View Full Version : D3 Ammos
Pages :
[
1]
randallbone
17 Jan 2006, 11:41
Can anyone tell me who is looking good in D3 this year. Believe St Marys and Elsternwick have been promoted.
Mudflap
25 Jan 2006, 10:29
Even though it's early in the pre season, the Warriors are FLYING at the moment. Expect some major improvement.
oldtimer
26 Jan 2006, 17:24
Even though it's early in the pre season, the Warriors are FLYING at the moment. Expect some major improvement.
Heard from a reliable source that Kew are going to be a totally different team to those of previous years
Mudflap
30 Jan 2006, 08:51
Had a look at the warriors training last week. Looks like Robson has got himself fit again and is FLYING!!!
St Mary's have this bloke called Razga that plays in the ruck... was unfit last year, but is flying this year and will win the D3 Competition B&F.
randallbone
1 Feb 2006, 12:03
St Mary's have this bloke called Razga that plays in the ruck... was unfit last year, but is flying this year and will win the D3 Competition B&F.
Massive call before the opening bounce of the season Snoozer. Sure to have a few responses to that! Had a look at St Mary's on Monday night. Will be interested to see how different DIV 3 will be from div 4.
Surely one of those BUM Lickers from Elsternwick will get up and win!!!
oldtimer
1 Feb 2006, 19:17
Massive call before the opening bounce of the season Snoozer. Sure to have a few responses to that! Had a look at St Mary's on Monday night. Will be interested to see how different DIV 3 will be from div 4.
Boney, Rosa wants to know when you're coming back to the gold and browns!!
Can anyone tell me who is looking good in D3 this year. Believe St Marys and Elsternwick have been promoted.
Well I will be bold enough to make some predictions. Where they'll finish
1/Sth.Melb districts- Showed plenty last year, young list, very dangerous.
2/Bentleigh- winning 5 or 6 in D2 says have ability, hard to beat at home
3/Old West-Did well playing finals 1st up, young running side with quality
4/Elswk- Good individuals carry them. Mentally? will be how they fair.
5/Kew- Bringing in youth with good senior players there abouts.
6/W.Brunnie-Tipping a slide, ageing list, and "rumor"-lost key players.
7/Gryphons-Hard to judge Uni sides- Can play and will surprise ocasionally
8/UHS-VU-Would need to recruit really well to trouble the top.
9/St.Mary's-Can't see them stepping up to the faster running game, although will win a few on there dung heap.
10/ Swinburne-predicting a straight sets slide.
All the best for the upcoming season.
That looks like a very good summation there Marty. I think West Brunswick will be the big sliders this season, though big numbers on the track could produce a few diamonds in the rough to replace their overseas veterans. Rumours are also abound that their Coach will be pulling on the jumper for another run around the paddock.
Well I will be bold enough to make some predictions. Where they'll finish
1/Sth.Melb districts- Showed plenty last year, young list, very dangerous.
2/Bentleigh- winning 5 or 6 in D2 says have ability, hard to beat at home
3/Old West-Did well playing finals 1st up, young running side with quality
4/Elswk- Good individuals carry them. Mentally? will be how they fair.
5/Kew- Bringing in youth with good senior players there abouts.
6/W.Brunnie-Tipping a slide, ageing list, and "rumor"-lost key players.
7/Gryphons-Hard to judge Uni sides- Can play and will surprise ocasionally
8/UHS-VU-Would need to recruit really well to trouble the top.
9/St.Mary's-Can't see them stepping up to the faster running game, although will win a few on there dung heap.
10/ Swinburne-predicting a straight sets slide.
All the best for the upcoming season.
thats a really good summary marty, whats your involvment with d3?
Marty39
10 Feb 2006, 13:12
just float around rhino... too old too slow. Where are you from?
rhino49
10 Feb 2006, 13:26
just float around rhino... too old too slow. Where are you from?
know a few blokes who play for old westbourne
Any side that has Adam Lane running around on a half back flank will struggle to win a game. St. Marys are in for a long season.
*Crash*
17 Feb 2006, 20:29
Rumours are also abound that their Coach will be pulling on the jumper for another run around the paddock.
No big secret there, Gus does it most years, and usually makes some handy cameos. It would be a scoop for someone to suggest that he wouldnt do it.
But for the whole season mate?
Also heard that WB have a wedding for their vice-captain in Round One, with half the senior list invited, and likley to attend the reception. Unfortunately, the reception is at 2pm! It will be Bentleigh's lucky day!!
Marty39
22 Feb 2006, 14:25
Sound like you know alot about West brunnie tibia what's your involment there?
But for the whole season mate?
Also heard that WB have a wedding for their vice-captain in Round One, with half the senior list invited, and likley to attend the reception. Unfortunately, the reception is at 2pm! It will be Bentleigh's lucky day!!
For those that don't know, St. Marys are in the process of lengthening their ground at Ferndale park in Glen Iris. This will be sure to test the leg speed and aerobic capacity of one Adam Lane, who at the best of times has struggled to cope with the bigger grounds... Will this draw a premature closure on his long career with the saints???
overtheline
25 Feb 2006, 07:58
you guys heard that Swinburne look like going to club XV111 due to lack of numbers?
another year with a bye looms!
Bentleigh are looking the goods, not huge numbes on the track at the moment, but they have all the dimmatina family coming down to play this year. Paul Dimitinna who played for the bullldogs is going to play 10 or so games this year RE: Bentleigh newspaper article.
Looks like the have had a change of the guard down there...
The a guy called robbo, dark guy and pretty you, he will win the league comp, absolute freak!!
the big cat
27 Feb 2006, 09:21
Reports from St Mary’s suggest that Adam Lane’s pre-season had been the equivalent of Bill Brownless’s pre-season when he retied from AFL! Don’t expect much run off the half-back from St Mary’ this season…
Let's just say that while not intimately involved with a few of the players down there, but have a direct line into the inner sanctum at Magpieland.
The Big Pineapple
7 Mar 2006, 13:44
South Melbourne Districts are talking to Old Essendon players Skurrie, Parker & Dawson. Would be a big boost to the club if they could sign these 3.
Handsome.B.Wonderful
7 Mar 2006, 14:14
South Melbourne Districts are talking to Old Essendon players Skurrie, Parker & Dawson. Would be a big boost to the club if they could sign these 3.
These 3 spend a lot of Friday and Saturday nights in York St, South Melbourne anyway. It would be very convenient for both parties if they were signed
The Hunter
8 Mar 2006, 12:18
Let's just say that while not intimately involved with a few of the players down there, but have a direct line into the inner sanctum at Magpieland.
Not too intimately I hope Tibia?
Vineyard
20 Mar 2006, 11:49
thats a really good summary marty, whats your involvment with d3?
The word out of westbourne is that it it could be the year of the panda. Dropped weight, new teeth and has found new confidence/results on the dance floor. Can only carry on to his football and team mates which will help carry westbourne up the amo divisions.
Vice Captain miller may also have his upcoming wedding mid season so could have an affect on teh club that weekend.
Pat Bateman
21 Mar 2006, 16:58
2006 Premier: Bentleigh
Comp B&F: Adam Cannane - Doesn't matter if he doesn't get a kick, the umps want to have his children.
Biggest tool: Smyth - WB. Although St Marys are in D3 this year so there could be 30 blokes ahead of him.
Wooden spoon: Swinburne
Nicest bloke: Crackers - UHSOB. Butter wouldn't melt in his mouth.
Best player: Benjamin - WB
Invitations are out for other D3 players/followers to have a go.
oldtimer
24 Mar 2006, 15:26
Comp B&F: Adam Cannane - Doesn't matter if he doesn't get a kick, the umps want to have his children.
Biggest tool: Smyth - WB. Although St Marys are in D3 this year so there could be 30 blokes ahead of him.
Anyone know of any practice matches that are being played in D3 this weekend. I know that Bentleigh are playing Black Rock.
oldtimer
25 Mar 2006, 17:00
Anyone know of any practice matches that are being played in D3 this weekend. I know that Bentleigh are playing Black Rock.
Went and saw Old Westbourne play west Footscray for a half. Very impressive. Have a very good player at chf - Nickname Critter. They could be in for a big year.
Then drove past and watched Swinburne play Uni High. After what I saw both teams could be in for long years. Westbourne would have beaten both by at least 15 goals.
I know its only early and practice matches have just begun but look out for Bentleigh and Old Westbourne as the 2 favourites already in D3.
Went and saw Old Westbourne play west Footscray for a half. Very impressive. Have a very good player at chf - Nickname Critter. They could be in for a big year.
Then drove past and watched Swinburne play Uni High. After what I saw both teams could be in for long years. Westbourne would have beaten both by at least 15 goals.
I know its only early and practice matches have just begun but look out for Bentleigh and Old Westbourne as the 2 favourites already in D3.
Word on the street is that both Swinburne and UHSOB may as well be byes this season, and that when they play each other, it could be a nil all draw.
Mate, Critter is a gun I am told and will close to the comp B&F this season.
Vineyard
29 Mar 2006, 14:41
Apparently Miller for Westbourne won them the game after being switched to full forward. Kicked 6 in a quarter and a half, so a massive chance to line up alongside jucka this year up forward.
mcglede
31 Mar 2006, 08:52
Bentleigh won a 6 quarter game against SFL side Black Rock last weekend with the reserves winning by 3-4 goals and the seniors by a couple of points. Having seen the Rock last season, I'd suggest this may mean Bentleigh will struggle to finish top two this season.
Elsternwick played Skye FC last Saturday at the back Elsternwick Oval, but I've no idea who won. They play South Districs...tonight I believe under lights on the main Elsty Oval.
St Mary's beat Mount Waverley (Southern) by 10 goals last week.
matera30
31 Mar 2006, 15:16
saw some of west brunswick training on wednesday night
although they have lost two absolute guns, they looked to have recruited at least 4 or 5 gun youngsters, couple of talls plus couple of hard at it skilled midfielders
large numbers on the track too
will be very very competitive
saw some of west brunswick training on wednesday night
although they have lost two absolute guns, they looked to have recruited at least 4 or 5 gun youngsters, couple of talls plus couple of hard at it skilled midfielders
large numbers on the track too
will be very very competitive
Just out of interest, in the context of D3 - what amounts to "a gun"?
I presume some observers/players would have watched/played higher level footy and be able to give their opinion.
Is it someone who has crisp skills and hits targets at full tilt?
Really fit, trim and good pace?
Someone who could play D1 seniors, or maybe A grade seniors, or VFL?
I certainly mean no disrespect, I'm just interested in whether anyone wants, or is able, to make some comparison. :thumbsu:
oldtimer
2 Apr 2006, 16:18
Just out of interest, in the context of D3 - what amounts to "a gun"?
I presume some observers/players would have watched/played higher level footy and be able to give their opinion.
Is it someone who has crisp skills and hits targets at full tilt?
Really fit, trim and good pace?
Someone who could play D1 seniors, or maybe A grade seniors, or VFL?
I certainly mean no disrespect, I'm just interested in whether anyone wants, or is able, to make some comparison. :thumbsu:
Scribe, the use of the word gun is overly used at most times.
Having gone to a lower section club this year from a higher section have noticed that the biggest difference between these sections are not the top 5 but the next 17. Eash side in the lower grades will have up to 4 - 5 excellent players who would play A section footy and higher without a shadow of a doubt.
1 example this year being - Paul and Andrew Dimattina both playing d3. the runner up in c section goalkicking playing d4.
In closing, guns can generally be attributed to a 3 - 4 players in each team, whereas in A section it can be attributed to 8 - 10 players.
Scribe, the use of the word gun is overly used at most times.
Well put oldtimer. I could not agree with you more.
In closing, guns can generally be attributed to a 3 - 4 players in each team, whereas in A section it can be attributed to 8 - 10 players.
Though I would have to disagree there. While most clubs would have 1 or 2 that would make the top grade, I would say it is stretching it a little to think that St.Mary or Swinburne have 3 or 4 running around.
Heard on the grapevine that Kew have recruited well and not really lost anyone from a side that consolidated well last year. Certainly a dark horse in the group and one to be wary of. Should be a corker of a game between them and the Warriors round one, and one that will go a bit of a way at showing us how both will fare in the season ahead.
barrybogan
4 Apr 2006, 15:22
Well put oldtimer. I could not agree with you more.
Though I would have to disagree there. While most clubs would have 1 or 2 that would make the top grade, I would say it is stretching it a little to think that St.Mary or Swinburne have 3 or 4 running around.
Heard on the grapevine that Kew have recruited well and not really lost anyone from a side that consolidated well last year. Certainly a dark horse in the group and one to be wary of. Should be a corker of a game between them and the Warriors round one, and one that will go a bit of a way at showing us how both will fare in the season ahead.
Not sure about nowadays, but a couple of years ago, in the Swine's premiership year, players like Simon Fragiacomo (3 club B&F's) and Jason Murchie (116 goals) would easily have slotted into the starting 18 of a top grade side. There was probably quite a few more that would've got a game in the top grade as well. Not sure about now though - appears as though the wheels have fallen off a little since then.
Coach Hollywood
11 Apr 2006, 14:50
Barry Bogan, your grapevine seems to be reliable after witnessing Kew Vs Ivanhoe Assumption 2 weeks ago. Ivanhoe won by a few goals but Kew had a heep of players and may not have been at full strength?
Max Leader
11 Apr 2006, 15:04
Simon Frang is currently playing with Old Ivanhoe (A Grade 2006). In his 1st year with OIGFC (2005) Simon came 4th in B&F. He was invited by a friend to try OIGFC. Amazed that he was procured earlier.
Proves any team in any division can produce quality players.
I saw bentleigh play blackrock, bentleigh had 15 senior players not playing from there side last year, so I couldnt really judge them. I followed them down to see them play Hampton (SFL) Bentleigh absolutely smashed them, once again speaking to one of the commitee members they still had 9 or 10 senior players out and alot of guys who played in the 2's earlier played on into the seniors. They have one of the best midfield combinations I have seen for a long time, quick small young players who not only have skill but are hard at the ball. Rumor has it Pual Dimmattina from the bulldogs is playing 10 or so games, apparantly he trained down their last Tuesday. Chris Sharp willl kick 50-80 gaols this year, not bad for a 37 yr old. Two more Dimmitinas have also made there way down to Bentleigh, Frankie who won the league best and fairest a few years ago returns from overseas. Dave Martin who represented Victoria A grade a few years back has shown interest in resuming his footy after a couple years off with a knee reco. I have seen a few teams play some Praccy matches already in 2006, but I think bentleigh looks the goods once they have all players on the park. They seem to have a good mix of skilled and hard at it players young and old.
Does anyone know much about there coach? Apparantly played SANFL in his younger days?
Hope to have more info on other teams soon.
Cheers
D3 AMMO Spy :)
Go Old Westbourne
Pat Bateman
15 Apr 2006, 08:29
I saw bentleigh play blackrock, bentleigh had 15 senior players not playing from there side last year, so I couldnt really judge them. I followed them down to see them play Hampton (SFL) Bentleigh absolutely smashed them, once again speaking to one of the commitee members they still had 9 or 10 senior players out and alot of guys who played in the 2's earlier played on into the seniors. They have one of the best midfield combinations I have seen for a long time, quick small young players who not only have skill but are hard at the ball. Rumor has it Pual Dimmattina from the bulldogs is playing 10 or so games, apparantly he trained down their last Tuesday. Chris Sharp willl kick 50-80 gaols this year, not bad for a 37 yr old. Two more Dimmitinas have also made there way down to Bentleigh, Frankie who won the league best and fairest a few years ago returns from overseas. Dave Martin who represented Victoria A grade a few years back has shown interest in resuming his footy after a couple years off with a knee reco. I have seen a few teams play some Praccy matches already in 2006, but I think bentleigh looks the goods once they have all players on the park. They seem to have a good mix of skilled and hard at it players young and old.
Does anyone know much about there coach? Apparantly played SANFL in his younger days?
Hope to have more info on other teams soon.
Cheers
D3 AMMO Spy :)
Go Old Westbourne
Koby01, you're a long way from home if you're following Bentleigh around the traps and support Old Westbourne. I notice you've put in a couple of posts re Bentleigh - are you a follower of either club or just a keen observer of D3 ammo footy?
oldtimer
15 Apr 2006, 09:10
Koby01, you're a long way from home if you're following Bentleigh around the traps and support Old Westbourne. I notice you've put in a couple of posts re Bentleigh - are you a follower of either club or just a keen observer of D3 ammo footy?
I have been to see both in practice matches. Both are impressive, but I think Bentleigh are definitely the team to beat. I think it will be out of 6 teams this year - Bent, Old W, West Bruns, Elsternwick, South Melb and Kew. I have seen Swinburne and UHS and both are very ordinary. Don't know about Monash or St Mary's.
I know that Kew have recruited very well (as someone has already mentioned), however, they have lost at least 10 seniors players from last years list - most have gone overseas, 2 retired.
Pat Bateman
15 Apr 2006, 10:55
I have been to see both in practice matches. Both are impressive, but I think Bentleigh are definitely the team to beat. I think it will be out of 6 teams this year - Bent, Old W, West Bruns, Elsternwick, South Melb and Kew. I have seen Swinburne and UHS and both are very ordinary. Don't know about Monash or St Mary's.
I know that Kew have recruited very well (as someone has already mentioned), however, they have lost at least 10 seniors players from last years list - most have gone overseas, 2 retired.
You've certainly put in a bit of homework this year oldtimer. Are you pulling on a jumper for someone in D3 this year?
I wish i could still pull on a jumper 47 this year might just be a little to old I think.
Grew up around westbourne when i was a kid and now live in bentleigh, one of my nephews plays juniors at bentleigh so i just take and interest in there senior side, live across the road from the ground.
smokingjoe49
18 Apr 2006, 08:31
how do you define a tool in d3?
That is easy. If you look the word up in a dictionary there is a photo of Boycey from UHSOB in there!
Very interesting discussion going on form, I reckon there may be a few sleepers out there, however there is no doubt Bentleigh are the team to beat at present.
Bring on Round One!!
Been reading a few predictions for the coming year. As a former sth melb districts jnr player i know they are rating themselves a big chance this year. Have picked up a gun in billy mcgee will kick 80. Big loss at full back in adam ray. Lack dicipline at stages and skill level on a few palyers is low especially there small forward jack cronan. Could be anything if he could kick.
Heard from a few they miss an old player of theirs in luke kealy, now playing with port colts and apparently playing in the wafl next year. really miss his skill and awareness.
Look for the bloods to get to d2 next year. Paul Cheevers and Steve Acqualina to tie in league voting.
Go Bloods! Dean Phillips = Gun
The Hunter
19 Apr 2006, 11:22
Not sure where you get your oil from Pat, but can can guarantee a fair way of the mark with a few of your tips:
Agree with Bentleigh & Crackers, but unless D3 is palying in other countries and states, Cannane and Benjamin will not feature in any awards this year. My oil is that Wests have lost 6 of there best 8 from last year, with replacements scratchy at best.
Agree with Tibia that Boycey is the biggest tool in D3 (in the world for that matter), and for anyone else to be nominated is so far off the mark its not funny.
Pat Bateman
19 Apr 2006, 19:38
Round 1 Predictions
Bentleigh to beat WB @ Bentleigh 24 pts
Monash to beat UH @ Monash 66 pts (Biggest tool to be present in his glasses, ho-mo, mullet and size 28 shorts)
South to beat St Marys @ St Marys 48 pts
OW to beat Kew @ Kew 24 pts
Ewicks to beat Swinnies @ Elsternwick 72 pts
Agree with all results SL. However, your points margins are a bit off the mark.
Bentleigh 60 pts
Monash 45 pts
South 20 pts
OW 6 pts
Elsternwick 120 pts (Will continue their front-running form from last year. They do it well)
As for my earlier post re Smythe being the biggest tool in D3 I stand corrected. You could also have Boycey as the biggest cheat, worst haircut and most likely to be Mr Cruel. I'm sure I heard him say to Fatty Wallace a few years ago, "Listen missy, don't be such a worry wart".
However, if you are looking at players alone then Smythey rises above the pack to take the cake. Even his walk is irritating - what's with that, is the bloke a gimp???
I have spoken to someone who was at the VAFA launch last night, and there were some very interesting tidbits of information.
1. Swinburne will be lucky to field a 2's side this week. They are more certain to finish bottom than the Aussies are to win back the Ashes this summer
2. Elsternwick have recruited big time and lost no one. They were really champing themselves up and rate themselves as the team to beat.
3. Bentleigh will have Paul Dimmatina playing approximately 10 games this season. Not sure this means much myself, but the word was they have lost a few players but should be solid
4. St.Marys have also recruited well with a couple of 6'8"ers slotting in nicely to their side. Should surprise a few teams
5. Kew have also recruited well without losing too many from their solid team last season.
6. Old Westbourne have dumped Platters Fairfield as skipper as he has not been seen at training. The boys from the club actually said he will probably start in the twos and that he may have gone a little soft. They are still a good thing, and word is that their new coach is of a very high calibre according to the boys from Old Melbournians.
Not much was said by other sides, though the Gryphons have good numbers as does West Brunny, though they are unsure as to the quality of the sides and are adopting a bit of a wait-and-see approach
The Hunter
20 Apr 2006, 12:10
About time for point 6, Leon for three years was the Shaun McManus of D3.
I have spoken to someone who was at the VAFA launch last night, and there were some very interesting tidbits of information.
1. Swinburne will be lucky to field a 2's side this week. They are more certain to finish bottom than the Aussies are to win back the Ashes this summer
2. Elsternwick have recruited big time and lost no one. They were really champing themselves up and rate themselves as the team to beat.
3. Bentleigh will have Paul Dimmatina playing approximately 10 games this season. Not sure this means much myself, but the word was they have lost a few players but should be solid
4. St.Marys have also recruited well with a couple of 6'8"ers slotting in nicely to their side. Should surprise a few teams
5. Kew have also recruited well without losing too many from their solid team last season.
6. Old Westbourne have dumped Platters Fairfield as skipper as he has not been seen at training. The boys from the club actually said he will probably start in the twos and that he may have gone a little soft. They are still a good thing, and word is that their new coach is of a very high calibre according to the boys from Old Melbournians.
Not much was said by other sides, though the Gryphons have good numbers as does West Brunny, though they are unsure as to the quality of the sides and are adopting a bit of a wait-and-see approach
Are things really that bad at Swinburne? Is anyone from there alive on this forum that can confirm or deny? I went to uni there and a few mates of mine were running the club for a while, good bunch of blokes - nearly went there myself this year!
mcglede
20 Apr 2006, 13:30
Who have Elsternwick picked-up? They've been exceptionally quiet in the off-season, a surprise for a Premier from the previous year.
One of the suburban leagues (Eastern?) has a page devoted to player changes. Have we got one for Ammos footy?
mcglede
20 Apr 2006, 14:04
Cheers,
And would you believe it, not a single Elsternwick IN or OUT!!
Like the look of a couple of Kew's pick-ups. Luke Giansiracusa and Jamie (brother of Ricky?) McKerrow. This competition looks strong in 2006.
I have heard Swinburne should be right easily for two teams numbers wise, it's more the talent factor. Richmond Centrals (D4) have much the same problem - numbers OK, but talent wise its a struggle.
Just a quiet tip, expect some improvement out of Box Hill North in D4 this season. If Odza was atill able to play they'd be a real top four contender, but they may improve a bit.
Would like to see first match-up between St Mary's and West Brunswick. Jedda Wright to go toe to toe with the Brunny boys while little Armstrong cheers his mate on from the safety of the forward pcoket.
And would you believe it, not a single Elsternwick IN or OUT!!
Mate, why does this not surprise anyone? They spruik themselves up at the start of every season. No competition last year, and when they were tested, they almost choked.
They will win the easy ones against lesser opponents and build up a healthy percentage, but when the chips are down and they need someone to stand up, they are soft and will crumble.
May sneak into the finals based on this premise, but will go nowhere.
mcglede
20 Apr 2006, 21:27
Well it surprises me Tibia, because there was a post saying that they've recruited, and then on the link, there is no player moving to, or away from Elsternwick.
I saw about a dozen D4 games last season and I think you underestimate the level of competition.
The top four was very good and Hawthorn or Bulleen would be competitive in D3 this season had they made the GF.
Hark back to 2002 when Elsternwick made the finals in D3. Jack Neill was playing back then and this team was playing good footy. They got to the finals, were within 2 points of West Brunswick at HT, lost their FF to a cracked collarbone and fell away in the second half.
Neill went o/s in 2003-4. They were relegated in the first season (too many injuries) and finished fifth the year after (only team in VAFA to win 11 games and not play finals that year).
In 2003 they had no ruckman, in 2004, they wew undefeated until ruckman went down. They struggled without him after that.
Saw them only twice last season (inc GF) but they were clearly the best team in D4. Thought they were a six goal better side on GF day.
You'll have to explain that last comment of yours though. May make the finals but will be going nowhere?
Doesn't make sense. Surely if you make the finals in the year after a promotion, you ARE going somewhere!
If Neill falls over this season I think this team will stuggle but survive the drop, however if he's fit for 18 games, they're a top four side.
Just a quiet tip, expect some improvement out of Box Hill North in D4 this season. If Odza was atill able to play they'd be a real top four contender, but they may improve a bit.
He might not get 40 touches a game this year (though he still might!), but he will certainly be a very handy player this year. Has looked good in the pre-season.
Hark back to 2002 when Elsternwick made the finals in D3. Jack Neill was playing back then and this team was playing good footy. They got to the finals, were within 2 points of West Brunswick at HT, lost their FF to a cracked collarbone and fell away in the second half.
Neill went o/s in 2003-4. They were relegated in the first season (too many injuries) and finished fifth the year after (only team in VAFA to win 11 games and not play finals that year).
In 2003 they had no ruckman, in 2004, they wew undefeated until ruckman went down. They struggled without him after that..
Mate, this is exactly what I am talking about. Every team has injuries, and it is just that we hear more about them from the Wickers than anyone else. All these comments are to me are excuses, nothing more. Thanks for justifying my point.
You'll have to explain that last comment of yours though. May make the finals but will be going nowhere?
Doesn't make sense. Surely if you make the finals in the year after a promotion, you ARE going somewhere!
Once again you have shown your lack of intelligence and I really do not know why I am bothering answering this question in here, but I will do so for you simpletons out there.
If you make the finals and go out without a win, you may as well have finished 8th. It is no different in the final wash up, as only 1st and 2nd get promoted.
I am sure the boys at Wick Park will be slapping themselves on the back after their great season to "make the finals after being promoted" and say we did really well, but if you talk the talk preseason, my friend you must walk the walk.
The Wickers are champing themselves up as the flag favorites but I am telling you they will underachieve by "just making it".
mcglede
21 Apr 2006, 12:14
Now Tibia I do not know you, so I can't understand the vitriolic personal attacks.
I would like to clarify that I have nothing to do with Elsternwick AFC. Rather, my opinions were based on what I have seen/heard.
I respect you may not like EAFC tibia, however that does not justify you having a personal attack on someone talking about them.
Point 1 - Every club has injuries.
This is a given as they're impossible to avoid, especially in lower grade ammo footy. My point was more based on the belief that eafc are considered front runners. Six or seven games undefeated, los of talisman ruckman, struggle after that.
Now, what would be the key factor in their struggles? Seems about the time their ruckman went down in 2004 they started losing. Am I wrong?
Point 2 - Going places
Now I'm writing this on the fly and can't recall if Old Westbourne made the four or not last season. I consider OW to be a team that is certainly going places. Their facilities may be ordinary at best, but they have an excellent squad that if it continues to improve could easily find itself in D1 by 2010.
If they finished fourth a year after promotion from D4, I would be disappointed if I were a club follower and found out that the club President or coach believed that the club wasn't going anywhere.
Back-to-back promotions are difficult to get. Clubs like Rupertswood and Fitzroy Reds can do it, but they have excellent set-ups/support. I don't know about eafc's finances, but given their small clubrooms set-up, my guess is they don't have $$ behind them (can anyone correct this?).
Should eafc make the four, I would be surprised if they didn't think they were in a position for bigger and better things in 2007. Surely a third/fourth place finish a year after promotion is a positive sign?
Point 3 - Editorial
Personal attacks Tibia may make you feel much better when you hit the submit reply button, but I'd suggest to you that they don't do much for your reputation among other forumites. If you wish to make personal attacks, come out from behind your pseudonym.
McGlede, I think you have once again missed my point entirely, but I will try to answer your comments/criticisms, while trying to not turn this into a he said/you said essay.
Back-to-back promotions are difficult to get.
Agree, and once again you have missed my point. I am not talking about success being judged by promotion. Clubs have various goals, and EAFC have come out and said publicly they are the team to beat.
Now if you take OWAFC, they finished in the finals, but lost. However, the difference between them and EAFC is that they have not spruiked to all and sundry that “they are the team to beat”, or that “we have recruited on an already awesome side and no one will come close”. These are the bold statements that we have heard before in D4 and now D3, and quite often, they have failed to live up to these brash statements.
I am suggesting that they may be in for a surprise this season given the strength of D3. I guess the only way we will know the answer to who is correct here is in September.
Also, while speaking about OWAFC, they have just moved across the road to a $2 million facility that I understand will be one of the best in the VAFA, not just D3. Agree they are a club going places.
Now Tibia I do not know you, so I can't understand the vitriolic personal attacks.
I consider comments such as “does not make sense” or “have to explain yourself” as a comment as to my own intelligence, so I just responded in kind. I make no apologies for defending my comments or firing back at questions against my point of view.
After all, isn’t this what forums like these are all about?
Now, what would be the key factor in their struggles? Seems about the time their ruckman went down in 2004 they started losing. Am I wrong?
I am sick of hearing about injuries/excuses from the Wickers. Trust me here, whenever they lose, it will not be because the other team played better than them it will be because there were injuries, bad umpiring, weather not good, moon not in alignment, black cat crossed Dennis Grace while walking to the ground etc etc.
They have to accept that if they continue to champ themselves up, they have to be able to back it up.
Should eafc make the four, I would be surprised if they didn't think they were in a position for bigger and better things in 2007. Surely a third/fourth place finish a year after promotion is a positive sign?
I agree, if it were any other club. But I will repeat myself here, if you say you are the team to beat, not winning the big one is a failure. I am saying, therefore, that by their lofty standards, they can expect failure.
Anyway, that’s my two bits worth, lets now move on to more meaningful discussion such as, who is going to beat the real frontrunners, Bentleigh?
Mark Harvey
21 Apr 2006, 15:22
I would like to clarify that I have nothing to do with Elsternwick AFC. Rather, my opinions were based on what I have seen/heard.
I respect you may not like EAFC tibia, however that does not justify you having a personal attack on someone talking about them.
Point 1 - Every club has injuries.
This is a given as they're impossible to avoid, especially in lower grade ammo footy. My point was more based on the belief that eafc are considered front runners. Six or seven games undefeated, los of talisman ruckman, struggle after that.
Point 2 - Going places
Now I'm writing this on the fly and can't recall if Old Westbourne made the four or not last season. I consider OW to be a team that is certainly going places. Their facilities may be ordinary at best, but they have an excellent squad that if it continues to improve could easily find itself in D1 by 2010.
If they finished fourth a year after promotion from D4, I would be disappointed if I were a club follower and found out that the club President or coach believed that the club wasn't going anywhere.
Back-to-back promotions are difficult to get. Clubs like Rupertswood and Fitzroy Reds can do it, but they have excellent set-ups/support. I don't know about eafc's finances, but given their small clubrooms set-up, my guess is they don't have $$ behind them (can anyone correct this?).
Point 3 - Editorial
Personal attacks Tibia may make you feel much better when you hit the submit reply button, but I'd suggest to you that they don't do much for your reputation among other forumites. If you wish to make personal attacks, come out from behind your pseudonym.
Hey buddy
Can you please explain to everyone how you are more likely to receive injuries in the lower grades then the higher grades?
mcglede
21 Apr 2006, 16:20
Will get to you at a later time Tibia, but Mr Harvey raises a genuine question.
In regards injuries being higher in lower grades, IMHO, the standard of the grounds in lower grades are far inferior to that in the higher grades, with Hawthorn and Elsternwick standing out in my mind. Don't like the covered wicket on Syndal's ground either and Swinburne when wet is dangerous.
Yes, top grade grounds do go bad (Sportscover Arena in the centre for one and Beaumaris used to be when wet) but they are far more commonplace in the lower grades.
You also have players who are more likely to be unfit (I doubt the fitness level at say Power House or Richmond is similar to that of Old Xavs), and are subsequently more injury prone. Unfit players competiting in a highly physical sport cannot stand-up game after game. Yes, top grade players get injured too, however they're more likely to be 'fit' and able to avoid soft tissue injuries.
I would further suggest that with most lower grade games having one VAFA umpire that incidents occur in lower grades that cannot happen in top grades.
Look at Odza at Hawthorn last season for one. Off the ball indicents (late tackles, shepherding etc) go more unpunished in lower grades. In C and above these are far more stringently policed. I remember seeing one umpire (Olive?) give five frees for late tackles in a game last year in C grade. Saw 5 given for the entire season in D3 and D4 despite there being about 15-20 per game that were 'there'.
That's my opinion anyway.
Now, for Mr Tibia.
You wrote:
Agree, and once again you have missed my point. I am not talking about success being judged by promotion. Clubs have various goals, and EAFC have come out and said publicly they are the team to beat.
(I seem to miss lots of points, but anyway...)
Can you show me where EAFC have said they're the team to beat?
Old Warrior
21 Apr 2006, 18:36
Platters stepped down from the captaincy at the start of pre-season to devote more time to work and new fatherhood. Has still had a solid pre-season and has been picked in the seniors vs Kew tomorrow.
Old Warrior
21 Apr 2006, 18:38
About time for point 6, Leon for three years was the Shaun McManus of D3.
Only second year for OW in D3 this year.
Don't think Shaun McManus ever captained a senior premiership.:thumbsu:
mcglede
21 Apr 2006, 18:40
Good to see Fairfield still playing Old Warrior.
From what I have heard about OW in the off-season, they should be right up there at the end of the season. In fact, they're my tip for the Premiership over Bentleigh in the GF.
Guess that means OW are going places, though someone may correct me!:)
angry steve
23 Apr 2006, 23:10
EAFC have come out and said publicly they are the team to beat
However, the difference between them and EAFC is that they have not spruiked to all and sundry that “they are the team to beat”, or that “we have recruited on an already awesome side and no one will come close”. These are the bold statements that we have heard before in D4 and now D3, and quite often, they have failed to live up to these brash statements.
Mate you, you are an absolute handbag, spinning absolute codswallop. I will go ahead and say it now - I am an Elsternwick player and i can say straight out that these over the top predictions outlined above are a load of fabricated nonsense by a bloke who for all chances was probably just a sour member in a losing side in the D4 ressies last year.
To be blatantly honest, our pre-season has been nothing to write home about at all - we have recruited a few good players, and havnt lost that many at all from last year, but training numbers/praccy matches etc have been fairly ordinary.
I can say right now that we are confident of doing OK this season, but for some pathetic piece of plankton to go ahead and launch a scathing attack based on pure fiction on a club he most likely knows nothing about is fairly ordinary.
Tell me "tibia" which club do you play/support/cut oranges for?
knackers_2
24 Apr 2006, 07:23
Hawthorn, who apparently should go well this season based on their previous season, withdrew from a practice match because of a social function scheduled the night before... Obviously they are a team "going places" as well?
D3 football is as predictable from year to year as Nepalese politics.
mcglede
24 Apr 2006, 08:21
Still no evidence Tibia, which suggests you're telling porkies, especially with an Elsternwick player getting on the site with some rebuttal.
How did the flag unfurling go Angry Steve? Saw you blokes in the GF last season and you were worth your victory.
knackers_2
24 Apr 2006, 08:52
I consider OW to be a team that is certainly going places. Their facilities may be ordinary at best, but they have an excellent squad that if it continues to improve could easily find itself in D1 by 2010.
If North Brunswick improve on last season, recruit a dozen players from the Calder Cannons each year and don't have any injuries or lose any players, they could easily be in D1 by 2010 also.
Mate you, you are an absolute handbag, spinning absolute codswallop. I will go ahead and say it now - I am an Elsternwick player and i can say straight out that these over the top predictions outlined above are a load of fabricated nonsense by a bloke who for all chances was probably just a sour member in a losing side in the D4 ressies last year.
Mate, these comments came from senior people directly in your club to a friend of mine who told me about them. I was simply passing on these comments and offering my own opinions on them.
As for my own allegiances, well I have to say that I am just a D3 observer these days. Go to a few matches when I can and have played against most of the teams involved in the comp.
knackers_2
24 Apr 2006, 10:39
Bentleigh by 25
Monash by 34
South by 127
OW by 31
Ewicks by 56
What about the Tool???
Was he present???
Pat Bateman
24 Apr 2006, 11:28
To be blatantly honest, our pre-season has been nothing to write home about at all - we have recruited a few good players, and havnt lost that many at all from last year, but training numbers/praccy matches etc have been fairly ordinary.
I can say right now that we are confident of doing OK this season, but for some pathetic piece of plankton to go ahead and launch a scathing attack based on pure fiction on a club he most likely knows nothing about is fairly ordinary.
My sources tell me whoever it was from Elsternwick that went to the vafa function held last week were spruiking themselves up to anyone who cared to listen how they were going to take D3 by storm in 2006. I heard this from more than one person from more than one club.
Pat Bateman
24 Apr 2006, 11:30
Hawthorn, who apparently should go well this season based on their previous season, withdrew from a practice match because of a social function scheduled the night before... Obviously they are a team "going places" as well?
D3 football is as predictable from year to year as Nepalese politics.
2006 is Hawthorn's second year in D4.:confused:
knackers_2
24 Apr 2006, 11:46
2006 is Hawthorn's second year in D4.:confused:
Well they didn't get relegated, so that's got to be a bonus for them and their postage stamp of a ground
mcglede
24 Apr 2006, 13:06
So all it is so far is people writing under pseudonyms who have heard information from a third party. No direct evidence, just "heard from a mate" stories.
Sorry lads, but I'm not bying it. Show me something IN PRINT from the club itself talking themselves up more than what all clubs do at the start of every season and you'll have a believer.
Quote from the source is, it was from the club's new President where he said "We are the team to beat, not Bentleigh like everyone else believes"
knackers_2
26 Apr 2006, 11:35
So I guess we will all look forward to Round 7 - June 3rd - Bentleigh versus Elsternwick. The winner will be elevated to "team to beat status" and the loser to become premiership favourites
knackers_2
26 Apr 2006, 11:40
Not sure where you get your oil from Pat, but can can guarantee a fair way of the mark with a few of your tips:
Agree with Bentleigh & Crackers, but unless D3 is palying in other countries and states, Cannane and Benjamin will not feature in any awards this year. My oil is that Wests have lost 6 of there best 8 from last year, with replacements scratchy at best.
According to the VAFA website, Benjamin played for West on the weekend... any truth in that rumour? I know how fickle information from the internet can be.
mcglede
26 Apr 2006, 13:17
Tibia, what is the URL for the website that has that quote?
The Hunter
26 Apr 2006, 15:13
Aaah Knackers, maybe it was the Elder Benjamin, "Silver Fox' Richard? Richard rumoured to be big on Public Displays, post game.
serious note, any feeback around the grounds, Other than the nonsence being peddled by Tibia it would be good to get a feel for how teams went on the weekend.
I saw a bit of the Wickers v Swinburne game, the last score I saw at around 3/4 time was the wickers up by two goals. If Swinburne are supposed to be the relgation favourites, D3 must be very strong comp because they looked like quite a reasonable team. Although I did hear the wickers had 7 premiership plays out from their team.
mcglede
26 Apr 2006, 18:33
Elsternwick was in front by 42 at 3/4 time.
How's that URL coming along Tibia??
Old Warrior
26 Apr 2006, 20:43
Aaah Knackers, maybe it was the Elder Benjamin, "Silver Fox' Richard? Richard rumoured to be big on Public Displays, post game.
serious note, any feeback around the grounds, Other than the nonsence being peddled by Tibia it would be good to get a feel for how teams went on the weekend.
Watched the Kew vs OW game on the weekend. Pretty even apart from a burst in the 3rd qtr that gave OW the lead for the rest of the game. Neither team played outstanding footy so it's difficult to tell whether it was an even game between two teams that will finish top, middle or bottom of the ladder.
Kew looked to have turned over a lot of players. Some of their new players included a ruckman who hardly lost a tap, a FF (McKerrow??) who kept putting blokes down late and an onballer (number 8 not sure his name) who ran hard all day and kicked a couple of goals also. Belly played - elbows still sharp, as did Lafranchi who may have lost a yard of pace after a year off.
Notable players missing - Ianni, Mainsbridge, Woodhouse, Vecchio.
For info regarding OW direct all enquiries to Rohan Doherty care of Angus Hamilton for an updated player list.
The Hunter, how did Bentleigh look? Did Sharp or Martin play?
FREDWA49
26 Apr 2006, 20:57
Tibia,
I heard from a bloke, who heard from a bloke, who knew a nurse, who heard from a bloke, that Elvis was seen training at Kew. Maybe Boycey from UHS isn't as odds on as we thought for tool of D3 !
As far as useful information goes, rather than your cowpats, the Wicks beat Districts by 4 goals in a practice game a few weeks ago, but I doubt both were at full strength based on Round 1 scores. I also doubt whether P Dimma will be playing many games for Bentleigh being a runner for the Bombers and having countless eateries to run, and also 'heard' A Dimma was off to Italy for 6 months and is only playing a few.
Swinny will not be relegated either !!!
knackers_2
27 Apr 2006, 07:37
Tibia,
I heard from a bloke, who heard from a bloke, who knew a nurse, who heard from a bloke, that Elvis was seen training at Kew. Maybe Boycey from UHS isn't as odds on as we thought for tool of D3 !
As far as useful information goes, rather than your cowpats, the Wicks beat Districts by 4 goals in a practice game a few weeks ago, but I doubt both were at full strength based on Round 1 scores. I also doubt whether P Dimma will be playing many games for Bentleigh being a runner for the Bombers and having countless eateries to run, and also 'heard' A Dimma was off to Italy for 6 months and is only playing a few.
Swinny will not be relegated either !!!
Elvis can't be playing for Kew - he's running the drinks for the Eley Park Sharks.
Word on the street is that P Dimma is good for 6 games at best.
AND 4 goals in a practice game when both sides were doubted to be "at full strength" is hardly non-cowpat information. Thank you all the same.
The Hunter
27 Apr 2006, 08:50
My spies tell me Sharp played, but was sent off twice for verballying the umpire, maybe senility for the old timer? Required to go to tribunal last night.
Not sure about Martin.
Lot of familiar names on the OW list from last year (and a few news, but had a lot to gain from younger blokes improving), agree Kew list looked like a new club.
knackers_2
28 Apr 2006, 07:38
Tribunal results from www.vafa.asn show UH are in for a tough start to the year:
Adam Pashley, UHS-VU. Striking, 5 matches
He was one of their better on ballers from all reports.
knackers_2
28 Apr 2006, 14:04
Round 2 Selections
Elsternwick to beat UH at UH by 30 pts
WB to beat Kew at WB by 15 pts
Bentleigh to beat Souths at Sportscover Arena by 20 pts
Swinburne to beat St Marys at Swinburne by 5 pts
OW to beat Monash at OW by 36 pts
You are short by about 4 goals on the Elsternwick and Bentleigh margins
and a couple short on OW and West Bruns
Swin v St Marys will be 'Match of the round' based on the final margin for sure (dunno about the quality of the game though...)
Okay, okay, my "reputation" has been somewhat tarnished by some tool feeding me (perhaps incorrect) information on Elsternwick. As I did not hear it directly McGlede, I cannot confirm or deny it for certain. How about we leave it at that now and let the results do the talking from here on in?
As for my take on Round 1 and what is to come, I think that Swinburne have been underated, as any team with a freak like Murchie running around is always a show. I think the Saints may struggle as may UHS, while my selection of "teams to beat" are Bentleigh and Westbourne, with apologies to West Brunswick and Elsternwick.
Is that intelligent enough for discussion here and to at least put me ahead of Boycey?
Spot on with Swinnie.. they also have Ben 'wildman' Prior back and Justin Kane.. they will go close to finals if Murchie and Higins can stay fit.. They lost to a good side last week, but were not disgraced. they had a terrible pre-season, numbers wise so fitness will gather as the season goes on..
Was anyone at the Swans v Demons match on the weekend? Surprising result which indicates that the Bloods are certainly contenders.
Dimmatina would have played as well as Essendon played on Sunday. Any word on how he went?
Big match this week between Westbourne and Elsternwick as well. Will go a fair way to show us where both teams are at.
Finally, coach Hamilton at West Brunswick has done well in duping us all into believing the Magpies were going to struggle this season. I will have none of that now as they have shown they are also travelling along very nicely at the minute.
knackers_2
2 May 2006, 12:16
Finally, coach Hamilton at West Brunswick has done well in duping us all into believing the Magpies were going to struggle this season. I will have none of that now as they have shown they are also travelling along very nicely at the minute.[/quote]
Coach Hamilton has proven to be quite unpredictable in the past - but no more sporadic than the D3 write up in the "Amateur Footballer".
I am surprised you read that crap knackers, the bloke does not have any idea at all what he is on about. He is apparently involved with the Warriors yet does not even know half the team.
Heard from a mate that Paul Dimmatina stormed of the ground after being belted in the nose on Saturday. He apparently head butted a guy in the stomach standing on the mark while he was picking up the ball. The Districts guy didn't appreciate it and gave him one. Once off the ground, he booted two balls into the coaches box, tore his jumper off and headed to the showers before driving home while the game was still in progress. I wasn't there but the story was to funny not to share on the forum.
I saw Paul Dimmatina make an absolute fool of himself on Saturday and I would be suprised if he plays another game in D3. He had been paid a free kick and went back to take his kick but instead decided to charge the man on the mark head first, but unfortunately for Dimma he left the field with a cut above his eye. He stormed off like a spoilt child, very ordinary performance from an EX AFL player.
The real story is this, Dimma took a mark went to his knees and was then belted from behind whislt on his knees on the ground. Had 3 sticthes to his eye right eye. He was then racialy abused and it was heard by many witnesses. Dimma then took his kick after taking a mark but instead charged the guy and ran through him. He then threw a few back at him and stuck up for himself.
To his credit he didnt report the incident (racially abused) to league officals, lucky for the offender as he would of got a year as there were enough witnesses. I don't support either side, but Dimma could of had the guy in trouble and didn't. Credit needs to go for him for that.
It's a shame however when AFL players go back to local elagues theres always an idiot out there that tries to be a hero and hit them. Always from behind as usual, staright up or in front. Dimma will play again from what I ahve been told by a friend at the club when essedon dont play interstate or on a Saturday.
I was actually at the game Saturday so thsi is the truth.
Go old Wetsbourne!!
It should be a priveledge to play against guy's like him and we want more afl players to come back when they finish and play grass roots footy!!
Looking forward tos eeing you play westbourne Dimma.
No way could an AFL player play in that low a grade and not get belted, there's too many heroes going around with their brains in their fists. We (a D4 side) nearly got Mark Mercuri, but as if he wouldn't have been targetted by the opposition had he played.
knackers_2
5 May 2006, 08:01
I was actually at the game Saturday so thsi is the truth.
Did you catch a glimpse of Dimma leaving the game while it was still in progress, or is that bollocks? And what of the claim that he was more than a little upset? I get the impression that a scene like that would be hard to miss.
No doubt Gavan (is that French?) will have a detailed report in tomorrow's Footballer.
Pat Bateman
5 May 2006, 19:22
No doubt Gavan (is that French?) will have a detailed report in tomorrow's Footballer.
The name's not French but the way he kisses Tom Brain is.