View Full Version : Dream Team Thread
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 12:37
For those who have not participated in the AFL Dream Team competition, it is a free competition where you are given a "salary cap" (last year was $6.3 million) and you select a squad of 30 players. You must puchase 9 x Backs, 6 x Centres, 6 x Rucks/Rovers, 9 x Forwards Link (http://afl4.virtualsports.com.au/?p=login)
Each week during the H&A season you choose a best 22 from your squad, and these players are given scores based on their performance in the actual games that they played. The scores of your best 22 are totalled and this is your dream team score.
You are allowed to make 20 trades per season with a maximum of 2 trades per week.
The $values of your players vary with their performances, so the squad value may rise above or fall below your original salary cap. The players' $value does not change until they have played three matches in the current season.
This thread is for the discussion of Dream team in general, tips and tricks on strategies, and assessment of the value of individual players.
I'll start a thread closer to the season start where I'll invite Saints posters to join together in a league.
Bourky23
22 Jan 2006, 12:58
yeh its awesome, didnt like having more trades this year though because you get to inclined to change ur team and make errors people think it makes it easier id disagree id say its harder because if someone scores badly u feel inclined to trade them and then the next week they will get 100+ and u wonder what the heck u did
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 13:20
There are certain strategies that might offer an advantage to Dream Team Coaches.
1. Buy players who haven't yet played three games in their career, who you expect will be regulars in 2006.
Why? Because they are cheap, and after they play three or more games their value increases (often markedly)
2. Buy rookies from clubs who have only one rookie.
A risk for sure but they are the cheapest players and offer the greatest return
3. Buy players who have underperformed in the latter stages of 2005.
You have to assess the value of these purchases, but there is definitely some value out there if you are discerning.
4. Buy players who are graduating from a set position to the midfield, their stats will often improve.
I have a few more, but would like to see some input from others before I go on
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 14:43
yeh its awesome, didnt like having more trades this year though because you get to inclined to change ur team and make errors people think it makes it easier id disagree id say its harder because if someone scores badly u feel inclined to trade them and then the next week they will get 100+ and u wonder what the heck u did
The rules may change, but I didn't make proper use of the trades.
I ran out with almost half a season to go and had to carry injured players.
The way I intend to go this season is to trade away furiously (14-16 trades) in the first half of the season to increase the value of my squad and to maximise my scoring potential. Then I will just trade cautiously to cover for injuries and underperformers for the rest of the season.
mad-saint-guy
22 Jan 2006, 15:15
I'd like to give it a go. I think I prefer the format of the Saintsational Fantasy Footy League but I'd still be interested in trying dream team.
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 15:21
Do you mean the one where we had draw for players at the beginning - then could trade after?
If so, I was the supervisor of that comp. It was a little harrowing at times with one player a no show and another who dropped out (my son took over that team). Would like to play that again, but this time I'm going to let someone else supervise it.
X_box_X
22 Jan 2006, 15:25
2. Buy rookies from clubs who have only one rookie.
Ah, I aint the only one who thinks like that either. Well the Bulldogs are the only team with one rookie, Davidson, and he is going to be promoted to the seniour list anyway, so obviously people will get on him.
Teams like Sydney will be hard to select which rookies will play for them.
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 15:33
X_Box_X IIRC, you were quite active on the main board dream team thread.
Do you have any advice on strategies or things not to do for us?
mad-saint-guy
22 Jan 2006, 17:04
How do you go about trading/buying players?
In the comp I'm currently in we're given a list of 40 players, each with a value of up to 1,500 points. Out of those players we can keep any combination of players with a points limit of 12,500.
In the two or so weeks we have to decide which players to keep we can also trade players to for other players/draft picks.
Then we had a draft (with all the players that weren't kept), and now waiting for the division one to finish their draft so we can begin the rookie draft.
It seems Dream Team is quite different to th comp I'm in, so I'll probably take a while to get the hang of it. Any rules sheet/explanation of how to play?
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 17:20
There is no draft in dream team.
You simply have a budget of $6.3 million (in 2005) and buy the players that you want. You must buy 30 players for your squad.
Each player has a price based on recent performance. The prices will begin to vary after three rounds are played. If a players price goes up and you sell him, you get the new price, sometimes that can allow you to buy a player you couldn't have afforded originally (so it can be beneficial to have money left over in your bank). You don't actually sell a player and buy another, you arrange a transfer (so that your squad remains at 30)
For the full rules see here (http://afl4.virtualsports.com.au/?p=help)
X_box_X
22 Jan 2006, 17:41
How do you go about trading/buying players?
In the comp I'm currently in we're given a list of 40 players, each with a value of up to 1,500 points. Out of those players we can keep any combination of players with a points limit of 12,500.
In the two or so weeks we have to decide which players to keep we can also trade players to for other players/draft picks.
Then we had a draft (with all the players that weren't kept), and now waiting for the division one to finish their draft so we can begin the rookie draft.
It seems Dream Team is quite different to th comp I'm in, so I'll probably take a while to get the hang of it. Any rules sheet/explanation of how to play?
HAHA, what division are you in, and what's your username on the AFLDRAFT forums?
mad-saint-guy
22 Jan 2006, 17:46
Ok, I've read through all that, sounds good! Now I assume when you buy a player cheap and their value increases you don't have to pay their increased salary right?
And should I just register now? Or does the league have to be started before I do?
X_box_X
22 Jan 2006, 17:53
X_Box_X IIRC, you were quite active on the main board dream team thread.
Do you have any advice on strategies or things not to do for us?
Sure.
First of all, Lenny Hayes is one player I always get, so feel free to also get him. Haha.
Don't be reluctant to buy the best available player just because he is too expensive. The idea is the buy the best available player and name him captain at least eleven rounds throughout the season.
You're advice is very good, I would have said all of that.
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 19:21
Ok, I've read through all that, sounds good! Now I assume when you buy a player cheap and their value increases you don't have to pay their increased salary right?
And should I just register now? Or does the league have to be started before I do?
You don't actually have to pay wages, you just buy your players within a budget limit. Whatever is left over in the bank can (and will) be used at a later date.
No - the dream team hasn't started up yet
I'll post a thread to invite players when it's time
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 19:57
(Let me preface this by saying remember that just because a player is good / great does not necessarily mean he will be a good scorer for you in dream team)
Edit - these prices were valid for the end of last season and are irrelevant apparently for the coming season
Players from St Kilda who I believe represent value:
High Scoring - Reliable - Reasonable Cost
Nick Dal Santo ($287,700)
Aaron Hamill ($226,400)
Lenny Hayes ($289,900)
Justin Koschitzke ($291,100)
Nick Riewoldt ($304,000)
High Scoring - Reliable - but very expensive
Luke Ball ($336,600)
Low Cost - but low risk
Jason Gram ($107,800)
James Gwilt ($39,300)
Andrew McQualter ($136,000)
mad-saint-guy
22 Jan 2006, 20:10
(Let me preface this by saying remember that just because a player is good / great does not necessarily mean he will be a good scorer for you in dream team)
Players from St Kilda who I believe represent value: (Note that the prices are not valid for 2006)
High Scoring - Reliable - Reasonable Cost
Nick Dal Santo ($287,700)
Aaron Hamill ($226,400)
Lenny Hayes ($289,900)
Justin Koschitzke ($291,100)
Nick Riewoldt ($304,000)
High Scoring - Reliable - but very expensive
Luke Ball ($336,600)
Low Cost - but low risk
Jason Gram ($107,800)
James Gwilt ($39,300)
Andrew McQualter ($136,000)
Wow, why does Ball cost so much more than Dal?! In the comp I'm in there's hardly any difference..do you have a copy of all the player costs you could send me? I've just put together a list of about 100 players I'll consider for DT but was going on the points in my comp (Had players in groups of cost).
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 20:21
Ball must have done well at the end of the season.
These are estimated costs based on the last game of last season's dream team comp.
I dont have a list, I have just been perusing the site via this Link (http://afl4.virtualsports.com.au/?p=statscentre)
Rocco Jones
22 Jan 2006, 21:49
I've played Dream Team for 2 years. Won comp I was in both years (sure sainter still disputes one of them :)). Finished around 100 mark in 2005.
Some tips if anyone is interested:
- Last year's set up involved 7 defenders, 4 mids, 4 rucks and 7 forwards in first 22. If you believe you are particularly strong/weak in one area, intentionally use the emergency/ies available ie. pick a player you know won't be playing so emergency comes in. A forward doesn't have to be replaced as a forward.
- Lowest emergency score counts, so be sure only to select as minimal emergencies needed. No need to select 3 emergencies if none of your 22 is in doubt.
- Rookies who are likely to get onto main lists are always good.
- Avoid KP Backmen, cannot stress that enough.
- Remember handballs only count for 2 points, while kicks count for three. Scott West often has heaps of touches and not many points. Also, tackles are worth 4 points, so take it into consideration when picking a player (ie Luke Ball).
- Prices only change after 3 games. I picked up Andrew Lovett for rookie's price after his 2nd game. After one week I made a ~60k profit.
- Remember some teams are more possesion orientated (ie Sydney). Use caution when picking players from these teams.
- Recycled players are always good for a profit earner. Will get more opportunities and will be at a lower price (ie Acland 2005).
- Captains points are worth double. Check opposition, ground, his direct opponent etc.
Kildonan
22 Jan 2006, 22:28
Thanks Rocco Jones, some excellent points there and an impressive resume.
Rocco Jones
22 Jan 2006, 22:42
an impressive resume.
Cheers.
Would you believe my Dream Team exploits have never impressed the ladies? :confused:
Kildonan
23 Jan 2006, 02:24
Post deleted as based on prices which were not valid
If you're getting those prices from the final prices last year, then they mean nothing. To get a feel of the real prices, look at the average points of players (must play at least 12 games). The 2006 prices are formulated by multiplying the 2005 averages by a certain dollar value (you will be able to find this in the 2005 Dream Team thread in the main board, it's in there somewhere....i can't be bothered looking for it though!).
Kildonan
23 Jan 2006, 15:52
Thanks Waspy, I'll refrain from using prices then to avoid confusion.
Appreciate the input.
chooka_delic
23 Jan 2006, 22:45
If you're getting those prices from the final prices last year, then they mean nothing. To get a feel of the real prices, look at the average points of players (must play at least 12 games). The 2006 prices are formulated by multiplying the 2005 averages by a certain dollar value (you will be able to find this in the 2005 Dream Team thread in the main board, it's in there somewhere....i can't be bothered looking for it though!).
It was 3670 last year. So if a player averaged 100 then his price in 2006 Dream Team will be $367000
Kildonan
25 Jan 2006, 02:16
Recap of strategies that might offer an advantage to Dream Team Coaches.
1. Buy players who haven't yet played three games in their career, who you expect will be regulars in 2006.
Why? Because they are cheap, and after they play three or more games their value increases (often markedly)
2. Buy rookies from clubs who have only one rookie, (Tom Davidson WB), or are likely to play seniors.
3. Buy players who have underperformed in 2005.
You have to assess the value of these purchases, but there is definitely some value out there if you are discerning.
4. Buy players who are graduating from a set position to the midfield, as their stats will often improve.
5. A number of KPP players don't start the season flying, so plan to buy a few of these after the first three weeks have been played to get a lower price.
6. Spend the majority of your player budget on your first 22 or 23 players. The remaining 8 players should be purchased with the intent of profit making
From Rocco Jones:
- Last year's set up involved 7 defenders, 4 mids, 4 rucks and 7 forwards in first 22. If you believe you are particularly strong/weak in one area, intentionally use the emergency/ies available ie. pick a player you know won't be playing so emergency comes in. A forward doesn't have to be replaced as a forward.
Comment: It can be risky only opting for 1 emergency, but this strategy allows you to utilise a player who would not fit into your team because you already have filled that category in your first 22 (i.e. 4 centre players) so you put a defender in your first 22 who you know is not playing (bringing in your only emergency's score) thus giving you the opportunity to score more highly (if the defender you left out would have scored less than the centre player that you have as emergency).
- Lowest emergency score counts, so be sure only to select as minimal emergencies needed. No need to select 3 emergencies if none of your 22 is in doubt.
Comment: the more emergencies you have, the greater chance of one of them having a low score. It may be prudent to pick 2 emergencies rather than 3.
- Rookies who are likely to get onto main lists are always good.
- Avoid KP Backmen, cannot stress that enough.
- Remember handballs only count for 2 points, while kicks count for three. Scott West often has heaps of touches and not many points. Also, tackles are worth 4 points, so take it into consideration when picking a player (ie Luke Ball).
- Prices only change after 3 games. I picked up Andrew Lovett for rookie's price after his 2nd game. After one week I made a ~60k profit.
Comment: Keep an eye out for new players who are scoring reasonably well and have played 2 games. If you buy them, you may be using up a valuable trade, but you are increasing the value of your squad and you can use the extra money to upgrade one of top 22 players.
- Remember some teams are more possesion orientated (ie Sydney). Use caution when picking players from these teams.
- Recycled players are always good for a profit earner. Will get more opportunities and will be at a lower price (ie Ackland 2005).
Comment: Players that fit in that category include Richard Cole, Ted Richards, Paul Chambers, Jonathan Hay, Dylan McLaren, Nathan Lonie, Daniel Motlop, Byron Pickett, Jason Saddington, Daniel McConnell, Jade Rawlings, Patrick Bowden, Fergus Watts, Kasey Green, Travis Baird, Brett Montgomery, Brent Guerra, Scott Camporeale, Ben Fixter, Cameron Thurley, Chris Heffernan
- Captains points are worth double. Check opposition, ground, his direct opponent etc.
sainter
25 Jan 2006, 15:17
I've played Dream Team for 2 years. Won comp I was in both years (sure sainter still disputes one of them :)). Finished around 100 mark in 2005.
No dispute. You won the league, I had the highest score. I know which I'd rather. ;)
There's not much to add really, you've all covered it well.
The only thing I'll advise is to use the trades sparingly. Too many of us wasted our trades. By all means replace your injured players and improve your team throughout the season but make sure you've saved enough of your 20 trades for later in the season. If you manage to make the finals in your league it could be the difference between winning and losing.
Kildonan
25 Jan 2006, 22:00
So it might also be wise to find good players who played less than 12 games as you might pick them up cheaply.
This is some from the list:
Nathan Brown 10, Nathan Buckley 11, Aaron Hamill 11, Bradley Fisher 7, Leigh Montagna 6, Heath Shaw 6, Adam Bentick 9, Anthony Rocca 4, David Wojcinski 2, Jason Cloke 8, Andrew Mackie 8, Callum Urch 2, Daniel Gilmore 2, Ricky Dyson 10, Troy Chaplin 6, Andrew McQualter 7, Jamie Charman 9, Shannon Motlop 6, Brent Guerra 11, David Johnston 11, John Barker 6, Xavier Clarke 9, Cameron Thurley 7, Matthew Bode 2, Tim Boyle 3, James Gwilt 1, Jay Nash 2, Peter Street 11, Brent Hartigan 8, Cameron Wood 1, Josh Fraser 5, Jarred Brennan 5, Michael Gardiner 9, Jason Gram 5, Guy Richards 2, Sean Rusling 5, Will Thursfield 6, adam Pattison 2, Jacob Surjan 2, Robert Haddrill 3, Jordan Russell 1, David Rodan 0, Beau Waters 0.
Eagle_Fan
27 Jan 2006, 02:35
No dispute. You won the league, I had the highest score. I know which I'd rather. ;)
There's not much to add really, you've all covered it well.
The only thing I'll advise is to use the trades sparingly. Too many of us wasted our trades. By all means replace your injured players and improve your team throughout the season but make sure you've saved enough of your 20 trades for later in the season. If you manage to make the finals in your league it could be the difference between winning and losing.
Of course the funny thing is that your league was very nearly won by a girl who didn't read the rules, then picked a team of players with funny names and pretty boys. :)
So my advice to the pair of you would be to not take things too seriously. Unless you're top 50, your league is all that matters. Enjoy it & have fun playing the game.
Oh, and once you've picked your original team, don't make too many changes, and save your trades as much as possible.
sainter
27 Jan 2006, 03:07
Of course the funny thing is that your league was very nearly won by a girl who didn't read the rules, then picked a team of players with funny names and pretty boys. :)
So my advice to the pair of you would be to not take things too seriously. Unless you're top 50, your league is all that matters. Enjoy it & have fun playing the game.
Oh, and once you've picked your original team, don't make too many changes, and save your trades as much as possible.
The Dream Team thread on the main board had nearly 10,000 posts from memory so there's a lot of people out there who do take it fairly serious.
And why not?
If you're going to be an obsessive footy fan you may as well put your knowledge to good use.
If you finish anywhere in the top 10,000 or 20,000 you've done well. There were well over 100,000 teams last year.
I think your final comments are spot on. Back yourself in with the squad you have chosen, otherwise you'll waste all of your trades and struggle to have 22 available players when it comes to the finals.
Axcellence
27 Jan 2006, 05:59
Just a few tips of my own as well.
- Usually the players who are most likely to step up are the #1 picks. Last year I picked up Deledio as a emergency at lowest price and when I traded him, I got heaps (close to $180K). Other good pickups in 2005 were Justin Sherman and Josh Drummond. You can safely assume with Camporeale's departure, Marc Murphy is sure to make a debut. Other newcomers who are likely to come in are Danny Stanley, Nathan Jones, Shannon Hurn, Josh Kennedy, etc. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=217598
- St Kilda's picked up another ruckman in Rix, getting him in cheap would be good as well. Surprised no-one else mentioned him.
- Captain's fave team - If you are having trouble deciding who to pick as captain, go to www.finalsiren.com and compare player against which team they performed against the best. This is a good indicator for judging who they play the best against, eg Kochitzke has twice played his best games against bulldogs.
- Try and keep a lookout for who the no.1 teams in the comp are putting on their list. Seeing what players they are picking up can sometimes (not always) give you an idea on who to put on your list.
Statistician
27 Jan 2006, 22:41
I'm a dream team fanatic! Some good advice offered.
My advice:
- Draft 8 emergencies that you think will get consistent games. Spend at most 50K on one player. E.g. Marc Murphy, Dale Thomas, Jordan Russell etc. This way when their price goes up you can sell them and upgrade players from your starting 22.
- Pick players that will improve. No point drafting a player who will have little if no improvement in him. No point drafting someone like Kane Cornes who will find it difficult to improve on his average of 95 when you can get someone like Daniel Kerr who only averaged 74 but should improve on this... This allows you to pick more quality players.
- Look out for bargains. Josh Fraser will be a huge one. There are quite a few more out there if you look!
- People may disagree with this but the defenders prob are the less talented to pick from so some people instead of picking 7 defenders play with 5 and play 2 emergencies. IMO it is best to play 7 defenders and 3 emergencies cos if you get one injury then you will be a bit disappointed!
LukeHodge15
30 Jan 2006, 22:24
some pretty good advice u guys giving out.
actually some first rate advice, dont give away all our secrets.......lol
sainter
30 Jan 2006, 23:09
some pretty good advice u guys giving out.
actually some first rate advice, dont give away all our secrets.......lol
I have to admit that when I read this thread that was my first thought.
Some fantastic advice so far. Keep it coming.
hehhe absolutely fantastic thread
good advice from everyone
certainly been doing quite a lot of research over the holidays:cool: :thumbsu: :D
I agree with Zi.....oops stat about the backmen. Last year I played with 2 extra centres
At the start of the year had Mclean then sold him off for Joel Bowden which was a ripper move
My mistake was drafting 2nd/3rd year players who I thought would step up but were still fringe players and fupped me up big time
Kildonan
6 Feb 2006, 00:00
Another source of finding elusive value in your dream team is to check out threads like this: Who will improve most at your club in 06? (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=222943) from the main board.
Summary so far:
Brisbane: Corrie, Adcock, Beau McDonald, Merrett, Hadley
Carlton: (omit Parrot's suggestions due to credibility concerns) Walker, Houlihan
Collingwood: Rowe, Didak, Lonie, Fraser, Walker
Essendon: Watson, Johns, Nash
Fremantle: Peake
Hawthorn: Boyle, Young, Roughead, Franklin, Bateman
Melbourne: Rivers, Miller, McLean, Carroll, Bate
Richmond: Foley
St Kilda: McQualter, Goddard
Sydney: Buchanon, Jolly, Dempster, Davis, Malkeski, Moore, Vogels
West Coast: McDougall, Embley, Butler, Rosa, Nickoski, Waters, Gaspar
Western Bulldogs: Ray
Another suggestion is to come up with the best 22 for every club and see which youngsters are in there, who will be stepping up to a midfield role
If you look close enough there are some real bargains out there;)
Kildonan
9 Feb 2006, 02:03
Another suggestion is to come up with the best 22 for every club and see which youngsters are in there, who will be stepping up to a midfield role
What is the likelihood of Eddy Betts playing a midfield role in 2006?
Will have stints there but not for long period of time - doesn't have the endurance.
How much game time will McQualter get - will he get a game ahead of Powell?
JeffDunne
9 Feb 2006, 11:14
How much game time will McQualter get - will he get a game ahead of Powell?
How fit Powell is will determine his game time.
McQualter will get chances early in the season and if he shows form could very well keep his place in the team. I doubt he'll keep senior players out but would certainly be up near the top of the list of first replacements. If he showed the form of last season and given how conservative we will be managing older players, he could very well play more games than he misses.
Kildonan
9 Feb 2006, 21:02
Monty is the webmaster of a fantastic web site called FanFooty (http://www.fanfooty.com.au/). During the season, Monty has live updates of dream team scores as they happen.
He has spent some time creating a table that projects the 2006 estimated cost of players based on their performance last year. Table (http://www.fanfooty.com.au/players/dreamprices.php)
Remember that these prices are an estimate only, and those players who played less than 12 matches last season will be overpriced (not adjusted).
Also note that new recruits haven't been included yet, nor have retirees been deleted.
Has anyone actually succeeded with a 5 - 5 - 5 - 7 lineup (or thereabouts)
by selected 1 extra top line midfielder / ruck to replace minimal cost defenders???
Kildonan
12 Feb 2006, 00:50
I actually played 1 defender short for much of the season
I had a disappointing defence and traded my way out of it, had a decent midfielder as a reserve - but got burned once or twice with late withdrawals and played with one man short. Grrrr.
So it might also be wise to find good players who played less than 12 games as you might pick them up cheaply.
This is some from the list:
Nathan Brown 10, Nathan Buckley 11, Aaron Hamill 11, Bradley Fisher 7, Leigh Montagna 6, Heath Shaw 6, Adam Bentick 9, Anthony Rocca 4, David Wojcinski 2, Jason Cloke 8, Andrew Mackie 8, Callum Urch 2, Daniel Gilmore 2, Ricky Dyson 10, Troy Chaplin 6, Andrew McQualter 7, Jamie Charman 9, Shannon Motlop 6, Brent Guerra 11, David Johnston 11, John Barker 6, Xavier Clarke 9, Cameron Thurley 7, Matthew Bode 2, Tim Boyle 3, James Gwilt 1, Jay Nash 2, Peter Street 11, Brent Hartigan 8, Cameron Wood 1, Josh Fraser 5, Jarred Brennan 5, Michael Gardiner 9, Jason Gram 5, Guy Richards 2, Sean Rusling 5, Will Thursfield 6, adam Pattison 2, Jacob Surjan 2, Robert Haddrill 3, Jordan Russell 1, David Rodan 0, Beau Waters 0.
I was looking at this and thought that i would try and work out these players projected salarys for next year. I thought i would find this by multiplying the players 2005 average by 3670 (last years $ figure, probably set to change) then divide by a certain figure to get the average. So i thought i would use Simon Goodwin to work out the formula that i would have to use to divide by to get the projected total.... I decided to use simon goodwin cos i remembered he was cheap at the start of the season due to his few games the year before... HE actually played 10 games at an average of 73.6(all stats i used are from http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Simon_Goodwin.html) .Therefore last year if he had have averaged this amount through 22 games( or more than 12 as suggested) his price at the start of the season would have been $270,112..but however because he played less games his start of season price was only $156,100 (you can check this by going into ur dreamteam team and looking at his current price and minusing the amount he has gone up for the season)... so i determined that the formula to find the number to divide by was wat i rounded to 1.75 or thereabouts...so i thought that i had figured it out but i wanted to make sure by checking it against other players to make sure it was spot on.. i found out shane crawford had only played 10 games in 2004 so i collected his stats (http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Shane_Crawford.html) to check the formula against...in shane crawfords 10 games in 2004 he averaged 78.6. so i multiplied by 3670 to find his average if he had of played 22 games(or more than the suggested 12 games) the result was that he would have been $288,462..so i divided by 1.73 to determine what price he should have been considering he had played less than 12 games. the price was $166,741..i then checked shane crawfords starting price for the year 2005 and it was actually $288,500. i did not understand..both simon goodwin and shane crawford had played 10 games in the previous season yet goodwins price had been shortend dramatically..i then tryed matthew carr (11 games in 2004) and corey enright (9 games in 2004) and found that they to had there average of 2004 multipled by 3670 as there price at the start of last season. ..this proves that it is incorrect that not all those players listed above will be at reduced rates in season 2006 and that not every player who plays under 12 games gets there price reduced..i am ot sure why simon goodwins price was so much lower than shane crawfords (divided by an extra 1.73) but this leads me to expect than such player as nathan buckley nathan brown and aaron hamill will be at that same price as shane crawford(there average score last year multipled by the dollar figure which was 3670 in 2005) which is actually dissapionting..give me your thoughts or any theorys to why inwhich you think goodwins price last year had been tweaked alot lower than crawford carr and enright had..thankyou and i hope i did not make this more complicated than it was
Kildonan
12 Feb 2006, 17:18
Fantastic work pol06.
This may be of no help whatsoever, but if a player starts in a match and scores 0, he is deemed not to have played.
Maybe Goodwin was injured in the first minute in one of his matches so that to dream team he played 9 games.
Maybe they have different levels of decrease for the number of games played (under 12).
I will have to put more thought into it.
In three weeks we will have the prices to compare anyway. But it would be good to gain some sort of head start here.
LukeHodge15
13 Feb 2006, 07:35
I was looking at this and thought that i would try and work out these players projected salarys for next year. I thought i would find this by multiplying the players 2005 average by 3670 (last years $ figure, probably set to change) then divide by a certain figure to get the average. So i thought i would use Simon Goodwin to work out the formula that i would have to use to divide by to get the projected total.... I decided to use simon goodwin cos i remembered he was cheap at the start of the season due to his few games the year before... HE actually played 10 games at an average of 73.6(all stats i used are from http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Simon_Goodwin.html) .Therefore last year if he had have averaged this amount through 22 games( or more than 12 as suggested) his price at the start of the season would have been $270,112..but however because he played less games his start of season price was only $156,100 (you can check this by going into ur dreamteam team and looking at his current price and minusing the amount he has gone up for the season)... so i determined that the formula to find the number to divide by was wat i rounded to 1.75 or thereabouts...so i thought that i had figured it out but i wanted to make sure by checking it against other players to make sure it was spot on.. i found out shane crawford had only played 10 games in 2004 so i collected his stats (http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/S/Shane_Crawford.html) to check the formula against...in shane crawfords 10 games in 2004 he averaged 78.6. so i multiplied by 3670 to find his average if he had of played 22 games(or more than the suggested 12 games) the result was that he would have been $288,462..so i divided by 1.73 to determine what price he should have been considering he had played less than 12 games. the price was $166,741..i then checked shane crawfords starting price for the year 2005 and it was actually $288,500. i did not understand..both simon goodwin and shane crawford had played 10 games in the previous season yet goodwins price had been shortend dramatically..i then tryed matthew carr (11 games in 2004) and corey enright (9 games in 2004) and found that they to had there average of 2004 multipled by 3670 as there price at the start of last season. ..this proves that it is incorrect that not all those players listed above will be at reduced rates in season 2006 and that not every player who plays under 12 games gets there price reduced..i am ot sure why simon goodwins price was so much lower than shane crawfords (divided by an extra 1.73) but this leads me to expect than such player as nathan buckley nathan brown and aaron hamill will be at that same price as shane crawford(there average score last year multipled by the dollar figure which was 3670 in 2005) which is actually dissapionting..give me your thoughts or any theorys to why inwhich you think goodwins price last year had been tweaked alot lower than crawford carr and enright had..thankyou and i hope i did not make this more complicated than it was
yeah i agree, i reckon they just pick 6-8 odd players that have had a major injury and discount the price for them. making them all the same price. 156 ish last year
I don't think they're particularly scientific about it.
They should ask me for my price list for my comp, it takes games played into account for every player, and is probably far more realistic of what you'll get out of players.
I've got a question. I've never played before and am keen to start. I've noticed some players can play two positions.
Can i trade a forward for a centre? provided i have a centre player who can double as a forward. Hope that makes sense, i appreciate any help.
Therefore delisting a forward, moving my centre to the forward line and replacing his spot in the centre with the new centre player.
Kildonan
14 Feb 2006, 20:18
rgauci - once you purchase a player as a forward (say) who is also capable of playing midfield (say), the player no longer has the multiple function - i.e. if you bought him as a forward - thats what you get - a forward.
Well - thats how it was last year, I believe.
I've got a question. I've never played before and am keen to start. I've noticed some players can play two positions.
Can i trade a forward for a centre? provided i have a centre player who can double as a forward. Hope that makes sense, i appreciate any help.
Therefore delisting a forward, moving my centre to the forward line and replacing his spot in the centre with the new centre player.
As stated above
Brad Johnson [WB] is listed as a forward and also as a centre player... When you go through to select your team Brad Johnson will be listed in both the Centre and Forward BUYING list... depending on which list you buy him in he will be listed in your team in that position...
He can not be interchanged into a different position... Its a good idea to pick players in your forward line who will also play in the midfield...
Another example is Luke Hodge - hes put under as a Back and a Forward... You may find that it would be a wiser choice to select him in your backline ( when hes at a reasonable price ) There will probably be more possession hungry "forwards" than there are backs
Kildonan
18 Feb 2006, 12:16
yeah i agree, i reckon they just pick 6-8 odd players that have had a major injury and discount the price for them. making them all the same price. 156 ish last year
I don't think they're particularly scientific about it.
They should ask me for my price list for my comp, it takes games played into account for every player, and is probably far more realistic of what you'll get out of players.
If you're right then we wont be able to predict prices of these players, but we still will be able to determine if they are good value or not by working out what prices they should be based on performance alone.
Kildonan
19 Feb 2006, 19:12
From the main board thread:
Did some research and found out this:
Top 20 Draft picks: $45600
21-40: $41300
40-onwards: $39300
SaintBot
20 Feb 2006, 07:14
when deciding who to make your captain...look on pro-stats.com
and go to compare players...look at who your top players most likely oppents will be and decide your captain throughh that
At the start of the year are the teams aggregate value all equal. E.G. Do all the Western Bulldog players aggregate equal 6.3 million, or are some teams more valuable than others?
Kildonan
20 Feb 2006, 18:39
No the aggregate team totals are not all equal.
They are quite disparate.
Funnily enough the aggregate totals when ranked, bear little resemblance to performance or ladder position. Just shows that the dream team ratings just display how well the players score at dream team, maybe it reflects the difference in coaching styles, not a true indication of how well a team might perform.
LukeHodge15
20 Feb 2006, 19:02
i reckons its at least 3 weeks minimum be4 dream team starts.:mad: :mad: :mad:
Kildonan
20 Feb 2006, 19:50
...but the positive is that we get to see a preview of some of our hopefuls running around in the NAB cup.
Kildonan
27 Feb 2006, 01:04
Some of the youngsters to have done alright so far:
Marcus Allan
Jared Brennan
Scott Harding
Marty Pask
Tim Boyle
Clinton Young
Rick Ladson
O'Hailpin
Matt Rosa
Chris Knights
Mitchell Clark
Rhan Hooper
Matthew Bate
Josh Gibson
Rischitelli
Wayde Mills
Merrett
Adcock
Brent Stanton
Marc Murphy
Dale Thomas
Hamish McIntosh
Luke Blackwell
mad-saint-guy
16 Mar 2006, 15:38
Okey dokey, Dream Team is finally up.
I've started a league for all saints supporters and if anyone wants to join just PM me and I'll give you the league code.
Axcellence
18 Mar 2006, 09:13
Can anyone give an idea on how my team looks like? This is just my 2nd year (last year when I picked my team, I didn't know how scoring worked!)
Backs
Chance Bateman
Andrew Carrazzo
David Mundy
Xavier Clarke
Tom Harley
Jarryd Roughead
Leigh Brown
James Gwilt
Leigh Fisher
Centres
Joel Bowden
Chris Judd
Mark Ricciuto
Brett Deledio
Richard Hadley
Marc Murphy
Rucks
David Hale
Hamish McIntosh
Brendon Lade
Dean Brogan
Josh Fraser
Michael Rix
Mitchell Clarke
Forwards
Garry Ablett Jnr
Fraser Gehrig
Adam Yze
Anthony Rocca
Mark Williams
Nathan Ablett
Travis Cloke
Daniel Motlop
Dale Thomas
Can anyone please comment?
Kildonan
18 Mar 2006, 18:15
Not a bad team Axcellence.
My strategy is to select players that I expect to improve - you have several of those in your team.
The way I see it, many of the big key position players start out slowly, so I am going light on these with the intention of selling players early after they have risen in price in order to buy up some of the KPP I want.
Koschitzke, Jonathon Brown, Pavlich and Tredrea are the type of players I am talking about.
If I were to be critical of your team, I feel that you are a little light on in defence (and do you have one too many ruckmen in there?)
Axcellence
19 Mar 2006, 18:19
Ok .. thanks 4 your comment!
How about you try this one!
Backs
Chance Bateman
Matthew Lappin
David Mundy
Xavier Clarke
Jarryd Roughead
Jared Brennan
Michael Pettigrew
Leigh Fisher
Shannon Hurn (or any1 else)?
Centers
Joel Bowden
Lenny Hayes
Corey Enright
Brett Deledio
Chris Knights
Marc Murphy
Rucks
Brendon Lade
Darren Jolly
Josh Fraser
Greg Stafford
Hamish McIntosh
Michael Rix (or should I go Patrick Ryder?)
Forwards
Nick Riewoldt
Paul Chapman
Fraser Gehrig
Mark Williams
Chris Tarrant
Lance Franklin (or should I go back to Nathan Ablett?)
Travis Cloke
Daniel Motlop
Dale Thomas
What do you reckon now?
Kildonan
19 Mar 2006, 19:15
That's an excellent looking team.
Stick with Rix, Ryder probably wont play much (and isn't much of a stats accumulator anyway).
Stick with Franklin - is sure to improve on last year and will be a go to man in their line up.
Much improved.
mad-saint-guy
19 Mar 2006, 21:53
This is my first go at Dream Team..and it's a bit saints-heavy, but I still think this is an alright squad:
Backs:
Luke Hodge
Shaun Burgoyne
Brendon Goddard
Jason Cloke
Xavier Clarke
Sam Fisher
Beau Waters
James Gwilt
Shanon Hurn
Centres:
Luke Ball
Nick Dal Santo
Jason Gram
David Rodan
Marc Murphy
Nathan Jones
Rucks:
Dean Cox
Aaron Sandilands
Josh Fraser
Guy Richards
Paul Johnson
Michael Rix
Forwards:
Nick Riewoldt
Robert Murphy
Jarrad Waite
Alan Didak
Travis Cloke
Jared Brennan
Daniel Motlop
Jobe Watson
Mitchell Clark
I originally had Hadley in the centre, but seeing as he's done his knee again, I got Rodan, who I'm not entirely happy with, but he's the best option that I could afford (though I've still got 40k to spend).
Anyway, I'm not happy with the team any more so any suggestions/critisims are welcome.
Kildonan
19 Mar 2006, 23:50
The WCE supporters seem to think Beau Waters is a while away from cracking it into the team, they reckon Hurn will play before him. I think Ben Fixter might actually play for Brisbane, would be a cheap pick up for a defender.
Luke Ball is at his top price, I love him, but I haven't put him in my team because he may start a little quietly this season by the club keeping him in the forwards for much of the matches in the first half of the season. Dal will be good value (and worth a punt on the Brownlow too) this is the first season that they have decided to start him in the centre (right under the umpires noses). Rodan will definitely improve in value, but he may not be a prolific scorer (he wasn't in 2004) Chris Knights might be better or Rosa from WCE.
Your rucks look fine
Maybe you could upgrade Didak or Waite to Tarrant (I think Tarrant is good value ATM)
macca69
20 Mar 2006, 10:13
Will Rix play round 1?
Have both Sammy Fisher and X factor in my starting 22... personally i believe one might have to go as they are both big risks.
With Penny gone Fisher will take more responsibilty down back, and Clarke is just an obvious risk.
Where do you guys (who have watched closer during the pre season im sure) think these two are at?
mad-saint-guy
20 Mar 2006, 15:24
Will Rix play round 1?
At the moment it looks like Rix will mainly be back-up if one of our ruckmen/key defenders go down. So with Kosi injured, he's probably about a 60/40 chance. Either Rix or Brooks will play round one.
mad-saint-guy
20 Mar 2006, 16:28
Have both Sammy Fisher and X factor in my starting 22... personally i believe one might have to go as they are both big risks.
With Penny gone Fisher will take more responsibilty down back, and Clarke is just an obvious risk.
Where do you guys (who have watched closer during the pre season im sure) think these two are at?
At the monent I think they're both excellent choices for DT.
X is in the best condition he's been in since he's came to the club, and is actually confident that his hammies will hold, while Fisher's average was dragged down by a couple of low-scoring games early in the season. If you look at his scores from after round 15, he'd probably average around 70. I don't think his role will change much this year either. Penny was injured for most of 2005, so his departure, while sad, won't hurt us too much.
Kildonan
21 Mar 2006, 21:00
PLAYERS NOT TO INCLUDE IN YOUR DREAM TEAM
Long Term Injured
Ben Hudson (ADE) Knee ACL
Pat Garner (BRI) Knee
Richard Hadley (BRI) Knee ACL
Nigel Lappin (BRI) Ankle Inj
Justin Leppitsch (BRI) Lumbar Disc Prolapse
Sean Rusling (COL) Shoulder Inj
Adam Ramanauskas (ESS) Medical Illness
Beau Dowler (HAW) Groin Inj
Beau Muston (HAW) Knee ACL
Jesse W Smith (KAN) Ankle Inj
Elijah Ware (PA) Knee ACL
Brad Smith (WCE) Knee ACL
Luke Darcy (WB) Knee ACL
Tim Walsh (WB) Knee ACL
Tom Williams (WB) Foot Inj
Others who may not play first round
Jason Torney (ADE)
Scott Welsh (ADE)
Chris Scott (BRI)
James Kelly (GEE)
Josh Thurgood (HAW)
Callum Urch (KAN)
Jared Rivers (MEL)
Matthew Warnock (MEL)
Adam Kingsley (PA)
Warren Tredrea (PA)
Justin Koschitzke (StK)
Tadhg Kennelly (SYD)
Will Minson (WB)
Kildonan
21 Mar 2006, 21:17
ELEVATED ROOKIES
Adelaide - ???
Brisbane - Scott Harding
Collingwood - Harry O'Brien
Essendon - ???
Geelong - Nick Batchelor
Hawthorn - ???
Kangaroos - ???
Melbourne - Matthew Warnock
Port Adelaide - ???
West Coast - ???
Western Bulldogs - Tom Davidson (???)
Can anyone fill in the blanks?
SaintBot
22 Mar 2006, 10:09
One of My Team:
Chad Cornes
Chris Newman
Campbell Brown
James Gwilt
Robbie Copeland
Jarred Brennan
Sean Dempster
Beau Waters
Shannon Hurn
Luke Ball
Nick Dal Santo
Jimmy Bartel
Brett Deledio
David Rodan
Chris Knights
Dean Cox
Aaron Sandilands
Josh Fraser
Guy Richards
Hamish Mcintosh
Mitchell Clarke
Jonathan Brown
Gary Ablett
Stephen Milne
Trent Hentschel
Harry Miller
Luke Jericho
Daniel Motlop
Fergus Watt
Dale Thomas
what do you guys think??
Kildonan
23 Mar 2006, 02:13
My reply to Axcellence, could well apply to you, Saintbot.
My strategy is to select players that I expect to improve - you have several of those in your team.
The way I see it, many of the big key position players start out slowly, so I am going light on these with the intention of selling players early after they have risen in price in order to buy up some of the KPP I want.
Koschitzke, Jonathon Brown, Pavlich and Tredrea are the type of players I am talking about.
The primary target in playing dream team is to score well.
But there are other targets we need to achieve in order to do as well as we can in this competition:
Consistency - i.e. proven performers who offer consistently high scores but cost a lot - these can be the lynch pins to build your scores around. As the season progresses you may be able to increase the number of these players you have in your squad. How? By increasing the value of our players / squad - with more money we can buy better players. The two main aims therefore are to score well and to increase the value of the squad. How do we increase the value of the squad? We choose players who will improve their price - the easy way is to select players who haven't played before, new recruits etc. (as long as they play - it's free money). The problem is these players, in the most part, wont get you the scores you want. The next source of raising a players price is for them to improve their scores from last year (from which the current prices are based upon). You use your knowledge of the game to select players who underperformed last year (for whatever reasons), or who are likely to improve their scores because they are moving position (mainly into the midfield).
Defence:
I don't expect Chad Cornes to improve much if at all in 2006. This is not necessarily a bad thing, as he will probably score extremely well for you. He is a certified lynch pin. He is unlikely to increase in value greatly though. The detriment of buying him is his cost, as it reduces how much you can spend on other players, and the risk that if he doesn't perform up to the levels he normally does, his value will decrease.
Chris Newman and especially Campbell Brown have some scope for improvement and are likely to give decent scores, and they will play every week.
Jimmy Gwilt is some risk as he may not play every week - definite scope for improvement, but is costly considering that he only has played one game that counts towards dream team in his career.
Robbie Copeland has some scope for improvement but not likely to score particularly well (averages <50). Should play every week.
Jarred Brennan has a huge scope for improvement and represents great value at the price. He must hold down a forward spot for him to score well in DT as his defensive games score poorly, so some risk there but should hold his spot in the team. Injury prone.
Sean Dempster has scope for improvement too, but his scores have been quite low - may be a smoky, but unlikely in my book to reach an average of 50.
(Played 22 games last year @ ave= 32 points with only one score in excess of 50 all season).
Beau Waters and Shannon Hurn are good choices for the reserves although Waters is unlikely to get a game in the first three weeks due to fitness query.
Luke Ball
Nick Dal Santo
Jimmy Bartel
Brett Deledio
David Rodan
Chris Knights
An expensive but high scoring centre, all of which are capable of improvement, Luke Ball might be near his top price though.
Rodan and Knights = good choices for the reserves.
Dean Cox
Aaron Sandilands
Josh Fraser
Guy Richards
Hamish Mcintosh
Mitchell Clarke
No problems with your selections here.
Jonathan Brown
Gary Ablett
Stephen Milne
Trent Hentschel
Harry Miller
Luke Jericho
Daniel Motlop
Fergus Watt
Dale Thomas
No real problems here, it falls away quickly though. Motlop, Watts and Thomas should all increase in value nicely. Plenty of scope for improvement in Hentschel and Miller (who may be a little expensive). Ablett is cool, Jono should go OK (bit inconsistent). Milne might improve if he has a role in the midfield, but he can have some bad scoring days (DT) if things dont fall his way. I would be tempted to swap him for Chris Tarrant.
I think you can do better with your defence.
If I were you I'd get two of Cam Mooney / Jordan McMahon / Andrew Carrazzo / Sam Fisher for Gwilt and Copeland. You might have to pay for it by sacrificing Luke Ball for a Simon Black / Michael Voss in your centre.
SaintBot
23 Mar 2006, 20:39
thanks for those comments...i pretty much agree wit heverything you said there...iv changed my team so many times now iv decided to leave it untill i know who is playing round 1...by then i should know if the motlops, gwilts, mcintoshes, millers, etc are going to play...
mad-saint-guy
24 Mar 2006, 00:05
Ok, I've made a crapload of changes to my team. It now looks like this:
Backs:
Luke Hodge
Shaun Burgoyne
Brendon Goddard
Jason Cloke
David Mundy
Xavier Clarke
Sam Fisher
Ben Fixter
Shannon Hurn
Centres:
Luke Ball
Nick Dal Santo
Simon Black
Jason Gram
Steven Salopek
Marc Murphy
Rucks:
Dean Cox
Aaron Sandilands
Josh Fraser
Guy Richards
Paul Johnson
Michael Rix
Forwards:
Nick Riewoldt
Robert Murphy
Jarrad Waite
Travis Cloke
Jobe Watson
Daniel Motlop
Matthew Bate
Setanto O'halpin
Mitch Clark
I really focused on improving my centres. Having a guy that's played 10 games in his career and two draftees in your centre line doesn't give you alot of confidence, so I traded David Rodan and Nathan Jones...then did alot more trading, and somehow ended up with Simon Black.
Since last time I posted my team:
OUT:
Beau Waters- Chances are that he probably won't play round one, and Fixter seems like a more reliable (and cheaper) prospect.
James Gwilt- While I have no doubt he'll improve on last year, I don't think his averages will improve that much. He got 10 possessions, 3 marks and a couple of tackles in his only game last year, and that seems to be about what he'd average (except over 12-18 games) this year. Plus, to get Black I needed to make some sacrifices.
Alan Didak- Needed to free up some $$$, and he was the main forward I was willing to give up (mainly because of his inconsistency).
Nathan Jones- Meh. Didn't look like great depth, so basically, I replaced him with Salopek.
IN:
Simon Black- Wasn't great last year, and will have loads of responsibility early this year with Lappin and Hadley injured. Should improve a bit, and is pretty reliable.
David Mundy- Wanted to get a solid, consistent performer in exchange for Gwilt, and he was in the right price-range, and has a huge scope for improvement.
Steven Salopek- Is incredibly cheap, and should step up this year.
Matthew Bate/Ben Fixter- Cheap and should get a game.
Setenta O'halpin- Bit of a gamble, but is also cheap, so won't hesitate to trade him if he doesn't perform early.
My midfield has improved greatly at the expense of the forward line, but I'm sure I'll doom some other area soon to save the forward line.
Kildonan
24 Mar 2006, 01:09
Excellent work.
Most of your changes seem to be right on the money.:cool:
I'm not a Salopek fan yet, I know he's cheap and the upside is great, but I'd put in Chris Knights or Scott Harding as I believe both will score better.
I think you've got the right mix now, (maybe a little weakness in the forwards) so if I were you, I'd wait until the teams are published (Wednesday - I hope) and make your final changes then.
Good Luck (but not too much good luck - I'm in your league !!!)
Kildonan
24 Mar 2006, 01:18
Will Rix play round 1?
Not likely, no.
freeman11
28 Mar 2006, 17:40
I've been chopping and changing my team for a while now, but I think I've nailed it. Only my backline is looking a bit suspect. Might have to sacrifice a big name or two elsewhere on the park else I might struggle to field 22 players, at least early in the season.
Chance Bateman
Cameron Mooney
Jarryd Roughhead
Max Hudghton
Beau Waters
Ben Fixter
Robert Haddrill
Marcus Drum
Shannon Hurn
Luke Hodge
Ben Cousins
Sam Mitchell
Chris Judd
Steven Salopek
Marc Murphy
Peter Everitt
Justin Koschitzke
Steven King
Josh Fraser
Patrick Ryder
Max Bailey
Barry Hall
Nick Riewoldt
Mark Williams
Stephen Milne
Lance Franklin
Michael Gardiner
Daniel Motlop
Fergus Watts
Dale Thomas
So what do people think, especially regarding my Saints selections, namely Hudghton and Milne? And will Koschitzke score me many more points than say Darren Jolly, or is it worth going back to Jolly to get some better quality in the backline?
And I think emergencies will only play in their designated positions this year! Is that right?
Cheers
Nick
Go Hawks!
chooka_delic
28 Mar 2006, 17:54
I've been chopping and changing my team for a while now, but I think I've nailed it. Only my backline is looking a bit suspect. Might have to sacrifice a big name or two elsewhere on the park else I might struggle to field 22 players, at least early in the season.
Chance Bateman
Cameron Mooney
Jarryd Roughhead
Max Hudghton
Beau Waters
Ben Fixter
Robert Haddrill
Marcus Drum
Shannon Hurn
Luke Hodge
Ben Cousins
Sam Mitchell
Chris Judd
Steven Salopek
Marc Murphy
Peter Everitt
Justin Koschitzke
Steven King
Josh Fraser
Patrick Ryder
Max Bailey
Barry Hall
Nick Riewoldt
Mark Williams
Stephen Milne
Lance Franklin
Michael Gardiner
Daniel Motlop
Fergus Watts
Dale Thomas
So what do people think, especially regarding my Saints selections, namely Hudghton and Milne? And will Koschitzke score me many more points than say Darren Jolly, or is it worth going back to Jolly to get some better quality in the backline?
And I think emergencies will only play in their designated positions this year! Is that right?
Cheers
Nick
Go Hawks!
Mate, you've spent WAY too much on your centres at the expense of your backs. Trade Hodge and Cousins for cheaper midfielders and upgrade your backs. Also your forwards lack depth
Kildonan
4 Apr 2006, 01:02
My Dream Team:
$364,600 Bowden, Joel (95)
$348,800 McPhee, Adam (90)
$297,200 Johncook, Graham (70)
$286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun (106)
$276,800 Mooney, Cameron (76)
$211,700 Fisher, Sam (68)
$103,900 Waters, Beau (54)
$374,200 Dal Santo, Nick (66) (Captain)
$255,000 Deledio, Brett (105)
$148,800 Gram, Jason (110)
$074,800 Harding, Scott (43)
$284,000 Ottens, Brad (40)
$177,000 Fraser, Josh (104)
$145,500 Clarke, Matthew (36)
$095,600 McIntosh, Hamish (60)
$378,800 Pavlich, Matthew (58)
$368,700 Riewoldt, Nick (91)
$347,500 Bruce, Cameron (103)
$317,000 Hamill, Aaron (32)
$315,900 Chapman, Paul (115)
$268,400 Tarrant, Chris (32)
$083,100 Murray, Allan (18)
$083,100 Fixter, Ben (33)
$066,500 Hurn, Shannon (-)
$173,200 Rosa, Matthew (-)
$066,500 Murphy, Marc (73) E
$187,400 Street, Peter (-)
$066,500 Clarke, Mitchell (61) E
$066,500 Watts, Fergus (24) E
$066,500 Thomas, Dale (90)
A rather ordinary effort first up with the highlighted players performing poorly for me.
Before the round, I replaced Rosa (DNP) with Harding and Peter Street (DNP) with McIntosh.
Scores are accurate now Total = 1636
who_let_the_dogs_out
4 Apr 2006, 16:42
anyone know when koschitzke and jason saddington will be coming back from injury???
anyone??
mad-saint-guy
4 Apr 2006, 22:14
anyone know when koschitzke and jason saddington will be coming back from injury???
anyone??
Kos is probably a 60/40 chance for this week, but if not, a certainty for next week. No idea about Saddington.
mad-saint-guy
4 Apr 2006, 22:20
I got 1692 with 17 players and a crappy, unfinished list (the computer crapped out on me on the deadline for final teams, so I was left with a bunch of players I don't want and I hadn't set emergencies.
However, Gram, Goddard, Fraser, S.Fisher, Clark and Watson all proved to be bargains, and performed much better than some of the more expensive players (Ball, Dal Santo, Black, R.Murphy).
Kildonan
4 Apr 2006, 23:23
Geez M-S-G, for someone who has never played dream team before, you are doing exceptionally well: Top in your Super coach comp, top 4 in your dream team comp. Wow. We should all be asking you what to do!
Well done.
mad-saint-guy
5 Apr 2006, 19:56
Lol, thanks. The key for me was to wait until the last day to finalise the team, and then have my computer stuff up, leaving me with 17 players, and quite a few I don't want.
I'm not sure if it would work for everyone, but it sure as hell worked for me.:D
Kildonan
9 Apr 2006, 19:30
My Dream Team:
$364,600 Bowden, Joel (95) 120
$348,800 McPhee, Adam (90) 109
$297,200 Johncook, Graham (70) 82
$286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun (106) 94
$276,800 Mooney, Cameron (76) 79
$211,700 Fisher, Sam (68) 62
$103,900 Waters, Beau (54) 73
$374,200 Dal Santo, Nick (66) 91 (Captain)
$255,000 Deledio, Brett (105) 76
$173,200 Rosa, Matthew (-) 108
$148,800 Gram, Jason (110) 56
$284,000 Ottens, Brad (40) 33
$177,000 Fraser, Josh (104) 105
$145,500 Clarke, Matthew (36) 42
$095,600 McIntosh, Hamish (60) 49
$378,800 Pavlich, Matthew (58) 66
$368,700 Riewoldt, Nick (91) 100
$347,500 Bruce, Cameron (103) 130
$317,000 Hamill, Aaron (32) 93
$315,900 Chapman, Paul (115) 67
$268,400 Tarrant, Chris (32) 108
$066,500 Thomas, Dale (90) 90
$083,100 Fixter, Ben (33) 33
$066,500 Hurn, Shannon (-) -
$074,800 Harding, Scott (43) 49
$066,500 Murphy, Marc (73) 64 E
$187,400 Street, Peter (-) -
$066,500 Clarke, Mitchell (61) 63 E
$066,500 Watts, Fergus (24) -
$074,800 Gibson, Joshua (50) 54 E
Sold
$083,100 Murray, Allan (18) replaced by $074,800 Gibson, Joshua (50)
Total Score approx 1924
A better performance but still concerned with Ottens' and Pavlich's performances - both should improve but how patient should I be?
mad-saint-guy
9 Apr 2006, 19:57
I ended up getting 1744, for an average of 79.27
Was a small improvement on last week, but I was let down by Brendon Goddard, Jason Gram, Aaron Sandilands, Marc Murphy, Xavier Clarke, Ben Fixter, Jarrad Waite, and to a lesser extent, Sam Fisher, David Mundy, Daniel Motlop, and Travis Cloke...that leaves 7 players that DIDN'T let me down.
I'm going to trade Jason Cloke, and I'll try to get Thomas somehow.
Kildonan
12 Apr 2006, 01:50
Changes to My Dream Team:
$364,600 Bowden, Joel (95) 120
$348,800 McPhee, Adam (90) 109
$297,200 Johncook, Graham (70) 82
$286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun (106) 94
$276,800 Mooney, Cameron (76) 79
$211,700 Fisher, Sam (68) 62
$103,900 Waters, Beau (54) 73
$374,200 Dal Santo, Nick (66) 91 (Captain)
$255,000 Deledio, Brett (105) 76
$173,200 Rosa, Matthew (-) 108
$148,800 Gram, Jason (110) 56
$261,600 Lade, Brendon (111) 85
$177,000 Fraser, Josh (104) 105
$125,600 Skipper, Wayde (65) 64
$095,600 McIntosh, Hamish (60) 49
$378,800 Pavlich, Matthew (58) 66
$368,700 Riewoldt, Nick (91) 100
$347,500 Bruce, Cameron (103) 130
$317,000 Hamill, Aaron (32) 93
$315,900 Chapman, Paul (115) 67
$268,400 Tarrant, Chris (32) 108
$066,500 Thomas, Dale (90) 90
$083,100 Fixter, Ben (33) 33
$066,500 Hurn, Shannon (-) -
$074,800 Harding, Scott (43) 49
$066,500 Murphy, Marc (73) 64 E
$187,400 Street, Peter (-) -
$066,500 Clarke, Mitchell (61) 63 E
$066,500 Watts, Fergus (24) -
$074,800 Gibson, Joshua (50) 54 E
Score
Rd 1 confirmed as 1636
Rd 2 confirmed as 1930
Total Score Rd 2 = 3566
Changes
Rd1 $083,100 Murray, Allan (18) replaced by $074,800 Gibson, Joshua (50)
Rd2 $145,500 Clarke, Matthew (36) 42 replaced by $125,600 Skipper, Wayde (65) 64
Rd2 $284,000 Ottens, Brad (40) 33 replaced by $261,600 Lade, Brendon (111) 85
(P.S. I still think Ottens will be a good scorer so I may buy him back at some later date, hopefully at a lower price).
I decided to shore up my ruck contingency, I sold Clarke (Ade) and Ottens and bought Skipper and Lade.
My thinking: Clarke and Ottens are unlikely to improve in value, Ottens especially is likely to drop in value. Both Skipper and Lade are likely to increase in value quite nicely. A bonus with Lade is that he is likely to score well this week with Brogan injured!
I believe it is important to get in early and pick up some of these financial winfalls - there are a great many of them to choose from, but especially low priced first year players who have played both games so far... they are money for jam. I have several in my team. (This explains why I wasted a valuable trade on Joshua Gibson last week - to cash in on him, where Murray was a calculated risk that didn't pay off). I opted to try and improve my weak ruck without compromising too much profit (which I could have potentially earned buying newbies).
By selling players that (may) lose value, and buying players that (may) gain value, you possibly can turnaround more cash value in your team's favour than buying newbies.
After Rd 3 is played, those players who have played 3 matches will have their $value reassessed based on their performances in the first three rounds. I will lose money on Dal Santo and Pavlich, and maybe a few others, but the majority of my team will hold their value and some will increase it. The increase in value will make it easier for me to upgrade players to my intended final squad.
(Magenta = players whom I expect to make a handsome increase in value)
Next week I intend to consider selling off players who have had a big value increase so that I may upgrade my list or to buy other players who now have two games (to make further profit from the newbies).
Kildonan
17 Apr 2006, 18:20
My Dream Team Score:
$364,600 Bowden, Joel (95,124) 64
$348,800 McPhee, Adam (90,109) 62
$297,200 Johncook, Graham (70, 82) 76
$286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun (106, 94) 80
$276,800 Mooney, Cameron (76, 79) 70
$211,700 Fisher, Sam (68, 59) 109
$103,900 Waters, Beau (54, 70) 30
$374,200 Dal Santo, Nick (66, 92) 130 (Captain)
$255,000 Deledio, Brett (105, 76) 45
$173,200 Rosa, Matthew (-, 108) 49
$148,800 Gram, Jason (110, 56) 32
$261,600 Lade, Brendon (111, 85) 114
$177,000 Fraser, Josh (104, 105) 67
$125,600 Skipper, Wayde (65, 64) 99
$095,600 McIntosh, Hamish (60, 49) 13
$378,800 Pavlich, Matthew (58, 66) 118
$368,700 Riewoldt, Nick (91, 100) 96
$347,500 Bruce, Cameron (103, 134) 132
$317,000 Hamill, Aaron (32, 93) 85
$315,900 Chapman, Paul (115, 67) 87
$268,400 Tarrant, Chris (32, 108) 130
$066,500 Thomas, Dale (90, 90) 33
$083,100 Fixter, Ben (33, 33) 44
$066,500 Hurn, Shannon (-, -) -
$074,800 Harding, Scott (43, 49) 25
$066,500 Murphy, Marc (73, 64) 87 E
$187,400 Street, Peter (-, -) -
$066,500 Clarke, Mitchell (61, 63) 28 E
$066,500 Watts, Fergus (24, -) -
$074,800 Gibson, Joshua (50, 54) 31 E
Score
Rd 1 confirmed as 1636 = 1636
Rd 2 confirmed as 1930 = 3566 (Ranked 2509 of 143161)
Rd 3 confirmed as 1851 = 5417 (Ranked 1262 of 155223)
Changes
Rd2 $145,500 Clarke, Matthew (36, 42) replaced by $125,600 Skipper, Wayde (65, 64)
Rd2 $284,000 Ottens, Brad (40, 33) replaced by $261,600 Lade, Brendon (111, 85)
Not as good a score as last week, but I foresee a general drop in scores for this weekend (I hope anyway).
My new inclusions; Brendon Lade and Wayde Skipper, did well for me.
I now await the re-evaluation of those players who have played 3 matches and I'll see what upgrades that may allow me to make.
footylover18
18 Apr 2006, 20:13
First of all let me say that Stkildonan you are a champ. I hope this board realises what a valuable member you are, always willing to spend time and give golden advice. Keep up the good work!
Getting Skipper proved to be a masterstroke. Now that Minson has gone down he should be a great source of points for your team. Getting him before the price change saved you plenty of $$.
I was wondering what your opinions on Mooney are following King's injury. Does King being injured enhance or hinder Mooney's fantasy value?
I'm thinking of upgrading Gram to either Harris or A.Simpson and whilst I don't need to sell Mooney to do this (could downgrade Waters to Mills in order to get Harris for Gram) trading Mooney to Skipper would give the added bonus of getting a player whose value is sure to rise further.
Whilst I would also like to upgrade Waters to a great back, it can't all be done in one week. I think I'd prefer to upgrade Gram to a more conistent centre and then wait for some of the pricey backs (C.Cornes, McPhee, Milburn) to drop a bit more in price and get them at a later date.
Kildonan
19 Apr 2006, 00:06
Thanks for your kind words, Footylover.
Mooney has been a little bit of a disappointment so far hasn't he, after showing a bit in the preseason ?
I think Kings injury will be covered by Mark Blake and rotations of Ottens and Mooney. Ottens should be fit enough to handle a fair rotation by now, but probably wont be expected to take on a whole share of the ruck, enter Cam Mooney... he is going to be expected to do his share in defence and make cameo appearances in the ruck. (Geelong have lost their three premium defenders, so Mooney will be down back I would say).
All the Geelong boys will be expected to put in big ones after last week's effort, I think Mooney should improve, but if he doesn't then it is time to part with him I reckon.
Upgrade Gram to Simpson would be my choice, I think Simpson is in for a big year. Do it now if you can because Gram's value will drop again next week (unless he gets >90 pts). In the same vein, it might be a good time to sell Thomas.
Good luck
Kildonan
19 Apr 2006, 01:50
Money.
I am assessing my squad by choosing which players I intend to keep in the squad (barring injury etc.) = coloured blue
The players which I intend to upgrade or trade for profit are green and those I am undecided about or waiting on are black
$359,300 $364,600 Bowden, Joel 95,124, 64
$340,400 $348,800 McPhee, Adam 90,109, 62
$292,600 $297,200 Johncook, Graham 70, 82, 76
$301,500 $286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun 106, 94, 80
$276,100 $276,800 Mooney, Cameron 76, 79, 70
$232,600 $211,700 Fisher, Sam 68, 59,109
$127,000 $103,900 Waters, Beau 54, 70, 30
$097,100 $083,100 Fixter, Ben 33, 33, 44
$066,500 $066,500 Hurn, Shannon -, -, -
$367,900 $374,200 Dal Santo, Nick 66, 92,130
$260,600 $255,000 Deledio, Brett 105, 76, 45
$173,200 $173,200 Rosa, Matthew -,108, 49
$174,300 $148,800 Gram, Jason 110, 56, 32
$094,100 $074,800 Harding, Scott 43, 49, 25
$123,300 $066,500 Murphy, Marc 73, 64, 87
$293,600 $261,600 Lade, Brendon 111, 85,114
$220,800 $177,000 Fraser, Josh 104,105, 67
$167,500 $125,600 Skipper, Wayde 65, 64, 99
$108,900 $095,600 McIntosh, Hamish 60, 49, 13
$187,400 $187,400 Street, Peter -, -, -
$099,100 $066,500 Clarke, Mitchell 61, 63, 28
$355,800 $378,800 Pavlich, Matthew 58, 66,118
$363,500 $368,700 Riewoldt, Nick 91,100, 96
$375,600 $347,500 Bruce, Cameron 103,134,132
$300,300 $317,000 Hamill, Aaron 32, 93, 85
$319,200 $315,900 Chapman, Paul 115, 67, 87
$285,100 $268,400 Tarrant, Chris 32,108,130
$119,500 $066,500 Thomas, Dale 90, 90, 33
$066,500 $066,500 Watts, Fergus 24, -, -
$098,400 $074,800 Gibson, Joshua 50, 54, 31
==============================================
$6,647,700 $6,249,300 (+$398,400)
==============================================
Changes
Rd2 $145,500 Clarke, Matthew (36, 42) replaced by $125,600 Skipper, Wayde (65, 64)
Balance remaining $50,700
Kildonan
19 Apr 2006, 23:14
Changes to squad
$359,300 $364,600 Bowden, Joel 95,124, 64
$340,400 $348,800 McPhee, Adam 90,109, 62
$301,500 $286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun 106, 94, 80
$292,600 $297,200 Johncook, Graham 70, 84, 76
$276,100 $276,800 Mooney, Cameron 76, 79, 70
$232,600 $211,700 Fisher, Sam 68, 59,109
$166,200 $123,500 Johnson, Michael 75, 63, 91
$097,100 $083,100 Fixter, Ben 33, 33, 44 E
$367,900 $374,200 Dal Santo, Nick 66, 92,130
$260,600 $255,000 Deledio, Brett 105, 76, 45
$174,300 $148,800 Gram, Jason 110, 56, 32
$173,200 $173,200 Rosa, Matthew -,108, 49
$123,300 $066,500 Murphy, Marc 73, 64, 87 E
$094,100 $074,800 Harding, Scott 43, 49, 25
$293,600 $261,600 Lade, Brendon 111, 85,114
$220,800 $177,000 Fraser, Josh 104,105, 67
$187,400 $187,400 Street, Peter -, -, -
$167,500 $125,600 Skipper, Wayde 65, 64, 99
$108,900 $095,600 McIntosh, Hamish 60, 49, 13 E
$099,100 $066,500 Clarke, Mitchell 61, 63, 28
$375,600 $347,500 Bruce, Cameron 103,134,132
$363,500 $368,700 Riewoldt, Nick 91,100, 96
$355,800 $378,800 Pavlich, Matthew 58, 66,118
$319,200 $315,900 Chapman, Paul 115, 67, 87
$300,300 $317,000 Hamill, Aaron 32, 93, 85
$285,100 $268,400 Tarrant, Chris 32,108,130
$127,700 $094,200 Motlop, Daniel 48, 49, 80
$098,400 $074,800 Gibson, Joshua 50, 54, 31
$066,500 $066,500 Watts, Fergus 24, -, -
Changes
Rd3 $127,000 $103,900 Waters, Beau 54, 70, 30 replaced by $166,200 $123,500 Johnson, Michael 75, 63, 91
Rd3 $119,500 $066,500 Thomas, Dale 90, 90, 33 replaced by $127,700 $094,200 Motlop, Daniel 48, 49, 80
Balance remaining $3,300
Johnson was bought as a possible permanent inclusion, he has been superb in Supercoach for me and even if he doesn't live up to my expectations, he will probably still increase in value for a while yet.
Motlop was probably a mistake, I dropped Thomas for him because I thought that he might accumulate more value more rapidly. In hidsight, this was probably a waste of a trade.
footylover18
20 Apr 2006, 14:34
Yeh, i'm surprised you traded Thomas away. Since his base is lower I think he has a lot of rising to do even if he doesn't score that well. I'm in a similar position to you with regards to Watts. He's out for an extended period of time but I cant bring myself to trading him for another bench guy, even though it is probably in my best interest long term to do so.
Depending on the teams tonight my trades this week will prob be: Mooney to Skipper and then Gram to either Simpson or Haselby.
I'm praying that Waters gets to play another couple of games at least. Even if he walks out on the park his value is prob going to rise further.
Got an opinion on who will be better for the rest of the season? Simo or Haselby?
Kildonan
20 Apr 2006, 17:35
Yeh, i'm surprised you traded Thomas away. Since his base is lower I think he has a lot of rising to do even if he doesn't score that well. I'm in a similar position to you with regards to Watts. He's out for an extended period of time but I cant bring myself to trading him for another bench guy, even though it is probably in my best interest long term to do so.
Depending on the teams tonight my trades this week will prob be: Mooney to Skipper and then Gram to either Simpson or Haselby.
I'm praying that Waters gets to play another couple of games at least. Even if he walks out on the park his value is prob going to rise further.
Got an opinion on who will be better for the rest of the season? Simo or Haselby?
Both are going great. You can't go wrong with either choice, but I'd favour Hasleby just, because he may rise in value (which means little if you keep him for the duration).
Kildonan
25 Apr 2006, 20:16
$359,300 $364,600 Bowden, Joel 124, 64, 76
$340,400 $348,800 McPhee, Adam 109, 62, 57
$301,500 $286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun 94, 80, 80
$292,600 $297,200 Johncook, Graham 84, 76, 87
$276,100 $276,800 Mooney, Cameron 79, 70, 60
$232,600 $211,700 Fisher, Sam 59,109, 94
$166,200 $123,500 Johnson, Michael 63, 91, 71
$097,100 $083,100 Fixter, Ben 33, 44, 97 E
$367,900 $374,200 Dal Santo, Nick 92,130, 100 Captain
$260,600 $255,000 Deledio, Brett 76, 45, 78
$174,300 $148,800 Gram, Jason 56, 32, 73
$173,200 $173,200 Rosa, Matthew 108, 49, 47
$123,300 $066,500 Murphy, Marc 64, 87, 45 E
$094,100 $074,800 Harding, Scott 43, 49, 25, -
$293,600 $261,600 Lade, Brendon 85,114,112
$220,800 $177,000 Fraser, Josh 105, 67,101
$187,400 $187,400 Street, Peter -, -, 73,
$167,500 $125,600 Skipper, Wayde 64, 99, 32
$108,900 $095,600 McIntosh, Hamish 49, 13, - E
$099,100 $066,500 Clarke, Mitchell 61, 63, 28, -
$375,600 $347,500 Bruce, Cameron 134,132,103
$363,500 $368,700 Riewoldt, Nick 100, 96, 74
$355,800 $378,800 Pavlich, Matthew 66,118, 69
$319,200 $315,900 Chapman, Paul 67, 87,120
$300,300 $317,000 Hamill, Aaron 93, 85, 85
$285,100 $268,400 Tarrant, Chris 108,130, 82
$127,700 $094,200 Motlop, Daniel 49, 80, 54
$098,400 $074,800 Gibson, Joshua 50, 54, 31, -
$066,500 $066,500 Watts, Fergus 24, -, -, -
Score
Rd 4 confirmed as 1828 =7245 (Ranked 698 of 155223)
Changes
Rd3 $127,000 $103,900 Waters, Beau 54, 70, 30 replaced by $166,200 $123,500 Johnson, Michael 75, 63, 91
Rd3 $119,500 $066,500 Thomas, Dale 90, 90, 33 replaced by $127,700 $094,200 Motlop, Daniel 48, 49, 80
Balance remaining $3,300
footylover18
26 Apr 2006, 14:04
Mate, howd you go this week? I had some really poor scores and not having an emergency for Goddard didn't help. Scraped my way to 1725.
I promised myself I wouldn't do trades this week, but i really need an emergency backman (currently got birchall and drum). Will probably bring in Attard for Drum this week. Also looking at briging in Macelski for Harding. Harding doesn't seem to be a permanent fixture in the Lions side and Macelski looks to be a better scorer.
Kildonan
27 Apr 2006, 00:29
Changes
Players I intend to keep in the squad (barring injury etc.) = coloured blue
The players which I intend to upgrade or trade for profit are green
and those I am undecided about or waiting on are black
Raised in value = Bold
Dropped in value = Red
$349,200 $364,600 Bowden, Joel 124, 64, 76
$323,500 $348,800 McPhee, Adam 109, 62, 57
$303,900 $286,400 Burgoyne, Shaun 94, 80, 80
$295,100 $297,200 Johncook, Graham 84, 76, 87
$269,800 $269,800 Brown, Campbell -,111, 95
$256,600 $211,700 Fisher, Sam 59,109, 94
$196,000 $166,200 Johnson, Michael 63, 91, 71
$128,800 $083,100 Fixter, Ben 33, 44, 97 E
$374,900 $374,200 Dal Santo, Nick 92,130,100 Captain
$255,800 $255,000 Deledio, Brett 76, 45, 78
$194,100 $173,200 Rosa, Matthew 108, 49, 47
$180,500 $148,800 Gram, Jason 56, 32, 73
$155,200 $066,500 Murphy, Marc 64, 87, 45 E
$094,100 $074,800 Harding, Scott 43, 49, 25, -
$317,600 $261,600 Lade, Brendon 85,114,112
$251,700 $177,000 Fraser, Josh 105, 67,101
$187,900 $125,600 Skipper, Wayde 64, 99, 32
$187,400 $187,400 Street, Peter -, -, 73
$108,900 $095,600 McIntosh, Hamish 60, 49, 13, - E
$099,100 $066,500 Clarke, Mitchell 61, 63, 28, -
$396,200 $347,500 Bruce, Cameron 134,132,103
$354,200 $368,700 Riewoldt, Nick 100, 96, 74
$343,000 $378,800 Pavlich, Matthew 66,118, 69
$323,500 $315,900 Chapman, Paul 67, 87,120
$314,200 $268,400 Tarrant, Chris 108,130, 82
$306,100 $317,000 Hamill, Aaron 93, 85, 85
$154,000 $127,700 Motlop, Daniel 49, 80, 54
$098,400 $074,800 Gibson, Joshua 50, 54, 31, -
$066,500 $066,500 Watts, Fergus 24, -, -, -
Score
Rd 4 confirmed as 1828 = 7245 (Ranked 698 of 164363)
Changes
Rd4 $270,400 $276,800 Mooney, Cameron 79, 70, 60 replaced by $269,800 $269,800 Brown, Campbell -,111, 95
Balance remaining $3,900
I lost patience with Cam Mooney, while he's playing as a backman he doesn't seem to score well. I could have held on to him until Geelong get their injured players back, but the bonus for Campbell Brown would have been forfeited. I have some reservation about Campbell Brown, I think the most that he has managed to play is 12 games in any season. He is great value at the price. I was tempted to trade for Hird because he would be a nice inclusion and GREAT value. Or I could have opted for one of the mercenary trades of good kids on two matches.
Kildonan
27 Apr 2006, 01:00
Mate, howd you go this week? I had some really poor scores and not having an emergency for Goddard didn't help. Scraped my way to 1725.
I promised myself I wouldn't do trades this week, but i really need an emergency backman (currently got birchall and drum). Will probably bring in Attard for Drum this week. Also looking at briging in Macelski for Harding. Harding doesn't seem to be a permanent fixture in the Lions side and Macelski looks to be a better scorer.
Just had a look at your scores:
Round 1 Score: 1850
Round 2 Score: 1950
Round 3 Score: 1831
Round 4 Score: 1725
Wow - brilliant stuff. The 1725 will hurt, but geez you must've been high on the leaders list after week 3.
I like Malceski, I was trying to decide whether to grab him or not, myself.
This week I think the bargains include:
James Hird @ $323,900
Campbell Brown @ $269,800
Nick Malceski @ $100,600
Cheyne Stiller @ $66,500
Jayden Attard @ $79,000
and maybe Peter Everitt @ $328,800 (in that order but depending on what your goals are).
sainter
27 Apr 2006, 05:28
Good work StKildonan
I'd hold off with trading for Everitt, he should continue to decrease in value for at least another week.
My team is fairly average this year. I've scored in the 1700's every week and currently sit in around 3300th place.
Sitting just a few places ahead of you stkildonan.. so dunno if you really wanna help. But what colour would brendad goddard be in if he was in ur side?
Dont know if its really worth losing a trade getting rid of him?