View Full Version : Central Murray FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82

ablett19
31 Oct 2006, 14:06
Wasn't he originally from there?? I could be mistaken, or does he have relatives from that area, (like all of them do.) Just joking.

Yes played all his junior footy at Union before the amalgamation of the 2 Cohuna sides. He won Union's last senior best and fairest in 1996 at the ripe old age of 16.

Guus Hiddink
31 Oct 2006, 14:10
Yes played all his junior footy at Union before the amalgamation of the 2 Cohuna sides. He won Union's last senior best and fairest in 1996 at the ripe old age of 16.

Yep, that's the one. A good solid footballer. But he can't do it all himself. Anyone else of worth recruited yet???

ablett19
31 Oct 2006, 14:23
Not to my knowledge however I am not around the club anymore so there could be a couple. I am unsure.

Bobby Rivers
31 Oct 2006, 15:08
Dean Howard (ex Melbourne Rookie) signed with Cohuna Kangas. Hasn't played football in a couple of years due to being overseas but is a fast cat and will tear up some CMFL defences this year!!!

Lets not get too excited down there. Dean was handy at best and would be an aquisition but is not going to tear up some CMFL defences.

Go Cohuna
31 Oct 2006, 20:12
Not to my knowledge however I am not around the club anymore so there could be a couple. I am unsure.
What about you Ablett?

clifton's lookalike
31 Oct 2006, 21:31
Dean Howard (ex Melbourne Rookie) signed with Cohuna Kangas. Hasn't played football in a couple of years due to being overseas but is a fast cat and will tear up some CMFL defences this year!!!

were you and your sister on earlier under the alias roogirl? didn't he head down bendigo way and play at sandhurts for a while?

Ed Deline
1 Nov 2006, 07:59
Lance Brown will play at T/M in 2007.

TOBY RAND
1 Nov 2006, 08:11
don't know about his on field antic's however from what i know his off field's with very YOUNG chicks were infamous........

TOBY RAND
1 Nov 2006, 08:12
Are you sure about this ED? Are you sources accurate mate?

Sockit151
1 Nov 2006, 08:16
Anyone wish to argue that money hasn't completely screwed country footy??

FOOZ
1 Nov 2006, 09:14

i can confirm that he is. can't get any more accurate sources than mine.

Ed Deline
1 Nov 2006, 10:07

Delana and Lukas Rossi told me Tob's.

Ed Deline
1 Nov 2006, 10:10

Agree totally, in these parts anyway. Every cat wants to put his hand out for personal benefit. Team aspect and loyalty are a thing of the past for the majority sadly Sockage.

KokodaMidget
1 Nov 2006, 10:15
Wouldn't completely blame players for taking the coin, ED. For every overpaid player, there are probablt plenty of underpaid, loyal blokes. Its the clubs who pay the big coin, looking for instant, mostly unrealistic success, thats the problem.

ablett19
1 Nov 2006, 10:26
What about you Ablett?

Afraid not mate. Very doubtful

Bingle_21
1 Nov 2006, 11:09
Wouldn't completely blame players for taking the coin, ED. For every overpaid player, there are probablt plenty of underpaid, loyal blokes. Its the clubs who pay the big coin, looking for instant, mostly unrealistic success, thats the problem.

Agreed Kokoda, there would be a few underpaid players around, especially some playing for their home club who would receive below market value, while big recruits can often come in on more $ and fail to deliver. Although saying that, Lance's move is still a bit of a shock. Good luck to him though.

FAKE_HAIR
1 Nov 2006, 11:35

Agree totally, in these parts anyway. Every cat wants to put his hand out for personal benefit. Team aspect and loyalty are a thing of the past for the majority sadly Sockage.

Tell me your not getting paid Ed?

Ed Deline
1 Nov 2006, 12:10
[quote=Ed Deline]

Tell me your not getting paid Ed?

I am pretend wig, so i won't lie, but i played back home and interstate for a number of years where noone was payed and we had great success because we were all on an even plain and trusted one another, so it is a shame what this great game has come to my 'hair in a can' using friend.

KokodaMidget
1 Nov 2006, 12:31
[quote=FAKE_HAIR]

I am pretend wig, so i won't lie, but i played back home and interstate for a number of years where noone was payed and we had great success because we were all on an even plain and trusted one another, so it is a shame what this great game has come to my 'hair in a can' using friend.

Surely you jest Ed. No-one was ever paid....where did you play, Grigygalgona 3rds....or was your head in the sand. Everywhere i have played, there have been players getting paid, some more than others, shock horror. To suggest that you played somewhere where nobody was paid, that you played for the love & trust of each other, is ridiculous.

TOBY RAND
1 Nov 2006, 14:16
[quote=FAKE_HAIR]

only towels and sock ED??

Ed Deline
1 Nov 2006, 14:42
[quote=Ed Deline]

Surely you jest Ed. No-one was ever paid....where did you play, Grigygalgona 3rds....or was your head in the sand. Everywhere i have played, there have been players getting paid, some more than others, shock horror. To suggest that you played somewhere where nobody was paid, that you played for the love & trust of each other, is ridiculous.

Correction little man, of course some guys were getting coin, but apart from the the coach, and A/C our highest payed player was on 250, while the rest of us were on base which payed for a family pizza at the end of the year when tax was removed so generously.

Only a pipe dream, but if every club in country vitoria was on a level playing field and the salary cap did work you would have guys playing footy because they actually cared about who they played for and with, instead of just turning up to get their envelope... In a perfect world we would only get socks and towels Toby like you did back in the day.

Appin Vet
1 Nov 2006, 14:45
I thought the club socks award sucked arse. The Appin towel was the bees knees.

iron bootz
1 Nov 2006, 20:05
how good will T/M:eek: b nxt yr few good playerz there and word no1 is leaving

FROGDOG17
1 Nov 2006, 22:30
[quote=Ed Deline]

Myself and Luke O'toole played this year in Kalgoorlie and no one gets paid at this club. Good incentives but no week to week matchies. The other clubs around here do but Railways has'nt for years apparently. I thought it was awsome, no superstars, just blokes playing to achive the same goal, and we did! Also helps when they have all worked in the mines for years and they take home s h i tloads in their sky rockets anyway. Oh me and Luke got a free shirt but that don't count!

Guus Hiddink
2 Nov 2006, 10:39
[quote=KokodaMidget]
Myself and Luke O'toole played this year in Kalgoorlie and no one gets paid at this club. Good incentives but no week to week matchies. The other clubs around here do but Railways has'nt for years apparently. I thought it was awsome, no superstars, just blokes playing to achive the same goal, and we did! Also helps when they have all worked in the mines for years and they take home s h i tloads in their sky rockets anyway. Oh me and Luke got a free shirt but that don't count!

Don't forget about where that joint is though. Not much around there. What is the brand of football like over there??

ablett
2 Nov 2006, 12:15
balranald have offered filo up $90 gees in a package deal to coach , probably for a few though.

also if wes pye shifts back to boga and decides to still travel back to play at goldensquare each week dont be suprised if brock parsons is in the passenger seat.

My Name Is Earl
2 Nov 2006, 12:18
how good will T/M:eek: b nxt yr few good playerz there and word no1 is leaving

It isn't the players fault for getting paid heaps, the clubs are the ones ruining football by throwing truckloads of $$$ at the players. And what ever happened to the good old days when clubs didn't poach players from other clubs within their league. Using Tooleytang as an example, they seem to only recruit from within this league. Ryan and Luke O'Sullivan, Darcy Ryan, Ash Connick (now moved on), Garth Russell, Jack O'Rourke, Caile Ditterich, now Ash Thompson and Lance Brown, did I leave anyone out? I can't recall to many recruits from outside the CMFL besides Lowerson and Spinks. If we wan't a stronger CMFL, shouldn't we be looking at bringing in good players from outside this league, rather than stealing from within? Tooleytang aren't the only club doing it either, but they are the worst offenders.

HappyDayz
2 Nov 2006, 12:43
It isn't the players fault for getting paid heaps, the clubs are the ones ruining football by throwing truckloads of $$$ at the players. And what ever happened to the good old days when clubs didn't poach players from other clubs within their league. Using Tooleytang as an example, they seem to only recruit from within this league. Ryan and Luke O'Sullivan, Darcy Ryan, Ash Connick (now moved on), Garth Russell, Jack O'Rourke, Caile Ditterich, now Ash Thompson and Lance Brown, did I leave anyone out? I can't recall to many recruits from outside the CMFL besides Lowerson and Spinks. If we wan't a stronger CMFL, shouldn't we be looking at bringing in good players from outside this league, rather than stealing from within? Tooleytang aren't the only club doing it either, but they are the worst offenders.

Most of those names were looking to move on for one reason or another, i say it was great work by the T/M committee to target and recruit them.:thumbsu: Also half of those names have coached the club in their time their, be it 1st or 3rds, they may pay a little more but they also value other things which those players bring to the club.Remember there is a 5 point rating for all those players so if you can fit them in your cap why not?

Footy Tripper
2 Nov 2006, 13:14
Most of those names were looking to move on for one reason or another, i say it was great work by the T/M committee to target and recruit them.:thumbsu: Also half of those names have coached the club in their time their, be it 1st or 3rds, they may pay a little more but they also value other things which those players bring to the club.Remember there is a 5 point rating for all those players so if you can fit them in your cap why not?

Very valid point Happydayz. The new point system was designed to encourage clubs to get the players that played juniors there to come back, in other words locals. If TooleyTang can fit these players in and be less than there allocated points per game then good on them.

TOBY RAND
2 Nov 2006, 13:19
balranald have offered filo up $90 gees in a package deal to coach , probably for a few though.

also if wes pye shifts back to boga and decides to still travel back to play at goldensquare each week dont be suprised if brock parsons is in the passenger seat.
filo not a $$ man mate...and that is a ridiculous amount if it is true (which it isn't by the way)...realistically if you were going to pay that amount of money wouldn't you be better off purchasing an EX AFL player.

FOOZ
2 Nov 2006, 13:38
THE JOBS FU*CKED!!!!!

ROOTA#6
2 Nov 2006, 13:41
THE JOBS FU*CKED!!!!!

I agree FOOZ, footy is just about dead in this area

TOBY RAND
2 Nov 2006, 13:42
great point Earl..
there is a lying problem ahead..the DROUGHT.
although the effects really haven't hit it will be next year when the farmers haven't sewn their crop this year. Next year when they should be reaping the rewards they won't, and they won't be able to put in the next crop because they won't be able to afford to. Let's use Lalbert as the very first example. Unfortunately it is going to happen and the $$ that are being thrown around are definately not going to be there..it is fact...ALL clubs will be affected..it is very sad.
i just can't imagine players playing for towels, socks or just be thankful to win the pewter mug to drink free beer all night...your thoughts??

ROOTA#6
2 Nov 2006, 13:48
great point Earl..
there is a lying problem ahead..the DROUGHT.
although the effects really haven't hit it will be next year when the farmers haven't sewn their crop this year. Next year when they should be reaping the rewards they won't, and they won't be able to put in the next crop because they won't be able to afford to. Let's use Lalbert as the very first example. Unfortunately it is going to happen and the $$ that are being thrown around are definately not going to be there..it is fact...ALL clubs will be affected..it is very sad.
i just can't imagine players playing for towels, socks or just be thankful to win the pewter mug to drink free beer all night...your thoughts??

Lalbert is a perfect example. Th drought has almost already ruined us, to the point where we can't even afford to keep our home grown starts, such as Lance, let alone offer enough dollars to bring any in from outside

Caught with the ball
2 Nov 2006, 13:49

Quote: Think you'll find Shaun Filo will be coaching Boort next year. They are announcing it on Monday. Ablett19, tell me if i'm wrong but wasn't this your last big tip only a few pages back. Mate you are losing credibility very fast on this thread. That along with what you have written above is not correct (all of it). Do you make up these rumours yourself?

ablett
2 Nov 2006, 13:55
ablett and ablett19 are two different identities so look again and apologise and my post has some warrant to it dont you worry about that.

Guus Hiddink
2 Nov 2006, 14:54

What a load of s h i t. The footy this year coming will only get stronger. From all reports some sides have picked up some fairly good recruits, thus making their sides stronger. Some sides have lost players, making their side weaker.
It always happens, so don't talk rubbish.

Caught with the ball
2 Nov 2006, 15:04
ablett and ablett19 are two different identities so look again and apologise and my post has some warrant to it dont you worry about that.

My apologies to you Ablett. What you say about filo maybe but Parsons to square with Pye, No chance at all.

super snooper
2 Nov 2006, 15:06
The players and clubs are equally at fault. Some players shop themselves around looking for money, some are happy to play at a club they like for less. Some clubs only pay realistic amounts to the right players, some clubs pay ridiculous amounts. All in all, from my experience, the situation is not as bad as it is portrayed on this thread (except for maybe a couple of clubs).

Sockit151
2 Nov 2006, 15:16
What a load of s h i t. The footy this year coming will only get stronger. From all reports some sides have picked up some fairly good recruits, thus making their sides stronger. Some sides have lost players, making their side weaker.
It always happens, so don't talk rubbish.

:thumbsd: What total crap.. As long as clubs are combining the best talent from within the league at the expense of their rivals, the comp is not getting stronger.. Just one or two teams (which may alternate over different years) kicking the crap out of most the others (usually starting from about the 5th or 6th team down).

My Name Is Earl
2 Nov 2006, 16:01
The players and clubs are equally at fault. Some players shop themselves around looking for money, some are happy to play at a club they like for less. Some clubs only pay realistic amounts to the right players, some clubs pay ridiculous amounts. All in all, from my experience, the situation is not as bad as it is portrayed on this thread (except for maybe a couple of clubs).

The point that I was trying to make was not that players ask for too much money or clubs pay to much or not enough, it's that clubs recruiting from within this comp doesn't make the comp stronger, it only makes the weaker clubs weaker. Why should the stronger clubs be able to feed off the carcusses of the weaker ones? This new 5 point rule isn't a strong enough deterrant. Instead of 5 point players losing a point after every season they are at that club, why not make it that they lose a point after every two years at their new club. It would make it harder for clubs to go and recruit up at the end of every season and take players from within their own league.

super snooper
2 Nov 2006, 16:14
The point that I was trying to make was not that players ask for too much money or clubs pay to much or not enough, it's that clubs recruiting from within this comp doesn't make the comp stronger, it only makes the weaker clubs weaker. Why should the stronger clubs be able to feed off the carcusses of the weaker ones? This new 5 point rule isn't a strong enough deterrant. Instead of 5 point players losing a point after every season they are at that club, why not make it that they lose a point after every two years at their new club. It would make it harder for clubs to go and recruit up at the end of every season and take players from within their own league.
how about players from a bottom team (say from 8th down) are worth 6 (or more) points to top teams (say top 5). just thinking out loud... might not work... but would deter top teams feeding from bottom teams...

My Name Is Earl
2 Nov 2006, 16:41
how about players from a bottom team (say from 8th down) are worth 6 (or more) points to top teams (say top 5). just thinking out loud... might not work... but would deter top teams feeding from bottom teams...

Don't think it matters where the teams are on the ladder, no club should recruit from clubs within their own league. The points system is in theory a good idea, but maybe just needs to be adjusted to stop clubs from donig this.

The_KNIFE
2 Nov 2006, 17:08
Don't think it matters where the teams are on the ladder, no club should recruit from clubs within their own league. The points system is in theory a good idea, but maybe just needs to be adjusted to stop clubs from donig this.

Why dont you blokes go and live in a socialist society or join a Union .You can whinge all you like but nothing is ever equal.The strong get stronger because they do something about the hand their dealt and the weak get weaker because they whinge and look for excuses

The_KNIFE
2 Nov 2006, 17:11

Poor choice of coach and recruiting doesnt help and at the same time burn local players.

Rosco5
2 Nov 2006, 20:50

Just reading thru your posts guys and thought I needed to have a say - the clubs that recruit from within the league generally offer substantially more money (generally to home grown talent from a rival club) and thus the player goes. This does not make your league stronger (or any league because it happens all over country Victoria), just recycles the players from within and helps these players egos for when they next want a clearance and put another 25-50% on their heads per game or go out to a District League for more kanga.
Clubs like that are financially well-off and morally bankrupt (as are some of the players). Even the young blokes who go from playing one year of major league footy, get poached by a District League club for $200-$300, play one year and then put that and more on their heads to come back and play major league ?? That is what is ruining country footy. The footy player ego and the 'instant success required' club.
Forever the wealthy have fed off the less wealthy, this isn't China, but we as an entire VCFL need to have stronger guidelines for player transfers, points systems and accountability of finances. The drought will put an end to some of that if it continues, as will petrol prices and other considerations, whether players be paying from their own pockets or via the club.
Think about this - most of you have a club you play with or follow, get your best side of the past 5 years and then match that up against the side that won last year's flag - I would suggest even the lower clubs would give Balranald (who one may suggest bought the 2006 flag) a good run for their money. Player retention, progression of juniors and making it a place where the kids want to be will keep them there, success will come as a natural progression, maybe not today but in 2-3-4 years. Most clubs (and the people on the committee and behind the scenes) dont like that long term thought, they want it today. As for the Y Generation who want it all yesterday, they cannot think or see long term and that is why many of the younger players get sucked into going to other clubs for perceived success and more, much more, money.
Anyway, those are my thoughts, time for bed. :eek:

The Knife is right, the coach needs to be the right person who has some vision also, not a bloke who wants instant success for his resume, coaches need to be put in place for 2-3 years so they can grow and grow with the team. I'd like to see that happen, NOT BLOODY LIKELY THOUGH !!

the buzz
3 Nov 2006, 04:19
Quote: Think you'll find Shaun Filo will be coaching Boort next year. They are announcing it on Monday. Ablett19, tell me if i'm wrong but wasn't this your last big tip only a few pages back. Mate you are losing credibility very fast on this thread. That along with what you have written above is not correct (all of it). Do you make up these rumours yourself?

Ablett19 just had his Mondays mixed up and the money and job package is apparantly true!!!

Guus Hiddink
3 Nov 2006, 09:39
[quote=Rosco5]Just reading thru your posts guys and thought I needed to have a say - the clubs that recruit from within the league generally offer substantially more money (generally to home grown talent from a rival club) and thus the player goes. [quote]

First of all this was to long to put all of it down. But overall I disagree. The reason the league keeps getting weaker is because there are:
1: Less people playing, for many reasons, and
2: Most good country kids leave as there are few opportunities in the country.

It is ridiculous to suggest that the league is getting weaker due to clubs taking other clubs players within the same league as this has happened since football began. Don't forget that this is silly season and 7 clubs had a shot at reaching finals last year, there were some standouts as there is always going to be, but that is still quite a good number to suggest that the league is anything but weak.

Sockit151
3 Nov 2006, 09:44
[quote=Rosco5]Just reading thru your posts guys and thought I needed to have a say - the clubs that recruit from within the league generally offer substantially more money (generally to home grown talent from a rival club) and thus the player goes. [quote]

First of all this was to long to put all of it down. But overall I disagree. The reason the league keeps getting weaker is because there are:

It is ridiculous to suggest that the league is getting weaker due to clubs taking other clubs players within the same league as this has happened since football began. Don't forget that this is silly season and 7 clubs had a shot at reaching finals last year, there were some standouts as there is always going to be, but that is still quite a good number to suggest that the league is anything but weak.
The main reason less people are playing is because the money has taken over and replaced mateship and team spirit as the most important factor in playing footy.. You may think things are strong while your club is splashing the cash around and winning games, and good luck you deserve to enjoy it, but don't try to say your improving football as a whole, because your sucking the life out of the game!!

FOOZ
3 Nov 2006, 10:05

how do we explain the drop from division one to division whatever in the interleague since the implementation of paying shi*t loads of money to players. Do you think its due to players not wanting to play because

1) They do not get paid to play
2) And if they do play the will get injured, not because they dont want to miss a game for there team mates or club, its because they will miss games and not get paid.
3) All of the above

ROOTA#6
3 Nov 2006, 10:07
[quote=Guus Hiddink][quote=Rosco5]Just reading thru your posts guys and thought I needed to have a say - the clubs that recruit from within the league generally offer substantially more money (generally to home grown talent from a rival club) and thus the player goes.

how do we explain the drop from division one to division whatever in the interleague since the implementation of paying shi*t loads of money to players. Do you think its due to players not wanting to play because

2) And if they do play the will get injured, not because they dont want to miss a game for there team mates or club, its because they will miss games and not get paid.
3) All of the above

Ed Deline
3 Nov 2006, 10:12
Maybe i'm just to sentimental, but i could never play against a club i had played for. I wouldn't be able to look any club member in the eye.

Obviously some circumstances force a players hand in these situations but again it comes to loyalty, seems to have disappeared with the introduction of the almighty green folding stuff.

Remember though that with the big dollars come the big expectations, and everyone has a basic idea what guys are on and even if they don't rumours are as sticky as mud when it comes to coin....

ROOTA#6
3 Nov 2006, 10:22
Maybe i'm just to sentimental, but i could never play against a club i had played for. I wouldn't be able to look any club member in the eye.

Obviously some circumstances force a players hand in these situations but again it comes to loyalty, seems to have disappeared with the introduction of the almighty green folding stuff.

Remember though that with the big dollars come the big expectations, and everyone has a basic idea what guys are on and even if they don't rumours are as sticky as mud when it comes to coin....

Wish there were more blokes around who thougt like that Ed

Appin Vet
3 Nov 2006, 10:54
It is funny how quickly sentiments fly out the window when the wallet is nice and packed full of $$$! Had a cousin who was going to play footy with my brother and I. But Murrabits Cheque book seemed a little more favorable. Then started my hate for Murrabit. Geez I hated 'em for that!

But now my hatred has turned to 'genuine admiration for a respected foe'.
What Bulls hit!

Trent the flight Steward
3 Nov 2006, 11:38
what are your thoughts roota on the lance brown alleged transfer gotta be a kick in the guts for the eagles

ROOTA#6
3 Nov 2006, 11:41
what are your thoughts roota on the lance brown alleged transfer gotta be a kick in the guts for the eagles

It is a massive blow for our club. To lose our star player to a club within the league really hurts. I could handle him going outside the league and chasing some big coin, because he deserves big dollars, he is a champion. I just can't believe he is going to play against his mates

super snooper
3 Nov 2006, 11:45
It is funny how quickly sentiments fly out the window when the wallet is nice and packed full of $$$! Had a cousin who was going to play footy with my brother and I. But Murrabits Cheque book seemed a little more favorable. Then started my hate for Murrabit. Fcuk I hate 'em for that!
would that be Dixie Patton? must not have been paid enough because he stole some sneakers and got sacked mid season. Maybe you should blame your cousin for not wanting to play with you?

Ed Deline
3 Nov 2006, 12:02
would that be Dixie Patton? must not have been paid enough because he stole some sneakers and got sacked mid season. Maybe you should blame your cousin for not wanting to play with you?

What sort of sneakers? Did they fit him? Cause shoes mould to their owners feet a bit, could of been uncomfortable.

crabbman_69
3 Nov 2006, 12:15
Can anyone confirm with me. Weather Rohan O'callagan from the Barooga footy club is palying for Woorineen this year. Apparently Luke Crow a mate of his is on the recruiting commitee and has offered him a deal to good to refuse.

basil23
3 Nov 2006, 12:17
It is a massive blow for our club. To lose our star player to a club within the league really hurts. I could handle him going outside the league and chasing some big coin, because he deserves big dollars, he is a champion. I just can't believe he is going to play against his mates

BO wHO rotta! http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon9.gif these things happen!

ROOTA#6
3 Nov 2006, 13:14
BO wHO rotta! http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon9.gif these things happen!

Piss off Basil, i was asked a question and i answered

Guus Hiddink
3 Nov 2006, 13:17

3) All of the above[/quote]

Wrong again. The format has affected the players most, they would miss a good one week break.
IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABOUT THE MONEY!

Appin Vet
3 Nov 2006, 13:53

Couldn't see Dixie flogging a pair of Gum Boots. Appin didn't have the coin to match Murrabits and the bloke couldn't say no. Had a fledgling family and needed the monetary assistance.

FOOZ
3 Nov 2006, 14:01

3) All of the above

Wrong again. The format has affected the players most, they would miss a good one week break.
IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABOUT THE MONEY![/quote]

Gus, this forum is full of people's opinions, Right or Worng! id rather you not tell me what i think is Right or Wrong. So get the pole out of your know it all arse and stop Correcting peoples opinions on what you believe is right, please..

Russ74
3 Nov 2006, 14:09

Loyalty goes both ways Ed. At the end of the day, your true mates are still there and if a player such as Lance Brown or Garth Russell can better their life or their families life good on them. It's funny how the guys that aren't good enough to be offered big money are the only one's who play the loyalty card. Get with the times men! Loyalty only existed in the past because there was limited money anyway. I'm sick of the old timers starting everything with "In my day......" Clubs run themselves like a business anyway, so the players should get what they can while they can. And I've never been paid (and should never have been!). At the end of the day it's just a game.

Ed Deline
3 Nov 2006, 14:20
I'm not having a shot at Lance or big Garth or an Oppers for example, even Filo with the past clubs he has coached, my point is that this is the biggest league i've been associated with or have knowledge of for guys transferring to rival clubs. Blows me away

KokodaMidget
3 Nov 2006, 14:24
I'm not having a shot at Lance or big Garth or an Oppers for example, even Filo with the past clubs he has coached, my point is that this is the biggest league i've been associated with or have knowledge of for guys transferring to rival clubs. Blows me away

Well Ed, you must have played in some pretty minor leagues in your day, because in the leagues that i've played, its quite common for blokes to swap clubs, & doesn't always relate to money. Can come down to opportunity, change of scenery, coaching opportunities, new coach somewhere else wants you, one league in the general area, etc etc.

TOBY RAND
3 Nov 2006, 14:25

Football is a professional business now...some players getting group certificates etc for their payments. The football ground is a place of work now and you have to look at it now as players are employee's of the football club and coaches are the boss. in the real world how many people change jobs in their lifetime? Unfortunately this is how it is.

Guus Hiddink
3 Nov 2006, 14:25
FOOZ
Gus, this forum is full of people's opinions, Right or Worng! id rather you not tell me what i think is Right or Wrong. So get the pole out of your know it all arse and stop Correcting peoples opinions on what you believe is right, please..[/quote]

Cool ya jets man! I just had a different opinion to yours, my opinion.

Sockit151
3 Nov 2006, 14:44
Football is a professional business now...some players getting group certificates etc for their payments. The football ground is a place of work now and you have to look at it now as players are employee's of the football club and coaches are the boss. in the real world how many people change jobs in their lifetime? Unfortunately this is how it is.
I don't think there is much argument about that, as you rightfully said UNFORTUNATELY.. And T/M is the all the talk at the moment, and good luck to them, players play clubs against each other and clubs steal players from other clubs, and usually the money wins the argument.. And, if you want the best you have to do what it takes to get them..
I only disagree with those who claim to be doing us all a favour and improving football in the area by poaching players and paying excessive amounts of money to do so!!

Ed Deline
3 Nov 2006, 14:53
Imps to Hamilton and vice versa was big Little Punter, but it is par for the course to chop and change here. Nothing against those guys either it's just something i don't think i could do personally except at one club my friend!

It happens a lot in Darwin but there clubs are required to pay a transfer fee to the players club he wishes to leave based on:

-age -games played -achievements, b&f's etc.

Thousands of $ mount up quickly and there is bugger all coin up there.

Take Lance for example, strapping young man at 26/27, 2 time Betts winner, ? times club b&fs, 100 or so so games for Lalbert, interleague rep. In Darwin T/M would be lokking to fork over $15,000+ to Lalbert the have to back up with his match payments.

interesting concept.....

Appin Vet
3 Nov 2006, 14:57
What sort of sneakers? Did they fit him? Cause shoes mould to their owners feet a bit, could of been uncomfortable.

He had some massive wide feet. Much like damper. Must've only been the big bloke from the Royal Hotel's shoes. Especially to get the boot from the club. Sorry Dixie.:cool: Had to be said.

My Name Is Earl
3 Nov 2006, 16:41
I don't think there is much argument about that, as you rightfully said UNFORTUNATELY.. And T/M is the all the talk at the moment, and good luck to them, players play clubs against each other and clubs steal players from other clubs, and usually the money wins the argument.. And, if you want the best you have to do what it takes to get them..
I only disagree with those who claim to be doing us all a favour and improving football in the area by poaching players and paying excessive amounts of money to do so!!

Agree with you 100% Sockitt. Those who think that by poaching players from clubs within their own league are improving this league are living in their own bull s h i t fantasy land. It is dissapointing that money now plays such a large part in country football, but, there are still loyal blokes out there. Just not many of them. It's not the players fault for getting large amounts of $$$ and ruining country footy, it's the clubs that offer it too them.

FOOZ
3 Nov 2006, 17:25
Loyalty goes both ways Ed. At the end of the day, your true mates are still there and if a player such as Lance Brown or Garth Russell can better their life or their families life good on them. It's funny how the guys that aren't good enough to be offered big money are the only one's who play the loyalty card. Get with the times men! Loyalty only existed in the past because there was limited money anyway. I'm sick of the old timers starting everything with "In my day......" Clubs run themselves like a business anyway, so the players should get what they can while they can. And I've never been paid (and should never have been!). At the end of the day it's just a game.

B I N G O! AND BINGO WAS HIS NAMEO!!!!!

Catter
3 Nov 2006, 18:41

But isn't it the mis management of football clubs stuffing it up. I can understand the players go for the kanga (good on them for getting it). But these days clubs are going for the one thing, a cup. But whats the point of winning a cup if you a strugling to field a competitives ide in years to come.
Sure if the club has money to spend at that time, do it. But it may bite themselve's in the arse in the long run.
It's time for the VCFL to step in and stop the rot of clubs going down because of miss lead administrators.:(

FROGDOG17
3 Nov 2006, 21:38
[quote=FROGDOG17]

Don't forget about where that joint is though. Not much around there. What is the brand of football like over there??You ever been here? Plenty over here mate it's a town of 30,000 with five teams and they love their footy! Standards between G rivers and Central Murray i'd say.

gofootygo
4 Nov 2006, 02:56
Word had it swan hill tough man and one year recruit Cole Hedwards is off to play in Darwin for $1400 a game and possible to get drafted to and AFL Club in 2007 as a 21 year old??? Apparently taking tyntynders brenton rowe along with him??? Any Thoughts???
i can tell you right now that cole hedwards is not getting paid one cent to play footy up there. And brenton rowe is only going up there because he has a very good job lined up that pays well, and to have a good time while his young. Not even looking to play senior football up there and nor should cole hedwards

HavUEvaSeenTheRain
4 Nov 2006, 10:15

A professional business is it? u idiot TOBY.

Deckchair
4 Nov 2006, 10:26
i can tell you right now that cole hedwards is not getting paid one cent to play footy up there. And brenton rowe is only going up there because he has a very good job lined up that pays well, and to have a good time while his young. Not even looking to play senior football up there and nor should cole hedwards

Brenton Rowe will cut the mustard up north, and getting paid well is he?? good on him..... will be good to see him back one day..goroweygo :cool:

gofootygo
4 Nov 2006, 18:10
Brenton Rowe will cut the mustard up north, and getting paid well is he?? good on him..... will be good to see him back one day..goroweygo :cool:
brenton rowe is not getting paid for football but getting paid well for a job up north, just going up there for experience of a life time

Kelvin 69
4 Nov 2006, 21:00

I haven't been on here for a while, but geez Ed you are talking some serious faeces, for a change:p .How many clubs have u played for ED? And don't try to tell me u have never been paid to pull the socks on???:thumbsd:

Kelvin 69
4 Nov 2006, 21:16

I bet your not one of them Roota..:o

Kelvin 69
4 Nov 2006, 21:20
IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABOUT THE MONEY!

Gus, this forum is full of people's opinions, Right or Worng! id rather you not tell me what i think is Right or Wrong. So get the pole out of your know it all arse and stop Correcting peoples opinions on what you believe is right, please..[/quote]

Have u ever played Interleauge Fooz?? U sound like u know what your talking about..

Kelvin 69
4 Nov 2006, 21:33
Agree with you 100% Sockitt. Those who think that by poaching players from clubs within their own league are improving this league are living in their own bull s h i t fantasy land. It is dissapointing that money now plays such a large part in country football, but, there are still loyal blokes out there. Just not many of them. It's not the players fault for getting large amounts of $$$ and ruining country footy, it's the clubs that offer it too them.

Who said country footy is ruined?? U talk to any bloke in their 40s or 50s and they will tell u the standard of footy is much stronger than in the old days. The crowds are much bigger and you can guarantee that every year at least half a dozen leagues in country vic break the gate record on Grand Final day. Country footy is thriving...

Players have been payed money to play for decades and its not going to change, so Earl u better get your head around it mate..

ROOTA#6
5 Nov 2006, 15:26
Who said country footy is ruined?? U talk to any bloke in their 40s or 50s and they will tell u the standard of footy is much stronger than in the old days. The crowds are much bigger and you can guarantee that every year at least half a dozen leagues in country vic break the gate record on Grand Final day. Country footy is thriving...

Players have been payed money to play for decades and its not going to change, so Earl u better get your head around it mate..

You're an absolute idiot Kelvin, country footy is thriving is it? Thats why clubs are folding left right and centre and are having to merge. Have a look outside your own club and get the complete picture/ Tooleytang is not the only club in Victoria.

Your comment on grand final crowds and gate takings is also bull********. The only reason leagues are breaking records for gate takings is because it costs you so much more each year to get in the bloody gate. Wake up

The_KNIFE
5 Nov 2006, 15:55
You're an absolute idiot Kelvin, country footy is thriving is it? Thats why clubs are folding left right and centre and are having to merge. Have a look outside your own club and get the complete picture/ Tooleytang is not the only club in Victoria.

Your comment on grand final crowds and gate takings is also bull********. The only reason leagues are breaking records for gate takings is because it costs you so much more each year to get in the bloody gate. Wake up

Roota the last 3 years in the cmfl have seen clubs catering on grand final day make some serious money so it would suggest crowds are up . Mallee league had record gates in their finals .I would only guess that possibly had somthing to do with one player Sonny Lindsay (gets payed to play) so well worth the investment.

the gloved 1
5 Nov 2006, 16:19
haha this thread is an absolute joke. kelvin & roota you guys are both ********ers! i don't know whats bigger, roota's ego or kelvins arse

Kelvin 69
5 Nov 2006, 18:02
haha this thread is an absolute joke. kelvin & roota you guys are both ********ers! i don't know whats bigger, roota's ego or kelvins arse

Another quality comment their from the gloved 1:thumbsu: :thumbsu: . Personally I would back in Kelvins arse. Could you care to enlighten us with your very valued and knowledgable opinion??

Kelvin 69
5 Nov 2006, 18:16

How (financially) did Lalbert go this year catering for the GF Roota?? Very well as documented in the papers, so that would suggest their was a huge crowd in attendance.. Gee u can certainly talk tough in front of a computer with no one around, pity for the Lalbert Footy Club that u cannot take that sort of aggression out onto the ground and actually contribute to the teams performance.

I understand u are angry with our footy club for aquiring the services of one of your favourite sons in Lance Brown as assistant coach, but hasn't he given u blokes an enoumous amount of loyalty ever since he started playing footy, through thick and thin? He has moved onto challenge himself as an assistant of another club, so don't go holding that against him.

Rosco5
5 Nov 2006, 20:48

3) All of the above

IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABOUT THE MONEY![/QUOTE]

Guus, you may be right on one point, it isnt ALWAYS about the money but for probably 75% of players that recruiting committees target (ie players worth a bit of cash) unfortunately the almighty kanga and playing clubs off against each other is the bottom line. I think you need to get yourself on a recruiting committee and speak to 50-60 players over pre-season and see what makes country footy tick !! This isnt league footy, a 'good one week break', for god's sake it's country footy and blokes should be able to hold up week in week out for the season and still have the desire to represent the league they play in !! :D

My Name Is Earl
5 Nov 2006, 22:16
I understand u are angry with our footy club for aquiring the services of one of your favourite sons in Lance Brown as assistant coach, but hasn't he given u blokes an enoumous amount of loyalty ever since he started playing footy, through thick and thin? He has moved onto challenge himself as an assistant of another club, so don't go holding that against him.[/quote]

Firstly kelvin, half a dozen leagues break the gate record at their grand finals coz they chuck the price up, not from a greater attendence. Secondly, players may have been getting payed for years, but not the amount of dough they get now. Never heard of a bloke getting payed $800 a game back 10 year ago. And kelvin, one of the reasons (i'm not saying there aren't other reasons) they get payed such a ridiculous amount is coz clubs like your own can't be stuffed going outside this league and recruiting players, so instead, they put a huge price on a decent players head from within their own league that their current club can't match and then off they go.

Thirdly, how is Lance Brown challenging himself as an assistant coach? If I'm not mistaken wasn't he a senior coach of Lalbert a couple of years ago! I would think it would be a lot more challenging being a senior coach at any club than an assistant.

The whole disscussion was revolved around clubs that pinch players from clubs from within the same league, and thus making the league no more stronger than it already is. You can't say Tooleytang have done that? All they have done is bring struggling clubs closer to it's knees and in the process, making the league weaker.

Kelvin 69
6 Nov 2006, 06:39
I understand u are angry with our footy club for aquiring the services of one of your favourite sons in Lance Brown as assistant coach, but hasn't he given u blokes an enoumous amount of loyalty ever since he started playing footy, through thick and thin? He has moved onto challenge himself as an assistant of another club, so don't go holding that against him.

Firstly kelvin, half a dozen leagues break the gate record at their grand finals coz they chuck the price up, not from a greater attendence. Secondly, players may have been getting payed for years, but not the amount of dough they get now. Never heard of a bloke getting payed $800 a game back 10 year ago. And kelvin, one of the reasons (i'm not saying there aren't other reasons) they get payed such a ridiculous amount is coz clubs like your own can't be stuffed going outside this league and recruiting players, so instead, they put a huge price on a decent players head from within their own league that their current club can't match and then off they go.

Thirdly, how is Lance Brown challenging himself as an assistant coach? If I'm not mistaken wasn't he a senior coach of Lalbert a couple of years ago! I would think it would be a lot more challenging being a senior coach at any club than an assistant.

The whole disscussion was revolved around clubs that pinch players from clubs from within the same league, and thus making the league no more stronger than it already is. You can't say Tooleytang have done that? All they have done is bring struggling clubs closer to it's knees and in the process, making the league weaker.[/quote]

Lets be honest Earl this discussion is about u sooking and whinging. Your saying that a player who has given his all to his home club for a number of years, and wants to get out of his comfort zone will be ridiculed for leaving to be assistant coach of another club in the league, therefore challenging himself with another group of players.

Another point, when you hear a player of his quality is on the move, u would rather him playing for u than against u, so of course your going to have a chat with him. We were not the only footy club talking to him within the league. He's not the first bloke to play for another club in the CMFL and won't be the last.

I think Lance is now finding out who his real mates are out at Lalbert.

The_KNIFE
6 Nov 2006, 07:50
your the joke gloved one go some where else. Good healthy discussion some right some wrong which is the way of peoples opinions.

Yaaablett
6 Nov 2006, 08:37

The whole disscussion was revolved around clubs that pinch players from clubs from within the same league, and thus making the league no more stronger than it already is. You can't say Tooleytang have done that? All they have done is bring struggling clubs closer to it's knees and in the process, making the league weaker.[/quote]

A ruckman was paid over a $1000 a game just to play for Tatura in 1996. That would be 10 years ago. That sort of money wasn't as common then but certainly still happened.

Sockit151
6 Nov 2006, 08:41

K69,
Did this quote make any sense??
Everyone has conceded that money is a part of the game, most wish the players leaving all the best despite them being dissapointed, and some blame your club and think they are out of line for approaching rival clubs players but not all..
But the contentious point remains that you still think you are doing us all a favour?? Just admit that the only one's who benefit from this is T/M while the others clubs involved will struggle more so, and we can all move on..

Russ74
6 Nov 2006, 10:15
Hasn't footy always been survival of the fittest? All clubs at some point have paid a lot of money out. If a player is looking around, isn't it a duty of other clubs to suss them out? If their club is so great wouldn't they stay? get off you rears, raise some money, make your club a great place to be around and see how you go. For all you whingers- What are you doing to make your club successful? Are you just a complainer or are you doing something about it? I'm not taking the high ground either, I do fukc all but watch good footy all year.

Ed Deline
6 Nov 2006, 10:22
[quote=Ed Deline]

I haven't been on here for a while, but geez Ed you are talking some serious faeces, for a change:p .How many clubs have u played for ED? And don't try to tell me u have never been paid to pull the socks on???:thumbsd:

Kelvin my crooked apendaged friend;), good to see you have created some controversy with your return.

To answer your question i've played at 4. 4 years at Ballarat for the massive amount of $30 a win, payed monthly, every dollar counts at uni.
Played up north for 5 years, for Zero. Payed our membership and entry fee to all games. Played at home for base, which was hammered by the tax man at the end of the year.

I have played for coin and am but it doesn't decide where i play, there are other factors as well. I don't have a problem with guys changing, to each his own, but it's funny how money can all of a sudden make relationships strained, and cause the colourful banter we have on this thread at the moment.

I don't think there is a right or a wrong answer or way to go about it but we all have our opinions and thats what makes this so interesting to find out what people think.

Keep expressing yourselves gentlemen.

gastev
6 Nov 2006, 11:30
Gee, all this talk of cash ruining football - why can't we all go back to the way it was during my time at the Bears in the 80's. Slab of XXXX and half a dozen hookers, that's all I asked for!:D

gastev
6 Nov 2006, 11:36
Anyway, with all this talk about cash, what about the blokes who will be getting most of it - coaches??

1. Where is Filo headed - Boga, Boort or Balranald?
2. Who is going to steady the ship at Lalbert? Or Nyah for that matter?
3. Parsons a chance at the Doggies?

Any thoughts gents??

Rosco5
6 Nov 2006, 12:07
Hasn't footy always been survival of the fittest? All clubs at some point have paid a lot of money out. If a player is looking around, isn't it a duty of other clubs to suss them out? If their club is so great wouldn't they stay? get off you rears, raise some money, make your club a great place to be around and see how you go. For all you whingers- What are you doing to make your club successful? Are you just a complainer or are you doing something about it? I'm not taking the high ground either, I do fukc all but watch good footy all year.

Russ, country footy is a lot more than that, to the town it is the life's blood and a place for the kids to grow and mature where they hopefully will become better players and people and a better group over 2-5 years. Country football clubs and those who run them need to realise it's not all about winning a flag, buying a flag to the detriment of the town, the locals and all else except their egos. For one night of the year the town will come together and the backslappers will get on board all the non-locals that got plenty of kanga out of it to win a flag for the town and put very little back in. Then it's back to reality and working out how to get the next 60-70-80 grand to pay for those players the following year. Towns that do that have very little future in country footy in relation to long term success and viability over a sustained period for the money will dry up eventually and the players will leave, leaving the heirarchy to find those locals again to put the jumper on ..... and funnily enough they won't be there coz the club s h i t on them to win the flag. Been there and done that and been on all sides of the fence as player, coach, recruiter and committee, it is a shame for country footy that we are where we are. Country footy is now all about egos and instant gratification, like a bit of nightclub love !!