View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

19th Man
10 May 2007, 17:11
I have noticed a huge influx of support on this site for the Swans. The band wagon has become fully loaded all of a sudden.

RAZZAMATAZZ
10 May 2007, 17:32
I have noticed a huge influx of support on this site for the Swans. The band wagon has become fully loaded all of a sudden.

Well why wouldn't it be?? the boys are flying!

sniper5
10 May 2007, 17:40
Yeah Ballarat seem to be looking alright and its a shock to some, including me but then again its early days yet so need to get carried away

Left Footed Cat
10 May 2007, 19:22
Well why wouldn't it be?? the boys are flying!
Sunbury will smack Ballarat, not sure when it is on, but i'll even give goals in.

Leather Magnet
11 May 2007, 00:37
Sunbury will smack Ballarat, not sure when it is on, but i'll even give goals in.

Not wrong about Sunbury belting the Swans. Can't see a team with N.Otto being touted as a big recruit threatening Power's boys. ;)

Thoughts RAZZA?

Hank Evans
11 May 2007, 09:30

Agreed. Ballarat may be quick, but are boys playing a man's game. Sunbury will be too much physically for Ballarat to handle.

Gadget
11 May 2007, 10:38
Anyone heard of who is in U/23 interleague from there club?

Gomez
11 May 2007, 11:09
Anyone heard of who is in U/23 interleague from there club?

It was in the courier today:
Bacchus Marsh: Nick Becker, Tyson Shea, Leigh Wilson
Ballarat: Ash Baker*, Matt Battistello*, Ryan Harris, Brad Anderson, Mark Nunn, Tristain May, Adam Sewell, Luke Kennelly, Will McGregor, Nigel Otto
Darley: Brad Miller*, Luke Guerra, Clinton Young, Matthew Cape*, Danny Measures
East Point: Luke Faull, Peter Blanchfield, Shane Hutchinson*, Adam Jennings, Dan Jordan*, Paul Koderenko, Chris Banwell
Lake Wendouree: Les Hughes, Brendan Gilbert, Heath Pyke, Hamish Jarrod
Melton: Darren Searle, Alan Hill*, Jay Isbuster
Melton South: Robert McMahon*, Jarrod Reardon*, Ash Sweet, Anthony Christofaro, Shaun White
Redan: Jarrod Edwards*, Julian Field*, Matt Dwyer, Marcus Cummins, Brett Dickinson, Damien Horbury
Sebastopol: James Brick, Simon Hart*, Simon Lockyer, Malcolm Niblett
Sunbury: Drryl Griffin*, Ash Flemming*, Luke Beattie*, Damien Houlihan*, Jamie Lobb, Pat Cariss, Corey Brown, Brett Chambers, Ross Seight, Daniel Sahlberg

*Over Age

Left Footed Cat
11 May 2007, 13:58
It was in the courier today:
Bacchus Marsh: Nick Becker, Tyson Shea, Leigh Wilson
Ballarat: Ash Baker*, Matt Battistello*, Ryan Harris, Brad Anderson, Mark Nunn, Tristain May, Adam Sewell, Luke Kennelly, Will McGregor, Nigel Otto
Darley: Brad Miller*, Luke Guerra, Clinton Young, Matthew Cape*, Danny Measures
East Point: Luke Faull, Peter Blanchfield, Shane Hutchinson*, Adam Jennings, Dan Jordan*, Paul Koderenko, Chris Banwell
Lake Wendouree: Les Hughes, Brendan Gilbert, Heath Pyke, Hamish Jarrod
Melton: Darren Searle, Alan Hill*, Jay Isbuster
Melton South: Robert McMahon*, Jarrod Reardon*, Ash Sweet, Anthony Christofaro, Shaun White
Redan: Jarrod Edwards*, Julian Field*, Matt Dwyer, Marcus Cummins, Brett Dickinson, Damien Horbury
Sebastopol: James Brick, Simon Hart*, Simon Lockyer, Malcolm Niblett
Sunbury: Drryl Griffin*, Ash Flemming*, Luke Beattie*, Damien Houlihan*, Jamie Lobb, Pat Cariss, Corey Brown, Brett Chambers, Ross Seight, Daniel Sahlberg

*Over Age
There must be a mistake, where is Shane Fisher. He sweats class!

Rubba
11 May 2007, 17:37
here we go again, 7 days on and we are back at it.

Whilst not quite getting on the ballarat wagon, wasnt surprised by win last week, although heart of hearts said go with experience at this stage. The others all went the way tipped.
This week appears it will be a bit easier, with East Point to smash Darley like Aussie cricket team in Barbados (suntanned DJ is back), Ballarat to account for an improved Sebas, Sunbury have a lot guns and will be tooo good for Lakers , Redan ??? have they fallen off this week will see how good ballarat win was, reckon they can beat Melton and finally, Melton South will kick straight and dent the early season Marsh confidence...who have improved. :thumbsu:
Have a good weekend

sniper5
11 May 2007, 18:35
yeah start of round 3.....if its true that dan jordans back well i think east point should easily get over darley

I think Redan will get over Melton but not by much if Melton are to win they cant keep relying on the younger players in there team like Heath Abela and Ryan Aquillina to get them over the line for them..there senior blokes need to stand up

I think Sunbury should beet the lakers....if Lakers are any chace Maxwell needs to kick another bag.. but after saying that maybe dan parry will have to step up and watch sunburys dangerous forward beattie!

Ballarat will be too strong for the improven sebastopol

And last of all melton south should beet the Marsh easily

stickers
11 May 2007, 20:40
does anyone have any information on the initial under18 ballarat squad ta dion

big poppa
12 May 2007, 19:59
does any1 else think shane hutchinson is over weight

sniper5
13 May 2007, 00:01

No i dont mate i just think hes a fairly solid bloke......and if he was over weight hes still dominating the Bfl mate

Left Footed Cat
13 May 2007, 11:30
Of course he's overweight, fattest in BFL by a mile.

MaNNiX
13 May 2007, 22:31
he is a unit, not fat.
and he still dominates the BFL

sniper5
13 May 2007, 23:05
went down to the eastern oval satdy arvo to watch the sunbury lakers game...
Sunbury looking the goods...houlihan and beattie very hard to beat whos gonna test em?

island breeze
14 May 2007, 00:11
>>>.

Venom
14 May 2007, 07:02
Copngratulations to the BM reserves this weekend...beating Melton Sth by 14 points. the boys 1st win in over 2 years i believe..

Hank Evans
14 May 2007, 09:23
Copngratulations to the BM reserves this weekend...beating Melton Sth by 14 points. the boys 1st win in over 2 years i believe..

The seniors must have got smashed if you're only talking about the reserves.

bearsboy
14 May 2007, 09:59
Kingsarmy, i've believe Steve Zavallis hasnt been cleared to play at Sunbury yet, apparently still training at Parkside, whats the go there ?

footyfanz22
14 May 2007, 11:06
The seniors must have got smashed if you're only talking about the reserves.

Bacchus Marsh only just lost in the 1s. Think the point was saying that the 2nds did well in that it was their first win for two years, so what the 1s did was irrelevant...

Hank Evans
14 May 2007, 11:16
Bacchus Marsh only just lost in the 1s. Think the point was saying that the 2nds did well in that it was their first win for two years, so what the 1s did was irrelevant...

Yeah, because what your senior side is doing is so irrelevent :rolleyes:

Left Footed Cat
14 May 2007, 11:48
Start up a reserves thread then, keep ya magoo's rot off here.

So the Marsh's old bald fatties did better than South's old bald fatties, who cares.

footyfanz22
14 May 2007, 11:51
Yeah, because what your senior side is doing is so irrelevent :rolleyes:

I couldn't give a stuff about Bacchus Marsh. The guy was merely saying it was the 2nds first win for two years.

Gadget
14 May 2007, 12:40
The Hall Train bags 5! Not bad for a bloke who's training consists of only having to turn his head 15cm's to the left to acknowledge Dennis! Tony Lockett medallist this year!

Any other stand outs for the week end? I see Webber got reported again, what did he do this time???

MaNNiX
14 May 2007, 12:55
The Hall Train bags 5! Not bad for a bloke who's training consists of only having to turn his head 15cm's to the left to acknowledge Dennis! Tony Lockett medallist this year!

Any other stand outs for the week end? I see Webber got reported again, what did he do this time???

Daniel Jordan will be the Tony Lockett medallist and everybody in this town knows it. Played one of the worst games i have seen him play for a while and still kicked 6.

Ballarat's bandwagon keeps gaining momentum...

Premiership
14 May 2007, 13:03
Ballarat and Sunbury definitely appear to be up and running early in the year. Big comeback by the redannies from the previous week, told they were really stung by the loss to Ballarat, not because they lost, but the way they lost.
Well done to the Cobra reserves:thumbsu:
Their senior results definitely show they have become a competitive unit, well done to the club for doing so. Coach miles must have them doing some good things, hopefully they keep it up for the whole year and they can snag a few wins along the way.

Leather Magnet
14 May 2007, 14:35

Webber's in strife. If he gets outed the VCFL will de-register him on the basis of more than 16 weeks suspension during his career. No rgeo, no play.

the_other
14 May 2007, 16:17

K Murrihy would have looked good for a double figure goal haul if he didn't have a rest in the last quarter.

Webber was lucky the umpire was on the wrong side in an earlier incident; wasn't a great idea to hit someone directly in front of the Redan supporters. He will be in trouble I would think.

19th Man
14 May 2007, 17:19
K Murrihy would have looked good for a double figure goal haul if he didn't have a rest in the last quarter.

Webber was lucky the umpire was on the wrong side in an earlier incident; wasn't a great idea to hit someone directly in front of the Redan supporters. He will be in trouble I would think.

Yeah he will be in trouble, because you can bet that he will get no favours from the tribunal. Ballarat sides tend to know most umpires on a first name basis, and more times than not, their version of events will make it hard for the defendant to get off.
The term "help you get off" doesn't really occur in the BFL.

sniper5
14 May 2007, 17:28
I was just wondering if anyone could give me feedback on how good the too melton sides are this year.
Havent seen either play yet but i see melton south at the top but only beet the marsh by 3 goals and then i see melton get absouletly thrashed by a switched on Redan

Are Melton south any good coz there sitting 2nd on the ladder
and are Melton really that bad?

the_other
14 May 2007, 17:30
Yeah he will be in trouble, because you can bet that he will get no favours from the tribunal. Ballarat sides tend to know most umpires on a first name basis, and more times than not, their version of events will make it hard for the defendant to get off.
The term "help you get off" doesn't really occur in the BFL.

I saw the incidents first hand, and the one he didn't get reported for was worse in my opinion. The one he was reported was running through Pitt after he kicked for goal. It was late, dangerous and a pretty silly thing to be doing with his record.

Gomez
14 May 2007, 18:34
Not wrong about Sunbury belting the Swans. Can't see a team with N.Otto being touted as a big recruit threatening Power's boys. ;)

Thoughts RAZZA?

Notto kicked 5 on the weekend and was in the best 2 or 3. Took some great contested marks in the forward line and looked very good. Granted the opposition didn't give him much of a fight, but it appears he will perform more than adequately in the BFL

lofty27
14 May 2007, 18:47
anyone from lake wenderee know how david baulch is going?

Animosity
14 May 2007, 19:10
Just wondering if the bfl website has turfed the detailed results pages (bests/goals/quarter by quarter) and if so, has it been relocated?

sniper5
14 May 2007, 19:53
anyone from lake wenderee know how david baulch is going?

Got in the best for lakers ressies on the w.e!

Left Footed Cat
14 May 2007, 20:08
I was just wondering if anyone could give me feedback on how good the too melton sides are this year.
Havent seen either play yet but i see melton south at the top but only beet the marsh by 3 goals and then i see melton get absouletly thrashed by a switched on Redan

Are Melton south any good coz there sitting 2nd on the ladder
and are Melton really that bad?
Melton are Poo (see Redan score) and South have not played anyone yet. Will be reality check when they play the good sides (ie Ballarat, Redan, East, Sunbury). At best I think they are the best of the bad sides. If McMahon gets hurt then they will be close to the rabble they were last year.

Bung Knee
14 May 2007, 22:57
Bacchus Marsh are the hottest side in the league cos they're near Melton.

Lica
14 May 2007, 23:01
I couldn't give a stuff about Bacchus Marsh. The guy was merely saying it was the 2nds first win for two years.

Exactly!! Hank your a W.ank.
The Bacchus Marsh seniors did well considering they didn't have an interchange half way through the second quarter. Rocky broke his leg and they lost both their rucks in West and Rowe so considering that I think that they played pretty well.
They have shown vast improvement on last year.

Lica
14 May 2007, 23:06
Start up a reserves thread then, keep ya magoo's rot off here.

So the Marsh's old bald fatties did better than South's old bald fatties, who cares.

If you could read it says this is a "Ballarat Football League" Thread. The league includes the magoos and the under 18's. :rolleyes:
Just because Darley and Carlton got smashed on the weekend there is no need to be bitter and twisted. :D

Left Footed Cat
15 May 2007, 09:39
If you could read it says this is a "Ballarat Football League" Thread. The league includes the magoos and the under 18's. :rolleyes:
Just because Darley and Carlton got smashed on the weekend there is no need to be bitter and twisted. :D
The under 18's have their own thread, none of their kiddy garbage gets written on here, so same applies to the 2's. Especially Marsh 2's.
And I'm not bitter and twisted, the baggers mite get more priority picks. Imagine if they had priorities in the BFL, the Marsh would have had about 5 years of 1st and 2nd picks. They would have an awesome side now, but that aint the case. You have improved, but you still might not win a game.

Gadget
15 May 2007, 10:47
Who cares about Webber, we all know he plays hard and i'm sure his intentions are to be tough at the ball but sometimes clumsy..more importantly what's the story with this umpire? Any Melton or Redan people see or hear anything about this?

the_other
15 May 2007, 11:07
Who cares about Webber, we all know he plays hard and i'm sure his intentions are to be tough at the ball but sometimes clumsy..more importantly what's the story with this umpire? Any Melton or Redan people see or hear anything about this?

I was at the match (obviously), but have not seen or heard anything, so can't help you there.

Scoots
15 May 2007, 11:40
I was at the match (obviously), but have not seen or heard anything, so can't helo you there.

Does anyone know the result of Webber at the tribunal last night?

Rat_attack
15 May 2007, 11:50
Can sum1 please give me an update of how richard tucker is going for ballarat this year??

Grimmett
15 May 2007, 11:50
Cleared

Grimmett
15 May 2007, 11:53
Can sum1 please give me an update of how richard tucker is going for ballarat this year??

Can't get a kick. ;)

gault
15 May 2007, 12:24
Does anyone know the result of Webber at the tribunal last night?

webber got cleared for the bump on pitt which should have just been 50m's nothing more it didnt look that bad to me just was abit late. what he should have got rubbed out for was hitting rumble in the face was alot worse than the late bump. although when he did get sent off he had a go at people over the fence and the whole melton bench had to calm him down and hold him back. and as for the game one of the most one sided games i have ever seen. melton didn't chase, tackle or even look like putting up a fight. the BFL is sadly goign to be a 4 team race this year with the bottom sides way off the pace of sunbury, east, ballarat and redan

Premiership
15 May 2007, 12:35
Until the half way mark of the season, as per earlier posts it appears difficult to get an accurate rating on most teams. It does appear that Sunbury, East and Ballarat have certainly hit the ground running, set the pace, Redan have played one of these and been beaten, have beaten lakers and melton, so hard to get a handle on those guys, South whilst undefeated, played teams that may be in the bottom half of the ladder, so all you can say about them is they have improved, marsh have definitely improved by simply being competitive, really unless you know the injury or players available or unavailable in any given game, very hard to judge at this early stage I would think. Just my thoughts.

Premiership
15 May 2007, 12:40
I was reading on the CHFL thread a discussion about salary cap. What do people think about them, and before everyone starts I know very very diff to police, in an ideal world would this help even up the comp.
I agree, the gap between the top 4 and bottom 4 is getting wider, the bottom are competitive with the other bottom 4 however when you have a situation where some clubs are doubling others match payments it seems some clubs really enter the season with no more hope than to make an elimination final.That cant be healthy and certainly something that surely wont continue for too much longer, I think many more players will start to see the CHFL and Riddell League as options.

Minersrest
15 May 2007, 12:56
Notto kicked 5 on the weekend and was in the best 2 or 3. Took some great contested marks in the forward line and looked very good. Granted the opposition didn't give him much of a fight, but it appears he will perform more than adequately in the BFL

Hey mate, you seem to know your stuff on the swans, just from watching a few games nige otto looks the goods, very brave, who else should we keep our eye on.

Minersrest
15 May 2007, 13:02

Gomez might no more, but from watching a couple he seems to be steady, played a bit on the bench but has done well when on. Has a crack

switch the play
16 May 2007, 21:26
How has darleys coach Gary "strawbs" Learmonth's form been?Hope he still provides some entertainment off the ground for the Darley boys as well even if he is coach.

Bobby Giovanni
17 May 2007, 10:26
Is Toby Biggs playing seniors this year?

schulzy
17 May 2007, 11:42
Is Toby Biggs playing seniors this year?

he moved to rokewood.

MaNNiX
17 May 2007, 12:10
he moved to rokewood.
its a shame too he would be a chance to play 1s

Bobby Giovanni
17 May 2007, 12:49
he moved to rokewood.

How come? Is he playing seniors there?

woof woof
17 May 2007, 16:55
The Tyntynder F.C in the Central Murray Football League (previously Mid Murray Football League) is having a reunion this weekend 18th, 19th & 20th of May at their clubrooms in Swan Hill. We will be acknowleging the premiership sides of the mid 80's but any player, supporter etc is welcome to attend this great weekend. If you would like more info you can contact keg18wilson@hotmail.com or ring the clubrooms on 03 50322974

gotnoskills
18 May 2007, 10:06
Can anyone post the number list for each team for season 2007?

I haven't been able to find any on the BFL website.

cockroach
18 May 2007, 10:09
Can anyone post the number list for each team for season 2007?

I haven't been able to find any on the BFL website.

get to a game and buy a record tight ass :thumbsu:

Hank Evans
18 May 2007, 10:22

Speaking of records, do you know that if you buy a record in round one you will not have to pay gate fees all year?

Simply keep a copy in your car, drive through the gate without stopping and flash the record at the guy on the gate as you drive through. It will look as if you have already been through, paid and purchased a record.

Free entry for everyone!

FIGHT THE POWER!!!!!

gotnoskills
18 May 2007, 11:01

I don't get to any games brainwave! Don't live in the area.

Premiership
18 May 2007, 11:43
Sensational post Hank, been really surprised at the cost of local country football, considering the VFL to watch AFL listed players play is cheaper, sometimes at Austar Arena it is a gold coin donation.

Well done to Ben Taylor, bit of chat about him over summer, makes his debut with the Roosters senior team this week, as stated, very good player.

What are peoples thoughts on the football this weekend,
Marsh at home to Redan:
Melton at home to Sebas
Ballarat at home to Melton South
East v lakers at both their home
Sunbury at home to Darley, interesting clash given Darley success over Sunbury last year final with ex coach on other team.

James Kerr
18 May 2007, 11:47
Sunbury at home to Darley, interesting clash given Darley success over Sunbury last year final with ex coach on other team.

Essentially a new team, with new set-ups and new tactics. Don't think it will have any effect on the outcome, although there is some bad blood there. Sunbury forwards will decide the game, should be pretty even everywhere else.

Gadget
18 May 2007, 12:03
Speaking of records, do you know that if you buy a record in round one you will not have to pay gate fees all year?

Simply keep a copy in your car, drive through the gate without stopping and flash the record at the guy on the gate as you drive through. It will look as if you have already been through, paid and purchased a record.

Free entry for everyone!

FIGHT THE POWER!!!!!
Good Hank....

Another one that has been done is... mention you work for stewarts pies and your just delivering more to the canteen.. Has worked 3 out of 3 for me.

Any other theories???

footy15
18 May 2007, 12:14
Sensational post Hank, been really surprised at the cost of local country football, considering the VFL to watch AFL listed players play is cheaper, sometimes at Austar Arena it is a gold coin donation.

Well done to Ben Taylor, bit of chat about him over summer, makes his debut with the Roosters senior team this week, as stated, very good player.

Marsh at home to Redan:
Melton at home to Sebas

Very well done to Ben Taylor, i'm sure he will show that his position is well deserved. Good luck to him.

Rubba
18 May 2007, 17:11
This weeks wrap up.

Sunbury to beat darley easily, East to get over lakers, if east click may blow out, Ballarat should win but a few out, so reckon only get up by 7 goals, Redan should also win easy. Sebas is my tip for an upset.

Have a good weekend.:thumbsu: :)

Kings Army
18 May 2007, 17:20
Marsh at home to Redan:
Melton at home to Sebas
Sunbury at home to Darley, interesting clash given Darley success over Sunbury last year final with ex coach on other team.[/quote]

Will be lucky to get a close game this week. South maybe to push Ballarat.

Sunbury will smash Darley - the brains and the players have all left. Kega to kick 6. I said that Darley would lose the next 3 by 150 points. It could be 150 in 2 games. Rain is the only saviour.

Venom
18 May 2007, 20:04

Free entry for everyone!

FIGHT THE POWER!!!!!
hahaha. very smart hank! i like it.

Barnestoneworth
18 May 2007, 22:10
hahaha. very smart hank! i like it.

Yep. Great way to support your club!

Kings Army
19 May 2007, 16:36
Really good bloke, footy form has been good. has had a few sesions with the boys and you can see the devil inside..

Good sessions of drinking will be the only value GL will bring to Darley. Gee it must be tough to follow a side that has been ok but now will be lucky not to win the spoon this year.

As for Sunbury they don't need Serge this year as they are flying. Come into the rooms after the game and you can join me in singing the Sunbury song. Plenty of room for more Darley people that see the light.

Hank Evans
19 May 2007, 17:48
Good sessions of drinking will be the only value GL will bring to Darley. Gee it must be tough to follow a side that has been ok but now will be lucky not to win the spoon this year.

As for Sunbury they don't need Serge this year as they are flying. Come into the rooms after the game and you can join me in singing the Sunbury song. Plenty of room for more Darley people that see the light.

I wouldn't say there would be plenty of room if you have your fat ass in there backslapping and trying to be part of something that you never could have due to the fact that you love pizza, pies and piss too much, Fat boy.

FootyFat
19 May 2007, 19:23

I dont think at any stage has it been said that Darley expect to be a top side this year Fat boy, there has been alot of changes at the club deffinatly for the better that will take time. And ill tell you right now that on three occasions last year The so called big Boys that Sunbury claim to be were ment to spank Darley as well and went home with there tail between there legs.Yes i no that was last year and alot has changed but Darley dont get intimidated by Sunbury like most other teams so it may be closer than you think ill c you at the canteen PIG

big poppa
20 May 2007, 20:43
shane fisher is the pinnicle of which football excellence is measured a true champion of the game

19th Man
20 May 2007, 22:24
I dont think at any stage has it been said that Darley expect to be a top side this year Fat boy, there has been alot of changes at the club deffinatly for the better that will take time. And ill tell you right now that on three occasions last year The so called big Boys that Sunbury claim to be were ment to spank Darley as well and went home with there tail between there legs.Yes i no that was last year and alot has changed but Darley dont get intimidated by Sunbury like most other teams so it may be closer than you think ill c you at the canteen PIG

Wrong!

Lica
20 May 2007, 23:16
Noticed one of the umpires 'clap' when Redan kicked their first goal against the cobras on the weekend then signal the 'all clear' to the goal umpire.
Not a good look when you think about it.... Then he went on and gave 4 dodgey free kicks against the Cobras to Redan......They wouldn't have changed the game as Redan were just way too good however makes you wonder if there was actually any favourites being played out there on the field??????

19th Man
21 May 2007, 02:35
As the ladder stands, I think it's pretty accurate as to how it will look come season's end. South were found out when they played someone decent. The only surprise was the Margin in the Melton game.

Hank Evans
21 May 2007, 09:37
Noticed one of the umpires 'clap' when Redan kicked their first goal against the cobras on the weekend then signal the 'all clear' to the goal umpire.
Not a good look when you think about it.... Then he went on and gave 4 dodgey free kicks against the Cobras to Redan......They wouldn't have changed the game as Redan were just way too good however makes you wonder if there was actually any favourites being played out there on the field??????

You seriously just noticed this?

Hank Evans
21 May 2007, 09:38
Yep. Great way to support your club!

It's all league money Moron.

Premiership
21 May 2007, 09:46
[quote=19th Man;7590765]As the ladder stands, I think it's pretty accurate as to how it will look come season's end. South were found out when they played someone decent.
Agree to an extent 19th. The top 4 def showing they are all going to be competing come finals time, however their rankings is yet to be determined as barring Ballarat, East Sunbury and Redan have only played 1 of each other.
I was at the Ballarat Melton South Game on Sunday, and boy, can it be cold watching footy at Dahlsens. Luckily snuck in and got some food care of head office. They got me at the gate but I got them in the catering. First half was a terrific contest was of finals standard, plenty of pressure, thought Melton South should have been further in front at half time. Second half Ballarat opened the game up and looked very good, very silky and accurate with disposal and showed South their tails. So I wouldnt say Melton south were found out as such as they more than competed and looked very dangerous, just that Ballarat over the course of the game on their home ground played the conditions and ground better. Both sides where actually a bit better than what I thought though before the day. Only question mark on Ballarat, lack of quality talls when they play the other top 3.

Kings Army
21 May 2007, 09:48

You get lippy - put a stupid comment like the game maybe close and then go into hiding.

What are your views on Darley now after getting beat by 145 points in 2 games and another hiding this week?

80 plus points was about where I thought the game would be. Darley are slow, with little footy ability and half the team does not go when it is there turn. Keep clinging onto last years results if that makes you sleep easier at nights.

Premiership
21 May 2007, 09:49
Hank, you from what I can imagine have been a round football a bit, I havent seen enough of Ballarat Football in recent years to comment, but do you think the umpires in the competition actually can influence a game when East sides are playing West?

Itsmyshow
21 May 2007, 09:53
Ventured down to Clarke Oval yesterday and watched a far superior Sunbury smash Darley and not even get out of 2nd gear, Darley were slow and have poor foot skills, they have alot of work to do to get anywhere in the next couple of years...

Vineyard
21 May 2007, 10:22
You get lippy - put a stupid comment like the game maybe close and then go into hiding.

What are your views on Darley now after getting beat by 145 points in 2 games and another hiding this week?

80 plus points was about where I thought the game would be. Darley are slow, with little footy ability and half the team does not go when it is there turn. Keep clinging onto last years results if that makes you sleep easier at nights.

I ventured across to sunbury yesterday hoping to see a devils victory. i love teh sporting club there with the TAB, Beer and great bar maids.

From the past two weeks it can be seen that Darley wont be competing with the big boys come 2nd week of the finals campaign the way they are playing at the moment. Sunbury and East are two flag favourites and they are both very good sides. Sunbury slightly ahead in my opinion. Its what happens when boys play men, but you can see pasages of play within the devils to see they have the talent.

They were made to look slow by their poor foot skills. had plenty of footy but just didnt use it. Darley actually won the last quarter and you can say Sunbury stopped, but good sides never do.

Not all doom and gloom at the Devils Playground but work to do.

Kings Army
21 May 2007, 10:31
I ventured across to sunbury yesterday hoping to see a devils victory. i love teh sporting club there with the TAB, Beer and great bar maids.

From the past two weeks it can be seen that Darley wont be competing with the big boys come 2nd week of the finals campaign the way they are playing at the moment. Sunbury and East are two flag favourites and they are both very good sides. Sunbury slightly ahead in my opinion. Its what happens when boys play men, but you can see pasages of play within the devils to see they have the talent.

They were made to look slow by their poor foot skills. had plenty of footy but just didnt use it. Darley actually won the last quarter and you can say Sunbury stopped, but good sides never do.

Not all doom and gloom at the Devils Playground but work to do.

Sunbury still to add Griffen, Corey Brown, Oakie and Power. 3 of there best 7. A lot of room to improve.

MaNNiX
21 May 2007, 13:31
anyone know how Ben Taylor went over the weekend?

Vineyard
21 May 2007, 13:39
Sunbury still to add Griffen, Corey Brown, Oakie and Power. 3 of there best 7. A lot of room to improve.

darley still to add Cape, Lewis & Hastings. 3 quality talls who play key position and will straighten them up going forward. Would they have made the difference - not 76 points.

riggers21
21 May 2007, 18:45
shane fisher is the pinnicle of which football excellence is measured a true champion of the game

get off his end mate, how about the ******** gets on the park first... from what ive heard and seen of him your probably shane fisher yourself

happy_feet
21 May 2007, 19:38
anyone know how Ben Taylor went over the weekend?

played well got a bit of it.:thumbsu:

sniper5
21 May 2007, 19:57
As the ladder stands, I think it's pretty accurate as to how it will look come season's end. South were found out when they played someone decent. The only surprise was the Margin in the Melton game.

Yeah i think your right there 19th man...it seems to be Ballarat,Sunbury,East Point, and Redan who are gonna fight it out. But i suppose anything can happen in football but these are the fab 4 and the ones to beet. I think 5th and 6th spots are def up for grabs tho

MaNNiX
21 May 2007, 21:42
get off his end mate, how about the ******** gets on the park first... from what ive heard and seen of him your probably shane fisher yourself
think it was sarcasm, either way it is an irrelevant discussion

uptherecazaly
22 May 2007, 01:56
g'day gents... can anyone tell me much about Jason Delaney from East Point. What position he plays? how does he go? is it his old man coaching East?

Vineyard
22 May 2007, 11:01
Yeah i think your right there 19th man...it seems to be Ballarat,Sunbury,East Point, and Redan who are gonna fight it out. But i suppose anything can happen in football but these are the fab 4 and the ones to beet. I think 5th and 6th spots are def up for grabs tho

Only four teams left in race for flag: Power
http://www.ballarat.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif

THE COACH of the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League's only unbeaten side this year said only four clubs were still in the hunt for the 2007 premiership.
Sunbury's Mark Power nominated just three teams that stood between his side and this year's BFL flag: East Point, Redan and Ballarat.
The Sunbury Lions disposed of Darley, the team that knocked them out of last year's finals race, by 76 points on Sunday.
Earlier, East Point, Redan and Ballarat all won easily by 59 points or more, effectively splitting the premiership table into two divisions.
Redan, Ballarat and East Point currently sit under Sunbury with three wins apiece from four matches, along with the improved Melton South. But the Panthers (93.9 per cent) were a long way behind the other top sides in terms of percentage.
Power said he would not be able to say if Melton South was up to the same level as the current top four until after the Panthers took on his team at Clarke Oval (Sunbury), this Saturday.
"The next few weeks will give us an idea where everyone sits because we'll be playing those top teams," Power said.
"But I know Redan well enough because they've been a power for a few years, and they've got great players like Julian Field and Jarrod Edwards. Ballarat's got a former AFL coach (John Northey) and just looking at the results
you can see he's got them up and running really well."
"As for East Point, when we played them we won by eight goals, but it was early in season and it usually takes a few games to settle down. They were also missing Shane Fisher, and Dan Jordan who kicked 170 goals last year and a couple of other guys as well, so I think we caught them a bit cold.
"I'd be confident Melton South will be in the top six along with Darley or Lake Wendouree. But tradition says it's hard to go from a really poor side to a contender in one year. They will improve a lot but probably need one year where they might finish fifth and sixth."
Power said the Panthers could still worry the Lions this weekend with gun forwards Mathew Sutton and Robert McMahon, along with classy veteran Jarrod Reardon. "I've got a few headaches with their forward line but I'd be pretty sure we should beat them over the rest of the ground," Power said.

MaNNiX
22 May 2007, 13:01
g'day gents... can anyone tell me much about Jason Delaney from East Point. What position he plays? how does he go? is it his old man coaching East?
Hey mate . . . great bloke,he works his ass off on the track so he is very highly rated within the club, very handy player too, is underrated so flies under the radar a lot. . As far as i know his old man has nothing to do with the coaching at East Point.

footyfan001
22 May 2007, 20:24
Can anyone give me any information on Jamie 'Flop' Fenech? He plays reserves for swansbut heard he could get the call up and they think he could be a bit of a secret weapon. Has been kicking a few goals out of the midfield and they like the look of him...

FootyFat
23 May 2007, 11:39

I have no Doubt Sunbury are the best side this year. I know its only early but i was talking to some people pretty hi up at the club, and when a club is handing out 180,000+ in match payments for the year you would want to be geting some return for ya money.Darley would not even be paying out half that and obviously at the moment it shows im not going to make excuses,but when a club looses 14 or so senior player from last year it would be tough for any club.

Premiership
23 May 2007, 12:39
I think as per one of my earlier posts, the top 4 are the only clubs who realistically have come into the season gunning to win the flag, Melton and Darley after some massive player losses, holding ground and if they both make finals, terrific effort as both clubs have had large numbers exit. Lakers, Sebas, South and Marsh would all be aiming to get some respect back as they were ordinary last year and for these clubs, to play finals is success. The bigger picture is that how strong is the league when realistically 3 games in, the common perception is there are only 4 in it, and what happens to the other 6 teams in the 2nd half of year when they know finals is not an option. Will it be a long boring season!!

19th Man
23 May 2007, 12:46
I have no Doubt Sunbury are the best side this year. I know its only early but i was talking to some people pretty hi up at the club, and when a club is handing out 180,000+ in match payments for the year you would want to be geting some return for ya money.Darley would not even be paying out half that and obviously at the moment it shows im not going to make excuses,but when a club looses 14 or so senior player from last year it would be tough for any club.

You were quoted as saying that "they are changes for the better".
My point to you is, over the past few years the club seems to have performed at a respectable level, and even then, it's rumoured that total match payments were not even in the ballpark of East, Redan Sunbury etc.
So why is it that 14 players left last years prelim finalist? Surely if most had been kept, with 3-4 good inclusions, you may be competitive.

Left Footed Cat
23 May 2007, 13:21
Wow, good on ya. Hope they are all up and about in September, would be a shame to see the mighty Lions fall short of a flag this year. You have probably lost as many flags as you have won. Would be a shame to finish 2nd this year, with the amount rumoured to be spent.
Sunbury are the most under achieving team in the BFL. With the amount of money spent over the 10 odd years they have been in the league they should have won far more flags.
If they had any ounce of discipline they could have won 6 or 7 flags. Still the most successful in that time, but definetley the biggest under achievers.