View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
19th Man
27 Apr 2007, 12:01
Quite happy to reply rubber. Not sure if your an eastie or not but we can say that we didn't need to merge with another club to try and get the silverware!I assure you that there is no false hope this year. Winning the "mickey mouse premiership" was a bonus financially and that's about it. I'm prepared to say that i honestly believe that we are a top 3 side. Time will tell obviously and i hope i'm right, the way the game is played today suits our style of footy, fast footy. Bigger bodies maybe an issue but we honestly believe we are heading upwards and have the right mix of players. IMO
On another note.. Interesting to hear Wardy on radio this morning to say "Expect fireworks between South & Darley" Not a smart comment by the chief imo.
You guys need to worry about winning outside of Ballarat before you aim for a top 3 position.
19th Man
27 Apr 2007, 12:02
Has either Deckert or Parker been cleared to play tomorrow?
cockroach
27 Apr 2007, 12:21
Has either Deckert or Parker been cleared to play tomorrow?
the contesst will be tight would imagine ?
darley have the edge on the panthers and have recruited quite well by all reports
fireworks i doubt it as south are to soft and darley are to smart to loose guys with red cards there new coach will make sure of this ?
both guys not cleared as yet
i would think if one plays both will play ? straight swap
Premiership
27 Apr 2007, 12:21
The CEO is an absolute clown for that comment if he made it. The issue with that is if there was fire works or troubles there, head office will be the first ones with their fines out to fine both clubs, I dont think you are promoting football or your league by saying expect fireworks. To put it in perspective, as much as I think Melton South can improve this year, they won 3 games last year, have not beaten Darley for a number of years so I am sure Darley couldnt give a hoot about Melton South as a rival club. Melton South have shown us nothing, if at the half way mark these sides are both up there, then yes lets pump there game up.
I agree with LFC, you would hope both teams would come out and play footy with passion and a want to win, for the 4 points, end of the day thats all you get round 1.
Game of the round is between East and Ballarat, cannot question that, lets pump up good footy and good footy players, not this other rubbish that probably dont exist.
learmonth
27 Apr 2007, 12:31
Tomorrows game East and Ballarat, will be tighter than expected, if had been dry. East would've smashed them. Ballarat should only lose by 6goals instead of 16 goals, although no DJ singer, still happy to leave at 6goals.
Ballarat will improve but they dont have a ruckman now and will need to get back the 80-100points that they were losing by to the top 3 teams last year. East has a smarter and stronger midfield and an interleague ruckman.
I think people remember the last final where they nearly beat East and were full of emotion, East played poorly that day. They only just made top 6 last year.
The player to watch from East will be Fletcher and for Ballarat Otto.
It would be better to take pressure off ballarat today rather than fill them ful of false hope. Nice how they claim the silverware 2007 lightning "mickey mouse" premiership. they have been on the bottom for 10 years. I did hear they have changed the door handles from wooden to silver as well. (gadget i await your reply)
Other matches look pretty well decided. Sunbury easy, Melton in a tight one with the to be running on, Melton Sth easy
At least their still in the competition, not like Golden Point & East Ballarat. They have that win over those other two clubs. In my opinion, Ballarat to win in the wet, they are better then what a lot of people are making out. Will be interesting to see how East/Points forwards operate without last years 1 man show.
Left Footed Cat
27 Apr 2007, 12:59
At least their still in the competition, not like Golden Point & East Ballarat. They have that win over those other two clubs. In my opinion, Ballarat to win in the wet, they are better then what a lot of people are making out. Will be interesting to see how East/Points forwards operate without last years 1 man show.
Forward line will struggle big time, seen Fisher play for the first time in the Lightning Premiership. He is terrible, those crappy tattoos deserve to be on a body that ordinary. The team would be better off with him not out there.
James Kerr
27 Apr 2007, 14:58
Who cares about footy?
It's Dean Dixon's 30th!!!
James Kerr
27 Apr 2007, 14:58
*squeezes hands together*
FootyFat
27 Apr 2007, 15:08
Got any idea who will line up on sutton and mcmahon without cape or edwards going to be tough, might be a llittle easier if the rain comes though.
Could be a few supprises with the devils line up, with cape edwards and smithwick out but im sure the coach has a plann. He has shown alot of faith in the young blokes over the summer so it would not supprise me if he gave one of the jobs to a young bloke.But if its wet like they say then it wont matter, either way the game will be won in the midfield who eva puts the most presssure on wins any game these days does not matter how good your forward line is if it dont get down there they cant kick them.
Not sure if it has been posted yet but Darley has signed Marcus Hastings he is a CHF kicked 70 odd goals last year on one leg i am told so so should be handy for the Devils.
besides Mcmahon scoble parker and Hanks mate Mcleod has south picked up any more player this year that go any good.
Who cares about footy?
It's Dean Dixon's 30th!!!
Happy Birthday Dean Dixon. Well done. Hope you have a good night whoever you are.
19th Man
27 Apr 2007, 19:37
Could be a few supprises with the devils line up, with cape edwards and smithwick out but im sure the coach has a plann. He has shown alot of faith in the young blokes over the summer so it would not supprise me if he gave one of the jobs to a young bloke.But if its wet like they say then it wont matter, either way the game will be won in the midfield who eva puts the most presssure on wins any game these days does not matter how good your forward line is if it dont get down there they cant kick them.
Not sure if it has been posted yet but Darley has signed Marcus Hastings he is a CHF kicked 70 odd goals last year on one leg i am told so so should be handy for the Devils.
besides Mcmahon scoble parker and Hanks mate Mcleod has south picked up any more player this year that go any good.
I've just seen the surprise you are talking about. D Leonard at CHB. Surely a kid of his age (unknown), would not line up on Mcmahon regardless of the conditions?
blues12
27 Apr 2007, 21:43
do any clubs that host night games, have much trouble with the crowd? do they generally have security on hand, are they normally played on a friday or saturday night?
footyman
27 Apr 2007, 22:17
Is there anywhere on the net that selected sides for the weekend are posted?
saucehead
29 Apr 2007, 17:22
Is there anywhere on the net that selected sides for the weekend are posted?
on the bfl site. go to competitions then selected sides.
obviously not a fan of East Point? you talk of the merger like it is a bad thing or a weakness, it has made East Point one of the better clubs with a bit of stability and a sound financial position, not to mention it had increased the standard of football in the BFL, so ease up a bit there big fella. I Hope Rod Ward feels like an idiot after his radio comments on the game that Ballarat was supposed to dominate due to East Points flawed preparation. Ballarat were supposed to be full strength and full of promise yet they couldn't get up against an under-strength kangaroos. Ballarat aren't the real deal, everybody is just jumping on the band wagon.
Left Footed Cat
30 Apr 2007, 09:49
obviously not a fan of East Point? you talk of the merger like it is a bad thing or a weakness, it has made East Point one of the better clubs with a bit of stability and a sound financial position, not to mention it had increased the standard of football in the BFL, so ease up a bit there big fella. I Hope Rod Ward feels like an idiot after his radio comments on the game that Ballarat was supposed to dominate due to East Points flawed preparation. Ballarat were supposed to be full strength and full of promise yet they couldn't get up against an under-strength kangaroos. Ballarat aren't the real deal, everybody is just jumping on the band wagon.
Who cares, Dean Dixons 30th was a good night.
Old School Biff
30 Apr 2007, 10:27
I Hope Rod Ward feels like an idiot after his radio comments on the game that Ballarat was supposed to dominate due to East Points flawed preparation. Ballarat were supposed to be full strength and full of promise yet they couldn't get up against an under-strength kangaroos. Ballarat aren't the real deal, everybody is just jumping on the band wagon.
It's only round 1 of a long season. Ballarat will be alright, but it's hard to go against the teams like Redan, East Point and Sunbury.
The CEO is an absolute clown for that comment if he made it. The issue with that is if there was fire works or troubles there, head office will be the first ones with their fines out to fine both clubs, I dont think you are promoting football or your league by saying expect fireworks. To put it in perspective, as much as I think Melton South can improve this year, they won 3 games last year, have not beaten Darley for a number of years so I am sure Darley couldnt give a hoot about Melton South as a rival club. Melton South have shown us nothing, if at the half way mark these sides are both up there, then yes lets pump there game up.
I agree with LFC, you would hope both teams would come out and play footy with passion and a want to win, for the 4 points, end of the day thats all you get round 1.
Game of the round is between East and Ballarat, cannot question that, lets pump up good footy and good footy players, not this other rubbish that probably dont exist.
You comment that Darley/South game shouldnt be rated as anything special and wont attract a crowd and then call the CEO a clown for saying on radio 'there'll be fireworks at the Darly/South match!'- not a clown at all and if you ask me quite a smart way to build attention and bring a crowd to a game that may have previously lagged in interest; well done on doing your job CEO.
cockroach
30 Apr 2007, 14:16
You comment that Darley/South game shouldnt be rated as anything special and wont attract a crowd and then call the CEO a clown for saying on radio 'there'll be fireworks at the Darly/South match!'- not a clown at all and if you ask me quite a smart way to build attention and bring a crowd to a game that may have previously lagged in interest; well done on doing your job CEO.
was at the game good hard footy by both sides played in good spirit
the only thing the ceo pumped up was the crowds
shocking some of the abuse to players on the night
did notice in the pocket
some Darley faithful bagging sutton and macmarn and the great ceo in on the action maybe he to got sucked into the emotions:thumbsd:
poor form
did notice in the pocket
some Darley faithful bagging sutton and macmarn and the great ceo in on the action maybe he to got sucked into the emotions:thumbsd:
poor form
Good tight game of footy good effort by darley to get back into the game, it looked like it was going to be a whitewash after mcmahon kicked 4 in the first 10mins. Was miller injured spent a lot of time at full forward......
south000
1 May 2007, 08:17
This weeks game melton south v melton should be a ripper. always a big croud with loads of support from both teams croud, anybody got any views on who will take the 4 points. mates at the melton game last week said there young boys are stepping up any thoughts !!
The Sharpe Man
1 May 2007, 10:38
Originally Posted by cockroach http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7387514#post7387514)
did notice in the pocket
poor form
Not right Coackroach. I spent a large part of the night with the CEO and he did not open his gob at any stage, or get involved in any abuse (rare for him). I spoke to him this morning and he could not believe that such a blatant and inaccurate post was made. He actually walked away from from the group where the comments were coming from because he realised that people would think he was part of it, when he obviously wasn't. :cool:
Hank Evans
1 May 2007, 10:46
This weeks game melton south v melton should be a ripper. always a big croud with loads of support from both teams croud, anybody got any views on who will take the 4 points. mates at the melton game last week said there young boys are stepping up any thoughts !!
Terrible, just terrible.
F
Terrible, just terrible.
F
Where would we be with out you Hank!
Grimmett
1 May 2007, 13:15
Where would we be with out you Hank!
effed
Left Footed Cat
1 May 2007, 13:35
Agree with you Hank, that is the worst thing I have read on here. Total lack of respect for the english language. The teachers at Melton have a lot to answer for.
Vineyard
1 May 2007, 14:37
South should destroy Melton and hopefully the crowd is bigger than the Darley vs South game. Thought that a few more people would have got there.
Should be some interesting results after this weeks rivalry round. get a better indication of where sides are at.
Premiership
1 May 2007, 14:55
Went to a bit of East and Ballarat then the Melton South Darley clash saturday, impressed with the footy I saw for first game of the year. East minus Jordan still looked pretty sharp with their midfield dominating. Ballarat still lacking key defender but Nunn should help their structure.
Barring the crowd language and behaviour (lucky didnt have the family it was disgraceful) enjoyed the Melton South Darley clash. Both sides showed alot of commitment toward the ball and whilst I didnt think South were going to give up their lead after qtr time, Darley made a real game of it. Also impressed with both or should I say three new coaches, they seem to have their players on the right track playing a good brand.
What would be the biggest rivallry for this week. Redan seem to always have ballarat measure, Darley v Marsh, Melton v South, even East v Sunbury should be a big game after last years shananigans.
saucehead
1 May 2007, 15:04
anyone got a report from the melton v marsh game on the weekend. how where the marshes recruits?
Bernie Q
1 May 2007, 17:49
anyone got a report from the melton v marsh game on the weekend. how where the marshes recruits?
The game was ok, definately some positives for both sides, alot of mistakes made, mainly by the Marsh, but an entertaining and close game none the less. The Marsh hit the front on 2 occasions in the last qtr, but failed to stay there and went down by 10 points.
Recruits mainly did a good job with Nick Becker & DK? the best on the day, not sure, but I think Becker kicked 4 goals, West at CHF presented well but dropped too many marks, but a bit under done, Holt was reasonably quiet by his normally good standards, Leishman from Port Fairy was solid all day, but not a bad start considering these guys have only played together on one proper occasion and coming off our form over the past few seasons. A big fella from c/burn (Toby?) had a few touches as well, but probably didn't do enough to be in the best few.
Allan Hill was by far the best player for Melton and on the ground. The bloke must stink, because he had no one near him all day, something the Marsh failed to pick up on.
Minersrest
2 May 2007, 11:48
Don't remeber who posted the comment about because it was wet it would mean ballarat would only go down by 6 goals, what rubbish, it was dry all day and Fisher would be thanking his lucky stars that they got away with the win. Ballarat hit lead in the last and wasted lots of chances to go two kicks clear but couldn't nail them. East point looked out of it and if wasn't for Hutchy would of lost. Sure DJ wasn't playing but either was Nunn and Ryan Harris who is the best Young player in the comp. The ruck will be an issue but lets not talk any more rubbish about Ballarat
class prevailed in the end, and Ballarat lacked it. Interesting moment by Ballarat's number 3 's bizarre mishap at the most crucial stage of the game, when he tried to take a one-handed mark on the goal line instead of letting it go through. I hope he cops John Northey's furore.
Yes that was indeed a brain melt by Lukey Kennelly, he stuffed up moments earlier on the wing too which wasn't great cause I thought he was pretty good up untill then. Ballarat have got some good midfielders with him, Anderson, Finn, Baker etc. They matched in well enough with Hutchy, BJ, Faull, and co on the weekend, big test this weekend against Field, Edwards, Dwyer, Blomely....
Anderson, Finn, Baker, Harris, Battistello, Kennelly
Field, Edwards, Dwyer, Blomely, Clohesy
BJ, Faull, Hutchy, banwell, Phelps
Pretty even this year, Redan you would think be stronger but with no peace I feel there back in the pack this year.
East were probably 50% going in there midfield satdy so beware when they hit there straps. Still merging dogs though!
stanleyy
2 May 2007, 16:57
Originally Posted by cockroach http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7387514#post7387514)
did notice in the pocket
poor form
Not right Coackroach. I spent a large part of the night with the CEO and he did not open his gob at any stage, or get involved in any abuse (rare for him). I spoke to him this morning and he could not believe that such a blatant and inaccurate post was made. He actually walked away from from the group where the comments were coming from because he realised that people would think he was part of it, when he obviously wasn't. :cool: is the league acting on the behaviour of the crowd if it was such a disgrace?:rolleyes:
Stanleyy, just curious.. you wouldnt happen to have been a former attendee of Ballarat and Clarendon College would you?
Left Footed Cat
2 May 2007, 18:22
is the league acting on the behaviour of the crowd if it was such a disgrace?:rolleyes:
I didn't think it was that bad, and I stood at times with both Darley & South supporters. I reckon I've been to 50 BFL games where the off field behaviour was worse than that. True some comments were harsh, but the language was not as disgraceful as previousely posted on here. Don't think any team was worse than the other.
What can the league do? Apart from employ more toy cop security guards. Can they fine a club? And who has the say in how bad it was, and compared to what? Don't think it will happen.
McCleanMagic
3 May 2007, 12:09
Can anyone tell me how Matthew and Leigh Delaland from Redan go? Are they just juniors or can they play a bit?
the gooey guru
3 May 2007, 18:52
will dj be lining up this week against sunbury
Johnny IRONMONGREL
3 May 2007, 22:31
I didn't think it was that bad, and I stood at times with both Darley & South supporters. I reckon I've been to 50 BFL games where the off field behaviour was worse than that. True some comments were harsh, but the language was not as disgraceful as previousely posted on here. Don't think any team was worse than the other.
What can the league do? Apart from employ more toy cop security guards. Can they fine a club? And who has the say in how bad it was, and compared to what? Don't think it will happen.
Agree with you there LFC. Sure there are games where emotion and alcohol can produce some fairly colourful language and comments but that is what country footy is about! The league cant fine clubs for supporters comments surely? Agree that some comments push the boundaries and prob not great for kids to hear but...toughen up, crowd interaction makes footy a better spectacle IMO
I posted. This was a pretty ordinary scrappy game. Agree Hutchy was this difference along with the men with the whistle. Funnily enough I actually think you might even beat Redan this week if field and edwards dont play. with Caldow back with roosters you have know ruckman. good luck.
Other games - Melton to win who have would over M/ sth, East over sunbury in a tight one, Lakers just over sebas and Darley to beat the Cobras & redan by 4 goals.
Think I got them all correct last week.
Left Footed Cat
4 May 2007, 12:21
I posted. This was a pretty ordinary scrappy game. Agree Hutchy was this difference along with the men with the whistle. Funnily enough I actually think you might even beat Redan this week if field and edwards dont play. with Caldow back with roosters you have know ruckman. good luck.
Other games - Melton to win who have would over M/ sth, East over sunbury in a tight one, Lakers just over sebas and Darley to beat the Cobras & redan by 4 goals.
Sth v Melton - Don't rate Sth that highly, but they are better than Melton
Sunbury v East - Because Fisher is hopeless & no DJ
Sebas v Lakers - They are a little less ordinary than Lakers
Darley v Marsh - Marsh are improved, Darley should still get over the line
Redan v Ballarat - Ballarat are overated
I agree with most of your Selections
Sth V Melton - Much of a Muchness
Sunbury V East - East didn't Impress me much against Ballarat. Fisher is woeful. But at least when playing, he can't stuff them up from the coaches box. With Jordan missing i can't see them getting up
Sebas V Lakers - Both quite ordinary sides. Should be a nil-all draw
Darley V Marsh - Hopefully Marsh have improved, but they'll still struggle big time this year
Ballarat V Redan - The Swans need to prove themselves as contenders. At the moment they still haven't done much to warrant themselves as a force. A good match against the reigning premiers will help their cause. Home Ground helps
Premiership
4 May 2007, 12:47
I actually agree with what you guys are saying for tipping this week however it is very difficult to rate anyone as yet.
There has been 1 round of football. however going from last weeks games, East didnt have a 150 goal FF, Redan had 4 or 5 out, Ballarat had their key fwd out, Sunbury and Melton South apparently had half a dozen to more out each including their best onballers at both clubs, Melton did not have Button their key fwd, Darley didnt have their best player in cape and a couple of others to.
Very difficult to judge any team at the minute.
will dj be lining up this week against sunbury
Don't think so mate, he hasn't trained all week, i don't think he is due until next week. Will be very handy when he does come back though!!
Vineyard
4 May 2007, 16:43
South easy over Melton
Sunbury will beat East at home - will be good to see if both sides the real deal.
Lakers will beat sebas - not as bad as people think
Darley to beat the marsh
Ballarat if field & edwards dont play as rumoured.
South easy over Melton
Sunbury will beat East at home - will be good to see if both sides the real deal.
Darley to beat the marsh
South -Too strong
East - Hope sunbury though
Lakers/Sebas - Draw
Darley - Easy
Ballarat - Just, report was Edwards won't play at alfredton last night.
polly_lions
4 May 2007, 17:01
Don't think so mate, he hasn't trained all week, i don't think he is due until next week. Will be very handy when he does come back though!!'
Rumours had it that dj will be flying back in on friday night there would be no chance he would be pulling on the boots to play the next day, would there ?
Old School Biff
4 May 2007, 17:36
South easy over Melton
Darley to beat the marsh
Sunbury over East
Sebas over Lakers
Darley over Marsh
Ballarat over Redan
Iron Beast
4 May 2007, 17:56
Sunbury over East
Sebas over Lakers
Darley over Marsh
Ballarat over Redan
You obviously like the under dogs Old School
East by 5 goals
Lakers by 3 goals
Darley by 8 goals
Redan to beat Ballarat Narrowly
Hawker28
4 May 2007, 20:04
Serge, get Dylan Wright into the ones....blood the kid or u will lose him wouldnt it be great to have a young kid like that take over as captain at 22 or something like that......would dominate this comp and if the Lions **** it up will they lose him.....stupid having him in the 2nds hes better than Luke Beattie by the length of Riddell Rd....for ****s sake he wears a blue t shirt under his top when its chilly....i expect to see Dylan line up round 2...or ur coaching credentials will slip
Vineyard
4 May 2007, 21:02
'
Rumours had it that dj will be flying back in on friday night there would be no chance he would be pulling on the boots to play the next day, would there ?
why wouldnt you when you get paid via an armaguard vehicle to play.
Vineyard
4 May 2007, 21:04
Serge, get Dylan Wright into the ones....blood the kid or u will lose him wouldnt it be great to have a young kid like that take over as captain at 22 or something like that......would dominate this comp and if the Lions **** it up will they lose him.....stupid having him in the 2nds hes better than Luke Beattie by the length of Riddell Rd....for ****s sake he wears a blue t shirt under his top when its chilly....i expect to see Dylan line up round 2...or ur coaching credentials will slip
well done Dylan. Maybe a better way is to ask the coach directly instead of getting your mates to write the post.
good luck getting a game now.......
bit of a differenec between u/18's and seniors and if he was any good he would be playing VFL.
Kings Army
6 May 2007, 13:31
Must be a huge question mark on Darley now. They lost the 1st round to a team that finished 2nd last with 3 wins and only just beat the wooden spoon team of 06 who won 1 game. Surley they now realise they are miles of the pace this year.
Darley people love to put a good spin on when talking about the club but they will be hard pressed to convince anyone they have not gone backward at an alarming rate. Will be beaten by a combined total of 150 points in the next 3 weeks.
Vineyard
6 May 2007, 18:03
Must be a huge question mark on Darley now. They lost the 1st round to a team that finished 2nd last with 3 wins and only just beat the wooden spoon team of 06 who won 1 game. Surley they now realise they are miles of the pace this year.
Darley people love to put a good spin on when talking about the club but they will be hard pressed to convince anyone they have not gone backward at an alarming rate. Will be beaten by a combined total of 150 points in the next 3 weeks.
Your right Kings army that the devils face a tough three weeks and will be good to see where the club is at.
if they could kick straight they would be sitting 2 and 0. had 14 scoring shots to 3 after half time yesterday but still only won by 2 goals. inaccuracy cost them against south and lucky yesterday but they did dominate the marsh. Should have won by 10 goals.
Melton south and Bacchus Marsh have improved out of sight and may surprise a few teams this year. The devils havent played good footy yet but hopefully can click this week against East as they are massive underdogs.
were East that bad or Sunbury that good KA???
Your right Kings army that the devils face a tough three weeks and will be good to see where the club is at.
if they could kick straight they would be sitting 2 and 0. had 14 scoring shots to 3 after half time yesterday but still only won by 2 goals. inaccuracy cost them against south and lucky yesterday but they did dominate the marsh. Should have won by 10 goals.
Melton south and Bacchus Marsh have improved out of sight and may surprise a few teams this year. The devils havent played good footy yet but hopefully can click this week against East as they are massive underdogs.
Hey Vineyard . . . it was a bit of both, sunbury came out of the blocks early and got the jump on East, then East dropped their heads. Sunbury ran us off our feet and as the game wore on East started making error after error. Even hutch was having a hard time. Full credit to sunbury though, they looked fantastic the way they moved the ball, and very polished when kicking at goal, except for the last quarter. Will be interesting to see if we can bounce back next week...
CaRn_ThE_pUp23
6 May 2007, 20:03
vineyard dylan here mate, i have no idea what the hell is going on with hawker28 i have no idea who it is and no it is not me...i am straight up with serge and he knows i wanna play ones me n him chat regularly so who ever hawker28 is ur a total ****er and u need to shut ur mouth
Hawk_Eyes42
6 May 2007, 21:44
????
CaRn_ThE_pUp23
6 May 2007, 21:57
gday all, i am just letting u know i am not going to be posting on this forum/website anymore, unless i get asked something, nobody ever says anything good about anybody on this thing...some of the people on this thing really have to stop hiding behind screen names, if serge puts me in the 1's its because i deserve it and if he doesnt its not because some ******** is trying to be me and saying shit on this forum to people (hawk_eyes42), i am in the 2's at sunbury atm and enjoying it we r close and i think i am fitting in pretty well and i like it well cheers guys catchya
oi i'm curious, did u cop a decent kick between the legs when u were a kid?? your voice could wake the dead
19th Man
6 May 2007, 22:59
There has been no mention of Ballarat's form turnaround from the previous week. I think that any team who can account for Redan easily, have what it takes to play a major role come September.
Kings Army
7 May 2007, 08:49
I thought Darley was lucky to get close to South who lead and won in a canter. Will the drums be beating for GL if Darley are 1 win and 4 losses?
Premiership
7 May 2007, 09:51
Have to agree KA, was at that game, Melton South had ten more scoring shots, lead from start to finish so wouldnt count that one.
Reading paper this morning definitely seems as though was a tough tussle between Devils and Cobras, I was impressed with the Devils round 1 though, they had a lot of pace around the ball and looked like they played an exciting brand of football.
Chose AFL over BFL on weekend, so seen no local footy, some tight results though, has the competition evenned up?
Left Footed Cat
7 May 2007, 09:59
I thought Darley was lucky to get close to South who lead and won in a canter. Will the drums be beating for GL if Darley are 1 win and 4 losses?
You are a clown KA. We know where we are at. Not expecting to make Prelim's this year. Hoping to be competitive with most teams though. The guys we have lost were all talented in some way, but most lacked a bit of ticker.
Hopefully we don't get smashed against the good sides, but all the lads that are out there will be giving their all, unlike some who played under Demon.
Glad Sunbury won though, hate East, those merging DOGS!
Vineyard
7 May 2007, 11:54
vineyard dylan here mate, i have no idea what the hell is going on with hawker28 i have no idea who it is and no it is not me...i am straight up with serge and he knows i wanna play ones me n him chat regularly so who ever hawker28 is ur a total ****er and u need to shut ur mouth
Very impressive Dylan. Cant be anything but straight up. my comments were probably a bit harsh in retrospect and agree with you that Hawker is a tosser. Dont ned stupid rumours floating around.
Good luck with the year mate and demon/serge always give the young fellas a go.
FootyFat
7 May 2007, 12:07
Went to the Darley Marsh game on the weekend,it was the biggest croud at a local derby for a good 5 years due to all the hype about the Marsh and its improvement.And as much as id hate to admit it they have improved out of sight on last year.They have not picked up any superstars which is probably there down fall but have a nice even blend of players accross the board.As for Darley they will only improve as the year goes on they have an average age of 22 take out trav stevenson and the coach who are in there 30s and the next oldest is 23 with the younges Daz leonard being 16 so I dont think they expect any real miracles this year just as long as they are competitive.From what i am told they have spent jack s#$t money this year and have plenty in the bank so look for them to rebuild. Power left the club in a pretty ordinary state due to the way he went about things by having a set of rules for blokes he got to the club and a totally different set for everyone else which caused alot of conflict on and off the field.Garry and Capey are fantastic and have the whole club moving in the same direction all together which has not happened since being in the BFL
Premiership
7 May 2007, 12:38
It is a great point FFAT, regardless of who you have on your list you need to be moving in the same direction from the top down. If your not, better to cut your losses and move on. Like I said previously, from what I saw of the round 1 game v South, you guys looked impressive to me, and no doubt will be competitive against all teams this year.
Realistically teams success has to be judged on differing scales. Everyone aims for a premiership, however it appears this year that Sunbury East and Ballarat are the clubs that have vigorously pursued it, whilst redan darley and melton are rebuilding their lists aiming to hold ground. With Marsh, South, Lakers and Sebas aiming for credibility after very ordinary years and a spot in the finals there main goal?.
You are a clown KA. We know where we ...
Glad Sunbury won though, hate East, those merging DOGS!
No need for that mate . . . if they didn't merge the league would be two teams short, but since they have merged they have added plenty to the competition . . . i think that is a bit of a harsh comment.
Wrong.... Both clubs were financial enough to stay in comp.. Just took the weak approach, not like Ballarat, Redan, Sebas, Lakers, Bacchus.... East will probably not give up until they win a flag and good luck to them but victory will not be as sweet as it will be for the teams mentioned above.
The Beaks Gossip 07
7 May 2007, 17:23
Went to the Darley Marsh game on the weekend,it was the biggest croud at a local derby for a good 5 years due to all the hype about the Marsh and its improvement.And as much as id hate to admit it they have improved out of sight on last year.They have not picked up any superstars which is probably there down fall but have a nice even blend of players accross the board.As for Darley they will only improve as the year goes on they have an average age of 22 take out trav stevenson and the coach who are in there 30s and the next oldest is 23 with the younges Daz leonard being 16 so I dont think they expect any real miracles this year just as long as they are competitive.From what i am told they have spent jack s#$t money this year and have plenty in the bank so look for them to rebuild. Power left the club in a pretty ordinary state due to the way he went about things by having a set of rules for blokes he got to the club and a totally different set for everyone else which caused alot of conflict on and off the field.Garry and Capey are fantastic and have the whole club moving in the same direction all together which has not happened since being in the BFL
I have it on a reliable soucre that the darley committee are spending a good amount of money on the locals and keeping the faith with them and not going out and spending heaps like other eastern block Clubs, eg sunbury, south and Marsh, my spies hear that the east point and Redan boys were not that disappointed in their games on the weekend and a high ranking BFL identity was heard at the Darley Game that like redan, East Point were pacing themselves for a slow start to the season to finish with wet sail from about round 5 onwards.
My word to them is "You had better pull your finger out cause the opposition is a bit better that you treat them Lions and Kangaroos"
The Beaks Gossip 07
7 May 2007, 17:59
Wrong.... Both clubs were financial enough to stay in comp.. Just took the weak approach, not like Ballarat, Redan, Sebas, Lakers, Bacchus.... East will probably not give up until they win a flag and good luck to them but victory will not be as sweet as it will be for the teams mentioned above.
Gadget i have done a bit of research on this matter and have found some facts that you should be aware of.
East were financially stuffed, Point was ok but just.
East had 30 senior players only, Point had 15 at most.
East had 5 u/18s only, Point had 25.
Both East and Point had special meetings that failed to gather anymore support off the field and then the merger took place.
I was around the BFL at that time and had a fair bit to do with it in an advisory role to see that it got through succesfully as we did not want to see either side completely disappear and that was the situation.
I have the full admiration for the hard decisions made by East and Point and respect the efforts of the Redans, Ballarats, Sebas's, to maintain their club and to see them prosper is fantastic.
Let me remind you all that the club faced many obstacles and were very lucky to even survive. they will not be the first or last club to do this.
Unfortunaltley we lost Daylesford out of the competition but for them to survive in a very competative league they had to move and we wished the demons the best when they left.
You only have to see how close the lakers came to doing the same with Nth City this season and belive me that this is still very much on the backburner and stay tuned over the coming months as the drums are beating there.
Lakers will never merge with North City. It was more a talk about sharing facilities and venue that turned into talks of a merger that were quickly shot down. While North City might like the prospects of a merger and need Lakers to survive, Lakers dont want North City or need them to survive.
According to North City's captain, Adam Richardson, who was asked by Paul Leahy to give his opinion of the matter, Lakers very much wanted a merge.
According to North City's captain, Adam Richardson, who asked to give his opinion of the matter, Lakers very much wanted a merge.
Funny how a North player would know what Lakers want to happen isn't it???
lakersman
7 May 2007, 22:29
According to North City's captain, Adam Richardson, who was asked by Paul Leahy to give his opinion of the matter, Lakers very much wanted a merge.
pull ya head in mate how would he know what lakers want. I can tell you now its the last thing lakers wanted.
?? What's with the attitude? is this a discussion forum or is everything said gonna draw an aggressive reaction?
And in answer to your question, from what i understand lakers approached North City. Now logic would say that they have a board meeting to discuss what decision to make, and according to richo, he was asked to voice his opinion on it. Seems like a pretty tall story for him to make up, so i believe that the lakers approached North.
And it isn't a matter of what Lakers want, nobody wants to fold, it may be a matter of what they need.
Before ya all lose your heads and have a crack at me, just take a step back and understand that i am relaying information that i have heard, as is everybody in this thread.
FootyFat
8 May 2007, 09:10
I have it on a reliable soucre that the darley committee are spending a good amount of money on the locals and keeping the faith with them and not going out and spending heaps like other eastern block Clubs, eg sunbury, south and Marsh, my spies hear that the east point and Redan boys were not that disappointed in their games on the weekend and a high ranking BFL identity was heard at the Darley Game that like redan, East Point were pacing themselves for a slow start to the season to finish with wet sail from about round 5 onwards.
My word to them is "You had better pull your finger out cause the opposition is a bit better that you treat them Lions and Kangaroos"
Im not sure where you got the info of Darley paying the locals big money. Sure probably Cape and Miller would be on some sort of contract but other than that the rest get the base, and they have introduced a new incentives thing for the best 4 or 5 uncontracted players on the day. Which has been working well from all reports. I think Darley were happy to go with players that want to play for the right reasons not for the money which you get alot of in footy these days.This is why the lakers marsh ballaret sebas have had a rough trot over the last 4-5 years because they cant find the big money to compete with the more financial sides.
Itsmyshow
8 May 2007, 09:25
Very impressive Dylan. Cant be anything but straight up. my comments were probably a bit harsh in retrospect and agree with you that Hawker is a tosser. Dont ned stupid rumours floating around.
Good luck with the year mate and demon/serge always give the young fellas a go.
Agree totally, well said Vineyard.. We dont need stupid rumours floating around.. Do we Dylan?
The Beaks Gossip 07
8 May 2007, 10:42
Im not sure where you got the info of Darley paying the locals big money. Sure probably Cape and Miller would be on some sort of contract but other than that the rest get the base, and they have introduced a new incentives thing for the best 4 or 5 uncontracted players on the day. Which has been working well from all reports. I think Darley were happy to go with players that want to play for the right reasons not for the money which you get alot of in footy these days.This is why the lakers marsh ballaret sebas have had a rough trot over the last 4-5 years because they cant find the big money to compete with the more financial sides.
Footy fat if you read my words correctly you would see that i said that they are spending a good load of money, not BIG MONEY as you stated, by good i mean it is good to see a club putting it into their locals.
Everybody knows that you need at least 4-5 guns on good contracts, then you spread the money amongst the other players on the list. In the past and I hope that the committee have the guts to stick with the program of developing players as it can turn around. I know that money was wasted by throwing it at blokes who did not want to play for the love of the club, i think the devils are on the right path.
You only have to look at how Redan have progressed when they won their u/18 premierships, they got top up players to help the list develop in Field, Bridges, Edwards ect.. a lot of those u/18s are now playing in the seniors, Ballarat have turned the corner, put all of their energy into their social facility, got a respected coach and topped up with players and developed their juniors. East Point topped up with some quality players and have developed their juniors, the Lakers, Melton, Marsh & Sebas are doing the right stuff as is most clubs now by realising that you have to devlop the locals as well as looking after them.
So it can be done and i know that the powerful sunbury club have the resources but they have a lot of their u/18s in the seniors so it can be done but you have to stick at it.
I dont believe in bagging clubs like my brother "The Beak" does in the BFL Record as i think that most clubs are trying their best to be competitive and have quality people involved, it is the minority who cannot see the bigger picture as these people put their heart and soul into their clubs and if their was a lot more positive talk on about Ballarat footy as it is a fantastic standard.
Gadget i have done a bit of research on this matter and have found some facts that you should be aware of.
East were financially stuffed, Point was ok but just.
East had 30 senior players only, Point had 15 at most.
East had 5 u/18s only, Point had 25.
Both East and Point had special meetings that failed to gather anymore support off the field and then the merger took place.
I was around the BFL at that time and had a fair bit to do with it in an advisory role to see that it got through succesfully as we did not want to see either side completely disappear and that was the situation.
I have the full admiration for the hard decisions made by East and Point and respect the efforts of the Redans, Ballarats, Sebas's, to maintain their club and to see them prosper is fantastic.
Let me remind you all that the club faced many obstacles and were very lucky to even survive. they will not be the first or last club to do this.
Unfortunaltley we lost Daylesford out of the competition but for them to survive in a very competative league they had to move and we wished the demons the best when they left.
Take your point Beak but still think other clubs has faced many obstacles similar to East & Point but have had the ticker to survive. Short term success...Good luck to them!
James Kerr
8 May 2007, 13:50
Could the Dane Grenfell experience be coming back to the Ballarat League?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=298915&page=5
lakersman
8 May 2007, 16:59
?? What's with the attitude? is this a discussion forum or is everything said gonna draw an aggressive reaction?
And in answer to your question, from what i understand lakers approached North City. Now logic would say that they have a board meeting to discuss what decision to make, and according to richo, he was asked to voice his opinion on it. Seems like a pretty tall story for him to make up, so i believe that the lakers approached North.
And it isn't a matter of what Lakers want, nobody wants to fold, it may be a matter of what they need.
Before ya all lose your heads and have a crack at me, just take a step back and understand that i am relaying information that i have heard, as is everybody in this thread.
Just get ya facts right and then you can comment on anything you like as you can anyway. But no need to talk bullshit mate about the two clubs
yeah righto buddy.
Minersrest
9 May 2007, 11:16
Well mate, Field and edwards both played, the latter proving once again of how much of true sportsman he is by not shaking his oponents hand. Caldow did go back to north, but the ballart boys won by about five goals and should of won by ten. ohh a big bloke played in the ruck and was in the bests and in my book that means ballarat have a ruckman.
I agree. Both Field and Edwards played. Field struggled. Edwards had a fair bit of it though. He played on Brad Anderson for the second half, with both of them being in eachother's ears all day. Seemed to be no love lost between the two. But i did think it was quite disgraceful when Edwards refused to acknowledge Anderson when he went to shake his hand after the game. Quite ordinary from him. Aaron Brennan came up from the 2's for the first time to ruck and was excellent in his first game.
And don't forget about the Hall Train too, Looked too good for reserves football.... I'm not going to comment on Edwards as he's way too big for me! But he did come into the clubrooms for a beer after the game and was one of the last Redan blokes to leave. And how good was Prez Manleys little dig at East Point!
Blues1995
9 May 2007, 16:46
And don't forget about the Hall Train too, Looked too good for reserves football.... I'm not going to comment on Edwards as he's way too big for me! But he did come into the clubrooms for a beer after the game and was one of the last Redan blokes to leave. And how good was Prez Manleys little dig at East Point!
Gadget you seem to be knowledgeable about the league, how are the lakers shaping up as this was my former club and have not been able to see them play this year, last time i spoke to them they had just gone throigh that nth city issue and come out the other side.
When i was last up in ballarat the talk was that Edwards was going overseas and not playing this year, whats changed? have Redan recruited well again although on saturday it was good to see both l;ast years grand finalist get beat as it breathes life into the comp.
Are Sunbury going to be the side to beat?
Ballarat are obviously the big improvers for 2007 and have a quality coach in Northey at the helm, did Shane get stuck into East Point ? what about, i know it would be along the lines of their arrogance.
I'll do my best...
Gadget you seem to be knowledgeable about the league, how are the lakers shaping up as this was my former club and have not been able to see them play this year, last time i spoke to them they had just gone throigh that nth city issue and come out the other side. They very competitive against Redan, Had a win over sebas on week end. Maxwell is back at the club and proving to be as dangerous as he has been in past. Reusy is still captain and respected for he's loyalty to the club that has seen players move on.
When i was last up in ballarat the talk was that Edwards was going overseas and not playing this year, whats changed? have Redan recruited well again although on saturday it was good to see both l;ast years grand finalist get beat as it breathes life into the comp. Plyed against Redan satdy, and they may have slipped a few notches from previous years, Edwards had alot of footy but there depth might be a problem this year.
Are Sunbury going to be the side to beat? Yes. Defiantely
Ballarat are obviously the big improvers for 2007 and have a quality coach in Northey at the helm, did Shane get stuck into East Point ? what about, i know it would be along the lines of their arrogance. I would be dissapointed if we didn't finish top 3 this year, there is a good feeling around the club at moment.Time will tell come later in the season but all looks good. Shane just had a little dig about East/point merging.
Melton South are big improvers aswell with handy recruits coming aswell as ex players... They could be a smoky this year, but Sunbury the yard stick at moment!
Gadget you seem to be knowledgeable about the league, how are the lakers shaping up as this was my former club and have not been able to see them play this year, last time i spoke to them they had just gone throigh that nth city issue and come out the other side.
When i was last up in ballarat the talk was that Edwards was going overseas and not playing this year, whats changed? have Redan recruited well again although on saturday it was good to see both l;ast years grand finalist get beat as it breathes life into the comp.
Are Sunbury going to be the side to beat?
Ballarat are obviously the big improvers for 2007 and have a quality coach in Northey at the helm, did Shane get stuck into East Point ? what about, i know it would be along the lines of their arrogance.
Lakers arnt looking as bas as people first might thought...They played redan in round 1 and lost by a good 50 points....now you could say from seeing that....lakers arnt any good again same old same old....Lake Wendouree backed up the next week and beet sebastopol in a thriller game which i did happen to see a player called tim Madden you could almost say he saved the game......very good player and one to watch.
Lakers wil be aiming for a finals spot this year and could be a suprise package
Bayonet
10 May 2007, 12:14
is that Garath Hall? Can you give me an update on how he is travelling?
Kicked 6 in wet & slippery conditions on the weekend. Was emergancy last week so would be close this week you'd think.
Bayonet
10 May 2007, 13:22
Is that Garath Hall you are referring to? Can you give me an update on how he is playing and if he is training?
Read previous post mate, yes he's going ok.. Kicked 6 on the week end... Not sure what he had for breakfast today though.
RAZZAMATAZZ
10 May 2007, 13:59
I happened to catch the game and i though edwards was no good! yeah he may have had a bit of the ball but the bloke can't kick, he kicks in to no1 and turns it over all the time, that is the reason he got found out at VFL level. On the other hand field is a class act! thought he played not a bad game!
Leather Magnet
10 May 2007, 14:08
I happened to catch the game and i though edwards was no good! yeah he may have had a bit of the ball but the bloke can't kick, he kicks in to no1 and turns it over all the time, that is the reason he got found out at VFL level. On the other hand field is a class act! thought he played not a bad game!
Get a kick yourself Razz or too busy chasin Jed's arse?
I'm sure you'd want him in your side, i know we would... Not a bad bloke either.
Vineyard
10 May 2007, 16:25
I'm sure you'd want him in your side, i know we would... Not a bad bloke either.
Both edwards and field very welcome at Darley. would compliment the youth policy very well.
Hank Evans
10 May 2007, 16:32
Both edwards and field very welcome at Darley. would compliment the youth policy very well.
Youth policy? That's an interesting way of saying 'have no one else to play'.
RAZZAMATAZZ
10 May 2007, 16:54
Get a kick yourself Razz or too busy chasin Jed's arse?
I think my 3 goals in the Third quarter spoke for themself you skunk!
19th Man
10 May 2007, 16:58
In one sentence you "catch the game", and 2 posts later you have kicked "3 goals in the 3rd quarter". Make up your mind!