View Full Version : brad smith injurys knee at training

LukeHodge15
18 Jan 2006, 12:17
just heard from toa that brad smith injured his knee this morning at training.:eek:

no idea how bad, im sure he will fill u in when he arrives here.

sdb4884
18 Jan 2006, 12:52
you better be joking.

LukeHodge15
18 Jan 2006, 12:57
you better be joking.

heard it from one of ur faithful, he will fill u in when he gets here im sure.

only passing on infomation i heard.

shattering news for the guy if its another ACL

TheReason
18 Jan 2006, 13:00
Reading from Eagles Flying High.....

I don't think anyone knows.

A Banfield Elbow to the Ribs?
Foot getting stuck in one position and going down?
Clutching at the Hammies?
Limping off on his bad leg?

I'll wait for the official word thanks.

P.S. F**** F**** F****

theorangeapple
18 Jan 2006, 13:22
Didnt look good.

Holding out hope though.

wce_all_da_way
18 Jan 2006, 13:27
Your ********ing kidding me

UNIT
18 Jan 2006, 13:30
Get ready for same bad news guys...:(

Locky
18 Jan 2006, 13:31
:mad: :mad: :mad:
Lets hope it wasn't too serious.. Poor guy such a bad run of Injurys

hawkeye23
18 Jan 2006, 13:37
Please be OK. Please be OK.

masai
18 Jan 2006, 13:46
Hope the report is off the mark ........

Geez does this chap have a black cat or carry ladders around?, he is one player who deserves some good luck.

Hope it aint true.

Lach72
18 Jan 2006, 15:20
Any updates people?
Really bad if true..he looked quite good on the news the other night :(

theorangeapple
18 Jan 2006, 15:31
Press conference at 3.

Lach72
18 Jan 2006, 15:37
Press conference at 3.
Oh...boy that doesn't sound good...just read your update on the main board...I hope you're right!! :(

mudgeathon
18 Jan 2006, 15:40
ARRRRRRHHHH!!!!! Bloody hell, this guy derseves a go and then this happens. Way to put me in a bad mood.

andrew_embley
18 Jan 2006, 15:40
ah crap

andrew_embley
18 Jan 2006, 15:42
Press conference at 3.

:( that would be a bad sign yeah?

Rocco Jones
18 Jan 2006, 15:50

I'd say so. Being a Dogs fan, I can understand how you lot would be feeling right now. Hopefully it's the PCL (6-8 weeks) which will mean his preparation for the season is ruined after than his actual season. With the PC and the fact that he did his ACL last time.

theorangeapple
18 Jan 2006, 15:51

I think so.

theorangeapple
18 Jan 2006, 15:52
I'd say so. Being a Dogs fan, I can understand how you lot would be feeling right now. Hopefully it's the PCL (6-8 weeks) which will mean his preparation for the season is ruined after than his actual season. With the PC and the fact that he did his ACL last time.

IRRC, he actually did both the PCL and ACL

Either way, the knee is a mess. He cannot afford another reco.

LukeHodge15
18 Jan 2006, 16:20

shattering news 4 the guy.

never seen the guy play, but looked forward to seeing the mature aged recruit who had been plastering them be4 his first knee reco. a lot of u guys on here held high hopes for him.

all the best for his recovery, the guy would be absolutely ********ing gutted right now.

Rocco Jones
18 Jan 2006, 16:30

Purely on a waiting for the verdict view, that could be a blessing in disguise. Might have done the weakened PCL.

larrikin
18 Jan 2006, 16:34
Ironic that this was posted on the club site 2 days ago

Smith ready to fly again
12:30:29 PM Mon 16 January, 2006
Justin Chadwick
Exclusive to afl.com.au
West Coast Eagles forward Brad Smith has been given the green light by doctors to resume full training after undergoing knee surgery early last year.

Smith missed the entire 2005 season when he ruptured his anterior cruciate and medial ligaments in his left knee during an intra-club practice match in Busselton.

West Coast assistant coach Peter Sumich said he was rapt with Smith's progress and was looking forward to seeing him go flat-out on the training track.

"It will be interesting to see how he does pull up with the knee in our practice games and hopefully he'll get a burst in the first NAB Cup match," he said.

"If his form warrants playing in the NAB Cup he'll get a game."

However Michael Gardiner (foot) and David Wirrpunda (knee) are still on light duties following post-season surgery.

Sumich said Gardiner's recovery was slower than expected, and was doubtful he would play in the Eagles' first NAB Cup match against Fremantle on February 26.

"He might be there in the second or third week of the NAB Cup, but we'll wait and see," he said.

"Wirrpunda's a little way off too. He's probably a couple of weeks away from full training."

4th Tier
18 Jan 2006, 16:48
Brad Smith injures knee at training

West Coast Eagles full-forward Brad Smith injured a knee at training this morning and will have scans as soon as possible to determine the extent of the problem.

When results from those scans are available, the club will release the details.

Smith missed all of the 2005 season after suffering a serious knee in injury during the pre-season.

Footygoss 2:24pm

Macca19
18 Jan 2006, 17:34
Pretty dissapointing. Saw a few of his pre-05 games and thought he looked a fair talent and a possible 30+ goalkicker for the Eagles.

If it is the worst news...what do you all think the Eagles will do at the end of the year? Will they give him a 3rd chance or sadly cut their losses?

wce_all_da_way
18 Jan 2006, 17:36
Pretty dissapointing. Saw a few of his pre-05 games and thought he looked a fair talent and a possible 30+ goalkicker for the Eagles.

If it is the worst news...what do you all think the Eagles will do at the end of the year? Will they give him a 3rd chance or sadly cut their losses?

I personally have no idea. A player like Doogs may have had their breakout year by then (not saying it will happen) and so he might not be needed

kazz227
18 Jan 2006, 17:47
Unfortunately, it is true.

Brad is out for the year.

inferno66
18 Jan 2006, 18:18

What the??? :eek: ... You serious??... I really hoped that it was just a minor injury. Smith is a really good bloke, he doesnt deserve this :(

Dr Ralph Dagg
18 Jan 2006, 18:29
What the??? :eek: ... You serious??... I really hoped that it was just a minor injury. Smith is a really good bloke, he doesnt deserve this :(
He's a top bloke and this is terrible news.

But the idea of McDougall having a break-out year is the funniest thing I've heard since the 2005 grand final full-time siren.

TheReason
18 Jan 2006, 18:30
Unfortunately.... that's life.:(

But the idea of McDougall having a break-out year is the funniest thing I've heard since the 2005 grand final full-time siren.
There's a good reason he's commonly referred to as McDud.... he has No Ticker.

It would be great if he suprised me and had a work-ethic.... alas, thats just a fantasy.

hawkeye23
18 Jan 2006, 18:30

SH|T :mad: :(

Embers
18 Jan 2006, 18:36
********en football gives me the ********s when stuff like this happens, if people want to know why AFL cant take off this is why

This sport never makes ya feel good, for every good thing that happens 100 bad things happen before it, still nothing has been confirmed yet, ill make a few calls and see if I can find out anything extra.....

kazz227
18 Jan 2006, 18:46

And the most pathetic thing I have ever heard - funny as well - is that the Sookmantle followers applauded their sorry excuse for a team after they lost their ONE and only finals appearance.:D

kazz227
18 Jan 2006, 18:47

Oh, by the way, loved the sound of that siren. Ended another useless Sookmantle season.:D

kazz227
18 Jan 2006, 18:48
Yep, Hawks, :mad: :(

Rocco Jones
18 Jan 2006, 18:49
Everything I've heard about the bloke's character is positive. Before Xmas 2004 I was at Eagles pre-season training (to get a 1994 replica jumper signed by Johh Worsfold, the things I do for people I opposite of hate). Sat behind some guy who was/is apparently a director/board member at club (Think his name was Miller). Anyways he was going on about how bad Brad Smith felt about having to take time off his primary school teaching commitments and how genuine a bloke he was.

I'm a sucker for romantic stories and his would have been great. I obviously really dislike your club but really feel for the bloke. When Nathan Brown broke his leg I said I felt bad for him but not as bad as I would for nearly anyone else in the league (no malice indeed). With Brad Smith it's pretty much the opposite.

Good luck to Brad Smith and whatever his future holds (he has a degree in Business Management and a Grad Dip in Primary Education- exactly like me, so I'm sure it's a very bright one :)).

larrikin
18 Jan 2006, 18:53
Hasn't been confirmed yet - will need scans which won't happen until swelling goes down tomorrow

Definitely not good signs though - and the fact he has done it so early on suggests it probably never healed

Embers
18 Jan 2006, 18:53
Good news, news is that he thinks he has just replicated what Michael Braun did, it seems more likely then a full knee rec, theres bout a 20% chance it is a full knee reco

More likely he is out for 3 months and wont make a AFL debut till about Round 10, still waiting for the results of the scan, should be released lunch time here.

Embers
18 Jan 2006, 18:59
Hasn't been confirmed yet - will need scans which won't happen until swelling goes down tomorrow

Definitely not good signs though - and the fact he has done it so early on suggests it probably never healed

In all honesty, Smith has been training at full pace for a good 2 months now, they just "announced" he was given green light by doctors a few days ago, it seems like he jarred his knee more then anything

From what everyones telling me they dont seem to think that it is a knee reco

Knees are a very odd injury though, especialyl when it comes to jarring, if anyone remembers last year Bulldogs Brian Harris jarred his knee, they thought he needed a knee reco right after the game, this is what they said in the press conference any way he ended up playing the next week, Knees are very hard to tell till you get the scan done, He would know tonight too id say, depending on swelling.

I can say with near certainty if Smith needs another knee reco he will just retire from all competitive footy, his last knee reco was hell for him and I dont see him doing it again.

Rocco Jones
18 Jan 2006, 19:08
Knees are a very odd injury though, especialyl when it comes to jarring, if anyone remembers last year Bulldogs Brian Harris jarred his knee, they thought he needed a knee reco right after the game, this is what they said in the press conference any way he ended up playing the next week, Knees are very hard to tell till you get the scan done, He would know tonight too id say, depending on swelling.

Was going to bring that up. Our club doctor is pretty good at predicting damage to knees straight after incidents but even he got it wrong in that instance. Libba continued playing and ran off the ground after doing his ACL. As an Arsenal fan I remember Robert Pires doing his knee and then running on the sidelines. Fans thought he was alright and scans ended up showing that he tore his ACL.

RoSa..RoX..4..eVa.S2
18 Jan 2006, 19:08
Well as long as its not definite what happened yet then theres still hope its not too bad!!!! Hope he can pull through this one:thumbsu:

Embers
18 Jan 2006, 19:15
Was going to bring that up. Our club doctor is pretty good at predicting damage to knees straight after incidents but even he got it wrong in that instance. Libba continued playing and ran off the ground after doing his ACL. As an Arsenal fan I remember Robert Pires doing his knee and then running on the sidelines. Fans thought he was alright and scans ended up showing that he tore his ACL.

Yep, also knowing someone who has had two knee reco, it is common knowledge that the second time you do it it is EXTREMELY painful almost straight away, Smith yelled out in pain but then got up and walked off with little assistance, you can do this if you done it first time, but id be very shocked if anyone cud walk off after doing it a second time, I guess we will find out tomorrow, but im still leaning towards 3 month injury. The facts add up if its the same thing Braun did

goalpie
18 Jan 2006, 19:23
Fingers crossed.

Really is a terrible thing for a player to have to go through. Reminds me of Lee Walker.

He might be lucky I hope.:(

94_Eagles
18 Jan 2006, 19:45

Black JuJu
18 Jan 2006, 19:48
Yep, also knowing someone who has had two knee reco, it is common knowledge that the second time you do it it is EXTREMELY painful almost straight away, Smith yelled out in pain but then got up and walked off with little assistance, you can do this if you done it first time, but id be very shocked if anyone cud walk off after doing it a second time, I guess we will find out tomorrow, but im still leaning towards 3 month injury. The facts add up if its the same thing Braun did

Bad luck doc, 10 suggests he is certain to miss the season.

They also said he was carried from the field by 4 players.

94_Eagles
18 Jan 2006, 19:52
It's official.

This season just turned into a non-event.

Rocco Jones
18 Jan 2006, 19:52
Gossage said that tests have been done and it's the ACL.

Season over.

Locky
18 Jan 2006, 19:53
His 2006 is over before it started :( :( :( :(

Black JuJu
18 Jan 2006, 19:54
It's official.

This season just turned into a non-event.

Can't miss what you never had.

hawkeye23
18 Jan 2006, 19:56
Yep, Hawks, :mad: :(

Frikkin footy guts me sometimes. Definite on him being out for season? Email me!

94_Eagles
18 Jan 2006, 19:58
Yes it's definate.

hawkeye23
18 Jan 2006, 20:05
Yes it's definate.

I hate this effing game sometimes :(

Embers
18 Jan 2006, 20:08
Confirmed :(

********EN FOOTBALL ********S ME, seriosuly, what a ********house game when luck plays such a huge role, fricken ridiculous, does talent mean anything in football anymore or wat???

wce_all_da_way
18 Jan 2006, 20:09
******** ******** ********. dammit I feel sorry for this guy. It really guts you when you see something like this happen.

mantis
18 Jan 2006, 20:11
Terrible news for the guy, he would be best to give the game away because he obviously has a weak knee, I'd hate to see him do it a third time, aka Neale Daniher. :(

Black JuJu
18 Jan 2006, 20:21
I'm pretty sure this is his 3rd knee mantis, did it in the WAFL too I think.

larrikin
18 Jan 2006, 20:23

Embers
18 Jan 2006, 20:24
He will quit, no doubt about it

mantis
18 Jan 2006, 20:25
I'm pretty sure this is his 3rd knee mantis, did it in the WAFL too I think.

****, if that's the case he should definitely chuck it in, before he ends up a bloody cripple. It is so sad when a really talented players career is ended by injuries, when they could achieve so much more.

larrikin
18 Jan 2006, 20:28
He will quit, no doubt about it
Considering he can be teaching again in a few short weeks if he chooses to....

What this does do is make Andrew McDougall the luckiest bastard in Australia

Freo Shark
18 Jan 2006, 20:38
Bad luck for Smithy, you couldnt wish this on a guy like him. I just hope he keeps at it and gets a chance to prove his talent. Thats not against us tho :)

Keep at it mate :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Au_Blue#24
18 Jan 2006, 22:12

You are a spineless sniper. I cant begin to relay how much of an attention seeking little worm you must be.

Run along little man and think up new ways of making people aware of your title.

JinmboJones
18 Jan 2006, 22:16
Feel so bad for the bloke, and for the club. he is deffinately not the Messiah, otherwise he wouldn't have broken down again!!

There must be something seriously wrong with the medical "science" involved in knee reconstructions. How many times do guys go through them and then re-injure the same knee?? They obviously (to the untrained eye) rush blokes back too early. I'm no expert, but it obviously takes people more than a year to recover from it...

:(

94_Eagles
18 Jan 2006, 22:23
Feel so bad for the bloke, and for the club. he is deffinately not the Messiah, otherwise he wouldn't have broken down again!!

There must be something seriously wrong with the medical "science" involved in knee reconstructions. How many times do guys go through them and then re-injure the same knee?? They obviously (to the untrained eye) rush blokes back too early. I'm no expert, but it obviously takes people more than a year to recover from it...

:(

Once the knee goes once there's probably no way of returning it to 100%, that's why you see a lot of guys going down again.

weagles_fan
18 Jan 2006, 22:32
********en bull******** ********

Cuzz09
18 Jan 2006, 22:35
I must be the only Eagles supporter that isnt making that much of a big deal about this.

Sure it would have been great to see him play. But that never garuanteed he was going to do anything. As much as I would have loved to see the big guy up there kicking bags of goals he hadnt proved anything in the big league.

I feel sorry for the guy, he obviously has had some bad luck but to put our clubs premiership hopes in his hands is and always was going to be laughable. Most of the supporters of other teams laugh about this fact as well.

Anyway folks, remember, we were 4 points off a flag last year with a sheizen forward set up - I think we really should have and should be focussing on guys like Hansen (GUN!) and Hunter!!

Anyway - Get well soon Brad and good luck!

smelly cat
18 Jan 2006, 22:56
My heart goes out to him, I hope he has all the support he needs to get him though the coming weeks. Will certainly be very tough.

And to all you west coast supporters- seriously guys, chins up. The season wont be a 'non event' as one of you mentioned. You made a grand final last year and there is no reason why you can't get there again. The Eagles EASILY have the personel to go all the way. I'd trade half my side for a judd or cousins...

CharlieG
18 Jan 2006, 22:57
Season over?

Snap out of it, folks. I'm sure he has talent, and it's very, very disappointing for him. But 'season over' talk is rubbish, as much as I'd like to have the Weagles out of the way for the year. He has never played a game! He played no role in you guys being one mark away from a flag this year.

Chin up. If Smith's fans can lose heart so easily, what hope has he got?

theorangeapple
18 Jan 2006, 23:08
Season over?

Snap out of it, folks. I'm sure he has talent, and it's very, very disappointing for him. But 'season over' talk is rubbish, as much as I'd like to have the Weagles out of the way for the year. He has never played a game! He played no role in you guys being one mark away from a flag this year.

Chin up. If Smith's fans can lose heart so easily, what hope has he got?

Exactly, we alot more important players we could have lost. Someone like Hansen would have been a much bigger loss at CHF because we dont have anyone to replace him. At least at FF we have options, albeit they are yet to stand up.

Bestbird
19 Jan 2006, 03:18
Feel really sorry for the poor bloke, Has had no luck at all

On the bright side at least Dougs and Lynch have each spent a year at Full Forward so it is not unreasonable to expect at least one of them to develop further in the role this season

Here's hoping anyway

LoneStar
19 Jan 2006, 05:06
********en football gives me the ********s when stuff like this happens, if people want to know why AFL cant take off this is why

This sport never makes ya feel good, for every good thing that happens 100 bad things happen before it...Smith is 26 years old and looks set to miss a 2nd year with knee injuries. It is a very sad story, but not utterly heart breaking or the end of the WCE season. Fact is he's never kicked an AFL goal or even played a minute in an AFL game. If he never plays a game, but recovers his health and goes on to a fulfilling, productive life, that's not a story that makes you feel bad. It's a story that makes you feel good! If he comes back and plays AFL football, that's a story that makes you feel even better! Some of you WCE supporters are acting like there's no point in participating in 2006 season.
I remember how Hawks supporters felt and reacted in '72 when Peter Hudson did his knee during Round 1 after kicking 8 goals in the first half. He was coming off a 150 goal season that the Hawks rode to a premiership. The gloom and doom was deafening, but the Hawks still won 13 games. I'm willing to predict the Eagles will win a few games without Smith, as well.
AFL does make you feel good! 100 bad things per good thing is a stupid exageration. Participants get injured in sport. It happens around the world every day. While maybe not a significant component, it is part of the drama that attracts us to sport! And with $ 780 million in its immediate future, I'd say the AFL has taken off pretty well.

hawkeye23
19 Jan 2006, 07:26
My heart goes out to him, I hope he has all the support he needs to get him though the coming weeks. Will certainly be very tough.

And to all you west coast supporters- seriously guys, chins up. The season wont be a 'non event' as one of you mentioned. You made a grand final last year and there is no reason why you can't get there again. The Eagles EASILY have the personel to go all the way. I'd trade half my side for a judd or cousins...

For a Geelong supporter, you go alright :p

Thanks for your kind words smelly cat. It's good to see that there are decent opposition supporters around.

We have the personnel, but bugger me, Doogs will have to pull his finger out of his arse and find some heart, QUICKLY.

Magnum27
19 Jan 2006, 11:08
For a Geelong supporter, you go alright :p

Thanks for your kind words smelly cat. It's good to see that there are decent opposition supporters around.

We have the personnel, but bugger me, Doogs will have to pull his finger out of his arse and find some heart, QUICKLY.
never going to happen i'm afraid, remember reading story on him once, when he was at Perth coach gave him instructions on what he wanted from him on ground, he ended up writing instructions on back of hand so didn't forget.

sdb4884
19 Jan 2006, 11:13
When I heard about this I felt the same way I would feel when we would have a regular season defeat. Very hard to take, footy is a cruel game.

iceman
19 Jan 2006, 14:49
Devastating News.... Bad luck to the guy, hope he gets the chance to play AFL one day :(

kazz227
19 Jan 2006, 16:16
Confirmed :(

********EN FOOTBALL ********S ME, seriosuly, what a ********house game when luck plays such a huge role, fricken ridiculous, does talent mean anything in football anymore or wat???
Hey Embers, footy is much like life really!

Luck plays a huge part in both.:D But I wish Brad's luck would change soon.

And we have the talent to make it in 2006. You just watch.:D

kazz227
19 Jan 2006, 16:19
You are a spineless sniper. I cant begin to relay how much of an attention seeking little worm you must be.

Run along little man and think up new ways of making people aware of your title.
:D :D

And remember Au_Blue#24, it follows a spineless team too.

Dr Ralph Dagg
23 Jan 2006, 15:48

Perhaps I shouldn't have put the comments in the same post.

Just for the record, the two comments were completely unrelated. I do feel quite gutted for Brad Smith. From all accounts he is a top bloke. And to have both injuries in the pre-season is a tragedy that I reckon every footy fan feels moved by.

Let's hope he does make a full recovery as he deserves a crack.

Footy wise, it's big blow. No Matera is a big hole to fill. As much as Q Lynch looks like the missing link I reckon Brad Smith was the missing link up forward. And if you don't think Smith would have made a huge difference in the GF you've forgotten how many balls Michael Gardiner ran under and didn't even contest.

I reckon the opportunity from Smith's injury falls to Staker or someone else to make CHB their own so Hunter can go forward.

Big Kahuna
23 Jan 2006, 16:27
For a guy that has never played for the Eagles or earned any respect as an Eagles player he certainly gets a lot of attention. Don't get me wrong it's very sad what happened and I was looking forward to seeing him try his luck at FF (Lynch's spot). But come on people we were 4 points away from winning an AFL premiership, with a dissapointing forward stucture. I'm sure the team will cope just fine.

hawkeye23
23 Jan 2006, 18:27
I'm sure the team will cope just fine.

Christ, I hope so. Could NOT go through another GF loss like that. I still haven't recovered :(

Big Kahuna
23 Jan 2006, 18:48
Christ, I hope so. Could NOT go through another GF loss like that. I still haven't recovered :(

I had to put up with it surrounded by about 15 Dockers fans so don't talk to me about recovery.

Lynch will be our guiding light you mark my words.

sydney eagle
25 Jan 2006, 11:29
I had to put up with it surrounded by about 15 Dockers fans so don't talk to me about recovery.

Lynch will be our guiding light you mark my words. I don't know about "marking your words" but if The Big Unit could mark the football it'd be nice !:)

kazz227
25 Jan 2006, 17:21

Lynch will be our guiding light you mark my words.

Silly you, BK.:D

Why would you 'surround' yourself with one Sookmantle fan, let alone 15 of the tossers?:D

hawkeye23
25 Jan 2006, 19:07
I don't know about "marking your words" but if The Big Unit could mark the football it'd be nice !:)

Strongly agree. The kid is a natural born mongrel.... if he can mark as well, he'd be a machine.