View Full Version : D3 Ammos

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

Old Warrior
7 May 2006, 19:11
Elsternwick were impressive yesterday beating OW. They contested hard against the breeze in the first qtr, took the game away in the second and retained that lead for the rest of the game.
Hunter and Grace were well held by OW but E’wick had enough winners over the rest of the ground for that not to matter. #14 for E’wick (think he’s their captain, can’t remember his name) has learnt how to handpass, go the first option and bring his teammates into the game which has made him a much more dangerous player and one of their best yesterday.
E’wick are very confident at the stoppages, particularly those in their forward half of the ground. Their ruckman (Jack someone?? 6’6’’) doesn’t lose many taps and either gives a big knock into space where a couple of blokes have broken away early or gives it to an on-baller in close who will give a big handpass into space where blokes have broken away early. Not sure if this is front running, but if you’re winning most of the stoppages it’s probably just good play. They play the sort of footy where if they’re playing well they probably score a lot by running into open goals. In the second half OW tightened up at the stoppages and this had a flow on effect to E’wick’s scoring and play making.
Good contest by both teams was only marred by a disappointing performance from the umps who seemed to be barracking for E’wick in the first half and OW in the second. This didn’t alter the result, just made for some frustrated players.
Back to the drawing board for OW.

mcglede
7 May 2006, 19:42
Interesting concept Old Warrior.

How about giving away the Old Westbourne 'gameplan' too?

Poor form.

Old Warrior
7 May 2006, 20:33
Interesting concept Old Warrior.

How about giving away the Old Westbourne 'gameplan' too?

Poor form.

Who do you barrack for in the AFL Mcglede? Do you complain whenever Dermie talks about your team's strategy during the half-time break.

mcglede
7 May 2006, 21:02
Thoroughly irrelevant Old Warrior (just so you can sleep tonight it's Sydney), it smacks of sour grapes that you don't post gameplans when your team wins but do when your team loses?

If you're going to post Elsternwick's game plan then why not those of Kew and Monash Gryphons?

Appreciate that they cost your boys an undefeated season in 2004 (saw that game at Elsternwick - best game I saw of D4 all that season), however there's no need to post what you did and for the reason that you did.

How many times did Jukka lead to the right (watch, he does more than to the left)? Why not note Hamish frequently ignores the first option?

If you want to be consistent, then call it on both sides.

Dermie does.

Old Warrior
7 May 2006, 21:10
Besides, mentioning that two players were well held, two played well and E'wick had players running forward of the ball at stoppages is hardly dissecting their gameplan. If I really wanted to get under the skin of the Wickers I could post info on their on ball rotations, forward structure and kick-out play. But I won't.......... maybe

Old Warrior
7 May 2006, 21:23
If you're going to post Elsternwick's game plan then why not those of Kew and Monash Gryphons?

Look back through the posts mcglede. You'll see that after the Kew game I did give a run down on the game itself as well as some of Kew's ins and outs. I don't know many of the Gryphons boys so I didn't bother with them.

There's nothing stopping you from posting info about OW on this thread - it is after all a D3 thread.

mcglede
7 May 2006, 22:44
Will grant you the Kew boys, but not to the same level.

And not for the same motives....

mcglede
8 May 2006, 09:56
Why would someone from Old Westbourne post misleading information about Elsternwick after EAFC defeated them?

Makes no sense.

All I am suggesting is that the purpose of the match report appeared to be structured to opposition clubs with ideas of stoppages/ruck tactics helping coaches out when it comes to the Elsternwick ruckman.

To do that after a loss, and while not posting about his own team, suggests to me sour grapes, which is poor form.

*Crash*
8 May 2006, 10:56
I would have thought that it might help out teams that OW might be fighting with for a spot in the 4?

Oh and I guess we now know the umpires game plan this year then.

Chill out mcglede, a few things that he saw during the game is not a game plan.

Marty39
8 May 2006, 12:24
Why would someone from Old Westbourne post misleading information about Elsternwick after EAFC defeated them?

Makes no sense.

All I am suggesting is that the purpose of the match report appeared to be structured to opposition clubs with ideas of stoppages/ruck tactics helping coaches out when it comes to the Elsternwick ruckman.

To do that after a loss, and while not posting about his own team, suggests to me sour grapes, which is poor form.

You seem to have a real sensitivity issue mcglede take a tissue and give those eyes a wipe. If Old warriors comments give away any of EAFC's game plan... good, as any coach worth a pinch of salt would be able to pick such things up in a very short time. Elstwck like to run forward of the ball and if it works for them good luck, I observed the game on saturday and they outplayed OW on there junior ground, they tackled well in close and used there bigger body's as an advantage, don't think it's secret knowledge that OW prefer more space to make use of there strengths, which are skillful running midfielders if you can close them down and not give them space your half way there. Also note take a sides CHF & FF out with injury and your structure is quickly depleted, that's not an excuse at this level it is just too hard to find adequate replacements.

mcglede
8 May 2006, 12:49
Sensitivity versus consistency.

If Old Warrior writes those comments every week and posts about OW, then he's consistent.

In his post he bemoans that the umpires weren't consistent, then fails to be when posting.

That's inconsistency!

Be consistent, and there'll be no dramas. :)

rhino49
8 May 2006, 14:50
Thoroughly irrelevant Old Warrior (just so you can sleep tonight it's Sydney), it smacks of sour grapes that you don't post gameplans when your team wins but do when your team loses?

Appreciate that they cost your boys an undefeated season in 2004 (saw that game at Elsternwick - best game I saw of D4 all that season), however there's no need to post what you did and for the reason that you did.

How many times did Jukka lead to the right (watch, he does more than to the left)? Why not note Hamish frequently ignores the first option?

If you want to be consistent, then call it on both sides.

Dermie does.

are you just talking about that game 2 years ago?

think you find when a bloke kicks 100+ goals in a season he can lead left, right, up down and everywhere, jukka didnt play on sat and that hurt OW structure, no excuse the wickers where better on the day but take out the best FF in D3 from any side and it hurts, as for hamish he doesnt even play for OW anymore.

Tibia
8 May 2006, 16:39
McGlede, I think you have missed the point entirely about this thread. It is for discussing D3 and the teams and players who participate in it.

While Old Warrior may have leanings toward the Warriors, and as such forward postings with a Westbourne influence, he has never made a point to disguise the fact and is merely offering his opinions on what he has observed. All readers, including youself, should take such postings at face value, and he certainly should not be berated for offering his opinions.

I for one, would hope people from all clubs do the same, and should not be discouraged from doing so.

To me, you come across as a very insecure and petty person who has some serious concerns about your side's ability to maintain its early season momentum, as i did in 2004. It is the only reason I can come up with for your ridicule of the Old Warrior.

There is a long way to go in the season, and I look forward to other D3 readers to post their observations.

mcglede
8 May 2006, 17:04
Be very careful Tibia, I have already stated I am not involved with the Elsternwick club. I think you treated them a bit harshly in your posts and have said so.

Would have been exceptionally easy for Old Warrior to mention Horsburgh didn't play - again, I question why he mentioned nothing about OW.

Agree with you on Horsburgh's talent however. An exceptionally good athlete for his size, which makes it hard for opponents to match-up on him. I'd suggest very few clubs under C Grade would have a capable match-up for him.

Hodgson has left? That's a blow I'd suggest. Watching the long blonde number 88 fly out of the centre was excellent to watch. From memory the season he had in 2003 (I think) where he split time with the under 19s and seniors showed his potential as you could almost work out which games he played in the under 19s given their results.

So long as Gavan Flower's baby-boy (Horsburgh) isn't out for too long, I suggest OW are a top-two/three side. I look forward to seeing them in the near future (haven't seen them yet this season).

Marty39
8 May 2006, 17:19
McGlede, I think you have missed the point entirely about this thread. It is for discussing D3 and the teams and players who participate in it.

While Old Warrior may have leanings toward the Warriors, and as such forward postings with a Westbourne influence, he has never made a point to disguise the fact and is merely offering his opinions on what he has observed. All readers, including youself, should take such postings at face value, and he certainly should not be berated for offering his opinions.

I for one, would hope people from all clubs do the same, and should not be discouraged from doing so.

To me, you come across as a very insecure and petty person who has some serious concerns about your side's ability to maintain its early season momentum, as i did in 2004. It is the only reason I can come up with for your ridicule of the Old Warrior.

There is a long way to go in the season, and I look forward to other D3 readers to post their observations.

I think we may be all missing the point while we sit here bickering about OW and EAFC, Souths are quietly laughing at us all as they go on there merry way comfortably defeating all in there path. Hopefully for OW sake saturday was a good shock for them and they realise alot of work needs to be done with a little bit of luck for them to be in the top couple of sides. I really hope mcglede stops carrying on like a little girl and becomes a bit more open minded about other peoples points of view.

Tibia
8 May 2006, 17:38
Be very careful Tibia, I have already stated I am not involved with the Elsternwick club. I think you treated them a bit harshly in your posts and have said so

Well mate if you don't, then you should. I reckon they would make you their No.1 ticket holder the way you go on about them.

Agree Marty, SM have certainly snuck under some of our radars and have shown they are one of the D3 powerhouses this season.

As for Jucka at OW, he is like losing Matty Lloyd for Essendon to the Warriors.

Should be a great game this week as well between West Brunswick and the Wickers.

DG-Man
8 May 2006, 17:59
Hello Gents,

Interesting reading today. For what its worth i think the more postings on here relating to form, tactics, players, game styles etc the better.
What club would really give two hoots about an anonamous punter giving a run down on his/her thoughts on the game, including tactics and intersting goss.
As long as we keep it clean and don't abuse individuals!
You have to take it all with a grain of salt.
Good Luck!

mcglede
8 May 2006, 19:44
I must admit, it's great to see the names one is called when people can work behind psyeudonyms!!

Interesting post Tibia. I'd suggest that I have not 'gone on' about them the way you have tried to talk them down.

Here's a challenge Tibia. Have I given write-ups to any Elsternwick players? Am sure I just posted something talking up Horsburgh and Hodgson.

And who did I tip for the D3 GF? Were Elsternwick one of the teams? Old Westbourne?

Amazing, all I ask for is consistency and I'm howled down.

Boys it's all good and friendly banter (well, it should be), but given some of the return posts, I hope you all feel the consistency you want here is satisfied on the field when an umpire gives a free against your full back in the goal square next time! :)

Red Gum
8 May 2006, 22:35
McGlede, get over it.

Just to change the subject a little... I saw WB Vs Gryphons on the weekend, a decent game in pretty good conditions given the Friday night weather. Gryphons were a decent bunch, though there reserve strength belies their first team. Leads one to wonder whether a selection shake up might change anything.

Anyway they put up a good show but WB didn't seem too troubled. The magpies will have to improve to trouble the top sides though. Should be a good test Vs Wicks this week (even if Warrior has given away those crucial top-secret game plans; get men running forward from stoppages! Genius! I wish I'd thought of it!).

mcglede
8 May 2006, 23:11
Reddy I'm well over it.

Can't believe so many people get shirty when someone asks for consistency. :)

Elsternwick will need to be at their best to win out at Brunswick (if the game is out there), however I'd suggest the St Mary's - Kew clash will be on from the bounce - the loser goes 0-4 and will give most people the impression they're relegation bound.

knackers_2
9 May 2006, 09:09
I'd suggest the St Mary's - Kew clash will be on from the bounce - the loser goes 0-4 and will give most people the impression they're relegation bound.

Kew not as good early on as was first considered by many... I thought they were going to be one of the shakers and movers of D3.

I believe there are many "Richmond" style performances in lower grade footy where half a dozen losses on the trot aren't as rare as one would expect.

Red Gum
9 May 2006, 13:09
Fair point though that no one would want to be sitting 0-4 from 4 rounds.

Lions Den
9 May 2006, 13:25
Is Murchie still playing for Swinburne? I haven't seen his name in the results

knackers_2
9 May 2006, 13:37
Is Murchie still playing for Swinburne? I haven't seen his name in the results
He was all talked up for another big year during the summer - no idea whether or not he actually trained at all, but there were reports he was as keen as ever to pull the boots on.

You would expect him to have kicked at least one goal, even if he has played only a solitary game

mcglede
9 May 2006, 14:10
Murchie is still going around.

Lions Den
9 May 2006, 14:14
Has he played yet? If he hasn't and given Swinburne's start they would have to be some sort of chance. Good effort considering many thought they would fold at the beginning of the year.

DG-Man
9 May 2006, 14:15
has kicked 4 gooals, 2 in rd.1 and 2 in rd.3 (Goaless in rd.2)

FREDWA49
9 May 2006, 14:22
I thought Elsternwick were supposed to be the excuse makers, not you and your Warrior mates Tibia ? No point having a CHF and FF if you can't get it down there, look at the number of scoring shots, the Wicks obviously dominated play. If the Warriors don't like it on the smaller grounds where it's a bit more physical, then guess how opponents are going to go about beating you.

The Bloods are cruising, and must be red hots at this stage. Based on th scores I'd still have Bentleigh/Wicks 2/3 and the Maggies and Warriors battling for 4/5. My money is on UHS and ST Mary's to drop at his stage.

mcglede
9 May 2006, 14:50
Has played all three games I udnerstand, and has kicked four goals. Higgins seems to be doing the bulk of the goalkicking however.

For a team supposedly relegation candidates, 21 goals in 3 games is an excellent return.

Reminds me of the FF Hardaway that Brunswick Power had in their VAFA time. Gun FF playing for a side that unfortunately couldn't get him the ball often enough to win.

Lions Den
9 May 2006, 14:57
At least with there Sh%t ground they dont have to get the ball very far for it to be actually in their forward line.

Marty39
9 May 2006, 15:32
[quote=FREDWA49]I thought Elsternwick were supposed to be the excuse makers, not you and your Warrior mates Tibia ? No point having a CHF and FF if you can't get it down there, look at the number of scoring shots, the Wicks obviously dominated play. If the Warriors don't like it on the smaller grounds where it's a bit more physical, then guess how opponents are going to go about beating you.

Don't think it's a matter of they don't like it FRED, just doesn't suit there game style, and i shall repeat what i wrote earlier your CHF and FF pull out before the game and it leaves a big whole in your side OW may very well have gone inside 45 on more occasions but with no one there to grab the footy didn't score as many times hence losing, not an excuse champ FACT.

mcglede
9 May 2006, 23:59
Gee Fred you hit a nerve there.

Personally I hope that Marty39 stops carrying on like a little girl and becomes a bit more open minded about his clubman's point of view.

Tibia hsuggested it was poor for Elsternwick to use injuries as excuses only for his club mate to turn around and do the same thing for Old Westbourne for the weekend.

Don't believe me? Have a look at Tibia's post on page five of this thread:

**Mate, this is exactly what I am talking about. Every team has injuries, and it is just that we hear more about them from the Wickers than anyone else. All these comments are to me are excuses, nothing more.**

Hmm, one says FACT, the other says excuses.

Do I dare ask for consistency.... :)

Marty39
10 May 2006, 12:06
[quote=mcglede]

Personally I hope that Marty39 stops carrying on like a little girl and becomes a bit more open minded about his clubman's point of view.

Tibia hsuggested it was poor for Elsternwick to use injuries as excuses only for his club mate to turn around and do the same thing for Old Westbourne for the weekend.

Don't believe me? Have a look at Tibia's post on page five of this thread:

I am pretty sure I mentioned EAFC "outplayed" OW Mcglede feel free to correct me, and whatever Tibia's opinion is obviously differs from mine imagine two people with varying ideas on the game...strange. If you don't think injuries make a differance to a teams performance just look at Collingwood.
All I can say at least the OW contingent in this forum have been passionate enough and open enough to strongly support there club...and you!!!

Tibia
10 May 2006, 12:57
some nice banter in here at the moment, but I still cannot work out your agenda McGlede. Perhaps you just like to stir the pot for something to do and make your dreary life a little more interesting? Just kidding mate, keep up the hilarious postings that you are becoming famour for!!

Onto the comments you made about injuries though and my reference to the Wickers. I can say you have actually quoted me correctly and I stand by these comments.

However, I do not think the Warriors have used the injuries as an excuse. They (Old Warrior, Marty) have said that they were outplayed, though acknowledged the injuries did have an impact. This did not take anything away from the Wickers performance mate.

Also, the Wickers have not lost yet. My comments related to how they react when they lose. Let's just wait and see their reactions when they do lose before you judge my page 5 commentary please?

mcglede
10 May 2006, 14:53
The only agenda I have is consistency gents and if you think I'm anti-OW then you're exceptionally poor judges.

My posts here signify just where I think OW should be in a few years time. I think they're an exceptional side given the league they are in. From memory I have stated they will be Grand Finalists this season. That means D2 next year doesn't it?

But again consistency raises its head. yes Marty, you mentioned OW were outplayed on the weekend. However you've clouded the issue by noting OW's injuries and even suggested that OW may have indeed gone inside 45 more.

Now, how are they outplayed if they have more in-45's? Up forward maybe, but to use outplayed as a generalisation suggests that Elsternwick were by far the better side over four quarters. Subsequently it's hard to work out how that could be if OW were seemingly pumping the ball into the 45 so often.

Now, how is that consistent? You tell me.

Will wait and see in regards Elsternwick's comments Tibia as everyone loses a game now and then. I do hope you can come-up with a better reference when quoting an EAFC source this time.

Thankfully, Marty's post allows them to use the injury excuse! ;)

mcglede
11 May 2006, 14:42
Can't disagree Suffolk, however it would appear poor form when one side can use injuries as a factor, yet another can only use them as excuses.

I understand there is a dislike for Elsternwick out Old Westbourne way, however some of the stuff in here has been so petty or unsubstantiated that you really have to sit back and wonder what the deal is. Let the footy do the talking and let the chips fall where they may!

Ironically, only selection of yours that I'd question is West Brunswick-Elsternwick.

If Elsternwick win this one then they're top four material and have proven their going places after the vault from D4 last season, however WB are always hard to top at home and I can't recall too many Elsternwick wins over the other side of Princes Park over the last decade or so. I'd take WB in a close one.

Bull's trunks
11 May 2006, 17:13
Elsternwick are a slow bunch of older bigger bodies, will be very hard to see them doing much good outside the comforts of their cosy bog. Am yet to see West Brunswick play this year, but if they are a similar team to that of previous years, they should account for Elsternwick by 40 pts plus.

There is bad blood down at OW as Elsternwick spoiled a potentially perfect season in 04, hopefully this year is shaping up to be a similar set of circumstances for the warriors.

knackers_2
15 May 2006, 09:11
Elsternwick are a slow bunch of older bigger bodies, will be very hard to see them doing much good outside the comforts of their cosy bog. Am yet to see West Brunswick play this year, but if they are a similar team to that of previous years, they should account for Elsternwick by 40 pts plus.

A report from the Western Oval suggested your prediction was spot on.
UHVUS and St Marys have both firmed as favourites to drop down, although I caught half of the Swinburne v Bentleigh game and Swinburne didn't offer much more than a whimper.

Early and possibly obvious call, but I think there will be a clear division (say 4 or 5 games?) between the top and bottom halves of the D3 competition...

dave31
15 May 2006, 10:04

There is bad blood down at OW as Elsternwick spoiled a potentially perfect season in 04, hopefully this year is shaping up to be a similar set of circumstances for the warriors.

You were spot on Trunks (although WB only got up by 33 points).

I notice the OW scoreline of kicking 27 points. They'd better shape up their accuracy or face big troubles when they play decent sides this year.

Was Juck back this week? Does anyone know who the main culprits were?

Bull's trunks
15 May 2006, 13:48
Unfortunately I missed the game, was watching WRFL! As they haven't posted results on VAFA web site I am yet to know who played well and whether J Horsborough played. As for the score line it was a blustery day and I imagine, with the game being played at old Westbourne, it would have made for tough kicking at goal.

akkadakka
15 May 2006, 18:46
was at the OW game, OW kicked 12.14 is the last quarter alone. Balloch, 'Juice' Huntington and Paul 'CK' Chalmers were best for Westbourne, they are still missing their CHF Critter due to injury and captain Mick Christo did not play either, Jucka played and kicked 4

Old Warrior
15 May 2006, 20:06
Was at the OW vs UHS game on Saturday. Not too much in it for most of the day on the scoreboard. OW had most of the play for the first three qtrs but inaccurate kicking from them and accurate kicking from UHS kept the margin to about 25 points at the last break. The last qtr was all OW. Can't say I felt too sorry for the UHS boys, I know we've been on the receiving end from them on a few occasions over the years.

Their top 3 or 4 are as good as most other teams in the grade but they look like they're struggling with their depth as their quality falls away in the bottom half of the senior team. However, they tried hard for three qtrs and the last qtr probably showed the difference between a team that has done a pre-season and one that hasn't.

Here's a tip for those playing them in future rounds - don't get stuck near Boycey telling people about his footy card trading on Ebay after the game. $160K up and still counting. I hope someone from the ATO is reading this. Mcglede, I hope I haven't given away too much by disclosing this.

knackers_2
16 May 2006, 09:23
Here's a tip for those playing them in future rounds - don't get stuck near Boycey telling people about his footy card trading on Ebay after the game. $160K up and still counting. I hope someone from the ATO is reading this. Mcglede, I hope I haven't given away too much by disclosing this.

I'm confident that McGlede is well aware of certain UHVUS official's illicit card trading and that you have NOT revealed too much, Warrior.

Murchie missing again from Swinburne results... Can anyone confirm his absence from the game?

Tibia
16 May 2006, 12:00

I am not sure what would be worse OW, Boycey in your ear about how well he is doing ripping off the taxpayer or having to hear the excuses for Elsternwick's loss to West Brunswick.

The silence has been deafening after that result. Was anyone at the game? Any comments?

mcglede
16 May 2006, 13:07
I'm confident that McGlede is well aware of certain UHVUS official's illicit card trading and that you have NOT revealed too much, Warrior.

Does anyone wish to explain this? The only person I have met from UH-VUS is their coach, Glenn Taylor. if you are suggesting I'm from that club (that's two I will have been incorrectly tied to) then you're badly mistaken.

Won't be seeing Elsternwick for a few weeks and would have liked to see their game against Souths. You never know though Tibia, maybe they'll just say WB were the better team on the day. Just like OW nearly did!

Was forwarded an email that suggested Craig Mahoney was missing from Elsternwick against OW. He's as important, if not more so than Horsburgh is for OW.

On a side note - good to see Warrior trying to keep it consistent. No names though mate? Come on - where's the consistency?? :)

FREDWA49
16 May 2006, 15:24
Popped out to WB on Sat and it was a pretty good game of footy. EW looked the better side early, and got clear twice in the 2nd qtr (16 goals combined) by 4 goals, but WB wouldn't let go. Ground was in disgraceful condition this early in season. WB's onballers simply dominated in the second half. (No 3 for WB was superb...hope that's not giving away too much !!!)

Mate of mine went to the Kew v St Marys game, describing it as pack rugby, sh$t standard, and he won't go to lower than C grade again...suggested not the best 2 teams in D3 to watch !

DG-Man
16 May 2006, 15:30
Is UH-VUS coach - Glenn Taylor, the same dude who used to coach Latrobe??

*Crash*
16 May 2006, 16:31
Is UH-VUS coach - Glenn Taylor, the same dude who used to coach Latrobe??

Yes he is.

DG-Man
16 May 2006, 16:49
Yes he is.

Thanks crash. Remember him winning a flag at Old Carey a few years back. Wonder why he left?

dan caplan
16 May 2006, 16:49
Are AJAX in this division?

No one else answers me!:eek:

*Crash*
16 May 2006, 16:51
No dan, I think they are in C Grade.

koby01
16 May 2006, 16:57
Murchie played but didn't get a kick!!

oldtimer
16 May 2006, 17:01
Popped out to WB on Sat and it was a pretty good game of footy. EW looked the better side early, and got clear twice in the 2nd qtr (16 goals combined) by 4 goals, but WB wouldn't let go. Ground was in disgraceful condition this early in season. WB's onballers simply dominated in the second half. (No 3 for WB was superb...hope that's not giving away too much !!!)

Mate of mine went to the Kew v St Marys game, describing it as pack rugby, sh$t standard, and he won't go to lower than C grade again...suggested not the best 2 teams in D3 to watch !

Is it any wonder when the ground is the smallest senior ground (besides nunawading) in victoria. Senior Football shouldn't be allowed to play on a ground like this and with poor facilities as well.

St Mary's continually play 2 behind the ball which leads to floods and big packs. They will get murdered on big grounds!!!

knackers_2
16 May 2006, 17:09
Is it any wonder when the ground is the smallest senior ground (besides nunawading) in victoria. Senior Football shouldn't be allowed to play on a ground like this and with poor facilities as well.

St Mary's continually play 2 behind the ball which leads to floods and big packs. They will get murdered on big grounds!!!

Does this assessment of ground size include:
a. Hawthorn Amateurs
b. Elsternwick?

Re: McGlede's tense response with respect to UHVUS card traders- cool your jets. Everyone else on this forum knows that you are in fact Mr Boyce.

oc37
16 May 2006, 17:25
have a look at the ammos website
www.vafa.com.au you will find all you need to knwo about AJAX

oldtimer
16 May 2006, 17:41
Does this assessment of ground size include:
a. Hawthorn Amateurs
b. Elsternwick?

Re: McGlede's tense response with respect to UHVUS card traders- cool your jets. Everyone else on this forum knows that you are in fact Mr Boyce.

Haven't seen Hawthorn and only seen Elsternwick when I have been on the main ground

mcglede
16 May 2006, 22:23
Throw BHN into the small ground mix. May be a bit wider but isn't too much longer, if at all.

Not sure who Boyce is gents. Guess I'll now have to put up with the "Oh he denied it so it must be him" taunts but so be it...

no31
17 May 2006, 09:05
Haven't seen Hawthorn and only seen Elsternwick when I have been on the main ground

Hawthorn are playing at Glenferrie Oval this year while they get new club rooms built, which is 40yrs long over due.

knackers_2
17 May 2006, 09:21
Hawthorn are playing at Glenferrie Oval this year while they get new club rooms built, which is 40yrs long over due.

If only they were in D3 and not slumming it. Actually, I don't think many clubs would be too upset about not seeing them in their division. Lauletta is just a misunderstood individual...

As for Boyce, no true follower of D3 football wouldn't at least know of him.

dave31
17 May 2006, 12:40
Can anyone tell me how Pavez is going for Westbourne??

He kicked some of the freakiest goals I have seen in the rain to help get Westbourne over the line against Kew in the 04 Grand Final.

I'm wondering if any of the semi-professional clubs have thrown some money to poach him away from the ammos.

Bull's trunks
17 May 2006, 13:42
I heard wispers that Albanvale offered pavez $50 a game and incentives, that possibly means a free hotdog down there and I think there was a bit of interest from Deer Park! Would have to be one of the hardest blokes to man up on each week, great player.

akkadakka
17 May 2006, 14:25
The man they call 'swoopa', Frank Pavez, is going along nicely this year, has not kicked as many goals as previous years due to more time in the midfield, and has been in OW best 3 out of four weeks. Was BOG against Kew.

mcglede
17 May 2006, 14:47
Have never come across Boyce, as I have never seen a game at his club. Sorry!

dave31
17 May 2006, 16:15
What about Kade Lever for Westbourne?

I think he won the B&F in their premiership year and couldn't get a kick last year.

Hows he going?

Bull's trunks
17 May 2006, 17:00
I have a mate that said Kad Lever is going Overseas in a couple of weeks, so I don't think we will be seeing much of him in 2006. Trekking in Peru, would be interesting stuff!!

dave31
17 May 2006, 18:05
I have a mate that said Kad Lever is going Overseas in a couple of weeks, so I don't think we will be seeing much of him in 2006. Trekking in Peru, would be interesting stuff!!

Gee, he will be a huge loss for Westbourne. He gives so much drive out of defence.

Although I heard from one of the Uni High players that he was one of the main offenders kicking for goal last week. 2 goals from 10 shots he said!

If Kade could kick straight he'd be very dangerous.

akkadakka
17 May 2006, 20:52
kade lever is definately a massive loss to OW, but new player to the club brain knee, and kris miller, still provide plenty of run from the backline for the warriors. Apparently knee is a huge pick up for OW, coming across from east keilor, and is on line for the warriors B&F

Bull's trunks
18 May 2006, 09:07
Who is Kris Muller? What number does he wear?

The OW backline is certainly very strong, against Elsternwick they were under a lot of fire and although lost, at the end of the day weathered the storm quite well I thought. Will be interesting to see how they go against the likes of Bentleigh, Sth Melb and East Bruns. Definantly looking forward to those games.

Dubya
18 May 2006, 11:13
Who is Kris Muller? What number does he wear?

The OW backline is certainly very strong, against Elsternwick they were under a lot of fire and although lost, at the end of the day weathered the storm quite well I thought. Will be interesting to see how they go against the likes of Bentleigh, Sth Melb and East Bruns. Definantly looking forward to those games.

Not sure about Kris Miller's number. They seem to have a few Millers on their list, so must be a big family.

I think their key to this season seems to be the Big guy up forward - Bullock I think is his name.

Seems to have a great pair of hands when we played against Old Westbourne. And always seemed to slip out of tackles. Stuggled for accuracy in front of goal though.

Bull's trunks
18 May 2006, 14:53
50 pts for Souths sounds good to me

Bull's trunks
18 May 2006, 15:04
It seems that ELSTERNWICK - C.MAHONY and ELSTERNWICK - D.GRACE are the only representatives from D3 in the A-D4 rep squad, certainly poses the question, it is easier to make the team if you club is based at the vafa headquarters, good luck to them I say.

Game of the round this week elsternwick vs Souths, will show where each of the teams are at.

As for Balloch have seen him in the goals each week, serviceable player I think but nothing special, probably still carrying to much weight to make an impact on the competition.

dave31
18 May 2006, 15:38
It seems that ELSTERNWICK - C.MAHONY and ELSTERNWICK - D.GRACE are the only representatives from D3 in the A-D4 rep squad, certainly poses the question, it is easier to make the team if you club is based at the vafa headquarters, good luck to them I say.

Game of the round this week elsternwick vs Souths, will show where each of the teams are at.

As for Balloch have seen him in the goals each week, serviceable player I think but nothing special, probably still carrying to much weight to make an impact on the competition.

I think that the extra weight Balloch is carrying actually works to his strengths.

But I cannot believe only two players from D3 were nominated.

Surely Duncan Benn from Old Westbourne must be the best full back going around?? He also has the best afro!

Old Warrior
18 May 2006, 18:25
On a side note - good to see Warrior trying to keep it consistent. No names though mate? Come on - where's the consistency?? :)

Not trying to keep anything consistent mcglede. Will continue to write what I want regardless of your interpretations. Don't flatter yourself that I took any of your postings into consideration when I post myself.

As for names. I can think of a couple I'd like to say but last time tibia called you something you whinged about hiding behind pseudonyms. As for me, next time you watch OW play I'll have #24 on my back.

Why don't you show some consistency with me and name yourself?

mcglede
18 May 2006, 20:10
[quote=Old Warrior]Not trying to keep anything consistent mcglede. Will continue to write what I want regardless of your interpretations. Don't flatter yourself that I took any of your postings into consideration when I post myself.

As for names. I can think of a couple I'd like to say but last time tibia called you something you whinged about hiding behind pseudonyms. As for me, next time you watch OW play I'll have #24 on my back.

Why don't you show some consistency with me and name yourself?

Playing at HQ probably helps however one would be kidding themselves if they thought EAFC picked the side.

Craig Mahony is a proven, proven talent and would be among the best week-in week-out in A grade if he were playing there while I will admit some surprise to see Grace in there, but it's unlikely both will make the team anyway given they are D3.

I don't usually see the Reserves Old Warrior, so you'll have to help me out a bit! Number 24?

Doona2
19 May 2006, 00:10
Can somebody explain to me how the clearance systme works in the VAFA. Reason I ask is that a player from my club up the bush applied for a clearance on April 19, played for his VAFA club on April 22 having not been cleared, and then when our club rejected the clearance for certain reasons, the VAFA stamped it approved on April 29th - whats the go?

no31
19 May 2006, 09:06
You don't need a clearance anymore, you only need to register and your in. New rules came in this year, which were probably an attempt by the VAFA to improve player depth across all of their clubs. It work at my club, we had 40 new players sign this year.

oc37
19 May 2006, 09:42
that's not quite correct.. while the rules are certainly more relaxed you defnitely do need a clearance.Many clearances have been knocked back this year, though this needs suitable evidence or submission from the original club. There is no way a player can play legally without a clearance, so Doona, if you truly know the player played wihtout one, let the ammos know.

Doona2
19 May 2006, 10:27
that's not quite correct.. while the rules are certainly more relaxed you defnitely do need a clearance.Many clearances have been knocked back this year, though this needs suitable evidence or submission from the original club. There is no way a player can play legally without a clearance, so Doona, if you truly know the player played wihtout one, let the ammos know.

Know for a fact (accodring to results and team lists) the player in question has played 1 senior and 3 reserve matches for a D3 club after his clearance was rejected by his VCFL club.

Tibia
19 May 2006, 11:11
I don't usually see the Reserves Old Warrior, so you'll have to help me out a bit! Number 24?

Not wanting to get personal, but this comment has really made you look a bit silly mate. #24 was the club's premiership skipper and backbone of the Warrior backline, a true legend of the club who only relinquished the captaincy this season due to family reasons.

And as for not knowing of Boycey, well I guess that confirms that a) you have not been around the lower grades for long enough, or b) you are just trying to throw us off your scent.

Marty39
19 May 2006, 11:30
[quote=Bull's trunks]It seems that ELSTERNWICK - C.MAHONY and ELSTERNWICK - D.GRACE are the only representatives from D3 in the A-D4 rep squad, certainly poses the question, it is easier to make the team if you club is based at the vafa headquarters, good luck to them I say.

I believe every club is offered by the ammos to nominate players from there club. I would imagine that most clubs put there ego's aside and consider the club bigger than the individual, but elstnwck maybe not. C.Mahony a pretty good midfielder, but ? must be on D.Grace as to why you would even bother, if he gets in well then there is defianetly a foul stench between the ammos and EAFC.

Vineyard
19 May 2006, 11:43
I cant believe that the Panda cant get a game for the OWestys firsts. Surely a man with his footy brains and love of the club can contribute. Can someone tell me is it just a matter of his knees or his late night escapades keeping him out.

Miller is all class off a flank generally. A loyal servant and helped the rise of the club.

koby01
19 May 2006, 12:19
Chris Sharp and Robertson from bentleigh sould have been nominated from D3

barrybogan
19 May 2006, 12:22
I believe every club is offered by the ammos to nominate players from there club. I would imagine that most clubs put there ego's aside and consider the club bigger than the individual, but elstnwck maybe not.

Is D. Grace any relation to the coach?

knackers_2
19 May 2006, 13:48
And as for not knowing of Boycey, well I guess that confirms that a) you have not been around the lower grades for long enough, or b) you are just trying to throw us off your scent.

You are bang on there with both calls, Tibia (or should that be metacarpals?).

And as for the Rep side - NO doubt there are plenty of players who should be in there but aren't. Very tough to pick an interleague squad from only one grade, and therefore a lot harder across several.

I know of players who were selected and wouldn't be bothered again with
a. the politics; and
b. the extra training on top of the club workload

Mainly the politics though.

Red Gum
19 May 2006, 14:23
Aren't the metacarpals in the foot?

Oops. I'm thinking of Metatarsals. Metacarpals are the hand.

mcglede
19 May 2006, 15:01
I know very well who number 24 is. Leon is an excellent footballer. The only reason I said it was to get a rise out of the Westbourne boys. It worked. Leon, my apologies - was all meant in good forum fun. I trust no offense was taken. :thumbsu:

As for why I won't name myself, it's quite simple. If I were an umpire or match official, I would be heckled badly, if a player I would be targeted behind the play while if I were a spectator I would be physically threatened.

Don't say it wouldn't happen. I've seen it happen to others, even elderly spectators.

Sorry, not going to put myself up to that. I'll stay 'mcglede' for now.

Travvy43
19 May 2006, 16:20
N
I think their key to this season seems to be the Big guy up forward - Bullock I think is his name.

From what i hear this Balloch hit form last week after gradually finding his touch. Such a shame though that the "D3 Enforcer" will not be available for this weeks match, will be interesting to see how well OW's forward structure operates without him.

oc37
19 May 2006, 18:02
both are forwards and neither could fit in a side with Loats,Frost, Boundy, Parton,Casboult, Bromley, Grace.
Undeniably they are very good footballers, but Loats v Sharp, Frost or Bromley V Robertson, i know who i would take.
Also many sides did not nominate players because the side did not recieve notification that they needed to..

oc37
19 May 2006, 18:03
i guess that's why he was referring to Tibia by that name.. only a few joints away.. no pun intended

Doona2
19 May 2006, 18:18
Is the Jeremy Bourke listed as an employee of the VAFA (general manager) by any chance the same fella who played at Seymour and I think Old Haileybury?

akkadakka
19 May 2006, 20:21
word on the street is that OW no.24 has gone a bit soft with the birth of his daughter and is struggling to hold his spot in the side. A reliable source tells me that his reputation is the only thing keeping him in the seniors. It has been said new and improved player Scott Hewitt thinks the CHB position should be his.

knackers_2
20 May 2006, 09:38
i guess that's why he was referring to Tibia by that name.. only a few joints away.. no pun intended

metacarpals aren't in the feet, and the pun may have very well been intended!

oc37
20 May 2006, 09:45
depends which level of evolution you are on .. .Maybe in some metacarpals are closer to the tibia than the metatarsals.. and i can tell that you can see more than one pun in that statement.. :)

knackers_2
22 May 2006, 09:06
depends which level of evolution you are on .. .Maybe in some metacarpals are closer to the tibia than the metatarsals.. and i can tell that you can see more than one pun in that statement.. :)

Perhaps the level of banter in this forum is of a higher intelligence than McGlede might have you believe?

No real surprises this week in D3, Although the margin in the OW v Swin game wasn't what many tipped it to be...

Has the Elsternwick train been derailed, or has it just been delayed?

FREDWA49
22 May 2006, 13:47
E'Wick certainly gave the Bloods a run..The Bloods though finished off much better at the death, some inaccurate kicking but 3 late goals blowing out the margin of what was a pretty good game.

Interesting result seeing WBR beat ELW by 7, STH v WBR in 2 weeks promises to be a ripper.

OWB margin over the SWN no surprise to me, they travel poorly, and have only played 1 contender so far in ELW, who beat them easily. Next few weeks promise to be disappointing for the Warriors me thinks when they play some quality...

Round 5 finishing order prediction - STH, WBR, ELW, BEN, OWB, KEW, SWN, MON, STM, UHS.

mcglede
22 May 2006, 14:10
Watch out Fred. You'll be branded an Elsternwick boy if you keep that up!!:)

saints
24 May 2006, 10:59
Watched south on friday night and being an ex player i would say the side they heave at th moment would be the best "team" south have produced for a while. Seems the new coach has everyone playing together and there is a good feeling around the club.
According to a few down there, they rate themselves as a premiership team.
Been a long time between drinks so would help the club alot.

knackers_2
24 May 2006, 16:21
Watched south on friday night and being an ex player i would say the side they heave at th moment would be the best "team" south have produced for a while. Seems the new coach has everyone playing together and there is a good feeling around the club.
According to a few down there, they rate themselves as a premiership team.
Been a long time between drinks so would help the club alot.

Do you know if some guy called Baade or Badde (or similar) is still playing for them?

I saw a game where he got about 65 kicks and 3 handballs against Powerhouse once. Apparently the only time he got votes

Old Warrior
24 May 2006, 19:50
Was at the Swinnie v OW game on Saturday. Am surprised to hear from an earlier post that Swinnie didn't show much in their game against Bentleigh because if they had one thing going for them it was they tried their heart out at every contest. It ended up being a cracker of a game with quite a few lead changes throughout the day. OW up at qtr time by three goals, Swinnie up by a goal at half-time, scores level at 3 qtr time and OW just getting over the line after kicking the last three goals of the game. Murchie didn't play for Swinnie, Higgins did however and kicked about four. Will be surprised if they don't provide an upset or two at their ground.

iTap
24 May 2006, 19:59
Do you know if some guy called Baade or Badde (or similar) is still playing for them?

I saw a game where he got about 65 kicks and 3 handballs against Powerhouse once. Apparently the only time he got votes

Trent Baade. Reserves premiership with the bloods in 2001. Left a couple of seasons ago, handy type.