View Full Version : Ballarat Football League
saucehead
10 Oct 2006, 17:10
As for all this Bacchus Marsh Talk, Stop kidding yourself, there 35 goals of being competitive with the top 3 teams, and another 5 of winning.
i disagree. if they can attract 5-7 top quality players i think they could be very competitive if they dont loose anyone else. they where right with ballarat in ballarat for a good 3 quarters but lacked the depth to really push home. they where even competivive with redan for a half if my memory serves me correct.
BLUES25
10 Oct 2006, 21:18
car load of players ,want a game of football at a country club woomelang
car load of players ,want a game of football at a country club woomelangwhere the **** is that? it's certainly not in the ballarat league.
BLUES25
10 Oct 2006, 21:22
where the **** is that? it's certainly not in the ballarat league.
2 1/2 hours from ballarat
BLUES25
10 Oct 2006, 21:24
2 1/2 hours north of ballarat
It's called a Sunday Session Lica!!!
Were you at the club on Sunday Lica?
Because my mail says it did happen.
No I wasn't at the club on Sunday but I was at the club tonight for a meeting and the "Sunday Session" you are refering to wasn't at the club it was at a pub in Werribee and it didn't involve the president. Dion was there with some possible recruits from what I hear.
The big guy from Wangaratta is actually from Swan Hill and is a 6 ft 5 man mountain. The other two players that you mentioned are on the radar for sure but aren't certain signings. There is a few other names that are in the hat and if they secure all of them then BMFNC is going to move up the ladder for sure. I'm quite confident in saying that. One guy played for Glenelg last in the SANFL and is ment to be a absolute gun.
ROOTA#6
11 Oct 2006, 00:02
No I wasn't at the club on Sunday but I was at the club tonight for a meeting and the "Sunday Session" you are refering to wasn't at the club it was at a pub in Werribee and it didn't involve the president. Dion was there with some possible recruits from what I hear.
The big guy from Wangaratta is actually from Swan Hill and is a 6 ft 5 man mountain. The other two players that you mentioned are on the radar for sure but aren't certain signings. There is a few other names that are in the hat and if they secure all of them then BMFNC is going to move up the ladder for sure. I'm quite confident in saying that. One guy played for Glenelg last in the SANFL and is ment to be a absolute gun.
What is his name Lica?
His name escapes me at the moment because I heard quite a few tonight so I cant give you one sorry. I could find out if I made a phone call but at 11.15pm i'm not about to. If I speak to anyone in the next few days and it is one hundred percent that he is coming then I will gladly but it up.
Is that fair enough?
Vineyard
11 Oct 2006, 00:16
No worries in the world Tappy - I am sure whoever is wrong will be man enough to admit it. The success Chappy and Scoble had with the under 18's have got them over the line to coach Melton South.
Can confirm as well tappy you tool. Kings Army is the real deal.
Will more than likely be in the press in the next week or so. Great challenge for Chappy & himself as co-coaches but they will do well.
ROOTA#6
11 Oct 2006, 00:17
His name escapes me at the moment because I heard quite a few tonight so I cant give you one sorry. I could find out if I made a phone call but at 11.15pm i'm not about to. If I speak to anyone in the next few days and it is one hundred percent that he is coming then I will gladly but it up.
Is that fair enough?
Yes mate that is more than fair.
Vineyard
11 Oct 2006, 00:18
i disagree. if they can attract 5-7 top quality players i think they could be very competitive if they dont loose anyone else. they where right with ballarat in ballarat for a good 3 quarters but lacked the depth to really push home. they where even competivive with redan for a half if my memory serves me correct.
their best players have all gone Saucehead. Connors, Larsen, Dodd, McCarthy, Hunter have all left the club.
Tyson Shea may be crossing the bridge as well.
Their recruits better be good and remember they arent marsh people.
Yes mate that is more than fair.
Cool.
I dont have a problem putting names up here if they are signed or damn close to it as I know the club wouldn't have a problem with that.
ROOTA#6
11 Oct 2006, 00:25
Cool.
I dont have a problem putting names up here if they are signed or damn close to it as I know the club wouldn't have a problem with that.
Excellent to hear. I am from up Swan Hill way an would be very interested to know who it is
their best players have all gone Saucehead. Connors, Larsen, Dodd, McCarthy, Hunter have all left the club.
Where are you getting this from??
Connors has left to play with his mates.
Larso is going overseas and has had his knee reco.
Doddy is coaching the twos.
McCarthy hasn't ruled out playing.
Hunter hasn't talked about leaving and neither has Tyson. Tyson wont cross the bridge. He loves the club too much.
Where are you getting this from??
Connors has left to play with his mates.
Larso is going overseas and has had his knee reco.
Doddy is coaching the twos.
McCarthy hasn't ruled out playing.
Hunter hasn't talked about leaving and neither has Tyson. Tyson wont cross the bridge. He loves the club too much.This wouldn't be Michael Dodd would it?
Kings Army
11 Oct 2006, 13:25
Sunbury B & F
1) Pat Cariss
2) Corey Brown
3) Jamie Lobb
gotnoskills
11 Oct 2006, 13:37
The marsh have recuited Nick Becker ,Ex-carlton rookie list and played the last two season at Port Melbourne in the VFL, and just signed gun onballer Jonathan Horne from North Sunshine and before that Strathmore. Hopefully they can attract a few more players and be a bit better hey??
This wouldn't be Michael Dodd would it?
That would be correct and Clint Piggott is coaching the Under 18s.
The marsh have recuited Nick Becker ,Ex-carlton rookie list and played the last two season at Port Melbourne in the VFL, and just signed gun onballer Jonathan Horne from North Sunshine and before that Strathmore. Hopefully they can attract a few more players and be a bit better hey??
Looks like they will be signing Dions brother and two or three of his mates aswell.
Have heard that a couple of Lakers boys - Nesbitt and Carracher - are heading to Qld next year to play. Can this be confirmed by anyone??
That would be correct and Clint Piggott is coaching the Under 18s.Has he come back from darley? looks like the marsh are getting a few of the old crew back involved?
who is on the board (president etc) at the marsh these days lica and how is the club financially?
learmonth
11 Oct 2006, 16:27
Have heard that a couple of Lakers boys - Nesbitt and Carracher - are heading to Qld next year to play. Can this be confirmed by anyone??
Have heard the same thing, but not 100% sure.
Football Analysor
11 Oct 2006, 19:10
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched were other key elements in our findings.
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL
behind_post
11 Oct 2006, 19:47
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched were other key elements in our findings.
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
how is ballarat playing in a higher interleague division than bendigo but still ranked lower, and its a bit strange for wimmera to be ranked behind sunraysia
anyone agree?
Has he come back from darley? looks like the marsh are getting a few of the old crew back involved?
who is on the board (president etc) at the marsh these days lica and how is the club financially?
Chuck Connors is president now. Both Adam Sutherland and Wayne Cracknell are doing recruiting along side Chris Closter and now Dion Miles since he came on board as coach has been busy recruiting.
They are very strong financially, thats part of the reason they fell down for the passed few years on the field because they have been getting the off field stuff organised. Seems now they feel that they can now go ahead and concentrate on the on field stuff.
patty O'furnicha
11 Oct 2006, 22:46
Heard via the the bush telegraph that when someone who was interviewed by the marsh recently was unimpressed and all the committee did was bag the darley football club. The applicant said he wasn't there to talk about darley and was interested in the good things about the BMFNC & standard of teh Ballarat league. Hopefully other applicants had better treatment discussing the psoition. Bit sad trying to recruit guys by bagging their rivals who have played finals every year and are a lot better managed/financially strong.
A lot of hot air again out of maddingley park???
Finals are out of the question next year but they can only improve.
C'mon Vineyard you should know better than to subscribe to the bush telegraph...
I know for sure that the marsh didn't spend their time bagging their rivals, they are much to concerned with their own processes at the moment to worry about Darley. Sure they have a great rivalry and it would be neive to think both clubs talk the other up as if they'd waste their time worrying about that sort of stuff in the middle of their most important interview of the year.
as for off field business, the marsh have been behind the standard throughout the league but over the past few years have developed the right committee which has taken them in the right direction holding them in a great financial position with the future looking bright. Don't expect them to be winning flags next year but for the victory starved cobra faithful i'm sure there is better times ahead.
Welcome back Crusader, U are a very smart man. They wont get Jordan as he has already signed with East/Point. Is on about 90k (30k Footy & 60K Work) with match payments and his job as Aussie Sports Tour which East/Point used to get him.
As for Seiz, its only a matter of time before all clubs that he goes to asking for BIG $$$ understands that he is not worth more then a bowl of Black & Gold Spagetti!
What is the news up Dford way... Any more information on Faull & Giggsy playing there this season.???
Also been told by a very reliable source that Salesi Uhi will be joining his former Coach Malcome Scott at North City this season. Scott is rumored to be an assistant to Bety McCarty.
How interesting is this post?? It was in the CHL forum in reference to Hepburn offering Dan Jordan 50k to go there!!! :D
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 09:23
how is ballarat playing in a higher interleague division than bendigo but still ranked lower, and its a bit strange for wimmera to be ranked behind sunraysia
anyone agree?
Should not be a factor - most of the best players pull out of interleague sides as they could not care less about it.
learmonth
12 Oct 2006, 10:35
anyone agree?
What a joke..Ballarat is 10 times the league of Bendigo...... And better then a lot of the metro leagues. Country footy is way in front.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 10:43
What a joke..Ballarat is 10 times the league of Bendigo...... And better then a lot of the metro leagues. Country footy is way in front.
How many Bendigo games did you see this year? Gisborne and Golden Square are as good as Redan and East Point. South Bendigo are a lot stronger than Darley and Ballarat. 10 times stronger is a very ignorant comment.
Bobby Giovanni
12 Oct 2006, 10:44
I've watched a lot of EDFL this year, and it's toilet football. Lakers would win the flag there. Redan & East would smash every team.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 10:57
I've watched a lot of EDFL this year, and it's toilet football. Lakers would win the flag there. Redan & East would smash every team.
Smash Stathmore?? You must be kidding.
behind_post
12 Oct 2006, 11:14
Should not be a factor - most of the best players pull out of interleague sides as they could not care less about it.
Thats rubbish!
it's what every league wants to win (hence the reason to why they hand out suspensions/fines) so as to be seen as a strong powerful league.
saucehead
12 Oct 2006, 11:14
thats a massive call. strathmore would beat be premiers in the bfl for sure.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 11:43
Thats rubbish!
it's what every league wants to win (hence the reason to why they hand out suspensions/fines) so as to be seen as a strong powerful league.
The league wants to win but the players do not give a ***** about it. Name 1 player that has been fined or suspended! Never has happened as all that is required is a fake doctors certificate.
The Ballarat players were drinking until 6am the night before they played last year. The games are a joke to the players. So interleague should not be a serious factor when working out which league is better.
saucehead
12 Oct 2006, 12:38
true... interleague footy is heading in the same direction as the state of origin... players arent honoured anymore to represent their league... especially when they get no pay cheque for playing...
behind_post
12 Oct 2006, 13:19
The league wants to win but the players do not give a ***** about it. Name 1 player that has been fined or suspended! Never has happened as all that is required is a fake doctors certificate.
The Ballarat players were drinking until 6am the night before they played last year. The games are a joke to the players. So interleague should not be a serious factor when working out which league is better.
same goes for bendigo in 2005 i think, they were all out on the *****!!!
you can never judge a side/league by maybe IF this player wasn't injured or drinking ***** or whatever that they would've won! u should only judge on past performances and if i'm not mistaken i'm pretty sure ballarat beat bendigo the last time they played off.
also ballarat had 4blokes from 3 different clubs represented in the VCFL team (two selected for all australian) while bendigo had 3 all from the same club....can you understand my point here?
The Sharpe Man
12 Oct 2006, 13:24
I seem to remember the Ballarat FL suspending Matthew SUtton & MSFC RUckman Puli for not playing Interleague a few years ago ?
I think anyone who reckons players who don't care about INterleague should have seen them at Lavington this year (I went & watched). They had a sensational crack and were shattered to fall short. The BFL boys apparently stuffed up in 2005, and rumour has it it all started to go pear shaped when the BFL Captain took them to the pub instead of to rehab at the pool !
I do agree with Kings Army though that Interleague is not the be all & end when meausring leagues strength, but it is a guide.
Strathmore & top EDFL sides are at least as good as top BFL sides, but having watched Bendigo & Ballarat FL this year there is no way that Bendigo is as strong across the board as the Ballarat FL.
you can never judge a side/league by maybe IF this player wasn't injured or drinking ***** or whatever that they would've won! u should only judge on past performances and if i'm not mistaken i'm pretty sure ballarat beat bendigo the last time they played off.
also ballarat had 4blokes from 3 different clubs represented in the VCFL team (two selected for all australian) while bendigo had 3 all from the same club....can you understand my point here?
your right there. I've watched about every league in victoria and the BFL isnt far off the A-Grade amatuers or vfl reserves for that matter.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 13:31
So ballarat was relagted to B grade last year but stayed up because of luck - end up winning the whole thing and should now be classed as the best comp in country football.
Gisborne is the best team in the 2 comps. Redan and East are 2nd and 3rd and Golden Square 4th. The crap teams are both crap on both sides and there is nothing splitting the middle of the road sides.
behind_post
12 Oct 2006, 13:33
I seem to remember the Ballarat FL suspending Matthew SUtton & MSFC RUckman Puli for not playing Interleague a few years ago ?
I think anyone who reckons players who don't care about INterleague should have seen them at Lavington this year (I went & watched). They had a sensational crack and were shattered to fall short. The BFL boys apparently stuffed up in 2005, and rumour has it it all started to go pear shaped when the BFL Captain took them to the pub instead of to rehab at the pool !
I do agree with Kings Army though that Interleague is not the be all & end when meausring leagues strength, but it is a guide.
Strathmore & top EDFL sides are at least as good as top BFL sides, but having watched Bendigo & Ballarat FL this year there is no way that Bendigo is as strong across the board as the Ballarat FL.
exactly!! ballarat is stronger across the board!
if it weren't for gisborne, bendigo wouldnt b ranked anywhere near where they were
saucehead
12 Oct 2006, 13:34
So ballarat was relagted to B grade last year but stayed up because of luck - end up winning the whole thing and should now be classed as the best comp in country football.
Gisborne is the best team in the 2 comps. Redan and East are 2nd and 3rd and Golden Square 4th. The crap teams are both crap on both sides and there is nothing splitting the middle of the road sides.
ballarat didnt win. they where runners up...
The Sharpe Man
12 Oct 2006, 13:34
Wrong again Kings Army. O&M won in 2006 - Ballarat were Runners Up.
behind_post
12 Oct 2006, 13:47
yes yes!! we all know that it would be hard to split gisborne, redan, east!
but the strength of the league is best measured by the depth.
so out of the bottom4 for each league who do you think would be stronger?!?!
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 13:47
Wrong again Kings Army. O&M won in 2006 - Ballarat were Runners Up.
Sorry - so this makes the Ballarat the 2nd best league in Victoria!
The Sharpe Man
12 Oct 2006, 13:56
I reckon Ballarat FL is the 4th best league in the VCFL. I reckon Geelong FL is 1st, GV 2nd and the O&M 3rd.
I rank the Ballarat FL 4th & Bendigo 5th. You probably than need to rank Central Murray FL, Wimmera FL & Western Border FL & Giipy LaTrobe at the next level.
I reckon the Ballarat bottom end is stronger than Bendigo's. A good example was Daylesford winning Maryborough NIght series in 2005 agianst several Bendigo FL sides and getting smashed in Ballarat comp. Sebas FC won same night series against 4 Bendigo FL sides in 2006 & came 2nd last in Ballarat.
I was also told (but cannot confirm) that Ballarat FL sides have won something like 8 out of 10 practice matches played by Clubs between both leagues in past 3 years. Might be rubbish, but heard it from someone at Daylesford FC after they won the night series.
So in my humble opinion ther eis bugger all b/w them at the top end, bt Ballarat is stronger across the Board as it is stronger at the bottom end.
master21
12 Oct 2006, 13:58
Gisborne is the best team in the 2 comps. Redan and East are 2nd and 3rd and Golden Square 4th. The crap teams are both crap on both sides and there is nothing splitting the middle of the road sides.[/quote]
love to see gisborne play redan...never seen gisbonre play but it takes a hell of a good team to stop redan...especially there mid field.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 14:02
yes yes!! we all know that it would be hard to split gisborne, redan, east!
but the strength of the league is best measured by the depth.
so out of the bottom4 for each league who do you think would be stronger?!?!
My view is that the league should be based on the best team. Which is Gisborne - but over all I have Ballarat slightly in front. He is my order of teams.
1) Gisborne
2) Redan
3) East Point
4) Golden Square
5) Sunbury
6) South Bendigo
7) Darley
8) Melton
9) Eaglehawk
10) Ballarat
11) Sandhurst
12) Lakers
13) Castlemaine
14) Maryborough
15) Sebastopol
16) Kyneton
17) Melton South
18) Bacchus Marsh
19) Kangaroo Flat
20) North City
The Sharpe Man
12 Oct 2006, 14:06
My view is that the league should be based on the best team. Which is Gisborne - but over all I have Ballarat slightly in front. He is my order of teams.
1) Gisborne
2) Redan
3) East Point
4) Golden Square
5) Sunbury
6) South Bendigo
7) Darley
8) Melton
9) Eaglehawk
10) Ballarat
11) Sandhurst
12) Lakers
13) Castlemaine
14) Maryborough
15) Sebastopol
16) Kyneton
17) Melton South
18) Bacchus Marsh
19) Kangaroo Flat
20) North City
Not a bad judge Kings Army ! I reckon you are pretty close to "on the money". Maybe Maryborough would be flattered - they'd drop below Sebas in my thoughts but its a pretty good summary of where everyone is at !
behind_post
12 Oct 2006, 14:24
1) Gisborne
2) Redan
3) East Point
4) Golden Square
5) Sunbury
6) South Bendigo
7) Darley
8) Melton
9) Eaglehawk
10) Ballarat
11) Sandhurst
12) Lakers
13) Castlemaine
14) Maryborough
15) Sebastopol
16) Kyneton
17) Melton South
18) Bacchus Marsh
19) Kangaroo Flat
20) North City
how could u possibly rate the strength of a league on one team! no wonder your talkin crap
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 14:31
how could u possibly rate the strength of a league on one team! no wonder your talkin crap
Take out Gisborne and Stathmore from their leagues and they drop down the list. Gisborne had 3 VCFL reps this year. No way is Bendigo better than Ballarat with them out of that comp. So on the strength of one team the league ends up better. How else to you see the experts having Bendigo in front of Ballarat?
The Sharpe Man
12 Oct 2006, 14:37
I reckon a league is rated on its depth. And thats why I reckon Bendigo struggles outside of its top 4 sides.
And I am far from convinced that Gisborne would get away with Redan or East Point. I know Gisborne & Sunbury had some mighty struggles for a "Practice Match" every year, but you only have to asked Sunbury if the Ballarat FL stepped up a cog this year - Redan and East Pt went to another level.
And apols for typo earlier - I meant to say I rated Maryborough below Melton South. I reckon Melton South will be the big improvers in 2007 with their signings already.
Just hope Melton Sth let Chappy do most of the Coaching as that knobhead Scoble couldn't Coach to save himself.
Melton FC officially appointed Simon Payne as Coach last night. Only Darley FC yet to announce a Coach. Rumour has it that Glen Nugent is favourite.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 14:44
I reckon a league is rated on its depth. And thats why I reckon Bendigo struggles outside of its top 4 sides.
And I am far from convinced that Gisborne would get away with Redan or East Point. I know Gisborne & Sunbury had some mighty struggles for a "Practice Match" every year, but you only have to asked Sunbury if the Ballarat FL stepped up a cog this year - Redan and East Pt went to another level.
And apols for typo earlier - I meant to say I rated Maryborough below Melton South. I reckon Melton South will be the big improvers in 2007 with their signings already.
Just hope Melton Sth let Chappy do most of the Coaching as that knobhead Scoble couldn't Coach to save himself.
Melton FC officially appointed Simon Payne as Coach last night. Only Darley FC yet to announce a Coach. Rumour has it that Glen Nugent is favourite.
Depth is important but the strong sides in the comp are more important as "watching finals" was a componant of the judging. Redan/East V Gisborne would be a craker. Saunders at one end Jordan at the other!
How would someone from Riddell know if Scoble can coach?
blues12
12 Oct 2006, 14:48
you say from riddell i say he is actually in your own backyard looking down from the roof. this man has an ALIAS:D
The Sharpe Man
12 Oct 2006, 14:52
Depth is important but the strong sides in the comp are more important as "watching finals" was a componant of the judging. Redan/East V Gisborne would be a craker. Saunders at one end Jordan at the other!
How would someone from Riddell know if Scoble can coach?
Scoble ? Seen that cat play a few games over the years, and knew him from his RDFL days and followed his career. Also watched him try to white ant Matt Power (best Coach in the Power family) last few years so he could get the DFC Senior job one out. Reckon he will do the same to Chappy at MSFC this year.
Also heard about him & Chapman with the BFL U18 Rep side this year. Took the credit for all success, and made sure that Chappy took the fall for anything that went wrong.
No - Scoble can't Coach but reckon MSFC will go ahead despite his unsettling influence. Rumour has it that he is getting $30k to play & Co Coach.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 15:03
Scoble ? Seen that cat play a few games over the years, and knew him from his RDFL days and followed his career. Also watched him try to white ant Matt Power (best Coach in the Power family) last few years so he could get the DFC Senior job one out. Reckon he will do the same to Chappy at MSFC this year.
Also heard about him & Chapman with the BFL U18 Rep side this year. Took the credit for all success, and made sure that Chappy took the fall for anything that went wrong.
No - Scoble can't Coach but reckon MSFC will go ahead despite his unsettling influence. Rumour has it that he is getting $30k to play & Co Coach.
So saw him play a couple of games and now you know he cannot coach.
Next time Matt is in Riddell ask him about Scoble. He was a huge fan and got great support from Scoble. Tried to get him to join his brother at Sunbury.
This is either bait or your a tosser with no idea.
The Sharpe Man
12 Oct 2006, 15:08
So saw him play a couple of games and now you know he cannot coach.
Next time Matt is in Riddell ask him about Scoble. He was a huge fan and got great support from Scoble. Tried to get him to join his brother at Sunbury.
This is either bait or your a tosser with no idea.
Probably both Kings Army ! But actually it was bait. On the phone with Scobes pissing ourselves waiting for you to have a crack back. Tried to press teh right buttons - threw in a bit about Serge, Scobes and even Glenn Nugent hoping for you to fire up.
Scobes was good support for Demon this year, and will be good for the Panthers.
Keep posting mate. Cheers.
Kings Army
12 Oct 2006, 15:22
Probably both Kings Army ! But actually it was bait. On the phone with Scobes pissing ourselves waiting for you to have a crack back. Tried to press teh right buttons - threw in a bit about Serge, Scobes and even Glenn Nugent hoping for you to fire up.
Scobes was good support for Demon this year, and will be good for the Panthers.
Keep posting mate. Cheers.
He just sent me an Email - it was either one or the other so lucky it was bait and your not a tosser!
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
First of all it would be interesting to know who the so called experts and personalities were, but more importantly what the criteria was when judging the leagues. Were they judged on the strength of the best team, or best couple of teams, or the the weakest teams, or the overall evenness. How could they watch finals played in every league in Victoria? Did one bloke go to a Ballarat final and others go to a Bendigo one or a Geelong one. It's a pointless exercise unless they were all looking at the same game. Were all finals played under the same conditions, i.e was it wet at some and dry at others, was it windy, hot, cold etc? All of these factors would have an effect on the standard of footy on that day. Even a teams style of play can have an effect on the standard of a game, most AFL games involving Sydney are an eyesore but they still made the grand final and nearly went back to back. How can VFL reserves be included as a seperate competition? VFL reserves have the exact same players available for selection as VFL seniors don't they? Does anyone involved in Ballarat footy believe that the standard of the league has dropped 6 places in the pecking order since 2000? Riddell at 17 is a joke, GDFL at 19 and above Bellarine is a joke, both leagues above CHFL is a joke. It is so hard to compare one league to another I don't know why you would bother.
Not a biased view I hope old Sharpie!!!!!!!!!!
Unfortunately Ballarat did not win and were run over by the O&M in the final.
You seem to know plenty about anoyjer league there sharpe man. Are you really the GM??????
stanleyy
13 Oct 2006, 08:56
He just sent me an Email - it was either one or the other so lucky it was bait and your not a tosser!sounds like a busy day @ work yesterday jimma,did the heat rule apply!:rolleyes:
cockroach
13 Oct 2006, 09:38
dont think that Scobes will be a great influence on the ground but his coaching is a massive gain at South
as a Melton man loved what Power and scobes did with a average list at Darley ?
so coaching side wont be a problem for him and Chappy
Payne to coach melton should get some old past players back in the door can only be a advantage to a young list ?
just have to watch Parkside and Albion trying to pinch players from the list with Stanners & Shanks lurking about
Take out Gisborne and Stathmore from their leagues and they drop down the list. Gisborne had 3 VCFL reps this year. No way is Bendigo better than Ballarat with them out of that comp. So on the strength of one team the league ends up better. How else to you see the experts having Bendigo in front of Ballarat?
Doutta Stars and Greenvale would both comfortably win the Ballarat premiership and Keilor would be challenge for it.
Matthew Pillios
13 Oct 2006, 13:55
Doutta Stars and Greenvale would both comfortably win the Ballarat premiership and Keilor would be challenge for it.
Roger that. They would win it easy.
Keilor's team of SANFL players, ex VFL Reserves players and gun district players would of won it this year.
THe Comp is just so strong at the moment.
Kings Army
13 Oct 2006, 14:32
I was not debating the strength of the EDFL. I was saying with the Mores out of the comp the strength of the comp would drop.
Kings Army
13 Oct 2006, 14:41
Keilor's team of SANFL players, ex VFL Reserves players and gun district players would of won it this year.
Keilor would not have beaten Sunbury this year let alone Redan or East Point.
Have a chat to the players that have won flags in the EDFL and then played in the Ballarat and Bendigo leagues. You may be surprised with the feedback.
Its also great to have a TV celebrity on the Ballarat thread. Welcome Matty!
Vineyard
13 Oct 2006, 15:38
I was not debating the strength of the EDFL. I was saying with the Mores out of the comp the strength of the comp would drop.
I beg to differ with Greenvale or Doutta's winning the BFL premiership. Redan/East our best sides would account for them comfortably and would beat strathmore. Darley in a practice match with both sides missing several players pushed the mores right to the end. East & Redan were way ahead of the devils.
Vineyard
13 Oct 2006, 15:40
dont underestimate the BFL though boys.
Rumour at Darley that if Nathan Burke doenst get an assistants role at St Kilda he will lead the devils.
has connections to the club and would be a massive bonus for the club/league.
Matthew Pillios
13 Oct 2006, 15:56
Keilor would not have beaten Sunbury this year let alone Redan or East Point.
Have a chat to the players that have won flags in the EDFL and then played in the Ballarat and Bendigo leagues. You may be surprised with the feedback.
Its also great to have a TV celebrity on the Ballarat thread. Welcome Matty!
I think it is a high spirited comp with some great teams.
Great to talk footy boys.
A mate of Aaron Thomas said that they're Strathmore team this year would beat his Sunbury team by 15 goals.
He was like there 5 or 6th best tall behind Timmy Harvey, Winter, Myles Quinn, Paul Barnard, Richard Little (c), Sam Hoath, etc. They were awesome.
Doutta's beat them in Round 4 and had a strong list, and Greenvale were strong having players like Stephen Paxman, Dennis Bicer, Anth Aloi, Mark Budge, Andrew Briggs, James Rohan, George Bakoulas, etc.
It is a really strong A Grade Comp now.
Kings Army
13 Oct 2006, 16:28
I think it is a high spirited comp with some great teams.
Great to talk footy boys.
A mate of Aaron Thomas said that they're Strathmore team this year would beat his Sunbury team by 15 goals.
He was like there 5 or 6th best tall behind Timmy Harvey, Winter, Myles Quinn, Paul Barnard, Richard Little (c), Sam Hoath, etc. They were awesome.
Doutta's beat them in Round 4 and had a strong list, and Greenvale were strong having players like Stephen Paxman, Dennis Bicer, Anth Aloi, Mark Budge, Andrew Briggs, James Rohan, George Bakoulas, etc.
It is a really strong A Grade Comp now.
The word coming back is the EDFL top sides have a really strong top 6-7 players and then drops away rapidly. The ballart top teams best players might not be as strong but the last 7 players out there are. A more even spread and they move the ball a lot faster. The A-train wasn't a superstar at Sunbury.
Maybe we can debate this on your show as a lead into the year in 2007 year.
Get the A-train from the EDFL and Nick Chamlers from Ballarat.
Out of the 2 dominant forwards in each comp, Dan Jordan and TIm Harvey who do you think is better. Both kicked close to 100 goals this year in there comp. Both great players interested to see what your arguments are.
For me Harveys VFL experiance probably puts him a little above DJ.
simplesimon
14 Oct 2006, 21:22
Out of the 2 dominant forwards in each comp, Dan Jordan and TIm Harvey who do you think is better. Both kicked close to 100 goals this year in there comp. Both great players interested to see what your arguments are.
For me Harveys VFL experiance probably puts him a little above DJ.
close to 100 - i guess DJ's 148 is close to 100 JC!
stanleyy
15 Oct 2006, 09:17
I beg to differ with Greenvale or Doutta's winning the BFL premiership. Redan/East our best sides would account for them comfortably and would beat strathmore. Darley in a practice match with both sides missing several players pushed the mores right to the end. East & Redan were way ahead of the devils.if you want an unbiased view/opinion of which team/league is better i think you should ask "salt" or his side kick ,1 part of the beak,john arthur."salt"is the senior runner for strathmore as well as u/18 coach & baldy watches his nephew,wes hehir, @ greenvale as well as strathmore.for what it's worth i think strathmore would flog all comers from the bfl .has matt pillios heard whether richard little is leaving strathmore,by all reports they are trying to off load him,not happy with his leadership skills?
whippety boy
15 Oct 2006, 09:32
THe Comp is just so strong at the moment.You're joking right?
Redan would give Keilor a spanking
roaring tiger
15 Oct 2006, 20:36
I hear east point have signed kyle george and nathan kabia from beulah for the 2007 season with another couple of players from the north ballarat reserves side from this year to sign also. Shane Hutchison to sign later this week.
Vineyard
16 Oct 2006, 11:30
close to 100 - i guess DJ's 148 is close to 100 JC!
DJ was at Geelong playing VFL as well i believe???
Poor post by JC.
Does anyone know anything about the bloke who has been appointed Sebastopol's new coach - Lukas Slater. He coached East Burwood last year - what type of player is he? Is he a good bloke? Will he fit in with Sebas?
DJ was at Geelong playing VFL as well i believe???
Poor post by JC.
**** off Vineyard was just trying to get some discussion and giving an opinion, I was aware of Jordan playing at Geelong for a few games but Harvey was captain of Box Hill Hawks which is why i had him a head.
Does anyone know anything about the bloke who has been appointed Sebastopol's new coach - Lukas Slater. He coached East Burwood last year - what type of player is he? Is he a good bloke? Will he fit in with Sebas?
Believe he his recovering from a second knee reco and won't play til about half through the year.
learmonth
17 Oct 2006, 14:36
**** off Vineyard was just trying to get some discussion and giving an opinion, I was aware of Jordan playing at Geelong for a few games but Harvey was captain of Box Hill Hawks which is why i had him a head.
Jordan is a superstar from what i have seen of him, did play in the WAFL as well to my knowledge. This guy Harvey would have to be a gun to be better.
Also about this debate, would have to be a great side to beat Redan. Best shut down and disciplined side i have ever seen
John Cena
17 Oct 2006, 15:00
When Jordan joined St Bernards... There regular full forward at the time (Tim Harvey) was moved up the ground to CHF to make way for Jordo.... Jordan definetly on top.. but Harvey still a gun.
And JC...... Harvey was Vice Captain.... not captain.
jonty15
17 Oct 2006, 15:02
Any truth to the rumour that Kyle George and 'Roy' Kabia are going to East point next season? Both very handy footballers!
InSiDeWoRd
17 Oct 2006, 21:17
I hear Melton could be in some trouble next year.
Brendan Porter
Dane Grenfield
Andrew Button
Jarrod Edwards
All these players are moving on !!!!
Bacchus Marsh just signed on a young guy from the Bendigo Pioneers by the name of Joel West for next year.:thumbsu:
Things are looking up for the Cobras.
cockroach
18 Oct 2006, 08:58
Brendan Porter
Dane Grenfield
Andrew Button
Jarrod Edwards
melton could be loosers but will recruit to cover guys
porter should play a higher level ?
button should retire
edwards should stay and dominate
grenfield should get out the mirror?
bloods have good kids and can still mix it with the best
a fresh start with a new coach should get the place pumping
cockroach
18 Oct 2006, 08:58
Bacchus Marsh just signed on a young guy from the Bendigo Pioneers by the name of Joel West for next year.:thumbsu:
cant look any further down lica hope you go well 07
patty O'furnicha
18 Oct 2006, 09:31
good news for the cobras signing joel. He's a big lad and ruckman are hard to find.
Played pioneers 2 years ago, this year he was playing Bendigo Bombers in the VFL. And a good bloke to boot.
Rog the Ramjet
18 Oct 2006, 14:30
http://www.redanfc.com.au/db0607.JPG
Uncle Fester
tommahawk_07
18 Oct 2006, 14:40
hahah classic...
in other news sebastopol youngster dale sidebottom is believed to be engaging in talks with dunnstown, could be a massive loss for sebas if this young gun slips through their grasp...
Vineyard
18 Oct 2006, 18:01
2006 Award Winners at the DFC
Darley FC Presentation Night was held Friday 6th October at Stoneys Club, with the vote count done on the night.
Pascoe Keep was announced as a life member and other award winners for season 2006 are:
Seniors
'John Whelan Memorial Award' for Club Champion - Brad Miller, Runner Up Matthew Cape
Most Consistent - Troy Parker
Most Improved - Drew Edwards
Best 1st Year Player - Lachlan Herring
Best Team Player - Lee Cox
Best in Finals - Cameron McCabe
Reserves
'Tom Rogers Memorial Award' for Club Champion - Leigh Freestone, Runner Up - Rodney Haworth
Most Improved - Stuart Gundry
Encouragement Award - Heath Hutchinson
Coaches Trophy - Anthony McGrath and Scott McKay
Under 18.5's
G & L Stewart Award for Under 18 Club Champion - Rylie Mayfosh, Runner Up - Jae McGrath
Most Consistent - Adam Bell
Best 1st Year Player - Daniel King, Cameron Kettle
Coaches Trophy - Benn Matthews
Service & Appreciation Awards
Bonza & Jean Densley Award for Best Clubman - Matthew Hawkins
Bonza & Jean Densley Award for Best Clubwoman - Julie Hawkins
Greg Light Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement & Service to DFC - Graham Stewart
Greg Light Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement & Service to DFC - Lorraine Stewart
Life Membership - Pasco Keep
good news for the cobras signing joel. He's a big lad and ruckman are hard to find.
Played pioneers 2 years ago, this year he was playing Bendigo Bombers in the VFL. And a good bloke to boot.
Thats what I ment to type Patty O'. For some reason I just typed pioneers. I agree he's a good pick up from the sound of things and great the club has got him to commit this early.
the_pill
18 Oct 2006, 21:36
http://www.redanfc.com.au/db0607.JPG
Uncle Fester
Hahahahahaha Matty Dwyer. Love the man. Was that the work of jarrod edwards?
Animosity
18 Oct 2006, 23:15
Brendan Porter
Dane Grenfield
Andrew Button
Jarrod Edwards
Ruckman Steve James also to leave
Leather Magnet
18 Oct 2006, 23:25
Ward got himself a new offsider yet? Beacham's old job should be filled by now, no? AJ Learmonth might know?
daics35
18 Oct 2006, 23:55
melton could be loosers but will recruit to cover guys
porter should play a higher level ?
button should retire
edwards should stay and dominate
grenfield should get out the mirror?
bloods have good kids and can still mix it with the best
a fresh start with a new coach should get the place pumping
will the new coach play the kids though?
master21
19 Oct 2006, 00:05
in other news sebastopol youngster dale sidebottom is believed to be engaging in talks with dunnstown, could be a massive loss for sebas if this young gun slips through their grasp...[/quote]
sidebottem played only a handful of games with sebas this season anyway after travelling home to shepparton to play with tallygaroopna in the kyabram district league...so i guess he would have already been a loss to the burras...NIck turnbull..now thats wehere sebas' loss really was!!!
sidebottem played only a handful of games with sebas this season anyway after travelling home to shepparton to play with tallygaroopna in the kyabram district league...so i guess he would have already been a loss to the burras...NIck turnbull..now thats wehere sebas' loss really was!!![/quote]
Nick turnbull? what happened to that kid? heard he went metro and fried himself at the salerium?? Another whisper is that ok Luke kenally to the swans. Massive loss to the bourough. Looks like young luke just floods to the money.....?
will the new coach play the kids though?
Another name rumored to leavet the bloods is Andrew Willison. Didn;t play to many games this year due to OP but was a vital part of the premiership side last year, with coaching experience, knows the club and knows the youngsters. also a well respected man at melton who could assist the new coach about the young kids. the bloods will be looking to fight to keep this gun on their list.