View Full Version : Aflq News

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19

Up North
1 Apr 2008, 15:55
Numbers are good and there juniors are outstanding. U18 won the grand final last year. The problem for Tuggers is financial. The rumour is the coach has offered his services for free this year. Doesnt look great for them but funny things happen in footy

Yeah, that's why I asked. I have a mate that went there this year to help out coaching.

Sandy Groper
2 Apr 2008, 11:18
I thought that a lot of their players and 2 of their coaches went to Caboolture.
Which may explain a few things, sad for the local greange team if thats the case.

The coaches that left Grange were the 2's and 3's coaches, i don't think they took any senior players with them. I heard it was the same old story up at Noosa on the weekend, they got the early jump on Grange in the first quarter 8 goals to 1, after that the game was fairly even, the gorillas did get back to within 5 goals in the last quarter.

damochandler
3 Apr 2008, 17:13
my tips this week for div1 and div2

div1

zillmere i saw them play last week and i was impressed. jake myles looks the goods at full forward
broadbeach
labrador
morningside they played in the preseason and the siders got up. the siders won 1 out of 4 games against the vultures last year. i think they will roll them this week

div2
aspley
grange
burleigh
magpies
pbc
noosa

it was a good week of footy last week and hopefully this will be better

Northern_kid
3 Apr 2008, 17:49
Don't know what game u were watching DAMO. Myles is a flanker, 5ft 9 at best. Didn't play ff. Having said that the bloke knows how to find the goals. Reminds me a bit of Darren Bewick type, except without the red hair. WIll be interesting to see if Southport pay him respect, they are a confident bunch down there and tend to back themselves in.

My tips are:

Zillmere by less then a goal.
Broadbeach
Labrador
Mr Gravatt

damochandler
3 Apr 2008, 18:11
Don't know what game u were watching DAMO. Myles is a flanker, 5ft 9 at best. Didn't play ff. Having said that the bloke knows how to find the goals. Reminds me a bit of Darren Bewick type, except without the red hair. WIll be interesting to see if Southport pay him respect, they are a confident bunch down there and tend to back themselves in.

My tips are:

Zillmere by less then a goal.
Broadbeach
Labrador
Mr Gravatt

any way i thought he looked good imo.

JMac
5 Apr 2008, 18:01
After hearing Southport got beat by Mt gravatt last week with out a few players, ill have to say that Mt Gravatt will beat Siders by at least 6 goals!!

Doug_Hondo
6 Apr 2008, 20:58
my tips this week for div1 and div2

div1

zillmere i saw them play last week and i was impressed. jake myles looks the goods at full forward
broadbeach
labrador
morningside they played in the preseason and the siders got up. the siders won 1 out of 4 games against the vultures last year. i think they will roll them this week

Nice tipping damo is that 0 for the week?

damochandler
6 Apr 2008, 22:34
Nice tipping damo is that 0 for the week?

i watched morningside and mt gravatt today. it looked like at 3 qtr time i was at least going to get one this week. thats the way hings go

Jackson7
7 Apr 2008, 12:09
Western Magpies 0 and 2 who would of thought.

Interesting 5 even at this very early stage

Jorge Horatio
7 Apr 2008, 12:35
Western Magpies 0 and 2 who would of thought.

Interesting 5 even at this very early stage

And Sandgate 2-0.What a start for last years cellar dwellers

Doug_Hondo
7 Apr 2008, 13:52
i watched morningside and mt gravatt today. it looked like at 3 qtr time i was at least going to get on this week. thats the way hings go

Just goes to show the marvelous insight into Queensland Footy you really have. Can't tip a winner in the most predictable comp in Australia.

damochandler
7 Apr 2008, 14:19
Just goes to show the marvelous insight into Queensland Footy you really have. Can't tip a winner in the most predictable comp in Australia.

how many did you tip this weekend champ, i didnt see you tips on this forum last week. seeinjg there where 2 upsets on the weekend, i wouldnt call it predictable hey.

morphous
7 Apr 2008, 14:27
how many did you tip this weekend champ, i didnt see you tips on this forum last week. seeinjg there where 2 upsets on the weekend, i wouldnt call it predictable hey.

Redland over Broadbeach wasn't really an upset. Broady have lost a lot and Redland have picked up a couple. We won't be in the top 4 but we should give the eagles a run for their money this weekend.

damochandler
7 Apr 2008, 14:30
Redland over Broadbeach wasn't really an upset. Broady have lost a lot and Redland have picked up a couple. We won't be in the top 4 but we should give the eagles a run for their money this weekend.

not many people would have tipped it though. it will be a good game on saturday and your boys should give them a good shake

vicbasedfan
8 Apr 2008, 14:41
I think it was more of a shock that the suncoasters got over labrador what with the tigers "star studded" line up.

Bobby Beecroft
8 Apr 2008, 22:01

How is Mick Aitken looking up their?

morphous
9 Apr 2008, 12:23
How is Mick Aitken looking up their?

He is looking really good, not much of him really when you look at him but he can sure take a good mark and he knows where the sticks are.

damochandler
9 Apr 2008, 18:02
He is looking really good, not much of him really when you look at him but he can sure take a good mark and he knows where the sticks are.

he has kicked 11 goals in the first 2 rounds right. how has matty francis gone

morphous
9 Apr 2008, 18:11
he has kicked 11 goals in the first 2 rounds right. how has matty francis gone

He's gone well, good communicator.

Bobby Beecroft
9 Apr 2008, 20:51

Amazing to think he was playing just 3rd/4th division local footy down here, despite many overtures from stronger clubs.
He can be a running highlight reel on his day & has freakish ability.
Hope he continues to go well.

JMac
10 Apr 2008, 16:05
Who do u rekon will win between Lions and Mt Gravatt!!

It will be a close game, but with tarrant off and fufaro with a game under his belt, they might be a bit too strong!!

is anyone going to watch??

hack
10 Apr 2008, 17:46
Mounties vs Lions will be a cracker! ... struggling to sepperate them to be honest ... both will be full of run ... both have some real quality players ... i'd be expecting a big turn out to the game as well so should be a great atmosphere i'd encourage anyone to drop in and have a look

damochandler
10 Apr 2008, 18:33
Mounties vs Lions will be a cracker! ... struggling to sepperate them to be honest ... both will be full of run ... both have some real quality players ... i'd be expecting a big turn out to the game as well so should be a great atmosphere i'd encourage anyone to drop in and have a look

i will go and have a gander on sunday for sure. the saturday games are going to be great as well. morningside and the tigers at esplin oval wil be a cracker. rdlands and zillmere will be a good game of footy. redlands are on the up and zillmere are looking pretty good this year even though they got beaten last week. don't forget drinking mates on sunday as well, southport and broadie

morphous
10 Apr 2008, 18:38
don't forget drinking mates on sunday as well, southport and broadie

Hope there's no ceiling fans around.

Northern_kid
11 Apr 2008, 09:47
Tips for Rd 2
Zillmere by 4 goals. Really if they are going to be a serious top 4 chance they need to knock of Redlands who will be brimming with confidence. Will be a battle of the midfield, bth teams have a couple of dangerous fwds and it will come down to which fwd line can get more supply.

Mt Gravatt in a thriller. Gravatt seem to have been able to get over the line when it has counted in past 2 games. They have that winning culture about them at the moment and I can see them getting the biscuits again tom.

Southport should account for Broadbeach comfortably. Watched Southport first hand last week, they look to have hit the gym hard over the pre season with some big bodied players. Sinclair is on fire at the moment up fwd. Caputi is a good defender down back, and there midfield is well drilled, if they can kick straight this could be a massive win.

Labrador by a couple of goals. The tigers will be out for revenge after last weeks lost, Morningside has done little wrong though and look to be strong again this year. Should be a great contest, however Labrador will out to make a statement.

damochandler
11 Apr 2008, 14:11
my tips for round 3 in phc and velocity sports cup

zillmere. redlands are on the up and they will win plenty of games this year. i just think zillmere and there running brigade will be to classy for the bombers.

morningside. i saw them play last week and they looked great for 3 qtrs. . there midfield looked good and there foward line were on fire, with brown and abey. labrador have a quality line p, but at home the siders allway perform.

mt gravatt. they plugged away all day and kept in touch enough at 3qtr time to get over the line last week. there midfielder turned it around and the forward got plenty of it in the last qtr. morro was held well for last week and he normaly rebounds well.

southport. they should winn easily this week. broadie are rebuilding and they will there and there abouts.

phc

aspley
burleigh
noosa
pbc
maroochy/northshore
cooly

another good weekend of footy

QLDFOOTY
11 Apr 2008, 14:23
my tips for round 3 in phc and velocity sports cup

zillmere. redlands are on the up and they will win plenty of games this year. i just think zillmere and there running brigade will be to classy for the bombers.

morningside. i saw them play last week and they looked great for 3 qtrs. . there midfield looked good and there foward line were on fire, with brown and abey. labrador have a quality line p, but at home the siders allway perform.

mt gravatt. they plugged away all day and kept in touch enough at 3qtr time to get over the line last week. there midfielder turned it around and the forward got plenty of it in the last qtr. morro was held well for last week and he normaly rebounds well.

south port. they should winn easily this week. broadie are rebuilding and they will there and there abouts.

phc

aspley
burleigh
noosa
pbc
maroochy/northshore
cooly

another good weekend of footy

Grange to kick start there season with a 5 point win over aspley
will be a great game at hickey park tonight in both grades
Damo i sure you will be there cheering on the hornets

Magpies to give burleigh a lesson on footy
north shore to win with a point after the siren
Palm beach by 30 goals
Noosa to beat sandgate by 10 goals
surfers by 10 goals will burst coolys bubble big time

QLDFOOTY
15 Apr 2008, 10:00
where's all the special comments from everyone or since most of your teams got done, most have nothing to write

Up North
15 Apr 2008, 12:19
Grange to kick start there season with a 5 point win over aspley
will be a great game at hickey park tonight in both grades
Damo i sure you will be there cheering on the hornets

Magpies to give burleigh a lesson on footy
north shore to win with a point after the siren
Palm beach by 30 goals
Noosa to beat sandgate by 10 goals
surfers by 10 goals will burst coolys bubble big time

Not quite the result you were hoping for with a draw being played out...

You blokes were pretty good Friday night, doing enough in the first half to ensure a win. Did anything arise out of the "sleeper hold" incident?

QLDFOOTY
15 Apr 2008, 14:52
Not quite the result you were hoping for with a draw being played out...

You blokes were pretty good Friday night, doing enough in the first half to ensure a win. Did anything arise out of the "sleeper hold" incident?

if you have pay tv then watch 518 tonight and there will be a bloke in grange colours showing some wrestling moves
no nothing to be made of it
I would say a good 4 qtr performance

stinger_21
15 Apr 2008, 15:46
if you have pay tv then watch 518 tonight and there will be a bloke in grange colours showing some wrestling moves

Nothing to be made of it?? pretty pathetic to see a bloke sleeper hold a fella half his size whilst another weak prick lays into his head?

good game of footy though. 2nd quarter let the hornets down. few big games this weekend to see how few of the teams bounce back.

damochandler
15 Apr 2008, 18:12

it was disgraceful , soft. piss weak and gutless. there pobably wont be anything to come out of it because the umpire didnt report him.

Open Forward Line
15 Apr 2008, 23:30
Sounds like the Gorillas just jumped an over confident Hornets. O'Brien was at his dangerous best for Grange - good player.

Are Labrador the real deal Damo? Vultures look ominous again. Zillmere earnt there keep and B/Beach will imrove.

Lilico getting off a bonus for Panthers who have no Gough or Price this weekend v B/Beach

Northern_kid
16 Apr 2008, 08:28
I think Labrador will find it hard early having so many new players coming to the club in the one year. Takes a season, or at least 10-12 games to get a feel for each others game. Also there are alot of so called big name players in that team that could be playing on there onwn agenda's?? A champion team will always beat a team of champions. I think that they will come good soon, but it may take a while for them to find there feet with an influx of new players.

augie
16 Apr 2008, 09:43
Nothing to be made of it?? pretty pathetic to see a bloke sleeper hold a fella half his size whilst another weak prick lays into his head?

good game of footy though. 2nd quarter let the hornets down. few big games this weekend to see how few of the teams bounce back.

From what I saw the "sleeper hold" was a 5 foot 9 bloke dragging another bloke off a 16 year old kid he was attacking. Unless your bloke was slightly under 3 foot then I don't think he was "half his size".

16 Apr 2008, 12:50
Firstly let me say Wilston-Grange deserved the win,they played good,hard
footy and the final score did not indicate how much they dominated the game.

Secondly the umpiring was a disgrace. I understand it is hard to find good
people to umpire,it's a thankless job and the clowns #15 and #25 proved my point.

Third,the "Sleeper Hold" incident was a disgrace,the player from Wilston Grange,his Club,Teamates and the Umpires who did not report the matter should be ashamed of themselves.

This should have been a proud night for the Gorilla's,but spoiled by a gutless "wrestler".

Homer Jnr
16 Apr 2008, 21:26
Can someone please elaborate as what went down in this incident?

Krakour Magic
16 Apr 2008, 22:09

From what I saw the "sleeper hold" was a 5 foot 9 bloke dragging another bloke off a 16 year old kid he was attacking. Unless your bloke was slightly under 3 foot then I don't think he was "half his size".

Can someone please elaborate as what went down in this incident?

Homer J, this was an unfortunate incident whereby an Aspley player was dragged off a Wilston-Grange player (yes, W-G player was 16yo, but teammates would jump in regardless of age). The W-G player was careless in grabbing the Aspley bloke out and grabbed him in a headlock. When he dragged him away and let him go, the Aspley player fell to the ground (likely unconscious, certainly not moving). I don't know if the Aspley player was unable to breath (would only be 5 to 10 seconds), whether it was a pressure point, or whether some additional punches were thrown from someone else (hopefully not the latter). Whatever the primary cause of injury, it was at worst a careless way to remove the Aspley player.

I understand that the Aspley player regained consciousness and was quite ok at the finish of the evening (although I could not confirm this).

Regarding sizes, there wouldn't be any difference in size of the players involved, given the W-G player is only 5'7" (officially midget I believe).

Regarding W-G, I doubt there would be any apologies or reporting from their end. When a fellow player is in trouble, teammates should push to assist. Emotions may be enhanced when a younger player is involved (although as I mention above, you would help a teammate regardless). I cannot speak on the club's behalf, but I daresay they would not promote the harm of opposition players outside of contests for the ball.

stinger_21
16 Apr 2008, 22:41

chuck norris was 5' 7". wouldnt wanna cop a sleeper hold from that son of a bitch so i don't entirely believe height matters at all big fella. any attack from behind should be frowned upon. and im sure the hornets will have that one in the back of the head for when the gorillas come to the nest to play...

JonoBrownSuperstar
17 Apr 2008, 08:11
From what ive heard Southport are looking at a young recruit by the name of Daniel Hovey..
hes 17, plays for leopold in the GFL, very good sporting family apparently, can any confirm this??

hardballgets05
17 Apr 2008, 12:36
chuck norris was 5' 7". wouldnt wanna cop a sleeper hold from that son of a bitch so i don't entirely believe height matters at all big fella. any attack from behind should be frowned upon. and im sure the hornets will have that one in the back of the head for when the gorillas come to the nest to play...

Well duh! of course Aspley will be looking to use something as motivation to improve their performance against Grange next time. You don't need to be a rocket scientist to see that. But when it all comes down to it - it was an accidental incident where the guy that passed out was belting into a 16 yo kid. So there is some motivation from the other side too.

It is a shame that one minor incident might overshadow the fact that WG won through a gutsy, committed effort whereas Aspley turned up thinking that big names would make for an easy win:

Aspley's coach on their web site: "The second lesson to gain out of the game as too many people around the club were getting too far ahead of themselves and were thinking that all we had to do was turn up and win. "

So if you feel the need to try to create a big deal of the "incident" to try to generate some enthusiasm/motivation then you obviously don't think the players are prepared to do their best without such motivation. Interesting. ;)

Jorge Horatio
17 Apr 2008, 14:51
Bit of good news on the older player front with 35 yr old Dan Dickfos now a member of the Hawks nest down at Lemke Rd. Look out Myne, his first game is aginst you guys. Good to see the older Lions mplayers putting back at state level i.e. Morrison, White, Shattock, Knobel,Fixter. Great for the game and the young players around them

therunner
18 Apr 2008, 02:15
Gday lads ,I know its early but can anybody help me out with a club next year as im moving their for work commitments in november. Want to get everything sorted now so that way im set and right. 189cms 76kgs on baller/foward. member of the geelong falcons 2007 team played 14 games with them. get back to me on this post as im very keen of a spot in 2009.

damochandler
18 Apr 2008, 15:17
my tips for this weekend for both, the velocity sports cup and the phc

mt gravatt. they should beat redlands pretty easily in this. they will be to strong across the park. redlands are on the improve and they will give it a good shake

morningside. they are looking good again this year. broadie will improve as the year goes along and there future is going to look good in years to come

zillmere. at home always play well and it will be interesting to see how many listed lions players will lining up on saturday. it will be a good game this one

labrador. i have tipped them to win the flag and they havent started well. i will remind you, zillmere started the 2006 season 1 and 3 and they made the gf. they beat southport at home last year and i reckon they will knock them off again

phc

aspley
magpies
sandgate
surfers paridise
noosa
cooly

Northern_kid
18 Apr 2008, 17:16
Mt Gravatt will make light work of Redlands. Watched the Redlands game on AFLQ tube, they set there game up from defense, where they run hard in waves. Fwd line is solid with Thompson and Aitken. Although THompson looked propy last week. Haven't seen Gravatt this yr, but they have done no wrong this year, and should account for Redlands easy, esp on a small ground like Dittman where Gravatts bigger bodies should prevail.

Labrador to win the match of the round over Southport. 6 am training session and a few heart to hearts, will have them breathing fire early. If they lose this, then it spells trouble for the early comp favs. Think that Labrador have more to play for.

Morningside over Broadbeach. Broadbeach will looking for there first win, and will be fired up. They were competitive against Southport last week. However they would have set themselves for Southport for that game. Morningside should be to strong.

Zillmere in a close one. Zillmere need to win this if they are a chance for top 4. Will be hard to beat at home. Should be a rippa game.

Jorge Horatio
21 Apr 2008, 14:11
Great to see Danny Dickfos back in the local comp playing for Sandgate. Good to see he still has the nouse and brains to defeat younger rivals and judging by the reaction from the boys still has plenty to offer in attack and forward 50 defence. Sandgate top 3 and loving the extra depth around the club this season. Looking good for the future with an average age of 22.

Lenny29
21 Apr 2008, 20:10
Great to see Danny Dickfos back in the local comp playing for Sandgate. Good to see he still has the nouse and brains to defeat younger rivals and judging by the reaction from the boys still has plenty to offer in attack and forward 50 defence. Sandgate top 3 and loving the extra depth around the club this season. Looking good for the future with an average age of 22.
Couldn't delay the comeback a week, could he?

Jackson7
22 Apr 2008, 11:45
how did he go first game back ? heard he might be carrying a bit of weight

Lenny29
22 Apr 2008, 12:49
Not as much as you'd think.

Jackson7
22 Apr 2008, 14:55
do u play for springwood lenny ? 1s or 2s ?>

Jorge Horatio
22 Apr 2008, 16:23

Well mate lets just say he was class above the rest considering he ran rings around his opponents with one session in 4 years under his belt. Mate if there was any extra weight it would be less then 5 kg from his playing weight from lions days

Lenny29
22 Apr 2008, 17:01
lol he was good but I think "ran rings around his opponents" is maybe a bit of hyperbole

Jorge Horatio
24 Apr 2008, 15:36
lol he was good but I think "ran rings around his opponents" is maybe a bit of hyperbole

Mate i think your feelings are obviously tainted a little maybe biased even. To play only 2 and a half quarters being nursed through i would say for him to kick 3 goals and set up 4 others is not a bad effort. Mate when his opponent had nothing and didnt even touch the pill to great effect i think i can safely say he ran rings around his opponent. Maybe the fact Springwood hadnt kicked a goal until the last quarter makes you a little upset, or perhaps watching your team go through training drills at half time may have well upset you too. Face it mate, every Sandgate player ran rings around there opponents that day, not just Dickfos. Stats dont lie.

cats35
24 Apr 2008, 15:41
I saw Dan Dicfos on Sunday watching his brother Rob running around for Redcliffe in the Masters comp. If that is putting a few kg's on then I'll go he. Looked in supurb nick and a nice bloke to boot.

Doug_Hondo
25 Apr 2008, 10:40

Couldnt get a touch ay lenny? Things looking up at puma land obviously....shouldnt of left the buffs!

Lenny29
25 Apr 2008, 13:00
Mate i think your feelings are obviously tainted a little maybe biased even. To play only 2 and a half quarters being nursed through i would say for him to kick 3 goals and set up 4 others is not a bad effort. Mate when his opponent had nothing and didnt even touch the pill to great effect i think i can safely say he ran rings around his opponent. Maybe the fact Springwood hadnt kicked a goal until the last quarter makes you a little upset, or perhaps watching your team go through training drills at half time may have well upset you too. Face it mate, every Sandgate player ran rings around there opponents that day, not just Dickfos. Stats dont lie.
I didn't say it wasn't a bad effort - I said he was good. Quite good, in fact. But just that "running rings around his opponents" was hyperbole. Which I stand by.

I'd dare say his opponent's job, being a full back, was to stop Dickfos getting the ball, as opposed to getting the ball himself. Which he didn't do overly well but the relevance of his opponent's possessions is not there.

Anyway, it's just a matter of semantics. And I wouldn't call the half time drill or that we didn't score a goal until the third quarter (not the last, as you put) upsetting, I'd call it ____ing embarassing. Especially against Sandgate of all teams.

I wouldn't be getting ahead of yourself by any means. Beating Maroochy, Grange and Springwood - who currently occupy 10th, 11th and 12th - doesn't mean squat. So don't be mouthing off just yet. Your club has been shit for years (when was the last time they made the finals?) and suddenly you beat the 3 worst teams and you're top of the world. FMG.

DH - Please don't bring up the Buffs - can't I just put that behind me? :)

Doug_Hondo
25 Apr 2008, 19:34
Lennys been hitting the Carlton Colds after the pies win and has fired up!

Lenny29
25 Apr 2008, 19:51
Lennys been hitting the Carlton Colds after the pies win and has fired up!
Haha. I haven't had a Carlton Cold since you've pulled on a Puma jumper!

i'm just not going to take shit from, of all people, a Seahawk fan. FFS!!!

Jorge Horatio
27 Apr 2008, 12:45
I didn't say it wasn't a bad effort - I said he was good. Quite good, in fact. But just that "running rings around his opponents" was hyperbole. Which I stand by.

I'd dare say his opponent's job, being a full back, was to stop Dickfos getting the ball, as opposed to getting the ball himself. Which he didn't do overly well but the relevance of his opponent's possessions is not there.

Anyway, it's just a matter of semantics. And I wouldn't call the half time drill or that we didn't score a goal until the third quarter (not the last, as you put) upsetting, I'd call it ____ing embarassing. Especially against Sandgate of all teams.

I wouldn't be getting ahead of yourself by any means. Beating Maroochy, Grange and Springwood - who currently occupy 10th, 11th and 12th - doesn't mean squat. So don't be mouthing off just yet. Your club has been shit for years (when was the last time they made the finals?) and suddenly you beat the 3 worst teams and you're top of the world. FMG.

DH - Please don't bring up the Buffs - can't I just put that behind me? :)

Yeah id agree there Lenny, it was ____ing embarrassing......and i was only watching.Just to update you there Lenny, Sandgate 4-1, Springwood 0-5 after the first five rounds, sorry i may be a little premature on my call of you guys at 0-5 but ill take my chances.
Sounds to me your getting a little defensive, i understand exactly your plight, your feeling the pain of losing players to Mt Gravatt and other clubs but welcome to the big world of senior football, now you know how it feels to have a div 1 side drain all your clubs talent and subsequently struggle to attract or main tain good players with having no money, which by judging the grounds and facilities at Springwood, you are struggling, so dont make out what a champion club you are as opposed to Sandgate, the statistics wouldnt stack up to well in your favour.

Yeah i know what your going through out there, Sandgate have felt it for years,plus had the added drama of having their home ground sold under them,difference being we are rebuilding a powerhouse club of the AFLQ, and did struggle for a while but like a true champion club are coming back whereas your club is lucky to be in the comp as you have not achieved very much in your time in the aflq state league. Your hate for Sandgate is appreciated. Best of luck for a win this year

Lenny29
27 Apr 2008, 13:38
Yeah id agree there Lenny, it was ____ing embarrassing......and i was only watching.Just to update you there Lenny, Sandgate 4-1, Springwood 0-5 after the first five rounds, sorry i may be a little premature on my call of you guys at 0-5 but ill take my chances.
Sounds to me your getting a little defensive, i understand exactly your plight, your feeling the pain of losing players to Mt Gravatt and other clubs but welcome to the big world of senior football, now you know how it feels to have a div 1 side drain all your clubs talent and subsequently struggle to attract or main tain good players with having no money, which by judging the grounds and facilities at Springwood, you are struggling, so dont make out what a champion club you are as opposed to Sandgate, the statistics wouldnt stack up to well in your favour.

Yeah i know what your going through out there, Sandgate have felt it for years,plus had the added drama of having their home ground sold under them,difference being we are rebuilding a powerhouse club of the AFLQ, and did struggle for a while but like a true champion club are coming back whereas your club is lucky to be in the comp as you have not achieved very much in your time in the aflq state league. Your hate for Sandgate is appreciated. Best of luck for a win this year
You've mis-interpreted me. I don't have a hatred for Sandgate. I'm just not going to take shit from a supporter of a club that's been god-ordinary for so long, and now they get a few wins against weak opposition and suddenly you're mouthing off like you support the greatest club on Earth.

Jorge Horatio
27 Apr 2008, 14:59
You've mis-interpreted me. I don't have a hatred for Sandgate. I'm just not going to take shit from a supporter of a club that's been god-ordinary for so long, and now they get a few wins against weak opposition and suddenly you're mouthing off like you support the greatest club on Earth.

Not a supporter bud. I will value that statement when your club contributes such a long, proud and successful one as that delivered by Sandgate.Im not gonna take shit from a supporter of a club who has had a few good years without being successful consistantly and suddenly thinks they support the greatest club on earth. Stats dont lie mate and i dont think Springwood is a name mentioned alongside Morningside, Sandgate, Zillmere, Wilston Grange,Mt Gravatt when you consider traditional AFLQ powerhouses. As i stated before great clubs embrace drama ands come out the other side stronger.

Lenny29
27 Apr 2008, 15:42
Not a supporter bud. I will value that statement when your club contributes such a long, proud and successful one as that delivered by Sandgate.Im not gonna take shit from a supporter of a club who has had a few good years without being successful consistantly and suddenly thinks they support the greatest club on earth. Stats dont lie mate and i dont think Springwood is a name mentioned alongside Morningside, Sandgate, Zillmere, Wilston Grange,Mt Gravatt when you consider traditional AFLQ powerhouses. As i stated before great clubs embrace drama ands come out the other side stronger.
I don't think Springwood's the greatest club on Earth. But I didn't come in here making disparaging marks about your club (until you began - and even then, I was only pointing out why you shouldn't be throwing stones from your glass house).

Jorge Horatio
27 Apr 2008, 18:44
I don't think Springwood's the greatest club on Earth. But I didn't come in here making disparaging marks about your club (until you began - and even then, I was only pointing out why you shouldn't be throwing stones from your glass house).

YES LENNY THATS WHAT YOU WERE TRYING TO DO

I state your team didnt get a goal till 3 quarters in and that Sandgate players ran rings around Springwood in a game they won by 100, which were fair and clear observations. You refuted this and stated that my observations were incorrect or hyperbole. I think once i corrected you, you got a little upset and thats when you decided to turn childish with your comments. The disparaging comments from you followed......remember, or here ill refresh your memory

Quote by Lenny29
"Anyway, it's just a matter of semantics. And I wouldn't call the half time drill or that we didn't score a goal until the third quarter (not the last, as you put) upsetting, I'd call it ____ing embarassing.<< ""Especially against Sandgate of all teams"">>.
"I wouldn't be getting ahead of yourself by any means. Beating Maroochy, Grange and Springwood - who currently occupy 10th, 11th and 12th - doesn't mean squat. So don't be mouthing off just yet. <<""Your club has been shit for years"">> (when was the last time they made the finals?) and suddenly you beat the 3 worst teams and you're top of the world. FMG". End Quote

Case proven champ, you cannot accept criticism yet give it out in truck loads. Im over this shit, This petty school boy pissing contest over your non acceptance of a little observation .You obviously hold your club high as do i but i think maybe a little look in the mirror before casting aspertions. You'll find the road very tough for the next few years. See you in the finals.

Lenny29
27 Apr 2008, 19:57
You don't reckon this post is inflammatory?

The parts about the half-time drill and the no goals until the last quarter were clearly designed to provoke. Clearly! It had nothing to do with the discussion at place - a semantical one about whether Dickfos "ran rings", in which I had merely questioned whether he was as above everyone else as you made out. If you had have kept it on that topic, that would've been just about the end of the discussion.

And yep, I can see how you see I went too far in response, Bay 13-style about attacking your club because you attacked mine but it was still only in response to a supporter/player/whatever you are, from a side who hasn't tasted success recently, attacking another about non-performance.

Anyway, I'm about as over it as you are, so happy to call a truce. Good luck to your boys - I'd actually prefer a Sandgate/Mayne type to get over the PBC/Surfers types, but hey. Put it behind us?

HUNTER1990
27 Apr 2008, 20:35
QAFL DIV 1 TEAMS LOOKING FOR PLAYERS
Im thinking about moving to Queensland for work at the end of the year and will be looking to play div 1 football in the velocity sports cup.
Spent 4 years at a TAC club in melbourne.
Could anyone put me on the right track to get in touch with a club?????

Lenny29
27 Apr 2008, 20:42
Im thinking about moving to Queensland for work at the end of the year and will be looking to play div 1 football in the velocity sports cup.
http://qfl.aflq.com.au has phone numbers etc for the clubs

Depends on where you're looking to live, really.

Doug_Hondo
28 Apr 2008, 10:48

Go to Sandgate mate, they're a powerhouse club of qld apparently...

Jorge Horatio
28 Apr 2008, 18:22

Obviously a funny man. If you read the comment and excerted the points i made in full then you would be fine. There are not too many teams still around mate that can claim the success of Sandgate. Why even the AFLQ website this week claimed the Mayne V Sandgate game a highlight as the "two traditional heavyweights of AFLQ clashing" but hey you know more then them champ

Jorge Horatio
28 Apr 2008, 18:23
You don't reckon this post is inflammatory?

The parts about the half-time drill and the no goals until the last quarter were clearly designed to provoke. Clearly! It had nothing to do with the discussion at place - a semantical one about whether Dickfos "ran rings", in which I had merely questioned whether he was as above everyone else as you made out. If you had have kept it on that topic, that would've been just about the end of the discussion.

And yep, I can see how you see I went too far in response, Bay 13-style about attacking your club because you attacked mine but it was still only in response to a supporter/player/whatever you are, from a side who hasn't tasted success recently, attacking another about non-performance.

Anyway, I'm about as over it as you are, so happy to call a truce. Good luck to your boys - I'd actually prefer a Sandgate/Mayne type to get over the PBC/Surfers types, but hey. Put it behind us?

Done and Dusted mate

HUNTER1990
28 Apr 2008, 18:24
thanks champ

Doug_Hondo
28 Apr 2008, 19:10
Fish are biting today!

Open Forward Line
28 Apr 2008, 22:20

What is a Powerhouse Hondo? - Dickfos, Long, Waters, Zeidler, Ebsworth etc would you call that a team developing its youth. I am with you.

Who did Springwood have worth taking - wasnt there a quality Redland factor in amongst it

Open Forward Line
28 Apr 2008, 22:30
Eagles looked the goods Friday against a just going morningside in the second half. Flaherty would be a big loss with his knee injury - was a great target for them. Payne a real champion just keeps getting better.
There young players look good. Lilico looked injured.

Question Damo - you claim to be a Panther and you were in Zillmeres rooms before the game. What are you really?

damochandler
29 Apr 2008, 10:44
Eagles looked the goods Friday against a just going morningside in the second half. Flaherty would be a big loss with his knee injury - was a great target for them. Payne a real champion just keeps getting better.
There young players look good. Lilico looked injured.

Question Damo - you claim to be a Panther and you were in Zillmeres rooms before the game. What are you really?

i was a panther for 2 years and they were some great times. i am trying to have a break from footy this year i was asked to leave the rooms before the start of the game and i did so anyway. the eagles played well they just simply outplayed them. payne bog 3 weeks in a row

Jackson7
29 Apr 2008, 12:46
Open Forward Line...

a team with just 6 members of its A grade side over 21..... I would call that developing your youth..

maybe some facts or research wouldnt go astray ?

Jorge Horatio
29 Apr 2008, 15:46
Open Forward Line...

a team with just 6 members of its A grade side over 21..... I would call that developing your youth..

maybe some facts or research wouldnt go astray ?

Nah Jackson, unfortunately facts and research are not focal points for the people that know everything. He will come back with his opinion that at the end of the day dont really mean shit

Doug_Hondo
29 Apr 2008, 17:23
What is a Powerhouse Hondo? - Dickfos, Long, Waters, Zeidler, Ebsworth etc would you call that a team developing its youth. I am with you.

Who did Springwood have worth taking - wasnt there a quality Redland factor in amongst it

Mate i have nothing to do with springwood???

Open Forward Line
29 Apr 2008, 22:49

Jorge havent you glanced over to the magnificent clubrooms you dont have on the wing and just out of interest your facilities dont exactly meet the standard that you so arrogantly mention as being of POWERHOUSE standards in AFLQ div1. Arrogance and Knowledge very mixed up - strong staements are not always true statements my friend.

In saying that to you personally Bomber Adams is a great operator who always puts the club first and is doing a great job for Northside Football. May it all fall into place and Sandgate once again become the proud club they once were.

Relax and enjoy the ride.

Jorge Horatio
30 Apr 2008, 10:53
Jorge havent you glanced over to the magnificent clubrooms you dont have on the wing and just out of interest your facilities dont exactly meet the standard that you so arrogantly mention as being of POWERHOUSE standards in AFLQ div1. Arrogance and Knowledge very mixed up - strong staements are not always true statements my friend.

In saying that to you personally Bomber Adams is a great operator who always puts the club first and is doing a great job for Northside Football. May it all fall into place and Sandgate once again become the proud club they once were.

Relax and enjoy the ride.

Never said AFLQ div 1 champ. All i stated was that Sandgate was a traditional powerhouse of the AFLQ/QAFL QAFC or whatever they have been called. End of story

Chasing the Dream
30 Apr 2008, 22:04
Interesting enough I listened to RIchard Griffiths talk about the future of the ALFQ at the GC17 forum tonight.

He spoke in pretty positive terms of the Northern Territory entering the competition. Could it happen as soon as next year in order to prevent a 9 team competition?

Lenny29
30 Apr 2008, 23:09
Isn't that what the Gold Coast team is for?

The NT might come in the year after or 2011 when GC move on.

Chasing the Dream
30 Apr 2008, 23:18
Isn't that what the Gold Coast team is for?

The NT might come in the year after or 2011 when GC move on.

After tonight me of the opinion that they have no plans for the GC AFL team to ever play in the AFLQ;)

Expect big changes:eek:

Open Forward Line
3 May 2008, 17:55
How was big Dave Hughes last night Doug Hondo?

Lazy weekend no footy

Redlands a big chance tomorrow

Open Forward Line
3 May 2008, 17:57
Can the Pumas salvage something tomorrow Lenny? How do you rate yourseves against Cooly?

Lenny29
3 May 2008, 19:08
Can the Pumas salvage something tomorrow Lenny? How do you rate yourseves against Cooly?
I don't think it's worth rating ourselves against anyone, to be honest.

Whether it's PBC or Maroochy, the real result for us is in how we play as opposed to the final result. It's why we come off relatively pleased with a 20 goal loss to PBC and filthy at a 12 goal loss to Sandgate.

I think if we can play to our game plan, gel as a team (no mean feat given the amount of new players we have) and do it for four quarters - we'll be a shot to win our share of games. But against who that is I'm not willing to, nor am I able to, speculate - as we really don't see any team until we play them, we don't know what they're like and therefore any judging of ourselves until we play a team is pointless.

In saying that, you'd hope for a better effort than the Sandgate game.

Chasing the Dream
4 May 2008, 19:16
Redland upset the Suncoast 15.19.109 to 11.19.85

Lenny can be a little happier with a better display against Coolie 12.14.86 to 8.5.53 (only 2 goals in it at 3/4 time.)

Lenny29
5 May 2008, 12:47
Redland upset the Suncoast 15.19.109 to 11.19.85

Lenny can be a little happier with a better display against Coolie 12.14.86 to 8.5.53 (only 2 goals in it at 3/4 time.)
We're happier that we finally put in a four quarter performance, take out ten minutes of the 2nd quarter and 5 minutes in the last.

It's all, slowly, getting there.

Northern_kid
5 May 2008, 13:34
We are about a 3rd of the way through the season.

2 certainties to make final 4 are Gravatt and Southport

3rd and 4th spot still up for grabs. Out of:
Zillmere/Morningside/Labrador and Broadbeach.

Think Suncoast and Redlands will be close but wil struggle to make top4.

Southport and Mt Gravatt are like Geelong and Hawks of the AFL at the moment. Clearly a cut above other teams at the moment.

Zillmere remind me a little of the doggies. Have there tails up like to play hard running game.
Labrador like St Kilda promise alot??
Morningside-Like the swans have some experience in the middle like playing on small homeground.
Broadbeach- Like Richmond. Up and coming young team, have lost some close ones
Redlands- Like Carlton, up and coming, on the rise but not quite there.

damochandler
5 May 2008, 16:54

Southport and Mt Gravatt are like Geelong and Hawks of the AFL at the moment. Clearly a cut above other teams at the moment.

Zillmere remind me a little of the doggies. Have there tails up like to play hard running game.
Morningside-Like the swans have some experience in the middle like playing on small homeground.

long way to go. remember last year it was a 2 horse race all the way through to the prelim final and those 2 didnt face off in the gf. broadie, they are still going to be down there with redlands i say. labrador have to gell sooner than later if they want to contend. morningside, they can still hurt a few teams finals hopes i say and they can still make it into the top 2, it has to start this week against the arh nemisses. this weekends games are going to be ver interesting

Doug_Hondo
5 May 2008, 17:20
How was big Dave Hughes last night Doug Hondo?

Lazy weekend no footy

Redlands a big chance tomorrow

Yeah highly entertaining...nice quiet weekend no footy.

Lenny stop talking rubbish, the pumas are a rubble. A certain star recruit single handedly destroyed the club. Playing ordinary 18s wont improve you blokes.

Lenny29
5 May 2008, 19:51

Lenny stop talking rubbish, the pumas are a rubble. A certain star recruit single handedly destroyed the club. Playing ordinary 18s wont improve you blokes.
You're right Doug. Why bother trying to improve, why bother giving kids games to see if they're any good - let's just pack it in, accept we're no good and move on.

Under no illusions that we're finals bound any time soon, but I don't think jagging a win or two is unrealistic as we improve throughout the season.

Doug_Hondo
5 May 2008, 20:51
Giving dud kids a go is pretty much packing it in....

acuguy
5 May 2008, 21:28

Was it the coach?

Jorge Horatio
6 May 2008, 10:41
Was it the coach?

Yeah thats what i was wondering, coz there were apparently big wraps on the incoming coach but have seen not to much to crow about

Lenny29
6 May 2008, 11:34
Yeah thats what i was wondering, coz there were apparently big wraps on the incoming coach but have seen not to much to crow about
No chance he's talking about the current coach.

Open Forward Line
6 May 2008, 23:40
What is the standard of coaching in Pineapple Cup like? What are the characteristics of the good coaches? Is it the coach or the quality of the playing group at the Pumas?
Shed some light so we can draw comparisons Lenny
What is the formula for a goood coach backed by a good playing list.
What did Moncur do at Springwood?

Open Forward Line
6 May 2008, 23:46

If Zillmere bring there A Grade game they could role Gravatt you would think. If Flahertys knee comes up and Forbes is back that would be a great start and then maybe Weller could add something. The last 2 could be underdone.
Morningside would need to find a fair bit to beat Southport - Lilico ribs have had a rest and Abey knee will be better for a week off. They have McGuckin, Tough and Conroy back in the 2's this week. They should get stronger Damo.
Lab v BBeach playing for bottom spot. Vigus, Knobel and Shattock all return - will be a great hit out. Could be emotional.
Good on Redland - you can only beat what your opposition play and no more. They are moving forward

Lenny29
7 May 2008, 11:20
What is the standard of coaching in Pineapple Cup like? What are the characteristics of the good coaches? Is it the coach or the quality of the playing group at the Pumas?
Shed some light so we can draw comparisons Lenny
What is the formula for a goood coach backed by a good playing list.
What did Moncur do at Springwood?
Are you talking about why we're not going well?

I don't think it's any secret we had a player exodus after last year and are simply struggling to replace most of them. But the blokes we've got are having a crack and improving every week under a new (arguably, the first in a number of years) game plan that seems to be working.

I don't think this is the right place to go into why so many left, I wasn't there last year in any case and we've moved on anyway.

damochandler
7 May 2008, 18:01
If Zillmere bring there A Grade game they could role Gravatt you would think. If Flahertys knee comes up and Forbes is back that would be a great start and then maybe Weller could add something. The last 2 could be underdone.
Morningside would need to find a fair bit to beat Southport - Lilico ribs have had a rest and Abey knee will be better for a week off. They have McGuckin, Tough and Conroy back in the 2's this week. They should get stronger Damo.
Lab v BBeach playing for bottom spot. Vigus, Knobel and Shattock all return - will be a great hit out. Could be emotional.
Good on Redland - you can only beat what your opposition play and no more. They are moving forward

zillmere can beat the vultures this week, i have no doubt about that, the vultures wont have white. morningside always comes up for this game against southport, where ever they are on the ladder and i am sure lilico wont miss this one. the siders beat them 3 out of 4 last year. labrador need to win something chronic. they got the stars and they need to start performing and fast or the season will be over before they know it

morphous
7 May 2008, 18:10
zillmere can beat the vultures this week, i have no doubt about that, the vultures wont have white. morningside always comes up for this game against southport, where ever they are on the ladder and i am sure lilico wont miss this one. the siders beat them 3 out of 4 last year. labrador need to win something chronic. they got the stars and they need to start performing and fast or the season will be over before they know it

Vultures over the Eagles by 30pts
Southport over the Panthers by 40pts
Labrador over the Cats by 60pts