View Full Version : Ballarat Football League

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

MaNNiX
15 Jul 2007, 21:11
Maybe It was luck of the draw and he just got him in the sweet spot, either that or the east point player has just got a glass face!!!!! We will never no will we.. frustrated 2s player who kicked 70 goals last year, while kicking 12 against East point in the 1s. Nobody thought Luke had it in him, it just goes to show how soft east players can be!!!!! Leave your little internet insults at home with your mother next time!!!!!

how does getting smashed from behind make east point soft??

mooney
16 Jul 2007, 16:21
Just read on the Essendon thread that Sunbury have put in an application to join the Essendon league last friday. Can anyone confirm this?

Go Cohuna
16 Jul 2007, 22:14
How did Nook Mansell and Shaun Gilbert go at Sebastopol?? before they went to leitchville Gunbower where they are on a huge sum of money

FootyFat
17 Jul 2007, 08:38
Its time to bag the umpires again.
I was at the Darley, East game on the weekend and some of the decisions that were paid was a disgrace.Do the umpires honestly think we pay our $10 to go and watch them give freekicks just for the sake of it. It was both ways but as soon as there looked like being a free nice running passage of play, they would pull some stupid free kick out of there ass. It got that bad that a Darley bloke got done for throwing the ball back to the umpire to hard, as he was getting up off the bottom of a pack there just asking for trouble. Players are just getting more frustrated, why cant they just let the play go as long as the dicisions are fair both ways everyone will be happy.

the_other
17 Jul 2007, 09:36
I don't like to bag the umpires, but at the Melton v Redan game, there was very little understanding of the conditions by the umpires. When players have to think twice about trying to pick up a slippery ball for fear of getting pinged for holding the ball, the interpretation of the rule is not improving the game.

On the Sunbury matter; I hadn't heard anything about it, but reading the EDFL thread it looks more than speculation. I can see why it would happen, and it makes sense geographically, but it is a bit of a worry for the BFL. What do the other Eastern teams think of it?

tige19
17 Jul 2007, 10:16
Maybe It was luck of the draw and he just got him in the sweet spot, either that or the east point player has just got a glass face!!!!! We will never no will we.. frustrated 2s player who kicked 70 goals last year, while kicking 12 against East point in the 1s. Nobody thought Luke had it in him, it just goes to show how soft east players can be!!!!! Leave your little internet insults at home with your mother next time!!!!!

I am sure the big fella can look after him self ok, I assume that most Ballarat boys are pretty soft, that was always the case at under 18s and school footy anway...

FootyFat
17 Jul 2007, 11:54
Think about it mate. I know that you don't like that rule but would you like the ball thrown back at you too hard so that it hits you in the guts or gives you a broken nose?
It would be good if you learnt all the rules instead of complaining about them.

I did see Luke Guerra at the ground on Saturday. Nice guy he is and I hope that he gets back into the senior Darley side.
Fair enough if the guy who throws the ball back throws it back in anger and ment to do it. But when he was just getting off the bottom of a pack and threw it back with no intentions other than getting ready for the next contest then its bull shit. The abuse that umpires cop in country footy from crowds is all brought on them self just let the play go. I understand they cant be right everytime and that life, but the more they let the play go the and the less whistle happy they are the better for game and for umpires. As they will not under as pressure for making a wrong decision, if its once every now and then but at the moment it seems a shit decision is made 1 in every 3.

19th Man
17 Jul 2007, 11:55
Think about it mate. I know that you don't like that rule but would you like the ball thrown back at you too hard so that it hits you in the guts or gives you a broken nose?

I did see Luke Guerra at the ground on Saturday. Nice guy he is and I hope that he gets back into the senior Darley side.

I hope that he is injured, because if he is out of the side due to form, then you can consider his recriutment a failure. I watched him in round 1, very fast, hard at it, but tends to bomb the ball alot into a fairly small forward line.

19th Man
17 Jul 2007, 12:03
"FootyFat", I see in the results that Brad Miller was once again best for Darley. You seem to know abit about the club, surely another B n F is install for him this season? Is it a case of "big fish" in a little pond, or is the BFL about where he is at?

footyfan001
17 Jul 2007, 13:06
Ballarat may have found themselves another small forward in Jamie Fenech. Kicked 6 goals in the 2's in their big win over sebas.. Can obviously play a bit and will be called upon in the next few weeks if a few injuries pop up...

Blue Ball Fever
17 Jul 2007, 13:41

Whats with Guerra, you wanna sex him?
Umpire coping a broken nose would be good, would win Almost Footy Legends. People love to see umpires getting hurt or making fools of themselves. Its part of why we go to the footy. Nothing better than seeing a dork trying hard to fit it, and then being brought back to earth.

youhatehim
17 Jul 2007, 14:02
Fair enough if the guy who throws the ball back throws it back in anger and ment to do it. But when he was just getting off the bottom of a pack and threw it back with no intentions other than getting ready for the next contest then its bull shit. The abuse that umpires cop in country footy from crowds is all brought on them self just let the play go. I understand they cant be right everytime and that life, but the more they let the play go the and the less whistle happy they are the better for game and for umpires. As they will not under as pressure for making a wrong decision, if its once every now and then but at the moment it seems a shit decision is made 1 in every 3.

In the 2s game involving the same two teams, Both the coaches were having a crack at each other from the sidelines and the Central umpire called a free to East because he thought the Darley coach was abusing him. Thats twice this season that has happened. This umpire also umpired the ones game afterwards aswell.

As for Guerra yes he is injured. And Miller is in great form again his got his fitness back and playing well, he is a gun of the BFL not just darley mate.

Vineyard
17 Jul 2007, 14:54
Ballarat may have found themselves another small forward in Jamie Fenech. Kicked 6 goals in the 2's in their big win over sebas.. Can obviously play a bit and will be called upon in the next few weeks if a few injuries pop up...

any of the BFL netballers could kick 6 goals against sebas 2's. Keep pumping yourself up though buddy.

Vineyard
17 Jul 2007, 14:56
I hope that he is injured, because if he is out of the side due to form, then you can consider his recriutment a failure. I watched him in round 1, very fast, hard at it, but tends to bomb the ball alot into a fairly small forward line.

struggled with leg injuries all year. The devils havent seen the best of him so hopefully he stays around for next season. His pace and hardness are definitely assets.

mooney
18 Jul 2007, 09:03
Sunbury steps closer to move
http://ballarat.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif

THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."

Vineyard
18 Jul 2007, 11:15
we need some info from Kings Army......

If they are allowed to enter into A Grade they will go i reckon. As much as clubs hate them, they are very good for the league and improves the standard of the compeition.

Kings Army
18 Jul 2007, 14:13
we need some info from Kings Army......

If they are allowed to enter into A Grade they will go i reckon. As much as clubs hate them, they are very good for the league and improves the standard of the compeition.

B grade Vineyard. Very good chance this will be there last in the BFL. Not sure they will be as strong as this year as many would not want to play B grade footy. No doubt sunbury raised the bar in the BFL.

colbys_kid
18 Jul 2007, 14:42
B grade Vineyard. Very good chance this will be there last in the BFL. Not sure they will be as strong as this year as many would not want to play B grade footy. No doubt sunbury raised the bar in the BFL.

The money available will not change just the grade they play in. A smart player would do a year in b grade and command the big bucks once they move to A ;)

Vineyard
18 Jul 2007, 15:14

Why would good players drop back a level??? If they lose their good players then they may not win B Grade. Then they sit there for a few years ruing their decision. Seems like a backward step for such a strong club.

colbys_kid
18 Jul 2007, 15:37
Why would good players drop back a level??? If they lose their good players then they may not win B Grade. Then they sit there for a few years ruing their decision. Seems like a backward step for such a strong club.

I believe that the biggest concern to the powers that be is that BFL cannot draw a crowd. After seeing the crowds that RDFL now pull i think the crowd numbers may be more improtant than the standard of football. After all without the spectators the game will die.

Creeker35
18 Jul 2007, 17:16

Luke Allen sentence reduced to 9 weeks from 12 weeks on appeal to VCFL. Fairly expensive exercise for 3 games!

Kings Army
18 Jul 2007, 19:39

I think they would replace a lot of players that left and make sure they were extremely strong contenders to win it in there first year. I think they would lose players this year with Serge moving on. Alot of the team work for him or have extremely close loyalties to him. ie Griffo.

Not sure about a backward step. Once in A grade they would get greater sponsorship deals and gain a higher profile. Also the A grade standard is better.

Could be one more step on the way to the VFL!

19th Man
19 Jul 2007, 13:55
In the 2s game involving the same two teams, Both the coaches were having a crack at each other from the sidelines and the Central umpire called a free to East because he thought the Darley coach was abusing him. Thats twice this season that has happened. This umpire also umpired the ones game afterwards aswell.

As for Guerra yes he is injured. And Miller is in great form again his got his fitness back and playing well, he is a gun of the BFL not just darley mate.

That's exactly what I meant, is the BFL beneath him? Most of the good players in the league are mid-late 20's, some even 30. But, for most of their careers, they have played at a higher level. With Miller, having been rookie listed at 18/19, seemed to come back to Darley too early from my point of view. Still only early 20's, did he take the easy option of "Big fish in little pond", or was it injuries, work, family etc that forced his hand?

jets06
19 Jul 2007, 13:57
Can someone tell me whether Nick 'Turbo' Chalmers has played this year with Sunbury ??

Minersrest
19 Jul 2007, 13:59
any of the BFL netballers could kick 6 goals against sebas 2's. Keep pumping yourself up though buddy.

Though i do know a few netballers who could kick a bag against sebas two's i know none that could do it with such poise, composure, ballance and brillance. The fact is that Jamie is an out and out gun and only time stands between his senier debut. Watch out for the headlines and then get your ticket quickly, the ground will be packed.

Stop taking your self so seriously mate, all we read on this site is about Baccus marsh and darley blokes, none of which can cook up a stir fry like Jamie 'the mad man' Fenech can

Doctor Pink
19 Jul 2007, 17:52
Sunbury can f*ck off as far as most people are concerned

Blue Ball Fever
19 Jul 2007, 18:52
We don't want that mate. The league would soon go back to the rabble it was before Sunbury, Darley & the Meltons came in.
The league is stuggling at the moment for interest from the public, hence low crowds. It will only get worse if Sunbury leave, how boring would it be?

Blue Ball Fever
19 Jul 2007, 18:54
Though i do know a few netballers who could kick a bag against sebas two's i know none that could do it with such poise, composure, ballance and brillance. The fact is that Jamie is an out and out gun and only time stands between his senier debut. Watch out for the headlines and then get your ticket quickly, the ground will be packed.

Stop taking your self so seriously mate, all we read on this site is about Baccus marsh and darley blokes, none of which can cook up a stir fry like Jamie 'the mad man' Fenech can
Fenech is poo.

colbys_kid
20 Jul 2007, 10:27

Spoken like the true Richmond supporter that you are. Perfect solution !!! Get rid of all the competition so you can finally win a flag:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Kings Army
20 Jul 2007, 12:44
Can someone tell me whether Nick 'Turbo' Chalmers has played this year with Sunbury ??

No he retired at the end of last year.

Old School Biff
20 Jul 2007, 13:24
No he retired at the end of last year.

Just out of interest KA, what happens to the Netball side of things seeing the EDFL is footy only?

JOHN DENVER
20 Jul 2007, 17:20
can someone tell me what type of playerr ben hinton is i think he plays in this league

footyman
20 Jul 2007, 22:53
Luke Allen sentence reduced to 9 weeks from 12 weeks on appeal to VCFL. Fairly expensive exercise for 3 games!
Would reduce the suspension from missing the entire season to now being available for the finals wouldnt it?

interchange steward
21 Jul 2007, 00:52
benny hinton no longer plays in the bfl. he has moved to altona. hard nut. built like a brick s*?!house and loves it in the clinches. good foot skills.

ozdevil1978
22 Jul 2007, 10:01
Seriously mate, give it a rest. What is your obsession with him? This is the third or forth time that you have mentioned his name on here and he wasn't even worth mentioning the first time. Senserick is a back pocket battler at best. Put him on the third or forth best forward and he will do alright.

If you want to know when he plays up there, they have this thing called the Internet now where you can look up pretty much anything. Why don't you try logging on to the BFL website and checking out the draw and stop wasting everyones time talking about an insignificant hack?

why dont u shut up his is a mate and i like 2 keep up how his going all the time as 4 hack look at yaself stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kings Army
22 Jul 2007, 12:15
Just out of interest KA, what happens to the Netball side of things seeing the EDFL is footy only?

Do you really want me to answer this? Come on old school biff this is a footy forum - get on big.netabll.com for your fix.

sniper5
22 Jul 2007, 23:24
Saw the lakers Ve East Point game on the w.e.....East point can consider themselves very lucky...Lakers were a better team on the day....tim madden very solid and if it wasnt for D.J east would of sturggled

Old School Biff
22 Jul 2007, 23:53
Do you really want me to answer this? Come on old school biff this is a footy forum - get on big.netabll.com for your fix.

Thanks for the link :thumbsu: :D

Some family oriented clubs would find the move to a football only league a little concerning.

Creeker35
23 Jul 2007, 09:38
Would reduce the suspension from missing the entire season to now being available for the finals wouldnt it?

Will be back 2nd week of finals if their still in it.

Hank Evans
23 Jul 2007, 11:16
Will be back 2nd week of finals if their still in it.

You're doubting that?

Hank Evans
23 Jul 2007, 11:18
why dont u shut up his is a mate and i like 2 keep up how his going all the time as 4 hack look at yaself stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!

The irony of someone who writes such an incomprehensible sentance calling someone else stupid is hilarious.

Blue Ball Fever
23 Jul 2007, 11:34
Possibly the worst sentence ever.

Kimbo Slice
23 Jul 2007, 14:58
Sunbury steps closer to move
http://ballarat.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif

THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."

Sunbury should be straight in the A grade what is the EDFL thinking if they dont put them straight in there :thumbsd: The lions are a grade material and will blow b grade apart so there going to ruin the competition if they dont go into a grade. They might lose all there players if they dont get into a grade straight away which is where they should be seeing theyve been the number one team in the bfl for years.

My 2 cents

Kings Army
23 Jul 2007, 19:08
Like to hear from Vineyard on Millers suspension. 2nd time reported for striking he should be going to the tribunal and not have a 1 week set penalty. Sunbury's Whittle was denied the same treatment. How has Ward got so much pull to over rule this clear cut rule??

<>jenka<>
23 Jul 2007, 20:11
Possibly the worst sentence ever.
ha ha ha shocking wasnt it

dogtalk
24 Jul 2007, 07:52
:thumbsu:For something different to do on Saturday Night, Ballarats Badmiton Stadium is hosting a Fight Night on July 28th... Local Fighters include Michael Sacco (Ballan Footy Club) Tommy Dodgshun, Michael Smith, Billy Dow, Adam Bridges and Brandon Rocco up against Fighters from SA, Colleraine, Echuca, Melbourne
With Special guests... World Champ Johnny Famechon, Frank Ropis Welterweight Champ, Paul Ferreri former Commonwealth Champ and Tony Miller 4 x Australian Champ... 7pm Start
Support the local Boys and have a Good Night:)
Tickets available from any of the Local Guys above or JD's Sports Bar, Rebel Sports or at the Door on the Night:cool:

Vineyard
24 Jul 2007, 11:29
Like to hear from Vineyard on Millers suspension. 2nd time reported for striking he should be going to the tribunal and not have a 1 week set penalty. Sunbury's Whittle was denied the same treatment. How has Ward got so much pull to over rule this clear cut rule??

Miller got off at the tribunal last night!!! He did have to go up but a great defence by Randall Cape and a different tribunal chairman (listened to the facts for a change) obviously helped by all reports. Griffin gave a true account of what happened and the reporting umpire did his evidence over the phone which kept cutting out. not very professional.... End result - cleared to play against Redan.

Vineyard
24 Jul 2007, 14:53
Just on tribunals and stuff that happened a couple of weeks ago, there was a report made about two Darley guys who decided to abuse a female boundary umpire. She couldn't go on any more after 3 quarter time because two of the Darley players stood over her. Look guys I know you don't like it when things don't go your own way but look at the result of the tribunal. One of the guys already had a 2 week suspension hanging over his head and got another which made it 4 weeks. He also has to umpire in that time. It is the only way to learn what it feels like when the crowd gives you shit. The other guy got off with a reprimand. Don't go abusing umpires and that is a warning to everyone. You will suffer the same consequences as the Darley player (Kade Sexton).

Get your facts right buddy. Player one who kicked the ball out after a point was reported, (as was kade) who just flicked the ball on the 50m line just as it went out from the kick in. the young female umpire made her decision (On the full)and kade simply said it was "bullshit" and ran off to fill the hole. all of sudden he gets 2 weeks and has to umpire 4 games of footy. acknowledge that players should have the utmost respect and have to umpire if they get caught abusing them but you hear much worse than that in MENS footy every 5 min. It wast personal or degrading. How player one even got reported by the same umpire when he was 50m away was very strange and was why he was cleared.

PLAY ON.................

Kimbo Slice
24 Jul 2007, 16:28
Just on tribunals and stuff that happened a couple of weeks ago, there was a report made about two Darley guys who decided to abuse a female boundary umpire. She couldn't go on any more after 3 quarter time because two of the Darley players stood over her. Look guys I know you don't like it when things don't go your own way but look at the result of the tribunal. One of the guys already had a 2 week suspension hanging over his head and got another which made it 4 weeks. He also has to umpire in that time. It is the only way to learn what it feels like when the crowd gives you shit. The other guy got off with a reprimand. Don't go abusing umpires and that is a warning to everyone. You will suffer the same consequences as the Darley player (Kade Sexton).

what are you trying to do on this site :confused: Umpires are always going to cop it from the crowd and players your pissy little plea for understanding will not change my mind and it really just has to be something you guys accept when you sign up for it. Its not a job thats going to help you pull the chicks now is it. Have you ever got on an umpries back when the hawks are playing...

Kings Army
28 Jul 2007, 09:51
Miller got off at the tribunal last night!!! He did have to go up but a great defence by Randall Cape and a different tribunal chairman (listened to the facts for a change) obviously helped by all reports. Griffin gave a true account of what happened and the reporting umpire did his evidence over the phone which kept cutting out. not very professional.... End result - cleared to play against Redan.

You have to be kidding - he sniped Griffo when he was not looking and put a crack in his cheek bone. Weak was p!ss Miller. The thing with Griffo he would not squeal like some are starting to do.
Serge got the word out that Miller was an open target - he then got a mystery virus and did not come back after half time.

Kings Army
29 Jul 2007, 11:12
Good game between South and Sunbury yesterday - with South leading by 14 points at 3 quarter time this was a real contest until some of Sunbury prime movers got going. Kega, Lobb and Brown had huge last quarters to get Sunbury up by 44 points.

With Oakie now back playing his 1st game in the 2's things are looking very good.

pickman
29 Jul 2007, 13:57
Good game between South and Sunbury yesterday - with South leading by 14 points at 3 quarter time this was a real contest until some of Sunbury prime movers got going. Kega, Lobb and Brown had huge last quarters to get Sunbury up by 44 points.

With Oakie now back playing his 1st game in the 2's things are looking very good.

Sunbury blew them away in the last quarter, found a gear that the Panthers simply don't have. Even better when you consider they were a man down at the start of the quarter. The Lions showed why they are the best in the comp.

Next weeks game against Redan should by a pearler

JOHN DENVER
30 Jul 2007, 15:07
benny hinton no longer plays in the bfl. he has moved to altona. hard nut. built like a brick s*?!house and loves it in the clinches. good foot skills.
thanks for that confirmation IS because that is exactly what he has told us.

Kings Army
30 Jul 2007, 18:52
Sunbury blew them away in the last quarter, found a gear that the Panthers simply don't have. Even better when you consider they were a man down at the start of the quarter. The Lions showed why they are the best in the comp.

Next weeks game against Redan should by a pearler

Yeah A-train will be a loss but Oakie is a fair replacement.

Vineyard
30 Jul 2007, 19:31

Hate to say it Kings Army but having seen the top 3 sides over the last three weeks Redan are the best side in the comp.

Dont come with all the fanfare as east & sunbury do but they have the discipline that is required to win premierships.

billylid
31 Jul 2007, 09:45

for those who couldnt attend what do u mean A -train will be a loss injured \ susp \ or other

the_other
1 Aug 2007, 11:09
The Courier suggests that the BFL will be looking at Hepburn, Bunninyong and Ararat to fill Sunbury's positin if they leave. I would have though North City might be a chance as well, but looks like the depth of the league will suffer a bit.

Creeker35
1 Aug 2007, 12:17
The Courier suggests that the BFL will be looking at Hepburn, Bunninyong and Ararat to fill Sunbury's positin if they leave. I would have though North City might be a chance as well, but looks like the depth of the league will suffer a bit.

Maryborough would be a better option in my opinion, closer than Ararat and already in major league so depth wouldn't suffer too much.:cool:

Kings Army
1 Aug 2007, 12:59
for those who couldnt attend what do u mean A -train will be a loss injured \ susp \ or other

1 week suspension

Kings Army
1 Aug 2007, 13:00
Hate to say it Kings Army but having seen the top 3 sides over the last three weeks Redan are the best side in the comp.

Dont come with all the fanfare as east & sunbury do but they have the discipline that is required to win premierships.

We will get a better understanding if your correct this weekend.

Due to the terrible final 6 system Redan finishing 3rd is in a great spot. They get Melton or Sebas and then the double chance after that.

matt_nicholls
1 Aug 2007, 13:14
Here's a story I wrote for yesterday's Free Press you boys might be interested in.

Can the RDFL expand?

by Matt Nicholls

MEMO: To all football fans and clubs in the district.
Imagine this. A super country football league with two divisions involving teams from this area.
Take a minute to ponder rivalry matches of yesteryear such as Wallan versus Kilmore, Gisborne against Riddell or a more modern Sunbury Kangaroos v Sunbury Lions.
If you asked me whether it was possible at the start of this season, I probably would have said no.
Now, I’m not so sure.
It has been 10 years since the Riddell District Football League became a one-division competition, and there is serious thought being put towards recreating the super league it once was.
At this end of the geographical area, the local football supporters are licking their lips at the idea.
Similarly at the other end, towards Melton, Sunbury and Gisborne, the fans are desperate to resume old RDFL rivalries.
If you take various sides from the surrounding district - some current, some former, and some new – and put together a two division football league, it has the potential to become one of the strongest competitions in Victoria.
Powerhouse clubs such as Sunbury Lions, Gisborne, Melton South, Melton, Darley and Kyneton – all from superior competitions should be welcomed back with open arms.
Invite Wallan and Trentham back to the fore, get Bacchus Marsh aboard. That is already nine new clubs.
Take the current 10 sides and all of a sudden you have a lot of potential to build a powerful competition.
It is hard to believe that it was just over a decade ago when many of these “new” sides were actually competing in the RDFL.
The area that involves these 19 clubs includes some of the biggest growing populations in Victoria.
It means that there is a guarantee of junior footballers, therefore creating a strong flow on to the seniors.
SALARY CAP
Without a doubt there would be some clubs that would struggle with the two divisions.
Rockbank, Trentham, Macedon, Melton Central and Lancefield would most likely struggle to stay afloat with potentially stronger neighbouring rivals.
Clubs such as Gisborne, Sunbury Lions and Melton South would obviously be very hard to beat.
Financially able to pay for classier players, it would mean a salary cap system would have to be introduced across the board to prevent clubs from “buying premierships”.
Unlike the AFL’s system to limit a club’s spending, there is a way to prevent clubs from importing talent – therefore encouraging sides to promote their junior programs.
To borrow a system implemented by the Central Murray Football League, it is possible to implement a strategy to even up the competition.
The league could make each club fill their side with a points tally totalling 40.
Using this simple points ranking system, clubs must not exceed the cap, or they will lose their four points and be fined $500.
This is how each player could be ranked:

http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/4953/table1tx4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

This system is simply designed to promote the blooding of locally produced players and forcing clubs to focus time and money into their junior programs.
This will hopefully result in more of our locally produced youngsters playing in the TAC Cup and getting drafted to the AFL.
Obviously it still allows club’s to spend as much money as they like, but it doesn’t make it easy or viable for sides to “poach” players from neighbouring clubs in the competition.
There are some other points that need to be raised from this system though.
Playing coaches are rated on the league from which they are recruited.
An RDFL player wishing to return to a new RDFL club from another league is a 5 point player, less one point for each season spent in the other league after leaving the RDFL.
Clubs will initially rate their players and forward these to the league where each player’s rating will be verified before being circulated to all clubs.
Players returning to their original RDFL club after at least one season away return at their rating prior to departure.
There is no points cap in the Under 18s and reserves competition.If the RDFL became a two division competition, this is how the divisions may pan out.

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/7220/tableis5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

If this were to eventuate, the longest away trip for any club would be the Bacchus Marsh to Kilmore fixture, a journey that would take approximately 60 minutes.
If you look at other football leagues, particularly the Heathcote District Football League, there are a number of 80-100 minute trips for participating clubs.

LONG SHOT
The hardest challenge to get this idea off the ground is likely to be persuading clubs such as Sunbury Lions and Gisborne to join what is deemed to be a “weaker” competition. But it is possible.
There is also the issue of whether the current clubs would welcome back some sides into the RDFL.
Many clubs were annoyed when clubs such as Wallan and Gisborne left the competition when it was virtually on its knees and dying.
While this “super league” plan is a long shot, I recommend all clubs to consider the prospect.
Football etiquette prevents the RDFL from approaching clubs to join the competition, if clubs want to join they need to take the initiative and approach the RDFL.
Six years ago the Riddell District Football League was shot to pieces and many feared it would not survive.
Thanks to the excellent work of former general manager Neill Sharpe, the current RDFL board and many others, the league is now starting to thrive.
However, towns such as Romsey, Woodend and Kilmore are continually growing, and it’s not unforeseeable that they will soon outgrow the current competition.
Measures need to be put in place to protect the RDFL and ensure that it grows with the community amongst and surrounding it.

Old School Biff
1 Aug 2007, 13:20
Here's a story I wrote for yesterday's Free Press you boys might be interested in.

I hate that points system with a passion but it was a decent article and idea on the whole.

Blue Ball Fever
1 Aug 2007, 13:39
I hate that points system with a passion but it was a decent article and idea on the whole.
I'm sure the Marsh would like being considered in division 2! Should be in Div 1.
But this concept will never happen, so no use talking about it.

matt_nicholls
1 Aug 2007, 13:41
I'm sure the Marsh would like being considered in division 2! Should be in Div 1.
But this concept will never happen, so no use talking about it.

Marsh could be in Div 1, its only a concept. Don't be so sure either Blue Ball Fever, I have it on good authority that the two Meltons, Sunbury and Gisborne will be holding discussions with the RDFL in the next week or two.

Old School Biff
1 Aug 2007, 17:32
Marsh could be in Div 1, its only a concept. Don't be so sure either Blue Ball Fever, I have it on good authority that the two Meltons, Sunbury and Gisborne will be holding discussions with the RDFL in the next week or two.

So what happens to the Ballarat League? I forgot to ask before. It looks like they will lose nearly half their league.

There was talk a couple of years ago about making a Goldfields FL which meant all the Ballarat and Bendigo teams in 1 league. No Gisborne, Sunbury and etc. There would be a lot of travel but the rivalry should be pretty good between the 2 towns. Kyneton would go to the proposed Riddel League leaving only 2 small towns in Maryborough and Castlemaine in the Goldfields FL.

schulzy
1 Aug 2007, 21:29
Due to the terrible final 6 system Redan finishing 3rd is in a great spot. They get Melton or Sebas and then the double chance after that.

are you suggesting that sebas will make the finals???

Minersrest
2 Aug 2007, 11:21

Yer not going to happen. Redan must win one of the next two against East or Sunbury or they could slip to fourth with Ballarat a good chance to win the next three and then face sunury in the last round for the third sport. Home ground adavantage and sunbury looking to the next week its a good bet. Heard shane Fisher has announced he's just going to play two's. Do you recken he realised he's crap. I'd also like to announce that Jamie Fenech has decided to concentrate on the two's for the rest of the year. Still cooking well though

gault
2 Aug 2007, 12:51
So what happens to the Ballarat League? I forgot to ask before. It looks like they will lose nearly half their league.

There was talk a couple of years ago about making a Goldfields FL which meant all the Ballarat and Bendigo teams in 1 league. No Gisborne, Sunbury and etc. There would be a lot of travel but the rivalry should be pretty good between the 2 towns. Kyneton would go to the proposed Riddel League leaving only 2 small towns in Maryborough and Castlemaine in the Goldfields FL.

wouldn't the Ballarat league be better off joining with the central highlands league and having two divisions??? and then maybe north city could come into the league aswell...

Kings Army
3 Aug 2007, 09:35

Sorry I meant Lakers. If Melton lose this week they will not win another game this year with Ballarat, Sunbury and Redan to follow.

Creeker35
3 Aug 2007, 10:56
Sorry I meant Lakers. If Melton lose this week they will not win another game this year with Ballarat, Sunbury and Redan to follow.
After this week Melton play Ballarat, Sunbury & East Point(not Redan). Anyway KA you are right, if they don't win this week they won't win another game.:)

Old School Biff
3 Aug 2007, 11:32
wouldn't the Ballarat league be better off joining with the central highlands league and having two divisions??? and then maybe north city could come into the league aswell...

They probably would be better off but there would not be a team in the CHFL that would honestly want to have to come into Div 1 and compete with East, Redan and Ballarat.

The Ballarat - Bendigo league would be a prick for travelling but eliminates the teams closer to Melbourne. I think it would be a pretty good standard league and there is a fair rivalry between Ballarat and Bendigo. This was suggested when Daylesford was still in the comp though because it would have Daylesford Maryborough and Castlemaine geographically situated between the 2 cities.

Scoots
3 Aug 2007, 12:42

Massive game for both Lakers and Ballarat this week, must win for Lakers to stay in finals contention and Ballarat don't want to slip any further behind the top 3.

Lakers would consider themselves a massive chance to knock of the Swannies this week, although a few big inclusions for the Swans won't help. McGregors a very good player and back after a week out club suspension for disciplinary reasons after being the drunkest bloke in Ballarat Sunday week after the ball. Big Nunn will play a half at most and Sewell and Turley good solid players.

Lakers will test Ballarats depth down back trying to find 3 matchups for McMahon, Madden and Maxwell.

Midfield battle will win the game, think Ballarat might be a bit strong through there.

Roy Cazaly
3 Aug 2007, 19:51

Sunbury definitely considering it and i say its a good thing. We need to get out of BFL purely due to location. Preferably Essendon FL but if 1st divvy RDFL gets up again would be great. Reckon its a long shot though!

Kings Army
4 Aug 2007, 18:18
Good contest between Sunbury and Redan. Level at the half. 5 goals to nil in the 3rd put Sunbury in a great position. Kega with 4 of them. Redan hit back but it was all to late.

How many players were missing from Redan. With A-train, Henry, Cheep and Houlihan likely ins for the finals not so sure that Redan are the pick of the Ballarat League.

Roy Cazaly
4 Aug 2007, 23:56
Good contest between Sunbury and Redan. Level at the half. 5 goals to nil in the 3rd put Sunbury in a great position. Kega with 4 of them. Redan hit back but it was all to late.

How many players were missing from Redan. With A-train, Henry, Cheep and Houlihan likely ins for the finals not so sure that Redan are the pick of the Ballarat League.

Sunbury clearly stronger side when it counted. Harder at the ball and much better finishing the difference.

the_other
5 Aug 2007, 19:57
Sunbury clearly stronger side when it counted. Harder at the ball and much better finishing the difference.

Redan were playing without a bench after half way through the second quarter with Blomley, Edwards and Runge unable to play on. Clohesey was a late omission with the flu, Rumble will be back next week and Horbury and Micaleff will be back for the finals, with Snibson a possibility, so don't get too confident. Apart from the period in the third quarter when Sunbury kicked away, you could not say that there was much in it.

Redan won the clearances too, so I don't agree with your "harder at the ball" statement. I won't say what I really think about that though...

the_other
6 Aug 2007, 09:27
Redan were playing without a bench after half way through the second quarter with Blomley, Edwards and Runge unable to play on. Clohesey was a late omission with the flu, Rumble will be back next week and Horbury and Micaleff will be back for the finals, with Snibson a possibility, so don't get too confident. Apart from the period in the third quarter when Sunbury kicked away, you could not say that there was much in it.

Redan won the clearances too, so I don't agree with your "harder at the ball" statement. I won't say what I really think about that though...

Jake Bridges is another missing that will be a vital inclusion.

WilliamWallis
6 Aug 2007, 18:32
Just wondering if anyone can confirm the rumour about ballarat swans footballer Isaac Manly going out to coach creswick in CHFL next year. If true the swans backline will be weakened a great deal next year.

Kings Army
6 Aug 2007, 18:36
What a huge game between Redan and East Point this week. If Redan lose Ballarat could slide into 3rd. If they held onto that spot it would make Redan's job this year very hard.

the_other
6 Aug 2007, 22:17
Yeah, it is going to be an interesting match. If East Point do win, Ballarat will still have to beat Sunbury in the last round (assuming Redan beat Sebas and Melton South, and Ballarat beat Melton and Darley) which looks like a big game.

Minersrest
7 Aug 2007, 12:29
Just wondering if anyone can confirm the rumour about ballarat swans footballer Isaac Manly going out to coach creswick in CHFL next year. If true the swans backline will be weakened a great deal next year.

Have heard he is over the line for the creswick job. He's looking at building a stong support team with Cain Mainbridge being looked at as an assistant. Will probably install a similar motto to the one he's famous for coining at the swans. "Give the love, feel the love, be the love" emotional stuff

Creeker35
7 Aug 2007, 14:02
Have heard he is over the line for the creswick job. He's looking at building a stong support team with Cain Mainbridge being looked at as an assistant. Will probably install a similar motto to the one he's famous for coining at the swans. "Give the love, feel the love, be the love" emotional stuff
Massive loss for Ballarat!:rolleyes: Maybe father Shane will take on Prez role as well.......:p

Kings Army
7 Aug 2007, 19:11
Yeah, it is going to be an interesting match. If East Point do win, Ballarat will still have to beat Sunbury in the last round (assuming Redan beat Sebas and Melton South, and Ballarat beat Melton and Darley) which looks like a big game.

If I was running Sunbury I would play the 2's in the last game as Redan is a much bigger threat than Ballarat. Could Sunbury do a Carlton and tank??

Hank Evans
8 Aug 2007, 09:51
If I was running Sunbury I would play the 2's in the last game as Redan is a much bigger threat than Ballarat. Could Sunbury do a Carlton and tank??

That probably explains why no one takes your opinion seriously over there, you fat coward.

the_other
8 Aug 2007, 12:32

Wouldn't that leave them in danger of dropping top spot? I imagine that they would prefer to play East Point at home in the first week.

jimmymaher
8 Aug 2007, 13:11
hey does anyone know anything about tom cullum from the bloods.

apparently he is playing 2's but has got a couple of games in the ones as well.

is he any good as a footballer

matt_nicholls
8 Aug 2007, 14:36
Football restructure needed

by Matt Nicholls

THERE was an overwhelming response to my article published last week on the future of the Riddell District Football League.
I received phone calls from a number of people, mostly those currently involved with the RDFL at some level, but a number from outside the competition.
I spoke to the Ballarat Football League CEO, two people from clubs within the Central Murray Football League, and representatives from AFL Victoria and the VCFL.
The article has seemingly created widespread interest across football circles throughout the state.
On popular internet website www.bigfooty.com there has been a number of interesting comments about the concept.
For those who missed The Free Press last week, the article was an opinion piece on how the RDFL could expand its wings to become a two-division competition.
I spoke about clubs such as Wallan, Gisborne, Sunbury, Darley, Bacchus Marsh and Kyneton joining the competition to make it one of the most powerful in Victoria.
While much of the feedback I received was positive, there was a fair share of backlash too.
Ballarat Football League CEO Rod Ward told me last week that if my concept took off, it would significantly hurt his competition, as the idea involved five BFL clubs returning to their former home in the Riddell District.
Mr Ward’s comments were fair, but football is now a cut-throat industry where every league is out for itself.
Darley, Melton, Sunbury and Melton South are all original RDFL clubs and all have their juniors in the Riddell District competition.
If not for the RDFL’s dramatic fall from power 10 years ago, it is unlikely the Ballarat Football League would have these sides competing.
FLOW ON EFFECT
Across Victoria, there are dozens of football leagues that need to be restructured.
If you are to change the RDFL, it will have significant implications on neighbouring leagues such as the Bendigo and Ballarat competitions.
To fix those competitions you need to add from neighbouring leagues which creates a huge flow-on effect.
It is my opinion that the VCFL and AFL Victoria need to sit down with a big whiteboard, forget history for a minute, and fix a fast growing problem in football.
Almost every football competition in the state has geographical problems.
Some competitions are played in a close proximity, but there is a real difference in standard between the top and bottom sides in those leagues.
In around an hour, I sat down with a map and list of football leagues and ladders and came up with this possible league reformation, using clubs from the Riddell District, Bendigo, Ballarat, Central Highlands, Maryborough-Castlemaine, Heathcote District and Kyabram District football leagues.
There were 77 clubs in those seven competitions, and taking into account that Strathfieldsaye (near Bendigo) is likely to have a senior club up and running next year, this is how my restructured format worked out.

LEAGUE 1 – Riddell District Football League
Div 1: Gisborne, Kyneton, Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury Lions, Melton, Darley, Melton South, Riddell, and Woodend-Hesket.
Div 2: Kilmore, Wallan, Romsey, Lancefield, Sunbury Kangaroos, Diggers Rest, Macedon, Rockbank, Trentham, and Melton Central.

LEAGUE 2 – Bendigo Football League
Div 1: Golden Square, Sandhurst, South Bendigo, Kangaroo Flat, Eaglehawk, Harcourt, Elmore, Colbinabbin, Mount Pleasant, and Castlemaine.

LEAGUE 3 – Ballarat Football League
Div 1: Ballarat, East Point, Lake Wendouree, Redan, Sebastopol, Maryborough, North City, Daylesford, Hepburn, and Learmonth.

LEAGUE 4 – Heathcote District Football League
Div 1: Broadford, Heathcote, Avenel, North Bendigo, White Hills, Yea, Nagambie, Rushworth, Huntly, and Strathfieldsaye (new club to be formed next year).

LEAGUE 5 – Kyabram District Football League
Div 1: Ardmona, Girgarre, Lancaster, Merrigum, Murchison, Stanhope, Tallygaroopna, Undera, Violet Town.

LEAGUE 6 – Central Highlands Football League (merged with MCDFL)
Div 1: Waubra, Avoca, Ballan, Dunnstown, Bungaree, Buninyong, Campbell’s Creek, Carisbrook, Maryborough Rovers, and Talbot.
Div 2: Royal Park, Newstead, Dunolly, Gordon, Beaufort, Creswick, Clunes, Springbank, Newlyn, and Maldon.

Obviously VCFL and AFL Victoria experts would be better placed to make judgements on such radical changes to the above football leagues, but it certainly is something that should be considered.
No doubt the football sidelines will be swarming with discussion about this issue on Saturday as this topic continues to grow legs.

Kings Army
8 Aug 2007, 21:18
That probably explains why no one takes your opinion seriously over there, you fat coward.

Really Hanky? Why I was I invited to attend the match committee meeting last Thursday before the Redan game? You would have enjoyed that 5 goals to nil 3rd quarter. But once again you have shown what a big mouth you are. Now go back to using your mouth for the one thing it has a use for and that is cleaing windows - Lick Lick!

Johnny IRONMONGREL
9 Aug 2007, 05:44
Really Hanky? Why I was I invited to attend the match committee meeting last Thursday before the Redan game? You would have enjoyed that 5 goals to nil 3rd quarter. But once again you have shown what a big mouth you are. Now go back to using your mouth for the one thing it has a use for and that is cleaing windows - Lick Lick!

It is jerks like you that make Sunbury such a hated team! Match committee meeting huh? Sure they took a lot of notice of your inciteful advice! :rolleyes:

The only topics that you would have any credibility in would be anything relating to stuffing your fat face nerd!

footballtragic
9 Aug 2007, 15:21
Suppose you guys wont have to worry about Sunbury as of next year as have it on good authority SUnbury have lodged an official request to return the RDFL next year as of yesterday. The other ex RDFL teams to follow soon

Blue Ball Fever
9 Aug 2007, 18:15
Suppose you guys wont have to worry about Sunbury as of next year as have it on good authority SUnbury have lodged an official request to return the RDFL next year as of yesterday. The other ex RDFL teams to follow soon
Rubbish

Kings Army
9 Aug 2007, 19:24
It is jerks like you that make Sunbury such a hated team! Match committee meeting huh? Sure they took a lot of notice of your inciteful advice! :rolleyes:

The only topics that you would have any credibility in would be anything relating to stuffing your fat face nerd!

We loved being hated - ask the Collingwood supporters what they think of Brisbane. When your the envy of everyone else thats what you get!

What about this one then - move Kega to the forward line if it is close at half time - Redan have no match for him. Kega kicks 4 of the 5 goals - Redan don't kick one - GAME OVER. Your welcome Sergie Boy - see you finals time!

footballtragic
10 Aug 2007, 10:56
Rubbish
Any substance to that right off Blue Ball ? Like I said have it on very good authority that this has happened. Rob Ward already knows about it. As does AFL Victoria and Peter Schwab. Sunbury are just breaking the ice with the other teams to follow. Sunbury were looking at the EDFL but could not get support from Juniors so they have approached the RDFL as they and the other teams are not happy with the way they are being treated in the BFL.

matt_nicholls
10 Aug 2007, 11:15
Any substance to that right off Blue Ball ? Like I said have it on very good authority that this has happened. Rob Ward already knows about it. As does AFL Victoria and Peter Schwab. Sunbury are just breaking the ice with the other teams to follow. Sunbury were looking at the EDFL but could not get support from Juniors so they have approached the RDFL as they and the other teams are not happy with the way they are being treated in the BFL.

Spot on footballtragic. It is becoming more likely that a six-side competition comprising Sunbury, Darley, Melton South, Melton, Wallan and Gisborne could be up and running soon. In time that would grow to become a two-division RDFL.

Blue Ball Fever
10 Aug 2007, 13:49
Its Rod dude.

I hope it does happen, the BFL will then appreciate what has been lost. It can go back to the disgraceful competition it was before the East sides came in.

learmonth
10 Aug 2007, 17:29
Its Rod dude.

I hope it does happen, the BFL will then appreciate what has been lost. It can go back to the disgraceful competition it was before the East sides came in.

I would have said that 5-10 years ago, but arnt 3 of the top 4 from the Ballarat region to date.

Blue Ball Fever
10 Aug 2007, 18:14
I would have said that 5-10 years ago, but arnt 3 of the top 4 from the Ballarat region to date.
And what caused their improvement? The East sides set a precedent of what standard the BFL should be.
The Ballarat sides had to do something or they would have folded or merged. It only took them 5 or 6 years to catch up. Daylesford couldnt keep up, and East & Point merged.

big poppa
12 Aug 2007, 17:12
enough about that nonsence bout sunbury lets focus on the great shane fisher a true pioneer of the game hes got all the characteristics of the great fonzeralli hes slick cool under pressure and turns heads were ever this champion goes he just takes it all in his stride east wouldnt be half the side they are if it wasnt for this champion

Vineyard
13 Aug 2007, 18:45
Spot on footballtragic. It is becoming more likely that a six-side competition comprising Sunbury, Darley, Melton South, Melton, Wallan and Gisborne could be up and running soon. In time that would grow to become a two-division RDFL.

Why would those teams want to go back and play in a 3rd rate competition playing each side 3 times a year minimum. Would struggle to attract quality players to that competition. It would then diminish to teh league it was. Boring playing the same teams over and over. Wallan is further away than Ballarat, not up to standard (low in Div 2) and a poo ground.

The BFL is a very strong Div 1 country league and i would think it highly unlikely that sides would leave. Better standard of footy and thats what players play for. The BFL should be actively chasing Gisborne to join their league. Its only 1 hour from Gisborne to Ballarat which is closer than Bendigo?

Sunbury would be mad to go there instead of the Essendon if in fact they do move. Realistically you travel 5 times a year up the road. The EDFL is a good standard as well though.

Vineyard
13 Aug 2007, 18:50
And what caused their improvement? The East sides set a precedent of what standard the BFL should be.
The Ballarat sides had to do something or they would have folded or merged. It only took them 5 or 6 years to catch up. Daylesford couldnt keep up, and East & Point merged.

Totally agree and is why the league almost won the Country Title because the league has improved because of the standard it has reached. This standard has attracted former AFL/VFL players from North Ballarat & Melbourne to play in it instead of them going straight to the minor leagues.

The biggest concern for the BFL is the lack of crowds. Where have they gone???