View Full Version : Central Murray FL
Scrappa's Love Child
18 Oct 2006, 12:39
Has anyone heard anything on Balranald? Is Shawn Filo heading their? Is Jim Jess coaching? Is John Barker playing for them in 2007 and is delisted Adelaide Crows legend Ben Hart looking to buy the local post office?? Heard from a reliable source that the Roos are trying to lure him to the country???
ROOTA#6
18 Oct 2006, 14:44
Has anyone heard anything on Balranald? Is Shawn Filo heading their? Is Jim Jess coaching? Is John Barker playing for them in 2007 and is delisted Adelaide Crows legend Ben Hart looking to buy the local post office?? Heard from a reliable source that the Roos are trying to lure him to the country???
You have got to be kidding on all those fronts don't you
Ed Deline
18 Oct 2006, 15:09
You have got to be kidding on all those fronts don't you
Now Rootos, you seem to be the cat with all the info.... has their coin dried up? and......With the big story in the H-Sun today will you blokes stay afloat? You'd think this will show whose dinkum and will step up when the club is in this situation.
Sockit151
18 Oct 2006, 15:39
Now Rootos, you seem to be the cat with all the info.... has their coin dried up? and......With the big story in the H-Sun today will you blokes stay afloat? You'd think this will show whose dinkum and will step up when the club is in this situation.
Very true Ed, will be interesting to see what happens.. Because although money does dominate footy these days, and it's always about who will donate money to keep the teams on the park, all that you really need is guys who will donate time to keep teams out there!!
ROOTA#6
18 Oct 2006, 16:59
On your first question Ed, i understand that the roos have enough coin to go again, but i just can't believe some of the names that were mentioned. On the Lalbert thing, we will stay afloat. It will show who is fair dinkum and who isn't. It is going to be a hard call for some blokes though who havew already planned to move away. Wasn't a bad story
Big_flipper
18 Oct 2006, 18:45
Ok can anyone tell me whats going on at the hill? how is their recriuting drive going and who have they lost if any? will they improve or are they looking downwards?
Hillite
18 Oct 2006, 21:14
Rumours around mildura about an "Anthony Foott" moving into town creating some interest. Is he a current or ex Central Murray player? Can he play? Connick is rumoured to be recruiting to bolster Mildura for his coaching stint in 2007. All unoffical at this stage.
Ok can anyone tell me whats going on at the hill? how is their recriuting drive going and who have they lost if any? will they improve or are they looking downwards?
Swan Hill Losses -
L Dullard - possibly to uni.
Stephen Stroobants & Grant Ford to Pioneers
Chris Joyce - Retired
Brendan McIntyre - Coach Of Quambatook
Lachy Beasy Possibly moving to QLD
Cole Hedwards - Darwin. possibly AFL haha
Swan Hill Gains -
New Coach Callan Beasy
+ 4 unkown mates of his from melbourne league.
Possible Gains -
Mark Corrie?
Jason Kruger?
Brock Parsons?
Ryan O'Sullivan?
Deckchair
19 Oct 2006, 09:58
Rumours around mildura about an "Anthony Foott" moving into town creating some interest. Is he a current or ex Central Murray player? Can he play? Connick is rumoured to be recruiting to bolster Mildura for his coaching stint in 2007. All unoffical at this stage.
Current Swan Hill player, goes well. Is undecided re: 07, but has definately visited MIldura recently, may be a little disillusioned at the Swans???
Connick and O'Bree to coach together;)
Ed Deline
19 Oct 2006, 15:22
]Very true Ed, will be interesting to see what happens.. Because although money does dominate footy these days, and it's always about who will donate money to keep the teams on the park, all that you really need is guys who will donate time to keep teams out there!![/I]
Those sort of blokes are as scarce as hen teeth these days my friend, the majority like putting out their hand for "ching ching".
I hope Lalbert do get through this and i have no doubt that some of the best fellas you could come across will be unearthed out there this year as the cream rises to help out their club. i wish them well.
Appin Vet
19 Oct 2006, 17:32
As iron jawed as the Lalbert people are, they are going to need alot of help. Please step up little Johnny!
huddo 92
19 Oct 2006, 18:12
Those sort of blokes are as scarce as hen teeth these days my friend, the majority like putting out their hand for "ching ching".
I hope Lalbert do get through this and i have no doubt that some of the best fellas you could come across will be unearthed out there this year as the cream rises to help out their club. i wish them well.
thank ed, but i dont think lalbert is the only one hurting a bit at the moment. many other mallee clubs and a few town clubs would be feeling the pinch as sponshorship dollars dry up.
and it will take a big effort from all supporters of every club to do a bit extra for their club this year.
in lalbert's favour or saving grace, this year was the grandfinal catering, which after having it for the first time, proves what an unjust system it is, that one club gets it all and the others miss out. after all we are all in this together aren't we.???
good luck to all clubs in the coming year and god help us all if it doesn't rain some time soon.
p.s i have a new system for the finals catering which i plan to release soon, it may not be the answer but something needs to be changed, who knows it might get people thinking a bit
Appin Vet
19 Oct 2006, 22:30
this year was the grandfinal catering, which after having it for the first time, proves what an unjust system it is,
If the League was fair dinkum about saving their clubs for the generations to come, they would let the struggling clubs like Lalbert have this for a couple more years. This area needs a strong Major League so the Board needs to look carefully at this. The GRFL shares all finals on a rotation basis and takes tenders for catering. But I am sure that the Board take into account who has had the catering 'rights' in previous years and try to share it around.
As long as the wealth is shared around, it can only be bad club management that gets them in the poop. Hardly the case for the Lalbert club as it relies heavily on the crops harvest.
Ball_Magnet
22 Oct 2006, 18:45
Is it true Ash Thompson from Nyah is coaching Tolleybuc/Manangatang?
Good work Big Bro! Right on the money there! He will bring alot to that football club but most of all he might bring a game plan with him along with discipline.. I think we all found tooleytangs structure to predictable and at times laughable! If the saints can pick up a couple more quality on-ballers look out! Any other news from around the area of possible movers??
Josh Jenkins 24
22 Oct 2006, 21:15
Just in adding my two bobs worth to the 'Silly Season' movements I have seen personally and heard that the Tiggas out at Lake Road and beyond are on the prowl so to speak. Making big plays for a full forward who kicked 90 odd from the Western Boarder league as well as a ruckman much similar to our own Ryan O'Sullivan in regards to athletisicm, skill and influence on football games. Might pay to watch the Tigers movements very closely from here on in...
Big_flipper
22 Oct 2006, 22:03
Spoke to the chief out at balranald friday night and he claims that hart the ex adelaide crow will be coaching them next year, also believes he may be able to lure hawthorns jonny barker as well. must be abit of money in firewood
Sockit151
23 Oct 2006, 11:46
Unsure if Ash couldn't come to agreement with the committee or just wanted a challenge elsewhere?? But 1 thing is for certain, he and Janene will be sorely missed by the club, were very important not just on field!!
How are Nyah travelling? Is there any concerns regarding fielding sides next year? Losing Thompson is big blow. Is he just jumping off a sinking ship? The league cannot afford to lose Nyah.
GreatestGame
23 Oct 2006, 13:44
I was wondering if anyone could give me some playing information about a Robert Pesto I think that is how his name is, he is a 6'5 ruckman.
Big Brother Of Footy
23 Oct 2006, 14:38
Swan Hill Losses -
L Dullard - possibly to uni.
Stephen Stroobants & Grant Ford to Pioneers
Chris Joyce - Retired
Brendan McIntyre - Coach Of Quambatook
Lachy Beasy Possibly moving to QLD
Cole Hedwards - Darwin. possibly AFL haha
Swan Hill Gains -
New Coach Callan Beasy
+ 4 unkown mates of his from melbourne league.
Possible Gains -
Mark Corrie?
Jason Kruger?
Brock Parsons?
Ryan O'Sullivan?
Is this official? Is he 100% signed sealed delivered? There would be considerable doubt over those 'possible gains' wouldn't there?
I was wondering if anyone could give me some playing information about a Robert Pesto I think that is how his name is, he is a 6'5 ruckman.
Dunno about Robert but his old man Basil could play.
Ed Deline
23 Oct 2006, 14:56
Is this official? Is he 100% signed sealed delivered? There would be considerable doubt over those 'possible gains' wouldn't there?
After the semi final loss Corrie was quoted as saying he might have 12 months off, but thats spur of the moment stuff.
Kruger tried to leave last year and with Ash leaving and apparently Matty Curran hanging them up for good after an highly decorated career, he would probably look to move on.
As for O'sullivan and others from inside the league transferring, remember they are worth 5 points for in league transfers. Although O'Sullivan played jnrs at Swan Hill didn't he?
HappyDayz
23 Oct 2006, 15:02
I'm a bit out of the loop now that the season has finished but this is my thoughts:
Possible Gains -
Mark Corrie? Will stay
Jason Kruger? Bathroom = 2 year contract
Brock Parsons? My roughy for River Raiders coach?
Ryan O'Sullivan? Tooleytang, with recent names linked they will be a real shot.
deledio_gun
23 Oct 2006, 15:37
Parsons has been offered Raiders coaching job, Raiders will know today of his decison..
Footy Tripper
23 Oct 2006, 15:50
Parsons has been offered Raiders coaching job, Raiders will know today of his decison..
99% sure that Parso won't coach Koondrook/Barham, so they'd better keep looking
GreatestGame
23 Oct 2006, 15:51
Can anyone tell me the web address for the Central Murray FL?
sensible 1
23 Oct 2006, 15:55
www.cmfl.org
GreatestGame
23 Oct 2006, 15:59
Thanks sensible 1 for the website address.
buddy buddy
23 Oct 2006, 16:08
Thanks sensible 1 for the website address.
who has 'anti' pesto played with?
GreatestGame
23 Oct 2006, 16:16
I heard that 'anti' pesto may have played at Swan hill but I am not sure if it is exactly pesto, but I do know that he is a 6'5 ruckman.
buddy buddy
23 Oct 2006, 16:22
I heard that 'anti' pesto may have played at Swan hill but I am not sure if it is exactly pesto, but I do know that he is a 6'5 ruckman.
how long ago? the name isn't ringing any bells
Just in adding my two bobs worth to the 'Silly Season' movements I have seen personally and heard that the Tiggas out at Lake Road and beyond are on the prowl so to speak. Making big plays for a full forward who kicked 90 odd from the Western Boarder league as well as a ruckman much similar to our own Ryan O'Sullivan in regards to athletisicm, skill and influence on football games. Might pay to watch the Tigers movements very closely from here on in...
Well it has been reported in a local paper down in the WBfl region that one Ryan Larcombe (League leading goalkicker w 91 gls) from East Gambier has been reportedly been linked to the Swan hill club.....It also has him linked to a club in a minor league outside of the wbfl to.
Having seen him play alot down here he'd certainly be a good pick-up for Swan hill if he goes up that way.A change of scenery would do him good i think !
ROOTA#6
23 Oct 2006, 16:31
Well it has been reported in a local paper down in the WBfl region that one Ryan Larcombe (League leading goalkicker w 91 gls) from East Gambier has been reportedly been linked to the Swan hill club.....It also has him linked to a club in a minor league outside of the wbfl to.
Having seen him play alot down here he'd certainly be a good pick-up for Swan hill if he goes up that way.A change of scenery would do him good i think !
I reckon Woorinen is the club that he is linked to. Was talking to a couple of Tigers lads over the weekend and they mentioned a Full Forward from that league
He's a leading full forward and could play up the ground to !! interleague rep that likes it on top of the ground (in horse racing tems!)
clifton's lookalike
23 Oct 2006, 16:51
on behalf of all BigFooty lovers that read this thread I will take it upon myself to give a premature farewell to a bloke that has been extremely informative, good for a laugh as well as providing the league with some descent talk revolving around football. Yes my lookalike mr. iamfooty will be departing the area in the next month or so to further his journalism credentials and produce some more fine work for a football league i'm sure.
R.I.P. iamfooty:(
ROOTA#6
23 Oct 2006, 16:53
on behalf of all BigFooty lovers that read this thread I will take it upon myself to give a premature farewell to a bloke that has been extremely informative, good for a laugh as well as providing the league with some descent talk revolving around football. Yes my lookalike mr. iamfooty will be departing the area in the next month or so to further his journalism credentials and produce some more fine work for a football league i'm sure.
R.I.P. iamfooty:(
I am sure that they have the internet in Wagga mate. He won't be lost to us all together
GreatestGame
23 Oct 2006, 17:04
As far as I knew he was playing last year, maybe I have got his last name really wrong. How about this is there a ruckman who is 6'5 and his first name is Robert not exactly sure if he played for Swan Hill of in the same league as Swan Hill.
Looks like the Tigers are having a fair crack! As well as Larcombe, it was reported in a Western Border region paper that they have signed a bloke by the name of Sherwell form Tyrendarra. Very solid on-baller/forward type.
Also used to play for the Tigers down that way, so should be able to bring his own shorts and socks - which is handy in these tough times in the Mallee!
Looks like the Tigers are having a fair crack! As well as Larcombe, it was reported in a Western Border region paper that they have signed a bloke by the name of Sherwell form Tyrendarra. Very solid on-baller/forward type.
Also used to play for the Tigers down that way, so should be able to bring his own shorts and socks - which is handy in these tough times in the Mallee!
Kaleb Sherwell....has spent the last 2 or 3 years coaching out in the minor league outside of Portland,previously a Portland born & bred player....came thru the ranks then played in the last premiership under Brodie Atkinson.A handy type,a running back flanker utility.He might take time to settle after being out in a bush comp and then having to adjust to the CMfl !?.......He can play either end.
Food for thought- Also heard that Footy may be back to Birchip with Cliffy & Lance Brown
99% sure that Parso won't coach Koondrook/Barham, so they'd better keep looking
Is there any chance he may take on the job at the Doggies, or have they got other in the pipeline
Footy Tripper
24 Oct 2006, 10:03
Is there any chance he may take on the job at the Doggies, or have they got other in the pipeline
Haven't heard a great deal about the doggies but I think Parso would have to be a chance there if he wants to continue coaching
Guus Hiddink
24 Oct 2006, 16:18
On your first question Ed, i understand that the roos have enough coin to go again, but i just can't believe some of the names that were mentioned. On the Lalbert thing, we will stay afloat. It will show who is fair dinkum and who isn't. It is going to be a hard call for some blokes though who havew already planned to move away. Wasn't a bad story
What a load of **** this is.
Keep making excuses for yourself.
ROOTA#6
24 Oct 2006, 17:22
Explain yourself Guus. I can't see what you are getting at. Who is making excuses and what are they?
Alley cat
24 Oct 2006, 18:55
Fairly valid reasons from what i've read.
ROOTA#6
25 Oct 2006, 21:56
Where are you Guus, back up your statements
My Name Is Earl
25 Oct 2006, 23:48
How are Nyah travelling? Is there any concerns regarding fielding sides next year? Losing Thompson is big blow. Is he just jumping off a sinking ship? The league cannot afford to lose Nyah.
Big problems at Nyah. Ash isn't jumping ship, only going to a club that offered him a coaching job, considering Nyah never offered him the coaching position there. Matt Curran will probably play on considering he needs only a handfull of games to get to 300. Kregar signed a two year deal so he ain't going nowhere. Rumour has it heads will roll at the AGM next monday night at Nyah, over Ash never being offered the coaching job. A lot of un-happy people.
Guus Hiddink
26 Oct 2006, 09:31
Where are you Guus, back up your statements
Not a problem Roota. My sources told me you weren't one of those guys that stood up this year, or I quote "who are fair dinkum." SO please don't go stating crazy notions like this about others in your club when you don't have a go and be fair dinkum yourself. I just thought it was a bit hypocritical.
Any problems with that.
Oh and your excuse is of course going to Bendigo. Enjoy the trip.
ROOTA#6
26 Oct 2006, 12:11
Not a problem Roota. My sources told me you weren't one of those guys that stood up this year, or I quote "who are fair dinkum." SO please don't go stating crazy notions like this about others in your club when you don't have a go and be fair dinkum yourself. I just thought it was a bit hypocritical.
Any problems with that.
Oh and your excuse is of course going to Bendigo. Enjoy the trip.
I didn't have a choice in what went on this year. It was made quite clear to me early in the piece that the coach was not a fan of mine. I have put in many years at Lalbert and put up with a lot of crap over those years. I have been there through all the tough times, so to say that id on't stand up when times are tough is bull****. It has been nothing but tough n my time at Lalbert
Who is a fan of the coach? Thats my question! :thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
26 Oct 2006, 12:46
Who is a fan of the coach? Thats my question! :thumbsu:
There weren't too many thats for sure, but that can be said of many clubs. But when a coach gets set against a particular bloke or a few blokes and won't play them no matter what thats when it gets tough. I have had a coach in the past that i couldn't stand but when it came to picking teams he would pick his best team no matter what.
Trent the flight Steward
26 Oct 2006, 13:11
have to agree with roota there he has put in many years of service for the eagles when they were the only team kerang could beat, i think he should be cut some slack
There weren't too many thats for sure, but that can be said of many clubs. But when a coach gets set against a particular bloke or a few blokes and won't play them no matter what thats when it gets tough. I have had a coach in the past that i couldn't stand but when it came to picking teams he would pick his best team no matter what.
Mate I know what he is like-an egomaniac:thumbsu:
ROOTA#6
26 Oct 2006, 13:48
Mate I know what he is like-an egomaniac:thumbsu:
Yep spot on. IT all became about Rob Masters, not the Lalbert Footy Club
GeeBruz
26 Oct 2006, 14:10
how is pretty boy $luke gane$ gunna travel for $balranald$ this season? I think hes signed with every team that is based near the murray river in the past 2 years. Wont be able to hide on a hbf in this league fellas, wot u reckon
Was just going over the year and found this quite interesting Harry! Have watched the young fella over the season and thought he was a very handy pick up. Not a flashy or silky player but gets the job done and quite well at that! Who are the clubs that you think he has signed with? Obviously his towled you up for you to say he'd hide in this league! Played well in the GF till he done his knee infact played well all year.
does bobby sutor still play in the central murray league. Hopetoun recruited him last year and i think he only played 2 years. how do Simon Roberts, Sam Martin and Scotty Mcdonald go or go when they played in this league? Simon was handy when he played for hopetoun, but the rest werent too much use to the club
Bobby Rivers
27 Oct 2006, 08:00
Can anyone confirm or deny reports of Bogas returning players (Pye, Ryan, Coloe, Colville) all pulling the pin and how this will effect Filos choice of club. Are Balranald now the leader for his signature.
Ryan,Coloe,Colville all staying at Birchip. Wes Pye still deciding, more than likley staying putt in the square.
Sockit151
27 Oct 2006, 12:06
Anyone got info on interleague?
Word has it that the round robin format will now only be every two years, with a traditional one-off four quarter game on the other years.
Who does CMFL play next year and is it a home or away game??
ROOTA#6
27 Oct 2006, 12:08
Anyone got info on interleague?
Word has it that the round robin format will now only be every two years, with a traditional one-off four quarter game on the other years.
Who does CMFL play next year and is it a home or away game??
I think Masters is coaching the side!!!
Sockit151
27 Oct 2006, 12:16
I think Masters is coaching the side!!!
There's another side you should be a walk up start for, but can't get into?? :p
ROOTA#6
27 Oct 2006, 12:23
I am starting to get a bit confused with all this talk of Filo and his possible new club. Why wouldn't he stay at Kerang and play out his career??? Is there something we don't know
i have heard that Filo is not going back to allow bluey the space he needs to develop his coaching style. Has there been a fall out between these two?? i also heard that there hasn't been much contact between them?
ROOTA#6
27 Oct 2006, 13:13
i have heard that Filo is not going back to allow bluey the space he needs to develop his coaching style. Has there been a fall out between these two?? i also heard that there hasn't been much contact between them?
Don't know about a possible fall out, but i would think that Bluey should remember that Shawn has done a heap for him since he arrived in Kerang
patty O'furnicha
27 Oct 2006, 13:14
Anyone heard of a bloke by the name of Demorton or something, supposed to be 6"5 and from up swan hill way.
Any info on football ability and as a bloke?
Cheers
Caught with the ball
27 Oct 2006, 13:23
Pretty simple answer Roota Filo wants to coach!
Appin Vet
27 Oct 2006, 14:08
I think you would find that Bluey and Shawn are mates. Any fallout would be news to these guys. I figure that Shawn is going to let Bluey coach his way and doesn't want to step on any toes there. Do not be suprised if Shawn finishes his career at Riverside Park. Still a valued on-field leader.
(as evidenced by other clubs still chasing him)
Guus Hiddink
27 Oct 2006, 14:11
Roota, stop putting all the blame on one person, from what I have heard you weren't up to it last year. And when I watched you play reserves, you hardly got a touch.
If I was Masters, I wouldn't have played you either. Not good enough.
Guus Hiddink
27 Oct 2006, 14:13
I think you would find that Bluey and Shawn are mates. Any fallout would be news to these guys. I figure that Shawn is going to let Bluey coach his way and doesn't want to step on any toes there. Do not be suprised if Shawn finishes his career at Riverside Park. Still a valued on-field leader.
Completely agree with you there.
I think he will be still playing footy for a fair while yet, so don't write him off yet either as a player, can still perform on big occasions.
Has he signed anywhere??/
ROOTA#6
27 Oct 2006, 14:39
Roota, stop putting all the blame on one person, from what I have heard you weren't up to it last year. And when I watched you play reserves, you hardly got a touch.
I will take some of blame. I wasn't fit enough, but this was due to many factors, illness during pre season being the main one. i know i performed well in all but one of the senior games i played but this counted for nothing. I am looking forward to next year and proving you and Masters wrong Guus
ablett19
27 Oct 2006, 16:11
Think you will find that Shawn Filo will be coaching Boort next year. Apparently they are announcing it on Monday.
Bingle_21
27 Oct 2006, 16:42
Sounds like what you 'heard' was from the wrong people and that you haven't talked to roota himself, as he has often said that his fitness ealry was some of the reason why he wasnt playing 1s. It was more of what happened once he got back in the side that was where their problems started between them
Caught with the ball
27 Oct 2006, 17:20
Think you will find that Shawn Filo will be coaching Boort next year. Apparently they are announcing it on Monday.
You sound pretty confident that this is a done deal. How do you know this is true?
the buzz
27 Oct 2006, 20:08
Does Boort have enough cash to get Filo ahead of Balranald?
Sad to lose "The Great MCCarthy" as it seems he has the Boga job lined up. He will do a great deal for bar sales.
TOBY RAND
28 Oct 2006, 16:29
So Appin Vet, when will it be announced that the great man will remain at Kerang??? Ed??
TOBY RAND
28 Oct 2006, 16:30
Does Boort have enough cash to get Filo ahead of Balranald?
Sad to lose "The Great MCCarthy" as it seems he has the Boga job lined up. He will do a great deal for bar sales.
Have heard that Boort have thrown the golden $$ to keep the Great Macca there...too valueable to loose..
Trent the flight Steward
28 Oct 2006, 19:26
Sounds like what you 'heard' was from the wrong people and that you haven't talked to roota himself, as he has often said that his fitness ealry was some of the reason why he wasnt playing 1s. It was more of what happened once he got back in the side that was where their problems started between them
From what i saw kerang would be silly not to keep filo as he is like a bottle of red getting better with age, from what i saw he was the engine room of kerang. Who will now win the hard balls in the packs to give off to coates, robertson milward and my boy morrison, if he leaves will other players leave such as the birchmonger and snow thamm, from what i saw on Gf day forsyth looked as Jack Dyer would say a good ordinary footballer.
Looking forward to keeping with rootas movements in the post season from his training regime, diet and talks with progressive clubs in the hope he can get back into the form that saw him debut in a finals bound senior side
Appin Vet
29 Oct 2006, 00:17
I didn't say that he was staying at Kerang.Would be splendid if he did. Quality person as well as a footballer. Who ever ends up with his signature will benefit greatly. Snow Thamm to leave Kerang would be as believable as Hell freezing over! The family is part of the furniture.
I will take some of blame. I wasn't fit enough, but this was due to many factors, illness during pre season being the main one. i know i performed well in all but one of the senior games i played but this counted for nothing. I am looking forward to next year and proving you and Masters wrong Guus
Is it just me or does no one actually give a s#%t why 'Roota' did or didn't get a game for Lalbert this year? I can't tell whether it's sour grapes or a case of getting your expectations mixed up with your abilities, but it's gone on long enough.
Honestly I don't know if you are good enough or 'fit enough' (and I really don't care) but if I was coaching Lalbert I wouldn't play you either Roota, cos it appears all you are good at is talking about yourself - as you have done on here all year. Get over it and get on with some real footy news.
woof woof
29 Oct 2006, 12:21
Is it just me or does no one actually give a s#%t why 'Roota' did or didn't get a game for Lalbert this year? I can't tell whether it's sour grapes or a case of getting your expectations mixed up with your abilities, but it's gone on long enough.
Honestly I don't know if you are good enough or 'fit enough' (and I really don't care) but if I was coaching Lalbert I wouldn't play you either Roota, cos it appears all you are good at is talking about yourself - as you have done on here all year. Get over it and get on with some real footy news.
why are you adding fuel to the fire then john? you are just adding fuel to the fire and baiting ROOTA up. let sleeping dogs lie.
huddo 92
29 Oct 2006, 16:30
Hello all
Please find attached a letter to the league concerning the finals tendering system. This letter was written by myself but has since been passed by our committee to be sent to the league and other clubs, prior to Lalbert winning the Grand final tender.
Since winning the Grand Final tender it is more obvious how unfair the process is to the other eleven clubs. This may not be the answer but something does need to be changed to make it more equitable for everyone concerned.
Thanks
Darren Scott
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN
I have been the President of Lalbert Football Club and a member of the Committee for a number of years. In this time I have found the tendering process for the finals to be unjust and unfair to some clubs. I believe it is unfair to expect clubs to take a gamble on tendering, and think it is time for the League and Clubs to consider a different approach.
The League should run the finals with clubs providing the man power to run the Canteen, Bar etc. Depending on the location of the game, this would decide on which club would be required on the day.
For example:
If the game was at Lake Boga you would ask Lake Boga, Lalbert and Kerang. If the game was at Tooleybuc ground then Tooleybuc/Manangatang, Balranald and Nyah would provide people and for the Grand Final all clubs would be required to participate.
At the end of the final series the proceeds would be divided equally thirteen ways between ALL Clubs and the League. If a particular Club refuses to participate then the monies will be divided by the number of clubs willing to provide the man power.
Not only do I think this would be a fairer system, it would also be a good exercise to bring Clubs closer together.
This was my own personal view, however Lalbert Football Club General Committee passed this letter at a meeting to be sent to the league and other clubs.
For far too long, the League seems to be split by the ‘haves’ and the ‘have nots’.
THIS NEEDS TO STOP.
Yours sincerely,
Darren Scott
Lalbert Football Club
i heard swan hill has made luke damon from the mornington league an offer he can't refuse.
he can play, on baller goal kicker was on essendons list not long ago i think.
Three reasons Filo may leave Kerang: (1) The above mentioned space to allow Bluey the job without influence. (2) Despite he's earlier thoughts Filo is now desperate to coach. (3) insurmountable remuneration.
If Filo wanted to stay Bluey would be a fool to not want it. He could still coach how he wanted and run things how he wanted but no coach has all the answers especially an inexperienced one. Filo would provide great additional support without interfering.
From what I've heard Filo wants to coach but would not necessarily a senior side. Is it not feasible for him to coach an underage side or the reserves at Kerang while still playing?
Money is always a big influencer in country footy but Filo is loyal and Kerang is financially viable enough to support his needs.
Regardless of all the rumors and recent conjecture I don't think there is any reason Filo needs to leave Kerang. They have been great to him and him to them over the years, why end things at this stage of his career. Also Bluey and Filo remain friends and will so long past football.
the gloved 1
29 Oct 2006, 22:14
i heard swan hill has made luke damon from the mornington league an offer he can't refuse.
he can play, on baller goal kicker was on essendons list not long ago i think.
might be because callan beasy is coaching swan hill and may have spent some time playing with him. heard the swans are going all out $$$ wise to get a flag
TOBY RAND
29 Oct 2006, 22:33
Three reasons Filo may leave Kerang: (1) The above mentioned space to allow Bluey the job without influence. (2) Despite he's earlier thoughts Filo is now desperate to coach. (3) insurmountable remuneration.
If Filo wanted to stay Bluey would be a fool to not want it. He could still coach how he wanted and run things how he wanted but no coach has all the answers especially an inexperienced one. Filo would provide great additional support without interfering.
From what I've heard Filo wants to coach but would not necessarily a senior side. Is it not feasible for him to coach an underage side or the reserves at Kerang while still playing?
Money is always a big influencer in country footy but Filo is loyal and Kerang is financially viable enough to support his needs.
Regardless of all the rumors and recent conjecture I don't think there is any reason Filo needs to leave Kerang. They have been great to him and him to them over the years, why end things at this stage of his career. Also Bluey and Filo remain friends and will so long past football.
1.correct
2. incorrect...has been given too many offers not to consider, desperate the operative word here..clubs desperate for HIS services.
3. Doesn't care too much about remuneration..cares for getting the best out of his cattle and the ultimate VICTORY.
What have Kerang done to ensure he doesn't go?
Heard from a source closely involved with T/M that Lance Brown is very close to signing up with the saints. Would be a huge inclusion to their midfield alongside Ash Thompson and Ryan O'Sullivan for next year.
Ed Deline
30 Oct 2006, 10:10
From what i saw kerang would be silly not to keep filo as he is like a bottle of red getting better with age, from what i saw he was the engine room of kerang. Who will now win the hard balls in the packs to give off to coates, robertson milward and my boy morrison, if he leaves will other players leave such as the birchmonger and snow thamm, from what i saw on Gf day forsyth looked as Jack Dyer would say a good ordinary footballer.
Looking forward to keeping with rootas movements in the post season from his training regime, diet and talks with progressive clubs in the hope he can get back into the form that saw him debut in a finals bound senior side
Trent, are you saying that Coates, Milward, Robertson and even young Morrison aren't hard. Filo rules that category but those guys, especially the first two would be right up there in any league for head over it. You seem to enjoy the odd jab at Kerang. The reason for this is......? Enlighten us all.
Trent the flight Steward
30 Oct 2006, 11:05
Trent, are you saying that Coates, Milward, Robertson and even young Morrison aren't hard. Filo rules that category but those guys, especially the first two would be right up there in any league for head over it. You seem to enjoy the odd jab at Kerang. The reason for this is......? Enlighten us all.
Some may call me a bitter ex player, howeverI didnt say they did not put their head over the ball, however they are better players in space then in tight congestion such as filo who is the master
Ed Deline
30 Oct 2006, 12:05
Some may call me a bitter ex player, howeverI didnt say they did not put their head over the ball, however they are better players in space then in tight congestion such as filo who is the master
Just needed clarification Trent, thanks. Now why, would some call you bitter? Rootos has all his dirty laundry aired on here, so join him in a cleansing of the sole Trent, get it out there, release the tension.....
ROOTA#6
30 Oct 2006, 12:12
Fair enough mate, lets get on with other business. I can report that Shaun Warburton has been elected President of the Lalbert Football Club. Could well be the Eddie McGuire of country footy. It is great to see a younger fella step up and take on a big job like this. Goodluck Warbo!!!
Guus Hiddink
30 Oct 2006, 12:13
Just heard that Jason Kerr is coaching Cobram boys. He will be a bit of a whole in the Worra side.
Ed Deline
30 Oct 2006, 12:19
Just heard that Jason Kerr is coaching Cobram boys. He will be a bit of a whole in the Worra side.
Story is that the woora job was being announced last night or some candidates would find out if they were still in the mix, any news on it?
Guus Hiddink
30 Oct 2006, 12:48
Story is that the woora job was being announced last night or some candidates would find out if they were still in the mix, any news on it?[/quote]
No news yet. I heard that they are trying to recruit up some pretty valuable players. Any of the Quamby boys coming back?? Good on chopper for doing the job, I think he will do well.
ROOTA#6
30 Oct 2006, 13:26
Story is that the woora job was being announced last night or some candidates would find out if they were still in the mix, any news on it?
No news yet. I heard that they are trying to recruit up some pretty valuable players. Any of the Quamby boys coming back?? Good on chopper for doing the job, I think he will do well.[/quote]
Spoke to the Woora/Quamby boys on Saturday and they are all stay over with the Saints. It is good to see Chopper taking on the challenge
MasterOfRoc
30 Oct 2006, 15:26
You sound pretty confident that this is a done deal. How do you know this is true?
lets say hes pretty closely associated with the club :)
Caught with the ball
30 Oct 2006, 16:32
lets say hes pretty closely associated with the club :)
Carn't Ablett answer his own questions? And what time do u expect to post today that he is coaching Boort?
Trent the flight Steward
31 Oct 2006, 11:14
Fair enough mate, lets get on with other business. I can report that Shaun Warburton has been elected President of the Lalbert Football Club. Could well be the Eddie McGuire of country footy. It is great to see a younger fella step up and take on a big job like this. Goodluck Warbo!!!
is this the Wrbo that gave away 3 consecutive 50 metre penaltys in an elimination final in the 3rds a few years ago
ROOTA#6
31 Oct 2006, 11:16
is this the Wrbo that gave away 3 consecutive 50 metre penaltys in an elimination final in the 3rds a few years ago
It sure is Trent, jesus you have a good memory. Lalbert v Kerang matches must be imprinted on your memory
ablett19
31 Oct 2006, 13:48
Dean Howard (ex Melbourne Rookie) signed with Cohuna Kangas. Hasn't played football in a couple of years due to being overseas but is a fast cat and will tear up some CMFL defences this year!!!
Guus Hiddink
31 Oct 2006, 13:58
Dean Howard (ex Melbourne Rookie) signed with Cohuna Kangas. Hasn't played football in a couple of years due to being overseas but is a fast cat and will tear up some CMFL defences this year!!!
Wasn't he originally from there?? I could be mistaken, or does he have relatives from that area, (like all of them do.) Just joking.