View Full Version : Central Murray FL
pacco you really need to be more serious with your posts. surely you don't think he was ever gonna leave but it sounded good while it lasted. 2 blokes in 2 yrs have quit half way, wonder if it will hold the same fortunes for them this year.
You're right he was probably never going to leave, but you must admit to put in the clearance it must have caused some level of disharmony. Maybe the precedence with the 2 quitting might work again! Only bad luck or severe internal issues can beat them.
buddy buddy
17 Jul 2007, 15:49
You're right he was probably never going to leave, but you must admit to put in the clearance it must have caused some level of disharmony. Maybe the precedence with the 2 quitting might work again! Only bad luck or severe internal issues can beat them.
so your saying it was bad luck or a severe internal issue that beat them when tyntynder played them up there and beat them by 8 goals?
Not many go through undefeated buddy. By your logic Swan Hill must be better than Tyntynder then? In my opinion they are clearly the team to beat. Their GF opponant will be either the dogs or saints.
buddy buddy
17 Jul 2007, 21:18
Not many go through undefeated buddy. By your logic Swan Hill must be better than Tyntynder then? In my opinion they are clearly the team to beat. Their GF opponant will be either the dogs or saints.
On that particular day yes Swan Hill were a better team than the dogs. But it wasn't BAD LUCK or SEVERE INTERNAL ISSUES that cost Tyntynder the game they were beaten by a better side on the day.
Just like they could be on GF day it doesn't have to be bad luck or internal issues that will cause them not to win a grand final. Any team thats there has a chance.
buddy buddy
17 Jul 2007, 21:19
What do we think about the CMFL not continuing with the night series next year?
ROOTA#6
17 Jul 2007, 22:36
Stupidity by the board of the CMFL i believe. Maybe Tyntynder should go back to running in on their own. Probably worked better wen they did it anyway :D
huddo 92
17 Jul 2007, 23:25
Stupidity by the board of the CMFL i believe. Maybe Tyntynder should go back to running in on their own. Probably worked better wen they did it anyway :D
the board are talking about raising league fees by $1500 per club to cover lost revenue. this shouldn't worry some clubs as the board let them pay their fees when ever they feel like they feel like it
Hill Bully
18 Jul 2007, 06:51
Breaking news, misfortune for Tooleybuc. Mark Norton comeback put on ice for another year after falling over a straw at a notorious King St. nightclub and rupturing his anterior cruciate, which will now require reconstructing. The only positive out of this mess is that the goggles were undamaged (no facial injuries) so the modelling career on the catwalks of Milan is still on the cards.
Truth is that he did not trip over a straw RWB, he actually fell off a big silver pole that was on a stage at the establishment. This could spell the end of a marvellous sporting career, i think he is gunna call the press conference on Friday. He may score a job in the media after his superb role in that CUB/Flash dance ad. Lets just hope it's not the last we see of the great man!!:cool:
How do u know so much????????????????????
Out injured r u????????????????????????????????
Trent the flight Steward
18 Jul 2007, 13:12
No word on next year yet, he would be a good chance to keep going, you need to give him time, first year coaches always find it hard, he has done alright from my point. North has proved to work for the blues with the mix of the good local youth. The score when allowed to run, big body's of the better sides find them out abit, when up and allowed to run they are very good.
Yes you certainly wouldnt call their season a disaster , perhaps instead of picking up the skilfull northerners they could look at some more mature stronger bodied players, perhaps a brendan Prendergast could be lured back to the club from echuca as he has become a very good player in that league
dirty rat
18 Jul 2007, 14:59
Anyone know who this Hill Bully Plays for or supports.
Or is he a free lance BULL SHIT ARTIST?????
Hill Bully
18 Jul 2007, 21:05
How do u know so much????????????????????
Out injured r u????????????????????????????????
Teddy bear boy, I know cause i'm in the paparazzi and we follow superstars everywhere. Try to take your hand off the ? button when you have finished typing you clown. Get back to HDFL where everyone knows you're a clown!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
A little bird told me if i had to go back to the HDFL.Could i go by Taxi???:)
Yes you certainly wouldnt call their season a disaster , perhaps instead of picking up the skilfull northerners they could look at some more mature stronger bodied players, perhaps a brendan Prendergast could be lured back to the club from echuca as he has become a very good player in that league
Would be nice to get a few bigger bodies to support a good fleet of smaller guys,would assist WALTERS, THAM and young WILSON. Dont know how they would go luring back Prenda, might not be enough in Kerang to lure him back? Was pretty happy in the river port last time i saw him. Could still do with the influence of a few boys from the north, it has been a good relationship that has been developed over the last few years.
clifton's lookalike
19 Jul 2007, 02:02
Any truth to the rumour that Withers has broken his leg in the match against Swan Hill with about 4 others with medium to long term soft tissue injuries?
mrmagic
19 Jul 2007, 19:33
Any truth to the rumour that Withers has broken his leg in the match against Swan Hill with about 4 others with medium to long term soft tissue injuries?
old mate from the servo said he limped off the ground and didnt break it, but apparently some one did...the others your pretty right on the money there clifton...
bruce almighty69
20 Jul 2007, 14:43
best descision they have ever made.
sure they would give us farmers the late games but when you get home at a stupid hour after travelling on a bus, few stops, it makes it a late night. it is uncalled for. Let us go back to the good old practise matches and let us earn our own money and not revenue up the s/hill clubs. Sure if they put the fee's up that's fine. Weigh up say if you have to travel up there 3 times on a bus, what say $500 per trip. what difference does it make really. Most of the sides play U17 kids majority of the time so it isn't doing the seniors any good etc.....we could go on all day. i am just glad it is over.
bruce almighty69
20 Jul 2007, 14:48
Would be nice to get a few bigger bodies to support a good fleet of smaller guys,would assist WALTERS, THAM and young WILSON. Dont know how they would go luring back Prenda, might not be enough in Kerang to lure him back? Was pretty happy in the river port last time i saw him. Could still do with the influence of a few boys from the north, it has been a good relationship that has been developed over the last few years.
Was chatting to a few people when we were down there a few weeks ago and they reckon the club has been set back 5 years due to the current coach. Anyone know what is going on down there?? Apparently Bluey is very selfish, doesn't put any time into the junior grades and takes the ***** out of people in his speeches. I am only going on hearsay here from a fairly reliable Can Bar participant. Anyone like to comment.
big omar
20 Jul 2007, 15:15
Was chatting to a few people when we were down there a few weeks ago and they reckon the club has been set back 5 years due to the current coach. Anyone know what is going on down there?? Apparently Bluey is very selfish, doesn't put any time into the junior grades and takes the ***** out of people in his speeches. I am only going on hearsay here from a fairly reliable Can Bar participant. Anyone like to comment.
Very harsh there Bruce, Can Bar quotes you gotta luv 'em. Bluey is traveling OK with a very young side, Kerang have a year on year off thing going 04 GF, 05 6th, 06 Gf and 07 currently 6th. He puts in as much and more around the club then coaches normanly would. He is still learning and is learning by some errors. I would think he puts time into the juinors as all senior players are requested to do so by him.
Appin Vet
20 Jul 2007, 15:41
If you have any spare time early in the morning, I'd suggest that you and your Can Bar friend take a look at the U/11 match and see who is in attendance. You may be suprised. Moving onto Blueys speeches. If you can't take criticism, you are as weak as piss. I'm sure most of what he says is constructive. It is a man's game after all.
justwatchin
20 Jul 2007, 21:25
:thumbsd::thumbsd:couldnt coach ferals to steal!!!:(Was chatting to a few people when we were down there a few weeks ago and they reckon the club has been set back 5 years due to the current coach. Anyone know what is going on down there?? Apparently Bluey is very selfish, doesn't put any time into the junior grades and takes the ***** out of people in his speeches. I am only going on hearsay here from a fairly reliable Can Bar participant. Anyone like to comment.
justwatchin
20 Jul 2007, 21:40
He's about the same as Ash Connick, does anyone remember the "mini bus"?
Bingle_21
20 Jul 2007, 23:28
best descision they have ever made.
sure they would give us farmers the late games but when you get home at a stupid hour after travelling on a bus, few stops, it makes it a late night. it is uncalled for. Let us go back to the good old practise matches and let us earn our own money and not revenue up the s/hill clubs. Sure if they put the fee's up that's fine. Weigh up say if you have to travel up there 3 times on a bus, what say $500 per trip. what difference does it make really. Most of the sides play U17 kids majority of the time so it isn't doing the seniors any good etc.....we could go on all day. i am just glad it is over.
bruce almighty69 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=45368) vbmenu_register("postmenu_8167152", true);
BigFooty Newbie
Club: Adelaide
Is the night series still played at Tyntynder?
Must be a pretty good bus!
bruce almighty69
22 Jul 2007, 19:05
bruce almighty69 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=45368) vbmenu_register("postmenu_8167152", true);
BigFooty Newbie
Club: Adelaide
Is the night series still played at Tyntynder?
Must be a pretty good bus!
do apologise, probably should've worded myself better. For the likes of the southern clubs and a Balranald etc. it was just an estimate but if you get my drift??
bruce almighty69
22 Jul 2007, 19:09
Very harsh there Bruce, Can Bar quotes you gotta luv 'em. Bluey is traveling OK with a very young side, Kerang have a year on year off thing going 04 GF, 05 6th, 06 Gf and 07 currently 6th. He puts in as much and more around the club then coaches normanly would. He is still learning and is learning by some errors. I would think he puts time into the juinors as all senior players are requested to do so by him.
that's fine as i stated only going on hearsay. Good luck to him.
:thumbsd::thumbsd:couldnt coach ferals to steal!!!:(
That's really harsh, i have been reasonable about his ability (or lack of) to coach and been crucified, your just nasty. First year or not he needs someone to assist him in the job, he doesnt have the communication skills to get the message through to the players without being overly critical and getting personal (if as harsh on himself sometimes he could see this). I believe that unless he becomes an assistant he will have trouble attracting other players to any club that he may be at. He appeals to the younger players as he relates to them better which is why there are a few getting a good run this year, at least he recognises some talent in the younger crop of players.
If Balranald wins the Grand Final I will go he after Saturdays performance, what a bunch of overpaid glory seekers. Credit to the young Kerang players for going with them for 3 1/4's.
Also the 2 worst umpires in the copmetition having a go at stuffing up the game at Kerang on Saturday. Not 2 minutes could pass by without a whistle being blown, even had the "Can Bar" confused??
big omar
23 Jul 2007, 11:11
That's really harsh, i have been reasonable about his ability (or lack of) to coach and been crucified, your just nasty. First year or not he needs someone to assist him in the job, he doesnt have the communication skills to get the message through to the players without being overly critical and getting personal (if as harsh on himself sometimes he could see this). I believe that unless he becomes an assistant he will have trouble attracting other players to any club that he may be at. He appeals to the younger players as he relates to them better which is why there are a few getting a good run this year, at least he recognises some talent in the younger crop of players.
If Balranald wins the Grand Final I will go he after Saturdays performance, what a bunch of overpaid glory seekers. Credit to the young Kerang players for going with them for 3 1/4's.
Also the 2 worst umpires in the copmetition having a go at stuffing up the game at Kerang on Saturday. Not 2 minutes could pass by without a whistle being blown, even had the "Can Bar" confused??
JamBee, did you hear the 3/4 time speech to his players? Very Very good, unfortunity Filo threw in beauty as well. I will continue to say Bluey is going Ok i do think that he needs to change his assistances, more to freshen up then anything if he continues to coach. Totally agree with the Roo comments, as for Justwatchin your a knob, stupid comment.
Appin Vet
23 Jul 2007, 11:40
Heard Blueys speech was a corker. But I happened to get to Filo's address. Brilliant! If that didn't get the juices flowing, nothing will. As for the Coinaroos, they didn't give the young Blues any respect and if not for some shockers from the umps, should have been behind at 3/4 time by maybe 2-3 goals. Last quarter was definitely one sided, but credit must go to Kerang all the same. But Bluey doesn't want honourable losses this stage of the year when you're trying to make up some ground.
Caught with the ball
23 Jul 2007, 13:19
Also the 2 worst umpires in the copmetition having a go at stuffing up the game at Kerang on Saturday. Not 2 minutes could pass by without a whistle being blown, even had the "Can Bar" confused??[/quote]
Confused that doesn't suprise me. There's not a brain among them! :D
Appin Vet
23 Jul 2007, 13:26
Now now...let's not get too personal CWTB.
There is nothing wrong with showing some enthusiasm toward your team's efforts and also some angst at some/all of the umpires decisions. Just some blokes having some honest fun over a couple of cans.
Trent the flight Steward
23 Jul 2007, 13:28
Heard Blueys speech was a corker. But I happened to get to Filo's address. Brilliant! If that didn't get the juices flowing, nothing will. As for the Coinaroos, they didn't give the young Blues any respect and if not for some shockers from the umps, should have been behind at 3/4 time by maybe 2-3 goals. Last quarter was definitely one sided, but credit must go to Kerang all the same. But Bluey doesn't want honourable losses this stage of the year when you're trying to make up some ground.
Are inspirational speeches a part of a bygone era? Im sure they dont have that much of an influence on agame of footy anymore, im sure coaches would be more worried about players sticking to game plans, im not sure if berating your players all the time will get the best out of them, in fact a coach may lose his players faith if that occurs, although a spray can be good on occasions to wake players up, but if you need a spray to play well all the time then theres something wrong.
Wouldnt get off the roos just yet, not too many grand finals won in the middle of july
Appin Vet
23 Jul 2007, 13:34
Can you tell me where you drew your inspiration to throw yourself where eagles feared??
Trent the flight Steward
23 Jul 2007, 13:43
Can you tell me where you drew your inspiration to throw yourself where eagles feared??
no i just simply didnt tread where the eagles feared vet
To Trent the flight steward,
Insirational speaches still have a part to play in the game if delivered by the right person. Been able to get a few of Filo's over the years (Big Omar;I didnt get either on Saturday) and he has the ability to lift a side regardless, got goose bumps from his before last years grand final, i made sure i got to hear it. Wish i heard a few like that when i was getting a kick. Even those blokes getting a grand or two a game would benefit from it.
Could be a bit in the idea of Bluey gettig a few new faces to assist, might work?
Long live the "Can Bar", very rarely a foul word heard in the friendly banter towards the opposition, good and loyal bunch of blokes.
footyhas3sides
23 Jul 2007, 21:52
To Trent the flight steward,
Insirational speaches still have a part to play in the game if delivered by the right person. Been able to get a few of Filo's over the years (Big Omar;I didnt get either on Saturday) and he has the ability to lift a side regardless, got goose bumps from his before last years grand final, i made sure i got to hear it. Wish i heard a few like that when i was getting a kick. Even those blokes getting a grand or two a game would benefit from it.
Could be a bit in the idea of Bluey gettig a few new faces to assist, might work?
Long live the "Can Bar", very rarely a foul word heard in the friendly banter towards the opposition, good and loyal bunch of blokes.
The can bar is the biggest disgrace at any CMFL ground
Footyhas3sides; No offence but get a life you miserable person. Dont like seeing anyone enjoy themselves, or been on the end of an earfull? It's not a place to write yourself off or to get drunk, its a bit of fun. Kids are there with their fathers and there isnt a worry in the world. GET OVER YOURSELF!!
footyhas3sides
24 Jul 2007, 10:03
Footyhas3sides; No offence but get a life you miserable person. Dont like seeing anyone enjoy themselves, or been on the end of an earfull? It's not a place to write yourself off or to get drunk, its a bit of fun. Kids are there with their fathers and there isnt a worry in the world. GET OVER YOURSELF!!
I don't need to get over myself, The language and behaviour of that area of the ground is by far the worse at any ground at this league and any other that I have visited over the last 20 years, I enjoy good hearted comments from opposition supporters and some of them are very clever and entertaining, but as I said the can bar is a disgrace:thumbsd::thumbsd:
Leo's mate
24 Jul 2007, 10:30
I don't need to get over myself, The language and behaviour of that area of the ground is by far the worse at any ground at this league and any other that I have visited over the last 20 years, I enjoy good hearted comments from opposition supporters and some of them are very clever and entertaining, but as I said the can bar is a disgrace:thumbsd::thumbsd:
Think you should grab a cuppa and jump back in the corolla on the fence. i am not a kerang person and reckon the Can Bar is pretty good fun, yes they yell and have a dip to bring there mob home, so they should.
Terry Tate
24 Jul 2007, 11:03
Can anyone tell me the date of the last round for cmfl?? and who the finalists will be??
:thumbsd::thumbsd:couldnt coach ferals to steal!!!:(
I actually have heard Forsyth speak 2 or 3 times this year and thought he spoke very well. Kerang also seem to be maintaining good spirit which he deserves credit for. I reckon middle spot on the ladder is the best they could do and they will do that. Thats all you can ask for. Maybe you can apply for a job next season.
An email went to all clubs this morning and LALBERT have the catering for the 2007 Grand Final. I wonder how Lalberts pres Eddie McGuire will handle that? Well done to them anyway we missed out but hopefully next year on the new rotation system.
Trent the flight Steward
24 Jul 2007, 13:03
I actually have heard Forsyth speak 2 or 3 times this year and thought he spoke very well. Kerang also seem to be maintaining good spirit which he deserves credit for. I reckon middle spot on the ladder is the best they could do and they will do that. Thats all you can ask for. Maybe you can apply for a job next season.
Why is this thread questioning his coaching position i would have thought there would be other coaches in the gun such as boga, raiders and woorineen. Kerang had massive outs at the start of the year, they seem to be doing just as well as 05 where there were more name players, the big test will be able to keep the young guys coming thru though
I agree Trent. Forsyth has done what is expected of a coach- He has the team playing up to where they should be. At best they are a fringe finals side. Job done I reckon. I agree with the Tigers and Boga comment. Dunno what else is expected of Matt Dean though. Tough gig at the raiders.
the gloved 1
24 Jul 2007, 21:19
Has anybody else wasted their money on purchasing the Guardian on a Friday & Monday of late to get in depth previews and summaries of the CMFL only to get an absolute load of crap.
Do the people that actually go to the games watch the games? Has the Guardian sent a reppesentative to every senior game this year to report on them. Some of the articles in Mondays Guardian of late have been an absolute fast and a child in prep could give a better summary. They are not entertaining or informing nor do they have any flow as they sway back and forth between game talk and absolute tripe.
take a ticket
25 Jul 2007, 10:41
An email went to all clubs this morning and LALBERT have the catering for the 2007 Grand Final. I wonder how Lalberts pres Eddie McGuire will handle that? Well done to them anyway we missed out but hopefully next year on the new rotation system.
Im from the Ballarat league so excuse my quetsions but is Warbo the president ( thats if i heard right) and how is Lance going there at Lalbert, i know both of them from Ballarat days but have not seen the lads in a while.
The gloved 1, Seems to be common place throughout the year that after reading the local tabloids that no representative from them attended at said games. Many times i have read about a game i attended and i have found that i was not only at the wrong game but also the wrong ground and planet?? Not sure how they do it?
clifton's lookalike
25 Jul 2007, 12:37
The gloved 1, Seems to be common place throughout the year that after reading the local tabloids that no representative from them attended at said games. Many times i have read about a game i attended and i have found that i was not only at the wrong game but also the wrong ground and planet?? Not sure how they do it?
I would have to agree with you both, the other week I was reading a report on the T/M vs Swan Hill game (if i recall). There was nothing about the game, matchups who played well etc etc. There was a short write up about how the 2 may possibly meet in the finals and a quote from each of the coaches.
No offence but I think its time the premier sport in the region received better coverage. Last year there was better coverage so why change it? The best coverage of our league ever has been by Hickmont & he was printed in Northern Times not the Guardain. Do the people who go and watch the games to write actually know any of the players maybe Strevens & Thomson would be the only ones.
I remember a time when a side was defeated by 200 plus points and the 3 votes were given to a member of the losing side. I watched that game and that article shot any cred that the paper ever had (if they had any). It has always been ordinary except for a very select few whose views have been worthwhile reading.
internal
25 Jul 2007, 17:01
I would have to agree with you both, the other week I was reading a report on the T/M vs Swan Hill game (if i recall). There was nothing about the game, matchups who played well etc etc. There was a short write up about how the 2 may possibly meet in the finals and a quote from each of the coaches.
No offence but I think its time the premier sport in the region received better coverage. Last year there was better coverage so why change it? The best coverage of our league ever has been by Hickmont & he was printed in Northern Times not the Guardain. Do the people who go and watch the games to write actually know any of the players maybe Strevens & Thomson would be the only ones.
You have to be joking - they are the worst, strevens talks everything but footy and relates it all back to either swan hill or himself, and do you think thomson can remember the game after 1000 beers on the sidelines.... I think not:thumbsd:
clifton's lookalike
25 Jul 2007, 17:37
You have to be joking - they are the worst, strevens talks everything but footy and relates it all back to either swan hill or himself, and do you think thomson can remember the game after 1000 beers on the sidelines.... I think not:thumbsd:
I didn't say what they wrote was right or for that matter have anything to do with the game they are watching, merely stated that they might be 2 blokes that actually know the players they are talking about because they have been involved for a while not like the others.
The_KNIFE
25 Jul 2007, 17:51
I didn't say what they wrote was right or for that matter have anything to do with the game they are watching, merely stated that they might be 2 blokes that actually know the players they are talking about because they have been involved for a while not like the others.
Do what i did stopped buying the second class rag the whole paper is the same from front to back 3SH saturday mornings the same who wants to listen to Boo Watson and Strevens crap on about them selves
strauchany20
25 Jul 2007, 18:43
Im from the Ballarat league so excuse my quetsions but is Warbo the president ( thats if i heard right) and how is Lance going there at Lalbert, i know both of them from Ballarat days but have not seen the lads in a while.
You are right there take a ticket. Warbo is still president. But Lance Brown is down playing for Tooleybuc/Manangatang adding to one of the most impressive sides in the league. He seems to have fitted in quite nicely down there and has been showing his blistering form this year already.
ROOTA#6
25 Jul 2007, 18:59
You are right there take a ticket. Warbo is still president. But Lance Brown is down playing for Tooleybuc/Manangatang adding to one of the most impressive sides in the league. He seems to have fitted in quite nicely down there and has been showing his blistering form this year already.
Warbo took on the Presidency this year and is doing a great job. Unfortunatley Lance headed to Tooleybuc after winning 2 league medals while at Lalbert. One of the better country footballers running around
take a ticket
26 Jul 2007, 08:57
Well there you go. what happened those to were joined at the hip down here i hope nothing happened at all. with warbo president and browny leaving the club, im sure they are still mates??
cowboy8
26 Jul 2007, 14:19
i was just wondering how my old mate seany gilbert and bruce lee`s son nookie mansell have been goin for gunbower. thanks darky:)
Caught with the ball
26 Jul 2007, 16:28
Matt Fleming at Boga is doing a fantastic job & has been reappointed for 2008. Injuries have put a stop to any finals showing this year. Barring injuries Boga are the 5th best team going around.
And should have plenty of money to spend next year when downsy steps down and gaddo finds the pot of gold.:)
Caught with the ball
26 Jul 2007, 17:15
And should have plenty of money to spend next year when downsy steps down and gaddo finds the pot of gold.:)
Had plenty of money this year. Couldn't find anybody to spend it on. Next year truckloads of the stuff!
You can always find someone to spend it on, but chosing the right people to spend it on is most important, sounds like some smart recruiting out that way then.
Caught with the ball
26 Jul 2007, 17:48
You can always find someone to spend it on, but chosing the right people to spend it on is most important, sounds like some smart recruiting out that way then.
Maybe smart recuiting but not very good recuiting! I know it's a very tough job but if you haven't spent the recuiting budget & have points left over the jobs not done.
September
26 Jul 2007, 18:04
Barring injuries Boga would struggle to be in the top 7
Tooleytang
Balranald
Leitchville
Tyntynder
Swan Hill
Kerang
All better sides at full strength
Caught with the ball
26 Jul 2007, 18:20
Barring injuries Boga would struggle to be in the top 7
Tooleytang
Balranald
Leitchville
Tyntynder
Swan Hill
Kerang
All better sides at full strength
I disagree barring injuries boga better than Swan Hill & Kerang!
bruce almighty69
26 Jul 2007, 22:44
I disagree barring injuries boga better than Swan Hill & Kerang!
big call against swan hill???? matt will be great and hopefully pick up a few good quality with the kids coming through should be resonably competitive.
bruce almighty69
26 Jul 2007, 22:50
have to take your hat off to them for having a crack but Strevo continues to focus on the negatives in people, this seems to be his drive especially on the radio. Gaddo seems to jump in on him to ensure the conversation ends on a positive. Stopped listening to that also. Thompson is also one to write the negatives and run down players. i personally have stopped reading the guardian lately, it just isn't the same.
Deckchair
27 Jul 2007, 12:24
have to take your hat off to them for having a crack but Strevo continues to focus on the negatives in people, this seems to be his drive especially on the radio. Gaddo seems to jump in on him to ensure the conversation ends on a positive. Stopped listening to that also. Thompson is also one to write the negatives and run down players. i personally have stopped reading the guardian lately, it just isn't the same.
Just calls it as he sees it, he is a great scribe......
DECKCHAIR 3 VOTES
strauchany20
27 Jul 2007, 20:15
Well there you go. what happened those to were joined at the hip down here i hope nothing happened at all. with warbo president and browny leaving the club, im sure they are still mates??
Well i dont really know Ticket. youd probably have to ask browny or warbo that? im sure they are still mates tho,,,both men are good blokes..
take a ticket; warbo and brown dog are spot on bud, how about you pick up your phone and give one of them a call you useless bastard.
Young Bo Alexander for the eagles taking easily the mark of the year on saturday with a jezza you beauty style mark over Banga.:thumbsu: (sorry banga)
bruce almighty69
30 Jul 2007, 13:24
Maybe smart recuiting but not very good recuiting! I know it's a very tough job but if you haven't spent the recuiting budget & have points left over the jobs not done.
Sitting at my desk at work and still shaking my head over my trip to Balranald on the weekend. i take my words back now. We are OK. If the Roo's think they are going to win the flag this year they had better have another look at themselves.
BBBBalrag fair enough he kicked a bag, but bugger me he takes at least 15 minutes out of the game by the time he takes a mark sets up and kciks a point!! he doesn't run, he looks unfit if the ball goes to ground let's it go. spends most of his time appealing to the umpires and sooking. didn't rate.
Garth, can't ruck, can't kick a long ball, can't tackle,runs like a girl. DON'T RATE.
Campbell in the back line needs to loose 20kg's, too slow to fat thinks he is great. Didn't rate. i tell you who i do rate and that is Hooker, got it on a string. Great to watch.
Chilton did nothing for the day after i have heard he was a gun.
No.10 was good and did the right things and kicked long. No8 i think withers, he was good and at least had a crack. i don't know if what the Roo's are told to do with the ball but christ they root around. Our boys 2-3 kicks down the ground playing possession footy is all we did. We outscored them for 3 quarters.
It is just a circus up there. The players are rotated on and off the bench. I don't know how the hell they settle when they are taken on and off sure it works in the afl but we are country footy, AFL players are true athlete's. Filo is a good coach don't get me wrong here i know that and that's why we had a crack but i feel sorry for the people doing the interchanges how busy would they be!!
What really amused me was the Balaranald supporters were bagging Filo and bagging their own players. I had to go and stand closer to hear what they were saying. What a joke. Robbie Barrett's speech after the game was a joke. How could they be happy with that win.
In summary Balaranald are overated, too cocky and are a team of individuals not a TEAM and will NOT go near a flag IF they continue to play the way they played on Saturday.
Good on the Pieboys for a fair dinkum great game of footy. Matty should've been really happy with the result.
There we go. This should give us something to talk about this week.
September
30 Jul 2007, 13:35
Sitting at my desk at work and still shaking my head over my trip to Balranald on the weekend. i take my words back now. We are OK. If the Roo's think they are going to win the flag this year they had better have another look at themselves.
BBBBalrag fair enough he kicked a bag, but bugger me he takes at least 15 minutes out of the game by the time he takes a mark sets up and kciks a point!! he doesn't run, he looks unfit if the ball goes to ground let's it go. spends most of his time appealing to the umpires and sooking. didn't rate.
Garth, can't ruck, can't kick a long ball, can't tackle,runs like a girl. DON'T RATE.
Campbell in the back line needs to loose 20kg's, too slow to fat thinks he is great. Didn't rate. i tell you who i do rate and that is Hooker, got it on a string. Great to watch.
Chilton did nothing for the day after i have heard he was a gun.
No.10 was good and did the right things and kicked long. No8 i think withers, he was good and at least had a crack. i don't know if what the Roo's are told to do with the ball but christ they root around. Our boys 2-3 kicks down the ground playing possession footy is all we did. We outscored them for 3 quarters.
It is just a circus up there. The players are rotated on and off the bench. I don't know how the hell they settle when they are taken on and off sure it works in the afl but we are country footy, AFL players are true athlete's. Filo is a good coach don't get me wrong here i know that and that's why we had a crack but i feel sorry for the people doing the interchanges how busy would they be!!
What really amused me was the Balaranald supporters were bagging Filo and bagging their own players. I had to go and stand closer to hear what they were saying. What a joke. Robbie Barrett's speech after the game was a joke. How could they be happy with that win.
In summary Balaranald are overated, too cocky and are a team of individuals not a TEAM and will NOT go near a flag IF they continue to play the way they played on Saturday.
Good on the Pieboys for a fair dinkum great game of footy. Matty should've been really happy with the result.
There we go. This should give us something to talk about this week.
You don't rate a guy who kicked 11 out of 20 goals?
bruce almighty69
30 Jul 2007, 14:10
Arrentz kicked 8 but i reckon he would've tackled at least one person, chased someone, handballed to someone and doesn't take 3-4 minutes to take a mark and line up to kick a goal only to miss and didn't continually sook and carry on.
That's what i don't rate.
September
30 Jul 2007, 14:34
Arrentz kicked 8 but i reckon he would've tackled at least one person, chased someone, handballed to someone and doesn't take 3-4 minutes to take a mark and line up to kick a goal only to miss and didn't continually sook and carry on.
There's no doubting Arentz is a gun, just think Singh must be pretty handy as well.
Gee you boga boys are starting early this year, dont you normally wait until around JAN or FEB before you start talking absoulte bull sh*t. cant wait to see the shopping trolley this year printed in the guardian.
Appin Vet
30 Jul 2007, 14:57
Just a quick question to the Boga boys... Who are you missing out of your starting line up, that would make you the 5th best team in the league? Also, how long have they been out of action for?
Bruce just letting u know that theres more in life than football. Matt Chilton is a pretty talented team player. Probably didn't have a great day Saturday because he spent the 2 days prior in the Emergency department in Royal Adelaide Hospital with his girlfriend, had no sleep and then drove back to Balranald sat morning to pull the boots on to play at his girlfriends request. All well and good to say what you like on here about who ever you like.. but just be careful when you do.
That is a very good post. How you can not rate someone on one game is beyond me. Fair effort just to play in my book.
strauchany20
30 Jul 2007, 18:12
I agree with you there Bruce. You are 100% spot on. I was at the Tooleytang game on Sat and saw a team game by both clubs. The Tangs did give Arentz every opportunity to kick his 100th but i saw him chase a defender out onto the wing 3+ times, lay a couple big tackles and run his guts out when leading. He did end up finishing on 100 and thats the difference between when ive seen him and Balrag play. Arentz is a player who seems to want the ball and creates every opportunity to get it. Balrag is living up to his name - put a decent defender on him and he'll cry and complain to the umps till the cows come home. Even though he gets a few bags, the amount of time he wastes and the lack of discipline on the field is disgraceful.
I dont agree with you on some of the other Balranald comments though. Most of them are class players and the results speak for themselves. Matty Hooker is an absolute star and would be the leading contender for League bf this year if i had my way. As for the interchange, it obviously works and i see no harm in constant changing.
At the end of the day there are a few stars like Hooker and Arentz that will always outclass someone like Balrag.
mrmagic
30 Jul 2007, 19:35
I agree with you there Bruce. You are 100% spot on. I was at the Tooleytang game on Sat and saw a team game by both clubs. The Tangs did give Arentz every opportunity to kick his 100th but i saw him chase a defender out onto the wing 3+ times, lay a couple big tackles and run his guts out when leading. He did end up finishing on 100 and thats the difference between when ive seen him and Balrag play. Arentz is a player who seems to want the ball and creates every opportunity to get it. Balrag is living up to his name - put a decent defender on him and he'll cry and complain to the umps till the cows come home. Even though he gets a few bags, the amount of time he wastes and the lack of discipline on the field is disgraceful.
I dont agree with you on some of the other Balranald comments though. Most of them are class players and the results speak for themselves. Matty Hooker is an absolute star and would be the leading contender for League bf this year if i had my way. As for the interchange, it obviously works and i see no harm in constant changing.
At the end of the day there are a few stars like Hooker and Arentz that will always outclass someone like Balrag.
With four games to go who is likley to win this years jack betts, and does anyone think Arentz can kick 150 with 4 to go..big ask but can, and is he able?????any thoughts...
strauchany20
30 Jul 2007, 20:17
With four games to go who is likley to win this years jack betts, and does anyone think Arentz can kick 150 with 4 to go..big ask but can, and is he able?????any thoughts...
Like i said mrmagic. I reckon matty hooker or ryan o'sullivan. And i dont rekon Arentz will get 150. Hes got Tyntynder and Balranald still to play who have held him well.
secrets
30 Jul 2007, 20:25
If Balraj was kicking a bag for u blokes u would love him and you also might of played in this seasons finals instead of WATCHING....... Chilts is a GUN ,Goose is one of the best defenders in the league and Russell runs more like a bush chook than a girl.........Enjoy september .......
Manbearpigisreal
30 Jul 2007, 21:21
Ne1 got any thoughts on Woora? Can't understand why the comitee recruit players who are skillfull and respect the coach and fellow team mates, but coz they choose to not work and live off there footy money the commitee pay out on em and push and push for them to get a job. It gets to the point that they can't be stuffed puting up with it and leave. Yes some have discipline issues and are sooks but there are quality players at Woora who the supporters and the COMMITEE especially need to get behind and support. After all they are the ones who recruited these players. As a player there i saw all this rubbish happen and am now not playing. I was accused of losing us the game against L/G at home in Rd3 when we lost by 3 goals how that can be blamed on one player has got me stuffed.And that came from the President himself. Teirney is a switched on player and coach we gotta remember it is his first year and he will learn as time goes on but I can't see him there next year even if he is contracted. I love the club but when the people behind the seens bag the players the club will never be successful.
ROOTA#6
30 Jul 2007, 23:11
Ne1 got any thoughts on Woora? Can't understand why the comitee recruit players who are skillfull and respect the coach and fellow team mates, but coz they choose to not work and live off there footy money the commitee pay out on em and push and push for them to get a job. It gets to the point that they can't be stuffed puting up with it and leave. Yes some have discipline issues and are sooks but there are quality players at Woora who the supporters and the COMMITEE especially need to get behind and support. After all they are the ones who recruited these players. As a player there i saw all this rubbish happen and am now not playing. I was accused of losing us the game against L/G at home in Rd3 when we lost by 3 goals how that can be blamed on one player has got me stuffed.And that came from the President himself. Teirney is a switched on player and coach we gotta remember it is his first year and he will learn as time goes on but I can't see him there next year even if he is contracted. I love the club but when the people behind the seens bag the players the club will never be successful.
Where will he play next year then. Woora have massive trouble. It all started when they first sacked blokes like Stinga and Alford. They loved the boys when they won them a flag then blamed them for all the trouble the next year. Stinga is a quality bloke and given time would be great for any club.
If Stinga were to be a coach next year and he asked me to play, i would be in
the gloved 1
31 Jul 2007, 10:30
Is that because they can't go without the extra $800 a week he earns from football or because she really wanted him to play footy?
mrmagic
31 Jul 2007, 12:38
If Balraj was kicking a bag for u blokes u would love him and you also might of played in this seasons finals instead of WATCHING....... Chilts is a GUN ,Goose is one of the best defenders in the league and Russell runs more like a bush chook than a girl.........Enjoy september .......
IF sighn was in a side that didnt have the midfield or players to kick it to him and spoon feed the big sook he would be as useless as tits on a bull...An absolute whinging sook.... he wouldnt even know what second or third efforts where...
HappyDayz
31 Jul 2007, 14:07
I can perhaps see where your coming from but unless you're planning on playing footy until you're 70 I would suggest that the committee are just showing a bit more care than perhaps some other clubs might ie finding you a career path. As for the first L/G game, my recollection was that L/G got a good enough lead up before the rain bucketed down and after that Woora played catch up all day and were never really in the hunt. So unless you are El Nino i would think that perhaps you are full of sh:D:Dt.
Appin Vet
31 Jul 2007, 14:44
Seniors Premiers- Tooleytang
Seconds-Leitchville/Gunbower
Thirds- Cohuna
Shoot down if you feel warranted.
Sockit151
31 Jul 2007, 15:08
Seniors Premiers- Tooleytang
Seconds-Leitchville/Gunbower
Thirds- Cohuna
Shoot down if you feel warranted.
Tooley/Manang are clearly in the top 3 and have a chance, but i would still favour the Roos or Dogs at this stage!!
the_coburn
31 Jul 2007, 17:59
Seniors: Balranald vs Dogs dogs will win because they are a team
Reserves: bombers vs tooley leichi will win
colts: anyones at this time wora are good team but wont be able to compete when other teams are at full strength
Manbearpigisreal
31 Jul 2007, 20:19
Where will he play next year then. Woora have massive trouble. It all started when they first sacked blokes like Stinga and Alford. They loved the boys when they won them a flag then blamed them for all the trouble the next year. Stinga is a quality bloke and given time would be great for any club.
If Stinga were to be a coach next year and he asked me to play, i would be in
My knowledge is that he'll most likely be headin back to SFL to play wif Imps or Wenty, and also taking Prima with him. Yeah he has a wild side but now with a family and a missus he's settled. And agree that he is brilliant to play under and would love the chance again.
Manbearpigisreal
31 Jul 2007, 20:22
I can perhaps see where your coming from but unless you're planning on playing footy until you're 70 I would suggest that the committee are just showing a bit more care than perhaps some other clubs might ie finding you a career path. As for the first L/G game, my recollection was that L/G got a good enough lead up before the rain bucketed down and after that Woora played catch up all day and were never really in the hunt. So unless you are El Nino i would think that perhaps you are full of sh:D:Dt.
Yeah true no1 can play till there 70 but the idea of paying players to come to the club is to PLAY FOOTY, whether they work out side of footy is up to the individual. It's good that people give em opportunities but if they don't wanna work don't push em or they'll take off.
bruce almighty69
31 Jul 2007, 22:35
that's fine mate let's refer then to filo. How is filo travelling then when his mrs has health issues then apparently and travelling to bendigo according to previous posts in the BFL forum?? is this why he is not playing?? you seem to know a bit about what is going on with the Roo boys. Want to throw that at us as an excuse as to why filo is not playing?? i understand that there is more to life than football but have to agree with Glovey on this issue, seems like a money spinner to me as to why chilton played then, was expecting a gun????
there's a good topic to discuss, have got you all talking this week for a newbie!!
bruce almighty69
31 Jul 2007, 22:36
Seniors: Balranald vs Dogs dogs will win because they are a team
Reserves: bombers vs tooley leichi will win
colts: anyones at this time wora are good team but wont be able to compete when other teams are at full strength
doggies will definately win the flag
ROOTA#6
31 Jul 2007, 23:14
Yeah true no1 can play till there 70 but the idea of paying players to come to the club is to PLAY FOOTY, whether they work out side of footy is up to the individual. It's good that people give em opportunities but if they don't wanna work don't push em or they'll take off.
I think the idea of pushing blokes to get jobs is so that they may stay around for a year or two longer than just the first one that they sign on for
mrmagic
31 Jul 2007, 23:40
doggies will definately win the flag
Doggies v tooley GF
can anyone tell me if the rumor about wes lewis playing again next year is fair dinkum, the bloke loves footy but after sustaining a serious injury like that you'd have to wonder what he has to prove...Anyone....:cool::cool:
CLIFTON WANNABE
1 Aug 2007, 09:56
that's fine mate let's refer then to filo. How is filo travelling then when his mrs has health issues then apparently and travelling to bendigo according to previous posts in the BFL forum?? is this why he is not playing?? you seem to know a bit about what is going on with the Roo boys. Want to throw that at us as an excuse as to why filo is not playing?? i understand that there is more to life than football but have to agree with Glovey on this issue, seems like a money spinner to me as to why chilton played then, was expecting a gun????
there's a good topic to discuss, have got you all talking this week for a newbie!!
Am in a fair position to say i know the filo's welll and believe they would not like their family life brought up in this forum again. Fair dinkum Bruce I'm sure your wife would be upset if we talked about her life issues on an open forum.
Go back to talking footy. This is not bloody Oprah.
i think you will find he has a hamstring and back issues from wood cutting if you are genuinely concerned and treated in Bendigo.
clifton's lookalike
1 Aug 2007, 10:18
I think the idea of pushing blokes to get jobs is so that they may stay around for a year or two longer than just the first one that they sign on for
That is true roota but there is a flip side to all this as well.
If you are recruiting the right blokes they will also try and source their own work in the town rather than leave it up to the footy clubs who seem to just get them work doing ANYTHING & EVERYTHING, which half the time is the problem.
I think all clubs need to become smarter with their recruiting and sign blokes up on 2 year contracts with clauses for each party to get out if they are not happy, especially clubs who might be in the rebuilding phase as the last thing they would want is constant turnover of players like some have had in the last 5-6 years.
clifton's lookalike
1 Aug 2007, 10:24
Doggies v tooley GF
can anyone tell me if the rumor about wes lewis playing again next year is fair dinkum, the bloke loves footy but after sustaining a serious injury like that you'd have to wonder what he has to prove...Anyone....:cool::cool:
This would not surprise me at all. Wanted to play this year and apparantly wrote lettrs to governing bodies of football to seek approval to play but was declined.
I don't think he has anything to prove i think he has well and truly done that, I think he is just one of those guys that can't stay away from football. If his body feels right then i suppose it his decision and he will have to wear the consequences if anything did go wrong.
Wouldn't surprise me if the talk of Tierney not coaching Woorinen next year are true that Lewis would be one of the first ones Woora speak to.
Last 3 weeks have seen Kerang play the top 3 and cop a fair hiding on each occasion. The talk of Balranald and the Dogs being flag favourites is a worry?? Against Toolybuck Kerang had their best team on the paddock for the 3 games and were slaughtered, Vs balranald they were overwhelmed in the final quater and against the dogs Kerang fielded possibly their worst side for the year and again only had it look bad in the last quater.
I'm with the Appin Vet, Toolytang for the Flag, or is there something all you northeners know that the southeners dont??
Would like to see Leitchville win the 2's, the kids comp is a close affair but go with my side Kerang, with a full strength team they will give it a good shake.
Sockit151
1 Aug 2007, 10:37
Am in a fair position to say i know the filo's welll and believe they would not like their family life brought up in this forum again. Fair dinkum Bruce I'm sure your wife would be upset if we talked about her life issues on an open forum.
Go back to talking footy. This is not bloody Oprah.
i think you will find he has a hamstring and back issues from wood cutting if you are genuinely concerned and treated in Bendigo.
I'm sure he would have a thinker skin than that wannabe??
Nothing was said specifically about his wife or his family, it was just mentioned in passing that he has things other than FOOTY (as everyone does) that may be taking his time and attention away from his FOOTY..
I agree that people shouldn't get personal, but don't think that post was really and agree that we should stick to the FOOTY. If you know them and want to avoid an Oprah show why not just answer the question about why he isn't playing and why Chilton did if he shouldn't have and move on??
woof woof
1 Aug 2007, 12:08
Last 3 weeks have seen Kerang play the top 3 and cop a fair hiding on each occasion. The talk of Balranald and the Dogs being flag favourites is a worry?? Against Toolybuck Kerang had their best team on the paddock for the 3 games and were slaughtered, Vs balranald they were overwhelmed in the final quater and against the dogs Kerang fielded possibly their worst side for the year and again only had it look bad in the last quater.
I'm with the Appin Vet, Toolytang for the Flag, or is there something all you northeners know that the southeners dont??
Would like to see Leitchville win the 2's, the kids comp is a close affair but go with my side Kerang, with a full strength team they will give it a good shake.
I would say JamBee that kerang were never in the hunt against tyntynder were outclassed all day but the dogs didn't put it on the scoreboard all that well. would also say that it would be close to tyntynders worst side for the year as well.
I think the senior comp is as close as any. i think their are 4 teams that can win it and think leitchville would be just licking their lips that no one is talking about them being in contention because they are a real threat.