View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
saucehead
1 Apr 2008, 16:15
the marsh seem to have quite a few recruits... anyone no if they are any good?
colbys_kid
1 Apr 2008, 17:37
After the 20 odd players that have been cleared, who will Sunbury miss the most out of the following?
Sahlberg
Gosling
Houlihan
A Train
I think the one they will miss the most will be Luke Allen, it means there wont be any more sparring going on in the rooms after training. Apparently he is going to start up a boxing gymnasium after last years effort!!!!!
Wanganeen93
1 Apr 2008, 20:13
Your not going to get a answer on that mate. Silly question.
Found a training venue yet?
hey mate, yeah still deciding who we will go too...
i was just curious if you guys knew, after reading the write up about mitch in that article. Pretty good write up on someone who has always only played under 18's level footy
WeHateTheDrummer
2 Apr 2008, 09:08
hey mate, yeah still deciding who we will go too...
i was just curious if you guys knew, after reading the write up about mitch in that article. Pretty good write up on someone who has always only played under 18's level footy
Well don't you go to uni and play in geelong? So why don't you just ask him???
Fred Basset
2 Apr 2008, 09:19
I think the one they will miss the most will be Luke Allen, it means there wont be any more sparring going on in the rooms after training. Apparently he is going to start up a boxing gymnasium after last years effort!!!!!
That better be your version of a sick april fools joke
They will miss power and chookas ability to get the local players to the club and then get them to stay more than anything once they left it was just a domino effect with the departures
ORACLE 69
2 Apr 2008, 10:29
Still no results from practice matches other than Ballarat's win, Redan's praccy match and the courier's brief description of sebas's flogging and east points usual over exuberance when they win. Did the lakers, bacchus darley the two meltons and sunbury play and if they did how did they perform?
Melton South beat Glenroy by about 4 or 5 goals
Melton South beat Glenroy by about 4 or 5 goalsis there any more news on sunbury i heard last week they applied to the bfl to not have a 2s side this season . if the answer is no they could well go into recession for 2008 . a couple of weeks ago they couldnt get ateam together to play gisborne in a praccy .
is there any more news on sunbury i heard last week they applied to the bfl to not have a 2s side this season . if the answer is no they could well go into recession for 2008 . a couple of weeks ago they couldnt get ateam together to play gisborne in a praccy .
If that is true, it sounds like they are really struggling.
KA was bagging Darley big time when they lost about 13 players last year. Sunbury will have lost at least twice that much this year. At least the core of our side stayed loyal and didnt leave the sinking ship like Sunbury has.
It had to come to an end at some stage for the Lions.
smoothas
2 Apr 2008, 19:50
If that is true, it sounds like they are really struggling.
KA was bagging Darley big time when they lost about 13 players last year. Sunbury will have lost at least twice that much this year. At least the core of our side stayed loyal and didnt leave the sinking ship like Sunbury has.
It had to come to an end at some stage for the Lions.
Has not come to an end Yet ?
Never underestimate what Power,Chook, Griffo meant to the lions.
They will bounce back when some-one down the club has an Idea????
remus junior
2 Apr 2008, 19:57
Sunbury are in trouble/
I hear that Bacchus Marsh is getting club tough guy and Coach House punching bag Ashley Ginters back to the club.
The Octagon
3 Apr 2008, 15:35
Still no results from practice matches other than Ballarat's win, Redan's praccy match and the courier's brief description of sebas's flogging and east points usual over exuberance when they win. Did the lakers, bacchus darley the two meltons and sunbury play and if they did how did they perform?
If you read the paper on Tuesday you would of seen that North City beat an undermanned Sandhurst by 99 points. Still a good win though.
For those of you who are interested, we have a new club website up and running. Its actually decent compared to the rubbish vcfl based ones.
www.northcity.com.au (http://www.northcity.com.au)
WeHateTheDrummer
3 Apr 2008, 17:06
If you read the paper on Tuesday you would of seen that North City beat an undermanned Sandhurst by 99 points. Still a good win though.
For those of you who are interested, we have a new club website up and running. Its actually decent compared to the rubbish vcfl based ones.
www.northcity.com.au (http://www.northcity.com.au)
Not the best website but better than most!
Check out www.redanfc.com.au for a better looking website!!!
Ballarat's is not bad either.
NoRumoursAllFact
4 Apr 2008, 09:29
Not the best website but better than most!
Check out www.redanfc.com.au (http://www.redanfc.com.au) for a better looking website!!!
Ballarat's is not bad either.
Are you serious?
Redan's one looks like a grade 2 project. Looks like an excel spreadsheet in colour.
North City's is sharper and at least done by a professional.
And i also agree that the vcfl ones are rubbish
ORACLE 69
4 Apr 2008, 09:55
Are you serious?
Redan's one looks like a grade 2 project. Looks like an excel spreadsheet in colour.
Shit, norths arrogance again! Now they even do websites better than the rest. You can't understand why all the clubs around ballarat hate north?;)
I bet no-one does it from the North City committee though!
How is PEST or President Paul Leahy going. we haven't heard from him for a while?
WeHateTheDrummer
4 Apr 2008, 10:07
Are you serious?
Nope. Had a good look at North Citys and can't agree. Red Onion should be ashamed to have there name on that.
Not sure who does Redans but i think it is done within the club...
Anyway back to footy though, Redan playing Buninyong tomorrow at Bunny. Who else has praccy games booked in and venues?
Nope. Had a good look at North Citys and can't agree. Red Onion should be ashamed to have there name on that.
Not sure who does Redans but i think it is done within the club...
Anyway back to footy though, Redan playing Buninyong tomorrow at Bunny. Who else has praccy games booked in and venues?
Geelong has a praccy this week against Melbourne.
Darley are playing up in Bendigo this w/end. Not sure who against.
transferseason
4 Apr 2008, 15:12
Shit, norths arrogance again! Now they even do websites better than the rest. You can't understand why all the clubs around ballarat hate north?;)
I bet no-one does it from the North City committee though!
How is PEST or President Paul Leahy going. we haven't heard from him for a while?
Mate couldnt agree with you more about North being hated. I'm far from being a North City man, but I do hate Redan more, and the drummer;). They claim to be the best run club going around, 'just get uni kids' and 'develop juniors'.... face it. They've been spending very very large for a good 5 years now.
The Octagon
4 Apr 2008, 15:42
We are playing Hepburn tomorrow at Hepburn. Should be a reasonably good indicator as to where we are at. Hepburn should be strong in the Central Highlands again this year.
And Oracle, your a moron...PEST is not a member of North City
WeHateTheDrummer
4 Apr 2008, 18:01
Mate couldnt agree with you more about North being hated. I'm far from being a North City man, but I do hate Redan more, and the drummer;). They claim to be the best run club going around, 'just get uni kids' and 'develop juniors'.... face it. They've been spending very very large for a good 5 years now.
Yep you so right transferseason, at Redan we fork out heaps of coin... here's just some that i know of!!!!
Edwards $1500 P/Game + 4x4 Discovery Landcruiser
Field $1200
Ryall $1200
Blomeley $900
Dwyer / Pitt / Peace / Giampolo / Dickinson $600
Uni contracted players $500 (Seniors)
$250 (Reserves)
Then there are your standard game payments of $500
Coach $30,000
President $25,000
The Drummer $500 Home Games $750 Away Games
All in all, money well spent i think!
Queen of Sheba
5 Apr 2008, 22:00
Geelong has a praccy this week against Melbourne.
Darley are playing up in Bendigo this w/end. Not sure who against.
Heard North City Played against Hepburn today and got flogged? Anyone at the game who can comment??
the_other
7 Apr 2008, 13:07
It was on the back page of the Courier (http://ballarat.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/general/snibson-steps-up-for-redan/1217627.html) that Shane Snibson will be the Redan Coach.
ORACLE 69
7 Apr 2008, 13:57
Heard North City Played against Hepburn today and got flogged? Anyone at the game who can comment??
seems that way as per chfl thread.
ORACLE 69
7 Apr 2008, 13:59
We are playing Hepburn tomorrow at Hepburn. Should be a reasonably good indicator as to where we are at. Hepburn should be strong in the Central Highlands again this year.
And Oracle, your a moron...PEST is not a member of North City
Refer to his previous posts peckerhead. He is pretty biased if he doesn't follow north. No one else likes North as much as his posts suggest. ;)
ORACLE 69
7 Apr 2008, 14:00
It was on the back page of the Courier (http://ballarat.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/general/snibson-steps-up-for-redan/1217627.html) that Shane Snibson will be the Redan Coach.
A good appointment. A giant step for the nangers of the world!:D
19th Man
7 Apr 2008, 14:00
Reading the Geelong thread, the Cobra's were smacked by 20 goals, at the hands of Geelong West who were missing several stars.
ORACLE 69
7 Apr 2008, 14:02
How did the practise matches go. Obviously north city lost and redan had a waste of time against buninyong. How did sunbury go KA, sebas, east point, darley, bacchus, melton & melton south go?
Sebas got done by st albans down at geelong. :( Hopefully they will take something from it to help them improve. They were missing a star recruit (from what i hear anyways) tho, but i wont go down the excuses road.
malkovich
7 Apr 2008, 14:53
The Marsh were terrible as expected. We can talk it up all we want but until we get Skrubba back at the helm then we are destined to be cellar dwellars. Guys like magpie and buggs are trying hard to get us back to where we were in the years when we had players like Heath Buck, Bull Hehir and Wayne Cracknell but until they accept that Skrubba is the best coach in country footy then we are stuffed. Im not looking forward to a long year, haha:rolleyes:
NoRumoursAllFact
9 Apr 2008, 12:55
Pete loved to be the big fish in the little pond. A club B&F was more important than team success.
So one of the only blokes in country footy who stays loyal (very few nowadays), and he wanted B&F's??..
You wont win friends bagging decent blokes in here. I'm sure all Larsen wanted was a flag with the cobras.
malkovich
9 Apr 2008, 13:57
So one of the only blokes in country footy who stays loyal (very few nowadays), and he wanted B&F's..
You wont win friends bagging decent blokes in here. I'm sure all Larsen wanted was a flag with the cobras.
Larsen is one of the most respected blokes in country footy. He has alot friends at alot of clubs and i agree with you that Pete has always had us blokes at heart. To say he was chasing B&F's is ludicrous. If that was true he would do what the local glory hunters have done like McKay, Cox, Saunders and Mick Dodd did (although mighty mick is back) and go to the Central highlands. More cash, more chance on a b&f and more chance on a flag. :thumbsu:
NoRumoursAllFact
9 Apr 2008, 14:54
Larsen is one of the most respected blokes in country footy. He has alot friends at alot of clubs and i agree with you that Pete has always had us blokes at heart. To say he was chasing B&F's is ludicrous. If that was true he would do what the local glory hunters have done like McKay, Cox, Saunders and Mick Dodd did (although mighty mick is back) and go to the Central highlands. More cash, more chance on a b&f and more chance on a flag. :thumbsu:
Hope you dont think I agreed with the fact he was chasing B&F's...
19th Man
9 Apr 2008, 16:09
Not for one minute did I suggest that he was not well respected in country footy terms. To captain an interleague side is one of the highest accolades. It is simply my opinion, that knowingly playing for a team for many years that were never going to challenge for honours, he seemed quite content to do so.
ORACLE 69
9 Apr 2008, 16:23
Not for one minute did I suggest that he was not well respected in country footy terms. To captain an interleague side is one of the highest accolades. It is simply my opinion, that knowingly playing for a team for many years that were never going to challenge for honours, he seemed quite content to do so.
Alastair Lynch stuck with Fitzroy, Bob Skilton with Sydney and a number of other afl players all stuck with clubs that were underachieving. I call this loyalty, not the opportunity to win personal awards. That is a pretty harsh call. But then when you look at the loyalty players show to clubs down east, the loyalty shines out with players going from Darley to Melton South, Melton to Darley etc.
At Ballarat we had Paul Nicholls who stuck with the club through thick & thin. I'm sure Nicho would give up his awards for a premiership.
malkovich
9 Apr 2008, 17:09
Alastair Lynch stuck with Fitzroy, Bob Skilton with Sydney and a number of other afl players all stuck with clubs that were underachieving. I call this loyalty, not the opportunity to win personal awards. That is a pretty harsh call. But then when you look at the loyalty players show to clubs down east, the loyalty shines out with players going from Darley to Melton South, Melton to Darley etc.
At Ballarat we had Paul Nicholls who stuck with the club through thick & thin. I'm sure Nicho would give up his awards for a premiership.
Your right there are many players very much the same. There are truly loyal players from alot of sides that would do the same as Larsen. I would assume players like Miller from Darley, Ash Webber from Melton and my all time favourite Zippet Collins from Melton South. Of course you will always get your glory hunters like Scott Carlin and "little" Cam Mcleod from Melton South, Michael Sacco from Sebas, Ballarat, Ballan and wherever else, Cam McCabe from Sunbury and to a lesser extent Marc Quinn from Darley who spent a large part of his juniors with my younger brother boofa.
3 cheers for the loyal ones and a big dirty boo for the turn coats who chase the silverware.... Stay true to your clubs. Go cobras:thumbsu:
can anyone give me any info on andrew martin, sebastapol?
right league i think??
WeHateTheDrummer
10 Apr 2008, 10:48
Whats that all about?
Back to footy people.
Who cares if he can or can't fight in a pub???
Fact is he was freak of a player and could turn a game in 5 minutes.
Maybe best years beyond him over the past couple of seasons but still should go down as one of the better country footballers in the past 10 years.
WeHateTheDrummer
10 Apr 2008, 13:16
[quote=Kings Army;10612632]See the Prelim last year? He played down back and was best on ground.
quote]
Did see him play in last years pre-lim, agree he was in best 2. Clarke BOG easily.
But a week later young micalef made him look silly, I think serge had a hamstring strain in his defence.
Will he play for riddell?
Kings Army
10 Apr 2008, 13:24
Did see him play in last years pre-lim, agree he was in best 2. Clarke BOG easily.
But a week later young micalef made him look silly, I think serge had a hamstring strain in his defence.
Will he play for riddell?
Yes he is playing for Riddell. No more Redan tapes!!
Vineyard
10 Apr 2008, 16:38
He was a good player but he was also selfish- he kept himself down back in the grand final last year and his man kicked 3 in the first quarter and the game was over. Good player- Sh!t coach. Fact#3- No Power has ever been able to fight- EVER! They have always talked each other up and never delivered in the fight stakes. The only one that doesnt talk himself up is the fat one who looks like Dave Hughes- and thats only cause he was never any good at anything. Back to the footy- boo the Powers, three cheers for the full back :thumbsu:
Geez you are in love with our great full back at Darley. Firing up well for a bacchus marsh supporter. Doesnt mean he wont tear your head off though.
Has sunbury picked up anyone yet Kings.... Libba promised in the paper there would be several big names signing. Where are they?
Are the grounds really as bad as the courier made them out to be???
johnny bravo
10 Apr 2008, 16:48
Has sunbury picked up anyone yet Kings.... Libba promised in the paper there would be several big names signing. Where are they?
Are the grounds really as bad as the courier made them out to be???
Libba seems to be all talk, sunbray have not signed anyone and have lost about 10 players. Could be a down year for the western lions this year
GREENMAN
10 Apr 2008, 21:59
Libba seems to be all talk, sunbray have not signed anyone and have lost about 10 players. Could be a down year for the western lions this year
A tough year with the club blooding alot of kids.......wont hurt the club, give the young kids time, rebuild and watch the Lions roar. Lots of pain before any gain, shame Libba cant put as much effort into recruiting as he does in sinking his AFL career with his big mouth, maybe he should do what Serge did and instead of fleecing the club, maybe he should pay some of the players out of his wages
the_other
11 Apr 2008, 10:39
It looks like the City Oval is not going to be available for quite some time yet, so Redan will be on the road again.
WeHateTheDrummer
11 Apr 2008, 11:38
It looks like the City Oval is not going to be available for quite some time yet, so Redan will be on the road again.
Possibly alot of sunday games for the lions early on, which can have it's benefits of playing a few of them on the eastern oval.
Like last year, redan training at learmonth for first half of season.
blues12
11 Apr 2008, 14:24
Will Libba pull on the boots this week, i heard he played in their praccy last week.
ORACLE 69
11 Apr 2008, 15:43
KA & Malkovich..
Happy to know that i have set a new thread for you 2.
Get this thread back onto footy boys.
Since Snibbo has been appointed has he brought his own style of coaching and match committee etc or will he continue on with the same formula of the last few years
Kings Army
11 Apr 2008, 15:58
As for hanging Rock- maybe Mark Powers sleazy hands should stay away from young taken women and then Griffin and himself would have been saved a headache. boo drunk powers:thumbsd:
Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story - Power was not even. Time for your tablets and a little down malky.
malkovich
11 Apr 2008, 16:01
Since Snibbo has been appointed has he brought his own style of coaching and match committee etc or will he continue on with the same formula of the last few years
Hopefully Snibbo maintains alot of the same philosiphies and just fine tunes areas that the he feels need tweaking. The bottom line is that the Lions were one of the best drilled sides i have seen in country footy and perhaps the best since Allan Ezzard was at the helm of Nth Ballarat many moons ago. Snibson is highly respected at the snake pit and im looking forward to seeing the results he brings in 08
Go snakes!:)
Premiership
11 Apr 2008, 16:56
Agree Malko, redan run themselves now, the systems that Quinner put in place 6 years ago roll through, think you will find it stems further back from ezard to jimmy buckley when we won 49 games in a row only to lose our 50th in the grand final against East. Snibbo is the 3rd Nth Ballarat player of origin to coach Redan in a row with feidly and Jed in close support. What an alignment it has turned out to be when redan merged with the Nth Ballarat Roosters under 18 team years ago.
With your season just around the corner now, what do people really think about teams chances, will anyone push into the top 6 and force someone out,as sometimes does not matter if you improve if every one else does to.
Malko, are the clearances right, 40 new players, massive turnover that! Can the snakes climb the ladder.
WeHateTheDrummer
11 Apr 2008, 17:00
Very similar to Murrihy and will demand alot out of his players. He has a very good knowledge of where footy is at and what level redan need to be to get success come septemeber. Don't be suprised to see redan take a few months to hit there straps with alot of blokes under done.
Redan to have a big training sess tomorrow before getting ready for the lakers R1.
WeHateTheDrummer
11 Apr 2008, 17:08
fair assesment KA, time will tell but i can see Melton South and Ballarat being a top 2 finisher this year, with Redan to get there normal position of 3rd and get an easy run into september!!!
Melton South defiante smokeys for flag. Forward line is dangerous.
IMO
WeHateTheDrummer
11 Apr 2008, 17:11
Ignore that thread, seems the Mod wasn't a fan!
Kings Army
11 Apr 2008, 17:32
fair assesment KA, time will tell but i can see Melton South and Ballarat being a top 2 finisher this year, with Redan to get there normal position of 3rd and get an easy run into september!!!
ps. Are you forgetting the thread i started for you Malkovich!!!! Move on!!!
IMO
I am with you - South and Ballarat to replace Sunbury and East Point in the top 3.
Move on? I just gave Malko a compliment and told him red suits him. I think we are bonding.
Vineyard
14 Apr 2008, 09:37
I am with you - South and Ballarat to replace Sunbury and East Point in the top 3.
Move on? I just gave Malko a compliment and told him red suits him. I think we are bonding.
Missing:
One caravan & matching annex from Beach Front camp site. Please contact Melton South football club if found.
chambo333
14 Apr 2008, 12:03
Will Libba pull on the boots this week, i heard he played in their praccy last week.
Libba has played in the last two practice matches and gone quite well, skills were a bit rusty but found a heap of the ball.
Whether or not he plays round 1... who knows.. although it might be a good idea to give some experience to the young lions.
chambo333
14 Apr 2008, 12:06
Who will be the key players for each club in 2008?
Big new names?
Who is more important to redan... Field or Edwards?
Will Ben Jordan leaving East Point make Dan Jordan's job a lot harder?
Morning Herald
14 Apr 2008, 12:22
Who will be the key players for each club in 2008?
Big new names?
Edwards
chambo333
14 Apr 2008, 12:28
Edwards
Really?... I feel a bit for Field lol.. although he does get a lot of praise i still think he does a lot more for the team then Edwards from what i've seen, but Edwards still gets most of the credit, but i think Edwards without Field isnt the same force... Field helps Edwards look good, Edwards has no impact on Field.
WeHateTheDrummer
14 Apr 2008, 13:11
Really?... I feel a bit for Field lol.. although he does get a lot of praise i still think he does a lot more for the team then Edwards from what i've seen, but Edwards still gets most of the credit, but i think Edwards without Field isnt the same force... Field helps Edwards look good, Edwards has no impact on Field.
I'd say you haven't seen enough then.
Kings Army
14 Apr 2008, 13:47
No way in the world. If your from Sunbury get a copy of the Prelim from last year. Edwards stands at the feet of the ruckman at each contest and Fields will stand a couple of meters behind him. Edwards will do all the physical grunt work and help feed the ball backwards to release Fields, Dwyer etc. Fields has the class and great foot skills but needs Edwards to release him. The umps know to as Edwards keeps winning the Henderson.
ORACLE 69
14 Apr 2008, 14:00
IMO
Good to seed you acknowledge the emergence of Ballarat. go Swans!
19th Man
14 Apr 2008, 18:20
Watched the last half of Darley V Bell Park. The Devils were made to look silly. I hope they had plenty out, because 16 goals is a big loss, heading into the season.
pickman
14 Apr 2008, 19:05
A. Edwards. He provides the grunt the poise in heavy traffic, that siad they make a pretty damaging combo.
B. The loss of Ben and a few others will make Dan's job harder but the quality of Dan Jordan is that the ball only has to be in the his general area and he'll take a grab. Great on the the great, great leap, hardest player to match up on in the BFL
wceagles
14 Apr 2008, 19:59
No way in the world. If your from Sunbury get a copy of the Prelim from last year. Edwards stands at the feet of the ruckman at each contest and Fields will stand a couple of meters behind him. Edwards will do all the physical grunt work and help feed the ball backwards to release Fields, Dwyer etc. Fields has the class and great foot skills but needs Edwards to release him. The umps know to as Edwards keeps winning the Henderson.
sorry to nitpick ka,but i think you mean the grand final.
but we don't have to worry about the ballarat league this year do we?
we've got the mighty bombers,"see the bombers fly up,up,to win the premiership flag".Go Riddell!:thumbsu:
Vineyard
15 Apr 2008, 09:28
Watched the last half of Darley V Bell Park. The Devils were made to look silly. I hope they had plenty out, because 16 goals is a big loss, heading into the season.
Didnt look that good in the stands from my angle either 19th Man. Missing probably 6 of their top 10 players who were resting/getting over niggles. While disappointing on the scoreboard it can only help the players who played against some high quality opposition.
Beat spotswood, sandhurst and east geelong over the preseason so plenty of positives over the pre-season.
Round 1 is where it counts.
Did you find your caravan?
WeHateTheDrummer
15 Apr 2008, 11:57
we've got the mighty bombers,"see the bombers fly up,up,to win the premiership flag".Go Riddell!:thumbsu:
I actually think he meant to say 2nd Semi Final where Redan beat Sunbury at Sunbury.
Kings Army
15 Apr 2008, 12:39
I actually think he meant to say 2nd Semi Final where Redan beat Sunbury at Sunbury.
Correct WHTD. Happy to fax or Email the entire Redan midfield game plan. Good luck trying to beat it though. The work was put in after that game in the lead up to the Granny - and as basic and as repetitive as what they did was it is near impossible to stop.
Kings Army
15 Apr 2008, 13:59
Didnt look that good in the stands from my angle either 19th Man. Missing probably 6 of their top 10 players who were resting/getting over niggles. While disappointing on the scoreboard it can only help the players who played against some high quality opposition.
Beat spotswood, sandhurst and east geelong over the preseason so plenty of positives over the pre-season.
Round 1 is where it counts.
Did you find your caravan?
Wrong bloke Vineyard. But it would be great if Darley could return the van - but at end of the day it was purchased with Darely money.
chambo333
15 Apr 2008, 18:43
If Riddell doesnt win the 08 granny then something has gone insanely wrong lol too many big recruits for an already good team not too! haha. Betting would be at about $1.01 and the next closest say $101
chambo333
15 Apr 2008, 18:45
Does anyone know where Paul McMahon left Lakers to go? Sorry if its been said i haven't seen it. Great player! Underated i think, very hard to match up.
chambo333
15 Apr 2008, 18:46
Hey anyone?!... Has Melton picked up any new forwards to replace the retirement of Button and Grenfell moving to South?
merrigan
15 Apr 2008, 23:04
Hey anyone?!... Has Melton picked up any new forwards to replace the retirement of Button and Grenfell moving to South?
Porter would play up forward wouldn't he?
McMahon is playing VFL with the roosters and going well.
goromsey
16 Apr 2008, 09:27
Porter would play up forward wouldn't he?
McMahon is playing VFL with the roosters and going well.
Porter will have to ruck. The home grown talent Heyde has a long term ankle injury, unlikely to play again and Serong the big man recruit is likely to play back at Barooga due to family reasons.
finchythegreat
16 Apr 2008, 10:43
Heard a rumour that Tim Little was offered $1000 a game to return to Sunbury and that his demands were that he was to be captain and be the starting the ruckman in every game that he played.
KA is this true?? If this does happen, what will happen to Pat Cariss? I thought he was easily the best ruckman in the league the past few years...surely sunbury would want to look after him??
Kings Army
16 Apr 2008, 11:50
Heard a rumour that Tim Little was offered $1000 a game to return to Sunbury and that his demands were that he was to be captain and be the starting the ruckman in every game that he played.
KA is this true?? If this does happen, what will happen to Pat Cariss? I thought he was easily the best ruckman in the league the past few years...surely sunbury would want to look after him??
Welcome to big footy Patty. You know I am a Konaranko fan.
finchythegreat
16 Apr 2008, 13:22
Welcome to big footy Patty. You know I am a Konaranko fan.
Nice try KA but keep guessing.........Go the McCabes
Finchythegreat for B&F at Riddell this year
pistons son
16 Apr 2008, 14:24
marsh will not play finals this year but will definately not be the worst team in the comp. Picked up a few decent players in Millane, Benedetti (k.o'd paul chambers in their game in geelong which they got ripped another a$$hole), sims and got some of their hard nuts back. Terrible last year yes, but when you put in new gun recruit Kal Killoran, supposedly one of the best players running around in country vic, this antonello bloke who has kicked over 100 a few times and their heart and soul aussie larson they should upset a few teams this year. I'm on the f_ck_rs anyway to not get the wooden spoon! Had a $100 that it'll be sebast this year!!! Time will tell
pistons son
16 Apr 2008, 14:31
any team that beats spotswood would take some beating. Spotswood are a gun side in a not so flashy comp. Who's willing to make a prediction on the competition final standings:
here's mine
REDAN
MELTON SOUTH
DARLEY
EAST POINT
BALLARAT
SUNBURY
BACCHUS MARSH
NORTH CITY
LAKERS
MELTON
SEBAST
Any thoughts?
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Apr 2008, 15:50
marsh will not play finals this year but will definately not be the worst team in the comp. Picked up a few decent players in Millane, Benedetti (k.o'd paul chambers in their game in geelong which they got ripped another a$$hole), sims and got some of their hard nuts back. Terrible last year yes, but when you put in new gun recruit Kal Killoran, supposedly one of the best players running around in country vic, this antonello bloke who has kicked over 100 a few times and their heart and soul aussie larson they should upset a few teams this year. I'm on the f_ck_rs anyway to not get the wooden spoon! Had a $100 that it'll be sebast this year!!! Time will tell
Benedetti. Played 90% in Redan 2's last year and was very hard for him to find a spot. Will do the Marsh no harm in having him in there line up this year.
Kane Stewart
16 Apr 2008, 17:12
maybe second bottom then?
go darley
from kane
life member
big drinker
incredible dancer
WarriorMan
16 Apr 2008, 17:49
Time will tell mate! Start saving your dole money so you can pay your losing bet. Wont be Sebas but at least your having a crack at guessing. Marsh must be super strong though. Only got done by 25 goals in geelong against Geelong West who were basically missing 3 stars for the game and beat East Geelong who are a 3rd division side by 6 goals. Obviously clutching straws to be talking up a reserves player from Redan who thinks its great to be trying to knock out blokes in praccy matches. And if you are counting on Jon Antonello to kick all your goals it will be a very cold long winter for you. He has ability, but doesnt like the middle of winter and wont handle playing against the big boys in a better comp than he used to. I wouldnt be surprised if he has pulled the pin by Rd 6 or has upset some of the other boys who dont kick it to him every time. Time will tell but good luck to you
cobber-not a fan
16 Apr 2008, 18:17
Porter will have to ruck. The home grown talent Heyde has a long term ankle injury, unlikely to play again and Serong the big man recruit is likely to play back at Barooga due to family reasons.
Porter will play CHF, Serong ruck(from Melton not Barooga),Heyde FF changing ruck, Gun forward from Qld redbacks take some stopping.
cobber-not a fan
16 Apr 2008, 18:23
any team that beats spotswood would take some beating. Spotswood are a gun side in a not so flashy comp. Who's willing to make a prediction on the competition final standings:
here's mine
REDAN
MELTON SOUTH
DARLEY
EAST POINT
BALLARAT
SUNBURY
BACCHUS MARSH
NORTH CITY
LAKERS
MELTON
SEBAST
Any thoughts?
Redan
East Point
Ballarat
Melton South
Melton
Sunbury
Darley
Lakers
Sebast
North City
Bacchus Marsh
saucehead
16 Apr 2008, 18:31
sounds alright for the marsh as long as they havnt lost anyone from last year that was any good (if they had any1)
pistons son
16 Apr 2008, 18:56
missing 3 stars. Who would they be champ. As far as I know they had a full side. Not one B.F.L has beaten a G.F.L in the last 3 years. Darley have been trying to claim they beat bell park, but after speaking to my good mates at bell park, it seems that they beat Darley by the tune of 16 goals. As for your comments about east geelong, I believe that to be true. They beat them by only 6 goals, same margin as Darley who played them a few weeks prior. As I'm an avid onlooker and ask many questions they tell me this Antonello bloke could be one of those blokes who could walk but at least he's there at the moment. I'm just a follower anyway of the my beloved cobra's anyway, but I have to say they haven't given me much to sing about in the [past. They still have a long way to go, but they have something they haven't had for a long time................
belief, and some players who actually can play this great game.
merrigan
16 Apr 2008, 23:14
Are you serious? If he's one of your gun recruits mate you should have saved your cash.
19th Man
16 Apr 2008, 23:30
missing 3 stars. Who would they be champ. As far as I know they had a full side. Not one B.F.L has beaten a G.F.L in the last 3 years. Darley have been trying to claim they beat bell park, but after speaking to my good mates at bell park, it seems that they beat Darley by the tune of 16 goals. As for your comments about east geelong, I believe that to be true. They beat them by only 6 goals, same margin as Darley who played them a few weeks prior. As I'm an avid onlooker and ask many questions they tell me this Antonello bloke could be one of those blokes who could walk but at least he's there at the moment. I'm just a follower anyway of the my beloved cobra's anyway, but I have to say they haven't given me much to sing about in the [past. They still have a long way to go, but they have something they haven't had for a long time................
belief, and some players who actually can play this great game.
Well then you know sweet feck all!
Missing as quoted from the GFL site:
Chambers-I think, not sure. But played AFL/ruckman
Wilde-2 time GFL league medal winning ruckman
Saunders-ex Western Bulldogs/Werribee/Nth Ballarat CHF
Urie-played geelong VFL
Cheep-played geelong VFL
I would say that 130pt margin could have been slightly bigger.
Well then you know sweet feck all!
Missing as quoted from the GFL site:
Chambers-I think, not sure. But played AFL/ruckman
Wilde-2 time GFL league medal winning ruckman
Saunders-ex Western Bulldogs/Werribee/Nth Ballarat CHF
Urie-played geelong VFL
Cheep-played geelong VFL
I would say that 130pt margin could have been slightly bigger.
Chambers played. That was a def'. By all reports it was a full strength side. I haven't been around the Cobras much over Preseason but I had heard a little bit about this game.
Redan
East Point
Ballarat
Melton South
Melton
Sunbury
Darley
Lakers
Sebast
North City
Bacchus Marsh
Reckon that sebas will struggle again.
Redan
Ballarat
Melton South
Lakers
East Point
Melton
Subury
North city
Darley
Marsh
Sebas
The top 7 teams will be a fair way ahead of the bottom 4.
Redan will continue to on as the yardstick, East will slip with the players lost - DJ will still be able to win games on his own, Ballarat will continue to improve doesnt mean they will go further draw might effect the end of year, lost 3 good players. Melton South will be able to shake the wobbles they get when they enter finals. Lakers apparently have picked up more than declared in courier so they are team to watch. melton were big improvers and with Porter back will be a bigger threat come finals. Sunbury dare I say wont make it too many inexperienced players...they will be the Ballarat when Northey got there.
Henderson medal - Edwards, DJ tie
Wooden spoon with no wins Sebas
WeHateTheDrummer
17 Apr 2008, 10:29
Henderson - Cheevers (Darley)
Spoon - Marsh on Percentage over North City
ORACLE 69
17 Apr 2008, 12:01
I am a bit disappointed with the BFL not providing much coverage for the first round. They should be out there talking the season up I would have thought. Do sides such as darley, bacchus etc get much coverage down the east. I know libba was on last night but that was just about him. The previous review in the courier was too early.
WarriorMan
17 Apr 2008, 12:56
Chambers played. That was a def'. By all reports it was a full strength side. I haven't been around the Cobras much over Preseason but I had heard a little bit about this game.
Chanmbers played 10 minutes before Ko'd by the superstar recruit
Reckon that sebas will struggle again.
Redan
Ballarat
Melton South
Lakers
East Point
Melton
Subury
North city
Darley
Marsh
Sebas
The top 7 teams will be a fair way ahead of the bottom 4.
Redan will continue to on as the yardstick, East will slip with the players lost - DJ will still be able to win games on his own, Ballarat will continue to improve doesnt mean they will go further draw might effect the end of year, lost 3 good players. Melton South will be able to shake the wobbles they get when they enter finals. Lakers apparently have picked up more than declared in courier so they are team to watch. melton were big improvers and with Porter back will be a bigger threat come finals. Sunbury dare I say wont make it too many inexperienced players...they will be the Ballarat when Northey got there.
Henderson medal - Edwards, DJ tie
Wooden spoon with no wins Sebas
Sebas no wins? That will make the taste of victories even sweeter. I agree they are no stars but will be better than most think. And at least there players are playing for the right reasons
Sayitaintso
17 Apr 2008, 16:50
All the talk about Grenfell.Kroljs and Peters will be the best recruits followed by Mamalis and Watkins.
Chanmbers played 10 minutes before Ko'd by the superstar recruit
Sebas no wins? That will make the taste of victories even sweeter. I agree they are no stars but will be better than most think. And at least there players are playing for the right reasons
And what would these right reasons be?
Dont start talking about love of the game / club, as Sebas has tried and failed at buying players...Chatfield, Collard etc.
I hope you have improved, there are some good young players....but it will be a tough year all the same.
ItsAllAboutMe
17 Apr 2008, 22:18
Melton South tipped to be a contender this year, surley not I watched them against Aberfeldie, a side tipped to battle for relegation in EDFL this year, and aberfeldie totally outclassed and out ran them winning easily by 10 goals. From what I understand both sides prob missing 5 players from top 22, so either the BFL has dropped considerably in standard since I last seen it or Melton South will be closer to the bottom than you lot are predicting.
cockroach
18 Apr 2008, 11:01
Melton South tipped to be a contender this year, surley not I watched them against Aberfeldie, a side tipped to battle for relegation in EDFL this year, and aberfeldie totally outclassed and out ran them winning easily by 10 goals. From what I understand both sides prob missing 5 players from top 22, so either the BFL has dropped considerably in standard since I last seen it or Melton South will be closer to the bottom than you lot are predicting.
let the games begin melton will be the team to watch not south
east and redan will be as strong as ever
and we all know ballarat will be looked after agian by the bfl
darley ready to go big recruits ?? time will tell
libba set to star at sunburys new youth policy ha ha
the rest good luck :thumbsu:
WeHateTheDrummer
18 Apr 2008, 17:14
Predicting Melton South is purely on players and there possible ability. Agree a few people including myself might have judged them as a serious threat and i still believe they can be as they have the stock, whether they bring it on a saturday remains to be seen. Good luck to all teams this week.
Darley to be the biggest winners of the round for me. Home by 100points!
Under Siege
21 Apr 2008, 10:15
Few suprises in round 1, looks like it's going to be a fairly competitive year. Darley over East! Have East really dropped that much or have Darley improved that much?? Miller the best player in the comp when fit 7 goals from the middle! Lakers over Redan big win for the Lakers could they be the big improvers?? Sunbury over the Bloods Libba and D.Stanley playing and going pretty well i was told. Sunbury will still be around the mark Little didn't play. Seems there could be 5 or 6 teams who could win it this year i think it will come down to injuries to key players.
Any thoughts??
WeHateTheDrummer
21 Apr 2008, 10:28
Close mate but the win was by more like 100, ps hutchy (east) is still a fat little pig.
Yeah, I was close noddy. Edited prediction, looks abit better now!
How much of a freak is Miller!