View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

Kings Army
22 Feb 2007, 08:43
Are you two like those guys from Brokeback Mountain who like to go 'fishing'?

Come on hankey pankey tell me you don't bat for the other team. Watching Brokeback is a good start!

Velvetsledgehammer
22 Feb 2007, 08:53
Nth City should be in the Ballarat league at least they might win a few games and maybe final's wouldnt be out of the question. The Bendigo league is obviously to strong for them .

What a stupid comment! I think you will find the Ballarat League have towled up Bendigo in most of their recent contests...hence Ballarat was in Division 1 of the VCFL interleague and Bendigo is Div 2/3. Trusth is Nth City would get spanked in both leagues and thats the way it should stay. Hope they fold for the arrogant way they have tried to have everything their own way...... most people in Ballarat would hate Noth as much as Sunbury.

Bernie Q
22 Feb 2007, 09:38
What a stupid comment! I think you will find the Ballarat League have towled up Bendigo in most of their recent contests...hence Ballarat was in Division 1 of the VCFL interleague and Bendigo is Div 2/3. Trusth is Nth City would get spanked in both leagues and thats the way it should stay. Hope they fold for the arrogant way they have tried to have everything their own way...... most people in Ballarat would hate Noth as much as Sunbury.

I see in accordance with one of the local papers that the Marsh are supposed to be playing North City in a practice match some time in March. Might enjoy a can that day with a win!!

Kings Army
22 Feb 2007, 09:51
I see in accordance with one of the local papers that the Marsh are supposed to be playing North City in a practice match some time in March. Might enjoy a can that day with a win!!

Nil all draw

Thoroughbred
22 Feb 2007, 10:26
Nth City should be in the Ballarat league at least they might win a few games and maybe final's wouldnt be out of the question. The Bendigo league is obviously to strong for them .

Bearsboy. I have seen enough of both leagues and I would say that the Bendigo league has gone the way of the dogs since season 2005 when Bendigo Bombers brought in their 2's team.

Lots of good players have left to district clubs and once proud clubs are looking pretty shaky. IE Maryborough, Kyneton and Castlemaine. Gisborne will be a strong team every year and it seems the others have to save their money up for 3-4 years of mediocraty to have a crack at 1 good year and hopefully win a flag.

It is not sustainable for a league to be like that.

The strength of the Ballarat league is that it is fairly wide open. Sunbury and Redan have been strong for the past few years but there are other teams that can beat them on their day. There would be 5 or 6 teams that are very hopeful for 2007. I couldn't say the same for the Bendigo League.

Gisborne is the only team in the Bendigo leage at this point in time that could possibly win a Ballarat League Flag.

Thoroughbred
22 Feb 2007, 10:29

It was a stupid comment but I don't really rate interleague as a good guide of a league. There really needs to be a champions league or something. That could possibly sort out a few of these debates. Everyone thinks their league is the best around.

package
22 Feb 2007, 12:53
I think it is fair to say that East and Redan are in the best position to be considered the two stand out teams again going into this year. Sunbury have recruited yes, but have lost a few important players, no doubt will be one of the teams pushing east and redan anyway.
The rest is a raffle to see who can push up into the top 4. I have said previously I definitely think that Ballarat and Melton South have ability to make the 6 and push the top teams. Melton seem to have lost a hell of a lot of their best players, and only notable pick up is Darren Stanley who will be very handy you would think. Darley on the other hands losses been well publicised but in recent weeks there has been some posts and talk of them picking a few up so you would think they are a team still capable of making the 6 as they do every year. So from last year, and preseason rubbish talk as it all is, I would be saying KA your pretty right with Redan and East and Sunbury pushing hard, Ballarat certs to make 6, Darley I would tip to make the 6, ability to push the top 3 dependent on further recruiting, but Melton to be the only major slider, replaced by Melton South.
Not convinced lakers marsh sebas or melton will have the cattle to get there. Realistically, it should be a final FIVE!Who have sunbury lost bar little?I still think that it is a to horse race between sunbury,redan.

Hank Evans
22 Feb 2007, 13:06
Come on hankey pankey tell me you don't bat for the other team. Watching Brokeback is a good start!

K.A goes fishing with his bum-chums and the only thing he catches is AIDS. And can AIDS be transferred through oral sex? If so, Power better watch out.

Premiership
22 Feb 2007, 13:08
Who have sunbury lost bar little?I still think that it is a to horse race between sunbury,redan.

You may be right Package, both should be up there. Until we see that they have lost any players, whilst I do have a soft spot for the Redanies, last year was certainly one of the best most complete sides that I have seen in any country league in a long time. East are atleast going to be the same or be stronger again.

Sunbury are always a threat, going from last year, lost baird and little. Bairdy was a very good fwd, and little the best ruckmen in the league. They have replaced baird but havent little. It is all a guessing game at this stage, for me though, Sunbury need to improve on their side from last year to push east and redan all the way to the end, something they couldnt do last season going by results.

Kings Army
22 Feb 2007, 13:20
You may be right Package, both should be up there. Until we see that they have lost any players, whilst I do have a soft spot for the Redanies, last year was certainly one of the best most complete sides that I have seen in any country league in a long time. East are atleast going to be the same or be stronger again.

Sunbury are always a threat, going from last year, lost baird and little. Bairdy was a very good fwd, and little the best ruckmen in the league. They have replaced baird but havent little. It is all a guessing game at this stage, for me though, Sunbury need to improve on their side from last year to push east and redan all the way to the end, something they couldnt do last season going by results.

Payne and Charmers are also not playing at Sunbury.

Pat Carriss was named as the ruckman in the 06 team of the year and won the Sunbury B& F so if he stays fit can cover the loss of Little.

Kings Army
22 Feb 2007, 13:22
People are crying for rain, but if it were to rain heavy tomorrow, most grounds would end up looking like CHFL muddy bog pits from the 1980's.

Gradual watering with minimal usage is the go. Trust me, I am an expert in Horticulture as well as martial arts, so if you want to argue against me, I must warn you not to! Why? Because you are probably wrong and even if you are right, I could probably kick your arse.

Got it? Good.

Not going to argue with you hankey - not only do you grow your own dope you also particpate in bogan 80's sports.

Hank Evans
22 Feb 2007, 15:36
Not going to argue with you hankey - not only do you grow your own dope you also particpate in bogan 80's sports.

At least I participate in something other than sitting over the fence sucking down cans, Fat Boy.

Kings Army
22 Feb 2007, 15:47
At least I participate in something other than sitting over the fence sucking down cans, Fat Boy.

You participate! Well that is something. Is it like primary school and everyone gets a special ribbon for having a go? You must be a very proud little boy hankey!

Hank Evans
22 Feb 2007, 16:01
You participate! Well that is something. Is it like primary school and everyone gets a special ribbon for having a go? You must be a very proud little boy hankey!

Yeah, good one, special ribbons.

Just like all those 'Encouragement Awards' you used to get on Junior Presentation Day when you where younger. Dragging your fat arse along behind you in the back pocket for the Young Lions, dreaming of one day being someone around town. Eventually though, you grew up and realised how pathetic and ridiculous you looked and thought that you should just give up and stick to doing something you were good at - being fat, drinking cans, writing on the Internet and sucking Power off.

Congratulations mate, you've finally made it! You are someone! The big fat Sunbury joke!!!!!!!!!

Kings Army
22 Feb 2007, 16:12
Yeah, good one, special ribbons.

Just like all those 'Encouragement Awards' you used to get on Junior Presentation Day when you where younger. Dragging your fat arse along behind you in the back pocket for the Young Lions, dreaming of one day being someone around town. Eventually though, you grew up and realised how pathetic and ridiculous you looked and thought that you should just give up and stick to doing something you were good at - being fat, drinking cans, writing on the Internet and sucking Power off.

Congratulations mate, you've finally made it! You are someone! The big fat Sunbury joke!!!!!!!!!

Now hankey - you seem to be getting a little rattled. End of the day you particpate and you should be very proud of that. No one can ever take that away from you.

Sorry hankey - nothing to do with the young lions - I played for the mighty Gisborne Rookies! It may have been a long time ago but hey - I particpated.

learmonth
23 Feb 2007, 07:34
Now hankey - you seem to be getting a little rattled. End of the day you particpate and you should be very proud of that. No one can ever take that away from you.

Sorry hankey - nothing to do with the young lions - I played for the mighty Gisborne Rookies! It may have been a long time ago but hey - I particpated.

Cutting 50 Oranges KA, then only having 12 left for the Gisborne boys at half time due to you not being able to stop yaself from a little nibble, is hardly participating. Have another pie buddy......

bearsboy
23 Feb 2007, 07:45
It was a stupid comment but I don't really rate interleague as a good guide of a league. There really needs to be a champions league or something. That could possibly sort out a few of these debates. Everyone thinks their league is the best around.Just thought i'd stir thing's up a bit boy's . Would like to see the absolute cream of the 2 league's go head to head though, would be a ripper game.

Kings Army
23 Feb 2007, 08:36
Cutting 50 Oranges KA, then only having 12 left for the Gisborne boys at half time due to you not being able to stop yaself from a little nibble, is hardly participating. Have another pie buddy......

Had a good laugh about you yesterday - your comment about Sunbury being scared to play you at home. Word from Sunbury is you would hit the young Sunbury players but once an established player grabbed you you would "squeal like a pig."

Also some South players jumped on the band wagon calling you a flat track bully that lives on his brothers coat tails.

Now little piggy run back to you little junior comp and prentend to be a tough man to all the 18 year old players you come up against. Just be careful who is around when you do it.

learmonth
23 Feb 2007, 09:50
Had a good laugh about you yesterday - your comment about Sunbury being scared to play you at home. Word from Sunbury is you would hit the young Sunbury players but once an established player grabbed you you would "squeal like a pig."

Also some South players jumped on the band wagon calling you a flat track bully that lives on his brothers coat tails.

Now little piggy run back to you little junior comp and prentend to be a tough man to all the 18 year old players you come up against. Just be careful who is around when you do it.

U struggle with someone who throws it back at you KA (Cant handle constructive criticism). For one second I dont believe a word u say, as no one from Sunbury would give you the time of day. Your a wanna be, that no one has respect for in the ffotball world. At least I have some credentials as a player and coach, not like yourself. And who would be the Big Bad Sunbury players that would scare anyone..??? I cant think of one.?? They all rely on Serge standing up for them, and he is the smallest guy out there.
As for living in my brothers shadow, not a bad shadow to live in hey, He has been a fair footballer and administrtor. Better then living in Fat Cats shadow like yourself.

Left Footed Cat
23 Feb 2007, 09:57

Hasn't AJ retired yet, Bloody Hell. He looked past it when he was running around 5 minutes behind the play for Daylesford, with his size 50 shorts around his ankles, showing major bum crack to all.
AJ the kid basher wont be any value in the CHFL, most players that play in that league are 40 year old 100kg farmers who whinge about the drought. He wont mess with them, no one f u c k s with a farmer when there is a drought on.

Kings Army
23 Feb 2007, 10:17
U struggle with someone who throws it back at you KA (Cant handle constructive criticism). For one second I dont believe a word u say, as no one from Sunbury would give you the time of day. Your a wanna be, that no one has respect for in the ffotball world. At least I have some credentials as a player and coach, not like yourself. And who would be the Big Bad Sunbury players that would scare anyone..??? I cant think of one.?? They all rely on Serge standing up for them, and he is the smallest guy out there.
As for living in my brothers shadow, not a bad shadow to live in hey, He has been a fair footballer and administrtor. Better then living in Fat Cats shadow like yourself.

Constructive criticism? Cutting oranges - thanks for the feedback.

Don't believe a word I say - Well hero here is my way of proving it!

Serge is happy to take calls from anyone to confirm that you only intimidate young kids and squeal like a pig when taken on by somone your own age.
Any one on here with a connection to Sunbury get Powers number (go through the club if you need to). If he tells you any different I will apoligise for my mistake. If what I have said is true, you Learmonth must post your own apology to all the kids you have sniped in your entire career.

In or out?

learmonth
23 Feb 2007, 10:28
Constructive criticism? Cutting oranges - thanks for the feedback.

Don't believe a word I say - Well hero here is my way of proving it!

Serge is happy to take calls from anyone to confirm that you only intimidate young kids and squeal like a pig when taken on by somone your own age.
Any one on here with a connection to Sunbury get Powers number (go through the club if you need to). If he tells you any different I will apoligise for my mistake. If what I have said is true, you Learmonth must post your own apology to all the kids you have sniped in your entire career.

In or out?

Can u please call him Mark, as he wouldnt even know who you are... Squealed in our victory over them, thats were u must be getting that from,Have lost to Sunbury once in my life and that was in a prelim were they beat us by 11 points, and have beaten them twice and a draw, so I have a pretty good individual record over them. U name me a player I have had a run in with Sunbury Mr Gisborne from Sunbury rather then just stating things without examples..??, and as for Powers number I have it from Inter-league, so im one step in front of you already.

Keep name dropping buddy, U wish u were as good as me, and maybe if u had done a 1/4 of what i have done in footy and life, and not just living on my taxes, then maybe we migt be able to take you seriously...

Hope your ready for the ID cup practice match- Sunbury V Gisborne..

Over & Out tubby

Kings Army
23 Feb 2007, 10:52
Can u please call him Mark, as he wouldnt even know who you are... Squealed in our victory over them, thats were u must be getting that from,Have lost to Sunbury once in my life and that was in a prelim were they beat us by 11 points, and have beaten them twice and a draw, so I have a pretty good individual record over them. U name me a player I have had a run in with Sunbury Mr Gisborne from Sunbury rather then just stating things without examples..??, and as for Powers number I have it from Inter-league, so im one step in front of you already.

Keep name dropping buddy, U wish u were as good as me, and maybe if u had done a 1/4 of what i have done in footy and life, and not just living on my taxes, then maybe we migt be able to take you seriously...

Hope your ready for the ID cup practice match- Sunbury V Gisborne..

Over & Out tubby

Serge wouldn't know who I am? You are looking more and more like the stupid country hick everyone says you are. I was in his wedding party you knob.

Lost to Sunbury once?? What happened to you when Daylesford were copping 160 point hidings? Thats right you would pull out when things got to tough for you. Beat up the weak teams - s hit yourself against the strong ones.

But give him a call - he would not flinch for a second to tell you how weak you are. My money is on you s hitting your pants and getting a nervous twitch each time you look at a phone today.

chumpy
23 Feb 2007, 11:30
Keep name dropping buddy

Yeah, next he'll be claiming that Robert Henry once borrowed $20 off him.

learmonth
23 Feb 2007, 13:03
Serge wouldn't know who I am? You are looking more and more like the stupid country hick everyone says you are. I was in his wedding party you knob.

Lost to Sunbury once?? What happened to you when Daylesford were copping 160 point hidings? Thats right you would pull out when things got to tough for you. Beat up the weak teams - s hit yourself against the strong ones.

But give him a call - he would not flinch for a second to tell you how weak you are. My money is on you s hitting your pants and getting a nervous twitch each time you look at a phone today.

Still haven given me any facts KA, and I still dont believe you.. In his wedding party, u make me laugh more each time u type something. U really are spaced out in dream world. Get back to the local Mall and hang around with your drop kick unemployed associates.
U really are a joker KA, never backed of from any contest on a footy field, pity u couldnt fit through the gate to get on the ground..

Next you will saying that your mates with john Howard.. Well I guess he is your boss and pays your 160 p/week.

chumpy
23 Feb 2007, 13:06
Learmonth, give it up, the guys on the door at The Attic know him. He is big time.

learmonth
23 Feb 2007, 13:15
Learmonth, give it up, the guys on the door at The Attic know him. He is big time.

Woppee Woppee Doo.....

Kings Army
23 Feb 2007, 13:37
Still haven given me any facts KA, and I still dont believe you.. In his wedding party, u make me laugh more each time u type something. U really are spaced out in dream world. Get back to the local Mall and hang around with your drop kick unemployed associates.
U really are a joker KA, never backed of from any contest on a footy field, pity u couldnt fit through the gate to get on the ground..

Next you will saying that your mates with john Howard.. Well I guess he is your boss and pays your 160 p/week.

Would you like me to start a poll on this thread? It would take me 30 seconds to set up?

Are you:

A) a geniune hard at it tough player that is respected in the BFL

or

B) A squib that would only take on the young weak players.

Let me know if you want to roll the dice.

helmut
23 Feb 2007, 13:41
Would you like me to start a poll on this thread? It would take me 30 seconds to set up?

Are you:

or

1 vote for option B

learmonth
23 Feb 2007, 14:03

Are you:

or

Do what u like Mr Noone..... I dont care what people like u think, its never affected me and I quite enjoy your pathetic calls from the sidelines, and people like your goodself are only jealous. Ill leave it at that, as your wasting my time. Been reported once in my, so that takes your stats away from taking out weak young players. You are a person with no facts, and hides behind the keyboard. U seem to cop an awful bashing on the Bendigo thread aswell.... Must be telling u something....

Also atleast Im not shy in letting people know who I am..... Why dont you indulge yourself to all threads you talk on.....

learmonth
23 Feb 2007, 14:04
1 vote for option B

Thanks for the vote, must have come from when we beat your side comfotable both times...

Kings Army
23 Feb 2007, 14:07
Do what u like Mr Noone..... I dont care what people like u think, its never affected me and I quite enjoy your pathetic calls from the sidelines, and people like your goodself are only jealous. Ill leave it at that, as your wasting my time. Been reported once in my, so that takes your stats away from taking out weak young players. You are a person with no facts, and hides behind the keyboard. U seem to cop an awful bashing on the Bendigo thread aswell.... Must be telling u something....

Also atleast Im not shy in letting people know who I am..... Why dont you indulge yourself to all threads you talk on.....

End of the day we will let the votes do the talking.

Put me down for B as well.

A - 0
B - 2

Hank Evans
23 Feb 2007, 14:40
I vote A, because I hate K.A.

Iron Beast
23 Feb 2007, 14:46
I vote A, because I hate K.A.

I'll give an A too.

I have respect for the guy and what he has done. I'd be happy to play under him in the CHFL as he seems to be putting everything into his coaching. There are plenty out there who are happy just to do enough to get bye.

Barnestoneworth
23 Feb 2007, 15:24
I'll give an A too.

I have respect for the guy and what he has done. I'd be happy to play under him in the CHFL as he seems to be putting everything into his coaching. There are plenty out there who are happy just to do enough to get bye.

B for me. He is on himself

BOBB
23 Feb 2007, 16:37
Anyone vote we throw in a C) Learmoth & KA have homosexual tendancies...

prettyboy
23 Feb 2007, 17:08
:thumbsu: A for AJ......:cool:

His commitment to the club along with the encouragement AJ gives to the younger boys is what will ensure learmonths future is a success!!!!......all country clubs should be onto this nuff nuffs! :eek:

Venom
23 Feb 2007, 17:33

Are you:

or

definitely B, the blokes weak as p i s s

Venom
23 Feb 2007, 17:36
I'll give an A too.

get off your knees and sucking him off, trying to get a game!!! you're not going to get a game because you stick up for the weak dog!

Venom
23 Feb 2007, 17:38
:thumbsu: A for AJ......:cool:

His commitment to the club along with the encouragement AJ gives to the younger boys is what will ensure learmonths future is a success!!!!......all country clubs should be onto this nuff nuffs! :eek:
because he is ok around a club doesn't mean he isnt a weak dog who all he did was snipe young blokes throughout his whole career. I have to agree with KA for once, he squeales like a pig when anyone over the age of 19 comes at him.

bearsboy
23 Feb 2007, 18:58
B for me. He is on himselfI'll go with B . Learmonth sound's like a bit of a Doodle squeezer to me .

ROCK07
24 Feb 2007, 08:21
if any clubs out there are interested in playing a practice match on the following week ends of MARCH 9/10/11 , 16/17/18 , 23/24 , 30/31&APRIL 1
AND ALSO APRIL 6/7/8
The games will be against port colts fc we have won the last two premierships in the wrfl and we would be happy to negotiate venue
PM me your details thanx ROCK

Iron Beast
26 Feb 2007, 08:33
get off your knees and sucking him off, trying to get a game!!! you're not going to get a game because you stick up for the weak dog!

Great post. You are obviously a highly educated being.

I don't have anything to do with Learmonth or Daylesford. But I would have to say from a distance the Beachem's did good things for those clubs.

You have no idea who I am and I don't have any idea who you are. I've got enough sense not to jump to conclusions about your football ability, however, bagging a player out over the net hardly takes courage.

I actually find Learmonth's posts entertaining and generally have a bit of substance to them. Some are misinformed and complete bull$hit but at least he makes a valuable contribution to this site.

simplesimon
26 Feb 2007, 09:51
Just wondering if the devils are ready to announce any recruits yet? I have heard they have a few close to signing on the dotted line.
Maybe Footy Fat or Vineyard can help with this??

learmonth
26 Feb 2007, 14:40
Definately 'b' for me....
Fat useless pig, who got exposed playing in the interleague games.
Still with your missus KA?

Got exposed........... In what way noddy. You state all these comments with no examples. Its better to get exposed at that level then not to make it at all.???? You Darly people make me laugh, and why would u want to know if im still with my missus..??? Has nothing to do with football....

Anyway Lightning Premiership coming up with Ballarat my tip to win it, are very fit and are ready to go.

Redan won the super 6's cricket Yesterday with a win over Ballarat in the G/Final.. Thats the double for them...

Premiership
26 Feb 2007, 15:15
No matter what anyone says about learmonth on a personal level, analyse his football record, multiple interleague representation and coaching his team into the finals in his first year must mean he can play and coach abit. How much is what should be debated.

On the lightning premiership, is this the round robin thing the BFL play on the one day, 20 min games or something, does any side really give a flying rats about this day, does it actually equate to any sort of form line going into the season???

James Kerr
27 Feb 2007, 07:30
Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

Dar-ley

*CLAP CLAP CLAP*

*squeezes hands together*

19th Man
27 Feb 2007, 10:07
No matter what anyone says about learmonth on a personal level, analyse his football record, multiple interleague representation and coaching his team into the finals in his first year must mean he can play and coach abit. How much is what should be debated.

On the lightning premiership, is this the round robin thing the BFL play on the one day, 20 min games or something, does any side really give a flying rats about this day, does it actually equate to any sort of form line going into the season???

The lightening premiership is just a money spinner for the league.

It's amazing that the only two CHFL teams involved are Learmonth (AJ) and Gordon (Craig Baker). Can anyone else see the connection?

Premiership
27 Feb 2007, 11:31
Exactly, fair enough learmonth they played finals last year, but gordon??? Why would you not try to get waubra or hepburn.
I am yet to see this format except at interleague level where I believe it is a crock.
The people I talk to say more of an inconvenience than anything. Back in my day there used to be a night comp ran at Northern Oval that ran through the preseason, was sensational and a good form line to the year ahead for clubs, was taken more seriously by crowds and players.

learmonth
27 Feb 2007, 12:11
Exactly, fair enough learmonth they played finals last year, but gordon??? Why would you not try to get waubra or hepburn.
I am yet to see this format except at interleague level where I believe it is a crock.
The people I talk to say more of an inconvenience than anything. Back in my day there used to be a night comp ran at Northern Oval that ran through the preseason, was sensational and a good form line to the year ahead for clubs, was taken more seriously by crowds and players.

My opinion would be to run it over 2 weekends and extend the halves to 20 min which would be of more value or at two locations within close proximity over the 1 day. Biggest problem is availability of grounds!
Its all to do with sponsorship with Eclipse, and the league must give back to them, to keep their support which inturn helps all BFL clubs financially. If your relying on form etc, your kidding yourself, except it is very valuable for the CHFL teams as they play against higher standard teams and better players to get them ready for their own season.

Premiership
27 Feb 2007, 12:36
Agree learmonth, I just feel if this was a worthwhile preseason comp, over a month period, with even 2 30 minute qtrs, the clubs would take it more seriously in terms of genuine match practice and play their better players.

Why don't the BFL even play an East v West tournament. Run the same concept with longer qtrs down in the east with the eastern teams, and the same up here with the western teams, then the two winners play a full on match the following weekend for the chocolates???

Velvetsledgehammer
27 Feb 2007, 13:33
Why don't the BFL even play an East v West tournament. Run the same concept with longer qtrs down in the east with the eastern teams, and the same up here with the western teams, then the two winners play a full on match the following weekend for the chocolates???
[/quote]

Good concept East V West but that would be rewarding the mediocracy of Eastern teams like Bacchus Marsh & Darley. Sunbury will be the only Eastern side in the top 4 this year.
Western teams East Point, Ballarat, Redan, + Sunbury top 4 in that order.

ROOTA#6
27 Feb 2007, 20:30
The night series that the Central Murray league plays up in Swan Hill is a good model to work from i think. Two divisions Central Murray in Div 1, and a mixture of district league teams in Div 2. Play a two game round robin over a couple of weeks, Semi finals then Finals. Has been very successful over many years

Vineyard
28 Feb 2007, 11:44
Just wondering if the devils are ready to announce any recruits yet? I have heard they have a few close to signing on the dotted line.
Maybe Footy Fat or Vineyard can help with this??

Apparently Luke Guerra has signed and a few more to follow suit. Better to wait until done deals before pumping it all over the press and then have half of them leave because they were never going there as happens in all leagues.

19th Man
28 Feb 2007, 12:00
Premiership, you seem to be in the know down Melton Sth way, L Gallop, a loss or glad to see the back of him?

Premiership
28 Feb 2007, 12:53
Premiership, you seem to be in the know down Melton Sth way, L Gallop, a loss or glad to see the back of him?

19th, I am more a western end man by location and grass roots etc, just know a few people involved in eastern end clubs from my football career days in vfl/afl. Not really aware of L Gallop myself sorry, I remember there was a Gallop years ago that played, I think he may have actually coached one of the Melton teams, think he may have even played up at ballan, was a fair player and could hold his own, if any relative and has his blood lines could probably play a bit but sorry wrong person to ask. Nothing been mentioned by my eastern end sources in any talks about those clubs.

Do you know him, what do you think?

Bernie Q
28 Feb 2007, 15:24
19th, I am more a western end man by location and grass roots etc, just know a few people involved in eastern end clubs from my football career days in vfl/afl. Not really aware of L Gallop myself sorry, I remember there was a Gallop years ago that played, I think he may have actually coached one of the Melton teams, think he may have even played up at ballan, was a fair player and could hold his own, if any relative and has his blood lines could probably play a bit but sorry wrong person to ask. Nothing been mentioned by my eastern end sources in any talks about those clubs.

I don't know if I've read this wrong, but, Vfl? Afl? Who did you play for Premiership??

clackas
28 Feb 2007, 15:39

I see Gallop is heading up this way to the Ovens & Murray to play with Wangaratta Rovers - can he play?

19th Man
28 Feb 2007, 16:26

Don't know him, never really taken any notice when watching BFL games, but his name does ring a bell as having been a good junior. Not sure if he played TAC cup.

N Bartos
28 Feb 2007, 19:24
Don't know him, never really taken any notice when watching BFL games, but his name does ring a bell as having been a good junior. Not sure if he played TAC cup.

Who was the bloke Gallop that used to play for Melton Sth about 10 years ago? If my memories right he was a complete nut case.

cockroach
1 Mar 2007, 07:02
He dosn't have a bad build and has a great kick on him.. Watching from opposition side i dont think of him as much of a player. Hes got a bad attitude by the way he gos about things by the looks of it.

never developed since juniors plays one good game then he is missing
plenty of talent bad work ethic tried to get him to melton when stanley coached
went to albion and never got a kick
played at melton sth and never showed much

learmonth
1 Mar 2007, 07:56
Exposed in the sense you didn't get a kick when you were playing at a higher level. The only reason you got a kick at bfl level was because of your size, when mached up against someone of the same size you were made to look silly. Cant deny it either.
As a coach i wouldn't know. But as a player.. Just..

Size, Im only 6ft noddy, so not sure what u mean there. As for not getting a kick, im sure none of this fuss would be made regarding my playing ability unless I had a few kicks in my playing days. Have played against many good players and had a few top 10 finishes in league medal, inter-league premiership player, team of the year, best in final series, U really are hammering out some powerful facts.
As for a coach, I cant be judged on 1 season, so we will and see.....

19th Man
1 Mar 2007, 09:02
Size, Im only 6ft noddy, so not sure what u mean there. As for not getting a kick, im sure none of this fuss would be made regarding my playing ability unless I had a few kicks in my playing days. Have played against many good players and had a few top 10 finishes in league medal, inter-league premiership player, team of the year, best in final series, U really are hammering out some powerful facts.
As for a coach, I cant be judged on 1 season, so we will and see.....

Is someone writing these posts for you Learmonth? the reason I ask is that you actually sound literate, with a half decent footy brain. That's not really the AJ I've seen from behind the fence in the past.

onthecouch
1 Mar 2007, 11:04
Can some one please give me an update on the marsh are there recruits still training or are the rumours correct on them falling through? Is it final 5 or 6 in Bfl these days.

Lica maybe you can help me out.

Cheers

James Kerr
1 Mar 2007, 12:20
Can some one please give me an update on the marsh are there recruits still training or are the rumours correct on them falling through? Is it final 5 or 6 in Bfl these days.

Cheers

Robby Clapp is confirmed.

Lica
1 Mar 2007, 16:23

Cheers

I haven't been down to training that often in the last few weeks but when I have asked the question I have been told everything is coming along fine as far as recruits are concerned.
I posted a while ago that some had dropped out because of injury (the two whitten boys) and another couple got really good job offers from back home so couldn't commit - which is understandable.
Joel West is still on board, Nick Becker is still on board, Jarryd Holt (I think thats his first name) has been training and I am sure there are others.
I'm not a club offical so there could be more (as a supporter I certainly hope so) so maybe Patty O'furnicha or Bernie Q or even Venom could shed some light on this topic.
One thing is for sure, the team they have will be a lot, lot, lot, lot fitter than they have been in previous years. They are doing some hard yards on the track.

Bernie Q
2 Mar 2007, 09:06
I haven't been down to training that often in the last few weeks but when I have asked the question I have been told everything is coming along fine as far as recruits are concerned.
I posted a while ago that some had dropped out because of injury (the two whitten boys) and another couple got really good job offers from back home so couldn't commit - which is understandable.
Joel West is still on board, Nick Becker is still on board, Jarryd Holt (I think thats his first name) has been training and I am sure there are others.
I'm not a club offical so there could be more (as a supporter I certainly hope so) so maybe Patty O'furnicha or Bernie Q or even Venom could shed some light on this topic.
One thing is for sure, the team they have will be a lot, lot, lot, lot fitter than they have been in previous years. They are doing some hard yards on the track.

Lica, From what I have heard this week, I think we may have started with a possible 10 starters for the 07 season, which I think maybe down to 6 or 7. I have heard we have picked up a young bloke from Hepburn (Saunders?) to throw into the mix, not sure of capabilities, heard is quick and from all reports Holt is the pick of the bunch, stay tuned.

learmonth
2 Mar 2007, 09:18
Lica, From what I have heard this week, I think we may have started with a possible 10 starters for the 07 season, which I think maybe down to 6 or 7. I have heard we have picked up a young bloke from Hepburn (Saunders?) to throw into the mix, not sure of capabilities, heard is quick and from all reports Holt is the pick of the bunch, stay tuned.

Trent Saunders is his name. Played mostly in the two's at hepburn and the CHFL is a fair bit behind the BFL and is a former Darley player. Great bloke, but will make no impact in the BFL. Is very fit and hard at it, just struggles in reading the play.

Bernie Q
2 Mar 2007, 09:24
Trent Saunders is his name. Played mostly in the two's at hepburn and the CHFL is a fair bit behind the BFL and is a former Darley player. Great bloke, but will make no impact in the BFL. Is very fit and hard at it, just struggles in reading the play.

Learmonth, has he played in any of the Premierships with Hepburn?

saucehead
2 Mar 2007, 09:35
beside connors, larsen and hunter have the marsh lost anyone of note? surely anymore losses will leave them where they where last year...

Bernie Q
2 Mar 2007, 09:45
beside connors, larsen and hunter have the marsh lost anyone of note? surely anymore losses will leave them where they where last year...

I think the Ruckman Rowe may have been picked up by Werribee, needs confirmation though

ablett19
2 Mar 2007, 10:55

If it is the same Joel West that played Pioneers a couple of years ago, then he is a handy pick up. I watched a handful of games and he was the standout ruckman in each game... Very skilled tap work and good grab around the grounds... Where has he been playing since TAC Cup days??

learmonth
2 Mar 2007, 10:59
Learmonth, has he played in any of the Premierships with Hepburn?

No he hasnt, but probably should have played in one. Seems to be the scapegoat and is a specialist 1st emergency. Has played in all their 2's premierships.

sfc2007
2 Mar 2007, 11:19
D. Bartram being chased by the swans, any truth to that rumour?

McCleanMagic
2 Mar 2007, 12:13
How are ballarat shaping up this year? They have picked up a few handy players from uni i have heard! Could be their year?

BOPPER
2 Mar 2007, 13:55
How are ballarat shaping up this year? They have picked up a few handy players from uni i have heard! Could be their year?

Should be top 4 at least but Ballarat Footy teams should never rely on Uni players unless the player/s are recruited for footy and then study at Uni.

Premiership
2 Mar 2007, 14:15
The redanies are still trying to hold the list together as best as possible I am told. Knowles and Cummings off to bungaree however keen to hold onto Nicho.

Lica
2 Mar 2007, 16:12
If it is the same Joel West that played Pioneers a couple of years ago, then he is a handy pick up. I watched a handful of games and he was the standout ruckman in each game... Very skilled tap work and good grab around the grounds... Where has he been playing since TAC Cup days??

Thats the one. Has been impressive on the training track when I have watched. Can run all day and has the tank of a midfielder.
He played for the Bombers in the VFL last year.

Lica
2 Mar 2007, 16:18

Yeh you have confirmed what I have heard. Gee he is fit though. Will get opportunities at the Cobras to prove himself you would think.

Left Footed Cat
2 Mar 2007, 19:17
Yeh you have confirmed what I have heard. Gee he is fit though. Will get opportunities at the Cobras to prove himself you would think.
He is fit, but that is all, foot skills are very ordinary, and he fumbles a lot. Will fit in nice at cobra's.

Lica
2 Mar 2007, 21:22
He is fit, but that is all, foot skills are very ordinary, and he fumbles a lot. Will fit in nice at cobra's.

Foot skills could do with some improvement to make it at BFL 1s standard, haven't noticed the fumbles really, could fit right in at Darley to if all the talk of players leaving are true.

19th Man
3 Mar 2007, 12:21
Foot skills could do with some improvement to make it at BFL 1s standard, haven't noticed the fumbles really, could fit right in at Darley to if all the talk of players leaving are true.

I know your in response to LFC, but couldn't help but notice another two players who have submitted clearances from Darley. A long list, not sure if all senoirs, but all the pre-season talk seems to have been true.

Rubba
4 Mar 2007, 10:43
I think the Ruckman Rowe may have been picked up by Werribee, needs confirmation though

Yes I believe this is correct and he was doing well for them last year so he will be missed as they didnt really have anything else over 6ft 2 that would worry anyone.
Rowe will benefit from a couple years in that system, just like
Redans - Peace, Waight,
Lakers - Tayler
Ballarat's - Sam Caldow.
Sebas - Shultz

Rubba
4 Mar 2007, 11:00
The redanies are still trying to hold the list together as best as possible I am told. Knowles and Cummings off to bungaree however keen to hold onto Nicho.

Hey Premiership, you seem to know a bit about Redan. I just had a look on Central Highlands page.
Can you confirm Fieldy is staying, as I have been told that he is heading back to Avoca, but I thought it was next year not this year? Also heard that a few ex-North boys are planning to paly with him next year at Avoca?

wonker (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=35013) vbmenu_register("postmenu_6851816", true);
BigFooty Member

Club: Unlisted

Re: Central Highlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don't Argue http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=6848454#post6848454)
I know they are praying for that. It could be a long shot though. Like Jamie Bond back to Talbot.

Julian Field will definately line up at Redan this season and rightly so. The strange thing is that Julian was equal club B & F, won one of the medals that was presented for best on the ground in a winning grand final - probably had the most possessions of any player in Redan's premiership win but told me the other day that he wasn't 100% happy with the way he played throughout the year. He feels he owes Redan another season and the Avoca club wish him all the best. As for him lining up for Avoca again one day. There is probably a 99.9% chance that he will be wearing his old number 16 on the barber's pole stripes sooner rather than later. Jules is a quality person who plays quality football and he will know when the time is right to return.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=6851816) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/quote.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=6851816) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/multiquote_off.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=6851816) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/quickreply.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=6851816)
wonkerView Public Profile (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=35013)Send a private message to wonker (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/private.php?do=newpm&u=35013)Find More Posts by wonker (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?do=finduser&u=35013)Add wonker to Your Buddy List (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/profile.php?do=addlist&userlist=buddy&u=35013)

Vineyard
4 Mar 2007, 11:23

have been over 55 players on the track the last few sessions at Darley Park and a great buzz in air the while i enjoy a few cans watching, with a wry smile on the face.

somehow i dont think that all the rumours are true. obviously all the south/subury guys have gone back to their original clubs but no locals have left. Left a big budget and have been some new faces so will try and get these recruits names.

Chris Magill is flying at Werribee so he would be the only major loss but still available during VFL byes etc. Great effort by the kid and Power/Scoble should be congratulated on blooding him early into senior footy.

Venom
4 Mar 2007, 11:28
Correct me if i'm wrong but i think he played at the Western Jets for a while.

Lica
4 Mar 2007, 11:30
have been over 55 players on the track the last few sessions at Darley Park and a great buzz in air the while i enjoy a few cans watching, with a wry smile on the face.

somehow i dont think that all the rumours are true. obviously all the south/subury guys have gone back to their original clubs but no locals have left. Left a big budget and have been some new faces so will try and get these recruits names.

Chris Magill is flying at Werribee so he would be the only major loss but still available during VFL byes etc. Great effort by the kid and Power/Scoble should be congratulated on blooding him early into senior footy.

Thats good numbers. Is that 1's, 2's and U18's mixed and training together??

Venom
4 Mar 2007, 11:35

Cheers
Jarryd Holt is confirmed. he signed Wednesday night

Venom
4 Mar 2007, 11:37
Yeah right on Bernie. Holt is an absolute gun footballer from all reports on him. have to wait and se though. Trent Saunders from Hepburn is a very handy footballer. quick and will run all day with fairly good skills

Venom
4 Mar 2007, 11:39
Yeah mate it is the Same Joel West. He has been playing 2's at Bendigo Bombers and pushed into the 1's mid last year. seems to be the goods but his ego may prove to be the difficult thing to overcome for the club with him.

Gadget
5 Mar 2007, 08:42
[quote=Rubba;6860332]Hey Premiership, you seem to know a bit about Redan. I just had a look on Central Highlands page.
Can you confirm Fieldy is staying, as I have been told that he is heading back to Avoca, but I thought it was next year not this year? Also heard that a few ex-North boys are planning to paly with him next year at Avoca?

Can anyone confirm that Jez Edwards is back in town?

Premiership
5 Mar 2007, 09:10
[quote=Gadget;6867180][quote=Rubba;6860332]Hey Premiership, you seem to know a bit about Redan. I just had a look on Central Highlands page.

Couldnt say 100% that Fieldy is def playing, I am told he is expected to though, similar situation to last year with his body being major issue for commitment, Redan were very smart managing him throughout the year. It worked as from the final series I saw, best midfielder in the competition you would do everything in your power to keep. I to have been told he will return to Avoca at some point, however he enjoyed Redan last year and Redan are certainly keen to hold the list together as best they can with other losses. Would expect him to play at this stage.
Dont know about JED though.

me02
5 Mar 2007, 09:46
Can anyone confirm that Jez Edwards is back in town?[/QUOTE]

jez edwards is back and looking fit. ready to play and has signed up. quite a lucrative deal i must say. not really. i have no idea.

Kings Army
5 Mar 2007, 10:05
Big intra club at Sunbury las week. The big surprise was the Justin Burt going toe to toe with Pat Cariss in the ruck. The birdman has not played a competitive game in 7 years but held his own against the BFL team of the year Ruckman. Could be this be the biggest 2nd coming since christ. Pat has some work to do to hold the number 1 ruck spot.

Power is still in full recruit mode with some big names about to put pen to paper. Sunbury are coming - there is now no doubt about that.

jets06
5 Mar 2007, 10:17
Big intra club at Sunbury las week. The big surprise was the Justin Burt going toe to toe with Pat Cariss in the ruck. The birdman has not played a competitive game in 7 years but held his own against the BFL team of the year Ruckman. Could be this be the biggest 2nd coming since christ. Pat has some work to do to hold the number 1 ruck spot.

Power is still in full recruit mode with some big names about to put pen to paper. Sunbury are coming - there is now no doubt about that.Is Aaron Thomas a chance of returning from Strathmore, apparently was at training last week and non commital as to where he will play this season.

Kings Army
5 Mar 2007, 10:24
Is Aaron Thomas a chance of returning from Strathmore, apparently was at training last week and non commital as to where he will play this season.

Not sure on the A-train - Would be a massive gain with his development at Strathmore.

Left Footed Cat
5 Mar 2007, 11:37
Not sure on the A-train - Would be a massive gain with his development at Strathmore.
It will be interesting to see A-Trains development, tell me KA has A-Train slept a night since 2003. I hear he likes to 'Party', if you know what I mean. The guy is always revving, like Gaddo, the Lou Read and biscuits diet seems to be the norm at Sunbury.

19th Man
5 Mar 2007, 11:59
There seems to be a hell of alot of good talent leaving the BFL this year.
Names like: Nesbitt, Laundry, Gilbert, Possibly Field, Edwards, Baird, Grenfell, Porter, Vimpany, Little etc

Many more names that escape, why is it so?

Gadget
5 Mar 2007, 14:08
[quote=Gadget;6867180][quote=Rubba;6860332]Hey Premiership, you seem to know a bit about Redan. I just had a look on Central Highlands page.

Couldnt say 100% that Fieldy is def playing, I am told he is expected to though, similar situation to last year with his body being major issue for commitment, Redan were very smart managing him throughout the year. It worked as from the final series I saw, best midfielder in the competition you would do everything in your power to keep. I to have been told he will return to Avoca at some point, however he enjoyed Redan last year and Redan are certainly keen to hold the list together as best they can with other losses. Would expect him to play at this stage.
Dont know about JED though.
Found out at lunch that Edwards is back and that you signed a bloke from Mildura on the weekend? Would that be a bloke that the swans were after aswell?

FootyFat
5 Mar 2007, 15:26

You have been reported for striking against Darley twice have'nt you