View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
ORACLE 69
8 Aug 2008, 10:11
These are the jokes I used to bring with me. We used to laugh for hours!
Redan V Sunbury.1st Final
Centre Bounce:
1st half:
Redan started with:
18 - Dickinson ruck
17 Edwards
6 Dwyer
33 Giampolo
They set up like this twice in the 1st half both at the start of the 1st quarter and the 2nd quarter only!:
Each centre bounce looked like this:
Diagram
The 1st 4 centre bounces had
18 - Dickinson ruck
17 Edwards
6 Dwyer
33 Giampolo
Changed to: for 1 contest
18 - Dickinson ruck
17 Edwards
4 Baker
11 Pitt
Went to:
18 - Dickinson ruck
17 Edwards
16 Fields
4 Baker
Edwards set up in the same spot each time. Dickinson hit the ball towards Sunburys goal 9 out of 10 times. They get their best players plus numbers Sunbury side . Carriss and Clarke tried hitting the ball Sunburys way so it never went towards Redans goal as both ruckman were hitting it the same way.
This week get touch and feel in the centre Edwards and Field are to good to stand by themselves. Get the ruckman to be aware of the two on one in front of him hit side ways or behind him Dickson will always tried to get it going Sunburys way. Redan even come off the wings to Sunburys side as they know where the ball is going.
2nd quarter They started again like the 1st set up but with these players in for the 1st 5 ball up. Set rotation as in the 1st quarter the players that started in the middle stayed there for at least the 1st half of the quarter.
18 - Dickinson ruck
17 Edwards
6 Dwyer
16 Fields
This is how they set up with Fields and Edwards which these 2 would be there best centre players.
Edwards would always go to the feet of the ruck where fields will either run past the ruckman to the attacking side (very dangerous when he does this) or will drop back behind Edwards. I would put a hard tag on him all day they look for him. Edwards does a lot of the grunt work but these 2 are the go to players for the ruckman.
6th centre bounce of the 2nd Quarter Field came out and Giampolo starting line up again.
18 - Dickinson ruck
17 Edwards
6 Dwyer
33 Giampolo
2 centre bounces changed to;
18 - Dickinson ruck
4 Baker
6 Field
33 Giampolo
Baker took Edwards role and went to the contest while Field hung back.
Every centre bounce in the 1st half had either Field or Edwards in. Edwards was in middle for 95% of the 1st half.
Ball ups:
Similar to the centre the Redan players are very well drilled into working hard to find a designated spot at a bounce. They get an extra player to the contest on 5 of the 7 ball ups and won the majority of these. Work rate? They again set up with more players on Sunburys attacking side and the players who set up there are the better ones.
The ruckman again will hit it Sunburys way with many times Redan have a 4 on 2 or 3 on 2 situation and then they have option for a quick give or long kick.
A couple of ball ups had 6 Redan players on the defensive side to Sunburys 4. With both ruckman hitting the one way it is only luck for Sunbury to clear. Once again I would go man on man at ball ups they cannot set up at the back especially with their good players. Hard tag on Fields and who is on him cannot go to the contest because the ruckman and other players want to use him at every opportunity.
Throw Ins:
No surprises here more numbers and the better players to the defensive side Both ruckman hitting the one way. They have worked out Carriss only goes one way and they are happy for him to get his hand on it 1st. They use number 3 Ward as a 2nd man up this is the only time Redan tried to hit the ball forward definitely a set play as Field and Pitt were moving forward before the ball had been touched. Sammut went to the contest and Field released Pitt. Hard tag on Field
Edwards once again likes to be close to the ruckman. He will start in front or directly behind them.
I number of time they send a player to a designated spot 1 meter to the defensive side of the ruckman. Someone will sprint to get to that spot as Dickson will try to hit that spot. You can catch them early if you set up numbers on Sunburys side it is a risk but they will go there or have the same numbers but have a player like Kega on the defensive side moving quickly to the offensive side to be released. Risk but something needs to change from last time. If you can catch them at this then it may throw them out for a while.
The only 1 time Sunbury had more players to the throw in them cleared it easily. You need your mid fielders to push to each contest and have at least the same amount of players. They also need to be thinking at each contest. Touch and feel if every one has a player and Redan have someone free at the contest someone is not working.
Gee KA accurate set up. What I am confused about is if the match committee and you were a part of this had such a detailed knowledge of their set ups then why did you lose so many Grand Finals to Redan!!!!!!
ORACLE 69
8 Aug 2008, 10:13
When was Ballarats last flag ORACLE, or dont the books go back that far.
Better yet!
How many final series have they played in since the introduction of the Eastern block teams.
Last few years we have played finals your memory must be short. Oh thats right Darley were on their trip in september last year:D
Kings Army
8 Aug 2008, 10:25
Gee KA accurate set up. What I am confused about is if the match committee and you were a part of this had such a detailed knowledge of their set ups then why did you lose so many Grand Finals to Redan!!!!!!
Tagged both Edwards and Fields. Only had Lobb as a ball winner in the centre. Sunbury were one quaility midfield short. But again in the 2nd half when fatigue started to set in Redan were able to set up with extra numbers at contests. They were so will drilled and fitter to still be able to get extra numbers to the contest. Many times the ball was fed out the back and an easy clearance was made. Power was screaming at players when it was obvious from the side line that Redan had at least one free player Sunbury side of a contest. They were a power house last year.
James Kerr
8 Aug 2008, 10:45
Going into such detail just to prove that you are one of the boys clearly illustrates how insecure you are about your place in this forum, your clubs and life in general. All that you have proved is that you are the chief notetaker, like a 15 year old kid doing work experience.
It is a real shame that the hardcore ownage that Chumpy laid down on you was deleted before you obviously read it. It was possibly the best post of the year.
Kings Army
8 Aug 2008, 11:09
Going into such detail just to prove that you are one of the boys clearly illustrates how insecure you are about your place in this forum, your clubs and life in general. All that you have proved is that you are the chief notetaker, like a 15 year old kid doing work experience.
It is a real shame that the hardcore ownage that Chumpy laid down on you was deleted before you obviously read it. It was possibly the best post of the year.
Going into such detail? All I did was copy and paste. CRT C then CRL V.
Chief note taker - I like it - I will put that on my CV. I have the Darley V Melton South DVD from the weekend - would you like my 15 year old notes on that game? Not that it means a lot as teams do things differently in home and away than in finals.
You once again ignore my question. What is your football history? Somehow I think you will become a turtle again and pull you head in a hide. Turtle Kerr - I like it!
ORACLE 69
8 Aug 2008, 11:16
Roos, Lions battle for second
7/08/2008 11:47:00 PM
WIN and top two beckons. Lose and kiss the double chance in the finals goodbye.
That is the equation as it stands for two of the Ballarat Football League's heavyweights as Sunbury and East Point prepare to slug it out tomorrow at Clarke Oval.
The eastern Lions and the Red Lion Kangaroos sit second and third respectively on the RegionalOne BFL ladder, separated by nothing other than four points "earned" through the bye.
With East Point enjoying a huge advantage in percentage, a win would put the Kangaroos in a near unassailable position in terms of locking away second position.
"It is a massive game," East Point coach Michael Hynes says.
"We win and we go to second, and that's where we will stay and it's much the same scenario for them.
"I think both sides are evenly matched and both are playing good footy at the moment and, with finals ahead, it will be good for us to play at Sunbury on a big, open ground."
All that separated the Lions and the Kangaroos when the two teams met in round three was two seconds - literally the time between the final siren blowing and the ball landing in Sunbury full-forward Matthew Baird's hands.
While Hynes believes the teams will be equally well-matched tomorrow, he says the two teams have undergone quite a few changes since early May.
"You look at the sides last time we played them and what we're playing this week, and you'll see we've got eight different players and they'll have five," Hynes explains. "Keeping in mind last time we played them Lekkas didn't
play and Dan Jordan didn't play, so both sides have two good players who weren't running around last time."
For the Kangaroos, one of this week's changes is forced - important midfielder Adam Jennings is heading overseas and will be unavailable for the remainder of the season.
"It's a massive loss but it will give an opportunity to someone else," Hynes says.
"We've tried a few blokes over the year because we knew that would happen. Whether it is a Jason Delaney or a Sam Van Meel, we will see.
"It's no different really than losing a player to injury just before the finals.
"We're starting to look at balancing the side for finals and this will be another chance to look at that against a genuine top three."
Josh Disher is also unavailable, but only for one week. Jake Fraser returns from a hamstring injury among three changes for the Roos.
Sunbury loses Shaun Neeson and Luke Beattie, both to injury, their absence compensated by the return of Brett Chambers. PREDICTION: Sunbury by one point.
Should be a great game and too close to call as a lot at stake. Not all lost for East Point if they lose as sunbury still have to play the St Kilda of the Bfl in Melton south (Plenty of stars but no heart.)
Ess Kay Warne
8 Aug 2008, 14:36
Chief note taker - I like it - I will put that on myCV. I have the Darley V Melton South DVD from the weekend - would you like my 15 year old notes on that game? Not that it means a lot as teams do things differently in home and away than in finals.
You once again ignore my question. What is your football history? Somehow I think you will become a turtle again and pull you head in a hide. Turtle Kerr - I like it!
What an exciting life you must have. If you have a copy of last weeks episode of Gossip Girl, can I borrow that?
What are your thoughts on that game KA?
Kings Army
8 Aug 2008, 14:53
What an exciting life you must have. If you have a copy of last weeks episode of Gossip Girl, can I borrow that?
What are your thoughts on that game KA?
If I get sent a game to report on I will. This is the only game your coach has asked to be reviewed. Maybe you could ask for a copy and add some value to your club. Not sure what Gossip Girl but if your into that then I am sure you will be able to hunt down a copy. Good luck with that.
TigerTank
8 Aug 2008, 16:48
How many points is an acceptable loss for the Lakers against the Devils tomorrow?
Morning Herald
8 Aug 2008, 18:42
Last few years we have played finals your memory must be short. Oh thats right Darley were on their trip in september last year:D
Last few years you have made up the numbers. You did not answer the question about the last time you had some silverwear.
Last year was the first year Darley had not played finals since being in the BFL, yeah we have not won a flag, but we are a hell of a lot closer than you Ballarat bunnies.
ohio fats
9 Aug 2008, 03:30
Lets everyone put your hands together for Kings Army- You are the best mate. Congratualtions on getting the DVD of the game from your freckled mate Troy Scoble- maybe you can report on his illness that left him out of the game (darley flu) or rate Rob McMahons brilliant game. If i send you a DVD of Troy's caravan going missing then do you think you could do the stats on that?I love you KA and the day we meet will be brilliant- i cant wait. You are a dork who has never been any good at the game and you get off on stats. Im not going to bring up infidelity, stealing from friends or weight issues because i know that these issues hurt you every day. We will sit back at Darley and roll in the manure you produce knowing full well that you dont matter (to anyone) you are an insignificant stats keeper. God bless your soul.
Ha ha, chief well done on summing this poor over wait stat keeping vergin. i pitty the fool, look forward to catching up to celebrate the devils flag. devils 08 :D
CaRn_ThE_pUp23
10 Aug 2008, 03:41
dont worry about them KA...ur hearts in the right place, and u do what u want, people are always going to bag you on an internet thread, ofcoarse they are its too easy - they dont have to tell u who they are and they still get to bag you...catch up when i get back from UK champ
the runner
10 Aug 2008, 17:13
Chief note taker - I like it - I will put that on my CV. I have the Darley V Melton South DVD from the weekend - would you like my 15 year old notes on that game? Not that it means a lot as teams do things differently in home and away than in finals.
Looks like it will be a big week of dvd's and note taking for you king. South getting beat for the second week in a row and Sunbury going down to East. Great win by Redan, the big ground should have suited South and it seems now they will finish 4th. They just dont seem to win the big games, with 2nd and 3rd spot up for grabs you would think South would have won. The game of the round was won by East which should see them keep 2nd spot which would see them play Darley at the Devil Dome first week of the finals.East on there day can match it with anyone and with final's in 2 weeks it was a great win. It looks like Sunbury will finish 3rd, which i dont think Libba would mine to much. It will see Sunbury play Lakers first week which they SHOULD win. With final's coming up what does everyone think on how things will pan out?. Is Darley a cut above the rest or can someone knock them off???
Ess Kay Warne
10 Aug 2008, 17:50
Looks like it will be a big week of dvd's and note taking for you king. South getting beat for the second week in a row and Sunbury going down to East. Great win by Redan, the big ground should have suited South and it seems now they will finish 4th. They just dont seem to win the big games, with 2nd and 3rd spot up for grabs you would think South would have won. The game of the round was won by East which should see them keep 2nd spot which would see them play Darley at the Devil Dome first week of the finals.East on there day can match it with anyone and with final's in 2 weeks it was a great win. It looks like Sunbury will finish 3rd, which i dont think Libba would mine to much. It will see Sunbury play Lakers first week which they SHOULD win. With final's coming up what does everyone think on how things will pan out?. Is Darley a cut above the rest or can someone knock them off???
Disapointing result for the Panthers yesterday, couldnt make it to the game, but by all reports were very poor. After putting ourselves in a good position, it now looks like we will go into a knockout final. Devils only won by a goal, whats the go with that, did they rest a few?
Vineyard
11 Aug 2008, 09:50
BFL Hall of Fame created to honour stars
9/08/2008 1:35:00 AM
HOW do you honour the achievements of a Ballarat Football League legend like Jim Gull when the league does not have a Hall of Fame?
Easy. You create one.
On Monday night the BFL will launch the Ballarat Football Netball League Hall of Fame with its first induction of five league greats and one legend.
The identities of five of those remain a mystery.
But the BFL can announce Gull as one of its Hall of Famers. After all, it was Gull's recent passing, and the league's wish to pay tribute to one of its greats, that prompted the establishment of the Hall of Fame.
"Jim passed away six months ago and there was a nomination for life membership," BFL chief executive Rod Ward said. "But according to our pre-requisite for life membership, Jim did not qualify. So we wanted to find the right way to honour Jim and we saw the Ovens and Murray (Hall of Fame) model and thought it was perfect."
After playing 21 games in the VFL for South Melbourne, Gull came to then-BFL club Daylesford and established himself as a superstar of the competition.
Gull was the BFL's leading goalkicker eight times and captain-coached Daylesford to the 1961 premiership. He still holds the BFL records for the most goals kicked in a season (159 in 1961) and in one match (21 goals).
Ward said the Ballarat Football League would become only the second country football league after the Ovens and Murray FL to establish a Hall of Fame. The Ovens and Murray Football League founded its Hall of Fame four years ago.
"We've adopted a similar model and we've been very thankful about their assistance in establishing our (Hall of Fame)," Ward said.
"We created a Hall of Fame committee for the very difficult task of sorting out the six from about 80 very good nominations we received.
"There are many deserving people out there but we wanted to limit it to one Legend and five Hall of Famers with the first induction.
"We have 115 years of history so no doubt we will try to include all worthy inductees in subsequent years."
Only one of the committee members, committee chair Liz Zelencich, is a BFL board member. The six person committee included league historian, past players, umpires and administrators.
The Hall of Fame has a broader definition for qualification than does league life membership, therefore allowing more flexibility.
Ward said a Hall of Fame inductee would not be disqualified from being promoted at some point to legend status. It is estimated that in the BFL's 115-year history 45,000 footballers have played open age football in the league.
Kissy Whelan
11 Aug 2008, 13:43
I went down to watch the marsh play sebas yesterday to see the sebas 2nds get beat by 197 points or some shit. The senior game was terrible to watch, shit skills and heaps of clangers (both teams).
Sebas lack depth and have no real match winners, have **** all money and would struggle to recruit any good players. I'm not attacking sebas but you've got to wonder how long they can stay in the bfl. I can't even remember the last time they played finals? Would it be in the clubs best interest to move into the chfl as i can't see any possible way for them to match it with the darleys, sunburys and east points of the competition.
Any comments?
KWO
Bdiddy18
11 Aug 2008, 13:56
Heard that there was a serious incident between North City and Melton under 18's on the weekend. Apparently the game was called off. Can anyone shed any light?
Kissy Whelan
11 Aug 2008, 14:31
Heard that there was a serious incident between North City and Melton under 18's on the weekend. Apparently the game was called off. Can anyone shed any light?
Yeh apparently something happened on the field and a north city father mouthed of at one of the melton players calling him a dog and a few other things. The melton player mouthed off back and said "come here and have a go then" turned around to walk off and one of his teamates said lookout and he turned around to see the dad running at him and whacked him. Apparently it dropped him and he was out. Not to sure what happened after that, i think there was a blew in the crowed as well
Creeker35
11 Aug 2008, 14:46
KA did you get to the Sunbury v East Point match on Saturday? Interested in your thoughts if you did or any one else's for that matter?
Creeker35
11 Aug 2008, 16:33
How about North City gets barred from the comp for this???? If it was Darley, Sunbury or Melton then all of you heartless Ballarat sucks would be calling for us to be outed. I say bar them for good, The Chieftont is like Johnny's trainer in the Karate Kid- "Mercy is for the weak, we have no mercy here". I know you might think its extreme but its how i roll- Get rid of the thugs, Wendouree tried to do it to Darley on the weekend and you can see the tides are changing in the winds of thuggery. The Eastern block sides have tamed and the Ballarat sides have turned into thugs- Shame is they cant hurt anyone.... The intent is there.
Who is that crap player from East Point Welsh? Two's player with a big bantam chest??? Worst soft player in the state and walks like a strong man- he is funny to watch walk.. Walks like Tarzan and plays like Jane- lets everybody laugh at him every time we see him... Say a delayed sorry to him for his red hair cause ranga day has just passed. Ash George doesn't like Quinny cause Quinny kissed someone he knows (hahaha). Hutchy ate more donuts than any other player the comp this year. Mick Dodd could be the worst player in the world to ever win a George King medal (well since Zippy Collins). Magpie Shea has been nominated for the worst club administrator this year. Cam McLeod wins "most inspirational voice for the year". Rob McMahon wins smallest heart in the BFL for the second year running. Travis Minns wins most accurate goal kicker with 26 goals 4 points to date. Melton South wins award for most netballers with tattoo's and least amount of teeth. Melton South footy club win award for most convicted criminals as members. Lake Wendouree win award for biggest thugs. Ballarat tribunal win award for biggest scab suckhole humans in the world. Oracle was pipped at the post by KA for the worst person on big footy. Brad Miller wins the Henderson by a record margin and also voted best player in the whole world. Muthet Edwardth most improved player in the comp. Sebas- cant pick on them, they are intellectual infants but their netballers are good. North City should get barred, Ballarat play on a crap ground and pay too much money for a coach who plays 70's footy and has a couch as a face. Sunba have made a big mistake by getting a thief to to coach them and they will sack him at years end.
There was some humour in your garble early but of late you have lost it mate! By the way blatant is not spelt with an e.:thumbsd:
Luke1048
11 Aug 2008, 17:06
I can't even remember the last time they played finals?
KWO
mate so you cant even remember back to 2000 when sebas made the grand final and only lost it because some bullshit decisions....then With high hopes of using the promising group to build on for the future, the side was decimated by three transfers to VFL side North Ballarat, one to AFL Bulldogs Rookie list, and two students returning home to their home regional centre
we might finish on the bottom of the ladder again this year but at least
people from sebas play for sebas unlike most of the other clubs in the league that just import players and just get rid of players that had been there since juniors. least we have heart
Ess Kay Warne
11 Aug 2008, 18:31
mate so you cant even remember back to 2000 when sebas made the grand final and only lost it because some bullshit decisions....then With high hopes of using the promising group to build on for the future, the side was decimated by three transfers to VFL side North Ballarat, one to AFL Bulldogs Rookie list, and two students returning home to their home regional centre
people from sebas play for sebas unlike most of the other clubs in the league that just import players and just get rid of players that had been there since juniors. least we have heart
Agree mate, despite this weeks result, Sebas are in a better position than the Marsh.
Panthers will give them an absolute hiding this week.
Kissy Whelan
11 Aug 2008, 21:39
8 years ago is a long time mate, clubs recruit and delist players thats just the way it is. I wasn't potting sebas either but they obviously need to recruit some players or do something because they are along way off the pace. For the reserves to get beaten by that much is telling you something. I'm pretty sure the unders are struggling as well. (correct me if im wrong), not sure what ur junior club is like but something needs to happen to turn it around because its not fun for anyone to get flogged week in week out.
KWO
8 years ago is a long time mate, clubs recruit and delist players thats just the way it is. I wasn't potting sebas either but they obviously need to recruit some players or do something because they are along way off the pace. For the reserves to get beaten by that much is telling you something. I'm pretty sure the unders are struggling as well. (correct me if im wrong), not sure what ur junior club is like but something needs to happen to turn it around because its not fun for anyone to get flogged week in week out.
KWO
The under 18s are struggling, but I think you'll find that quite a few of their better players have been playing seniors. The other junior sides are all around the middle rungs of the ladder so things look ok for the long term IF, and it's a very big IF, they can bring the good ones through to senior ranks over the next 5 years or so. There seems to be ex Sebas players everywhere, I'm not sure why but player retention seems to be a huge problem for them.
Kissy you are right when you say they need to do something, but do you really think that dropping back to the CHFL is the answer? How many clubs do you think that league can handle? It's already way too big. Even though Sebas have struggled at least they continue to tough it out and they get my admiration for that. I've made no secret of what I think of the Daylesford football club, who threw in the towel after missing the finals for the first time in about 6 seasons and ran off to the CHFL, an episode that still leaves a sour taste in the mouths of many CH club officials who now believe they had the wool pulled over their eyes. (One of the reasons given for their exit was that they were broke - if thats the case it won't be for long - the food and beer out at Vic Park costs more than at Telstra Dome!) East Ballarat and Golden Point opted to merge instead of standing and fighting. If every club that struggles through a rough patch takes the easy option, eventually the BFL won't exist.
Don't forget either that the league didn't do Sebas any favours by admitting North City into the BFL. Things will turn for them just as they did for Redan as long as people are prepared to fight to keep their club.
Firstly Sebas are in the process of "doing something" about it. Obvious changes including new coach have happened and alot of behind the scenes changes are also occuring. It wont happen overnight, but it will happen.
I saw a couple of darley boys at the marsh game. Maybe kissy should worry more about his darley mates kicking accuracy? :D one hit my car and the other just missed my son, funny since my sons were asked not to kick the footy near their car ! ;)
Vineyard
12 Aug 2008, 11:21
BFL Legend honour for Henderson
11/08/2008 1:30:00 AM
BILL Henderson, the man who ran the Ballarat Football League during the 1940s and 1950s, became the BFL's first Hall of Fame Legend at a gala presentation last night in Ballarat.
The sports administration icon, who was a BFL and VCFL life member, was granted the league's top honour, as the league inducted its first six members to its Hall of Fame.
In addition to Henderson's induction as BFL Legend, five other champion players, coaches and administrators - Jim Gull, Peter O'Connell, Allan Abrams, former The Courier football writer Wilbur Jackson, and current Ballarat coach John Northey - were admitted to the Hall of Fame.
"It's the greatest game of all and, looking at the people being inducted tonight, I feel very humble to be in their company," Abrams said.
The induction of Legend Henderson, and Hall of Famers Jim Gull and Wilbur Jackson were posthumous, Gull passing away in November aged 79.
Gull's Hall of Fame award was accepted by son Stewart Gull, while Jackson's award was accepted by Jackson's daughter Erin Holloway.
O'Connell, Northey and Abrams were present to accept their inductions.
"To be put into the Hall of Fame is just tremendous," Northey said.
"My time in the VFL/AFL would never have happened if not for my time in the BFL. Without the Redan Football Club and the BFL it wouldn't have happened. "No matter where your are you never forget where you came from and I enjoyed my premierships at Redan as much as I did those in the AFL."
matt_nicholls
12 Aug 2008, 12:27
I just wish that Darley, Melton, Melton South and Sunbury would go back to the Riddell league along with Gisborne. Throw in Riddell, Woodend and one or two others and establish a league that is worth something. I hate the Ballarat league more than i have ever hated anything. Growing up following Darley in the Riddell league was heaven for a kid. Big crowds along with passionate supporters and players was constant and i feel that these things have been slowly falling away. Ballarat sides lack character and have no rivalries whatsoever. I dont know what it is but i feel jealous at CHFL league or Riddell league games (which is poo footy) when you see large passionate crowds at games and people that would kill for their club.. Why has this been lost? Is it the BFL or is it the clubs themselves. I just want out- i am losing my passion for football in the BFL- The tribunal are liars and thiefs, the umpires cheat (except Roger LeGrand who is fair), Ballarat sides dont have supporters and the quality of football seems to be falling away severely- hell i even know for a fact that some players in senior sides down here have faked injuires or work commitments on more than one occasion to avoid playing Ballarat sides because of the crap grounds and poor competition.. If Brad Miller wasn't my world then i might have only watched a handful of games this year. Thats sad for a life long supporter when his side is on top.. Does anyone feel this way or is the Chief just having a rough day? I just dont enjoy myself in Ballarat...
Great post, we'll welcome you back with open arms chieftont
Kissy Whelan
12 Aug 2008, 12:39
Firstly Sebas are in the process of "doing something" about it. Obvious changes including new coach have happened and alot of behind the scenes changes are also occuring. It wont happen overnight, but it will happen.
I saw a couple of darley boys at the marsh game. Maybe kissy should worry more about his darley mates kicking accuracy? :D one hit my car and the other just missed my son, funny since my sons were asked not to kick the footy near their car ! ;)
Darley's accuracy is fine, thats why we are sitting clear on top. The bloke who hit ur car and nearly hit ur son with a footy dosn't actually play footy for Darley, he tryed out but didnt make the cut. Clearly he needs to work on his skills. He is also wondering when he's going to see his star cameo role posted on you tube as it was probably the only thing worth filming on the day? http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif
I wouldn't want to see sebas join the chfl, I was merely making a comment that i felt needed to be made. Good luck to sebas and hopefully they can turn things around and improve a bit next year.
KWO
WeHateTheDrummer
12 Aug 2008, 12:53
I just wish that Darley, Melton, Melton South and Sunbury would go back to the Riddell league along with Gisborne. Throw in Riddell, Woodend and one or two others and establish a league that is worth something. I hate the Ballarat league more than i have ever hated anything. Growing up following Darley in the Riddell league was heaven for a kid. Big crowds along with passionate supporters and players was constant and i feel that these things have been slowly falling away. Ballarat sides lack character and have no rivalries whatsoever. I dont know what it is but i feel jealous at CHFL league or Riddell league games (which is poo footy) when you see large passionate crowds at games and people that would kill for their club.. Why has this been lost? Is it the BFL or is it the clubs themselves. I just want out- i am losing my passion for football in the BFL- The tribunal are liars and thiefs, the umpires cheat (except Roger LeGrand who is fair), Ballarat sides dont have supporters and the quality of football seems to be falling away severely- hell i even know for a fact that some players in senior sides down here have faked injuires or work commitments on more than one occasion to avoid playing Ballarat sides because of the crap grounds and poor competition.. If Brad Miller wasn't my world then i might have only watched a handful of games this year. Thats sad for a life long supporter when his side is on top.. Does anyone feel this way or is the Chief just having a rough day? I just dont enjoy myself in Ballarat...
Agree. Great post.
Ess Kay Warne
12 Aug 2008, 13:32
Agree with all that Chief, apart from the going back to RDFL comment, that would be a serious step backwards. However something has to be done. Games in Ballarat and Ballarat teams in general just bore more senseless. No enthusiasm or atmosphere.
Kings Army
12 Aug 2008, 14:16
Agree with all that Chief, apart from the going back to RDFL comment, that would be a serious step backwards. However something has to be done. Games in Ballarat and Ballarat teams in general just bore more senseless. No enthusiasm or atmosphere.
No doubt it should be looked at. At least Darley, Melton, Melton South and Sunbury have that ex RDFL factor to have a rivalry. Gisborne's rival is Kyneton and with an average winning margain of 120 points in the last 7 years no one cares about that game.
The biggest crowd at a Gisborne game each year is the Sunbury V Gisborne practice match. The VCFL just need to look at the pathetic crowd figures to see that country football is on the decline in regard to interest in games.
Darley look very good this year and are the best team but if you think the Chief gets upset now with the cheating Ballarat umpires wait until Miller or Cheevers or Newman get a red card in the 1st 5 minutes of this years Grand Final - then go onto lose to East Point by a small margin. That is the danger of backing Darley at $1.62.
This is so true. I found the atmosphere 100 X better at the CHFL. I think the biggest factor however is the more family friendly crowd, this is because they have juniors play on the same day making it a day out for all age groups. The majority of the crowds at BFL games however seem to be players and officals. Any friendly rivalry appears to get taken too seriously therefore people arnt showing passion through fear of causing conflict.
*The other thing i think is putting off crowds is the groups of drunk young kids (usually the 18s) who think that constantly bagging out certain opposition players every time they touch the ball is supporting their team!! Usually the same ones who become aggressive should any oppostion crowd do the same thing. Marsh are a classic example! This really needs to be addressed by some clubs. Sebas have a code of conduct forcing players to wait until after half time of seniors before starting to drink. All clubs should look at something like this.
And Kissy, sorry but footage of a darley wanna be who cant kick straight, mouthing off to a sebas ressies player who was trying to hold together his team whilst geting a ass kicking, simply isnt worthy of youtube! Besides i wasnt actually recording but thinking i was did shut that mouth of his down eh? ;)
Kings Army
12 Aug 2008, 15:47
Im not sure that going back to the RDFL is the answer in terms of how much depth the league lacks and the fact that the talent pool definately only contains a shallow end and a shallower end. All in all though the people from these clubs are much more similar and passionate than those of Ballarat teams. I know we slang a fair bit of the preverbial at each other but you will find me guilty of having a beer with blokes from Melton, Melton South, Sunba and even Gisborne people from time to time. I can even remember a few years ago when Sunba beat us in a two's grand final that there was a big group of Darley blokes that headed over to Sunba to spend a day on the sauce with them. Now in all seriousness that would never happen with a Ballarat club. Melton footy club is full of loyal and good people and even though South have serious social issues and a big drug culture even a few of their blokes are pretty good for a laugh.
If Brad Miller or the likes get a red card in the first 5 minutes this year KA then the option of moving back to the RDFL may not be a choice- it will be a forced decision. Miller is captain of the club now and hasn't looked like being sent off all year. He gets smacked every week and wears it- he has grown to become a great captain, mature footballer and responsible father.. Team success means more to Brad than the humiliation of being nailed by another coward tagger. Your right that his record isn't great but his season has been sublime and without a hint of temper. Mark my words- he wont be sent off at any stage!!!! We have enough foot soldiers to square up if need be, but we are enjoying being the hunted because no-one is tough enough to hurt us. The days of Lupsons, Tarczons, Clive Raaks and David Barnes' are gone. We run, we dance, we oil up and we get the girls. Leave the fighting to the Chietont
It does not have to be the RDFL. But Darley, Melton, M/S, Sunbury, Gisborne, Kyneton, Riddell, B/Marsh is a good start - would not care if it was called the DFL (darley football league). Crowds would triple for Gisborne games. And as for having a beer after the game - except for Eaglehawk there would be lucky to be 5 players staying for 1 drink after games. The 1 hour 20 minute drive for some teams after getting beaten is to much for people to stay.
As for rivalry's - the Gisborne juniors play against Sunbury and Darley - kids can play against each other for 8 years - build up a great rivalry and then never get the chance to play against them again.
I understand he has been excpetional this year - things will get even hotter come finals time. Sunbury have recieved red cards in Grand Finals - all caught on video and players have not even got a week at the tribunal. You would think a red card in a Grand Final would be a minimum 4 weeks. What umpires think they see may not always be the case. Especially if Darley are playing East Point - the league would love the merging dogs to win a flag.
Morning Herald
12 Aug 2008, 16:18
It does not have to be the RDFL. But Darley, Melton, M/S, Sunbury, Gisborne, Kyneton, Riddell, B/Marsh is a good start - would not care if it was called the DFL (darley football league). Crowds would triple for Gisborne games. And as for having a beer after the game - except for Eaglehawk there would be lucky to be 5 players staying for 1 drink after games. The 1 hour 20 minute drive for some teams after getting beaten is to much for people to stay.
As for rivalry's - the Gisborne juniors play against Sunbury and Darley - kids can play against each other for 8 years - build up a great rivalry and then never get the chance to play against them again.
I understand he has been excpetional this year - things will get even hotter come finals time. Sunbury have recieved red cards in Grand Finals - all caught on video and players have not even got a week at the tribunal. You would think a red card in a Grand Final would be a minimum 4 weeks. What umpires think they see may not always be the case. Especially if Darley are playing East Point - the league would love the merging dogs to win a flag.
It sounds like you have changed your tune a little KA, and deep down you want the Devils to win this year. You may be a smarter man than blokes give you cridit for, you know Darley are the only side that can beat those merging dogs dont you.
Ess Kay Warne
12 Aug 2008, 16:23
Please no unwarranted red cards in this years grand final. The umpires have single handedly ruined games and reputations a couple of times in the past.
Kings Army
12 Aug 2008, 16:47
It sounds like you have changed your tune a little KA, and deep down you want the Devils to win this year. You may be a smarter man than blokes give you cridit for, you know Darley are the only side that can beat those merging dogs dont you.
Seeing I had Darley and Gisborne in a multi I would not care if Darley won. I will be cashed up and won't need to steal Powers money any more.
And would prefer South, Sunbury, Melton and Darley to the Ballarat sides. South are disappointing, Melton are terrible and Sunbury are on the slide!
WeHateTheDrummer
12 Aug 2008, 18:04
How does the BFL select Grand Final umpires?
Surely if clubs submit 3,2,1 votes for there best umpire the top 3 should get the job.
Throw long service, loyalty & any other political crap out the door and supply the clubs who they acknowledge as the best umpires to umpire the Grand Final???
great man
12 Aug 2008, 18:29
Darley don't need you sucking up KA, just be your normal self and annoy everyone.
Luke1048
12 Aug 2008, 20:38
yes i total agree ,,, what do you's think of todays ballarat hall of fame inducties ? do you reckon there was any body that was unlucky not to get in ?
Kissy Whelan
12 Aug 2008, 22:08
yes i total agree ,,, what do you's think of todays ballarat hall of fame inducties ? do you reckon there was any body that was unlucky not to get in ?
Jay May, stiffest man alive!
WA creep
12 Aug 2008, 22:34
How does the BFL select Grand Final umpires?
Surely if clubs submit 3,2,1 votes for there best umpire the top 3 should get the job.
Throw long service, loyalty & any other political crap out the door and supply the clubs who they acknowledge as the best umpires to umpire the Grand Final???
Most intelligent post on here in 12 months.
Great idea. Would stop umpires blatantly giving decisions based on personal reputations or a dislike for a player/club. It happens in every league.
Maybe Rodney Ward can sneak this one through?
great man
13 Aug 2008, 09:47
bearsboy (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=23875)
BigFooty Member
Brisbane
Re: Ballarat Football League
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kings Army
Is the lightening premiership this weekend? Has a draw come out?
Ive noticed you dont recieve to many responses to your questions, some of the comments posted by you are very ordinary, as i have seen your name on many threads . i feel that you are a very ignorant football follower and only see this great game of ours through your Sunbury glasses. i think you should stop wasting your time on here,because people are sick of morons like you posting absolute one eyed drivel . you obviously have no idea about football , so i suggest you head to a game or two this year to see what it is all about .
Post from 2006 you were popular then also KA
Kings Army
13 Aug 2008, 10:53
bearsboy (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=23875)
BigFooty Member
Brisbane
Re: Ballarat Football League
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kings Army
Is the lightening premiership this weekend? Has a draw come out?
Ive noticed you dont recieve to many responses to your questions, some of the comments posted by you are very ordinary, as i have seen your name on many threads . i feel that you are a very ignorant football follower and only see this great game of ours through your Sunbury glasses. i think you should stop wasting your time on here,because people are sick of morons like you posting absolute one eyed drivel . you obviously have no idea about football , so i suggest you head to a game or two this year to see what it is all about .
Post from 2006 you were popular then also KA
Sunbury glasses? I support Gisborne. And I have been to a game or two. Gisborne V Sth Bendigo on the weekend was a great game. No idea about footy? Can you please let me know your claim to fame? If your Darley have a chat to your coach - we went through the same system together - coaching courses etc. He ended up working at the Under 18 Eastern Rangers which was great for him.
Vineyard
13 Aug 2008, 11:23
East Point downs Sunbury in what amounts to mini final
BY GAVIN MCGRATH
11/08/2008 2:28:00 AM
LAST weekend there were three teams vying for the chance to meet Darley in the 2008 Ballarat Football League qualifying final.
On Saturday that list shrank to one.
East Point has joined the Devils in enjoying the luxury of being able to lose a final and still be in the race for this year's RegionalOne BFL premiership after beating Sunbury in what amounted to a mini final.
For the Kangaroos the victory was the classic "eight point" result _ by beating the Lions, East Point added another win to its tally while preventing Sunbury from doing the same.
While Sunbury came up short against the team that will almost certainly take position two on the ladder, Melton South surrendered its chance of top two against Redan, a team that won't play finals this year. It was a disappointing
result for the team that only two weekends ago was regarded as Darley's greatest threat.
Ominously for Sunbury and Melton South, Lake Wendouree showed that it would be no pushover in any elimination final, the Lakers coming just six points short of beating Darley. While Redan benefited last season from finishing
third and cruising into the second semi final with a "soft" elimination final against Melton, no such luxury awaits the eastern Lions or the Panthers.
There were plenty of positives for Lake Wendouree, despite Saturday's loss. Its hold on sixth remains strong and the performance would give the young Lakers confidence that it can match the teams above it on the ladder.
The positives were even greater for Darley. The Devils proved they can beat quality opposition even on their "flat" days and minus one of their best in Brad Miller, who was a late withdrawal on Saturday. And a number of Darley's younger players showed a level of poise when the contest was there to be won that would indicate they won't be overawed come finals time.
great man
13 Aug 2008, 12:03
Sunbury glasses? I support Gisborne. And I have been to a game or two. Gisborne V Sth Bendigo on the weekend was a great game. No idea about footy? Can you please let me know your claim to fame? If your Darley have a chat to your coach - we went through the same system together - coaching courses etc. He ended up working at the Under 18 Eastern Rangers which was great for him.
Just highlighting the fact that you were as popular in 2006 as you are now. Bearsboy didn't like you then, Everyone dislikes you now.
I don't know whether the post was correct or incorrect. I have no interest to be honest.
I am interested in why you are so unpopular though.
I reckon everyone must be jealous of you so they slander you in here. Hey it's just a thought.
Donegal
13 Aug 2008, 14:21
Won't be long then i was thinking of bringing the barby cheif for out at the rook,did you like steak cheif cause KA will need it for his eye's
Kings Army
13 Aug 2008, 14:31
Great man isn't from Darley KA that i know for a fact but why do you persist in blowing your own horn on how much you know about football when all of those close to you are still saying how big a tool you are. Nobody rates your opinion, your reputation or your ideas on anything to do with life. Your own friends have constantly hummed the tune of your thieving, cheating and episodes of infidelity so stop trying to construct a wall of lies in order to involve yourself in a fairytale that you wish to call your life. You are overweight and unpopular- maybe try spending some of Serge's cash on lap band surgery and a mail order bride and get back to some sort of normality
Not long till the Henderson now.
I love the thieving line! If Chook and Power want to play me in golf they will most likely lose. I give Chook 25 shots over 18. If he can't defend that I have no problem taking his cash.
great man
13 Aug 2008, 15:23
Don't you get sick of trying to justify yourself? Sort of like Elizabeth Taylor saying ouch on her wedding night, it wears thin after the first 500 times.
I work with a guy who thinks he is the best footballer to never play the game, he now believes with the right coaching he would have been better than Akermanis. Continually says he's a burst athlete not an endurance one.
I think you now believe you are a good bloke, because you tell yourself that you are.
pickman
13 Aug 2008, 21:18
I think they were all worthy inductees, as this only the first year of the Hall of Fame concept there are going to be plenty of worthy people miss out but time is still very much of the essence and those who are worthy will get there time in the sun.
I think it's a great concept and also like that it not just about the players as people who have made a significant contribution to the league weather it be on committes, volunteers or media can also be included.
the_other
14 Aug 2008, 09:24
I think they were all worthy inductees, as this only the first year of the Hall of Fame concept there are going to be plenty of worthy people miss out but time is still very much of the essence and those who are worthy will get there time in the sun.
I think it's a great concept and also like that it not just about the players as people who have made a significant contribution to the league weather it be on committes, volunteers or media can also be included.
Hopefully that doesn't inspire anyone to consider Ken Hill.
Yeh apparently something happened on the field and a north city father mouthed of at one of the melton players calling him a dog and a few other things. The melton player mouthed off back and said "come here and have a go then" turned around to walk off and one of his teamates said lookout and he turned around to see the dad running at him and whacked him. Apparently it dropped him and he was out. Not to sure what happened after that, i think there was a blew in the crowed as well
Not picking on u kissy but i heard the incident went something like this, melton player decked a north kid, then another north kid who went to help, was sent off and while walking away a north offical mouthed off at him so he then gave that man a fist full also. Apparantly no 51? :thumbsd:
Surely a lengthy suspension is waranted?
Murph4Captain
14 Aug 2008, 13:53
Why not instead of saying I heard find someone who was actually there and get the real story not the ones that have been fabricated to suit each side.
WeHateTheDrummer
14 Aug 2008, 14:38
Why not instead of saying I heard find someone who was actually there and get the real story not the ones that have been fabricated to suit each side.
This site is the only time i've heard of such of an incident from the Melton v Nth game.
Is the BFL keeping it under wraps after numerous ugly incidents this year and slightly concerned about the way they have handled them?
Also, to jump back towards the umpires regarding Grand Final, it happens in many other country leagues that umpires from higher levels ie; vfl are paid to do country Grand Finals. Is this an option for the BFL to take to get a consistancy?
WeHateTheDrummer
14 Aug 2008, 14:41
Who cares who seen what? Those pellet fed trout that run the tribunal will find the Melton bloke guilty and the North pea heart not guilty merely by the fact that Melton is not found in Ballarat. How do we get these scumbags at the tribunal sacked???? Surely a better system can be established. The AFL system seems logical seeings it is made up of a cross section of intellects and AFL legends. You get all sections of a situation represented and various ideas and opinions raised in order to come to a fair conclusion. I find it hard to believe that a bookworm creep that is an office assistant at a Ballarat hardware company can be a worthy person to understand how hard it is to pull up whilst running full tilt on a cesspit like Lake Wendouree's ground. We need Dave Barnes, Hugh Carey, Steve Gallop, Dean Lupson, Joel Adams, That dude that played like 900 games at full back from Sebas with a bull neck and a mullet and the guy from Lake Wendouree 2's with the mega bald patch that plays in their back line to represent the tribunal. You would be to scared to talk crap to these guys in case they smacked you in the chops mid-hearing, they would know a fib by just looking at you and a fair hearing from fair people would be had. Nobody from East, Nth Ballarat, Ballarat, the Marsh or Sebas ever qualifies to be hard enough to understand the depths of a report- at best we could have one person from this group to represent the side of the victim, as they would be the best ones to understand the point. This would turn the league upside down and for the first time in a decade the strongest sides would survive and not just the best protected. We should be gone with the days of the fastest kids getting a gig because they are nimble and highly skilled. We need to get back to the days of playing fat people like Matt Sutherland who had no skills but could take a hit.
Good to see you ackowledge Redan as tough side Chieftont!
well i had hoped someone from melton would respond!!
Judging by the soapbox reaction from the cheiftont it seems he would rather avoid the actual violence factor and blame the tribunal, when noone seems to know the facts. Being a footy forum i thought this would be the place to find out, silly me!
Murph4Captain
14 Aug 2008, 16:45
well i had hoped someone from melton would respond!!
Judging by the soapbox reaction from the cheiftont it seems he would rather avoid the actual violence factor and blame the tribunal, when noone seems to know the facts. Being a footy forum i thought this would be the place to find out, silly me!
Thats what this forum does blame everything on either the tribunal or the ballarat league it would be nice if people actually make the players responsible for their actions instead of blaming everyone else but that would probably take a little to much intelligence for some people
Morning Herald
14 Aug 2008, 17:27
Thats what this forum does blame everything on either the tribunal or the ballarat league it would be nice if people actually make the players responsible for their actions instead of blaming everyone else but that would probably take a little to much intelligence for some people
Obviously you are a member of 1 of the parties in question. A bit of concistancy accross the board would keep everyone happy, but there are different rules depending on where your side is based its not complaining its just fact. If your a Ballarat club you get kissed on the dick if your from anywhere else you do it the hard way.
Murph4Captain
14 Aug 2008, 17:43
Obviously you are a member of 1 of the parties in question. A bit of concistancy accross the board would keep everyone happy, but there are different rules depending on where your side is based its not complaining its just fact. If your a Ballarat club you get kissed on the dick if your from anywhere else you do it the hard way.
Im not actually you just have to cop it on the chin, you play to the umpires whistle even though some decisions are an absolute joke. Wen you start worrying bout umpires and leagues well you may as well just give up as your not gonna win. I wish i played for a ballarat club it would make playing so much easier!
WeHateTheDrummer
14 Aug 2008, 17:46
Have to agree morning herald.
Also...
Not 100% on this but was told sunday morning by a redan player that a umpire called a South player a smart arse not only once but twice during saturdays game? (Maybe a South person can confirm) Let's just put that the other way round if true...
If a player said that to a umpire
a. Free Kick
b. 50m Penalty
c. Report
I've got no doubt that any umpire would choose 1 of the 3 above.
cobber-not a fan
14 Aug 2008, 18:03
East Point downs Sunbury in what amounts to mini final
BY GAVIN MCGRATH
11/08/2008 2:28:00 AM
LAST weekend there were three teams vying for the chance to meet Darley in the 2008 Ballarat Football League qualifying final.
On Saturday that list shrank to one.
East Point has joined the Devils in enjoying the luxury of being able to lose a final and still be in the race for this year's RegionalOne BFL premiership after beating Sunbury in what amounted to a mini final.
For the Kangaroos the victory was the classic "eight point" result _ by beating the Lions, East Point added another win to its tally while preventing Sunbury from doing the same.
While Sunbury came up short against the team that will almost certainly take position two on the ladder, Melton South surrendered its chance of top two against Redan, a team that won't play finals this year. It was a disappointing
result for the team that only two weekends ago was regarded as Darley's greatest threat.
Ominously for Sunbury and Melton South, Lake Wendouree showed that it would be no pushover in any elimination final, the Lakers coming just six points short of beating Darley. While Redan benefited last season from finishing
third and cruising into the second semi final with a "soft" elimination final against Melton, no such luxury awaits the eastern Lions or the Panthers.
There were plenty of positives for Lake Wendouree, despite Saturday's loss. Its hold on sixth remains strong and the performance would give the young Lakers confidence that it can match the teams above it on the ladder.
The positives were even greater for Darley. The Devils proved they can beat quality opposition even on their "flat" days and minus one of their best in Brad Miller, who was a late withdrawal on Saturday. And a number of Darley's younger players showed a level of poise when the contest was there to be won that would indicate they won't be overawed come finals time.
If it hadn't have been for some undiscipline acts and umpiring decisions in the 2nd half of the last quarter, could have been a different result.
pickman
14 Aug 2008, 20:50
Hopefully that doesn't inspire anyone to consider Ken Hill.
but hopefully it does for The Tiger from 979fm "OOOH UMPIRE THAT'S GARBAGE!!!"
I'm sure he'd be a popular choice with the BFUA :D
merrigan
15 Aug 2008, 00:18
So are you still solving mathematic equations on a black board at Harvard Will Hunting? Whats your degree in strong man? How about you do a thesus on why Darley are games clear on top of the ladder yet they are still running at a 63% free kicks against ratio? The fact that they have only lost one game for the year would suggest they are first to the footy. How about you run this stat- Darley have a 76% free kicks against ratio against Ballarat based sides(which includes the Marsh)? Why is that? Do they lose all football functioning ability against Ballarat based sides? Or do you think that the Ballarat umpires like to drip feed their own in the hope they have some friends to party with in September? Is it because a Sunbury footballer flogged an umpire on an end of season trip that it has ruined it for all of us? Is it that we are harder at the footy than the Ballarat sides and Ballarat umpires memories of their first blood nose in the school yard still haunts them enough to punish the tough guy?
Just give me something you intellectual wizard. Something that i can report back to my club because at present we are stunned!!
Maybe you play outside the rules sometimes? Maybe you do everything well except tackle properly? Maybe it doesn't matter anyway because, as you keep reminding everybody, Darley are well clear on top regardless of your perception that the world isn't fair? Maybe Bacchus Marsh aren't a Ballarat based side except for the purpose of making the stats look a little worse? Maybe you blokes have chips on your shoulders because of the fact you've never been able to beat Lakers or Redan in a final, and rather than cop it on the chin like men, you look for somebody else to blame - like the umpires? Maybe you haven't got your mojo back at all, because while you have been mildly amusing in the past, your latest offerings have been crap? Maybe you should try to pass some of your fading humour onto your loyal snivelling bum wipers noddy9 (I suspect the 9 indicates his age) and chumpy, because their pathetic attempts at humour are about as funny as bowel cancer? - Surely they are an embarrassment to you?
Maybe I'll now cop a torrent of abuse?
Vineyard
15 Aug 2008, 10:15
Police to target football grounds
15/08/2008 1:01:00 AM
BREATH test stations will be set up at the gates of country football grounds in the latest attack on drink driving.
Police will target motorists as they leave grounds across the Ballarat region from this weekend.
Central Goldfields Traffic Management Unit will conduct the operation during the football finals.
And motorists have been warned - drink and drive and you will be caught.
Acting Sergeant Athol Chaffey said police would target drivers at Central Highlands, Lexton Plains, Bendigo, and Maryborough and Castlemaine football league games.
He said drivers planning on drinking alcohol at the football should drink light beer or organise a designated driver.
"The other option is don't drink," he said.
"We ran a similar operation last year and most of the offenders we caught blew between .05 per cent and .1 per cent, so for the majority of people it's not a deliberate act.
"This year we want to be proactive and try and prevent people from drink driving.
"If we can let them know that we will be out in force, then they can't say they weren't warned."
Act Sgt Chaffey said extra police would ensure the operation was a success. Police would target country pubs and other licensed premises after the football season, he said.
Look Doc all sh!t aside i am a violence machine, I just cant get enough of it but in saying that i seriously question its place in modern football.
Forget the tribunal and all crap for a moment! i noticed melton 18s havnt named no51 in the side, this leads me to believe that what i have heard is true. I have no doubt that u lot also know this so u simply change the focus.
If its correct this kid should be penalised by the actual club reguardless of what a tribunal does. Unless this is acceptable from the so called hard clubs?
Chieftont, it might be hard for u to have kids when ur hotdog is always up brad millers bun. :D
Forget the tribunal and all crap for a moment! i noticed melton 18s havnt named no51 in the side, this leads me to believe that what i have heard is true. I have no doubt that u lot also know this so u simply change the focus.
If its correct this kid should be penalised by the actual club reguardless of what a tribunal does. Unless this is acceptable from the so called hard clubs?
Chieftont, it might be hard for u to have kids when ur hotdog is always up brad millers bun. :D
Champaign Comedy DrPoo. No one gives a hoot about no 51 from Melton u 18's.
Its all about no 51 for Darley.
Murph4Captain
15 Aug 2008, 16:24
So are you still solving mathematic equations on a black board at Harvard Will Hunting? Whats your degree in strong man? How about you do a thesus on why Darley are games clear on top of the ladder yet they are still running at a 63% free kicks against ratio? The fact that they have only lost one game for the year would suggest they are first to the footy. How about you run this stat- Darley have a 76% free kicks against ratio against Ballarat based sides(which includes the Marsh)? Why is that? Do they lose all football functioning ability against Ballarat based sides? Or do you think that the Ballarat umpires like to drip feed their own in the hope they have some friends to party with in September? Is it because a Sunbury footballer flogged an umpire on an end of season trip that it has ruined it for all of us? Is it that we are harder at the footy than the Ballarat sides and Ballarat umpires memories of their first blood nose in the school yard still haunts them enough to punish the tough guy?
Just give me something you intellectual wizard. Something that i can report back to my club because at present we are stunned!!
Well obviously the umpiring hasn't effected darley that much as they have only lost one game for the year. Good teams and players dont get effected by the umpire and will continue to go and win the ball. My suggestion would be for darley to keep playing the football they are. You own statistics prove that if the team is better they will win. The cream will always rise to the top.
Kissy Whelan
15 Aug 2008, 16:26
Have to agree morning herald.
Also...
Not 100% on this but was told sunday morning by a redan player that a umpire called a South player a smart arse not only once but twice during saturdays game? (Maybe a South person can confirm) Let's just put that the other way round if true...
If a player said that to a umpire
a. Free Kick
b. 50m Penalty
c. Report
I've got no doubt that any umpire would choose 1 of the 3 above.
On that drummer in the darley vs south game one of my teamates was called a dic*head by a boundary umpire and reported for kicking the ball straight back to the central umpire. I can confirm this because i heard it.
KWO
Why doesnt someone put in a complaint re these incidents?
Its not just the west melb sides that umpires make mistakes in, so stop being so dramatic about that.
where can the offical rules be found? i would like to do a bit of research myself as there was no yellow cards or even a warning for one of the kids i know and he was red carded and suspended for a week for saying take off ur red jumper.
Maybe the umpires association needs to make a clear set of basic rules and ensure these are followed, if not followed then tribunal must not hear it.
Also umpires should get paid alot more money for what they do in return for more training about dealing with different behaviours to get that consistency, if u want more from them u need to give a reason, make it more attractive to people.
i dont care if u dont care so dont care if i care
Darwin Dog
15 Aug 2008, 17:09
Chief you have at times been mildly amusing. If you have your mojo back then you aren't much. In fact I know you're not much. You're only on here leaving 10 posts a day because Darley are on top and you have some spare time during gym sessions with Ziggy. If Darley were underachieveing like they have for years no-one would be reading your rot.
You're an average footballer with more freckles than skin & you're like a leech living of the Darley ''players'' success.
By the way, no-one will ever take the title of worst footballer to win the George King from you.
Kissy Whelan
15 Aug 2008, 18:28
Why doesnt someone put in a complaint re these incidents?
Its not just the west melb sides that umpires make mistakes in, so stop being so dramatic about that.
where can the offical rules be found? i would like to do a bit of research myself as there was no yellow cards or even a warning for one of the kids i know and he was red carded and suspended for a week for saying take off ur red jumper.
Maybe the umpires association needs to make a clear set of basic rules and ensure these are followed, if not followed then tribunal must not hear it.
Also umpires should get paid alot more money for what they do in return for more training about dealing with different behaviours to get that consistency, if u want more from them u need to give a reason, make it more attractive to people.
i dont care if u dont care so dont care if i care
Thats an awesome idea doctor make a complaint against an umpire, they'd be sure to look after the devils then. As if they wouldn't crucify any club that made a complaint about them. They are untouchable, just the way they would have liked it in high school. Frigids!
And that attitude sounds like the little kid who ran home from school everyday and cried into his pillow about the bullies but didnt tell anyone or fight back. some people sook moan waffle and complain others go about and try to change things. besides if the umps are already so much against darley then it couldnt really get any worse now could it??
Darwin Dog
15 Aug 2008, 20:52
Chief your mojo is back! That was the funniest thing I've read on here. I'm just gonna fade into the background as another shot down victim. That post just owned me.
merrigan
16 Aug 2008, 02:20
Chief your mojo is back! That was the funniest thing I've read on here. I'm just gonna fade into the background as another shot down victim. That post just owned me.
Oh was it pure chumpy ownage man? YEAH he must really have his mojo back. Oh GOD! I've barely been able to contain my laughter at the chiefs funny posts.
Maybe you are a virgin BIG chief, maybe you just talk about all the chicks youv'e porked.
Steve MONAGETTI eh? Funniest thing you've ever written? Let me guess? You went to Bacchus Marsh High?
By the way, who is Darleys biggest export? Heath Scotland maybe? HA HA! That could have been one of your funniest jokes chief, sorry to steal that one. If not Heath maybe Shaun Deckert? He's really tough and strong and handsome, just like the chief. Sorry for that, another Robbie Murism.
Actually, speaking of Robbie, I think he might have played VFL. Of course he didn't play AFL like the great Heath. Is there anyone else from Darley that has played in the VFL/AFL? Maybe Travi 'Fat Boy' Minns is still a chance for a rookie list somewhere, as long as he can win his weight contest with Hutchie.
You might have been able to claim Dougie Hawkins, except he went to Bacchus Marsh didn't he. Oh well, you've always got Dougie Berry.
Come on Chief, own me, you're soooo cool. Show me your mojo noddy
Youknowhim
16 Aug 2008, 19:11
Oh was it pure chumpy ownage man? YEAH he must really have his mojo back. Oh GOD! I've barely been able to contain my laughter at the chiefs funny posts.
Maybe you are a virgin BIG chief, maybe you just talk about all the chicks youv'e porked.
Steve MONAGETTI eh? Funniest thing you've ever written? Let me guess? You went to Bacchus Marsh High?
By the way, who is Darleys biggest export? Heath Scotland maybe? HA HA! That could have been one of your funniest jokes chief, sorry to steal that one. If not Heath maybe Shaun Deckert? He's really tough and strong and handsome, just like the chief. Sorry for that, another Robbie Murism.
Actually, speaking of Robbie, I think he might have played VFL. Of course he didn't play AFL like the great Heath. Is there anyone else from Darley that has played in the VFL/AFL? Maybe Travi 'Fat Boy' Minns is still a chance for a rookie list somewhere, as long as he can win his weight contest with Hutchie.
You might have been able to claim Dougie Hawkins, except he went to Bacchus Marsh didn't he. Oh well, you've always got Dougie Berry.
Come on Chief, own me, you're soooo cool. Show me your mojo noddy
Hey Guys, after a bit of an absence on the BF scene, YNH is back and thanks you all for the claps and sighs of relif he is still around...
Merrigan, why would the chief even waste his time on a hack like you?
The footy club has been doing the talking...Oh and they did again today...winning ANOTHER game...im sure your sitting at home crossing your fingers and toes hoping one day you to can play for a great club like the devils.
I can tell you now the chief is not a virgin either, I have seen some of the stunning ladies he has been with and 99.97% of them would have been a walk up start on the price is right if that show was still on the air.
What about the other .03% I hear you say
The other .03% of ladies were stunning but just missed the cut as entries for Miss Universe (4th and 5th respectivley)
Anyway I know and appreciate im not as humerous as the Chief and im not trying to be, but the truth is the chief, noddy, chumpy, YNH and Michael Phelps are alot better than you.
YNH 1
Merrigan 0
Until next time
YNH
Morning Herald
17 Aug 2008, 19:31
I see the BFL had a representitive inspecting Darley park on the weekend. They are already looking for an excuse to move the first final . If the Devil dome is good enough to play home and away games on than its good to play finals football on.
But im sure the BFL will come up with some excuse as if the ladder remains as is there will be no finals in ballarat in the first week of finals surely that cant be healthy for the league.
If they do not allow Darley a home final it is an absolute joke.
WeHateTheDrummer
18 Aug 2008, 15:27
If they dont allow it then i am gonna egg the leagues club- end of story... Deep down who cares about the finals anyway, im more interested in how far Brad Miller is gonna win the Henderson by..
There could be 2 henderson medals heading to Darley Park... last game this week could determine that...
Also to South, reasons for why Sutton was unavailable??? Surely with your club on the eve of finals you'd be putting your club 1st or was a serious reason for his unavailabilty?
Hotdog32
18 Aug 2008, 15:38
There could be 2 henderson medals heading to Darley Park... last game this week could determine that...
Also to South, reasons for why Sutton was unavailable??? Surely with your club on the eve of finals you'd be putting your club 1st or was a serious reason for his unavailabilty?
He is in Bejing.
Ess Kay Warne
18 Aug 2008, 15:41
He's in Beijing, went to Olympics. Still does not excuse the loss to the Marsh, even without Sutts, should still have beaten them. Wheels have fallen off the Panthers.
Newmans injury will be huge for the Devils. I bet there are a few teams glad Redan can't make it.
pickman
18 Aug 2008, 19:02
He is in Bejing.
So that's why Steph Rice gave Eamon Sullivan his marching orders! :D
sunba boys
18 Aug 2008, 21:16
He's in Beijing, went to Olympics. Still does not excuse the loss to the Marsh, even without Sutts, should still have beaten them. Wheels have fallen off the Panthers.
Newmans injury will be huge for the Devils. I bet there are a few teams glad Redan can't make it.
yeah i think every team is glad redan didnt make the finals, with the form on the weekend i believe they can defeat anybody on their day. some impressive stuff i saw from the sideline and i say that as a sunbury man. we will work back into form for the first final
Bdiddy18
18 Aug 2008, 22:12
Yeah Suttons omission from the side was a suprise and the fact that he got a gig in the Olympics was a proud moment for Melton South. This years acceptance of Poison ball by the IOC was frowned upon by most countries however the Aussies have gotten right behind their side and our chance to win team gold in the event was bolstered by the inclusion of Sutton and McMahon who are coming off personal best seasons in the game by only touching a ball on 3 occasions collectively. Newmans injury wont hurt the devils because we have Minns (the best small forward in the comp). Throw in the best grab in the comp (edwards) Travis "9 goals" Stevenson, Clinton "Indigenous" Young and Lee "Dougy" Shaw and thats what premierships are made of. Oh lets not forget Bradley "the father of my children, kicker of 5 goals a week under heavy tag- a.k.a- best player in the whole world" Miller and we are unstoppable. As long as Lex Luther doesn't appear with some Kryptonite then Superman will carry us to victory...
Ok Miller is a great player agreed but how come he did not make it down at Richmond??
pickman
18 Aug 2008, 22:56
Ok Miller is a great player agreed but how come he did not make it down at Richmond??
I'll save the Darley lads some time and do the response for them
"Brad Miller wanted to play for a team that will win a premiership in our lifetimes, hence he plays for Darley.
Darley is the greatest team in the world, woo-hoo I want to have Brad Miller's babies" :D (have I got my impersonation right chieftont? :p)
Seriously though he is a super player in this comp and would be in any country and suburban comp but was always going to be one of the players who were going to guns are local level but just not quite up to AFL standard
merrigan
20 Aug 2008, 00:01
Okay guys we have a genius on our hands here- tread carefully. Comedy is your strong suit champo, stick at it.
Maybe i am virgin? you have got to be kidding- i have the footage to prove it and it can be found at chiefwithbigbat.com if you dare to look it up. The old lady on the happy sack might look familiar- i think you might refer to her as mum... Yes Steve Monagetti is correct... are you going to send a reply to my line about that slow running tooth pick or are you just trying to plagiarise parts of my passage in the hope of sounding partially like the great man? I dont know if Heath would be one of Bacchus Marsh's greatest exports seeings he was born in the city and resided his life in Blackwood but if your asking if he is one of Darley footy clubs greatest exports then of course he would be. Alongside Marcus Whelan of course who won a Brownlow medal but hey that is just a little insignificant medal anyway. Travie Minns might just be what the doctor ordered for a rookie list seeings he is the premier small forward in the comp with the best kciking for goal average in the whole state. All of you clowns cant see past the waste line which is the reason he kicks 3 or 4 every week he isn't needed in the midfield. If you spent more time cleaning up your own back yard then you might find that we pay Trav $70 a week to do more than what Fat Hutchy does at East and he is on $900 a week with 16 dozen Krispy Kremes and a tonne of wood.
Shaun is also a great export for us and whether or not he meets your criteria of looks he certainly doesn't have any trouble getting them. Shaun has been sneaking of from 5 venues in the past month to do the wild thing with a few lovely's- (no names mentioned but a few crackers). The Marsh can have Hawkins as he fits the mould of your average Marsh supporter- overweight with a speech problem. Doug only has anything to do with the Marsh juniors anyway because he doesn't like Buggs and Magpie. It all works well for us because any good Marsh juniors end up with us or at Gordon so let them breed the youth of our club, its less cordial we need to supply.
Good to see that you acknowledge Doug Berry. Played in 2 premierships himself and coached 3. Thats more than most Ballarat sides have been involved in for the past 20 years. You can have Robbie Muir and his alcohol problems and his court cases for things i dont wish to mention- he is a public humiliation and we still have Brad Miller. Brad Miller is the best player in the whole world and your not!!!
Did Tony Lockett win a Brownlow? Might have won a few Coleman Medals as well I think.
Moneghetti won the Tokyo and Berlin marathons and had top ten finishes in many others, including two Olympic games. Yeah thats nothing compared to the great chief. If you'd ever done anything of importance or were good at anything you wouldn't be telling everybody how good you are and running everyone else down. Oh sorry you're good at being funny though aren't you. How about putting one of these:D in everytime you write something that is supposed to be funny so I know when it's time to laugh.
My mother is dead, I suppose she'd be just your type, she wouldn't be able to get away from you you classless gutter dweller.
the_other
20 Aug 2008, 09:49
Whatever clown. Your a city and we are a town and you have still produced squat compared to us except for the dustiest lake in the world, a poor climate and ugly people. Monagetti won Marathons when Africans werent competing, Thats like winning a Melbourne cup racing against shetland ponies, hell even Rob Decastella said that he was "at best an average runner".
I dont need to tell everybody how good i am because everybody else is already saying it. You tried to be funny and run down the chief but you got beat like a lippy wife on once were warriors. Now you are tucking the tail between the legs and trying to work the sympathy angle- well i am not sympatheitc to you, so find a new angle. Keep buying the Courier because believe it or not i will be featuring in it in the near future for outstanding sporting achievement. When it appears you can tell all your friends that you had a cyber fight with that great man and lost a unanimous points decision. Dont be sad though- as the paper will say, No-one has beaten the Chief.... Catch me at the Henderson medal cheering my future husband on to personal glory ahead of our Grand final day celebrations..
I feel sorry for you that you believe that your semi-litterate ramblings contain such wit and wisdom. It must be a tough life.
I think my enjoyment of this thread would have been greatly enhanced if I had have left you on ignore. I won't make the same mistake twice.
How funny would it be if Darley choked in finals again this year?
I feel sorry for you that you believe that your semi-litterate ramblings contain such wit and wisdom. It must be a tough life.
I think my enjoyment of this thread would have been greatly enhanced if I had have left you on ignore. I won't make the same mistake twice.
How funny would it be if Darley choked in finals again this year?
I dont think Darley have ever choked, if anything they have over achieved. We have always been around the 4th - 6th best side and with the help of great coaches in Baker, Elliott, and Power have managed to get the best out of ourselves and finish close to a grand final a few times.
This year we have got our best opportunity, lead by a great coach in Learmonth, things are looking OK.
the_other
20 Aug 2008, 15:12
I dont think Darley have ever choked, if anything they have over achieved. We have always been around the 4th - 6th best side and with the help of great coaches in Baker, Elliott, and Power have managed to get the best out of ourselves and finish close to a grand final a few times.
This year we have got our best opportunity, lead by a great coach in Learmonth, things are looking OK.
Yeah, that is probably a fair enough statement, I retract the choke again line.
Kings Army
20 Aug 2008, 17:14
This year is no different, nobody expected us to finish anywhere yet we have. We have only recruited 3 blokes which is nothing compared to alot of sides but we have recruited the best and are still in the bottom half of money spending teams i would suggest. Miller is the best player in the world and is on barely enough to pay for his family to get in the gate and a pie after the game (he loves pies). We have over achieved again and the only difference is that this year the kids are a few years older and arent letting it slip. Just a little reminder on home grown youth being developed into senior footballers. This year, 8 players have played in our senior side that played in the same under 16 team eight years ago. Lexi Miller coached that side and they finished on the bottom of the ladder but developing them into senior footballers was his goal. As the year progressed they closed the losing margins constantly and by the end of their under 18's top age year 14 of them had played senior football. This type of development is the envy of our cross town rivals and their inability to maintain good juniors into their senior division is the reason why they are a seconds footy club. People talk about Newman, Cheevers and Edwards being the reasons for our success and i do tend to agree with them to an extent because these guys are polished but in my eyes the driving force comes from Brad Miller, Travis Minns, Drew Edwards, Clinton Young, Lee Freestone, David Young etc etc etc because they know each other inside out and would go to war for their mates. Our motto is "dont play on us, dont fight us and by all means keep your netballers away from us".
Where are the juniors going next year Chief? They have made a submission to leave the RDFL. Have heard both the BFL and the WRFL. Not certain why they would want and go and play against Hoppers Crossing???
where Are The Juniors Going Next Year Chief? They Have Made A Submission To Leave The Rdfl. Have Heard Both The Bfl And The Wrfl. Not Certain Why They Would Want And Go And Play Against Hoppers Crossing???
No One Cares About The Juniors!!!!!!!!
Not true, no one cares when YOU are talking juniors.
Ess Kay Warne
20 Aug 2008, 17:54
Stop changing user names you schitzo, theres medication for that, gee dont overdose...now thats a funny line aint it.
You will all be glad that my love of football has gone, distroyed by the egomaniacs who are nasty nasty people.
And the down right violence that no one gives a shit about!
But maybe i will keep posting just to keep piss you all off, after all if you respond im not on ignore!
Hey kid, nobody has any idea what you are on about. And if you are trying to be funny, it aint working.
Keep posting then strongman because at the end of the day you are not annoying anyone you are just making yourself look like more of a bigger tosser than you already are...
You still have not to date posted anything amusing or for that matter worth reading at all so how about you do yourself a favour and come up with something intelligent rather than being the site pest that everyone has come to know you for...
Yeah, that is probably a fair enough statement, I retract the choke again line.choke well here we go again , such a strong standing from a quality run outfit as in south , near finals and just will not stand up under pressure . the last four weeks lost to darley , redan and the marsh ,i told u postie they are coached bad too many yes men and will not succeed with players sorry mates that are picked week in week out..........but i will say this out in straight sets and
another year wasted .....................but u no postie lol
Keep posting then strongman because at the end of the day you are not annoying anyone you are just making yourself look like more of a bigger tosser than you already are...
You still have not to date posted anything amusing or for that matter worth reading at all so how about you do yourself a favour and come up with something intelligent rather than being the site pest that everyone has come to know you for...
Thats ok, i forgot i was a tosser thanks for the reminder.
For now i will return to my studies and all going well might just land myself a job where we meet again under offical circumstances..who knows?? Dont miss me while im gone now will ya.
Vineyard
21 Aug 2008, 10:03
Where are the juniors going next year Chief? They have made a submission to leave the RDFL. Have heard both the BFL and the WRFL. Not certain why they would want and go and play against Hoppers Crossing???
I have heard that the BFL put together a very good proposal to follow the seniors into the Ballarat league which is by far a more professionally organised league and an increased standard of junior football.
This may mean that devils players are aligned with the Rebels TAC because at the moment they are headed to the jets whist marsh players go to the rebels???
Murph4Captain
22 Aug 2008, 00:40
Maybe Kings Army can shed some light on the coaching plans that Gisborne have in place for next year regarding a certain little man by the name of Mark Power? I have it from what i would regard as a super source that he has already approached a large portion of the Riddell playing group (all of whom work for him) and told them that they will be playing at Gisborne or they will be finding work elsewhere (much in the same trend of his older brother). Just wouldn't mind a clarification on the issue seeings that Serge lives in the area. I have personally heard him say that he hates Gisborne however his brother said every week at Darley that he hated Sunbury more than he hated anything but even he went back... How much does money talk? or how much of what they say can be believed? Fill us in fat boy.
Having spoken to Serge a couple of weeks ago I am certain that he will be coaching somewhere next year. Where I am not sure but he didn't rule out Sunbury either so will be interesting to see where he ends up.
bearsboy
22 Aug 2008, 09:45
Maybe Kings Army can shed some light on the coaching plans that Gisborne have in place for next year regarding a certain little man by the name of Mark Power? I have it from what i would regard as a super source that he has already approached a large portion of the Riddell playing group (all of whom work for him) and told them that they will be playing at Gisborne or they will be finding work elsewhere (much in the same trend of his older brother). Just wouldn't mind a clarification on the issue seeings that Serge lives in the area. I have personally heard him say that he hates Gisborne however his brother said every week at Darley that he hated Sunbury more than he hated anything but even he went back... How much does money talk? or how much of what they say can be believed? Fill us in fat boy.With the hatred Power has shown towards the Gisborne fc over the years i find it very hard to believe that he could end up coaching them.
I also have a feeling he would be up against a couple of very handy candidates if he was to apply for the job anyway.
The other thing is Barham is no certainty to leave, with 3 grand final appearances and 2 flags, possibly another on the way from his 3 years why would he ?
Vineyard
22 Aug 2008, 09:56
No drought for the Lakies in BFL
21/08/2008 11:57:00 PM
SO tight are places in the bottom half of the Ballarat Football League top six that Ballarat could finish the home-and-away season anywhere between sixth and fourth.
For at least part of the equation, the Dahlsens Swans' destiny will be in their own hands as they take on Lake Wendouree at Dahslens Park tomorrow.
Ballarat had the better of the Lakers last time the teams met in round 11, but Swans' coach John Northey said the stakes are now raised as the two teams battle for position in the finals.
"We have three teams from six, fifth and fourth all vying for a stronger position," Northey said.
"We have to win, it's the most important thing. The rewards for winning will be very good for us - a much better run in the finals.
"It is an important game for Lake Wendouree as well, so we're expecting a very torrid tussle."
If it can beat the Lakers, Ballarat will be looking to the results of the "other" big match of the round between Melton South and Sunbury, for its chance to move up the ladder. But that only comes into play if the Swans win at home.
Ballarat has been strengthened by the return of Aaron Brennan from an illness. Josh Caldow comes back from North Ballarat due to the Roosters' reserves having a bye, while Corey Grills and Daniel Thompson come up from the reserves.
Lake Wendouree's team looks far more settled. Ben Taylor and Les Hughes come in for Chris Madden and Michael Davies.
Northey said one reason for the gulf between the Swans' best and worst had been the team's inability to field the same 21 each week. That and the team's relative inexperience compared with last season.
"We haven't had one week this year when we have been able to name the same side as the previous week," Northey explained.
"Last year we had maybe a bit more experience too, compared with this year. We are missing a few players like Mathew Battistello, Ryan Harris and Danny Finn from last season, so we are behind at this point in terms of experience.
"But I think the team is happy to be in the finals again and I'm sure we will give a fairly good account of ourselves. More than last year we can't rely on individuals, we need to have a team effort." PREDICTION: Lake Wendouree by five points
bearsboy
22 Aug 2008, 11:04
This is my exact train of thought however i am swaying with my opinion due to the source that i received this from. I am not saying it is sign sealed because i am yet to get 100% of the details but there is definately some strong signs there. His best mate is chairman of selectors, chief stats taker and town joke remember!!! If Barham wanted it then you would assume he should walk straight in but stranger things have happenedI personally dont think Serge would get the job anyway
Kings Army
22 Aug 2008, 11:06
Maybe Kings Army can shed some light on the coaching plans that Gisborne have in place for next year regarding a certain little man by the name of Mark Power? I have it from what i would regard as a super source that he has already approached a large portion of the Riddell playing group (all of whom work for him) and told them that they will be playing at Gisborne or they will be finding work elsewhere (much in the same trend of his older brother). Just wouldn't mind a clarification on the issue seeings that Serge lives in the area. I have personally heard him say that he hates Gisborne however his brother said every week at Darley that he hated Sunbury more than he hated anything but even he went back... How much does money talk? or how much of what they say can be believed? Fill us in fat boy.
Riddell has met with him to take over from Scooter next year. Saying that Power would prefer to coach Gisborne. Better league and more professional club. No problems getting over is playing hatred for Gisborne. That went a long time ago. It would be like someone leaving Darley to coach Daylesford or someone leaving Darley to coach Melton South! There would be a few players that would follow - the Lobbs, Carriss, Robertson, Kega and maybe even Tim Mc to strenthgen the 2's.
Would be surprised if he went back to Sunbury but who knows - you got it right when you mentioned Libba won't see the 2nd year of his contract.
Kings Army
22 Aug 2008, 11:11
I personally dont think Serge would get the job anyway
You maybe suprised Bears Boy. His presentation to Sunbury a few years back was very good for a man with a limited IQ. If Marcus left as well as Jordy, Fitzy, McKenzie and others you would need someone that could get a lot of very good players in order to stay near the top. My money is on Marcus staying but don't right off the chance you and Serge will be arm in arm singing the theme song next year.