View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
The Octagon
3 Mar 2008, 18:50
Some interesting Transfers to note:
Sebas: Tim Beacham, the big man is back... But is he fit? Will only play a handful of games cos will be injured throughout the season but will be great around the club!
Lakers: Matthew Madden leaving his beloved lakers! Looks like Matt has had enough with a struggling team!
North Ballarat: - A few big guns leaving.... Eddy Den Ouden who is one of the best under 21 players getting around. Jake Young, ex North City vice captain. And another North City vice captain Ben Beaston who pioneered the North City come back, and was one of the top performers! whats the story here? i would have thought he would have stayed seeing they are back in the Ballarat FL?????????????????????????
Any other interesting transfers recently?
Eddie has reportedly gone to Buninyong.
Jake Young hasnt played with the club since 2006 im led to believe, went to QLD last year and came back, but played just the one game.
Ben Beaston has relocated to Sydney due to work committments. Sorely missed.
cockroach
4 Mar 2008, 06:58
Have been told its because his best mate plays at east?Also was runner last year but walked out after a verbal with a few young blokes?
most likley leaving because he is the only normal guy apart from Capey left playing at Darley another one from Powers legacy ? seeing the light:eek:
Vineyard
4 Mar 2008, 07:16
LAKERS spearhead Brad Maxwell will be given a roving commission this season, according to his new coach.
First year Lake Wendouree coach Matthew Battistello yesterday described the 2005 Tony Lockett medalist as "flying fit at the moment" and said Maxwell would be moved up the ground at times to take advantage of his new-found mobility.
Maxwell endured a frustrating 2007, missing most of the season with an ankle injury. Despite playing just seven games, he still managed to finish third on the Lakers' goal-kicking table with 28 majors.
Battistello said Maxwell's talents weren't limited to scoring goals and he could be used to feed Lake Wendouree's younger key forwards.
"He'll play a different role this season," Battistello said. "Brad's fitness level is up with the midfielders, so he could play up the ground a lot more.
"We've got Tim Madden in a key forward role, along with Paul McMahon, so there are options."
Battistello said there was renewed enthusiasm at the club, which has endured its own fair share of woes in recent seasons.
He said numbers at training were high and fitness testing showed there had been significant improvement over the summer.
"The testing is showing some very good results compared with pre-Christmas," he said. "Fitness has improved dramatically since then."
"Most people I've spoken to at the club say it's an exciting place to be. The club has been down for a couple of years but the people at the club have worked hard to turn that around and put a lot of new things in place. "There's a breath of fresh air about the place."
Isn't McMahon playing at North Roosters VFL?
Maxwell must have got 7 in the beep test.
Under Siege
4 Mar 2008, 08:13
It seems to me there hasn't been much recruiting by teams this year????
Darley have picked up a couple off good players in - Newman, Cheevers and Tuddy.
Melton - Porter is back.
Marsh - ????
Sunbury - Tim Little is back, but have lost 10 - 15 quality players.
South - Grenfell
Not sure what is happening in Ballarat, if Redan haven't lost too many they will still be the team to beat with Ballarat and East. Are the eastern teams relying on there kids improving to close the gap????
Anyone know off others players being recruited or where the improvement will come from for teams like Melton and South who were around the mark last year?
most likley leaving because he is the only normal guy apart from Capey left playing at Darley another one from Powers legacy ? seeing the light:eek:
Darley are OK mate. You just worry about Melton and the high rate of teenage pregnancies.
Eastern oval is the premier BFL game/post game venue, look forward to seeing the revamp! Is the grandstand getting a makeover??? I am sure the local homeless guys that spend there nights up there would love that. :thumbsu:
grand stand will be reopening in 3 weeks i think the insides getting repainted starting today. work on the bar still hasnt started so might have to wait till next yr
cobber-not a fan
4 Mar 2008, 17:02
[quote=Under Siege;10236495]It seems to me there hasn't been much recruiting by teams this year????
Darley have picked up a couple off good players in - Newman, Cheevers and Tuddy.
Melton - Porter is back. + Ruckman,on baller, 2 forwards not sure of names
Marsh - 2 Ryan boys from Melton.
Sunbury - Tim Little is back, but have lost 10 - 15 quality players.
South - Grenfell,+ a couple of handy pick up's not sure of names
Morning Herald
4 Mar 2008, 17:32
I like that one THE POWER LEGACY what a joke.Digger was at the club well and truly before power came,and there is no legacy with power he was lucky to coach as long as he did.
look for a couple more names to be added to the darley recruits in the next 2 weeks will be big improves this year.
Isn't McMahon playing at North Roosters VFL?
I think it's Redan's Paul McMahon who's on the Rooster's VFL list
merrigan
5 Mar 2008, 08:40
I think it's Redan's Paul McMahon who's on the Rooster's VFL list
Paul McMahon from Lakers has done the pre-season at North and played in the senior practice match against Frankston on the weekend. Probably a fair indication he will be offered a spot on the list.
thorpedo
5 Mar 2008, 10:13
Searching for a practice match 15th March. Hoppers Crossing Football Club
Late notice but a practice game has been cancelled against us due to ground restrictions.
Thanks
ITCHYGROIN
5 Mar 2008, 15:57
Is the Lakers coach Matthew Battistello? the one that played for Skipton 3 years ago?. If its the same weed that played out there well then good luck Lakers because use are in for a horrid season if hes in charge:)
Paul McMahon from Lakers has done the pre-season at North and played in the senior practice match against Frankston on the weekend. Probably a fair indication he will be offered a spot on the list.
Thanks for the info :thumbsu:
Kings Army
5 Mar 2008, 18:04
I like that one THE POWER LEGACY what a joke.Digger was at the club well and truly before power came,and there is no legacy with power he was lucky to coach as long as he did.
look for a couple more names to be added to the darley recruits in the next 2 weeks will be big improves this year.
You are either a nuffy or having a joke. Power took Darley to the finals each year he coached there. You went from 3rd under Power to 3rd last under Learmonth. So what result this year for GL for him to be lucky to be able to coach there again in 09?? 5 wins to improve on the solid 4 you won last year?
past panther
5 Mar 2008, 21:35
Maybe Hoppers Crossing should spend some money on their shit tip ground instead of trying to buy a premiership, using players who dont play for the jumper and go into hiding when the going gets tough!
Why dont you try Rockbank, better ground than Hoppers!
Minersrest
6 Mar 2008, 10:29
Is the Lakers coach Matthew Battistello? the one that played for Skipton 3 years ago?. If its the same weed that played out there well then good luck Lakers because use are in for a horrid season if hes in charge:)
Matthew Battistello did play for skipton years ago, played in that crap league as favour to mate who'd played with him at terang the previous season.
Played three years at Ballarat, was assitant coach, a match winner and an incredable asset to the club in terms of recruitment and ensuring the culture changed. People often get stuck into him as you just have which is ridiculous. I'Ve heard people from other clubs who reckon he's no good but he gets tagged every week.
Kicked five in a half to beat the reigning and future premiers last year
Do i need to go on?
Lakers are lucky to have him and the players so far are rapt
Michael Tuck
6 Mar 2008, 11:34
Just heard a rumour the Mark Langdon is making a return to football. WHich club is he playing at? Looking quite fit!
thorpedo
6 Mar 2008, 11:51
Maybe Hoppers Crossing should spend some money on their shit tip ground instead of trying to buy a premiership, using players who dont play for the jumper and go into hiding when the going gets tough!
Why dont you try Rockbank, better ground than Hoppers!
just like an ex ff from you guys whos raped your club also
WeHateTheDrummer
6 Mar 2008, 13:46
Matthew Battistello did play for skipton years ago, played in that crap league as favour to mate who'd played with him at terang the previous season.
Played three years at Ballarat, was assitant coach, a match winner and an incredable asset to the club in terms of recruitment and ensuring the culture changed. People often get stuck into him as you just have which is ridiculous. I'Ve heard people from other clubs who reckon he's no good but he gets tagged every week.
Kicked five in a half to beat the reigning and future premiers last year
Do i need to go on?
Lakers are lucky to have him and the players so far are rapt
WOW. He must be awesome.
ITCHYGROIN
6 Mar 2008, 14:24
I agree wehatethedrummer what a Superstar he must be. Wish i was playing with the Lakers under such a leader. In fact minersrest has changed me completly, now i think Lakers will win the flag easy, with such a match winner as Battistello at the helm the skys the limit. Keep up the awsome work Battistello:thumbsu::thumbsu:
lakers for flag 2008:D:D
kicktheballlong
6 Mar 2008, 14:32
Have heard that a number of Redan players have moved to Cairns to play. Can anyone tell me about, Luke Nunn, Matt Dwyer & Nick Preston.
Sayitaintso
6 Mar 2008, 15:03
[quote=Minersrest;10254514]Matthew Battistello did play for skipton years ago, played in that crap league as favour to mate who'd played with him at terang the previous season.
Agree. Thought him and Baker were very good players when Ballarat were struggling, before Northy came.
WeHateTheDrummer
6 Mar 2008, 15:15
Have heard that a number of Redan players have moved to Cairns to play. Can anyone tell me about, Luke Nunn, Matt Dwyer & Nick Preston.
Dwyer is a Freak. BOG in last years GF, kicks goals would be #1 rover for any club up there. Nunn, big unit and would be your #1 full back. 2 handy pick ups for the league. Preston? No idea who he is, he wasn't at Redan.
Creeker35
6 Mar 2008, 15:31
Dwyer is a Freak. BOG in last years GF, kicks goals would be #1 rover for any club up there. Nunn, big unit and would be your #1 full back. 2 handy pick ups for the league. Preston? No idea who he is, he wasn't at Redan.
A fit Nick Preston would be better than any of them. CHF, 6' 3", 27yo, ex Rebels, Golden Point & Newlyn.Very good big men are hard to get.:thumbsu:
merrigan
6 Mar 2008, 20:19
Never heard of Nick Preston??? Obviously new to town or just out of nappies. Ex North Ballarat, Golden Point and Newlyn. He is a superstar and nobody will stop him in Cairns. Will also send bar sales through the roof.
WeHateTheDrummer
7 Mar 2008, 14:39
Never heard of Nick Preston??? Obviously new to town or just out of nappies. Ex North Ballarat, Golden Point and Newlyn. He is a superstar and nobody will stop him in Cairns. Will also send bar sales through the roof.
Yeah, sorry still have no idea but 2 earlier posts suggest he can play. Who did he play for last year?
merrigan
7 Mar 2008, 15:13
Yeah, sorry still have no idea but 2 earlier posts suggest he can play. Who did he play for last year?
Went overseas in 04 and I'm not sure where he's been since then or if he's even been back in oz.
While we are on the topic of Lakers, does anyone know the story with G Webb? Will he stay? Captain or not???????
Morning Herald
9 Mar 2008, 06:38
Just a quick congratulations to the people in charge at Darley on there sponsorship of the $1m Darley Australian cup run at Flemington over the weekend.Things looking up at devil land
Time will only tell you f bag
bearsboy
12 Mar 2008, 11:10
Whats the go at Sunbury ?
They pulled the pin on the annual praccy with Gisborne this weekend.
ORACLE 69
12 Mar 2008, 16:11
Get on Ballarat! We are signing some gun recruits and can't wait for season proper. (P E S T) or Pres Paul tell us about your recruits! We Manley boffers are interested to know what North City will be like.
NotDoneYet
12 Mar 2008, 16:14
Whats the go at Sunbury ?
They pulled the pin on the annual praccy with Gisborne this weekend.
Lack of numbers you would assume.. Heard they are really struggling for players.. Getting about 25 to training for all 3 teams
Their getting alot more then 25 players, seeing as though the under 18s have 35 players on their list they are getting 25 or so between the seniors and reserves
So most of their u18's will be playing 1's?
Sebastopol vs Drysdale
15th march @ Springbank
U/18s 10.15
Reserves 12.15
Seniors 2pm
Premiership
14 Mar 2008, 12:52
Easy Puff.......I know Lib and must admit very surprised by the public comments of issues we all know in footy circles occurs. He is as honest as they come as I am sure the Sunbury boys are finding out. I guess with not long till the season starting Tone would be best spent preparing his side for that than worrying about going public on issues like that or his the bulldogs stuff.
Morning Herald
14 Mar 2008, 15:07
Easy Puff.......I know Lib and must admit very surprised by the public comments of issues we all know in footy circles occurs. He is as honest as they come as I am sure the Sunbury boys are finding out. I guess with not long till the season starting Tone would be best spent preparing his side for that than worrying about going public on issues like that or his the bulldogs stuff.
Well it looks like Sunbury have got themselves a bitter little man for a coach. He couldn't cut in the AFL system so he is trying to bring it down. Just goes to show he was a germ on the field and nothing has changed, maybe he should worry about the state he is in with all the players leaving Sunbury. 80k down the drain.
Is Libba the Mod here? Seems your not aloud to bag him as they will just remove it.
merrigan
15 Mar 2008, 11:27
Well it looks like Sunbury have got themselves a bitter little man for a coach. He couldn't cut in the AFL system so he is trying to bring it down. Just goes to show he was a germ on the field and nothing has changed, maybe he should worry about the state he is in with all the players leaving Sunbury. 80k down the drain.
What's the big deal? He was asked a question and answered it honestly. Anybody who thinks Carlton weren't trying to lose last year is a moron. Why do you think they got rid of Pagan and put Ratten in for the last 6 weeks, so Kernahan and his mates had a puppet whose strings they could pull any way they wanted. They are the best cheats in the business and this is just another way .
TigerTank
16 Mar 2008, 15:57
What's the big deal? He was asked a question and answered it honestly. Anybody who thinks Carlton weren't trying to lose last year is a moron. Why do you think they got rid of Pagan and put Ratten in for the last 6 weeks, so Kernahan and his mates had a puppet whose strings they could pull any way they wanted. They are the best cheats in the business and this is just another way .
Agreed. What's Libba got to gain UNLESS he is telling the truth? And when it comes to questionable ethics, Carlton has form.
Kings Army
17 Mar 2008, 12:44
Good to hear Matt Power getting an assitant coaching role at Werribee. Underated by the Darley supporters but did a great job there. It may take another couple of poor seasons for them to realise that.
19th Man
17 Mar 2008, 15:13
How did the Sebas V Drysdale match pan out Rust?
Vineyard
18 Mar 2008, 08:21
How did the Sebas V Drysdale match pan out Rust?
Impressive Sebastopol starts season in style
http://www.ballarat.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif
SEBASTOPOL kicked off its 2008 campaign in winning style with a three-goal, practice-match victory against Bellerine Football League club Drysdale at Springbank on Saturday.
The Burras impressed in their first run under new coach Mark Russell, comfortably beating the Drysdale Hawks 15.5 (95) to 11.7 (73).
The Bellerine Football League is the second strongest league in Geelong behind the Geelong Football League itself. Drysdale Hawks finished on top of the ladder after the home-and-away season last year.
Russell said the Kookaburras' new training regime played a big part in the solid start.
"It was a really hot day and yet our guys ran and ran. It was inspiring. If they keep that up all year I'll be very happy," Russell said yesterday.
"The work that (fitness trainer) Sam MacAteer has done to get these guys into shape has been terrific.
"It is just a practice match so you can't get carried away, but it was promising."
Sebastopol's pre-season campaign steps up a gear when the Burras take on Geelong Football League club Leopold in a fortnight followed by a match against St Albans.
Russell said, practice match or not, the Kookaburras would be hoping to continue their winning ways.
"They may just be practice matches but for a team that only won a few games last season, getting a few wins early builds confidence and momentum."
Michael McIntosh played mainly in the ruck against the Hawks, allowing Kurt Breuchert to line up at centre half-back.
Matt Rea kicked eight goals for the Burra, while new recruit Simon Rau from Geelong Football League club South Barwon performed strongly in the middle.
Meanwhile, Darley's three big-name recruits shone in the club's first inter-club practice match against East Geelong on Saturday.
Former East Fremantle player Robbie Cheevers, key forward Adrian Newman and ex-Melton player Jarrod Edwards were among Darley's best, coach Gary Learmonth said, as the Devils won the six-quarter hit-out comfortably against the Geelong & District
league club.
Learmonth admitted he did not take much notice of the result but was encouraged by the performance of the club's new recruits.
"It was more about the way we went about it than the scores. Having said that, we were playing a district side so if we were beaten we would have been disappointed," he said.
"Cheevers, Newman and Edwards all played and were standouts for us. Cheevers played in the middle, Edwards onball and forward, with Newman at full forward.
"I've seen Robbie Cheevers play before so I knew what to expect there, but Jarrod Edwards is going to make a big difference. "
Both teams rotated senior players with under-18.5 and reserves players onto the field over the course of the six quarters.
"What was pleasing was everything we've been training finally putting it into practice," Learmonth said.
Another recruit, Kristian Leivers from Melton, also showed a lot of promise.
The Devils will play a night practice match against Spotswood on Thursday at Darley Park.
south_paw26
20 Mar 2008, 17:47
Darley are OK mate. You just worry about Melton and the high rate of teenage pregnancies.
Darley will go altight they got they "dougie" shaw back fit and firing.. lol
Wanganeen93
21 Mar 2008, 11:33
hey guys, just wondering if you guys could help me here.
I play my footy in the geelong footy league, and my mate plays up for the old peninsula boys in melb. we are both at uni in Brat and we're looking for a club to train at, and possibly play for the following year. If you or your club can possibly help us out, that would be great.
thanks.
Hank Evans
23 Mar 2008, 09:01
I play my footy in the geelong footy league, and my mate plays up for the old peninsula boys in melb. we are both at uni in Brat and we're looking for a club to train at, and possibly play for the following year. If you or your club can possibly help us out, that would be great.
thanks.
That depends on whether you are any good or not. The last thing that any club in Ballarat needs is another uni geek running around in the two's that brings nothing to the table except for more uni geek mates and their annoying fat feminist girlfriends to social functions.
But yeah, good luck with that.
Darley's new Centre Half Back ... be afraid.
http://www.hotflick.net/flicks/1986_Top_Gun/Thumb/986TGN_Val_Kilmer_006.jpg
Hank Evans
23 Mar 2008, 14:30
Bacchus Marsh's new waterboy
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s22/Jak_Dizzle/avatar1182_2.gif
big poppa
24 Mar 2008, 12:14
That depends on whether you are any good or not. The last thing that any club in Ballarat needs is another uni geek running around in the two's that brings nothing to the table except for more uni geek mates and their annoying fat feminist girlfriends to social functions.
But yeah, good luck with that.
i agree hank nothing worse than a fat feminist pig from ballarat id rather get with a single teenage mother with a drug habit from melton thats just my opinion
Wanganeen93
24 Mar 2008, 12:23
i agree hank nothing worse than a fat feminist pig from ballarat id rather get with a single teenage mother with a drug habit from melton thats just my opinion
nah well, neither of us are fat.
Both have played TAC cup before. and one is a midfielder, the other is a key position backman. so we can both play.
Bacchus Marsh's new waterboy
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s22/Jak_Dizzle/avatar1182_2.gif
Looks kinda crazy.
But not as crazy as Jamie Blunt. He is scary.
Blues1995
24 Mar 2008, 14:01
thanks.
Mate here are the options available to you.
East Point @ Eastern Oval, reasonable Facilities, ground best in town, lights okay just.
Redan @ City Oval, okay facility, good lights, ground not too good though.
Sebastopol @ Marty Bush, Should have ground ready for rd1, okay lights, reasonable facility, close to uni.
Ballarat @ Alfredton, okay lights, not best of grounds though, good social rooms but changerooms are ordinary.
Lake Wendouree @ Wendouree, Ground very ordinary, change rooms very ordinary, good lights, good social rooms.
Nth City - Wouldnt bother unless you would like to make the VFL List as they are 3rd in line for facilities up there.
If i was you i would pick either East Point, Redan or Sebas as i know they accept players from uni who train there, all of them seem to have reasonable training venues that are okay.
Wanganeen93
24 Mar 2008, 14:31
East Point @ Eastern Oval, reasonable Facilities, ground best in town, lights okay just.
Sebastopol @ Marty Bush, Should have ground ready for rd1, okay lights, reasonable facility, close to uni.
Ballarat @ Alfredton, okay lights, not best of grounds though, good social rooms but changerooms are ordinary.
Lake Wendouree @ Wendouree, Ground very ordinary, change rooms very ordinary, good lights, good social rooms.
Nth City - Wouldnt bother unless you would like to make the VFL List as they are 3rd in line for facilities up there.
If i was you i would pick either East Point, Redan or Sebas as i know they accept players from uni who train there, all of them seem to have reasonable training venues that are okay.
thanks a lot mate. much appreciated.
WeHateTheDrummer
25 Mar 2008, 10:00
thanks.
Train at buninyong, close to Uni, ground is in excellent condition, that would be one of your better options.
The Octagon
25 Mar 2008, 16:39
Haha this bloke has no idea.
Oh and by the way, we have a few uni students training with us, and they are good blokes who add something to training.
Barry McKenzie
25 Mar 2008, 17:16
Darley will go altight they got they "dougie" shaw back fit and firing.. lol
Isn't this bloke dead?
wrflrandom
26 Mar 2008, 10:36
Any word on how south are travelling and who have they picked up?
Oldschool86
26 Mar 2008, 11:36
Any word on how south are travelling and who have they picked up?
South have pretty much same team going into 08
They have picked up cross town rival Dane Grenfell from Melton
Korgy returns to the club after a year down the surf coast, but will prob play twos
Michael Thomas has a clearance in from Mazenod FC in the VAFA which is still in progress.
To check any transfers go to
http://www.bfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
light beer
26 Mar 2008, 16:57
Isn't this bloke dead?
he probably should be dead hes fresh out of rehab looking a million dollars hes got the new girl by his side and is loving life if takes his footy serious could push for senior selection
Minersrest
26 Mar 2008, 16:58
thanks.
Hey mate, ignore these spastics that write absolute nonsense usually about disgraceful footy teams from Darly, Melton, Sunbury and Baccus Marsh.
If you want to train then i reccomend my beloved Ballarat Swans, We train up at Alfredton, there a huge number of Uni guys already playing and a few that are doing the same as you guys and are just training and playing back home. You wont meet a better bunch of blokes and our coach is arguably the best in country Victoria. Our ground is on the up and we welcome anyone who wants to come along. We are a team on the up and there is genuine excitment around the place. We will be training Tuesday and Thursday as of next week if ya want to come along.
Redan are a pretty good bunch of blokes also, but get on board the swans
Barry McKenzie
26 Mar 2008, 17:17
he probably should be dead hes fresh out of rehab looking a million dollars hes got the new girl by his side and is loving life if takes his footy serious could push for senior selection
No that is a joke. A leopard can never change his spots remember and if he is still at Darley then I really do have to laugh. And I have seen the women he is capable of having by his side, haha! Like your sense of humour LB!
WeHateTheDrummer
27 Mar 2008, 10:19
Hey mate, ignore these spastics that write absolute nonsense usually about disgraceful footy teams from Darly, Melton, Sunbury and Baccus Marsh.
If you want to train then i reccomend my beloved Ballarat Swans, We train up at Alfredton, there a huge number of Uni guys already playing and a few that are doing the same as you guys and are just training and playing back home. You wont meet a better bunch of blokes and our coach is arguably the best in country Victoria. Our ground is on the up and we welcome anyone who wants to come along. We are a team on the up and there is genuine excitment around the place. We will be training Tuesday and Thursday as of next week if ya want to come along.
Until he has results under his belt in BFL then maybe i could agree, Power & Murrihy definately above him last year. No mistake about that.
ORACLE 69
27 Mar 2008, 12:03
You d**khead we hate the drummer. Have a look at his record. AFL grand finals, winfield or interleague champions, numerous flags and finals elsewhere. Don't see Murrihy or Power with that sort of record. He got us to a prelim final with a young side. We will continue to reap the rewards of recruiting and junior development with Swooper at the helm. Look out for the swans this year. Go Swanees
wrflrandom
27 Mar 2008, 12:17
Hello can anyone give me some feedback on a guy "Moody" aparantly a big unit from darley but has now moved on!
Can he play and is he a regular senior player.
You forgot to mention boring. Redan are a little less boring seeing as though they have had success over the past few years, but only slightly.
Hello can anyone give me some feedback on a guy "Moody" aparantly a big unit from darley but has now moved on!
Can he play and is he a regular senior player.
Injury has hampered him over the past few years, will dominate the Western Region toiletry.
WeHateTheDrummer
27 Mar 2008, 14:44
You d**khead we hate the drummer. Have a look at his record. AFL grand finals, winfield or interleague champions, numerous flags and finals elsewhere. Don't see Murrihy or Power with that sort of record. He got us to a prelim final with a young side. We will continue to reap the rewards of recruiting and junior development with Swooper at the helm. Look out for the swans this year. Go Swanees
I agree he is a good coach, he did take redan to premierships in the early 70's... 30 YEARS AGO! Just ease up on the early crowing and prove us wrong by actually doing something come finals time. That's were i was heading with that comment.
WeHateTheDrummer
27 Mar 2008, 14:50
You forgot to mention boring. Redan are a little less boring seeing as though they have had success over the past few years, but only slightly.
Agree, we are way to boring!!!??? Any suggestions on what we can do to spark things up abit?
Maybe.... Have the drummer lead us out to the beat of Eye of the tiger?
More than happy to hear suggetsions!
ORACLE 69
27 Mar 2008, 15:27
The drummer with no brains is about the only support redan has!
Agree, we are way to boring!!!??? Any suggestions on what we can do to spark things up abit?
Maybe.... Have the drummer lead us out to the beat of Eye of the tiger?
More than happy to hear suggetsions!
Get rid of the red heads, way too many over the years. Not only are blood nuts boring but very unsightly. Not a good combination with the worst guernseys ever seen in country football.
light beer
27 Mar 2008, 20:22
Get rid of the red heads, way too many over the years. Not only are blood nuts boring but very unsightly. Not a good combination with the worst guernseys ever seen in country football.
redan = UGLY
goromsey
28 Mar 2008, 09:00
Darley's new Centre Half Back ... be afraid.
http://www.hotflick.net/flicks/1986_Top_Gun/Thumb/986TGN_Val_Kilmer_006.jpg
Judging by the ball, I think you mean Goal Defense! Let's hope he can use an oval ball or he will just add to the laughing stock Darley are becoming with their ridiculous spending splurge to buy a premiership. Although I don't suppose they have got one any other way latley.:D
the_other
28 Mar 2008, 09:28
redan = UGLY
Redan = successful I think you mean
WeHateTheDrummer
28 Mar 2008, 10:27
Redan = successful I think you mean
Agree with you aswell but light beer is correct with the ugly call!!!
Judging by the ball, I think you mean Goal Defense! Let's hope he can use an oval ball or he will just add to the laughing stock Darley are becoming with their ridiculous spending splurge to buy a premiership. Although I don't suppose they have got one any other way latley.:D
Darley have sought Cheevers, Edwards and Newman this year, plus Hastings from last year who has stayed. Thats four players on money mate, the rest are locals. What are you on about??
WeHateTheDrummer
28 Mar 2008, 16:41
Darley have sought Cheevers, Edwards and Newman this year, plus Hastings from last year who has stayed. Thats four players on money mate, the rest are locals. What are you on about??
I wouldn't stress about it Chumpy, every club spends money on players and thats just common knowledge. What amounts they spend i suppose is there own choice. Looking forward to seeing cheevers play, he is a absolute gun.
smoothas
28 Mar 2008, 17:44
You guys are kidding yourself with talk about a young list.
Redan and Sunbury had young lists but were better prepared come finals time.
Ballarat have the same game plan week in week out, and come finals will never win a major one . unless that chip, spread and run game ( Fremantle) gets the arse.
Ballarat come finals were humiliated.
Macca29
29 Mar 2008, 01:08
After the 20 odd players that have been cleared, who will Sunbury miss the most out of the following?
Sahlberg
Gosling
Houlihan
A Train
smoothas
29 Mar 2008, 11:59
After the 20 odd players that have been cleared, who will Sunbury miss the most out of the following?
Sahlberg
Gosling
Houlihan
A Train
Are you kidding Houlihan by a mile.
Did you see Salberg play on grandfinal? Disgrace:thumbsd:
TigerTank
29 Mar 2008, 15:51
Are you kidding Houlihan by a mile.
Hardly played. Aaron Thomas for mine.
But Jamie Lobb more than any of them.
WDCAcricketer
30 Mar 2008, 09:25
Friend of mine on the verge of signing with Bacchus Marsh. Ex Werribee Centrals and Western Jets player. Will play full forward. Been out of football for a year but should do well, strong mark and good kick.
pickman
30 Mar 2008, 15:55
Friend of mine on the verge of signing with Bacchus Marsh. Ex Werribee Centrals and Western Jets player. Will play full forward. Been out of football for a year but should do well, strong mark and good kick.
I'm sure the Cobras would e hoping he does well, they haven't had a decent forward for 3-4 years!
ExtendTheDukes
30 Mar 2008, 21:41
John Antonello? He's already put in a clearance to go to the Marsh.
Vineyard
31 Mar 2008, 08:19
New recruits flood in for Lake Wendouree
THE trickle of new recruits has just become a flood at Lake Wendouree.
Hampden interleague ruckman Daniel Weymouth from the Warrnambool Blues headlines five potential first-grade players snared by the Lakers just weeks out from the start of the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League season.
Weymouth will be joined by North Warrnambool midfielder Glen Martin from the Hampden League, Geelong Football League pair Luke Ryan from St Josephs and Newtown halfback Mitchell Pickering, and Drouin football club runner-up best and fairest
Michael Davies, who had been training with the Roosters over the summer. The group includes two former Geelong Falcons TAC Cup players (Weymouth and Ryan), and all five are University of Ballarat students.
Lakers president Gavin Maher said the club had targeted players to make up for its deficiencies in 2007.
He said the Lakers had held their nerve with Weymouth, whose signature had been hunted by several clubs in Ballarat.
"As far as we're concerned (Weymouth) is the biggest signing in the BFL this season," Maher said.
"I contacted Daniel before Christmas and told him why he should come to the Lakers. We'd already had a couple of good signings in Chris McGuigan and Mick Foster, and Scott Driscoll from our leadership group told him all about the club.
"Weymouth had been in discussions with a couple of other Ballarat clubs, but he wanted the Christmas break to think about it. We got in touch with him in January and on Thursday night he signed a contract and a clearance."
Weymouth, who is 196cm tall, will rotate with Matthew Elder in the ruck and in the forward line.
Martin, Pickering and Davies strengthen the Lakers' onball division. Martin has already impressed, says Maher, with a best-on-ground performance in the Lakers' intraclub practice match played at Bungaree on Wednesday night.
Former Waubra player Greg Middleton has signed with the Lakers as reserves coach, but is also likely to play senior football as is first-year coach Matthew Battistello.
Lake Wendouree's one major loss is Paul McMahon, who has been picked up by the North Ballarat Roosters. Maher said McMahon deserved his shot at the VFL and went with the Lakers' blessing.
WDCAcricketer
31 Mar 2008, 09:24
John Antonello? He's already put in a clearance to go to the Marsh.
Spot on, though still deciding whether to play full season, depending on work committments. Kicked 8 in a practice match against East Geelong on the weekend. Played 3/4 of the game, very rusty first two quarters, should get better with every game.
WeHateTheDrummer
31 Mar 2008, 09:40
Redan coach stepping down due to work commitments. Makes it interesting for the lions but i'm sure the replacement will be more than capable of filling the role - whoever it may be.
Fat Mexican
31 Mar 2008, 10:51
Redan coach stepping down due to work commitments. Makes it interesting for the lions but i'm sure the replacement will be more than capable of filling the role - whoever it may be.
Is there an epidemic in the Ballarat region. By my count if this is accurate (and there is no reason as yet to doubt it) this will make 4 coach's who have stood down this year (Daylesford, Ararat and Carnham).
ORACLE 69
31 Mar 2008, 15:16
Can someone from each club give an indication how they went in their practise matches? The mighty swans beat Maryborough and added another trophy to the super coaches resume. :thumbsu:
WeHateTheDrummer
31 Mar 2008, 15:57
Can someone from each club give an indication how they went in their practise matches? The mighty swans beat Maryborough and added another trophy to the super coaches resume. :thumbsu:
Shouldn't you be on Mad Monday after your massive win!!!
Redan intra club satdy, Peace and Cummins were 2 that stood out from sidelines.
Practise match V Buninyong this week i believe.
Who were your stand outs against Maryborough?
The Beaks Gossip 07
1 Apr 2008, 00:22
Now ORACLE 69, Just settle down on claiming the Maryborough night series as a serious piece of silverware, you should know by now that the Fat Rat Clackers Cup does not count as silverware, its actually made up of all those excess tropies that Redan has had to make way for the last 2 Cups and the ones before them that sit proudly up in the Den.
Snibson and Bear, or should i say the Paddle Pop Lion and the Bear to co coach the Redan Lions is what my mail has told me tonite. We will wait and see what announcement is made in the coming days.
Lets be honest the brains behind the Premierships has Really been Piggy Linton and Muzza, as long they are there the lions will be looking for a 3peat.
ORACLE 69
1 Apr 2008, 08:55
Now ORACLE 69, Just settle down on claiming the Maryborough night series as a serious piece of silverware, you should know by now that the Fat Rat Clackers Cup does not count as silverware, its actually made up of all those excess tropies that Redan has had to make way for the last 2 Cups and the ones before them that sit proudly up in the Den.
Snibson and Bear, or should i say the Paddle Pop Lion and the Bear to co coach the Redan Lions is what my mail has told me tonite. We will wait and see what announcement is made in the coming days.
Lets be honest the brains behind the Premierships has Really been Piggy Linton and Muzza, as long they are there the lions will be looking for a 3peat.
Silverware is still better than the wooden spoon even if it is as valuable as an aluminium can! Looking forward to the season starting. Who is Piggy Linton?
the_other
1 Apr 2008, 09:18
Silverware is still better than the wooden spoon even if it is as valuable as an aluminium can! Looking forward to the season starting. Who is Piggy Linton?
Damien Linton (former North Ballarat Player), I thought Bear took over his role in the coaches box last year though.
WeHateTheDrummer
1 Apr 2008, 09:46
Damien Linton (former North Ballarat Player), I thought Bear took over his role in the coaches box last year though.
I don't think the club will go with Bear, i'm suprised Field and Edwards haven't been mention yet???. I think you can count Snibson out as he works in Melbourne.
Minersrest
1 Apr 2008, 10:24
You guys are kidding yourself with talk about a young list.
Redan and Sunbury had young lists but were better prepared come finals time.
Ballarat have the same game plan week in week out, and come finals will never win a major one . unless that chip, spread and run game ( Fremantle) gets the arse.
Ballarat come finals were humiliated.
Humiliated, well done dick head, ask that ____ head Shane Fisher who was humiliated in last years semi when Ballarat smashed them.
no one is saying we are or were the best team in it but winning two finals last year surely proves we are not chokers.
ORACLE 69
1 Apr 2008, 10:51
Shouldn't you be on Mad Monday after your massive win!!!
Redan intra club satdy, Peace and Cummins were 2 that stood out from sidelines.
Practise match V Buninyong this week i believe.
Who were your stand outs against Maryborough?
All round team effort as opposition is developing and flooding tactics don't help develop players. Unfortunately for Maryborough I think they will be in for a long year
Why would Redan waste their time playing a side from a lower league when they will flog the majority in the BFL?
WeHateTheDrummer
1 Apr 2008, 11:50
All round team effort as opposition is developing and flooding tactics don't help develop players. Unfortunately for Maryborough I think they will be in for a long year
Why would Redan waste their time playing a side from a lower league when they will flog the majority in the BFL?
Playing buninyong i believe was set up through the connection of our major sponsor Porter Plant. Majority of the seniors won't play so new faces and young ones will be given every opportunity. I'd expect it to a pretty even contest.
gotiger33
1 Apr 2008, 12:01
There has been a lot of talk to of Ballarat, Lakers and Redan and there Uni players, but havent heard a peep about any of the new ones other than the Lakers few? Any other standouts?
Wanganeen93
1 Apr 2008, 15:33
How much would players like Mitch Pickering and Luke Ryan be getting at Lake Wendouree?
WeHateTheDrummer
1 Apr 2008, 16:07
How much would players like Mitch Pickering and Luke Ryan be getting at Lake Wendouree?
Your not going to get a answer on that mate. Silly question.
Found a training venue yet?