View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
FootyFat
28 Jan 2007, 18:50
Dave Young bashed the living f**k out of Lobb in Thailand for talking his brother up constantly for bashing Miller.
Like that is something to be proud of.
Funny you say that noddy i herd young and lobb were pretty close in thailand almost to the point that young was going to play at sunbury with his 2 best mates in lobb and robert henry who he has modeled himself on for the past 4 years but then he remembered serge was coach and he is terrified of him to the point that he sleeps with the light on and his poor old house mates have to foot the bill for the extra electricity s h i t bloke
but i have herd that his brother has had it over miller the last couple of time they have played apparently lobb does a bit of boxing
Premiership
28 Jan 2007, 22:07
Any team that doesn't include Drew Edwards, Shaun Deckert and Dougy Shaw lacks credibility. Go back to the drawing board swivledick. Come back and speak to me when your knowledge of the game is better than that of a six year old, Bronson.
Good work noddy, just like the other threads you have posted on, you have shown terrific knowledge of this league.
Not long to go tillseason starts, how are everyones grounds looking.
John Cena
29 Jan 2007, 07:53
How can you not have Ben Jordan in the side?? He is a walk up start in the combined side let alone in just a west combined side. This bloke won the Henderson Medal in 2005 and finished 2nd to his brother by a vote last year. Anyone who has played with and against BJ has the utmost respect for him and that’s why he was made captain of the team of the year last year. He plays with no fuss, is tough as nails and just keeps getting up after copping treatment. I think the introduction of Dan Jordan to the league last year deflected attention off just how good a player this bloke is. Is an All-Australian amateur and in my book was stiff not to make the Vic country side after a red hot interleague campaign. To say he would not be in or on the pine in a West combined side is a joke. Not a bad effort though otherwise.
Kings Army
29 Jan 2007, 08:28
i think if u ask ur good mate serge he has only played in 2 bfl flags;)
Correct Stanleyy - 96, 97 and 04 were Powers flags with Sunbury. 96 was the year they beat Melton - the last in the RDFL.
Also heard on the grapevine that Lobb feel in love with them big blue eyes of dave young in thailand and could possible move to darley to be closer to his mate slugga
Unless there's a Darley in northern Australia it's unlikely David Young will get to spend the year with his new girlfriend; apparently Lobb is joining the herd and flying up North to play footy.
Premiership
29 Jan 2007, 10:01
Clearances open on Thursday. Hopefully more will be revealled and some of the summer rumours confirmed!
can anyone drop any names as to the mallee signings to ballarat? how will the swannies shape up this season? does anyone know of ryan harris's movements, i hear he is in high demand elsewhere?
Toby Gilmore from Donald (wait til thursday to confirm all signings)... Harry will have another year as he has a few mates coming for a kick from uni. Had first run last week, bout a dozen there.
19th Man
29 Jan 2007, 12:07
Funny you say that noddy i herd young and lobb were pretty close in thailand almost to the point that young was going to play at sunbury with his 2 best mates in lobb and robert henry who he has modeled himself on for the past 4 years but then he remembered serge was coach and he is terrified of him to the point that he sleeps with the light on and his poor old house mates have to foot the bill for the extra electricity s h i t bloke
but i have herd that his brother has had it over miller the last couple of time they have played apparently lobb does a bit of boxing
The only boxing Lobb does is under the sheets, with baby oil and a dirty mag!
zanderm
29 Jan 2007, 12:16
Heard Ballarat have signed Rich Tucker from Ararat and also Nigel Otto from Lake Bolac - will be two very handy players for ballarat.
Rumour has it that Bacchus Marsh have signed Ted Whitten's Grandson's to play for them in 2007. It should be interesting to see how good they are...
Premiership
29 Jan 2007, 12:54
Harris staying put is great news for the swannies. He was a terrific player this year, played some great football against the top sides.
Melton also rumoured to be picking a few up now.
Bernie Q
29 Jan 2007, 13:04
Rumour has it that Bacchus Marsh have signed Ted Whitten's Grandson's to play for them in 2007. It should be interesting to see how good they are...
From recent reports "Had" signed them, I think I read a post earlier that one has glandular fever and the other stress fractures somewhere, apparently now not moving anywhere. Marsh may have some other signings instead, can anyone confirm, names, previous clubs etc
Hank Evans
29 Jan 2007, 14:41
Harris staying put is great news for the swannies. He was a terrific player this year, played some great football against the top sides.
Quoted for truthness.
Bdiddy18
29 Jan 2007, 16:21
Toby Gilmore from Donald (wait til thursday to confirm all signings)... Harry will have another year as he has a few mates coming for a kick from uni. Had first run last week, bout a dozen there.
I heard that Gilmore was training with waubra. Can anyone confirm? Would he really play out there instead of BFL?
LEIGHHARDING
29 Jan 2007, 16:28
I heard that Gilmore was training with waubra. Can anyone confirm? Would he really play out there instead of BFL?
May depend on coin? He is only a young fella obviously still at uni according to past threads so a bit of extra cash could help. How are Ballarat shaping up losses/gains?
PALMERS PUNCHLINES
29 Jan 2007, 16:30
Last I heard, the bloods were struggling with a few players not committing and chasing cash? From all reports the coach will be a big plus for the club but hard to coach without the cattle! Any new recruiting news with them? Also rumour has it the devils will battle a bit this year, large exodus of quality players and no signed new faces? They have been there abouts for so long, promised alot, but delivered very little
From recent reports "Had" signed them, I think I read a post earlier that one has glandular fever and the other stress fractures somewhere, apparently now not moving anywhere. Marsh may have some other signings instead, can anyone confirm, names, previous clubs etc
Can confirm the marsh have signed a 6'4'' CHF from the Bendigo Bombers by the name of Joel West and also a young bloke stright off carlton's rookie list by the name of nick becker.
Last I heard, the bloods were struggling with a few players not committing and chasing cash? From all reports the coach will be a big plus for the club but hard to coach without the cattle! Any new recruiting news with them? Also rumour has it the devils will battle a bit this year, large exodus of quality players and no signed new faces? They have been there abouts for so long, promised alot, but delivered very little
Apparently the Devils have lost 7 of their top players to Melton Sth. Including McMahon which would be a huge loss to any side. i imagine that the young devils will step up a bt this year but i still think that they might struggle a little compared to their past few years...
Does anyone know how Sunbury and East Point are looking this year in regards to gains/losses to their lists?
The Water Boy
29 Jan 2007, 19:20
They could have Ted Whitten himself and it still wouldnt make a bit of differerence. (LAST)
Thank god school starts back this week.
On your way........
Kings Army
30 Jan 2007, 07:34
Does anyone know how Sunbury and East Point are looking this year in regards to gains/losses to their lists?
Sunbury
out - Little & Baird
in - Houlihan, Beattie, Henry, Sarvalis, Smithwick, McCabe, Burt, Smashing Machine (number 2).
bearsboy
30 Jan 2007, 07:39
Sunbury
out - Little & Baird
in - Houlihan, Beattie, Henry, Sarvalis, Smithwick, McCabe, Burt, Smashing Machine (number 2).Ringa-ding-ding you forgot "The King"
Left Footed Cat
30 Jan 2007, 07:40
Apparently the Devils have lost 7 of their top players to Melton Sth. Including McMahon which would be a huge loss to any side. i imagine that the young devils will step up a bt this year but i still think that they might struggle a little compared to their past few years...
Devils has lost Scoble, McCleod, & McMahon, and maybe Parker, if he plays. Thats not 7 by my maths.
Left Footed Cat
30 Jan 2007, 07:44
Why would you wanna know that, do you think your carpet snakes are a chance to compete with the likes of those teams? Get off the grass mate.
If you are going to size up the opposition the Marsh can compete with, you should be asking about Sebas and the Lakers.
Premiership
30 Jan 2007, 08:01
KA, is Smithwick the tall skinny kid from Darley, the one Keiran Murrihy kicked 6 on in the finals. Will he even get a game at Sunbury if Sunhbury are supposed to be so good.
Hank Evans
30 Jan 2007, 08:18
Devils has lost Scoble, McCleod, & McMahon, and maybe Parker, if he plays. Thats not 7 by my maths.
And apart from McMahon, they are not even big losses. Neither Scoble nor McLeod would be hard to replace, that's if Darley was looking to replace them at all.
All they would need to find is a skinny, weak, money-hungry, freckle-headed dog that hangs out looking for cheap kicks to replace Scoble and a guy who claims injury everytime things get a little too tough for McLeod.
Players like that are a dime a dozen down that way.
Hank Evans
30 Jan 2007, 08:21
KA, is Smithwick the tall skinny kid from Darley, the one Keiran Murrihy kicked 6 on in the finals. Will he even get a game at Sunbury if Sunhbury are supposed to be so good.
Yes, that's the one. I think Darley were giving him the Zac Dawson treatment.
Kings Army
30 Jan 2007, 08:22
Henry, Smithwick, McCabe, Reynolds.
Kings Army
30 Jan 2007, 08:24
Yes, that's the one. I think Darley were giving him the Zac Dawson treatment.
Baird kicked a bag on him in the Sunbury final. He may find it eaiser this year with O'Connor taking the Jodan's and McMahon's.
bearsboy
30 Jan 2007, 08:29
Sunbury
out - Little & Baird
in - Houlihan, Beattie, Henry, Sarvalis, Smithwick, McCabe, Burt, Smashing Machine (number 2).Is that Justin Burt ? former Gisborne champion and 5 time league b&f winner in the rdjfl.Huge pick up for the Lions if this is true . Will he play in the ruck KA ? maybe better suited to chf , could really impose himself on the game from there .With a forward line of Houlihan ,Burt , Beattie and Davis , i can't see 2 many teams getting near Sunbury this year . Looking forward 2 the annual practice match between Sunbury & the mighty Gisborne Bulldog's.
Left Footed Cat
30 Jan 2007, 08:42
Henry, Smithwick, McCabe, Reynolds.
He said all 7 went to South, read carefully KA
Kings Army
30 Jan 2007, 08:48
He said all 7 went to South, read carefully KA
Sorry!!
Can anyone at Darley list the new players? Apart from G Learmonth have they picked any players up?
Premiership
30 Jan 2007, 08:52
Always say that some clubs dont progress becasue they are in denial or lack the ability to objectively look at their list. HEvans, you must be a Darley man bitter about player losses.
Scoble was in your best 5 through the finals series, so if you have someone in your reserves to step up and kick 5 goals in finals against Sunbury and East, well done he is replaced.
Mcleod was in your best 5 against Sunbury and East also in finals, is your clubs best HB Flanker, plays interleague, so if he is easy to replace then wow Darley must have some depth,
Parker is your best onballer,
MCCabe your 2nd best,
McMahon your only key position fwd player,
Smithwick played key position back didnt he,
Henry a gun onballer
You have lost reynolds
Rumour sweeping Ballarat over the weekend was that cox has left to.
Has panic set in at Devil land or like you say, these guys all replaceable easily becasue they are all weak dogs and not up to the Darley standard??
Hank Evans
30 Jan 2007, 09:10
HEvans, you must be a Darley man bitter about player losses.
Firstly, don't insult me by saying I am from that toilet of a place. I have far too much class, sophistication and intelligence to ever be confused with someone from Darley. Have you not read any of my posts?
Secondly, as I am not from Darley, I can't speak for all those players, but I have seen enough of Scoble to know that if he didn't have any off-field influence he wouldn't make the senior grade in half the sides in this league.
I know about Smithwick because I have seen him torn apart on a couple of occasions. Possibly the most easily exposed key position backman in the comp. Too weak, too stupid, almost laughable.
And McLeod is just a flat out ordinary, stock standard footballer at best. How he made interleague I have no idea. If he played in my side, he would be a tagger at best.
Haven't heard the Cox rumour, he looks talented, but seems to be indifferent and uninspired on the field.
Personally, I would love to see Darley crumble and do a lengthy stint on the bottom of the ladder and am in no way bitter that they have suffered losses. However, that doesn't mean that I am ready to say that players are good just because they got smart and have left.
simplesimon
30 Jan 2007, 09:14
so in your humble opinion Hank, can any of the 2006 or expected 2007 side play?
19th Man
30 Jan 2007, 09:19
My sources tell me that the list extends even further. They may not all be gun players as Hank has pointed out, but they still played in a Prelim final. The losses run deep, and consist largely of their senior squad.
Here are some names that are quoted to have left: Scoble, Mcleod, Parker, Mcmahon, McCabe, Cannard, Henry, Kettle, Farra, Smithwick, Renoylds and maybe Cox. Add to that, Trav Edwards may retire.
That accounts for 13 of 21 senior players. Hard times ahead for the Devils.
Hank Evans
30 Jan 2007, 09:22
so in your humble opinion Hank, can any of the 2006 or expected 2007 side play?
Miller, as much as it hurts to say it.
Kings Army
30 Jan 2007, 09:22
Firstly, don't insult me by saying I am from that toilet of a place. I have far too much class, sophistication and intelligence to ever be confused with someone from Darley. Have you not read any of my posts?
Secondly, as I am not from Darley, I can't speak for all those players, but I have seen enough of Scoble to know that if he didn't have any off-field influence he wouldn't make the senior grade in half the sides in this league.
I know about Smithwick because I have seen him torn apart on a couple of occasions. Possibly the most easily exposed key position backman in the comp. Too weak, too stupid, almost laughable.
And McLeod is just a flat out ordinary, stock standard footballer at best. How he made interleague I have no idea. If he played in my side, he would be a tagger at best.
Haven't heard the Cox rumour, he looks talented, but seems to be indifferent and uninspired on the field.
Personally, I would love to see Darley crumble and do a lengthy stint on the bottom of the ladder and am in no way bitter that they have suffered losses. However, that doesn't mean that I am ready to say that players are good just because they got smart and have left.
Who do you follow?
simplesimon
30 Jan 2007, 09:26
Miller, as much as it hurts to say it.
so they played in a prelim with 1 decent player? interesting.
couldnt fit Cape in?
bearsboy
30 Jan 2007, 09:49
Sorry!!
Can anyone at Darley list the new players? Apart from G Learmonth have they picked any players up?My mail says Chris Atkins ,absolute jet
Hank Evans
30 Jan 2007, 10:12
so they played in a prelim with 1 decent player? interesting.
couldnt fit Cape in?
Forgot about the Big Red Dog, he is quality.
Premiership
30 Jan 2007, 11:42
Fair enough HEVANS and if thats your opinion thats your opinion. Fair enough. Only imagined you were from Darley as it is one thing to question a player ability, but to be so personal indicates generally you have a gripe, dont really care to be honest though, not here to bag individual players, here to talk footy in general as football is a TEAM sport and no indivual should be held responsible for the results of a team. I am interested to know as per another post asked who you do rate, as you tend to certainly knock down a lot of players and clubs. From the Darley games i saw this year, which were only against sunbury east and redan, 3 of the 4 best sides, parker and mccabe were their best players, so if you rate miller, you surely rate those two. All those other players were in their best players in those games so they must be doing something right "IN MY OPINION".
I didnt know the depth of losses but if 19th Man is correct, in addition to Parker going to South at some stage this year as you here, that is 14 of 21, but going by your assessment none of them are losses and easily replaced. IS that your opinion?
Left Footed Cat
30 Jan 2007, 11:53
Enough Darley bashing, I know its fun for most of you. Can anyone give a list of definites to have left Melton. Is their list as big as the Devils?
Premiership
30 Jan 2007, 12:35
Totally agree LFC, no matter who leaves any club you still have to replace them. It seems Darley and Melton have been talked about most these two clubs have been affected the most with players leaving, my mail is although not invovled directly with melton: berger, vimpany, grenfell, porter, turner, sinclair, james, button.
FootyFat
30 Jan 2007, 12:36
My sources tell me that the list extends even further. They may not all be gun players as Hank has pointed out, but they still played in a Prelim final. The losses run deep, and consist largely of their senior squad.
Here are some names that are quoted to have left: Scoble, Mcleod, Parker, Mcmahon, McCabe, Cannard, Henry, Kettle, Farra, Smithwick, Renoylds and maybe Cox. Add to that, Trav Edwards may retire.
most of them losses are very true for the devils except the local guys cox and digger were both at training last night and kettle will play also while the devils have lost a few it leaves open a big bank balance to attract new players with new signings taking place as we speak look to see at devil land next year a new ruckman to help out stevo a ff chf 2-3 new quality on ballers and a couple of blokes that can play either end of the ground keep posted for the names to come out over the next week or 2 there training numbers are not to bad for this time of year with about 50 different blokes trained so far with an average of 35-40 im not promising any big things just dont write them off before round 1
KingRich
30 Jan 2007, 13:13
Does a Paul Jennings play for Ballarat Footy Club? How did he go this year does anyone know?
Where is Dan Farrar off to? Played at hoppers with him and he was a handy type. Still go well?
Premiership
30 Jan 2007, 13:53
Your right FFat, at the end of the day it is country footy and guys come and go from all football clubs, it is just how it works. All clubs are attracting players and losing players I imagine, it is getting the balance right to win premierships, who would have thought redan losing walsh molloy etc last year would come out and win it this year.
youhatehim
30 Jan 2007, 14:26
Heard both Jarryd and Dean have left to Geelong to play along with stornigbrink who were all going to sign with marsh, but went there with a few blokes from werribee
Hank Evans
30 Jan 2007, 18:11
BOO-YAH!!! LET'S DANCE!!!!!
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s22/Jak_Dizzle/stylin.gif
footyfan001
30 Jan 2007, 18:21
Those fellas will regret that when its played at their 21st....
The Water Boy
30 Jan 2007, 18:48
most of them losses are very true for the devils except the local guys cox and digger were both at training last night and kettle will play also while the devils have lost a few it leaves open a big bank balance to attract new players with new signings taking place as we speak look to see at devil land next year a new ruckman to help out stevo a ff chf 2-3 new quality on ballers and a couple of blokes that can play either end of the ground keep posted for the names to come out over the next week or 2 there training numbers are not to bad for this time of year with about 50 different blokes trained so far with an average of 35-40 im not promising any big things just dont write them off before round 1
Very big rumour Cox signed at hoppers crossing.very lucrative deal which he has well and truly earned.good luck.
I believe that we all would wouldn't we? i will give credit where credit is due...Darley have been one of the better teams over the last few seasons, BUT, I believe we would all like to see them do a stint down the bottom of the ladder.
PALMERS PUNCHLINES
30 Jan 2007, 21:44
Very big rumour Cox signed at hoppers crossing.very lucrative deal which he has well and truly earned.good luck.
I agree with the good luck part, if you can get coin, why not. Especially when the club your at is in for a few lean years....But well and truely earnt?? Sure he is a strongly built kid with great hands, but from what Ive seen and heard bout him, terrible attitude to training and footy in general. From a good source, Darley have let him run his own race for years, a quality side in a different comp wont put up with any of his crap. Will be interested to see how he goes
FootyFat
31 Jan 2007, 08:38
Where is Dan Farrar off to? Played at hoppers with him and he was a handy type. Still go well?
over geelong way somewhere im told due to work
Left Footed Cat
31 Jan 2007, 08:41
I believe that we all would wouldn't we? i will give credit where credit is due...Darley have been one of the better teams over the last few seasons, BUT, I believe we would all like to see them do a stint down the bottom of the ladder.
Unlike the Marsh, Darley do not accept mediocre seasons. They may not be a force this year, but they could still make the finals, the old Devils have not missed the finals since joining the league. A few key signings and the devils wont be the disgrace that everyone is predicting.
Stop being jealous of the cross town rival and worry about your own rabble of a club. The Marsh have a history of signing players, or should I say trying to sign players, and then they go walkabout. I'd be interested to see who runs out for the carpet pythons in round one. Probably Scott Ellis, Georgie Griffiths, and Slats.
FootyFat
31 Jan 2007, 08:47
i wonder why you would like to see that Venom the marsh have been on the receiving end of a few floggings from the devils over the years have'nt they but i cant see darley falling back that far cos its a long long way down to the standard the marsh set
anyway whats the go with ya name carpet snakes have no venom
Just wondering if any body from Sunbury could tell me if Tony Fulton or Andrew Gosling will be seen in lions colours this year? i havent heard from either in regards to footy in 4 months
Bdiddy18
1 Feb 2007, 07:25
I see in todays Courier that East Point have signed a very good half back/centre half back along with his brother who is a kid from the North Ballarat Rebels who kicked 45 goals for them last year. Seems to be the ideal replacement for McGuigan. Have also heard that they have signed Kyle George from Buelah (former VFL player with North Ballarat), a centre half back from the Hampden League (played interleague with them two years ago), and a couple of new blokes from Ballarat Uni im not familar with.
You sure Kyle George is CHB? Must play tall for a bloke whos 5'9 if not smaller?
Bobby Giovanni
1 Feb 2007, 08:34
Does a Paul Jennings play for Ballarat Footy Club? How did he go this year does anyone know?
Is he the fat bloke?
learmonth
1 Feb 2007, 08:37
You sure Kyle George is CHB? Must play tall for a bloke whos 5'9 if not smaller?
He is meaning along with a CHB..????
Velvetsledgehammer
1 Feb 2007, 08:44
Mark Phelps will be a very good pick up for East Point, he would be one of the best backmen getting around in the CHFL. Phelpsy is athletic, can match up on talls or smalls, tough as nails and has the footy smarts. Will add a bit of mongrel to a soft East Point backline I reckon.
Premiership
1 Feb 2007, 08:53
Good recruiting for the East Point team, maybe they will set the pace again, defence was definitely their issue last year against Redan, they were a very offensive unit.
The Eastern sides definitely will need to be on their game to bring down the Westies.
talent scout
1 Feb 2007, 09:47
I've been down at werribee watching pre-season training. A young bloke from Darley named McGill looks the goods. Does anyone know much about him? I'm thinking of offering him a deal in Melbounre metro to make that Darley departure list longer if he doesn't make the werribee list. Any Info on him???
Premiership
1 Feb 2007, 10:34
Was talking to an a/c of werribee over the weekend who was asking me about this kid, I havent really seen him, the a/c said he had played interleague this year. I think you will be too late, he will be playing at werribee from what I gather from the conversation.
I've been down at werribee watching pre-season training. A young bloke from Darley named McGill looks the goods. Does anyone know much about him? I'm thinking of offering him a deal in Melbounre metro to make that Darley departure list longer if he doesn't make the werribee list. Any Info on him???
Yeah his name is Chris McGill. absolute gun. he is super fast and has some of the best foot skills getting round. he played on ball at darley but i think he would make a better player on a wing. he also has one of the best attitudes towards football i have seen for a long time. he is not a "big head" at all either which is always good.
FootyFat
1 Feb 2007, 10:58
Yeah mate good player but he is locked in at darley if he does not play at werribee he has alot of connections there
Talent Scout, Apparently there is another bloke down there by the name of Ryan Closter and he is meant to be as good as, if not better than McGill. perhaps he maybe another one to look at? tell me what you think if your down that way again and happen to see him.
talent scout
1 Feb 2007, 11:46
I dont know about you marsh boys pumping up your own tyres all the time, a few years ago someone told me Rowan Connors was a handy player and look how average he's turned out. I have seen a bit of Ryan, i'll keep a closer eye on him. :thumbsu:
Up the ante
1 Feb 2007, 11:58
I dont know about you marsh boys pumping up your own tyres all the time, a few years ago someone told me Rowan Connors was a handy player and look how average he's turned out. I have seen a bit of Ryan, i'll keep a closer eye on him. :thumbsu:
Agree talent scout. For a team thats been a bunch of cellar dwellers for a long time, they sure have inflated egos down at the marsh.
saucehead
1 Feb 2007, 12:06
Pumping up his tyres!!! closter has played good senior footy for werribee. hes a fair way ahead of mcgill at this stage.
Up the ante
1 Feb 2007, 12:16
Pumping up his tyres!!! closter has played good senior footy for werribee. hes a fair way ahead of mcgill at this stage.
Stick to hotdogs saucehead. I know more than you. How much is a hotdog at the sunflower bakery these days? Closter's always injured. Go and meditate in front of the big apple.
saucehead
1 Feb 2007, 12:22
Stick to hotdogs saucehead. I know more than you. How much is a hotdog at the sunflower bakery these days? Closter's always injured. Go and meditate in front of the big apple.
wtf is the sunflower bakery. anyway how many senior vfl games have u played? more than closter???
Vineyard
1 Feb 2007, 12:37
Not bad for a club going nowhere???
Devils Darley Park Receives Grant to Upgrade Pavilion
Minister for Sport and Recreation James Merlino today announced a $50,000 grant towards new netball change and visitors football change additions to the main pavilion at Darley Park.
60 people attended the announcement that included VCFL CEO Glenn Scott, former AFL star Jason MaCartney and state league netballers Julie Prendergast (Melbourne Kestrels)and Sarah Wall (Melbourne Phoenix).
DFC President Gerard Harrington thanked the Minister for approving this project under the Country Football Netball Program along with the Moorabool Shire Council who are auspicing and part funding the $150,000 project on behalf of all Darley Park user groups.
The Council and the Darley Park committee of management completed a visionary and comprehensive master plan for the precinct several years ago and the DFC are committed to helping this plan be realised step by step.
The project will add the first ever change rooms dedicated to DFC netballers at the southern end of the main pavilion. These will over look the current tennis courts. These tennis courts are earmarked for an upgrade in future years to a rubberised surface that will cater for both tennis and netball.
Visitors facilities for football / cricket will also be added on the western side of the main pavilion to replace the aged and unsatisfactory current rooms on the eastern side of the ground.
The club believe that these additions will foster greater participation on and off the field and encourage visting teams and netballers to stay and enjoy after match activities to a larger extent.
The DFC will be working with Council to progress this project over the next three months with an aim of having these new facilites available to be used for the April 28 commencement of the 2007 BFL season.
Vineyard
1 Feb 2007, 12:41
I would agree that Magill is behind Closter at this stage but being around quality/ professional training & VFL environment etc Magill will catch up quickly.
Closter is rated very highly at werribee but has been injury prone.
good for footy in the bacchus community to see their players reaching new levels.
Vineyard
1 Feb 2007, 12:42
Can anyone tell me how John Dewar is travelling at the Marsh. Will he get a game this year with teh recruits being added.
bearsboy
1 Feb 2007, 12:47
Can anyone tell me how John Dewar is travelling at the Marsh. Will he get a game this year with teh recruits being added.Vineyard ,is Chris Atkins playing at Darley this year ? if so he will be one of the elite in this comp.
Can anyone tell me how John Dewar is travelling at the Marsh. Will he get a game this year with teh recruits being added.
very doubtful he will get a senior game this year with the new recruits (if everyone stays fit and doesnt get injured) he was borderline seniors/reserves last year and with the new players coming to the club it is doubtful that he will play many, if any, senior games this year.
Agree talent scout. For a team thats been a bunch of cellar dwellers for a long time, they sure have inflated egos down at the marsh.
we need something going for us!! as you all know we werent winning to many footy games the last few years!
Rowan has good skills and a great footy brain but is a bit soft at the ball. just wish you could teach toughness! there was a lot of pressure put on him last year coming back to the club and he failed to perform. i wouldnt have played him as a key position player, perhaps more suited to a half forward or half back flank?
patty O'furnicha
1 Feb 2007, 13:15
How they've turned out?? :eek: these kids are 19!
As Rohan Connors only played his first year at Bacchus Marsh senior level in 2006 i find it hard to believe you were told to keep an eye on him few years back. Played up bush before this year.
But talent scout, when told of someone to keep an eye on (not just these Marsh kids) at least give them a couple of years. If someone predicts they are going to be good then sit back and watch their career... then you can asses.
Best football would be between the ages of 22-27 or there abouts. Not 19 like these prospects are.
Hank Evans
1 Feb 2007, 13:22
What about Magpie Shea?
He sweats potential ...
What about Magpie Shea?
He sweats potential ...
he has SUPERSTAR written all over him Hank!:thumbsd:
Magpie Shea is a hack, and Rowan connors is the youngest of three coward brothers with no ability...
Thats a pathetic and incorrect statement.
Brett is a very good player (believe me I heard the East Point coaches going banannas because he was cutting them up and they didn't know what to do about him when the Cobras played them in Ballarat last year).
Not sure about the middle Connors never saw him play.
Rohan has potential but seems a bit scared of the hard stuff. As he gets older that may come.
saucehead
1 Feb 2007, 17:38
Magpie Shea is a hack, and Rowan connors is the youngest of three coward brothers with no ability...
ha ha. no ability. brett has more ability in his little finger than u would have in your whole family tree. if brett was fit he would be the best player in the bfl.
Not bad for a club going nowhere???
Devils Darley Park Receives Grant to Upgrade Pavilion
Minister for Sport and Recreation James Merlino today announced a $50,000 grant towards new netball change and visitors football change additions to the main pavilion at Darley Park.
60 people attended the announcement that included VCFL CEO Glenn Scott, former AFL star Jason MaCartney and state league netballers Julie Prendergast (Melbourne Kestrels)and Sarah Wall (Melbourne Phoenix).
DFC President Gerard Harrington thanked the Minister for approving this project under the Country Football Netball Program along with the Moorabool Shire Council who are auspicing and part funding the $150,000 project on behalf of all Darley Park user groups.
The Council and the Darley Park committee of management completed a visionary and comprehensive master plan for the precinct several years ago and the DFC are committed to helping this plan be realised step by step.
The project will add the first ever change rooms dedicated to DFC netballers at the southern end of the main pavilion. These will over look the current tennis courts. These tennis courts are earmarked for an upgrade in future years to a rubberised surface that will cater for both tennis and netball.
Visitors facilities for football / cricket will also be added on the western side of the main pavilion to replace the aged and unsatisfactory current rooms on the eastern side of the ground.
The club believe that these additions will foster greater participation on and off the field and encourage visting teams and netballers to stay and enjoy after match activities to a larger extent.
The DFC will be working with Council to progress this project over the next three months with an aim of having these new facilites available to be used for the April 28 commencement of the 2007 BFL season.
does anybody care????
Bdiddy18
1 Feb 2007, 18:23
ha ha. no ability. brett has more ability in his little finger than u would have in your whole family tree. if brett was fit he would be the best player in the bfl.
So your saying that brett would be better than Dan Jordan, Julian Field (Ex Liston Trophy winner one of the best players in the VFL in his day), Jarrod Edwards, Mark Power, Shane Hutchinson? I know Brett Connors and he is an average BFL player. To say that brett connors would be the best player in the BFL if he was fit is the most stupidest thing I have ever heard on this thread! Pull your head in!
Bdiddy18
1 Feb 2007, 18:27
No I meant he was recruited along with a centre half back from the Hampden Football League
saucehead
1 Feb 2007, 18:28
So your saying that brett would be better than Dan Jordan, Julian Field (Ex Liston Trophy winner one of the best players in the VFL in his day), Jarrod Edwards, Mark Power, Shane Hutchinson? I know Brett Connors and he is an average BFL player. To say that brett connors would be the best player in the BFL if he was fit is the most stupidest thing I have ever heard on this thread! Pull your head in!
ok. maybe not the best but he would be right up there. he racks up 30-40 possies everygame and hes no where near match fitness.
yeah i agree with saucehead. he cuts teams apart when he is fit just because he is a smart footballer. maybe not the best in the BFL but he is a gun footballer even when he is not up to match fitness.
Magpie shea is a great half back flanker. he'll hit a lead from a forward 98% of the time. rowan is 19 by the way, how old are you? i bet you were exactly the same when you were his age? u probably still run around the ground with no ability and scared now noddy...
Go drop another one.. D I C K..
Sorry but he's right - we really don't care!!!!:eek: :eek: :eek: :p :p :p
Go drop another one.. D I C K..
you a darley man aswell
Up the ante
2 Feb 2007, 07:48
wtf is the sunflower bakery. anyway how many senior vfl games have u played? more than closter???
Many, many more but that's irrelevant.:p
yeah true nodd.i once seen old pie geta good old fashen football lesson at darley park off a handy little forward pocket/midfielder.an as for connors he will end up fat like hes brothers.
question people......? can anyone tell me if that hutchy bloke from east point is still fat or over wieght?
polly_lions
2 Feb 2007, 13:05
Just wondering if any body from Sunbury could tell me if Tony Fulton or Andrew Gosling will be seen in lions colours this year? i havent heard from either in regards to footy in 4 months
They have both gone home to work and they are both playing at sunbury cause there still studying at sunbury uni
question people......? can anyone tell me if that hutchy bloke from east point is still fat or over wieght?
Who cares? Sh*t question, if he is or isn't whats it matter. Throwing insults like that is weak. By the way i'm no fan of his as he has a very high opinion of himself but i dont sit here in my office with a big grin speaking crap