View Full Version : Aflq News

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19

morphous
6 Feb 2008, 19:46
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5053621&sectionID=56333

The final piece of the northern suburbs puzzle was put in place today when Zillmere Eagles FC were granted a license to participate in the 2008 Velocity Sports Cup.

After last Wednesday being granted a seven-day extension to satisfy license criteria, the decision handed down today represented the collective efforts of the newly formed Zillmere Football Club Inc.

"We are comfortable with what the Eagles have presented us and applaud the workload undertaken by their newly elected committee headed by Chairman Dave Argus and Club Development Manager Ken Allan," said AFLQ Football Operations Manager Martin King.

"From the committee to the coaching staff and players, the resolve of this club has been tremendous and they can now move on and focus on 2008 participation in the Velocity Sports Cup."

There was a tremendous amount of optimism out at O'Callaghan Park at the end of last season after their highly youthful and inexperienced outfit had matched it with the big boys of the competition, despite finishing in seventh position.

The reserves won the premiership, and all their gun players committed to returning as they believed they were going places.

That was when the Eagles were hit with the shock of the Kedron Wavell Services Club, via ShawSportz, withdrawing critical funding assistance.

The AFLQ club was not the only community sport affected by the funding withdrawal, but they were most affected. The confirmation of their inclusion in the 2008 competition is a major boost for the game itself, with Zillmere representing such a large population area in the State League.

It also means the 2008 fixture can be officially released. Zillmere will now open their season against Broadbeach at O'Callaghan Park in a night game on Saturday 29 March.

Oddball
6 Feb 2008, 20:43
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5053621&sectionID=56333

That's got to be the greatest news to come out of AFLQ in a long time.

Too good a football club to let them go under, congratulations to the new Eagles board for a job well done in keeping the Eagles alive.

Let's hope that this is just the first step in a on-going success story.

I know Mitch Hahn, Robbie Copeland, Jamie Charman, Daniel Pratt, Josh Drummond, Cheynee Stiller, Daniel Dzufer, Ben Warren, Rhys Magin, Sam Reid & Brendan Whitecross will be excited as well.

Doug_Hondo
6 Feb 2008, 21:00
That's got to be the greatest news to come out of AFLQ in a long time.

Too good a football club to let them go under, congratulations to the new Eagles board for a job well done in keeping the Eagles alive.

Let's hope that this is just the first step in a on-going success story.

I know Mitch Hahn, Robbie Copeland, Jamie Charman, Daniel Pratt, Josh Drummond, Cheynee Stiller, Daniel Dzufer, Ben Warren, Rhys Magin, Sam Reid & Brendan Whitecross will be excited as well.

I really wouldnt think those blokes would give a rats bum...they have more pressing matters at hand one would think.

damochandler
6 Feb 2008, 21:14
the eagles wont last past this season, they are at the end of the road, the league will push for a merger with aspley but that wont happen, but the obly thing i got to say about it is they had the chance to merge with asple 4 years ago but they went went shaw sports

acuguy
6 Feb 2008, 21:28
According to the AFLQ website hes coaching in Mildura.

following the money trail

Oddball
6 Feb 2008, 21:40
I really wouldnt think those blokes would give a rats bum...they have more pressing matters at hand one would think.

Fortunately, you are wrong! All are great supporters of their Eagle heritage

Jorge Horatio
7 Feb 2008, 10:35
the eagles wont last past this season, they are at the end of the road, the league will push for a merger with aspley but that wont happen, but the obly thing i got to say about it is they had the chance to merge with asple 4 years ago but they went went shaw sports

Well that wold not have ensured continued financial and playing success. Zillmere have merged twice previously (windsor & Sandgate) and all that has come out of those marriages apart from a premiership in 1995, it seems is disbandment and confusion. Aspley for the reason of not being liked by many people would have ensured Zillmere went down again, this time because of alot of peoples disdain for the Aspley club, the wrong belief that it is a superior club albeit with no obvious football success and the way they "recruit" players

damochandler
7 Feb 2008, 12:00
Well that wold not have ensured continued financial and playing success. Zillmere have merged twice previously (windsor & Sandgate) and all that has come out of those marriages apart from a premiership in 1995, it seems is disbandment and confusion. Aspley for the reason of not being liked by many people would have ensured Zillmere went down again, this time because of alot of peoples disdain for the Aspley club, the wrong belief that it is a superior club albeit with no obvious football success and the way they "recruit" players

the distain for that club is because of the presidant and trust me i know i have been involved in both clubs, once he is gone people will start loving the club and zillmere are in a heap of trouble, last time when there nearly was a merger, they are the ones who stuffed it up, they wanted 6 of there clubs board members to 1 of aspleys thats the only reason it fell through

hack
7 Feb 2008, 13:45
god not this again ...

Oddball
7 Feb 2008, 17:01
Well that wold not have ensured continued financial and playing success. Zillmere have merged twice previously (windsor & Sandgate) and all that has come out of those marriages apart from a premiership in 1995, it seems is disbandment and confusion.

Just to get the facts right:

Windsor: formed in 1923. Won 13 Premierships, 11 Runners-up & 7 Grogan Medallists

Windsor/Zillmere: formed in 1963. Won 4 Premierships, 3 Runners-up & 5 Grogan Medallists

North Brisbane (Sandgate & W/Z): formed 1992. Won 1 Premiership

Northern/Zillmere Eagles: formed 1997. 3 Runners-up & 2 Grogan Medalists

Not that bad a record, since reforming in 1997 their record is still better than a number of other clubs.

As for AFLQ "forcing" an amalgamation with Aspley in 2009 (as suggested by another poster) - not likely.

damochandler
7 Feb 2008, 17:20
Just to get the facts right:

Windsor: formed in 1923. Won 13 Premierships, 11 Runners-up & 7 Grogan Medallists

Windsor/Zillmere: formed in 1963. Won 4 Premierships, 3 Runners-up & 5 Grogan Medallists

North Brisbane (Sandgate & W/Z): formed 1992. Won 1 Premiership

Northern/Zillmere Eagles: formed 1997. 3 Runners-up & 2 Grogan Medalists

Not that bad a record, since reforming in 1997 their record is still better than a number of other clubs.

As for AFLQ "forcing" an amalgamation with Aspley in 2009 (as suggested by another poster) - not likely.

they should have won the flag in 2000 and 2006, i remember standing in the crowd on those days, if they dont merge they will deffinatly fold there is no doubt about that,

Jorge Horatio
8 Feb 2008, 09:05
they should have won the flag in 2000 and 2006, i remember standing in the crowd on those days, if they dont merge they will deffinatly fold there is no doubt about that,

Any merger with Aspley will only be for the benefit of Aspley.Zillmere will lose their name and alot of players will refuse to go to Graham Rd. Personally anyone that has played in a northside club apart from Aspley, i believe has a little disdain for the way the club and players continually act as if they are better then the rest.A little annoying when the football success has been, well can we say disappointing with the resources(read money) they have

Oddball
8 Feb 2008, 09:29
Any merger with Aspley will only be for the benefit of Aspley.Zillmere will lose their name and alot of players will refuse to go to Graham Rd. Personally anyone that has played in a northside club apart from Aspley, i believe has a little disdain for the way the club and players continually act as if they are better then the rest.A little annoying when the football success has been, well can we say disappointing with the resources(read money) they have

Ah ha! The voice of reason has arrived. Spot-on with your assessment there me thinks.

Sounds to me like Damochandler wants Aspley into State League at the expense of the Eagles. About the only thing that would prove is how far the Hornets are "off the pace". The amazing thing is that some of those Eagles who would refuse to go to Graham Rd are actually ex-Aspley juniors who have been treated with distain by their former club for going off to try their luck at the next level. Not smart thinking by the management at Graham Rd (read TT & MP)

damochandler
8 Feb 2008, 14:58
Ah ha! The voice of reason has arrived. Spot-on with your assessment there me thinks.

Sounds to me like Damochandler wants Aspley into State League at the expense of the Eagles. About the only thing that would prove is how far the Hornets are "off the pace". The amazing thing is that some of those Eagles who would refuse to go to Graham Rd are actually ex-Aspley juniors who have been treated with distain by their former club for going off to try their luck at the next level. Not smart thinking by the management at Graham Rd (read TT & MP)

i dont want the hornets in the state league, because there not ready,i am just telling u how i see it, the eagles are in a heap of trouble, they only just have enough money to stay in the comp this year, i know because kenny allen told me and the club house they have at oc park is owned by guess who kedron wavel

Jorge Horatio
8 Feb 2008, 17:18

Cheers for the comp mate.Yeah MP did not really have much following at Sandgate either. Big difference from thinking something is the right way (read there way) and actually doing the right thing. Your spot on with the assessment of ex Aspley players heading elsewhere, the big talk is how mummy (read Aspley) gets the shits when little boy wants to get on with his life elsewhere, now wheres the maturity of club management there???

Good luck to Aspley making the Div 1, you will be the most hated club to ever play top league, and sadly its not just a personal opinion , but one shared by not only other club players but ex Aspley players as well.

damochandler
8 Feb 2008, 17:38
Cheers for the comp mate.Yeah MP did not really have much following at Sandgate either. Big difference from thinking something is the right way (read there way) and actually doing the right thing. Your spot on with the assessment of ex Aspley players heading elsewhere, the big talk is how mummy (read Aspley) gets the shits when little boy wants to get on with his life elsewhere, now wheres the maturity of club management there???

Good luck to Aspley making the Div 1, you will be the most hated club to ever play top league, and sadly its not just a personal opinion , but one shared by not only other club players but ex Aspley players as well.

i remember the years after we won the flag in 2002 tt wouldnt clear coops, cooky and a few others and when aspley wanted a couple of players like zorber,longy, hammer and dan barnes the eagles blocked it, it was pretty obvious why they blocked it after tt didnt clear those player in general, don forget mp was the club development officer at redlands and he left that post 3 months into it,

stinger_21
8 Feb 2008, 20:13
think rules of the forum is to not use names... including initials. the bickerings from some of the blokes on here should really give up. zillmere has a team. aspley has a team. both are on the field playing footy and each of their players are enjoying being there, paid or not.

Lets direct this forum back to honest commentary on the queensland football comps and encourage interstate footballers to come up to play by giving them an insight into the competition that operates here and get rid of all the bitching that continuously carries on in this forum.

damo, quit pointing fingers as clearly you have absolutely no idea what is going on... and i know this by experience of holding a conversation with you ;).

lets just let the football do the talking and hope for a competitive year of footy, without the "desperate housewives" bullshit wingeing and whining.

damochandler
8 Feb 2008, 21:44
damo, quit pointing fingers as clearly you have absolutely no idea what is going on... and i know this by experience of holding a conversation with you ;).

i dont even know u are, so what ever, from what i have heard aspley are going up with the magpies next year and with zillmere they have only been given money for this and not beyond this year

Azzballz Deluxe
8 Feb 2008, 22:07
Hi guys, i was just wondering who the richest footy clubs in queensland are?

Anyone know?

Cheers

9 Feb 2008, 11:08
Not everyone at Aspley wants to go to Senior AFLQ level. I am happy the club plays at the PHC level. All clubs (including Aspley) should encourage
players to play at the highest level they can,if that player suceeds that's great.If not they should be welcomed back. There is nothing wrong with being a competitive AFLQ,PHC or Association team etc if that is what the MEMBERS want.

It will be a sad day for QLD footy if the north side of Brisbane can not support a AFLQ team.Do'nt just look at Windsor-Zillmere/North Brisbane etc record only.What about the many Premierships/Grogan medalists of Mayne,Kedron,W-Grange and Sandgate in the QAFL (and the incredible record of the Aspley Hornets winning many many SQAFA flags).

damochandler
9 Feb 2008, 11:36
i dont think aspley are ready to go up a division nd i dont want the eagles to fold but when they are strapped for cash like they are i doubt they will last past this year

9 Feb 2008, 11:43
The richest Australian Football Club in QLD apart from the Brians would have to be Southport Sharks....then daylight to the next club.

stanleyy
10 Feb 2008, 18:33
The richest Australian Football Club in QLD apart from the Brians would have to be Southport Sharks....then daylight to the next club.

just wondering if anyone could give me any info on the broadbeach footy club,& how jamie lobb is travelling:thumbsu:

Azzballz Deluxe
11 Feb 2008, 01:31

I kind of figured that, mate....;)

Jorge Horatio
11 Feb 2008, 10:19
think rules of the forum is to not use names... including initials. the bickerings from some of the blokes on here should really give up. zillmere has a team. aspley has a team. both are on the field playing footy and each of their players are enjoying being there, paid or not.

Lets direct this forum back to honest commentary on the queensland football comps and encourage interstate footballers to come up to play by giving them an insight into the competition that operates here and get rid of all the bitching that continuously carries on in this forum.

lets just let the football do the talking and hope for a competitive year of footy, without the "desperate housewives" bullshit wingeing and whining.

As far as i am concerned it was honest commentary. Raise your rose coloured glasses and look at things from the inner rather then they way they present.Living in Australia gives me the right to free speech, if you dont like it, dont read it.Not everyone enjoys your posts either.Grow up

head67
11 Feb 2008, 13:02
How did Drew Dunscomb go with Labrodor last year and is he going around again with them this year?

damochandler
11 Feb 2008, 15:10
dose anyone know who are the v force, fair dinkum they are going to be the suncoast lions reserves side, i spose thats pretty good now that when the lions play your team, the ressies can play that weekend to

The Flying Belgian
11 Feb 2008, 15:27
dose anyone know who are the v force fair dinkum, they are going to be the suncoast lions reserved side, i spose that pretty good now that when the lions play your team, the ressies can play that weekend to

Can I have a translation of that thanks?

damochandler
11 Feb 2008, 15:52
Can I have a translation of that thanks?

sorry for the miss spelling, they will play in the reserve grade competition as the reserves for the lions, just like the qld colts did in 2000

Lenny29
11 Feb 2008, 17:43
dose anyone know who are the v force, fair dinkum they are going to be the suncoast lions reserves side, i spose thats pretty good now that when the lions play your team, the ressies can play that weekend to
From what I've heard Mt Gravatt have two reserves sides so I'd imagine the "V Force" is one of them.

damochandler
11 Feb 2008, 18:33
From what I've heard Mt Gravatt have two reserves sides so I'd imagine the "V Force" is one of them.

at least we dont have to wait around for the seniors game when ever we play the lions and one game they play labrador at 11:30 am on a friday, god i hope they change that real soon

Doug_Hondo
12 Feb 2008, 12:14
at least we dont have to wait around for the seniors game, when ever we play the lions and one game they play labrador at 11:30 am on a friday, god i hope they change that real soon

I struggle to understand ur posts. Learn a bit of punctuation champion.

bananabenda
12 Feb 2008, 12:30
Cut the kid some slack Dougie. Spelling and punctuation are not as high a priority of youth nowadays.
Q-Why are Mt Gravatt named the Vultures?:D:D:D:D:D
A-Ask the parent of any talented junior footballer in Brisbane.

damochandler
12 Feb 2008, 12:31

get ur eyes checked there are commers in that post

damochandler
12 Feb 2008, 12:32
Cut the kid some slack Dougie. Spelling and punctuation are not as high a priority of youth nowadays.

how old are you

Doug_Hondo
12 Feb 2008, 13:18
get ur eyes checked there are commers in that post

Yeah there is one COMMA but even that should be a fullstop. I just didnt understand what u were trying to say...

Hilarious Bannabenda usual...

bananabenda
12 Feb 2008, 13:23
Yeah there is one COMMA but even that should be a fullstop. I just didnt understand what u were trying to say...

Hilarious Bannabenda usual...
:D:D:D:D:D

Oddball
12 Feb 2008, 14:53

That is pure gold! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

However don't stop at just junior players (read A. Evans & T. Tarrant in recent times).

damochandler
12 Feb 2008, 21:25
did everyone see in the fixture, there will be 2 games played at coorparoo this year.

broadbaeach v redlands and morningside v the lions. i just wonder why they are doing that. i am all for playing more games at coorparoo. but not when the home team in this case has to give up a home game.

Jorge Horatio
13 Feb 2008, 14:04
did everyone see in the fixture, there will be 2 games played at coorparoo this year.

broadbaeach v redlands and morningside v the lions. i just wonder why they are doing that. i am all for playing more games at coorparoo. but not when the home team in this case has to give up a home game.

Well Giffen Park is technically the home of AFLQ so therefore i assume they are thi nking along the same lines

damochandler
14 Feb 2008, 23:08
Well Giffen Park is technically the home of AFLQ so therefore i assume they are thi nking along the same lines

there will be a couple of preseason games played at coorparoo as well. but the thing is with one of thos game its between the eagle and redlands i think, the game is played at 1:00 pm, which is puzzling. they could easily move the game to oc park and play it under lights instead of playing it in the midday heat

Oddball
15 Feb 2008, 08:36
there will be a couple of preseason games played at coorparoo as well. but the thing is with one of thos game its between the eagle and redlands i think, the game is played at 1:00 pm, which is puzzling. they could easily move the game to oc park and play it under lights instead of playing it in the midday heat

The Fred Brophy Boxing Tent will be on OC park on Friday, Feb 29th (leap at that) and Saturday, March 1st so that's why they can't use the ground for the Eagles v Redland pre-season game.

However, you're all welcome to come along to see the Boxing - it's a great night - tickets on sale at the door. :thumbsu:

Jorge Horatio
15 Feb 2008, 10:13
The Fred Brophy Boxing Tent will be on OC park on Friday, Feb 29th (leap at that) and Saturday, March 1st so that's why they can't use the ground for the Eagles v Redland pre-season game.

However, you're all welcome to come along to see the Boxing - it's a great night - tickets on sale at the door. :thumbsu:

I went in that last year and as far as im concerned, the setup is rigged for Brophy's boys. I went against a bloke 20 kilo heavier then me and had the fight stopped after 2 rounds straight after we both went down in a clinch.If they think your going to beat their bloke they stop the fights, pretty good money making exercise that.

damochandler
15 Feb 2008, 12:26

i forgot about that. i might head over to oc park and have a gander. people that i know that went to it last year said it was a good night

Jorge Horatio
15 Feb 2008, 16:58
i forgot about that. i might head over to oc park and have a gander. people that i know that went to it last year said it was a good night

Yeah damo not a bad night providing your a spectator. Like i said before , there is no love if you compete against Brophy's blokes, he likes to keep the reputation of his fighters unblemished, so dont dare look like your gonna beat one, he will stop the fight and award it to his bloke so he doesnt have to pay out the money to the challenger.Good night to watch but rigged if you take part

damochandler
17 Feb 2008, 17:59
dose anyone know if there are any games bfore the alocated preseason games start, some teams in the past use to play games before the alocated trial games

Jorge Horatio
18 Feb 2008, 09:26
dose anyone know if there are any games bfore the alocated preseason games start, some teams in the past use to play games before the alocated trial games

I would say most teams will have a run against a club from a lower competition before the scheduled trials. I do know Sandgate and Mayne have games against lower comp clubs on like the 1st of March. Sandgate is playing Caboolture and i believe Mayne has Robina

Up North
18 Feb 2008, 09:47
I would say most teams will have a run against a club from a lower competition before the scheduled trials. I do know Sandgate and Mayne have games against lower comp clubs on like the 1st of March. Sandgate is playing Caboolture and i believe Mayne has Robina
Coolangatta play Toowoomba this Saturday

Toucan Soup
18 Feb 2008, 10:59
Yeronga & Surfers Paradise are having a run at Cansdale Street this Saturday.

damochandler
18 Feb 2008, 12:53

the last couple of years mayne have played against teams in the lower divisions and they have been beaten every time, i rokon they will struggle again this year, they are to reliant on housego, if he dosent fire they will be stuffed, aspley picked that stujoko what ever his name is, i doubt he will even get a game in the 1's anyway

POBT
18 Feb 2008, 15:10
the last couple of years mayne have played against teams in the lower disions and they have been beaten every time, i rokon they will struggle again this year, they are to reliant on housego, if he dosent fire they well truely stuffed, apley picked that stujoko what ever his name is, i doubt he will even get a game in the 1's anyway
I know this has been mentioned before but do you think you might be able to add some punctuation to your posts? The stream of thought style of posting is incredibly difficult to read.

Cheers.

damochandler
18 Feb 2008, 15:38
I know this has been mentioned before but do you think you might be able to add some punctuation to your posts? The stream of thought style of posting is incredibly difficult to read.

Cheers.

it was only a few misspelt words mate

Jorge Horatio
18 Feb 2008, 16:13
the last couple of years mayne have played against teams in the lower divisions and they have been beaten every time, i rokon they will struggle again this year, they are to reliant on housego, if he dosent fire they will be stuffed, aspley picked that stujoko what ever his name is, i doubt he will even get a game in the 1's anyway
You seem to know alot about Aspley.Who is that bloke anyway and why would he struggle to get a game with Aspley ones

damochandler
18 Feb 2008, 16:15
You seem to know alot about Aspley.Who is that bloke anyway and why would he struggle to get a game with Aspley ones

he is a full foward and they already have mugavin and another bloke coming up from balarat or bendigo i forgot were, he wears a head gear and he is pretty skinny, they also picked wilko, he's back from caboulture

damochandler
18 Feb 2008, 16:33
i have hear michael rogers got picked up by wilston grange

POBT
20 Feb 2008, 13:29
it was only a few misspelt words mate
If you believe that, then it might be time to take your fingers away from the keyboard. Anyway, I've tried to ask nicely and others have too.

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 14:31
If you believe that, then it might be time to take your fingers away from the keyboard. Anyway, I've tried to ask nicely and others have too.

thats all there was mate, if you get ur eyes checked, u will see comma's through the post

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 14:50
the best games i have been involved in or watched in the last 10 years

1. 2002, prelim final, aspley v plam beach at yeronga, i ran water that day

we were down by 3 goals going into red time. we had a player sent off. troy barnes and robbie williamson got us back into the game and won us the game. it was pretty special that game

2. 2002, round 16, aspley v plam beach at aspley, i ran water that day.

it was windy and dusty. palmy lead all day. troy barnes marked the ball just outside 50 with about 30 seconds left. he went back and he didnt slot it, but with a little help form robbie it bounced through.

3. 2004, qulifying final, broadbeach v morningside at coorparoo, i wtached this one

broadbeach led all day. they had i think a 7 goal lead at 3 qtr time. 4 quick goals got the panthers back into the game. they slugged it out for the next 20 minutes. boadbeach was leading by a point when paul westling snapped the ball from 50 and it hit the point post. 2 minutes later broady were celebrating.

they are the best games i have seen or been involved in in the last 10 years. i have plenty more, but what are your best

Jorge Horatio
20 Feb 2008, 16:33
the best games i have been involved in or watched in the last 10 years

1. 2002, prelim final, aspley v plam beach at yeronga, i ran water that day

we were down by 3 goals going into red time. we had a player sent off. troy barnes and robbie williamson got us back into the game and won us the game. it was pretty special that game

2. 2002, round 16, aspley v plam beach at aspley, i ran water that day.

it was win and dusty. palmy lead all day. troy barnes marked the ball just outside 50 with about 30 seconds left. he went back and he didnt slot it, but with a little help form robbie it bounced through.

3. 2004, qulifying final, broadbeach v morningside at coorparoo, i wtached this one

broadbeach led all day. they had i think a 7 goal lead at 3 qtr time. 4 quick goals got the panthers back into the game. they slugged it out for the next 20 minutes. boadbeach was leading by a point when paul westling snapped the ball from 50 and it hit the point post. 2 minutes later broady were celebrating.

they are the best games i have seen or been involved in in the last 10 years. i have plenty more, but what are your best

Dont know about you man but personally, the best games are usually the ones your involved in. Ill bet you felt nothing like those two guys did when they orchestrated a win from nothing.Surely you have participated by playing in some quality games.

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 16:46
Dont know about you man but personally, the best games are usually the ones your involved in. Ill bet you felt nothing like those two guys did when they orchestrated a win from nothing.Surely you have participated by playing in some quality games.

i was just happy we won those 2 games, they were important games during that season. i just hate palmy cant you see

Jorge Horatio
20 Feb 2008, 16:52
i was just happy we won those 2 games, they were important games during that season. i just hate palmy cant you see

Do you actually play at all Damo?

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 16:53
Do you actually play at all Damo?

i was never good enough and to over weight

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 16:55
i did play juniors at mayne

Jorge Horatio
20 Feb 2008, 16:58
i was never good enough and to over weight

Its never to late to start up again mate. Like the channel 10 show says, just a little exercise a day wont kill you, in fact its the complete opposite and it makes for a longer life.Your call?

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 17:02
Its never to late to start up again mate. Like the channel 10 show says, just a little exercise a day wont kill you, in fact its the complete opposite and it makes for a longer life.Your call?

i think i will stick to beeing a volunteer, its great anyway, i have made some great mates over the last 10 years, dont worry i do plenty exercise

Jorge Horatio
20 Feb 2008, 17:06
i think i will stick to beeing a volunteer, its great anyway, i have made some great mates over the last 10 years, dont worry i do plenty exercise

Well the fact will remain that your comments are open for interpretation as you have never played against the clubs or blokes your happy to glorify and also pay out on. A "couch" critic is not nearly well enough informed to know everything!!!!!

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 17:08
Well the fact will remain that your comments are open for interpretation as you have never played against the clubs or blokes your happy to glorify and also pay out on. A "couch" critic is not nearly well enough informed to know everything!!!!!

dont worry half of the palmy people know who i am and they dont mind putting shit on me when i run water against them and they know how i feel about them

Jorge Horatio
20 Feb 2008, 17:12
dont worry half of the palmy people know who i am and they dont mind putting shit on me when i run water against them and they know how i feel about them

Ill make sure i shout out a hello when we play you guys then. Everyone needs a wa wa waterboy

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 17:16
i havent been involved in aspley in the last 2 years, i have been applying my trade at morningside and this year i will probably have off

Jorge Horatio
21 Feb 2008, 08:43
i havent been involved in aspley in the last 2 years, i have been applying my trade at morningside and this year i will probably have off

Damo...........................its not a trade, you dont need to do an apprenticeship to walk water. Its a shame, i would have really liked to meet you and see who is behind the screen.Oh well

Oddball
21 Feb 2008, 09:49
Damo...........................its not a trade, you dont need to do an apprenticeship to walk water. Its a shame, i would have really liked to meet you and see who is behind the screen.Oh well

Since when did this become the "Lavalife" website? :D

Jorge Horatio
21 Feb 2008, 10:26
Since when did this become the "Lavalife" website? :D

Nah just pretty keen to catch up with Damo.He seems to know quite alot about all these players but has never played against them.

Northern_kid
22 Feb 2008, 08:11
Any intra club games this week in the state league div 1? I think Zillmere have a hit out tnte. Will be a couple of new players on show. Look out for the FOX, bloke can play!!

damochandler
22 Feb 2008, 12:33

i was only joking. i dont really take water running that seriously. i just have been a normal volunteer at morningside for 2 years

damochandler
22 Feb 2008, 12:37
i should clear things up with my views on zillmere and aspley

with zillmere. i dont want them to fold. but i am not convinced they will survive past this year. i hope they keep going

with aspley. i would like to see them go up to div 1. but i dont think they are ready.

i love both clubs. but with zillmere. i have doubts about them lasting past this year

Jorge Horatio
22 Feb 2008, 15:59
i should clear things up with my views on zillmere and aspley

with zillmere. i dont want them to fold. but i am not convinced they will survive past this year. i hope they keep going

with aspley. i would like to see them go up to div 1. but i dont think they are ready.

i love both clubs. but with zillmere. i have doubts about them lasting past this year

Gee thanks Damo.Know i can get some sleep seeing you cleared that up.

AFL MAN
23 Feb 2008, 10:04
Anyone have a top four for the seniors this year?

Id go
Labrador (easy)
Southport
Morningside
Mt Gravatt

Labrador just need to keep everyone on the park and combine there talent and thy will be there easy

damochandler
23 Feb 2008, 18:24
Anyone have a top four for the seniors this year?

Id go
Labrador (easy)
Southport
Morningside
Mt Gravatt

Labrador just need to keep everyone on the park and combine there talent and thy will be there easy

you and about 1000 people think the same thing will happen. but i still say the siders still have 1 good year left in them

Northern_kid
25 Feb 2008, 07:48
I think top3 there are pretty concrete, reckon 4th spot is out of Morningside/Lions/Zillmere.

Northern_kid
25 Feb 2008, 07:51
Sorry stuffed last post up, top 4:

Labrador
Gravatt
Southport

Then 4th spot out of Morningside(loss of Tarrant and a couple of others), Lions are always a ?? depends on injuries in the seniors, if they have a full compliment of players then naturally they will be there. Zillmere are also ?? reckon they could snaeak in.

TheBrownDog
25 Feb 2008, 07:54

Labrador
Gravatt
Southport

Then 4th spot out of Morningside(loss of Tarrant and a couple of others), Lions are always a ?? depends on injuries in the seniors, if they have a full compliment of players then naturally they will be there. Zillmere are also ?? reckon they could snaeak in.

With the trading of Wood and retirement of McDonald... Suncoast have a ruck problem. If Tippett is required in the seniors, god knows who they will get to ruck.

damochandler
25 Feb 2008, 16:31

Labrador
Gravatt
Southport

the siders still have a good list. matty pardew might be back this year hopefuly and there backline is still good with out tommy. kinch come along last year and he will step up big time again this year. they still have a great midfield. blokes like tangles, grinner, justin wilson and gough. mt gravatt still lost cleary and stinear

Northern_kid
26 Feb 2008, 08:08
I think that they have a very mature midfield, with plenty of experience, who have strong bodies. For mind there backline is there weakness. Looks like AFLQ will have some handy fwds in:
Labrador: Fulton/Madden from Bendigo VFL(can play)
Southport: McEntree/Sinclair from VAFA Vic(GUN player can play)
Zillmere: Lucy/Flaherty
Broadbeach: Cullinan? From Marcellin VAFA, also a very handy FF. Not sure if he is definite though?

There are some very handy fwds there all capable of kicking 50+ in AFLQ comp, and with Tarrent gone, Moningside will have to rely on midfield dominance to keep delivery coming ino there backline.

I think this years leading goal kicker will be a very tigh battle, with the influx of a few victorians this year.

fatheads
26 Feb 2008, 09:42
How is Ryan Head going up your way is he playing for Southport? Handy player tall strong hands fit and can run should be a handy pick up.

hack
26 Feb 2008, 11:47
latest AFLQ article stats Justin Wilson has moved to Adelaide and Jake Furfaro has returned to Mt Gravatt tho there still some clearance issues ... Massive Minus for Morningside ... and Massive Plus for Mounties ...

Damo you mentioned Matty Pardew being a possibility this year ... i saw him at the Woolies in Morningside the other night in training gear so it looks like he is back ... and oh my will they need him

damochandler
26 Feb 2008, 12:35
latest AFLQ article stats Justin Wilson has moved to Adelaide and Jake Furfaro has returned to Mt Gravatt tho there still some clearance issues ... Massive Minus for Morningside ... and Massive Plus for Mounties ...

Damo you mentioned Matty Pardew being a possibility this year ... i saw him at the Woolies in Morningside the other night in training gear so it looks like he is back ... and oh my will they need him
\

yeah i heard that today about justin wilson. he has been going to go and play in the sanfl for the last couple of years. mt gravatt must be giving that furfaro a bit of money for him to leave the bendigo side to come back and play in this comp

acuguy
26 Feb 2008, 19:18
Furfaro would have been brought back under the player retention scheme. I guess also he would be hoping that a most dominant year in aflq might cause some interest.

rat1234
26 Feb 2008, 20:49
just wondering looking at moving to QLD next year looking at teams for AFLQ can any shed some info on some teams i could talk to ?

damochandler
26 Feb 2008, 21:07
just wondering looking at moving to QLD next year looking at teams for AFLQ can any shed some info on some teams i could talk to ?

were will you be moving to in qld

rat1234
27 Feb 2008, 12:18
were will you be moving to in qld

not sure atm the moment getting sick of victorian footy and need a change!!

acuguy
27 Feb 2008, 15:29
what league do you currently play in?

damochandler
27 Feb 2008, 15:35
not sure atm the moment getting sick of victorian footy and need a change!!

if your looking to play good footy. the velocity sports cup is the comp to look at. if your moving to brisbane the clubs to look at are morningside, mt gravatt and zillmere. if your moving to the goald coast the clubs to look at there are southport, labrador and broadbeach. all clubs have a club development officer thats who you need to talk to from each club

morphous
27 Feb 2008, 15:51
if your looking to play good footy. the velocity sports cup is the comp to look at. if your moving to brisbane the clubs to look at are morningside, mt gravatt and zillmere. if your moving to the goald coast the clubs to look at there are southport, labrador and broadbeach. all clubs have a club development officer thats who you need to talk to from each club

What about Redlands?

damochandler
27 Feb 2008, 16:13
What about Redlands?

sorry and redlands

morphous
27 Feb 2008, 16:15
sorry and redlands

Thanks mate.

Chasing the Dream
27 Feb 2008, 20:18
Having problems finding a link to the story, but did anyone else hear about the Southport and Broadbeach players continuing their on field rivarly in a local nightspot on the weekend.

Should make for an interesting on field game:eek:

damochandler
27 Feb 2008, 20:52
Having problems finding a link to the story, but did anyone else hear about the Southport and Broadbeach players continuing their on field rivarly in a local nightspot on the weekend.

Should make for an interesting on field game:eek:

broady will win the fight on the field this year. but southport will probly put 20+ goals on them

Homer Jnr
27 Feb 2008, 22:53
Anyone heard anything about the Nathan Ablett rumour that is sweeping the Sunshine Coast?

damochandler
27 Feb 2008, 22:57
Anyone heard anything about the Nathan Ablett rumour that is sweeping the Sunshine Coast?

who would he play for

Homer Jnr
27 Feb 2008, 23:02
who would he play for

No idea, just saying there is a roomer bouncing around the place.