem and reap (Which my mate said was awsome)
red+black
28 Jan 2007, 23:07
Just ordererd
Doyle Brunson's - Super System's
You could just read SS2 here (http://www.doylespokerroom.com/poker/poker_online.cfm). It doesn't tend to get positive reviews.
Knowledge
28 Jan 2007, 23:41
You could just read SS2 here (http://www.doylespokerroom.com/poker/poker_online.cfm). It doesn't tend to get positive reviews.
I didn't order SS2. Either way I find it near impossible to read e-books.
edit: Ah, the wording was bad on my behalf. I can see how you mis-understood me as i added the 's on the end. What I ment to say is I orderd 'Super System' not both of them.
red+black
28 Jan 2007, 23:56
If you were to buy one of them, why on Earth would you buy Super System 1?
Knowledge
29 Jan 2007, 00:58
If you were to buy one of them, why on Earth would you buy Super System 1?
because I wanted to? Yeah it's outdated but I would still like to have it.
I dont' see what the problem is? I know there are e-books out there but as I said I can't stand reading them.
red+black
29 Jan 2007, 01:32
But I thought SS2 was supposed to be the updated version of SS1, thus rendering SS1 obsolete. Can someone confirm/reject this?
Fair enough you want to buy a actual book, I'm just wondering why SS1 rather than SS2?
Borgsta
29 Jan 2007, 08:52
But I thought SS2 was supposed to be the updated version of SS1, thus rendering SS1 obsolete. Can someone confirm/reject this?
Fair enough you want to buy a actual book, I'm just wondering why SS1 rather than SS2?
I bought SS1. It has different games in it and different theory too. I quite enjoyed the different games it had in there.
Knowledge
29 Jan 2007, 10:53
I actualyl read that SS2 is not very good and a bit to much self-advertisment. I didn't wanna take the risk so I just wen with the classic. From what I've read SS2 isn't really a 'sequal' as such.
red+black
29 Jan 2007, 13:05
Was reading through the 2p2 Books forum and these were mentioned:
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/9987/096610071901aa240sclzzzgz0.jpg http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2076/155022742401aa240sclzzzcr2.jpg http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/6861/188607026101aa180sclzzzjn5.jpg
I actualyl read that SS2 is not very good and a bit to much self-advertisment. I didn't wanna take the risk so I just wen with the classic. From what I've read SS2 isn't really a 'sequal' as such.
It does have a lot of BS self-advertising, but it's a great book.
red+black
1 Feb 2007, 18:36
2p2 Grand Poobah said that Harrington on Cash Games: Volume 1 will be out in 8-9 months.
Knowledge
1 Feb 2007, 20:25
I've seen that middle book you posted R+B in Chadstone Borders about 2 weeks ago if any one is interested.
red+black
4 Feb 2007, 00:49
Chapter listing for "Why You Lose At Poker". I think I need this book
Play Topics:
1. The Money You Lose Playing Too Many Hands
2. The Money You Lose Not Taking the Initiative
3. The Money You Lose Not Recognizing When You Are Beat
4. The Money You Lose Not Considering Your Opponents
5. The Money You Lose Making Incorrect Bet Sizes in Pot-Limit and No-Limit Games
6. The Money You Lose With Poor Bluffing Habits
7. The Money You Lose Making Mechanical Errors
8. The Money You Lose Playing for Only Half the Pot
Other Topics:
9. Losing Because You Don’t Have an Adequate Bankroll
10. Losing Because You Shouldn’t be Playing
11. Losing Because You Are Not Properly Educated
12. Losing Because You Don’t Understand the Math of Poker
13. Losing Because You’re Playing in Tournaments
14. Losing Because of Bad Luck
15. Losing Because You Don’t Use Game Selection
16. Losing Because You’ve Forgotten the Goal of Poker
Knowledge
5 Feb 2007, 14:44
Got my books today.
red+black
6 Feb 2007, 09:20
It ****s me when lazy publishers don't release a book's table of contents to Amazon. The whole point of online purchasing should be the ability to obtain as much information as possible about a product before deciding to purchase.
Otherwise, we may as well all just purchase the old-fashioned way.
Amazon should refuse to host [non-fiction/technical] books on their site that do not provide a viewable TOC.
Falchoon
6 Feb 2007, 09:53
So far since early December I've read Phil Gordons 3 books. Am nearing completion of Harringtons first book and have in my possession Harringtons second and Caro's book of tells.
Caro's book of tells should prove interesting to use on the APL crowd ;)
red+black
6 Feb 2007, 10:20
Caro's book of tells was written in the 1800's wasn't it?
Knowledge
6 Feb 2007, 11:29
I've read a bit of 'Read em and reap' and it's excellent so far I'd recomend it'
http://www.amazon.com/Phil-Hellmuth-Presents-Read-Reap/dp/0061198595
Falchoon
6 Feb 2007, 16:20
Caro's book of tells was written in the 1800's wasn't it?
true, it's not very realistic, not an Ipod to be seen
red+black
7 Feb 2007, 09:45
http://img479.imageshack.us/img479/1263/044669562901ss500sclzzznc1.jpg
Falchoon
7 Feb 2007, 10:12
http://img479.imageshack.us/img479/1263/044669562901ss500sclzzznc1.jpg
I might read that one and try it out at the APL http://www.giveupalready.com/images/smilies/rofl.gif
red+black
14 Feb 2007, 13:40
Currently in my Amazon cart, might order soon:
Harrington on Hold 'em: Expert Strategies for No Limit Tournaments, Vol. III - The Workbook
- Dan Harrington
No Limit Hold 'em: Theory and Practice
- David Sklansky
Ace on the River: An Advanced Poker Guide
- Barry Greenstein
The Book of Bluffs: How to Bluff and Win at Poker
- Matt Lessinger
Why You Lose at Poker
- Russell Fox
Armwarmer
1 Mar 2007, 12:03
I just finalised and ordered my first bunch of poker books.
Phil Gordon's Poker Box Set: Phil Gordon's Little Black Book, Phil Gordon's Little Green Book, Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book
Doyle Brunson's Super System 1 + 2
Caro's Book of Poker Tells
The Theory of Poker - David Sklansky
Hold'Em Poker for Advanced Players (Advance Player) - David Sklansky
Tournament Poker for Advanced Players (Advance Player) - David Sklansky
Harrington on Hold 'em Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments, Vol. 1: Strategic Play
Harrington on Hold 'em Expert Strategy for No Limit Tournaments, Vol. 2: Endgame
red+black
2 Mar 2007, 09:49
The Book of Bluffs: How to Bluff and Win at Poker
- Matt Lessinger
Why You Lose at Poker
- Russell Fox
These appear to focus primarily on Limit Holdem.
Armwarmer
2 Mar 2007, 11:08
Why You Lose at Poker
- Russell Fox
I just bought this one too. It got mixed reviews, some rating it horribly, but I'd rather judge for myself.
Also picked up Greenstein's 'Ace on the River' and a few of Phil Hellmuth's books. Looking forward to recieving them.
red+black
2 Mar 2007, 11:50
Greenstein's 'Ace on the River'
That is one huge mother of a book. I was quite shocked.
red+black
14 Mar 2007, 21:59
Phil Gordon has been working on a new book over the festive period:
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/880/pinkxs9.jpg
Armwarmer
15 Mar 2007, 00:08
That is one huge mother of a book. I was quite shocked.
Quite a good book.
Finished reading it last night. Gives lots of interesting insight into the world of professional poker, good supplement to a poker library. It's more a 'how to prepare for poker games, how to conduct yourself, how to keep the 'live ones' coming back for more', rather than a pure strategy guide.
Phil Gordon has been working on a new book over the festive period
I reckon Gordon's more of a donk than Lindgren.
red+black
15 Mar 2007, 08:48
Yeah Phil Gordon has been weird lately. Someone commented about him over at 2p2:
Gordon obviously has a deep need to be approved of. We saw it last time he was on PAD and we instantly saw it again. PA says he put Eric on a diamond draw and Gordon instantly says, "Me too", which of course, sparked the incident. Lindgren's response was due to Gordon's own insecurity, at least that's how I see it. Gordon and Hellmuth are very, very similar in this manner.
Gordon desperately wants to be a part of the "in" crowd, as does Hellmuth. Gordon (and Hellmuth) knows that Ivey, Lindren, Antonius, Harman, are considered poker royalty and are extremely popular. Gordon really wants to be in that group as well. Since he's not going to get more popular, his only hope is to prove how good, how smart, etc., he is. He does this by calling out hole cards post-play. He did it last time he was on the show as well. When Eric called him on it, he instantly realized how bad he sounded, got totally embarassed, and had to shut up. Hellmuth just keeps talking however.
Armwarmer
15 Mar 2007, 11:53
Yeah Phil Gordon has been weird lately. Someone commented about him over at 2p2:
Gordon obviously has a deep need to be approved of. We saw it last time he was on PAD and we instantly saw it again. PA says he put Eric on a diamond draw and Gordon instantly says, "Me too", which of course, sparked the incident. Lindgren's response was due to Gordon's own insecurity, at least that's how I see it. Gordon and Hellmuth are very, very similar in this manner.
Gordon desperately wants to be a part of the "in" crowd, as does Hellmuth. Gordon (and Hellmuth) knows that Ivey, Lindren, Antonius, Harman, are considered poker royalty and are extremely popular. Gordon really wants to be in that group as well. Since he's not going to get more popular, his only hope is to prove how good, how smart, etc., he is. He does this by calling out hole cards post-play. He did it last time he was on the show as well. When Eric called him on it, he instantly realized how bad he sounded, got totally embarassed, and had to shut up. Hellmuth just keeps talking however.
I don't know about Hellmuth seeking approval.
I don't think anyone denies how good Phil Hellmuth is. He doesn't get along with some of the other big names because his ego is halfway to mars. But I think most people in the poker world have a soft spot for him and respect him and his achievements.
Gordon is different. He is a decent player, and wrote a whole bunch of good poker books. As a result, he feels he has a prerogative to be successful and recognised within the poker world. As Brunson says in supersystem, there's a difference between knowing what to do, and being able to do it on the felt. This is where I think Gordon falls down. He is a very good player and will definately win bracelets I think in the years to come, but his insecurity about it is cringeworthy.
He uploaded a whole bunch of video responses to questions people sent him on youtube. Someone wrote a comment mentioning his lack of success in tournament poker. You'd think most pros would just ignore comments like that or brush them off with a joke. This was Phil's response.
There are about 2.3 million reasons I won't bother with this guy. If you can find 10 players in history with a WPT win and a final table at the WSOP, let me know.
Huge insecurity complex. :thumbsd:
Knowledge
19 Apr 2007, 19:26
I bought a book today " The professor, the Banker and the Suicide King - Inisde the Richest Poker game of all time."
Not a theory book, it's about 'The Coporation vs Andy Beale' very very good read.
Knowledge
19 Apr 2007, 19:30
Oh Btw how do gordon's books read?
I saw a boxset of them at Borders today and may go pick them up next Tuesday when it's my birthday.
Armwarmer
19 Apr 2007, 19:53
I bought a book today " The professor, the Banker and the Suicide King - Inisde the Richest Poker game of all time."
Not a theory book, it's about 'The Coporation vs Andy Beale' very very good read.
Yeah I saw that book a while ago at Borders, I might pick it up next time they have one of those crazy 40% offers going.
They read very, very well.
The little Green book is better than the other ones, but it's worth picking up the set. Even though you may know concepts like pots odds and implied odds back to front, he reaffirms all the stuff you know and provides good insight into thinks like gap theory and other notable poker theory.
Falchoon
19 Apr 2007, 20:01
I saw a boxset of them at Borders today and may go pick them up next Tuesday when it's my birthday.
I found them quite good.
Can really summarise in 3 words, position position position, but definitely worth a read.
Knowledge
19 Apr 2007, 21:39
Yeah I saw that book a while ago at Borders, I might pick it up next time they have one of those crazy 40% offers going.
Just finished reading it. i read it in a day. Awsome book, good for a read just about poker. You don't really learn much but it provides good backround on all the players hwo played 'the big game'.
I'd reccomend it to any pokerfan.
ps: If you want, or anyone else for that matter, I'd be willing to sell it at cheaper price as it really has no use to me now.
Armwarmer
21 Apr 2007, 10:29
Just finished reading it. i read it in a day. Awsome book, good for a read just about poker. You don't really learn much but it provides good backround on all the players hwo played 'the big game'.
I'd reccomend it to any pokerfan.
ps: If you want, or anyone else for that matter, I'd be willing to sell it at cheaper price as it really has no use to me now.
Thanks for the offer man.
I reckon I'll just hold out and buy it from Borders when they've got a 40% sale on. Either that or I'll get my mate to get it with his 30% staff discount.
If you don't it, I reckon you just take it back and say you got it as a gift but already had read it. I'm sure they'd give you some sort of redemption voucher. :thumbsu:
Knowledge
23 Apr 2007, 13:36
I bought gordons little green book today. I wroked out buying the individual books (at 25$ each) instead of the boxset (120) is cheaper.
Had a bit of a read seems good
red+black
23 Apr 2007, 13:40
There's no need to buy Phil Gordon's Black Book.
Knowledge
23 Apr 2007, 14:37
That's what I thought aswell
Crosby87
23 Apr 2007, 17:39
Bought SS2 the other week, but haven't read much, with the exception of the PLO and Triple Draw sections. Good so far, though.
Armwarmer
24 Apr 2007, 00:02
The same can be said for the Blue Book which just outlines plays he has made, which alot of the time IMO are not the best plays. Worth reading though, gives some good insight into practical applications of the theories we have all read about.
The boxset was cheap on amazon, which was the only reason I bought it.
The Green book is basically a revised/updated/better version of the black one, covering alot of the same concepts. The black one was basically a piece of co-wrote before the green book, that he just randomly decided to reprint and add to his 'Little Book' series. It's not bad, but the Green one covers the same stuff in more depth but in the same amount of pages.
Crosby87
24 Apr 2007, 10:55
I wonder what Negreanu thinks of Gordon's books.