View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
Bobby Giovanni
29 Dec 2006, 08:58
As a side note, what are the Meech boys up to?
Think Big
29 Dec 2006, 11:54
Looks as if Ballarat & Bendigo Leagues for sure will have a delayed start due to drought - some metro leagues may start on time, just after easter.
Now if some guys would like to get match fitness in a metro league and have the jump , fitness wise, when your league starts contact me off line for a discussion - we are able to gain a win win situation perhaps for yourself and my Club in arranging a short term agreement with yourself, your club and my club........up for discussion
FootyFat
29 Dec 2006, 17:12
jarred king, as in young player? Is the vfl struggling for numbers or something
Give the young Kids a break mate he has probably just gone down there to get his fitness base up and gain a little experience like Rowe from the Marsh is doing it would be a good experience for the younger kids to do that sort of thing dont pot the kids for having a go. Are you one of those Blokes that was never any good at the game but alwayse finds a way to hang s#it on someone thats having a go are you?
Vineyard
29 Dec 2006, 19:15
jarred king, as in young player? Is the vfl struggling for numbers or something
your a ********a. good kid who has a crack. Cant ever bag a bloke for trying to reach a higher level. Whether they come from ballan 2's to Fremantle seniors.
good players always try and take the next step.
The bloods have lost
B.PORTER
S.VIMPANY
M.TURNER
D.GREANFEL
A.BUTTON
S.JAMES
S.SINCLAIR
C.BURGER
Has Bergs retired or is he playing elsewhere?
the_pill
30 Dec 2006, 13:47
wasnt putting him down, it was a legit question.
005forsure
31 Dec 2006, 01:00
he has gone too uni blues in the ammos, also 4got 2 name tuddy and willo.. too more guns!!
:(
Looks as if Ballarat & Bendigo Leagues for sure will have a delayed start due to drought - some metro leagues may start on time, just after easter.
Was in town having lunch at a mates yesty who lives near Redan's training venue the Western and couldnt believe how dry it was. We also went for a look at his home oval Austar looked similar although not as dead, and was amazed to see Lake Wendouree bone dry.
Things dont look good for the local residents let alone footy clubs - and Id reckon sporting venues would be the furtherest thing from council minds at this stage.
does any1 no of any under 18s likely to play seniors this year or play in the rebals tac cup side
Kings Army
1 Jan 2007, 12:02
lots of talk about two clubs that will be lucky to make the finals this year........lets talk about Sunbury.........no acceptance of just a finals finish this year, they want a flag and the powers to be at Sunbury wont accept anything else. New to the club for all Ballarat to fear, Luke Beattie ( Sth Bendigo ) gun forward, Pat Davis ( WDFL leading goal kicker), Damien Houlahan( ex Collingwood and Gisborne mulitible Premiership player), Chooka Henry( Darly and BFL CHB) and thats not all, add Sam Survalious to the mid field, and these are all new, to help out Griff, and Lewis..........lets not forgewt O'Conner is returning mid year, and the new blood doesnt stop there. With Power and Turner steering the ship, the new look Lions will be a dominant force in 07
Word out of Sunbury is that they are not happy about new staff dropping the names of all there new recruits. Could be interesting when traning resumes! Loose lips sink ships.
Bdiddy18
2 Jan 2007, 07:56
lots of talk about two clubs that will be lucky to make the finals this year........lets talk about Sunbury.........no acceptance of just a finals finish this year, they want a flag and the powers to be at Sunbury wont accept anything else. New to the club for all Ballarat to fear, Luke Beattie ( Sth Bendigo ) gun forward, Pat Davis ( WDFL leading goal kicker), Damien Houlahan( ex Collingwood and Gisborne mulitible Premiership player), Chooka Henry( Darly and BFL CHB) and thats not all, add Sam Survalious to the mid field, and these are all new, to help out Griff, and Lewis..........lets not forgewt O'Conner is returning mid year, and the new blood doesnt stop there. With Power and Turner steering the ship, the new look Lions will be a dominant force in 07
Some very high profile recruits by the sounds of it! Looks like Sunbury might be a bit more competitive this year. I would of thought that Sunbury would of been chasing some key midfielders as I saw them play last year and they got absoloutely smashed by their opponents in the leg speed department. As much as Sunbury would hate to admit it Griffin and Lewis are past it and don't have the sought of influence on a match they once had. The key forwards and backs recruited will definitely strengthen the club however I will be waiting with intrigue to see if any high profile midfielders are signed. Can anyone confirm that Cheep will be leaving the club?
the Cheep family are very close to one of the money men at Strathmore, could head that way if decides to leave Sunbury.
the_pill
2 Jan 2007, 11:57
does any1 no of any under 18s likely to play seniors this year or play in the rebals tac cup side
Josh Caldow from ballarat.
19th Man
3 Jan 2007, 22:46
If sunbury lack on any part of the ground it is definetly the midfield. Without coach Power, there is no real hard at it attacking personal.
Samut- hard, but does not get footy enough. Went backwards from the year before.
Salburg- also went backwards, not physical, played alot of two's.
Lewis- smart, but not as damaging. Needs to play forward.
Cannot think of the other blokes name, skilled footballer, but hates being tagged and not strong in the mind to cope with constant attention.
The signing of McCabe & Henry (if fit) will be handy.
FootyFat
5 Jan 2007, 05:49
If sunbury lack on any part of the ground it is definetly the midfield. Without coach Power, there is no real hard at it attacking personal.
Samut- hard, but does not get footy enough. Went backwards from the year before.
Cannot think of the other blokes name, skilled footballer, but hates being tagged and not strong in the mind to cope with constant attention.
It will be interesting to see where McCabe fits into the Sunbury side He got pretty much a free ride at darley due to his connection to the power family matty let him do what he wanted and rated him highly but He hates manning up and is very soft and sunbury already have players that fit that mould
cockroach
5 Jan 2007, 08:54
It will be interesting to see where McCabe fits into the Sunbury side He got pretty much a free ride at darley due to his connection to the power family matty let him do what he wanted and rated him highly but He hates manning up and is very soft and sunbury already have players that fit that mould
will go well as he is in a better side with quality onballers around him
not like at Darley ? alot of out side players in the mid field there
Scoble / Parker / Miller:thumbsu:
FootyFat
5 Jan 2007, 11:15
Sunbury are a much softer side than darley were last year thats why Darley put it over them 3 from 3 last year besides serge sunbury dont have any one that likes to go get the ball lewis is a front runner griffen plays a kick behind the ball thats why he gets all his easy touches throw in the lobbs, salsberg, Zamit,with silky they dont have anyone to win the ball in a contest if serge dont play and i dont no how many Darley games you seen but scoble did not play on ball and Miller played as a small forward for 3 quarters of the year and thats why Darley could not match it with Redan because McCabe and parker dont like a contest against the smarts of Edwards Field Peace Dwyer and Weight
Kings Army
6 Jan 2007, 08:55
Sunbury are a much softer side than darley were last year thats why Darley put it over them 3 from 3 last year besides serge sunbury dont have any one that likes to go get the ball lewis is a front runner griffen plays a kick behind the ball thats why he gets all his easy touches throw in the lobbs, salsberg, Zamit,with silky they dont have anyone to win the ball in a contest if serge dont play and i dont no how many Darley games you seen but scoble did not play on ball and Miller played as a small forward for 3 quarters of the year and thats why Darley could not match it with Redan because McCabe and parker dont like a contest against the smarts of Edwards Field Peace Dwyer and Weight
Sunburys midfield will be very strong. Power has just been given the nod to play. Power, Savalis, Corey Brown backed up by Henry, Lewis, Cheep, Summutt, Macabe, Lobb and Salberg.
19th Man
6 Jan 2007, 11:43
I would hardly rate Miller an outside player. Only watched Darley on a couple of occasions, but even from Full Forward, he lead straight, crashed packs and not too many defenders were prepared to drop in back in front of him.
What about Corey Brown.
19th Man
8 Jan 2007, 21:16
What about Corey Brown.
That's the player whose name escaped me. Skillful, but cannot handle 4 qtrs of constant tagging and looses the plot abit towards the latter stages of a match
005forsure
9 Jan 2007, 17:41
has any1 heard if brendan porter is still at melton. or has he gone elsewhere..
sunbury
eastpoint
ballarat
redan
melton south
after that not sure
darley
marsh
melton
lakers
sabastapol
rod ward
9 Jan 2007, 18:25
porter gone but not forgotten:mad:
005forsure
9 Jan 2007, 22:31
porter gone but not forgotten:mad:
where too!
bearsboy
10 Jan 2007, 07:22
where too!Pretty sure he's gone to Keilor in the EDFL.
Sticks23
10 Jan 2007, 13:23
Has anyone heard about Bores being installed at grounds in the Ballarat League, i've heard that Maddingley Park are suppose to be getting one, would make alot of difference as the service is one of the better ones in the league.
Pretty sure he's gone to Keilor in the EDFL.
I can confirm that.
FootyFat
10 Jan 2007, 17:07
Has anyone heard about Bores being installed at grounds in the Ballarat League, i've heard that Maddingley Park are suppose to be getting one, would make alot of difference as the service is one of the better ones in the league.
Darley are getting on as well i have herd and melton south have recycled water apparently its in its best condition in years
colbys_kid
11 Jan 2007, 09:15
Darley are getting on as well i have herd and melton south have recycled water apparently its in its best condition in years
Clarke Oval at sunbury has had recycled water since Melbourne Cup day. the ground is looking awseome. You could play on it today without a problem. There was an article in last weekends ballarat courier that showed how green the ground is and i can tell you it is superb under foot so come season proper it will be only better. The sacrifice of no where for sunbury to train for pre season last year whilst the sprinklers were being installed has certainly paid off as the ground is a treat. lets hope the season does not get cancelled coz clarke oval is certainly ready to go.:thumbsu:
Thats_Special
12 Jan 2007, 06:30
Clarke Oval at sunbury has had recycled water since Melbourne Cup day. the ground is looking awseome. You could play on it today without a problem. There was an article in last weekends ballarat courier that showed how green the ground is and i can tell you it is superb under foot so come season proper it will be only better. The sacrifice of no where for sunbury to train for pre season last year whilst the sprinklers were being installed has certainly paid off as the ground is a treat. lets hope the season does not get cancelled coz clarke oval is certainly ready to go.:thumbsu:
Once again, a ground for one team gets looked after.. There is other grounds in Sunbury that accomodate both Senior and Junior sporting sides yet cant get recycled water set up, yet a ground with one football side that thinks they run Sunbury has it set up because they have pokies....
colbys_kid
12 Jan 2007, 07:05
Once again, a ground for one team gets looked after.. There is other grounds in Sunbury that accomodate both Senior and Junior sporting sides yet cant get recycled water set up, yet a ground with one football side that thinks they run Sunbury has it set up because they have pokies....
FYI - Rupertswood FC, sunbury high school, kismet park ps,Goonawarra golf Club, Sunbury soccer club, Diggers rest FC, melton south FC, are also connected to the recuycled water. Boardman oval that houses Sunbury Kangaroos and both Sunbury junior teams is scheduled for connection this year. So if you would like to open your mouth to change feet now that would be ok.Your obvious hangup about clubs and councils that have the foresite to plan further than a week ahead is reflective of your moron mentality. Success comes from planning and hard work not masturbation and procrastination so instead of sitting around crying poor me why don't you get off your arse and get involved in some productive community spririt like helping junior footbal???:eek: :eek:
Thats_Special
12 Jan 2007, 07:18
FYI - Rupertswood FC, sunbury high school, kismet park ps,Goonawarra golf Club, Sunbury soccer club, Diggers rest FC, melton south FC, are also connected to the recuycled water. Boardman oval that houses Sunbury Kangaroos and both Sunbury junior teams is scheduled for connection this year. So if you would like to open your mouth to change feet now that would be ok.Your obvious hangup about clubs and councils that have the foresite to plan further than a week ahead is reflective of your moron mentality. Success comes from planning and hard work not masturbation and procrastination so instead of sitting around crying poor me why don't you get off your arse and get involved in some productive community spririt like helping junior footbal???:eek: :eek:
Already well and truly involved in helping junior football, so maybe you need to refer to some of your advice above... Goonawarra is connected to its OWN recycled water under its own power.. Diggers Rest, Melton South are in a totally different council....
Boardman Reserve has been scheduled for connection for 5 years, still waiting, pushed back last time because of Clarke Oval... Your argument above answers none of the comment I put up, apart from uninspired rambling written to confuse people into thinking you have put up a good response... Basically its rubbish... Clarke Oval has been given recycled water to cater for 1 football side, rather than grounds that host several junior sides, senior sides, school football, interleague football etc.. So if you want to talk about community spirit.. Maybe the "Lions" should show some and offer thier ground up to junior footballers locally who now need a place to train and play....
blues12
12 Jan 2007, 07:22
bit harsh! i think he was just pointing out that some clubs have strings that can be pulled. Boardman reserve is the most used reserve in the district and is the last to be hooked up.Think about it, on 1 reserve 1 senior football club, 2 junior football clubs, one womens FC, 2 cricket clubs little athletics and is always hired out to schools to play because there is 2 grounds for round robin sport, not 2 mention dog clubs. But we all wish we were a Lion..
and that reserve was meant to have it hooked up early last year now not til the end of this year or early next.
zanderm
12 Jan 2007, 09:32
how are ballarat shaping up? any good recruits?
colbys_kid
12 Jan 2007, 10:42
Already well and truly involved in helping junior football, so maybe you need to refer to some of your advice above... Goonawarra is connected to its OWN recycled water under its own power.. Diggers Rest, Melton South are in a totally different council....
Boardman Reserve has been scheduled for connection for 5 years, still waiting, pushed back last time because of Clarke Oval... Your argument above answers none of the comment I put up, apart from uninspired rambling written to confuse people into thinking you have put up a good response... Basically its rubbish... Clarke Oval has been given recycled water to cater for 1 football side, rather than grounds that host several junior sides, senior sides, school football, interleague football etc.. So if you want to talk about community spirit.. Maybe the "Lions" should show some and offer thier ground up to junior footballers locally who now need a place to train and play....
Wrong again! the recycled water plant ia actually owned by western water and located near the golf course. Western water installed the main line from Sunbury to Melton. It is the repsonsibility of indiividual councils to arrange the connection to the main line. Once the line was installed it was up to each body to make submissions to thier council to be connected.
The holdup for Boardman reserve is the distance from the main which council must pay for.
As far as ground use and training goes the lions u16's trained at clarke oval last year and plan to do so again this year. Rolling meadows juniors used Clarke oval as their home ground in 2006 along with the masters and ladies football clubs. Lions juniors have been offerd clarke oval in the past but prefer to remain at Boardman.
FOOTYBOSS
12 Jan 2007, 10:54
. As much as Sunbury would hate to admit it Griffin and Lewis are past it and don't have the sought of influence on a match they once had.
I caught up with Griffin for the 1st time in a while yesterday and it was the fittest he has ever looked. I think he will have a great year and prove you wrong. Well as for Lewis he will carve any side up if you give him a few inches.
You don't need to give lewis inches... he seems to hang out far enough so blokes don't get near him anyway! How's the fitness of the recruits?
bearsboy
12 Jan 2007, 11:19
Greenman , How's Houlihan going down there , been to training yet ?
Kings Army
12 Jan 2007, 15:23
jese K.A you really have copped a hiding lately, and what have i told you about posting without asking me. Naughty little b#tch don't make me tell you again.
Hey T-mac you have been quiet latley. Word is your still bitter on the football world cause you kid could not cut it at Tigerland. Word ar Darley is your hanging out on your sons coat tails. Change from T-mac to The Shadow!
FootyFat
14 Jan 2007, 18:30
Hey T-mac you have been quiet latley. Word is your still bitter on the football world cause you kid could not cut it at Tigerland. Word ar Darley is your hanging out on your sons coat tails. Change from T-mac to The Shadow!
T MAC IS ALL OVER YOU IT SEEMS KINGS I READ A POST FROM BEFORE XMAS AND YOU WERE STATING IT WAS CANARD NOW YOU ARE CHANGING AGAIN IM NOT SURE IF WE ARE ON THE SAME WAVE LENGTH BUT IT SOUNDS LIKE U THINK ITS A BLOKE THAT WAS A CHAMPION OF THE DARLEY FOOTY CLUB AND HE DONT HAVE TO HANG ON NO COAT TAIL SO YOU HAD BETTER GET BACK TO THE DRAWING BOARD COS YET AGAIN YOU HAVE GOT IT WRONG WHO EVA YOU ARE T MAC KEEP GETTING IN TO THIS FAT PIGS EAR ND AS FOR YOU KINGS HAVE A NOTHER 10 PIES AND THINK OF SOMEONE ELSE IT COULD BE
FootyFat: so is the caps-lock a certain fetish of yours?
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k159/rantdepot/caps_lock_off.jpg
FOOTYBOSS
15 Jan 2007, 09:56
You don't need to give lewis inches... he seems to hang out far enough so blokes don't get near him anyway! How's the fitness of the recruits?
Just means the opposition are dumb for not manning him up alot better.
He'll dominate til his 50 you'd think.
simplesimon
15 Jan 2007, 10:27
surely 50 is a fair stretch!!
Yeah fair point... 48
FootyFat
15 Jan 2007, 11:26
FootyFat: so is the caps-lock a certain fetish of yours?
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k159/rantdepot/caps_lock_off.jpg
OBVIOUSLY YOU MUST HAVE ALOT OF TIME UP YOUR SLEEVE MATE WHAT A WASTE OF A POST COS LAST TIME I LOOKED IT DID NOT READ ANY DIFFERENT WITH CAPS LOCK ON OR NOT
Kings Army
15 Jan 2007, 11:34
OBVIOUSLY YOU MUST HAVE ALOT OF TIME UP YOUR SLEEVE MATE WHAT A WASTE OF A POST COS LAST TIME I LOOKED IT DID NOT READ ANY DIFFERENT WITH CAPS LOCK ON OR NOT
You idiot - of course it looks different, it always has. No wonder your rated the worst club official in the last 30 years. You stick up for Darely and its players but they all laugh at you behind your back. Now run a long you fat bald little pig!
Hey KA the New Years not looking to good for you already, I told you a couple of weeks back that the t-mac would prove elusive :confused:
blackbarry
15 Jan 2007, 11:56
Hey KA the New Years not looking to good for you already, I told you a couple of weeks back that the t-mac would prove elusive :confused:
KA looks like a few people have some bones to pick with you, thats explains what I heard about you and your dog. Get back to what this forum is all about and thats to provide good conversation about our great game, thats if you capable of doing that, I'm not sure if you Gisborne boys know how???
bearsboy
15 Jan 2007, 12:15
KA looks like a few people have some bones to pick with you, thats explains what I heard about you and your dog. Get back to what this forum is all about and thats to provide good conversation about our great game, thats if you capable of doing that, I'm not sure if you Gisborne boys know how???Speaking of Gisborne Barry , im still waiting on your list of player's that are leaving .Seem's to me you know absolutely sweet F.A
FootyFat
15 Jan 2007, 13:37
You idiot - of course it looks different, it always has. No wonder your rated the worst club official in the last 30 years. You stick up for Darely and its players but they all laugh at you behind your back. Now run a long you fat bald little pig!
READ THE POST FOOL I SUPOSE YOU CANT SEE PAST YA GUTS SO YOU WOULD BE JUST GUESSING ANYWAY I DID NOT SAY ANYTHING ABOUT HOW IT LOOKS ALL I SAID WAS IT STILL READS THE SAME AND MATE I THINK YOU HAD BETTER GET THINGS WRITE BEFORE YOU START TRYING TO SAY IM SOMEONE IM NOT I HAVE NEVA BEEN AN OFFICIAL AT DARLEY SO I DONT NO WHO U THINK I AM
Kings Army
15 Jan 2007, 13:56
READ THE POST FOOL I SUPOSE YOU CANT SEE PAST YA GUTS SO YOU WOULD BE JUST GUESSING ANYWAY I DID NOT SAY ANYTHING ABOUT HOW IT LOOKS ALL I SAID WAS IT STILL READS THE SAME AND MATE I THINK YOU HAD BETTER GET THINGS WRITE BEFORE YOU START TRYING TO SAY IM SOMEONE IM NOT I HAVE NEVA BEEN AN OFFICIAL AT DARLEY SO I DONT NO WHO U THINK I AM
Thanks FF - I will try to get things WRITE going fowrard.
Velvetsledgehammer
15 Jan 2007, 14:28
Move on lads this thread is turning to sh^t, put something useful about footy, recruits, or clubs etc.
for the baccus marsh people, i hear a couple of their star recruits have fallen through. dean whitten has glandular fever and unlikely to play and ben stornibrink has decided to go to geelong west. can anyone confirm?
learmonth
15 Jan 2007, 15:07
for the baccus marsh people, i hear a couple of their star recruits have fallen through. dean whitten has glandular fever and unlikely to play and ben stornibrink has decided to go to geelong west. can anyone confirm?
KA, u talk so much rubbish...
Anyway Redan will have Edwards back in the middle of the season, and the rumors of all their players leaving is false..None have made a final decision, and that close mateship, will most likely see them stay at redan for another season....
Dan Jordan has been getting masive wraps up here about his cricket ability, but has struggled with 2 ducks and 0-20 of two overs...Lets just say he is a better footballer..????
bearsboy
15 Jan 2007, 15:40
Greenman , How's Houlihan going down there , been to training yet ?GREENMAN where are you ? i know you read bigfooty every day .Don't tell me Serge has gagged you already
KA, u talk so much rubbish...
Anyway Redan will have Edwards back in the middle of the season, and the rumors of all their players leaving is false..None have made a final decision, and that close mateship, will most likely see them stay at redan for another season....
Dan Jordan has been getting masive wraps up here about his cricket ability, but has struggled with 2 ducks and 0-20 of two overs...Lets just say he is a better footballer..????
But who are the massive wraps coming from????? Ah yes, it was kenny hill!!! Kenny has had some love childs over the past 5 years and sadly it interferes with his weekly column in the courier!
Quinlan
Reid
Landry
Jordan.... And i've probably missed a few more!
cockroach
16 Jan 2007, 09:13
what clubs are back training ?
how are the numbers with this heat wave
3 week delay to season has this effected presseason plans ?
any big signings other than sunbury ?
Sticks23
16 Jan 2007, 09:50
what clubs are back training ?
how are the numbers with this heat wave
3 week delay to season has this effected presseason plans ?
any big signings other than sunbury ?
The Marsh were back at it last night in warm conditions, had roughly 30 players there. Ground isn't in to bad a nick, obviously needs some water but should be right by the start of the season.
silvermagpie
16 Jan 2007, 19:02
can anyone tell us whats going on with melton sth coach commitee is there still any one there from 70s and 80s.Are they still the panthers
GREENMAN
16 Jan 2007, 22:59
GREENMAN where are you ? i know you read bigfooty every day .Don't tell me Serge has gagged you already
Just back from holidays.............still see u and kings are as popular as ever. I think this year I will sit back and watch u take all the bulletts, give us some Gisborne news.......there losses or gains. Must be something happening at Gardiner Reserve???? At Sunbury things are rolling along beautifully, good recruits, good numbers and a green oval.....things couldnt be better. Learnt to sit back......listen and load the gun, u just fire it for me and u wear all the return bulletts, in fact BB might change my name to the Puppett Master, and u can be the puppett. Dance for me as I pull all the strings
bearsboy
17 Jan 2007, 07:29
Just back from holidays.............still see u and kings are as popular as ever. I think this year I will sit back and watch u take all the bulletts, give us some Gisborne news.......there losses or gains. Must be something happening at Gardiner Reserve???? At Sunbury things are rolling along beautifully, good recruits, good numbers and a green oval.....things couldnt be better. Learnt to sit back......listen and load the gun, u just fire it for me and u wear all the return bulletts, in fact BB might change my name to the Puppett Master, and u can be the puppett. Dance for me as I pull all the stringsYour confusing me with the puppet stuff . As for comings and goings at Gisborne , M.Dillon (gone to Bendigo Bombers) . Returning to the club Stewie Hamilton ,Levi Moss and Ty Elliott. Unfortunetly we dont have the big dollar's that some of the Ballarat sides do , so we missed out on a big forward this year , looks like we'll have to make do with Luke Saunders in the goal square again.
Left Footed Cat
17 Jan 2007, 11:59
The Marsh were back at it last night in warm conditions, had roughly 30 players there. Ground isn't in to bad a nick, obviously needs some water but should be right by the start of the season.
Just judging the clubs previous form, they had 30 'numbers', not many of them would you call 'players'
Sticks23
17 Jan 2007, 13:15
Just judging the clubs previous form, they had 30 'numbers', not many of them would you call 'players'
You could be right there but as you said it is previous form!!!!!!, i think you will see a vast improvement to the side this year, they have added some quality recruits which can only help, this will also add depth to the club as a whole which is needed, time will only tell.
I hear Darley were back at training the other night and although there were a lot of kids down there which is great there was an obvious lack of senior players, has the wheels completely fallen off the devils consistantly thereabouts cart??
cockroach
17 Jan 2007, 14:27
I hear Darley were back at training the other night and although there were a lot of kids down there which is great there was an obvious lack of senior players, has the wheels completely fallen off the devils consistantly thereabouts cart??
dont write of Darley and Melton 07 ?
Left Footed Cat
17 Jan 2007, 15:01
The devils should be thereabouts again, they have not had superstar sides over the years, and this year will be no different. Those animals always seem to sneak in and win at least one final.
Bobby Giovanni
17 Jan 2007, 15:27
Anyway Redan will have Edwards back in the middle of the season, and the rumors of all their players leaving is false..
Nah, he's definitely gone the whole year. The other boys have booked to go over in October to meet up with him.
No doubt the vultures are already starting to circle what he's left behind...
Vineyard
18 Jan 2007, 12:58
its only january fellow big footy fans. season being pushed back again so still plenty of time for recruits.
surely with the big name players leaving both clubs it opens up huge budgets. you would expect some major signings in the next 3 weeks.
both proud clubs and will be strong in 07
learmonth
18 Jan 2007, 13:11
Has bakes been able to lure any devils players to Gordon... Massive rumor Trav Stephenson is going, but I find that hard to believe.... U would expect him to take a few though.....
simplesimon
18 Jan 2007, 15:27
Who would Mr.Baker be targeting from the Devils?
19th Man
18 Jan 2007, 15:52
Who would Mr.Baker be targeting from the Devils?
Along with Travis, names of Edwards, Young, and Cox are thought to be on the radar
Season been pushed back again? is this further than the original 3 weeks they'd decided on??
Has bakes been able to lure any devils players to Gordon... Massive rumor Trav Stephenson is going, but I find that hard to believe.... U would expect him to take a few though.....
This will be big loss.
If he goes and reading that Young, Edwards, Cox might go this will have a big impact. They were also pretty handy in the seconds so they may target a few blokes that missed out come finals time.
The devils should be thereabouts again, they have not had superstar sides over the years, and this year will be no different. Those animals always seem to sneak in and win at least one final.
Is Reynolds going around again? he is a freak he is nearly 40 i think!!
Vineyard
19 Jan 2007, 07:59
Is Reynolds going around again? he is a freak he is nearly 40 i think!!
Reynolds has left the devils and is assistant coach at Hoppers Crossing. Still a very handy player but his body didnt hold up well last year especially with the grounds being so hard.
Why would Cox, young, edwards etc leave Darley when they have the opportunity to cement their positions in a division 1 country footy league, whereas the CHFL is second rate???
Vineyard
19 Jan 2007, 08:03
i dont think that you could talk any more rubbish learmonth. big trav is fighting fit and would have to be a contender to captain the devils this year.
from all reports the recruiters are trying to sign up a ruckman to help the big fella out and prolong his career by another 2 years.
simplesimon
19 Jan 2007, 08:11
you seem a bit sensitive when it comes to the Devils Vineyard? what's your connection there?
simplesimon
19 Jan 2007, 08:13
everyclub loses some and gains some, nature of the beast. Im sure the Devils will be a competitive unit again in 2007.
will be hard to cover the loss of the great Noodle Cannard though!! :-)
everyclub loses some and gains some, nature of the beast. Im sure the Devils will be a competitive unit again in 2007.
will be hard to cover the loss of the great Noodle Cannard though!! :-)
I'm sure they'll find someone... possibly an ex boundry umpire?? he'd be used to running the same routes as cennard.
Brett Lee
19 Jan 2007, 09:01
Dont mean to abuse the system with junk fellas, but if any of you lads follow Ballarat Cricket head over to www.bigcricket.com (http://www.bigcricket.com/) and search for Ballarat. There is a thread there on the BCA. Cheers.
Premiership
19 Jan 2007, 09:02
There is a lot of talk this time of year about comings and goings at many clubs, best to probably deal in facts of players confirmed, players you know have definitely left or arrived. Is it fair to say then with the season starting to approach:
East Redan and Sunbury should be setting the pace. Whilst all may have lost a few, their strength in 2006 and the players they have picked up should keep them in the top 4. Little anf baird big loss but McCabe back to Sunbury is a massive get and they have a new key forward to replace baird.
Ballarat should still be building for a finals appearance given their youth, haven’t heard much about them, still need to keep all players and jag a couple. Nunn returning will assist that.
With player losses confirmed at Melton & Darley they may fall away a touch from the top 4. Darley still have Cape and Miller, Melton have picked up Darren Stanley who has won a couple of Henderson medals. One may miss finals, one sneak in.
Of the sides out of the 6 last year, I would expect Melton South to be the big smokey to push top 4. The word in the Eastern Block is with Chapman and Scoble Co Coaching enthusiasm is as strong as when sproule took over 6 years ago. Lots of numbers, and some mighty recruiting for a club with little financial backing. Not sure how they do it but McMahon Sutton Reardon will take some stopping, the missing link propelling them to the top though would be a gun onballer, whether Parker returns to the his old club with his good mates coaching and playing could determine their season. The marsh while a long way back last season should improve significantly and should win some games this year. They have turned the corner. Sebas seem to have lost quite a few to Ballan, their new coach is a pretty handy player though so they should remain competitive, another slider may be the lakers who appear with lack of a home base for playing to be the side that may really struggle this year losing their best player nesbitt and maxwell.
Any thoughts?
Left Footed Cat
19 Jan 2007, 09:17
There is a lot of talk this time of year about comings and goings at many clubs, best to probably deal in facts of players confirmed, players you know have definitely left or arrived. Is it fair to say then with the season starting to approach:
East Redan and Sunbury should be setting the pace. Whilst all may have lost a few, their strength in 2006 and the players they have picked up should keep them in the top 4. Little anf baird big loss but McCabe back to Sunbury is a massive get and they have a new key forward to replace baird.
Ballarat should still be building for a finals appearance given their youth, haven’t heard much about them, still need to keep all players and jag a couple. Nunn returning will assist that.
With player losses confirmed at Melton & Darley they may fall away a touch from the top 4. Darley still have Cape and Miller, Melton have picked up Darren Stanley who has won a couple of Henderson medals. One may miss finals, one sneak in.
Of the sides out of the 6 last year, I would expect Melton South to be the big smokey to push top 4. The word in the Eastern Block is with Chapman and Scoble Co Coaching enthusiasm is as strong as when sproule took over 6 years ago. Lots of numbers, and some mighty recruiting for a club with little financial backing. Not sure how they do it but McMahon Sutton Reardon will take some stopping, the missing link propelling them to the top though would be a gun onballer, whether Parker returns to the his old club with his good mates coaching and playing could determine their season. The marsh while a long way back last season should improve significantly and should win some games this year. They have turned the corner. Sebas seem to have lost quite a few to Ballan, their new coach is a pretty handy player though so they should remain competitive, another slider may be the lakers who appear with lack of a home base for playing to be the side that may really struggle this year losing their best player nesbitt and maxwell.
Any thoughts?
Dont care how good the enthusiasm is at South, they were a disgrace last year. Their only real gain this year is McMahon, and maybe Parker (will be back mid year). McMahon & Sutts on the same forward line will be awesome, especially on that dog bowl of a ground they have. But away from home cant see the ball reaching them often.
Any thoughts?
Agree Melton south look tohave picked upsome quality plyers, however who will deliver ball to mcmahon and sutton, Reardon wil have to play on ball and float fwd you'd think as they struggle in the middle.
Redan will slip a bit this year with there losses, jones and reid kicked majority of goals and they are losing a couple of quality midfielders.
Ballarat might improve as they have picked up a good player from hampden Daniel Finn - light but can play
East have lost nothing of note, whilst you hear they arent happy with fisher they havent left so you must only see this as a typical rumour. the mail is that they wantd benjordan to coach
Sebas have lost a few and would expect the new coach todrag a couple from melbourne.
lakers have lost caraher and nesbitt (he only played half season last year), however believe Tim madden is back. Maxwell is training with them so he looks like he is staying.
Bachuss should improve but quality of players is interesting they are from lower levels, Dionwill get them fit if he can get them on the track.
Sunbury if get will be tough to overcome and reckon they will put most pressureon east
dont know much about melton or darley, but reading that they are losing quite a few and good players.
Any thoughts?
Agree Melton south look tohave picked upsome quality plyers, however who will deliver ball to mcmahon and sutton, Reardon wil have to play on ball and float fwd you'd think as they struggle in the middle.
Redan will slip a bit this year with there losses, jones and reid kicked majority of goals and they are losing a couple of quality midfielders.
Ballarat might improve as they have picked up a good player from hampden Daniel Finn - light but can play, but stil think theyare building with young list.
East have lost nothing of note, whilst you hear they arent happy with fisher they havent left so you must only see this as a typical rumour. the mail is that they wantd benjordan to coach
Sebas have lost a few and would expect the new coach todrag a couple from melbourne.
lakers have lost caraher and nesbitt (he only played half season last year), however believe Tim madden is back. Maxwell is training with them so he looks like he is staying.
Bachuss should improve but quality of players is interesting they are from lower levels, Dionwill get them fit if he can get them on the track.
Sunbury if get will be tough to overcome and reckon they will put most pressureon east
dont know much about melton or darley, but reading that they are losing quite a few and good players.
KingRich
19 Jan 2007, 10:47
Can anyone tell me what type of player Ben Murray from Lake Wendouree is and if he's any good?
Enough with the cricket jerk, its a sport for chumps who cant play footy
2nd that Noddy... F U C K off Brett Lee, nobody wants to join your little gay arrrse chat about local tryhards playing a sport that requires you to stand in a field for 6 hours on 40 degree heat. I suggest you f u c k off home and switch on the box and watch the game instead of sharing your f u c king pointless info about the BCA. cheers and have a good weekend everybody.
FootyFat
19 Jan 2007, 18:43
Dont care how good the enthusiasm is at South, they were a disgrace last year. Their only real gain this year is McMahon, and maybe Parker (will be back mid year). McMahon & Sutts on the same forward line will be awesome, especially on that dog bowl of a ground they have. But away from home cant see the ball reaching them often.
I dont think sutton and mcmahon will operate well together on that tiny ground, Sutton dont like to have blokes around him he normaly likes to play 1 out and if they try to push Mcmahon up the ground he will be playing accross half back and a long way away from goal, both are selfish players so there could be some interesting times at the panthers. As for parker if he plays there he will be no good delivering the ball he has the worst skills by foot of any midfielders in the comp turn over king. South were terrible last year maybe win a couple more games this year but they are all sh$t scared and come half way when they have all been offered big money and south cant pay there will be blokes walking out scoble better be careful and make sure they have money cos they have neva got money and if he gets his mates back and they dont get paid it will reflect on him
005forsure
19 Jan 2007, 22:26
melton have lost . d.greanfel, s.james, j.edwards, s.sinclair, m.turner, s.vimpany, b.porter, A.wilason, c.burger.. and i think butten is going round again any1 know. not sure who they have picked up but all those players they lost bar turner, are premiership players. its sad too lose that many player, im not sure y they left. but they do have a few good young guys coming through. did hear that ports was offeard good money in front of the coach, then the president m.willam i think thats his name, tryed too get him too sign for a lot less.. but like i said its only a roomer.
Lets hope for the leauges sake that they use the money too buy some high profile players to help the young guys!:p
Ballarat might improve as they have picked up a good player from hampden Daniel Finn - light but can play, but stil think theyare building with young list.
Can somebody out there please direct me to the BFL fixture in full for 2007. Cheers
Premiership
21 Jan 2007, 15:50
Come on Footy Fat...to say that Mcmahon and Sutton wont work well together is ridiculous. Time will tell but, East have Jordan and Geljon, Redan had Reid and Jones, Panthers now have McMahon and Sutton, more than comparable one would think. If you were at either of East Redan or the Panthers you would be wrapt to have that as your fwd line, finals are won on big grounds and with Reardon for Melton South it will take a fairly handy tall back 3 to hold them. Fact is, opposition clubs have to have good enough key backs toplayon these guys, and in the BFL, most dont.
Scoble homeclub is Melton South,so you would think he would well know what the money situation is like and the other guys gone there are from Melton South also, so I wouldnt think there would not be any surprises in what they have gone back to. CHapman and Scoble are known to have impecable reputations and character as people so obviously players want to play with them. Parker was the best midfielder at Darley and finished top3 in the Henderson, you have obviously played with him so would know his skill level better than I, however you still got to get it,and get it he does. All I am saying, from outside the 6 last year, dont be surprised if the Panthers sky rocket up the ladder,especially if they can lure parker or an equivalent on baller of his ability.
19th Man
21 Jan 2007, 19:19
It has nothing to do with football. McMahon is better looking and has a better body that Sutts and he won't like it one little bit. Have you ever seen that movie about the chicks trying out for the cheerleading squad and the conflict starts because the Prom Queen is jealous of the new girl who just happens to be dating the School Quarterback jock, who just happens to be the Prom Queen's ex boyfriend and the guy she lost her virginity to? Well that is what it will be like at that pathetic club in 07.
The McMahon show is in town and Sutts will be yesterday's news. McMahon will be the guy that the girls want to dance with at Pure while Sutts stands in the corner telling people how he could have made it.
One thing is for sure, with Scoble back on deck you know that either one of them will be double teamed each week because there is no point manning up on that cat.
Hey Macca, self praise is no recomendation!
19th Man
21 Jan 2007, 19:26
I hear a rumour that along with dean whitten and other gun recruits, the Marsh are looking to sign 'Gorgeous' Georgie Dale and William 'Tip' Hehir.
These latest signings should add to the depth of gun running defenders at Cobra land. Both move beatifully across the turf and can kick either foot.
Your old mate Noddy has also heard that this years pre-season flyer is Heath Hunter, looking to cement his place in the senior side in 2007.
Have you had your head up your ass, or is it the "slack jawed yokal" comming out in you? Your rumours are ancient, and there is no such thing as "gun running defenders" at Cobraland!
Premiership
21 Jan 2007, 20:59
Noddy,first two para's were funny willbe interesting to see how sutts and mcmahon share the limelight agree, still, you have to admit, not a bad problem for chapman and scoble to have. Not sure what your problem is with Scoble, notice you have made a couple of comments about him, was at a BBQ last night with guys from East and Redan, they couldnt have spoken more highly of him and were praising Chapman also as his partner. Watching this years finals series, he kicked 5 twice so held his own, and talking to Redan and East boys, they say the problem with Darley was they think being tough is clipping someone with a cheap shot, rather than worrying about playing hard footy.
natterock
21 Jan 2007, 22:28
I Think It Was A Great Thing In Football 2 C East Point Loose The Grandfinal Last Year. With There Pathetic Leader With All His Bubble Gum Tatts Over Him Used To Strut Around In The Lexton Plains Like His Was Barry Hall And Use To Squib It At Every Opportunity When The Ball Was Near Bye What A Soft Leader Spent Thousands And Only Came 2nd Bad Luck Fish We Are In A Drought Time To Move On To Deeper Water!!!!!!
where2now?
21 Jan 2007, 23:32
I Think It Was A Great Thing In Football 2 C East Point Loose The Grandfinal Last Year. With There Pathetic Leader With All His Bubble Gum Tatts Over Him Used To Strut Around In The Lexton Plains Like His Was Barry Hall And Use To Squib It At Every Opportunity When The Ball Was Near Bye What A Soft Leader Spent Thousands And Only Came 2nd Bad Luck Fish We Are In A Drought Time To Move On To Deeper Water!!!!!!
Natterock wouldn't quiet go that far but having briefly playedt under Fisher at Lexton would have to say his coaching left plenty to be desired! Heaps of yelling and screaming but very difficult to understand the message. Furthermore no solutions to the problems were ever suggested/provided. I'm guessing he must have improved significantly to get the job at East??? Did he improve in his time at East???
FootyFat
22 Jan 2007, 06:08
Noddy,first two para's were funny willbe interesting to see how sutts and mcmahon share the limelight agree, still, you have to admit, not a bad problem for chapman and scoble to have. Not sure what your problem is with Scoble, notice you have made a couple of comments about him, was at a BBQ last night with guys from East and Redan, they couldnt have spoken more highly of him and were praising Chapman also as his partner. Watching this years finals series, he kicked 5 twice so held his own, and talking to Redan and East boys, they say the problem with Darley was they think being tough is clipping someone with a cheap shot, rather than worrying about playing hard footy.
hahahaha ill cop you saying redan are good at putting there head over the ball and continualy winning the ball but not east they are week as piss they all like to hang out wait for a turnover and then try to out run the oposition back the other way they are not tough in any way
Premiership
22 Jan 2007, 07:58
Fair call. I watched them play each other 3 times this year, and your right, that seemed to be the two styles, redan very solid outfit, hard at it, disciplined, East the more flashier side however do agree they relied more on quick ball movement to get the ball to DJ, as opposed to beating you on the inside. Interesting the last two years grand finals have been won by this type of team as opposed to the faster higher scoring running side of East and year before Sunbury.
Don't Argue
22 Jan 2007, 08:21
A full stop or comma anywhere would be nice.
Nice night for a BBQ? Can anyone tell me why Darley seem to have the edge over sunbury when they meet? Is it simply brother out coaching brother?