View Full Version : Aflq News

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

bananabenda
5 Mar 2007, 18:17
Anyone playing at Grange when Johno was coach will remember that fatefull year when the club was struggling for money. Dean Warren was captain (Now theres a champion!)and the boys made the mistake of giving the savings for their end of season club trip to Johno to hold on to, .....Ditto...

POSTMAN
5 Mar 2007, 19:06
Can anyone tell me if there is a thread for the Cairns league? Just wanting to follow up on a few guy's that have been recruited up there from the Goulburn Valley.

kidneyhawks
5 Mar 2007, 20:21
Palmy looking real good some real good recruits, firt couple of games going to be interesting cos some of those recruits going to the carribean to watch the world cup but after that should easily finish top 4.

acuguy
5 Mar 2007, 20:23
bananabenda i think you have a different version of events on the Johnno coaching Kedron affair.

bananabenda
5 Mar 2007, 20:37
Just to make sure- were Kedron Grange and Wilston Grange the same team? or have I got this wrong? Was Dean Warren captain of Wilston Grange or Kedron Grange?

bananabenda
5 Mar 2007, 20:51
Ive done my homework. I stand by my comments.

acuguy
5 Mar 2007, 20:53
The Kedron Demons and the Wilston Grange Gorrilas merged to form Kedron Grange, the year Johnno won the flag his team had Clint Bizzell and Hamish Simpson in it, obviously both went on to play AFL. I think you will find that the money Kedron Grange had for a marquee player transfer organised by a certain person went missing.

thomo44
5 Mar 2007, 21:13
The Kedron Demons and the Wilston Grange Gorrilas merged to form Kedron Grange, the year Johnno won the flag his team had Clint Bizzell and Hamish Simpson in it, obviously both went on to play AFL. I think you will find that the money Kedron Grange had for a marquee player transfer organised by a certain person went missing.

lots of money has gone missing....He's almost that bad you have to admire how he does again and again and again

Herbs
5 Mar 2007, 22:36
Can anyone tell me if there is a thread for the Cairns league? Just wanting to follow up on a few guy's that have been recruited up there from the Goulburn Valley.

No thread that I know of, someone might come through for us though.........

bananabenda
6 Mar 2007, 15:05
Spot on Thommo. For all the talent and respect Johnno earned, he ruined off field.

Chasing the Dream
7 Mar 2007, 08:52
Johnson may have coached Kedron Grange to a premiership but do you know the reasons as to how he ended up coaching them in the first place. He was also a wonderful junior development manager at the Morningside Juniors ( what does that job entail) only cost the juniors lots of cash for no return. Luckily qld football isn't that easily star struck anymore.

LOL, this is one of the most accurate posts I have read in a while.

Facca
7 Mar 2007, 09:14

Johno never coached KG to a flag the best result was runner up to Morningside 1994, from memory 1 kick in it.

play4jumper
8 Mar 2007, 19:57
lots of money has gone missing....He's almost that bad you have to admire how he does again and again and again
didnt noel coutts play that year,did johno teach him to steal money?

Facca
9 Mar 2007, 07:58
I think he did play that year but he didn't make it through the season

Thats_Special
9 Mar 2007, 09:29
Can anyone give me any info on Jordan Handicott that played for Robina Roos???

swans12
9 Mar 2007, 13:16
Is there anything actually happening football wise up there or is this thread just for bulls hit . (see the last months posts)

If you want to rip crap out of each other pm each other.

I log in almost daily to see whats developing up there only to see the same stuff.

Herbs
9 Mar 2007, 17:51
Season's only a couple of weeks off for us here in the Capricornia league, presume it'd be the same for the other leagues, maybe then the posturing will stop and the footy talks.

coastfooty
10 Mar 2007, 10:40
Is there anything actually happening football wise up there or is this thread just for bulls hit . (see the last months posts)

If you want to rip crap out of each other pm each other.

I log in almost daily to see whats developing up there only to see the same stuff.
Well heres something Palm Beach Currumbin have announced they are affiliated with Port Power it today paper.
That club is really heading in the right direction.

swans12
12 Mar 2007, 07:38
Well heres something Palm Beach Currumbin have announced they are affiliated with Port Power it today paper.
That club is really heading in the right direction.

Seems to be happening a bit more now days, good for the club if they can leverage something out of it.

Maybe when they play at the Gold Coast.

morphous
13 Mar 2007, 12:17
From http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=115914
Preliminary bouts begin

The new-look Zillmere Eagles meet the emerging Mt Gravatt in the first official AFLQ practice match of the new season at O’Callaghan Park on Friday night.

Zillmere have lost some class from their line-up, but have gained well performed Victorian amateur Daniel Flaherty and former Essendon senior listed player Austin Lucy.

Mt Gravatt will consider unveiling highly rated recruits Shane Morrison and Paul O’Brien, plus Coburg midfielders Gareth Bowes and Sam Crouch for the night-time contest.

The Zillmere lighting system at O’Callaghan Park is top class and a warm evening should encourage plenty of spectators to the see how the teams are progressing.

Southport could give skipper Darren O’Brien and former Lions rookie Kevin Tandogac their first games in almost 12 months when the Sharks meet the Panthers at Fankhauser Reserve on Saturday.

The Sharks have several quality mature age players returning from injury this season.

Labrador meet local rivals Broadbeach at Cooke-Murphy Oval, also on Saturday, and will be well prepared going into the clash.

The Tigers have already had two practice matches against Division 2 clubs and hope to have plenty of system in place by the time the premiership season opens on April 14-15.

Redland players will contest an intraclub match on Satruday after the Suncoast Lions cancelled their planned clash at Coorparoo on Monday evening (March 19).

There will be two more rounds of practice matches before the premiership season begins.

This week:

Zillmere v Mt Gravatt – O’Callaghan Park, Zillmere – Friday, 7pm

Labrador v Broadbeach – Cooke-Murphy Oval, Labrador – Saturday 1pm

Southport v Morningside - Fankhauser Reserve, Southport – Saturday, 1.30pm

bringbacblight
13 Mar 2007, 13:17
Brad Williams, Former WWT player in the SANFL playing for Western Magpies. He will be a gun if they can get him on the park, very injury prone but sensational player. The maggies maybe the team to beat again this year?

Almost done
13 Mar 2007, 20:21

Bit harsh P4J! Coutta has been a very loyal servant to the Holbrook FC for the last five years with three league medals and a premiership medallion. Could have made a packet elsewhere, played with his mates though. Unsubstantiated claims like that could come back and bite you P4J.

With a name like Play4jumper, probably suggests your not a sought after commodity at many clubs yourself hey?

toddy
14 Mar 2007, 10:52
Brad Williams, Former WWT player in the SANFL playing for Western Magpies. He will be a gun if they can get him on the park, very injury prone but sensational player. The maggies maybe the team to beat again this year?

Bringbacblight would you mind just pm some info on him, just curious on how he has gone etc.

bringbacblight
14 Mar 2007, 15:13
Bringbacblight would you mind just pm some info on him, just curious on how he has gone etc.

Was a exceptional junior talent at WWT and would have gone on the be a top class SANFL player or could have been drafted, but injuries destroyed is chances. Left footed, smart on baller.

Don't think he has played for two years but has recently moved to Brisbane and is keen to have a kick again. Will dominate Div 2 up here.

morphous
15 Mar 2007, 09:46
Are you playing on Monday night Dougie? I might see you out there.

I Hate Time Trials
17 Mar 2007, 00:19
Can anyone give me any info on Jordan Handicott that played for Robina Roos???

Jordan, wheres he headin? I'm not from the area, was just flickin thru some threads and seen his name mentioned. I seen him play the 2 years before he moved away down in the hume league on Vic/NSW border, pretty handy player, been known to be injury prone. plyed predominately backline i think. Got some toe on him and can roost it. Good hands. Apparently he played up forward for Robina and kicked a bag for the year. Hope this helps.

Thats_Special
19 Mar 2007, 15:33
Jordan, wheres he headin? I'm not from the area, was just flickin thru some threads and seen his name mentioned. I seen him play the 2 years before he moved away down in the hume league on Vic/NSW border, pretty handy player, been known to be injury prone. plyed predominately backline i think. Got some toe on him and can roost it. Good hands. Apparently he played up forward for Robina and kicked a bag for the year. Hope this helps.
Moved to Victoria and is with us down at the Sunbury Kangaroos.. Thanks for the info... :thumbsu:

Wildcard21
20 Mar 2007, 22:32
So how are the pre-season practice matches going for the Div 1 teams? Any reports now that it's getting closer?

morphous
21 Mar 2007, 09:28
So how are the pre-season practice matches going for the Div 1 teams? Any reports now that it's getting closer?

From www.aflq.com.au

Recruits stand out in practice matches

Labrador and Broadbeach showed plenty of signs to suggest that both clubs can look forward the 2007 AFLQ premiership season with some optimism following their spirited practice match at Cooke-Murphy Oval on Saturday.

Mt Gravatt will again be a strong finals contender and Southport have picked up some useful results, judging by their wins over Zillmere and Morningside respectively.

The closest match – and the most curious – of the weekend was at Labrador where the home side edged their neighbours by a solitary point.

Far more indicative of their prospects were the performances of the new ruckmen for both sides, who were outstanding in the tough 30-degree heat.

Young former Eastern Ranges ruckman Daniel Stewart gave his hungry midfield plenty of opportunities, and did some solid work around the ground.

The Tigers were delighted with his performance, none more than midfielders Todd Featherstone, Heath Benninga and Marcus Hottes.

Reigning best and fairest Featherstone was everywhere and looks set for a fine season, particularly with Stewart giving first use of the ball.

As good as Stewart was, he didn’t have it all his way against recent Broadbeach recruit Mitch Andrews.

A man mountain similar to Lions, St Kilda and Richmond ruckman Trent Knobel, Andrews is waiting for a clearance from the Tasmania Devils to play with the AFLQ Cats.

Dual Grogan Medallist David Round was one of many experienced Cats not to play on Saturday, but he will relish sharing duties with Andrews.

Eight-times Broadbeach leading goalkicker Korey Fulton has lost none of his touch over summer and kicked five of his side’ eight goals.

The Cats have picked up another likely type in the shape of Rahni Buchanan, brother of Sydney premiership player Amon Buchanan.

Short and stocky, the experienced Buchanan looked a natural ballwinner against the Tigers.

The Tigers won their share of the ball in the midfield but were unable to better capitalize with a marking target in their forward line.

Gun recruit Aaron Shattock did not play as he is being kept in cotton wool for the season proper, and may be suited as a forward option when the season begins.

Broadbeach appear to have covered well for the drain of players to Palm Beach and overseas, with Matt Dillon giving them plenty to smile about in his first game since injuring his foot in the middle of last year.

Scores:

LABRADOR 1.2 3.3 5.4 9.6 (60)
BROADBEACH 1.1 3.5 6.10 8.11 (59)
Goals, Tigers: Trembath 3, Munson 2, Featherstone 2, Burkinshaw, Folan. Cats: Fulton 5, Beattie, Bone, Edwards.
Best, Tigers: Stewart, Featherstone, Trembath, Hottes, Benninga. Cats: Tanton, Andrews, Woodford, Buchanan.

Mt Gravatt and Zillmere were both pleased with their off-season buys following their clash at O’Callaghan Park on Friday night.

Former Brisbane and Richmond key position player Shane Morrison directed traffic from centre-half-back in the Vultures’ comfortable 34-point victory.

Morrison often ran forward and created the loose man for his side, although he waged an intriguing battle nonetheless with Daniel Flaherty.

The former Victorian amateurs state representative did plenty of good things and his booming goal from outside 50 was a sound reflection of his quality foot skills.

There were plenty of errors early as both sides shook off the rust, but Mt Gravatt appear to have even more run in their midfield this season.

Sam Crouch, a brother of Sydney star Jared Crouch, gave plenty of bite to the onball brigade, while runner-up Grogan Medallist Mick Stinear looks set for another top year.

There was also plenty to enthuse about in the youth department, with former State under 18 Daniel Fletcher – floored by a knee injury last season – playing well.

At the other end of the age scale, 33-year-old former Ray Hughson Medallist Paul O’Brien kicked four goals and was typically strong on the lead and in the air.

For the Eagles, Flaherty looks like a top prospect although he may be better suited to a midfield role. That said, the Eagles struggled in the attacking 50 in the absence of Luke Weller (WAFL), Danny Dickfos (retired) and Ty Zantuck (Victoria).

Grogan Medallist Matthew Payne and the fleet-footed Matt Argus were easily the side’s best two players.

Scores:

MT GRAVATT 2.2 6.4 9.4 11.10 (76)
ZILLMERE 2.1 4.1 5.3 6.6 (42)
Goals, Vultures: O’Brien 4, Hamill, Lake, Magarry, Vearing, Kahl, B Morrison, A Scott. Eagles: Argus, Payne, T Creed, D Flaherty, Wilkinson, Lucy.
Best, Vultures: Grimm, Grant, Bale, O’Brien, S Morrison, A Scott. Eagles: Payne, Argus, Crimmins, Forbes, Pratt, Trew.

At Southport, the reigning premier showed they will lack nothing in strength as they attack to win their third flag in a row in 2007.

They controlled the tempo against a Morningside outfit that trialled plenty of fringe players from last season.

Most pleasing for the Sharks was that skipper Darren O’Brien came through his first match unscathed since breaking his arm early last year.

Young defenders Dane Grant and Ben Merrett showed they are ready to take another step up this year with quality performances, while ex-Palm Beach and Queensland Country forward Paul Fairlie looked right at home at State League level.

The Panthers used former premiership player and key recruit Matt Pardew in a forward role, while the slipper Jack Lawler and Mark Rootsey were prominent.

Brett Connell was the standout for the visitors, while South Warrnambool recruit Tim Brown also did some nice things.

Scores:

SOUTHPORT 4.0 7.4 9.6 11.8 (74)
MORNINGSIDE 1.2 1.4 3.5 4.5 (29)
Goals, Sharks: Fairlie 3, Caputi 2, Devine 2, O’Brien, Wise, Merrett, Jenkinson. Panthers: Pardew 2, Amos, Rootsey.
Best, Sharks: Grant, Merrett, Fairlie, Caputi, James, Wise. Panthers: Connell, Lawler, Rootsey, Lillico, Brown.

play4jumper
22 Mar 2007, 20:31
Bit harsh P4J! Coutta has been a very loyal servant to the Holbrook FC for the last five years with three league medals and a premiership medallion. Could have made a packet elsewhere, played with his mates though. Unsubstantiated claims like that could come back and bite you P4J.

With a name like Play4jumper, probably suggests your not a sought after commodity at many clubs yourself hey?
played with coutta at mildura and was the best ruckmen by a mile,he was one of the best blokes at the dees,love the punt and piss back then.does he still get called mitch cumstein?only played for one other club,which was in a different state,then ill return to home club,and still going.

Almost done
23 Mar 2007, 01:45
played with coutta at mildura and was the best ruckmen by a mile,he was one of the best blokes at the dees,love the punt and piss back then.does he still get called mitch cumstein?only played for one other club,which was in a different state,then ill return to home club,and still going.

The fact he loves a punt and the piss probably puts him at about 70% of most footballers. Can't have been to many good blokes at your club if you're calling one of your better ones a thief!! Every club would love to have one of you P4J!

SUPASTARR
23 Mar 2007, 20:11
Gday guy not sure the leagues this thread covers but does anyone know a bloke Hayles? Ruckman I think

Lenny29
24 Mar 2007, 09:40
The massive Yeronga bloke?

SUPASTARR
24 Mar 2007, 21:27
Not sure which club he plays for lenny. How does he go up north? Think it's Glen.

Chasing the Dream
25 Mar 2007, 08:16
Had a close up look at Burleigh v Wests yesterday and Burleigh made quite a comeback to beat last years Premiers by a goal or so.

Maybe some of the BF guys who play at the Magpies can let us know how strong Wests were. One of the Burleigh guys told me they were probably missing 3 of their better players out.

Wests started very well before Burleigh over ran them in the second half.

Also from what I have heard on the Coast, Palm Beach will be quite strong this year. Nine Broadbeach players have made the move accross, and with a new President who seems to have his head screwed on (and a few $$$ to put into the club as well!!)

greentree
25 Mar 2007, 09:49
Heard on the grape vine Paul O'Brien wanted to end his playing days at Redlands but was not wanted, hes now at Mt Gravatt which is a much stronger team, Will he play ones and how will he go, watched him in the finals for the devils and without him they would never have got the flag but this seems a big step up in class.
Any thoughts.

morphous
25 Mar 2007, 09:57
Heard on the grape vine Paul O'Brien wanted to end his playing days at Redlands but was not wanted, hes now at Mt Gravatt which is a much stronger team, Will he play ones and how will he go, watched him in the finals for the devils and without him they would never have got the flag but this seems a big step up in class.
Any thoughts.

You heard correct. Hope he goes well.

greentree
25 Mar 2007, 10:35
You heard correct. Hope he goes well.

Any reason why Redlands didnt want his, would think he would be better suited at Redlands than the Vultures.

That said if he can make the ones life will more likly be easier in the forward line at Gravatt with ball delivery than what he would have got at Redlands.

bananabenda
25 Mar 2007, 10:42
Gary Odgers has a youth policy. Without knowing Paul O'brien , I guess he was considered too old, or wanted too much money.

morphous
25 Mar 2007, 10:55
Any reason why Redlands didnt want his, would think he would be better suited at Redlands than the Vultures.

That said if he can make the ones life will more likly be easier in the forward line at Gravatt with ball delivery than what he would have got at Redlands.

I'm not exactly sure why they didn't want him. He offered to play senior or reserves and even if he wasn't good enough runner or doing water. I spoke to him a couple weeks ago and he said he wanted to help the young team with who all our local kids in the side grew up watching Mullet.

morphous
25 Mar 2007, 10:57
Gary Odgers has a youth policy. Without knowing Paul O'brien , I guess he was considered too old, or wanted too much money.

I'm not positive but I think Gary wanted Mullet.

bananabenda
25 Mar 2007, 11:00
Its a pity then, he had the right reasons. Whens Redlands next match?

morphous
25 Mar 2007, 11:16
Its a pity then, he had the right reasons. Whens Redlands next match?

Saturday at home vs Broadbeach

greentree
25 Mar 2007, 12:08
Money wouldnt be a reason, you cant hope to get anywhere with a team full of kids, you need some old stagers to so the youngens how its done.
I would say the reason hes not there is a few idiots who dont know sh1t from clay!

no orange peeler
25 Mar 2007, 19:52
Can anyone tell me how a couple of blokes from the O&M are travelling at Broadbeach Wade Dickson and Josh Pierpoint. Heard both played in the reserves. Wade coming back from a shoulder.

CoastNUT
26 Mar 2007, 09:03
Just interested to know exactly what players have palmy recruited and what players have come back?? also what new players have burleigh picked up?

fingered
4 Apr 2007, 23:31
i heard palmy recruited sum guns from broadbeach.... namely gehling,rynehart,lohrey,fisher,dyson and baker 2 name a few and by all accounts wont get beaten

thatswhatimtalkinabout
6 Apr 2007, 03:27
Any word on how Adam Bovalino is going for the Noosa Tigers? Absolute gun in Vic for the bombers and bendigo league.

Mr. Footy
16 Apr 2007, 12:55
Can anyone tell me how a couple of blokes from the O&M are travelling at Broadbeach Wade Dickson and Josh Pierpoint. Heard both played in the reserves. Wade coming back from a shoulder.

Josh Pierpoint is as soft as butter wont play in there 1st, Looks a million bucks at training but no good, he played 2 games with cooly 2 years back had big raps mainly from himself and just did not produce, he ended up packing his stuff and going home.

Mr. Footy
16 Apr 2007, 13:00
Hey guys, from down vic. Do any of you know a bloke called Jason Smith i used to play junior footy with him. Big ruckmen i think he played at sunny coast last year... Just curious how the big fella is going????? Cheers..

I played with big Smithy last year at cooly great ruckmen, and a cracking bloke not sure where he is playing this year.

Up North
17 Apr 2007, 09:43
I played with big Smithy last year at cooly great ruckmen, and a cracking bloke not sure where he is playing this year.
Smithy is playing at Cooly again this year. Is a terrific fella

Farva
18 Apr 2007, 21:02
Hey guys. anyone from noosa know how michael dobson is goin? all the other teams better be ready with a good tagger and the umpires better be ready to cop some abuse. played with him last few years...great bloke, better footy player....

mknz
23 Apr 2007, 12:04
Hey guys. anyone from noosa know how michael dobson is goin? all the other teams better be ready with a good tagger and the umpires better be ready to cop some abuse. played with him last few years...great bloke, better footy player....

I will look out for him next time i watch a noosa game. He shoulda gone to the other Sunny Coast team though, the Roos. Noosa are all talk.

Mr. Footy
23 Apr 2007, 15:17
Does anyone know where big Paul Fairly is playing this year? I Know he played with cooly last year

big balls
10 May 2007, 17:04
can anyone tell me how drew dunscombe is going at labrador and grucillio

Cockle doodle doo
14 May 2007, 15:29
WADE DICKSON!!!!!!!!! PLAYING AT BROADBEACH.
Hilly, Knighta, Grumpa or anyone who plays or is involved at Broadbeach tell that little pr1ck that the footy world is very incestuous and if you take gear from a club under the understanding you'll be back next training session and not answer your phone for the following three months, that you will start to get a bad name for yourself. He seems like not a bad kid, but I'm telling you now if he moves on to another club and someone asks me what he's like i will tell them of my involvement with him.
these sorts of actions transend playing football and can effect employment.
To sum this up, what goes around comes around Wade.

fingered
14 May 2007, 15:52
gee cockle doodle doo u seem a bit on edge...have a flipper and chill out...who cares bout broadbeach, dickson and the biggest flop of them all dennis knight....terrible coach and worse bloke who has ripped the heart out of broadbeach footy club

Cockle doodle doo
14 May 2007, 16:11
I'm not the one who's on the edge Fingered. i'd say you are throwing defametery statements like that around.
P.S: what's a flipper, is that some kind of herbal tea?

Forwardscout
15 May 2007, 17:10
gee cockle doodle doo u seem a bit on edge...have a flipper and chill out...who cares bout broadbeach, dickson and the biggest flop of them all dennis knight....terrible coach and worse bloke who has ripped the heart out of broadbeach footy club

Are u a former Broady player that may have been dropped by Dennis Knight? I think your way off to say he is a poor coach and bloke. Ask any player down there and they will have nothing but praise for Dennis as a coach and a bloke. to say he has ripped the heart out of Broadbeach is just crap. He has done a great job rebuilding the club working with a new playing list after he got rid of all the individuals from last years team!

fingered
15 May 2007, 22:53
well forward scout ur obviously a tazzie boy from ur posts...i too know michael thompson and was drinking with him sat nite in fact....bear is a shit player by the way....mate u r living under a rock if u dont think dennis knight has ripped the club 2 pieces...every 1 down there knows it and a family who have been at the club 4 a decade and still have a big influence at the club will testify this...he is a weak prick and hence the reason the club lost 15 players...walked rite out and didnt get asked 2 leave...if u r a player there i feel sorry for u......their results speak big volumes my son.....till next time

Forwardscout
16 May 2007, 17:22
No i'm not a player at Broadbeach and yes i am a former Tassie lad, well done on working that 1 out. You and I must talk to different people down there as the few boys i know that play there dont share the same feelings as you. But if you have a whole family to back you up well you must be right and i'm way off. Silly me. I'll sleep better tonight knowing that you know Michael Thompson. It's a pitty the kid didn't go and play for a decent club so we could witness how good he really can play. He would kick 100goals if he played at a club like southport or morningside. now i'm sure you wont disagree with that old son......

fingered
16 May 2007, 17:43
touche' forward scout....u should ask him bout his new tat...he is a redland boy 4eva now...

EBERT THE KING
17 May 2007, 18:55
Just wondering do the aflq get many victorians up to play in your league, if so do they just rock up at the start of a pre season and train or do they have to be invited to train by specific clubs. Accomodation would also be an issue i presume??

coastfooty
18 May 2007, 23:24
Just wondering do the aflq get many victorians up to play in your league, if so do they just rock up at the start of a pre season and train or do they have to be invited to train by specific clubs. Accomodation would also be an issue i presume??
The aflq clubs are always interested in victorians. Accomodation and employment can be arranged for the right players.

EBERT THE KING
21 May 2007, 21:06
cheers for that mate, just curious as to how u blokes operate regarding vics.

Cockle doodle doo
23 May 2007, 13:52
Fingered seems to be very disolutioned with the cats. Just wondered if he gets that angry at all the clubs he's had involvement with?:mad:

Cockle doodle doo
23 May 2007, 14:03
i want a clear view of where fingered places knight regarding the capacity of his detrimental effect at Broady. Where would he place him in the pecking order with the following people: Big Bird, Peter Evans, Phil Temby, Gary Black, Steve Hamilton, Janine the boundary umpire?

fingered
26 May 2007, 12:29
cockle doodle doo he is a mere puppet and all the above rate higher....the best ive seen would be neil bourke...a fat prick with an insatiable appetite 4 pork on the fork and pig skin in the ringa ding ding....hows ur weary body these days

Cockle doodle doo
28 May 2007, 14:04
I'd imagine it's a bit like yours fingered. hairs leaving the bits i want it to stay and accumulating where i don't want it to. They regularly have to massage me to keep playing but again, not on the muscle where i want the massage.:)

Cadrock
30 May 2007, 20:56
Who does he play for?
Asked a question about Jack Stanley in January 07 about how he is going . He does not play for aspley, I think it is Zillmere or something similiar. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Wildcard21
18 Jun 2007, 13:12
Asked a question about Jack Stanley in January 07 about how he is going . He does not play for aspley, I think it is Zillmere or something similiar. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Played his 2nd game in the Reserves for Zillmere last week

Billy the Kid
22 Jun 2007, 10:21
Can anyone tell me how Darren O'brien has been performing this year for southport? Are these guys any chance of the flag again this year?

Jae0011
8 Jul 2007, 21:28
Can anyone tell me how Darren O'brien has been performing this year for southport? Are these guys any chance of the flag again this year?

Darren O'Brien to my knowledge not having seen heaps of games this season is going good. He always in there at the games I been to. Had a slow start to the season I think!! and as for a flag as long as they pick up there game they are making stupid mistakes still but their winning there games.

greentree
29 Jul 2007, 10:42
Have heard the Mt Gravatt, have lost the old bloke at full forward, sad news,,,,, not that they kicked it to him anyway,,,, They dont need a FF,,,if you are within 60 have a shot,,,,everyone else does
to coaching staff ,notice how the star at forward pocket has struggled since the old bloke has been hurt.

morphous
29 Jul 2007, 11:32
Have heard the Mt Gravatt, have lost the old bloke at full forward, sad news,,,,, not that they kicked it to him anyway,,,, They dont need a FF,,,if you are within 60 have a shot,,,,everyone else does
to coaching staff ,notice how the star at forward pocket has struggled since the old bloke has been hurt.

I think you'll find that Grant hasn't kicked as many since he came back from the rep game, even with O'Brien playing he hadn't been scoring as easily as the first part of the year.

greentree
29 Jul 2007, 12:43
I think you'll find that Grant hasn't kicked as many since he came back from the rep game, even with O'Brien playing he hadn't been scoring as easily as the first part of the year.

You are right, but thats about the time when the big fella got dicky knee itits, he was having trouble in the game v Redlands and has struggled ever since ( still kicked 6 I think v Bombers).

He got better delivery at Yeronga !!!!!!!!!!

morphous
29 Jul 2007, 12:56
You are right, but thats about the time when the big fella got dicky knee itits, he was having trouble in the game v Redlands and has struggled ever since ( still kicked 6 I think v Bombers).

He got better delivery at Yeronga !!!!!!!!!!

Better delivery or weaker opponents?

greentree
29 Jul 2007, 13:26
Better delivery or weaker opponents?

The difference is a bit of both, the opponents were weaker but so was the side he was playing for, which meant the mid fielders coming down the ground looked for the full forward.
More often than not at MT Gravatt they have a shot. ( could also have something to do with the amount of points Mt Gravatt kick)

Taking in whats said above he got better delivery and more at Yeronga.

Cupper
1 Aug 2007, 23:07
Lets talk state association div 1 seniors who does everyone like to win the comp, obviously yeronga would be hot favourites sitting on top undefeated but who will be up there with them ???

Toucan Soup
29 Aug 2007, 09:40
The League hasn't promoted the State Association Finals so far - so here for the good people of BigFooty is an update of what games are on this weekend:

Division 1

Sunday, 2 September @ Yeronga
Seniors: Second Semi-Final, Yeronga V Caloundra, 2pm start
Reserves: First Semi-Final, Yeronga V Caloundra, 11:30am start

Saturday, 1 September @ Morningside (subject to ground inspection)
Seniors: First Semi-Final, Coorparoo V University, 2pm start
Reserves: Second Semi-Final, University V Coorparoo, 11:30am

Division 2

Saturday, 1 September @ Yeronga
Seniors: Preliminary Final, Ipswich V Kedron, 1pm start
Reserves: Preliminary Final, Beenleigh V Ipswich, 10:45am start

Division 3

Saturday, 1 September @ Yeronga
Seniors: Grand Final, Logan City V Western Magpies, 3:45pm start

There is a bit of self-interest here, as I would like to see as many supporters of Caloundra, Ipswich, Kedron, Beenleigh, Logan City, and Western Magpies come along to Yeronga this weekend to make it a big day for everyone involved.

Of course, I am hoping Yeronga can win our final and be the first team into the Grand Final - but I know Cupper and Hotpies12 will be trying to stop that from happening.

All the best to all Association Clubs this weekend.

Grassroots football - we're all in this together!

morphous
29 Aug 2007, 11:24
The League hasn't promoted the State Association Finals so far - so here for the good people of BigFooty is an update of what games are on this weekend:

It's on the frontpage of the AFLQ site, was posted on Sunday http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=125535

Toucan Soup
29 Aug 2007, 14:32
Fair point, Morphous - but that story did not include the Association Finals, so I just thought I would remind everyone.

And I would particularly like to see as many supporters from all the clubs involved (plus casual spectators) get to as many games as they can this weekend, especially if those games are at Yeronga!

So, all Yeronga, Caloundra, Ipswich, Kedron, Beenleigh, Logan City, & Western Magpies supporters: get to Cansdale Street, Yeronga this weekend to support your teams!

See you there!

Toucan Soup
10 Sep 2007, 12:32
I know there are plenty of finals happening around South-East Queensland this weekend.

But if you are looking for something to do on Saturday afternoon and need to get a football fix (there's no AFL Finals on Saturday afternoon), why not get to Giffin Park, Birubi Street, Coorparoo (training base of the Brisbane Lions, in case you didn't already know that) to see the Association Division 1 Grand Finals.

In the Seniors, Yeronga will play Caloundra at 2:00pm - whilst for the Reserves, Coorparoo Kings and Yeronga will start at 11:15am.

They should be two great games. And from my perspective, any friends of Yeronga and South Brisbane, current and past: we would like to see you there on Saturday to help support the Black & Red Devils.

See you there!

goalkicker11
14 Sep 2007, 03:31
I know there are plenty of finals happening around South-East Queensland this weekend.

But if you are looking for something to do on Saturday afternoon and need to get a football fix (there's no AFL Finals on Saturday afternoon), why not get to Giffin Park, Birubi Street, Coorparoo (training base of the Brisbane Lions, in case you didn't already know that) to see the Association Division 1 Grand Finals.

In the Seniors, Yeronga will play Caloundra at 2:00pm - whilst for the Reserves, Coorparoo Kings and Yeronga will start at 11:15am.

They should be two great games. And from my perspective, any friends of Yeronga and South Brisbane, current and past: we would like to see you there on Saturday to help support the Black & Red Devils.

See you there!
how didn't ben rogers win the medal
can play the game

goalkicker11
14 Sep 2007, 03:41
how didn't ben rogers win the medal
can play the game

the rumour is that shane woewodin is moving to qld and has a close friend at strathpine swans and might be happy to have a year playing with a mate before looking at moving in on a coaching job in the state league
would be great for the footy here

Chezwick
18 Sep 2007, 11:56
Hi guys, first time in this thread, been part of Bigfooty for a while. Good to see more State Association players here.

This was me first season playing club footy, playing in the thirds for University Red Lions. Played a few years back in the independant schools league, but finally decided to play club.

Can see we're going to get along really well Toucan ;)

Went to the State League Div 2 preliminary at Western Magpies on Sunday to watch a mate of mine play for the Pies. Good convincing win.

banggoal
22 Sep 2007, 13:29
the rumour is that shane woewodin is moving to qld and has a close friend at strathpine swans and might be happy to have a year playing with a mate before looking at moving in on a coaching job in the state league

what a sight to see the former brownlow medallist and the strapping young lad from EWK in the same midfield;)woey might struggle to get a kick with you in there racking up the possies:eek::D

banggoal
22 Sep 2007, 13:32
Has anyone heard of a bloke called Glen Noye???he is a raaf bloke and has just signed to coach North Wagga in NSW.not sure where he played up there but apparently in Brisbane somewhere.

fomoco
25 Sep 2007, 20:48
Ha , footy in Bris Vegas, has gone backwards in the last few years. To find out who is playing is a joke, most local news papers carry rugby, AFL Q lives in a second rate club house, Any time a suggestion is made to improve footy, it's shouted down, AFLQ realy needs to do a revamp and stop relying on the lions, and not to pin your hopes on the Gold Coast.

Footy in Qld starts at Junior Clubs not in the Schools and develops from there, yet we have Senior and Junior clubs poles apart but in the same suburb.

Yeh Aust Rules in Brisvegas has come along way, Not

Wildcard21
26 Sep 2007, 18:39

I heard maybe Zillmere

Sportsman
26 Sep 2007, 21:40
Is Brett Voss any closer to making a return to AFLQ ranks next year following his retirement from St Kilda?

Up North
26 Sep 2007, 21:41
Fomoco, agreed mate. I've moved up from NSW/Vic border this year and can't believe the structure up here. Most clubs in country Vic/NSW are football/netball clubs, which make them family clubs, and generally get really good support from the community.

Up here, it is a stand-alone football structure, community support is minimal, crowds are poor, and most places don't even charge admission at the gate. Not sure how football clubs are meant to survive, when player payments never stop increasing, and it really is not much of a family scene.

The attitude in general up here is also very casual toward football from the players, and is hard to even keep people interested when there are so many beaches and great weather up here during winter. It is a real shame.

mud n blood
28 Sep 2007, 12:51
The footy up here probably ranks 6th overall, interest-wise.

1. Broncos - NRL
2. Lions - AFL
3. Reds - Rugby Union
4. Qld Cup - Qld Rugby League
5. Roar - A-League soccer
6. AFLQ
7. Qld Premier Rugby Union
8. Qld Premier League Soccer

This is why the casual attitude.

Senior participation is a little different, but no better.
1. Rugby Union
2. Soccer
3. Rugby League
4. AFL

morphous
3 Oct 2007, 19:33
Fomoco, agreed mate. I've moved up from NSW/Vic border this year and can't believe the structure up here. Most clubs in country Vic/NSW are football/netball clubs, which make them family clubs, and generally get really good support from the community.

Up here, it is a stand-alone football structure, community support is minimal, crowds are poor, and most places don't even charge admission at the gate. Not sure how football clubs are meant to survive, when player payments never stop increasing, and it really is not much of a family scene.

The attitude in general up here is also very casual toward football from the players, and is hard to even keep people interested when there are so many beaches and great weather up here during winter. It is a real shame.

Most grounds are council owned and therefore you can't charge admission.

fomoco
4 Oct 2007, 19:43
Most grounds are council owned and therefore you can't charge admission.

Just another QLD woosy excuse, There has been numerous attemps made to introduced an improved structure, but this, gets getting voted down.
As for council grounds, what do you think they play on down south. THere is a simple way to go about playing on Council Ovals, but, (and this is from a football meeting in league in Brisbane), We are Queenslanders, we do it our way.

So as long as this thrown up, South East Qld Footy will struggle.

No wonder Soccer is picking up numbers.

morphous
4 Oct 2007, 20:01
Just another QLD woosy excuse, There has been numerous attemps made to introduced an improved structure, but this, gets getting voted down.
As for council grounds, what do you think they play on down south. THere is a simple way to go about playing on Council Ovals, but, (and this is from a football meeting in league in Brisbane), We are Queenslanders, we do it our way.

So as long as this thrown up, South East Qld Footy will struggle.

No wonder Soccer is picking up numbers.

State League Div 1 clubs have several times moved the motion for the div 1 u18's to be all state league clubs and the lower level clubs would be feeder clubs to them (such as Redland u18 being div 1 with Alex Hills, Springwood and Wynnum sending their better u18's to play for Redland) however the clubs not in the div 1 State League get their backs up and knock it back.

How will we develop better u18's if they're playing at clubs with not so good facilities?

greentree
4 Oct 2007, 20:25

Did you even think before you wrote this,
Most places in Vic dont charge admission at the gate except for finals, and most clubs in Vic would kill for what some of the clubs up here have.
Afl is not the number 1 game up here, it is in Vic, the inroads AFL has made up here is great but a lot more time is needed.
Get down to a Sharks game, they dont win many but have great rooms and a good band of supporters,,, you'll have a great day.

Up North
5 Oct 2007, 11:41
Did you even think before you wrote this,
Most places in Vic dont charge admission at the gate except for finals, and most clubs in Vic would kill for what some of the clubs up here have.
Afl is not the number 1 game up here, it is in Vic, the inroads AFL has made up here is great but a lot more time is needed.
Get down to a Sharks game, they dont win many but have great rooms and a good band of supporters,,, you'll have a great day.

Can I just start by saying I am not having a crack at the system here (in fact quite the opposite), but more pointing out some differences between QLD and VIC/NSW/ACT football. I guess, just coming from down south, I lived to play footy, as did nearly all my mates. It is just so different here, but I do understand QLD is very much a rugby league state.

All clubs I have played with or against (in country NSW/Vic) in the past 10-15 years have charged admission at the gate. This year, being my first in QLD, is the first time since junior football i haven't had to pay to get into a game of footy. A lot of clubs back there do play on council grounds, and actually have to schedule training times (especially pre-season training, as there are other sporting codes that can use the same grounds), maintenance, planning, etc with the councils.

I realise that AFL isn't the number one game up here but I do see huge potential for AFLQ football to be right up there with the other state leagues (I don't mean in terms of competitiveness, as it would already be right up there).

I know that a lot of players from Vic come up here so that they have more chance of getting noticed. Instead of being in a football orientated state (that is saturated with people coming out of the AFL/VFL system) they come here to try to be 'a big fish in a small pond' type thing, with the possibility of getting drafted.

I agree completely with you that some of the clubs here (both Div. 1 & 2 clubs) have far more than most down south would have. I went to a game at Southport a few weeks ago when they played Labrador, and was very impressed. They have, by far the best facilities I have ever seen at a football club. i walked into the sports club, and was blown away. It was an awesome day.

Lenny29
5 Oct 2007, 20:42
State League Div 1 clubs have several times moved the motion for the div 1 u18's to be all state league clubs and the lower level clubs would be feeder clubs to them (such as Redland u18 being div 1 with Alex Hills, Springwood and Wynnum sending their better u18's to play for Redland) however the clubs not in the div 1 State League get their backs up and knock it back.

How will we develop better u18's if they're playing at clubs with not so good facilities?
So how would an aspiring div 2 club get to ever enter Div 1 if they're just a feeder club? I'd also argue the point in relation to facilities - there isn't that much of a difference between div 1 and div 2 teams (for the most part).

Mt Gravatt is about 10 mintues away with Redlands 20+ too, so they'd go to the Vultures before Redlands. Which most talented do to be honest and good on them but you'd never get talented 13 and 14 year olds if your club is viewed as purely a feeder club.

In relation to admission, the cost (if you're going to pay someone) or annoyance of finding people to man the gate, combined with the negative impact on people who won't pay to go to see local AFL (which then means they don't buy their bucket of chips and three or four beers plus a couple of icecreams for the kids) means that it's not equitable or financially sensible to charge admission.

It's hard enough to get volunteers to be timekeeper, interchange steward etc let alone getting someone to sit outside the ground charging people to get in.

Up North
6 Oct 2007, 08:44
It's hard enough to get volunteers to be timekeeper, interchange steward etc let alone getting someone to sit outside the ground charging people to get in.

True, volunteers are hard to come by.