View Full Version : VB Series - Friday 20th January: Australia vs South Africa @ Telstra Dome
Match gets underway in just over an hour. Jaques and Dorey making their ODI debuts. Van Der Wath and Steyn on there way to replace Kallis and Nel. Not sure whether they'll make it into this match.
Teams:-
Australia:
PA Jaques, DR Martyn, *RT Ponting, MJ Clarke, A Symonds,
MEK Hussey, +BJ Haddin, JR Hopes, B Lee, BR Dorey, GD McGrath.
South Africa:
*GC Smith, HH Dippenaar, HH Gibbs, AG Prince, JM Kemp,
+MV Boucher, SM Pollock, AJ Hall, J Botha, GJP Kruger, DW Steyn.
Not sure who the super subs are.
thewhippersnapper
20 Jan 2006, 11:13
Will be interesting to see if Steyn lives up to F/D's lofty expectations.
Will be interesting to see whether Jacques lives up to this entire boards lofty expectations ...
The Mighty Port Power
20 Jan 2006, 11:56
Another game in Melbourne, back to the standard "such and such is a w..nker", and the standard boo's. Always such an original lot.
Australia won the toss and i gather they will be batting.
usalion
20 Jan 2006, 12:11
Australia won the toss and i gather they will be batting.
They will bat-4 changestoday- roof closed because of storms about
I'll take a punt and say Hogg will be Australias super sub.
and Rudolph for South Africa?
peternorth
20 Jan 2006, 12:15
jim maxwell on abc radios about to have an orgasm just talking about phil jacques!
dale steyn's introduction song? lovin each day by ronan keating. hmmm....
The Dice Man
20 Jan 2006, 12:26
Cya Martyn.. Stoopid!
1-17. Martyn drags it onto his stumps.
weagles_fan
20 Jan 2006, 12:27
South Africa continue their luck from the previous game....every inside edge seems to hit the wicket!
Richo83
20 Jan 2006, 12:29
For those following the match, its 1/17.
Has Martyn just turned himself into a slogger?
Bombers_Forever
20 Jan 2006, 12:34
jim maxwell on abc radios about to have an orgasm just talking about phil jacques!
dale steyn's introduction song? lovin each day by ronan keating. hmmm....
Maxwell talking about Jaques- not surprised.
I don't think Dale would have a choice- I am sure Cricket Aus did not ask him which song he wanted. In fact, I don't think SA or SL got to choose their songs.
I wanted Jaques to go before Marto!
Steyn very expensive early, 4 overs 0-34
Refried Noodle
20 Jan 2006, 12:57
Has Martyn just turned himself into a slogger?
This is the problem - Gilchrist and now Martyn have just gone in a attempted to slog without knowing what the pitch is really doing. At least wait a few overs and the make the most of the fileding restrictions. Is this the Australian game plan?
BTW Jaques has been playing with a bit of risk - some shots in the air, but his placement is near perfect!
Looking very comfortable at 6 an over.
oh. well still looking ok but Punter just got caught.
mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Jan 2006, 13:05
Tony Greig saying we might not get the Ashes back for 25 years:rolleyes:
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:06
Nothing shot from Ponting, just pushing at the ball. Very good catch from Smith at slip.
Tony Greig saying we might not get the Ashes back for 25 years:rolleyes:
Has he jumped off South Africas bandwagon after their loss to Sri Lanka?
Hows Jaques looking? Lots of play and misses on cricinfo.
mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Jan 2006, 13:13
Has he jumped off South Africas bandwagon after their loss to Sri Lanka?
Hows Jaques looking? Lots of play and misses on cricinfo.
Scratchy hit a couple of good shots, hit a few in the air luckily enough finding the gaps also inside edged a couple but now is starting to look more comfortable.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:13
Jacques has looked a touch streaky at times but not too bad. Symonds is playing himself in. Hall and Pollock keeping it tight at the minute after the wayward Steyn who has got a bit of pace but cost too many runs.
mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Jan 2006, 13:19
Jaques 5 4s in a row!
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:20
Steyn has been brought back and Jacques has hit the first 4 balls of the over for 4. This bloke is an embarrassment.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:22
Now Steyn bowls a no ball. Give it away son, you're not up to it. Now he bowls another no bowl. Possibly the worst bowler to debut in ODI in ozland. Now he bowls a wide. He's singlehandedly brought Australia right back on top. Now he flukes a wicket. Prince takes a ripper and Symonds is out. How lucky are you Steyn. The excuse is apparently jetlag.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:24
Not sure if Symonds is suited to higher up the order when the pressure's on a bit. Seems to clam up and not play relaxed enough. Steyn still has one ball left, 1/20 this over so far.
Unwritten_Law
20 Jan 2006, 13:25
Jaques needs to rotate the strike. He was in a rut until Steyn's over set him on the way.
He is striking boundaries well.
peternorth
20 Jan 2006, 13:25
Now Steyn bowls a no ball. Give it away son, you're not up to it. Now he bowls another no bowl. Possibly the worst bowler to debut in ODI in ozland. Now he bowls a wide. He's singlehandedly brought Australia right back on top. Now he flukes a wicket. Prince takes a ripper and Symonds is out. How lucky are you Steyn. The excuse is apparently jetlag.
crap! wanted some fireworks from simmo. :(
jetlag? isnt the excuse of the day a "slow court"?
They cant use jetlag as an excuse. They shouldnt have rushed him in the first place. Shocking over. Wicket or no wicket no bowler should go for 4 consecutive 4s in an over and then bowl two no balls and a wide following that.
bah haha another 4. Thats 1/24 off that over and a misfield just gave Jacques his 50.
usalion
20 Jan 2006, 13:26
Radioover the NET is behind the posting a couple minutes here- Symonds stillin...Jaques flaying the new guy allover the paddock.
Jaques up to 46
mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Jan 2006, 13:27
Steyn has the awesome figures of 1/58 off 5 overs.
The Dice Man
20 Jan 2006, 13:28
LMFAO @ Pollock...
Seriously this is the funniest rabble ive ever seen come and play Australia. They're absolutley insipid :D
Homer Jnr
20 Jan 2006, 13:28
Without Prince's scorcher, Steyn would have most likely given up another 4 there. Lucky man.
Jacques makes a very handy 50.
Refried Noodle
20 Jan 2006, 13:29
Thank God Tony Greig has gone! what a F**king tool!
Has already said that Australia won't win the Ashes for another 25 years, A SA Umpire (David Orchard I think) smokes Marijuana and that Jaques hitting four consecutive 4's is a bad thing.
Now he's got his 50, Well done Jaques!
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:33
LMFAO @ Pollock...
Seriously this is the funniest rabble ive ever seen come and play Australia. They're absolutley insipid :D
In fairness to the Saffies they've been competitive while absolutely bedevilled by injuries. Their attack is basically their second-string one. No excuses for their catching on this tour but their ground fielding today has been good.
crap! wanted some fireworks from simmo. :(
jetlag? isnt the excuse of the day a "slow court"?
Bad balls i thought fur left over the court was the excuse?
The Dice Man
20 Jan 2006, 13:34
In fairness to the Saffies they've been competitive while absolutely bedevilled by injuries. Their attack is basically their second-string one. No excuses for their catching on this tour but their ground fielding today has been good.
Pollock leading the way? ;)
mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Jan 2006, 13:34
Jaques>>>>Katich
Refried Noodle
20 Jan 2006, 13:35
Looks like some storms are rolling in (http://mirror.bom.gov.au/products/IDR022.loop.shtml) :D
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:36
Looks like some storms are rolling in (http://mirror.bom.gov.au/products/IDR022.loop.shtml) :D
Won't matter the roof is closed. Pollock's spill has been the only blot, Prince and Gibbs have fielded well.
mcphee_is_a_gun
20 Jan 2006, 13:36
too bad it doesnt matter because theres a roof
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:41
Looks like Steyn has been subbed out and Van der Wath is in for the rest of the match. Lucky for them they have an all-rounder as sub. Wonder if jet lag will affect him?.:D
Unwritten_Law
20 Jan 2006, 13:43
It was pre-planned that they would bowl 5 each ;)
So I guess Katich's injury will now rule him out of the Sydney game. ;) :D
sportznut
20 Jan 2006, 13:48
Jaques has to go on and get at least 100 to stay in the team ahead of Katich.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:53
Wides now 2nd top score.
pjcrows
20 Jan 2006, 13:57
LMFAO @ Pollock...
interestingly, this "rabble" beat us in the first game, and the current innings is not even half way through to say who is on top.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 13:58
Botha on, crowd calling no ball every delivery.:D
interestingly, this "rabble" beat us in the first game, and the current innings is not even half way through to say who is on top.
Only because they can bat. Not because they have a good bowling attack or fielding expertise. Although apart from a few Pollock mishaps the fielding has been respectable today.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 14:01
Jacques could have been run out but Prince missed and there was an overthrow.
The Dice Man
20 Jan 2006, 14:02
Mate, we threw that match just to make sure people didnt lose interest in teh entire series.
Quite obvious really.
Unwritten_Law
20 Jan 2006, 14:03
Only because they can bat.
Eh?
They won the first game with their bowling.
SA barely chased down the 228 with wickets in hand.
usalion
20 Jan 2006, 14:06
3 for 122 after 22
Haynes, Flower (Andy), Amiss, Elahi- only guys to make a century on debut in a ODI
13 away from the Aussie debut record.
Oops....put the mozza on him
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 14:11
Only because they can bat. Not because they have a good bowling attack or fielding expertise. Although apart from a few Pollock mishaps the fielding has been respectable today.
But Ntini, Kallis and Nel have gone home so they are depleted. One thing they are doing right is playing lots of young blokes on a trying tour. Looking at the big picture their cricket will probably improve overall.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 14:16
Jacques now officially highest on one day debut for Oz. While their attack is crap and depleted you still have to give him some credit for achieving such a feat.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 14:32
Clarke falls to Van der Wath. Milked Botha but still seems to have a weakness against anything above slow bowling.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 14:34
Sub bowler hasn't looked too bad though he threw in a wide.
Refried Noodle
20 Jan 2006, 14:43
Jaques out off his arm by the looks of it....for 94.
Edit: Yep well away from the bat.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 14:43
Jacques falls for 94, great change of pace from the super sub.
Super-Sub doing much better than their import did.
Jacques out for 94. Enough to keep him in the side?? Who will be left out for him.
Kingpin
20 Jan 2006, 14:44
Gooone. Jaques out caught behind for 94. Well played.
Squizza
20 Jan 2006, 14:45
Commentators have said nothing about it, they still think it was off the bat, blind bastards
sportznut
20 Jan 2006, 14:45
The commentators are trying to make out it was glove or shoulder of the bat. Looked just like the top of his arm to me.
sportznut
20 Jan 2006, 14:46
The commentators are trying to make out it was glove or shoulder of the bat. Looked just like the top of his arm to me.
sportznut
Refried Noodle
Look at that, no noise past the bat and a large deflection and thuddy noise when it hits the arm!
sportznut
20 Jan 2006, 14:47
The commentators were trying to make out it was glove or shoulder of the bat. Looked just like the top of his arm to me.
Ice goddess
20 Jan 2006, 14:49
Haddin falls to Pollock's first ball, bowled for 1.
Refried Noodle
20 Jan 2006, 14:50
what, what, what, what sportznut? ;)
Kingpin
20 Jan 2006, 14:51
Haddin chops Pollock on the stumps.
Edit: **** BF's slow today.
Smokey_22
20 Jan 2006, 14:51
Great innings Jaquesy! And what a great sport - he obviously didnt nick it but didnt stay or complain.
Hussey has a job now.
It obviously hit his arm, you could tell by the snicko in the replay. Tony's obviously blind.
Pollock is having incredible luck with bowlers dragging balls onto the stumps.
apollo_creed
20 Jan 2006, 14:55
Sort of makes up for the 100 plays and misses outside off stump and that inside edge that missed leg stump by a couple of millimetres earlier in the innings.
Michael Clarke. Still a dud. Take him to South Africa, Aussie selectors. I know you will. South Africa implore you. As do I. Another average score from an average player. I'm still waiting for those mountains or runs for him to get back into the test side.
Brad Haddin cant bat. I can't believe anyone is under the impression that he can. The day he plays reguarly for Australia in any form is the day Australia are no longer number one.
Refried Noodle
Tony finally admits it didn't hit the bat only after a conclusive angle was shown...bloody idiot.
Kingpin
Great innings Jaquesy! And what a great sport - he obviously didnt nick it but didnt stay or complain.
Hussey has a job now.
Yep. Jaques hit on the shoulder. Grieg finally sees it.
WAHHHEY. Greigy finally sees that it clearly hit his arm.
funkyfreo
20 Jan 2006, 15:06
Tony finally admits it didn't hit the bat only after a conclusive angle was shown...bloody idiot.
You want him to say it didn't hit WITHOUT a conclusive angle?
eddiesmith
20 Jan 2006, 15:10
What a ******** day for my dream team
apollo_creed
20 Jan 2006, 15:11
Could Australia bat out 50 overs anytime soon?
I guess with 5 NSW players in the team it makes it harder than it would if Australia had there best team on the park.
Unwritten_Law
20 Jan 2006, 15:11
That's gotta hurt the average.
Tony was primed to say "oh no he's dropped" and was surprised when he actually caught it :p
4 players of mine aren't even playing anymore - can't change the bloody guys either
Dream Cricket Sucks bad:thumbsd:
Kingpin
20 Jan 2006, 15:13
Huss gone and its 7/210
apollo_creed
You're weird Eddie.
You say that you hate Australia, they're losing and you're unhappy.
I know there's a school of opinion on here that you're a closet fan. Today we've seen more evidence.
Australia losing should mean more than your 'dream team'.
eddiesmith
4 players of mine aren't even playing anymore - can't change the bloody guys either
Dream Cricket Sucks bad:thumbsd:
I had Bracken out, Hussey (c) fail, Ponting fail, only got Lee left :( Lost Kallis to injury so only got Pollock and Gibbs in the SA team
eddiesmith
20 Jan 2006, 15:15
You're weird Eddie.
You say that you hate Australia, they're losing and you're unhappy.
I know there's a school of opinion on here that you're a closet fan. Today we've seen more evidence.
Australia losing should mean more than your 'dream team'.
You reckon they are losing?
Anyway, its like the current test team, I want Hodgey to make runs, Warne to take wickets and the team lose. Here I want them to lose with my dream team performing, of course I wouldnt back South Africa to definately chase anything
funkyfreo
20 Jan 2006, 15:16
what a turnaround - Aust were romping for a while. Makes jaque's knock all the better. Aside from him, the 1st choice Aussie line up miserable v a 2nd rate saffie attack. (ok no Gilly).
Rhombus
20 Jan 2006, 15:16
Hussey's ODI average now a woeful 121.5 - sack him!!!!!
Hussey out finally - its about time someone got him out ...
apollo_creed
20 Jan 2006, 15:20
You reckon they are losing?
Anyway, its like the current test team, I want Hodgey to make runs, Warne to take wickets and the team lose. Here I want them to lose with my dream team performing, of course I wouldnt back South Africa to definately chase anything
I get your point and fair enough.
But Hussey failing could be the difference between 260 and 300 for the Aussies.
The less South Africa chase the better.
Getting Hussey out with all of 10 or so overs to go was a very important wicket.
pjcrows
20 Jan 2006, 15:21
haha tony greig, you idiot.
Mark Nicholas: "Smith is learning, but South Africa has known to be a relatively straight-forward conservative time, who play with little risk and flamboyance".
Tony Greig: "Ah, well, I reckon if Graham Pollock was out there now things would be a bit different, Mark. I dont think I'd call his captaincy boring"
Mark Nicholas: "Yes Tony... but we're talking about the modern era here"
ahhhhhhhh tony.
pjcrows
20 Jan 2006, 15:22
The less South Africa chase the better.
i like your theory...
apollo_creed
20 Jan 2006, 15:22
Get in there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
apollo_creed
20 Jan 2006, 15:23
haha tony greig, you idiot.
Mark Nicholas: "Smith is learning, but South Africa has known to be a relatively straight-forward conservative time, who play with little risk and flamboyance".
Tony Greig: "Ah, well, I reckon if Graham Pollock was out there now things would be a bit different, Mark. I dont think I'd call his captaincy boring"
Mark Nicholas: "Yes Tony... but we're talking about the modern era here"
ahhhhhhhh tony.
That's the worst transcript I've ever read.
pjcrows
20 Jan 2006, 15:25
That's the worst transcript I've ever read.
No, the worst piece of writing would go to your pathetic Lehmann-bashing yesterday, n00b.
apollo_creed
20 Jan 2006, 15:25
Oh I forgot.
The great all-rounder with a batting average of under 20 at 30 years of age departs for a low score, dismissed by the super-spin champion bowler Graeme Smith.
Smokey_22
20 Jan 2006, 15:27
Oh I forgot.
The great all-rounder with a batting average of under 20 at 30 years of age departs for a low score, dismissed by the super-spin champion bowler Graeme Smith.
Gee you sound like a bitter old man.
Do you ever praise anybody or give any wraps?
pjcrows
20 Jan 2006, 15:29
Gee you sound like a bitter old man.
Do you ever praise anybody or give any wraps?
nuh he doesnt, except himself. he actually quoted one of his own posts before :rolleyes: