View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
Don't forget about my mail concerning 2005 CHF of the year heading east to Rec Reserve![/quote]THE 19TH MAN
you're mail could be correct from what i've heard.
Lica who are some of the mature age recruits you have training down at the Marsh at the moment?
And are the boys training Monday, Wednesday and Friday or Tuesdays and Thursdays?
There is a story in the local paper today with a pic of Dion and some of the recruits. Check that out and you'll find out some of the recruits. There would be ten names there I think.
Training's Mondays and Wednesdays and some Fridays I think just like passed years.
Don't forget about my mail concerning 2005 CHF of the year heading east to Rec Reserve!THE 19TH MAN
you're mail could be correct from what i've heard.[/quote]
Signed sealed and delivered i've been told. Going to be a imposing forward line with Sutton, Machon and Reardon
The Beak On line
6 Dec 2006, 07:09
"A gossip column in a footy program does not a journalist make!". :eek: :eek: :p
Whooo!!! great comeback:p That marsh air sure is conducive to rapid repertoire. I see from your other comments that Iwas definitely wrong abouth BM not having a foundation of young kids. Sounds to me like the 3 kids u mentioned will certainly have a major impact on the competition and propel the marsh to great heights:D
patty O'furnicha
6 Dec 2006, 08:11
I don't think there is much point debating the fact that the cobras have struggled in recent times. both on the field including juniors, and off the field.
However anyone who is invloved or has any knowledge of the behinds the scenes work that has been taking place over the past few seasons will be able to tell you that they are well on their way to rising up the ranks as a powerfull club of the future.
It was realised that with their local playing list and lack of income avenues that a premiership was out of the question for a few years. So they put in place a long term plan. Instead of spending what money they had on recruits that would see them win enough games to be competitive, they decided to sacrifice the short term on field success for the future of the club.
Money which was normally allocated to player payments was now turned to the attention of new clubrooms and the construction of 4 new apartments on the site which used to be the old hall across the road from maddingley park. They didn't just sell these apartments off to make money but continue to rent them to provide constent inome for the future to further develope the facilities and club as a whole
The cobras paid for the construction of these two ventures whilst still making a profit for the years. Now that everything is nearing completion the fruits are there to ensure the longevity of the club.
As for the on field side...
Over these struggling years the Marsh have been comprised of virtually all youthfull locals who would normally not otherwise have played seniors, or not have played as many games as they have. But given the situation BM now have 15-20 local kids who have played 50 senior games or there abouts. This will be the future of the club. The depth and experience of the senior side come 2 or even 3 years from now will mean that only topping up with quality key position players will be the difference between being competitive and tasting success.
They have copped a lot of flack down at Maddingly Park and a lot of people have tuffed it out. it's time these people were reminded at the pleasure of being succesful.
But thats just what i think... :D
Vineyard
6 Dec 2006, 08:51
I don't think there is much point debating the fact that the cobras have struggled in recent times. both on the field including juniors, and off the field.
However anyone who is invloved or has any knowledge of the behinds the scenes work that has been taking place over the past few seasons will be able to tell you that they are well on their way to rising up the ranks as a powerfull club of the future.
It was realised that with their local playing list and lack of income avenues that a premiership was out of the question for a few years. So they put in place a long term plan. Instead of spending what money they had on recruits that would see them win enough games to be competitive, they decided to sacrifice the short term on field success for the future of the club.
Money which was normally allocated to player payments was now turned to the attention of new clubrooms and the construction of 4 new apartments on the site which used to be the old hall across the road from maddingley park. They didn't just sell these apartments off to make money but continue to rent them to provide constent inome for the future to further develope the facilities and club as a whole
The cobras paid for the construction of these two ventures whilst still making a profit for the years. Now that everything is nearing completion the fruits are there to ensure the longevity of the club.
Over these struggling years the Marsh have been comprised of virtually all youthfull locals who would normally not otherwise have played seniors, or not have played as many games as they have. But given the situation BM now have 15-20 local kids who have played 50 senior games or there abouts. This will be the future of the club. The depth and experience of the senior side come 2 or even 3 years from now will mean that only topping up with quality key position players will be the difference between being competitive and tasting success.
They have copped a lot of flack down at Maddingly Park and a lot of people have tuffed it out. it's time these people were reminded at the pleasure of being succesful.
Why arent the true locals in Larsen, Connors, McCarthy and the like hanging around then to see this success?
saucehead
6 Dec 2006, 08:55
There is a story in the local paper today with a pic of Dion and some of the recruits. Check that out and you'll find out some of the recruits. There would be ten names there I think.
Training's Mondays and Wednesdays and some Fridays I think just like passed years.
For those of us that dont get the local paper... some names and clubs would be nice...
The Beak On line
6 Dec 2006, 09:01
Well stated:thumbsu: . Hope your infromed synopsis is correct. A competetive 10 team competition is what all in the BFL would love. :)
patty O'furnicha
6 Dec 2006, 09:54
Why arent the true locals in Larsen, Connors, McCarthy and the like hanging around then to see this success?
Nothing Hurts Larsen more than knowing the Marsh are heading in the right direction and he wont be able to captain them next year. But He is going over seas for a year. He will be back at the Snake pit in 08. (its not like they are gunna win the premiership in 07)
McCarthy i believe to be retiring. Has been hampered with injury over the past few years and missed a lot of footy. time he gave his body a rest, which ties in nicely with the birth of his first kid just recently.
Connors has left due to family commitments. He is playing at a club around the corner from where he lives in melb as he also has just become a father for the first time and doesn't want to travel this year. His brother is also the Assistan Coach at his new club. He will return to Bacchus Marsh also.
KingRich
6 Dec 2006, 10:35
Saw the Lakers doing a session around the lake on Monday night. looked to have a few there, prob 20-25 perhaps.
Any word if they have recruited new players after the player losses that they have taken?
Very well put Patty. :)
whippety boy
6 Dec 2006, 21:11
For those of us that dont get the local paper... some names and clubs would be nice...Exactly what I was thinking!!
Exactly what I was thinking!!
Sorry guys - my bad.
Its common knowledge now since its in the paper so I feel its ok to put them up on big footy.
Nick Becker, Lochie Demorton, Joel West, Simon Talbot, Jai Miles, David Kennedy, Ben Strornebrink, Steve Harris and the two Whitten boys Dean and Jarrod.
Bernie Q
7 Dec 2006, 08:30
Sorry guys - my bad.
Its common knowledge now since its in the paper so I feel its ok to put them up on big footy.
Nick Becker, Lochie Demorton, Joel West, Simon Talbot, Jai Miles, David Kennedy, Ben Strornebrink, Steve Harris and the two Whitten boys Dean and Jarrod.
Lica, I saw this story in the paper, looks like we have aquired a few likely looking lads, Once settled in lets hope we can get on the improve. Simon Talbot?, does anyone know his back ground, he didn't have a crack at Fitzroy a few years ago did he?? Don't mean to be objective, but from the photo in the paper, I think Steve Harris might have to wear the new nickname of "Larry Flynt" Looks like someone from the Porn industry, especially with the Mowvember happening, and already supporting the Christmas cheer. :D
saucehead
7 Dec 2006, 13:04
Sorry guys - my bad.
Any info on their playing history. From what i can gather nick bekker is ex carlton rookie and port melbourne and joel west bendigo pioneers and bombers. i also think the whittens may have been jets players at one stage. Is this correct? How about the others?
Jai Miles is dion's younger. he played at Hoppers Crossing in the wrfl and spent some time at werribee in the vfl. he is a midfielder/forward.
dave kennedy is from werribee centrals in the gdfl and has finished high up in their best and fairest over the last few seasons. he will play wing / half back.
one of the whitten boys played for werribee ameteurs i think last year. not sure which one though.
nick becker was definitely a carlton rookie and played last year at PM. he is a midfielder as well.
Can confirm that Dean Whitten played for the Werribee Amatuers this year and came in with the usual hype of any relation of a champion. However Dean was far from impressive and his commitment to the hard stuff is questionable. Ben Stornebrink played there also and had a great year as a half forward/winger, lightly built but goes well for his size granted that d2 ammo's is alot easier than BFL. Dions record over the last few years coaching is not great as i understand. Anyone else out there that can confirm that?:thumbsu:
Whooo!!! great comeback:p That marsh air sure is conducive to rapid repertoire. I see from your other comments that Iwas definitely wrong abouth BM not having a foundation of young kids. Sounds to me like the 3 kids u mentioned will certainly have a major impact on the competition and propel the marsh to great heights:D
I think that come back is as good as anything you would dish out. :D
Whats wrong with naming three kids that are guns?? What, do you want me to name a whole 22??
I doubt that any of the BFL teams would have three to five kids coming through that would have a major impact on the league. The three kids I mentioned could I think.
We also have Mitch Wilson who is a quick mid/wingman that is only just 18 and he got valuable game time last year that will bear fruit in the next two years.
Rohan Connors is only 20 or so and he has the makings of a decent player. The future is brighter than many may think at the Cobras.
This is taken straight from the newspaper for your info.
"In addition to Dion, the Cobras have also secured the services of assistant coach Michael Smith, a former Bulldogs rookie, and players Nick Becker, a former Carlton Rookie and Port Melbourne running wingman, Lochie Demorton, a 6'4" CHB from Swan Hill, Joel West a 6'5" ruck/CHF from the Bendigo Bombers, Simon Talbot a four time premiership CHF from Werribee Centrals, Jai Miles (the coach's brother) a midfielder from Werribee, David Kennedya three time premiership player from Western Centrals, Ben Strornebrink a utility player from Werribee Amos, Steve Harris another premiership player from Maffra and EJ "Teddy" Whittens grandsons, Dean and Jarrod Whitten. Dean's a midfielder and Jarrod is a utility player."
Thats from this weeks Bacchus Marsh news.
The people behind the scenes doing the recruiting should be congratulated and so should Dion because it looks like (on paper) to be a good mix of players that they have got to complement our young guys.
"In addition to Dion, the Cobras have also secured the services of assistant coach Michael Smith, a former Bulldogs rookie, and players Nick Becker, a former Carlton Rookie and Port Melbourne running wingman, Lochie Demorton, a 6'4" CHB from Swan Hill, Joel West a 6'5" ruck/CHF from the Bendigo Bombers, Simon Talbot a four time premiership CHF from Werribee Centrals, Jai Miles (the coach's brother) a midfielder from Werribee, David Kennedya three time premiership player from Western Centrals, Ben Strornebrink a utility player from Werribee Amos, Steve Harris another premiership player from Maffra and EJ "Teddy" Whittens grandsons, Dean and Jarrod Whitten. Dean's a midfielder and Jarrod is a utility player."
The people behind the scenes doing the recruiting should be congratulated and so should Dion because it looks like (on paper) to be a good mix of players that they have got to complement our young guys.it's actuallly simon calbert from werribee centrals not simon talbot as reported in that paper. He is an excellent player and would have been in the top 5 players in the gdfl. had a year off last year after travelling overseas and will be a great pick up for the marsh playing across half forward.
it's actuallly simon calbert from werribee centrals not simon talbot as reported in that paper. He is an excellent player and would have been in the top 5 players in the gdfl. had a year off last year after travelling overseas and will be a great pick up for the marsh playing across half forward.
Thanks for that Kooley. I have been to a couple of training sessions and we have had good numbers and have seen some of the new recruits but not all of them and Simon is one of them. Your info sounds great.
Thanks for that Kooley. I have been to a couple of training sessions and we have had good numbers and have seen some of the new recruits but not all of them and Simon is one of them. Your info sounds great.How's the ground holding up Lica. no better looking ground in victoria maddingley park. is it dry?
How's the ground holding up Lica. no better looking ground in victoria maddingley park. is it dry?
I would say compared to others it is looking great. It is a lot dryer... a lot, lot dryer than in previous years though.
I have heard that they are installing a new bore in Maddingley Park plus HUGE water tanks in the future so hopefully that will come true and hold us in good sted.
glen_winderlich
7 Dec 2006, 21:04
The people behind the scenes doing the recruiting should be congratulated and so should Dion because it looks like (on paper) to be a good mix of players that they have got to complement our young guys.
Lachy DeMorton has never set the footballing world on fire in the CMFL which would be of a lower standard than the BFL. But from what ive seen of him lately he has hit the gym really hard and is looking pretty big, all the best to him...
Lets be honest for a minute here the Marsh will need another 12 players like that to be any good. But it is good for the comp at least they won't get smashed by 30 goals.
Lets be honest for a minute here the Marsh will need another 12 players like that to be any good. But it is good for the comp at least they won't get smashed by 30 goals.it's a start mate. don't knock the club for trying.
saucehead
8 Dec 2006, 10:05
so will the marsh be competitive???any1 wanna crack at putting a team together???i dont know if they could play finals footy next year but they wont be too far away by the sounds of things,
All there new recruits are on ballers and flankers they still don't have anyone to kick goals or stop them. Mind you they will be better and as i said before it's good for the comp but they won't play finals.
themagnet
8 Dec 2006, 10:21
Just an update on the situation at the Melton Footy Club, Vimpani, Turner and D Grenfell are all off to Albion on Lucrative Contracts, Porter looking for other clubs as he is unhappy with melton as they owe him money.
J Edwards overseas, S James Sunbury Kangaroos, S Sinclair interstate with work.
Looks like Melton might have done the wrong thing by sacking Ron Thomas.
cockroach
8 Dec 2006, 10:21
All there new recruits are on ballers and flankers they still don't have anyone to kick goals or stop them. Mind you they will be better and as i said before it's good for the comp but they won't play finals.
marsh can only improve and by the sounds of this they will
whats the story with the mighty melton bloods
any news on how they are shapeing up
very quiet by the sounds of things ?
Just an update on the situation at the Melton Footy Club, Vimpani, Turner and D Grenfell are all off to Albion on Lucrative Contracts, Porter looking for other clubs as he is unhappy with melton as they owe him money.
Has D.Stanely gone back there?
cockroach
8 Dec 2006, 10:27
why would you play at Albion bad news for the bloods
some massive egos at melton by the sounds of things
free up alot of cash for us to build a good side
has payne got the wheels in motion or will they have a quiet year?
themagnet
8 Dec 2006, 11:21
Forgot to mention C Berger is also leaving, dont know about big egos but if you yourself were offered that much money you would prob leave aswell.
i beleive Payne has got the wheels in motion and is a good coach too bad the heirachy of melton have let Payney down by forcing players to leave because of the way they run the club. With one person in particular.
Porter is still training with us, but yeah still on the ropes and yeah D.Stanley is back mooney and Vimpani might be back because he is trying to make a VFL team so i've been told. It's a much better feeling at Melton I reckon having Payney as coach. First night back at pre-season we had 40+ players turn up. Not much, but a huge improvement on last years numbers. Signs are looking good for the future :thumbsu: but I don't no about the year ahead.
Bernie Q
8 Dec 2006, 15:07
Has D.Stanely gone back there?
Who is coaching Melton, Payney???? Is Button staying at Melton?? He would be very handy at the Marsh. He is playing cricket at the Marsh this year, might be worth a chat, especially with all the other players listed departing.
tommahawk_07
8 Dec 2006, 17:32
young redan defender matthew pitt is considering a substantial offer from his former club, perrenial cellar dwellers st albans in geelong league. this kid turned it on for all to see in finals '06 and would be a big loss for the lions on the back of the rest of the off-season departures already mentioned. redan should do all they can to hold on to this talented youngster...
Wayne Weideman
8 Dec 2006, 18:59
can anyone tell me how mark Kennedy went in this league before he went up north?:thumbsu:
saucehead
8 Dec 2006, 19:13
have to disagree mooney. a few of the recruits are key position prospects a ruckman, chf and chb. from what i can remember of the marsh last year their big blokes where ok but it was the quick onballers they desperatly needed.
where2now?
8 Dec 2006, 22:11
can anyone tell me how mark Kennedy went in this league before he went up north?:thumbsu:
Best and Fairest winner at Redan in one of the years they won the Flag. He won a best on, in one grandfinal may have actually won it in two infact.
Velvetsledgehammer
11 Dec 2006, 10:50
Wiede, Kenno was a gun player in the BFL before heading up North to Cairns. Attacking halfback flanker.
Redan B&F, plus Best on Ground in two of Redan's Grand Finals.
Very unlucky not to be drafted from the Nth Ballarat Rebels, but got a knee to the spleen at one stage which slowed him down.
Kings Army
11 Dec 2006, 12:59
Melton South the big improvers and Darley and Melton the big sliders. Darley will stuggle to beat the Marsh in 07. The impact of Scoble and Power leaving has been huge with a mass exodus of key players.
whippety boy
11 Dec 2006, 13:19
Melton South the big improvers and Darley and Melton the big sliders. Darley will stuggle to beat he Marsh in 07. The impact of Scoble and Power leaving has been huge with a mass exodus of key players.When would have it been the last time the Marsh beat Darley in a local Derby?
Vineyard
11 Dec 2006, 13:38
Melton South the big improvers and Darley and Melton the big sliders. Darley will stuggle to beat the Marsh in 07. The impact of Scoble and Power leaving has been huge with a mass exodus of key players.
Dont write off the devils yet Kings Army. While a little slow in terms of signings they have some very very highly rated players almost over the line. Stya tuned.....
Scoble & Power did take a lot of players with them but has freed up some big money.
it all starts round 1 and you dont win flags before Xmas.
Darley will not lose to the marsh
Kings Army
11 Dec 2006, 14:55
Dont write off the devils yet Kings Army. While a little slow in terms of signings they have some very very highly rated players almost over the line. Stya tuned.....
Scoble & Power did take a lot of players with them but has freed up some big money.
it all starts round 1 and you dont win flags before Xmas.
Darley will not lose to the marsh
Gee you loyalty to Darley is great but the rose colour glasses are not letting you see your beloved Devils in the correct light. They focused on signing other players and did not realise that their current good players were leaving in droves.
Apart from Cape and Miller they have all left. It does start in round 1 but what Darley does now will determine if it finishes last or third last.
vimpani from melton signed with albion today, not sure how much for, but another big loss to us.
Did see lakers running last night, reasonable numbers. have heard only Nesbit and Carraher are heading to Cairns. was talk of mcmahon going with nesbit but he is now staying.
Also haerd a whisper that they Are talking to Anthony Mcdonald hoping to play with his brother. and anothe brother Tim Madden is meant to be coming back
So the losses dont appear as deep.
Can anyone else confirm ?
Bdiddy18
12 Dec 2006, 07:14
Does anyone know if Dan Jordan had any offers from any VFL and SANFL clubs?
whippety boy
12 Dec 2006, 08:01
Forgot to mention C Berger is also leaving, dont know about big egos but if you yourself were offered that much money you would prob leave aswell.
i beleive Payne has got the wheels in motion and is a good coach too bad the heirachy of melton have let Payney down by forcing players to leave because of the way they run the club. With one person in particular.Would this be a former ruckman and fireman by any chance.
Can you fill me in on Sunbury's possible ins/outs
19th Man
12 Dec 2006, 09:14
Gee you loyalty to Darley is great but the rose colour glasses are not letting you see your beloved Devils in the correct light. They focused on signing other players and did not realise that their current good players were leaving in droves.
Apart from Cape and Miller they have all left. It does start in round 1 but what Darley does now will determine if it finishes last or third last.
Round 1 blockbuster, with South V Darley under lights. By the sounds of it, it will be Darley 2006 V Darley 2007 if all the reported transfers go through.
Bernie Q
12 Dec 2006, 09:21
When would have it been the last time the Marsh beat Darley in a local Derby?
A long time ago, WB. Actually don't think I could even pluck a year out, it's been that long. Hopefully 2007.
Bernie Q
12 Dec 2006, 09:23
Has anyone got any info on In/Outs for Ballarat and Sebas, haven't heard anything for a while, could be flying under the radar??
Kings Army
12 Dec 2006, 09:26
Can you fill me in on Sunbury's possible ins/outs
Out - Little, Charmers, Baird
In - Beattie, Henry, more TBA this week.
KingRich
12 Dec 2006, 09:28
Luke Beattie?? Why did he leave South if so?
Would this be a former ruckman and fireman by any chance.
Cop I think
puffpuffgivemo
12 Dec 2006, 10:17
Where has Turbo gone to?
Kings Army
12 Dec 2006, 10:21
Luke Beattie?? Why did he leave South if so?
Coaching opportunity - Serge will coach for 07 and more than likely hand the role over to one of his assitants in 08. Luke is in that mix.
I have heard good things about him - can you give us more info?
Kings Army
12 Dec 2006, 10:22
Where has Turbo gone to?
Retired
puffpuffgivemo
12 Dec 2006, 10:26
Retired
Are you being serious?
Why's that - is he over footy or outside committements?
KingRich
12 Dec 2006, 10:44
Coaching opportunity - Serge will coach for 07 and more than likely hand the role over to one of his assitants in 08. Luke is in that mix.
Played for Trentham a couple of years ago before moving to South. Is a very handy forward who is very much in the Nick Riewoldt mould in that he is both very mobile and good over head. Seemed to flourish in the Bendigo league and will be a very good recruit for Sunbury.
Are you being serious?
Why's that - is he over footy or outside committements?
How did he go this year in the BFL, he was a very good player for Oak Park especially in there premiership years.
N Bartos
12 Dec 2006, 11:49
Does anyone know if Dan Jordan had any offers from any VFL and SANFL clubs?
Have heard recently that he may be going to Hepburn for massive money.
Kings Army
12 Dec 2006, 12:30
How did he go this year in the BFL, he was a very good player for Oak Park especially in there premiership years.
He struggled with injuries - had OP which really restricted him.
blues12
12 Dec 2006, 12:42
I am pretty sure that at most clubs it is the club that selects the coach, it is not handed down like captaincy, will he move onto the coaches selection panel:D
Kings Army
12 Dec 2006, 12:53
I am pretty sure that at most clubs it is the club that selects the coach, it is not handed down like captaincy, will he move onto the coaches selection panel:D
That is what Sunbury are using to get a good player. Serge is not coaching in 08 and wants to groom somone for the role. Obvioulsy if a bloke is a cat and can't commuicate they will not give him the role. My money is on an assitant taking over.
Have heard recently that he may be going to Hepburn for massive money.
Nah although he did get quite a few large offers thrown at him including from clubs in the EDFL Dan is definitely staying put with his brother at East for 07'
19th Man
12 Dec 2006, 13:40
Nah although he did get quite a few large offers thrown at him including from clubs in the EDFL Dan is definitely staying put with his brother at East for 07'
For East to take the next step, they require a hardened on-baller of the Edwards type. Their current midfield are pacy and skillful, but require the in and under to supply them. Other than that, should be there abouts again in September.
the_don88
12 Dec 2006, 15:01
For East to take the next step, they require a hardened on-baller of the Edwards type. Their current midfield are pacy and skillful, but require the in and under to supply them. Other than that, should be there abouts again in September.
With the amount of players that redan have lost, you would have to say that east would be going into the season as red hot favourites. Not really many loses. Sounds like they are either a really close team or are extremly heavy in the wallet department to have retained so many key players.
Velvetsledgehammer
12 Dec 2006, 15:08
With the amount of players that redan have lost, you would have to say that east would be going into the season as red hot favourites. Not really many loses. Sounds like they are either a really close team or are extremly heavy in the wallet department to have retained so many key players.
Still think Redan will shape up alright they always find a few new Uni students and have the North Ballarat connection. I had also heard that Nicholson is not so sure about his move to Waubra and might be considering taking on a bigger role with the Lions again this year......any truth to this rumour?
the_don88
12 Dec 2006, 15:39
Still think Redan will shape up alright they always find a few new Uni students and have the North Ballarat connection. I had also heard that Nicholson is not so sure about his move to Waubra and might be considering taking on a bigger role with the Lions again this year......any truth to this rumour?
From what i have been told he just needs a change to get the enjoyment of footy back. If your not enjoying your football a change can help.
People need to realise that 99.9% of players that are playing in this league are not going to reach AFL, so you may aswell play with mates and enjoy yourself or you might give up football altogether
Velvetsledgehammer
13 Dec 2006, 09:47
From what i have been told he just needs a change to get the enjoyment of footy back. If your not enjoying your football a change can help.
People need to realise that 99.9% of players that are playing in this league are not going to reach AFL, so you may aswell play with mates and enjoy yourself or you might give up football altogether
Fair enough I agree. I would have gone and played with my mates too. Loyalty is a 2 way street and Redan were not very loyal to Nicho when they left him out of the GF side after he helped kick them into the GF the week before. Hope he has a big year with the Roos.
It was one kick. Redan would have smashed Darley in the prelim anyway. Correct me if i'm wrong but din't barker come into the side to replace Nicholson and he kicked 3 or 4 in the GF? Results speak for themselves I suggest.
learmonth
13 Dec 2006, 10:23
Loyality does go both ways, agree, but thatw asnt the issue, it was form, and you have noone else to blame except yourself. The players that came into the side and replaced him were very effective. Thats sport and you have to except the coach and match committees decision, even if you think it is wrong. 1 ggod kick doesnt gurantee u a position..
the_don88
13 Dec 2006, 10:55
Loyality does go both ways, agree, but thatw asnt the issue, it was form, and you have noone else to blame except yourself. The players that came into the side and replaced him were very effective. Thats sport and you have to except the coach and match committees decision, even if you think it is wrong. 1 ggod kick doesnt gurantee u a position..
I agree and im sure nicho would as well. But from what i have heard he didn't crack the ********s for being dropped. He went to all the celebrations with the team. It doesn't mean he wouldn't of been upset though. The point is he is leaving because he didn't enjoy his football there and needed a change. Im sure that nicho will go back to the BFL in the next couple of years and have a red hot crack. Some people have to realise that some things in life are more important than football.
Its funny isnt it every year ppl write Darley off and every year they seem to be up there the players that south have picked up couldnt win a flag at Darley so how are they going to go and make a difference at southwho have not got half the local talent of Darley it just goes to show how smart scoble is it was about time Darley had a clean out and got some new players Darley have a strong bunch of locals like cape miller cox magill edwards stephenson young thats why they continue to be competitive
Yes but are they sick of just being competitive with no success??? No-one remember who comes third.....
Well you obviously do....................
It was only a couple of months ago.... How's redan shaping up?
Kings Army
13 Dec 2006, 13:42
McMahon, Reardon and Sutton are 3 quality forwards for South.
McMahon, Mcleod, Henry, Scoble, Parker, Kegga, Smithwick, Jambor, Cannard and Ferrer are big losses. Stephensen is not 100% to play at Darley.
Alot of work to do to replace these players!!
Kings Army
13 Dec 2006, 13:51
been appointed has he okay ;maybe you should put a call to the pres and chappy and any of the playing group and confirm it you dill ..and if he is appointed i will say i was wrong but the big question is if he is not will you say you were wrong you pickle........
"Melton South would like to announce the following appointments for Season 2007.
Senior Co-Coaches - Travis Chapman and Troy Scoble"
Tappy time to front up and take your medicine. This press release is on the BFL web site!
Vineyard
13 Dec 2006, 13:51
pretty sure it isnt anything to do about smarts with Scoble leaving. it was a great opportunity to coach at senior level with a club he has had some history at. Just trying to get his old club up the ladder. They did lose to Bacchus Marsh last year. massive task ahead but started right poaching McMahon and the rest going back from Devil land are south juniors.
You are correct regarding the locals at Darley. Apparently the new coaching staff is huge on making the young locals (add in Herring, King, Gundry, Smithwick) a force and topping up with some recruits. Gained invaluable experience last season & building like the young Ballarat.
McMahon, Reardon and Sutton are 3 quality forwards for South.
McMahon, Mcleod, Henry, Scoble, Parker, Kegga, Smithwick, Jambor, Cannard and Ferrer are big losses. Stephensen is not 100% to play at Darley.
Alot of work to do to replace these players!!
Jambor and henry have not played for Darley for 2 years McMahon played 6 games last year smithwick is staying a Darley boy along with Stevo and as for Scoble Mcleod and Parker they were just taking money that would be better spent else where yeah kegga and farra are losses but every club loses players the Darley core group of players are strong dont write em off
cockroach
13 Dec 2006, 15:03
pretty sure it isnt anything to do about smarts with Scoble leaving. it was a great opportunity to coach at senior level with a club he has had some history at. Just trying to get his old club up the ladder. They did lose to Bacchus Marsh last year. massive task ahead but started right poaching McMahon and the rest going back from Devil land are south juniors.
You are correct regarding the locals at Darley. Apparently the new coaching staff is huge on making the young locals (add in Herring, King, Gundry, Smithwick) a force and topping up with some recruits. Gained invaluable experience last season & building like the young Ballarat.
big job ahead at sth but one thing for sure the talent they have is at a high level
but can the likes of Mamalis/Legget/dransman improve to the next level
melton sth/darley and melton have good kids but until they put in 100 %
will not amount to much so what ever approch there new coaches take
the job is in front of them
sunbury/east & ballarat will be flying 07 :D the rest need to catch them
Bernie Q
13 Dec 2006, 15:13
big job ahead at sth but one thing for sure the talent they have is at a high level
but can the likes of Mamalis/Legget/dransman improve to the next level
melton sth/darley and melton have good kids but until they put in 100 %
will not amount to much so what ever approch there new coaches take
the job is in front of them
sunbury/east & ballarat will be flying 07 :D the rest need to catch them
Who are Ballarat's notable inclusions??
Aaron Nunn is back with his brother mark. They will also have Jed manly who hardly played last year. other than that not sure.
daics35
13 Dec 2006, 21:04
Jambor and henry have not played for Darley for 2 years McMahon played 6 games last year smithwick is staying a Darley boy along with Stevo and as for Scoble Mcleod and Parker they were just taking money that would be better spent else where yeah kegga and farra are losses but every club loses players the Darley core group of players are strong dont write em off
who are you going to replace them with ? you've got nothing in the 2's . if you're counting on any of them you're in big trouble.
The Beak On line
14 Dec 2006, 06:44
"Melton South would like to announce the following appointments for Season 2007.
Senior Co-Coaches - Travis Chapman and Troy Scoble"
Tappy time to front up and take your medicine. This press release is on the BFL web site!
I am sure The Beak will get some mileage out of this appointment. Suspect the coaches box will be like the two squirrels "chip and dale". Can't wait for 2007 to begin:D :D
The Beak On line
14 Dec 2006, 06:49
who are you going to replace them with ? you've got nothing in the 2's . if you're counting on any of them you're in big trouble.
Perhaps the BFL's beloved CEO could make a comeback. just see the big boof head riding his white stallion into Darley to save the day:D :eek:
Bdiddy18
14 Dec 2006, 07:16
Heard that Sunbury had 60 players on the track Monday night. Can anyone confirm or deny? If it is true it sounds as if the Sunbury boys will really be having a fair crack at it! I cant see anyone pushing East or Sunbury this year. Redan has had huge losses while East has gained 6 quality senior players including a quality centre half back which is where they fell down last season. From all reports Sunbury have recruited very hard! My tip East vs Sunbury Grand Final. Boys what are your thoughts and predictions?
Kings Army
14 Dec 2006, 09:02
Heard that Sunbury had 60 players on the track Monday night. Can anyone confirm or deny? If it is true it sounds as if the Sunbury boys will really be having a fair crack at it! I cant see anyone pushing East or Sunbury this year. Redan has had huge losses while East has gained 6 quality senior players including a quality centre half back which is where they fell down last season. From all reports Sunbury have recruited very hard! My tip East vs Sunbury Grand Final. Boys what are your thoughts and predictions?
60 is close to the mark. Sunbury also picked up ex AFL player Damien Houlihan. He and Beattie will make Sunbury very potent up forward.
Look out for a shoot out when Sunbury play East Point in the round 2 rivalry round!!
Ballarat will go close... Sunbury look like the front runners at this stage, hopefully they win it then f* * *k off to another league (in a nice way!!!)
Agree Ballarat had a good year last year, but I believe they played above themselves at times. They showed plenty of signs of improvement but at the same time dished out some terrible football in patches. Word is they haven't been able to sign any major players at this stage - they've spoken to plenty, but haven't been able to get any accross the line YET.
I think Ballarat are a good side, but are a long long way away from being premiership material.
saucehead
14 Dec 2006, 11:50
who does everyone think has the best crop of youngsters??? from the ages of 17-21. I hear ballarat are sposed to have the best young list.
learmonth
14 Dec 2006, 12:11
60 is close to the mark. Sunbury also picked up ex AFL player Damien Houlihan. He and Beattie will make Sunbury very potent up forward.
Look out for a shoot out when Sunbury play East Point in the round 2 rivalry round!!
Ex AFL player..Gees were clutching at straws their..He played about 10 yeras ago and couldnt make the grade. Very good country footballer though, but is well past his best...
Sunbury will not win a premiership due to their mentality, East would stitch them up BIG time.... Redan to play East of again.. From what I hear... Be ready for Redan a sthey are about to announce some BIG findings from the VFL Nth Ballarat, and they are way better players then what sunury can put up...
Lubeek has definantly retired as well
cockroach
14 Dec 2006, 12:24
who does everyone think has the best crop of youngsters??? from the ages of 17-21. I hear ballarat are sposed to have the best young list.
some powerful forwardlines in the bfl this year
has anyone got the full back/chb to stop these guys
or will it be a shootout each week
Kings Army
14 Dec 2006, 13:44
Ex AFL player..Gees were clutching at straws their..He played about 10 yeras ago and couldnt make the grade. Very good country footballer though, but is well past his best...
Sunbury will not win a premiership due to their mentality, East would stitch them up BIG time.... Redan to play East of again.. From what I hear... Be ready for Redan a sthey are about to announce some BIG findings from the VFL Nth Ballarat, and they are way better players then what sunury can put up...
Lubeek has definantly retired as well
He is only 29 - If fit will be hard to stop.
Sunbury Mentality - what a weak throw away line that has now become.
In the 10 years since they joined the BFL they have won 4 flags, Redan 3 and Melton 3. So as the most succuessful BFL in the last 10 years I think they can win it in 07.
East Point may need to merge with a 3rd club to get some success - How about the East Point Lakers??
colbys_kid
14 Dec 2006, 14:04
so that the BFL can again become the 2nd rate league that it once was where all the has beens can go to retire and enjoy the fresh country air. Oh we all wish for the good old days. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
colbys_kid
14 Dec 2006, 14:09
He is only 29 - If fit will be hard to stop.
Sunbury Mentality - what a weak throw away line that has now become.
In the 10 years since they joined the BFL they have won 4 flags, Redan 3 and Melton 3. So as the most succuessful BFL in the last 10 years I think they can win it in 07.
East Point may need to merge with a 3rd club to get some success - How about the East Point Lakers??
Just to ensure success i think that the "ballarat - east point lakers lions"playing at marty Busch oval would certainly give one of the eastern bloc clubs a run for its money. Sebastopol would have to go it alone;) after all we need one team to flog the guts out of.:D
cockroach
14 Dec 2006, 14:32
Just to ensure success i think that the "ballarat - east point lakers lions"playing at marty Busch oval would certainly give one of the eastern bloc clubs a run for its money. Sebastopol would have to go it alone;) after all we need one team to flog the guts out of.:D
if dj is still at east the hunger will be there so i,m sure they will a have a big say @ finals time
like sunbury always do
who else will make up the rest is anyones guess
alot of clubs need to lift to the next level or spend up big ??
to match the power houses
learmonth
14 Dec 2006, 14:45
What a brainless comment from a guy who probably didnt pass finger painting. From what i remember the 2 best sides were both from ballarat. You guys cant handle the fact that country football i sproducing better players. What do you clas the riddell league as, where all the eastern block sides come from..Very mediocre league. It has taken the BFL sides time to get the $$$ and become just as profesional, but u guys down the hwy are in for some awful home truths from now on...Go the country..
Good to see that the BFL had plenty of dratees this year- Both Brown 10 & 16 from ballarat, Grigg 16....
And Kings Army...your a fool, u write comments which make us all dumber..I see makepeace hasnt gone to Scumbury..smart move...