View Full Version : Central Murray FL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 [78] 79 80 81 82

Pratt
29 Jul 2008, 18:18
Cheers mate. Is Sam Lowerson still playing for them?
yea mate

DOCKERS
29 Jul 2008, 21:50
congrats on the arrival roota, was going to ring but no number! plus we need to talk about cricket!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

ROOTA#6
29 Jul 2008, 23:36
congrats on the arrival roota, was going to ring but no number! plus we need to talk about cricket!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Cheers old mate :thumbsu: I will PM you my number

Benjii
30 Jul 2008, 11:30
if there was a day that big rick wanted to kick a bag saturday should be the day against the arch rivals, and johnny bell will also get a lot of the ball again, who do you think will get the key forwards for L/G with the Kangas backline being so inexperienced, you have Shaun Martin (18yrs old), Mathew Trigg if fit (31-32), Wayne Crichton (21), Boddie Arthur (18),Dylan Anderson (27-28) and Craig Crichton (17) can they match it or will they be to inexperienced for the L/G forwards?
i think we hav boddie arthur (bigfoot20) back on the thread in a new name talking himself up again.

Express Paceman
30 Jul 2008, 16:42
i think we hav boddie arthur (bigfoot20) back on the thread in a new name talking himself up again.
exactly what i thought when i read that

Bigeasy
30 Jul 2008, 17:07
yea mate

is he having a good year, bad year, reasonable????

danielkerr
30 Jul 2008, 17:43
exactly what i thought when i read that

in no way does that post talk up bodie arthur...it mentions him as one of cohunas backline and questions their ability to match it with leitchvilles forwards...

Dead to me
30 Jul 2008, 19:05
in no way does that post talk up bodie arthur...it mentions him as one of cohunas backline and questions their ability to match it with leitchvilles forwards...

I really think Leitchy will be all over Cohuna. The games i've seen for Leitchy their forwards have been impressive and will steamroll Cohunas backline. Cohuna seems to be extremely strong in the middle with great team work but come to a stop when they hit the 50m. Any word on any of the other Melbourne boys re-signing for Cohuna? A big season next year if they can keep the side. Leitchy have a great chance for the top spots next year if they can pick up a few more key players.

Pratt
30 Jul 2008, 20:32
is he having a good year, bad year, reasonable????
na not sure only saw one game of him this season

blueboyjuddy
30 Jul 2008, 20:41
I really think Leitchy will be all over Cohuna. The games i've seen for Leitchy their forwards have been impressive and will steamroll Cohunas backline. Cohuna seems to be extremely strong in the middle with great team work but come to a stop when they hit the 50m. Any word on any of the other Melbourne boys re-signing for Cohuna? A big season next year if they can keep the side. Leitchy have a great chance for the top spots next year if they can pick up a few more key players.

no news on any other melbourne boys yet besides belly signing for another 2 years also heard that he is tryin to get some of his mates to play dunno if this fact or fiction

RockDogg
1 Aug 2008, 15:41
Cohuna will beat LG by a bit and Ricky Easton will kick 6 or more.

RainOnMe
1 Aug 2008, 18:40
from wat ive heard Prendagast doesnt go in and get the hard ball is that true?

Yeah Prendergast is a Big Sheep Dog, doesnt know what hard footy is....

So is Greg Dickson be back playing this week??? What iv bein told, his bein in the top 3 players for Kerang all year... Good Bloke

Express Paceman
1 Aug 2008, 18:52

So is Greg Dickson be back playing this week??? What iv bein told, his bein in the top 3 players for Kerang all year... Good Bloke
has some sort of virus ive been told so probly isn't playing.. good chance for the young blokes to get a chance this week though when there playing lalbert, i wouldn't be surprised if 3 or 4 of the colts get a go

peter powers
1 Aug 2008, 19:58
no news on any other melbourne boys yet besides belly signing for another 2 years also heard that he is tryin to get some of his mates to play dunno if this fact or fiction
when you say melbourne boys who are you referring to other than bell and bickerton and bell will now be considered a local after moving up to cohuna last week which can only be gr8 news for the club:)

Pratt
1 Aug 2008, 20:03

prendagast has great hands... if ya rekon he is a sheep dog he does it well
the only real sheepdog ive seen is bluey forsyth

The Fourth Son
1 Aug 2008, 20:58
Look guys, I have a real issue with what some people refer to as 'sheep-dogging.' In my mind I believe it is a joke to call anyone a sheep-dog. If a player drops off a pack and the ball gets out to him wouldn't that make him quite the smart player ? Ryan Prendergast is not the in and under ball-winner that some are but let's be serious here... Not everyone on the park is that type of player. Without the Prendergast's and Brent Forsyth's not many goals will be kicked. The only way I concede that players are weak and not committed is if they shy away from a collision or not put their head over the ball when it's their turn. Other than that the term 'sheep-dog' is quite ridiculous. And to be blunt, I think the people using this term fall under the category I've spoken about... Not going when it's their turn...

RainOnMe
1 Aug 2008, 21:50
prendagast has great hands... if ya rekon he is a sheep dog he does it well
the only real sheepdog ive seen is bluey forsyth

The thing bout Bluey his got the runs on the board, with a league B&F and is a good bloke... Na Prendergast Is a sheep dog and always will be a sheep dog. Most Overated footballer....

fantom
1 Aug 2008, 22:23
The thing bout Bluey his got the runs on the board, with a league B&F and is a good bloke... Na Prendergast Is a sheep dog and always will be a sheep dog. Most Overated footballer....
your kiding your self rain!!! prendagast is one of the hardest worker in the leauge! he runs all day with out doubt! one of my favourite players to watch simply becuase of how hard he works to get to every contest! i have seen him turn it on many times and ive seen him win his fair share of hard ball gets!

krackerjack
3 Aug 2008, 20:47
you tell him bill lawry rain is suffering from the lack of moisture to his brain PRENDERGAST would get a game in any CMFL team

redhawke
5 Aug 2008, 22:34
There's been some young guns stepping up and playing well at senior level as of late, names such as Leigh masters, Mitch McGowan, Chris McMahon are all being talked about, any insight on how these players are going or any other young blokes playing well?

memphis_1
5 Aug 2008, 22:56
There's been some young guns stepping up and playing well at senior level as of late, names such as Leigh masters, Mitch McGowan, Chris McMahon are all being talked about, any insight on how these players are going or any other young blokes playing well?

Yeah young Micca Columbro has been steppin up with a few good games under his belt in the ones for woorenin.

DOCKERS
6 Aug 2008, 16:00
Yeah young Micca Columbro has been steppin up with a few good games under his belt in the ones for woorenin.

the entire woora 1's is made up of young guns, myself included

FROGDOG17
6 Aug 2008, 16:49
the entire woora 1's is made up of young guns, myself included

Young Elephant Gun!:)

Express Paceman
6 Aug 2008, 18:25
troy davis played a couple of ripper games in the 1's for kerang a few weeks back...leigh masters is doing well from all reports and mitch mcgowan in the best a couple of times

Big Guns
6 Aug 2008, 18:41
chris mcmahon is a very talented young player. runs in straight lines, finds plenty of the footy and continues to feature amoungst the best players for swan hill. one to watch come finals time.

Premiership Season
6 Aug 2008, 19:04
best young gun the league has seen in a very long time nobody can go past bryden morison freakish skills got a bitta speed and talent to burn any club would love to have him on there theam has played 50 games already and just turned 18 awsome player

jake17
6 Aug 2008, 19:24
how are woorinen going?

danielkerr
6 Aug 2008, 19:40
best young gun the league has seen in a very long time nobody can go past bryden morison freakish skills got a bitta speed and talent to burn any club would love to have him on there theam has played 50 games already and just turned 18 awsome player

just turned 18...? i thought he was already 19, if he just turned 18 he would be playing colts this year? chris mcmahon, at 16, is clearly the most promising young talent the league has and will have an influence come finals time for swan hills seniors...

point 2 prove
6 Aug 2008, 21:23
how are woorinen going?
Got some good up and comers, nathan cameron can play key foward, got good hands and young taylor mckenzie goes alright as well :)

Premiership Season
6 Aug 2008, 21:43
just turned 18...? i thought he was already 19, if he just turned 18 he would be playing colts this year? chris mcmahon, at 16, is clearly the most promising young talent the league has and will have an influence come finals time for swan hills seniors...
turned 18 this year and yeh chris mcmahon is an great player for swanhill but bryden is a great player for kerang also both very handy players and no how to get the footy but bryden morison is my fav player to watch

fantom
6 Aug 2008, 22:06
turned 18 this year and yeh chris mcmahon is an great player for swanhill but bryden is a great player for kerang also both very handy players and no how to get the footy but bryden morison is my fav player to watch
i disagree, i think that chris mcmahon is the best up and comeer. have played a bit of footy with and agiasnt him and have seen him carve up the seniors for swnahill in recent weeks! at olny the gae of 16 he is the most promising up and comer i beleive! have a lot of respect for him as a player!

point 2 prove
6 Aug 2008, 22:17
i disagree, i think that chris mcmahon is the best up and comeer. have played a bit of footy with and agiasnt him and have seen him carve up the seniors for swnahill in recent weeks! at olny the gae of 16 he is the most promising up and comer i beleive! have a lot of respect for him as a player!
i agree, he has wonderful balance.. rarely goes to ground. great leap. can find the footy and as im sure all of his opponents know can sell some candy better then anyone else.!!

The Fevolution
7 Aug 2008, 00:02
Lachie Weekley is another player comin through the ranks out at Balranald. stringing together a few good games in the seniors, not ya typical over stylish player, but still has a lot of polish.
Michael Rankin is a 19yr old, been playing key backline, taken a few scalps like brad carroll, Dwayne Holt etc. Playing very good footy in his first year of seniors.

theage
7 Aug 2008, 14:44
hows that fat ugly man going for the saints arentz !!!

The Fourth Son
7 Aug 2008, 16:27
Couple of kids people may have forgotten about...
Also a kid is anyone under 21 in my opinion.
Grant Ford (SH) - TAC Cup b&f winner. Finds alot of the ball. Playing some VFL reserves. Played well with SH a few weeks back.
Steve Stroobants (SH) - Fit, fast, skilled forward. Kicks goals and takes marks. Would've been drafted if every team used all of its picks.
Josh Jenkins (LB) - A tall, athletic player. Can play in a few spots. Lately has been playing well on a wing. Is 200cm.
Jayden Lonergan (LB) - Strong half forward who can go back and have a stint on the ball. Runs hard at the footy and hits the man hard.
Chris Prockter (Tyn) - Big, strong key forward. Takes a wonderful pack mark. Still developing as a tall forward.
Josh Gaylor (SH) - Lanky forward with great hands and is a very tough match-up. Medium sized forward.

memphis_1
7 Aug 2008, 17:30

Have to agree with u there.. would be there hardest opponent i have played on in the colts.

sparkplug
7 Aug 2008, 17:58
Can anybody tell me how Christian Schilds, Nook Mansell, Sean Gilbert and Jay Adams are going for Leitchville Gunbower this year? All played up here for Wanderers in the summer season and just curious to know what sort of seasons they've had. Cheers.

Benjii
7 Aug 2008, 21:53
Can anybody tell me how Christian Schilds, Nook Mansell, Sean Gilbert and Jay Adams are going for Leitchville Gunbower this year? All played up here for Wanderers in the summer season and just curious to know what sort of seasons they've had. Cheers.
injuries plagued there seasons.

s u g a k a n e
7 Aug 2008, 21:53
Couple of kids people may have forgotten about...
Also a kid is anyone under 21 in my opinion.
Grant Ford (SH) - TAC Cup b&f winner. Finds alot of the ball. Playing some VFL reserves. Played well with SH a few weeks back.
Steve Stroobants (SH) - Fit, fast, skilled forward. Kicks goals and takes marks. Would've been drafted if every team used all of its picks.
Josh Jenkins (LB) - A tall, athletic player. Can play in a few spots. Lately has been playing well on a wing. Is 200cm.
Jayden Lonergan (LB) - Strong half forward who can go back and have a stint on the ball. Runs hard at the footy and hits the man hard.
Chris Prockter (Tyn) - Big, strong key forward. Takes a wonderful pack mark. Still developing as a tall forward.
Josh Gaylor (SH) - Lanky forward with great hands and is a very tough match-up. Medium sized forward.
i think they mean people playing regularly for their home club, not representitive teams like the bendigo pioneers (prockter before he got injured, gaylor), Bendigo Bombers Reserves (Ford, Stroobants).. but im sure they would include them if they were playing regularly

know_it_all
7 Aug 2008, 22:00
Lachie Weekley is another player comin through the ranks out at Balranald. stringing together a few good games in the seniors, not ya typical over stylish player, but still has a lot of polish.
Michael Rankin is a 19yr old, been playing key backline, taken a few scalps like brad carroll, Dwayne Holt etc. Playing very good footy in his first year of seniors.

Mate Lachie Weekley can't run out a game without spewing his guts up i seen him in a colts game against swan hill.. :D

sparkplug
7 Aug 2008, 22:11
injuries plagued there seasons.

Oh thats no good. All four? Anything major?

duggasview
8 Aug 2008, 13:44
Schilds(family) and Adams (injury) both back up north, Nook Mansell back playing good footy after injury that kept him out for weeks, (Gilbo) Gilbert is finished for year with a recuring knee injury.Bombers have only had four players play all games without injuries.

point 2 prove
8 Aug 2008, 13:48
Schilds(family) and Adams (injury) both back up north, Nook Mansell back playing good footy after injury that kept him out for weeks, (Gilbo) Gilbert is finished for year with a recuring knee injury.Bombers have only had four players play all games without injuries.
What about the tigers??

AYJSKK123
8 Aug 2008, 16:49

Not sure about the other two but Mitch McGowan has been very impressive for the Raiders with his skill and courage. At only 16 and still growing this kid has a huge future. Coach Taylor has managed him well, playing him in bursts off the bench which has helped him adapt to senior footy. This time last year he was playing under 15s.

sparkplug
8 Aug 2008, 19:47

Thanks Benjii and duggasview.:thumbsu:

The Fourth Son
10 Aug 2008, 14:47
A massive performance yesterday as Cliff Ryan (albeit against the lowly Eagles) kicked 16 goals 12 behinds as well as a few that missed everything. Would've taken 30 marks

ROOTA#6
10 Aug 2008, 18:20
A massive performance yesterday as Cliff Ryan (albeit against the lowly Eagles) kicked 16 goals 12 behinds as well as a few that missed everything. Would've taken 30 marks

I heard Bluey Forsyth was being a bit lippy then copped one on the beak. That has been coming for a season or 3:D

the gloved 1
10 Aug 2008, 18:27
I heard Bluey Forsyth was being a bit lippy then copped one on the beak. That has been coming for a season or 3:D

big news coming out of boga is that bluey will coach the pies next year...

ROOTA#6
10 Aug 2008, 22:35
big news coming out of boga is that bluey will coach the pies next year...

I reckon i heard that was going to be the plan when they recruited him. Not bad forward thinking by the Pies. He didn't really get a good crack at it at Kerang from what i have been told

The Fourth Son
10 Aug 2008, 23:06
Unfortunately lads your news is wrong, Brent is heading back to his home land after the season and was signed on the knowing that he was only staying for one season. I think you'll find a former Pies star will be coaching them next season. The off field team has already begun the search for what they feel they need to become a contender. A lack of injuries would be a help.

ROOTA#6
10 Aug 2008, 23:18
Unfortunately lads your news is wrong, Brent is heading back to his home land after the season and was signed on the knowing that he was only staying for one season. I think you'll find a former Pies star will be coaching them next season. The off field team has already begun the search for what they feel they need to become a contender. A lack of injuries would be a help.

Former Pies star....interesting!!! That sounds like he is not currently playing with the club. Any other hints???

bernard the bipolar bear
11 Aug 2008, 13:52
Former Pies star....interesting!!! That sounds like he is not currently playing with the club. Any other hints???

Glenn Smith?

The Fourth Son
11 Aug 2008, 16:32
Well done Bernard. Your on the money. Smith is a great midfielder, will add some pace and bite around Boga's packs. Possibly bringing along his brother Scott with him. The Pies also in talks with Mick Dedini and a couple of talls. A key forward and key defender both from the Ovens and Murray league. Listed at 197cm and 94kg and 191cm and 97kg.

ROOTA#6
11 Aug 2008, 16:50
Well done Bernard. Your on the money. Smith is a great midfielder, will add some pace and bite around Boga's packs. Possibly bringing along his brother Scott with him. The Pies also in talks with Mick Dedini and a couple of talls. A key forward and key defender both from the Ovens and Murray league. Listed at 197cm and 94kg and 191cm and 97kg.

Very early to be confirming recruits for next year

danielkerr
11 Aug 2008, 18:45

i was unaware there was a scott smith...? brett is gettin on in age, arren is a good young player...are you referring to scott mathiske...?

danielkerr
11 Aug 2008, 18:47

is morrison on the pioneers list...?

The Fevolution
11 Aug 2008, 20:13
Mate Lachie Weekley can't run out a game without spewing his guts up i seen him in a colts game against swan hill.. :D

lachie weekley spews before and during games, gets nerves badly mate, has nothing to do with running out games....

ROOTA#6
11 Aug 2008, 21:47
i was unaware there was a scott smith...? brett is gettin on in age, arren is a good young player...are you referring to scott mathiske...?

Scott played in Boga's flag with Glen a few years back

dooda
11 Aug 2008, 22:56
lachie weekley spews before and during games, gets nerves badly mate, has nothing to do with running out games....

He is by far the fittest player in the Colts side, and runs himself into the ground every week. Then usually runs out and plays a full game in the two's and usually shreds in that too. Oh yeah but he isnt fit(sarcasm).

I witnessed the match of the year at Tooleybuc on the weekend and although the Balranald didn't go home with the result they wanted, you had to walk away and say what a game. Tooleybuc to good in the end. The crowd was unbelievable as it usually is with Balranald and Tooleybuc. Highlight was when Darcy Ryan got sent off with the blood rule, the Balranald crowd went into hysterics, beeping car horns and everything...Unbelievable.

The Fourth Son
12 Aug 2008, 04:49
Correct Roota. Very early to be naming recruits but Glenn Smith has verbally agreed to coach at the Pies. And from what I can gather a verbal agreement from him would definately mean, he will be coaching.

Gee, how things have changed. Tooleybuc roar back into contention now after defeating the Roos. All four teams are fairly evenly matched. I like the Swans as I feel their midfield and forwards are the best going around. Callan Beasy and Grant Tasca are very good defenders but who will line-up on Ahmat, Harris and the smalls from the Roos ? Don't anyone say Luke Kiel or Jezza Phelan please.

Can anyone tell me who won the contest between O'Sullivan and Farrelly in the ruck, both were named in the best and mentioned in the paper but hey, when is the Guardian ever write

Trent the flight Steward
12 Aug 2008, 13:21
Lets hope it is smith and not andrew butterfield, chris pohlner or shane strempel

ROOTA#6
12 Aug 2008, 13:28
Lets hope it is smith and not andrew butterfield, chris pohlner or shane strempel

Is Stremps still alive???

TheOneTheOnly
12 Aug 2008, 13:43
Has he ever not been lippy!

Micky
12 Aug 2008, 22:20
Correct Roota. Very early to be naming recruits but Glenn Smith has verbally agreed to coach at the Pies. And from what I can gather a verbal agreement from him would definately mean, he will be coaching.

Gee, how things have changed. Tooleybuc roar back into contention now after defeating the Roos. All four teams are fairly evenly matched. I like the Swans as I feel their midfield and forwards are the best going around. Callan Beasy and Grant Tasca are very good defenders but who will line-up on Ahmat, Harris and the smalls from the Roos ? Don't anyone say Luke Kiel or Jezza Phelan please.

Can anyone tell me who won the contest between O'Sullivan and Farrelly in the ruck, both were named in the best and mentioned in the paper but hey, when is the Guardian ever write
although balranald do have many star small forwards swanhill could still get the job done.
phelan has not played ones for about 6 weeks so dunno were u pull his name from n he has never played back flank in his life! and keil is much underated as a youngster, reguarly flys under the radar becuase of names like davies, kruger and foott. he does the job week in week out!

strauchany20
12 Aug 2008, 22:38
Now that we're getting to the end of the season. does anyone want to name a team of CMFL players of the year?

a few names to get started would be: O'sullivan, H. Foott, Prentegast, Brown, Mcalpine, Boyd, Jess, etc.

strauchany20
12 Aug 2008, 22:50
also...well we're on the subject of great young talent, Raymond Hender from TM would be up there. Its his first year of colts. He's only just 16 and has played most Senior games this year, not afraid to have a big shot at goal, very good awareness, applies great tackles and has that black magic that can spark a team (has been instrumental at getting TM colts over the line this year). Played a very handy game against Balranald on the weekend. He's got a very big and strong body on him but could be a lot better if he lost a couple kg's so that he could get and play more gametime.

Its a rare thing for such a young body to be thrown in the midfield of a team like TM with midfielders like Darcy Ryan, Ash Thompson, Jack O'rourke, etc.

The only weakness in his game is his height (which he makes up for in his leap and agility) and his weight.

hard ball
13 Aug 2008, 22:44
hi who will res flag

Sockit151
14 Aug 2008, 10:46
hi who will res flag
K/B are by far the sharpest team i've seen, but after last weeks result Kerang must be a real good chance also..
Can't see any others teams getting close to these 2, unless they are able to call on senior players who become eligble for reserves finals..

Express Paceman
14 Aug 2008, 14:57
K/B are by far the sharpest team i've seen, but after last weeks result Kerang must be a real good chance also..
Can't see any others teams getting close to these 2, unless they are able to call on senior players who become eligble for reserves finals..
yep K/B and kerang are definately the favourites but also balranald are quite a good side on there day... and how many games must someone play 2 be eligible for finals in ressies

iron bootz
14 Aug 2008, 22:37
yep K/B and kerang are definately the favourites but also balranald are quite a good side on there day... and how many games must someone play 2 be eligible for finals in ressies
yer they are but they just got beaten by tooleybuc/manangatang by a far margin
any1 can win, after all any team can go thru the season not dropping a game and then drop the big
any1z year

s u g a k a n e
15 Aug 2008, 18:07

farrelly only played on sully in last quarter, and won most taps, just used his body very well

s u g a k a n e
15 Aug 2008, 18:11
also...well we're on the subject of great young talent, Raymond Hender from TM would be up there. Its his first year of colts. He's only just 16 and has played most Senior games this year, not afraid to have a big shot at goal, very good awareness, applies great tackles and has that black magic that can spark a team (has been instrumental at getting TM colts over the line this year). Played a very handy game against Balranald on the weekend. He's got a very big and strong body on him but could be a lot better if he lost a couple kg's so that he could get and play more gametime.

Its a rare thing for such a young body to be thrown in the midfield of a team like TM with midfielders like Darcy Ryan, Ash Thompson, Jack O'rourke, etc.

The only weakness in his game is his height (which he makes up for in his leap and agility) and his weight.
young body, the bloke is fully developed mate. He wont grow much taller at all. He's got that rugby style of play where he uses the old goose step to try and evade would be tacklers, has worked pretty well for him, will be influential for tooley colts in finals

peter powers
16 Aug 2008, 21:02
Swan hill are a good side but i dont see them holding up the cup at the end of the year could only manage to beat cohuna by 8 goals and that was after a big last quarter they only had a 3 goal lead going into the last change

Hillite
17 Aug 2008, 16:53
What are the Booth prices in the CMFL?
Thanks.

Carey and Grant
19 Aug 2008, 13:36
Apperently Cohuna have signed another gun in Nathan Zerafa has a massive name in the Western Region Football LEague and Essendon District Football LEague. Is a good friend of Jon Bells apparently.

Auskick
19 Aug 2008, 15:53
Apperently Cohuna have signed another gun in Nathan Zerafa has a massive name in the Western Region Football LEague and Essendon District Football LEague. Is a good friend of Jon Bells apparently.

Cohuna will be hoping he is a gun.Fairly sure he signed.

theage
19 Aug 2008, 17:34

i wouldnt be calling bell a gun , he only just makes the EDFL sides , his mate can play , twice the player that bell is :confused:

Auskick
19 Aug 2008, 18:23
i wouldnt be calling bell a gun , he only just makes the EDFL sides , his mate can play , twice the player that bell is :confused:

Nobody called Bell a gun! Was refering to his mate.

Pratt
19 Aug 2008, 20:59
Carey and Grant: Apperently Cohuna have signed another gun in Nathan Zerafa has a massive name in the Western Region Football LEague and Essendon District Football LEague. Is a good friend of Jon Bells apparently.

he might not be referring to bell but i dont know any others good players they could be referring to!

peter powers
19 Aug 2008, 21:43
to say belly is not a gun is a complete understatement he goes out every week giving cohuna 110 % and will easily win their bnf

Auskick
19 Aug 2008, 22:27
to say belly is not a gun is a complete understatement he goes out every week giving cohuna 110 % and will easily win their bnf

I didn't say that Bell wasn't a gun.Simply just stated that nobody had refered to him as a gun in that particular quote.Would be suprised if he didn't win the B & F at Kangas.

theage
20 Aug 2008, 00:53

proves my point , that how good cohuna is !!! very average !! when are they ever going to attract big name players , they should have some power by being closer to melbourne than other teams , rather than fringe players in not so:) strong comps

Auskick
20 Aug 2008, 09:12
proves my point , that how good cohuna is !!! very average !! when are they ever going to attract big name players , they should have some power by being closer to melbourne than other teams , rather than fringe players in not so:) strong comps

It is very hard to attract people to small country towns.However i'm sure that every club is out & about trying to recruit for next year.And just for the record Bell is a highly rated player in this league

ROOTA#6
20 Aug 2008, 10:14

I would have thought the Essendon District Football League was a fairly strong comp. Not a bad league to draw players from if you can get them

Carey and Grant
20 Aug 2008, 11:44
I would have thought the Essendon District Football League was a fairly strong comp. Not a bad league to draw players from if you can get them

I play in the EDFL and your right it is a very strong league. Dont be surprised if a few more players from this league sign up to cohuna and surrounds to play in a warmer climate and experience country footy

max powers.
20 Aug 2008, 11:53

Cohuna is still a fair distance from Melb it's not like we're Gisborne....

pretty ill informed comments. Sounds as though you have some "history" with Belly but i think you've come on the wrong forum to sink the boot in as he's pretty well respected on here.

I'd rather The Herald Sun anyway....

theage
20 Aug 2008, 12:50
Cohuna is still a fair distance from Melb it's not like we're Gisborne....

pretty ill informed comments. Sounds as though you have some "history" with Belly but i think you've come on the wrong forum to sink the boot in as he's pretty well respected on here.

I'd rather The Herald Sun anyway....

dont know the guy personally mate !! i ve lived in cohuna inthe past and would like to see the club go well and start recruiting wisely and get their side back into finals

Trent the flight Steward
20 Aug 2008, 13:27
Any chance of the kangas getting ross hipwell back to the club, very aggressive skilfull flanker.
When was the last time the kangas played finals footy? When they first entered the league they were strong in all 3 grades of footy and they did recruit high profile players yet still couldnt get the elusive flag perhaps they have to throw everything at the bow & arch to coach them

Dead to me
20 Aug 2008, 13:44
Carey and Grant: Apperently Cohuna have signed another gun in Nathan Zerafa has a massive name in the Western Region Football LEague and Essendon District Football LEague. Is a good friend of Jon Bells apparently.

he might not be referring to bell but i dont know any others good players they could be referring to!

You are a tool mate!! The Cohuna sides I have witnessed this year have plenty of guns, the problem is they are never all firing at once. When they have a little more experiance under their belts as a side, they will be a very strong side. Sure Cohuna could throw the cash around like many other clubs and buy themselves a flag but where does that get them in the future when their young up and comers are ditched for Melbourne players?? Country clubs need the support from the community to field sides and if the sides are made up of outsiders it won't be long till the town turns their backs on the club. Hammond, Chrichton's, Spring, Grove, Trigg, Arthur, Bickerton, Bruns, Bell, Easton and Bradley all are extremely skillfull, tough players that give 110% each and every game. This list would give their heart and souls for this team and their town and you know what thats really what footy is about.
Good Luck Kangas on 2009.:D

Auskick
20 Aug 2008, 13:48
Any chance of the kangas getting ross hipwell back to the club, very aggressive skilfull flanker.
When was the last time the kangas played finals footy? When they first entered the league they were strong in all 3 grades of footy and they did recruit high profile players yet still couldnt get the elusive flag perhaps they have to throw everything at the bow & arch to coach them

Every club recruits players & only one club wins that elusive flag every year.There is more than one club in the comp that hasn't won a flag.Would be good 2 see Ross Hipwell back in playing at one of the local clubs

danielkerr
20 Aug 2008, 15:59
You are a tool mate!! The Cohuna sides I have witnessed this year have plenty of guns, the problem is they are never all firing at once. When they have a little more experiance under their belts as a side, they will be a very strong side. Sure Cohuna could throw the cash around like many other clubs and buy themselves a flag but where does that get them in the future when their young up and comers are ditched for Melbourne players?? Country clubs need the support from the community to field sides and if the sides are made up of outsiders it won't be long till the town turns their backs on the club. Hammond, Chrichton's, Spring, Grove, Trigg, Arthur, Bickerton, Bruns, Bell, Easton and Bradley all are extremely skillfull, tough players that give 110% each and every game. This list would give their heart and souls for this team and their town and you know what thats really what footy is about.

all sides have to recruit to win, its that simple...im not saying that a club should recruit an entire seniors side, like some have, but the opportunity to play with a handful of older more prized recruits will help bring the best out of any teams younger players...

Auskick
20 Aug 2008, 17:11

I do agree with giving young kids a go instead of recruiting people into the club.However it is hard for small country towns to rely on locals for success.As a lot of clubs do recruit a lot of players so it makes it difficult to remain competitive in the competition.Unfortunately money has wrecked country football.To many people are playing for $$$$ & not for the love of the sport.

Auskick
20 Aug 2008, 17:27
dont know the guy personally mate !! i ve lived in cohuna inthe past and would like to see the club go well and start recruiting wisely and get their side back into finals

I'm quite sure that when all clubs recruit they hope that they recruit quality footballers both on & off the field.However you don't now until they are at your club playing.It takes alot of hard work & time from volunteers to run a club & it's very easy to sit back & pass comment on what you think a club should do.

theage
20 Aug 2008, 18:45
I'm quite sure that when all clubs recruit they hope that they recruit quality footballers both on & off the field.However you don't now until they are at your club playing.It takes alot of hard work & time from volunteers to run a club & it's very easy to sit back & pass comment on what you think a club should do.

is sean filo going to be down in history for being the first coach to lose 3 grand finals in a row , unlucky hey

Pratt
20 Aug 2008, 18:51
hmmm.... if this cohuna team has plenty of guns, then what you call guns must be just players that just show glimpses of good football(because i havent seen many consistent good footballers out your way, guns win flags for ya). A gun should play well every week. if ya rate your team so highly why dont ya just worry about beating a team like worineen and not run ya coach off the bench when he is about 45.
But thats what country footy is about, isnt it?
you are gunna need alota luck mate in 2009

My Name Is Earl
20 Aug 2008, 19:29
As far as i can tell, Cohuna dont have any guns. Using Tooleytang as an example, they have Ash Thompson, Ryan O'Sullivan, Lance Brown and Jarrod Arentz as their guns and this is the team that won last years flag (and thats in no way disrespecting the other players in the Tooleytang team.) Don't think Cohuna have anybody, Jon Bell included, that fall into the class of the above four players.

A "gun" player is someone who can win a game from their own boot every week, not just show flashes of good football every now and then. Considering you could count the number of games Cohuna have won this season on one hand, you could hardly say they have any guns.

Big Guns
20 Aug 2008, 20:17
Swan hill are a good side but i dont see them holding up the cup at the end of the year could only manage to beat cohuna by 8 goals and that was after a big last quarter they only had a 3 goal lead going into the last change

Swan Hill had 4 quality players missing on saturday. Its a big call to discount a side that has a spine like swan hill.

Auskick
20 Aug 2008, 23:56
is sean filo going to be down in history for being the first coach to lose 3 grand finals in a row , unlucky hey

Well it's possible time will tell.There are plenty of clubs that spend big $$$$$$ and don't come away with the flag.You don't know unless you try.

Auskick
21 Aug 2008, 00:04
As far as i can tell, Cohuna dont have any guns. Using Tooleytang as an example, they have Ash Thompson, Ryan O'Sullivan, Lance Brown and Jarrod Arentz as their guns and this is the team that won last years flag (and thats in no way disrespecting the other players in the Tooleytang team.) Don't think Cohuna have anybody, Jon Bell included, that fall into the class of the above four players.

A "gun" player is someone who can win a game from their own boot every week, not just show flashes of good football every now and then. Considering you could count the number of games Cohuna have won this season on one hand, you could hardly say they have any guns.

Last time i checked football was a team sport! How much do they pay them.........Lance Brown a gun ......not! Yes Jarod Arrentz can win a game off his own boot but he stiil needs someone to get it to him!

ROOTA#6
21 Aug 2008, 08:57
Last time i checked football was a team sport! How much do they pay them.........Lance Brown a gun ......not! Yes Jarod Arrentz can win a game off his own boot but he stiil needs someone to get it to him!

You are an absolute idiot Auskick. Anyone who has watched or played CMFL footy over the last 10 years will tell that Lance is one of the best the league has seen in that time. 2 league b & f's says to me that the man is an out and out gun. The best player that i have played with