View Full Version : D3 Ammos

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

The Hunter
7 Jul 2006, 12:35
That's all well and good... but what's your tip on the margin between the Swines and Saints? That's a true test of football intelligence. I would be interesting to hear what The Hunter, TIbia and McGlede have to say about that match.

Sorry about the slow reply KB2, but sliced some tendons after falling through "lips' coffee table. Has been hard to type with my nose. The Pigs by Plenty. Higgins to dine in the trough for 8 and a lazy 16 goal lesson to the Saints.

berzerk22
7 Jul 2006, 12:38
Any thoughts on a D3 team of the half year guys????? I am new to this but am interested to hear your thoughts and/or nominations???

berzerk22
7 Jul 2006, 12:40
Paul Chalmers, Jucka Horsborough, Franky Pavez and Chris Hudson would be automatics from Old Westbourne!

Mark Harvey
7 Jul 2006, 13:15
Im pretty close to the same tips Red gum although i do think the south boys will beat the pumped up bentleigh.South by 21
-OW will be too much for Monash.OW by 27
-Elsternwick on the rebound will crush UHS-VU by 72
-West Brunswick will be to good for Kew.WB by 50
-And swinnie to notch up 2 in a row against the staints by 28

Are we, the posting few along with the countless voyuers, supposed to take the tips of 'the lip' and 'redgum' seriously? Who could possibly make a sensible judgement on D3 Ammos at those unwholesome hours?
Being on a footy forum after 1am doesn't do a lot to quash the rumours about the lip's living habits. All the same, his tips do seem to be about right - except for UHS VU. They won't get done by that much - I tip a 40 point margin at best.[/quote]
on the D3 chat room @ 1am Lips, Phewwwwwwy, sounds smelly to me

berzerk22
7 Jul 2006, 13:16
After playing against both i defintely rate Bentleigh ahead of Sth Melb. Will Bentleigh have the Dimma's????? Either way i think they'll win tho!

the lip
7 Jul 2006, 13:28
Sorry about the slow reply KB2, but sliced some tendons after falling through "lips' coffee table. Has been hard to type with my nose. The Pigs by Plenty. Higgins to dine in the trough for 8 and a lazy 16 goal lesson to the Saints. The lip just lives up to his name doesn't evan have to say anything to get the attention of peanuts like hunter and little poiter. Evan if the comment about him or his associates are pitiful. GO BLOODS

knackers_2
7 Jul 2006, 15:29
Paul Chalmers, Jucka Horsborough, Franky Pavez and Chris Hudson would be automatics from Old Westbourne!

According to the lip, the remaining 18 in your 'superteam' would be from Souths. I'd get him to list their names, but I reckon he'd struggle with both spelling and punctuation.

berzerk22
7 Jul 2006, 15:52
Well his 'superteam' certainly went missing against OW! Would still be interested to know other's thoughts on D3 team of the half year tho! EVEN THE LIP! LOL

MotorBike Rob
7 Jul 2006, 15:57
The lip just lives up to his name doesn't evan have to say anything to get the attention of peanuts like hunter and little poiter. Evan if the comment about him or his associates are pitiful. GO BLOODS
you make it too easy sometimes lipbalm. Do you play network games too??

MotorBike Rob
7 Jul 2006, 16:03
Any thoughts on a D3 team of the half year guys????? I am new to this but am interested to hear your thoughts and/or nominations???

Anthony Stewart is playing well for Bentliegh

berzerk22
7 Jul 2006, 16:20
Any others Rob? There must be some others performing well too considering their recent good form???

iTap
7 Jul 2006, 16:31
After playing against both i defintely rate Bentleigh ahead of Sth Melb. Will Bentleigh have the Dimma's????? Either way i think they'll win tho!

Of course you do, Bentleigh smashed your mob. However The Bloods beat them at a neutral venue, and I think they'll do it again.

the lip
7 Jul 2006, 20:40
According to the lip, the remaining 18 in your 'superteam' would be from Souths. I'd get him to list their names, but I reckon he'd struggle with both spelling and punctuation. yeah mate you got me then with spelling and it probably wont be the last. but i can wear that

espresso
8 Jul 2006, 19:59
Saw the Bentleigh v Districts game today. A cracker. South led all day, the Demons got within a point in the 3rd when Souths kicked away and won by 5 goals. Both teams looked good.

madpie
8 Jul 2006, 20:02
Saw the Bentleigh v Districts game today. A cracker. South led all day, the Demons got within a point in the 3rd when Souths kicked away and won by 5 goals. Both teams looked good.How did bill magee go for the districts??

espresso
9 Jul 2006, 14:02
Booted 1. Took plenty of grabs and created a few, but seemed to get a rough deal form the umps. Looked like he was getting climbed all over. Sharp kicked 3, so both teams found different avenues to goal.

Johnny0nthespot
9 Jul 2006, 23:05
How did OW beat Monash on Sat? OW was as good as gone with 15 mins to go.
Anyone see the St Marys beat the Swines?

sidewinder
10 Jul 2006, 08:47
Anyone see the St Marys beat the Swines?[/quote]

Did see a Saints supporter last week making notes on Swinburne forward setup! Paid a big dividend!

berzerk22
10 Jul 2006, 10:15
Did the Dimma's play for Bentleigh?

berzerk22
10 Jul 2006, 10:42
How did OW beat Monash on Sat? OW was as good as gone with 15 mins to go.
Anyone see the St Marys beat the Swines?

Monash just stopped and OW finally clicked. 6 goals to nothing in the last qtr after going into it 4 down! A couple of great young players at Monash though. Dooley was very good early on in particular!

iTap
10 Jul 2006, 11:35
Did the Dimma's play for Bentleigh?

Don't think so, but his family did turn out to wish #43 from the Bloods 'all the best'...to no effect.

Pat Bateman
10 Jul 2006, 13:55
Anyone seen the poll going on on the vafa website? The public has spoken concerning Gavan Flower. When three times as many people prefer Tom Brain to yourself the question must be asked, why bother? Perhaps the drinking bird could take over scribe duties mid-season.

the lip
10 Jul 2006, 18:42
Anyone seen the poll going on on the vafa website? The public has spoken concerning Gavan Flower. When three times as many people prefer Tom Brain to yourself the question must be asked, why bother? Perhaps the drinking bird could take over scribe duties mid-season. Gavan Flower, i know heaps of people that cant stand him. I heard a couple of weeks ago that he gets around with a few of the old westbourne boys they were seen at that low club in werribee together.

Pat Bateman
10 Jul 2006, 19:43
Gavan Flower, i know heaps of people that cant stand him. I heard a couple of weeks ago that he gets around with a few of the old westbourne boys they were seen at that low club in werribee together.

Most of the OW boys don't know who he is or even that he used to be connected with the club. By all reports was a very limited ressies player.

iTap
11 Jul 2006, 10:33
Why does everyone dislike Gavin Flower? Seems to me he's only guilty of tipping so badly it verges on criminal!

Gavone
11 Jul 2006, 10:40
Boys, boys, boys.

I have enjoyed reading the banter on this board, and have resisted putting on a post until now.

Now I know who most of you are posting these jibes and are trying to get me to bite. I said to myself I wouldn't , but I guess the fact I am posting this message means that I have.

So now that I have biten, I will respect your anonymity, however, I need to clarify a few points regarding that guff that has been posted.

Anyone seen the poll going on on the vafa website? The public has spoken concerning Gavan Flower. When three times as many people prefer Tom Brain to yourself the question must be asked, why bother? Perhaps the drinking bird could take over scribe duties mid-season.

Come on mate. As if anyone could seriously vote for Tom Brain other than for a laugh? Either he has a family member voting 24 hours a day or he has some internet bot doing the work for him. The drinking bird is an interesting concept though for D3.....

Gavan Flower, i know heaps of people that cant stand him. I heard a couple of weeks ago that he gets around with a few of the old westbourne boys they were seen at that low club in werribee together.

Not sure what this one means? Werribee Club? If that means Hoppers Crossing, well that would be true as I am President of the Cricket Club there, but not to watch a game? And if it means Werribee Amos, well that is not true.

Most of the OW boys don't know who he is or even that he used to be connected with the club. By all reports was a very limited ressies player.

Come on Pat, I know that you know who I am. How could anyone under the age of 25 forget my sledging of Dave Twomey for running drills the wrong way around or cracking the sads for having Gatorade tipped all over me and ripping off the classic quote "f&^k you all, I am going to play at West Brunswick!!!"

As for the youngsters, may have to agree there. Quite a few new faces around the place, but after I run the Trivia Night this week, they won't forget this pretty face in a hurry!!

Anyway guys, I enjoy the banter in here. Keep it up, I will make some more postings now that I have broken radio silence.

My tip for the flag is still Bentleigh by the way!

Red Gum
11 Jul 2006, 12:06
Congratulations to St Mary's for hoisting their first win. Maybe the relegation battle is not the lay-down misere it was thought to be until recently. Q must surely be looking over their broad shoulders.

MotorBike Rob
11 Jul 2006, 12:14
yeah mate you got me then with spelling and it probably wont be the last. but i can wear that

did you have to check "wear" with the spell check ringLips? or is that your mum again?

Red Gum
11 Jul 2006, 12:14
A bit early in the week, but given the dearth of footballing chatter on this otherwise fine forum I thought I'd throw my tips in. Subject to change depending on the teams named:

Bentleigh to burst the saints' bubble by 6 goals.
Souths to inflict further suffering on the Q boys; 10 goal margin.
Warner Brothers to keep the mythical creatures beneath them; 5 goals.
Pigs to trounce Boycey's boys; 12 goals.
Old Warriors' mighty defence to struggle under the flame of the Wick attack. A tight battle that will be decided by <2goals in the home side's favour.

collinsr
11 Jul 2006, 15:35
My tip for the flag is still Bentleigh by the way![/quote]

This comment definitely has some merit…..but has a team that has suffered a 100+ point loss in home and away ever gone on to win the flag??

Gavone
11 Jul 2006, 15:57

This comment definitely has some merit…..but has a team that has suffered a 100+ point loss in home and away ever gone on to win the flag??

Good call, but I am sure it has happened many times.

I can remember the Pies going down to the Hawks by a similar margin in 1990 just before the finals.

iTap
11 Jul 2006, 17:49

Who will they play in the Grand Final do you reckon?

the lip
11 Jul 2006, 20:47
did you have to check "wear" with the spell check ringLips? or is that your mum again? big 'robsta' talking tuff as usual. you are tuff rob!

the lip
11 Jul 2006, 20:52
Who will they play in the Grand Final do you reckon?definitely not south melbourne mate i reckon bentleigh has them covered!The boys from south looked intimidated on the weekend.

Gavone
12 Jul 2006, 00:00
Who will they play in the Grand Final do you reckon?

You would have to say the Swans at the minute (despite the Lips sarcasm), however, I would not be surprised if the Wickers were up there, especially if they have less injuries than what they are carrying at the minute.

They have to make it first though, and I reckon this could be a battle.

berzerk22
12 Jul 2006, 09:42
Are we forgetting a couple of key stats? Sth Melb has beaten Bentleigh twice and OW is the only team to have beaten Sth Melb! Sth Melb is 2 games clear on top, and Bentleigh isnt even inside the 4! I rate Bentleigh based on how they beat us, but have to rate Sth Melb pretty high if they have Bentleigh's number and look comfortably set to take double chance. Bentleigh might need to concentrate on making the 4! (along with the other three teams in that battle!)

When all is said and done i think any of the top 5 could make the GF! And OW have proven Sths are beatable!

berzerk22
12 Jul 2006, 09:45
definitely not south melbourne mate i reckon bentleigh has them covered!The boys from south looked intimidated on the weekend.

I had to double check the results after reading this comment mate? How can you say Bentleigh had them 'covered' and 'intimidated' if they went down by 5 goals? :confused: Are you serious?!?!?!?

espresso
12 Jul 2006, 10:16
You would have to say the Swans at the minute (despite the Lips sarcasm), however, I would not be surprised if the Wickers were up there, especially if they have less injuries than what they are carrying at the minute.

Gav, having read the weekly record this season as an impartial 'spectator', I've been surprised with the lack of respect you seem to have for South?? You rarely seem to tip them; and now with South two games clear on top you still seem to struggle with tipping tham as a GF chance?? Do you know something the D3 footy world doesn't??

dave31
12 Jul 2006, 10:54
Results of Investigation Hearings – Tuesday July 11, 2006
Albert Park seniors played too many players during their match against North Brunswick on July 1 at Allard Park for two minutes of the last quarter.
As the extra player had minor effect on the result of the match the scores will remain the same. Albert Park fined $100.

Interesting result from the tribunal last night...

Gavone
12 Jul 2006, 11:13
Gav, having read the weekly record this season as an impartial 'spectator', I've been surprised with the lack of respect you seem to have for South?? You rarely seem to tip them; and now with South two games clear on top you still seem to struggle with tipping tham as a GF chance?? Do you know something the D3 footy world doesn't??

Don't get me wrong, I certainly respect South's season thus far. They have certainly been the front runners of the comp and have pretty much answered every challenge that has been presented to them.

They have also improved their list and when you consider the fact they have pretty much stagnated in D3 since winning their flag in D4 all those years back, no matter what happens from here on in, it is a very good effort.

However, I guess I am still not convinced about their finals credentials. When you look at the recent exeprience that West Brunny, Westbourne and Elsternwick have with their current lists, that may put them in better stead with such an even field. As for Bentleigh, they just look to be the best side we (ie Westbourne) have played this year, so I am perhaps a little swayed by that.

One thing is for certain, there is realistically very little splitting the top five, and any one of the teams could win it with a good run of form, injuries etc.

It is going to be a cracker of a finish!!

berzerk22
12 Jul 2006, 12:01
The rules about punishment for having too many players on the ground are inconsistent and farcical!

berzerk22
12 Jul 2006, 12:06

As scribe of D3 Gav i'd be interested to know your thoughts on a team of the half year in D3????

Gavone
12 Jul 2006, 13:18
As scribe of D3 Gav i'd be interested to know your thoughts on a team of the half year in D3????

Mate, I put my team in about a week ago and it has not been published yet. Not sure if the VAFA disagreed with my choices, but more likely they just have not had the time to post it.

Therefore, you lads can be the first to see it. Let me just say, it was not an easy task, as injuries to certain players made it hard to choose them combined with the fact scribes did not have a chance to ask the readers their thoughts, which weighs heavily on the choices we make for the end of the year team.

Also, picking players in position was also difficult.

So anyway, this was the side which will be published shortly on the VAFA website and possibly this weeks AF.

B: L.Gorringe (UHS) D.Benn (OW) L.Martin (WB)
HB: B.Batters (WB) A.Banks (Bent) S.Cracknell (UHS)
C: P.Cheevers (SM) B.Irving (WB) S.Aquilina (SM)
HF: C.Horne (Kew) S.Lawry (Bent) B.Mahoney (Elst)
F: C.Sharp (Bent) M.Higgins (Swin) L.Dooley (Gry)
R G.Bell (Kew) W.Mcgee (SM) F.Pavez (OW)
Int: G.Culshaw (Elst) M.Purcell (St.M) J.Horsburgh (OW) D.Baxter (Gry)

Coach Dennis Grace

berzerk22
12 Jul 2006, 13:32
Mate, I put my team in about a week ago and it has not been published yet. Not sure if the VAFA disagreed with my choices, but more likely they just have not had the time to post it.

Therefore, you lads can be the first to see it. Let me just say, it was not an easy task, as injuries to certain players made it hard to choose them combined with the fact scribes did not have a chance to ask the readers their thoughts, which weighs heavily on the choices we make for the end of the year team.

Also, picking players in position was also difficult.

So anyway, this was the side which will be published shortly on the VAFA website and possibly this weeks AF.

B: L.Gorringe (UHS) D.Benn (OW) L.Martin (WB)
HB: B.Batters (WB) A.Banks (Bent) S.Cracknell (UHS)
C: P.Cheevers (SM) B.Irving (WB) S.Aquilina (SM)
HF: C.Horne (Kew) S.Lawry (Bent) B.Mahoney (Elst)
F: C.Sharp (Bent) M.Higgins (Swin) L.Dooley (Gry)
R G.Bell (Kew) W.Mcgee (SM) F.Pavez (OW)
Int: G.Culshaw (Elst) M.Purcell (St.M) J.Horsburgh (OW) D.Baxter (Gry)

Coach Dennis Grace

No Chris Hudson from OW? Should be at CHF i think?!?!?!

Have you seen much of Paul Chalmers and a new face at OW Smith?

A very good team in general tho! Good work!

mcglede
12 Jul 2006, 14:17
So a player makes the State team while playing in D3 and can't get in the half team of the year?

Mr Flower's previously shown some bias against the boys from Elsternwick Park. Sounds as if it will continue...

the lip
12 Jul 2006, 17:44
I had to double check the results after reading this comment mate? How can you say Bentleigh had them 'covered' and 'intimidated' if they went down by 5 goals? :confused: Are you serious?!?!?!? no way buddy i was at the game on sat just abit of sacasm in regards to bentleigh winning the flag. Elsternwick is a better team than bentleigh.

desmond15
12 Jul 2006, 18:04
c'mon gav, 2 uni high players, 2 kew players, even 1 st mary players. and only room for the 1 grpyhon (tokenly placed as last name on the bench !). this seems a bit harsh. are you suggesting the grpyhons have no good players and are an even side. their recent form pushing elsternwick and old westbourne, clearly makes them 'best of the rest'. they have easily accounted for those sides below them on each occasion they have met (ST M, Kew, UNi, Swinburne) and are only about 5% off some of the better teams. someone must be playing well i would have thought ?.

iTap
12 Jul 2006, 18:37
no way buddy i was at the game on sat just abit of sacasm in regards to bentleigh winning the flag. Elsternwick is a better team than bentleigh.

do you agree with Cheevers being in Gavones team of the half year?

I've heard he's a squib.

the lip
12 Jul 2006, 19:49

I've heard he's a squib. yeah mate hasnt had a kick for 3 years

espresso
12 Jul 2006, 20:29

I've heard he's a squib.

Bell from SM should be in instead. Big lanky number 14 I think.

the lip
12 Jul 2006, 20:37
Bell from SM should be in instead. Big lanky number 14 I think.

Is he back playing i thought he was still suspended.

Johnny0nthespot
12 Jul 2006, 21:13
c'mon gav, 2 uni high players, 2 kew players, even 1 st mary players. and only room for the 1 grpyhon (tokenly placed as last name on the bench !). this seems a bit harsh. are you suggesting the grpyhons have no good players and are an even side. their recent form pushing elsternwick and old westbourne, clearly makes them 'best of the rest'. they have easily accounted for those sides below them on each occasion they have met (ST M, Kew, UNi, Swinburne) and are only about 5% off some of the better teams. someone must be playing well i would have thought ?.
Gryphons have 2 players in the side. Dooley in the FP and Baxter on the Bench.
What about W.Death Gav, couldnt sneak him him?

iTap
12 Jul 2006, 21:30
Is he back playing i thought he was still suspended.

He should be! He's an animal, that bloke...

Old Warrior
12 Jul 2006, 21:31
So a player makes the State team while playing in D3 and can't get in the half team of the year?

Mr Flower's previously shown some bias against the boys from Elsternwick Park. Sounds as if it will continue...

I can't remember Gav being any more biased against E'wick than other teams in D3. When did this happen mcglede?

All scribes were asked to be a little more "controversial" in there writing this year and Gav has done that in regards to all teams - even his own. OW's coach was on the end of one of his jibes a few weeks back.

If you want to read bias against a team, have a look back at what he wrote about Richmond Centrals in 2004. I think E'wick got off lightly.

But I agree with you that team selection does not look right... I have no idea how Dennis Grace was named as coach.

mcglede
12 Jul 2006, 22:30
One jibe? In ten weeks? My god! Mr Flower is fast becomeing a Mike Sheehan clone. What next? Will Mr Flower come out with a "What do you think?" column.

I remember an early season game at EP Number 2 in 2004 where lo and behold, Mr Flower tipped OW. Both had started well, OW had never proven themselves as an a decent away side, but he went with his own team.

Why? We all know why.

Still, no Craig Mahony in that side is pathetic and smacks of either a genuine dislike for either the player or the club. It is common knowledge that he can flat-out play much like his brother Brian (who did make the team). But then again, they belong to a team that played at home last weekend and took on a 1-9 team who were rated a 'genuine contender' by Mr Flower.

103 points later...

Gavone
13 Jul 2006, 10:18
McGlede, you have some serious issues, so I am not even going to get into a to-and-fro with you, as you will always think you are correct regardless of what I say.

However, I would like to address the issues you raised about my writing style for people who take the time to read what I write.

I do not hide the fact I barrack for Westbourne, and I would be a clown if I did. How could you not follow a side that you gave your blood, sweat and tears for for over 10 years? However, I do try to keep a good balance with what I write. Old Warrior is correct in saying I do try to be a little controversial without going over the top. And when I am showing a bias to the Warriors, I clearly state it, as I did with tipping them last week against the Gryphons.

He was also correct about the sledging I gave Richmond Centrals. But that was personal, after they attacked me when I was goal-umpiring one game for what they perceived was an incorrect call. Mind you they were 20 goals down at that stage of the game. Go figure??

Also, do not forget that I write the column voluntarily. The reason I give up my time is because I get some enjoyment from a) actually writing the column, b) the interaction with other clubs that I do not get now I am not playing, and c) the end of season scribe's lunch which is now a bit of an institution!! So bear that in mind when you are tearing strips off me.

As for the team, yep, a little bit controversial not including Craig, but the teams of the years always have to strike a balance to try and include players from all clubs, and given I had two from the Wicks plus the coach, I could not find a spot.

GoesBangFrom50
13 Jul 2006, 10:41
I remember an early season game at EP Number 2 in 2004 where lo and behold, Mr Flower tipped OW. Both had started well, OW had never proven themselves as an a decent away side, but he went with his own team.

Mcglede whoopy fkn do, a round 3 fifty fifty match where two sides had two convincing wins so he probably followed his heart a bit get over it mate. I think you'll find Gavan has a good repour with some senior representatives at Estlwck just cos he left one player out, when most sides good confidently argue 5 or 6 blokes deserve a spot doesnt mean he has an issue, I think you have.
I recall Norm Nugent writing back in 1996 that Fitzroy Reds would comfortably beat OW by 5goals on there own turf and OW got up and won by 2goals he must of had serious issues with OW that Nugent.
Get my point wnkr.

knackers_2
13 Jul 2006, 12:25
One jibe? In ten weeks? My god! Mr Flower is fast becomeing a Mike Sheehan clone. What next? Will Mr Flower come out with a "What do you think?" column.

If Gavan is the next Mike Sheehan, would that make you the next Caroline Wilson?
It's too hard to pick a lisp through someone's typing, but the chip on the shoulder appears to be about the right size

Red Gum
13 Jul 2006, 15:00
I think you'll find Gavan has a good repour...

What was wrong with the first pour?

Noirman
14 Jul 2006, 00:01
If Gavan is the next Mike Sheehan, would that make you the next Caroline Wilson?
It's too hard to pick a lisp through someone's typing, but the chip on the shoulder appears to be about the right size

No. The next Caroline Wilson is Boycey. Not a bad look-a-like.

mcglede
14 Jul 2006, 00:09
I have some serious issues Mr Flower?

I'm not the one with the double standards here. That would be...you!

knackers_2
14 Jul 2006, 09:01

Alright mcglede, that's enough out of you. You have put me in a situation where I am defending Gavaaaan, something I have rarely done and don't plan to do a lot of in the future.

Until you can present a D3 'team of the season' to the forum for open criticism, I don't think you have a leg (or even a femur stump) to stand on.

knackers_2
14 Jul 2006, 09:02
No. The next Caroline Wilson is Boycey. Not a bad look-a-like.
Now that you mention it, I've never seen them in the same room together...

mcglede
14 Jul 2006, 10:32
Knackers, why do I have to put together a team of the year?

Because you want me to? How quaint. Someone who posts under a nickname 'Knackers 2', (meaning he isn't even the original Knackers) demands I post.

Maybe once Mr Flower admits his double standards, I will put one together.

Red Gum
14 Jul 2006, 10:37
How quaint. Someone who posts under a nickname 'Knackers 2', (meaning he isn't even the original Knackers) demands I post.

A compelling argument McGlede! How dare he even speak with that nasty little 2 hanging off the end of someone else's name like that?!

Way to show everyone how not to have double standards. Criticising someone else's opinion while refusing to submit your own opinion to such criticism is surely not a double standard. I'm not sure it's a standard at all.

knackers_2
14 Jul 2006, 12:33
Knackers, why do I have to put together a team of the year?

Because you want me to? How quaint. Someone who posts under a nickname 'Knackers 2', (meaning he isn't even the original Knackers) demands I post.

Sorry mcglede, I didn't want to be the one to give you an anatomy lesson - but don't most males have 2 knackers? Have a chat to a parent, guidance counsellor or your local pastor for more details.

Slagging off about someone's attempt at a D3 team (especially when the author has admitted to being intentionally controversial) is a cheap shot if you aren't going to offer a better side.
mcglede hasn't got double standards - he's just hypocritical.

Poiter
14 Jul 2006, 12:57
McGlede it is not that hard... I unfortunately couldn't find space for either of the Mahony brothers. Below is my attempt, I think personally it is a coaches dream can't see too many weaklinks across any of the lines.

B: A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent)
HB: A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent)
C: A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent)
HF: A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent)
F: A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent)
R: A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent)
Int: A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent) A.Stewart (Bent)

Capt/Coach: A. Stewart

iTap
14 Jul 2006, 13:21
McGlede it is not that hard... I unfortunately couldn't find space for either of the Mahony brothers. Below is my attempt, I think personally it is a coaches dream can't see too many weaklinks across any of the lines.

Room for one more on the bench... Bentleigh's A.Stewart perhaps?

knackers_2
14 Jul 2006, 13:22

Not such a bad team - although I would have put Thommo from UHS-VU (#53) in the back pocket, purely for versatility

akkadakka
14 Jul 2006, 13:26
Have you seen much of Paul Chalmers and a new face at OW Smith?

Chalmers started the season with a couple of best ons, but has been injured for the most part of the season, and Smith is new to the club and has only played in 3 senior games so far.

Both quality players though, and have given westbourne alot this year.

matera30
14 Jul 2006, 14:26
hamilton and curtin the two fat slow gnomes are doing an alright job it seems at west, considering the key players they lost.

pity neither of the two can coach, must be some good onfield leaders down there

MotorBike Rob
14 Jul 2006, 14:56

Good call Poiter. He is having a great season. Saw him a few weeks back. His footy has picked up since he stopped wearing gloves. Always gets the hard ball. Good Mrs too..

mcglede
14 Jul 2006, 21:25
"I had quite a few critics last week and this is fine as I am happy to hear anything you have to say, be it positive, negative or indifferent and take it all on board".

Knackers (oops, Knackers_2), Mr Flower won't debate me, but perhaps you'll be so good as to ask him what has changed since Round Two?

Pat Bateman
14 Jul 2006, 21:42

You are!!!

sidewinder
15 Jul 2006, 23:42
Room for one more on the bench... Bentleigh's A.Stewart perhaps?

Can't find space for a Mahony?
Just ask Old Worriers today. A.Mahony B.Mahony C.Mahony.... they collectively beat the Worriers today. First one, then the other.Crowd Craig and Brian will beat you! The Worriers were shown up as a one dimensional side today. Question on their game. Tough conditions....soft side! Pretty boy football does not work on an ugly day. September football is different and providing they make it, the worriers might make good use of their style of football but first...you've got to make it!

The Bloods go on.....Kew had no answers today. Their Two's were just making up the numbers. No problem though. Just round 12. Passage to the big games later on in the season.

oldtimer
16 Jul 2006, 00:48
Can't find space for a Mahony?
Just ask Old Worriers today. A.Mahony B.Mahony C.Mahony.... they collectively beat the Worriers today. First one, then the other.Crowd Craig and Brian will beat you! The Worriers were shown up as a one dimensional side today. Question on their game. Tough conditions....soft side! Pretty boy football does not work on an ugly day. September football is different and providing they make it, the worriers might make good use of their style of football but first...you've got to make it!

The Bloods go on.....Kew had no answers today. Their Two's were just making up the numbers. No problem though. Just round 12. Passage to the big games later on in the season.

Bloods are awesome, have to be a certainty for the flag. Kew played the best the have played all year despite being severly undermanned. Bloods are the best side in D3 by a long way!!!

espresso
16 Jul 2006, 19:20
Watch out for Monash. I reckon they're gaining some momentum. May be too late for a finals campaign, but may upset a few sides.

berzerk22
16 Jul 2006, 22:26
[quote=sidewinder]Can't find space for a Mahony?

Be careful not to judge OW on the side that was playing on Saturday. Lots of key outs that meant they were below full strength.

Was that a full strength Elsternwick? Cos OW were missing at least 7 senior players and you only won by 2 goals???? :confused:

mcglede
16 Jul 2006, 23:26
Not it wasn't Berzerk, and somehow I get the feeling that your club knows that. Elsternwick has a long injury list at present - that'swell known.

Besides, I think that you had better have a yarn to your mate Tibia, who has been recently quiet I have noticed. Here's something from him from 21/04/06:

"Mate, this is exactly what I am talking about. Every team has injuries, and it is just that we hear more about them from the Wickers than anyone else. All these comments are to me are excuses, nothing more. Thanks for justifying my point."

Personally, I would make sure you kept your pseudonym to yourself there Berzerko. Old Tibs may have a bone to pick with you.

That's three from four you've dropped to them. Maybe you will have to accept that this team may be as good, if not better, than OW? I'll have to, as I didn't even have Elsternwick in my GF quinella.

Still, will be hard to get Mr Flower to admit that. This week's it was the home ground advantage that would split the two teams. Why wasn't that the case for Round 3, especially given the 2004 result?

While you're not replying Mr Flower, I know you're reading. You don't have to reply, however I suggest to you that the bias ends in favour of OW in your writings. We all know you are passionate about the club, but it gets in the way of your writing and makes it difficult for other clubs who watch one team get written up so glowfully at the expense of others.

Take a step back. Talk about and tip OW where and when warranted, but don't use nicknames of OW players where you wouldn't other teams players. Choose OW players in your half teams of the year where they are warranted. Don't just choose a player because of past form and their reputation. NSW did that in this season's State of Origin and look what happened to them.

Give a 100% unbiased perspective. Trust me, your writing style will improve, your respect from your peers will increase and maybe, just maybe, your popularity on the VAFA website may just incease. Let's face it, you can't go any lower!

MotorBike Rob
17 Jul 2006, 08:40
Not it wasn't Berzerk, and somehow I get the feeling that your club knows that. Elsternwick has a long injury list at present - that'swell known.

Besides, I think that you had better have a yarn to your mate Tibia, who has been recently quiet I have noticed. Here's something from him from 21/04/06:

"Mate, this is exactly what I am talking about. Every team has injuries, and it is just that we hear more about them from the Wickers than anyone else. All these comments are to me are excuses, nothing more. Thanks for justifying my point."

Personally, I would make sure you kept your pseudonym to yourself there Berzerko. Old Tibs may have a bone to pick with you.

That's three from four you've dropped to them. Maybe you will have to accept that this team may be as good, if not better, than OW? I'll have to, as I didn't even have Elsternwick in my GF quinella.

Still, will be hard to get Mr Flower to admit that. This week's it was the home ground advantage that would split the two teams. Why wasn't that the case for Round 3, especially given the 2004 result?

While you're not replying Mr Flower, I know you're reading. You don't have to reply, however I suggest to you that the bias ends in favour of OW in your writings. We all know you are passionate about the club, but it gets in the way of your writing and makes it difficult for other clubs who watch one team get written up so glowfully at the expense of others.

Take a step back. Talk about and tip OW where and when warranted, but don't use nicknames of OW players where you wouldn't other teams players. Choose OW players in your half teams of the year where they are warranted. Don't just choose a player because of past form and their reputation. NSW did that in this season's State of Origin and look what happened to them.

Give a 100% unbiased perspective. Trust me, your writing style will improve, your respect from your peers will increase and maybe, just maybe, your popularity on the VAFA website may just incease. Let's face it, you can't go any lower!

Maybe you guys should start your own thread for "whingeing girls"

berzerk22
17 Jul 2006, 09:37

A simple yes/no answer would've been fine thanks. Quite an impressive essay, but wasted on me as all i wanted to know was if you had injuries, not the history of the effect of injuries on life as we know it within the VAFA. Nor did i need cross referencing with past discussions or your own bibliography.

Just to clarify .... yes you have injuries too? Are they key injuries or just injuries?

knackers_2
17 Jul 2006, 09:39
Maybe you guys should start your own thread for "whingeing girls"

No doubt Poiter and the lip would contribute to that thread

Red Gum
17 Jul 2006, 10:30
who watch one team get written up so glowfully at the expense of others.

Now you're just baiting me. Surely you don't think this is a word?!

knackers_2
17 Jul 2006, 10:51
Knackers (oops, Knackers_2), Mr Flower won't debate me, but perhaps you'll be so good as to ask him what has changed since Round Two?

Whatever you say, mcglede. What has changed since Round Two?

Mark Harvey
17 Jul 2006, 12:05
hamilton and curtin the two fat slow gnomes are doing an alright job it seems at west, considering the key players they lost.

pity neither of the two can coach, must be some good onfield leaders down there

Good Point Pete
I hear on the grape vine Paul Cook has been sighted at the club, this might help explain the clubs current win/loss ratio

Red Gum
17 Jul 2006, 15:01
There's a poll running on the VAFA website asking for votes on the favourite VAFA scribe. There's even the option to vote for Gavan. If you've got a grievance exercise your democratic right.

The Punter
17 Jul 2006, 17:55
Bentleigh is currently 8-4 and not in the top four. On this pace, they will finish with 12 wins, and if they don't make the finals with 11 or 12 wins, will they then have claims to being the unluckiest team in all amateur football? Remember last year they got relegated despite winning 6 games.

Any meaningful thoughts?

mcglede
17 Jul 2006, 18:37
In posting here Red Gum, most would suggest that I have!:)

knackers_2
18 Jul 2006, 09:53
Bentleigh is currently 8-4 and not in the top four. On this pace, they will finish with 12 wins, and if they don't make the finals with 11 or 12 wins, will they then have claims to being the unluckiest team in all amateur football? Remember last year they got relegated despite winning 6 games.

Any meaningful thoughts?

Winning 6 games and dropping a grade is certainly a sharp little punt in the groin, and I would reckon winning 12 games and dipping out on September action by percentage would be an equally painful blow to the vas deferens. One of the top 5 has to miss out- at this stage I think it will be Westbourne. But we really should consult mcglede.

collinsr
18 Jul 2006, 10:49
Agreed Knackers.....OW are 1 from 5 against top 4 and with their % and being 4 points behind the pack they will have to win 3 from 3 against these sides on the way home to make it. With only one of those games at home I think it's game over.

Gavone
18 Jul 2006, 12:33
Agreed Knackers.....OW are 1 from 5 against top 4 and with their % and being 4 points behind the pack they will have to win 3 from 3 against these sides on the way home to make it. With only one of those games at home I think it's game over.

That could be true Collinsr, but you must not forget the wild cards, being Monash who are very tough to beat at home and are playing good footy at the moment, and also the relegation battle at the bottom. If Kew go down to the Saints this week, all three are back in the hunt to stay up, which means danger for the Big 5.

I agree though that the Warriors will need to win one of their road trips against Bentleigh or South, as well as beating the Magpies at home if they are to be certaintities (and of course not dropping one to the bottom 5).

My tip at this stage is we are the most likley to miss out, but there are still many twists and turns before this season is over!!

Red Gum
18 Jul 2006, 12:59
I think McGlede that you're confusing our system with the American one.

He He... Vas Deferens... He He.

MotorBike Rob
18 Jul 2006, 13:22

Any meaningful thoughts?

Yes. Delist Stewart

knackers_2
18 Jul 2006, 13:34
Yes. Delist Stewart

From Hero to Zero quicker than a CB 250

berzerk22
18 Jul 2006, 14:03

Any meaningful thoughts?

I think any of the current top 5 would by stiff to miss out. It's quite possible though that one of them will miss out with more than 10 wins.

berzerk22
18 Jul 2006, 14:09

It is worth noting that there one win against the top 4 was over the previously undefeated Sths who have taken out all of the other top teams (some of them twice!) which indicates that OW can play on their day! :eek:

That said i must agree that the task for OW is a difficult one, but most of the other top teams are in the same boat. All must win against the other contenders and can't afford to drop one to the bottom 5!

It should make for a great second half of the season. :thumbsu:

dave31
18 Jul 2006, 14:10
Hey guys,

Who would be leading their club's B&F at this stage of the year???

I would nominate Swooper Pavez from Westbourne. He has been the most consistent so far for the side.

berzerk22
18 Jul 2006, 14:16
Hey guys,

Who would be leading their club's B&F at this stage of the year???

I would nominate Swooper Pavez from Westbourne. He has been the most consistent so far for the side.

Totally agree Swooper would be leading he has been awesome all year, from Paul Chalmers for his early form and maybe Trav Edwards with his recent good run and Jucka Horsborough has been consistently good?

mcglede
18 Jul 2006, 14:17
Unfortunately, Knackers thinks I have something against Old Westbourne.

If he went back and checked the history of this thread however, he would see that I tipped Old Westbourne to win the Premiership over Bentleigh this season.

Yes Knackers, I tipped your club to win the Premiership...and I believe they still can.

What we have is a situation whereby we have an even competition, with the top five being outstanding prospects to go to D2. I have no doubt we could currently take any two of the top five and they would be competitive in the league above to the point where neither would be relegated.

Monash are ever improving and Swinburne are not as bad as many made them out to be. I am surprised by the form of Kew, while UHS-VU and St Mary's can honestly say they picked the wrong year to be a little off the pace.

So Knackers when you try to suggest I do not respect your club, you're off the mark. I already do, and have for some time. What I don't like however is the two page homage to OW that we get in the Amateur Footballer every week. Simple.

dave31
18 Jul 2006, 14:26
Totally agree Swooper would be leading he has been awesome all year, from Paul Chalmers for his early form and maybe Trav Edwards with his recent good run and Jucka Horsborough has been consistently good?

Its a shame they cant get Nick Smith in the side more often. He is certainly one of the players that come Sept will be the difference between Westbourne making up the numbers and actually having a crack at the flag.