View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

Scoots
16 Mar 2007, 14:47
Was talking to a few boys from Redan at lunch today, they mentioned Redan have set a clear benchmark this season in terms of trainors. Got a tall blonde piece from Uni to rub all the aches and pains and do the strapping. Glamour apparantely.

They said they signed 6 new blokes just because of the trainor.

Bernie Q
16 Mar 2007, 15:10
Was talking to a few boys from Redan at lunch today, they mentioned Redan have set a clear benchmark this season in terms of trainors. Got a tall blonde piece from Uni to rub all the aches and pains and do the strapping. Glamour apparantely.

Scoots are you any chance of getting to training and taking a camera with you, would make for a good post, might have a few more new recruits if results are as you say, go the long legged blonde!!

Thats_Special
16 Mar 2007, 15:17
For guys looking for something to do on the 21st April..

Confirmation...

Round 1.. Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Diggers Rest at Clarke Oval, Riddell Road Sunbury.

All the leagues that dont start until May 5th, get along and watch local rivalry at its best, the day will start at 10.00am with the Under 18's, 12pm with the Kangaroos Reserves unfurling the clubs first ever premiership and then the Main Event at 2pm..

It will be a massive day, hopefully everyone can come along and enjoy the day.... :thumbsu:

Venom
16 Mar 2007, 15:20
Watkins who won the henderson medal played at Bacchus Marsh? Wayne Cracknell and Sutherland were exceptional players in their day. Hehir is also a terrific footballer. Is he still playing?
think hehir is playing maybe at ballan? or somewhere but he is still getting round having a kick or leather

Velvetsledgehammer
16 Mar 2007, 15:40
Scoots are you any chance of getting to training and taking a camera with you, would make for a good post, might have a few more new recruits if results are as you say, go the long legged blonde!!

Scoots would spend plenty of time on the rub down table, so I reckon he should be able to get some results of the rubdown chicks first hand!!

billylid
16 Mar 2007, 15:53
think hehir is playing maybe at ballan? or somewhere but he is still getting round having a kick or leather

pretty sure he signed on with mytrelford in the Owens and Murray League for 07

Gadget
16 Mar 2007, 16:19

Where was lunch scoots?

Venom
16 Mar 2007, 18:21
pretty sure he signed on with mytrelford in the Owens and Murray League for 07
cheers, i only knew that he was playing with Ballan at the end of last year.

Enchanted
17 Mar 2007, 13:48
[quote=Kings Army;6954037]Interleague is cancelled due to the late start.

I have heard that they maybe playing a game on a Tuesday at some stage of the year just to get a rep side up.

Also went past the devils training last night and whilst snaring a free sausage met Darley's new recruit Paul Lewis. Signed last night. Not sure on the whole details about him but he was on Geelong's list in the mid to late 90's and played up in the central murray area after that. Just came back from overseas.

Should be a very handy mature pick up for the Devils. Think he is 29 so will help the young kids for sure.

And apparently possibly more recruits to follow suit in the next week or so. Genuine buzz at the club.

Get over Darley Vineyard!! last i heard there was 9 other sides in the comp.. how about the league starts realising that and invest some time in those clubs other than Darley.. not getting the WEST ADELAIDE operations manager job might of been because of this very fact!!

DrWho
17 Mar 2007, 14:28

:D :D :D :D :D :D might be alot of groin injuries round Redan this year!!!

learmonth
17 Mar 2007, 14:43
[quote=Vineyard;6954147]

Get over Darley Vineyard!! last i heard there was 9 other sides in the comp.. how about the league starts realising that and invest some time in those clubs other than Darley.. not getting the WEST ADELAIDE operations manager job might of been because of this very fact!!

If u knew your facts KA, Wardy knocked it back due to certain reasons, he was there number 1 guy, that they wanted. But as I have stated all along, U dont know anyone of importance, and noone knows who you are, except for the clown that is disliked by all on this site and Bendigo thread.

Vineyard
18 Mar 2007, 12:16
[quote=Vineyard;6954147]

and i am not wardy ya d69khead!!!

Vineyard
18 Mar 2007, 12:27
[quote=Gadget;6953647]Most likely 5 or 6 from sunbury, 4 or 5 from Redan & East... Then fill in the gaps between the other teams.

From the BFL website:

Following a meeting with the Bendigo FL and the WorkSafe VCFL, the Ballarat FL is pleased to confirm arrangements for the 2007 OptusWorld Ballarat FL representative football & netball sides.

Senior Football:
Goldfield Challenge Match Vs Bendigo FL
Date: Tuesday 5th June 2007
Venue: QEO, Bendigo
Starting Time: 7.15pm The game will take the format of an Under 23? game, with each side permitted 5 over age players amongst a squad of 26 players. The game will be played over 4 X 20min Qtrs, plus time on.

Who would the 5 over age players be? I reckon it would be out of Jordan x2 , Field, Edwards, Cape, miller, sutton, mcmahon and there would have to be one from sunbury. Have the key posts filled and on-ballers. Thats if they all want to play. 18 games straight is going to make it tough.

Who are some of the young kids going around?

Gadget
19 Mar 2007, 09:19
[quote=Gadget;6953647]Most likely 5 or 6 from sunbury, 4 or 5 from Redan & East... Then fill in the gaps between the other teams.

From the BFL website:

Following a meeting with the Bendigo FL and the WorkSafe VCFL, the Ballarat FL is pleased to confirm arrangements for the 2007 OptusWorld Ballarat FL representative football & netball sides.

Senior Football:
Goldfield Challenge Match Vs Bendigo FL
Date: Tuesday 5th June 2007
Venue: QEO, Bendigo
Starting Time: 7.15pm The game will take the format of an Under 23? game, with each side permitted 5 over age players amongst a squad of 26 players. The game will be played over 4 X 20min Qtrs, plus time on.

Who would the 5 over age players be? I reckon it would be out of Jordan x2 , Field, Edwards, Cape, miller, sutton, mcmahon and there would have to be one from sunbury. Have the key posts filled and on-ballers. Thats if they all want to play. 18 games straight is going to make it tough.

Who are some of the young kids going around?
Just make it a U/23 game as the blokes above would most likely not be interested in a pointless game anyway.

Kings Army
19 Mar 2007, 09:52
[quote=Enchanted;6962822]

If u knew your facts KA, Wardy knocked it back due to certain reasons, he was there number 1 guy, that they wanted. But as I have stated all along, U dont know anyone of importance, and noone knows who you are, except for the clown that is disliked by all on this site and Bendigo thread.

It was Enchanted's post you f uck head. You look more and more like a window licker with every post.

Who do you know hero? Your brother does not count for someone of importance. You 2 were forced to sit out and watch drill sessions at Ballarat because you kept stuffing them up.

I do know Keenan however - important enough for you???

jets06
19 Mar 2007, 10:07
[quote=learmonth;6963113]

It was Enchanted's post you f uck head. You look more and more like a window licker with every post.

Who do you know hero? Your brother does not count for someone of importance. You 2 were forced to sit out and watch drill sessions at Ballarat because you kept stuffing them up.

I do know Keenan however - important enough for you???Sunbury played intra match on Friday evening and looked alright. Not sure where Aaron Thomas will fit in as looked to me be very overweight and not interested. Where will all their gun recruits play? Has Lee James signed at Sunbury or just using them as a training venue?? I noticed he has pout in clearance from Riddell to Mulwala, would be a very handy pick-up. Will be long nights at selection this year for Power & Co. Sunbury will finish top 2

Kings Army
19 Mar 2007, 10:49
[quote=Kings Army;6975668]Sunbury played intra match on Friday evening and looked alright. Not sure where Aaron Thomas will fit in as looked to me be very overweight and not interested. Where will all their gun recruits play? Has Lee James signed at Sunbury or just using them as a training venue?? I noticed he has pout in clearance from Riddell to Mulwala, would be a very handy pick-up. Will be long nights at selection this year for Power & Co. Sunbury will finish top 2

I think A-train will play full back - can be back up to Pat Carriss but your right not fit at this stage. Lee James had 0 kicks 0 marks 0 handballs in the intra club game. May show the difference between the RDFL and the BFL is bigger than most think.

Sirvarlis and Henry will start round 1 in the middle, McCabe HFF or wing, Houlihan at FF and Beattie next to him. Mark's younger brother has been exceptional in the practice matches and is also a chance to play round 1. Mark may miss the early rounds after his little sister bit him yesterday and took a big chunk out of his arm.

simplesimon
19 Mar 2007, 12:03
[quote=jets06;6975749]

I think A-train will play full back - can be back up to Pat Carriss but your right not fit at this stage. Lee James had 0 kicks 0 marks 0 handballs in the intra club game. May show the difference between the RDFL and the BFL is bigger than most think.

Sirvarlis and Henry will start round 1 in the middle, McCabe HFF or wing, Houlihan at FF and Beattie next to him. Mark's younger brother has been exceptional in the practice matches and is also a chance to play round 1. Mark may miss the early rounds after his little sister bit him yesterday and took a big chunk out of his arm.

Bit him!!??? interesting stuff.

Kings Army
19 Mar 2007, 12:08
[quote=Kings Army;6976007]

Bit him!!??? interesting stuff.

I thought it was more funny than interesting until I saw the damage. It would have been the fast 50 metres she has run in a while.

Premiership
19 Mar 2007, 14:20
KA I have only seen McCabe play 3 or 4 times, maybe the Darley guys are better to comment on this, but surely he would be playing on ball at Sunbury. Without knowing much about Savalis, although isnt he coming from a lower league, and never seen Henry play, after going on McCabes finals series last year, if he aint playing on ball then look out Sunbury.

Kings Army
19 Mar 2007, 14:30
KA I have only seen McCabe play 3 or 4 times, maybe the Darley guys are better to comment on this, but surely he would be playing on ball at Sunbury. Without knowing much about Savalis, although isnt he coming from a lower league, and never seen Henry play, after going on McCabes finals series last year, if he aint playing on ball then look out Sunbury.

If Power is fit he Sarvlais and Henry will start, Corey Brown as well. Sarvalis will be good - hard in and under player - he was Captain of parkside so Sunbury get added leadership from him as well.

McCabe will play everywhere - him, Griffen, Lewis will all rotate through the middle at different stages. They have a lot of options in the middle - but will they be quick enough to go with East Point is the worry.

Gadget
19 Mar 2007, 15:38
If Power is fit he Sarvlais and Henry will start, Corey Brown as well. Sarvalis will be good - hard in and under player - he was Captain of parkside so Sunbury get added leadership from him as well.

McCabe will play everywhere - him, Griffen, Lewis will all rotate through the middle at different stages. They have a lot of options in the middle - but will they be quick enough to go with East Point is the worry.
I would say that Sunbury, Ballarat & Redan would have a quicker midfield that East KA? Faull doesn't leave the middle, Hutchinson plays goes forward but tends to float through the middle of ground, B.Jordon would be the only worry but a negative/fit player can run with him all day. You can through Banwell in the mix but he can be found out if you put a bloke on him that can run as hard the other way and exploit his defence.

youhatehim
19 Mar 2007, 15:41
KA When, where and what grades are playing in the Gisborne vs Sunbury game coming up?

Kings Army
19 Mar 2007, 15:58
I would say that Sunbury, Ballarat & Redan would have a quicker midfield that East KA? Faull doesn't leave the middle, Hutchinson plays goes forward but tends to float through the middle of ground, B.Jordon would be the only worry but a negative/fit player can run with him all day. You can through Banwell in the mix but he can be found out if you put a bloke on him that can run as hard the other way and exploit his defence.

I can't argue with you as I only saw East Point once last year. They came from 10 goals down at Sunbury to win by 10 goals. Maybe when a team has a 20 goal turnaround they look faster than what they are. But I thought there ball movement and speed was exceptional. I still think speed at Sunbury is the big concern.

Kings Army
19 Mar 2007, 16:05
KA When, where and what grades are playing in the Gisborne vs Sunbury game coming up?

31st of March - 95% sure it will be at Sunbury as it was at Gisborne last year. All three grades will be playing.

Look to Sunbury to field a very strong team. Power still has a burning hatred of Gisborne. Ever since his first game as a 17 year old - he ran out and beacuse he looked 10 the crowd at Gisborne were in fits of laughter. It was like a mexican wave of laughing that followed him to the forward pocket.
Not sure he ever recovered and maybe the reason for is small man syndrome.

lakersman
19 Mar 2007, 17:06

I think you can leave ballarat out of that thanks mate....Redan And Sunbury and east point have probably the quickest midfeild in the comp. Ballarat Don't there just one of those mediocre football clubs.

bearsboy
20 Mar 2007, 09:02
31st of March - 95% sure it will be at Sunbury as it was at Gisborne last year. All three grades will be playing.

Look to Sunbury to field a very strong team. Power still has a burning hatred of Gisborne. Ever since his first game as a 17 year old - he ran out and beacuse he looked 10 the crowd at Gisborne were in fits of laughter. It was like a mexican wave of laughing that followed him to the forward pocket.
Not sure he ever recovered and maybe the reason for is small man syndrome.Really looking forward to this match , i personally believe each year this game is as important to Mark as any that's played for 4 point's . No doubt he will be keen to go 1 up on the Bulldog's , so far it's one win each . Hopefully Gisborne field a side that's a bit stronger than it's been in these last 2 game's . I think only 10 or 11 senior player's played in last year's game.

tige19
20 Mar 2007, 11:36
The Corey Brown lining up for Sunbury wouldnt be the same Brown that played for Wang in the O&M and for Coburg and the Bushrangers would it? if so would dominate the league and be Sunburys best on baller.

colbys_kid
20 Mar 2007, 11:58
The Corey Brown lining up for Sunbury wouldnt be the same Brown that played for Wang in the O&M and for Coburg and the Bushrangers would it? if so would dominate the league and be Sunburys best on baller.

yeah mate it is got injured early last year and came back half way through the season and lost sunburys b&f by 1 vote. is pretty much one othe best running around in the league no one has stopped him from what ive seen.

simplesimon
20 Mar 2007, 12:14
yeah mate it is got injured early last year and came back half way through the season and lost sunburys b&f by 1 vote. is pretty much one othe best running around in the league no one has stopped him from what ive seen.

Brown is a good player, a little underrated perhaps by opposition sides. seems to have good skill from what ive seen.

tige19
20 Mar 2007, 12:43

Oh good, the guy is a star, send him my hellos and best wishes Pev. Good to see your kicking a few, keep up the good work you had a few of the boys raising eye brows.

Left Footed Cat
20 Mar 2007, 13:02
Hey KA, do you have a name for no. 2, 'The Smashing Machine' yet?

kangaroos06
20 Mar 2007, 20:29
Anyone able to give me an idea of Melton's chances for the year ahead.. I noticed on the website they have lost a heap of players and havent picked up too many as yet... Just curious as to how to how realistic there chances are this year?

Cheers

19th Man
20 Mar 2007, 22:15

Doesn't help Sunbury too much, as he is also unaccountable, along with the Lions other onballers.

19th Man
20 Mar 2007, 22:18
Hey KA, do you have a name for no. 2, 'The Smashing Machine' yet?

It definetely wont be Sahlburg!

Kings Army
21 Mar 2007, 09:13
Really looking forward to this match , i personally believe each year this game is as important to Mark as any that's played for 4 point's . No doubt he will be keen to go 1 up on the Bulldog's , so far it's one win each . Hopefully Gisborne field a side that's a bit stronger than it's been in these last 2 game's . I think only 10 or 11 senior player's played in last year's game.

Will Luke Sunders be playing this weekend against Melton South BB? Also when and where is the game.

bearsboy
21 Mar 2007, 10:13
Will Luke Sunders be playing this weekend against Melton South BB? Also when and where is the game.The game's been changed to Thursday 5th april at night due unavailability of either ground old mate . Luke Saunder's has had a huge pre-season so far so i dont see any reason why he wont play .

McCleanMagic
21 Mar 2007, 11:26
Can anyone tell me how Chris Gardiner goes from lake wendouree?

Gadget
22 Mar 2007, 10:23
Will Luke Sunders be playing this weekend against Melton South BB? Also when and where is the game.
Where and when is practise match against Gisborne KA? Thanks

bearsboy
22 Mar 2007, 10:33
Where and when is practise match against Gisborne KA? ThanksAre you serious ?

bearsboy
22 Mar 2007, 10:55
Where and when is practise match against Gisborne KA? ThanksThursday 5th April 6.00pm @ Melton South

Gadget
22 Mar 2007, 11:12
Thursday 5th April 6.00pm @ Melton South
Wasn't that hard was it!!! Just because i couln't be fingered going through previous posts!!! Thanks mate.

Vineyard
23 Mar 2007, 11:39

How come Szvalas left Parkside if he was Captain ? Was it just to play with griffo or lots of cash?

Darley signed another bloke last night to. Danny Measures i think his name is. From Alice Springs & West Adelaide. Only young though but will be good.

Premiership
23 Mar 2007, 12:11
[quote=Vineyard;7010456]How come Szvalas left Parkside if he was Captain ? Was it just to play with griffo or lots of cash?

Szvalas from parkside? Is he any relation to the Szvalas that played at williamstown years ago?

Can anyone confirm:
Names of the rumoured VFL players supposedly linked with Melton South?

Is Darren Stanley signed at Melton? Still no clearance!

Has Gilbo and Landry gone back to Lakers?

I saw Ballarat train last week, gee there young players look fit! Think older Nunn will compliment them nicely.

Dont right off Redan!

learmonth
23 Mar 2007, 12:46
[quote=Vineyard;7010456]How come Szvalas left Parkside if he was Captain ? Was it just to play with griffo or lots of cash?

Szvalas from parkside? Is he any relation to the Szvalas that played at williamstown years ago?

Can anyone confirm:

I saw Ballarat train last week, gee there young players look fit! Think older Nunn will compliment them nicely.

Dont right off Redan!

Lee Cox from darley as signed with Hepburn in the CHFL

Kings Army
23 Mar 2007, 13:59

Can anyone confirm:

Dont right off Redan!

Yes he was at Willy with Griffo.

South have two boys at Coburg - Jermey Krojs and Ben Peters. Both go very good and will be handy when they play. Chambers is at Werribee or Willy and was on the Swans list. The other 2 won't play.

No way writing off Redan.

Kings Army
23 Mar 2007, 14:00
[quote=Premiership;7010677]

He is a gun Leary - will dominate in the CHFL.

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
23 Mar 2007, 16:32
not a chance chambers is going to put south down as his second club...have had numeerous chats to him bout 2nd club and will not be melton south

FootyFat
25 Mar 2007, 11:18
[quote=Premiership;7010677]

Not a real smart man Coxy! He works from 7am till 1pm then goes home and goes to bed, and struggles to get up at 5:55 to get to training at darley by 6. How is he going to get up to get to training at hepburn on time, when he is getting jack sh t more money from them. No chance ill give him till round 5 and he wont be playing, he is crazy going back to a **** league like that. His footy will only go backwards he admits he hates playing in the wet or muddy grounds so going up there im not sure he has put much thought into it.

Kings Army
25 Mar 2007, 11:49
not a chance chambers is going to put south down as his second club...have had numeerous chats to him bout 2nd club and will not be melton south

Sorry pup he has signed Melton South as his 2nd side. Happy enough to have a couple of jugs on it if you think your right?

saucehead
25 Mar 2007, 14:01
Sorry pup he has signed Melton South as his 2nd side. Happy enough to have a couple of jugs on it if you think your right?
who cares. hes never gonna play there anyhow...

jets06
26 Mar 2007, 09:30
[quote=learmonth;7010915]

He is a gun Leary - will dominate in the CHFL. Didn't Sunbury play Eaglehawk on the weekend ?? anyone got some news on the games....

Premiership
26 Mar 2007, 11:08
The guys invovled in the Darley FC, what is the feeling regarding Cox leaving and can anyone enlighten on why he would make a decision to head to Hepburn in the CHFL. We all hear the rumours of how much money Hepburn pays its high profile recruits, could this be a reason?

FootyFat
26 Mar 2007, 11:38
The guys invovled in the Darley FC, what is the feeling regarding Cox leaving and can anyone enlighten on why he would make a decision to head to Hepburn in the CHFL. We all hear the rumours of how much money Hepburn pays its high profile recruits, could this be a reason?
I would not think there would be much to gain for him money wise, what little bit extra he may get from hepburn would just go in fuel and time, to get to training and game day he will have 6 hours on the road each week it would be roughly 1 hour each way from where he lives.
I no darley offered him pretty good money this year So i have no idea what his thinking behind it is

kangaroos06
26 Mar 2007, 12:54
Hey KA or Leary, you blokes seem to be pretty up to date with the happenings in the BFL?

Just wondering if any of you could give me an idea of Melton's realistic chances this year? I notice they have lost quite a few and havent gained all that many... Do they have the cattle to play finals footy?

Cheers

Kings Army
26 Mar 2007, 13:30
Hey KA or Leary, you blokes seem to be pretty up to date with the happenings in the BFL?

Just wondering if any of you could give me an idea of Melton's realistic chances this year? I notice they have lost quite a few and havent gained all that many... Do they have the cattle to play finals footy?

Cheers

I think they will miss the finals - replaced by Melton South. To many of there good players have left. The past has shown Melton to be very strong for a year or two then have a year or 2 down the bottom of the ladder. They won the flag in 01 and missed the finals in 02 and 03. Won 05 and started to drop in 06 and will continue to do so in 07.

Leary are you with me or against me on this one?

kangaroos06
26 Mar 2007, 14:46
I think they will miss the finals - replaced by Melton South. To many of there good players have left. The past has shown Melton to be very strong for a year or two then have a year or 2 down the bottom of the ladder. They won the flag in 01 and missed the finals in 02 and 03. Won 05 and started to drop in 06 and will continue to do so in 07.

Thanks KA...

Looking at the transfers list they have lost a heap and only gained 4 or so... and unless those 4 are guns u would imagine it might be too hard a loss to make up.

Venom
26 Mar 2007, 19:17
I would not think there would be much to gain for him money wise, what little bit extra he may get from hepburn would just go in fuel and time, to get to training and game day he will have 6 hours on the road each week it would be roughly 1 hour each way from where he lives.
I no darley offered him pretty good money this year So i have no idea what his thinking behind it is
not trying to stir anyone up but maybe cox is thinking of a premiership? could that be a possibility?

Left Footed Cat
26 Mar 2007, 20:40
not trying to stir anyone up but maybe cox is thinking of a premiership? could that be a possibility?
Not the kind of bloke to chase flags. If the fish were biting, or if it was duck season, he probably would not even show up grand final day. Football definetely isnt 1st priority.

rod ward
26 Mar 2007, 23:28

Cheers
still plenty of old heads around to win games, should be able to make finals in 07. look out for the young melton blood boys stepping up fron the unders

Vineyard
27 Mar 2007, 11:42

KA i heard last night that the 2 parkside recruits this year to Sunbury are rumoured to have signed 2 year contracts with the WRFL club last season. Do you know anything about this.

On a different note there is a lot of politics in footy now with tranfers etc. People just going everywhere for money. back in my day blokes played at one club for their career, enjoyed the success with their mates and created a "club". Doesnt seem to happen anymore except at a few clubs. is that why Redan are so successful?

Premiership
27 Mar 2007, 12:03
I think times have certainly changed Viney thats for sure, although I was a one club player locally, played at a couple of different clubs at higher levels and I dont see the big issue in players playing at different clubs if for the right reasons. Football provides a great medium for players to experience a range of cultures, develop friendships and I dont believe this should necessarily be limited to one club. The life skills players can take on these days by experiencing a couple of different clubs can be invaluable, besides, how do you improve your club if everyone in it has never experienced how other clubs operate.

Totally agree with you on Redan, for the rumoured match payments these guys shell out they certainly know how to attract quality players for a period of time. Wasn't so long ago they were a laughing stock.

Gadget
27 Mar 2007, 12:12
KA i heard last night that the 2 parkside recruits this year to Sunbury are rumoured to have signed 2 year contracts with the WRFL club last season. Do you know anything about this.

On a different note there is a lot of politics in footy now with tranfers etc. People just going everywhere for money. back in my day blokes played at one club for their career, enjoyed the success with their mates and created a "club". Doesnt seem to happen anymore except at a few clubs. is that why Redan are so successful?
A recent example of this vineyard would be a bloke named Brendan Closehy from mildura. We spoke to him a few times at Ballarat and were confident of a signature, when we followed up a call to him he had told us he's signed at redan and it was a fair bit under what we offered him. Why do Redan seem to get quality players with out dishing out big dollars? There must be somthing there doing that us clubs are not catching up on.. It baffles me.

Left Footed Cat
27 Mar 2007, 13:35
A recent example of this vineyard would be a bloke named Brendan Closehy from mildura. We spoke to him a few times at Ballarat and were confident of a signature, when we followed up a call to him he had told us he's signed at redan and it was a fair bit under what we offered him. Why do Redan seem to get quality players with out dishing out big dollars? There must be somthing there doing that us clubs are not catching up on.. It baffles me.
They have got something there, but it definetely isnt that clown in the crowd with the drums. Having to listen to that every week would be a turn off.

Kings Army
27 Mar 2007, 13:41

Not sure of the 2 year contract - will follow that up. Parkside did knock Davis transfer back.

With that 2nd part you just need to look at Gisborne who have won flags with 95% locals. It can be done but it is very hard.

Gadget
27 Mar 2007, 14:13
They have got something there, but it definetely isnt that clown in the crowd with the drums. Having to listen to that every week would be a turn off.
He should be banned... When does getting 3 year olds to bang drums inspire a team???

Big_flipper
27 Mar 2007, 23:57
After an update on Nick Becker playing at Bacchus Marsh this year? progree thus far is he fit? practice match performances etc?

Sticks23
28 Mar 2007, 09:21
After an update on Nick Becker playing at Bacchus Marsh this year? progree thus far is he fit? practice match performances etc?

Becks is going well, should be a asset to the club, showed alot in the intra club last week, has been training every session and appears to be very fit. Looking forward to seeing him play well this year!!!!

Hank Evans
28 Mar 2007, 09:42
Seriously, who cares if he touches up kids? The guy who bangs the drums at Redan is great for the game. It adds a bit of character to the league.

That guy was a nominee for Hank Evans' Supporter of the Year title in 2006, but beaten narrowly by the guy from Darley who threw a can at pensioner's head when his team was knocked out of the finals yet again.

Vineyard
28 Mar 2007, 10:16
Seriously, who cares if he touches up kids? The guy who bangs the drums at Redan is great for the game. It adds a bit of character to the league.

That guy was a nominee for Hank Evans' Supporter of the Year title in 2006, but beaten narrowly by the guy from Darley who threw a can at pensioner's head when his team was knocked out of the finals yet again.

are you the guy that bangs the drums hank?

Hank Evans
28 Mar 2007, 13:12
You serious hank? Good for the game??? I was asked to by him if i wanted to buy a redan membership during the finals and I clearly had my Ballarat jacket on.... What a spanker.

You should have thanked him for trying to get you on to a winning side.

Gadget
28 Mar 2007, 13:19
You should have thanked him for trying to get you on to a winning side.
Good to have you back Hank. Were have you been?

Hawk_Eyes42
28 Mar 2007, 23:50
Kings Army - you know alot about sunbury do u not?? the rumour that last years u18 league goal kicking and best and fairest in Dylan Wright is moving on from sunbury...Do Sunbury care? is it true?

Premiership
29 Mar 2007, 12:56
Very good midfield at East Point. Hutchy is the pick of the crop, gets it and uses it the best. Faull is more workman like and wouldnt be in the top echelon, but certainly does it bit for the team, BJ is a solid player, very fit, but still wouldnt have him ahead of hutchy if I had to pick one of them. Banners is 19 yrs old, who would be a better 19 yr old in the competition?

Hawk_Eyes42
29 Mar 2007, 18:20
big call there colby's kid...any1 who wins a comp b and f and a goal kicking must be able to play....if its only his mouth that needs controlling wouldnt it be better keeping him and trying to work him through it...also my werrbee sources tell me it wasnt his ability or mouth that cost him at werribee apperantly his attitude was superb. do u play for sunbury colby's kid??? stay tuned Dylan to leave Sunbury

19th Man
29 Mar 2007, 22:29
Very good midfield at East Point. Hutchy is the pick of the crop, gets it and uses it the best. Faull is more workman like and wouldnt be in the top echelon, but certainly does it bit for the team, BJ is a solid player, very fit, but still wouldnt have him ahead of hutchy if I had to pick one of them. Banners is 19 yrs old, who would be a better 19 yr old in the competition?

I thought he was superb in the early stages of the season, BUT, when a little physical presence was applied in the later stages of the year, he seemed not to have the same influence. Good player otherwise.

Premiership
30 Mar 2007, 12:32
Fair call 19th, certainly in the finals the redan midfield fieldy and Jed, blomers, waighty peace just took over and man handled everyone. Some fair players in that though.
Best midfielders based on what I have seen:
All redan midfielders last year,
Hutchy, Delaney
Browne and lewis from sunbury,
Parker and mccabe from darley,
harris and young guy with crewcut on wing for ballarat,
Berger Melton
Gilbert Nesbitt Lakers
Reardon Melton South

Vineyard
30 Mar 2007, 13:55
Premiership coach to take up BFL seniors challenge

SUNBURY premiership coach Peter Freeman has been re-appointed Ballarat Football League senior representative coach.
He will take charge of the BFL's under-23 clash with Bendigo in the Goldfield Challenge at Bendigo on Tuesday, June 5.

With no Victorian Country Football League country championships this year, this underage match will be the Ballarat league's on representative commitment outside junior ranks.

Ballarat and Bendigo will each be allowed five "over age" players.

Troy Scoble and Travis Chapman will coach the BFL under-18 squad again.

Ballarat and Bendigo will also clash in this age group in a Goldfield Challenge match on June 5.

RegionalOne BFL chairman David Smith welcomed the appointments.

"We are delighted to have retained the same coaching line-up which performed outstandingly last year," he said.

Left Footed Cat
30 Mar 2007, 14:14
Fair call 19th, certainly in the finals the redan midfield fieldy and Jed, blomers, waighty peace just took over and man handled everyone. Some fair players in that though.
Best midfielders based on what I have seen:
All redan midfielders last year,
Hutchy, Delaney
Browne and lewis from sunbury,
Parker and mccabe from darley,
harris and young guy with crewcut on wing for ballarat,
Berger Melton
Gilbert Nesbitt Lakers
Reardon Melton South
Miller from Darley when fully fit is right up there with the redan Boys. Way better than Hunter from the Marsh.

Hose
30 Mar 2007, 17:51
Kings Army - you know alot about sunbury do u not?? the rumour that last years u18 league goal kicking and best and fairest in Dylan Wright is moving on from sunbury...Do Sunbury care? is it true?
His name should not be typed on this page or anywhere for that matter. Biggest cat to ever play the game of football. Besides being the biggest cat he is the biggest sook that ever lived.
M, Payne

Hawk_Eyes42
30 Mar 2007, 18:02
Well hose that is a big call he is only 19 years old pretty big statement withthe whole cat business....is he a sook or just hot headed?? with the m payne at the end r u implying that hose is m payne???

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
30 Mar 2007, 18:10
"His name should not be typed on this page or anywhere for that matter. Biggest cat to ever play the game of football" what exaclty do u mean by this mate? m payne is this silky or what was with the whole m payne thing. cmon mate thought we were mates? league b and f and 2x league goal kicking in last 2 years gotta be doing something right dont i? but its ok cause i know i have a big mouth and alot of quieting down to do and i have to prove myself at senior footy so have ur bagging session away at me all u like. im 19 years old mate

James Kerr
30 Mar 2007, 18:32
****s at the Royal

*squeezes hands together*

colbys_kid
30 Mar 2007, 19:41
big call there colby's kid...any1 who wins a comp b and f and a goal kicking must be able to play....if its only his mouth that needs controlling wouldnt it be better keeping him and trying to work him through it...also my werrbee sources tell me it wasnt his ability or mouth that cost him at werribee apperantly his attitude was superb. do u play for sunbury colby's kid??? stay tuned Dylan to leave Sunbury

Well Hawk eye he might have won comp b and f's and goal kicking but it was under 18s footy mate its not much to rave about really is it?? well my werribee sources tell me that he supposedly twanged a hammy a week before the practice match all the new fellas had to play in to have a chance of making the cut....and then the week after he gets cut he is running around in an intra club at full tilt thinking he is chris judd. abusing senior players and even the coach. i mean cmon hawk eye who abuses the coach when they are no certainty of lining up in the seniors??? The SFC is about respect from everyone involved and there are certainly a large majority who dont have time for him.

Venom
30 Mar 2007, 20:00
has been dominating everything... fittest at the club, is playing a praccy match in ballarat tonight actually. he should go real good.

Venom
30 Mar 2007, 20:03
Dylan is apparently training at werribee for pre season at least. i spoke to him when the marsh played cricket against sunbury united this year.

Venom
30 Mar 2007, 20:04
nobody. that kid is a gun footballer and has a great attitude towards it.

Venom
30 Mar 2007, 20:06
Miller from Darley when fully fit is right up there with the redan Boys. Way better than Hunter from the Marsh.
heath or charles? heath is the best footballer in the comp!!!:thumbsd:

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
30 Mar 2007, 22:08
Well Hawk eye he might have won comp b and f's and goal kicking but it was under 18s footy mate its not much to rave about really is it?? well my werribee sources tell me that he supposedly twanged a hammy a week before the practice match all the new fellas had to play in to have a chance of making the cut....and then the week after he gets cut he is running around in an intra club at full tilt thinking he is chris judd. abusing senior players and even the coach. i mean cmon hawk eye who abuses the coach when they are no certainty of lining up in the seniors??? The SFC is about respect from everyone involved and there are certainly a large majority who dont have time for him.

from the time i got cut from werribee to the time i played in sunbury interclub match was 6 weeks. i certainly dont remember abusing the coach i would never disrespect serge he and every1 who knows me knows how much i think of him...also senior players?? i had a bit of a yell at luke allen because of an altercation we had BIG DEAL!!! get ur facts right B4 u try and make me look bad mate...1 more question how many u18 goalkicking and league comps have u won if there nothing????????? would love to know thanks mate

DrWho
30 Mar 2007, 23:00
Shut up your liitle talk. Back to the under 18 thread... Minor.

Hey give the kid a break! :mad: ! he has acknowledged he has improvements to make, and he is young. Why cant he respond to the bagging session??
After all this is an open internet thread right?
He even did it without insults so full credit to the young bloke i reckon :thumbsu:

burra
30 Mar 2007, 23:13
clobys kid mate wats with the he who should not be named poo well thats crap because i played with him last year in th under18s interleague and he was prob 1 of the most respected blokes there and hes speach at the henderson medal was outstanding and brought a tear to every1s eye so boys cut him sum slack coz every 1s got a mouth on them i no i do so shhh and anyway he is only 19 and a mature 1 at that so leave him alone

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
30 Mar 2007, 23:59
to burra and dr who thanks for the support...i dont usually chat on these forums because of the constant bagging everybody does and since my last words with trav hede bout the riddell league game lol but anyway i just came on to put my point across and also now to say thanks to u 2 let them bag me...Maybe they are jealous cause i can get a kick and i am 5 foot nothing

19th Man
31 Mar 2007, 00:41
has been dominating everything... fittest at the club, is playing a praccy match in ballarat tonight actually. he should go real good.

Becker is a good footballer, should do well in this comp.

wceagles
31 Mar 2007, 03:56
it's a 2 way street respect!:thumbsu:

Lica
31 Mar 2007, 12:47
Does anyone know the results from the Marsh practice match???

Cheers.

Lica
1 Apr 2007, 11:32
Heard marsh got flogged and looked disgusting... Going to be another long year for the snakes.

Was the game against North City??? I hope your pulling my leg because as a supporter that is not sounding good.

patty O'furnicha
1 Apr 2007, 15:03
Was the game against North City??? I hope your pulling my leg because as a supporter that is not sounding good.

Yes he is pulling your leg Lica, It was against Nth City and it was a smashing however it was the other way. Bacchus Marsh Beat Nth City by a big margin.

All recruits played well with Holt and Miles impressing.
Holt will be a good inclusion as he will show the young list how to play the great game.

But don't get to excited Lica because Nth City will once again be very average!

Lica
1 Apr 2007, 15:28
Yes he is pulling your leg Lica, It was against Nth City and it was a smashing however it was the other way. Bacchus Marsh Beat Nth City by a big margin.

All recruits played well with Holt and Miles impressing.
Holt will be a good inclusion as he will show the young list how to play the great game.

But don't get to excited Lica because Nth City will once again be very average!

Thanks Patty.
I'm not getting too excited.. Just wanted to hear that they played ok and by the sounds of things if they 'smashed' Nth City thats a good thing because thats what we should expect at the least. If it was close or they lost then I would be very, very worried.
Who went ok up fwd??

Animosity
1 Apr 2007, 15:29
Dylan is the sort of bloke that can turn a game on its head, sheepdog or not, the kid finds the ball! Anyone who can find the ball several times a quarter and can slot it through the big sticks more than he kicks points gets my vote.My opinion on his 'hot head' attitude is coz the kid has passion for what he does and wont let anyone get in his way,even senior players.Nobodies perfect and just needs to fine-tune the 'working as a team' aspect of it and save some of the agression towards the opposition.Already the makings of a great player and with age comes maturity.

howzat
2 Apr 2007, 10:05
gisborne beat sunbury at sunbury. gisborne to hard at it for the lions.