View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

ItsAllAboutMe
23 May 2007, 14:59
I have no Doubt Sunbury are the best side this year. I know its only early but i was talking to some people pretty hi up at the club, and when a club is handing out 180,000+ in match payments for the year you would want to be geting some return for ya money.Darley would not even be paying out half that and obviously at the moment it shows im not going to make excuses,but when a club looses 14 or so senior player from last year it would be tough for any club.

I would have thought $180 000 is about the right level for a top 4 side in a strong competition. Wasnt it rumoured Jordan was offered $50k to leave east point but that still wasnt enough so fair to say East budget is similar. If compared to other competitions its quite small. In the EDFL Strathmore rumoured to have spent close to $300 000, Maribynong Park in B Grade rumoured to be up around the $200 000. If you are wanting your comp to get stronger this is the type of cash you must be looking to spend.

The Beaks Gossip 07
23 May 2007, 15:25
I would have thought $180 000 is about the right level for a top 4 side in a strong competition. Wasnt it rumoured Jordan was offered $50k to leave east point but that still wasnt enough so fair to say East budget is similar. If compared to other competitions its quite small. In the EDFL Strathmore rumoured to have spent close to $300 000, Maribynong Park in B Grade rumoured to be up around the $200 000. If you are wanting your comp to get stronger this is the type of cash you must be looking to spend.

Dan Jordan was offered 35k at Hepburn, his brother was offered 25k at Sunbury and i know that both lads stayed because they have unfinished business and why would DJ leave a job that has just seen him spend a month at the world cup. (remember money is not everthing to some people) it bloody does help if your social club gives you $150k to play with, tell me what other BFL club has that oppourtunity. Darley to a lesser extent im led to believe get about 55k from their little venture in Bacchus Marsh. I know for a fact that Redan, East Point & Ballarats total player payments would not exceed 75K tops including coaches because they cannot generate that kind of ridiculous money that Sunbury can. Give credit where its due and have a look at the quality of people they have playing for their clubs, not for the money cause im sure that they could go out and earn a heap more if they wanted too.

FootyFat
23 May 2007, 16:18
Dan Jordan was offered 35k at Hepburn, his brother was offered 25k at Sunbury and i know that both lads stayed because they have unfinished business and why would DJ leave a job that has just seen him spend a month at the world cup. (remember money is not everthing to some people) it bloody does help if your social club gives you $150k to play with, tell me what other BFL club has that oppourtunity. Darley to a lesser extent im led to believe get about 55k from their little venture in Bacchus Marsh. I know for a fact that Redan, East Point & Ballarats total player payments would not exceed 75K tops including coaches because they cannot generate that kind of ridiculous money that Sunbury can. Give credit where its due and have a look at the quality of people they have playing for their clubs, not for the money cause im sure that they could go out and earn a heap more if they wanted too.
Mate you are kidding yourself if you think East, Ballarat and Redan are paying 75k tops do you honestly think Northey would be coaching out of the goodness of his heart. I have seen it first hand money talks and bullshit walks personally i think East and Sunbury would be up around the 200k redan and ballarat 150-180k south 120-150k and then the others this includes coaches. Does anyone else agree that loyalty is almost non existent in the game today there would not be to many that have stayed loyal to 1 club in this day and age

The Nest
23 May 2007, 16:24
Can anyone tell me how young Brendan Clohesy is travelling for Redan? Played in 3 flags in the SFL, still only 24, can snag a goal. Great bloke who plays for the club not the money and seems to have success in whatever he does.

FootyFat
23 May 2007, 16:28
You were quoted as saying that "they are changes for the better".
My point to you is, over the past few years the club seems to have performed at a respectable level, and even then, it's rumoured that total match payments were not even in the ballpark of East, Redan Sunbury etc.
So why is it that 14 players left last years prelim finalist? Surely if most had been kept, with 3-4 good inclusions, you may be competitive.
when we elected to change coaches and scoble and demon left they were always going to take the players they brought. We had others retire and othere went to lower standards for what eva reason. We neva wanted to wave the cheque book around just to keep players as they would have only been there for the money anyway and we didnt want that

NoRumoursAllFact
23 May 2007, 16:31
thats good for you hank because Cannard only played in ther when he had a job to do and from what i seen went ok and Miller played up forward all year and won there goal kicking Mcabe is one of the better goal kicking midfielders getting round not many midfielders kick 5 against sundury in the first half of a game and i hope you happy with your decision to become a uni geek and be paying off ya hex for the next 7 years while a good old fashion tradie is wipeing his ass with hundreds by the time you finish paying off ya debt and get into the real world a tradie will be retired

Only the boss is the one wiping his ass with the hundreds.. the other parrot labourers are still chippin away at it when they're 65

Gadget
23 May 2007, 16:47
Mate you are kidding yourself if you think East, Ballarat and Redan are paying 75k tops do you honestly think Northey would be coaching out of the goodness of his heart. I have seen it first hand money talks and bullshit walks personally i think East and Sunbury would be up around the 200k redan and ballarat 150-180k south 120-150k and then the others this includes coaches. Does anyone else agree that loyalty is almost non existent in the game today there would not be to many that have stayed loyal to 1 club in this day and age

Try half that mate. Were not about just recruiting big name players to our club for 1-2 years and leaving us in debt which has happened in the past, were about building a side who wants to play for the club and not just fill there pockets plus we wouldn't allow it. And I feel majority are playing for us for the right reasons. We don't have 1 player over $250 p/game and i don't see swooper pulling up to training in his hummer!!! 60-70 is a saver guess mate.

The Beaks Gossip 07
23 May 2007, 17:05

Maaaaaate, I will tell you a few facts because i am in the know with clubs in Town, East and Redan would have only spent a maximum 80k last year and I say Maximum as their is not that much money around for clubs without revenue streams such as theirs, Redan have bingo, East Point have nothing except they are good at raising money and unless they have other sources they are very good at keeping it close to their chests.

John Northey is on a performance based revenue structure with the Alfredton Sports Club which is firing at present, he would be coaching for $20k tops and the sports club employs him to run various functions for 12 months a year as he is the manager, before he come back to Ballarat Swooper was struggling a bit so my mail tells me and was looking for stability in his home town.

Have a look at the 2 grand final sides last year, East had 12 juniors play and Redan had about 10, there is loyalty at those 2 clubs and all they have done is top up with some classy players, if you have a look at Ballarat this year you will see that they have a lot locals so i repeat that their is not that much money in Ballarat Football. Darley have thrown heaps of money around in their 10 year history for no result, Sunbury have had truck loads to spend but at least they have some silverware in the cabinet to show for their efforts.

My estimate of the top 5 earners at Redan are Murrihy, Field, Edwards, Clohesy & Snibson, Top 5 at East Point are Fisher, Jordans, Symes, Hutchinson

Left Footed Cat
23 May 2007, 17:49
My estimate of the top 5 earners at Redan are Murrihy, Field, Edwards, clohesy, Top 5 at East Point are Fisher, Jordans, Symes, Hutchinson
How can you be quoting figures and suggesting they are correct, you cant even count to 5.

The Beaks Gossip 07
23 May 2007, 18:35
How can you be quoting figures and suggesting they are correct, you cant even count to 5.

LFC, my humble apologies, I did go to the same school as the former BFL operations manager and thought I'd gotten over my bad habits picked up from copying his work, I was soon set straight by the teacher not to Plagiarise other peoples work.

My humble apologies To all forum readers.

005forsure
23 May 2007, 20:21
jordans nob jocky, thats 2.
the old no17 dane is back at melton! but will he kick goals, no midfield to give him the footy. only time will tell/

Kings Army
24 May 2007, 10:04
Wow, good on ya. Hope they are all up and about in September, would be a shame to see the mighty Lions fall short of a flag this year. You have probably lost as many flags as you have won. Would be a shame to finish 2nd this year, with the amount rumoured to be spent.
Sunbury are the most under achieving team in the BFL. With the amount of money spent over the 10 odd years they have been in the league they should have won far more flags.
If they had any ounce of discipline they could have won 6 or 7 flags. Still the most successful in that time, but definetley the biggest under achievers.

The 4 flags in 10 years compared to Darley's 0. Sunbury must be devastated. Underachieved and still the premier team in the BFL in the last 10 years. Gee that must make you feel very bitter.

While your here - how did you enjoy your time under Matt Power?

Kings Army
24 May 2007, 10:20
I have no Doubt Sunbury are the best side this year. I know its only early but i was talking to some people pretty hi up at the club, and when a club is handing out 180,000+ in match payments for the year you would want to be geting some return for ya money.Darley would not even be paying out half that and obviously at the moment it shows im not going to make excuses,but when a club looses 14 or so senior player from last year it would be tough for any club.

People high up at the club would feed you that rubbish of 180k to watch you shrivel up like a little girl and make you think you can't compete. That figure is way off.

This years payments are very similar to last years. Baird, Payne, Little, Turbo and Spinner were all on good money. Sunbury could not see them winning the premiership with the list they had so like a good club made some changes. When they left they got Beattie and Houlihan, Thomas returned to the club on Sunbury's terms and Kega returned to his old club for very little.

Sunburys depth is its key this year. They have 6 players who would play for less than $100 per game. So the payments in total are the same however they have done it alot smarter this year.

Instead of clubs crying poor me why don't you s hit your pants and join the RDFL or for the Ballarat teams follow Daylesford into their crappy league. You are looking for excuses after a month.

Minersrest
24 May 2007, 11:32
Can anyone give me any information on Jamie 'Flop' Fenech? He plays reserves for swansbut heard he could get the call up and they think he could be a bit of a secret weapon. Has been kicking a few goals out of the midfield and they like the look of him...

Flop is an out and out champion of a bloke, might not play seniers though, cooks a good BBQ though, and his chicken casorole is to die for. Also known as Jason Gillispie

Left Footed Cat
24 May 2007, 12:26
The 4 flags in 10 years compared to Darley's 0. Sunbury must be devastated. Underachieved and still the premier team in the BFL in the last 10 years. Gee that must make you feel very bitter.

While your here - how did you enjoy your time under Matt Power?
I said they were still the most successful, but still under achievers.
Demon was OK, had his favourites, some liked him, others didn't, like most coaches.

Kings Army
24 May 2007, 13:07
I said they were still the most successful, but still under achievers.
Demon was OK, had his favourites, some liked him, others didn't, like most coaches.

To beat Sunbury 3 times in a row and finish 3rd - he was OK? I thought he may have rated higher.
Were you a fav? Were you one that liked or disliked him?

Left Footed Cat
24 May 2007, 13:12
To beat Sunbury 3 times in a row and finish 3rd - he was OK? I thought he may have rated higher.
Were you a fav? Were you one that liked or disliked him?
Luck and a good finals draw got us to 3rd. I didnt mind him.

FootyFat
24 May 2007, 14:10
People high up at the club would feed you that rubbish of 180k to watch you shrivel up like a little girl and make you think you can't compete. That figure is way off.

This years payments are very similar to last years. Baird, Payne, Little, Turbo and Spinner were all on good money. Sunbury could not see them winning the premiership with the list they had so like a good club made some changes. When they left they got Beattie and Houlihan, Thomas returned to the club on Sunbury's terms and Kega returned to his old club for very little.

Sunburys depth is its key this year. They have 6 players who would play for less than $100 per game. So the payments in total are the same however they have done it alot smarter this year.

Instead of clubs crying poor me why don't you s hit your pants and join the RDFL or for the Ballarat teams follow Daylesford into their crappy league. You are looking for excuses after a month.
Well if $300 a game is coming back to the club for very little well yeah i guess kegga did, and that $300 a game is from the horses mouth

Kings Army
24 May 2007, 15:03
Can any of the Redan people confirm which players are coming back from the VFL this weekend to play for them? I heard up to 4 VFL players are playing - Darley cannot not take a trick at the moment.

Premiership
24 May 2007, 15:03
What people get paid is their good fortune, however some of the figures been bandied here is impressive, or is it crazy.
I am not directly involved in any club, so not privy to talk about club budgets, however based on selected games last year I watched, as good as Redan and East Point were in last years grand final, to think a side in the Ballarat Football League is spending $100K+ is phenomenal. There must be some guys on very good wickets as I would not think any team in a competition at this level is worth that much. I would have thought about $80K tops would be able to put a very competitive side out on the park if you recruit the right players.
McCabe I believe is a terrific player, seems to be having a quieter year with Sunbury than what he was like with Darley, I don't know much about his background, but unless he has played VFL football, representative football etc, I would not have thought any local player is worth more than around $200 per game. And to me that is really good money to have a kick of country football.
I have mates playing VFL football, good VFL football, and a couple of mates playing in the SANFL, and they are on anything between $300-$600 per game, yet are playing at a much higher level.
Are you other posters serious that some of these figures are in the ball park and some clubs could be spending upwards of $100K on players.
If so, this league or clubs them selves don't have a bright future in their current form. Just my opinion?

rexxy
24 May 2007, 15:48
Can any of the Redan people confirm which players are coming back from the VFL this weekend to play for them? I heard up to 4 VFL players are playing - Darley cannot not take a trick at the moment.

Stephenson, Peace, Waight, Micallef, McMahon, Hassell, Horbury, Head

Scoots
24 May 2007, 16:02
Stephenson, Peace, Waight, Micallef, McMahon, Hassell, Horbury, Head

Peace and Waight both injured, North won't allow Stephenson and Head hasn't been cleared from Carnham and will play for them.

McMahon has played last 2, Micallef and Horbury will play.

Kings Army
24 May 2007, 16:10
What people get paid is their good fortune, however some of the figures been bandied here is impressive, or is it crazy.
I am not directly involved in any club, so not privy to talk about club budgets, however based on selected games last year I watched, as good as Redan and East Point were in last years grand final, to think a side in the Ballarat Football League is spending $100K+ is phenomenal. There must be some guys on very good wickets as I would not think any team in a competition at this level is worth that much. I would have thought about $80K tops would be able to put a very competitive side out on the park if you recruit the right players.
McCabe I believe is a terrific player, seems to be having a quieter year with Sunbury than what he was like with Darley, I don't know much about his background, but unless he has played VFL football, representative football etc, I would not have thought any local player is worth more than around $200 per game. And to me that is really good money to have a kick of country football.
I have mates playing VFL football, good VFL football, and a couple of mates playing in the SANFL, and they are on anything between $300-$600 per game, yet are playing at a much higher level.
Are you other posters serious that some of these figures are in the ball park and some clubs could be spending upwards of $100K on players.
If so, this league or clubs them selves don't have a bright future in their current form. Just my opinion?

Why would that be? The more money the clubs are generating the better players they can attract. The comp therefore improves and more people will watch the local games. The more people following will again attract more sponsors etc. I thought it would be the opposite of not having a bright future.

Premiership
24 May 2007, 16:28
Why would that be? The more money the clubs are generating the better players they can attract. The comp therefore improves and more people will watch the local games. The more people following will again attract more sponsors etc. I thought it would be the opposite of not having a bright future.

Dont get me wrong, I do see your point, more money, better players, better standard etc. and yes agree, for those clubs with that capacity.
What I am saying is the finals will be fantastic, when the best few sides get there and all play each other, although you would think the numbers of clubs that will continue to struggle to raise that type of money will increase, therefore, who is giong to want to go watch this competition week in week out when the games will be very one sided, there may be one game of interest each week similar to the Central Highlands league. So in that sponsors are harder to get for clubs, how does a club with limited capacity to earn that money, recruit good players, what do they say, "hey pal, come play with us, we got no hope of winning a flag or competing with the top 4, but gee if we make finals we will be wrapt because 6 make it in a ten team comp"

Premiership
25 May 2007, 10:24
Can anyone see an upset this week:
Darley v Redan
Sunbury v Melton South
Melton v Lakers
Bacchus v Ballarat
East v Sebas

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 10:41
Darley v Redan
Sunbury v Melton South
Melton v Lakers
Bacchus v Ballarat
East v Sebas

Only one that could be close is the Melton V Lakers game.

Could be some big wins this week. Redan 80pts, Sunbury 70pts, Ballarat 60pts and East 80pts.

Premiership
25 May 2007, 10:58
Agree KA, the men will certainly be seperated from the boys this week especially when you look at where some of those games are played. My melton friends are very confident this week, they say grenfell is to return shortly from the western region which should help them out although they did say they have had the soft draw to date, and play the top 3 over the next three weeks so if they wish to be in the 6 at the half way point need to beat lakers at home this week. Still with the kids they have been pushing through are happy with there year so far.

Vineyard
25 May 2007, 11:40
Only one that could be close is the Melton V Lakers game.

Could be some big wins this week. Redan 80pts, Sunbury 70pts, Ballarat 60pts and East 80pts.

Darley to break their Redan hoodoo

Lakers to beat Melton

Sunbury to beat South

East all over Sebas

Ballarat over the marsh.

Velvetsledgehammer
25 May 2007, 11:59

It is d^ckheads like you who give Scumbury its disgraceful reputation.

The real discussion should not be about how much money you spend on players(which we all know is a lot!), its about how many premierships you have thrown away through bad behaviour. If Scumbury had any disicpline at all, and didn't have GF brain fades then maybe you would have won more than 4 Premierships. Can't wait to see you blokes choke on GF day again this year.
The league should have kept ist ban when it threw your toilet of a club out a few years ago. It would have been better for all involved in the BFL.

BOBB
25 May 2007, 12:18
Does anyone know if Brad Miller from Darley was found guilty at the tribunal or whether he took the week/s offered??
Further to that question did he have any weeks hanging over his head?

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 12:27
It is d^ckheads like you who give Scumbury its disgraceful reputation.

The real discussion should not be about how much money you spend on players(which we all know is a lot!), its about how many premierships you have thrown away through bad behaviour. If Scumbury had any disicpline at all, and didn't have GF brain fades then maybe you would have won more than 4 Premierships. Can't wait to see you blokes choke on GF day again this year.
The league should have kept ist ban when it threw your toilet of a club out a few years ago. It would have been better for all involved in the BFL.

List the bad behavior you peanut?

Power getting a red card in the 1st minute and then getting 0 weeks as there was nothing in it.
or
Oakey getting red carded in the 1st quater and then getting 1 week as a new rule came in stating an automatic 1 week for red cards. Once again nothing in it.

You say thrown away - I say umpires having no idea about the game and panicing in certain situations. They have won 4 could have had 6. Sunbury's record is very good.

Now run along to Mininera League little man - I am sure the level of footy between Wickliffe Lake Bolac V Woorndoo Mortlake must be very exciting for you.

Velvetsledgehammer
25 May 2007, 12:56
List the bad behavior you peanut?

Power getting a red card in the 1st minute and then getting 0 weeks as there was nothing in it.
or
Oakey getting red carded in the 1st quater and then getting 1 week as a new rule came in stating an automatic 1 week for red cards. Once again nothing in it.

You say thrown away - I say umpires having no idea about the game and panicing in certain situations. They have won 4 could have had 6. Sunbury's record is very good.

Now run along to Mininera League little man - I am sure the level of footy between Wickliffe Lake Bolac V Woorndoo Mortlake must be very exciting for you.

My comment was not so much on how they got reported, but how the team re-acted to the incidents. We are all tired of the 'poor me the umpires victimise us' line that always gets brought out. Images all on camera of players hitting blokes behind the play, stomping on a players head, or an ex-coach trying to jump the fence and fight spectators after being sent-off don't help the team win a flag.
As for my football knowledge and credentials, I have seen and played enough footy in a few leagues including this one, and others I have posted on.

Gadget
25 May 2007, 13:05
My comment was not so much on how they got reported, but how the team re-acted to the incidents. We are all tired of the 'poor me the umpires victimise us' line that always gets brought out. Images all on camera of players hitting blokes behind the play, stomping on a players head, or an ex-coach trying to jump the fence and fight spectators after being sent-off don't help the team win a flag.
As for my football knowledge and credentials, I have seen and played enough footy in a few leagues including this one, and others I have posted on.
Were not still going on about Sunbury and grand finals are we... Sunbury are good for the league, the raise the level every year and it makes beating them a better task and enjoyment. I think it's fair to say that there troubled past is forgotten as they seem to be recruiting better quality BLOKES to there club and not just riff raff ie; Gadsen, Lupson, Tarzson etc..etc..

bearsboy
25 May 2007, 13:25
Power, Beattie and Houlihan will be taking around $50-$55K between themselves.

Left Footed Cat
25 May 2007, 13:58
Does anyone know if Brad Miller from Darley was found guilty at the tribunal or whether he took the week/s offered??
Further to that question did he have any weeks hanging over his head?
He took a week

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 14:43

That makes sense now - you got beaten up by Sunbury and now you have run along to a little league but still hold a grudge. It must make you feel very brave jumping on here and having a crack at Sunbury while hiding behing a fake name.
I just hope the nightmares soon stop and you can move on with your life.

Gadget
25 May 2007, 14:50
Darley v Redan - Redan by 10 goals
Sunbury v Melton South - Sunbury by 16 goals
Melton v Lakers - Lakers by 7 goals
Bacchus v Ballarat - Ballarat by the width of wocca's guts!
East v Sebas - Merging dogs by 22 goals.

Melbourne to beat Kangaroos in AFL.. Sportsbets tip of the round! Get on it.

Leather Magnet
25 May 2007, 15:26
That makes sense now - you got beaten up by Sunbury and now you have run along to a little league but still hold a grudge. It must make you feel very brave jumping on here and having a crack at Sunbury while hiding behing a fake name.
I just hope the nightmares soon stop and you can move on with your life.

Don't assume he played against Sunbury. He might have played for the club and still think the way he does.

MaNNiX
25 May 2007, 15:37
- Merging dogs by 22 goals.

Melbourne to beat Kangaroos in AFL.. Sportsbets tip of the round! Get on it.
pull your head in gadget

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 15:42
Don't assume he played against Sunbury. He might have played for the club and still think the way he does.

That makes things worse. Hated at the club, could not get a game and now is bitter!

Kings Army
25 May 2007, 15:44
pull your head in gadget

Get into Mannix - I am with you - the Roos are a good thing!

Left Footed Cat
27 May 2007, 13:06
Darley have recently signed a new indigenous boy from up North. His name is Lee Shaw, played 2's yesterday, kicked about 5.6. Look for him to play 1's soon, looks very exiting, could be a star in the BFL.

19th Man
27 May 2007, 13:49
Darley have recently signed a new indigenous boy from up North. His name is Lee Shaw, played 2's yesterday, kicked about 5.6. Look for him to play 1's soon, looks very exiting, could be a star in the BFL.

I'm afraid Darley will need will need him repeating that effort every week just to remain competitive. Redan clearly have it over them.

Once again, Melton Sth have been exposed as an ordinary side. "Premiership", you continue to rate them in past posts, but really they have beaten no-one. No point having a good forward line, if you can't get it down there.

Premiership
27 May 2007, 14:39
I'm afraid Darley will need will need him repeating that effort every week just to remain competitive. Redan clearly have it over them.

Once again, Melton Sth have been exposed as an ordinary side. "Premiership", you continue to rate them in past posts, but really they have beaten no-one. No point having a good forward line, if you can't get it down there.

Your right 19th, I have, I call it as I see it,and after watching them against Darley round 1 and then Ballarat last week believed they were pretty good through the middle for the first half last week. Do you know how Parker is going, he didnt play last week and havent seen his name in the best once!
I would have tipped Sunbury to beat them yesterday even if it wasnt at Sunbury, they obviously got spanked.
We all new before the weekend there are only 4 sides in it. Sunbury East Ballarat and Redan all flogged 4 of the 6 ordinary sides.
You love getting into the panthers 19th, reading your posts you seem in the know at their club, your not one of those supporters that snipe at their own club are you?

Left Footed Cat
27 May 2007, 15:36
Your right 19th, I have, I call it as I see it,and after watching them against Darley round 1 and then Ballarat last week believed they were pretty good through the middle for the first half last week. Do you know how Parker is going, he didnt play last week and havent seen his name in the best once!
I would have tipped Sunbury to beat them yesterday even if it wasnt at Sunbury, they obviously got spanked.
We all new before the weekend there are only 4 sides in it. Sunbury East Ballarat and Redan all flogged 4 of the 6 ordinary sides.
You love getting into the panthers 19th, reading your posts you seem in the know at their club, your not one of those supporters that snipe at their own club are you?
He used to play there, now plays over Geelong way.
Has Parker even played yet?

Lica
27 May 2007, 20:15

Are you talking about Dougie????? If you are then that is laughable.:p

Kings Army
28 May 2007, 09:11

Parker has not played - should play his first game this week.

M/S were very disappointing. Sunbury kicked 9 goals to 0 into the wind in the 1st quarter to have the game won. A-train with 3 first quarter goals was the surprise. Kega with 5 was outstanding. Power, Griffen, Houlihan, O'Conner all to return soon. Massive game against Redan this weekend.

19th Man
28 May 2007, 11:52

I think you are trying to divert the attention away from the fact that its your good self that is involved in some way down at the Panthers. Your posts about other games you have claimed to watch are basic, and could be easily taken from goal kickers and best, off the league website. The only games you give detail on, are the one's that don't clash with Melt Sth.
Whenever someone writes about Sth, you can bet you are one of the first to respond.
The only reason I get stuck into them, is because in the preseason, there was a huge article on their "big recruits", and all the talk was that it could be their year. I did not hear one peep out of Sunbury, and for mine, the two sides are poles apart.

19th Man
28 May 2007, 11:55
He used to play there, now plays over Geelong way.
Has Parker even played yet?

And no, my name is not Marcus Kellet or Matt Sproule.
Never played for the club, have been retired for some time now.

Premiership
28 May 2007, 12:25
I actually didnt accuse you of being anyone just wierd how you say I defend Melton South but you always put them down. Who is Marcus Kellet, I would be very surprised if Matthew Sproule would be critical of Melton South. He coached and played with them was always very passionate about them and he has a brother I believe that it still listed in the record of playing there, didnt see him round 1 or last week against the swans but you wouldnt think he would be bagging his brothers club.I will say again, only calling it as I personally see it, didnt see weekend, but 19th, your not einstein mate to say Sunbury and Melton South are poles apart based on that result. I havent seen Sunbury play this year, clearly the team to beat. I am tipping from where Melton South finished last year, and in fairness to them didnt see them play at all last year, but any recruit would have had them buzzing.

Premiership
28 May 2007, 12:31
Anyone got any details on how the interleague squad is shaping up. Saw the squad announced a few weeks ago, plenty in it, but any talk of who the young fellas are that may step up, who the 5 older players are going to be, possible captains etc. Tough concept for the players having to play mid week.

Kings Army
29 May 2007, 14:49
What happened to this mornings post?

In cruise mode
29 May 2007, 17:12
Who Is This Tucker That Keeps Getting In The Best For Ballarat!?!
Can Sum1 Give Me A Run Down On The Lad

ringo1
29 May 2007, 18:47
Anyone got any details on how the interleague squad is shaping up. Saw the squad announced a few weeks ago, plenty in it, but any talk of who the young fellas are that may step up, who the 5 older players are going to be, possible captains etc. Tough concept for the players having to play mid week.

Yeah no doubt the concept is not great! Perhaps I'm a bit of a traditionalist but loved it when we were in Div 1 and won the Country Champs in the 80's. I know that its hard to get the commitment from players to risk injuries for a league but I reckon money has wrecked interleague footy.:confused:

Vineyard
30 May 2007, 11:55
Rumours are that the "The Show" is BACK!!!!

Left Footed Cat
30 May 2007, 16:28
The fuzz gave me a warning for bagging umpires, didnt even single one of the maggots out, and contained no swearing, what a joke.

Hank Evans
30 May 2007, 17:14
In all seriousness though, maybe umpires would get a little more respect if they could cop criticism and weren't wrapped in cotton wool all the time.

No one respects anyone who thinks they are above criticism.

Leather Magnet
31 May 2007, 00:47
In all seriousness though, maybe umpires would get a little more respect if they could cop criticism and weren't wrapped in cotton wool all the time.

No one respects anyone who thinks they are above criticism.

Spot on. Too true, Hanky. Nobody respects you and you're impervious to criticism. :rolleyes:

McCleanMagic
31 May 2007, 10:09
Can anyone tell me how will mcgregor, rich tucker, jo and nigel otto are all going at ballarat. Good to see some ex mininera players playing at a higher standard together!

RAZZAMATAZZ
31 May 2007, 10:11
Can anyone tell me how will mcgregor, rich tucker, jo and nigel otto are all going at ballarat. Good to see some ex mininera players playing at a higher standard together!

Please tell me your not trying to claim Rich Tucker as a Mininera Boy, Spent most of his football days at Ararat and a couple of years at St Marys

NoRumoursAllFact
31 May 2007, 11:21

Nothing like being hated by your parents.
Nige not a bad fella though:thumbsu:

McCleanMagic
31 May 2007, 13:05
Please tell me your not trying to claim Rich Tucker as a Mininera Boy, Spent most of his football days at Ararat and a couple of years at St Marys

He would of played 3 years of junior football at Tatyoon. So he is an ex-mininera footballer!! So is he getting a kick or what?

RAZZAMATAZZ
31 May 2007, 13:14
He would of played 3 years of junior football at Tatyoon. So he is an ex-mininera footballer!! So is he getting a kick or what?

When he was about 12! you are not going to try and claim that are you?? please!!!!!!
He has been going pretty good, first couple of games was quiet but last 2 he has been in the best and has also got votes in the local paper! Great player and great bloke

Johnny IRONMONGREL
31 May 2007, 14:12
The fuzz gave me a warning for bagging umpires, didnt even single one of the maggots out, and contained no swearing, what a joke.

Suprising that a darley supporter would be bagging umpires LFC :rolleyes:.... Suppose the umpires cost the devils the game against redan???

Left Footed Cat
31 May 2007, 15:04
Suprising that a darley supporter would be bagging umpires LFC :rolleyes:.... Suppose the umpires cost the devils the game against redan???
Wasnt picking a particular game, or incident, or even generalising BFL umpires, I just hate umpires in general. No sour grapes here.

Minersrest
1 Jun 2007, 11:03
When he was about 12! you are not going to try and claim that are you?? please!!!!!!
He has been going pretty good, first couple of games was quiet but last 2 he has been in the best and has also got votes in the local paper! Great player and great bloke

Tucks is killing them at the minute. Hasn't really been left in a position but is playing where ever a gap needs to be filled and the coaches are rapped. Watch out for the come back of one of his mates this week in the two's for Ballarat, Steven Hughes is as good pound for pound as anyone in the league, and has fantastic hair

Minersrest
1 Jun 2007, 11:05
Nothing like being hated by your parents.
Nige not a bad fella though:thumbsu:

Nice screen name. The otto boys are golden

RAZZAMATAZZ
1 Jun 2007, 11:26
Tucks is killing them at the minute. Hasn't really been left in a position but is playing where ever a gap needs to be filled and the coaches are rapped. Watch out for the come back of one of his mates this week in the two's for Ballarat, Steven Hughes is as good pound for pound as anyone in the league, and has fantastic hair

"Merv".... well what can 1 say about this creation, when merv decided to take up golf over footy the footballing world was in disarray, Northy would have to be over the moon to have a bloke back who is in peak fitness, can play forward or back, as a tall or a small, and silky smooth skills with pace to burn!
Crowd will be up this weekend with Merv back playing and i would suggest there will be alot of ladie's at the game watching this Pimp Kick about!

19th Man
1 Jun 2007, 11:30
Anyone with thoughts on match of the round? Redan V Sunbury.

Gadget
1 Jun 2007, 13:45
Ballarat over Lakers - Comfortably
Sunbury over Redan - 7-8 goals.
Darley over Melton - 7-8 goals.
East Ballarat/Golden Point over South - 11 goals
Bacchus over Sebas - With bacchus still drinking til wednesday after it's win!

Bendigo to smash Ballarat next tuesday.

Left Footed Cat
1 Jun 2007, 14:00
Ballarat over Lakers - Comfortably
Sunbury over Redan - 7-8 goals.
Darley over Melton - 7-8 goals.
East Ballarat/Golden Point over South - 11 goals
Bacchus over Sebas - With bacchus still drinking til wednesday after it's win!

Bendigo to smash Ballarat next tuesday.
A few big calls there with the margins. Darley-Melton will be closer than that. Merging dogs will win by more than 11. Marsh to get rolled, but still drink till Wednesday if they get close.

the_other
1 Jun 2007, 14:37

If Snibson, Lubeek and Bridges were playing for Redan it would have been pretty close but Sunbury might be too strong at this stage.

stanleyy
1 Jun 2007, 16:34
Rumours are that the "The Show" is BACK!!!!
Wouldn't be "Bear" Marsden would it?:)

Left Footed Cat
1 Jun 2007, 16:54
Wouldn't be "Bear" Marsden would it?:)
Bear is long retired, is now a professional smoker & punter.
I think the "Show" that is back is M. Cape.

MaNNiX
1 Jun 2007, 18:05

will mcgregor = top bloke

lofty27
4 Jun 2007, 12:03
dave baulch put his life on the line against ballarat and got ko'd

Left Footed Cat
4 Jun 2007, 13:32
A few big calls there with the margins. Darley-Melton will be closer than that. Merging dogs will win by more than 11. Marsh to get rolled, but still drink till Wednesday if they get close.
Too good LFC, you know your footy.

Hank Evans
4 Jun 2007, 14:57
Too good LFC, you know your footy.

Yeah, because it takes a genius to come up with those picks:rolleyes:

19th Man
4 Jun 2007, 17:16
Whilst I don't want to harp on it, my verbal "barney" with "premiership" has merits, as South were again destroyed by East. Never seen the game, but the results speak for themselves. The gap between the top 4 and the rest is widening.

FootyFat
5 Jun 2007, 07:34
Whilst I don't want to harp on it, my verbal "barney" with "premiership" has merits, as South were again destroyed by East. Never seen the game, but the results speak for themselves. The gap between the top 4 and the rest is widening.
It is a big gap and the league have to do something about our finals system and scrap the final 6 come finals time its going to be embarrasing . But I think if you go back to early pre season when there was alot of people talking up south as a contender this year I got on and said they would be no good. Its going to be interesting down south way now they are not winning games and also not being paid there could be a mass walk out, they have gone out and spent probably another 50k on last year and are no better off.
I keep reading in the paper they have 8 out can anyone tell me who they are and please dont just reel of fringe players. Parker is 1

cockroach
5 Jun 2007, 09:35
It is a big gap and the league have to do something about our finals system and scrap the final 6 come finals time its going to be embarrasing . But I think if you go back to early pre season when there was alot of people talking up south as a contender this year I got on and said they would be no good. Its going to be interesting down south way now they are not winning games and also not being paid there could be a mass walk out, they have gone out and spent probably another 50k on last year and are no better off.
I keep reading in the paper they have 8 out can anyone tell me who they are and please dont just reel of fringe players. Parker is 1

speaking to ther president sunday at junior footy
word is paying no more than last year so no real worry there

outs: hassett /mamalis /parker /watkins / krojs /peters /simkins /christofaro /oday /p-sproule thats 10 walk ups

not all top line but all def senior players so improvemnt to come you would think?
certainly not as good as top 4
only the mighty bloods will be better than them around town as proven by smashing a full strength Devils on Saturday with half there side out ??????:D

Left Footed Cat
5 Jun 2007, 09:38

outs: hassett /mamalis /parker /watkins / krojs /peters /simkins /christofaro /oday /p-sproule thats 10 walk ups

not all top line but all def senior players so improvemnt to come you would think?
only the mighty bloods will be better than them around town as proven by smashing a full strength Devils on Saturday with half there side out ??????:D
A 9 point smashing!
Melton-Redan, 30 goals to 3, thats a smashing, South-Merging Dogs, 27 goals to 6, thats a smashing.
10 'walk ups', most of them have been 'walk ups' for years, thats why they have been crap.

cockroach
5 Jun 2007, 10:09
A 9 point smashing!
Melton-Redan, 30 goals to 3, thats a smashing, South-Merging Dogs, 27 goals to 6, thats a smashing.
10 'walk ups', most of them have been 'walk ups' for years, thats why they have been crap.

bloods and sth will improve because they have great kids pushing up
the key to improving
both top line sides in the under 18s
maybe Darley can improve if they had this kind off talent or some kind of talent :thumbsu:

19th Man
5 Jun 2007, 11:22

Don't know many of these players, but if these two are "walk ups", then yes it will be a long season.

bomber39
5 Jun 2007, 11:24
Whos this merv hughes bloke? I heard that one game a few years back that he kicked 11 and grabbed 43 marks. From full back. Must be something to do with those nipples?

FootyFat
5 Jun 2007, 11:25

If all them blokes are walk up starts then you guys are in trouble better off playing the kids that are playing now. Because Oday Hassett Sproul are not up to senior football, Watkins is getting on and injuries are getting the better of him. If mamalis playd on DJ on the weekend he would have had 20 kicked on him, parker would be the best of the bunch but has had no pre season and the others i dont no so 10 walk up starts i dont think so.And as for not paying any more money than last year mate Parker Mcmahon Mcleod Scoble they would not be playing for the love of it especially Parker and Mcmahon and then what eva other new blokes you have picked up would have there hand out as well.So im tipping you have spent quite a bit more than last year for no great gain for a club that is known for having no money it must hurt.

Premiership
5 Jun 2007, 12:01
WOW, what a big week in local football, been interstate for a week and come back to see some one sided results, atleast the forum is getting active. Great stuff.
19th: Sincere apologies, you are right I was wrong , :thumbsu: my soft spot for Melton South has turned hard and I have told my mates from down that way the same thing this morning. It is one thing to get beaten, but flogged is another, and 2 weeks in a row, you were right, no use having a good front half if your middle and back half is built like the the titanic!! Even with those guys listed in an earlier post, would it have made up 25 goals?
Unbelievable to think 6 weeks into your season and the gap is so big between the best and rest. I am with FootyFat, this years first week of finals is a waste if it is still the 6.
The big question now: is there a gap amongst the top 4?

MR. T
5 Jun 2007, 12:10
yes we all know the gap between the top 4 and the rest is large, to even this up why dont the bfl introduce the points system like in the WRFL or the EDFL, one of those leagues i cant recall.

Bobby Giovanni
5 Jun 2007, 13:00
You're definitely a Beacham.

18 Aug 2006. What do I win?

Bobby Giovanni
5 Jun 2007, 13:01
Sorry Bobby, I know him, but im not one.. Aj is coach of Learmonth and i dont know Tim, but from what Aj tells me, he is usually pretty close to the mark..

Can't believe you don't know your own brother!

Hank Evans
5 Jun 2007, 13:22
18 Aug 2006. What do I win?

The honor of thinking you're great while none of us have any idea, nor care for that matter, what you are talking about.

Gadget
5 Jun 2007, 14:20
The honor of thinking you're great while none of us have any idea, nor care for that matter, what you are talking about.
Hank, what's the yellow card mean under your name?

Left Footed Cat
5 Jun 2007, 14:32
LOL.

Can't you remember what he did last week along with LFC. Both were caught out bagging the umpires.
Not even bagging umpires, just said we didnt like them. Got yellow carded for nothing, 15 minutes in the sin bin. I feel like a Sunbury player in any one of 6 Grand Finals.

Hank Evans
5 Jun 2007, 15:18
Hank, what's the yellow card mean under your name?

It means that I have big balls and don't pander to the nazi-like mods that run this place while keeping the perception of umpires being skinny little overprotected dorks with bad skin and ugly girlfriends, who still can't cop criticism, alive and well.

005forsure
5 Jun 2007, 15:35
did dane grenfel play for melton on the wk end.. if so how did he go!!

Left Footed Cat
5 Jun 2007, 16:08
did dane grenfel play for melton on the wk end.. if so how did he go!!

The Dane Train played 2's, don't think he got a kick. Will play a few more in the 2's before the great man is promoted back into the senior line up.

Bayonet
6 Jun 2007, 17:49
Can anyone give me an update on Gareth Hall and if he is getting a kick?

Gadget
6 Jun 2007, 17:52
Can anyone give me an update on Gareth Hall and if he is getting a kick?
He's kicking goals every week but can't commit to training due to work commitments.

Gadget
8 Jun 2007, 11:08
Thoughts on this weeks games?

Hank Evans
8 Jun 2007, 12:17
Thoughts on this weeks games?

Who cares?

The season is dead and it won't get interesting until the second week of the finals.