View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

TECHNO
31 Oct 2006, 16:09
Word is that the Lakers were targetting some players at Nth Ballarat with Moloney being their number 1 target. A few players were on the move but with the departure of Crosisca they have chosen to stay.
What's wrong with the tattoos?? I have 'DUCK HUNTER' tattooed accross my back i think i rock!

all you blokes sit behind your computers running your mouth off about all these coaches, it would be interesting to see how many games you played duck hunter.

adak
31 Oct 2006, 18:09
There's always plenty of talk about the best midfielders and forwards but rate the top 5 ruckman and tall defenders

Redan Lions
31 Oct 2006, 22:08
Sharks are circling!

What about Moloney, has he left the Roosters yet to go back to the Lakers?

As for Fisher, maybe it's his laughable tattoos that make people not respect him. What a cumstain.

back to the lakers he never was there was he??? dont be suprised to see xav line up for redan next year. and we will need him with jezza and peace leaving. although ryan waight and matt dwyer will still look good in the middle next to fieldy.

as for fisher leave him alone i think he speaks well, fu*k this Fuc* that was the extent of his talks in the finals...i did like the one after the first final 'we have a 2nd chance now we have to fuc*ing use it' thats sort of what he said add in 40 more fu*ks your close to having it word for word. also dont think it's been mentioned but surely everyone else thinks he's a robbie williams wanna be same hair do and got tats all over him...

Redan Lions
31 Oct 2006, 22:11
not going to try and name the top 5 ruckmen and backman but from redan Dickinson has to be in there. 18/19 years old rucks all day with out a change and might not win many taps but makes a contest, runs most ruckmen off their feet.
as for backmen lubeek and snibson don't get beaten very often.

paddy038
1 Nov 2006, 05:19
Redan football club has ridden on the back of North Ballarat F.C. and the North Ballarat Junior F.C. for years it will be interesting to see if they start bringing juniors up from their own club or continue buying players ??????

the_other
1 Nov 2006, 07:49
I don't know why people think Redan are buying players, they don't have any money. When North Ballarat left the BFL there was an alliance formed with Redan due to the perilous state Redan was in. It has certainly worked well for Redan, there is no denying that, but it is a reflection of the close bond formed by the Northies wanting to stay together in spite of the huge dollars thrown at them by the country clubs.

As to juniors from Redan: Waight, Micaleff and Ward aren't bad...

Navies4
1 Nov 2006, 07:59
back to the lakers he never was there was he??? dont be suprised to see xav line up for redan next year. and we will need him with jezza and peace leaving. although ryan waight and matt dwyer will still look good in the middle next to fieldy.

as for fisher leave him alone i think he speaks well, fu*k this Fuc* that was the extent of his talks in the finals...i did like the one after the first final 'we have a 2nd chance now we have to fuc*ing use it' thats sort of what he said add in 40 more fu*ks your close to having it word for word. also dont think it's been mentioned but surely everyone else thinks he's a robbie williams wanna be same hair do and got tats all over him...

Where is the train going?

Redan Lions
1 Nov 2006, 08:19
Where is the train going?

the peace train is heading to Nth Ballarat and im sure he will go well.

as for redan paying heaps of money for nth players, you tell me where all this money comes from padddy??? because i think you will find they wouldnt spend as much money as alot of other clubs in the BFL. there list is made up of uni students and friends of muzz when he was at nth. im not saying they dont pay anything because every club obviously does but i think you would be suprised at how much they pay there players.

paddy038
1 Nov 2006, 08:37
I think you will find waighty was a North junior. I never mentioned HEAPS of money and two juniors playing in your senior side is not a very good return from your "Junior Developement" ????????

learmonth
1 Nov 2006, 09:31
I think you will find waighty was a North junior. I never mentioned HEAPS of money and two juniors playing in your senior side is not a very good return from your "Junior Developement" ????????

On that as well, im pretty sure that Simon Ward is a prodigy of Mt.Clear Juniors as well../????- That leaves 1

gault
1 Nov 2006, 10:01
On that as well, im pretty sure that Simon Ward is a prodigy of Mt.Clear Juniors as well../????- That leaves 1

did ash barker play redan juniors or was he another one to come over from nth ballarat?
ward and waight both played u/18s for redan.

paddy038
1 Nov 2006, 10:11
correct weight Learmonth that is spot on, 1 out of three aint bad hey ha ha ha

paddy038
1 Nov 2006, 10:28
So Redan take credit for Waighty and Wardys development after only playing there for two years in the u18's????? not Mt Clear or North for all the years they played with those clubs through their junior years???? . And who mentioned Ash Barker???????

Vineyard
1 Nov 2006, 12:31
There's always plenty of talk about the best midfielders and forwards but rate the top 5 ruckman and tall defenders

Ruckman

Kodorenko (East), Little & Cariss (Sunbury), Dickinson (Redan), Stephenson (Darley) are the top 5. Cariss was named ruck in the team of year but Little & Kodorenko rucked in interleague side.

Tall Backman

Snibson, Lubeek (Redan), Symes (East) O'Connor (Sunbury) and probably a few more out there.

Symes BP Snibson FB & Cape CHB from Darley filled the tall back spots in the team of the year

blues12
1 Nov 2006, 12:40
how did james at melton go in the ruck this year.

patty O'furnicha
1 Nov 2006, 12:41
Ruckman

Kodorenko (East), Little & Cariss (Sunbury), Dickinson (Redan), Stephenson (Darley) are the top 5. Cariss was named ruck in the team of year but Little & Kodorenko rucked in interleague side.

Tall Backman

Snibson, Lubeek (Redan), Symes (East) O'Connor (Sunbury) and probably a few more out there.

Symes BP Snibson FB & Cape CHB from Darley filled the tall back spots in the team of the year

You've named 4 tall backman Vineyard.. Could you have thrown Cape (darley) in there to make up the top 5.:thumbsu:

saucehead
1 Nov 2006, 13:50
Ruckman

Tall Backman

i disagree with the ruckman. i think the 1 ruckman all teams find hard to ruck against is that massive ruckman from melton. dickinson is overrated and the kid from bacchus marsh goes alright too.

master21
1 Nov 2006, 14:35
geeze boys getting stuck right into redan...who cares where the players come from, they are there now and winning games.

paddy038
1 Nov 2006, 18:20
Well master i don't have anything against Redan, actually i think it is great how they got themselves back from the brink of folding when the B.F.L. were bringing other teams in from out of town. But they did get some great help from N.B.J.F.C. players and people who jumped on board from NORTH to help them get where they are today!!!!!! short memories some of these people.

whippety boy
2 Nov 2006, 10:12
geeze boys getting stuck right into redan...who cares where the players come from, they are there now and winning games.Couldn't agree more Master. There sounds like some real sour grapes creeping into this thread.

thekid178
2 Nov 2006, 11:53
i think a CHFL side spoke to moloney as well, and from what i hear indication r that he will return to his home club in hampden league

TECHNO
2 Nov 2006, 16:07
redan have bought the premierships theyve won in recent years. There juniors have never been good and nothin has changed to this day.

master21
2 Nov 2006, 17:09
redan have bought the premierships theyve won in recent years. There juniors have never been good and nothin has changed to this day.

You are an absolute Wan ker Techno...you must no nothing about redan to be making rediculous statements like that. F#ck you, and the horse you rode in on!!!

TECHNO
2 Nov 2006, 18:08
You are an absolute Wan ker Techno...you must no nothing about redan to be making rediculous statements like that. F#ck you, and the horse you rode in on!!!

haha obviosly your a redan supporter. ask anyone mate and they will tell you exactly what i said. maybe you could tell me how many blokes who came up from the junior club played in the grand final.

Vineyard
2 Nov 2006, 18:14
You've named 4 tall backman Vineyard.. Could you have thrown Cape (darley) in there to make up the top 5.:thumbsu:

Sorry Patty'O forgot the ugly red head from Darley. Apparently the Darley players had a meet & greet last night with the new coach and response was positive. As per a previous post you mentioned Matt Cape was announced as an assistant.

Few key players have left and devils need to recruit.

the_pill
2 Nov 2006, 19:49
haha obviosly your a redan supporter. ask anyone mate and they will tell you exactly what i said. maybe you could tell me how many blokes who came up from the junior club played in the grand final.

Your obviously an idiot, redan have not bought themselves these premierships. Ex north players who play there attract others, who enjoy playing with their mates and therefore win premierships...

Doona2
2 Nov 2006, 20:31
Sharks are circling!

What about Moloney, has he left the Roosters yet to go back to the Lakers?

I believe big Spider gave his word to a mate back home at Broadford that if he aint at the Roosters in 2008 he'll play back home for one season.

the_other
2 Nov 2006, 22:04
So Redan take credit for Waighty and Wardys development after only playing there for two years in the u18's????? not Mt Clear or North for all the years they played with those clubs through their junior years???? . And who mentioned Ash Barker???????

I am not involved with Redan; they were just players I remembered playing U18s for Redan, so apologies for not knowing their full histories.

paddy038
3 Nov 2006, 05:17
You mean Redan have got players from North and not put any work into fostering there own home grown talent????? And you are spot on Techno there juniors have been no good cause the senior part of the club havent put any time into them.

Ozzie_kneebone
3 Nov 2006, 10:11
You mean Redan have got players from North and not put any work into fostering there own home grown talent????? And you are spot on Techno there juniors have been no good cause the senior part of the club havent put any time into them.
As a parent, I enrolled my son into Redans Auskick Program this year which had a massive 330 kids registered. The main reason for there success was the fact they had 5-6 senior players there every sunday morning so I can't see how there not trying to eject young blood through there ranks? All my son and he's mates want to do is play footy at redan? I think there future is alot safer than any other clubs... That's my opionion only though.

KingRich
3 Nov 2006, 10:14
As a parent, I enrolled my son into Redans Auskick Program this year which had a massive 330 kids registered. The main reason for there success was the fact they had 5-6 senior players there every sunday morning so I can't see how there not trying to eject young blood through there ranks? All my son and he's mates want to do is play footy at redan? I think there future is alot safer than any other clubs... That's my opionion only though.

That's good to hear Ozzie! Easy to pot the club for not having many home growns in their senior ranks at the moment but at least they are focusing hard on their youth now! Have to remember this side was a cellar dweller for many years and that makes it tough to keep your youngsters around as well! Good on Redan for getting up the top and staying there and also now focusing on their youth!

rexxy
3 Nov 2006, 11:18
That's good to hear Ozzie! Easy to pot the club for not having many home growns in their senior ranks at the moment but at least they are focusing hard on their youth now! Have to remember this side was a cellar dweller for many years and that makes it tough to keep your youngsters around as well! Good on Redan for getting up the top and staying there and also now focusing on their youth!

King, Waight, Micallef, Barnett, Barker, Ward, Alex Walsh, Simpkin, Schultz, Giblett, Knowles, Quinney, Matthews, Nicholson, Glasson, Grigg..............all played Under 18's with Redan. and were on the senior list this year. Only two of these players haven't played in the ones. Not all have played their whole careers at Redan, some from North, Mt. Clear elsewhere, but they came to Redan because their previous clubs had changed their structure and had a choice to make where they wanted to play football, and their choice was Redan - a few of these boys have been involved in numerous premierships now - juniors and seniors.
Look outside the square - Redan are not the only club in the district to benefit from North being in the VFL and have ex-north players at the club, look at Ballarat, Lakers, Daylesford, Waubra etc.
Maybe some people are a bit jealous of Redan's success over the years. Let it continue. They don't pay big bucks like other clubs, just recruit quality people into the club - on and off the field

Vineyard
3 Nov 2006, 12:16
Poor form bagging Redan when they are clearly the best side in the comp for reasons already mentioned by heaps of previous posts. Who cares where people played juniors, how much etc etc. They have been the best side for the past 5 years and thas what the facts are and in the record books. the other clubs just need to catch up.

Just sour grapes the people sooking because their clubs arent as good. Deal with it and improve your own club before bagging others.

colbys_kid
3 Nov 2006, 12:38
I can't beleive the attack on Redan's list. Has anyone had a good look at East Point. Just where do the Jordan's and co originate from?

colbys_kid
3 Nov 2006, 12:46
About time the subject changed.
I have it on good advice from within one of the Eastern Block clubs that Two recently delisted/retired AFL players may line up in the BFL for season 2007.

mooney
3 Nov 2006, 13:17
About time the subject changed.
I have it on good advice from within one of the Eastern Block clubs that Two recently delisted/retired AFL players may line up in the BFL for season 2007.

Well lets hear some names and which club......

Grimmett
3 Nov 2006, 13:52
With Gerard FitzGerald being appointed for his second stint as coach with North Ballarat does anybody see this altering the 2007 plans for any players.

Will some former Roosters return to North now that Crosisca is gone and Fitz is back?
Or, will some current Roosters cut bait and run now that Fitz is on his way?

colbys_kid
3 Nov 2006, 14:06
Well lets hear some names and which club......
Digby Morell and Troy Makepeace 2 Sunbury. Serge has made it known that he will retire from coaching after 2007 so Sunbury are looking to groom an experienced AFL player into the coaching role. All hinges on upcoming AFL draft.

Kings Army
3 Nov 2006, 14:56
Digby Morell and Troy Makepeace 2 Sunbury. Serge has made it known that he will retire from coaching after 2007 so Sunbury are looking to groom an experienced AFL player into the coaching role. All hinges on upcoming AFL draft.

Morell is the power forward Sunbury need. This is very close to be a done deal!

Riff Raff
3 Nov 2006, 14:59
With Gerard FitzGerald being appointed for his second stint as coach with North Ballarat does anybody see this altering the 2007 plans for any players.

Will some former Roosters return to North now that Crosisca is gone and Fitz is back?
Or, will some current Roosters cut bait and run now that Fitz is on his way?

What happens if North boys walk and look for another club, will the club be bagged for recruiting those who leave? Time the wingers realised all clubs recruit and the clubs who are well run will recruit the best players, not always with big $$. So in any side there are always great players who didn't come through club ranks, the idea is to win flags from time to time. Anyone who thinks they can do it without good recruits, just local talent GOOD LUCK! Good luck to the sides who can recruit as they lift the standard of the league and that can only be a good thing.

TECHNO
4 Nov 2006, 13:36
Troy makepeace was offered 50 g's to go and coach south warrnambool, im sure he would take that offer before playin with sunbury.

TECHNO
4 Nov 2006, 13:38
I can't beleive the attack on Redan's list. Has anyone had a good look at East Point. Just where do the Jordan's and co originate from?

the jordans are from melbourne. where are you going with this statement mate?

helmut
4 Nov 2006, 18:47
Troy makepeace was offered 50 g's to go and coach south warrnambool, im sure he would take that offer before playin with sunbury.

Hasn't Brian Beinke already been re-appointed at Sth? Surely they wouldn't be looking to replace their coach after he delivered a flag this year.

Blues1995
4 Nov 2006, 22:08
Hasn't Brian Beinke already been re-appointed at Sth? Surely they wouldn't be looking to replace their coach after he delivered a flag this year.

Helmut you are correct, South won 3 flags and are looking the goods at this stage of the year so a mate of mine told me tonite. South have set him up fairly well in Job and also $$$ so u can put that to rest.

I have heard that my former club Lakers are losing a few players and will need a big influx to be any good, blokes going up north and minor leagues as well, a couple doing pre season with the roosters in VFL now Fitzys got the job, his emphasis will be on getting the locals at training and trying to get that club feel back from the info im told. Now fitzys back the Lakers are not so sure about signing Moloney now as he and fitzy get along very well. Lakers in a fair bit of trouble (finacially ok) cannot get players to sign, one bloke that they are glad to see the back of is Maxwell.

What i was told about the other local Ballarat Clubs is this,

East Point have most of their players committed for next year(both jordans are right, they knocked back many offers apparently).
Redan are losing a few players to Bungaree(Reid, Knowles, Barker definates, Nicholson was pissed off at being dropped for G/F and could be going as well) VFL Roosters (Waight, Peace, Dickinson, Blomeley). Jones, Snibson retired through wear and tear. As reported here Edwards overseas. Some big losses i'd say.
Sebas are throwing big money as they have got a playing coach who is on 20k, same as what Beacham was to be paid for until he broke down, this means the 40k that lewis was on is freed up to be spent on players, they will be ok from what ive heard, the coach has a couple of his mates who look like coming up and playing so maybe they will take that $40k.
Ballarat under Northey will be sound with a young list and committed for each other they will be ok. A guy called Harris looks to be going to train with Roosters and most of the others are ready to go.
Lakers, well see comments above it really dissapoints me to see my former club being the one left behind when we played in consecutive finals and in all grades, we were a strong club, can any tell me why this has happened, is the playing pool in ballarat drying up and not enough quality players to go around. if you recall i made a comment a few months back saying about changes to the club, i think that their has been no changes to coaching and admin side and they are struggling to survive whilst you have a look at other clubs who are flying it appears. Can anyone shed some light?????

Doona2
5 Nov 2006, 14:06
I have heard that my former club Lakers are losing a few players and will need a big influx to be any good, blokes going up north and minor leagues as well, a couple doing pre season with the roosters in VFL now Fitzys got the job, his emphasis will be on getting the locals at training and trying to get that club feel back from the info im told. Now fitzys back the Lakers are not so sure about signing Moloney now as he and fitzy get along very well. Lakers in a fair bit of trouble (finacially ok) cannot get players to sign, one bloke that they are glad to see the back of is Maxwell.

Lakers are seriously kidding themselves if they ever thought Spider was a chance to go back there, even if the Roosters coach wasn't Fitzy the gangly #10 wasn't going to the Lakers

learmonth
6 Nov 2006, 07:55
[quote=Blues1995;6177787]Helmut you are correct, South won 3 flags and are looking the goods at this stage of the year so a mate of mine told me tonite. South have set him up fairly well in Job and also $$$ so u can put that to rest.

What i was told about the other local Ballarat Clubs is this,
East Point have most of their players committed for next year(both jordans are right, they knocked back many offers apparently).
Redan are losing a few players to Bungaree(Reid, Knowles, Barker definates, Nicholson was pissed off at being dropped for G/F and could be going as well) VFL Roosters (Waight, Peace, Dickinson, Blomeley). Jones, Snibson retired through wear and tear. As reported here Edwards overseas. Some big losses i'd say.
Sebas are throwing big money as they have got a playing coach who is on 20k, same as what Beacham was to be paid for until he broke down, this means the 40k that lewis was on is freed up to be spent on players, they will be ok from what ive heard, the coach has a couple of his mates who look like coming up and playing so maybe they will take that $40k.
Ballarat under Northey will be sound with a young list and committed for each other they will be ok. A guy called Harris looks to be going to train with Roosters and most of the others are ready to go.
Lakers, well see comments above it really dissapoints me to see my former club being the one left behind when we played in consecutive finals and in all grades, we were a strong club, can any tell me why this has happened, is the playing pool in ballarat drying up and not enough quality players to go around. if you recall i made a comment a few months back saying about changes to the club, i think that their has been no changes to coaching and admin side and they are struggling to survive whilst you have a look at other clubs who are flying it appears. Can anyone shed some light?????

U can add Nesbitt and Carracher who are going to Cairns this year with there good mate Herby.

Grimmett
6 Nov 2006, 15:11
Quiet in here. Nobody interested in slagging off the Eastern Bloc, Redan's playing list or East Point's coach?

TECHNO
6 Nov 2006, 17:02
Quiet in here. Nobody interested in slagging off the Eastern Bloc, Redan's playing list or East Point's coach?

here here

Thats_Special
7 Nov 2006, 11:07
Ruckman Steve James also to leave

Steve James is no big loss

Why would a player who has played 50+ games with Calder, was a number one ruckman with Keilor, Taylors Lakes and Melton be no big loss??? Did you see his game in the 2005 grand final, yeah, he wasn't best on ground to some observers, but he shut down the influence of the "unstoppable" Sunbury ruck combination single handedly and was a major part of the Melton victory..

Instead of writing 5 words how about showing everyone your inside knowledge of football and explain to us how Steve James is no big loss???? Oops, you may just be a little footy stupid to actually point out any real reason as to why this guy is, as you say, No Big Loss.....:thumbsu:

Thats_Special
7 Nov 2006, 11:11
Where is Steve Going? Sunbury Kanga's?

Steve played all his juniors and early seniors at the Sunbury Kanga's... There is a chance that he may return as most of his mates are still involved at the club.. But speaking to Steve he doesn't know what he is going to do yet, the draw is there for him as he thinks he could go back to the Kangas and help the structure, he has a passion for the club that stems from his early stint there and I for one would love to see him return and complete a full circle with a flag.....:thumbsu:

Blueboy16
7 Nov 2006, 13:07
Why would a player who has played 50+ games with Calder, was a number one ruckman with Keilor, Taylors Lakes and Melton be no big loss??? Did you see his game in the 2005 grand final, yeah, he wasn't best on ground to some observers, but he shut down the influence of the "unstoppable" Sunbury ruck combination single handedly and was a major part of the Melton victory..

Instead of writing 5 words how about showing everyone your inside knowledge of football and explain to us how Steve James is no big loss???? Oops, you may just be a little footy stupid to actually point out any real reason as to why this guy is, as you say, No Big Loss.....:thumbsu:

Dont forget an All Australian U/16.......

Vineyard
8 Nov 2006, 14:21

obviously to good to be playing for the sunbury kanga's then

bananabenda
8 Nov 2006, 15:25
I understand Gary Odgers (They tell me hes a former Ballarat boy and Ex-Saints player) is coaching Redlands Bombers in AFLQ. Apparently Redlands are off the pace at the moment but have very strong Juniors 5 Redlands u/16 made the Queensland team . and are super strong below that too. Odgers is building the club from the ground up. Redland bombers is second to Southport in facilities and dollars. so theirs a buck or two floating around. My tip is if your a good player and wanna go north forget Cairns contact the Redland Bombers coach. Apparently Odgers reckons its a similar cenario there to North Ballarat 20 years ago.

Ozzie_kneebone
8 Nov 2006, 15:40
I understand Gary Odgers (They tell me hes a former Ballarat boy and Ex-Saints player) is coaching Redlands Bombers in AFLQ. Apparently Redlands are off the pace at the moment but have very strong Juniors 5 Redlands u/16 made the Queensland team . and are super strong below that too. Odgers is building the club from the ground up. Redland bombers is second to Southport in facilities and dollars. so theirs a buck or two floating around. My tip is if your a good player and wanna go north forget Cairns contact the Redland Bombers coach. Apparently Odgers reckons its a similar cenario there to North Ballarat 20 years ago.
Pelican will play for ya!!!!

blues12
8 Nov 2006, 16:13
obviously to good to be playing for the sunbury kanga's then

Maybe, but perhaps he wants to win a flag with his good mates and the club that he played all his juniors with, the club is now in a position to take that step and if he does go and help them win a flag good luck to him and the kangas

JC1981
8 Nov 2006, 19:54

Are you kidding yourself, he might have been a good u/16 player and junior but he spent most of his time at Keilor playing in the 2's and there are not too many people at Melton besides Ron Thomas who speak highly of spuddas footballing ability, Could tap the ball but was pretty much useless around the ground.

Kooley
8 Nov 2006, 20:53
I understand Gary Odgers (They tell me hes a former Ballarat boy and Ex-Saints player) is coaching Redlands Bombers in AFLQ. Apparently Redlands are off the pace at the moment but have very strong Juniors 5 Redlands u/16 made the Queensland team . and are super strong below that too. Odgers is building the club from the ground up. Redland bombers is second to Southport in facilities and dollars. so theirs a buck or two floating around. My tip is if your a good player and wanna go north forget Cairns contact the Redland Bombers coach. Apparently Odgers reckons its a similar cenario there to North Ballarat 20 years ago.one of the more intimidating players to play in the BFL in the late 80's early nineties. he captain/coached east ballarat for a period there, and they were one of the more scrarier teams going around.

i think his nickname was greaser or something like that.

Blues1995
9 Nov 2006, 11:44
one of the more intimidating players to play in the BFL in the late 80's early nineties. he captain/coached east ballarat for a period there, and they were one of the more scrarier teams going around.

He was one of the toughest players to play in the BFL, he was an exceptional coach and motivator and a good mate of mine to play with him was Joffa O'Connell who has said to me on many occasions that he was one of the best coaches he had ever seen and played under, as far as getting the best out of players he was unique, players would walk over broken glass to play for him and not let him down, he did not take any crap, he loved it hard and physical and was a leader, Joffa has enourmous respect for him and when i played with Joffa at Lakers you could sense that he was a mentor to him, I remember seeing the East Ballarat Grand Finals against North when they were going for something like 50 straight wins and too see that game where East thumped them was one of my highlights as a spectator, it was on for young and old and it was a classis grand final.

Too play in that side would have been special as joffa has many good stories to tell from his days playing with Greaser.

Leather Magnet
9 Nov 2006, 14:14
Little birdy whispered in my lughole that learmonths brothers old job has been shortlisted down to 2.

TECHNO
9 Nov 2006, 16:33
can anybody here tell me who are the men who stand up in the eastpoint box along side fisher?

master21
9 Nov 2006, 17:16
can anybody here tell me who are the men who stand up in the eastpoint box along side fisher?

I think i did see robbie williams standing in the east point box during the finals...could be mistaken but thats who it looked like from where i was standing!!!

Kooley
9 Nov 2006, 17:23
He was one of the toughest players to play in the BFL, he was an exceptional coach and motivator and a good mate of mine to play with him was Joffa O'Connell who has said to me on many occasions that he was one of the best coaches he had ever seen and played under, as far as getting the best out of players he was unique, players would walk over broken glass to play for him and not let him down, he did not take any crap, he loved it hard and physical and was a leader, Joffa has enourmous respect for him and when i played with Joffa at Lakers you could sense that he was a mentor to him, I remember seeing the East Ballarat Grand Finals against North when they were going for something like 50 straight wins and too see that game where East thumped them was one of my highlights as a spectator, it was on for young and old and it was a classis grand final.

Too play in that side would have been special as joffa has many good stories to tell from his days playing with Greaser.now there's a name from the past.

joffa didn't quite fit the east mould in those violent sides from that period. excellent player though.

Blues1995
9 Nov 2006, 18:37
now there's a name from the past.

joffa didn't quite fit the east mould in those violent sides from that period. excellent player though.

Mate i can tell you that Joffa was a class player who was tough and the mould of him should be preserved, his toughness was at the contest and to say he did not fit in with this side is nonsense, we all know that you need Rolls Royce's in the sides and he was theirs, toughness at the ball, toughness to take hits (every week someone tried to clean him up), mental toughness, the other guys were enforcers, and we all know that you need them, that why the Lakers have not done so well even when i played there, (we had plenty of quality but no enforcers to back us up especially the early years when the eastern bloc clubs joined the comp) Joffa was one of the best in the BFL and i would have him in my side any day as he was all class. He's a great bloke too, not a better man i have met.

Rubba
9 Nov 2006, 18:54
Mate i can tell you that Joffa was a class player who was tough and the mould of him should be preserved, his toughness was at the contest and to say he did not fit in with this side is nonsense, we all know that you need Rolls Royce's in the sides and he was theirs, toughness at the ball, toughness to take hits (every week someone tried to clean him up), mental toughness, the other guys were enforcers, and we all know that you need them, that why the Lakers have not done so well even when i played there, (we had plenty of quality but no enforcers to back us up especially the early years when the eastern bloc clubs joined the comp) Joffa was one of the best in the BFL and i would have him in my side any day as he was all class. He's a great bloke too, not a better man i have met.

Yes to watch Joffa he was classy, I agree lakers dont and havent really had enforcers. But they reckon Joffa carries a different aura and that he created an intimidating factor , when he was on top he lifted others and bought others into game, but they also said if there was hard ball to get he would get it. Is he still involved with lakers?

Kooley
9 Nov 2006, 18:59
Mate i can tell you that Joffa was a class player who was tough and the mould of him should be preserved, his toughness was at the contest and to say he did not fit in with this side is nonsense, we all know that you need Rolls Royce's in the sides and he was theirs, toughness at the ball, toughness to take hits (every week someone tried to clean him up), mental toughness, the other guys were enforcers, and we all know that you need them, that why the Lakers have not done so well even when i played there, (we had plenty of quality but no enforcers to back us up especially the early years when the eastern bloc clubs joined the comp) Joffa was one of the best in the BFL and i would have him in my side any day as he was all class. He's a great bloke too, not a better man i have met.don't get me wrong mate all i meant was that he was a very different type to some of the players running around for east in that era. i played against and with joffa and i for one knew he would never take a backward step.

Rubba
9 Nov 2006, 19:05
one of the more intimidating players to play in the BFL in the late 80's early nineties. he captain/coached east ballarat for a period there, and they were one of the more scrarier teams going around.

You're right his nickname was greaser, he used to be #29 for Stkilda. Read below that he was a good motivator, most sides that win regularly, seem to respond to motivation better than losing sides as they believe in what they're doing and reckon they can win in any situation, but for all Chris Lewis could share with his knowledge and spirit he couldnt get sebas to believe, I'm told it was mutual convenient to part ways.:confused:

Rubba
9 Nov 2006, 19:07
don't get me wrong mate all i meant was that he was a very different type to some of the players running around for east in that era. i played against and with joffa and i for one knew he would never take a backward step.

No probs mate.....both on the same train. Yes there were some scary blokes running round in that era.:) :thumbsu:

Blues1995
9 Nov 2006, 19:37
don't get me wrong mate all i meant was that he was a very different type to some of the players running around for east in that era. i played against and with joffa and i for one knew he would never take a backward step.

No worries mate, what years did you play with Joffa, hes a real class act on and off the field, still catch up occasionally with him.

Whats going on at Lakers? are they deserting the club in droves or what!

Nesbitt, leaving whilst not a brilliant player(too injury prone for my liking) he will be sorely missed as he had a dip.

can someone tell me WTF is going on with Lakers.

Kooley
9 Nov 2006, 19:40
No worries mate, what years did you play with Joffa, hes a real class act on and off the field, still catch up occasionally with him.

Nesbitt, leaving whilst not a brilliant player(too injury prone for my liking) he will be sorely missed as he had a dip.

played with him in 1986 and then against him from about 89 thru to mid ninties.

don't know much about the lakers mate!

Blues1995
9 Nov 2006, 19:44
played with him in 1986 and then against him from about 89 thru to mid ninties.

don't know much about the lakers mate!

is that at at YCW juniors?, i played with YCW as well mate!

Kooley
9 Nov 2006, 19:46
is that at at YCW juniors?, i played with YCW as well mate!he spent most of 1986 in melbourne. i know ycw though. that's where the mcdonald boys were from?

Blues1995
9 Nov 2006, 19:55
he spent most of 1986 in melbourne. i know ycw though. that's where the mcdonald boys were from?

Is that when he played u/19s at carlton, i played with alex for a few games in under 16, he played a bit of school footy and i injured myself with a busted leg in rd5 and missed the next 2 years as my leg had a few troubles. Gives me hell now arthritis.

The McDonald boys are great fellas, have caught up with Jimmy a couple of times at the footy just to say hello, he never forgets a face and is a hell of a nice bloke, they are grounded country blokes.

Kooley
9 Nov 2006, 19:59
Is that when he played u/19s at carlton, i played with alex for a few games in under 16, he played a bit of school footy and i injured myself with a busted leg in rd5 and missed the next 2 years as my leg had a few troubles. Gives me hell now arthritis.

The McDonald boys are great fellas, have caught up with Jimmy a couple of times at the footy just to say hello, he never forgets a face and is a hell of a nice bloke, they are grounded country blokes.it certainly was. it was a bit of a unsual move trying out with the blues considering he was from the st.kilda zone.

Blues1995
9 Nov 2006, 20:04
it certainly was. it was a bit of a unsual move trying out with the blues considering he was from the st.kilda zone.

yeah i think i recall that he impressed so much at schoolboys carnival at princes park that carlton kept pretty close tabs on him and invited him and he went down, with the saints having Gellie and Armstrong both St Kilda boys who done a lot of work in Ballarat i would have thought that they would have pused his barrow a bit, i also think their may have bbeen some family connection there!

I will find out in a couple of weeks when im up at the Ballarat Cup and report back.

Bobby Giovanni
10 Nov 2006, 08:39
I'm a YCW boy as well, and know all 4 McDonald boys. Played against Ant this year in the Southern League.

learmonth
10 Nov 2006, 09:09

Lakers are facing an up hill battle to stay competitive in the BFL, after once being the dominant Ballarat side. A lack of water has meant they have been required to shift there home games due to its poor condition and has affected sponsorship and the ability to attract players. They are one of the worst in the League.
+ lakers are very stingy and dont believe in paying players too much, and with all players now getting more greedy for the coin, they will have to start paying overs. Hughes left because he didnt get along with Dangles and he was only on $50 p/game and Mac Daddy (Paul McMahon, an Inter-league player and one of the real stars of the BFL is on $50 when most other clubs would pay him $350 p/game. They must change their culture and lateral thinking if they are to keep up with all other clubs. Football is a business now, not a sport off field.

Bobby Giovanni
10 Nov 2006, 09:26
That's the Holloway influenece. They think you should play for pride, not $. I don't think their captain has been paid for 4-5 years.

It's as outdated and retarded as Shane Fisher's tattoos.

Thats_Special
10 Nov 2006, 10:11
Are you kidding yourself, he might have been a good u/16 player and junior but he spent most of his time at Keilor playing in the 2's and there are not too many people at Melton besides Ron Thomas who speak highly of spuddas footballing ability, Could tap the ball but was pretty much useless around the ground.
I would challenge the 2's thing at Keilor, spent most of it in the 1's and Keilor were disappointed to lose him, obviously there are a few others who rate him highly enough to suggest he should be a player chased... Will love to have him at the Kangas, he probably is above the standard of the RDFL at this point, but if clubs in the comp can recruit players like Spud, the comp will only get stronger.. Might make a few of the so called "Stronger Leagues" start to get a touch nervous too...

Ozzie_kneebone
10 Nov 2006, 10:33
Lakers are facing an up hill battle to stay competitive in the BFL, after once being the dominant Ballarat side. A lack of water has meant they have been required to shift there home games due to its poor condition and has affected sponsorship and the ability to attract players. They are one of the worst in the League.
+ lakers are very stingy and dont believe in paying players too much, and with all players now getting more greedy for the coin, they will have to start paying overs. Hughes left because he didnt get along with Dangles and he was only on $50 p/game and Mac Daddy (Paul McMahon, an Inter-league player and one of the real stars of the BFL is on $50 when most other clubs would pay him $350 p/game. They must change their culture and lateral thinking if they are to keep up with all other clubs. Football is a business now, not a sport off field.
Are you referring to McMahon getting $350 in the central highlands or BFL???

learmonth
10 Nov 2006, 12:41
Are you referring to McMahon getting $350 in the central highlands or BFL???

He would get that where ever he went, An interleague player (R/Up Div 1 to Ovens & Murray), who is key position... There would be plenty of people no where near as good, getting more...

Ozzie_kneebone
10 Nov 2006, 13:03
He would get that where ever he went, An interleague player (R/Up Div 1 to Ovens & Murray), who is key position... There would be plenty of people no where near as good, getting more...
I'm not doubting the quality player he is... But the only way he'd get $350 a game in the BFL would be if he played down the highway... Maybe Sebas would throw $350 at him? But other sides in Ballarat keep there money close to there chest and wait on quality midfielders and the odd tall forward ie; Hutchinson, Jordan x 2, Field, Edwards, Nunn (not luke!) That's my opinion and more than welcome to disagree...

smasher100
10 Nov 2006, 13:15
i wouldn't even give him $50 a game

learmonth
10 Nov 2006, 13:50
i wouldn't even give him $50 a game

And your reasoning for that, rather then maing a rash statement like that. Was classed as in the best 22 players in the league, and Im sure there is more then 22 playuers receiving $50 p/game in the BFL.

Is tall, quick, athletic and has super hands and can kick a goal...tell me a side that wouldnt want that...

Would get that easily in the CHFL

Ozzie_kneebone
10 Nov 2006, 14:09
And your reasoning for that, rather then maing a rash statement like that. Was classed as in the best 22 players in the league, and Im sure there is more then 22 playuers receiving $50 p/game in the BFL.

Is tall, quick, athletic and has super hands and can kick a goal...tell me a side that wouldnt want that...

What's on at the Stag Hotel Tonight learmonth? Karoake? Line Dancing or just listening to ripper yarns with the country folk!!!

gault
10 Nov 2006, 14:18
South Adelaide are flying peace and waight from redan over to check out the club next wednesday. would be massive loss for redan if south can talk them into playing there in 07.think both are more keen on Nth Ballarat at this stage but still if they are going over must be thinking about it.

redan have lost Reid and whoever he takes, jezza(overseas), nicholson(not 100% on that though) and if they lose peace and waight will bring them back to the pack as they are all senior players

footyfan001
10 Nov 2006, 19:39
That has to be true because he is pretty good mates with them ;)

helmut
10 Nov 2006, 20:40
South Adelaide are flying peace and waight from redan over to check out the club next wednesday. would be massive loss for redan if south can talk them into playing there in 07.think both are more keen on Nth Ballarat at this stage but still if they are going over must be thinking about it.

redan have lost Reid and whoever he takes, jezza(overseas), nicholson(not 100% on that though) and if they lose peace and waight will bring them back to the pack as they are all senior players

Said on Win news the other night that Peace had already signed at Nth. That's obviously crap. If the boys are looking for a good deal financially, they would be way better off in SA.

helmut
10 Nov 2006, 20:51

Agree with you on that learmonth, he is a quality player. For somebody to suggest he's not worth 50 a game is ridiculous. There would be clubs from all over the Ballarat area banging down his door to offer him 350. I hope the brains trust at Lakers realise that and look after him.
I feel a bit for Lakers, because two blokes I believe they did look after, Dicketts and Venner, didn't do them any favours.

Rubba
10 Nov 2006, 20:58

You make some good points, but someone said they are opening wallet this year after saving on maxwell venner and dicketts, as they are under pump for reasons you said. I'm told hughes is talking to lakers again, as it is nesbitt he doesnt get on with a nd he is off to Cairns. Hughes wont play at creswick this year after they spent heaps to get him cleared they will be spewing. Paul Macmahon would be highly sought after by any clubs in and around ballarat, not sure about $350 but no less than $250. I have only heard of nesbitt and caraher going any others?:eek:

Rubba
10 Nov 2006, 21:04
Said on Win news the other night that Peace had already signed at Nth. That's obviously crap. If the boys are looking for a good deal financially, they would be way better off in SA.

This will hurt Redan losses?
Lubeek retiring
Snibson retiring
Jones retiring
Reid - Bunga Coach
Nowles - Bunga Asst
Quinlan - Bunga Asst
King - Bunga
Edwards - Oseas
Peace - Nth or Sth Adelaide by sounds of it
Wiaght - Nth or as above
Nicholson - Waubra
Dwyer - Nth or Wang

A few big holes, guess we wil see if they do pay money if this lot leave ?

helmut
10 Nov 2006, 21:14
This will hurt Redan losses?
Lubeek retiring
Snibson retiring
Jones retiring
Reid - Bunga Coach
Nowles - Bunga Asst
Quinlan - Bunga Asst
King - Bunga
Edwards - Oseas
Peace - Nth or Sth Adelaide by sounds of it
Wiaght - Nth or as above
Nicholson - Waubra
Dwyer - Nth or Wang

A few big holes, guess we wil see if they do pay money if this lot leave ?

Hasn't the young ruckman, Dickinson??? been linked to Nth as well?

helmut
10 Nov 2006, 21:16
You make some good points, but someone said they are opening wallet this year after saving on maxwell venner and dicketts, as they are under pump for reasons you said. I'm told hughes is talking to lakers again, as it is nesbitt he doesnt get on with a nd he is off to Cairns. Hughes wont play at creswick this year after they spent heaps to get him cleared they will be spewing. Paul Macmahon would be highly sought after by any clubs in and around ballarat, not sure about $350 but no less than $250. I have only heard of nesbitt and caraher going any others?:eek:

Think a few of the young blokes are doing pre-season with Nth Ballarat, Ben Taylor being one. Young kid Walker leaving as well I believe.

Rubba
10 Nov 2006, 21:21
Think a few of the young blokes are doing pre-season with Nth Ballarat, Ben Taylor being one. Young kid Walker leaving as well I believe.

yeah heard Ben tayler is heading upto nth, not sure who walker is though?

helmut
10 Nov 2006, 21:30
yeah heard Ben tayler is heading upto nth, not sure who walker is though?

Can't think of his first name, not very big, plays up forward. Not a bad set of hands and handy around goal. Only his first year out of under 18 last season I think.

Riff Raff
11 Nov 2006, 07:27
I'm a YCW boy as well, and know all 4 McDonald boys. Played against Ant this year in the Southern League.

Hey Bobby, how does Ant Mcdonald go now days still getting a kick or slowing down?

gault
12 Nov 2006, 21:18
Hasn't the young ruckman, Dickinson??? been linked to Nth as well?
dwyer and dickson at this stage are staying at redan. but as for others not 100% sure what they are doing. on the news it said peace has signed with nth but he hasn't. will most likely end up there though

Bobby Giovanni
13 Nov 2006, 08:27
Hey Bobby, how does Ant Mcdonald go now days still getting a kick or slowing down?

Played for Parkmore on big bucks, they won the premiership pretty easy, he averaged 20 or so as a floating midfielder. Slowed down a fair bit, but uses it well for Div 3. Fed Casset all year, Casset kicked 130+.

Ed Deline
13 Nov 2006, 13:21
Yes to watch Joffa he was classy, I agree lakers dont and havent really had enforcers. But they reckon Joffa carries a different aura and that he created an intimidating factor , when he was on top he lifted others and bought others into game, but they also said if there was hard ball to get he would get it. Is he still involved with lakers?

Terry Simpson, 'Crazy' Willams, Chris Gayle there's a couple from my days earning $30 a win at the lakers in the late 90's. As for Joff, used to get bashed senseless every game and just kept getting up and getting the nut. Never once raised a fist in anger, but the word was he could go if he needed to.

Bobby Giovanni
13 Nov 2006, 14:27

Terry Simpson, 'Crazy' Willams, Chris Gayle there's a couple from my days earning $30 a win at the lakers in the late 90's. As for Joff, used to get bashed senseless every game and just kept getting up and getting the nut. Never once raised a fist in anger, but the word was he could go if he needed to.

You forgot Skin, the best of the lot.

Rubba
13 Nov 2006, 15:59
[quote=Ed Deline;6218575]

You forgot Skin, the best of the lot.

Yeah they all have a dip. but lakers arent running around with those blokes today. :thumbsd: