View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
Left Footed Cat
24 Jan 2007, 15:33
Sunbury East Redan top 3 and clearly. Melton South 4th, Ballarat 5th, 6th Melton or Darley whoever hangs on to more players. The word from the East is both are experiencing fair losses. Marsh Lakers and Sebas bringing up the rear. Only an opinion though.
I wish people would stop sucking off Melton South, are you kidding! Havn't we already gone over this, they have got McMahon and thats it. He is good, but not worth 20 goals. Thats how far they were behind the top sides last year.
Premiership
24 Jan 2007, 15:42
I wish people would stop sucking off Melton South, are you kidding! Havn't we already gone over this, they have got McMahon and thats it. He is good, but not worth 20 goals. Thats how far they were behind the top sides last year.
As I say LFC only my opinion. I see only 3 sides capable of kicking 15 goals plus every week. East with jordan and geljon, sunbury with obviously the new guys houlihan, beattie and fleming, Lobb etc, and Melton South with Sutton McMahon and Reardon. Even Redan are not overly big scorers, beat sides with discipline and defence and structure. That is why I would think they have potential to rise up the ladder pretty quickly, watching prelim this year McMahon dominated kicking 7, was unstoppable, and Sutton is a prolific goal scorer kicking ten a few times this year. These 4 and Ballarat with their fast running game have ability for a top 4 finish.
bearsboy
24 Jan 2007, 15:43
With the inclusion of Kingsarmy into Sunburys midfield this year , i think you'll find he will probably be known as the number 1 hard man of the comp .:thumbsu:
Wow if they have all left / retired definitely, they may come back to the pack a touch, they were outstanding last season though. They seem to always recruit reasonably well, 3 flags in 5 years, still have to remain top 4.
Ballarat rise will depend on recruiting, unlike the other 3 sides they seem to rely too heavily on Nunn, they need another key position fwd.
It was said in earlier posts... Edwards (o/seas) Peace/ Waight/Michalaef? (North) JReid, Knowles (Bungaree) Jones, lubeek (Retired).... If true, there gone. But your right, somehow they always seem to recruit well but i've heard there recruited zero at this stage and it is getting late. Would be good to see Ballarat push for a top 3, they seem to have alot of sleek midfielders, a couple of bigger bodies would help them.
Left Footed Cat
24 Jan 2007, 15:51
As I say LFC only my opinion. I see only 3 sides capable of kicking 15 goals plus every week. East with jordan and geljon, sunbury with obviously the new guys houlihan, beattie and fleming, Lobb etc, and Melton South with Sutton McMahon and Reardon. Even Redan are not overly big scorers, beat sides with discipline and defence and structure. That is why I would think they have potential to rise up the ladder pretty quickly, watching prelim this year McMahon dominated kicking 7, was unstoppable, and Sutton is a prolific goal scorer kicking ten a few times this year. These 4 and Ballarat with their fast running game have ability for a top 4 finish.
Kicking 15 goals a week is good, but not if the opposition can kick 20 against you, look at Souths backline, just a disgrace.
Hank Evans
24 Jan 2007, 16:00
Kicking 15 goals a week is good, but not if the opposition can kick 20 against you, look at Souths backline, just a disgrace.
Having Cameron McLeod back will help boost their backline.
youhatehim
24 Jan 2007, 16:04
Having Cameron McLeod back will help boost their backline.
Yeh maybe when he plays, he missed a large portion of the year with shoulder and ac problems, which aren't the easiest injuries to get over. There Defence will leak goals especially on bigger grounds which have quality fowards and midfields
Hank Evans
24 Jan 2007, 16:07
Yeh maybe when he plays, he missed a large portion of the year with shoulder and ac problems, which aren't the easiest injuries to get over. There Defence will leak goals especially on bigger grounds which have quality fowards and midfields
Sorry champ, the joke must have gone way over your head. I will tell you when I am being sarcastic next time, ok?
Come on Lica the Marsh cant go from being as bad as they are to being a force in a year or two after all they have not picked up any players that are just guns yeah they have picked up a couple that are ok players in lower leagues but they need about 5 players to step out of AFL and into there side before they will even look like making a finals series and when they have had blokes sign pre xmas and are now turning there back on the club its not all smooth sailing at the carpet snakes
Who are the players turning their backs on the club???
In a couple of years I think we will make vast improvements. I am already seeing them now. I have been involved with the club since 2004and this year I am seeing the professionalism step up a fair bit which can only be a good thing. The club has one of the best grounds in the league and off field it is very stable and in a good position so I can't see why there can't be vast improvement if they put their energy into building a good list.
Maybe I have rose coloured glasses on or am being optomistic but if thats the case then I don't really care. I just want to see the club improve and think it will with the people they have involved now.
Bdiddy18
24 Jan 2007, 16:42
Pat Cariss was named the ruckman in the team of the year in 06 and won the Sunbury B&F. Little is covered.
With a very strong midfield of Power, Henry, Sarvarlis, McCabe, Lewis, Griffen and Corey Brown the Sunbury fowards should see a lot of the footy.
Power, Lewis and Griffen are past it so dont count on them. None of them have the influence on a game that they use to. Griffen and Lewis are being caught out with their lack of leg speed by the quicker teams, namely Redan, East Point and Ballarat.
19th Man
24 Jan 2007, 17:06
Your taking the piss right???? Little has been the best ruckmen in this comp for the last 4 years the only bloke to compete with him was big Orren Stephenson from redan. Porter hardly rucks and venner was terrible when he played for the lakers.
Yeah, but you never commented on old Stevo. His only good games for the year were against Sunbury.
Anyhow, being the best ruckman in this comp is not the greatest of feats. Some teams do not even posses genuine ruckmen.
I've seen you out and about i reckon, your the half chewed mintie lookalike that sits out the front of BigW smoking your horizon 20's whilst getting your bat sucked off by all ya mates. You better stock up on the flippers as O week is just around the corner!!!!
how do you know so much about me? spot on!
piece is tougher than field i reckon he just keeps going the ball and as for the west dave young from darley when he plays is probably the most courageous
player i have seen when he playscourageous and ugliest;)
youhatehim
24 Jan 2007, 19:54
Sorry champ, the joke must have gone way over your head. I will tell you when I am being sarcastic next time, ok?
Oh sorry mate its hard to tell when you uni geeks are being sarcastic cause your just that depressed with life adter your 4 year course sepent smoking bongs, playing frisby and hacky sack instead of getting out there and getting a job! As for him have a missus boys i wrecken he wouldn't get past a internet girlfriend, and not a chance of having cyber sex with her!!!
Premiership
24 Jan 2007, 22:08
I keep saying potential etc with Ballarat and Melton South, not saying they are Sunbury Redan or East yet, but tell me, what better fwd lines are going to kick goals against them, they have the most potent forward line in the comp with East, so find a back line to hold them outside Redan East or Sunbury........I am just saying they have the potential for a top 4 finish with Ballarat more than other sides if as i said in earlier posts, if parker goes there to assist midfield, they are more than capable. I guess it depends which way you look at, defence or offence, still,if you have no offensive structure, you cant even think of kicking 15 plus a game. Once again though, you would think Sunbury Redan and East will set the early pace.......
Sticks23
25 Jan 2007, 07:07
I know we are a fair way off before the season starts good and proper, but does anyone have an idea as to what practice matches your clubs have lined up apart from the Lightning Premiership which is a waste of time!!!
cockroach
25 Jan 2007, 07:28
whatch out for the bloods lying low at the moment but a couple of very handy recruits to strenghthen there big men
stanley to boost the experience in the mid field
and some great kids stepping up after stints in the tac
cockroach
25 Jan 2007, 07:34
sth injuries who will return from last year up back
mamas 3 games
watkins 5 games
sproule 2 games
sutton 8 games
get full seasons out of them and improvement is more than just mcmahrn ?
Yeah, but you never commented on old Stevo. His only good games for the year were against Sunbury.
Anyhow, being the best ruckman in this comp is not the greatest of feats. Some teams do not even posses genuine ruckmen.
Always played well in interleague against some of the best ruckmen in country footy, going to be a big loss for sunbury.
Premiership
25 Jan 2007, 08:23
Tim Little is a loss for this league, you really want to keep as many good footballers in the comp as you can, agree mooney, he has only been challanged by Orren in the last few years.
Was wondering if Mamalis was playing, here every year he is going to Strathmore. Couple of mates who played in the interleague grand final last year against the O&M reckon he played a blinder at CHB, if your right cockroach and he only played 3 games last year, he is a new recruit.
lakers 23
25 Jan 2007, 08:37
Tim Little is a loss for this league, you really want to keep as many good footballers in the comp as you can, agree mooney, he has only been challanged by Orren in the last few years.
Was wondering if Mamalis was playing, here every year he is going to Strathmore. Couple of mates who played in the interleague grand final last year against the O&M reckon he played a blinder at CHB, if your right cockroach and he only played 3 games last year, he is a new recruit.
Where has Tim Lttle gone?
I think they said he has gone to keilor or somewhere in that league.
is this brad maxwell
I think they said he has gone to keilor or somewhere in that league.
is this brad maxwell
Tatura in the golburn valley league
19th Man
25 Jan 2007, 09:10
mamas 3 games
watkins 5 games
sproule 2 games
sutton 8 games
I would hardly include Sproule with those players. He must be close to 40 years of age, and his body does not allow him to play 4 quarters
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 09:13
Power, Lewis and Griffen are past it so dont count on them. None of them have the influence on a game that they use to. Griffen and Lewis are being caught out with their lack of leg speed by the quicker teams, namely Redan, East Point and Ballarat.
Power's influence cannot be under estimated. When his out their eye balling his players to lift you won't see them drop off like they did last year. Also the ability to get under the skin of the opposition and suck them in is huge.
Savalis and Corey Brown are guns and with Cheep, Summutt, McCabe, Lobb, Lewis, Griffen and Salberg they are strong around the ball and have many options for rotation.
Lewis and Griffen may be past it but left alone still have the ability to rip teams apart. This year however they won't be asked to do the Lions share (parden the pun)!
Power's influence cannot be under estimated. When his out their eye balling his players to lift you won't see them drop off like they did last year. Also the ability to get under the skin of the opposition and suck them in is huge.
Savalis and Corey Brown are guns and with Cheep, Summutt, McCabe, Lobb, Lewis, Griffen and Salberg they are strong around the ball and have many options for rotation.
Lewis and Griffen may be past it but left alone still have the ability to rip teams apart. This year however they won't be asked to do the Lions share (parden the pun)!
They neeed the younger blokes Sammutt, mccabe, lobb and Salhberg to lift they fell away last year from the year before.
Griffen is smart and will play of half back like kennedy a few years ago and lewis whilst a sheepdog is very clever and will kick 50+ if plays fwd all year although he doesnt like being manned up which is why he goes onball.
FootyFat
25 Jan 2007, 09:30
mamas 3 games
watkins 5 games
sproule 2 games
sutton 8 games
Mamas is probably one of the most over rated players in the league he has got nothing going for him except a bit of height but he looses that through being so scared ive seen him play and he tries to pick up the least experienced big man up forward and 9 time out of 10 he gets flogged sproule is to old he is a good 2s player at best but watkins should be a good inclusion to the midfield with his silky smooth skills delivering the ball to the forwards hahah
Hank Evans
25 Jan 2007, 09:56
Sunbury don't need a hell of a lot to improve.
All that they really lack is just a bit of heart. The unfortunate thing is though, this can't be learnt on the training track. You either have it or you don't. Sunbury proved last year that they clearly don't. And if it's true that McCabe has gone back there, then he certainly won't correct this.
The fact is that they need Power out there because he is the only one that has a crack and with him lurking around, the weak players from other sides will think twice about committing themselves.
It's just too bad that he is about three years past his use by date. There is nothing more pathetic than a man desperately clinging on to their reputation from days gone by, especially when he was overrated to begin with.
Hank Evans
25 Jan 2007, 10:03
hanks missus probably tried to ******** him one night after a game where he had 40 and kicked 6 or after he won a game off his own boot you are a ******** hank go and study you geek
The only way that it would be possible for Miller to post numbers like that would be against a bottom side that they flogged by 25 goals anyway.
I doubt my 'missus' would have been that impressed anyway because outside of Darley Park, no one rates those victories very highly at all.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 10:11
All that they really lack is just a bit of heart. The unfortunate thing is though, this can't be learnt on the training track. You either have it or you don't. Sunbury proved last year that they clearly don't. And if it's true that McCabe has gone back there, then he certainly won't correct this.
The fact is that they need Power out there because he is the only one that has a crack and with him lurking around, the weak players from other sides will think twice about committing themselves.
It's just too bad that he is about three years past his use by date. There is nothing more pathetic than a man desperately clinging on to their reputation from days gone by, especially when he was overrated to begin with.
Surly that is bait - His CV reads as good as any in the BFL (except for the ex AFL players).
Team of the year in the VFL with North Ballart, Team of the year with West Adelaide in the SANFL. B&F in Sunburys back to back flags, many interleague games, coached the BFL interleague side, Vic Country rep, Bowen medalist.
How good are you Hankey? Can match or better what he has done??
19th Man
25 Jan 2007, 10:12
For the first time, I actually agree with you concerning your text in bold. But as usual, you let yourself down by degrading someone who has achieved alot. I get the feeling you are one of those WEAK players from another side, hense the reason you take pot shots from the comfort of sitting behind your PC.
Hank Evans
25 Jan 2007, 10:20
Surly that is bait - His CV reads as good as any in the BFL (except for the ex AFL players).
Team of the year in the VFL with North Ballart, Team of the year with West Adelaide in the SANFL. B&F in Sunburys back to back flags, many interleague games, coached the BFL interleague side, Vic Country rep, Bowen medalist.
How good are you Hankey? Can match or better what he has done??
Blah, blah, blah. He has done nothing in the Ballarat League except snipe young players who put their head over the ball.
Premiership
25 Jan 2007, 10:22
It seems alot of players are copping some pretty harsh opinions. It appears tall poppy syndrom has hit this thread. Mamalis whilst noone is saying he is the toughest player going around or bust packs etc, if you are playing CHB in a division one interleague grand final, I think that is grounds enough to call him a good player, same theory for Tim Little. Tim Little was named best player for the BFL in the carnival. McCabe the same as mamalis, he played interleague this year to and importantly dominated in the finals this year, well I only saw prelim final Darley v East but note he kicked 6 in final against Sunbury to. He was sensational. Power the jury is out due to injury, but surely all clubs would love him in their side. If we dont rate these guys that are the better players in their clubs, then maybe this comp is not what we all may think it is.
Can we also please not talk about Sahlberg in the same breath as power griffin and lewis!!!! Sorry but I had to.
Besides a few dirty little acts, you can't fault serge as a player, he has achieved a hell of alot in his playing days and it was only a couple of years ago when he was playing for his state. Stupid argument hank.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 10:24
Blah, blah, blah. He has done nothing in the Ballarat League except snipe young players who put their head over the ball.
Yeah - he has 3 BFL preimership medals. But if that is nothing then you must be Wanye Carey.
cockroach
25 Jan 2007, 10:26
Besides a few dirty little acts, you can't fault serge as a player, he has achieved a hell of alot in his playing days and it was only a couple of years ago when he was playing for his state. Stupid argument hank.
and at 5 ft nothing great player no question
every club would love a power running around in there colours
Have heard ballarat have recruited well in recent weeks with a few signings from the North Central & mallee areas.. Also that redan signed sammy ellis back to the club, if true that bloke can be intimidating when he wants to.
Left Footed Cat
25 Jan 2007, 10:54
You have gone too far now Hank, that argument just proves you know nothing. He may not be the same player now, but a few years back he was one of the best in Country Footy.
Don't worry LFC.. Were seen many of these people like hank that get on this site and stir the pot, then they get found out and go into hiding for the rest of the year. Hank will most likely just play the games against ballarat sides this year.. Can't see him travelling down the highway to play darley or sunbury!!!. I'll send you an e.mail of who he is.
FootyFat
25 Jan 2007, 11:37
Come on hank yeah he maybe getting on a little now and had some injuries but there is no player in the league since he has been playing that can lift his side like he does when they are down and out you can rave on about how good east and redan midfielders are but none of em would blow wind up serges ass when he was in his prime and he is still the best in the league at finding the ball in traffic as much as i hate to admit it he is a gun give a quality player some credit where its due
Hank Evans
25 Jan 2007, 11:44
You're all just scared of him.
Come on hank yeah he maybe getting on a little now and had some injuries but there is no player in the league since he has been playing that can lift his side like he does when they are down and out you can rave on about how good east and redan midfielders are but none of em would blow wind up serges ass when he was in his prime and he is still the best in the league at finding the ball in traffic as much as i hate to admit it he is a gun give a quality player some credit where its due
True, east & redan can't match his dominance in his prime. But after playing redan twice and watching them in finals, Field would be at an even par to serge when it comes to finging the ball in traffic. I think he was captain or vice captain in that vfl team of the decade with serge. I'd take serge in his prime though.
FootyFat
25 Jan 2007, 12:15
No denying he was a great player but his recent form has somewhat tainted his image... as a great player he has the right to intimidate others but when you cross the line and snipers the younger players many loose respect for him not only as a player but a person. What type of message does it send to younger players that your great coach is a sniper. He is sposed to set an example to his players on the field not encouraging dirty play.
Mate its a game of footy you do what eva you have to to win and serge is able to put it over anyone he wants to from any ballarat team cos they are week as piss the so called older bloke should be sticking up for the younger bokes and putting it over serge cos like i said before there is nothing of him i have neva herd of him putting it over to many from the east teams cos the older blokes have alwayse dished it back
Premiership
25 Jan 2007, 12:30
Whilst noone would admit it, the only sides not intimidated by serge are Melton and Redan. Reason being he played with field and edwards at North so he respects them, and they have experience and ability to stand him. Melton have always had players of his level like shanks, stanley, berger, button, payne cullen murphy etc who dont take any notice of that type of game play.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 12:40
No denying he was a great player but his recent form has somewhat tainted his image... as a great player he has the right to intimidate others but when you cross the line and snipers the younger players many loose respect for him not only as a player but a person. What type of message does it send to younger players that your great coach is a sniper. He is sposed to set an example to his players on the field not encouraging dirty play.
Note so certain he is a sniper - will front anyone that is up to the challenge. He has does not care about the size with run ins with Sutton, Kennedy and Button. He cops a fair bit as well but that is why he loves to play and hits packs at full tilt like few do.
Have heard ballarat have recruited well in recent weeks with a few signings from the North Central & mallee areas.. Also that redan signed sammy ellis back to the club, if true that bloke can be intimidating when he wants to.
Can confirm Sammy Ellis is coming back, also Darren Fletcher from Skipton has signed with East Point.
Velvetsledgehammer
25 Jan 2007, 12:47
Mate its a game of footy you do what eva you have to to win and serge is able to put it over anyone he wants to from any ballarat team cos they are week as piss the so called older bloke should be sticking up for the younger bokes and putting it over serge cos like i said before there is nothing of him i have neva herd of him putting it over to many from the east teams cos the older blokes have alwayse dished it back
As good a player as Serge has proved himself to be, and he is a great ball winner particularly in and under, he has no respect as a player/or leader from anyone that counts in this league. Who would respect a bloke who looses his club a premiership through lack of disipline. No young player would look up to or be inspired by their captain if he was known as the sniper. Stomping on Kenno's head was a weak dogs act.
He is in the same boat as Lupson, a short fuse and hot head has cost them.
learmonth
25 Jan 2007, 12:48
Power is a sensational player, best reader of the play in the BFL by a mile..For a guy his size and what he has done in his footy career he deserves all the accolades.. Is a sniper though, but thats football...
Note so certain he is a sniper - will front anyone that is up to the challenge. He has does not care about the size with run ins with Sutton, Kennedy and Button. He cops a fair bit as well but that is why he loves to play and hits packs at full tilt like few do.
He hits blokes whilst he's in the packs, so if thats sniping he is guilty. But he gives everyone else a chance to square up, as he puts his head over the footy.
So quit you whinging or go and play netball thats non contact.
Simple fact is he can play and every club would have him if he said he wanted to leave sunbury.
Also, Agree also he hits packs hard, if he wants the footy he just goes flat out, so depsite how small he is, his momentum when he hits hard due to speed and tenacity.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 13:01
As good a player as Serge has proved himself to be, and he is a great ball winner particularly in and under, he has no respect as a player/or leader from anyone that counts in this league. Who would respect a bloke who looses his club a premiership through lack of disipline. No young player would look up to or be inspired by their captain if he was known as the sniper. Stomping on Kenno's head was a weak dogs act.
He is in the same boat as Lupson, a short fuse and hot head has cost them.
It it was so bad why did he get cleared at the tribunal with the incident on video.
Fair point, couldn't understand how you can turn a 8 week suspension around like they way they did? Was it simply just a good lawyer or just heaps of cash? Mind you how good was his exit from the field in the GF!!!
Velvetsledgehammer
25 Jan 2007, 13:09
Fair point, couldn't understand how you can turn a 8 week suspension around like they way they did? Was it simply just a good lawyer or just heaps of cash? Mind you how good was his exit from the field in the GF!!!
Yeah combination of both Cash $$ and a good lawyer I think.
And the fact the Sunbury were sooking like little girls that they were being picked on and were threating to take there bat and ball and leave the league. BFL should have let them go.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 13:22
No Cash and no Lawyer involved as there was nothing in the incident - grab a copy of the tape. 2 Redan players had him by the jump - one being the ruckman - and were throwing him round like a rag doll. Contact was incidental and that was clear on the tape. The fact the umpire became scared with some push and shove and incorrectly sent him off costing them the flag.
He did get 8 weeks for punching one of the lippy Redan players on the way off. The funny thing was he mouthed off and when Power chased him he curled up into a ball like a weak girl.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 13:28
Now back to football - Power is about to unleash the next big thing to come out of the BFL - will wear number 2 this year. Will only play one year as this 19 year old smashing machine will move on to bigger and better things. Book mark this!
No Cash and no Lawyer involved as there was nothing in the incident - grab a copy of the tape. 2 Redan players had him by the jump - one being the ruckman - and were throwing him round like a rag doll. Contact was incidental and that was clear on the tape. The fact the umpire became scared with some push and shove and incorrectly sent him off costing them the flag.
He did get 8 weeks for punching one of the lippy Redan players on the way off. The funny thing was he mouthed off and when Power chased him he curled up into a ball like a weak girl.
That weak little girl still had a medallion around his neck though??? Wasn't there an incident were he got 8 weeks before the GF, and it went to court the week before to try and clear him to play? that was what I referring too KA.
Velvetsledgehammer
25 Jan 2007, 13:45
Now back to football - Power is about to unleash the next big thing to come out of the BFL - will wear number 2 this year. Will only play one year as this 19 year old smashing machine will move on to bigger and better things. Book mark this!
Where is he going to go onto if he is that good? Who is this 'smashing machine' ? if he is 19 he has already missed the AFL boat. Not many blokes get drafted after the TAC cup, unless they have something special.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 13:58
That weak little girl still had a medallion around his neck though??? Wasn't there an incident were he got 8 weeks before the GF, and it went to court the week before to try and clear him to play? that was what I referring too KA.
Now that incident out lined how bad the BFL tribual works. Mid season Lupson was suspened for punching a player from the Marsh, a Marsh offical was 50 metres from the incident and went to the league saying Power hit him as well.
7 weeks later and one week before the finals Power was charged with the offence and was given a suspension ruling him out of the finals.
Thats when Finlay was called in and the case went to the VCFL tribual who said what the BFL had done was a disgrace and over ruled the terrible decison. The umps and players told of Power having no involvement but the idiots at the BFL were on a power trip! Anyway they looked like fools in the end.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 14:00
Where is he going to go onto if he is that good? Who is this 'smashing machine' ? if he is 19 he has already missed the AFL boat. Not many blokes get drafted after the TAC cup, unless they have something special.
Most VFL clubs will chase and a huge chance to get on a rookie list. Will be the talk of the comp by round 6.
saucehead
25 Jan 2007, 14:05
Most VFL clubs will chase and a huge chance to get on a rookie list. Will be the talk of the comp by round 6.
who is it then... did he just appear out of thin air...
Now that incident out lined how bad the BFL tribual works. Mid season Lupson was suspened for punching a player from the Marsh, a Marsh offical was 50 metres from the incident and went to the league saying Power hit him as well.
7 weeks later and one week before the finals Power was charged with the offence and was given a suspension ruling him out of the finals.
Thats when Finlay was called in and the case went to the VCFL tribual who said what the BFL had done was a disgrace and over ruled the terrible decison. The umps and players told of Power having no involvement but the idiots at the BFL were on a power trip! Anyway they looked like fools in the end.
Thanx for that. So it seems lupson was the one who was lucky to play.
Anyway, we've had the Darley bashing and now Sunbury bashing, what club next!!!
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 14:15
Thanx for that. So it seems lupson was the one who was lucky to play.
Anyway, we've had the Darley bashing and now Sunbury bashing, what club next!!!
No Lupo got 4 weeks but was back playing 3 weeks before the finals.
The incident was done and dusted until the last rouond when the league suspended Power.
No Lupo got 4 weeks but was back playing 3 weeks before the finals.
The incident was done and dusted until the last rouond when the league suspended Power.
Thanks KA. Just goes to show how things get blown out.
learmonth
25 Jan 2007, 14:37
If u cant beat him u might as well go out and clone him...Thats right...They have cloned DJ from East/Point.
Bobby Giovanni
25 Jan 2007, 14:50
Was that Giblett? He's the definition of coward.
He would have been on the other side of the fence! I think it was freeland, but not 100%?
Premiership
25 Jan 2007, 15:02
It is great to hear on this site who everyone is recruiting, but every year you hear Sunbury is recruiting this player and that player. Good on them, they have the coin and are prepared to spend it and have excellent recruiting avenues. You just now expect them to be a top 4 side, however fact is they have won 1 flag in the last 5 years, yet every year everyone is waiting to see who they recruit. Redan just go about their business and yet have racked up 3 flags. Maybe Powers brother last season, and over the years Keiran Murrihy and Brett Quinlan showed the Sunbury Football Club a thing or two that it dont matter who you recruit to a degree, smart coaching gets you all the time.
Kings Army
25 Jan 2007, 15:14
It is great to hear on this site who everyone is recruiting, but every year you hear Sunbury is recruiting this player and that player. Good on them, they have the coin and are prepared to spend it and have excellent recruiting avenues. You just now expect them to be a top 4 side, however fact is they have won 1 flag in the last 5 years, yet every year everyone is waiting to see who they recruit. Redan just go about their business and yet have racked up 3 flags. Maybe Powers brother last season, and over the years Keiran Murrihy and Brett Quinlan showed the Sunbury Football Club a thing or two that it dont matter who you recruit to a degree, smart coaching gets you all the time.
East Point and Redan both recruited heavily last year and spent huge amount of money getting the likes of the Jordans, Field etc
Bobby Giovanni
25 Jan 2007, 15:20
He would have been on the other side of the fence! I think it was freeland, but not 100%?
Never has a bloke rated himself as high as 'Freezer'. What a pole smoker.
Left Footed Cat
25 Jan 2007, 15:34
East Point and Redan both recruited heavily last year and spent huge amount of money getting the likes of the Jordans, Field etc
Have to agree with you there 'KA', im sure DJ, and the likes of Edwards, Field etc played for the fun of it. Redan & Point spend mega dollars and act like its Sunbury who are the only ones spending up.
'Premiership' makes it sound like they had all these kids who came thru their juniors. Get ya head out of ya asss.
19th Man
25 Jan 2007, 15:52
It seems alot of players are copping some pretty harsh opinions. It appears tall poppy syndrom has hit this thread. Mamalis whilst noone is saying he is the toughest player going around or bust packs etc, if you are playing CHB in a division one interleague grand final, I think that is grounds enough to call him a good player, same theory for Tim Little. Tim Little was named best player for the BFL in the carnival. McCabe the same as mamalis, he played interleague this year to and importantly dominated in the finals this year, well I only saw prelim final Darley v East but note he kicked 6 in final against Sunbury to. He was sensational. Power the jury is out due to injury, but surely all clubs would love him in their side. If we dont rate these guys that are the better players in their clubs, then maybe this comp is not what we all may think it is.
Can we also please not talk about Sahlberg in the same breath as power griffin and lewis!!!! Sorry but I had to.
Very, very true!
19th Man
25 Jan 2007, 15:58
spot on
I second that
Hank Evans
25 Jan 2007, 16:00
Pathetic
Bdiddy18
25 Jan 2007, 16:47
Have to agree with you there 'KA', im sure DJ, and the likes of Edwards, Field etc played for the fun of it. Redan & Point spend mega dollars and act like its Sunbury who are the only ones spending up.
'Premiership' makes it sound like they had all these kids who came thru their juniors. Get ya head out of ya asss.
I agree that East and Redan have spent up big to win a premiership but lets be honest, thats what you have to do these days to win one! The key is to get the right blokes for the right money, and not someone whose gonna piss of at the end of the year. I believe that East have a fair chunk of their juniors playing senior footy. These guys all played in this last years grand final and were all junior footballers- Delaney, Nicholls, Koderenko, Sheedy, Bourke, Kent, Geljon, Kinnersley, Banwell, Discher, Neilly,& Dodd. They also had: Turner, Boyle, Anderson, George & Shaw play senior footy in 2006. In total thats 17 players who have come through junior ranks to play senior footy for the club in 2006. Not a bad effort. Certainly saves a bit of cash when half of the guys mentioned would be playing for base wages. I also note that obviously East Point has the added bonus of having to junior feeder clubs which obviously strengthens their junior position.
FootyFat
25 Jan 2007, 17:35
I agree that East and Redan have spent up big to win a premiership but lets be honest, thats what you have to do these days to win one! The key is to get the right blokes for the right money, and not someone whose gonna piss of at the end of the year. I believe that East have a fair chunk of their juniors playing senior footy. These guys all played in this last years grand final and were all junior footballers- Delaney, Nicholls, Koderenko, Sheedy, Bourke, Kent, Geljon, Kinnersley, Banwell, Discher, Neilly,& Dodd. They also had: Turner, Boyle, Anderson, George & Shaw play senior footy in 2006. In total thats 17 players who have come through junior ranks to play senior footy for the club in 2006. Not a bad effort. Certainly saves a bit of cash when half of the guys mentioned would be playing for base wages. I also note that obviously East Point has the added bonus of having to junior feeder clubs which obviously strengthens their junior position.
yeah 17 players but thats from 2 sides look at all the other sides they would have 12-14 players that come through there juniors that played senior football last year so 17 from 2 sides that merged aint that good
regardless if its one side or two they still managed to almost have a full side of boys that have come up through the juniors. thats not to mention the players in reserves who dont play seniors but still came through the junior ranks.
FootyFat
25 Jan 2007, 18:17
regardless if its one side or two they still managed to almost have a full side of boys that have come up through the juniors. thats not to mention the players in reserves who dont play seniors but still came through the junior ranks.
every club has that dont they if ya juniors neva stayed on and played 1sts 0r 2nds then no one would have a footy club isnt that what football clubs are made up of mostly locals that come through ya juniors and 5-6 quality players from else where
FootyFat
25 Jan 2007, 19:31
East Point took this competition to another level this year with their recruiting and exciting game style, it took a super side in Redan to stop them, the two clearly the best sides throughout the whole year. Redan premiership side this year would rival the great Melton side that went back to back years ago and the really good Sunbury sides of the late 90's early 2000's.
For the first time in ten years the Western Block had better results than the Eastern with Darley the only Eastern Block team in the final four pushing East all the way in the Prelim for 3 qtrs. What are everyones opinions as to whether this dominance will continue or will the Eastern Block fight back in 2007. Forget the lightning premiership and interleague, how good would it be to see an East versus West All Star match mid year.
Premiership put together ya best eastern side and best western side over the last 2 years and what the out come would be
blues12
25 Jan 2007, 19:53
lots of talk moving around the table, clearances open next thursday. Who will be the first club to show their cards? which clubs will hold them close to their chest until april?
stanleyy
25 Jan 2007, 21:07
Yeah - he has 3 BFL preimership medals. But if that is nothing then you must be Wanye Carey.
i think if u ask ur good mate serge he has only played in 2 bfl flags;)
stanleyy
25 Jan 2007, 21:15
I think you will find Allen stepped up from the 2's and played FF in 06. memory serves me he kicked 60 or so from 15 games
if memory serves me hasn't L.Allen left the country 4 the season & had 2 be replaced,if he returns & i mean IF he returns maybe he may have 2 play his way thru the 2s;) what do u think colby!;)
Premiership
25 Jan 2007, 21:39
Who was talking about the other clubs not recruiting LFC, dont have to be Einstein to realise East and REdan recruited very well, all I was saying is it amazes me how every year everyone is talking about how Sunbury are recruiting hard,as though they are the only ones that do, and the fact is, other clubs dont promote it as much yet are the ones winning flags. So when people start pumping up Sunbury recruiting, it doesnt put fear into opposition sides anymore as we all hear it every year!!
stanleyy
25 Jan 2007, 21:39
I was hoping Lupson jumped the fence as a few of the carngham linton boys would have destroyed him...
would Robbie Waters have been 1 of these boys?because from memory poor old Robbie went missing when "plugger",TB, Boner,Federouk,Lupson & co come his way, he wasn't so Tuff!:eek:
stanleyy
25 Jan 2007, 21:55
its only january fellow big footy fans. season being pushed back again so still plenty of time for recruits.
surely with the big name players leaving both clubs it opens up huge budgets. you would expect some major signings in the next 3 weeks.
both proud clubs and will be strong in 07
Hello Viney Happy New Year,another rumor 4 u 2 follow up,Sunbury may be recruiting 2 players from the BARFL thus being eligable to some sort of renumeration from the AFL.Can u follow up:)
Premiership
25 Jan 2007, 21:55
Premiership put together ya best eastern side and best western side over the last 2 years and what the out come would be
Footy Fat, very tough thin g to do but hear is an attempt that should create some discussion:
West East
b. knowles Lubeek Symes b. Steel Cape Mamalis
hb. A.Baker Snibson Landry Hb. Griffen Oconnor Tuddy Edwards
c. Waight Nesbitt Peace c. Miller Lewis Berger
Hf. Maxwell Geljon Dwyer Hf. Cox McMahon Reardon
F. Walsh Jordan Barker F. Grenfell Sutton Porter
R. Koders Field Edwards R. Little Power Parker
I. Harris Mcgregor Reid PMcmahon I. c.McCabe Button lobb Webber
hutchison b.jordan Watkins Reynolds
Very difficult, plenty that were left out but see what everyone thinks.
Premiership
25 Jan 2007, 22:12
Footy Fat, very tough thin g to do but hear is an attempt that should create some discussion:
West East
b. knowles Lubeek Symes b. Steel Cape Mamalis
hb. A.Baker Snibson Landry Hb. Griffen Oconnor Tuddy Edwards
c. Waight Nesbitt Peace c. Miller Lewis Berger
Hf. Maxwell Geljon Dwyer Hf. Cox McMahon Reardon
F. Walsh Jordan Barker F. Grenfell Sutton Porter
R. Koders Field Edwards R. Little Power Parker
I. Harris Mcgregor Reid PMcmahon I. c.McCabe Button lobb Webber
hutchison b.jordan Watkins Reynolds
Very difficult, plenty that were left out but see what everyone thinks.
Sorry about formatting, still new to this To clarify:
West TEam
b. knowles Lubeek Symes
hb. A.Baker Snibson Landry
c. Waight Nesbitt Peace
Hf. Maxwell Geljon Dwyer
F. Walsh Jordan Barker
R. Koders Field Edwards
I. Harris Mcgregor Reid PMcmahon hutchison b.jordan
East TEam
West East
b. Steel Cape Mamalis
Hb. Griffen Oconnor Tuddy Edwards
c. Miller Reardon Berger
Hf. Cox McMahon Lewis
F. Grenfell Sutton Porter
R. Little Power Parker
I. c.McCabe Reynolds Button lobb Webber Watkins
West TEam
b. knowles Lubeek Symes
c. Waight Nesbitt Peace
Hf. Maxwell Geljon Dwyer
F. Walsh Jordan Barker
R. Koders Field Edwards
East TEam
West East
b. Steel Cape Mamalis
c. Miller Reardon Berger
Hf. Cox McMahon Lewis
R. Little Power Parker
I know these team lists are hard but.....
Peter Larson would have to be on the interchange at the very, very least!! He captained the interleague team for christ sake.
football head
26 Jan 2007, 11:35
can anyone drop any names as to the mallee signings to ballarat? how will the swannies shape up this season? does anyone know of ryan harris's movements, i hear he is in high demand elsewhere?
FootyFat
26 Jan 2007, 13:30
I know these team lists are hard but.....
Peter Larson would have to be on the interchange at the very, very least!! He captained the interleague team for christ sake.
Yeah i agree lica larson played in the back line in interleague so id get rid of mamalis but you have done not a bad job premiership its a tough thing to do
Yeh I think that swap is fair and I think that would make for a very good list. Other than that prem' I too think you have done a fine job.
19th Man
26 Jan 2007, 20:25
West TEam
b. knowles Lubeek Symes
c. Waight Nesbitt Peace
Hf. Maxwell Geljon Dwyer
F. Walsh Jordan Barker
R. Koders Field Edwards
East TEam
West East
b. Steel Cape Mamalis
c. Miller Reardon Berger
Hf. Cox McMahon Lewis
R. Little Power Parker
Knowles- too fat, dissapointing year compared to last
Barker- to be replaced by the young pocket from East
Steel- too old, time to head to RDFL
Mamalis- timid, wont play on good forwards
Lewis- swap with Lobb on bench.
Overall, pretty spot on. Surely Cannard could have squeezed in!
Canard is terrible... and has a bad onion.... yuk
I second that; Cennard would be boarderline securing a spot in his clubs side let alone a combined league side!!
Premiership
27 Jan 2007, 13:18
Larsen is certainly the Marsh best player and would never question his loyalty to the club though some difficult times, however couldnt consider him, he is a midfielder, and up against reardon, lewis, power, parker, miller and berger on wings just not in there class.
Hank Evans
27 Jan 2007, 13:35
Reardon is so overrated by you people. He plays wherever the other side have a deficiency so that he can pick up cheap kicks and get his name in the paper.
Just a weak and selfish primadonna.
saucehead
27 Jan 2007, 13:52
Larsen is certainly the Marsh best player and would never question his loyalty to the club though some difficult times, however couldnt consider him, he is a midfielder, and up against reardon, lewis, power, parker, miller and berger on wings just not in there class.
Disagree. all them players are class but how good would they be in a side like the marsh. aussie has shown he can play well in both good and bad teams. the interleague captain deserves a guernsey.
whippety boy
27 Jan 2007, 15:51
Disagree. all them players are class but how good would they be in a side like the marsh. aussie has shown he can play well in both good and bad teams. the interleague captain deserves a guernsey.Agree, Peter Larsen is a dead set champion. In a better team this kid would have been rated more highly.
Premiership
27 Jan 2007, 16:26
Take all points on board except the Reardon one, not worth debating how good he continues to be. My opinion on LArsen and only a personal one is he should not be playing interleague neverlone captaining it. When was the last time you saw larsen beat a tag,or went one on one with a gun midfielder and beat him. He plays his own game as he can in that side and 90% of his kicks are side way chips out to the boundary, just not a damaging player in my opinion. Good player yes, this class Noin my opinion but that is what those sides are all about, opinion.
The Water Boy
28 Jan 2007, 09:50
Pretty good sides.what about a captain and vice captain for both teams
Left Footed Cat
28 Jan 2007, 11:12
Take all points on board except the Reardon one, not worth debating how good he continues to be. My opinion on LArsen and only a personal one is he should not be playing interleague neverlone captaining it. When was the last time you saw larsen beat a tag,or went one on one with a gun midfielder and beat him. He plays his own game as he can in that side and 90% of his kicks are side way chips out to the boundary, just not a damaging player in my opinion. Good player yes, this class Noin my opinion but that is what those sides are all about, opinion.
Joke of a statement, last year I saw him play CHF against Darley. Played on Cape and gave his mate a flogging, in a side that lost by 20 goals. He is simply quality. Led up the ground and had about 35 touches and 12 grabs. Would have lost by 30 goals if not for him.
He has been a standout in interleague games in the past, your opinion does not count, because it makes you look ridiculous.
youhatehim
28 Jan 2007, 12:47
Seen Adam Campbell last night, off guts again. Seemed pretty friendly with the Darley boys, could Melton be about to lose another good young prospect??
Also heard on the grapevine that Lobb feel in love with them big blue eyes of dave young in thailand and could possible move to darley to be closer to his mate slugga
Premiership
28 Jan 2007, 15:17
Joke of a statement, last year I saw him play CHF against Darley. Played on Cape and gave his mate a flogging, in a side that lost by 20 goals. He is simply quality. Led up the ground and had about 35 touches and 12 grabs. Would have lost by 30 goals if not for him.
He has been a standout in interleague games in the past, your opinion does not count, because it makes you look ridiculous.
Just checked the results LFC, I didnt see this game or Larsen kick his 1 magical goal for the game, must have been a good one. I am sure if Cape went out on the ground playing CHB every week and had 1 goal kicked on him he would take that as a win, like any backmen. Didnt say larsen cant play, I would have power, lewis, parker reardon miller and berger ahead of him.