View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
Creeker35
7 Oct 2008, 12:32
Robbie Waters?
Spot on.:thumbsu:
WeHateTheDrummer
7 Oct 2008, 14:35
What other movers and shakers are there?
Redan - Out Field so far
In Peace, Waight, Horbury so far
Kings Army
8 Oct 2008, 09:39
Whats the go with all the Darley posters? Have they all been banned? The Chief is banned - Are Chumpy, Little Chief and Noddy still able to post?
Creeker35
8 Oct 2008, 10:44
Whats the go with all the Darley posters? Have they all been banned? The Chief is banned - Are Chumpy, Little Chief and Noddy still able to post?
They seem to have all disappeared? What's going on Mod?
the_other
8 Oct 2008, 10:54
There are a couple of articles in the Courier today...
Miller pays final price at BFL Tribunal
BY GAVIN MCGRATH
8/10/2008 4:00:00 AM
DARLEY'S post-grand final pain has been amplified by the Devils' skipper Brad Miller being rubbed out for two weeks by the Ballarat Football League tribunal at a hearing last night.Miller was given the penalty after being found guilty of a charge of engaging in rough conduct against Ballarat's Brad Anderson during the club's heart-breaking RegionalOne BFL grand final loss.
The incident that saw both players sent off for 15 minutes of the do-or-die final term.
It was followed by a general melee at three-quarter time involving players and spectators.
The joint The Courier BFL Footballer of the Year will now miss the opening two matches of the 2009 season.
And the Devils will also be without Lachlan Herring for two matches after the tribunal suspended the live-wire forward on a charge of abusive language against umpire Brian Edwards.
Miller had been reported by umpire Edwards at the end of the third quarter of last month's grand final after he grappled with Anderson, who ended up short of breath on the ground.
Edwards said Miller put both hands around Anderson's throat and threw him to the ground in a forceful manner.
Miller argued that he pushed the Ballarat player out of the way.
After viewing video evidence the tribunal said there was enough evidence to sustain the charge.
"The conduct was deemed unreasonable and unnecessary, and maybe caused the melee that followed," the tribunal said.
"(Miller) was penalised by being off the ground for 15-minutes of the grand final and that may have cost Darley some momentum in the match. I think (Miller) has been been penalised enough in regard to that (melee) so the penalty
is two matches for the incident."
Miller said he was surprised by the guilty verdict but insisted the two weeks was less of a penalty than the 15 minutes he was sent off for during the grand final itself.
"There is no doubt (the send off) was worse than two weeks. Fifteen minutes of footy in a grand final is worth more than two weeks," Miller said.
"I won't comment (on the umpire's evidence) because I don't want to get in more trouble."
The Darley champion, who has had two previous tribunal appearances, denied the incident cost the Devils the grand final.
He said the team's woeful kicking at goal and a scoreline of 10 goals 20 behinds was the main culprit.
The penalty could have been more severe if not for the skilful defence presented by Darley player advocate Randall Cape, who argued the contact was less forceful than other incidents during the match, and that Miller had grabbed
Anderson with just one hand, not two.
Earlier Herring pleaded guilty to the abusive language charge in that he called Edwards a "cheat" after the Dahlsens Swans won by five points from an Ash Baker kick after the siren.
"It hurts me that they had to pin the loss on me," Edwards said while giving evidence. "You take that sort of comment to heart."
A remorseful Herring said it was a spur of the moment thing triggered by the heartbreaking nature of the loss.
A striking charge against Darley's David Young was thrown out because the reporting umpire, who was absent from the hearing, failed to provide a statutory declaration with his written evidence.
And a charge of striking against Brad Anderson was also thrown out after the umpire viewed the evidence and admitted a case of mistaken identity.and
Northey to stay head coach
8/10/2008 4:00:00 AM
PREMIERSHIP winning coach John Northey has re-signed with the Ballarat Football Club for 2009.Northey, who led the Swans to the 2008 BFL flag, will become head coach next year and will be joined by Shaun O'Loughlan who was appointed to the role of senior coach.
Club president Shane Manley said the club would introduce an "elite performance" squad so younger players could be blooded as they rose through the junior ranks.
"It's designed to fast track our junior players toward senior team status in one of the major country football leagues," he said.
"(Northey) will continue to have direct responsibility for the senior team and will control all aspects of their operations and will also continue to act as the mentor to the up and coming senior football coach in Shaun O'Loughlan."
Manley said he was confident O'Loughlan would make a good coach after spending time last season with two AFL clubs to develop his skills.
Northey said he was confident the Dahlsens Swans would have another good season next year.
"We are feeling reasonably good obviously after the (premiership) win we had this year," he said.
"With the players we have retained we should have another good year."
WeHateTheDrummer
8 Oct 2008, 11:07
Miller 2 weeks for rough contact?
Very stiff for just grabbing a bloke around the throat.
Just another fantastic end of the year from the tribunal.
yeah i can still post. not much to post on at the moment. i have seen the video of the miller incident. 2 weeks wat a joke. it was a free kick at best. an y wasnt he offered weeks after the game?
Ess Kay Warne
8 Oct 2008, 11:53
There were punches thrown, and Miller gets 2 for pushing a bloke. What a disgrace. Even Herring getting 2 weeks for telling the truth and calling the umps cheats.
mintonconnell
8 Oct 2008, 12:03
Yes but would punches have been thrown if Miller hadn't of done that? I've got a feeling the league wanted to penalise him because he was the one that started the whole thing. And the league/umpires should be very thankful that Ballarat won, because they sent off Anderson who's charge then got thrown out. Played with 17 men and now they have admitted that it was wrong, could have cost the Swans the flag. That perhaps could be another reason Miller was found guilty, because had he got off it would mean that he shouldnt have been sent off also and makes the umpires look very very silly. The umpires need to be 200% sure when sending people off, especially in a Grand Final where so much is at stake, unfortunately it looks like they got it all wrong this time.
Kings Army
8 Oct 2008, 12:10
Yes but would punches have been thrown if Miller hadn't of done that? I've got a feeling the league wanted to penalise him because he was the one that started the whole thing. And the league/umpires should be very thankful that Ballarat won, because they sent off Anderson who's charge then got thrown out. Played with 17 men and now they have admitted that it was wrong, could have cost the Swans the flag. That perhaps could be another reason Miller was found guilty, because had he got off it would mean that he shouldnt have been sent off also and makes the umpires look very very silly. The umpires need to be 200% sure when sending people off, especially in a Grand Final where so much is at stake, unfortunately it looks like they got it all wrong this time.
Would not be the 1st time they have made major mistakes with send offs in a Grand Final. They panic far to easily when it gets heated.
Vineyard
8 Oct 2008, 12:39
Would not be the 1st time they have made major mistakes with send offs in a Grand Final. They panic far to easily when it gets heated.
because they (some umpires) think they are more important than what they are. Surely herring shouldnt have even been reported. a bit of common sense from the umpire to realise the disappointment the player has just suffered after losing the game. Not condoning it but where is the common sense. Plus the sledging that bloke gives when umpiring is pretty full on but cant cop it back.
The umpires didnt affect the grand final at all though. bad kicking cost the devils.
Shagford
8 Oct 2008, 12:53
because they (some umpires) think they are more important than what they are. Surely herring shouldnt have even been reported. a bit of common sense from the umpire to realise the disappointment the player has just suffered after losing the game. Not condoning it but where is the common sense. Plus the sledging that bloke gives when umpiring is pretty full on but cant cop it back.
The umpires didnt affect the grand final at all though. bad kicking cost the devils.
Pic's in Courier dont look to good.
miller 2 hands digging into throat
Herring looks like making contact.......
http://www.thecourier.com.au/slideshowplayer.aspx?id=3788
Kings Army
8 Oct 2008, 13:18
The push for a "Goldfields League" is gaining momentum. Ballarat and Bendigo to merge to create a super league. Top 5 from each comp in 2009 to be in Div 1 in 2010.
Ballarat
Eaglehawk
Darley
Golden Sqaure
Sunbury
Gisborne
East Point
South Bendigo
Maryborough
Redan
Div 2
Marsh
Castlemaine
Kangaroo Flat
Lake Wendouree
Melton
Kyneton
Nth Ballarat
Melton South
Sebastopool
Strathfieldsaye
Sandhurst
Relegation System - 2 up and 2 down.
Home Finals system
Not as many floggings. The divide between the good and bad is now massive
Who wants to watch these games:
Gisborne - 27.28 - 190
Kyneton - 4.6 - 30
Golden Square - 25.20 - 170
Sandhurst - 2.7 - 19
or
Ballarat - 26.19 - 175
Sebas - 3.3 - 21
East Point - 31.15 - 201
Melton - 7.6 - 48
Supporters and club officials could now see their club be competitive in most matches. Most teams above would like their chances of winning a flag in either Division. Run a book on those 2 Divisions - Good luck!Struggling clubs can be in Div 2 and not get flogged week in and week out. Not need to look to "lesser" leagues to be competitive. Daylesford etc
Gisborne, Darley, Melton South, Melton and Sunbury all ex RDFL. Less travel for these teams. Bendigo V Ballarat teams could build rivilarlies over time due to the level of contests.
Maybe a little more travel for the others - but if the comp is better who cares?
The Ballarat league will get to see Fishers tatts running around again - always good for a laugh.
Ballarat to Bendigo is less than Ballarat to Sunbury and the same as Ballarat to Melton/Melton South.
Block busters!
Eaglehawk V Darley
Gisborne V Sunbury
Golden Sqaure V Ballarat
Redan V South Bendigo
All great games but who will the umps favour now?? Bendigo, Ballarat, East, West or ex RDFL????
The only people trying to hold this up are some of the league administrators as their will not be as many jobs if the 2 leagues merge. Care heaps most of them bludge anyway.
Bring the game back to the supporters - the crowds would increase significantly as the standard of games increase.
Hey chump - I know it is a lot to read but maybe you could give your opinion on this? Or does the pounding in your head start if you have to strain to think for yourself. yeah.
Keep the bounce
8 Oct 2008, 13:51
Some results from Redan's presentation night
Redan Football Netball Club Presentation Evening
Football, Netball & Service Awards 2008
Senior Football
Dalton Bayly Trophy for Best & Fairest
Jarrod Edwards
Senior Football Runner Up
Matt Pitt
Emerging Leader
Matt Pitt
Best First Year Player
Isaac Smith
Most Improved
Matt Miller
Goal Kicking
Paul McMahon 25 goals
Most Valuable Player
Jarrod Edwards
As voted by players
Reserves Football
Redan Football Netball Club
Reserves Best & Fairest
Matt McMahon
Runner Up
Carl Morandi
Most Improved
Anthony Kilmartin
Coaches Award
Eammon Gill
Most Consistent
Geoff Smith
Most Potential
Carl Morandi
Best In Finals
Jeromy Johnson
U/18.5 Football
Best & Fairest
Damon Aspland
Runner Up
Dean Matthews
Most Improved
Rob Clements
Most Determined
Carl Rivett
Coaches Award
Riley Noonan
Goal Kicking
Matt McKenzie
23 goals
Kings Army
8 Oct 2008, 14:29
Ok heres my round up of events. They gave Miller 2 weeks because they had to. He shouldnt have done what he did and to some it may have inexcusable but if they didnt give him 2 weeks then they would have confirmed what all Eastern Block sides already know. Next cab off the rank- Herring!!! Bloody oath he should have got 2 weeks. I am a huge fan but the bottom line is- dont open your mouth and you cant get in trouble. Doesn't matter if you just lost a grand final does it? Gee i just murdered my sister because they cancelled 90210, yeah right... keep it shut no matter how much a few of them cheat. Roger Legrand not included (what a great umpire). Next- what sort of punishment will the reporting umpire be in (in regards to Dave Youngs case) for not showing or sending in a stat dec? Will he be under any scrutiny for reporting and sending a player off for allegedly striking another player that was 70 metres away? will he be informed of the severity of his mistake? will he be suspended like a player would for not showing? will he be hung from the bottle shop at the leagues club and bashed like a piniata (as he should) for being so incompetent? I am not in any way saying that this was why the devils lost the flag but these crettins have to be made responsible for their actions when they are paid money to be professional. Players, spectators and fans at our club have been asked to justify their actions (and rightly so) on the day, so i just think it is fair that umpires be asked to do the same. Maybe some one at the board can ellaborate on the issue or perhaps just clarify my points if i have some of them wrong ( i know you read this guys so clear the air- even if it is under your alias', haha)
Oh and if i reported that an umpire told me to F off and called me a C**k sucker over the fence because i told him that the free kick count was 21 to 4 against- would there be any action taken? i never swore at him or abused him- merely said "give us a go you idiot, the free kick count is 21 to 4" and received that from a BFL umpire... Would that be investigated???
The pic of miller is not good. He has to stop attacking people from behind!
Good Things Beaten
8 Oct 2008, 14:59
That is not the Miller incident - it was Brad Anderson and not McGregor (as shown in picture) who he was reported for offending.
Big thanks to Brad Andreson for helping Miller out at the tribunal last night - if it wasn't for his testimony he may have got off - thanks again Brad!! That one will be kepy in the memory bank.
Kings Army
8 Oct 2008, 15:14
That is not the Miller incident - it was Brad Anderson and not McGregor (as shown in picture) who he was reported for offending.
Big thanks to Brad Andreson for helping Miller out at the tribunal last night - if it wasn't for his testimony he may have got off - thanks again Brad!! That one will be kepy in the memory bank.
Sorry my mistake - so this is another incident of Miller attacking someone from behind that he did not get caught for. He is getting good at it now. Practice makes perfect.
They seem to have all disappeared? What's going on Mod?
I heard a rumour that the Chief got banned for life and Chumpy for a week.
ORACLE 69
8 Oct 2008, 15:33
As we sit on top of the Premiership Cup it is funny to sit back and listen to the rumours. All is well up here at Ballarat with all committing to next year. Poor Darley, still sooking after being beaten not once but twice on GF day. Life is good.
Back to rumours:
I here the Marsh is splashing cash, while sunbury, melton south and melton have committee and coaching issues. In Ballarat, Redan look like losing their major sponsor, while infighting continues at east point as some still live in the 80s. Positive news coming from sebas with signings while lakers are fairly quiet at this stage, as they to get their north players back. North Shitty are also having a committee change and will be looking to cash in on the vfl sides win.
Also for comment it is interesting that wardy said the incident at 3/4 time in gf day had nothing in it and no investigation while 2 people were arrested! Poor old blockhead has to help them with something to hang there hat on gf day.
Good Things Beaten
8 Oct 2008, 17:20
Not sure if you want the facts KA or the good story. If you were at the game or had seen the footage, Miller was reported for pushing the Ballarat player from front on -you seem to have a focus on people coming in from behind - not sure if there is something in your past that you are trying to forget
As we sit on top of the Premiership Cup it is funny to sit back and listen to the rumours. All is well up here at Ballarat with all committing to next year. Poor Darley, still sooking after being beaten not once but twice on GF day. Life is good.
Back to rumours:
I here the Marsh is splashing cash, while sunbury, melton south and melton have committee and coaching issues. In Ballarat, Redan look like losing their major sponsor, while infighting continues at east point as some still live in the 80s. Positive news coming from sebas with signings while lakers are fairly quiet at this stage, as they to get their north players back. North Shitty are also having a committee change and will be looking to cash in on the vfl sides win.
Also for comment it is interesting that wardy said the incident at 3/4 time in gf day had nothing in it and no investigation while 2 people were arrested! Poor old blockhead has to help them with something to hang there hat on gf day.
who have sebas signed?
I heard a rumour that the Chief got banned for life and Chumpy for a week.
Chumpy aint banned, just not much going on at the moment. Its kinda hard to talk about footy when there is none on.
So Brad Anderson is yellow carded and reported as a result of the 3/4 brawl but is cleared at the tribunal as a result of mistaken identity.
IIRC Brad Anderson wasn't carded until the start of the fourth quarter meaning that the umpires as a collective group had 5-10 minutes to confere as to whether Anderson had done anything worthy of sending off.
David Young was also cleared because the reporting umpire couldn't get all the required paperwork signed...
Those errors are not good enough, wonder if the BFUA will do anything about it, considering they were supposed to be the elite umpires of the association...
WeHateTheDrummer
9 Oct 2008, 11:37
So Brad Anderson is yellow carded and reported as a result of the 3/4 brawl but is cleared at the tribunal as a result of mistaken identity.
IIRC Brad Anderson wasn't carded until the start of the fourth quarter meaning that the umpires as a collective group had 5-10 minutes to confere as to whether Anderson had done anything worthy of sending off.
David Young was also cleared because the reporting umpire couldn't get all the required paperwork signed...
Those errors are not good enough, wonder if the BFUA will do anything about it, considering they were supposed to be the elite umpires of the association...
Saw the footage on news last night...
Outsiders looking in would have to be thinking Ballarat Football League is a rabble.
You can't get 2 weeks for grabbing a bloke around the neck for a split second.....
ORACLE 69
10 Oct 2008, 12:48
Just wondering if the chief, chumpy and all the darley followers would like a copy of todays Courier. It has photos of our B&F and what a premiership cup looks like. In case the Darley people are unsure its a cup you get if you WIN on Grand Final day.
In BFL history has there been a club that has had 2 sides in the GF and lost both before?
ORACLE 69
10 Oct 2008, 12:49
Saw the footage on news last night...
Outsiders looking in would have to be thinking Ballarat Football League is a rabble.
You can't get 2 weeks for grabbing a bloke around the neck for a split second.....
gee drummer I think the outsiders already know that.
Just wondering if the chief, chumpy and all the darley followers would like a copy of todays Courier. It has photos of our B&F and what a premiership cup looks like. In case the Darley people are unsure its a cup you get if you WIN on Grand Final day.
In BFL history has there been a club that has had 2 sides in the GF and lost both before?
If thats the best you can come up with oracle i think you better go back to the drawing board and have another go because your posts arent insults they are lame! I PITY YOU FOOL!!
WeHateTheDrummer
10 Oct 2008, 16:07
If thats the best you can come up with oracle i think you better go back to the drawing board and have another go because your posts arent insults they are lame! I PITY YOU FOOL!!
Na, think we need to let Oracle enjoy it while he can. He did put up with the abuse all year and stuck phat with his swans and they delivered.
Can't complain with that.
sunba boys
13 Oct 2008, 18:40
any news on any tranfers? rumors?
da_wog_from_so
13 Oct 2008, 20:33
the marsh signed Mal Michael and a few papa new guineas.
Shagford
13 Oct 2008, 21:12
the marsh signed delisted western bulldogs player scott west.
Sebas have signed a handy 6f 8 ruckman, along with a few other experienced players, someone from trentham way i think.
New owners take over globe hotel i also hear..??
Not sure bout nibbo cowboy8, but hope he stays with sebas and doesnt go to chfl.
Kings Army
14 Oct 2008, 13:21
BFL says no to Bendigo-Ballarat merger proposal
14/10/2008 9:14:00 AM
THE Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football League won’t consider a radical idea circulated to its clubs to form a two-division Goldfields League.
The BFL and its clubs have received a four-page proposal from Andrew Cathcart, who grew up in Bendigo and now lives in Albury, suggesting a merger of the Bendigo and Ballarat football leagues into a Goldfields Football League.
Cathcart’s proposal, which has been with the Bendigo league and its clubs for over a month, suggests a two-division relegation competition featuring the 21 Bendigo and Ballarat football league clubs.
While Cathcart admits it’s radical, he says his proposal has the potential for a number of advantages, including:
Division one involving the best of the two 'old BFL’s' would be very powerful, with one-sided games replaced by new blockbusters such as Gisborne v Sunbury, Eaglehawk v Darley, South Bendigo v East Point, and Golden Square v Ballarat, meaning teams in this competition would need to be on their mettle just to make the finals.
All Division two teams would start the year with achievable goals - a reasonable chance to make the finals and a chance to win a premiership, with unhealthy one-sided games to no longer be normal.
With a lower division, the likelihood of struggling teams leaving the league would be reduced as they would have a better chance of survival by not being subject to regular maulings from a side like Gisborne, and new clubs like Strathfieldsaye wouldn’t immediately face the likes of an Eaglehawk.
Administration costs could be reduced with the two ex BFLs operating under the one administration umbrella.
Cathcart listed the extra travel required for some clubs as the key disadvantage of his proposal, but believes for clubs such as Gisborne and Kyneton, travel would be reduced, while Maryborough would be similar.
The Bendigo-based clubs would face an increased travel burden, but Cathcart said, with the exception of Kangaroo Flat, they are traditionally stronger clubs that enjoy an advantage over the country clubs by playing a number of away matches close to home.
Cathcart said he has developed his proposal because he believes the league is a “lopsided competition with many games being hopelessly one-sided’’, while also suggesting crowds and the standard has declined since he first started watching Bendigo football in the 1960s.
However, BFL chief executive officer Steven Oliver said the league is in a healthy position and such a drastic upheaval as suggested in Cathcart’s proposal is not necessary.
“At this stage nothing would be even remotely considered,’’ Oliver said.
“Bendigo football is strong, alive and well, as are the Bendigo juniors, and the district leagues through their finals showed they did well.
“So I would be saying central Victorian football is in a healthy state.
“We get a number of these types of ideas and if we thought we were in a position where we needed to look at something, then we would.
“But we’re certainly not in a position where anyone feels the need to be looking at amalgamating the Bendigo and Ballarat footy leagues.
“We feel the Bendigo league is as stable as it has been for many years.’’
Ballarat Football League chief executive officer Rod Ward said Cathcart’s proposal would be presented at a board meeting next Monday night.
“It will be presented to our board as part of correspondence,’’ Ward said.
“I can’t speak for the Ballarat league because it’s yet to be discussed formally or informally or by our clubs, but personally, I can see some merit in it. “I think about an hour and 15 minutes is the greatest travel distance, so logistically, it’s certainly something you would think is possible, but ultimately, the members and stakeholders in each league will decide their own future.’’
Kings Army
14 Oct 2008, 13:23
With Brad Millers 2 week suspension taking him over the 16 week thresh hold will he be de-registered now or will the Ballarat Football League keep it quiet so a marquee player can still run around?
Good Things Beaten
14 Oct 2008, 15:03
How many weeks has he been suspended for KA?
Kings Army
14 Oct 2008, 15:07
How many weeks has he been suspended for KA?
15 before the Grand final. Now on 17.
WeHateTheDrummer
14 Oct 2008, 16:14
Didn't the league let a Melton player know a few years back that if he was rubbed out again he will be de-registered from league?
What's the official rule KA?
Johnny IRONMONGREL
14 Oct 2008, 16:16
Since the 16 week suspension cut off has come into force, I know of at least two cases this year alone where the "life ban" was overturned on appeal. If all these appeals are getting upheld surely the rule will have have to be revised or scrapped??
Kings Army
14 Oct 2008, 16:23
Didn't the league let a Melton player know a few years back that if he was rubbed out again he will be de-registered from league?
What's the official rule KA?
Miller would have been told - that is why he was on his best behaviour. The threat of missing a flag was huge motivation to be good. In the Grand Final it did not matter what happened in the future. Word is he nearly pulled the pin on football at the end of last year. Was not going to play this year.
da_wog_from_so
15 Oct 2008, 00:18
he'll get off and be able to play again, though thats how the case should be anyway considering others have appealed and got off before! this 16 week bullshit is ****ing gay anyway. pointless also if people can just appeal and get off!
Lil Boy Blue
15 Oct 2008, 08:46
Miller would have been told - that is why he was on his best behaviour. The threat of missing a flag was huge motivation to be good. In the Grand Final it did not matter what happened in the future. Word is he nearly pulled the pin on football at the end of last year. Was not going to play this year.
nice try mate, miller is not even close to the 16 game mark
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 09:28
nice try mate, miller is not even close to the 16 game mark
He has had a 6 week and a 5 week suspension.
Morning Herald
15 Oct 2008, 10:06
He is no where near it he did get a 6 week one but has neva got 5 for anything.
Get ya facts right KA before you trap off
Lil Boy Blue
15 Oct 2008, 10:10
not true, stop making up rubbish to make this page interesting
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 10:12
Mark Power appointed Sunbury Senior coach for 2009. The Power is back!
Good Things Beaten
15 Oct 2008, 11:12
Jumped on the BFL website KA and Brad Miller has only 8 weeks total suspension. This includes the 2 weeks for the recent incident (and many will agree that it is toothless) and 5 weeks for attempting to strike in 2004, which included an extra penalty for being found guilty two years in a row (rule was removed after the one year trial). All is not as bad as it seems KA!! Not sure where your information comes from KA but potting the BFL board as covering up a possible de-registration is a bit far fetched. You must be a very, very suspicious person or have access to knowledge that no-one else does?????
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 11:27
Jumped on the BFL website KA and Brad Miller has only 8 weeks total suspension. This includes the 2 weeks for the recent incident (and many will agree that it is toothless) and 5 weeks for attempting to strike in 2004, which included an extra penalty for being found guilty two years in a row (rule was removed after the one year trial). All is not as bad as it seems KA!! Not sure where your information comes from KA but potting the BFL board as covering up a possible de-registration is a bit far fetched. You must be a very, very suspicious person or have access to knowledge that no-one else does?????
Twice suspended in 2003 both resulting in 3 weeks per offence.
The tribunal also handed Miller a five-week ban in July 2004, after a striking charge against Redan's Andrew Jones was sustained. There is 11 weeks and that was at the end of 2004!!!
Who cares anyway - everyone plays that gets past the 16 week total. Power is back at Sunbury - this is the real news of the day!!
Good Things Beaten
15 Oct 2008, 12:11
The 'real news' is recycling someone that Sunbury didn't want at the end of '06 - thanks for that KA!
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 13:16
The 'real news' is recycling someone that Sunbury didn't want at the end of '06 - thanks for that KA!
Nice try GTB. Everyone know we walked away. But him coming back has just halted any chance of Darley in 09. That goal after the siren is getting worse and worse by the minute.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aS-PV7LRpl0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aS-PV7LRpl0)
ORACLE 69
15 Oct 2008, 14:19
Nice try GTB. Everyone know we walked away. But him coming back has just halted any chance of Darley in 09. That goal after the siren is getting worse and worse by the minute.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aS-PV7LRpl0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aS-PV7LRpl0)
Interesting KA. I didn't know you walked away as i thought you were on the Gisbourne bandwagon. The only time I have seen your affiliation is with some dribble you wrote on how to beat Redan when sunbury lost!
Which bandwagon will you be involved with next year? What damage will be done to the club with players leaving and support?
I would also like to point out you were sucking up to the darley boys especially Chief and now you are potting them. Talk about fickle. You are a joke!
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 14:31
Interesting KA. I didn't know you walked away as i thought you were on the Gisbourne bandwagon. The only time I have seen your affiliation is with some dribble you wrote on how to beat Redan when sunbury lost!
Which bandwagon will you be involved with next year? What damage will be done to the club with players leaving and support?
I would also like to point out you were sucking up to the darley boys especially Chief and now you are potting them. Talk about fickle. You are a joke!
It was meant to be he. Your very lucky to pinch a flag when the power houses dropped off for a year. Back to middle of the road next year. But hey at least you can celebrate in 08.
Have you got a list of players leaving that I can pass onto Serge? At least that way he can assess the damage. Or was that just a throw away line with no substance?
Not so sure about sucking up - any one of Sunbury, South, Darley or Melton would be a prefence to the Ballarat sides.
ORACLE 69
15 Oct 2008, 15:30
It was meant to be he. Your very lucky to pinch a flag when the power houses dropped off for a year. Back to middle of the road next year. But hey at least you can celebrate in 08.
Have you got a list of players leaving that I can pass onto Serge? At least that way he can assess the damage. Or was that just a throw away line with no substance?
Not so sure about sucking up - any one of Sunbury, South, Darley or Melton would be a prefence to the Ballarat sides.
Who are the "powerhouses" KA? I don't think anyone would suggest Sunbury with one flag since 2000! Redan had 3 and Melton 3.
Tim Little, Lekkas, Jordan would begin the ball rolling on players leaving. Was the club unanimous KA in the appointment of Serge? Who will be on his selection committee? Chooka, you KA?
As for middle of the road next year you could write Serge another load of dribble on how to beat us!!!!!!!
cowboy8
15 Oct 2008, 15:37
Sebas have signed a handy 6f 8 ruckman, along with a few other experienced players, someone from trentham way i think.
New owners take over globe hotel i also hear..??
Not sure bout nibbo cowboy8, but hope he stays with sebas and doesnt go to chfl.
heard theyv signed simon quiddington and kallum young on the big$.
WeHateTheDrummer
15 Oct 2008, 15:39
Sunbury to reload, Redan to reload.... might be some closer games next year.
As redan have Mikaleaf back next year does that mean power will put the boots back on KA??? That was a funny day watching Mikaleaf turning power inside out on numerous occasions!
Good for the league having power back. Will create some tension and spark which the BFL needs!
WeHateTheDrummer
15 Oct 2008, 15:41
Sebas will never learn will they.....
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 16:01
Who are the "powerhouses" KA? I don't think anyone would suggest Sunbury with one flag since 2000! Redan had 3 and Melton 3.
Tim Little, Lekkas, Jordan would begin the ball rolling on players leaving. Was the club unanimous KA in the appointment of Serge? Who will be on his selection committee? Chooka, you KA?
As for middle of the road next year you could write Serge another load of dribble on how to beat us!!!!!!!
Since the RDFL clubs came and improved the league:
Sunbury - 4
Redan - 4
Melton - 3
Ballarat - 1
Either Sunbury, Redan or Melton have played in every Grand Final in the previous 11 years. So please let me know who you think are the power house clubs in the BFL? Let me guess Ballarat, Sebas and Lakers??
Tim Little was signed before the end of the season else where. No loss in Lekkas, Dimma, Romero and Libba. Jordan has left?
And don't worry I would not waste 5 seconds on looking at your team. You got lucky this year. Middle of the road next year and nothing to worry about just like the previous 11 years.
Morning Herald
15 Oct 2008, 16:16
Since the RDFL clubs came and improved the league:
Sunbury - 4
Redan - 4
Melton - 3
Ballarat - 1
Either Sunbury, Redan or Melton have played in every Grand Final in the previous 11 years. So please let me know who you think are the power house clubs in the BFL? Let me guess Ballarat, Sebas and Lakers??
Tim Little was signed before the end of the season else where. No loss in Lekkas, Dimma, Romero and Libba. Jordan has left?
And don't worry I would not waste 5 seconds on looking at your team. You got lucky this year. Middle of the road next year and nothing to worry about just like the previous 11 years.
KA who were the others that serge knocked out for the job or was it just given to him with no others applying
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 16:19
KA who were the others that serge knocked out for the job or was it just given to him with no others applying
Jordan, Ezard and Freeman. A couple from the EDFL but they did not have much of a show.
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 16:21
Sunbury to reload, Redan to reload.... might be some closer games next year.
As redan have Mikaleaf back next year does that mean power will put the boots back on KA??? That was a funny day watching Mikaleaf turning power inside out on numerous occasions!
Good for the league having power back. Will create some tension and spark which the BFL needs!
Just coaching. Mikaleaf is a third of the player power was. But hey Josh Gibson kept Buddy to one goal when the hawks played the roos. I thought that was also funny.
WeHateTheDrummer
15 Oct 2008, 16:30
Just coaching. Mikaleaf is a third of the player power was. But hey Josh Gibson kept Buddy to one goal when the hawks played the roos. I thought that was also funny.
No arguments with me on how good serge was. Just gives my stomach a tickle how he put himself on him in his last game of footy! Mikalaef 4 goals - Serge Busted ego.
Who do you reckon would be a better coach for sunbury KA.
Power or Jordon?
I'd take Jordon and start a new era, power has had his time but no doubt he'd be a favourite son at sunbury so i can see there reasons.
WarriorMan
15 Oct 2008, 16:32
Sebas will never learn will they.....
I can say straight up that the guys mentioned are not on big $$. Quiddington is returning to his junior club. Wasn't too long ago on here that a couple people were critical of Sebas that there were so many ex Sebas boys playing in local leagues. Now some are coming back as they can see the club is finally moving forward.
Drummer, perhaps you should look in your backyard. Your mob have chased Young(whose brother is also at Sebas) very hard, and then tried to take pot shots at Sebas when speaking to someone Sebas were also talking to. That person may not have entirely liked the way your club went about things, and is now also at Sebas
Fellow footy fans, 1st time post on Big footy, after months of reading this forum I thought it is about time to put my 2 bobs worth in and see what input I can have.
I must admit some of the topics, conversations and comments make me laugh, the idiotic comments from Darley supporters especially. There was nothing sweeter than when I picked up the hearld sun on the sunday after the grand final to read that they had got done after the final siren, couldn't have happened to a nicer bunch of people!!!
I will look forward to some input over the off season. FULLOS
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 16:34
No arguments with me on how good serge was. Just gives my stomach a tickle how he put himself on him in his last game of footy! Mikalaef 4 goals - Serge Busted ego.
Who do you reckon would be a better coach for sunbury KA.
Power or Jordon?
I'd take Jordon and start a new era, power has had his time but no doubt he'd be a favourite son at sunbury so i can see there reasons.
Was also better than Fields and Edwards. Last game? he played at Riddell this year.
Power - will start again blooding the juniors and set the club up over the next few years. Jordan will get his chance but a year under Libba might not be the best grounding.
WeHateTheDrummer
15 Oct 2008, 16:37
I can say straight up that the guys mentioned are not on big $$. Quiddington is returning to his junior club. Wasn't too long ago on here that a couple people were critical of Sebas that there were so many ex Sebas boys playing in local leagues. Now some are coming back as they can see the club is finally moving forward.
Drummer, perhaps you should look in your backyard. Your mob have chased Young(whose brother is also at Sebas) very hard, and then tried to take pot shots at Sebas when speaking to someone Sebas were also talking to. That person may not have entirely liked the way your club went about things, and is now also at Sebas
Pipe down warrior man, what i was commenting on was the comment saying the 2 recruits are on big $$$. Now, you have answered that they are not so i'm all good with that.
Has brick resigned warrior? Heard he and paul (redan 2's) have signed at Bungaree. Sebas can't afford to lose brick.
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 16:43
Fellow footy fans, 1st time post on Big footy, after months of reading this forum I thought it is about time to put my 2 bobs worth in and see what input I can have.
I must admit some of the topics, conversations and comments make me laugh, the idiotic comments from Darley supporters especially. There was nothing sweeter than when I picked up the hearld sun on the sunday after the grand final to read that they had got done after the final siren, couldn't have happened to a nicer bunch of people!!!
Welcome Fullos - who do you follow?
Lil Boy Blue
15 Oct 2008, 16:46
you should probably crawl back under your rock mate
Thanks KA, I follow Footy, any Ballarat sides really. No one inpaticular. No a bit about the game.
Looks like I have already upset someone from down the freeway. Lil boy Blue, chin up mate. Still upset over the GF, remember its only a game.
Kings Army
15 Oct 2008, 17:04
Thanks KA, I follow Footy, any Ballarat sides really. No one inpaticular. No a bit about the game.
Looks like I have already upset someone from down the freeway. Lil boy Blue, chin up mate. Still upset over the GF, remember its only a game.
All good. Don't worry about upsetting people. If you get upset on Big Footy you really should not be logging on. I recieved a nasty private message from a high ranking BFL official that I had upset. Maybe this is not a good forum for high ranking officals. What ever happened to sticks and stones??
Your right there. I will try and keep it nice and clean but I cant promise anything!!
cowboy8
15 Oct 2008, 17:43
Pipe down warrior man, what i was commenting on was the comment saying the 2 recruits are on big $$$. Now, you have answered that they are not so i'm all good with that.
Has brick resigned warrior? Heard he and paul (redan 2's) have signed at Bungaree. Sebas can't afford to lose brick.
hey warrior this info is from the horses mouth. young is asst coach. also who are a few of the ex sebas players returning?
WarriorMan
15 Oct 2008, 18:23
hey warrior this info is from the horses mouth. young is asst coach. also who are a few of the ex sebas players returning?
No secret that Kallen Young is an Assistant Coach. He is doing a good job early with recruiting and showing great enthusiasm already around the club. Would be in the bottom echelon dollar wise for a playing assistant coach though.
Drummer, Sebas dont expect to lose any players from their core 12(including Brick who hasnt signed at Bungaree, but has talked to them) and hope to add betwen 6-9 senior players to the line up. Things are looking up. Obviously Quiddington is one of the ex Sebas players returning and also have others on the go who shall remain in house at the moment. Come to pre-season on the 17th November and you will find out who we have signed. All welcome!!
WeHateTheDrummer
15 Oct 2008, 19:02
No secret that Kallen Young is an Assistant Coach. He is doing a good job early with recruiting and showing great enthusiasm already around the club. Would be in the bottom echelon dollar wise for a playing assistant coach though.
Drummer, Sebas dont expect to lose any players from their core 12(including Brick who hasnt signed at Bungaree, but has talked to them) and hope to add betwen 6-9 senior players to the line up. Things are looking up. Obviously Quiddington is one of the ex Sebas players returning and also have others on the go who shall remain in house at the moment. Come to pre-season on the 17th November and you will find out who we have signed. All welcome!!
Good on you Warrior.
Sounds like things are really looking up for the burra.
You might want to talk to bricky ASAP as pen has been put to paper. But you'd probably know more being a burra boy.
Keep us informed on the progress of the 6-9 recruits no need to keep them in house if they have signed mate.
Is Quiddington the dude that plays basketball?
thataboystinga
15 Oct 2008, 19:50
All good. Don't worry about upsetting people. If you get upset on Big Footy you really should not be logging on. I recieved a nasty private message from a high ranking BFL official that I had upset. Maybe this is not a good forum for high ranking officals. What ever happened to sticks and stones??
What did wardy have to say in his private message KA?
Are you allowed to elaborate?
da_wog_from_so
16 Oct 2008, 01:22
lets just say next season is gunna be a cracker!
Vineyard
16 Oct 2008, 08:43
lets just say next season is gunna be a cracker!
dont start spruiking till you have won a few games.....
Have from a very reliable source that Mark Power is back at Sunbury after a year off and will be coaching next year. Kings Army can you comment.
Was libba that bad? or just not worth the money.
Kings Army
16 Oct 2008, 09:08
Have from a very reliable source that Mark Power is back at Sunbury after a year off and will be coaching next year. Kings Army can you comment.
100% - it was posted yesterday that he will be coach in 2009. Libba did not really care much about the club. In his speech on presentation night he thanked the president - Greg Allen - for his support. Greg Allen was president in 2007 and stepped down at the end of last year.
Sebastopol F N C are currently (as all clubs are ) aggressivly recruiting which is showing promising results. We are not spending BIG $ but are putting together a good group of young players which will remain at the club! The people that are commiting to the club are doing it for the right reasons getting behind the coachs and the club to build and move the club forward.If people out in the footy world (as i have heard is happening) are slinging crap on our club i would invite them to please do some reasearch on the club in 08 and into 09. People are wanting to be at the club because there is a great feeling that the club is moving forward and has a bright future. If people read the football press of the past year you would have seen more storys on Sebas than any other club, we are proffessional, approachable and dedicated to improving.
Drummer, does that mean Brick from Redan is heading to Bungaree as well? Heard a whisper he was offered 2's coaching job? Surely wouldn't want to coach 2'nds footy at his age? Would want to concentrate getting a spot in the 1's?.
da_wog_from_so
16 Oct 2008, 11:10
**** off vineyard you twit, i meant as in the whole season, teams wise not just my club you one minded fool.
Trooper4
16 Oct 2008, 11:52
Brick has signed on at Bungaree.
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 12:12
Drummer, does that mean Brick from Redan is heading to Bungaree as well? Heard a whisper he was offered 2's coaching job? Surely wouldn't want to coach 2'nds footy at his age? Would want to concentrate getting a spot in the 1's?.
I'd say he'll just play., CLohesy & Cummins from the 2's are going aswell.
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 12:17
Sebastopol F N C are currently (as all clubs are ) aggressivly recruiting which is showing promising results. We are not spending BIG $ but are putting together a good group of young players which will remain at the club! The people that are commiting to the club are doing it for the right reasons getting behind the coachs and the club to build and move the club forward.If people out in the footy world (as i have heard is happening) are slinging crap on our club i would invite them to please do some reasearch on the club in 08 and into 09. The club is more proffessionaly run and coached than most BFL sides. And people are wanting to be at the club (not some others that employ this tactic) because there is a great feeling that the club is moving forward and has a bright future. If people read the football press of the past year you would have seen more storys on Sebas than any other club, we are proffessional, approachable and dedicated to improving. Before you open your mouth look into what the club is about!!!!!
Good post Rust.
It was obvious last year that your coach has worked hard on putting things into place for the good of the club. But you'd have to be disappointed with brick leaving.
So Brick knocked back 2nds coaching job at Redan? Few leaving the Den? Troubles ahead for Redan? Clohesy and Cummins played in 1's most of year? could there be a mass exit of Redan players Drummer? Peace maybe not the answer players were looking for?
Kings Army
16 Oct 2008, 13:31
No real change down at sunbury with the direction of going with the kids.
Will pick up J.lobb who has returned from QLD but no other real movements.
Little has moved on, and so has Lekkas, Libba, Matt baird retiring, and also Luke beatie has returned to his local club to pursue a coaching role.
Also Sunbury are crossing there fingers in relation to Ben Jordan staying as an assistant role.
Big losses but im sure Sunbury will pick up a couple of guys to fill the massive Gap.
Sunbury are fully aware that they fell off the pace quite a bit and look forward in 2009 in setting a foundation that will have them challenge in 2010.
the_other
16 Oct 2008, 13:46
So Brick knocked back 2nds coaching job at Redan? Few leaving the Den? Troubles ahead for Redan? Clohesy and Cummins played in 1's most of year? could there be a mass exit of Redan players Drummer? Peace maybe not the answer players were looking for?
Clohesey was in and out of the 1s, and it was suspected he might look for other opportunities elsewhere, and Cummins would have played most of the season in the 2nds, Beckham took his small forward spot. There was talk before the end of last season that a big chunk of the key 1s players had already re-signed.
ORACLE 69
16 Oct 2008, 13:53
No real change down at sunbury with the direction of going with the kids.
Will pick up J.lobb who has returned from QLD but no other real movements.
Little has moved on, and so has Lekkas, Libba, Matt baird retiring, and also Luke beatie has returned to his local club to pursue a coaching role.
Also Sunbury are crossing there fingers in relation to Ben Jordan staying as an assistant role.
Big losses but im sure Sunbury will pick up a couple of guys to fill the massive Gap.
Sunbury are fully aware that they fell off the pace quite a bit and look forward in 2009 in setting a foundation that will have them challenge in 2010.
Just a couple of your earlier posts KA. Just re-inforcing the backward move by the club with serge. Was his appointment a unanimous pick? You stated the president was stepping down. Was this as a result of Serge being appointed?
ORACLE 69
16 Oct 2008, 13:56
Good post Rust.
It was obvious last year that your coach has worked hard on putting things into place for the good of the club. But you'd have to be disappointed with brick leaving.
Drummer. What's happening at Redan? i am hearing rumblings. Here is a chance to put the rumours to rest.
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 13:58
Wasn't aware he was offered to coach. If you mean losing a handful of 2's players to bungaree as a mass exodus then i suppose your right!
Peace will good.
Clohesy, he'd be the first to tell you he was terrible this year. Works & Best Friends with Reid so no arguments there on him leaving.
With the pace of BFL footy these days it would be easier for Cummins & Brick to play seniors in CHFL. So understand there decision.
Overall to date,
Senior losses - Field
Gains - Waight, Peace, Horbury, Mikaleaf
Clohesy was in and out towards end of year, didn't want to be there, cummins missed 2 months of footy with ankle Beckham played most of year in 2'nds only hit last couple of games towards end of year? Any word if Beckham got his medal back? Handy pick ups tho if they are headed to Bunga?
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 14:04
Drummer. What's happening at Redan? i am hearing rumblings. Here is a chance to put the rumours to rest.
No rumblings Oracle.
As stated in my last post, a few redan seconds players are heading to bungaree with reid to hopefully play senior footy. Fields is the only player from seniors that has suggested he's on the move at this stage.
Peace! good as in coach good or play good? cant see how a 22 year old with only 2 years of playing 2nds footy at north is going to help? Redan will be pushing to make finals again, how is he going to compete against the experience of SWOOPER and power?
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 14:12
Peace! good as in coach good or play good? cant see how a 22 year old with only 2 years of playing 2nds footy at north is going to help? Redan will be pushing to make finals again, how is he going to compete against the experience of SWOOPER and power?
Don't worry about the structure of redan's coaching Fullos.
The fact we have only lossed 1 senior player suggests he'll be ok.
Only early days so abit harsh to crucify a bloke so early!
Kings Army
16 Oct 2008, 14:13
Just a couple of your earlier posts KA. Just re-inforcing the backward move by the club with serge. Was his appointment a unanimous pick? You stated the president was stepping down. Was this as a result of Serge being appointed?
Never stated the president was stepping down. Backward move? They finished 4th in 08. You can't judge until the end of next season if they finish 5th then I will agree.
A backward step would be Ballarat keeping Northey. If they don't win the 09 flag they have gone backwards under him. See - anyone can put out a crap throw away line.
Lil Boy Blue
16 Oct 2008, 15:02
I'll have a $5 million bet with ya that they make it.
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 15:30
I'll have a $5 million bet with ya that they make it.
Finals are a must after this year so you'd probably be on a safe bet there.
Fullos, you seem to know alot about redan, are you staying or going next year?
Peacy is a fantastic gain for the mighty lions. He has a fantastic football brain and his ability to communicate and address a group is second to none. The structure in place to support peace is one that boasts huge experience and has a proven track record at the pointy end of the season. Right the peace train and his lions off at your own risk.
Murph4Captain
16 Oct 2008, 15:34
I think the main problem with libba was his lack of respect to the club by not showing up to numerous functions throughout the year. Also libba did not have the respect of the playing group which is essential for any successful team, this is one thing that serge will bring back to the club he has a lot of respect with the younger guys down at Sunbury.
Good post Rust.
Always disappointed when a player leaves your club no matter if they are a top line player or a reserves battler. If a player leaves for the right reason what can you do to stop them.
Wont be doing either Drummer as I have no involvement with the club what so ever. As i mentioned to KA yesterday, i know my footy and support all of the Ballarat teams, I have some close connections at Redan and from what they are telling me things need to improve alot from this year as the results speak for themselves. I am well and truely past my playing days.
Is there any truth in the rumor Shane Hutchinson is looking to leave EP for a coaching roll? you would think with the Baby bonus going up he wouldn't be chasing anymore money?
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 17:03
Wont be doing either Drummer as I have no involvement with the club what so ever. As i mentioned to KA yesterday, i know my footy and support all of the Ballarat teams, I have some close connections at Redan and from what they are telling me things need to improve alot from this year as the results speak for themselves. I am well and truely past my playing days.
Is there any truth in the rumor Shane Hutchinson is looking to leave EP for a coaching roll? you would think with the Baby bonus going up he wouldn't be chasing anymore money?
To say we have to improve, well that just stating the obvious and i'd be hoping every redan person would tell you that.
WeHateTheDrummer
16 Oct 2008, 17:05
Saying that i can only come up with your a bloody umpire if you support all ballarat sides! lol