View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
The Ballarat football league was a joke before the RDFL sides were introduced, the first 2 years i think (correct me if i am wrong) only lake wendouree made the finals from the BFL sides, then redan came up with cash and became competetive and now east point have stepped up, wouldnt you say that it is the introduction of the RDFL sides that has made the BFL once again a strong country football league and has forced the other ballarat teams to pull there fingers out.
stanleyy
23 Aug 2006, 11:23
The 1st send off was for a hit on that sniping dog that came off the line 6 times in the 1st match East and Sunbury played. After the knock he took he did not do it once.
2nd send off was a free - not even 50.
If you don't think the umpires target Sunbury you were not at the same game I was. Interesting if the CEO backs his comments that he agreed that the umpires had cheated in the 1st quater in front of the BFL board tonight.kings can you post the weekend match reports from the courier on all bfl games,thanks!:thumbsu:
The ballarat league is still a primier country league wioth the help of sunbury players this years inter league came runners up in div 1 but u wouldn't know much about the would u **** wit
Mate played in the league in the 80's and all i'm saying is that it was a great league-the best in vic. But obviousley aggression is the only way some people like to solve their problems.
learmonth
23 Aug 2006, 14:30
The Ballarat football league was a joke before the RDFL sides were introduced, the first 2 years i think (correct me if i am wrong) only lake wendouree made the finals from the BFL sides, then redan came up with cash and became competetive and now east point have stepped up, wouldnt you say that it is the introduction of the RDFL sides that has made the BFL once again a strong country football league and has forced the other ballarat teams to pull there fingers out.
I wouldnt say the BFL was a joke, but certainly agree that all the RDFL sides have certainly strengthened it and added to the inter-league success. Redan never came up with cash, they just recruited exceptionally well from North Ballarat which they still do (Excellent Alliance). BFL clubs have learnt that it takes more then a chook raffle every Saturday to compete against sides so close to Melbourne, so many have ventured into business's which gives them income for 52 weeks of the year, which is a must!
It would be good to see a game b/t the Best 22 from former RDFL clubs and the old BFL clubs play, and then choose the Inter-league from there. Would be great to watch, and im sure a massive crowd in attendance. Would back the old BFL teams this season, but over the past 5 season, easily the RDFL..??
Kings Army
23 Aug 2006, 14:48
Finally something is starting to happen about the umpiring of Sunbury games. Last night was a massive step when the committee agreed that the umpires made 7 incorrect decisions in the 1st quater which all resulted in goals. If any team have 1 or 2 goals from bad umpiring in a quarter you would not be happy - so 7 is a disgrace and clearly highlights the fact Sunbury are given no chance to win in this comp.
Interesting to see that the league has allowed a news crew to cover all of Sunbury finals game due to the bias shown in the past - this might pull some wistle happy umpires right into line - and if it does not then they will be lucky to umpire the under 10's at Wallen in 2007!!
I have been in europe all season so havent seen much footy so cant do it but how about Learmonth or any1 else put together an all star team from Melton, Sunbury, Darley, South vs the rest. Would be interesting to see which side would look better on paper.
The sloth
23 Aug 2006, 16:59
[quote=learmonth] BFL clubs have learnt that it takes more then a chook raffle every Saturday to compete against sides so close to Melbourne, so many have ventured into business's which gives them income for 52 weeks of the year, which is a must!
quote]
How are some of the ways they are doing this?
stanleyy
23 Aug 2006, 17:09
Finally something is starting to happen about the umpiring of Sunbury games. Last night was a massive step when the committee agreed that the umpires made 7 incorrect decisions in the 1st quater which all resulted in goals. If any team have 1 or 2 goals from bad umpiring in a quarter you would not be happy - so 7 is a disgrace and clearly highlights the fact Sunbury are given no chance to win in this comp.
Interesting to see that the league has allowed a news crew to cover all of Sunbury finals game due to the bias shown in the past - this might pull some wistle happy umpires right into line - and if it does not then they will be lucky to umpire the under 10's at Wallen in 2007!!just wondering which of the 3 umpires paid the majority of those free kicks?was it the umpire who was abusing players recently like Darren Goldspink,funny how their 1st name sounds the same!Why did Darley feel compelled to write to the league prior to their clash with East-Point 1st time they played?was it to make sure the umpires knew that there were more than 1 team on the field?maybe vineyard can answer that one!
learmonth
23 Aug 2006, 17:23
I have been in europe all season so havent seen much footy so cant do it but how about Learmonth or any1 else put together an all star team from Melton, Sunbury, Darley, South vs the rest. Would be interesting to see which side would look better on paper.
Ill have a GO! Dont know all Players though.
Ballarat Team-
Backs- Bourke (EP) Lubeek (Re) Sewell (Ball)
H/B Knowles (Re) Snibson (Re) Waight (Re)
Cent Nicholls (EP) Field (Re) BJ Jordan (EP)
H/F Baker (Ball) Nunn (Ball) Dwyer (Red)
For McGuigan (EP) Jordan (EP) Harris (Ball)
Foll Kodorenko (EP) Edwards (Re) Hutchison (EP)
Int- Faull (EP) Blomely (Red) Wills (Seb)
RDFL Team
Backs- McCabe (Dar) Cape (Dar) Searle (Mel)
HB Mcleod (Dar) Reynolds (Dar) Griffin (Sunb)
C Vimpany (Mel) Cheep (Sunb) Reardon (M/South)
H/F Miller (Dar) Porter (Melt) Cox (Dar)
For Allan (sunb) Grenfell (Melt) Berger (Melt)
Foll Little (Sunb) Lewis (Sunb) Parker (Dar)
Int- Stephenson (Dar) Edwards (Dar) J-Lobb (Sunb)
Would be a great game, but im sure people can add others. Didnt know the name of the geelong VFL player who plays for Sunbury but im sure he would be in there...
Vineyard
23 Aug 2006, 18:19
just wondering which of the 3 umpires paid the majority of those free kicks?was it the umpire who was abusing players recently like Darren Goldspink,funny how their 1st name sounds the same!Why did Darley feel compelled to write to the league prior to their clash with East-Point 1st time they played?was it to make sure the umpires knew that there were more than 1 team on the field?maybe vineyard can answer that one!
you know more than i do Stanley Y. didnt know anyone at darley could read or write. The letter certainly didnt help them that day.
Vineyard
23 Aug 2006, 18:25
Ballarat Team-
RDFL Team
Would be a great game, but im sure people can add others. Didnt know the name of the geelong VFL player who plays for Sunbury but im sure he would be in there...
Not a bad effort in picking sides and would be a brilliant game. What a grudge match. Mcmahon from lakers would get in before Nunn. very good pair of hands and great work rate. Blomely is a superstar of the league and would definitely be on the ground before Nicholls.
Larsen & Connors would get a game for the east side as would tuddy edwards from melton.
Coaching would be Kieran Murrihy & Matt Power for the respective sides.
Can see why the league is strong and did so well at interleague
Blues1995, you asked about the Lakers coaching gig.They are either sticking with Findlay or chasing high profile player from a nearby VFL team, currently captain of that team and familiar with the Lakers.
cockroach
24 Aug 2006, 09:08
Not a bad effort in picking sides and would be a brilliant game. What a grudge match. Mcmahon from lakers would get in before Nunn. very good pair of hands and great work rate. Blomely is a superstar of the league and would definitely be on the ground before Nicholls.
Larsen & Connors would get a game for the east side as would tuddy edwards from melton.
Coaching would be Kieran Murrihy & Matt Power for the respective sides.
Can see why the league is strong and did so well at interleague
Surely Sutton would be full forward ?
Bobby Giovanni
24 Aug 2006, 10:13
Blues1995, you asked about the Lakers coaching gig.They are either sticking with Findlay or chasing high profile player from a nearby VFL team, currently captain of that team and familiar with the Lakers.
Didn't think many at the Lakers liked Spider. He was a hack in the 2's 10 years ago.
Ballarat Team-
RDFL Team
the VFL player for sunbury is Clarke players at geelongand goes to uni in ballarat, two good sides but peace from redan would have to be in the ballarat side for sure. won mvp in 2004 and b&f last yr and will be fighting it out with field edwards and dwyer for the b&f this yr.
freak29
24 Aug 2006, 17:17
does anyone think the bfl has a good group of emerging players. Most of the players in those teams are very expeirienced and not many under the age of 21.
polly_lions
24 Aug 2006, 17:29
Ballarat Team-
RDFL Team
The sunbury players name is simon clarke who play vfl for geelong that a fair crack at the rdfl side sutton might push in there
Roo girl
25 Aug 2006, 09:15
, two good sides but peace from redan would have to be in the ballarat side for sure. won mvp in 2004 and b&f last yr and will be fighting it out with field edwards and dwyer for the b&f this yr.
I agree Gualt, peace has been extremly consistent for the past 2 seasons at the lions and this year appears to be no different. Missed interleague due to an injury but his past achievements prove he would have dominated. Massive possession getter and silky skills. Will be on dwyer and fieldys heels in the B and F i would presume.
Roo girl
25 Aug 2006, 09:21
does anyone think the bfl has a good group of emerging players. Most of the players in those teams are very expeirienced and not many under the age of 21.
Dont really know about other sides but at Redan there is plenty of depth in age, yeah there are the experienced players like reidy, snibbo, fieldsy etc but the likes of Peace,Dwyer, Dickinson, Pitt, Nicholson, Hosking, Cummins, Ward, Micallif, Waight, Giampolo, MKinnon, Harkin, Walsh Schultz.... etc etc all 21/22 or younger.. there appears to be more young than 'old'. Good bunch of uni crew always head to Redan so emerging young players shouldnt be a problem.
Grimmett
25 Aug 2006, 10:36
Jarret Giampaolo and Tom McKinnon were certainly missed by Horsham Saints in the Wimmera FL this year.
Vineyard
25 Aug 2006, 12:11
Having watched a lot of Darley this year they have a very good group of young fellas.
Smithwick, Robbins, King, McGill, Cox, Miller, Kettle, Gundry, CJ Young, Edwards, Herring, Dix, Minns, Lesko have all played good senior footy and are 22 & under. Most of them closer to 18.
The only real veterans are Reynolds & Scoble with the rest of the older boys having at least 3 years left in them. The reserves are also a very young side showing some promise.
The under 18's did win the division one interleague title as well so overall the league is strong.
learmonth
25 Aug 2006, 16:25
Dont really know about other sides but at Redan there is plenty of depth in age, yeah there are the experienced players like reidy, snibbo, fieldsy etc but the likes of Peace,Dwyer, Dickinson, Pitt, Nicholson, Hosking, Cummins, Ward, Micallif, Waight, Giampolo, MKinnon, Harkin, Walsh Schultz.... etc etc all 21/22 or younger.. there appears to be more young than 'old'. Good bunch of uni crew always head to Redan so emerging young players shouldnt be a problem.
What about the GREAT JON BARNETT!!!! Superstar in the making who Redan just wont give an opportunity too..???
Great bunch of Juniors, but most will only be around for 3 years as they are all uni students and will try to find work closer to home.
tommahawk_07
25 Aug 2006, 18:23
What about the GREAT JON BARNETT!!!! Superstar in the making who Redan just wont give an opportunity too..???
Great bunch of Juniors, but most will only be around for 3 years as they are all uni students and will try to find work closer to home.
i agree big barney just needs more of a chance to prove his worth! has played one senior game in his whole time at the club of which he played about a quarter. just needs time to find his feet in the big league and i suggest redan give him that chance or i fear he will be forced to pursue other avenues. watch for a bidding war over the summer months JON BARNETT = HOT PROPERTY!!!
stanleyy
27 Aug 2006, 09:22
have the finals been sorted out as far as venues & days go yet?:confused:
Vineyard
27 Aug 2006, 14:59
have the finals been sorted out as far as venues & days go yet?:confused:
Senior Finals arrangements - Week 1
Saturday September 2nd 2006
FOOTBALL
2nd Elimination FINAL (4th V 5th) ? Clark Oval, Sunbury
Under 18.5?S
2nd Elimination Final
Lake Wendouree V Redan
Reserves
2nd Elimination Final
Redan V Melton
Seniors
2nd Elimination Final
Sunbury v Darley
Qualifying FINAL (1st V 2nd) ? Eastern Oval, Ballarat
Under 18.5?S
Qualifying Final
East Point V Sunbury
Reserves
Qualifying Final
Sunbury V East Point
Seniors
Qualifying Final
East Point V Redan
Sunday September 3rd 2006
1st Elimination FINAL (3rd V 6th) ? McPherson Park, Melton
Under 18.5?S
1st Elimination Final
Melton V Melton South
Reserves
1st Elimination Final
Darley V Ballarat
Seniors
1st Elimination Final
Melton V Ballarat
learmonth
28 Aug 2006, 11:42
Senior Finals arrangements - Week 1
FOOTBALL
2nd Elimination FINAL (4th V 5th) ? Clark Oval, Sunbury
Under 18.5?S
2nd Elimination Final
Lake Wendouree V Redan
Reserves
2nd Elimination Final
Redan V Melton
Seniors
2nd Elimination Final
Sunbury v Darley
Qualifying FINAL (1st V 2nd) ? Eastern Oval, Ballarat
Under 18.5?S
Qualifying Final
East Point V Sunbury
Reserves
Qualifying Final
Sunbury V East Point
Seniors
Qualifying Final
East Point V Redan
Sunday September 3rd 2006
1st Elimination FINAL (3rd V 6th) ? McPherson Park, Melton
Under 18.5?S
1st Elimination Final
Melton V Melton South
Reserves
1st Elimination Final
Darley V Ballarat
Seniors
1st Elimination Final
Melton V Ballarat
Mtch of the season- Redan V East/Point................ Dont worry about any of the othersdes, they are all pretenders.....
cockroach
28 Aug 2006, 13:17
Mtch of the season- Redan V East/Point................ Dont worry about any of the othersdes, they are all pretenders.....
East to win over Redan
sunbury easy over Darley
Melton to smash Ballarat
DarthAnnihl8or
28 Aug 2006, 14:40
It's easy to say that Melton will smash Ballarat but Ballarat have a significant amount of players returning this week, including their 2 best defenders.
Melton will be without Grenfell for his king hit, which was stupid considering the situation. I doubt he'll be ready for the second round even if they beat Ballarat this week.
cockroach
28 Aug 2006, 16:01
It's easy to say that Melton will smash Ballarat but Ballarat have a significant amount of players returning this week, including their 2 best defenders.
Melton will be without Grenfell for his king hit, which was stupid considering the situation. I doubt he'll be ready for the second round even if they beat Ballarat this week.
Ballarat are no good even with 10 players back melton will beat them
they have improved but finals the standard lifts and they wont beat Melton at Melton
DarthAnnihl8or
28 Aug 2006, 16:19
I never said they would beat them, but I really doubt they will smash them.
Vineyard
28 Aug 2006, 16:29
East to win over Redan
sunbury easy over Darley
Melton to smash Ballarat
Redan will beat east. Much better team even if Jordan kicks 10.
DarthAnnihl8or
28 Aug 2006, 16:32
Redan will beat east. Much better team even if Jordan kicks 10.
That's a massive call. East have been pretty awesome the last 3 weeks.
I hope Redan wins but I'm not confident.
learmonth
28 Aug 2006, 17:46
That's a massive call. East have been pretty awesome the last 3 weeks.
I hope Redan wins but I'm not confident.
Redan will beat East/Point.. Have the BAcks to shut down Easts power forwards... Jordan and Mcguigan are the stars, and i believe Snibson/Lubeek and Waight can do the job... There;s more then 1/2 their goals. Field, Edwards,Peace in the middle, are all sensational players and better then Hutchinson, Faull etc..
Murrihy is twice the coach of Fisher, and watch him crumble once the pressure gets to him... He has a great side.... and thats it, not a smart coach
Go LIONS!!!
Roo girl
28 Aug 2006, 20:52
Great bunch of Juniors, but most will only be around for 3 years as they are all uni students and will try to find work closer to home.[/quote]
All going well Redan will win the flag this year, and all the UNI boys efforts with the club for the last 3 seasons will have paid off. Redan to beat East this weekend, heard talks of Hutchinson and Fisher not getting along to rosey. Redan put an end to their undefeated perfect season earlier this year, and can hopefully put a bruise on their finals campaign. All redan boys back from injuries this week, team is looking AMAZING!
DOCKERS
28 Aug 2006, 21:44
All going well Redan will win the flag this year, and all the UNI boys efforts with the club for the last 3 seasons will have paid off. Redan to beat East this weekend, heard talks of Hutchinson and Fisher not getting along to rosey. Redan put an end to their undefeated perfect season earlier this year, and can hopefully put a bruise on their finals campaign. All redan boys back from injuries this week, team is looking AMAZING![/quote]
are you any relation to roo boy on the golden rivers thread?
woof woof
28 Aug 2006, 23:13
All going well Redan will win the flag this year, and all the UNI boys efforts with the club for the last 3 seasons will have paid off. Redan to beat East this weekend, heard talks of Hutchinson and Fisher not getting along to rosey. Redan put an end to their undefeated perfect season earlier this year, and can hopefully put a bruise on their finals campaign. All redan boys back from injuries this week, team is looking AMAZING!
are you any relation to roo boy on the golden rivers thread?[/quote]
hilarious dockers:D if you seen them side by side you could swear that they were brother and sister!
Roo girl
29 Aug 2006, 00:09
are you any relation to roo boy on the golden rivers thread?
hilarious dockers:D if you seen them side by side you could swear that they were brother and sister![/quote]
Golden Rivers... no lads would i lower myself to such a league?? Norelation to any other Roo Boys! He must be pretty smart tho...might go read his stuff..
Your right about Fisher will fall apart once a bit off pressure is applied. Walks around like he some big tough guy with all his tatts mouthing off as soon as he has to put his head over the ball or back into a pack he sh#ts himself!!!!
stanleyy
29 Aug 2006, 14:01
Your right about Fisher will fall apart once a bit off pressure is applied. Walks around like he some big tough guy with all his tatts mouthing off as soon as he has to put his head over the ball or back into a pack he sh#ts himself!!!!he doesn't put his head over the ball,2 busy looking 2 see where everyone is:eek:
Bobby Giovanni
29 Aug 2006, 14:10
Your right about Fisher will fall apart once a bit off pressure is applied. Walks around like he some big tough guy with all his tatts mouthing off as soon as he has to put his head over the ball or back into a pack he sh#ts himself!!!!
He has tatts now? What of and where?
He's always been as soft as butter, on AND off the field.
Fisher has tatts up his arm etc, nothing specific cause he cant spell, although he did get one right - on his back which "FISHER" must be a sign or something.:confused:
Vineyard
29 Aug 2006, 23:11
he doesn't put his head over the ball,2 busy looking 2 see where everyone is:eek:
Fisher cant be to bad to play the level of footy he has and also had the success as coach this season (only lost one game) and probably doesnt deserve the spray he has copped.
Having said that Murrihy and Redan do have better structures but have a few more seasoned players.
Roo girl
30 Aug 2006, 00:00
[quote=Vineyard]Fisher cant be to bad to play the level of footy he has and also had the success as coach this season (only lost one game) and probably doesnt deserve the spray he has copped.
I agree lets not bag Fisher too much, we don't want to under estimate this footballers ability at all. Will make Redans win all the sweeter realising the quality players they will beat.
cockroach
30 Aug 2006, 10:20
[quote=Vineyard]Fisher cant be to bad to play the level of footy he has and also had the success as coach this season (only lost one game) and probably doesnt deserve the spray he has copped.
I agree lets not bag Fisher too much, we don't want to under estimate this footballers ability at all. Will make Redans win all the sweeter realising the quality players they will beat.
Redan and East in hardness i would back East every time
But up Against Darley and Sunbury they are both questionable
Fisher is very good at what he dose and has proven that over the years ?
Roo girl
30 Aug 2006, 14:17
[quote=cockroach][quote=Roo girl]
Redan and East in hardness i would back East every time
COCKroach.... you are backing East in hardness? Phh been to watch much of the redan lions this year bud? Dont think there are too many players that would step in front of the likes of Snibbo, Jezza, feildsy, waighty, Knowlsey, hoggy, the big giant Reidy, and the likes. Even the littler blokes peace and dwyer are tough as they come always put head over the ball and bodies on the line!! Surely Redan is the toughest team in the comp? Just curious are finals in this league a little random? How is one supposed to watch the mighty redan twos aswell as the ones on the weekend?
GO THE LIONS!
freak29
30 Aug 2006, 18:14
look for the murrihy and fisher matchup... 2 of the softest most overrated players in the comp...should be good to watch...:eek:
Vineyard
31 Aug 2006, 00:00
look for the murrihy and fisher matchup... 2 of the softest most overrated players in the comp...should be good to watch...:eek:
does anyone reckon that Sunbury can compete with the big two from Ballarat. i believe IF they are disciplined they can. Is that their toughest opposition. Darley have beaten them twice this year so a definite hoodoo side to get over first.
stanleyy
31 Aug 2006, 08:30
does anyone reckon that Sunbury can compete with the big two from Ballarat. i believe IF they are disciplined they can. Is that their toughest opposition. Darley have beaten them twice this year so a definite hoodoo side to get over first.who do u think will win this weeks round of finals vineyard?;)
does anyone reckon that Sunbury can compete with the big two from Ballarat. i believe IF they are disciplined they can. Is that their toughest opposition. Darley have beaten them twice this year so a definite hoodoo side to get over first.\
i think your right vineyard but as you said discipline is the key for sunbury. i can't see how darley are considered a chance after their effort against redan last time, they were sh*thouse and thats being generous.
As for muz from redan being over rated?? don't make the Nth Ballarat team of the centry/decade (not sure what it was) by being no good. might seem past it now but come finals time he will be a vital part of redans set up.
learmonth
31 Aug 2006, 15:32
does anyone reckon that Sunbury can compete with the big two from Ballarat. i believe IF they are disciplined they can. Is that their toughest opposition. Darley have beaten them twice this year so a definite hoodoo side to get over first.
Just on SUNBURY, I can clearly remember stating that Mark Power will not coach Sunbury next season. From what i hear, he has already handed his resignation in, and will be coaching in the Riddell F.L next season (Win TV Last night). Im pretty positive that he was pushed, as the club reliases that they have to change the culture. Great bloke and player personally, but business is business.
Also said that Matt Power wont coach Darley next season..... Once they lose to Sunbury this week, u look at the knives that come out...Reynolds to coach next season.
For my important tips in the Finals this week, Redan will beat East.. Sides that go along thrashing sides week in week out, usually dont win the BIG one as they develop BAD habits, and thats what i think East are doing..Running one way... With the amount of VFL players Redan have, they will get over the line. Snibson wont play this weekend.
SUnbury to turn the tide against Darley and to win easily... Especially if the 2 VFL Geelong players are avail.
Melt to beat Ballarat easily..... and could possibly beat E/Point in a prelim if it goes that way..??
Rumor of the week is that redan will Lose Blomely, Dickinson, Peace, Dwyer and Waight to the VFL (Nth Ballarat next season)...
Bobby Giovanni
31 Aug 2006, 15:39
What about Jez Edwards, AJ? Heard he was going to North as well.
Also hear he may not be playing this weekend, due to problems off-field with an ex-workmate of yours.
Jarman03
31 Aug 2006, 16:16
I would still say that if both powers were not to coach next year, it would be both their call. I agree though that the knives will come out Darley on brother Matthew should he lose this weekend, however think Mark at Sunbury would be making his own call.
Tips for this week, Redan to beat East, if their players are playing, their style of play is capable fo beating East who play outside the ball, unlike redan that play hard tough finals like football.
Darley and Sunbury are even money, with key players out of both sides. Darley are considered a chance as when they played Redan mid year and got slaughtered, they had 8 senior players play that day, 12 didnt, the first time they played Redan they got beat by 8 points so having beaten 3 of the other top sides in the finals and only side to beat Sunbury at Sunbury in a number of years, thats why they are considered some chance.
Not worth talking about Melton Ballarat, we know the result of that one although expect a close game. Melton the smokey this September.
Kings Army
31 Aug 2006, 16:26
[quote=learmonth]Just on SUNBURY, I can clearly remember stating that Mark Power will not coach Sunbury next season. From what i hear, he has already handed his resignation in, and will be coaching in the Riddell F.L next season (Win TV Last night). Im pretty positive that he was pushed, as the club reliases that they have to change the culture. Great bloke and player personally, but business is business.
There is no way Sunbury will push Serge out - Little, Lobb, Payne, Kelly and Griffo to name a few would follow anywhere he went.
Rumor of the week is that redan will Lose Blomely, Dickinson, Peace, Dwyer and Waight to the VFL (Nth Ballarat next season)...[/quote]
waight has had calls from WAFL clubs and i think the only thing that will keep him in ballarat is his uni course, same goes for dwyer, dickinson and peace. peace and dwyer have been approached the last 2 years by NTH and saiid no but next yr could be different if Redan win the flag
Daniel Jordan would have to be a big chance to take out the double and win the Henderson medal wouldn't he? I know full forwards rarely win b&f awards but 7 bags of 10 or more goals could equate to 21 votes. Chuck in hauls of 9,7 & 6 as well and a b.o.g. from chf in rd 1 and he looks a good thing. The big white bandage he had on his scone for probably half the games wouldn't do any harm to his chances either. Any thoughts boys?
Vineyard
1 Sep 2006, 00:58
who do u think will win this weeks round of finals vineyard?;)
East Point will beat Redan if snibson doesnt play as mentioned on this forum. Grand Final if they meet again may be different.
Melton will get home against Ballarat. Berger back and has a run under his belt. Porter, grenfell & edwards for melton will have to much fire power for the swans to handle.
Darley will sneak home over Sunbury in a classic. Matt has to many tricks up his sleeve for his brother to handle. Massive underdogs but beware of the wounded devil.
Vineyard
1 Sep 2006, 01:00
Daniel Jordan would have to be a big chance to take out the double and win the Henderson medal wouldn't he? I know full forwards rarely win b&f awards but 7 bags of 10 or more goals could equate to 21 votes. Chuck in hauls of 9,7 & 6 as well and a b.o.g. from chf in rd 1 and he looks a good thing. The big white bandage he had on his scone for probably half the games wouldn't do any harm to his chances either. Any thoughts boys?
wouldnt be any one close. clearly been the best player all year and teh league loves giving him the exposure.
Have heard strong rumours that this could be the last season for the jordan boys at East. Conflict arising at the wrong time of year.
very boring night the hendo medal by all reports
Nuts n Bolts
1 Sep 2006, 01:17
Just on SUNBURY, I can clearly remember stating that Mark Power will not coach Sunbury next season. From what i hear, he has already handed his resignation in, and will be coaching in the Riddell F.L next season (Win TV Last night). Im pretty positive that he was pushed, as the club reliases that they have to change the culture. Great bloke and player personally, but business is business.
Also said that Matt Power wont coach Darley next season..... Once they lose to Sunbury this week, u look at the knives that come out...Reynolds to coach next season.
For my important tips in the Finals this week, Redan will beat East.. Sides that go along thrashing sides week in week out, usually dont win the BIG one as they develop BAD habits, and thats what i think East are doing..Running one way... With the amount of VFL players Redan have, they will get over the line. Snibson wont play this weekend.
SUnbury to turn the tide against Darley and to win easily... Especially if the 2 VFL Geelong players are avail.
Melt to beat Ballarat easily..... and could possibly beat E/Point in a prelim if it goes that way..??
Rumor of the week is that redan will Lose Blomely, Dickinson, Peace, Dwyer and Waight to the VFL (Nth Ballarat next season)...
mark power was always finishing up this year! apparently thats what he was quoted for saying at the interleague carnival at lavington earlier this year! good on him too! hope does well in the riddell league! a man with many great ideas, good footy brain
stanleyy
1 Sep 2006, 11:02
East Point will beat Redan if snibson doesnt play as mentioned on this forum. Grand Final if they meet again may be different.
Melton will get home against Ballarat. Berger back and has a run under his belt. Porter, grenfell & edwards for melton will have to much fire power for the swans to handle.
Darley will sneak home over Sunbury in a classic. Matt has to many tricks up his sleeve for his brother to handle. Massive underdogs but beware of the wounded devil.who is the wounded devil?keenan ?will he play this week?what about scoble will he play,whisper is he is carrying an injured back?can you enlightened us mr vineyard:confused:
Vineyard
1 Sep 2006, 13:44
who is the wounded devil?keenan ?will he play this week?what about scoble will he play,whisper is he is carrying an injured back?can you enlightened us mr vineyard:confused:
Dont know Stanleyy. Have more important things to do than watch darley train on a thursday night.
all will play this week though
cockroach
1 Sep 2006, 14:48
Dont know Stanleyy. Have more important things to do than watch darley train on a thursday night.
all will play this week though
interesting weekend ahead possible the end of a era @ Darley and Sunbury
2 coaches walked in 1 walked out ?
Sunbury by 4 goals
Darley will burn the good things they have and take a new direction
strong club and will be better for the turnovers
Keenan is he the answer will be the big >?
Rod Thomas to save his scalp
Mighty Bloods to win
East to win easy
Thats_Special
1 Sep 2006, 14:57
mark power was always finishing up this year! apparently thats what he was quoted for saying at the interleague carnival at lavington earlier this year! good on him too! hope does well in the riddell league! a man with many great ideas, good footy brain
Doesn't he have to front the RDFL first??? For his behaviour last time... I sure cant wait for him to come back and destroy the RDFL again....
Stay at Sunbury... Please!!!!!
Grimmett
1 Sep 2006, 15:33
wouldnt be any one close. clearly been the best player all year and teh league loves giving him the exposure.
Have heard strong rumours that this could be the last season for the jordan boys at East. Conflict arising at the wrong time of year.
very boring night the hendo medal by all reports
I'm sure the Jordan brothers will be much sought after if they leave East Point. What's the issue causing friction? Are they seriously considering a move or just posturing for better 'conditions'?
My mail is Jordans are going to Rupertswood, with Ben as coach. someone might be able to check but my mail is it that its the home club when juniors.
The Hendo medal will be interesting, Whilst Dan has been a goal kicking machine, there have been a few Redan boys getting a bit of it Fieldy, Jezza and waighty. Dont discount hutchy from East someone had to feed Jordan.
My tip Jezza from Hutchy and DJ (the wedding singer 3rd)
This weekend, EAST will win to quick for Redan, Sunbury to fall over line less than 10 points and Melton to win by less than 30 points...wont be the blow out it should be.
:thumbsu: :cool:
stanleyy
1 Sep 2006, 16:34
all will play this week thoughaccording to the "Beak" a few senior boys didn't train last night,& it wasn't through injury,will they line up?And what could be better than watching training on a thursday nite, "My brother Earl"?
power is a gun player when he worries about playing football and isn't suffering from little man syndrome. as for him having a good football brain??? stomping on Mark Kennedy's head infront of the umpire in a gand final when you are your teams best player shows to me he has no brain at all.
Picador
10 Sep 2006, 15:20
Can someone tell me the venue and date for the Ballarat Grand Final?
Mark to play at riddell next year ,all ready signed up .Vineyard you would like that wouldn't you or is it vineward
Centre Sqaure
10 Sep 2006, 21:19
can anyone tell me the results from the w/e's games and maybe a bit of an anlysis to how they unfolded. Going on previous posts, the redan result was expected, but did the football public underestimate the swans? what was the cause of the last half fade out?
Roo girl
10 Sep 2006, 23:00
can anyone tell me the results from the w/e's games and maybe a bit of an anlysis to how they unfolded. Going on previous posts, the redan result was expected, but did the football public underestimate the swans? what was the cause of the last half fade out?
Redan through to the grand final in the seniors and reserves! The ones beat darley by a ridicoulous amount as darley looked no way near anything for the entire game! The usual suspects were good for Redan, have to mention micallif who continues to impress week after week. Have to eat my words about one kieran murrihy, the coach kicked 5 in the first quarter finishing with 7 for the day, impressive to say the least... Good to see snibson back in from injury was rested for a lot of the day however as darley NEVER looked dangerous. Unlucky sunbury were knocked out by this team last week, wish i hadve witnessed it as am yet to see this team play good footy!! Peacy has wrapped up the clubs Most Valuable Player 12 votes ahead of fieldsy. Congratulations must go to this 21 year old, since arrriving at the club at 18 has won 2 MVP's and a best and fairest. Can play footy. The twos are in to the grand final also with glasso and hinton impressive. One to watch is the backline defensive work of number 21, not sure who the lad is but his cannons are near busting through his jumper! Deserved win to both sides who can hopefully come home with the goods on september 23.
Today at eastern oval east point, after sleeping for 3 quarters overtook the swans in the last quarter to get up by 2 or so goals. One would think if east point are going to put an end to redans dream run they had want to start playing some real good footy from start to finish??? Ballarat twos lost to sunbury.
Vineyard
10 Sep 2006, 23:29
Redan through to the grand final in the seniors and reserves! The ones beat darley by a ridicoulous amount as darley looked no way near anything for the entire game! The usual suspects were good for Redan, have to mention micallif who continues to impress week after week. Have to eat my words about one kieran murrihy, the coach kicked 5 in the first quarter finishing with 7 for the day, impressive to say the least... Good to see snibson back in from injury was rested for a lot of the day however as darley NEVER looked dangerous. Unlucky sunbury were knocked out by this team last week, wish i hadve witnessed it as am yet to see this team play good footy!! Peacy has wrapped up the clubs Most Valuable Player 12 votes ahead of fieldsy. Congratulations must go to this 21 year old, since arrriving at the club at 18 has won 2 MVP's and a best and fairest. Can play footy. The twos are in to the grand final also with glasso and hinton impressive. One to watch is the backline defensive work of number 21, not sure who the lad is but his cannons are near busting through his jumper! Deserved win to both sides who can hopefully come home with the goods on september 23.
Today at eastern oval east point, after sleeping for 3 quarters overtook the swans in the last quarter to get up by 2 or so goals. One would think if east point are going to put an end to redans dream run they had want to start playing some real good footy from start to finish??? Ballarat twos lost to sunbury.
You must be Peace's missus. All you ever do is wrap the lad up. or your gay??? Must agree that he can play but Field & Edwards get him the footy and would be great to run off the half back line with these guys feeding him. Also gets the 4th or 5th best on baller which shows the strength of Redan.
Darley were definitely outclassed for the 2nd time this year by Redan and will need to be at their best to compete with East Point this week. Their young side clearly struggles against older smarter opponents which comes with experience and playing in big games.
3 finals games this year at least for a number of young kids which only helps the devils in the future.
Wasnt unlucky that sunbury lost, the devils outplayed them and have 3 times this season, as a supporter of the club its just disappointing that Redan have doen the same to us. Roo Girl, as seasons progress the results will change but all credit to your Lions. No one would have predicted Darley to at least finish 3rd. Well coached by Power & Scoble to get the club to that point.
\
i think your right vineyard but as you said discipline is the key for sunbury. i can't see how darley are considered a chance after their effort against redan last time, they were sh*thouse and thats being generous.
As for muz from redan being over rated?? don't make the Nth Ballarat team of the centry/decade (not sure what it was) by being no good. might seem past it now but come finals time he will be a vital part of redans set up.
will quote myself here, think the weekend showed i was spot on. muz kicked 8 and darley didnt even come close also did say nath blommely is over rated earlier and i got canned for it. during the east game he has 2 affective touches and got 3rd best!!!!!!!!!! what is it with everyone..... since when does a player who turns the ball over 90% of the time and trys to take everyone on get 3rd best for using the ball twice. think people need to look past the fact he is quick and kicks the ball long everytime and actually look to where the ball ends up. n use getting it and kicign it straight back to the other team.
east point V redan GF
redan to win the flag by under 5 goals as injuries to hutchinson (ankle) and symes (calf) to hurt east cause injections call only help for so long
Vineyard
10 Sep 2006, 23:32
Mark to play at riddell next year ,all ready signed up .Vineyard you would like that wouldn't you or is it vineward
Thats great for Mark to be putting something into the club that he/brothers started at. A great player and great coach and will only help improve the Riddell FC.
As for your inclinations you have no idea and way off the mark. Much better looking.
You must be Peace's missus. All you ever do is wrap the lad up. or your gay??? Must agree that he can play but Field & Edwards get him the footy and would be great to run off the half back line with these guys feeding him. Also gets the 4th or 5th best on baller which shows the strength of Redan.
Darley were definitely outclassed for the 2nd time this year by Redan and will need to be at their best to compete with East Point this week. Their young side clearly struggles against older smarter opponents which comes with experience and playing in big games.
3 finals games this year at least for a number of young kids which only helps the devils in the future.
Wasnt unlucky that sunbury lost, the devils outplayed them and have 3 times this season, as a supporter of the club its just disappointing that Redan have doen the same to us. Roo Girl, as seasons progress the results will change but all credit to your Lions. No one would have predicted Darley to at least finish 3rd. Well coached by Power & Scoble to get the club to that point.
i think roogirl wishes she was peace's misses like most of the loyal redan supporters. peace won the b&f and one MVP when edwards and fieldweren't there mate so he obviously hasn't ben getting fed for 3 yrs in a row. he's a out and out freak and if i was gay i would jump him after i was finished with josh hare
Roo girl
11 Sep 2006, 02:11
i think roogirl wishes she was peace's misses like most of the loyal redan supporters. peace won the b&f and one MVP when edwards and fieldweren't there mate so he obviously hasn't ben getting fed for 3 yrs in a row. he's a out and out freak and if i was gay i would jump him after i was finished with josh hare
Very good point spider. We dont need to defend peace however, like you said he is a down and out freak and his footballing ability speaks louder than anything ANYONE can say about him. Any football club would love to have him, as would any woman! And if I was peacys mrs I would happily declare it to the footballing world!! We are a happy bunch at Redan Vineyard, no attempt at sledging will could change that!! (gault is that the josh hare from the slagheads in bendigo? Is it true he has given up football for high jumping??)
Vineyard
11 Sep 2006, 11:06
Very good point spider. We dont need to defend peace however, like you said he is a down and out freak and his footballing ability speaks louder than anything ANYONE can say about him. Any football club would love to have him, as would any woman! And if I was peacys mrs I would happily declare it to the footballing world!! We are a happy bunch at Redan Vineyard, no attempt at sledging will could change that!! (gault is that the josh hare from the slagheads in bendigo? Is it true he has given up football for high jumping??)
winners are grinners and no-one can take that away from the Redan FC
learmonth
11 Sep 2006, 15:09
winners are grinners and no-one can take that away from the Redan FC
Lets all jump on Redan's wagon. There a great unit and we all love Redan. Lets hope the drums BEAT long into the night.
Well i did state earlier that Fisher isnt a good coach and it was proved on the Weekend, Great effort by Swooper and Ballarat, certainly planned better, but just didnt have the cattle on the track.
Swans will be a force next season, and can people stop saying the Mark Power is a good coach, he was a great footballer, but has really struggled as a coach. I believe he will coach better once he is away from Sunbury, and if he attends anger management
stanleyy
11 Sep 2006, 21:24
jarman03/vineyard can we expect the devils to bounch back this week?hope so,were their any injuries to come out of the weekend games?:thumbsu:
cockroach
12 Sep 2006, 09:00
looks like East and Redan GrandFinal day unless the Devils can cause a huge upset ? would love to see fishers face if they dont make the Grandfinal
any news on the coaching positions
Melton ?
Melton south ?
Darley ?
Sunbury ?
Bacchus ?
Lakers ?
simplesimon
12 Sep 2006, 10:52
Lots of rumours going around about coaches. here's what ive heard.
Melton ? Scoble/Button
Melton south ? Scoble/Chapman
Darley ? Scoble/Power
Sunbury ? Scoble/Power
Bacchus ? Scoble/Larsen
Lakers ? Scoble/Nesbitt
stanleyy
12 Sep 2006, 11:22
Melton ? Scoble/Button
Darley ? Scoble/Power
Sunbury ? Scoble/Power
Bacchus ? Scoble/Larsen
Lakers ? Scoble/Nesbittbig rumor sweeping torquay is that their 2006 premiership coach ,former bacchus player,has been sacked & will be replaced by current darley coach matt power with former bfl rep coach butchy phillips 2b his sidekick.apparently matt power is now residing in torquay,can you confirm this viney.:thumbsu:
simplesimon
12 Sep 2006, 11:32
big rumor sweeping torquay is that their 2006 premiership coach ,former bacchus player,has been sacked & will be replaced by current darley coach matt power with former bfl rep coach butchy phillips 2b his sidekick.apparently matt power is now residing in torquay,can you confirm this viney.:thumbsu:
Skrobolak sacked??
whats the go there??
heard this week that Jayden Reid and Julian Field are suffering from leech bites. can anyone confirm this? heard the attacks happened over the weekend when they were both viciously attacked by a leech
Roo girl
12 Sep 2006, 16:29
heard this week that Jayden Reid and Julian Field are suffering from leech bites. can anyone confirm this? heard the attacks happened over the weekend when they were both viciously attacked by a leech
yes gault this can be confirmed, believe one leech was sucking hard on saturday night at the den. This leech went above and beyond the call of duty however sleeping on the couch while the boys engaged in a little extra cardio training for the g-f.
So, who from redan will get the job on Dan Jordan? Word on the path is that Thomas McKinnon will be stepping up to the job and is having intense training during the week. The strategy used by coach Kieran Murrihy is brain washing Thomas 'Ringo' McKinnon that Dan Jordan is in fact Julian Field, that way Jordan wont get near the ball without McKinnon all over him... should make an interesting match up.. only worry is Fieldsy will get lonely back at the den that saturday night as Ringo will still be at Eastern Oval drowning his sorrows in Jordans back pocket...
Melton ? Scoble/Button
Darley ? Scoble/Power
Sunbury ? Scoble/Power
Bacchus ? Scoble/Larsen
Lakers ? Scoble/Nesbitt
Larsen is going overseas next year so he wont be coaching Bacchus Marsh.
Vineyard
13 Sep 2006, 16:24
yes gault this can be confirmed, believe one leech was sucking hard on saturday night at the den. This leech went above and beyond the call of duty however sleeping on the couch while the boys engaged in a little extra cardio training for the g-f.
So, who from redan will get the job on Dan Jordan? Word on the path is that Thomas McKinnon will be stepping up to the job and is having intense training during the week. The strategy used by coach Kieran Murrihy is brain washing Thomas 'Ringo' McKinnon that Dan Jordan is in fact Julian Field, that way Jordan wont get near the ball without McKinnon all over him... should make an interesting match up.. only worry is Fieldsy will get lonely back at the den that saturday night as Ringo will still be at Eastern Oval drowning his sorrows in Jordans back pocket...
Have heard rumours that Hutchinson (Ankle) & Symes (Shoulder/Calf) in big doubt for the prelim final against Darley. Jordan also carrying a broken rib from the Redan game. Can anyone confirm or deny this???
Would make this game very interesting if these 3 didnt play. Jordan kicked 13 last time. Useful info for Redan if they get through.
Vineyard
13 Sep 2006, 16:26
big rumor sweeping torquay is that their 2006 premiership coach ,former bacchus player,has been sacked & will be replaced by current darley coach matt power with former bfl rep coach butchy phillips 2b his sidekick.apparently matt power is now residing in torquay,can you confirm this viney.:thumbsu:
Didnt big Skrobba get a two year deal at the start of this season. Kicked 100 & a flag. Not a bad effort as coach. What more could they want? Someone from the marsh would need to confirm this though.
You love starting rumours Stanleyy
simplesimon
13 Sep 2006, 17:23
Have heard rumours that Hutchinson (Ankle) & Symes (Shoulder/Calf) in big doubt for the prelim final against Darley. Jordan also carrying a broken rib from the Redan game. Can anyone confirm or deny this???
Would make this game very interesting if these 3 didnt play. Jordan kicked 13 last time. Useful info for Redan if they get through.
interesting stuff Vineyard, were you at EP training last night??
Vineyard
13 Sep 2006, 18:11
interesting stuff Vineyard, were you at EP training last night??
Not at all. Had a couple of quiet beers straight after work with a few mates in readiness for the Spring Racing Carnival. Was a great night for beers. No chance of me going anywhere near a training session. Might raise a sweat.
hutchinson got an injection in his ankle to play against redan in the first final and symes hurt his calf at the start of the 3rd quater against redan(not sure if he had already hurt it but he did go down and took awhile to get back up after a contest infront of the east club rooms). if anyone was there they can remember symes kicked 4 point sin the 3rd and should have put redan out of the game but it was obvious he was struggling with his calf.
hope east make it through though cause no one likes watching one sided GF's and if darley make it can't see them getting close to a full strength redan line up.
stanleyy
14 Sep 2006, 10:42
Didnt big Skrobba get a two year deal at the start of this season. Kicked 100 & a flag. Not a bad effort as coach. What more could they want? Someone from the marsh would need to confirm this though.
You love starting rumours Stanleyyanother one just for you viney,sunbury could be trying to lure 3 time former premiership coach DEAN LUPSON out of retirement to take over as senior coach(non-playing),along with his long time confidant SALTY:D .see if you can find any info on that one viney:thumbsu:
stanleyy
14 Sep 2006, 10:44
Would make this game very interesting if these 3 didnt play. Jordan kicked 13 last time. Useful info for Redan if they get through.on a serious note viney,if these rumors are true & the above players don't play,what chance darley this week?
learmonth
14 Sep 2006, 12:38
another one just for you viney,sunbury could be trying to lure 3 time former premiership coach DEAN LUPSON out of retirement to take over as senior coach(non-playing),along with his long time confidant SALTY:D .see if you can find any info on that one viney:thumbsu:
Your got to be kidding. WHy would u want an undisciplined person like him back at the club..??? They need to aim at someone who will change their culture and instill some discipline and work ethic, rather then just taking the easy buck!!!!
He is still suspended from walking out of the Ballarat tribunral...Real good leadership skills........
Ill give ya a tip who should coach (joint) Sunbury and they would make more sense then all currently involved. Humpffray B Bear & Fat Cat!
stanleyy
14 Sep 2006, 13:33
Your got to be kidding. WHy would u want an undisciplined person like him back at the club..??? They need to aim at someone who will change their culture and instill some discipline and work ethic, rather then just taking the easy buck!!!!
He is still suspended from walking out of the Ballarat tribunral...Real good leadership skills........
Ill give ya a tip who should coach (joint) Sunbury and they would make more sense then all currently involved. Humpffray B Bear & Fat Cat!apparently they're both unavailable:(
cockroach
14 Sep 2006, 14:34
apparently they're both unavailable:(
people would be lining up to coach Sunbury if Power walks
always a good strong club who never miss finals
so i,m not surprised humph and fat cat are keen ?
simplesimon
14 Sep 2006, 14:54
apparently a divided committee down at Sunbury, half want to keep Power and half want him gone!
Jarman03
14 Sep 2006, 15:43
Sergey Power wants job, Sergey Power gets Job!!
Mad to let him walk!
Maybe those they want a change have a vested interest in the change??
Ill give ya a tip who should coach (joint) Sunbury and they would make more sense then all currently involved. Humpffray B Bear & Fat Cat!
Don't be stupid. Both are poor communicators.
Grimmett
15 Sep 2006, 00:23
Don't be stupid. Both are poor communicators.
Should make the regular crisis meetings at Saxon House easier to deal with though. :cool:
Vineyard
15 Sep 2006, 10:52
on a serious note viney,if these rumors are true & the above players don't play,what chance darley this week?
Even if they do play the Darley boys will give a good account of themselves. Love the underdog and the fight/self belief they have for each other. Been very committed all week so they are closer than some people think.
Very disappointed from a spectators point of view to see redan players walk off last week without a bump or bruise on them after playing for 120 minutes. Hopefully the devils have a crack and East Point will be sore win or lose after this game. That is all you can ask.
Darley & Ballarat are the only two BFL sides not to have played in a GF since the new clubs came in. History on the line.