View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

gault
8 Jun 2006, 16:50
Ryan Harris and Ash Baker from Ballarat have to be 2 very underrated players in the BFL. Rhino Harris went 4 straight weeks with 40+ touches and Bakes just always gets 30+ and this year he's kicking goals aswell. Swooper has everyone up there playing for eachother and this hasn't happened for a few years.

couldn't agree more mate. Harrow is pure class and in a betetr side this yr is showing what he can do. In brisbane last yr at uni games Harrow killed it playingon VFL players and shows he can match it with the best.

Grimmett
8 Jun 2006, 23:57
Nunn travelling OK for the Swans?

ratley
9 Jun 2006, 14:35
couldn't agree more mate. Harrow is pure class and in a betetr side this yr is showing what he can do. In brisbane last yr at uni games Harrow killed it playingon VFL players and shows he can match it with the best.

How is Battistello going for the swans?

X Man
9 Jun 2006, 15:17
I read in the results that Brett Connors got best for Baccus Marsh. how has his year been as to date, he was a very high quality on baller here in the N.C.F.L. who knocked up getting kicks every saturday for Weddeburn. Great bloke too:thumbsu:

DarthAnnihl8or
9 Jun 2006, 17:06
Nunny is out injured this week which is a shame up against East. He kicked 5 goals in the last quarter against Sunbury the other week. He;s about 3rd in the league goal kicking. Batters has been struggling with injury but is a fairly consistent performer.

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
10 Jun 2006, 21:55
who knows how many dan jordan kicked today

rightfoot_sloth
10 Jun 2006, 23:19
Another bag of 14 for D.Jordan.

Grimmett
10 Jun 2006, 23:32
Another bag of 14 for D.Jordan.

Jesus! He'll have a ton before Richmond start their annual second half slump!
How many is that in the past month? Two bags of 14 and one of 15 plus another decent haul somewhere in there. Must be 50 in four games?

Kings Army
11 Jun 2006, 02:06
Could someone post the results? In France so cannot look up results in the herald Sun!

bearsboy
11 Jun 2006, 02:21
Could someone post the results? In France so cannot look up results in the herald Sun!KA you'll be glad to know i've been drinkin pots with the great Justin Burt all afternoon, Gissy just got up today [about 180 points ] Michael Dillon will win the Michelson medal , one of the best footballers in country footy at the moment . Mark Power was on hand to see the mighty Gisborne machine roll on :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

DarthAnnihl8or
11 Jun 2006, 10:12
who knows how many dan jordan kicked today

Jordan actually kicked 16 today. In the last quarter he kicked 7.

Kings Army
11 Jun 2006, 22:41
KA you'll be glad to know i've been drinkin pots with the great Justin Burt all afternoon, Gissy just got up today [about 180 points ] Michael Dillon will win the Michelson medal , one of the best footballers in country footy at the moment . Mark Power was on hand to see the mighty Gisborne machine roll on :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

The great Birdman - did you get an autograph - it is tougher than getting Leigh Matthews.

Did Power know you have been potting him on this web site?

Any word on Mayday?

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 00:06
Could someone post the results? In France so cannot look up results in the herald Sun!

France, eh. Got some match reviews from the Ballarat Courier for ya then.
Check out the next few posts.

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 00:07
Accuracy gives Bloods points

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

By Michael Clough

Melton maintained its grip on second spot on the Ballarat Football League ladder with a fighting 28-point win over Redan at MacPherson Park.
The Bloods held the lead for the entire match, but only managed to kick away from the inaccurate Porter Plant Lions in the final term.
Redan missed many gettable shots for goal in the 11.20 (86) to 18.6 (114) loss.
The Lions, kicking against a three-goal breeze in the first term, looked more dangerous as they restricted the Bloods to only four points.
Redan captain Jayden Reid was in top form inside forward 50, but he sprayed his shots.
Reid was well held for the remainder of the game and was forced further up the ground to find possessions.
One thing that Melton does well at MacPherson Park, making it difficult to beat, is its ability to control the game kicking against the wind.
Redan’s forwards had few open chances with little room to make solid leads.
The forward line struggled all game as only small Derik Micallef was lively for the four quarters.
Ash Barker kicked two goals, but he was well beaten, just as coach Kieran Murrihy and Steven Nicholson were.
At the other end of the ground, Melton kept an open forward line.
Dane Grenfell kicked six goals as he was given ample space in which to lead.
Andrew Strachan bobbed up at the right moments to kick four.
Brendan Porter was also dangerous in a floating role, kicking four goals.
With the match in the balance at three-quarter time, Melton took control in the final term with six goals.
The key difference between the two teams was the evenness of the teams across the field.
Melton had solid contributors across all lines.
Better players for the Bloods included Shaun Stanley and Alan Hill in defence and Craig Berger and Andrew Hunter in the midfield.
Mick Turner failed to have a direct impact on the scoreboard, but he was important in setting up chances for his teammates.
Matt Dwyer was the clear stand-out for the Lions as his hard running and creative use of the football kept them in touch.
Brendan Peace was handy, especially in the second half, while Jarret Giampaolo and Ryan Waight worked hard.

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 00:08
Cobras break drought with strong win over Panthers

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

By Simon Gladman

Melton South coach Julian Shanks has conceded that finals are almost certainly out of reach for the Panthers after losing to Bacchus Marsh on Saturday.
The Cobras recorded their first RegionalOne BFL win since June 11 last year with the 19.17 (131) to 12.15 (87) result.
Shanks said yesterday he would try to “keep things positive” at Melton South this week to stop morale and confidence levels from plummeting to new lows.
The Panthers, who played in last year’s finals, have a mighty challenge to stay in this year’s race.
They had won five out of six games at the same stage – the end of round seven – last year.
“Finals are pretty much out of our reach as we speak,” Shanks said.
The shock 44-point loss was Melton South’s sixth failure this season.
Shanks, in his first year as coach of the club, said a growing injury list was taking a toll on his side.
The Panthers have been without star forward Matthew Sutton, Colin Simpkin, Mark Russell and the suspended Adam Leggett in recent weeks.
Shanks said other key players such as Marc Dransman, Chris Mamalis, Daniel Hassett and Chris Senserrick, were struggling for form because they were carrying injuries through games.
“There’s no excuses though. There’s still 21 blokes out there,” he said.
“People would pick up the paper and say that we’re not going well, but they don’t know what’s happening inside the club.
“Our good players are playing well, but injuries are hurting us.”
The Cobras hurt the Panthers on the scoreboard in the second half, scoring nine goals to three.
Bacchus Marsh had, for the first time in a long time, five multiple scorers and 11 goalkickers in total.
Rohan Connors was one of the best of them with four majors, while Mitchell Wilson booted three.
A first-game player, Jason Hooper, was the man-of-the-match for his starring effort on the wing.
Bacchus Marsh coach Adam Sutherland said the drought-breaking victory was proof that his club has a strong future.
“I’ve seen enough to know that there’s light at the end of the tunnel,” he said.
“To be honest, we had been a team that had lost the art of winning.
“It was just a matter of rewarding ourselves and going back to enjoying playing footy.”

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 00:09
East Point far too good for Swans

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

By Frank Segrave

East Point silenced any remaining critics with an emphatic 172-point thrashing of Ballarat at the Eastern Oval in the Ballarat Football League on Saturday.
The Red Lion Kangaroos topped 200 points for the third week in a row with star forward Dan Jordan bagging 14 goals in the 33.16 (214) to 6.6 (42) scoreline.
Jordan took his tally for the past four weeks to 52 majors and his season total to 60.
He was given ample opportunity through a wonderful supply from his midfielders.
He had seven majors in the first three quarters and added another seven in the last.
Ballarat was overly conscious of Jordan in the opening term and allowed Simon Geljon to dominate at half-forward and Chris McGuigan to chip in with three goals from the pocket.
Kade Nicholls, Luke Faull, Ben Jordan and Jason Delaney took control of the centre in the second term and sent a never-ending supply forward.
When the Kangaroos rotated their midfield, Shane Hutchinson, Chris Banwell and Josh Cother continued the run and Ballarat could find no answers.
The Swans contested hard and tackled well but lacked targets, with injured key forwards Tom Steinfort and Mark Nunn watching from the sidelines.
Their plight worsened when key midfielder Brad Anderson left the field in the second term with an injury and did not return.
Sam Caldow battled solidly in the ruck for Ballarat and Adam Sewell and Brendan Lovell worked hard in defence against overwhelming odds.
East Point’s scoring power was evident with six goals in the first term, eight in the second, another eight in the third and a lazy 11 in the last quarter.
Coach Shane Fisher said it was probably his side’s best win for the season.
The Kangaroos have not been beaten in seven matches.
Their average winning margin has been about 110 points. “Ballarat had been going well and has some quality players, but we were still able to stamp our authority on the match,” Fisher said.
“We’re looking forward to hosting Sunbury next week.”
Ballarat’s master coach John Northey was impressed with the Kangaroos.
“They were far too good.
They had strength on every line and their marking was superb,” he said.
“We still have a fair way to go.”
Ballarat will host Darley on Saturday and it will be a tall order for Northey to get his side back into stride for a match that may well define the season.

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 00:09
Lakers hang on for Landry’s 100th game

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

By Simon Gladman

Lake Wendouree held off a fast-finishing Darley to celebrate Cameron Landry’s 100th match in style with a 17-point win in the Ballarat Football League at Wendouree Reserve on Saturday.
The Plaster Right Lakers almost gave up their 10-goal half-time advantage as the Devils kicked 10 of the last 13 goals.
Lake Wendouree coach Darrin Findlay was always confident of being able to hang on for victory – the 17.12 (114) to 14.13 (97) result was his side’s third win for the season.
Darley coach Matthew Power sparked his players into action after making them spend the entire half-time break sitting in a huddle on the ground.
Power said he treated them like junior players because they were playing like children.
He was scathing of his side’s performance in the first half, when it managed only four goals.
“They didn’t go (into the changerooms) at half-time because they were playing like it was junior footy,” Power said.
“If they want to keep playing like they’re juniors then I will give the best players a pie and a can of soft drink after our games.
“A lot of blokes fancy themselves and think they can play. What they don’t understand is that it has nothing to do with ability and everything to do with work ethic.”
Experienced players Travis Stephenson, Troy Parker and Cameron McCabe deserved their pie and drink for inspiring Darley’s fightback.
Stephenson was instrumental in ruck as he outplayed Lake Wendouree pair Paul Jones and Hayden McRae to give first use of the ball to his midfielders.
McCabe and Parker drove the ball into attack with bursting runs through centre half-forward.
Full-forward Lee Cox also lifted his workrate, kicking five goals in the second half for his best return of the season.
The Lakers were determined to win for Landry, who was at his best for the milestone match.
“It was important that we won for Cam,” Findlay said.
“I always thought we had a big enough lead to win, so it was a bit disappointing in the second half when we got a bit loose and selfish in areas of our game.
“I would take a win any day though because no-one really gave us a chance today.”
The Lakers played their best football of the season in the second term as they piled on nine goals.
Their forward line was potent as Bradley Maxwell, Paul McMahon and Brenton Walker bagged four goals each.
McMahon was lively early in the opening term as he outmarked Keenan Reynolds on more than one occasion.
Reynolds did not last long as he was forced to the bench with a back injury. The extent of the injury was not known, but Power said Reynolds would “miss a few” matches.
The Devils have lost their run from defence with Cameron McLeod and Chris McGill also out injured.

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 00:11
And in other BFL news we have a grumpy bastard, losing coach while his brother gloats about a new recruit.

Ground ‘disgrace’, says Darley coach

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

Darley coach Matthew Power has labelled the playing surface of Wendouree Reserve “disgraceful”, saying it was unsuitable for use.
Power said the Lake Wendouree-Darley game on Saturday should not have been played at the ground because of the poor surface condition.
Players had trouble keeping their feet in the many parts of the ground covered unevenly with sand.
It was Lake Wendouree’s first home game of the season.
“From our point of view games should not be played there. But I guess there’s not much we can do about it if the league says it’s okay,” Power said.
RegionalOne Ballarat Football League operations manager Tim Beacham said yesterday the City of Ballarat made the call on the safety of grounds.
“Wendouree Reserve met the criteria outlined by the City of Ballarat. They test the ground regularly for hardness, grass coverage, objects and any other dangers,” he said.

Sunbury signs star onballer

First published by:

Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

Sunbury has high hopes for a former Ovens and Murray Football League star it has recruited.
Lavington premiership player Corey Brown could play for the Lions as soon as this week’s blockbuster with East Point at the Eastern Oval.
Although the Lions signed him last week, coach Mark Power said Brown would not play in today’s clash with Sebastopol at Clarke Oval.
“He won’t play against Sebastopol because he hasn’t been cleared,” Power said yesterday.
“We put his clearance in on Friday and we’re hoping that he will be right for the big one against East Point.”
Brown, an onballer, was named man-of-the-match in Lavington’s one-point grand final win over Myrtleford last year.
He is the nephew of Sunbury legends Ashley and Rohan Brand.
Brown contacted Sunbury wanting to play because he had grown tired of travelling from Melbourne to Albury each week, Power said.
The Lions will aim for their first win since round four today after suffering consecutive losses to Ballarat and Redan.
However, the Kookaburras would rise from the bottom of the ladder if they claim only their second win for the season.

Thats_Special
13 Jun 2006, 10:39
Really poor game of football at Sunbury yesterday...

Tim Little easily BOG, dominated the game, Mark Power was good after starting slowly and Matty Payne across half back cleaned up all day...

Drizzle
13 Jun 2006, 17:44
Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

Sunbury has high hopes for a former Ovens and Murray Football League star it has recruited.
Lavington premiership player Corey Brown could play for the Lions as soon as this week’s blockbuster with East Point at the Eastern Oval.
Although the Lions signed him last week, coach Mark Power said Brown would not play in today’s clash with Sebastopol at Clarke Oval.

Best jockey in the world playing football now?!?!?!?! On an enforced holiday from the Hong Kong Jockey Club for his love of cocaine. Sunbury definately on the up

Grimmett
13 Jun 2006, 23:04
He's a very busy lad is our Corey what with riding gee-gees in Honkers, snorting coke with the Drizzler, playing footy for both Sunbury and Lavington and creating this very thread here at Big Footy.
When does he find the time to log on?

Jarman03
13 Jun 2006, 23:56
Went and watched what is meant to be a division 1 league on the weekend at Lake Wendouree against Darley only to see what can only be described as the worst ground condition in country football. All you ever hear is the BFL bragging about how good a competition it is,well if that is the standard of playing surface that a division 1 league plays on I will go hee. That was nothing better than a park playground,and that is being generous. Players fromboth clubs falling over in the sand and uneven surface! Go and watch the Geelong LEague, O&M or GVFL, you would never see those leagues playing on ground like the one I saw on the weekend.

Grimmett
14 Jun 2006, 00:10
Wendouree Reserve has never been any different right back to the days of a Wendouree team playing in the old Ballarat & District league.
Despite your protestations Jarman03 the Ballarat FL is a Division One league. The VCFL Championships say so and the ground quality or lack thereof at Wendouree has no bearing on that.
BTW As Geelong FL didn't play this year in the VCFL Champs does that mean they are not in the top four divisions of country football?

LOBSTER
14 Jun 2006, 11:15
What is going on with Sunbury this year. They are usually so dominant in this league by winning nearly every game. Have they lost a number of players or do they have a heap of injuries at present. How is Justin Lewis going for them if he still there.

Jarman03
15 Jun 2006, 10:25
Thats a Fair call grimmet. I am not saying that the BFL are not a Division 1 league, this year they were. What annoys me is all you hear from those running the league is how good it is, what I am saying is instead of over marketing themselves, maybe they should be focussing on the grass roots issues that make leagues strong, one of those being faciilties. I know the league has no control over the management or maintenance of those facilities however surely they have the power when fixturing games, and the ground that I seen on the weekend you wouldnt even play junior football on it, from an outsider perspective, clearly not a good advertisement for a league which is not short in boasting about itself! You would not find grounds like that in the other divvy 1 competitions. Lets remember, if Geelong Fl played interleague this year, Ballarat would have been in division 2.

whocares
15 Jun 2006, 12:14
Ballarat Courier
Monday, June 12, 2006

Best jockey in the world playing football now?!?!?!?! On an enforced holiday from the Hong Kong Jockey Club for his love of cocaine. Sunbury definately on the up

Is this the brother of Todd Brown

Vineyard
15 Jun 2006, 12:45
Went and watched what is meant to be a division 1 league on the weekend at Lake Wendouree against Darley only to see what can only be described as the worst ground condition in country football. All you ever hear is the BFL bragging about how good a competition it is,well if that is the standard of playing surface that a division 1 league plays on I will go hee. That was nothing better than a park playground,and that is being generous. Players fromboth clubs falling over in the sand and uneven surface! Go and watch the Geelong LEague, O&M or GVFL, you would never see those leagues playing on ground like the one I saw on the weekend.

I was also at the game on the weekend at Lake Wendouree Jarman and it is the worst ground/facilities i have ever seen or played on. Would make it very hard to attract any recruits to the club. I have heard that it is only their 4th or 5th home game in 3 years there due to the condition of the ground. Surely the council and the league can help the lakers out.

As for the ballarat league being as strong as the other big leagues i agree that it is not. The BFL played well and were very professional at interleague level, but the better clubs in the OM & GV would flog the BFL sides.

MotorBike Rob
15 Jun 2006, 17:59
I see the Marsh had a big win last round. What is the story??? Melton South missing Luke Browne? Maybe they were just a one man team. Go Cobras.....

bearsboy
15 Jun 2006, 23:30
Kingsarmy , i know you read this thread , so i just thought i'd let you know that the VCFL announced there 26 man squad today , with the Bendigo football league having 3 representatives , Luke Saunders, Michael Dillon and Shane Davis , all Gisborne boys , fantastic effort , i believe Saunders is a huge chance to captain this team . could someone let us know , who from the Ballarat league made the squad , by the sound of things D Jordan would have to be a monty .

Grimmett
16 Jun 2006, 10:49
Brendan Porter, Nathan Blomeley, Dan Jordan are three I know off the top of my head.

ditchdavey
16 Jun 2006, 18:18
Anyone heard how Matt fitzgerald is going down at Darley? Havent seen him in the best and he was a gun. News is that the sebastapol coach walked out of training last nite, can someone verify this for me or is this utter cr ap? And by the way, dylan wright stop talking yourself up on other threads because you are no good. you think you are all that...and a bag of chips. Dont worry I'll be seeing you during the week and show you how to actually get the footy because you have been in trouble of that department of late, especially in the interleague game.

Vineyard
16 Jun 2006, 18:46
Brendan Porter, Nathan Blomeley, Dan Jordan are three I know off the top of my head.

The entire squad is:

2006 State Team
WorkSafe Victorian Country Football League State Team Squad Announced
WorkSafe Victorian Country Football League State Team Coach Leigh Colbert has announced an initial training squad of 28 players from which he will select the Senior State Team to represent Victoria at the Australian Country Football Championships to be held on the Gold Coast from July 28-30.
Former Kangaroos champion was very impressed with the calibre of players selected. "We have selected a very competitive squad which includes a good mix of experience and young, enthusiastic players who I am confident will be very competitive at the Australian Country Football Championships", Colbert said.
Colbert went on to say the squad will train at a Collingwood's LEXUS Centre commencing this Sunday.
2006 VCFL SENIOR REPRESENTATIVE SQUAD
Daniel Jordan- East Point- Ballarat
Brendan Porter- Melton- Ballarat
Nathan Blomeley- Redan- Ballarat
Michael Dillon- Gisborne- Bendigo
Shane Davis- Gisborne- Bendigo
Luke Saunders- Gisborne- Bendigo
Dean Talbot- Bell Park- Geelong
Clinton Wells-South Barwon-Geelong
Chris Jones- St Mary's- Geelong
Cory Bauer- St. Josephs- Geelong
Jim Cail- St. Mary's- Geelong
Mark Porter- Benalla- Goulburn Valley
Paul Newman- Kyabram- Goulburn Valley
Tim Hooper- Seymour- Goulburn Valley
Joe McLaren- Koroit- Hampden
Kurt Nicklaus- Warrnambool- Hampden
Ricky Clark- Narre Warren- Mornington Peninsula Nepean
Michael Stevens- Mulwala- Murray
Ross Funcke- Donald- North Central/Murray
Luke Carroll- Albury- Ovens & Murray
Adam Butler- Lavington -Ovens & Murray
Matthew Pendergast- Lavington- Ovens & Murray
Daniel Leslie- North Albury- Ovens & Murray
Craig Ednie- Yarrawonga- Ovens & Murray
Leigh Gathercole- South Mildura- Sunraysia
Matt Gray- Warragul- West Gippsland Latrobe
Marc Greig- Warrack Eagles- Wimmera
Craig Clarke- Gembrook Cockatoo- Yarra Valley Mountain DFL

Vineyard
16 Jun 2006, 18:48
aooarently hutchinson from east point and cape from darley are emergencies but hasnt been confirmed as yet

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
17 Jun 2006, 00:07
i might be no good mate thank you but i dont care i have u telling me i am no good and people telling me i am good....and if i am no good then y u wasting ur time talking bout me hey??? did u have some sort of hate for me or something mate i dont see what pasting me is going to do but thanks mate good on ya and talking my self up is a massive call read the threads properly mate instead of taking bits and pieces out of it....NO 18 yr old needs some1 bagging them do they?? espicially from some1 who wont say their name huh if u say ur name maybe i will respect u alot more then now when u hide behind a comuter screen cya mate have a good 1

bearsboy
17 Jun 2006, 12:23
Anyone heard how Matt fitzgerald is going down at Darley? Havent seen him in the best and he was a gun. News is that the sebastapol coach walked out of training last nite, can someone verify this for me or is this utter cr ap? And by the way, dylan wright stop talking yourself up on other threads because you are no good. you think you are all that...and a bag of chips. Dont worry I'll be seeing you during the week and show you how to actually get the footy because you have been in trouble of that department of late, especially in the interleague game.Matty Fitz has returned to Gisborne this year , still having a bit of trouble with his hammys , had a 49 possesion game a few weeks ago , one of the best players in country footy , when fit and firing , i reckon.

ThE_XfAcToR
18 Jun 2006, 16:20
The entire squad is:

2006 State Team
WorkSafe Victorian Country Football League State Team Squad Announced
WorkSafe Victorian Country Football League State Team Coach Leigh Colbert has announced an initial training squad of 28 players from which he will select the Senior State Team to represent Victoria at the Australian Country Football Championships to be held on the Gold Coast from July 28-30.
Former Kangaroos champion was very impressed with the calibre of players selected. "We have selected a very competitive squad which includes a good mix of experience and young, enthusiastic players who I am confident will be very competitive at the Australian Country Football Championships", Colbert said.
Colbert went on to say the squad will train at a Collingwood's LEXUS Centre commencing this Sunday.
2006 VCFL SENIOR REPRESENTATIVE SQUAD
Daniel Jordan- East Point- Ballarat
Brendan Porter- Melton- Ballarat
Nathan Blomeley- Redan- Ballarat
Michael Dillon- Gisborne- Bendigo
Shane Davis- Gisborne- Bendigo
Luke Saunders- Gisborne- Bendigo
Dean Talbot- Bell Park- Geelong
Clinton Wells-South Barwon-Geelong
Chris Jones- St Mary's- Geelong
Cory Bauer- St. Josephs- Geelong
Jim Cail- St. Mary's- Geelong
Mark Porter- Benalla- Goulburn Valley
Paul Newman- Kyabram- Goulburn Valley
Tim Hooper- Seymour- Goulburn Valley
Joe McLaren- Koroit- Hampden
Kurt Nicklaus- Warrnambool- Hampden
Ricky Clark- Narre Warren- Mornington Peninsula Nepean
Michael Stevens- Mulwala- Murray
Ross Funcke- Donald- North Central/Murray
Luke Carroll- Albury- Ovens & Murray
Adam Butler- Lavington -Ovens & Murray
Matthew Pendergast- Lavington- Ovens & Murray
Daniel Leslie- North Albury- Ovens & Murray
Craig Ednie- Yarrawonga- Ovens & Murray
Leigh Gathercole- South Mildura- Sunraysia
Matt Gray- Warragul- West Gippsland Latrobe
Marc Greig- Warrack Eagles- Wimmera
Craig Clarke- Gembrook Cockatoo- Yarra Valley Mountain DFL

do you know if there is 1 of them sides 2 4 young blokes (u/18's)?

ditchdavey
18 Jun 2006, 18:33
i might be no good mate thank you but i dont care i have u telling me i am no good and people telling me i am good....and if i am no good then y u wasting ur time talking bout me hey??? did u have some sort of hate for me or something mate i dont see what pasting me is going to do but thanks mate good on ya and talking my self up is a massive call read the threads properly mate instead of taking bits and pieces out of it....NO 18 yr old needs some1 bagging them do they?? espicially from some1 who wont say their name huh if u say ur name maybe i will respect u alot more then now when u hide behind a comuter screen cya mate have a good 1

ypu got me there dylza. ill just stay in my shell and keep playin my footy.

Kings Army
19 Jun 2006, 14:13
What is going on with Sunbury this year. They are usually so dominant in this league by winning nearly every game. Have they lost a number of players or do they have a heap of injuries at present. How is Justin Lewis going for them if he still there.

A couple of things - Sunbury have some key injuries at the moment plus a very tough draw. They have played Darley, Melton, Redan and East Point all away. In the second half of the year they have them at home where they are undeafeated. The league has definately impoved as well with a few great chances to win this years flag and teams like Ballarat imporving significantly. I would not write Sunbury off just yet. If they are fit come finals time they will be a massive chance.

OldMelburnian28
19 Jun 2006, 15:49
How many did danny jordan kick against sunbury on the weekend? It's hard to say who would've got the job as full back, but ive got a couple of players in mind.

DarthAnnihl8or
19 Jun 2006, 16:32
How many did danny jordan kick against sunbury on the weekend? It's hard to say who would've got the job as full back, but ive got a couple of players in mind.

Jordan only managed 3 on the weekend, but word around the place is he was dealt with outside the rules a number of times. He ended up nearly knocked senseless and bandaged up. There was a nice picture of Mark Power in the paper with his fist just about to make contact with someones head. I wonder if anything will come from this game.

howzat
19 Jun 2006, 16:44
Jordan only managed 3 on the weekend, but word around the place is he was dealt with outside the rules a number of times. He ended up nearly knocked senseless and bandaged up. There was a nice picture of Mark Power in the paper with his fist just about to make contact with someones head. I wonder if anything will come from this game.Something ,Sunbury can take out of this game is the fact they are being led by an absolute gutless thug, in mark power who should retire from the game , apparently disgraced himself and his club again on the weekend

footy_nerd
19 Jun 2006, 18:05
you care to enlighten us howzat with you knowledge of the incident. Myself and i am sure many others are keen to find out the happenings of the weekends blockbuster between sunbury and east point. Perhaps a full match report a you may like to put some facts into that report so you can get some of the respect that you lost on your previous post by labelling people without producing facts and valid points to support your view.

Kings Army
19 Jun 2006, 18:13
Something ,Sunbury can take out of this game is the fact they are being led by an absolute gutless thug, in mark power who should retire from the game , apparently disgraced himself and his club again on the weekend

Your the gutless one potting Power on this web site and hiding behind a fake name. But if this makes you feel tough then you have some real issues. He is 5'6 and has you running scared.

Jealousy is a curse Howsat - your playing record is no where near at the same level as his.

Apparently disgraced himself this weekend?? - Apparently your hearing crap 3rd hand so it counts for nothing. He lead his injury decimated team into an away game against the best team in the Ballarat Football League and just got ran over in the last quarter. You need a good hard look at yourself.

polly_lions
19 Jun 2006, 18:45
Something ,Sunbury can take out of this game is the fact they are being led by an absolute gutless thug, in mark power who should retire from the game , apparently disgraced himself and his club again on the weekend

were u at the game because whta sergy did was lead form the front sunbury has lack that physical presecence on the ground until last weekend everyone would be saying different things about him if sunbury got up and won the game also well down to oakey to hold a player like dj to 3 goals is a massive effort:thumbsu:

polly_lions
19 Jun 2006, 18:47
Well done mate at least there are still some sensible ppl around

kernel
19 Jun 2006, 19:13
Your the gutless one potting Power on this web site and hiding behind a fake name. But if this makes you feel tough then you have some real issues. He is 5'6 and has you running scared.

Jealousy is a curse Howsat - your playing record is no where near at the same level as his.

Apparently disgraced himself this weekend?? - Apparently your hearing crap 3rd hand so it counts for nothing. He lead his injury decimated team into an away game against the best team in the Ballarat Football League and just got ran over in the last quarter. You need a good hard look at yourself.Good work kings army, obviosly you're an old school student of the game.I recently read in an interview in the local rag in which Power stated that Jordon wouldn't kick more than five goals against Sunbury, and it seems a good old fashion clip around the ears did the job. Maybe our mate howzat needs a little of the same. That might be a little difficult as it sounds like he plays a couple of hours earlier than Mr Power!!!!!!!

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
19 Jun 2006, 19:43
hey mate i dont know what i have done wrong to u i have been very effected by this i mean i dont want to be pasted on this site by u i dont even know who u r, can u plz tell me and ill chat to u at training or something, do u really hate people bragging that much mate....You have made me think about not wanting to play footy...your thoughts?????

ryang
19 Jun 2006, 22:09
hey mate i dont know what i have done wrong to u i have been very effected by this i mean i dont want to be pasted on this site by u i dont even know who u r, can u plz tell me and ill chat to u at training or something, do u really hate people bragging that much mate....You have made me think about not wanting to play footy...your thoughts?????
Think you'll find he's been banned

Rojer_Ramjet
19 Jun 2006, 23:07
Is Jamie Fenech from Ballarat any good? Any comments would be much appreciated.:)

Thats_Special
20 Jun 2006, 09:51

You know you can always come home Dylza... :thumbsu:

Brewer
20 Jun 2006, 23:04
Jordan only managed 3 on the weekend, but word around the place is he was dealt with outside the rules a number of times. He ended up nearly knocked senseless and bandaged up. There was a nice picture of Mark Power in the paper with his fist just about to make contact with someones head. I wonder if anything will come from this game.

dont make excuses as to why he didnt kick 13 goals or what eva.
He got shown up thats all here is to it. Put a solid player like oakey on him and hes doin it tough so well done oaks you killed him.
From what i can remember is he got 1 or 2 of those goals from free kicks in close versinity to the goal square.

As for serge its pretty safe to say that everyone at the Sunbury lions football club looks up to him.
He is one of the hardest players at the ball in the BFL and it shows when the ball is being bounced and he just runs flat out into the pack and makes body contact.

So tell me people why do you all say he is a thug? i cant say i have seen him king hit someone from behind this season or last for that matter, he will get into abit of a scuffle and thats just letting the opposition no that hes there to play tough footy.

So tell me your thoughts as to why Serge is a thug?

Jarman03
21 Jun 2006, 10:08
With you KingsArmy, i pick up the Ballarat Courier on Monday and as usual, all images of Sunbury players over the top of East players and then East coach whingeing about Jordans treatment during the game. We all know the BFL point of view on praying for Ballarat sides to be playing off and winning grand finals, we have seen it first hand with Redan over the last few years and the way Sunbury have been cruelled by tribunal and umpiring calls on grand final day. Amazing that East are angry over physical play levelled against their side when against Bacchus marsh 4 weeks ago, there coach sent there players out after a qtr time break to knock the blokes head off who stands in Jordans space, he told his players he didnt care if they did weeks, noone was stand in his hole, amazing how now when East has been targeted a bit that all of Sudden it is Sunbury up to ol tricks. Also from the weekends game, number 11 for East repeatedly came off the back line to take out sergey, got him a few times, but do you see sergey in the press this week whingeing. No wonder the eastern block sides are growing increasingly frustrated with teh BFL and the media and administration that run it. If you want to sit at the top, you take what is coming at you!

Kings Army
21 Jun 2006, 11:12
dont make excuses as to why he didnt kick 13 goals or what eva.
He got shown up thats all here is to it. Put a solid player like oakey on him and hes doin it tough so well done oaks you killed him.
From what i can remember is he got 1 or 2 of those goals from free kicks in close versinity to the goal square.

As for serge its pretty safe to say that everyone at the Sunbury lions football club looks up to him.
He is one of the hardest players at the ball in the BFL and it shows when the ball is being bounced and he just runs flat out into the pack and makes body contact.

So tell me people why do you all say he is a thug? i cant say i have seen him king hit someone from behind this season or last for that matter, he will get into abit of a scuffle and thats just letting the opposition no that hes there to play tough footy.

So tell me your thoughts as to why Serge is a thug?

Power plays the game as hard as aynone. He takes the hits when it is his turn and also dishes it out. The bloke is 5'6 but there is no harder at the ball than him in the BFL. That is what oppostion supports hate that the majority of their team do not attack the ball like him. End of the day if it gets to rough for some of the BFL players they can always take up mixed netball.

Kings Army
21 Jun 2006, 11:16
With you KingsArmy, i pick up the Ballarat Courier on Monday and as usual, all images of Sunbury players over the top of East players and then East coach whingeing about Jordans treatment during the game. We all know the BFL point of view on praying for Ballarat sides to be playing off and winning grand finals, we have seen it first hand with Redan over the last few years and the way Sunbury have been cruelled by tribunal and umpiring calls on grand final day. Amazing that East are angry over physical play levelled against their side when against Bacchus marsh 4 weeks ago, there coach sent there players out after a qtr time break to knock the blokes head off who stands in Jordans space, he told his players he didnt care if they did weeks, noone was stand in his hole, amazing how now when East has been targeted a bit that all of Sudden it is Sunbury up to ol tricks. Also from the weekends game, number 11 for East repeatedly came off the back line to take out sergey, got him a few times, but do you see sergey in the press this week whingeing. No wonder the eastern block sides are growing increasingly frustrated with teh BFL and the media and administration that run it. If you want to sit at the top, you take what is coming at you!

I think East Point got a taste of finals footy a little early. They have also seen what other Ballarat sides have achieved by whingeing in the press.

Interesting about East bullying the Marsh - fairly soft target! But they are quick to sook when they are on the other end. Will be interseting going forward to know that a little tap on the chin for some of the East players and they will go missing!

applecore
22 Jun 2006, 13:08
I think East Point got a taste of finals footy a little early. They have also seen what other Ballarat sides have achieved by whingeing in the press.

Interesting about East bullying the Marsh - fairly soft target! But they are quick to sook when they are on the other end. Will be interseting going forward to know that a little tap on the chin for some of the East players and they will go missing!

well put mate lets see hoe they go come finals time

applecore
22 Jun 2006, 13:09
With you KingsArmy, i pick up the Ballarat Courier on Monday and as usual, all images of Sunbury players over the top of East players and then East coach whingeing about Jordans treatment during the game. We all know the BFL point of view on praying for Ballarat sides to be playing off and winning grand finals, we have seen it first hand with Redan over the last few years and the way Sunbury have been cruelled by tribunal and umpiring calls on grand final day. Amazing that East are angry over physical play levelled against their side when against Bacchus marsh 4 weeks ago, there coach sent there players out after a qtr time break to knock the blokes head off who stands in Jordans space, he told his players he didnt care if they did weeks, noone was stand in his hole, amazing how now when East has been targeted a bit that all of Sudden it is Sunbury up to ol tricks. Also from the weekends game, number 11 for East repeatedly came off the back line to take out sergey, got him a few times, but do you see sergey in the press this week whingeing. No wonder the eastern block sides are growing increasingly frustrated with teh BFL and the media and administration that run it. If you want to sit at the top, you take what is coming at you! well written mate east wont be around for very long with attitude like that :thumbsu:

Vineyard
22 Jun 2006, 14:04
Word is that Sergey has spoken to his brother at Darley and could be another very bruising encounter for East.

Digger Edwards 150th so plenty to play for at the devils.

applecore
22 Jun 2006, 14:55
Word is that Sergey has spoken to his brother at Darley and could be another very bruising encounter for East.

Digger Edwards 150th so plenty to play for at the devils.i hope that sergey told his brother everything including dan jordan faulty hip and the devils give them heaps because it will really test to see if east point can handle being the team to beat for a change

applecore
22 Jun 2006, 16:38
the only thing ive found wrong that youve done carn the pup is aced as someone else askin about yourself you are a great player and dont need to stoop to that level mate the last thing you should do is quit footy because i have seen alot of things that show great potential but keep that gift of the gab you have to a level one instead of a five lol and also i would like o hear more about a younger kids in your 3rds side such as brendan smith brendan smith jack sullivan mitch brewer and all a big part of sunbury under 16 side last year and going well this year and michael zammit and dropped of since last year from kickin goals what is the problem there my name is Roger Apppleyard nick name apple core if yuo colud let me know abiut them mate would mean alot

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
23 Jun 2006, 15:21
thanks for that applecore um read the rdfl thread i put something about mick sammut on that also brendon and mitch are in selection for our 1's i think and jack sullivan is at cannons and playing good footy atm thanks mate catchya

CaRn_ThE_pUp23
24 Jun 2006, 20:45
Rest in Peace...Rhys Mason I miss you mate

Thats_Special
25 Jun 2006, 11:39
All the best to the guys down at Sunbury who would be struggling with the tragic loss on Friday..

Good to see all of you guys stick together down there and help each other through this period.. I wish all of you all the best..

RIP Rhys Mason, you will be missed by many...

Brewer
25 Jun 2006, 14:55
RIP Rhys we will miss you as a team mate and especially as a friend.:(

cockroach
26 Jun 2006, 10:58
Bfl Anyone
What has happened to the once strong Melton sth
should they head back to the rdfl ?
is it the new coach ?
is it the life after sproule effect?

jets06
27 Jun 2006, 14:14
Brendan Hehir is apparently heading to Bacchus Marsh.....not bad only 3 clubs in the one season.....!!!!!!

Vineyard
28 Jun 2006, 13:33
the Marsh wouldnt have him. Speaking to some of their players and they dont want him. Been at 3 clubs for a reason and although weak, the marsh youngsters have a crack week in week out and building for the future.

polly_lions
28 Jun 2006, 14:13
R.I.P rhys mason you were a great player and a better bloke us a a club will go back to back for u mate i promise

MotorBike Rob
30 Jun 2006, 08:49
who is playing well at the Marsh?

Grimmett
30 Jun 2006, 11:27

All the visiting clubs. ;)

MotorBike Rob
30 Jun 2006, 15:35
You are correct. Although I did see a victory on the board the other week. Melton South??? Must have been an away game.

ryang
30 Jun 2006, 18:15
All the visiting clubs. ;)
HaHa. Thats a beauty.

freak29
30 Jun 2006, 20:12
You are correct. Although I did see a victory on the board the other week. Melton South??? Must have been an away game.
no. it was at the marsh...

Vineyard
3 Jul 2006, 11:21
Great win for the Devils on the weekend to get their season back on track with an undermanned side and not one tipster picked them. Here is the press straight off the DFC website:

Miller Magic Lifts Devils

Brad Miller booted 9 goals in a magical display that lead the Devils to a 25 point away victory over Sunbury on Saturday 1 July. The victory sees the Devils rise to 4th position on the BFL ladder.
200 gamer Travis Stephenson said after the match that it was a very long time since he had beaten the mighty lions at their own den.

But it was Brad Miller that supplied the inspiration. He not only booted nine, but booted them when they were most needed, such as the two late goals he calmly slotted late in the third term to give the Devils some much needed breathing space.

He had a great partner up forward in Lee Cox, who kicked five goals and dragged down mark after mark in the windy conditions.

Others to impress included Mr Consistent Matt Cape, former Sunbury players Cannard and McCabe and Daniel Farrar (4 goals) who surprised the opposition with his hard running and canny goal sense. McLeod and Younger also were important.

Coach Power was proud of his troops and acknoweldged Miller's mighty game but also cited the development of some of the teams younger players and lesser lights as a very pleasing factor.

The reserves put together there worst display of the year in going down 26 goals to five. They had no match for regular seniors key forward Matt Baird who ended with 11 goals and now slip to 5th on the ladder. Only Rick Leaonard, Scott McKay and Leigh Freestone managed to perform to their best.

The thirds got beat by 11 goals but certainly had a crack at the more fancied Sunbuy outfit. Darren Leonard, Whitney, D King, C kettle, Jae McGrath, Hilbert and Matthews were the best players.

Kings Army
3 Jul 2006, 14:47
Great win for the Devils on the weekend to get their season back on track with an undermanned side and not one tipster picked them. Here is the press straight off the DFC website:

Miller Magic Lifts Devils

Brad Miller booted 9 goals in a magical display that lead the Devils to a 25 point away victory over Sunbury on Saturday 1 July. The victory sees the Devils rise to 4th position on the BFL ladder.
200 gamer Travis Stephenson said after the match that it was a very long time since he had beaten the mighty lions at their own den.

But it was Brad Miller that supplied the inspiration. He not only booted nine, but booted them when they were most needed, such as the two late goals he calmly slotted late in the third term to give the Devils some much needed breathing space.

He had a great partner up forward in Lee Cox, who kicked five goals and dragged down mark after mark in the windy conditions.

Others to impress included Mr Consistent Matt Cape, former Sunbury players Cannard and McCabe and Daniel Farrar (4 goals) who surprised the opposition with his hard running and canny goal sense. McLeod and Younger also were important.

Coach Power was proud of his troops and acknoweldged Miller's mighty game but also cited the development of some of the teams younger players and lesser lights as a very pleasing factor.

The reserves put together there worst display of the year in going down 26 goals to five. They had no match for regular seniors key forward Matt Baird who ended with 11 goals and now slip to 5th on the ladder. Only Rick Leaonard, Scott McKay and Leigh Freestone managed to perform to their best.

The thirds got beat by 11 goals but certainly had a crack at the more fancied Sunbuy outfit. Darren Leonard, Whitney, D King, C kettle, Jae McGrath, Hilbert and Matthews were the best players.

This would have to rate at as Matt Power's greatest coaching win. In his time they never have beaten Sunbury and this year they have won twice. But to do it at Sunbury where he is a club legend would give him great satisfaction. Rumblings at Sunbury could see M.Power out as coach replaced by M.Power in for 2007!

Vineyard
4 Jul 2006, 12:44
I think that win for the devils will secure Matt Power's coaching aspirations at the devils for at least another year. Gives the young side a belief in themselves.

Heard rumours that a boxing coach was called in for training last night at sunbury to belt some form into the players. Any truth to this rumour kings army.

Why is baird, fleming and mcCabe in the reserves???

And is Serge's knee serious?

cockroach
4 Jul 2006, 12:53
interesting times ahead with Sunbury rumblings
will demon or serge last another year with respective clubs
maybe they sould get rod tomas or shanks to get there clubs back on track
interesting coaching from both with the best result a draw on sunday ?????

buddy buddy
4 Jul 2006, 14:49
I think that win for the devils will secure Matt Power's coaching aspirations at the devils for at least another year. Gives the young side a belief in themselves.

Heard rumours that a boxing coach was called in for training last night at sunbury to belt some form into the players. Any truth to this rumour kings army.

Is there anyone from any of the Ballarat teams that get on here and talk or is it all sunbury, darley, bacchus marsh and melton?

Is this baird you speak of young matt baird? Son of the famous Peter 'Polly' Baird who played over 300 games in the MMFL/CMFL?

Kings Army
4 Jul 2006, 16:16

No players boxed - it was work on the speed ball and punching bag.

Baird kicked 11 on the weekend and will play this weekend. But the 3 were playing 2's for some attitude issues.

Could be ACL for Serge - he willl find out this Thurs.

Did anyone see how Scoble broke his finger in the first 10 seconds? Not about effort from him to get 2nd best on ground. There maybe some life in those fat little legs after all!

Jarman03
4 Jul 2006, 16:30
The two Powers are arguably the two best coaches in the BFL. Great rivallry and both showing they are doing great things with young sides. I imagine there is to be a fair push for Demon Power to return to Sunbury and partner up his younger brother Mark, if that happens, look out, would be very very difficult to stop, both extremely good tactically.

Jarman03
4 Jul 2006, 16:32
What does the coaching merry go round in the BFL hold for next year. What are the likely moves....... Will Melton, melton South, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury, Darley, East, Redan all have new coaches??

rioli brownlow
4 Jul 2006, 16:59
Is there anyone from any of the Ballarat teams that get on here and talk or is it all sunbury, darley, bacchus marsh and melton?

Is this baird you speak of young matt baird? Son of the famous Peter 'Polly' Baird who played over 300 games in the MMFL/CMFL?

no he is the son of richard baird the owner of sunbury bus lines!

MotorBike Rob
5 Jul 2006, 11:24
What does the coaching merry go round in the BFL hold for next year. What are the likely moves....... Will Melton, melton South, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury, Darley, East, Redan all have new coaches??
any rumours to these changes?

Vineyard
5 Jul 2006, 14:39
[quote=buddy buddy]Is there anyone from any of the Ballarat teams that get on here and talk or is it all sunbury, darley, bacchus marsh and melton?

I dont think that Ballarat people know how to communicate or use the nternet. Has it reached up there yet.

Best game of the year for Troy Scoble.

Vineyard
5 Jul 2006, 14:43
any rumours to these changes?

Poor comment Jarman03

Melton South might have a new coach but most of the others will stay.

Has anyone heard about Bacchus MArsh applying for CHFL affiliation next season?

polly_lions
5 Jul 2006, 15:28
[quote=buddy buddy]Is there anyone from any of the Ballarat teams that get on here and talk or is it all sunbury, darley, bacchus marsh and melton?

I dont think that Ballarat people know how to communicate or use the nternet. Has it reached up there yet.

Best game of the year for Troy Scoble.

Well its good to see he playing some good footy but his form ooff the field is terrible also well done to troy on assistant coach for west/east state side
:thumbsu:

polly_lions
5 Jul 2006, 15:29

NO the polly your talking about is me and im only playing under 18 for sunbury hope to get into senior selection but with the way thing go prob not who woul dthis be that asking anyway?

Kings Army
5 Jul 2006, 15:37
[quote=Vineyard]

Well its good to see he playing some good footy but his form ooff the field is terrible also well done to troy on assistant coach for west/east state side
:thumbsu:

What have you got on him?

polly_lions
6 Jul 2006, 10:44
[quote=polly_lions]

What have you got on him?

Na not much just that he was ment to stick around last saturday after the darley v sunbury game have a few beers but did a big ghosty just poor form that way

simplesimon
6 Jul 2006, 14:31
Scoble was named in the best i see. rumour has it he and Serge Power had a little dip at each other early in the game.
ive also heard that a few clubs have Troy Scoble in their sights for a coaching position in 2007.

Kings Army
6 Jul 2006, 14:40
[quote=Kings Army]

Na not much just that he was ment to stick around last saturday after the darley v sunbury game have a few beers but did a big ghosty just poor form that way

That is what happens when you have a wife and 2 kids! At 18 you still have a few years before you find out the hard way!

ryang
6 Jul 2006, 15:32
Poor comment Jarman03

Melton South might have a new coach but most of the others will stay.

Has anyone heard about Bacchus MArsh applying for CHFL affiliation next season?
That would not surprise me at all Vineyard, have you heard something? Seeing the soft c oc ks at Daylesford wanted to be big fish in a little pond after missing the finals in the BFL for the first time in 6 years in 05 and were let in, the Marsh would be a monty to get the green light. Funny how Daylesford were crying poor one minute then out come the 4 sets of new jumpers, new training jumpers, offering big money to anyone that would listen and even talking about building new clubrooms. Sebas might as well join the CHFL as well. That league will end up with about 20 teams before long.

Lica
8 Jul 2006, 21:34
That would not surprise me at all Vineyard, have you heard something? Seeing the soft c oc ks at Daylesford wanted to be big fish in a little pond after missing the finals in the BFL for the first time in 6 years in 05 and were let in, the Marsh would be a monty to get the green light. Funny how Daylesford were crying poor one minute then out come the 4 sets of new jumpers, new training jumpers, offering big money to anyone that would listen and even talking about building new clubrooms. Sebas might as well join the CHFL as well. That league will end up with about 20 teams before long.

Bacchus Marsh wont be leaving the Ballarat league.
We are doing well off the field and next year we are in the position to spend money on players. (We have too!!)
We have been trying to build a team with local players and there are some good young players but we need to recruit some good outsiders around the mid twenty mark with a few years experience.
Not sure who we are after but recruiting has already started from what I have heard today.

Lica
8 Jul 2006, 21:50

There are a few very young players that have shown promise throughout the year.
Tyson Shea - 18 year old mid fielder has been doing a mans job and a very good one at that. Will be a gun player in 2 years time. (could still play under 18's)
Mitch Wilson - Quick skillful HFF. Only 18 aswell or maybe 17 and will be a very good player in a couple of years. (could still play under 18's)
Rowe - Great young ruckmen that played Jets last year has been good in patches. Only 18 or 19 years old.

Older players-
Brett Connors - Has been very good in patches. Smart footballer and breaks tackles really well.
Aussie hasn't had the best of years but is still an awesome player but has now done his knee so he is gone for 12 months.
Ash Whittle - Has been great in patches. Sticky hands and crunches packs well. Plays with a big heart and is not afraid of a bit of biffo.

ryang
10 Jul 2006, 22:33
There are a few very young players that have shown promise throughout the year.
Tyson Shea - 18 year old mid fielder has been doing a mans job and a very good one at that. Will be a gun player in 2 years time. (could still play under 18's)
Mitch Wilson - Quick skillful HFF. Only 18 aswell or maybe 17 and will be a very good player in a couple of years. (could still play under 18's)
Rowe - Great young ruckmen that played Jets last year has been good in patches. Only 18 or 19 years old.

Older players-
Brett Connors - Has been very good in patches. Smart footballer and breaks tackles really well.
Aussie hasn't had the best of years but is still an awesome player but has now done his knee so he is gone for 12 months.
Ash Whittle - Has been great in patches. Sticky hands and crunches packs well. Plays with a big heart and is not afraid of a bit of biffo.
Glad to here the Marsh are staying put Lica, should have known they would have a bit more character than Daylesford. How is Gardiner going this year and could the club have done anything more to try and hang onto Andy McKay?

jets06
10 Jul 2006, 22:41
NO the polly your talking about is me and im only playing under 18 for sunbury hope to get into senior selection but with the way thing go prob not who woul dthis be that asking anyway? is the rumour true that a few of the lions may be heading to town to play next year, maybe in the EDFL ???

Lica
10 Jul 2006, 22:48
Glad to here the Marsh are staying put Lica, should have known they would have a bit more character than Daylesford. How is Gardiner going this year and could the club have done anything more to try and hang onto Andy McKay?

Speak to anyone involved in the club and they will say the club has been down before and they will get up again. I think they have been concentrating on off field stability in the passed couple of years and now they have that pretty much sorted (there are more improvments planned) then they are willing to make inroads into the playing group.

Gards is doing well. He is another one that has shown promise through the year. I was speaking to Sutha tonight and he is one player he mentioned could be a very damaging player in the couple of years with more progress in his game and with decent players around him.
I think Andy was just offered more money to go to Hepburn and really I dont blame him. If he wanted to taste a bit of success then The Marsh wasn't the place to be this year.
I saw him the other day but didn't get to speak to him to see how he is going. Hopefully we will see him back at the Marsh next year. I won't hold my breath but then again I wouldn't be surprised.

ryang
10 Jul 2006, 22:59
Speak to anyone involved in the club and they will say the club has been down before and they will get up again. I think they have been concentrating on off field stability in the passed couple of years and now they have that pretty much sorted (there are more improvments planned) then they are willing to make inroads into the playing group.

Gards is doing well. He is another one that has shown promise through the year. I was speaking to Sutha tonight and he is one player he mentioned could be a very damaging player in the couple of years with more progress in his game and with decent players around him.
I think Andy was just offered more money to go to Hepburn and really I dont blame him. If he wanted to taste a bit of success then The Marsh wasn't the place to be this year.
I saw him the other day but didn't get to speak to him to see how he is going. Hopefully we will see him back at the Marsh next year. I won't hold my breath but then again I wouldn't be surprised.
I've seen him a couple of times this year and I reckon he is a great kid. For such a skinny little runt he kicks the ball a long way and is a very hard match up because of his overhead strength. If you lined up on him without knowing anything about him you would be feeling pretty confident of having a good day because he looks about 12.

Lica
10 Jul 2006, 23:19
I've seen him a couple of times this year and I reckon he is a great kid. For such a skinny little runt he kicks the ball a long way and is a very hard match up because of his overhead strength. If you lined up on him without knowing anything about him you would be feeling pretty confident of having a good day because he looks about 12.

I lined up on him a few years ago in an intraclub match when Hicky was still coaching and he made me look like a half wit. Took a huge hanger on me and I just thought who the **** does this kid think he is......(Mind you I was never a 1's player) Then that year he won rookie of the year in the BFL and I thought he was just an awesome player. For his size he is amazing. Pound for pound would be up there with the best of them.

polly_lions
11 Jul 2006, 10:14
is the rumour true that a few of the lions may be heading to town to play next year, maybe in the EDFL ???

I dont know anything about that i would ahve to say prob not though

polly_lions
11 Jul 2006, 10:16
[quote=polly_lions]

That is what happens when you have a wife and 2 kids! At 18 you still have a few years before you find out the hard way!

sorry buddy didnt mean to offend you in anyway i have to up most respect for troy who is a super coach and should try and take it placers