View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

Left Footed Cat
14 Feb 2007, 09:42
Clink the link below and take special note of the date of the following post from simplesimon:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=5392656#post5392656

Interesting to note that you were dropping hints about Scoble moving on from Darley as early as July last year, yet now you claim nothing was spoken about until after the end of the season.

So you were just making that up?

Credibility shot to pieces, simplesimon.

*squeezes hands together*
Seems James Kerr is too smart for you Simple Simon. Shot yourself in the foot.

cockroach
14 Feb 2007, 09:48
Clink the link below and take special note of the date of the following post from simplesimon:

Interesting to note that you were dropping hints about Scoble moving on from Darley as early as July last year, yet now you claim nothing was spoken about until after the end of the season.

get a life mate get over it

Hank Evans
14 Feb 2007, 09:55
Can anyone else smell something burning?

Must be simplesimon's pants.

simplesimon
14 Feb 2007, 10:03

I dont make things up Mr.Kerr. If you must know the truth about that post, I was actually referring to Sunbury seeking out Scoble's services in a very informal manner at that time NOT Melton South. (feel free to ask Mark Power whether this is fact or not, Kings Army may be able to help with this info also.)

There was no hint of him moving on in that post, I was only relaying info I had heard about other clubs sniffing around.

As i've previously mentioned, the process of Mr. Scoble departing the Devils did not start until after the Devils 2006 finals campaign.

If that shoots my credibility to pieces then so be it.

Everything I know I believe to be the truth, not innuendo or hearsay.
I think people have a right to hear/read the truth where possible, im not on here to attack anyone, im only responding to things i believe to be untrue or distorted.

keep squeezing the hands!

Sherman41
14 Feb 2007, 10:09
well guys having read this thread more and more of late, i must admit it is becoming a very boring read, fair enough i could just not read it but being from ballarat i am interested in finding out whats is going on in the ballarat football league, however this forum seems to have turned into the DARLEY chat room, how about you guys move on from Darley and start posting some worth wild information about the league in general for those who are interested. dont let this forum go to waste on crap!!!

this is not directed at all posters just some.

Premiership
14 Feb 2007, 10:10
I like your angle of thinking Chumpy...but no mate sorry. :(
Dont want to jump on board the scoble bashing, so dont mean it that way, but the difference between me and him...............my POST NAME, i have it, he is still chasing it if my information serves me correctly!!:thumbsu:

Hank Evans
14 Feb 2007, 10:10
I dont make things up Mr.Kerr. If you must know the truth about that post, I was actually referring to Sunbury seeking out Scoble's services in a very informal manner at that time NOT Melton South. (feel free to ask Mark Power whether this is fact or not, Kings Army may be able to help with this info also.)

There was no hint of him moving on in that post, I was only relaying info I had heard about other clubs sniffing around.

As i've previously mentioned, the process of Mr. Scoble departing the Devils did not start until after the Devils 2006 finals campaign.

If that shoots my credibility to pieces then so be it.

Everything I know I believe to be the truth, not innuendo or hearsay.
I think people have a right to hear/read the truth where possible, im not on here to attack anyone, im only responding to things i believe to be untrue or distorted.

keep squeezing the hands!

Blah, blah, blah ...

Do you really believe that piss poor reponse is enough to douse the flames set to your cheap nylon pants by Mr Kerr?

You're cooked, Champ. Just go away for a while, register under another name and start again. This time, just remember that posts you make even six months ago can come back to bite you on your chargrilled tooshy.

simplesimon
14 Feb 2007, 10:20
Blah, blah, blah ...

Do you really believe that piss poor reponse is enough to douse the flames set to your cheap nylon pants by Mr Kerr?

You're cooked, Champ. Just go away for a while, register under another name and start again. This time, just remember that posts you make even six months ago can come back to bite you on your chargrilled tooshy.

So because I dont attack anyones character in my respone that makes it a piss poor one?

Seriously, everyone should be made to do an IQ test before you are allowed to post on here. There wouldnt be many of us that would pass.

Way too many narrow minded people on here.

Hank Evans
14 Feb 2007, 10:23
I'm also hearing rumours of Ballarat signing a key forward who is returning to the BFL after a stint in another league who (if fit) could provide exactly what they require to take the next step.

Can't name the player involved at this stage, but my mail is that it is almost a done deal.

Hank Evans
14 Feb 2007, 10:25
I like your angle of thinking Chumpy...but no mate sorry. :(
Dont want to jump on board the scoble bashing, so dont mean it that way, but the difference between me and him...............my POST NAME, i have it, he is still chasing it if my information serves me correctly!!:thumbsu:

Sorry mate, but Premierships from other leagues that were won over 10 years ago don't count

Left Footed Cat
14 Feb 2007, 10:36
well guys having read this thread more and more of late, i must admit it is becoming a very boring read, fair enough i could just not read it but being from ballarat i am interested in finding out whats is going on in the ballarat football league, however this forum seems to have turned into the DARLEY chat room, how about you guys move on from Darley and start posting some worth wild information about the league in general for those who are interested. dont let this forum go to waste on crap!!!

this is not directed at all posters just some.
Mate, anyone can get on here and talk whatever they like. So you say something then, until then, everyone will keep bagging Darley.

Premiership
14 Feb 2007, 10:38
Sorry mate, but Premierships from other leagues that were won over 10 years ago don't count

:) I am sure those that have had the privelidge playing in premiership sides would disagree Hank. Each to their own though.

Anyway back on the footy and upcming season which is what this thread is about. If that is right Hank, that is huge news for Ballarat, they only needed another key forward to assist Nunn to make them a very potent team. With their running power from last season, if this comes off, can people see them being a chance for the big one come finals time.

Sherman41
14 Feb 2007, 11:33
Mate, anyone can get on here and talk whatever they like. So you say something then, until then, everyone will keep bagging Darley.

well mate as i dont play in this league, prob dont know enough of the players or club cultures to comment a heap thats all.......just an interested onlooker who wants to know what is going on in the league so i have a better understanding..

blues12
14 Feb 2007, 12:13
3 or 4 weeks ago i read that sam young would be moving from sunbury back to his old club kyneton, in this weeks paper it says that he will be moving back to sunbury. has anybody heard this.

Rat_attack
14 Feb 2007, 12:20
Can anyone tell me about Richard Tucker that Ballarat has signed, heard he has been playing wimmera league for ararat! What position does he play and is he going to be up to BFL, also heard there maybe injury concerns with him??

bearsboy
14 Feb 2007, 13:57
3 or 4 weeks ago i read that sam young would be moving from sunbury back to his old club kyneton, in this weeks paper it says that he will be moving back to sunbury. has anybody heard this.Sam Young has officially been cleared to Kyneton.

footy15
14 Feb 2007, 15:07
can anyone tell me if ben taylor will be playing for lake wendouree again? i saw him play in a few games and he is a fantastic player. i would say he is one to watch, being only a young player and very underrated.

Premiership
14 Feb 2007, 15:22
can anyone tell me if ben taylor will be playing for lake wendouree again? i saw him play in a few games and he is a fantastic player. i would say he is one to watch, being only a young player and very underrated.

He really came on this year Tayls, especially late in the year, really dissapointing to see gilbo apply for a clearance to waubra. He is a ball magnet, very underated and hard at it, great pick up for Waubra and another big loss for lakers.

Bernie Q
14 Feb 2007, 15:33
[quote=simplesimon;6718877]

its always hard coming into a club but it takes two to tango and two to work at a relationship if they didnt like it or feel accepted why were they there for so long celebrities arent even married for that long these days

Who is the gun onballer from Portland that the Marsh have picked up? Are all the players still happy at the snakepit???

The new player from Portland at the Marsh is Jarryd Holt, from all reports from the Western Border League, great player, I understand he may have been the captain at Portland last year in a winning premiership team, good to get some quality?

Apart from that I haven't heard any more on other recruits, other than previous post's, I have seen in the local rags BMFNC advertising for new players to join, don;t know if this has attracted anyone?

footy15
14 Feb 2007, 15:43
He really came on this year Tayls, especially late in the year, really dissapointing to see gilbo apply for a clearance to waubra. He is a ball magnet, very underated and hard at it, great pick up for Waubra and another big loss for lakers.

could not agree more, two great fellas as well. i would've thought gilbert may have ben a little disappointed with being thrown around from reserves to seniors when he is clearly a senior player.
Would love to see Tayls take his football to that next level, i think he could really make an impact even in VFL.

footy15
14 Feb 2007, 16:11
I'm also interested as to where Brad Maxwell also for Lakers is playing this year. Another great player who can win a game off his own boot when having an 'on' day.

Rat_attack
14 Feb 2007, 17:03
I'm also interested as to where Brad Maxwell also for Lakers is playing this year. Another great player who can win a game off his own boot when having an 'on' day.

Pitty these on days don't come around to often! any news on Rich Tucker??

Rat_attack
14 Feb 2007, 17:06
could not agree more, two great fellas as well. i would've thought gilbert may have ben a little disappointed with being thrown around from reserves to seniors when he is clearly a senior player.
Would love to see Tayls take his football to that next level, i think he could really make an impact even in VFL.

Do you blokes think about what you write in here?? I understand that there is good BFL players but as for taking it to the next step and making an impact in the VFL you would want to be a bloody fantastic BFL player! The step up isn't as easy as everyone think,alot of blokes don't have the dedication and commitment to play at that level! but i wish him all the best if he does decide to try and take it to another level

Thats_Special
15 Feb 2007, 06:52
Can anyone give me any info on the following players, whether they were 1's or 2's players and what positions they played.. Andrew and Tom Gleeson from B/Marsh and Dylan Howard and Craig Eddy from Sunbury?

footy15
15 Feb 2007, 08:38
Do you blokes think about what you write in here?? I understand that there is good BFL players but as for taking it to the next step and making an impact in the VFL you would want to be a bloody fantastic BFL player! The step up isn't as easy as everyone think,alot of blokes don't have the dedication and commitment to play at that level! but i wish him all the best if he does decide to try and take it to another level

fair point, but i read everyone going on about waight and peace from redan and i think that tayls is every bit as good a player as those two and i'm sure he will prove this in time. saying that, i do agree that it is a massive step up to vfl.

Premiership
15 Feb 2007, 09:42
fair point, but i read everyone going on about waight and peace from redan and i think that tayls is every bit as good a player as those two and i'm sure he will prove this in time. saying that, i do agree that it is a massive step up to vfl.

There has been a number of very good players from the BFL step up to the roosters and only be able to play reserve football. It has taken Big O some time to establish himself and will be very interesting to see how waighty and peacey go.
Going the other way, you can see the level required with guys like snibbo, fieldy, JED, Bear Polkinghorne when he came back, Fish, DJ Webby etc they are stand out players in the BFL, so you need to be at that level before hand to have that opportunity to be successful there. Look at hutchy, standout BFL player, solid at best VFL player.
Tayls has the attributes to be successful, quick, size, courage. Application the key!

Leather Magnet
15 Feb 2007, 09:52
Can anyone tell me about Richard Tucker that Ballarat has signed, heard he has been playing wimmera league for ararat! What position does he play and is he going to be up to BFL, also heard there maybe injury concerns with him??

Richard Tucker:

By Bill out of Marg, 180cm (approx) brown stallion.
History of leg problems, plodding one pacer, better suited to distance events.
Courageous, never say die approach. Determined type who has shown form at half-back and centre half forward in Wimmera circles. Probably suited to flanks or pockets as he steps up in class to Ballarat events.
Full brother to Patrick of Ararat, Rebels and Perth form.

NoRumoursAllFact
15 Feb 2007, 10:42
Richard Tucker:

Courageous, never say die approach. Determined type who has shown form at half-back and centre half forward in Wimmera circles. Probably suited to flanks or pockets as he steps up in class to Ballarat events.

I thought he mite of been Patty's brother. Patty was a gun junior and by all reports still kills it now. If Richard is close to pat then he'll b handy.

Pat's a gun of a bloke too

19th Man
15 Feb 2007, 12:15
There has been a number of very good players from the BFL step up to the roosters and only be able to play reserve football. It has taken Big O some time to establish himself and will be very interesting to see how waighty and peacey go.
Going the other way, you can see the level required with guys like snibbo, fieldy, JED, Bear Polkinghorne when he came back, Fish, DJ Webby etc they are stand out players in the BFL, so you need to be at that level before hand to have that opportunity to be successful there. Look at hutchy, standout BFL player, solid at best VFL player.
Tayls has the attributes to be successful, quick, size, courage. Application the key!

I wouldn't class him as a standout, there are players from the Ballarat region who stand above. Good/solid at best.

Rat_attack
15 Feb 2007, 13:12
Richard Tucker:

Rumour has it Young richard is in love at the moment and with his young lass being away over sea's for 6months rich has been hitting the gym and the running track hard to keep himself away from other temptations! But Is carrying a Kankle injury at the moment!

FootyFat
15 Feb 2007, 14:51
Your kidding yourself if you think he is as good as peace and waight they were two quality players in a quality side and that Tayls played in a ******** side last year and was just a player

footy15
15 Feb 2007, 15:45
Your kidding yourself if you think he is as good as peace and waight they were two quality players in a quality side and that Tayls played in a ******** side last year and was just a player

Winning the B&F in that ****** side does not make him 'just a player'. and yes i think he is as good as peace and waight. I'm not sure where Tayls is playing this year, but if he is playing for the roosters (which he should be), i think you will see how good of a player he is. As written in a previous post, he just has to apply himself because he already has all the qualities of a good footballer.

footy15
15 Feb 2007, 16:04
Quick query on the state of the grounds, i've heard rumours (or maybe fact) that the season may be delayed due to the drought keeping the grounds unsatisfactory??

Hank Evans
15 Feb 2007, 18:03
Quick query on the state of the grounds, i've heard rumours (or maybe fact) that the season may be delayed due to the drought keeping the grounds unsatisfactory??

Welcome to three months ago, Dingleberry.

Hank Evans
15 Feb 2007, 18:05

Agreed, but probably a little harsh. I think what he originally meant was is that he is probably as important to his side as the two of those players are to theirs, which I tend to agree with. Lakers may have been ordinary, but he was a shining light for them.

cuttingedge
16 Feb 2007, 06:46

Big rumor sweeping the eastern suburbs of Melbourne,Sebastopol has signed up to a dozen Melbourne based footballers who are following former East Burwood star Luke Slater who is playing coach,that would make them a premiership threat,huge dollars are being offered to all players.

Lica
16 Feb 2007, 08:11
Big rumor sweeping the eastern suburbs of Melbourne,Sebastopol has signed up to a dozen Melbourne based footballers who are following former East Burwood star Luke Slater who is playing coach,that would make them a premiership threat,huge dollars are being offered to all players.

I'll believe that (and the rest of the rumours) when I see it on the transfers list. At the moment there are more leaving sebas and there are coming in.

footy15
16 Feb 2007, 08:36

don't you think that maybe i asked the question because i do not hear the news from ballarat where i am living? maybe you should try writing helpful things on here for a change, you might like it.

Hank Evans
16 Feb 2007, 09:19
maybe you should try writing helpful things on here for a change, you might like it.

Ok, i'll have a go at writing something helpful;

How to Make a Chocolate Cake (http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Chocolate-Cake)

If you are seeking a recipe for a scrumptious, delicate, moist, made from scratch chocolate cake like Grandma used to make, this is it!
http://www.wikihow.com/images/thumb/a/a9/110296499_2de9455b0b.jpg/180px-110296499_2de9455b0b.jpg (http://www.wikihow.com/Image:110296499_2de9455b0b.jpg) http://www.wikihow.com/skins/common/images/magnify-clip.png (http://www.wikihow.com/Image:110296499_2de9455b0b.jpg)
Yummy Chocolate Cake

Ingredients

2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups of all purpose flour
3/4 cup powdered cocoa
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup whole milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla flavoringSteps

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
Grease and flour a 9" x 13" cake pan
In a large bowl, stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
Add eggs, milk, vegetable oil and vanilla. Beat with an electric mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes or by hand.
Pour into prepared pan. With a spatula distribute batter evenly in the pan.
Bake for 35 to 40 minutes.
Cool completely and frost with your favorite frosting.

Tips

This is a very delicate cake. If you opt to remove it from the pan, do so after a 10 minute cooling period.
If you plan on placing the cake on a cake board or foil lined cookie sheet, place the board or cookie sheet on top of the cake pan. Hold your hand on the center of the board or cookie sheet and slide your other hand under the cake pan and in one motion, flip the cake pan upside down, so the cake is gently placed on the board and not flipped and dropped from the pan.

Warnings

Flipping from the pan without cake board or foil lined cookie sheet support may cause large cracks in the cake.
Cooking spray comes in handy for oiling and flouring cake pans.

Hank Evans
16 Feb 2007, 09:20
Sorry, didn't like it.

footy15
16 Feb 2007, 09:24
Sorry, didn't like it.

haha, very good.

Hank Evans
16 Feb 2007, 09:25

Does anyone remember that episode of the Simpsons when Monty Burns got all those major league players to come and play for his team in a softball match against the Shelbyville Isotopes? It didn't turn out well, and I doubt this will either.

To turn a team around you need the right balance of local talent that will stick around and some gun recruits to play key position. If a dozen players come to a club for a coach or for money, it is nothing more than a temprorary solution to a bigger problem.

Sebas should try to hang on to any decent local players they have ... well, if there is any.

Premiership
16 Feb 2007, 09:58
It is a good debate Hank. Cant remember too many sides recruiting a heap of guns and actually won the premiership. It is probably knowing the right time when you have good enough locals to then bring the recruits in.
Sebas cannot afford to lose too many, need to build on what they have.

Gadget
16 Feb 2007, 11:32
It is a good debate Hank. Cant remember too many sides recruiting a heap of guns and actually won the premiership. It is probably knowing the right time when you have good enough locals to then bring the recruits in.
Sebas cannot afford to lose too many, need to build on what they have.
You could possibly say that minor leagues that spend big dollars on recuits often come away with a flag.. ie... Hepburn (chfl) Donald (ncfl) Cargnham (lpfl) Not so in Major leagues, as they tend to have more depth on there list. Sebas have tried in the past to gain success in a quick time with no results and is possibly still hurting them now....

the_don88
16 Feb 2007, 12:23
You could possibly say that minor leagues that spend big dollars on recuits often come away with a flag.. ie... Hepburn (chfl) Donald (ncfl) Cargnham (lpfl) Not so in Major leagues, as they tend to have more depth on there list. Sebas have tried in the past to gain success in a quick time with no results and is possibly still hurting them now....

Sebas's biggest problem was that they played over eight players in the seniors 3 or 4years ago and they got pumped (not by as much as they do now), when if they played them in the 18's they probably would of won the flag. Almost all of those players that played have now left. I'm guessing through lack of enjoyment and succes. Blooding youngsters through the seniors would of been so much more beneficial than throwing them all in at once. This way they could of tasted success in the 18's and gained valuable experience with only a few games in the seniors. If they did this i reckon the majority would of stayed.

19th Man
16 Feb 2007, 12:33
Sebas's biggest problem was that they played over eight players in the seniors 3 or 4years ago and they got pumped (not by as much as they do now), when if they played them in the 18's they probably would of won the flag. Almost all of those players that played have now left. I'm guessing through lack of enjoyment and succes. Blooding youngsters through the seniors would of been so much more beneficial than throwing them all in at once. This way they could of tasted success in the 18's and gained valuable experience with only a few games in the seniors. If they did this i reckon the majority would of stayed.

Did the coach have anything to do with the departures? Was he a good coach to start with?

Venom
16 Feb 2007, 12:40
Name more players, why stop there. Surely there was more than one! Darley are looking like Carlton more and more, with plenty of infighting by the sounds of it.
And while I'm at it, good old Heath Scotland. You can take the boy out of Darley, but you cannot take Darley out of the boy.
so very very true

the_don88
16 Feb 2007, 12:52
Did the coach have anything to do with the departures? Was he a good coach to start with?

can't actually remember who it was. Pretty sure it was the one after Malcom Scott. Didn't last long

Left Footed Cat
16 Feb 2007, 13:36
so very very true
Jealous again, you Marsh dog. Name the last player the Marsh had reach a higher level. Your probably gona say Closter, but isnt his affiliate currently Darley? They may muck up a bit the boys that are bred over the bridge, but they are also much better footballers than the scrap heaps you produce.

Venom
16 Feb 2007, 13:57
I know tayls personally and he is a great kid and a very good footballer but to compare him to Ryan Waight from redan is a massive comparison. Waight is an absolute gun and his work ethic is second to none. In saying that though i wish benny all the luck in the world and hope he develops into the footballer we all know he could be.

Venom
16 Feb 2007, 14:05
can't actually remember who it was. Pretty sure it was the one after Malcom Scott. Didn't last long
Didn't Sebas have Chris Lewis coaching after Scotty? if memory serves me correctly those have been Sebas' last 2 coaches. maybe in getting old and senile though

Venom
16 Feb 2007, 14:06
Jealous again, you Marsh dog. Name the last player the Marsh had reach a higher level. Your probably gona say Closter, but isnt his affiliate currently Darley? They may muck up a bit the boys that are bred over the bridge, but they are also much better footballers than the scrap heaps you produce.
Wasn't speaking about footy u tool. just agreeing with the statement that you can take the boy out of Darley but u cant take Darley out of the boy. which is so true, so very very true

Left Footed Cat
16 Feb 2007, 14:13
Wasn't speaking about footy u tool. just agreeing with the statement that you can take the boy out of Darley but u cant take Darley out of the boy. which is so true, so very very true
Why would you want to take the Darley out of the boy? Ain't nothing wrong with that.

footy15
16 Feb 2007, 14:14
I know tayls personally and he is a great kid and a very good footballer but to compare him to Ryan Waight from redan is a massive comparison. Waight is an absolute gun and his work ethic is second to none. In saying that though i wish benny all the luck in the world and hope he develops into the footballer we all know he could be.

i could be wrong here. to my knowledge waight is 21??? and tayls 19??? i would just like to give tayls another two years til he is 21 and i think he will prove that he can be compared to players such as waight. no disrespect to waight as he obviously deserves every bit of praise he gets, just paying compliments to tayls as i really do think that he is a player to watch.

Premiership
16 Feb 2007, 14:19
Transfer list for Melton now including grenfell, james, turner and vimpany and the big one porter.
Sunbury have cleared Little within a day of him submitting clearance, something may not be right there? Thats efficent. Will be a loss you would think.
Still only Nicho from Redan on the transfer list, I think someone else mentioned, wonder if it was all just rumour and innuendo that the redan lions were losing a heap of quality.

Hank Evans
16 Feb 2007, 14:28
Still only Nicho from Redan on the transfer list, I think someone else mentioned, wonder if it was all just rumour and innuendo that the redan lions were losing a heap of quality.

Maybe just hope ;)

James Kerr
16 Feb 2007, 14:39
grenfell
http://www.pureniteclub.com.au/gallery/Frid%2012-1-07/images/DSCF3366.jpg

Gadget
16 Feb 2007, 15:05
Maybe just hope ;)
Massive losses for melton, maybe some insight to why the mass exodus? I'm sure Timmy will be a big loss to sunury but recuits should cover loss.
Edwards, Peace, Reid, Waight, Jones, Knowles, Michalaef, Nicholson... there's a few to start off with for redan. You'd assume waight, peace, michalaef & edwards would not need a clearance and still be registered with redan.

footy15
16 Feb 2007, 15:37
i think if ballarat can continue the form they showed at the late end of the season they will be a tough team to beat and may even take out the premiership. would have to be atleast a dark horse.

Kings Army
16 Feb 2007, 16:00
Word out of Sunbury they had a fitness coach come down to take a look at the players. They need to get the BBQ tongs out for Lewis for the skin fold test after he put on 15kg since Christmas.

chumpy
16 Feb 2007, 17:14
One word for u grenfell....YUK

chumpy
16 Feb 2007, 17:57
Word out of Sunbury they had a fitness coach come down to take a look at the players. They need to get the BBQ tongs out for Lewis for the skin fold test after he put on 15kg since Christmas.
I take it your fat yourself? Fat ****** i hate fat pigs... How is powers head, still bad? Hows Powers knee still ********ed from Cannard? Speaking of Noodle is the rumour true that old mate Serge has been phoning Cannard profusely to lure him back to his old club the mighty Lions?

FootyFat
17 Feb 2007, 07:54
What do you mean to compare him to Waight what about Peace id have him in my side before both of them yeah ok Tayls may have one the b/f which is a good effort for a kid 20 but lakers are a bottom side Peace has won b/fs in premiership sides that contain blokes that have been quality VFL players and one has even won a J.J Liston. Waight made the state squad so until Tayls becomes a standout player in a good side I would not even put him in the same sentence as the Redan boys

FootyFat
17 Feb 2007, 07:56
Looks like he been out for a night with Techno

19th Man
17 Feb 2007, 14:19
Looks like he been out for a night with Techno

What a creepy human. Anyone who sits in a corner drinking lemonade like that, is probably there alone.

Venom
18 Feb 2007, 12:04
What do you mean to compare him to Waight what about Peace id have him in my side before both of them yeah ok Tayls may have one the b/f which is a good effort for a kid 20 but lakers are a bottom side Peace has won b/fs in premiership sides that contain blokes that have been quality VFL players and one has even won a J.J Liston. Waight made the state squad so until Tayls becomes a standout player in a good side I would not even put him in the same sentence as the Redan boys
so you're agreeing with me?

FootyFat
18 Feb 2007, 13:50
so you're agreeing with me?
Im saying that tayls has a long way to ge to be in the waight league and even further to be in the peace league

wceagles
18 Feb 2007, 16:56
don't worry about lewis ka,can you find out the names of the 2 new recruits that were @the club on friday nite,i believe former premiership players.apparently 1 looked as fat as a pig & hasn't played for years & the money that was bandied around if true is ridiculous:rolleyes:

billylid
19 Feb 2007, 07:59
don't worry about lewis ka,can you find out the names of the 2 new recruits that were @the club on friday nite,i believe former premiership players.apparently 1 looked as fat as a pig & hasn't played for years & the money that was bandied around if true is ridiculous:rolleyes:

2 new recruits what a load of rubbish it was too past players who recently returned back into the country after living in europe for 5 or so years catching up with a Few mates from Sunbury. If you think Darren Goodgiles is fat then you must be Mr Australia as Darren is still a man mountain and would have no trouble pulling on the boots again where as Timmy Ellis has continued to play football overseas and is in great shape . Sorry to stop this rumour here but its going to hard for those guys 2 play for sunbury when both wont be living in the state. But nice try as they say never let the truth get in the way of a good story hey wceagles

FootyFat
19 Feb 2007, 13:03
Whats going on with the so called merger, between lakers and north has that gone out the window.

Rubba
19 Feb 2007, 13:36
Whats going on with the so called merger, between lakers and north has that gone out the window.

Mate where have you been, this was over before it even made the news. North are still concerned though as their player numbers are very low.

FootyFat
19 Feb 2007, 13:55
Mate where have you been, this was over before it even made the news. North are still concerned though as their player numbers are very low.
I hope they both fold

BOBB
19 Feb 2007, 15:35
Excuse my ignorance but i cant be bothered looking back through the threads... what date does the BFL season kick off? April...?

stanleyy
19 Feb 2007, 20:15
2 new recruits what a load of rubbish it was too past players who recently returned back into the country after living in europe for 5 or so years catching up with a Few mates from Sunbury. If you think Darren Goodgiles is fat then you must be Mr Australia as Darren is still a man mountain and would have no trouble pulling on the boots again where as Timmy Ellis has continued to play football overseas and is in great shape . Sorry to stop this rumour here but its going to hard for those guys 2 play for sunbury when both wont be living in the state. But nice try as they say never let the truth get in the way of a good story hey wceaglesi think you maybe wrong there billy,timmy ellis is going to be living in melbourne ,so i'm sure if he wants to play @ sunbury i'm quite sure that mark power would happily have him in his team!darren may be another kettle of fish,but i would have thought that both players would add a bit of experience & hardness back to the sunbury team:thumbsu:

Kings Army
20 Feb 2007, 07:50
i think you maybe wrong there billy,timmy ellis is going to be living in melbourne ,so i'm sure if he wants to play @ sunbury i'm quite sure that mark power would happily have him in his team!darren may be another kettle of fish,but i would have thought that both players would add a bit of experience & hardness back to the sunbury team:thumbsu:

Serge would love them both in his team. Ellis is the only chance as Darren lives interstate. But as Ellis has only been back in the country for a week it is just a wait and see at this stage.

Grimmett
20 Feb 2007, 08:42
Excuse my ignorance but i cant be bothered looking back through the threads... what date does the BFL season kick off? April...?

Anzac Day - Redan v Lake Wendouree

April 28 - Balance of Round 1.

Know It All
20 Feb 2007, 08:49
Rumours circulating that a number of grounds are drought proofing themselves by sinking bores and gaining access to water. Probably too late for this year but good news for next season I would think.

blues12
20 Feb 2007, 12:41
Rumours circulating that a number of grounds are drought proofing themselves by sinking bores and gaining access to water. Probably too late for this year but good news for next season I would think.

i wouldn't say it is too late for this season, any water at this stage would be a good thing. It may be too late to give the grass cover time to recover but at least if the grounds can be softened it is still playable.

Hank Evans
20 Feb 2007, 13:08
People are crying for rain, but if it were to rain heavy tomorrow, most grounds would end up looking like CHFL muddy bog pits from the 1980's.

Gradual watering with minimal usage is the go. Trust me, I am an expert in Horticulture as well as martial arts, so if you want to argue against me, I must warn you not to! Why? Because you are probably wrong and even if you are right, I could probably kick your arse.

Got it? Good.

BOBB
20 Feb 2007, 13:59

Thanks Grimmett!

Gadget
20 Feb 2007, 14:24

Where are they planning on playing that Grimmett? After seeing both ovals, they obviously won't play on them?

19th Man
20 Feb 2007, 14:26
People are crying for rain, but if it were to rain heavy tomorrow, most grounds would end up looking like CHFL muddy bog pits from the 1980's.

Gradual watering with minimal usage is the go. Trust me, I am an expert in Horticulture as well as martial arts, so if you want to argue against me, I must warn you not to! Why? Because you are probably wrong and even if you are right, I could probably kick your arse.

Got it? Good.

Just like the rest of your Sth Australian friends who play the round ball code, you couldn't kick the arse off a dead sheep!

Grimmett
20 Feb 2007, 14:57
Where are they planning on playing that Grimmett? After seeing both ovals, they obviously won't play on them?

Night game at North Ballarat.

footy15
20 Feb 2007, 14:59
so what are the early odds for premiers this season? any early flag favourites?

Kings Army
20 Feb 2007, 15:15
so what are the early odds for premiers this season? any early flag favourites?

Can not see any other team beside Sunbury, East Point and Redan winning the flag this year. Ballarat will continue to improve as will Melton South. Darley and Melton to slip with one of these 2 to miss finals action.

My odds would be:

East Point $2.30
Sunbury $2.50
Readn $3.00
Ballarat $12
Melton Soulth $50
Melton $80
Darley $100
Sebastopol $120
Lake Wendouree $1001
Bacchus Marsh $10001

learmonth
20 Feb 2007, 15:47
Can not see any other team beside Sunbury, East Point and Redan winning the flag this year. Ballarat will continue to improve as will Melton South. Darley and Melton to slip with one of these 2 to miss finals action.

My odds would be:

East Point $2.30
Sunbury $2.50
Readn $3.00
Ballarat $12
Melton Soulth $50
Melton $80
Darley $100
Sebastopol $120
Lake Wendouree $1001
Bacchus Marsh $10001

Can I have $1 on B/Marsh. forget about Scumbury, have no chance of winning it, even with their recruits. Culture is still the problem, and till they get rid of the bad apples, nothing will change. East V Redan again.

Kings Army
20 Feb 2007, 15:56
Can I have $1 on B/Marsh. forget about Scumbury, have no chance of winning it, even with their recruits. Culture is still the problem, and till they get rid of the bad apples, nothing will change. East V Redan again.

You and your culture crap. How the f uck would you know? You left the league with you tail between you legs - and now you want to be a big mouth and put crap on a team that totally dominated you and your team for 10 years. It is tall poppy syndrome - Sunbury has been the most successful club of the last 10 years in the Ballarat League. If you don't think they can win it then you are a fool.

Backing the Marsh shows your level of knowledge of the BFL. That $1 may break your club - you may need to get permission from the club before I accept your bet.

footy15
20 Feb 2007, 15:58

i wouldn't be surprised if ballarat go one step further this year. is it still a top 6 finals? shouldn't it be changed to a top 5 with only 10 teams now in the competition?

Whosyou
21 Feb 2007, 07:29
Stanleyy what is your claim to fame?

learmonth
21 Feb 2007, 07:41
You and your culture crap. How the f uck would you know? You left the league with you tail between you legs - and now you want to be a big mouth and put crap on a team that totally dominated you and your team for 10 years. It is tall poppy syndrome - Sunbury has been the most successful club of the last 10 years in the Ballarat League. If you don't think they can win it then you are a fool.

Backing the Marsh shows your level of knowledge of the BFL. That $1 may break your club - you may need to get permission from the club before I accept your bet.

Always abusive KA, that just shows your mentality from that part of the world. What would u do without Gisborne & Sunbury..???? U are probably one of those drunks over the fence, that abuse the umpires everytime Sunbury King hit someone and say were being treated unfair. In my time playing against Sunbury, I belive it was 4 losses, 2 wins and a draw... + our club didnt have 100k to spend on players.... They always feared playing us at home...

Kings Army
21 Feb 2007, 08:24
Always abusive KA, that just shows your mentality from that part of the world. What would u do without Gisborne & Sunbury..???? U are probably one of those drunks over the fence, that abuse the umpires everytime Sunbury King hit someone and say were being treated unfair. In my time playing against Sunbury, I belive it was 4 losses, 2 wins and a draw... + our club didnt have 100k to spend on players.... They always feared playing us at home...

What do you expect with the way you run your mouth.

Your throw away "culture is bad at Sunbury" line has no merit or substance. Can't win this years flag because of the "bad apples" - what crap this is as well. Who are you talking about? Chooka? Power? They have 6 Sunbury flags between them. How good is your trophy cabnet that you can take a shot at these blokes?

Feared playing you at home?? Now you have topped yourself here. They did not fear playing you at home - they hated playing there on a ground that was like running around in the sewage farm in Werribee. Results like 2.7 to 3.2 show the level of footy you could play in that swamp.

Get on a real ground and you would get results like:

Sunbury 28.19 = 187
Dayles 3.8 = 26

Did you get the all clear to spend your $1?

Premiership
21 Feb 2007, 08:27
I think it is fair to say that East and Redan are in the best position to be considered the two stand out teams again going into this year. Sunbury have recruited yes, but have lost a few important players, no doubt will be one of the teams pushing east and redan anyway.
The rest is a raffle to see who can push up into the top 4. I have said previously I definitely think that Ballarat and Melton South have ability to make the 6 and push the top teams. Melton seem to have lost a hell of a lot of their best players, and only notable pick up is Darren Stanley who will be very handy you would think. Darley on the other hands losses been well publicised but in recent weeks there has been some posts and talk of them picking a few up so you would think they are a team still capable of making the 6 as they do every year. So from last year, and preseason rubbish talk as it all is, I would be saying KA your pretty right with Redan and East and Sunbury pushing hard, Ballarat certs to make 6, Darley I would tip to make the 6, ability to push the top 3 dependent on further recruiting, but Melton to be the only major slider, replaced by Melton South.
Not convinced lakers marsh sebas or melton will have the cattle to get there. Realistically, it should be a final FIVE!

Gadget
21 Feb 2007, 08:39

My odds would be:

East Point $2.30
Sunbury $2.50
Readn $3.00
Ballarat $12
Melton Soulth $50
Melton $80
Darley $100
Sebastopol $120
Lake Wendouree $1001
Bacchus Marsh $10001
Can't go past east, either sunbury or ballarat will fight it out with them on final day in sept. I'd say get you bookies ticket KA as those odds are pretty spot on.

Venom
21 Feb 2007, 17:13

My odds would be:

East Point $2.30
Sunbury $2.50
Readn $3.00
Ballarat $12
Melton Soulth $50
Melton $80
Darley $100
Sebastopol $120
Lake Wendouree $1001
Bacchus Marsh $10001
good odds for ballarat there. could be a good darkhorse

19th Man
21 Feb 2007, 20:59
good odds for ballarat there. could be a good darkhorse

Ballarat struggle away from home. For them to push the top sides, they need to finish with the double chance. To do this, more away wins is essential.

Blues1995
21 Feb 2007, 23:53
Hey blues, I dont think you will not find them at lakers oval as they are meant to be getting sprinklers. You should find them training at Ballarat Grammar on Monday and wedneday and St Pats College on Friday, dont know how the pulled that off, but they deserve a break so good luck to them

from bendigo site
Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted rabbit http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6781833#post6781833)
North City will struggle to field 2 senior teams unless they find players in a hurry, especially key position players. Was not impressed with their coaching last year as well.

check out the news from the vcfl website re Football Victoria Awards.

What an absolute Joke about Nth City, best new club, didnt they win donuts and get flogged by heaps, this further insults the competition as i read somewhere that the senior coach McCarty won the coach of the year for winning donuts.

what a joke I hope that they fold, my anger is directed at them because when i went to lakers training last week a couple of the lakers committee people i spoke to told me that they had had preliminary talks and it was all one way traffic. NORTH BALLARATS WAY AND THATS IT.

They are struggling for numbers alright, 12 onthe track and thats its.

I urge all past lakers to get behind the club and dont ever entertain the thought of merging again.

whilst at training heard that Cam Landry wont play at lakers ever again, can someone enlighten me as i think their is something more going on?

Talk that he was going to play at Waubra with Daryl Jarred, see he has lodged a clearance yesterday.

Premiership
22 Feb 2007, 07:32
Surely your not surpised that Nth wanted it all their own way, just look at the people involved.

Langers another big hit for Lakers, he has been going to waubra all summer, dags is finished at BFl level anyway so he is no great loss. Tough times ahead no doubt.

bearsboy
22 Feb 2007, 07:58
Nth City should be in the Ballarat league at least they might win a few games and maybe final's wouldnt be out of the question. The Bendigo league is obviously to strong for them .

Kings Army
22 Feb 2007, 08:06
Nth City should be in the Ballarat league at least they might win a few games and maybe final's wouldnt be out of the question. The Bendigo league is obviously to strong for them .

Quite day at work BB? Nice day to go fishing.

Hank Evans
22 Feb 2007, 08:11
Quite day at work BB? Nice day to go fishing.

Are you two like those guys from Brokeback Mountain who like to go 'fishing'?