View Full Version : D3 Ammos

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13

Mark Harvey
31 Jul 2006, 16:57
disagree that hilton is suspect?

Do you care to expand on your thoughts re the above, I would of thought he's had a fair year down back, havn't been to many bags kicked against WB, & i dont think he's had a bag kicked on him.
Please explain Pauline

collinsr
31 Jul 2006, 17:18
recent poor form???? 2 x 100 point wins. Do your homework Tiger!

Might want to check the best recently too mate. Chalmers in best last 2 weeks, Pavez flying, probably in front in club b&f and Lever out with a broken thumb.

Why even chime in on a conversation topic you clearly know nothing about!

Be careful or we could end up 2 divisions apart next year!?!??!

Not sure if beating two lower teams suggests good form but you are correct it is probably not poor form.....you guys have your chance this week, WB v OW will most likely decide 4th spot

reilly
31 Jul 2006, 18:04
recent poor form???? 2 x 100 point wins. Do your homework Tiger!

Might want to check the best recently too mate. Chalmers in best last 2 weeks, Pavez flying, probably in front in club b&f and Lever out with a broken thumb.

Why even chime in on a conversation topic you clearly know nothing about!

Be careful or we could end up 2 divisions apart next year!?!??!

berzerk pleaseee stop it mate i cant stand hearing this crap come out of your mouth. ive just looked on the vafa website and seen westbournes run home...things arent looking to good sunshine... 3 of the top 4 teams coming up mate.things are not looking to rosey down there in that lovely suburb of truganina!! gonna be hard you ended up 2 divisions ahead of any team in d3 soon mate unless there is a d5 section added to the ametuers, cause westbourne are going no where in a hurry. the only people who think they are moving places are the people playing for westbourne and i give you the tip... there the only people thinkng this.

berzerk22
31 Jul 2006, 20:34
berzerk pleaseee stop it mate i cant stand hearing this crap come out of your mouth. ive just looked on the vafa website and seen westbournes run home...things arent looking to good sunshine... 3 of the top 4 teams coming up mate.things are not looking to rosey down there in that lovely suburb of truganina!! gonna be hard you ended up 2 divisions ahead of any team in d3 soon mate unless there is a d5 section added to the ametuers, cause westbourne are going no where in a hurry. the only people who think they are moving places are the people playing for westbourne and i give you the tip... there the only people thinkng this.

Believe me we are the only ones who need to think that. Do you think how you or members of any other teams rate our chances matter to us?

Our destiny is in our own hands. And we'll know soon enough whether we are up to it or not. Unlike some other teams (know any reilly???) who already know they aren't!!!!

Enjoy your footy trip champ along with your other friends who have nothing to play for.

reilly
31 Jul 2006, 21:27
Believe me we are the only ones who need to think that. Do you think how you or members of any other teams rate our chances matter to us?

Our destiny is in our own hands. And we'll know soon enough whether we are up to it or not. Unlike some other teams (know any reilly???) who already know they aren't!!!!

Enjoy your footy trip champ along with your other friends who have nothing to play for.
mate cause you live in your own little dream world out there in TRUGANINA! you have proved nothing to any one mate. you have played elsternwick twice for 2 losses and only played the other top teams once with upcoming games against the 3 of them. maybe you can start ranting and raving when you start beating some decent teams mate. cause its gonna look pretty funny with a team full of ****ers running around with there heads up there ass finishing 5th on the ladder dont you think?

then we will see who will be having an early footy trip!!! p.s dont forget playing 3 top teams in the upcoming rounds;) EARLY FOOTY TRIP IS LOOKING GOOOD BERZERK

harper
1 Aug 2006, 01:27
Hey "the saint", just to fill you in on some facts. yes several reserve players from south played back to back games the other week against monash (yes, even the FAT! ones). Also some of the better reserves played only in the 1's. While the 1's continue to win the dew kickers are suffering due to injuries of senior players. I'm sorry if i'm wrong but i believe you think there is a stack of players at south, there is not. The 2's have rarely had a bench larger than 1 and have plenty of blokes who should be playing super rules by now (myself included and so should the D3 reserves leading goal kicker.No offence coach).

Dear "reilly", maybe you should stay away from your keyboard when your drunk. I was able to gather from your recent jibberish that you think OW suck.
While not being a huge fan of the warriors they are the only team to beat South this year, something bentleigh couldn't do. TWICE. Or Elsternwick. Twice.:eek:

the_saint
1 Aug 2006, 09:27
Thats a bit harsh on Monash. They should have beaten South and OW in the last 2 weeks. And before that pushed WB and Wickers all the way. St Marys were ultra impressive on the weekend. Monash had nothing to play for.
Perhaps I was a bit harsh on Monash - but they do have a history of stacking their twos team. I don't have much time for that.

the_saint
1 Aug 2006, 09:29
Hey "the saint", just to fill you in on some facts. yes several reserve players from south played back to back games the other week against monash (yes, even the FAT! ones). Also some of the better reserves played only in the 1's. While the 1's continue to win the dew kickers are suffering due to injuries of senior players. I'm sorry if i'm wrong but i believe you think there is a stack of players at south, there is not. The 2's have rarely had a bench larger than 1 and have plenty of blokes who should be playing super rules by now (myself included and so should the D3 reserves leading goal kicker.No offence coach).

:eek:

I didn't say there were a stack of players at south. There never has been as long as I have known the club. Who are the injuries in the seniors if you don't mind me asking?

big_man
1 Aug 2006, 10:51
mate cause you live in your own little dream world out there in TRUGANINA! you have proved nothing to any one mate. you have played elsternwick twice for 2 losses and only played the other top teams once with upcoming games against the 3 of them. maybe you can start ranting and raving when you start beating some decent teams mate. cause its gonna look pretty funny with a team full of ****ers running around with there heads up there ass finishing 5th on the ladder dont you think?

then we will see who will be having an early footy trip!!! p.s dont forget playing 3 top teams in the upcoming rounds;) EARLY FOOTY TRIP IS LOOKING GOOOD BERZERK

gee reilly i know most people dont like OW.. but u seem to have some real hatred for them. did gavan flower have a crack at ur mrs or something??
in any case i think ur right old westbourne r just making up the numbers - there's only 3 chances left for the flag.. Sth melb, Benleigh and Elsternwick. After the Bentleigh vs Elsternwick game in a couple of weeks there'll be 2..

iTap
1 Aug 2006, 11:52
I didn't say there were a stack of players at south. There never has been as long as I have known the club. Who are the injuries in the seniors if you don't mind me asking?

I reckon Jack Cronan must have sore hands... It would explain his absolute REFUSAL to handball!:p

Johnny0nthespot
1 Aug 2006, 12:25
Perhaps I was a bit harsh on Monash - but they do have a history of stacking their twos team. I don't have much time for that.
A history? 2005 was the only previous year that the Monash ressies finished higher than their seniors. I dont think that constitues a "history". But by your theory, if a ressies side finishes higher than their seniors then does that automatically mean they are stacking?

knackers_2
1 Aug 2006, 13:31
A history? 2005 was the only previous year that the Monash ressies finished higher than their seniors. I dont think that constitues a "history". But by your theory, if a ressies side finishes higher than their seniors then does that automatically mean they are stacking?

Yes.

tigers
1 Aug 2006, 16:02
to the westbourne crowd....

enough talking the talk, you think you could walk it against the bigger team...

oh the next thing you would have said... we beat south.... who cares, still didnt even look in the mix first WB game, either of the elsterwick or and the bentleigh....

So maybe the thing would to be, get the dribble off your chin and get out and win a game or 2....

as for pavez, very very quiet last 2 weeks, chalmers didnt impress last week, lever out, well if you have any chance this weekend all 3 need ripper games.....

enough B**LS**T OW, i think WB will do exactly what happened in the finals last year, not a chance OW.... Beserk, mate get a kick

Pat Bateman
1 Aug 2006, 16:28

oh the next thing you would have said... we beat south.... who cares, still didnt even look in the mix first WB game, either of the elsterwick or and the bentleigh....

So maybe the thing would to be, get the dribble off your chin and get out and win a game or 2....

as for pavez, very very quiet last 2 weeks, chalmers didnt impress last week, lever out, well if you have any chance this weekend all 3 need ripper games.....

enough B**LS**T OW, i think WB will do exactly what happened in the finals last year, not a chance OW.... Beserk, mate get a kick

Is this Mr Wong from the milk bar down the road? I knew it was you.

Red Gum
1 Aug 2006, 17:16

What are the rules regarding eligibility for 2s finals series? Assuming Monash and kew 2s will be playing in September while their 1s will have finished early are they allowed to simply drop back a whole bunch of senior players while teams that have made september in both grades (Elsternwick?, OW?, WB?, Souths ?) play with a true reseverves side?

bigw
1 Aug 2006, 18:41

There have been about 6 every week. Against Monash was particularly bad with both Whelan and A Hannan (both CHFs), B McGee (full forward), Batchelor (half back), Simm (half back), Moojen (ruck), and a few other walk up ones players. It was a miracle they still won the game after that and half a dozen blokes fronting up twice. Nothing against Monash, but they had a big chance in that game to pinch a win over a weakened side.

They are all coming back in time for the finals, as would be the case for the other top sides. For the record, West Brunswick have been the second most impressive side. More consistent than Bentleigh who rely on their stars too much. Elsternwick are not a bad side, but ran out of legs on Saturday.

espresso
1 Aug 2006, 18:58
Nah mate, Elsternwick had too many injuries. The Umps robbed them to. The conditions didn't suit them either. They played much better than South. They were robbed.;)

oldtimer
1 Aug 2006, 21:01
What are the rules regarding eligibility for 2s finals series? Assuming Monash and kew 2s will be playing in September while their 1s will have finished early are they allowed to simply drop back a whole bunch of senior players while teams that have made september in both grades (Elsternwick?, OW?, WB?, Souths ?) play with a true reseverves side?

Can't play more than 10 in the seniors, however, must play at least 4 in the ressies. Monash and Kew are both still trying to fight off relegation so if they stack their side they are mad. While premierships are good, they are not if at the expense of a side being relegated.

oldtimer
1 Aug 2006, 21:20
Yes.

Does that mean that Carlton are stacking their Northern Bullants side. Because they are 2 games clear on top and Carlton are on the bottom. Give me a break!!!

chase
2 Aug 2006, 09:57
Where does Elsternwick get this reputation for making excuses from?

I have not seen one post from and Elsternwick supporter to suggest this at all.

Sounds to me as some sour grapes from the Westbourne guys as the have beaten them again.

reilly
2 Aug 2006, 13:44
Where does Elsternwick get this reputation for making excuses from?

I have not seen one post from and Elsternwick supporter to suggest this at all.

Sounds to me as some sour grapes from the Westbourne guys as the have beaten them again.
Come to expect that from westbourne though. Only thing they're good at is opening there mouths on this post, even still they are no good at that. Bout time they got out there and beat some decent teams, then maybe they would have something to talk about instead of this crap that constantly flows out there mouths.

Magoos
2 Aug 2006, 16:36
I reckon Jack Cronan must have sore hands... It would explain his absolute REFUSAL to handball!:p

i-tap you absolute ledge, he will never handball cause he is as hungry as they come.
but why should he when he keeps kicking sausage rolls.
keep tapping down my throat big man and ill hit him lace out everytime.

saints
2 Aug 2006, 16:40
i-tap you absolute ledge, he will never handball cause he is as hungry as they come.
but why should he when he keeps kicking sausage rolls.
keep tapping down my throat big man and ill hit him lace out everytime.

magoos, you must be a big fan of cronan. from an outsider looking in dean phillips would have to get a game before him.
who a rumour about a certain senior player and a sleep at th rose

arvosjunior
2 Aug 2006, 18:41
It's good to see that St. Marys are still near the bottom, hopefully they get pushed back down to D4. They are scumbags

Big O
2 Aug 2006, 20:53
Looking at the VAFA site, what happened to fire Rick Mckerrow up enough for him to get 2 weeks for striking.

iTap
3 Aug 2006, 09:58
Any reports on the whereabouts of Elsternwick's full forward, last seen bundled into a cab full of South District's players?

big_man
3 Aug 2006, 13:40
Any reports on the whereabouts of Elsternwick's full forward, last seen bundled into a cab full of South District's players?

rumour is they kidnapped him and forced him to drink all night and tell them how good he was.. shocking behaviour really

collinsr
3 Aug 2006, 13:46
i heard he is still looking for his underwear

iTap
3 Aug 2006, 14:45
i heard he is still looking for his underwear

if the District's boys are involved he should

a) check the freezer for them and

b) check for traces of deep heat!

espresso
3 Aug 2006, 17:50
If the Districts boys are involved he should check his wallet.

collinsr
3 Aug 2006, 17:59
If the Districts boys are involved he should check his wallet.

Hey thats a bit of a case of the pot calling the kettle black....considering which side of the bridge you are from espresso!!

reilly
3 Aug 2006, 22:51
:p Hey thats a bit of a case of the pot calling the kettle black....considering which side of the bridge you are from espresso!!
settle down collinsr thats abit uncalled for mate, we are all friends here. except with the westbourne people, i dont think they have many fans... except themselves!

MotorBike Rob
4 Aug 2006, 08:35
Looking at the VAFA site, what happened to fire Rick Mckerrow up enough for him to get 2 weeks for striking.

I think his helmet has been affecting his brain. It has certainly been affecting his weight the last couple of years....

tigers
4 Aug 2006, 11:04
Hey thats a bit of a case of the pot calling the kettle black....considering which side of the bridge you are from espresso!!

WHICH SIDE OF THE BRIDGE.... get your hand off your knob mate, and focus on the footy, you'd probably get scared crossing the bridge....

knackers_2
4 Aug 2006, 14:29
WHICH SIDE OF THE BRIDGE.... get your hand off your knob mate, and focus on the footy, you'd probably get scared crossing the bridge....

Not everyone can cross to the "other side" without first overcoming their fears. Your courage is to be applauded, tigers

tigers
4 Aug 2006, 16:07
Not everyone can cross to the "other side" without first overcoming their fears. Your courage is to be applauded, tigers

why thank-you knackers, i am very proud of the fact that my knackers dont give way up into my stomach every time i cross the bridge....

i would also like to thank-you on your appreciation of my knackers.....

b/c you have to have knackers to cross that bridge dont you knackers....

on a more footy based topic.....

WB are very fired up for a big game the grape vine states, and OW are not interested with a number of issues amoungst the troops....

The bentleigh, very much like OW, bunch of front runners....

The Tiger's Nuts
4 Aug 2006, 16:35
I'm still tipping OW to take a fairly close one, as opposed to my friend with the high squeaky miaows.

Mick Forde is umpiring his 450th there tomorrow, hope the Westbourne club put on a couple of sausage rolls and some stubbies at the aftermatch.

Tigernuts

Jaws141
4 Aug 2006, 18:36

Thats a little harsh on Pavez. I dont come or live anywhere near that dump of a hole in Werribee, but I think honestly Pavez would be one of, if not the, most skilled footballer in D3 ammos. I know this is a big call, but for someone so lightly built he has great core strength and balance. He is definantly the first (and there aren't too many we worry about) players we look to tag out of the game when we play Westbourne.

He has already cut us up this year and we will heavily look at him again. From most other reports he has had a pretty good year and I think he will go close to winning the comp B&F.

So I think Tigers you may be right on a few comments about West not being up to it, but it certainly is no thanks to Pavez. Out of all players he is one who can put them into finals contention.

dave31
4 Aug 2006, 18:39
why thank-you knackers, i am very proud of the fact that my knackers dont give way up into my stomach every time i cross the bridge....

i would also like to thank-you on your appreciation of my knackers.....

b/c you have to have knackers to cross that bridge dont you knackers....

on a more footy based topic.....

WB are very fired up for a big game the grape vine states, and OW are not interested with a number of issues amoungst the troops....

The bentleigh, very much like OW, bunch of front runners....

Well this week certainly is a big game for WB and Westbourne. I think Westbourne are going to get up and make you eat your words Tigerboy.

dave31
4 Aug 2006, 18:42
Thats a little harsh on Pavez. I dont come or live anywhere near that dump of a hole in Werribee, but I think honestly Pavez would be one of, if not the, most skilled footballer in D3 ammos. I know this is a big call, but for someone so lightly built he has great core strength and balance. He is definantly the first (and there aren't too many we worry about) players we look to tag out of the game when we play Westbourne.

He has already cut us up this year and we will heavily look at him again. From most other reports he has had a pretty good year and I think he will go close to winning the comp B&F.

So I think Tigers you may be right on a few comments about West not being up to it, but it certainly is no thanks to Pavez. Out of all players he is one who can put them into finals contention.

Agree there Jaws. I dont think he is the only player who can take WEstbourne forward into finals, but certainly is the X-factor for the side like he was when he destroyed Kew in 04.

sidewinder
5 Aug 2006, 08:20

They wont keep him! The vine says Elst giant ruckman out for some weeks..did not play against Sth Melbourne last week.
Are the wheels falling off?
A Wicks forward has signed with StKilda City after not getting a gurnsey at Sth Melb. Anyone seen Anton Burney?

TODAYS GAMES.
Sth too good for UHS......just a training drill really!
Old Westbourne to finish on top of West Brunswick........just kidding, maybe the OW trainer though.
Elsternwick to limp over the line. The Saints didn't stop celebrating till Wednesday.
The Monash boys are back from the snow any might,just might scare the Demons into a nappy stained finish!
Swinburne to confound Gav one more time. Where are the neddies running today? Might see half the Kew two's there by 3pm.

The Tiger's Nuts
5 Aug 2006, 20:33
I'm still tipping OW to take a fairly close one, as opposed to my friend with the high squeaky miaows.

D3 Old Westbourne 13.13 bt West Brunswick 8.11
D3 Res Old Westbourne 10.13 bt West Brunswick 6.5

Oh yeah, booyah, etc etc etc. Go Warriors!

Tigernuts

Vineyard
6 Aug 2006, 04:04
great function by the warriors. cade lever and huddo had **** kits on. The A bomb was on fire.

rhino49
6 Aug 2006, 07:44
great function by the warriors. cade lever and huddo had **** kits on. The A bomb was on fire.

was a big night for the OW boys after two great wins.......

the_saint
7 Aug 2006, 10:05
was a big night for the OW boys after two great wins.......

I'm sure the OW boys enjoyed it, since it will be their second last win for the year (we come up against them in a fortnight)

From all reports OW won it in 10 minutes in the second quarter - Bentleigh, Souths or even Elsternwick will take more than that to get done.

Gavone
7 Aug 2006, 18:14
I'm sure the OW boys enjoyed it, since it will be their second last win for the year (we come up against them in a fortnight)

From all reports OW won it in 10 minutes in the second quarter - Bentleigh, Souths or even Elsternwick will take more than that to get done.

Mate, I was at the game on Saturday and have been a little critical of my mates down there of late, however, I would have to say it was a pretty gutsy effort under the circumstances.

The Warriors had a sterling second quarter, only to see the Maggies bounce back in the third as the Warriors lost a few of their playmakers through injury.

All down to the final quarter, and probably the match-critical move was my love-child "Jucka" onto the ball. He regained the ascendancy and provided plenty for the lads up forward.

"Critter" across half-back was also sensational, and I was really impressed by "Smitty" who was one who set it up early, then played the second half one-handed with a suspected fractured wrist.

The boys have copped a fair bit of stick on the board of late (and perhaps a little warranted given their bullish comments), however, for anyone who was at the game I think they answered a lot of the criticsm on here.

This week's match against the Swans will be an even bigger test though.

berzerk22
8 Aug 2006, 00:40
Mate, I was at the game on Saturday and have been a little critical of my mates down there of late, however, I would have to say it was a pretty gutsy effort under the circumstances.

The Warriors had a sterling second quarter, only to see the Maggies bounce back in the third as the Warriors lost a few of their playmakers through injury.

All down to the final quarter, and probably the match-critical move was my love-child "Jucka" onto the ball. He regained the ascendancy and provided plenty for the lads up forward.

"Critter" across half-back was also sensational, and I was really impressed by "Smitty" who was one who set it up early, then played the second half one-handed with a suspected fractured wrist.

The boys have copped a fair bit of stick on the board of late (and perhaps a little warranted given their bullish comments), however, for anyone who was at the game I think they answered a lot of the criticsm on here.

This week's match against the Swans will be an even bigger test though.

confirmed fractured wrist ...... :mad:

harper
8 Aug 2006, 00:41
Gav, down lakeside way these days we prefer the name "dish lickers". Don't know why but it gets a good work out at training. "Bloods" is still prefered on game day but this week against OW we'll take whatever as long as the points stay lakeside. It'll be a cracking game as "The Bloods" hope to serve up the dish that is best served........COLD. :thumbsu:

knackers_2
8 Aug 2006, 08:54
"The Bloods" hope to serve up the dish that is best served........COLD. :thumbsu:

Pavlova?

tigers
8 Aug 2006, 10:57
confirmed fractured wrist ...... :mad:

Smith wrist.... old west can just about pack it up...

what about cade lever? I hear he broke his hand pretty badly as a result of a bentleigh bloke stepping on it... your not a fan of lever Mr Flower, as he has never been included in any of your D4/3 teams?

How about the maloney boy from elsterwick, is his thumb fixed? if he gets back and fires hes a massive bonus for the wicks....

also how is nick tenetti going

Gavone
8 Aug 2006, 11:35
Gav, down lakeside way these days we prefer the name "dish lickers". Don't know why but it gets a good work out at training.

No problems, I will start using it.

what about cade lever? I hear he broke his hand pretty badly as a result of a bentleigh bloke stepping on it... your not a fan of lever Mr Flower, as he has never been included in any of your D4/3 teams?

Disagree there mate as I do rate Cade pretty highly. It is always hard to slot him into the TOTY though, as I try to keep a balance between teams represetatives and he is always pipped by either those who are shining a little more brightly down at Warrior Park or someone from another club who may pip him in position.

iTap
8 Aug 2006, 12:23

Please don't, Bloods is fine!

tigers
8 Aug 2006, 14:22

Disagree there mate as I do rate Cade pretty highly. It is always hard to slot him into the TOTY though, as I try to keep a balance between teams represetatives and he is always pipped by either those who are shining a little more brightly down at Warrior Park or someone from another club who may pip him in position.

Gav can you please give me an idea of how you see the season playing out???

how would you rate Bentleighs chance?

Nick Smith out for westbourne, big loss.... pretty hard for them from here?

sidewinder
8 Aug 2006, 21:24
Attention all D4 clubs. Relegation is soon to be a possibility!
Football Victoria are investigating the SFL management and may soon see the VAFA running the Southern League.
Huge gap between standards so D5 might be possible.

no31
9 Aug 2006, 09:13
Attention all D4 clubs. Relegation is soon to be a possibility!
Football Victoria are investigating the SFL management and may soon see the VAFA running the Southern League.
Huge gap between standards so D5 might be possible.

Perhaps this should be in the D4 forum.

madpie
9 Aug 2006, 09:17
no 31 how is big bill magee travelling at the districts this year ?

no31
9 Aug 2006, 09:21
no 31 how is big bill magee travelling at the districts this year ?

I don't play in D3, but I have seen a couple of the Districts games and from what I've read in the VAFA record and in this forum he is having a pretty good year. Others on this forum would give you a better idea than me.

Gavone
9 Aug 2006, 10:58
Gav can you please give me an idea of how you see the season playing out???

how would you rate Bentleighs chance?

Nick Smith out for westbourne, big loss.... pretty hard for them from here?

Not sure if you read my predictions a couple of rounds back, but I have not waivered in these thoughts too much.

Certainties are obviously South and Bentleigh. Elsternwick with their run home would need something catastrophic not to make it.

Therefore it comes down to the Warriors and the Magpies. Warriors have South (A), Saints (H) and Bentleigh (A). Magpies have Swinburne (H), South (H) and Saints (A).

Given Westbourne is a game and percentage ahead, they would have to lose at least one to South or Bentleigh for West Brunswick to have a chance. If they drop two, West Brunwick could afford to lose one of theirs as well and still make it.

It really does depend on how big the margins are, and as I said in my analysis in the record, have those calculators ready in Round 18.

Now for my opinion. I have waivered somewhat now in that I now think Westbourne will sneak in on percentage. My reasoning is that they will lose on the road to both Bentleigh and South. However, having the best defence in the league, I do not think the damage will be that great to the %. They also have the Saints at home and this will be a big % booster with the visitors not having much to play for.

As for West Brunswick, they will win comfortably against Swinny and the Saints, however, I cannot see them pegging back some 24% (equivalent to 236 points currently) to overtake the Warriors.

As such, they would have to win all three (ie beating South Melbourne as well!) and hope Westbourne drop their two against the league leaders to be any chance.

Therefore my ladder prediction is South, Bentleigh, Elsternwick and Westbourne.

First Final, I am sticking with Bentliegh at this stage. I know the South guys will hate me for this, but I had them as my preseason favorites and from what I have seen and heard I reckon they are still the side to beat. Will be a classic game.

Wickers v Westbourne. Another classic. Could go either way and (I hate saying this!!) but I think injuries could play a part. Toss a coin here mate.

The Prelim will be another coin toss and I would not dare predict now as momentum and form will play a huge part.

However, if I had to choose my favorite at present, I would still be sticking with Bentleigh, but as this season has shown. Any of the top 5 are capable and it will depend on who is playing well on the day. An old cliche, but it really does apply when a season has been so even.

Interested to hear anyone else's thoughts.

Also, team of the year nominations will be happily received, preferably in position and with reasons!!

knackers_2
9 Aug 2006, 12:06
Wickers v Westbourne. Another classic. Could go either way and (I hate saying this!!) but I think injuries could play a part. Toss a coin here mate.

The Prelim will be another coin toss and I would not dare predict now as momentum and form will play a huge part.

True to form, expect a lot more tossing on this forum - especially with the non-flag-favourite Souths playing Gavan's OW this weekend

dave31
9 Aug 2006, 13:31
True to form, expect a lot more tossing on this forum - especially with the non-flag-favourite Souths playing Gavan's OW this weekend

Knackers if your going to post something, at least have an opinion on a topic or state something relevant.

As much as I dont want to stick up for Gav, he was asked his opinion and he has given some pretty good insight into how the final few weeks could plan out.

Regardless of who he thinks will win he has at least thrown all the scenarios in. And then added what his thoughts are.

You have contributed nothing but garbage.

knackers_2
9 Aug 2006, 14:16
Knackers if your going to post something, at least have an opinion on a topic or state something relevant.

OK Dave. Thanks for your opinion.

With South having plenty of supporters on this forum, Gavan having plenty of non-supporters, South playing OW, Gav being an OW supporter and tipping against South for the flag, And OW playing South this weekend (bearing in mind OW beat South last time), I think there is some relevance stating there will be tossing ahead.

I think you may have already proven my point.

tigers
9 Aug 2006, 16:24
Not sure if you read my predictions a couple of rounds back, but I have not waivered in these thoughts too much.

Certainties are obviously South and Bentleigh. Elsternwick with their run home would need something catastrophic not to make it.

Therefore it comes down to the Warriors and the Magpies. Warriors have South (A), Saints (H) and Bentligh (A). Magpies have Swinburne (H), South (H) and Saints (A).

Given Westbourne is a game and percentage ahead, they would have to lose at least one to South or Bentleigh for West Brunswick to have a chance. If they drop two, West Brunwick could afford to lose one of theirs as well and still make it.

It really does depend on how big the margins are, and as I said in my analysis in the record, have those calculators ready in Round 18.

Now for my opinion. I have waivered somewhat now in that I now think Westbourne will sneak in on percentage. My reasoning is that they will lose on the road to both Bentleigh and South. However, having the best defence in the league, I do not think the damage will be that great to the %. They also have the Saints at home and this will be a big % booster with the visitors not having much to play for.

As for West Brunswick, they will will comfortably against Swinny and the Saints, however, I cannot see them pegging back some 24% (equivalent to 236 points currently) to overtake the Warriors.

As such, they would have to win all three (ie beating South Melbourne as well!) and hope Westbourne drop their two against the league leaders to be any chance.

First Final, I am sticking with Bentliegh at this stage. I know the South guys will hate me for this, but I had them as my preseason favorites and from what I have seen and heard I reckon they are still the side to beat. Will be a classic game.

However, if I had to choose my favorite at present, I would still be sticking with Bentleigh, but as this season has shown. Any of the top 5 are capable and it will depend on who is playing well on the day. An old cliche, but it really does apply when a season has been so even.

Also, team of the year nominations will be happily received, preferably in position and with reasons!!

Cheers gav, i would have to say i agree with you....

i would have to say from all reports on the weekend that OW will struggle with some injuries. Smith being a major one.

It will be interesting, if OW can get there running game going this weekend it should be a good game against souths...

the wicks are my roughy....

tigers
9 Aug 2006, 16:57
OK Dave. Thanks for your opinion.

With South having plenty of supporters on this forum, Gavan having plenty of non-supporters, South playing OW, Gav being an OW supporter and tipping against South for the flag, And OW playing South this weekend (bearing in mind OW beat South last time), I think there is some relevance stating there will be tossing ahead.

I think you may have already proven my point.

knackers, mate your the reason these forums turn to S**T....

i dont even know gav, but at least the bloke can give an honest opinion with some point to his statements....

you just continue to disappoint....

Red Gum
9 Aug 2006, 20:31
knackers, mate your the reason these forums turn to S**T....

Way to lead by example. Knackers will probably never insult anyone on the forum again now that you've insulted him.
[please note the sarcasm, I wouldn't normally feel the need to sign post it but given some of the intelects we're dealing with...]

The forum isn't turning to sh1t still getting plenty of traffic and warming up to an intriguing close to the season. There's as much room for witty word play as there is for verbose self congratulation and footy analysis; that's what keeps it interesting.

Pavlova... He he he...

big_man
10 Aug 2006, 11:47

Therefore it comes down to the Warriors and the Magpies. Warriors have South (A), Saints (H) and Bentleigh (A). Magpies have Swinburne (H), South (H) and Saints (A).

As for West Brunswick, they will win comfortably against Swinny and the Saints, however, I cannot see them pegging back some 24% (equivalent to 236 points currently) to overtake the Warriors.

I reckon u might be right gavone the two semis look all but sorted - bentleigh v sths & wicks v OW

i see the finals will be played at cheltenham this year. anyone have any info about this ground?? i think sths should win the flag they're clearly the best team in the comp.. although if cheltenham is a small ground.. elsternwick must be some chance - they play the postage stamp grounds very well

knackers_2
10 Aug 2006, 12:20
I reckon u might be right gavone the two semis look all but sorted - bentleigh v sths & wicks v OW

i see the finals will be played at cheltenham this year. anyone have any info about this ground??

Elsternwick's stamp-sized oval makes the Cheltenham ground look like an envelope. A good quality envelope too- it's usually in top nick

oldtimer
10 Aug 2006, 13:18
Elsternwick's stamp-sized oval makes the Cheltenham ground look like an envelope. A good quality envelope too- it's usually in top nick

Totally agree, ground is generally in excellent condition. Ground is very similar to Bentleigh's. It is a good length, however, has wide flanks and pockets. Perfect ground to play football on.

no31
10 Aug 2006, 13:55

i see the finals will be played at cheltenham this year. anyone have any info about this ground?? i think sths should win the flag they're clearly the best team in the comp.. although if cheltenham is a small ground.. elsternwick must be some chance - they play the postage stamp grounds very well

Best thing about Cheltenham is that you can buy beer and sit behind the glass in the social club and enjoy watching the game. Really enjoyed watching the D4 finals series last year with a pot in hand.

Krusty
10 Aug 2006, 15:02
Big game this weekend in the ressies between Kew and Monash.

They will play each other in the second semi final but the winner this weekend will get a solid psychological advantage.

Who does everyone think will win?

Red Gum
10 Aug 2006, 16:37
Probably Monash. They can most afford to stack the 2s and not risk relegation in the 1s. If Kew drop this game and St Mary's beat UHS then a relegation dog fight will be on.

Johnny0nthespot
11 Aug 2006, 14:46
Krusty, depends if Wes Death is playing, he is the Xfactor. Kew are safe from relegation in the seniors. Witchell to kick 6 and Kew to win easy.

oldtimer
11 Aug 2006, 15:19
Krusty, depends if Wes Death is playing, he is the Xfactor. Kew are safe from relegation in the seniors. Witchell to kick 6 and Kew to win easy.

Death injured, may be out for rest of year with groin injury and Witchell having a week off due to soreness. Still not safe from relgation yet, it's ammo footy and anything can happen. Old Bell is back in the 1's tomorrow for some extra hardness. Kew pretty much full strength for 1st time this year. Looking to finish with 2 wins and grab 6th, which would be a fair effort considering such a disappointing season.

Johnny0nthespot
11 Aug 2006, 15:44
Death injured, may be out for rest of year with groin injury and Witchell having a week off due to soreness. Still not safe from relgation yet, it's ammo footy and anything can happen. Old Bell is back in the 1's tomorrow for some extra hardness. Kew pretty much full strength for 1st time this year. Looking to finish with 2 wins and grab 6th, which would be a fair effort considering such a disappointing season.
Gee thats a blow to Kew's chances. I might change my mind now. Witchell is the main avenue to goals. The midfields of both 2's sides are pretty good. But no Witchell and No Death, Ill go Monash by 10.

akkadakka
12 Aug 2006, 01:16
OW's big win against WB on the weekend has cost them dearly. It seems the club has been forced to make 6 changes; all due to injury. OW must be at their very best to knock off SM this week, and losing 6 players to injury must severely hurt their chances. Still, OW are the only team to beat SM this year, so one must give them a chance of replicating their round 7 display.

My predictions this week:

Bentleigh by 17
St. Mary's by 48
Monash by 30
West Brunswick by 24

tha man
12 Aug 2006, 01:38
OW's big win against WB on the weekend has cost them dearly. It seems the club has been forced to make 6 changes; all due to injury. OW must be at their very best to knock off SM this week, and losing 6 players to injury must severely hurt their chances. Still, OW are the only team to beat SM this year, so one must give them a chance of replicating their round 7 display.

My predictions this week:

Bentleigh by 17
St. Mary's by 48
Monash by 30
West Brunswick by 24

akkadakka,

can you confirm that one of those injuries you mentioned was not suffered during OW's stirring victory over WB? In fact that it was an ill fated dance move which caused a certain injury prone young bloke to be outed for the rest of the season?

reilly
12 Aug 2006, 19:35
ahhhhhh good old westbourne!!! how we travelling out there in the lovely suburb of truganina after the big loss today?? im guessing wont be hearing you boys talking it up again this week as u did after last weeks win....you got SMASSSSSSSHHHEDDDDD!!!! And to my dear friend bezerk how are we mate?? i do recall u several weeks ago telling several clubs to have a good early footy trip...did you not? things are not looking to rosey down there...maybe you should be booking the early footy trip!!!!

mcglede
12 Aug 2006, 21:05
What's the current ladder? My old PC doesn't upload the ladder on the Ammo's website.

The Tiger's Nuts
13 Aug 2006, 00:12
ahhhhhh good old westbourne!!! how we travelling out there in the lovely suburb of truganina after the big loss today?? im guessing wont be hearing you boys talking it up again this week as u did after last weeks win....

Travelling just fine, thank you. The loss was bigger than I would have expected, but I don't think anyone would disagree that SM were somewhat firm favourites for this game.

Certainly OW are still in finals contention and it'd be a bit stiff if they miss out.

Arctic Park will be a hive of activity, got the WRFL junior finals on Sundays over three weeks, and next week we've got St Mary's at home. Should be a bit of an old-fashioned percentage booster and extra insurance against WB who will be soundly bitchslapped by SM.

11pm on a Saturday night and now I've got a craving for SM dimmies. life isn't fair.

Tigernuts

The Tiger's Nuts
13 Aug 2006, 00:18
What's the current ladder?

http://steammachine.com/trainz/round16ladder.jpg

Tigernuts

berzerk22
13 Aug 2006, 00:27
reilly please see above ladder before commenting further? is your team still in hunt for finals?

akkadakka
13 Aug 2006, 18:37
Was at the OW vs SM game on saturday. Both teams started well with little 'jack' for SM domintaing down forward in what was quite an even quarter. What came next was unexpected with SM playing some of the best football i have seen in amatuers and piling on 6 or 7 goals for the quarter. Big Billy Mcgee down forward was proving to strong for OW's Duncan Benn, although the the supply from SM's midfield would have found any defence wanting. The third quarter was a lot tighter, both teams found it hard to penetrate the oppositions half backlines. The last quarter again produced some astoundingly good football by the bloods, their footskills and run proving too much for OW in what ended up a belting.

reilly
14 Aug 2006, 02:04
reilly please see above ladder before commenting further? is your team still in hunt for finals?
bezerk my boy i play for uhsv

berzerk22
14 Aug 2006, 09:43
defence rests your honour!

knackers_2
14 Aug 2006, 09:58
defence rests your honour!
Wouldn't you be the 'prosecution'?

I had been led to believe you have had ample experience with our legal system to know this - obviously not

Red Gum
14 Aug 2006, 10:23
He he he. Is that a foot in your mouth zerk?!

berzerk22
14 Aug 2006, 11:01
Wouldn't you be the 'prosecution'?

I had been led to believe you have had ample experience with our legal system to know this - obviously not

and what makes me the prosecution knackers?

i have done nothing but defend crappy allegations from people like your good self since i joined this forum.

the fact is reilly represents the worst team in the comp and his contributions to this forum matches his teams game plan. negative!

defence rests ...........

harper
14 Aug 2006, 13:40
Bentleigh have done a huge favour for Swinburne and SM in the ressies. Knocking off Elsternwick now sees these two clubs 1/2 a game and 1 game out respectively and with better percentage than the wicks. Can Elsternwick beat Kew and Monash to stay top 4? Huge game in round 18 SM vs Swinburne at Albert park. Also well done to Sharpy on 100 goals and the Bloods who won the minor premiership after smashing OW on Sat. Was there any pavlova being served back at Truganina? Good effort to see so many OW players stick around for a beer at South. Nice one!:thumbsu:

Red Gum
14 Aug 2006, 15:06
i have done nothing but defend crappy allegations from people like your good self since i joined this forum.

Your defences sound pretty offensive most of the time you fool. You're the one who opened the door by carrying on about early footy trips and other such nonsense.
If it's of any interest to you I probably won't be playing finals either but I don't get on the computer and anonymously slag off other people who've put in an effort to play all season and for whatever reason weren't as successful.
If you think you're defending yourself from others on the forum you're as deluded as you are rude.

Red Gum
14 Aug 2006, 15:14
The race to a top four still seems like a game of musical chairs. Bloods locked away on top you'd think but four teams within a game and percentage for second. With other teams now playing for the pride of the jumper, or for the simple satisfaction of screwing up another team's chances, could be a weekend for upsets?

UHS topple Bentleigh in the miracle of Brens?
West Brunswick catch a South outfit still celebrating a minor premiership?
Elsternwick fall prey to a Kew team that plays the small fields as well as they do?
St Mary's go to arctic park buoyed by their third win of the season and overrun a shellshocked OW.

Any or all of these? Which do you reckon is most likely?

big_man
14 Aug 2006, 15:41
Elsternwick fall prey to a Kew team that plays the small fields as well as they do?
St Mary's go to arctic park buoyed by their third win of the season and overrun a shellshocked OW.

cant see any of them happening really.. but i'd say west brunswick would be the most likely. sths have nothing to play for this week and west brunswick will just about sneak into the finals if they win. in saying that tho, sths are clearly the best team in the comp and should still win..

berzerk22
14 Aug 2006, 16:30
Your defences sound pretty offensive most of the time you fool. You're the one who opened the door by carrying on about early footy trips and other such nonsense.
If it's of any interest to you I probably won't be playing finals either but I don't get on the computer and anonymously slag off other people who've put in an effort to play all season and for whatever reason weren't as successful.
If you think you're defending yourself from others on the forum you're as deluded as you are rude.

it might be worth you looking back over some of your own past postings clown before giving some holier-than-thou speech about slagging off! seems to me thats pretty much what this forum is about.

or could it be you like to slag but not be slagged on???

all my comments have been in response to attacks on my own team or people in it. funnily enough i enjoy the banter (or slagging off as you call it?) that happens on this forum mate. You on the other hand sound like nothing but a big sook!

Interesting your not sticking up for all the comments about westbourne not being good enough etc, etc but are happy to defend your fellow posters whose season is over. (anonymously mind you!)

if you can't stand the heat get out of the kitchen?!?!

or in this case just stop posting????

it is after all a forum?

or are you the form-master and no-one else knows it??

lighten up redgum ...... :cool: and congratulations on all the hard effort you've put in this season!

harper
14 Aug 2006, 16:30
[quote=Red Gum]

Could happen as most South players will still be drunk after Saturday nights cocktail party.
Many have said the Districts hasn't rocked like that since the 2000 premiership

berzerk22
14 Aug 2006, 16:32
The race to a top four still seems like a game of musical chairs. Bloods locked away on top you'd think but four teams within a game and percentage for second. With other teams now playing for the pride of the jumper, or for the simple satisfaction of screwing up another team's chances, could be a weekend for upsets?

for what its worth i think WB over Sths is very possible with WB's season on the line and Sths with nothing to play for.

Would be interesting to know from Sths who they'd prefer to be out of the finals mix? WB or OW?

reilly
14 Aug 2006, 16:47
and what makes me the prosecution knackers?

the fact is reilly represents the worst team in the comp and his contributions to this forum matches his teams game plan. negative!

defence rests ...........

hehehehe i tricked you bezerk!!! i dont play for uhsv...im a tricky boy!!

berzerk22
14 Aug 2006, 17:11
hehehehe i tricked you bezerk!!! i dont play for uhsv...im a tricky boy!!

shouldve known no-one would admit to that! hehe :eek:

espresso
14 Aug 2006, 17:46
I was surprised to see how many players OW were putting beheind the ball on Saturday vs South Melb. From quater time they played with 2 - 3 loose men in defence and they still had over 20 goals kicked on them. How was the vibe within the OW playing group with regards to the defensive tactics?

big_man
14 Aug 2006, 19:14
for what its worth i think WB over Sths is very possible with WB's season on the line and Sths with nothing to play for.

Would be interesting to know from Sths who they'd prefer to be out of the finals mix? WB or OW?

can't see why people are still doubting sths.. they've dominated all season but for one game on the wrong side of the bridge in truganina.

don't reckon any of the other finals teams would be worried if OW made the finals. WB might be a different story..

bigw
14 Aug 2006, 21:21
can't see why people are still doubting sths.. they've dominated all season but for one game on the wrong side of the bridge in truganina.

don't reckon any of the other finals teams would be worried if OW made the finals. WB might be a different story.. Didn't play against OW the first time, but from what we at SM have come up against this year WB definetely gave us some headaches at Lakeside and that was before our injuries started to bite. The first time we played Elsternwick was a tough contest as well. Bentleigh were in it against us all day, but that was thanks in no small part to umpires disallowing a SM goal on a technical off the ball incident and then providing Bentleigh with a double play at the other end after a late fairy tap. They do have some guns in the bentleigh side, especially at FF and that's always a worry.

It's too hard to pick who'll make it at the moment, but from the results Elsternwick should be rated no. 2 at present. They've now beaten Bentleigh twice and haven't disgraced themselves all year.

bigw
14 Aug 2006, 21:27

bigw
14 Aug 2006, 21:28
I was surprised to see how many players OW were putting beheind the ball on Saturday vs South Melb. From quater time they played with 2 - 3 loose men in defence and they still had over 20 goals kicked on them. How was the vibe within the OW playing group with regards to the defensive tactics?
It was like Flinders St station down there in the forward line. UHS did the same thing the week before.