View Full Version : Aflq News
Pages :
[
11]
I tend to agree that it's not feasible to be charging admission, and a lot of that has to do with what was mentioned about local footy lacking the community aspect.
It's hard work developing the game at grass roots level in Queensland, and it is dependant entirely on the goodwill of volunteers.
BigAngryDog
9 Oct 2007, 22:49
Hey Guys,
Was just wondering how Darin Stewart who played with Broadbeach went this year, i hear he is a smokey for the draft this year
Did you even think before you wrote this,
Most places in Vic dont charge admission at the gate except for finals, and most clubs in Vic would kill for what some of the clubs up here have.
Afl is not the number 1 game up here, it is in Vic, the inroads AFL has made up here is great but a lot more time is needed.
Get down to a Sharks game, they dont win many but have great rooms and a good band of supporters,,, you'll have a great day.
Mate, I have been in and out and back again into QLD since 1982.
I was with QAFL. Trust me, it has gone nowhere in relation to the southern states. Unfourtunatley, the AFL has decreed that thay employ
so read what you will
you are still ############################:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thum bsd:
Listen to what people have to offer:):)
Breaking news,
It is amazing that for the second year, AFL Q are sending a youth girls team to Cairns for a round robbin comp and yet there is no news of this on any of the QLD footy sites.
This is typical of AFL q and the AFLBJ .
but blessed our those who get to go
Hail the queen
a big deal was made of a coach. yet the expectations failed, yet previous years they had achieved more.
Smell the roses
it maybe a different flavor
toquick
12 Oct 2007, 14:58
Are all clubs keeping their coaches from the past season in the QAFL and also in the Pineapple cup? is there any news on recruiting fronts?
Lenny29
13 Oct 2007, 18:10
Are all clubs keeping their coaches from the past season in the QAFL and also in the Pineapple cup? is there any news on recruiting fronts?
Moncur's gone from Springwood, to go back to Victoria I believe.
hardnut249
16 Oct 2007, 11:21
Congratulations to Southport. Just signed a gem from the hampden league in Victoria. Kurt Nikulaus, 2 time Vic Country rep, Absoulute gun CHB. Well Done, Huge recruit early..
all4114all
16 Oct 2007, 15:26
Breaking news,
It is amazing that for the second year, AFL Q are sending a youth girls team to Cairns for a round robbin comp and yet there is no news of this on any of the QLD footy sites.
This is typical of AFL q and the AFLBJ .
but blessed our those who get to go
You must have missed this item posted on aflq website on 25 September
http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=126614
Jorge Horatio
16 Oct 2007, 21:56
I was wondering if any knew if there was any truth to the rumour that Mayne & Sandgate wont be in the Pineapple Hotel cup next year.
Toucan Soup
17 Oct 2007, 16:47
I don't know if there is any truth in it (yet) - but the rumour seems a good idea to me, regardless of the clubs involved.
Drop 2 from the Pineapple Hotel Cup for a 10 team comp - drop 2 from the Association Div 1 to keep it as a 10 team comp - bringing 2 extra clubs into Assoc Div 2 for an 8 team comp.
The clubs at the lower tier need a competition of substance - a six team comp is just too small for them.
And 12 clubs in the Pine Hotel Cup (with 19 rounds) is just too unwieldy. Inequitable draws are inevitable.
Seems like a sensible option. Has anyone heard any more about this one?
goalkicker11
17 Oct 2007, 18:25
I don't know if there is any truth in it (yet) - but the rumour seems a good idea to me, regardless of the clubs involved.
Drop 2 from the Pineapple Hotel Cup for a 10 team comp - drop 2 from the Association Div 1 to keep it as a 10 team comp - bringing 2 extra clubs into Assoc Div 2 for an 8 team comp.
The clubs at the lower tier need a competition of substance - a six team comp is just too small for them.
And 12 clubs in the Pine Hotel Cup (with 19 rounds) is just too unwieldy. Inequitable draws are inevitable.
Seems like a sensible option. Has anyone heard any more about this one?
well i can tell you now sandgate r staying where they r
speaking to some of my mates about playing there
i think a team like yeronga has won 2 flags in a row and needs to go back up and test themselves
for the money they spend on players they should go back up and if they go no good come back down
Mayne might need to go down and win a couple of games then they might be able to get some players
Jorge Horatio
17 Oct 2007, 20:08
well i can tell you now sandgate r staying where they r
speaking to some of my mates about playing there
i think a team like yeronga has won 2 flags in a row and needs to go back up and test themselves
for the money they spend on players they should go back up and if they go no good come back down
Mayne might need to go down and win a couple of games then they might be able to get some players
Who do you know from Sandgate ? Where did you play this year and how sure are you they will be in PHC next year
Toucan Soup
18 Oct 2007, 10:31
Hey, that's cool, Goalkicker.
I'm not trying to nominate or suggest any clubs in particular. I'm just saying I've heard something similar to Jorge Horatio's rumour.
But here is what I think: the Pineapple Hotel Comp with 12 clubs (and 19 rounds) is 2 clubs too many; the Association Division 1 Comp with 10 clubs (and 18 rounds) is a perfect structure; the Association Division 2 Comp with 6 clubs (and 18 rounds) is short 2 clubs.
Straight away, we can see that two comps currently have inequitable draws.
But hypothetically, if two clubs were relegated from the Pineapple Hotel Comp to leave a 10 team structure, and two clubs were relegated from Assoc. Div. 1 to maintain a 10 team structure, then Assoc. Div. 2 would become an 8 team comp. Sounds ideal. We need to look after the lower tier clubs, because if more of them become extinct, then the impacts are also felt above. It may not be immediate, but if the foundation is weak, then everything above it will suffer.
Unfortunately, the decision (if the rumour is true) is never going to come down to either you or me. But forget about individual clubs: what do you think of the concept?
Personally, it would be okay with me if all 28 clubs were reassessed to determine their appropriate level of competition - but I think that may be too radical.
What do you think?
goalkicker11
18 Oct 2007, 16:04
Who do you know from Sandgate ? Where did you play this year and how sure are you they will be in PHC next year
don't know anyone from sandgate but i know of players they r talking too and they r telling them that they will be in the PHC
played down south last year
goalkicker11
18 Oct 2007, 16:07
Hey, that's cool, Goalkicker.
I'm not trying to nominate or suggest any clubs in particular. I'm just saying I've heard something similar to Jorge Horatio's rumour.
But here is what I think: the Pineapple Hotel Comp with 12 clubs (and 19 rounds) is 2 clubs too many; the Association Division 1 Comp with 10 clubs (and 18 rounds) is a perfect structure; the Association Division 2 Comp with 6 clubs (and 18 rounds) is short 2 clubs.
Straight away, we can see that two comps currently have inequitable draws.
But hypothetically, if two clubs were relegated from the Pineapple Hotel Comp to leave a 10 team structure, and two clubs were relegated from Assoc. Div. 1 to maintain a 10 team structure, then Assoc. Div. 2 would become an 8 team comp. Sounds ideal. We need to look after the lower tier clubs, because if more of them become extinct, then the impacts are also felt above. It may not be immediate, but if the foundation is weak, then everything above it will suffer.
Unfortunately, the decision (if the rumour is true) is never going to come down to either you or me. But forget about individual clubs: what do you think of the concept?
Personally, it would be okay with me if all 28 clubs were reassessed to determine their appropriate level of competition - but I think that may be too radical.
What do you think?
i agree with what your saying but i would like to see teams moving up and down after winning flages for a few years in a row
a team like mayne needs to really play in a level that will help the club and i think mayne should play in the same level as yeronga and i have no doubt that they would only finish mid table
Jorge Horatio
18 Oct 2007, 19:56
So goalkicker 11 are you thinking of playing down at Sandgate with some of your mates? How many guys are they speaking to and what levels have you played at?
I think the promotion relegation argument is all good in theory and i definately think a northern Brisbane team and a Gold Coast team need to drop down and that will probably create a more even spread of talent across north Brisbane and the Coast as well
Big_flipper
19 Oct 2007, 08:50
Am a Victorian, contemplating playing with Palm Beach next year. Anyone fill me in on there performance from this year, best players, future outlook etc?
Up North
19 Oct 2007, 09:00
Am a Victorian, contemplating playing with Palm Beach next year. Anyone fill me in on there performance from this year, best players, future outlook etc?
Went through indefeated this year, winning the premiership. No-one even looked like beating them this year.
Jorge Horatio
19 Oct 2007, 11:16
Went through indefeated this year, winning the premiership. No-one even looked like beating them this year.
Except for the game against Sandgate that was a big scare when the northerners were in front leading into 3rd quarter finish. That would have been the upset of the year by far. Who you play for Up North
goalkicker11
19 Oct 2007, 16:32
So goalkicker 11 are you thinking of playing down at Sandgate with some of your mates? How many guys are they speaking to and what levels have you played at?
I think the promotion relegation argument is all good in theory and i definately think a northern Brisbane team and a Gold Coast team need to drop down and that will probably create a more even spread of talent across north Brisbane and the Coast as well
sorry won't be playing at sandgate and my mates won't be there either
why would they move to sandgate when aspley is close and has a great set up
played state league up here and also PHC but it wasn't know as that when i played in it, but been down south playing the last couple of years and just moved back
Jorge Horatio
19 Oct 2007, 19:59
sorry won't be playing at sandgate and my mates won't be there either
why would they move to sandgate when aspley is close and has a great set up
played state league up here and also PHC but it wasn't know as that when i played in it, but been down south playing the last couple of years and just moved back
So why the sudden change of heart hey Goalkicker?
I dont remember implying anyone should leave Aspley and go to Sandgate so i dont know where that came from.
Just so you know, Aspley isnt as great as you make chief. From the amounts of money they spend, one would really think a premiership or two would have been forthcoming, but hey as you say, what a great set up they have. But being known as a club with an "open cheque book" and not delivering is really quite amusing throughout the league. So this is not seen as biased i would like to classify that neither do i play or administer at Sandgate but merely have watched them for close to 20 years
All it takes is a little money and im sure you and many others will be quite suprised with the off season changes at Sandgate, in fact im sure the results will reflect the "donation" they have received.
Have a good one
goalkicker11
22 Oct 2007, 13:33
So why the sudden change of heart hey Goalkicker?
I dont remember implying anyone should leave Aspley and go to Sandgate so i dont know where that came from.
Just so you know, Aspley isnt as great as you make chief. From the amounts of money they spend, one would really think a premiership or two would have been forthcoming, but hey as you say, what a great set up they have. But being known as a club with an "open cheque book" and not delivering is really quite amusing throughout the league. So this is not seen as biased i would like to classify that neither do i play or administer at Sandgate but merely have watched them for close to 20 years
All it takes is a little money and im sure you and many others will be quite suprised with the off season changes at Sandgate, in fact im sure the results will reflect the "donation" they have received.
Have a good one
wasn't having a go at sandgate
all i meant was that aspley is just as close and it has a good club
i hope sandgate gets everything going again
and my mayes don't play at aspley now
Jorge Horatio
22 Oct 2007, 14:02
wasn't having a go at sandgate
all i meant was that aspley is just as close and it has a good club
i hope sandgate gets everything going again
and my mayes don't play at aspley now
Nah your right brother. What suburb you from? Aspley is not a bad club but word is out on the money they spend and one would think a premiership or two would be forthcoming. Not having a go back at Aspley either mate. Hope you have a good year next.Do you know anything about the make up of the comp next year? Im hearing Caloundra is being moved up???
goalkicker11
22 Oct 2007, 15:44
Nah your right brother. What suburb you from? Aspley is not a bad club but word is out on the money they spend and one would think a premiership or two would be forthcoming. Not having a go back at Aspley either mate. Hope you have a good year next.Do you know anything about the make up of the comp next year? Im hearing Caloundra is being moved up???
Not sure whats happening with the comp next year but i think if anyone is to go up it should be yeronga as i have said before
once a team has won 2 flages in a row they should move up
and we all know that the devils don't mind spending some good money to win flages against teams that can't even pay players
i live on the northside
Jorge Horatio
22 Oct 2007, 16:11
Not sure whats happening with the comp next year but i think if anyone is to go up it should be yeronga as i have said before
once a team has won 2 flages in a row they should move up
and we all know that the devils don't mind spending some good money to win flages against teams that can't even pay players
i live on the northside
Yeah thats a fair call too Goalkicker. Im just seeing on the sunny coast thread here that Caloundra is of the belief that they are moving up next year. Where are your mates playing at now mate?
Im guessing your a forward by your profile name. How many you kick last season and what comp you play man
Jorge Horatio
23 Oct 2007, 11:11
I have just had contact with my sources within AFLQ and they have advised me that the PHC is looking like a 12 team comp with 18 rounds. A review of 2007 and 2008 structures meeting is being held on Monday the 29th of October when clubs have the oppurtunity to declare there intentions going forward.
As yet unsure of the teams that may be up for promotion/relegation but will keep all posted.
goalkicker11
23 Oct 2007, 13:58
Yeah thats a fair call too Goalkicker. Im just seeing on the sunny coast thread here that Caloundra is of the belief that they are moving up next year. Where are your mates playing at now mate?
Im guessing your a forward by your profile name. How many you kick last season and what comp you play man
Had a bad run with injury last year so didn't kick many
and played all over the place
i'm going to look at playing state league this year
in the process of getting all my injurys in order
Jorge Horatio
23 Oct 2007, 15:54
State league div 1 or 2 bud? Definately wont be any changes to the PHC this year. AFLQ are more interested in teams leaving the comp then admitting any new teams.Even though their preference is for a 10 team comp over 18 rounds so home and away against each team. The stakeholders of AFLQ do not want anymore then 10 teams, so you can pretty much say no chan ges this year. I will be able to confirm next week on Tuesday
I was wondering if any knew if there was any truth to the rumour that Mayne & Sandgate wont be in the Pineapple Hotel cup next year.
Not sure what the thinking is at the AFLQ, when they created a 8 team state league and a 12 team Pineapple Cup with only one State league team north of the river, causing the reduction of pathways for juniors on the Northside. I await with interest on what happens and seeing their long term strategies are.
loopyboots
28 Oct 2007, 10:45
I was wondering if I could get some info. I am possibly moving to the Mackay region at the start of next year and may be looking to continue playing football up there. I was just curious of what the standard of football is like up there? Is it a strong or weaker league?
Im from NSW/Vic region. Was wondering if anyone could tell me how the Mackay league compares to say the Hume, Tallangatta or O&M leagues down here? Maybe what clubs to look at and who to say away from.
Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
Toucan Soup
29 Oct 2007, 14:22
Believe that the League Div 1 & 2 2007 Review meeting is on at Coorparoo this evening.
The Association meeting is to be held on Thursday night.
It would be great if someone who attends tonight's meeting can post some of the "highlights" discussed.
Thanks.
Jorge Horatio
29 Oct 2007, 15:26
Believe that the League Div 1 & 2 2007 Review meeting is on at Coorparoo this evening.
The Association meeting is to be held on Thursday night.
It would be great if someone who attends tonight's meeting can post some of the "highlights" discussed.
Thanks.
You would believe correct. Nothing much will change at tonights meeting but i will do my best to "source" out the information. Sandagte and Mayne wont be going anywhere unless Mayne asks to be dropped. Caloundra wont be silly enough to attempt to go up and well Yeronga, i believe are quite content to shoot for 3 in a row in association division
Toucan Soup
29 Oct 2007, 19:51
Thanks, Jorge.
I'm expecting "status quo" too - but you never know sometimes.
A few people have mentioned Caloundra over the past few weeks, so I'm wondering if they have organised something.
You are quite right - Yeronga is staying where we are (regardless of any ruminations of our motives).
Thanks again.
Up North
30 Oct 2007, 11:06
I was wondering if I could get some info. I am possibly moving to the Mackay region at the start of next year and may be looking to continue playing football up there. I was just curious of what the standard of football is like up there? Is it a strong or weaker league?
Im from NSW/Vic region. Was wondering if anyone could tell me how the Mackay league compares to say the Hume, Tallangatta or O&M leagues down here? Maybe what clubs to look at and who to say away from.
Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
Have spoken to a mate who has played up at Mackay. He has played both Murray & Picola leagues, and says the standard of the football in Mackay would be in between both of these leagues. He said it would probably be around the standard of the Tallangatta league.
The seventeenth license: The South Port Sharks. Forget the old Vic mentality, get behind Qld, just like Port Adelaide, the most succesful club down there,yet denied for years to join, and since they joined , they proved that they can can match it.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
just curios, who is running the opposite sex footy in brisvegas?
word has it that the third gender in human evolution has a big say.
what did Adrian say, something about comfertable shoes?
be wary of who looks after the future
:eek::eek::eek:
Pandas Dons
1 Nov 2007, 04:38
As an old Grange player (a few years ago now), i would liek to know how they might go next year, and if they have any potential signings that could make a differecen?
They have always been a decent club, but cant manage to crack the really big games.
Would like to see them have a big couple of years and finally win one.
bananabenda
1 Nov 2007, 16:49
The seventeenth license: The South Port Sharks. Forget the old Vic mentality, get behind Qld, just like Port Adelaide, the most succesful club down there,yet denied for years to join, and since they joined , they proved that they can can match it.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Spot on Fomoco.
Take it from me. There will be a big push on the Gold Coast this coming year by the AFL. If the Kangas don't want it the Sharks are a cert. Thats better for QLD football. The Bulletin give the Sharks good publicity already. The residents of the Gold Coast will prefer the Sharks more so to the Kangas.But either way an AFL team on the GC is inevitable.
Kangaroos- Move it. Or lose it. The choice is a no brainer.
concerned citizen
4 Nov 2007, 12:57
As an old Grange player (a few years ago now), i would liek to know how they might go next year, and if they have any potential signings that could make a differecen?
They have always been a decent club, but cant manage to crack the really big games.
mate looks as though grange should be able to retain most of their list and with the coach andrew morrison having his first full pre season planned out and having a few connections around the place could be a good year to go to the next step, seen a few of there games and were in the hunt just dropped off in the last and let the gates open got a mate who plays there and few of the vic guys might get there mates to come up but as with everything this time of year the rumor mill is working over time but get on board
They have a bit of success in the minor grades but struggle to compete at the upper end because they don't pay players, only incentives.
I recall seeing them play a Division 3 GF once where this bloke ran (well more like ambled) into an open goal and missed from the top of the square. Very funny. Did you happen to see this yourself?
loopyboots
5 Nov 2007, 13:27
Have spoken to a mate who has played up at Mackay. He has played both Murray & Picola leagues, and says the standard of the football in Mackay would be in between both of these leagues. He said it would probably be around the standard of the Tallangatta league.
Thank you for your reply Up North. Does any one have any other information or experiences?
Pandas Dons
5 Nov 2007, 23:27
Thanks for the info guys... hopefully they can manage to come through with a good solid year.
Is always tough when players aren't paid... but Grange was a good club, and once there, not many left.
I did see that game. It was an easy shot and he just shanked it... was prett funny. Im sure he would have copped heaps for that, and they were lucky to win it. That guys was actually a pretty decent footballer, just lazy!! Played many senior games for the club, then couldn't be bothered training and got fat!! He always had a laugh though.
Cheers for the info:D
bananabenda
7 Nov 2007, 16:54
Two steps forward,one step back. Rumour has it that Redlands committee weren't totaly happy with the way Gary Odgers was coaching.
And now are faced with finding a new coach. After the great work done over the last year, the Bombers will again seek a new coach.Pity the incumbent coach,as thats at least a half dozen in 7 years. Me thinks the committee should also coach the team maybe.
Up North
7 Nov 2007, 19:43
Two steps forward,one step back. Rumour has it that Redlands committee weren't totaly happy with the way Gary Odgers was coaching.
And now are faced with finding a new coach. After the great work done over the last year, the Bombers will again seek a new coach.Pity the incumbent coach,as thats at least a half dozen in 7 years. Me thinks the committee should also coach the team maybe.
That's a real shame if true as it seemed they had actually turned the corner this year.
Doug_Hondo
8 Nov 2007, 14:01
Turned the corner by winning one game? (the last one of the year)
Up North
9 Nov 2007, 11:05
Turned the corner by winning one game? (the last one of the year)
Ha ha, fair call.... don't get me wrong, they have a long way to go. I just meant that it seemed they had started to play well as a side and the results probably weren't too far away. Admittedly, they do need quite a few quality experienced players (50-100 gamers).
They have a very young list, and don't really seem to attract the spread of top-line recruits other sides seem to be able to get. That is probably because of their playing record over the past few years. There is a massive age gap between their more experienced players and the rest of the playing group, with the average age being around 20.
But when these younger guys have played 50-100 games together, they will be quite a good side, in my opinion. Admittedly this may be another year or two away, but i think on their behalf, it's starting to look up.
Jorge Horatio
14 Nov 2007, 12:29
A mate of mine has just let me know that all is "Status Quo" with the PHC for next season. It will encompass same teams as this year with an 18 round comp.Only difference being the finals system will go from top 8 to top 5 which will be of greater benefit. Looking forward to a good year. Can anyone post any recruiting news or anything thats going on in the pre-season.Cheers
goalkicker11
14 Nov 2007, 12:53
A mate of mine has just let me know that all is "Status Quo" with the PHC for next season. It will encompass same teams as this year with an 18 round comp.Only difference being the finals system will go from top 8 to top 5 which will be of greater benefit. Looking forward to a good year. Can anyone post any recruiting news or anything thats going on in the pre-season.Cheers
aspley had anywhere between 40-50 at there first night
went down to see how many they had
Jorge Horatio
14 Nov 2007, 13:11
Shit thats not too bad for first night Goalkicker.You made plans for which club your gonna play for yet bud. Most teams dont start training till last week of November or first week of December, Aspley must be really keen this year.
doogey wondall
14 Nov 2007, 17:56
Ha ha, fair call.... don't get me wrong, they have a long way to go. I just meant that it seemed they had started to play well as a side and the results probably weren't too far away. Admittedly, they do need quite a few quality experienced players (50-100 gamers).
They have a very young list, and don't really seem to attract the spread of top-line recruits other sides seem to be able to get. That is probably because of their playing record over the past few years. There is a massive age gap between their more experienced players and the rest of the playing group, with the average age being around 20.
But when these younger guys have played 50-100 games together, they will be quite a good side, in my opinion. Admittedly this may be another year or two away, but i think on their behalf, it's starting to look up. redlands need to go forward. giving gary odgers the arse is the best thing the club could of done. a loser mentality is what they have, they need a winning mentality. gary would struggle to coach aus kick kids. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
locky21
14 Nov 2007, 19:34
Whys everyone so interested in Aspley......did u actually train golakicker or wot
goalkicker11
15 Nov 2007, 08:34
Whys everyone so interested in Aspley......did u actually train golakicker or wot
mate was just passing some info
no didn't train and won't be playing for them
but have a few mates that might be
Jorge Horatio
15 Nov 2007, 09:21
mate was just passing some info
no didn't train and won't be playing for them
but have a few mates that might be
Cheers for the info GK. You made any plans to where your headed? Have a look around and see what appeals to you the most in terms of competitiveness and enjoyablity with the playing group. If you wanna know any info on the northern sides just give me a message man and i will be happy to pass on what i know.
cleanhands
17 Nov 2007, 18:23
redlands need to go forward. giving gary odgers the arse is the best thing the club could of done. a loser mentality is what they have, they need a winning mentality. gary would struggle to coach aus kick kids. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
any news D=W on a likely replacement,are they thinking of someone local
leondavis21
18 Nov 2007, 18:48
im looking to move to the noosa/coolum area early next year, and would like to continue with my footy.
i played country footy in victoria (heathcote league), which is actually quite strong these days. played almost 150 senior games im 25 (26 in jan) very fit well and healthy, and would be lookin for a new club. done a beep test pre season last year, got 16.1, which is prety good, go to gym 4-5 times a week, im 178cm, 75kgs, play wing, on-ball, forward pocket. also went to assumption college in my earlier days
also quite possibly looking for a job
im a qualified personal trainer, qualified nurseryman, also done some labouring. would be looking for sumthin that would pay the bills...
if anyone can help me out, send me a private message.
thanks....
Cockle doodle doo
19 Nov 2007, 08:35
Looking for a change in your football environment? Donvale Football Club, a proud and successful First Division Club, located in the very strong Eastern Football League is looking for players.
We offer fantastic facilities, employment opportunities as well as excellent remuneration for the right personnel.
Please contact Football Manager Peter Clarke on 0411 516 464 for further details.
Northern_kid
20 Nov 2007, 08:58
Premiership market for AFLQ main division
Mt Gravatt $3.50
Southport $5.00
Labrador: $6
Eagles $7
Morningside $9
Lions: $12
Broadbeach: $15
Redlands$20
Labrador have picked up a few prized recruits, and were there abouts last yr. Still lack a bit of depth, which may hurt them.
Mt Gravatt, and Southport should be strong again.
Eagles, will be the improver this yr. Have kept current list, and have some genuine young up and coming guns in the making.
Morningside will be strong again, although it's an agieng list.
Broadbeach and Redlands will struggle this yr for mind.
Thoughts??
Doug_Hondo
20 Nov 2007, 11:50
add a few more zeros to that redland quote please.
morphous
20 Nov 2007, 12:05
add a few more zeros to that redland quote please.
Only one more needed.
Northern_kid
20 Nov 2007, 12:19
Yeh fair call. That was actually a typo. Next yr looks to be a really close tight comp. Every team except Redlands could finish top 4.
I ve done up leading goal kicker board as well:
3.00 Ben McEntee
5.0 Korey Fulton
6.0: Dan Flaherty
7.0 Anyother player
10: Corey Munson
15.00 Austin Lucy
30.0: Michael Thompson
morphous
20 Nov 2007, 12:28
Yeh fair call. That was actually a typo. Next yr looks to be a really close tight comp. Every team except Redlands could finish top 4.
3.00 Ben McEntee
5.0 Korey Fulton
7.0 Anyother player
15.00 Austin Lucy
I'll have $50 on Southport for the flag and $50 on Thomo for the goal kicking.
Northern_kid
20 Nov 2007, 14:05
Done.
Would be hard for a redlands player to lead the goal kicking given where they probably will finish and given there lack of delivery to the big guy and given that he will be the centre of attention from opposition backmen without anyone else shouldering the load and providing an option up forward.
morphous
20 Nov 2007, 14:27
Done.
Would be hard for a redlands player to lead the goal kicking given where they probably will finish and given there lack of delivery to the big guy and given that he will be the centre of attention from opposition backmen without anyone else shouldering the load and providing an option up forward.
Well it is a bit of a long shot on Thomo but the bet on Southport should cover it easy. However wouldn't your above logic apply to Korey Fulton who is a proven goal kicker however he is also the centre of attention and you have got them to finish 2nd last according to your book.
Northern_kid
20 Nov 2007, 15:46
I have heard a rumour that he may be playing elsewhere this yr?
morphous
20 Nov 2007, 15:55
Just out of curiosity how long have you followed the AFLQ.
morphous
20 Nov 2007, 15:57
It would take something big to get Fulton to part ways with Broady, he is their favourite son.
goalkicker11
20 Nov 2007, 16:04
It would take something big to get Fulton to part ways with Broady, he is their favourite son.
well the word from the coast is surfers
might be the favourite son but wants to win a flag before his time is up
morphous
20 Nov 2007, 16:14
A lower league was a thought of one possibility.
Northern_kid
20 Nov 2007, 16:18
Nah more like one of its neighbours in main comp. I let u work out the rest.
Jorge Horatio
21 Nov 2007, 08:55
Anyone got any news on the PHC for next season. I heard through friends that Sandgate is meeting with council today to arrange redevelopment of their clubhouse for next season. The club has already received a state government grant to upgrade the canteen and changeroom facilities as well. Should be a good year if they can recruit some senior players........although blooding all the juniors this season will help immeasurably
Jorge Horatio
21 Nov 2007, 08:59
That would be a pretty big move GK. But the thought of playing for a flag providing the money is good will sway most guys
TheBrownDog
24 Nov 2007, 01:51
Labrador have signed Ben Fixter and Trent Knobel.
Northern_kid
27 Nov 2007, 08:19
Labrador have signed Ben Fixter and Trent Knobel.
Add Fulton to that mix as well. If they can't win a premiership next yr they never will!!
Doug_Hondo
27 Nov 2007, 10:14
Premiership market for AFLQ main division
Mt Gravatt $3.50
Southport $5.00
Labrador: $6
Eagles $7
Morningside $9
Lions: $12
Broadbeach: $15
Redlands$20
3.00 Ben McEntee
5.0 Korey Fulton
7.0 Anyother player
15.00 Austin Lucy
Thoughts??
1,000 on Mt Gravatt 1,000 on Any other player
Northern_kid
27 Nov 2007, 16:12
1,000 on Mt Gravatt 1,000 on Any other player
That's silly! I couldn't do it to you. Very hard to go back to back. Stinear has left as well. White and Morrison and full back are another yr older, I think it will be a tough ask.
Doug_Hondo
27 Nov 2007, 19:11
The vultures are stronger then ever!
Toucan Soup
28 Nov 2007, 17:43
Northern Kid, I reckon you need to read between the "wagers" - D Hondo seems to suggest that the Vultures have picked up a gun forward for the year. I could be wrong, but if not, I wonder who it might be?
Northern_kid
28 Nov 2007, 18:57
Northern Kid, I reckon you need to read between the "wagers" - D Hondo seems to suggest that the Vultures have picked up a gun forward for the year. I could be wrong, but if not, I wonder who it might be?
I would suggest that the Vultures will need a quality forward or two next yr if they are to go back to back.
Labrador will be strong and reckon Zilmere will go close as well.
morphous
28 Nov 2007, 19:05
Just out of curiosity how long have you followed the AFLQ.
Still wondering.....
Doug_Hondo
28 Nov 2007, 20:06
Plenty of quality forwards down at the vultures...
goalkicker11
29 Nov 2007, 08:15
I would suggest that the Vultures will need a quality forward or two next yr if they are to go back to back.
Labrador will be strong and reckon Zilmere will go close as well.
just letting you all know the vultures have just signed a gun from a club that won't be happy and his club does know
and this bloke would be in the top 5 players in the league
let's just say i think every club would love to have him and the vultures are very happy he has come on board
morphous
29 Nov 2007, 16:20
just letting you all know the vultures have just signed a gun from a club that won't be happy and his club does know
let's just say i think every club would love to have him and the vultures are very happy he has come on board
If it's a local club I thought you weren't allowed to sign a player from the same state until Jan 1st
Lenny29
29 Nov 2007, 17:38
Or perhaps he's saying there's a gun forward or two coming through the ranks down at Vulture-land.
goalkicker11
30 Nov 2007, 08:22
If it's a local club I thought you weren't allowed to sign a player from the same state until Jan 1st
you can sign players any time of the year
if not contracted and this player was only signed for 07 by his old club not 08
all the clubs need to do is lodge forms with the league and his club to say they want talk to a player
but i think what you mean is you can't put a clearance form in til Jan
well mate fulton is a tiger and this bloke will be wearing the vultures colours next year
Northern_kid
30 Nov 2007, 10:48
TOM TARRANT PERHAPS???
Northern_kid
30 Nov 2007, 10:48
TOM TARRANT IS MY MAIL.
morphous
30 Nov 2007, 10:55
TOM TARRANT PERHAPS???
Possible, his younger cousin did move to the Vultures last year thinking that Tom would.
Northern_kid
30 Nov 2007, 14:42
Possible, his younger cousin did move to the Vultures last year thinking that Tom would.
My mail is he has signed.
hey lads
just want to source out the afl queensland scene, my mate and i seem likely starters in the aflq league next year as we have applied to griffith uni at southport. how does aflq compare to afl canberra standards? i could imagine pretty equal???? my mates been up there already trianing with his brother in triathlons and sourced out southport and was pretty impressed. do's anyone have any contacts or info to help us out, as we both with be looking for a small funding to help with uni. also i don't think we'l damage ur goalkicking odds both midfield types cheers
bink-bink
7 Dec 2007, 21:08
How did mitch andrews go up there last season?
Jorge Horatio
9 Dec 2007, 10:34
Its a shame that there is this talk about Zillmeres sponsors pulling out of O'callaghan park with their liqour and gaming licences all but leaving Zillmere to die a natural death. This disappoints me as it was only last season the mighty Sandgate club was forced out of its grounds to play out of O'callaghan with the eagles and as such lose quality players to the "landlords". Whilst due to a court ruiling Sandgate is back at Lemke Rd, they still have no clubhouse to call their own. Ever since 1992 when Sandgate and Windsor-Zillmere were forced to merge, the local government and aflq have not done enough to ensure the survival of the two greatest clubs on the north side of brisbane. The fact both clubs are still financially in trouble since they broke their merge is testament to the fact not enough is being done.
As it stands there are to many clubs on the northside and not enough money or quality players. Mayne ( who only one one game for the entire season in seniors and reserves), Sandgate , Aspley and Grange play out of grounds within 15-20 mins of each other and all of those clubs have experienced trouble over time.Zillmere is now about to face its next challenge and im wondering when the powers that be will realise the depth of drama on the northern AFLQ scene
morphous
9 Dec 2007, 11:02
Its a shame that there is this talk about Zillmeres sponsors pulling out of O'callaghan park with their liqour and gaming licences all but leaving Zillmere to die a natural death. This disappoints me as it was only last season the mighty Sandgate club was forced out of its grounds to play out of O'callaghan with the eagles and as such lose quality players to the "landlords". Whilst due to a court ruiling Sandgate is back at Lemke Rd, they still have no clubhouse to call their own. Ever since 1992 when Sandgate and Windsor-Zillmere were forced to merge, the local government and aflq have not done enough to ensure the survival of the two greatest clubs on the north side of brisbane. The fact both clubs are still financially in trouble since they broke their merge is testament to the fact not enough is being done.
As it stands there are to many clubs on the northside and not enough money or quality players. Mayne ( who only one one game for the entire season in seniors and reserves), Sandgate , Aspley and Grange play out of grounds within 15-20 mins of each other and all of those clubs have experienced trouble over time.Zillmere is now about to face its next challenge and im wondering when the powers that be will realise the depth of drama on the northern AFLQ scene
My mail is Zillmere and Aspley could be merging.
With the possible loss of the only State League side on the northside, makes it difficult for both the growth of the game and development opportunities for juniors north of the river. The AFLQ must have a strategy for AFL in Brisbane that allows for the long term future of top level football in the northern suburbs. With the right support from above (AFLQ and Local Govt) any of the Div 2 Clubs could step up and become viable at State League. I cant understand why they have added just one new club into State league from pineapple cup leaving a bye each week and not added a northside club?
Jorge Horatio
10 Dec 2007, 09:45
My mail is Zillmere and Aspley could be merging.
As i said earlier, there is always dramas merging the northern clubs although Aspley daesnt have anywhere near the history of zillmere or for that matter Sandgate when the two aforementioned teams merged at the end of 1992. I dont know if this will work because there will always be jealousy, prejudice call it what you will when two teams become one
Jorge Horatio
10 Dec 2007, 09:50
There is no point in a merge as aspley dont need a financally struggling club wen if zillmere fold all the players will come to aspley anyway and then head into div 1. Aspley have plaenty of money already..
Dont count your chickens before they hatch champ. The word im hearing is alot of the eagles boys will come back to Sandgate as a majority of them are Sandgate juniors and are not just gonna go to the team that pays the most money. At the end of the day if your outlaying alot of cash and not winning premierships (Aspley) people notice.
I agree that Sandgate, Mayne, Zillmere and Grange all have both history and a soul. People play with these clubs for more than just money (in most cases no money). My experiance down south when the money ran out the non clubmen left to chase the cash. So to see these clubs survive is a real credit to all involved.
Jorge Horatio
10 Dec 2007, 12:20
I agree that Sandgate, Mayne, Zillmere and Grange all have both history and a soul. People play with these clubs for more than just money (in most cases no money). My experiance down south when the money ran out the non clubmen left to chase the cash. So to see these clubs survive is a real credit to all involved.
Exactly right man
Dinga_19
10 Dec 2007, 18:52
I'll tell you right now that there are quite a few guys down there now that have played at the hornets and left to further their football at the eagles. It has been happening for years which has in itself affected the amount of premierships the club has won. The Aspley football club is a great and proud football club and has everything that would make for a good state league club including money. If the boys from the eagles come back to the hornets it is only a matter of time before the inevitable decision is made for Aspley to be in the state league in Queensland.
stinger_21
10 Dec 2007, 18:55
if you did a little bit of research jorgey boy, you'd notice that a fair quantity of zillmere's players are actually aspley juniors eg. Ben Warren drafted to Kangaroos last year, Daniel Pratt, Cheynee Stiller etc.