View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
He's kicking goals every week but can't commit to training due to work commitments.
Seems to be able to make it to the Golfhouse every night for a punt though.
Who cares?
The season is dead and it won't get interesting until the second week of the finals.
Fair Point Hank.
grand final replay this boys get exited,
redan have lost alot of key players but any side with murrihy, edwards and co cant be underestimated
Left Footed Cat
8 Jun 2007, 13:59
Who cares?
The season is dead and it won't get interesting until the second week of the finals.
Lets call the season off now, save the grounds, get them tip top for next year.
We can just have Redan v Merging Dogs, Sunbury v Ballarat, then the 2 winners play in a June Grand Final.
yeah, it must be worrying for the league with the gap so large. supporters and the public will stop coming to the footy if it keeps up like this.
the public crowds stoped coming to the bfl long ago its dissapointing
A long, boring year... It doesn't make the players happy when they know they don't get a week off during the year to recharge the batteries. I'm with LFC.... Let the top 4 fight it out now.
Don't Argue
8 Jun 2007, 15:29
How does Damien Larkin from Ballarat go as a footballer?
Vineyard
8 Jun 2007, 16:01
surely they would get more people to the games if it didnt cost so much to get in. realistically the price it is for local footy...... For $5 more they can go to the AFL.
Hank Evans
8 Jun 2007, 16:03
surely they would get more people to the games if it didnt cost so much to get in. realistically the price it is for local footy...... For $5 more they can go to the AFL.
You actually pay to get into the groung?
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!1111111113789342875
Minersrest
8 Jun 2007, 17:51
How does Damien Larkin from Ballarat go as a footballer?
Larks can play, but his team mate Merv the dange man Hughes is steeling the lime light. He's played one game and already the coacjing staff are talking seniors, why not when you've won a BnF in the sanfl
Left Footed Cat
8 Jun 2007, 17:52
I'd pay $50 to see Shane Fisher (coach of Merging Dogs) play, its like paying to see a comedian.
If only he could get on the park, crowds would flock back.
Minersrest
8 Jun 2007, 17:52
Larks can play, but his team mate Merv the dange man Hughes is steeling the lime light. He's played one game and already the coacjing staff are talking seniors, why not when you've won a BnF in the sanfl
I am now going to learn how to type and spell
darren melton
9 Jun 2007, 19:20
It is a big gap and the league have to do something about our finals system and scrap the final 6 come finals time its going to be embarrasing . But I think if you go back to early pre season when there was alot of people talking up south as a contender this year I got on and said they would be no good. Its going to be interesting down south way now they are not winning games and also not being paid there could be a mass walk out, they have gone out and spent probably another 50k on last year and are no better off.
I keep reading in the paper they have 8 out can anyone tell me who they are and please dont just reel of fringe players. Parker is 1
paid that much on the recruits they picked up they nearly same players that left after melton smashed them 2001 and now gone back not worth anything but basic match payments? wonder weather these guys will cop the crap shanks got i doubt it because they are home grown ?????
darren melton
9 Jun 2007, 19:25
speaking to ther president sunday at junior footy
word is paying no more than last year so no real worry there
outs: hassett /mamalis /parker /watkins / krojs /peters /simkins /christofaro /oday /p-sproule thats 10 walk ups
not all top line but all def senior players so improvemnt to come you would think?
certainly not as good as top 4
only the mighty bloods will be better than them around town as proven by smashing a full strength Devils on Saturday with half there side out ??????:D
10 walk ups recycled has beens dont tell me these guys are getting paid
Kings Army
9 Jun 2007, 23:53
Big win from Sunbury today. 1 goal from the Marsh is showing how big the gulf is between the top and bottom sides. Serge Power with 11 p's in the 1st quarter from a back pocket was a huge effort for his 1st game back. Will anyone want to take me on that Sunbury is a cert for the 2007 flag. Private messages and bank details only. Have a nice night - Ring a ding ding - thats all from the King!
Hank Evans
10 Jun 2007, 09:52
Big win from Sunbury today. 1 goal from the Marsh is showing how big the gulf is between the top and bottom sides. Serge Power with 11 p's in the 1st quarter from a back pocket was a huge effort for his 1st game back. Will anyone want to take me on that Sunbury is a cert for the 2007 flag. Private messages and bank details only. Have a nice night - Ring a ding ding - thats all from the King!
What a suprise that you're home in bed by 11pm on a Saturday night, Fatboy.
big poppa
10 Jun 2007, 11:24
I'd pay $50 to see Shane Fisher (coach of Merging Dogs) play, its like paying to see a comedian.
If only he could get on the park, crowds would flock back.
does any1 have the number of shane fishers tattooist his tatts are amazing hes truely a class act
i must say sunbury are an extremely good side disciplined, skillful and aggressive and balanced across the ground. the score from the game prob showed a bit more one sided than it was, the marsh should have kicked at least 6 or 7 goals, but were just unable to convert. Also the Marsh did have their starting Back six injured plus a couple of other players out so they did play a mediocore side with lots of injuries.
win the flag? yeah they have an extremely good chance, east point and redan are the obvious contenders and are waiting on their full lists to come to fruition. certainties is a bit much to say at the moment.
19th Man
11 Jun 2007, 13:16
With a town as big as Bacchus Marsh, surely one of the teams there could register more than a solitary win!
how big do u think the marsh is? melton is 2 and a half times the size
grand final replay this boys get exited,
redan have lost alot of key players but any side with murrihy, edwards and co cant be underestimated
murrihy is a gimp, should be coaching from the sidelines he's more effective there. good win by east point, but will be a much, much closer game with fieldy and edwards in the team (they were missin today)
Is is it offically a 2 horse race?
Hank Evans
12 Jun 2007, 10:40
how big do u think the marsh is? melton is 2 and a half times the size
And have twice as many wins. Sorry kid, your point is irrelevant.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s22/Jak_Dizzle/motorboat.gif
Hank Evans
12 Jun 2007, 14:04
So is your use of videos Hank. C'mon play nicely or don't post at all. Let everyone who wants to talk about local footy talk instead of you having a go at everyone.
Spoken like a true umpire. Can't handle himself in the big scary world so he needs to plead with people to be nice.
bomber39
12 Jun 2007, 15:05
ran into the famous Mr Hughes on sunday night and he had ten of the hottest looking females around him all wating to play with his nipples.
Hank Evans
12 Jun 2007, 15:30
Hmmm I can see why many people don't like you.
Are you kidding? People love me on here. You, on the other hand, could fade into Mike Tyson's mythical 'Bolivian' and no one would even care. I stop posting for a day and people ask where I am.
Now go and practice running backwards, Jerky.
Mothman
12 Jun 2007, 15:31
murrihy is a gimp, should be coaching from the sidelines he's more effective there. good win by east point, but will be a much, much closer game with fieldy and edwards in the team (they were missin today)
wouldn't you think Field with all his experience and injury problems would be smart enough to not play the inter-league game so he would be fresh enough for the game on the weekend.
19th Man
12 Jun 2007, 15:50
wouldn't you think Field with all his experience and injury problems would be smart enough to not play the inter-league game so he would be fresh enough for the game on the weekend.
You would, but the amount of pressure put on players to represent the league is over the top. Threatened with suspension and the like are all used to make players represent the BFL
19th Man
12 Jun 2007, 15:55
I have been very critical of South in past posts, but a solid win on the weekend. It now seems that there are 3 divisions in the league at present. The top 4 (Sun, Eas, Red, Ball), the next 3 (Melt S, Melt, Lake)and the rest (Dar, Seb, Bacc).
Mothman
12 Jun 2007, 16:05
You would, but the amount of pressure put on players to represent the league is over the top. Threatened with suspension and the like are all used to make players represent the BFL
shouldn't the league be trying to get younger players to represent it instead of half a team of 30 year olds. sounds as if the league will go backwards rather than forwards if this type of thing continues to happen.
Left Footed Cat
12 Jun 2007, 16:15
Hey LFC,
I know I am going to give you some shit mate but how did the Devils go against Lake Wendouree over the weekend?
Also how did Luke Guerra go?
Devils were a disgrace, and Luke Guerra didnt play, done his hammy against Melton, was going good though.
How can you give anyone crap, you have admitted that you are an umpire, its like admitting you still wet the bed.
Get off Hanks back, he belongs on here, you don't pansy.
Did Fields actually play interleague? I thought it was on news a couple of weeks ago that he had pulled out? Also who was #7 for redan and #42 for east, they went alright yesterday.
I think that redan had a few out because of the interleague match earlier in the week.
Great win by East point.
Oh and LFC Darley will come good soon.
Hey, i just started a new thread for you WITF... so skip back to it and post your info on that and if someone feels fit to reply to you then all good and well.
sniper5
12 Jun 2007, 17:08
I have been very critical of South in past posts, but a solid win on the weekend. It now seems that there are 3 divisions in the league at present. The top 4 (Sun, Eas, Red, Ball), the next 3 (Melt S, Melt, Lake)and the rest (Dar, Seb, Bacc).
Yeah But after seeing Melton beet Ballarat i wonder if they will get any where this year?
And have twice as many wins. Sorry kid, your point is irrelevant.
well you obviously have no idea of what the main driver of a successful team is do you. The more people in a town the more money that can be generated and better juniors come through, thus the better a team will be.
the_other
12 Jun 2007, 19:11
I think that redan had a few out because of the interleague match earlier in the week.
Great win by East point.
Oh and LFC Darley will come good soon.
Redan had more than a few out, so I am not sure how much can be read into the game, but credit to the way East Point won the hard ball.
sniper5
12 Jun 2007, 21:08
Redan had more than a few out, so I am not sure how much can be read into the game, but credit to the way East Point won the hard ball.
Could you name the players who were out for me mate coz i know that feild and edwards didnt play but who were the others?
shouldn't the league be trying to get younger players to represent it instead of half a team of 30 year olds. sounds as if the league will go backwards rather than forwards if this type of thing continues to happen.
it was an under 23 inter-league game, with a maximum of 5 over-age players allowed to represent each team, so the league did make a considerable effort to bring the younger players into the game
darren melton
12 Jun 2007, 21:41
didnt melton beat ballarat saturday??????????????
the_other
12 Jun 2007, 22:33
Could you name the players who were out for me mate coz i know that feild and edwards didnt play but who were the others?
Just off the top of my head, there were: Field, Edwards, Dwyer, Blomley, Bridges, Snibson, Runge, and Ward. I heard someone say that there were 11 missing, not sure of the others.
Oh, and Number 7 for Redan is Paul McMahon (known as Squeek). Very good player
19th Man
13 Jun 2007, 15:58
didnt melton beat ballarat saturday??????????????
Correct!
but Melt were flogged by 30 goals against Red, and are yet to play Sun & East. Their % is terrible, and will only get worse in the coming weeks.
Ballarat have beaten Red, and were within 2 goals of East, with a far superior % compared to Melt.
1 bad game doesn't make a season. Melton will not finish top 4.
sniper5
13 Jun 2007, 21:40
Just off the top of my head, there were: Field, Edwards, Dwyer, Blomley, Bridges, Snibson, Runge, and Ward. I heard someone say that there were 11 missing, not sure of the others.
thanks mate well thats why east point won by so much then
Iron Beast
14 Jun 2007, 12:18
saw the redan v east game. my overall thoughts were:
Redan had no run at all in the first half, they didn't want to kick the footy in quick because it was coming straight back out. East however thrive on fast ball movement, when you have the like of Geljon, Hutch and DJ down there they will win it more often then not.
In the second half redan started to link up and run a bit more. Was impressed how they started to come back through the middle and kicked the ball much deeper into their forward line to number 7 who is a much better forward then murrihy.
Overall east are a well drilled unit, in the first half it looked like redan won't get near east all year because they were so much better, but in the second half their were glimpes that showed that hard running and carrying the footy is the way to break east down. Wouldn't write Redan off yet, strong runners through the middle is exactly what they need back into the side.
On another note; Murrihy is too slow and doesn't keep his feet enough. Surely a guy of his calibre knows that when your on the ground your no use to anyone. Would be of more use off feild coaching, and is only holding his side back by playing himself at full forward... Won't fire a shot against good sides
saw the redan v east game. my overall thoughts were:
Redan had no run at all in the first half, they didn't want to kick the footy in quick because it was coming straight back out. East however thrive on fast ball movement, when you have the like of Geljon, Hutch and DJ down there they will win it more often then not.
In the second half redan started to link up and run a bit more. Was impressed how they started to come back through the middle and kicked the ball much deeper into their forward line to number 7 who is a much better forward then murrihy.
Overall east are a well drilled unit, in the first half it looked like redan won't get near east all year because they were so much better, but in the second half their were glimpes that showed that hard running and carrying the footy is the way to break east down. Wouldn't write Redan off yet, strong runners through the middle is exactly what they need back into the side.
On another note; Murrihy is too slow and doesn't keep his feet enough. Surely a guy of his calibre knows that when your on the ground your no use to anyone. Would be of more use off feild coaching, and is only holding his side back by playing himself at full forward... Won't fire a shot against good sides
East Point had 12 clearances to Redan's 2 in the 1st half. The 2 Redan got were from free kicks.
NoRumoursAllFact
14 Jun 2007, 15:41
Which mcmahon played for lakers as a kid?? was that paul mcmahon?
Iron Beast
14 Jun 2007, 15:42
East Point had 12 clearances to Redan's 2 in the 1st half. The 2 Redan got were from free kicks.
i was making reference to how they were playing the ground, not the stoppages. they were going really wide in the first half then in the second half i thought they straightened up a lot more. should have explained it better...
Bayonet
14 Jun 2007, 18:08
Can anyone give me an update on Gareth Hall's footy career?
Is he playing ones or twos?
Is he training? 1 or 2 nights a week?
the_other
14 Jun 2007, 19:00
Which mcmahon played for lakers as a kid?? was that paul mcmahon?
I am pretty sure that wouldn't be the same one. I believe this Paul McMahon is the brother of Sharelle McMahon (the captain of the Australian Netball team). He played with the Roosters.
darren melton
14 Jun 2007, 23:46
Correct!
but Melt were flogged by 30 goals against Red, and are yet to play Sun & East. Their % is terrible, and will only get worse in the coming weeks.
Ballarat have beaten Red, and were within 2 goals of East, with a far superior % compared to Melt.
1 bad game doesn't make a season. Melton will not finish top 4.
for melton to beat ballarat at ballarat with a bunch of kids blended with some good oldies was a huge win im not saying melton wil fin top 4 but ? ballarat being that good may be east and redan were voff those games????????????melton be a force again soon
Some pointless games this week. Lakers v South... Any predictions as it seems the closest game of the round.
sniper5
15 Jun 2007, 18:12
Some pointless games this week. Lakers v South... Any predictions as it seems the closest game of the round.
Lakers with Maxwell back in a close encounter
19th Man
18 Jun 2007, 00:29
Lakers with Maxwell back in a close encounter
Well "sniper", it looks as though your scope is well out. The twin towers too good.
does anyone know what the deal is with ballarat? Losing to melton and then just beating an undermanned darley outfit, there has to be something going on here.
Left Footed Cat
18 Jun 2007, 13:38
On the weekend a BFL umpire paid a 50 metre penalty because the supporters were bagging him. What a disgrace.
A person could go to the footy and pretend to barrack for the opposition, get abusive and have 50 metre penalties given away. An example of more ridiculous umpire rubbish.
Left Footed Cat
18 Jun 2007, 13:59
Well "sniper", it looks as though your scope is well out. The twin towers too good.
Out of interest, how many goals have Sutts & McMahon scored against the 4 good sides.
sniper5
18 Jun 2007, 20:19
big news in that Shane Hutchisons going to miss the rest of the year with a knee recrustrction
Left Footed Cat
18 Jun 2007, 20:56
big news in that Shane Hutchisons going to miss the rest of the year with a knee recrustrction
Seen him leave the ground, was dominant before that. Will be a major loss, long haired dready will have to stand up.
NoRumoursAllFact
19 Jun 2007, 00:50
Out of interest, how many goals have Sutts & McMahon scored against the 4 good sides.
You would have 'em in a second LFC. One second.
Your not a left footer either
Left Footed Cat
19 Jun 2007, 09:59
You would have 'em in a second LFC. One second.
Your not a left footer either
Of course, didn't say they weren't good, just wanted to know how they have gone against the good sides.
19th Man
19 Jun 2007, 11:32
My response was nothing more than a direct reply to the Lakers winning a close one with Maxwell the difference.
I agree with you partly, Sutton scores his bags against lowly opposition, whereas McMahaon will score a few majors against better opposition.
My response was nothing more than a direct reply to the Lakers winning a close one with Maxwell the difference.
I agree with you partly, Sutton scores his bags against lowly opposition, whereas McMahaon will score a few majors against better opposition.
Sutton has kicked his fair share of bags against good opposition 10 against sunbury 8 against ballarat last year. He has kicked some big bags against Melton over the last few years. Not sure how he has been going this year but still one of the best forwards in the comp i would think.
I guess it's just another chance for you 19th man to pot a bloke without any evidence supporting your comments!:eek:
I have respect for umpires but is there ever a time they can admit they were wrong. Obviously, people pour their heart and and soul into the footy club and when they see an ordinary call in their eyes they react emotionally as any normal human being would. Don't penalise them for this. I know what was said from the sideline and it was merely a dejected sigh of just "bulls**t" which the umpire thought was enough to give a 50 away. this could have possibly affected the result of the game and brought more resentment from the fans and officials of football clubs around the league.
19th Man
19 Jun 2007, 16:26
Sutton has kicked his fair share of bags against good opposition 10 against sunbury 8 against ballarat last year. He has kicked some big bags against Melton over the last few years. Not sure how he has been going this year but still one of the best forwards in the comp i would think.
I guess it's just another chance for you 19th man to pot a bloke without any evidence supporting your comments!:eek:
You have named two good goal hauls, plus or minus a few against Melton in how many years of Ballarat football has he been playing?
My original post praised them both as "the twin towers", who were too strong for the Lakers you dill, and only went into detail when his credability against good opposition was questioned by another poster.
For the amount of money he is reportably paid, a more consistant goal return would some way to paying the club back.
Go back through the results, the evidence is in writing.
Left Footed Cat
19 Jun 2007, 18:21
It is in the rulebook as a new rule this year to curb ugly parent syndrome where people like yourself go out just to abuse the umpires. It is part of the ZERO TOLERENCE of ABUSE TOWARDS umpires.
I don't abuse umpires at games, what is the point! Its true I don't like them, infact dispise them is the word. What is the point in yelling and screaming at the ferrets, as it is hard to affend these guys anyway. They have such a highly inflated opinion of themselves and their importance to the game. They should be taken down a few pegs.
P.S. Please get off this thread with your umpire garbage.
It is in the rulebook as a new rule this year to curb ugly parent syndrome where people like yourself go out just to abuse the umpires. It is part of the ZERO TOLERENCE of ABUSE TOWARDS umpires.
get a kick mate
Left Footed Cat
19 Jun 2007, 20:40
Thats why nobody respects you people. No one goes to the footy 'just' to bag umpires. You think decent people revolve their weekends around you precious jerks. If you make a bad call, expect some stick, admit your mistakes and grow up.
ozdevil1978
19 Jun 2007, 22:07
does any1 know if chris sencerick still plays 4 melton south
FootyFat
20 Jun 2007, 08:04
He pulled out.
like your old man should have
FootyFat
20 Jun 2007, 08:15
It might be an ordinary call but it was pretty stupid for the supporters to give away a 50m penalty in the first place.
And the BFL wonder why the crowds dont come through the gates any more when a game has the potential to be decided by a drunk in the grandstand.It just goes to show how pathetic some umpires really are.Until umpires start to admit they are wrong and start to listen to and take in some of the criticisim they get then they wont be respected by the average footy watcher that each year finds the game turning to sh#t because of all the politics. Its supose to be a mans game umpired by men so take some responsibility for your actions and stop hiding behind your little white t-shirt.
Kings Army
20 Jun 2007, 09:17
And the BFL wonder why the crowds dont come through the gates any more when a game has the potential to be decided by a drunk in the grandstand.It just goes to show how pathetic some umpires really are.Until umpires start to admit they are wrong and start to listen to and take in some of the criticisim they get then they wont be respected by the average footy watcher that each year finds the game turning to sh#t because of all the politics. Its supose to be a mans game umpired by men so take some responsibility for your actions and stop hiding behind your little white t-shirt.
Gee this is a new tune - Sunbury have been critical of the umps for years but everyone were on the umps wagon when it was going against Sunbury but 1 little 50 that had zero impact and eveyone is jumping up and down. Lose a Grand Final beacuse the umps were weak and then you can complain.
Left Footed Cat
20 Jun 2007, 09:54
Gee this is a new tune - Sunbury have been critical of the umps for years but everyone were on the umps wagon when it was going against Sunbury but 1 little 50 that had zero impact and eveyone is jumping up and down. Lose a Grand Final beacuse the umps were weak and then you can complain.
The eastern sides have been in full agreement with Sunbury about the umpires, its just it has cost you lot more than the rest, which makes you more vocal.
James Kerr
20 Jun 2007, 10:19
does any1 know if chris sencerick still plays 4 melton south
Yep and still a back pocket hack, at best.
James Kerr
20 Jun 2007, 10:20
C'mon guys, don't bag the umpires.
If it weren't for them, we wouldn't have a game :rolleyes:
little man
20 Jun 2007, 10:57
has danny finn been playin here if so how is he goin?
StanTsaikos
20 Jun 2007, 15:34
Can someone give me an update on how "hardman" Luke Nunn is going @ Redan this year. I heard a report that he held his own against Jordan a couple of weeks ago. If this is the case, he must of improved a helluva lot since last year when he was out at Lexton squeezing every last penny out of em!!
The eastern sides have been in full agreement with Sunbury about the umpires, its just it has cost you lot more than the rest, which makes you more vocal.
good to be back. been away overseas for a few weeks and glad to see nothing has changed. definitely agree with these guys. Umpires giving away a 50m penalty because of some drunk in the grand stand? thats is absolutely ridiculous. agree with KA and LFC the eastern sides have had the rough end of the sitck when it comes to umpiring decisions. it was also interesting to note that when BM played redan a few weeks ago and redan kicked their 1st goal for the day the central umpire clapped before signalling all clear... is there something to be read into that?
Seem to remember a few years back that there would be at least one umpire from down the eastern way officiating eastern games. Has this changed? Being closer to the ballarat area and the games i've seen, i'd have to agree with KA, LFC & Venom. Every game there seems to be one incident that stands out due to poor umpiring.
ozdevil1978
21 Jun 2007, 18:12
Yep and still a back pocket hack, at best.
hack hey
DOUGHNUTS
22 Jun 2007, 10:16
Can anyone give me an update on Gareth Hall and if he is getting a kick?
Why would you even bother wasting your breath on him, the way he is going he would be lucky to fit in the square..
Another ripper weekend of ballarat footy. Any predictions?
Left Footed Cat
22 Jun 2007, 13:39
Another ripper weekend of ballarat footy. Any predictions?
5 teams will lose, 5 teams will win, and Jordan to kick a bag.
Thats about as exiting as it gets.
5 teams will lose, 5 teams will win, and Jordan to kick a bag.
Thats about as exiting as it gets.
And Rod Ward to be Bendigos next CEO.
Hank Evans
22 Jun 2007, 16:52
After serving some time for an infraction, Hank's back guys.
Motorboatin' better than ever.
Hank Evans
22 Jun 2007, 17:08
This board has turned to sh*t lately, it is pretty much dead. Is that a reflection of the boring nature of the season ahead?
Vineyard
22 Jun 2007, 17:40
This board has turned to sh*t lately, it is pretty much dead. Is that a reflection of the boring nature of the season ahead?
Its only boring because Darley arent winning which is going to change this weekend. Surely they will beat Sebas.....
Melton South are turning into the real deal.
Just need to skip ahead 6 weeks and see the finals match ups.
pickman
22 Jun 2007, 19:04
Does anyone think Ballarat can beat Sunbury?
The Swans recent dip in form (losing to Melton, barely getting the better of Darley) has taken some of the gloss off what is one of the key games of the H&A season
schulzy
23 Jun 2007, 01:15
Does anyone think Ballarat can beat Sunbury?
will not get within 10 goals of the lions.
ozdevil1978
23 Jun 2007, 06:42
hi is chris sencerick getting a game at melton south?
19th Man
25 Jun 2007, 00:03
For Darley to just get home, was it : a poor performance or a good team effort by Sebas?
19th Man
25 Jun 2007, 00:04
Also, Ballarat performed well on the back of their recent slump. Didn't see the game, but had they kicked straight could the result have been different?
jesaulenkoYOUBEAUTY
25 Jun 2007, 18:47
anyone update me on how kyle george is going at east point? Slimy little germ getting a kick?
EastPoint12
25 Jun 2007, 22:46
anyone update me on how kyle george is going at east point? Slimy little germ getting a kick?
georgy is goin really well just starting to hit his straps and has been a very handy addition to the east point line this season probably one of the best blokes at the club
Old School Biff
26 Jun 2007, 13:36
It might be an ordinary call but it was pretty stupid for the supporters to give away a 50m penalty in the first place.
This is near on the most stupid rule ever. As someone said before, I might just turn up and hurl abuse at the umpire and pretend I'm from the opposition.
Whoever came up with this rule is an idiot and has played his part in the imminent death of country football.
Left Footed Cat
26 Jun 2007, 14:15
Don't worry I spoke to the BFUA's GM last week and the particular umpire who gave that free kick was spoken to.
The only thing to stop this rule is for everyone to stop complaining and whinging about the umpires. Afterall they are like the players they are out there to do their job.
People have got the right to complain and whinge. If they did their job, admit their mistakes, and stopped some borderline cheating we would all be happy.
Old School Biff
26 Jun 2007, 14:20
Don't worry I spoke to the BFUA's GM last week and the particular umpire who gave that free kick was spoken to.
The only thing to stop this rule is for everyone to stop complaining and whinging about the umpires. Afterall they are like the players they are out there to do their job.
I can understand the rule was created for junior footy because there is not much worse than a parent giving the umpire and opposition players lip service.
The abusive drunk was something that was once targeted by police. 10 years ago the cops were always seen at the local footy. Now they only seem to be at finals and the rivalry games such as Daylesford v Hepburn, Carngham-Linton v Natte-Bealiba and so on. I don't think it should be the umpires decision to punish the abusive supporter in an open age level of competition. The 18 out on the ground shouldn't have to pay for it though.
Don't forget also this year Melton South had a big incident with drunken idiots earlier in the year. Abuse in any form of footy isn't tolerated. As you have seen in the paper and possibly on the internet it costs your team a game without proper umpires. Sure you can have your club umpires who aren't as good as the ones from the umpires association but whenever there is a fight, you only have to watch the clubby get caught up in the fight and then you or other people start to complain about it.
The police are always at big games. If you go down to watch your afl team play, you will find police presence there as well. So it's not a big deal.
Maybe there shouldn't be alcohol sold at the grounds during the games of footy. It makes it more of a family atmosphere.
are you a complete loser? not only do you umpire, you also wish to further ruin a game of footy by denying the fans of alcohol . . . strap one on buddy
Old School Biff
26 Jun 2007, 15:30
are you a complete loser? not only do you umpire, you also wish to further ruin a game of footy by denying the fans of alcohol . . . strap one on buddy
The Ammos down in Melbourne are grog free. But they don't pay their players and most local clubs rely on selling booze as a big money spinner.
Hank Evans
26 Jun 2007, 15:39
The amount of abuse that we get is caused by people who have had too much to drink.
No I am not a loser. I am just telling you what happens when people drink way too much. They abuse everyone and they say things that they don't normally say.
Last year one of the goal umpires was actually spewed on by one of the Darley U/18's players. Apparently they were selling alcohol to the u/18's players and he deliberately aimed for the goal umpire. The player got into a lot of shit over it. As did the club.
That is better than him just spewing on the turf. What has the ground ever done to deserve being spewed on?
Old School Biff
26 Jun 2007, 15:46
The point is the guy shouldn't of been drinking alcohol as he was under the age of 18. He got into heaps of trouble both with the league and with Darley.
Sounds like a champ of a bloke.
Back on topic though. Plenty of people hit the cans and don't abuse the umps where there are a number of sober people who let you know when you're doing a crap job.
It isn't up to you guys to ban the drink anyway.