View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

Doona2
13 Nov 2006, 19:54
Yes to watch Joffa he was classy, I agree lakers dont and havent really had enforcers. But they reckon Joffa carries a different aura and that he created an intimidating factor , when he was on top he lifted others and bought others into game, but they also said if there was hard ball to get he would get it. Is he still involved with lakers?

Terry Simpson, 'Crazy' Willams, Chris Gayle there's a couple from my days earning $30 a win at the lakers in the late 90's. As for Joff, used to get bashed senseless every game and just kept getting up and getting the nut. Never once raised a fist in anger, but the word was he could go if he needed to.

Went to watch spider moloney in a GF for the lakers aginst Sunbury and from memory a player I think they called twiggy did some pretty freaky things . . . does that sound right?

helmut
13 Nov 2006, 21:10
[quote=Ed Deline;6218575]

Went to watch spider moloney in a GF for the lakers aginst Sunbury and from memory a player I think they called twiggy did some pretty freaky things . . . does that sound right?

Peter James. Unbelievably talented player, Alan Jeans rated him highly at Hawthorn during their dominant era. Couldn't get the best out of him down there, was a bit injury prone I think.

jets06
14 Nov 2006, 07:25
T.Little:Strathmore or O&M league
D.Griffin:100% to be playing at Sunbury
J.Lewis: one more year - correct
N.Chalmers: may play 2nd half of the year.

Big job for Pat Carriss next year with Tim Little leaving. Matt Baird and a few others could be off to Pascoe Vale in Essendon District !!

Bobby Giovanni
14 Nov 2006, 08:11

His goal from deep in the pocket that day was amazing.

Kooley
14 Nov 2006, 08:56
His goal from deep in the pocket that day was amazing.i saw that twiggy james get shirt-fronted by wayne cracknell from bacchus marsh in the mid - nineties. i honestly thought james was dead. ******** it was a nasty hit. i don't know if he ever quite recovered from that bump.

Bobby Giovanni
14 Nov 2006, 08:59
i saw that twiggy james get shirt-fronted by wayne cracknell from bacchus marsh in the mid - nineties. i honestly thought james was dead. ******** it was a nasty hit. i don't know if he ever quite recovered from that bump.

He NEVER trained after that.

Kooley
14 Nov 2006, 09:05
He NEVER trained after that.it was the most vicious bump i have seen in local football. The noise that echoed through maddingley park that day from that bump was frightening.

learmonth
14 Nov 2006, 10:36
it was the most vicious bump i have seen in local football. The noise that echoed through maddingley park that day from that bump was frightening.

Cracknell was the Best Ive seen at delivering the bump, Byron Picket like...

Ed Deline
14 Nov 2006, 13:12
Cracknell was the Best Ive seen at delivering the bump, Byron Picket like...

Was also pretty handy at taking a hanger, stood on Steve McCulloch's head right infront of the hill billy grandstand at the Marsh in 97' as i recall, awesome grab. And didn't the cave dwellars grunt their approval, great player.

Bobby Giovanni
14 Nov 2006, 13:23
Was also pretty handy at taking a hanger, stood on Steve McCulloch's head right infront of the hill billy grandstand at the Marsh in 97' as i recall, awesome grab. And didn't the cave dwellars grunt their approval, great player.

Pistons is a midget, so wouldn't be too hard!

Leather Magnet
14 Nov 2006, 22:05
Aaron Nunn announced as the new BFL Operations Manager.
Beat a field of seven others including Brett Anderson, VCFL West/South West Area Manager.

The Beaks Gossip 07
14 Nov 2006, 22:39
Aaron Nunn announced as the new BFL Operations Manager.
Beat a field of seven others including Brett Anderson, VCFL West/South West Area Manager.

Well Well Well !
I have a new boss to answer too now, let me get one thing straight from the outset, I know for a fact that you had a friend put in a big reference for you on the interview selection panel, you are an aquaintance of the previous 2ic(TIM BEACHAM enough said!), does someone think that this appontment smells!

It seems you either have to play at Daylesford or Darley to get a gig at HQ nowadays, i feel thats why Anderson didnt get the appointment because he would not conform to the control freaks that sit up in their offices at HQ.

Now with that said i expect that you will be seeking me out to continue to give me my weekly informative column in the Footy Record, I want a far greater scope and leeway as those oxy morons in the precious little office at saxon house last season gave me a rodgering as i offended a few too many people, Get a Life you Misfits of Society.

I have plent of juicy gossip for the first edition, You know my number give me a a ring and i will sort out my contract details, let me tell you though I am worth more than what you are paying the big boofhead as the CEO.

The BFL in 2007 will be very interesting as my spies tell me that the Redan Lions, Devils, Bloods, and Lakers will be lucky to field sides cause they have lost players by the truckload, none more so than the Bloods.

Very interesting as the Sunbury Lions have spent a wad full $$$$ Power has told his recruiting men to get me a side and spare the expense, the Panthers are spending money they dont have $$$$, The Marsh and Burra need to spend Truckloads$$$$$, The Kangaroos have spent $$$$$ truckloads to keep the Jordans, and the Swans will be out to offer plenty of $$$$ to build on their young list who will be the BIG IMPROVERS!

Well hope you have a great day my friends and i will be back at a later date to bring you up to speed once the teams hit the training track (Dust Bowls) and i get around to clubs to see which duds are going to be in the first edition for 2007. Stay Tuned.......

colbys_kid
15 Nov 2006, 10:29
I beleive it is called "Nepotism".

It will be interesting to see if "the beak" tips a bucket on "boof head and his lacky's in the footy record.

Or will something finally be considered sacred territory???

The Sharpe Man
15 Nov 2006, 11:46
G'Day Beak

Heard you have been terrorising the BCA in the off season, and doing to cricket what you done to the BFL in the past 2 years.

I can confirm that Anderson withdrew from the BFL gig after the 1st interviews - he made the shortlist off 2 but after a meetin with VCFL Chief he decided to stay at the VCFL. Reckon he would have been in the box seat.

Not sure about brandishing the new Ops guy a Daylesford boy - played most of his life at the Swans and is back there.

Keep punching BEAK !

JC1981
15 Nov 2006, 12:47
Well Well Well !
I have a new boss to answer too now, let me get one thing straight from the outset, I know for a fact that you had a friend put in a big reference for you on the interview selection panel, you are an aquaintance of the previous 2ic(TIM BEACHAM enough said!), does someone think that this appontment smells!

It seems you either have to play at Daylesford or Darley to get a gig at HQ nowadays, i feel thats why Anderson didnt get the appointment because he would not conform to the control freaks that sit up in their offices at HQ.

Now with that said i expect that you will be seeking me out to continue to give me my weekly informative column in the Footy Record, I want a far greater scope and leeway as those oxy morons in the precious little office at saxon house last season gave me a rodgering as i offended a few too many people, Get a Life you Misfits of Society.

I have plent of juicy gossip for the first edition, You know my number give me a a ring and i will sort out my contract details, let me tell you though I am worth more than what you are paying the big boofhead as the CEO.

The BFL in 2007 will be very interesting as my spies tell me that the Redan Lions, Devils, Bloods, and Lakers will be lucky to field sides cause they have lost players by the truckload, none more so than the Bloods.

Very interesting as the Sunbury Lions have spent a wad full $$$$ Power has told his recruiting men to get me a side and spare the expense, the Panthers are spending money they dont have $$$$, The Marsh and Burra need to spend Truckloads$$$$$, The Kangaroos have spent $$$$$ truckloads to keep the Jordans, and the Swans will be out to offer plenty of $$$$ to build on their young list who will be the BIG IMPROVERS!

Well hope you have a great day my friends and i will be back at a later date to bring you up to speed once the teams hit the training track (Dust Bowls) and i get around to clubs to see which duds are going to be in the first edition for 2007. Stay Tuned.......

Who are the bucketfull of Bloods that have left??? The only ones I have heard is Tuddy Edwards who is taking a year of to travel, THe Qld boys reported to be leaving but no confirmation, Porter in discussions with SANFL clubs but no certainty to go, Dane Grenfell listening to offers. Who else???

mooney
15 Nov 2006, 12:53
Who are the bucketfull of Bloods that have left??? The only ones I have heard is Tuddy Edwards who is taking a year of to travel, THe Qld boys reported to be leaving but no confirmation, Porter in discussions with SANFL clubs but no certainty to go, Dane Grenfell listening to offers. Who else???

James, Berger, Button?????

Grimmett
15 Nov 2006, 13:06
Rumor has it, that the player being considered has just returned from over seas for the past 18 months, played at daylesford before leaving, and will reunite with his brother and former club at Ballarat. There are still a few possibilities, but I believe he is the favorite.
If he signed at Darley, Im sure he would get it....BANG!

Congratulations learmonth. You were bang on the money.
Got an early tip for next year's Melbourne Cup by chance? ;)

Bobby Giovanni
15 Nov 2006, 13:30
Congratulations learmonth. You were bang on the money.
Got an early tip for next year's Melbourne Cup by chance? ;)

Well his brother was vacating the job, so I'm sure he'd know.

me02
15 Nov 2006, 13:47
does anyone know someone by the name of Brad Mayberry?

learmonth
15 Nov 2006, 14:20
Well his brother was vacating the job, so I'm sure he'd know.

I dont know why u keep going with that... i am not his brother, but also heard that Darley's assistant and Balllarat inter-league coach will be heading to the Gordon F.C as head coach and be taking a few players with him, by the name of Travis Stephenson, Digger Edwards and the recently retired n.o 43 Lee Cox

Vineyard
15 Nov 2006, 19:31
I dont know why u keep going with that... i am not his brother, but also heard that Darley's assistant and Balllarat inter-league coach will be heading to the Gordon F.C as head coach and be taking a few players with him, by the name of Travis Stephenson, Digger Edwards and the recently retired n.o 43 Lee Cox

Craig Baker has been appointed coach at Gordon after not getting teh Darley gig. Lot of pressure on Darley to maintain there list with South & now gordon trying to attract their players.

Cox is linked with Hoppers but hopefully he stays at Darley. A great local talent. Stephenson & digger you wouldnt expect to leave the club either. Played their all their careers so why leave now to a club that has had no success.

well made up though learmonth. You must have something to do with teh BFL with your mail on TB's replacement?

helmut
15 Nov 2006, 20:13
Craig Baker has been appointed coach at Gordon after not getting teh Darley gig. Lot of pressure on Darley to maintain there list with South & now gordon trying to attract their players.

Cox is linked with Hoppers but hopefully he stays at Darley. A great local talent. Stephenson & digger you wouldnt expect to leave the club either. Played their all their careers so why leave now to a club that has had no success.

well made up though learmonth. You must have something to do with teh BFL with your mail on TB's replacement?

Vineyard isn't Stephenson's father the vice pres and his mother a trainer at Darley? If so, family ties pretty strong, couldn't see him leaving.

whippety boy
15 Nov 2006, 20:39
does anyone know someone by the name of Brad Mayberry?
Former Spotswood player in the WRFL and played about half dozen or so games for Werribee Centrals I think it was in the Geelong and District Football League last year.

saucehead
16 Nov 2006, 09:25
so whats the verdict??? who will be the big improvers of 2007 and who will be the sliders???

The Sharpe Man
20 Nov 2006, 10:38
Is it just me, or does anyone lese think that the Sunbury FC President Greg Allan looks like "Jubba the Hut" out of Star Wars ? Could they be the one & same person ?

Vineyard
22 Nov 2006, 12:47
Why is Sunbury advertising on the BFL website for an assistant coach. Isnt Matt Power helping his brother out, or Makepeace/Morrell filling that role?

bearsboy
22 Nov 2006, 13:04
Why is Sunbury advertising on the BFL website for an assistant coach. Isnt Matt Power helping his brother out, or Makepeace/Morrell filling that role?Alls very quiet out at Sunbury . Not recruiting as well as expected i believe . Although i heard they have picked up a handy full forward from the Bendigo league in Luke Beattie and former Coburg 2's player Gareth Bowes . Kings Army should be able to fill us in a little more though .

learmonth
23 Nov 2006, 11:02
Alls very quiet out at Sunbury . Not recruiting as well as expected i believe . Although i heard they have picked up a handy full forward from the Bendigo league in Luke Beattie and former Coburg 2's player Gareth Bowes . Kings Army should be able to fill us in a little more though .

Luke Beattie, from Sth Bendigo... Heard that Daylesford were pretty close to signing him as well. I think he may stay at Sth, but Sunbury would certainly have more cash to entice him..But not everyone plays for the $$$.

Sunbury's reputation would hurt them in being able to attract players.

Leather Magnet
27 Nov 2006, 10:15
What’s going on here fellas, slipped to the second page.
Nobody got any ******** they wanna put on Shane ‘Rock Star’ Fisher?

Noticed at about 11.30 last night that a BF member by the name of rod ward was browsing the thread. Can we expect to see Aaron None soon?

t-mac
28 Nov 2006, 17:04
what about rock star fisher has got any new players to the 2 clubs he coach's. In case ballarat people forgot there's two teams in that club, and they were both retarted as his tats

John Cena
29 Nov 2006, 08:18
Agreed that Shane Fisher has got some issues –eg Dying his hair and shocking tattoos but to say he is on top of two retarded clubs is a joke. They were arguably the best team in the comp during the year and were beaten by a better side on the day in the Grand Final. Dan and Ben Jordan are both superstars and are the last two reigning Henderson Medallists, they are also great blokes and loyal who knocked back many lucrative offers to have another crack at the flag for East. These two together with a relatively unchanged line up, and some handy pick ups will see them go close again.

Oh and its retarded not retarted.

Bobby Giovanni
29 Nov 2006, 08:31
I can remember the days were Fisher would get bashed with regularity during high school; perhaps he thought getting piercings, dying his hair and getting the worlds worst selection of tattoos would make him look hard.

It doesn't. He just looks like the same big skirt lifting mincer he's always been.

Did he used to go out with the high jumper chick or the basketballer chick?

Gadget
29 Nov 2006, 09:29
Agreed that Shane Fisher has got some issues –eg Dying his hair and shocking tattoos but to say he is on top of two retarded clubs is a joke. They were arguably the best team in the comp during the year and were beaten by a better side on the day in the Grand Final. Dan and Ben Jordan are both superstars and are the last two reigning Henderson Medallists, they are also great blokes and loyal who knocked back many lucrative offers to have another crack at the flag for East. These two together with a relatively unchanged line up, and some handy pick ups will see them go close again.

It is arguable that they were the best side, but only for the home away rounds... I think they beat redan in round 3 or 4? Didn't get close to them for the rest of the year except qualifying final... But Golden Point / East Ballarat will go close this year. This is my final 6 at this stage...

East - Haven't lost many
Sunbury - Will bounce back after last year
Ballarat - Could win it.
Darley - Will have a good year again.
Melton - Scrape in
Redan - Too many losses.

IMO.

KingRich
29 Nov 2006, 09:47
Will Redan slide this much?? Obviously they have taken a few losses at this stage but they still have some very good players and historically they tend to recruit very well. I would think they'd still be a top 4 side, just cant see them sliding that much.

Gadget
29 Nov 2006, 09:59
Will Redan slide this much?? Obviously they have taken a few losses at this stage but they still have some very good players and historically they tend to recruit very well. I would think they'd still be a top 4 side, just cant see them sliding that much.
Had there good run.

KingRich
29 Nov 2006, 10:01
Had there good run.

Yeah I dont think they can win it but they will still be comfortably in the top 6.

Gadget
29 Nov 2006, 10:17
Yeah I dont think they can win it but they will still be comfortably in the top 6.
Sunbury are the side. Power wants a flag and he usually has a side that will deliver that.

learmonth
29 Nov 2006, 10:33
Sunbury are the side. Power wants a flag and he usually has a side that will deliver that.

Sunbury always have a good side, but its their mentality and off/On field leadership which costs them.

DArly will be lucky to make the 6, too fragile and will lose a lot of quality players, + they have a very old list!

East/Point will be top 2

Redan will be top 2, but would not be surprised to see them end 3rd and make the G/F- They will recruit well and be amongst it. Still have the best player in the league in Julian Field and Im sure he will be able to coax a few North players. Have heard Leigh Ryall is one already across the line

BAllarat with the Nunn Brothers equalling the Jordans as the most potent brothers in the league will end top 4, but are still a year or 2 away.

Forget the rest

Ladder
East/Point
Sunbury
Redan
Ballarat

And who cares

bearsboy
29 Nov 2006, 10:35
Sunbury are the side. Power wants a flag and he usually has a side that will deliver that.I've been told they've lost at least 6-7 quality senior players .

Kings Army
29 Nov 2006, 10:48
I've been told they've lost at least 6-7 quality senior players .

Baird and Little are the 2 losses. Both not a big loss with the emergence of Pat Carriss. Baird was dropped and played 2's during the year. 6-7 is over the top BB.

Sunbury will recruit to become top 2 again.

Gadget
29 Nov 2006, 11:01
Sunbury always have a good side, but its their mentality and off/On field leadership which costs them.

DArly will be lucky to make the 6, too fragile and will lose a lot of quality players, + they have a very old list!

East/Point will be top 2

Redan will be top 2, but would not be surprised to see them end 3rd and make the G/F- They will recruit well and be amongst it. Still have the best player in the league in Julian Field and Im sure he will be able to coax a few North players. Have heard Leigh Ryall is one already across the line

BAllarat with the Nunn Brothers equalling the Jordans as the most potent brothers in the league will end top 4, but are still a year or 2 away.

Forget the rest

Ladder
East/Point
Sunbury
Redan
Ballarat

And who cares
Starting to get abit late for those big recruits you'd think... Last year they had Edwards, Field, Snibson, Bridges signed very early. Rumour this year they have lost 7-8 from premiership side due to moving on/retirement.. Field is the best in the league though. Sunbury would have more $$$ to cover there losses.

bearsboy
29 Nov 2006, 11:12
Baird and Little are the 2 losses. Both not a big loss with the emergence of Pat Carriss. Baird was dropped and played 2's during the year. 6-7 is over the top BB.

Sunbury will recruit to become top 2 again.Sorry K.A only going on what i was told . Surely they'd have to pick up some real quality to match it with the top 2 clubs , as i believe they were a long way from East Point and Redan this year [10 goals maybe]. Can you give us some names K.A ? is Digby Morrell still in the mix?

Kings Army
29 Nov 2006, 11:19
Sorry K.A only going on what i was told . Surely they'd have to pick up some real quality to match it with the top 2 clubs , as i believe they were a long way from East Point and Redan this year [10 goals maybe]. Can you give us some names K.A ? is Digby Morrell still in the mix?

They have 4 guns about to be named. With Redan losing a few East Point is the team they need to make ground on. Word is Sunbury is using an ex Gissy man to set up the club the same way Mick McGuane did at Gisborne.

bearsboy
29 Nov 2006, 11:36
They have 4 guns about to be named. With Redan losing a few East Point is the team they need to make ground on. Word is Sunbury is using an ex Gissy man to set up the club the same way Mick McGuane did at Gisborne.This man you speak of , does he resemble something out of "Gorilla's in the mist". Not sure if he'll set the club up like magpie did at Gisborne , but i can assure you the canteen profits at Sunbury will go through the roof !!!

Kings Army
29 Nov 2006, 12:47
This man you speak of , does he resemble something out of "Gorilla's in the mist". Not sure if he'll set the club up like magpie did at Gisborne , but i can assure you the canteen profits at Sunbury will go through the roof !!!

He gets paid peanuts as well so he will be very happy.

Rubba
29 Nov 2006, 19:25

East/Point will be top 2

Forget the rest

Ladder
East/Point
Sunbury
Redan
Ballarat

And who cares

Learmonth have Agree with top 2 and reckon Darley wil be 3rd. Redan 4th but they are loosing heaps, even heard that some kids (ward) have had enough and following the messiah to Bunga

As for Ballarat the " Nunn brothers" aka "Sister Act" you must be a Beacham, Mark Nunn played the best footy he's played since leaving Roosters last year, not sure about Aaron he's runs on the coat tails of mark, he will have his hands full doing either your your brothers old job. There must be no other brothers in the BFL for you to make a comment like that, so you may be right.

East will be there and unless Redan or Sunbury can get enough players on board they will win by a street

t-mac
29 Nov 2006, 19:29
He gets paid peanuts as well so he will be very happy.
hey kings army ya gimp is it true that you still breast feed off your mother and when you get bored of that, you hum on mark power's ball's whilst he cleans your glasses and pat's you on the head saying that a boy you little b i t c h

helmut
29 Nov 2006, 21:49
They have 4 guns about to be named. With Redan losing a few East Point is the team they need to make ground on. Word is Sunbury is using an ex Gissy man to set up the club the same way Mick McGuane did at Gisborne.

Heard Ash Fleming won't be there next year KA. Is this true?

helmut
29 Nov 2006, 21:52
Learmonth have Agree with top 2 and reckon Darley wil be 3rd. Redan 4th but they are loosing heaps, even heard that some kids (ward) have had enough and following the messiah to Bunga

As for Ballarat the " Nunn brothers" aka "Sister Act" you must be a Beacham, Mark Nunn played the best footy he's played since leaving Roosters last year, not sure about Aaron he's runs on the coat tails of mark, he will have his hands full doing either your your brothers old job. There must be no other brothers in the BFL for you to make a comment like that, so you may be right.

East will be there and unless Redan or Sunbury can get enough players on board they will win by a street

Have to disagree on the Nunn comments mate, Aaron a very good player in his own right. Mark could be a super star but I reckon he's too inconsistent, looks as if he's not interested at times.

Kings Army
30 Nov 2006, 07:44
hey kings army ya gimp is it true that you still breast feed off your mother and when you get bored of that, you hum on mark power's ball's whilst he cleans your glasses and pat's you on the head saying that a boy you little b i t c h

Damm it t-mac I have now been exposed!

Speaking of being exposed word is your job is handing by a thread. You call me a gimp but once that thread snaps your on the dole for life. The new IR laws have been brought in to weed people like you out.;)

19th Man
30 Nov 2006, 10:59
Heard a whisper that the 2005 BFL CHF of the year could be heading to a new club in the Melton area!

Kooley
30 Nov 2006, 11:05
Heard a whisper that the 2005 BFL CHF of the year could be heading to a new club in the Melton area!you don't hear whispers you start them. :rolleyes:

19th Man
30 Nov 2006, 11:09
I do both.

t-mac
30 Nov 2006, 15:13
Damm it t-mac I have now been exposed!

Speaking of being exposed word is your job is handing by a thread. You call me a gimp but once that thread snaps your on the dole for life. The new IR laws have been brought in to weed people like you out.;)
don't worry about the t-mac k.a i'm a little bit more cunning and quick witter than you think i am;)

Kings Army
30 Nov 2006, 15:36
don't worry about the t-mac k.a i'm a little bit more cunning and quick witter than you think i am;)

Are you a punter as well? I am backing your not as quick as you think you are and word filtering through is you back is currently exposed.;)

Scoots
30 Nov 2006, 15:43
Have to disagree on the Nunn comments mate, Aaron a very good player in his own right. Mark could be a super star but I reckon he's too inconsistent, looks as if he's not interested at times.

All the Nunn boys can play but they all are injury prone. Mark is a big frame out on the ground, but you are right he does go missing from time to time. Have seen him play a fair bit of footy for D-Ford and also for the Rats. The game against Sunbury last year when he kicked 6 in the 2nd half was a class effort, but there has been other games where he'd be lucky to touch the ball 5 times. Unfortunatly his bad performances outway his good.

If he can get consistent(and injury free), he'll be massive for Ballarat this year.

t-mac
30 Nov 2006, 16:13
Are you a punter as well? I am backing your not as quick as you think you are and word filtering through is you back is currently exposed.;)
give us a spell k.a, don't worry about my hammer and tack. There will be no exposing of the great T-MAC!!!!!!!!!!. :eek:

fifth quarter
30 Nov 2006, 16:20
you guys ready for the inter-leag in may
versus benigo at the qeo in bendigo sat may 19
could be under lights at the queen eliz oval

Rubba
30 Nov 2006, 20:24
All the Nunn boys can play but they all are injury prone. Mark is a big frame out on the ground, but you are right he does go missing from time to time. Have seen him play a fair bit of footy for D-Ford and also for the Rats. The game against Sunbury last year when he kicked 6 in the 2nd half was a class effort, but there has been other games where he'd be lucky to touch the ball 5 times. Unfortunatly his bad performances outway his good.

If he can get consistent(and injury free), he'll be massive for Ballarat this year.

Yeah I was probably a bit harsh on the "Sister Act", Yeah he does cop it for the ordinary ones, I think northey likes him as he saved them a few times this year. He doesnt sit under the ball that well, thats when he plays poor. Hard to stop when get on a lead.

Couldnt think of many brothers all the same, actually only the Caldows at Ballarat and they look like they can play one is meant to be running around with roosters and other is a rebels player, would reckon they will be better than sister act, when same age, from what i saw in semi final.

Do reckon ballarat can improve or is that it?

Grimmett
30 Nov 2006, 21:31
And here I was thinking the Power brothers had created a lasting impact in the league....

;)

learmonth
1 Dec 2006, 08:09
And here I was thinking the Power brothers had created a lasting impact in the league....

;)

Of course the Power Brothers have left an impression, just not on the ground, its for tag teaming Fisher and calling him soft, followed by undisciplined acts on and off the ground!

Both would have spent plenty of time in Time Out at school...

Is it true that they have just built there 1st High School in Sunbury as the percentage of people passing grade 6 in Sunbury has risen to 10%..????

Bernie Q
1 Dec 2006, 08:19
As a new scribe to big footy, can anyone confirm any of the "New" players at Bacchus Marsh as previously posted by Lica a month ago. It seems that everything has gone quiet at Maddingley Park.

Kings Army
1 Dec 2006, 08:41
Of course the Power Brothers have left an impression, just not on the ground, its for tag teaming Fisher and calling him soft, followed by undisciplined acts on and off the ground!

Is it true that they have just built there 1st High School in Sunbury as the percentage of people passing grade 6 in Sunbury has risen to 10%..????

So you have more than the 5 BFL flags they have:confused:

Kings Army
1 Dec 2006, 08:45
Heard Ash Fleming won't be there next year KA. Is this true?

No he is staying at Sunbury.

colbys_kid
1 Dec 2006, 09:12

Absolutely!! the scary part is that it took u knuckle dragging country hicks 10 years to figure out how to beat this grade 6 mentality.
Now that Sunbury has a high school I guess we are good for another 10 years of flogging u couldhavebeens!

Gadget
1 Dec 2006, 09:35
Absolutely!! the scary part is that it took u knuckle dragging country hicks 10 years to figure out how to beat this grade 6 mentality.
Now that Sunbury has a high school I guess we are good for another 10 years of flogging u couldhavebeens!
I'm guessing it will be a good quality catholic school!!! Must have a minimum 2 teeth aswell as a 3-5 year good behaviour bond. Would probably need a creche added aswell so they can leave there 8 kids somewhere whilst they go to school!

rod ward
1 Dec 2006, 19:29
melton to gain services of top ex-AFL star CHF this player will change the BFL for ever....:thumbsu:

Lica
1 Dec 2006, 22:10
melton to gain services of top ex-AFL star CHF this player will change the BFL for ever....:thumbsu:

Who? Wayne Carey? :p

The Beaks Gossip 07
1 Dec 2006, 22:30

My mail from over in dem hills down the road from Mountain Men Country is that the Mighty Hepburn offered D Jordan a paypacket never seen before in the CHFL. $2000 per game, A report accross my desk also told me that Sunbury had a real crack at B Jordan $20k for assistant role to Serge, if this is fact then the East Point Club must have some serious backers behind them for 07 as they have retained them both.

19th Man
2 Dec 2006, 12:39
My mail suggests that former Darley b & f winner, Robert "chooka" Henry has been offered the assistant's role with Sunbury. Can anyone confirm this?

19th Man
2 Dec 2006, 12:41
Also, Matt Baird in talks with Murray Club Mulwala for the coming season

t-mac
2 Dec 2006, 14:52
My mail suggests that former Darley b & f winner, Robert "chooka" Henry has been offered the assistant's role with Sunbury. Can anyone confirm this?
i'm not doing any confirming on that one 19th but have also heard the goss. would be very handy pick up. does that meen in the with the young chook and out with old chook ( wouldn't throw much of a tantrem old chook would he:rolleyes:)

19th Man
2 Dec 2006, 15:19
i'm not doing any confirming on that one 19th but have also heard the goss. would be very handy pick up. does that meen in the with the young chook and out with old chook ( wouldn't throw much of a tantrem old chook would he:rolleyes:)

If his body is right, a very handy inclusion.
Don't forget about my mail concerning 2005 CHF of the year heading east to Rec Reserve!

t-mac
2 Dec 2006, 15:58
If his body is right, a very handy inclusion.
Don't forget about my mail concerning 2005 CHF of the year heading east to Rec Reserve!wouldn't be the chf they call the big rooter your talking about by any chance wouldn't 19th, you sound as if your very close or have few different sources of info, you wouldn't be a sparky by any chance would you?:eek:

19th Man
2 Dec 2006, 16:09
wouldn't be the chf they call the big rooter your talking about by any chance wouldn't 19th, you sound as if your very close or have few different sources of info, you wouldn't be a sparky by any chance would you?:eek:

No, no, no, I'm just a plain old white collar ********kicker who enjoys a good banter. I do follow quite a few leagues besides BFL. As for the CHF, I wont name as I'm not 100% sure if the deal will be done, but stay tuned.

t-mac
2 Dec 2006, 16:10
No, no, no, I'm just a plain old white collar ********kicker who enjoys a good banter. I do follow quite a few leagues besides BFL. As for the CHF, I wont name as I'm not 100% sure if the deal will be done, but stay tuned.will do

Lica
3 Dec 2006, 16:40
As a new scribe to big footy, can anyone confirm any of the "New" players at Bacchus Marsh as previously posted by Lica a month ago. It seems that everything has gone quiet at Maddingley Park.

Everything is going fine at the Marsh for next year I would say. I've just gone quiet on here because I probably named a few players to early (having said that - I think they are all going to be there next year) and I haven't been paying to much attention as to who has been signed up recently. I think you'll fined a very differnt looking side compared to last year. Maybe Patty could enlighten us maybe????

The Beak On line
4 Dec 2006, 06:39
My mail from over in dem hills down the road from Mountain Men Country is that the Mighty Hepburn offered D Jordan a paypacket never seen before in the CHFL. $2000 per game, A report accross my desk also told me that Sunbury had a real crack at B Jordan $20k for assistant role to Serge, if this is fact then the East Point Club must have some serious backers behind them for 07 as they have retained them both.
Could it be that the Jordan's are committed passionate footballers with a job to complete and money cannot buy their soul???.

The Beak On line
4 Dec 2006, 06:50
Would be a handy pick up. after all I here Belly (the 06 2's coach) has retired following his premeirship win. Serge won't have his in depth knowledge and expertease to assist in 2007.
Is it true that "Bucket Mouth" had some 2's players lay down in the later part of the season so that he could have them in his side. After all it is widely known that Belly is the football guru at Sunbury??? - and should have had the senior job.

Bernie Q
4 Dec 2006, 08:06
Everything is going fine at the Marsh for next year I would say. I've just gone quiet on here because I probably named a few players to early (having said that - I think they are all going to be there next year) and I haven't been paying to much attention as to who has been signed up recently. I think you'll fined a very differnt looking side compared to last year. Maybe Patty could enlighten us maybe????

Thanks Lica, Have the Marsh started training yet, and new recruits turned up??? The rumor I heard was that the Marsh had picked up at least 10 new players, if true should make a remarkable difference next year, at least be more competitive anyway.

The Beak On line
4 Dec 2006, 08:12
Thanks Lica, Have the Marsh started training yet, and new recruits turned up??? The rumor I heard was that the Marsh had picked up at least 10 new players, if true should make a remarkable difference next year, at least be more competitive anyway.
You could relocate the entire East Point team to Maddingley Park put them in Cobra jumpers and they still would not have an impact on the competition. "A new coach and a fistfull of players does not a premeirship make". BM need more than just a buff up:rolleyes: a total rebuild is required to get this side moving:D

Bernie Q
4 Dec 2006, 08:32
You could relocate the entire East Point team to Maddingley Park put them in Cobra jumpers and they still would not have an impact on the competition. "A new coach and a fistfull of players does not a premeirship make". BM need more than just a buff up:rolleyes: a total rebuild is required to get this side moving:D
Who's talking premierships?? I just wouldn't mind going to the footy and seeing competitive sides play, as you would probably agree Beak, there's nothing worse than watching sides get pulverised every week, becomes a bit monotonous and boring.:confused:

whippety boy
4 Dec 2006, 08:34
You could relocate the entire East Point team to Maddingley Park put them in Cobra jumpers and they still would not have an impact on the competition. "A new coach and a fistfull of players does not a premeirship make". BM need more than just a buff up:rolleyes: a total rebuild is required to get this side moving:DDon't think anyone on here said that it would :confused:

The Beak On line
4 Dec 2006, 08:45
Who's talking premierships?? I just wouldn't mind going to the footy and seeing competitive sides play, as you would probably agree Beak, there's nothing worse than watching sides get pulverised every week, becomes a bit monotonous and boring.:confused:
Have to agree with you I just hope that the powers that be at the Marsh realise that it is hard work and not whingeing and whineing that gets the results. EP, Ballarat and the like have got on with the show and look what they have achieved. BM need to understand that it takes commitment and dedication to the cause to achieve results. The team is only as strong as its foundations and if you maintain a united stand the results will come.;)

Bernie Q
4 Dec 2006, 09:05
Have to agree with you I just hope that the powers that be at the Marsh realise that it is hard work and not whingeing and whineing that gets the results. EP, Ballarat and the like have got on with the show and look what they have achieved. BM need to understand that it takes commitment and dedication to the cause to achieve results. The team is only as strong as its foundations and if you maintain a united stand the results will come.;)
My understanding is that the Marsh, have been putting in place, measures to try and combat their current poor on field situation for some time, by improving what they do off field, and by doing this, give themselves a chance on field, let's hope so, well I do any way, at least I might enjoy a beer more on a Saturday instead of crying in one.

Lica
4 Dec 2006, 14:29
My understanding is that the Marsh, have been putting in place, measures to try and combat their current poor on field situation for some time, by improving what they do off field, and by doing this, give themselves a chance on field, let's hope so, well I do any way, at least I might enjoy a beer more on a Saturday instead of crying in one.

Have to agree with everything your saying there Bernie. I think the foundations are being built in 2007 (they started this year - the fruits have already shown by some of the recruits they have got for next year) and I like you am hoping I dont have to cry into my beer as much as I have had to in the passed two or so years.
Yes the marsh has started training.

saucehead
4 Dec 2006, 15:36
Have to agree with everything your saying there Bernie. I think the foundations are being built in 2007 (they started this year - the fruits have already shown by some of the recruits they have got for next year) and I like you am hoping I dont have to cry into my beer as much as I have had to in the passed two or so years.
Yes the marsh has started training.

any noteble recruits started training...any noteable absentees...

19th Man
4 Dec 2006, 21:52

I hope for the cobra's sake that they buy heavily, because for one, not alot is coming by way of 18's, and secondly the new coach's win/loss record is nothing to get excited about.

The Beak On line
5 Dec 2006, 06:46
I hope for the cobra's sake that they buy heavily, because for one, not alot is coming by way of 18's, and secondly the new coach's win/loss record is nothing to get excited about.
This is exactly the problem to which i refer. You cannot buy committment and passion for the club. You can buy short term devotion;) but then when your money is gone you lay alone in your bed pondering why you even bothered.:confused: Without the avenue to develop your kids you are going no where. Kids are our future and until the boneheads that run some of these clubs realise this they will ride the roller coaster for ever.

The Beak On line
5 Dec 2006, 06:58
Rumour has it a few new faces appeared at Sunbury's first training session last night. Could the Lions be quietly on the prowl:eek: .

Noticeable loss from the training track was reigning reserves premeirship coach "Bucket Mouth Belly" story has it that the refreshments available on the boundary line are far more satisfying than the players allocation so "Bucket" has decided to join the experts in the sports bar on game day. Something tells me that he will be a champion at coaching these boys as well;)

Bernie Q
5 Dec 2006, 07:55
This is exactly the problem to which i refer. You cannot buy committment and passion for the club. You can buy short term devotion;) but then when your money is gone you lay alone in your bed pondering why you even bothered.:confused: Without the avenue to develop your kids you are going no where. Kids are our future and until the boneheads that run some of these clubs realise this they will ride the roller coaster for ever.
Point taken Beak. The Marsh do have some good kids, but have lacked the experience around them over the past few years, so hopefully some experience may rub off on them in the next couple of years, so hopefully they ]'ll be ready to take that next step and then provide some local experience for the next lot coming up. Only time will tell:rolleyes: . You seem to know a bit about the goings on at Sunbury, what are the latest movement there, new players, players left etc.

JC1981
5 Dec 2006, 10:13
Point taken Beak. The Marsh do have some good kids, but have lacked the experience around them over the past few years, so hopefully some experience may rub off on them in the next couple of years, so hopefully they ]'ll be ready to take that next step and then provide some local experience for the next lot coming up. Only time will tell:rolleyes: . You seem to know a bit about the goings on at Sunbury, what are the latest movement there, new players, players left etc.

Where is the split in the Marsh where kids either choose Devils or Cobras??? Is it different schools or just once you cross the freeway. Darley seem to reguarly have good players come through juniors where you prob cant say the same about Bacchus Marsh.

The Beak On line
5 Dec 2006, 11:08
You know i don't like to start rumours:rolleyes: . But definite outs are Little and Baird. Info says that Little is a done deal at Tatura 4 1K a game and baird is still being romanced by them but has not yet decided where to go. Word is he feels he needs a change from Sunbury to revitilise his enthusiasm. I am led to beleive that baird's replacement is a handy FF from just up the track but we will have 2 wait and see. 2 big losses for Sunbury but once again i am told that they have a fistfull of local lads wanting to return from the amo's and VFL.

Questions to consider - 1. How many Chooks can live in a Lions den?? 2. Does surge need someone to help him "keep the peace"??

Previous predictions on this thread may come to fruition so keep your beaks to the ground for the goss.:cool:

Bernie Q
5 Dec 2006, 13:06
Where is the split in the Marsh where kids either choose Devils or Cobras??? Is it different schools or just once you cross the freeway. Darley seem to reguarly have good players come through juniors where you prob cant say the same about Bacchus Marsh.

Actually JC, alot of the determining of who kids play for,(either Marsh or Darley) tends to stem from where relatives have played in the past, and also location. I know alot of the kids I grew up with played at Darley, because there Father and Uncles, and their Grandfathers and so on played there, more of a history thing than anything else, but then you have the relocation of new families to the area and most of the new housing developments are in the Darley area, so that will also play a part in where kids will play. Also a lot of it when growing up was that families didn't want to travel to Ballarat in the winter and prefered to travel to "Sunny Kilmore" and places like that instead.

Lica
5 Dec 2006, 21:09

I beg to differ. Tyson Shea could still play Under18's next year and got valuable game time in the seniors this year. Won the best and fairest ahead of Brett Connors and I remember a game against Redan where he beat Edwards for possy's for two quarters directly matched up against him. The kid is an absolute gun.

There is also a guy in the Under16's that is an absolute gun aswell - I'm not sure of his name. Came second in the league best and fairest last year and has represented Vic Metro in his age group I think?? Could be wrong about that........

There is another guy in the Under 16's possibly Under 18s thats ment to go all right. Played this year and was previously at Darley.

Lica
5 Dec 2006, 21:13
any noteble recruits started training...any noteable absentees...
Only absentee worth noting is probably Charles Hunter. He has gone to Westbourne in the Ammos with Bretty Connors I think.
Of course Aussie is out for the year but is still involved and looking great after his reco. The guy is a freak... I cant believe he is back running so well after 3 1/2 months from his op.

Grimmett
5 Dec 2006, 21:14
I beg to differ. Tyson Shea could still play Under18's next year and got valuable game time in the seniors this year. Won the best and fairest ahead of Brett Connors and I remember a game against Redan where he beat Edwards for possy's for two quarters directly matched up against him. The kid is an absolute gun.

There is also a guy in the Under16's that is an absolute gun aswell - I'm not sure of his name. Came second in the league best and fairest last year and has represented Vic Metro in his age group I think?? Could be wrong about that........

There is another guy in the Under 16's possibly Under 18s thats ment to go all right. Played this year and was previously at Darley.

I think Nick Suban is the gun U/16 player who represented Vic Country at the U/16 championships this year.

Lica
5 Dec 2006, 21:17

"A gossip column in a footy program does not a journalist make!". :eek: :eek: :p

Lica
5 Dec 2006, 21:19
I think Nick Suban is the gun U/16 player who represented Vic Country at the U/16 championships this year.
Ahh... I new it was one of the rep teams.
He's a left footer yeh?? I haven't watched too much of the U/16. I have just heard a couple of people talk about him.

whippety boy
5 Dec 2006, 21:38
Ahh... I new it was one of the rep teams.
He's a left footer yeh?? I haven't watched too much of the U/16. I have just heard a couple of people talk about him.Lica who are some of the mature age recruits you have training down at the Marsh at the moment?

And are the boys training Monday, Wednesday and Friday or Tuesdays and Thursdays?