View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
Kane Stewart
5 Feb 2008, 11:21
[Kane Stewart] darley is rad. from kane, b & f winner, and life member
Kane - is your cousin making a comeback as well? #8?
yeah travis should play.
also my little cousin drew will be playing also. he wears #4 and is a gun. he wears long sleaves cos he has heaps of tatts
from kane
go darley
Vineyard
6 Feb 2008, 06:47
yeah travis should play.
also my little cousin drew will be playing also. he wears #4 and is a gun. he wears long sleaves cos he has heaps of tatts
from kane
go darley
Enough of the rubbish Darley Boys.
Great to see Ryan Harris picked up by Sturt. Good for him personally and also his club. Also good exposure for the league and young players who realise they still get looked at every game they play.
Play on a of big grounds over there and not much contested footy so i think he will go well.
Hank Evans
6 Feb 2008, 07:30
Great to see Ryan Harris picked up by Sturt. Good for him personally and also his club. Also good exposure for the league and young players who realise they still get looked at every game they play.
Play on a of big grounds over there and not much contested footy so i think he will go well.
Probably one of the greatest backhanded compliments I have ever read.
lemons12345
6 Feb 2008, 10:10
I hope he has lost some weight from when I last saw him!
ryan knowles is fitter than ever, putting in the hard yards and will be a big impact player this year!
Minersrest
6 Feb 2008, 10:17
Good one mate, (contested footy). Your talking about a bloke who gets tagged each week by ********s from the eastern block clubs who with no tallent just get into him any chance they get, and yet he still kills them.
not to mention that he played his best game for the year against Redan when the city oval was a swamp and the only footy played was contested footy. You've probably seen the hanger he took that day on the news.
so pretty much why don't ya bugger off and go watch Sunbury or Darley embarrass themselves and leave the good blokes alone
Vineyard
7 Feb 2008, 07:11
Good one mate, (contested footy). Your talking about a bloke who gets tagged each week by ********s from the eastern block clubs who with no tallent just get into him any chance they get, and yet he still kills them.
not to mention that he played his best game for the year against Redan when the city oval was a swamp and the only footy played was contested footy. You've probably seen the hanger he took that day on the news.
so pretty much why don't ya bugger off and go watch Sunbury or Darley embarrass themselves and leave the good blokes alone
Wasnt having a go at him idiot. Just saying that it was great for him to get an opportunity at a higher level and with less contested footy his abilities over the ball will help immensely.
Little bit defensive in attitudes up in ballarat.
goromsey
7 Feb 2008, 07:28
Wasnt having a go at him idiot. Just saying that it was great for him to get an opportunity at a higher level and with less contested footy his abilities over the ball will help immensely.
Little bit, I'd say immensely defensive on many issues. Mainly because they know that the Eastern teams saved their struggling league from spiralling downwards in the 90's and forced a return to decent football. Without the likes of Melton, Sunbury etc. raising the bar, the BFL would be ranked lower than CHFL or even LPFL. (Although they's never admit it!)
Creeker35
7 Feb 2008, 11:19
I'm from up Ballarat way Vineyard and understood what you were saying. Calm down MinersRest and realise a compliment when given.:)
transferseason
8 Feb 2008, 10:10
yeah travis should play.
from kane
go darley
Theres a 'digger' thats been to east geelong training that is apparently from bacchus marsh. This the same bloke? solid type. Travis Edwards.
Think you'll find he's playing with them this year. How does he go??
Supporters of Sebastopol F C
We have been working very hard during the off season and have will suprise a few surprises up our sleaves for 08. Thats the beauty of living and coaching away from the town, we can go about our business very quietly. Stay tuned over the next few weeks to see what is in the pipe line.
Practice matchs are all finalised and will start March 15th.
any questions about membership and up coming training and games call the club. Cheers
Hey guys i play in the murray league and one of the clubs here "moama" have recruited a few boys from sunbury. namely cam mcabe, ross slieght, and luke allen. just wondering if i could get some info on them? positions? can they play etc?? cheers
not sure on possies but i know they can all play a bit going on result of past yrs, bnfs etc
haha
Supporters of Sebastopol F C
We have been working very hard during the off season and have will suprise a few surprises up our sleaves for 08. Thats the beauty of living and coaching away from the town, we can go about our business very quietly. Stay tuned over the next few weeks to see what is in the pipe line.
Practice matchs are all finalised and will start March 15th.
any questions about membership and up coming training and games call the club. Cheers
005forsure
9 Feb 2008, 20:37
Good players but no superstars, not the kind of players to turn a game.. but in a lower standard they might be a fair bit more distrucktive.. add 1 of those guys to ya list and not much will change, but all 3, could be a hand full..;)
005forsure
9 Feb 2008, 20:40
what teams have picked up who?
heard a bit from darley, what about the other sides, like sunbury, melton, south, east.
east have grabbed a few no massive names though
hutchies in for another big year
djs looking strong
walshy should push for a few more senior games this year
brad mcgowan and shane edwards from the lpfl & chfl respectively are in
colbys-dad
12 Feb 2008, 08:08
Hey guys i play in the murray league and one of the clubs here "moama" have recruited a few boys from sunbury. namely cam mcabe, ross slieght, and luke allen. just wondering if i could get some info on them? positions? can they play etc?? cheersLuke Allen will play full foward and should dominate.
Cam Mcabe is an elusive half foward
Ross Sleight can play anywhere and is very hard at it.
And there is one more Scott Lobb,goes good runs all day,just don't let anywhere near your footy trip funds!
NoRumoursAllFact
12 Feb 2008, 10:58
See Melton playing hard-ball with Edwards..
Think they could be cobbling together a figure close to darleys to convince him to stay??
Morning Herald
12 Feb 2008, 12:07
See Melton playing hard-ball with Edwards..
Think they could be cobbling together a figure close to darleys to convince him to stay??
The reason you will see him in the black and white next year aint all about money.
goromsey
12 Feb 2008, 14:04
The reason you will see him in the black and white next year aint all about money.
Got any reasons why then, MorningHerald? Anyone?? Been a long time at the club and a favourite too I'm told.
cockroach
12 Feb 2008, 15:02
Got any reasons why then, MorningHerald? Anyone?? Been a long time at the club and a favourite too I'm told.
its only money:thumbsd:
melton boy should stay :confused:
he will learn how good of a club Darley is in time ?
Vineyard
13 Feb 2008, 10:10
its only money:thumbsd:
melton boy should stay :confused:
he will learn how good of a club Darley is in time ?
Exactly right buddy. Darkey isnt a good club. Its a GREAT club.
Blueboy16
13 Feb 2008, 10:12
Anyone from Darley confirm they are in talks with Lucas McGhie (son of Bones McGhie ex Richmond VFL/AFL) from West Footscray?
kangas1999
13 Feb 2008, 13:28
I heard he works with the Diggers Rest coach and he was going to have a training run down there and see what he thinks..apparently he can only play every second week due to work commitments...
SammySuperstar
13 Feb 2008, 21:01
amen to that!
goromsey
14 Feb 2008, 07:59
amen to that!
fully supported by BFL history....(lol)
Blueboy16
14 Feb 2008, 08:40
I heard he works with the Diggers Rest coach and he was going to have a training run down there and see what he thinks..apparently he can only play every second week due to work commitments...
Diggers Rest would not be able to offer Chicky enough money to play with them. Plus if I have my way I will do everything in my power to stop him from playing at Diggers. Actually I'm getting on the phone to him rite now.
NotDoneYet
14 Feb 2008, 09:28
Diggers Rest would not be able to offer Chicky enough money to play with them. Plus if I have my way I will do everything in my power to stop him from playing at Diggers. Actually I'm getting on the phone to him rite now.
Hopefully he doesnt listen to u spence. U have no power as u say.lol
Get on the riddel league thread if you want to bag diggers
edfl2006
14 Feb 2008, 12:42
MARIBYRNONG PARK F.C. (A GRADE in the Essendon District FL)
are wanting a PRACTICE MATCH for Saturday April 12th.
There home ground is available or would contemplate travelling.
U/18's, Reserves and SENIORS.
Could you please private message if your club may be interested. :thumbsu:
Glen Quagmire
14 Feb 2008, 17:16
Was just wondering if anyone can tell me how Matt Dwyer from Redan goes? He has moved to Cairns and we are looking at him to perhaps fill a midfield role for us.
Morning Herald
14 Feb 2008, 17:56
Was just wondering if anyone can tell me how Matt Dwyer from Redan goes? He has moved to Cairns and we are looking at him to perhaps fill a midfield role for us.
Yeah mate he is a Gun if you have landed him at your club you should be pretty happy.
Vineyard
15 Feb 2008, 07:05
Stop pumping up your own tyres matty........
Would very easily slot into the cairns midfield. Cant believe you even had to ask. Do you know your footy?
Trent Saunders going back to Hepburn, huge loss for the Marsh.
They can't seem to keep their "big" recruits.
polly_lions
15 Feb 2008, 13:48
with all the player lost in the off season with sunbury be a forcefull side still, also any other news on players they might have picked up.......
Kings Army
15 Feb 2008, 18:13
with all the player lost in the off season with sunbury be a forcefull side still, also any other news on players they might have picked up.......
Tim Little is back at Sunbury - word is crisis meeting is to be called with pre-season turn out very poor. The loss of Power should not be under estimated. Maybe they should have offered him the 70k. Being a millionaire I still think he would have walked.
stanleyy
15 Feb 2008, 18:42
Tim Little is back at Sunbury - word is crisis meeting is to be called with pre-season turn out very poor. The loss of Power should not be under estimated. Maybe they should have offered him the 70k. Being a millionaire I still think he would have walked.
does that mean that you are no longer part of the furniture at sunbury ka?if you do hang around maybe you can be on Libba's payroll,maybe you could even get a game!!:thumbsu:
You just confirmed what we all hoped.
Sunbury is "GAWN" (this year at least). Libba won't last the year out, and it will be their first non finals appearance in the BFL.
Kings Army
15 Feb 2008, 19:49
does that mean that you are no longer part of the furniture at sunbury ka?if you do hang around maybe you can be on Libba's payroll,maybe you could even get a game!!:thumbsu:
Never was furniture - I follow Gisborne. Have an interest in Sunbury.
Kings Army
15 Feb 2008, 19:50
You just confirmed what we all hoped.
Sunbury is "GAWN" (this year at least). Libba won't last the year out, and it will be their first non finals appearance in the BFL.
Sunbury 2's would have played finals last year. The bottom 4 are terrible. Still should play finals but like Melton last year just making up the numbers.
polly_lions
16 Feb 2008, 13:58
i think it was under estimated how many people were just at the club because of serg, rumors still has it that he still wants to be part of the club and still help rebuild it.
polly_lions
16 Feb 2008, 14:01
Sunbury 2's would have played finals last year. The bottom 4 are terrible. Still should play finals but like Melton last year just making up the numbers.
Is sunubury just trying to blood some young kids throught the system or can they just get no players down to the club cause of lack of funds
Libba has just gone for the coin. He does not care about the club one bit. Has not even tried to recruit. Getting about 10 players to training.
"GAWN".
Banggoal1
16 Feb 2008, 18:44
Never was furniture - I follow Gisborne. Have an interest in Sunbury.
The RATS are always the first to leave a sinking ship !
GREENMAN
17 Feb 2008, 11:28
The RATS are always the first to leave a sinking ship !
No one could ever underestimate what Serge is and means to the Sunbury Football Club. He was a great coach and cared more about his players than any other coach I worked with, he coached for bugger all money, got players jobs, gave and taught alot to all players at the club. Love him or hate him, he and Grif along with Chooka are the heart and sole of the club, we all make mistakes, but I bet any club would love to have Serge coach them. Sunbury lack continuity, u cant sack all the coaches and bring in out of towners, they know no one, they cant recruit because the trick to recruiting is convincing mates to come along and play. The common rule is if you appoint a new senior coach, then u maintain the core of the support staff, especially if the other coaches take teams to finals,nothing more scary than players walking into the club and not knowing any of the coaches or staff,or any of the coaches knowing any of the players, like the first day of school. Sunbury will survive, numbers will improve, just a long year ahead, wont hurt them, all clubs need to experiance pain to really appreciate gain.
Banggoal1
17 Feb 2008, 14:02
No one could ever underestimate what Serge is and means to the Sunbury Football Club. He was a great coach and cared more about his players than any other coach I worked with, he coached for bugger all money, got players jobs, gave and taught alot to all players at the club. Love him or hate him, he and Grif along with Chooka are the heart and sole of the club, we all make mistakes, but I bet any club would love to have Serge coach them. Sunbury lack continuity, u cant sack all the coaches and bring in out of towners, they know no one, they cant recruit because the trick to recruiting is convincing mates to come along and play. The common rule is if you appoint a new senior coach, then u maintain the core of the support staff, especially if the other coaches take teams to finals,nothing more scary than players walking into the club and not knowing any of the coaches or staff,or any of the coaches knowing any of the players, like the first day of school. Sunbury will survive, numbers will improve, just a long year ahead, wont hurt them, all clubs need to experiance pain to really appreciate gain.
Who said anything about Serge ?
My comment was directed at the Fair weather supporters that hang around a club like Groupies & arrogantly spruik through the good times, then throw their hands up & say " not my club " when times get a bit tough !
And then try & excuse their actions by diverting attention onto something else under another one of their many guises........ = Coward !
Youthpower
17 Feb 2008, 21:19
Serge retired, he was always going to retire at the end of last year.
When someone who has been with any club for a long time retires, of course there is rebuilding.
Libba does care about having a good team, just watch the season before commenting, especially all the people commenting who no nothing about the club and what is going on this year. Sunbury will be competitive, but if you don't think they will be that's fine, all the other clubs will have a greater chance.
cockroach
18 Feb 2008, 08:10
Serge retired, he was always going to retire at the end of last year.
When someone who has been with any club for a long time retires, of course there is rebuilding.
Libba does care about having a good team, just watch the season before commenting, especially all the people commenting who no nothing about the club and what is going on this year. Sunbury will be competitive, but if you don't think they will be that's fine, all the other clubs will have a greater chance.
sunbury will be fine strong kids coming through :thumbsu:
libba has a good head on his shoulders thats if the Bulldogs cheer squad dosent get hold of him and knock it off ??
re building maybe south can send Shanks over and help the progress
or is the Littlewoods job now isnt he coaching the twos at sunbury
ex South pres & Bfl board member that may give them a helping hand
goromsey
19 Feb 2008, 10:43
Did pretty good pushing the eventual premiers to 3 goals in the qualifying final for a "side making up numbers"!
Kings Army
19 Feb 2008, 11:24
Did pretty good pushing the eventual premiers to 3 goals in the qualifying final for a "side making up numbers"!
I was saying the Sunbury two's would have played finals in the senior comp last year as the bottom 4 sides were terrible. Never thought they were making up the numbers in the 07 finasl series.
Kings Army
19 Feb 2008, 11:30
Who said anything about Serge ?
My comment was directed at the Fair weather supporters that hang around a club like Groupies & arrogantly spruik through the good times, then throw their hands up & say " not my club " when times get a bit tough !
And then try & excuse their actions by diverting attention onto something else under another one of their many guises........ = Coward !
Typical know it all newbie - maybe do some research and look at most posts - I always said I am a Gisborne supporter. Serge is a good friend so I would get to Sunbury games that did not clash with the Gisborne games. Also helped out Serge a couple of times to get some electrical work completed at my house. So if that makes me a fair weather supporter I could not really give a fat rats clackers a$$hole.
Minersrest
19 Feb 2008, 11:40
If Darley is such a great club why don't they build a proper bloddy changing rome for opposition teams. disgrace
Kings Army
19 Feb 2008, 11:44
[quote=Banggoal1;10111069]Who said anything about Serge ?
Speaking of groupies - click on Banggoal1's 9 posts. 7 of then are in reply to something I have posted. If you looking for a anything more than friendship from me you need to look else where. Not that there is anything wrong with that. Sure you name should not be changed to Bangboys1?
Vineyard
19 Feb 2008, 11:50
If Darley is such a great club why don't they build a proper bloddy changing rome for opposition teams. disgrace
They are buddy and should be finished for the first home game of the season barring any more council hold ups. Basically stage 2 will include new away rooms and netball change rooms for the ladies attached to the existing social club.
Only a 10 step walk for clubs to come in for a beer after the game - even east point and melton south.
Hope that keeps you happy. Surely the old pigeon shed is better than wendouree, sunbury & melton souths away facilities. Might be falling down but has some size.
Creeker35
19 Feb 2008, 15:14
:thumbsu:They are buddy and should be finished for the first home game of the season barring any more council hold ups. Basically stage 2 will include new away rooms and netball change rooms for the ladies attached to the existing social club.
Only a 10 step walk for clubs to come in for a beer after the game - even east point and melton south.
Hope that keeps you happy. Surely the old pigeon shed is better than wendouree, sunbury & melton souths away facilities. Might be falling down but has some size.
Vineyard, I think you will find that with a new coach & president eastpoint will be in for a drink this year for sure.
Think emotions were running a little high last season after a few on field incidents and mistake made by not attending after match regardless.:thumbsu:
SammySuperstar
19 Feb 2008, 16:12
darleys away rooms are awesome you can acctualy move in them unlike most of the bfl away rooms, at wendouree i showered and watched a game out the window.
Banggoal1
19 Feb 2008, 16:59
Typical know it all newbie - maybe do some research and look at most posts - I always said I am a Gisborne supporter. Serge is a good friend so I would get to Sunbury games that did not clash with the Gisborne games. Also helped out Serge a couple of times to get some electrical work completed at my house. So if that makes me a fair weather supporter I could not really give a fat rats clackers a$$hole.
[quote=Banggoal1;10111069]Who said anything about Serge ?
Speaking of groupies - click on Banggoal1's 9 posts. 7 of then are in reply to something I have posted. If you looking for a anything more than friendship from me you need to look else where. Not that there is anything wrong with that. Sure you name should not be changed to Bangboys1?
Groupie, Coward......... and a Name Dropper !
Hey you ever do anything without having a " Get Out " mate ?
the_other
20 Feb 2008, 08:17
There are a few articles in the Courier today about movements in the BFL. Unfortunately it doesn't look like any of them are online though. There wasn't anything very dramatic, mostly just talking about player movements.
MarascoTheChump
20 Feb 2008, 09:38
Talking about after match, what are the better clubs Vineyard for sharing a beer with an opposition team? I watched a mate play east and there was only a handful of east reserves players having a beer and no senior players?
Kings Army
20 Feb 2008, 11:24
[quote=Kings Army;10127108]
Groupie, Coward......... and a Name Dropper !
Hey you ever do anything without having a " Get Out " mate ?
Make that 8 out 10! Bangboys you need to find some way to get off the hook.
youhatehim
20 Feb 2008, 14:53
On the Transfer List it has the Ryan brothers moving to the Marsh. What do they stand to gain from this? An extra $50 a game and not a win for the year? And 1 of em at best is a 2s player for any other side in the BFL. Don't think its a big gain for the Carpet Pythons
whats everyones thoughts on Libba? is he going to be alot of money spent for no real gain? i would have thought sunbury would have the ability to attract some AFL experience guns but seems as though the big name coach is struggling to do that. would still expect the lions to be in the top 2 come seasons end though.
cockroach
21 Feb 2008, 07:20
On the Transfer List it has the Ryan brothers moving to the Marsh. What do they stand to gain from this? An extra $50 a game and not a win for the year? And 1 of em at best is a 2s player for any other side in the BFL. Don't think its a big gain for the Carpet Pythons
young Glenny has got a bit to far ahead of him self ?
Bendigo Bombers to the Marsh
what the hell is he thinking
at Melton you need to earn your stripes under 18 champs dont always cut it:D toughen up do the hard yards
Vineyard
21 Feb 2008, 07:26
Talking about after match, what are the better clubs Vineyard for sharing a beer with an opposition team? I watched a mate play east and there was only a handful of east reserves players having a beer and no senior players?
I reckon the best places to have a beer are Redan (anything alcoholic after getting pumped helps), melton and bacchus marsh (winning beers).
Getting into the wendouree social clubs is also good as it is the only modern facility at the ground.
What are your thoughts???
MarascoTheChump
21 Feb 2008, 09:05
I reckon the best places to have a beer are Redan (anything alcoholic after getting pumped helps), melton and bacchus marsh (winning beers).
Getting into the wendouree social clubs is also good as it is the only modern facility at the ground.
What are your thoughts???
Overall i'd have to say Darley, feel like your going to get killed whilst playing/watching but as soon as final siren goes it becomes a friendly and social atmosphere and a always a interesting trip back to melbourne!
Kane Stewart
21 Feb 2008, 10:37
Overall i'd have to say Darley, feel like your going to get killed whilst playing/watching but as soon as final siren goes it becomes a friendly and social atmosphere and a always a interesting trip back to melbourne!
i agree
everyone is welcome in the rooms after the game, even during the game
from
blues12
21 Feb 2008, 12:16
whats everyones thoughts on Libba? is he going to be alot of money spent for no real gain? i would have thought sunbury would have the ability to attract some AFL experience guns but seems as though the big name coach is struggling to do that. would still expect the lions to be in the top 2 come seasons end though.
I believe he has been told to blood the local young talent. But, if numbers continue the way they are, he may need to make a few phone calls.
Sayitaintso
21 Feb 2008, 12:47
agree cockroach. training at bendigo why not willi or werribee.Then why not go back to melton if its not working out?
Banggoal1
21 Feb 2008, 19:00
[quote=Banggoal1;10129734]
Make that 8 out 10! Bangboys you need to find some way to get off the hook.
"YOU" are a Pathetic Disgrace !
Vineyard
22 Feb 2008, 07:22
agree cockroach. training at bendigo why not willi or werribee.Then why not go back to melton if its not working out?
because he probably got cut very early on up at bendigo and realised he wouldnt make it at willi or werribee.
Under Siege
22 Feb 2008, 08:04
Anyone know who's playing who in practice matches and when?
Premiership
22 Feb 2008, 08:48
Good luck to all teams in 2008, especially North City in their first year. Hopefully the Ballarat wars can simmer down and the whole BFL will be more competitive than last year and in years to come.
Lib still believes that Sunbury will be good enough to challenge, whilst they have lost a few players, quite a few, they have some pretty impressive recruits also. The big one for Sunbury from the BFL I have seen in recent times is McCabe, with 1 AFL and two VFL clubs looking at him in the last 18 months as a potential rookie listed player, he and Ryan Harris were probably the two best young players in the competition, hard for both Sunbury and Ballarat to replace.
Fred Basset
22 Feb 2008, 09:25
Good luck to all teams in 2008, especially North City in their first year. Hopefully the Ballarat wars can simmer down and the whole BFL will be more competitive than last year and in years to come.
Lib still believes that Sunbury will be good enough to challenge, whilst they have lost a few players, quite a few, they have some pretty impressive recruits also. The big one for Sunbury from the BFL I have seen in recent times is McCabe, with 1 AFL and two VFL clubs looking at him in the last 18 months as a potential rookie listed player, he and Ryan Harris were probably the two best young players in the competition, hard for both Sunbury and Ballarat to replace.
That would have to be Andy Mcabe wouldnt it ?
Itsmyshow
22 Feb 2008, 09:51
That would have to be Andy Mcabe wouldnt it ?
Would think it would be Cam...
sharp shooter
22 Feb 2008, 12:54
Was just wondering who is the coach of lakers this season
cleanhands
22 Feb 2008, 13:08
Gee would have thought Little would be a more than handy pick up,Ballarat, GV and Vic country Rep this type of play would be welcome in any country vic team
Fat Mexican
22 Feb 2008, 16:17
i agree
from
Must have changed a bit from when they were in the CHFL in the 80's. Win, lose or draw you would get smashed on the ground, potentially smashed in the bar and potentially smashed on the way to the car and this didn't matter if you were playing for or against Darley. However to their credit you were always welcome.
Kings Army
23 Feb 2008, 06:31
[quote=Kings Army;10135035]
"YOU" are a Pathetic Disgrace !
Hey pillow biter - 9 out of 11 = carp
suprisingly at east v sunbury games of the last few years theres always been a few sunbury boys hang around for a beer (even after pretty sprited matchs) so good on em for that. East are extending the club rooms along with the whole eastern oval revamp should be a bit better after the games. everybody get around after games and have a look should be good
Banggoal1
23 Feb 2008, 16:22
[quote=Banggoal1;10146085]
Hey pillow biter - 9 out of 11 = carp
Thats 4 outa 6 for you now " Kings Groupie " you braindead simpleton !
Hand Grenade
23 Feb 2008, 18:00
G'day BFL thread, a young bloke has moved into our area (Mulwala/Yarrawonga) and indicated that he played bit of seniors, bit of 2nds in your comp. His name is Chris O'Neill. New P.E. Teacher at the High School here. Can he play? Is he worth recruiting?
Vineyard
25 Feb 2008, 10:04
Which club won the the cricket challenge yesterday.
Cricket is a sport for fat old men or geeks who are not good enough to play footy.
MarascoTheChump
25 Feb 2008, 11:22
Will libba coach sunbury in 08???
SammySuperstar
25 Feb 2008, 20:28
melton
http://www.bfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=36750&orgID=3&Oname=Ballarat+FL&O1c=7&O10c=10
Hank Evans
26 Feb 2008, 12:10
Wow, they raised $300! :rolleyes:
stanleyy
26 Feb 2008, 12:51
R.I.P Barney,a true character of the darley football club.always worth hanging around & having a few pots at the Devils playground after a hard slog win or lose.always good with a yarn & to see you celebrate Sunburys 2004 flag anyone would have thought that you were a life member.Cheers mate, thanks for the memories:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbs u::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Well said,
RIP Barn
Minersrest
27 Feb 2008, 09:43
G'day BFL thread, a young bloke has moved into our area (Mulwala/Yarrawonga) and indicated that he played bit of seniors, bit of 2nds in your comp. His name is Chris O'Neill. New P.E. Teacher at the High School here. Can he play? Is he worth recruiting?
Has a dodgy hip mate, might not get on the park this year, didn't train much last year because of it. Is a solid player, played mostly two's but always been one of the better players in the seconds. depending on what league. if its for Mulwala he'd probaly play in the midfield and be a good contributer but struggle to get a spot for Yarrwonga, good clubman though, worth having at your club. couldn't speak more highly of the bloke. Related to spider man
From the Sunshine F.C & wondering whether anyone is after a Practice match on the 29th of March. PM me to organise details.
Well said,
RIP Barn
One of the best. Still have memories of him demolishing a slab and a half between Sunbury and Mildura and then looking for a real drink when we arrived.
Sad loss to the footy community who remember him at his best.
RIP Barn
Fox66
Sayitaintso
27 Feb 2008, 20:02
i agree
from
See on the geelong thread that a digger edwards from Darley is playing at East Geelong. How old is he? how does he go? why would he move over there? wasnt he captain last year?
transferseason
28 Feb 2008, 08:12
See on the geelong thread that a digger edwards from Darley is playing at East Geelong. How old is he? how does he go? why would he move over there? wasnt he captain last year?
Supposedly the club has secured him work.. I'm told he had a year off last year but i could be wrong. Some of the many darley posters on here could shed more light about him
Definetely had last year off, had a few niggles, would be 31 probably. Will be a gun in GDFL if fit.
Vineyard
28 Feb 2008, 12:41
East geelong told him they would get him a high paying job but have only got him an interview so he doesnt really owe them anything. Heart is at Darley but if they secure him the job he will feel obliged.
Former captain of Darley and would dominate the GDFL. Around 30 and would be still very very handy in a devils jumper. Would really top off the players the club has already picked up as he didnt play at all last year.
Barney was a great man and will be sorely missed in the outer!!!
Kane Stewart
29 Feb 2008, 10:18
Digger is my cousin, he is good player
RIP Barney, will be missed by all at darley and those who met him in the bfl & rdfl
from kane
NoHandballs
29 Feb 2008, 15:58
Originally posted by Vineyard: East geelong told him they would get him a high paying job but have only got him an interview so he doesnt really owe them anything. Heart is at Darley but if they secure him the job he will feel obliged.
Wouldn't it be the contacts after the interview process that gets somebody a job, and therefor owe something back to the club? I would have thought a lifetime job opportunity would outweigh weekly match payments (especially when they are a local player, which are sometimes under-paid at their home clubs).
Sayitaintso
29 Feb 2008, 16:52
Wouldn't it be the contacts after the interview process that gets somebody a job, and therefor owe something back to the club? I would have thought a lifetime job opportunity would outweigh weekly match payments (especially when they are a local player, which are sometimes under-paid at their home clubs).
Have been told its because his best mate plays at east?Also was runner last year but walked out after a verbal with a few young blokes?
Some interesting Transfers to note:
Sebas: Tim Beacham, the big man is back... But is he fit? Will only play a handful of games cos will be injured throughout the season but will be great around the club!
Lakers: Matthew Madden leaving his beloved lakers! Looks like Matt has had enough with a struggling team!
North Ballarat: - A few big guns leaving.... Eddy Den Ouden who is one of the best under 21 players getting around. Jake Young, ex North City vice captain. And another North City vice captain Ben Beaston who pioneered the North City come back, and was one of the top performers! whats the story here? i would have thought he would have stayed seeing they are back in the Ballarat FL?????????????????????????
Any other interesting transfers recently?
suprisingly at east v sunbury games of the last few years theres always been a few sunbury boys hang around for a beer (even after pretty sprited matchs) so good on em for that. East are extending the club rooms along with the whole eastern oval revamp should be a bit better after the games. everybody get around after games and have a look should be good
Eastern oval is the premier BFL game/post game venue, look forward to seeing the revamp! Is the grandstand getting a makeover??? I am sure the local homeless guys that spend there nights up there would love that. :thumbsu:
Has a dodgy hip mate, might not get on the park this year, didn't train much last year because of it. Is a solid player, played mostly two's but always been one of the better players in the seconds. depending on what league. if its for Mulwala he'd probaly play in the midfield and be a good contributer but struggle to get a spot for Yarrwonga, good clubman though, worth having at your club. couldn't speak more highly of the bloke. Related to spider man
I Second that, was at a few Ballarat 2's games last year enjoying a beer and saw the young fella plodding around, not the fittest bloke due to hip problems, but will give 110% on the field!