View Full Version : D3 Ammos
Pages :
[
11]
BlackMamba
18 Sep 2006, 11:41
Ha! That was so funny. How could he drop it? It was the biggest sitter I've ever seen.
Johnny0nthespot
18 Sep 2006, 12:49
Ha! That was so funny. How could he drop it? It was the biggest sitter I've ever seen.
What about the mark in the monash goal square and missed kick from 15 metres out 2 mins later...
OK, I'll be the first to say well done to the Districts on their win yesterday. It was a good match, that could've gone either way in the end, but the Districts clearly out-played the Dees in the final quarter, and deserve their victory.
Look, I wasn't trying to start fights on this forum, just trying to squash some of the rumours straight. Sorry to anyone who got offended, including Cheevo, if he even reads this forum.
Just to let you know, they're actually the Under 19s, and they're just a pack of harmless ratbags. They were just having a little fun, as you do when yelling out at the footy, and didn't have any intention of actually hitting a South player or anything. That kind of abuse happens all the time in football, I cop it heaps on the field, and ya just shrug it off, and try to ignore the peanuts on the other side of the fence...
I don't think he was trying to kick it at the coaching staff. He came off the ground angry about the racial abuse he copped on the field from a South player. Number 43 I think, the guy who got suspended for 7 weeks for headbutting.
Verbal abuse is one thing, Racism is another. There's no place for it in society, and no place for it on the football field. One thing I feel very strongly about.
Well said. In my defence, I never came out and said that Cheevo was a terrible footballer. I thought there were better players to pick as a BOG, from both South and Bentleigh. I even picked the correct one, Aqua, who did win it.
As I said above, I never said he was crap. There were just better players to pick from for the BOG.
After seeing yesterday, yeah Cheevo did well, but I did notice about half of his possessions were from standing behind the guy with the mark/free and getting the handball off. It's the Aaron Sandilands to a runner past thing.
Do South do it because Cheevo is really accurate, or because the guy with the footy isn't?
Not bagging him, but maybe that's why he does better on the stats sheet than I give him credit for.
Just backing up a teammate....I'm hardly going to stand by while people incorrectly bag him....
Just like how everyone has stood up for Cheevo. Atleast give me some credit for being the only one on here who is game enough to stand up for Dimma.
He injured his hammy 5 minutes into the game yesterday, but played the rest of the game, and did well. No, it wasn't as good as he can do, but it was still good to have him out there.
As a bloke, he's a great person, awesome to talk to, and really good to have around the club, and that's why I wanted to stand up for him, just as any one of you guys would have done for your teammate.
Anyway, it should be good to see the Bentleigh v South games in D2 next year, I'm sure they'll be cracker-jack matches. No arguments here that Dimma is a good bloke, as is Frank, who I played alongside many a year ago in a Richmond twos side. I even recall him fighting Steve Milne while I had to stop big Monkhurst from running in and tearing him in half. Of course I did that with a few kind words because taking on Monkey is like signing the contract on your own life. Luckily Monky is also a good bloke and we were saved from a pounding.
Full respect to the Bentleigh side for the way they played. the game was in the balance until the last 5 minutes when a run of goals ended the match. My opponent got the honours on me and I was happy to admit it when we shook hands. Those dills over the fence do the club no credit and I'm sure if South had of lost one or two would have lost teeth. Good sledging is usually funny even when you cop it because some thought has gone into it. calling a bloke a c*** and then his mum the same is not clever and was not coming from any other part of the ground. also hated the way they singled out a bloke who is still going around at 34 after numerous shoulder reconstructions. I've played for 25 years and I can recall only one or two times where I wanted to jump the fence and belt a spectator and saturday was one of those days. It doesn't help their team either because it only makes you more determined to stick it up them and win the game. So enough said on that issue.
I appreciate you qualifying your comments and fair enough you stick up for your own. The racial issue was a bit of a beat up given the offender is an Italian himself. It's still wrong, but it's not up there with what happened in the US 50 years ago. It seems like Dimma is over it judging by his jovial comments during both games.
On the Cheevo issue, he is a good kick and we like to hand off to him, but we don't measure our best by the stats sheet. Cheevo's the most team oriented player I've seen. He always brings others into the game and other players are happy to return the favour. I don't understand why people take pot shots at him all the time. He goes when it's his turn and is just a top bloke. saw him kick 6 in a quarter a full forward versus Syndal one year. All contesetd marks, so he's far from a receiver in my book.
Anyway you're right on the D2 showdowns. they will be big as usual. the rivalry is getting up to Port v willy standard. Hope all at bentleigh enjoy Mad Monday, especially their trainer Dizzy Smith whose probably doing helicopters in the bar right now.
BlackMamba,
Cheers for the banter on the Cheevo vs Dimma issue. Leading into a granny your always going to stick up for one of your mates and stir the pot a bit. Chev is one of the most die hard South clubmen you'll ever meet and his playing ability is never questioned. I'm sure if you asked the same questions earlier in the year plenty of opposition players would of arced up as he destroyed many off his own boot. Anyway good call on the BOG you would have had big problems if Cheevo won, hats are not that tasty!
I had the pleasure of playing on one of the Dimma's ealier in the year and know thier family through marcellin in the late 80's, (yes I'm an old bastard). Big W has stolen alot of my thunder as I do agree with much of what he said. But at least you have some kids at the club, something South desperately needs if we are to be successful in higher grades.
See you next year in D2!
Johnny0nthespot
19 Sep 2006, 01:38
Old Timer.
Kingy is listed as kicking 3 goals... Is that right? I didnt think he had any influence. In fact I thought he sat most of the game on the bench...
oldtimer
19 Sep 2006, 10:22
Old Timer.
Kingy is listed as kicking 3 goals... Is that right? I didnt think he had any influence. In fact I thought he sat most of the game on the bench...
Played at Full Forward in 1st 1/4, kicked 2 and strained his hamstring, came back on in the last and kicked the first goal of the last 1/4.
quasimodo
19 Sep 2006, 11:54
Thought I'd get in early with a ladder prediction for 2007:
Latrobe Uni (Will appreciate the drop in class)
Elsternwick (Will be better for the run in '06)
Old Westbourne (Will be thereabouts)
Powerhouse (Provided they retain their '06 forward line)
------------------------------------------------------
West Brunswick (Will continue to be tough to beat at home)
Ivanhoe Assumption (A club going nowhere in a hurry)
Monash Gryphons (Will be relegated unless Flowerday is back)
Kew (Depends on their selection policy)
Hawthorn (Will wonder why they came up - big "yo-yo club")
Swinburne (See Ivanhoe Assumption and multiply by 4!)
Food for thought...
oldtimer
19 Sep 2006, 12:14
Thought I'd get in early with a ladder prediction for 2007:
Latrobe Uni (Will appreciate the drop in class)
Elsternwick (Will be better for the run in '06)
Old Westbourne (Will be thereabouts)
Powerhouse (Provided they retain their '06 forward line)
------------------------------------------------------
West Brunswick (Will continue to be tough to beat at home)
Ivanhoe Assumption (A club going nowhere in a hurry)
Monash Gryphons (Will be relegated unless Flowerday is back)
Kew (Depends on their selection policy)
Hawthorn (Will wonder why they came up - big "yo-yo club")
Swinburne (See Ivanhoe Assumption and multiply by 4!)
Food for thought...
Shouldn't Latrobe's comment be the same as Kew, considering they won a ressies flag and got relegated!!!
Johnny0nthespot
19 Sep 2006, 12:38
Monash needs a senior coach first! But looks like they may recruit a couple of big names from the O&M comp for next year. I would say they will be right in the mix.
BlackMamba
19 Sep 2006, 13:32
BlackMamba,
Anyway good call on the BOG you would have had big problems if Cheevo won, hats are not that tasty!
Yeah, I actually got a bit worried after I saw Cheevo get a few quick touches in the final quarter....
He sounds like a good bloke, and that's understandable seeing as I used to play alongside his brother, who is one of the funniest people I have ever met.
Hope all at bentleigh enjoy Mad Monday, especially their trainer Dizzy Smith whose probably doing helicopters in the bar right now.
Dizzy couldn't make it to Mad Monday coz he was still feeling sick from Saturday night. We were trying to tell him to go home, but he didn't understand what we were saying. Just kept talking about himself in the third person...."Dizzy's going to the club!", "Dizzy's ****ed, and going to the club!"
Top bloke.
Mad Monday was great. With the Op Shop two doors away from the pub, how could we resist buying stupid clothes to wear for $1.50. We even got Shooter in a Wedding Dress! Must be the ugliest bride anyones ever seen!!!!
port-man_fc
19 Sep 2006, 18:25
Does anyone have any information on the 2 sides going down to D4 next year and how were there lists this year?? Is there any development possible from these to clubs ???
Does anyone here rate there chances of returning to D3 in the next 1-2 seasons???
Cheers.
oldtimer
19 Sep 2006, 18:56
Does anyone have any information on the 2 sides going down to D4 next year and how were there lists this year?? Is there any development possible from these to clubs ???
Does anyone here rate there chances of returning to D3 in the next 1-2 seasons???
Cheers.
St Marys will do alright as they have a fair mix of young kids, i think Uni High are in trouble - the area they are in it is extremely hard to attract players. I think that if they don't find their feet in 07 then it could see the demise of the club. This would be a pity!!
Johnny0nthespot
19 Sep 2006, 23:35
St Marys will do alright as they have a fair mix of young kids, i think Uni High are in trouble - the area they are in it is extremely hard to attract players. I think that if they don't find their feet in 07 then it could see the demise of the club. This would be a pity!!
Agree with the old timer. St Mary's finished off the season reasonably well and do have some good young players. I think they would expect to be very competitive in D4. I wish they would change their team colors though! Uni High will really struggle. At regular times they couldnt muster 44 players on a Saturday and had blokes playing in both ressies and seniors. Im sure they have both also advertised for a new coach.
Archangel17
20 Sep 2006, 08:49
I know a couple of blokes down at St Marys and whilst i didnt manage to see them play this year due to my own committments, understand that they have some good young players who were not ready for the extra speed and particularly physicality in the step up in grades. They apparently will lose very few and are searching for a couple of bigger bodies to help them not only be finalists in D4 but competitive the following season in D3. The biggest thing St Mary's , like many clubs, need, is an u19 team and junior feeders. So for them to truly grow they should consider combining u19 with an SFL side in the interim until a relationship with a high school or other junior club allows them to run their own u19. UHS will be middle of the road intially, maybe even finalists, but long term are in big trouble unless they genuinely commit to both Vic Uni, and the junior club they are theoretically linked to- Flemington or something.
Turbs23
20 Sep 2006, 10:34
I agree with all comments so far. StMarys do have quite a young list and they were always competitive throughout the year. They really are missing Jedda, who was a solid enforcer-type midfielder for them (especially in season 04 where they nearly beat us to sneak into the GF). They'll go alright after some of their kids have got some more experience. UHS-VU on the slide. will struggle. should merge with another club to add some more letters to their name.. UHS-VU-WB? :D
knackers_2
20 Sep 2006, 10:49
UHS-VU on the slide. will struggle. should merge with another club to add some more letters to their name.. UHS-VU-WB? :D
Rumours about the place say that Tony Boyce will pull on the boots next year.
That would make it UHS-VU-TB. Great initials - he reminds me a bit of coughing my lungs up.
rightfoot_sloth
20 Sep 2006, 11:55
So you are saying that UHS-VU wouldn't be a good side to coach in 2007 ? I have noticed that they have been advertising pretty heavily in all the records i.e WRFL/EDFL and VAFA. So they must be hoping to get a big name.
Turbs23
20 Sep 2006, 12:40
So you are saying that UHS-VU wouldn't be a good side to coach in 2007 ?
You'd be amazed what a drop in grade can do for a club. After getting spanked all the previous year, confindence can go through the roof after getting a few really good wins on the board against lesser sides. Still think UHS will still struggle but with a good coach (and if he brings a few good recruits with him) things could turn around quite quickly.
Archangel17
21 Sep 2006, 08:33
IT is not that UHS-VU etc etc would not be a good club to coach. IT is that for them to turn it around there would need to be some serious inroads made at VU and the junior club, to make them into true recruiting grounds. Players would need to coach some of the juniors, run clinics etc.There would nee dto be a huge presence at VU campuses during O- Week and first few weeks of uni. From what i understand there are not enough helpers on committee to make this happen. So the new coach would need to try and turn this around. If it did happen. The sky could be the limit with a feeder system of juniors and country kids from VU, but without it, UHS in not a football school, and things will be very grim. In more ways than one the opportunities at this club are huge, but someone has to be prepared to put the time and structure in place
Turbs23
22 Sep 2006, 17:26
Where are D3 teams heading for their footy trips this year??
knackers_2
25 Sep 2006, 09:14
Where are D3 teams heading for their footy trips this year??
UHS-VU and West Brunswick are having a joint footy trip at the Sarah Sands on Sydney Rd. It's been a long standing policy of both clubs to have their footy trip on map 29 of the Melways
Bemuse Me
26 Sep 2006, 13:20
Seems to have gone unnoticed in these parts that South Melbourne’s Dean Bell was given one of the extra premiership medals after the win last week.
Is this the same Dean Bell that was banned from ever attending another South Melbourne game ever again?
You know, the one that the South president and captain both put in writing to the league, saying that the club would never have anything to do with him again?
What a crock that turned out to be.
Turned out to be a complete lie, just to avoid the club getting fined for one of its players assaulting VAFA officials.
I didn’t look too closely, but I wonder if D’Andrea (#43) who over the course of the year – racially abused, spat at and eye gouged players, also got a medal.
Absolute joke.
BlackMamba
27 Sep 2006, 01:43
That was a bit of a weird one. Anyone know if Dean Bell is welcome to play at South next year?
Dean Bell will always be welcome at the districts, been there for years and alot of friends. Deserved to get a medal. Maybe a few are jealous that they play for a side not good enough to win their own medals.
Now season is over recruiting players will start. Know for a fact that 2 old Sth Districts players are returning to the club next year. One Marko Stefandakis from Collegians and Luke Keely from Port Melbourne Colts. Big chance that Tom Paterakis may play next year coming from Sandringham.
May help next year in the higher division.
oldtimer
27 Sep 2006, 17:47
Dean Bell will always be welcome at the districts, been there for years and alot of friends. Deserved to get a medal. Maybe a few are jealous that they play for a side not good enough to win their own medals.
Now season is over recruiting players will start. Know for a fact that 2 old Sth Districts players are returning to the club next year. One Marko Stefandakis from Collegians and Luke Keely from Port Melbourne Colts. Big chance that Tom Paterakis may play next year coming from Sandringham.
I don't think that Bell can play for Districts next year. Pretty sure that he had his amateur staus revoked by the vafa after his performance at the tribunal. Again I am pretty sure that due to his past record of indiscretions he will have to play with someone outside the vafa next year.
Old Warrior
27 Sep 2006, 17:50
Seems to have gone unnoticed in these parts that South Melbourne’s Dean Bell was given one of the extra premiership medals after the win last week.
Is this the same Dean Bell that was banned from ever attending another South Melbourne game ever again?
You know, the one that the South president and captain both put in writing to the league, saying that the club would never have anything to do with him again?
What a crock that turned out to be.
Turned out to be a complete lie, just to avoid the club getting fined for one of its players assaulting VAFA officials.
I didn’t look too closely, but I wonder if D’Andrea (#43) who over the course of the year – racially abused, spat at and eye gouged players, also got a medal.
Absolute joke.
The bloke's paid the ultimate price and missed out on a premiership with all his mates. He's going to be hurting about that for the rest of his life.
He got a medal - big deal.
The bloke's paid the ultimate price and missed out on a premiership with all his mates. He's going to be hurting about that for the rest of his life.
He got a medal - big deal.Well said.:thumbsu:
Now who ever this is, i will go with jack cronan, you should know better. dont start rumours. You know as i do that there are a few thinking of returning, Marko, Steve Bracchi, Zak Lewis, Tom Paterakis and Luke Kealy.
With the last 2 will be hard for tom to pass on the money he will be offered, and hard for kealy to leave after 2 premeirships in 2 years.
Maybe your passing the heat to others so your move to st marys goes un noticed.
Bemuse Me
28 Sep 2006, 11:02
Dean Bell will always be welcome at the districts, been there for years and alot of friends.
That's fair enough, but the question remains, why did the captain and the president both put in writing to the VAFA that he was told he is no longer welcome at the club???
Obviously it was just some bullsh*t statement to avoid the club getting fined.
As for Dean Bell's new club next year, if the Ammos decide to pursue assault charges, as they should, he might be able to get a game with the HM Barwon Prison representative side.
Turbs23
28 Sep 2006, 12:59
He got a medal - big deal.
It's worth its weight in gold if part of the winning 22 on grand final day. Otherwise it's only a round, cheap peice of lead covered in tin that is worth nothing but empty memories and what-ifs.
the lip
28 Sep 2006, 21:01
That's fair enough, but the question remains, why did the captain and the president both put in writing to the VAFA that he was told he is no longer welcome at the club???
As for Dean Bell's new club next year, if the Ammos decide to pursue assault charges, as they should, he might be able to get a game with the HM Barwon Prison representative side. mate would you like to meet the bloke in person? let me know so i can pass the message on?
As for Dean Bell's new club next year, if the Ammos decide to pursue assault charges, as they should, he might be able to get a game with the HM Barwon Prison representative side.
As if South can afford a fine, get over it d1ck head, enough has been said.
BlackMamba
29 Sep 2006, 02:06
It's a fair enough question isn't it.... and the defensive stance people on this forum have taken pretty much confirm that South never had any intention of keeping their word.
OK, we've heard that Dean has many friends at South, and has been there for a long time....so good on him, let him stay at South, it's no biggy.
He cops his sentence, misses a Grand Final, and moves on....
It would've been fine if the club didn't say anything but an apology to the league, that's all.
When I first heard about the letter, I honestly thought that South Melbourne must have really strong morals. I gave them a lot of credit for making a strong point that that kind of behaviour by any player was frowned upon by the club. Good on them for doing so. It was seen as a very respectful decision.
Now however, if this stuff is all true, then all that repect goes down the drain.
IF, and that's a big IF, Dean can and does play for the club next year, then South will have lost a lot of credit from many people, including the VAFA, who will no doubt 'have it in' for them next year.
Once again, IF that is the case, all they have done is shot themselves in the foot, and they can expect no mercy from the League.
knackers_2
29 Sep 2006, 10:07
iTap, Big W, the_lip, harper et al - can any of you confirm the content of a letter to the VAFA stating Bell wouldn't be welcome at Souths next year, and if he is likely to be around?
The Tiger's Nuts
29 Sep 2006, 11:24
If he's been deregistered he won't get a game, pure and simple.
If he is around, and acts up in the crowd, expect a few investigations and fines for conduct unbecoming. SM will get the message eventually.
Tigernuts
Bemuse Me
2 Oct 2006, 12:11
mate would you like to meet the bloke in person? let me know so i can pass the message on?
No I don't want to meet him.
He has clearly shown from his petulant childish antics at the tribunal that he is an unstable sociopath who can't be trusted to walk the streets, let alone play a contact sport.
Why would I want to meet him?
I just want to make sure that I can play a game of footy (or sit in a tribunal hearing if the case may be) without having an anti-social lunatic throw a chair at me.
And I notice no one has refuted my suggestion that SOUTH MELBOURNE BLATANTLY LIED IN AN OFFICIAL LETTER TO THE VAFA JUST TO AVOID GETTING A FINE!
Proves two things - one that the VAFA huffs and puffs, but when the big decisions have to be made they are weak as water, and two that South Melbourne are a bunch of liars who will do anything to save their own arse..
And I notice no one has refuted my suggestion that SOUTH MELBOURNE BLATANTLY LIED IN AN OFFICIAL LETTER TO THE VAFA JUST TO AVOID GETTING A FINE!
Proves two things - one that the VAFA huffs and puffs, but when the big decisions have to be made they are weak as water, and two that South Melbourne are a bunch of liars who will do anything to save their own arse..
Have you asked the VAFA to explain their stand in the issue? That might make more sense than to come on here under a pseudonym and try to antagonise a bunch of blokes who are all too busy celebrating a fantastic end to a brilliant season.
I can't speak for all my team mates but I have never read this letter, I'm not aware of the conditions imposed on Dean Bell and I'm not certain if he will play with us next year. All I can do is hope that he will be able to as he is a valuable member of the team, albeit one with anger issues which need working out.
As this is an issue which seems to vex you greatly perhaps you could be so kind as to get in touch with the VAFA, voice your concerns, and then report back to this forum and enlighten us all as to the situation.
Now if you'll excuse me I have to go back to polishing my medal.
crownies2
2 Oct 2006, 18:34
The truth to the matter is that the VAFA have taken the necessary action. Dean Bell's Permit to play in the VAFA has been revoked which means he can't play with South or anyone else for that matter.
His Tribunal Record has also been passed onto Football Victoria who now have the ultimate responsibility of banning him from playing with any competition in the state.
So he has done himself a fair bit of damage.
Old Warrior
3 Oct 2006, 17:11
Any news on the coaching front for other clubs in D3?
At OW Fab Gatti has been reappointed for 2007 as senior coach, Danny Hickey as reserves coach and Matt Campbell has taken the step up from being assistant in the seniors to U/19 coach for the coming season.
Congratulations to Paul Chalmers for taking out the senior B&F this year and Stu Burnham for winning the ressies.
espresso
3 Oct 2006, 22:37
No I don't want to meet him.
blah blah blah
You need to step back and take a good look at the situation. The club stood by their word, which was to suspend him from the club - that means no training and no playing. I can confirm that during GF week Spide was not allowed at the club.
The letter never siad he'd be banned from the club. your little brain and big mouth are getting a bit hot on this point. South cannot stop a person from watching their games, and should not be stopped from rewarding a plyer who had a great season and one slip up - which was at the VAFA, not the actual incident that got him there (it was more criminal that he got 2 weeks ;)).
Spider cannot play with the club next year - as they have stood by their word and suspended him, and so have the VAFA - who have removed his permit.
He is still agreat asset to the club and will be welcome back once the VAFA and club committee agree it is appropriate in a non playing role - if of couse he wants to. He has the full support of all players and officials.
If you ever manage to pull your head out of your arse, you'll realise that many happen beheind the scenes. Actions cannot be reversed, but they can be remedied. In this case, Spide, the club and VAFA are seeking a solution, not a crucifixion.
The strength of South as a club and as a community is part of the reason we are premiers.
RIP the LIP.
BlackMamba
4 Oct 2006, 01:48
hahaha....."one slip up"
makes it sound like it was more of an accidental thing....
We got the full run-down of what happened from our representative, and it was hardly a split-second moment of anger. Apparently he went down the corridoor smashing windows, tables, doors.....anything in sight.
Is that really the kind of person that you'd like at the club?
Lets hope he's not an angry drunk....imagine the club functions!
Look, I agree that the 2 week suspension wasn't fair, and it's a serious problem with the Ammos.....they don't care to listen to your case, it's pretty much "oh, you were reported....well.....2 weeks then" ...
Maybe that's what got Dean so angry in the first place.....still, it definately doens't warrant assualt and property destruction......our guy just copped his sentence and quietly walked out the door.
The Tiger's Nuts
4 Oct 2006, 09:14
...and it's a serious problem with the Ammos.....they don't care to listen to your case, it's pretty much "oh, you were reported....well.....2 weeks then" ...
Well looking at the last two months tribunal results, we have (pass the envelope please)...
* 20 found guilty
* 10 found not guilty
* 3 accepted set penalty
* 1 charge withdrawn
So tossing out the "you got me bang to rights Guv" set penalties, the facts show that 33% of reports are found not guilty... that's hardly an automatic two weeks, now is it?
Pity you said that, it was a good post otherwise.
Tigernuts
You owe us an apology for that particular call I believe.
I won't hold my breath waiting for one though.
Apparently next year the Ammos might be bringing in an appeal system similar to the AFL.
Archangel17
4 Oct 2006, 11:45
IF you add in two investigations instigated by losing grand final sides, that then failed you may find that there are even more found not guilty
BlackMamba
4 Oct 2006, 12:49
So tossing out the "you got me bang to rights Guv" set penalties, the facts show that 33% of reports are found not guilty... that's hardly an automatic two weeks, now is it?
Is that for all divisions?
Just from what I've heard from my teammates, and my opponents, no-one has got off. Everyone knows that Dean Bell barely hit our guy, same thing with Charlie McFadden, our potential Grand Finalist who was suspended.
Earlier in the year a guy from Bentleigh was reported for bumping someone. It may have been close to what you'd call a shirt-front, but he copped two weeks.
He is a big guy, absolutely massive. He was sprinting after the bouncing ball, eyes down, and just ran into someone. Completely on accident. It was even a stretch for it being a free kick. The guy he ran into wasn't even hurt, and was surprised that he got the free.
The umpire saw that a big bloke knocked over someone, and automatically pulled out his book.
He rocked up at the tribunal, and once they saw how big he was they gave him two weeks. I asked him about the hearing and he said, "They just wouldn't listen to me. They didn't care for my side of the story. It only mattered what the umpire said, nothing else."
I suppose it's difficult to have a tribunal hearing without having any supporting video footage, but from the stories I've heard it seemed like you're condemned before you get there.
Maybe the League just hates the D3 clubs!!! hehehe
GE Saint
4 Oct 2006, 14:18
Maybe they do hate D3 clubs, we had 5 guys reported this year, 4 got found not guilty at the tribunal and one took the prescibed penalty.
Bemuse Me
5 Oct 2006, 12:59
The letter never siad he'd be banned from the club. your little brain and big mouth are getting a bit hot on this point. South cannot stop a person from watching their games, and should not be stopped from rewarding a plyer who had a great season and one slip up
A letter from South president Maureen McGee dated September 6, 2006 stated:
"This, of course, is no excuse for his behaviour and as a result, he is being suspended from the Club and will not be permitted to attend our remaining games."
Which kind of makes you wonder why the club then nominated him to be at the ground to accept a premiership medal just ten days later.
It just shows that they wanted to be seen to be washing their hands of the incident just to avoid a fine. Ie, lying.
As for the "one slip up", I know for a fact that when he was downstairs waiting for the hearing, he told the Bentleigh player that "If I'm found guilty, I'll go off my head." which means it was pre-meditated and not a spur of the moment thing.
At least Dean lives up to his word, unlike some.
Rumour goes that the Ivanhoe coach was asked not to re-apply and has headed off to Eltham Turtles.
Bemuse Me, your nothing but a lagging dog... You give up!!!!
Bemuse Me
6 Oct 2006, 19:17
Bemuse Me, your nothing but a lagging dog... You give up!!!!
Well, that's put me in my place.
A letter from South president Maureen McGee dated September 6, 2006 stated:
"This, of course, is no excuse for his behaviour and as a result, he is being suspended from the Club and will not be permitted to attend our remaining games."
Which kind of makes you wonder why the club then nominated him to be at the ground to accept a premiership medal just ten days later.
It just shows that they wanted to be seen to be washing their hands of the incident just to avoid a fine. Ie, lying.
As for the "one slip up", I know for a fact that when he was downstairs waiting for the hearing, he told the Bentleigh player that "If I'm found guilty, I'll go off my head." which means it was pre-meditated and not a spur of the moment thing.
At least Dean lives up to his word, unlike some.Be careful about throwing those accusations around. The president had nothing to do with the nomination for a medal and most in the club assumed the suspension was for home and away games. I'm happy to reveal that the president is my mother and she has a hell of a job putting up with stuff like this along with vandalism of rooms, raising money, etc. She always tries to do the right thing and the supsension was part of the overall apology to the league. There was no conspiracy and the club was only doing what any club would do when one of its players puts it in a bad light. The player knows he did the wrong thing, but he was part of the reason we won the flag and I guess the coaching committe made the decision re GF day.
So if you're going to call her a liar then have the balls to put your name on the site or shut up. The anonymous insults don't take much courage.
Bill McGee
BlackMamba
9 Oct 2006, 00:16
The anonymous insults don't take much courage.
Bill McGee
Everyone on here is posting anonymously, so you can't just direct that at only one person. Noone said anything about bearo's anonymous insult!
Who did have a say in the medal allocations?
And, fair enough your mum isn't a liar, but that'd mean that the president's say in a club issue was ignored.....which really isn't good for the chain of command.
knackers_2
9 Oct 2006, 08:40
have the balls to put your name on the site or shut up.
Bill McGee
"bigw" is Bill McGee? I'm shocked. It doesn't make sense... where does the "w" come from?
This forum has gone to the dog house ever since Gavaaaan went MIA.
South had their b&f vote count on Friday night and the winners were
1st's - Winner - Joel Washington. Runner up - Steven Aquallina.
2nd's - Winner - Sam Walden. Runner Up - Tim Peters.
Mick Black can now wash his Premiership guernsey, well done boys.
Everyone on here is posting anonymously, so you can't just direct that at only one person.
No they're not and yes he can.
As Knackers points out it's hardly a huge deductive leap to realise that BigW from South Districts is Bill McGee. Most people on here have affiliated themself openly with a club and often have given details about their position or number or something.
Anyone with a warped mind and a knowledge of Australian music would be able to spot me on any given weekend for WB.
On another point I'm I the only one here amused by the fact that it's Black Mamba attacking 'Bill'? :D
BlackMamba
9 Oct 2006, 20:32
No they're not and yes he can.
As Knackers points out it's hardly a huge deductive leap to realise that BigW from South Districts is Bill McGee. Most people on here have affiliated themself openly with a club and often have given details about their position or number or something.
So in that sense, Bemuse Me isn't anonymous. It's pretty clear he's from Bentleigh. And that makes his comments just like anyone else's.
I'm pretty sure Bill is the only one who has actually mentioned his own name....and that was only to cover his arse for calling Bemuse Me an anonymous insulter!
On another point I'm I the only one here amused by the fact that Black Mamba attacking 'Bill'? :DNice one! hahaha
Everyone on here is posting anonymously, so you can't just direct that at only one person. Noone said anything about bearo's anonymous insult!
Who did have a say in the medal allocations?
And, fair enough your mum isn't a liar, but that'd mean that the president's say in a club issue was ignored.....which really isn't good for the chain of command.There are a few posts that try to wind people up and a few that take the piss so I have no problem with the anonymity. This forum is pretty friendly compared to some I've read and people like yourself whom I've disagreed with have at least stated a reasonable case. The post I reacted to would have come with a cut lunch if it was said to me in person. No one will cop an attack on their own family I think it's safe to say.
On the chain of command thing, it's a local footy club not the UN. If a player decides to do his own thing, what could the club do anyway? Most clubs would back their own player and would not be taking instruction from other clubs. The league threw the book and there is not much point arguing over the rest.
I have no idea who decided on the medals, but one was also given to Wade D'andrea so it was obviously a simple matter of giving one to regular ones players who missed playing on the big day. I think it's fair enough.
All that matters now is next season and some more big Bentleigh v SM games. Would love to be part of it myself but the body is just about shot.
[quote=BlackMamba]So in that sense, Bemuse Me isn't anonymous. It's pretty clear he's from Bentleigh. And that makes his comments just like anyone else's.
I'm pretty sure Bill is the only one who has actually mentioned his own name....and that was only to cover his arse for calling Bemuse Me an anonymous insulter!
I couldn't very well have a crack and try to protect my own identity. that would make me a hypocrite. And being from Bentleigh makes no difference to me. i get along ok with most of the blokes there. I tried to have a beer after the grand final with the bentleigh lads, but ran into an old cricket team-mate (dave kopacinsky) and didn't get much further. Macca, Banks, both Dimmas (and the president), and Shooter are all good blokes. Dizzy Smith was a trainer at port melbourne when I was there and in my two reserve games for the Tigers alongside Frank Dimma, whom i watched belt Stevie Milne with great delight.
It was purely the insult to family that got me offside. Also i could log in with a new identity anytime. Unlike most on the site eveyone is anonymous to me, being my first year in D3. I can work out the club affiliations, but that's about all.
Appreciate the positive comment from WB. Another good bunch of blokes. Nearly had to walk home from there last year after those skols. Could not beat their man. He just inhales em. they also had the best player in the league by far (Irving) who didn't surprise in winning the medal.
Red Gum
11 Oct 2006, 16:48
[quote=BlackMamba]
Appreciate the positive comment from WB. Another good bunch of blokes. Nearly had to walk home from there last year after those skols. Could not beat their man. He just inhales em. they also had the best player in the league by far (Irving) who didn't surprise in winning the medal.
If I inhale them and you kept up doesn't that mean you inhale them too?
I'm not the best at the club either. There's a bearded bloke from the twos who's unbeatable.
[quote=bigw]
If I inhale them and you kept up doesn't that mean you inhale them too?
I'm not the best at the club either. There's a bearded bloke from the twos who's unbeatable.I'm pretty sure the boys were being kind in calling it a draw.
Red Gum
12 Oct 2006, 16:25
Pity we won't have a re-match next year
knackers_2
13 Oct 2006, 09:12
Pity we won't have a re-match next year
Maybe you two blokes should join forces and help revive Richmond Centrals. Then you can have skolls every weekend.
Red Gum
16 Oct 2006, 16:20
You could come too knackers.
Every club needs a tool!
Any news on the coaching front for other clubs in D3?
At OW Fab Gatti has been reappointed for 2007 as senior coach, Danny Hickey as reserves coach and Matt Campbell has taken the step up from being assistant in the seniors to U/19 coach for the coming season.
Congratulations to Paul Chalmers for taking out the senior B&F this year and Stu Burnham for winning the ressies.
Danny Hickey has been appointed senior coach for the Richmond Centrals in 2007.
King Hoe
31 Oct 2006, 22:35
From the Ivanhoe website today:
THE FOX IS BACK
THE committee has appointed former playing coach Doni “The Fox” Valkanis as senior coach for next season.
Valkanis, an Ivanhoe local who coached the club in B and C grades, will be assisted by 2004 B&F winner Colin Brown.
Another former B&F, club website editor Paul Manuel has also agreed to help Brown as a strength and conditioning coach.
Further appointments will be announced in due course.
Valkanis replaces John Garrard, who has joined D4 club Eltham Collegians as an assistant coach
A Meet the Coach Night will be held ahead of the club’s annual general meeting on Wednesday November 15.
From 6.30pm, Valkanis will outline his plans for the club’s comeback season in D3 next year.
Things now looking a little better for next season, although a rumor is that club captain Paul Harris is taking that assistant coaching role at Fitzroy Reds that was mentioned earlier?
The strong rumor doing the rounds on Cox plate day was that HARRIS was going to Fitzroy. Fitzroy have made a huge play for him but I can tell you now that Paul Harris will not go to Fitzroy. His name was strongly linked elsewhere last and he ended up staying and he will stay this year.
The new Fitzroy coach, who is known to be arrogant, still thinks he is a chance to get HARRIS. He is deluded. Even the committee at Fitzroy know that they will not get him, that is why they have placed ads on the VAFA site and the club web page behind the coaches back looking for an assistant coach. The only one who does not realise that HARRIS will not leave is the coach. Fitzroy are in for a long year. It looks like Harris will get the chance to play at Brunswick st oval after all, it just might be in a couple of years when the magpies play the Reds.
oldtimer
2 Nov 2006, 09:26
The new Fitzroy coach, who is known to be arrogant, still thinks he is a chance to get HARRIS. He is deluded. Even the committee at Fitzroy know that they will not get him, that is why they have placed ads on the VAFA site and the club web page behind the coaches back looking for an assistant coach. The only one who does not realise that HARRIS will not leave is the coach. Fitzroy are in for a long year. It looks like Harris will get the chance to play at Brunswick st oval after all, it just might be in a couple of years when the magpies play the Reds.
Flanker, for the last couple of years he has rung clubs and shown his interest in being an assistant at other ammos clubs then decided to stay at IAFC, however, this year might be the year he leaves. Might be a good time to leave a sinking ship. If you don't recruit and have the same side as last year (Garrard leaving after kicking 60+) then you may find yourselves with the double drop.
Mausy is a top bloke- not arrogant in the slightest... and will do very well at Reds, though hopefully not too well as we will hopefully top them next year. Good luck to him if he is trying to recruit good players, and well done to Harro if he has resisted the temptation. Many more will have to join him Flanker if you have any hope of climbing that many grades.
the_observer
3 Nov 2006, 08:50
Congratultions To Dave Witchell on becoming the Senior Coach at Kew in 2007. Good guy who is well respected around the club and should do a cracking job!
Grant Thomas
3 Nov 2006, 09:43
Congratultions To Dave Witchell on becoming the Senior Coach at Kew in 2007. Good guy who is well respected around the club and should do a cracking job!
I wonder if the focus of Kew this will be to go back to back in the ressies or play their best side in the 1's
knackers_2
3 Nov 2006, 11:59
I wonder if the focus of Kew this will be to go back to back in the ressies or play their best side in the 1's
Leopards don't change their stripes
Conduct Unbecoming
3 Nov 2006, 14:46
Interesting appointment - eh OldTimer?
oldtimer
3 Nov 2006, 15:17
Interesting appointment - eh OldTimer?
Very Interesting!!!
Pat Bateman
3 Nov 2006, 16:42
Is he an appointment from within the club? I don't recognise the name from previous encounters. Is Craig Horne still staying on in a playing role?
FREDWA49
3 Nov 2006, 19:17
Grant,
After getting the arse from St Kilda maybe you should apply for the Kew coaching job. I hear the bloke from last year has reapplied but isn't too well liked, apparently he made them train 2 nights a week to play in the one's heaven forbid, which is why most of them played in the two's.
They are odd's on to merge with North Kew from the Southern League so welcome the Kew Bears to D3 next year, Brown with a gold sash i hear !
Finally, you may need to bring a ruckman with you if you want to win a flag...
Spruce Moose
5 Nov 2006, 16:41
Would it be fair to say that D3 in 2006 was the first time ever that 88 Seniors' players played on Grand Final day?
Hopefully Kew and Gryphons have a re-think over their selection policy in 2007.
oldtimer
5 Nov 2006, 20:34
Would it be fair to say that D3 in 2006 was the first time ever that 88 Seniors' players played on Grand Final day?
Sprucey, continuing to flog a dead horse. Concentrate on what your own side is doing rather than worrying about other clubs. Obviously your club is still in D3 as is Kew and Monash. Whether you finish 3rd or finish 8th it means the same - still in the same grade the following year.
Concentrate on Latrobe - Premiers last 2 years in D2 reserves and got relegated this year.
oldtimer
5 Nov 2006, 20:41
I also hope that Uni Blacks (B Section), Old Mentonians (D1 Section) and Latrobe Uni (D2 Section) look at their selection criteria considering they won flags in reserves without seniors making finals. 4 out of 7 reserves premiers obviously stack their side for glory at the expense of trying to relegate their seniors to a lower grade. Give me a break!!!!!
Grant Thomas
6 Nov 2006, 08:51
Grant,
After getting the arse from St Kilda maybe you should apply for the Kew coaching job. I hear the bloke from last year has reapplied but isn't too well liked, apparently he made them train 2 nights a week to play in the one's heaven forbid, which is why most of them played in the two's.
They are odd's on to merge with North Kew from the Southern League so welcome the Kew Bears to D3 next year, Brown with a gold sash i hear !
Finally, you may need to bring a ruckman with you if you want to win a flag...
Thanks for the tip Fred, but I have always said ruckman aren't important and I'm not going to sway from that stance now.
What is Craig Horne doing next year?
a little bit of leverage
6 Nov 2006, 10:59
With Kew and Nth Kew (SFL) looking set to merge, do you think that this would have a huge impact on their on field results next year? I know that Kew obviously stack their 2's side and it looks like it will happen again next season.
I think that Nth Kew haven't done any spectacular in the SFL in the previous few seasons...
oldtimer
6 Nov 2006, 11:07
With Kew and Nth Kew (SFL) looking set to merge, do you think that this would have a huge impact on their on field results next year? I know that Kew obviously stack their 2's side and it looks like it will happen again next season.
I think that Nth Kew haven't done any spectacular in the SFL in the previous few seasons...
Obviously a man who does his homework ALBOL. North Kew have been runners up last 2 years and their reserves were also runners up this year.
I relation to stacking - please read many, many comments about this issue. Build a bridge - Get over it! If stacking takes place then why should you worry about it - your team are guaranteed 2 wins.
Johnny0nthespot
8 Nov 2006, 20:18
Old Timer, what is the merger situation with Kew? On the surface it would seem that Kew should have an awesome senior side. Would you expect to keep most players from both clubs. A lot of players missing out on a game.
Turbs23
13 Nov 2006, 14:30
Old Timer, what is the merger situation with Kew? On the surface it would seem that Kew should have an awesome senior side. Would you expect to keep most players from both clubs. A lot of players missing out on a game.
It looks like both clubs will vote on merger this week at their respective AGMs.
My guess is they will incorporate a clubbies side.
I don't really understand why ppl could accuse a club of potentially shooting itself in the foot by stacking a reserves side when relegation is looming. Seems a bit illogical to me.
I'll be interested to hear how many players end up going across from Nth Kew (given the merger occurs).
Red Gum
16 Nov 2006, 11:27
Anyone out there starting pre-season yet?
oldtimer
16 Nov 2006, 12:20
Anyone out there starting pre-season yet?
Kew start on 27th Nov
Any word on the merger proposal as yet?
oldtimer
16 Nov 2006, 13:06
Any word on the merger proposal as yet?
Both clubs had agms last night and merge is going ahead. At the moment trying to work out logistics and how many from North Kew will actually come across to the ammos. They haven't paid players for at least the last 3 years so money won't be the factor for them not coming across.
I believe the ammos have agreed on it and Kew will be able to stay in d3 either as the Kew Bears or Kew / North Kew. Will find out shortly.
Trueblueroo
16 Nov 2006, 13:38
You fellas on this forum are in for it, when the boys form Sunbury jump on it! Hope you boys from other clubs have scratched up on your humour becuase your going to need it in 2007!
Grant Thomas
16 Nov 2006, 13:46
You fellas on this forum are in for it, when the boys form Sunbury jump on it! Hope you boys from other clubs have scratched up on your humour becuase your going to need it in 2007!
Your first post has been impressive. I'm splitting at the seams
overtheline
16 Nov 2006, 14:03
Kew start on 27th Nov
Are Kew doing the Thousand Steps in the Dandenongs again? Seemed to work a treat for them this season!
Old Warrior
16 Nov 2006, 15:29
Who are the boys from Sunbury?? Rupo are the only ammo team from out that way.
Old Warrior
16 Nov 2006, 15:33
Both clubs had agms last night and merge is going ahead. At the moment trying to work out logistics and how many from North Kew will actually come across to the ammos. They haven't paid players for at least the last 3 years so money won't be the factor for them not coming across.
I believe the ammos have agreed on it and Kew will be able to stay in d3 either as the Kew Bears or Kew / North Kew. Will find out shortly.
Old Timer, North Kew have had some good results over the past couple of years - are there any likely types that will be coming across with the merge?
Also, what's the standard of footy like that North Kew came from? Div 3 SFL was it?
patty O'furnicha
16 Nov 2006, 15:40
It's good to see some post's on this thread again... went to sleep for a while there.
Warriors start pre season Wed 29th Nov.
MADDOG17
16 Nov 2006, 15:45
Old Timer, North Kew have had some good results over the past couple of years - are there any likely types that will be coming across with the merge?
Also, what's the standard of footy like that North Kew came from? Div 3 SFL was it?
most of divvy 3 teams in sfl would smash any d3 clubs in vafa. if north kew and kew merge next year, they will be a strong side and the team to beat. north kew were runners up this year in divvy 3 also. but u never know what could happen with there big payed players going to the no pay ammo league.
oldtimer
16 Nov 2006, 15:54
From all reports Old Warrior it is about the equivalent of d2. I know that Bulleen Temp played North Kew this year in a pre season game and it was pretty close.
No idea as yet how many will come to the merge they are a lot older than us and I know that a number of their players were going to retire anyway.
Are you padding up again and how are the boys from Old Westbourne looking?
Further to Maddog's comments - North Kew haven't paid players for a few years so money won't be an issue.
MADDOG17
16 Nov 2006, 16:04
From all reports Old Warrior it is about the equivalent of d2. I know that Bulleen Temp played North Kew this year in a pre season game and it was pretty close.
No idea as yet how many will come to the merge they are a lot older than us and I know that a number of their players were going to retire anyway.
Are you padding up again and how are the boys from Old Westbourne looking?
Further to Maddog's comments - North Kew haven't paid players for a few years so money won't be an issue.
only a few of their quality players get coin. i know that for a fact. coin might not be an issue, but who knows what will happen?
GoalSneak38
16 Nov 2006, 23:01
How is that old cat Paul Edwards going to fair this year in D3. Will kick 100 easy again. Who will stop him? Seen some of those muppets who play fullback for other D3 clubs in the past few years and they will be tearing their hair out. Saw some junkie nicknamed Farmer running around at full back for Old Westbourne. This Farmer bloke couldn't get a kick out of heroin. This bloke was that scared he couldn't stop his own runny faeces running down his legs so how on Earth will he stop this Edwards character. Will Powerhouse make a jump into D2 after this season? Peoples thoughts? By the way I have no alliance for any ammo club down in the cellar grades just saw a few games passing by.
GE Saint
17 Nov 2006, 07:53
[quote=oldtimer;6237099]From all reports Old Warrior it is about the equivalent of d2. I know that Bulleen Temp played North Kew this year in a pre season game and it was pretty close.
I saw a few Div 3 SFL games this year and the top eight sides in D2 would smash a Div 3 SFL side. D3 or D4 would be the equivalent to SFL Div 3