View Full Version : Aflq News
Pages :
[
16]
onefootlong
8 May 2008, 17:30
can anyone tell me matt fife is playing this season? plays aflq div2. was a gun junior
Northern_kid
9 May 2008, 11:45
Zillmere have a few key injuries and have 4 of there qualiity U 18's unavailbale.. Will be a huge win if they got up over the undefeated Vultures.
you wouldnt think it likely that Zillmere will get up ... they're a team of fighters but Mt Gravatt are just awesome ... you can shut down 2 or 3 star players and another 3 or 4 will step up in their place.
i think Labrador well get some much needed confidence with a win over Broady ... the Cats played well against the Lions but got over run when Dean Howard did an injury, and with him still not back i dont think their midfield can match up.
Morningside v Southport i dont think will be the blow thats expected ... at the Siders home ground they're always tough to beat and they'll be much better for the week off and i've heard word round the camp fire that they'll be running out with alot to prove and will be absolutely pumped up.
Jackson7
11 May 2008, 11:45
ohhhh lenny...just looked at the results.....ouch
damochandler
14 May 2008, 20:33
great wins by zillmere and the siders on the weekend. maybe it isnt a 2 horse race, anything can happen ove the next 12 weeks
it is starting to shape up like anyone can beat anyone at the moment which is great for the competition ... i cant remember the last time it was round 6 and every team had won at least one game ... this week looks like another predictable one ... but who knows really ...
Oddball
15 May 2008, 10:26
it is starting to shape up like anyone can beat anyone at the moment which is great for the competition ... i cant remember the last time it was round 6 and every team had won at least one game ... this week looks like another predictable one ... but who knows really ...
That might change with the BIG news coming out of Labrador. With Fixter and Walker going we will either find they start to "gel" and perform like they should or will fall over altogether. They have a challenge this weekend to get over an in form Eagles outfit at O'Callaghan park.
The turn-up being the great turnaround by the Panthers last week, albeit on the small ground. Realistically any weekend where both the Southport Sharks and the Vultures get beaten is a beauty.
It's good to see however that the competition is becoming more even, which should see the standard continue to improve. :thumbsu:
Jackson7
15 May 2008, 11:59
anyone have any inside word on why Walker and Fixter left ?
damochandler
15 May 2008, 12:06
anyone have any inside word on why Walker and Fixter left ?
on the aflq website it said fixter is moving back down south to play in albury. i dont know about walker. they are in a shams down at labrador. this might spur them into action now
Oddball
15 May 2008, 12:57
great wins by zillmere and the siders on the weekend. maybe it isnt a 2 horse race, anything can happen ove the next 12 weeks
Tossing a coin DamoC to see who you will support this week? :D
Oddball
15 May 2008, 22:20
Vultures over the Eagles by 30pts
Southport over the Panthers by 40pts
Labrador over the Cats by 60pts
Hmmm, how are you going in the office tipping comp? :D
morphous
16 May 2008, 08:35
Hmmm, how are you going in the office tipping comp? :D
lol not that great.
Oddball
16 May 2008, 10:40
lol not that great.
I'll give you a chance to get square:
Panthers v Redland - Panthers at home should win by 25 points, but Redland are not to be taken lightly.
Cats v Vultures - Cats on a high after beating Tigers, but Vultures will be hurting after a home loss last week - Vultures by 30 points
Southport v Lions - Lions will be strong with a good group coming back from AFL team, but Southport hard to beat at home - Lions just in a close one
Eagles v Tigers - Eagles in top form and at home should win, however the Tigers can't afford to lose another game. Expect Tigers to be full on but Eagles to win by 20 points
morphous
16 May 2008, 10:55
Panthers v Redland - Changing my tip to Redland.
Cats v Vultures - Vultures by 50
Southport v Lions - Southport at home by 20
Eagles v Tigers - Eagles by 30
herbert#5
20 May 2008, 14:53
Would any one care to tell me how kurt niklaus is going at south port he plaed at my club last season very freakish back men..
very well actually ... stitching up most of the forwards he plays on ... i thought he was a bit unlucky not to get a call up into the 35 man state squad as he'd easily be one of the top defenders.
dynamo backman
21 May 2008, 17:46
Can anyone see any of the PHC teams getting near Palm Beach now they have Fulton there??
going off his current season form i'd say other teams have more of a chance with him there ... but since he's played with 3/4 the team before ... probably not no ...
herbert#5
22 May 2008, 12:45
yer that sounds like the barra i know..has he just been playing down back or up forward a bit???
played a bit onball last year and has the tank to do it..
as far as i've seen he's only been down back ... Southport have a fair forward line as is so they probably only need him down back at the moment ... will keep a look out for a change up tho.
Chasing the Dream
22 May 2008, 20:07
What the heck is going on at Labrador?????
Fulton at Palmy back with his old Broadbeach mates??? They were already unbackable favourites for the flag.........
Up North
23 May 2008, 09:24
What the heck is going on at Labrador?????
Fulton at Palmy back with his old Broadbeach mates??? They were already unbackable favourites for the flag.........
Just out of interest, what is the salary cap in the PHC?
morphous
23 May 2008, 10:01
I think it may rival the Indian Premier League
perhaps they're all just playing for the love of the game and loyalty to their club ...... bahahahahahaha
Lenny29
23 May 2008, 11:17
A couple of years back it was a minimum of $15k and a maximum, I think, of $30k? Maybe $50k?
Up North
23 May 2008, 11:23
maybe Palm Beach is really the GC17 people spending up big to get a foundation team
Oddball
23 May 2008, 12:24
Panthers v Redland - Changing my tip to Redland.
Cats v Vultures - Vultures by 50
Southport v Lions - Southport at home by 20
Eagles v Tigers - Eagles by 30
Hey Morph - we both had a bad day, but I think I got one more right.
This week:
Panthers vs Suncoast: Lions just - they will have a full list I think
Southport vs Vultures: A draw and I hope they belt the crap out of each other
Cats vs Eagles: Should be a cracker with two young sides going head to head - Cats are hard to beat at home, but an upset wouldn't surprise. - Cats just
Tigers vs Redland: Tigers have cleaned-up their list and have a committed group will win.
morphous
23 May 2008, 13:04
Hey Morph - we both had a bad day, but I think I got one more right.
This week:
Panthers vs Suncoast: Lions just - they will have a full list I think
Southport vs Vultures: A draw and I hope they belt the crap out of each other
Cats vs Eagles: Should be a cracker with two young sides going head to head - Cats are hard to beat at home, but an upset wouldn't surprise. - Cats just
Tigers vs Redland: Tigers have cleaned-up their list and have a committed group will win.
I'm giving up Oddball lol
Oddball
23 May 2008, 13:09
perhaps they're all just playing for the love of the game and loyalty to their club ...... bahahahahahaha
A "contra" deal happening perhaps? :cool:
Oddball
23 May 2008, 13:10
I'm giving up Oddball lol
Surely not you're only one behind - albeit in a two horse race you're either first or last. :D
Any truth to the story that Palm Beach-Currumbin are changing their name to Broadbeach-Currumbin Cats.People like to knock other teams about buying premierships but I do'nt hear much being said about
this fiasco.
morphous
23 May 2008, 13:14
Any truth to the story that Palm Beach-Currumbin are changing their name to Broadbeach-Currumbin Cats.People like to knock other teams about buying premierships but I do'nt hear much being said about
this fiasco.
Or Shaun Hart taking on Mark Browning and playing the state u18 players when there is an agreement not to.
morphous
23 May 2008, 13:15
Ok Oddball.
Lions
Vultures
Eagles
Bombers
Oddball
23 May 2008, 13:18
this fiasco.
Not sure the AFLQ boys could care about what's happening in the Pineapple Hotel Cup with regard to a Salary Cap. Between Palmy and Aspley you could fund a few State League clubs (read Velocity Cup) though - at least Palmy seem to be able to "buy" some success.
Maybe the AFLQ hierachy are happy to see the "older" hacks off the scene, because the current crop of young guns in most State League clubs are playing an exciting brand of footy.
morphous,
The perfomance of the QLD U18's in the recent championships
would not worry opposition coaches in the AFLQ one bit. Three straight losses was a very ordinary performnace...still sounds like they wil be playing in the new GC17 team under Michael "I want to coach but wo'nt do an appenticeship cause i'm sooo great" Voss!
Oddball
23 May 2008, 13:28
morphous,
The perfomance of the QLD U18's in the recent championships
would not worry opposition coaches in the AFLQ one bit. Three straight losses was a very ordinary performnace...still sounds like they wil be playing in the new GC17 team under Michael "I want to coach but wo'nt do an appenticeship cause i'm sooo great" Voss!
I think Morph's point was that the State League clubs were told that the U/18 Rep players were to have a rest last week, even though they were back in Brisvegas. Harty decided that Brownass's opinion counts for squat and played them - and had a win. The other Clubs including the Vultures didn't.
My opinion is that if they feel OK they should play - would make them better players in the end.
morphous
23 May 2008, 13:35
I think Morph's point was that the State League clubs were told that the U/18 Rep players were to have a rest last week, even though they were back in Brisvegas. Harty decided that Brownass's opinion counts for squat and played them - and had a win. The other Clubs including the Vultures didn't.
My opinion is that if they feel OK they should play - would make them better players in the end.
Yep.
damochandler
23 May 2008, 14:03
the only way palmy were going to win a premiership, was to buy a heap of player like they have. tell me how did they when they did have these players in the side. as i recall 1 year they 19 games in a row befroe the gf and they got beaten.
dynamo backman
23 May 2008, 14:14
I can tell you all that the boys at palmy are definately not playing for the amount of cash that some people out there think, if they were then they would be scattered all around the coast at various clubs earning much more than they are on at palmy, they play together as a group of great mates, playing under a coach that they all play for and are having fun along the way while being quite successful
Oddball
23 May 2008, 14:26
I can tell you all that the boys at palmy are definately not playing for the amount of cash that some people out there think, if they were then they would be scattered all around the coast at various clubs earning much more than they are on at palmy, they play together as a group of great mates, playing under a coach that they all play for and are having fun along the way while being quite successful
Hey Dynamo, don't play for Palmy do you?
OK I'll take your word for it - don't think I'm convinced though.
Any idea why Fulton and Co. left Broady to go to Labrador and then want to head to Palmy - all for the love of the game I guess :D
dynamo backman
23 May 2008, 15:16
the reason korey left labrador is because as the paper said he didnt want to train 4 times a week and wanted to play with his mates again and have some fun and train a couple of nights a week.
was that the Gold Coast Bulleton by chance? ... Terry Wilson - never lets the truth get in the way of a good story ...
dynamo backman
23 May 2008, 18:00
dont worry mate that is the truth, there is no way Korey went down to Palm Beach for money..not one player there is there for the money..just there to, as i say again, play with good mates, have some fun and hopefully a bit of success along the way
Lenny29
23 May 2008, 18:42
dont worry mate that is the truth, there is no way Korey went down to Palm Beach for money..not one player there is there for the money..just there to, as i say again, play with good mates, have some fun and hopefully a bit of success along the way
Based on that, given there are so many ex-Broady boys "taking over" the PBC senior side, are there any long-term Lions there with their nose out of joint about being bumped for these incoming stars?
Just curious, really.
dynamo backman
23 May 2008, 18:58
No lenny there is definately no noses out of joint.. believe it or not the whole senior team gets along great with all the seconds and also guys who would have normally played seniors are now going great guns in the seconds and coach o'brien takes a great interest in the up and coming stars out of the palmy 18's, club harmony all round mate
morphous
23 May 2008, 21:35
Then why didn't Drake play at Redland like he was going to if all the PBC players are playing for 'the love of the game' ?
morphous
24 May 2008, 19:53
Surely not you're only one behind - albeit in a two horse race you're either first or last. :D
4/4!!
Oddball
25 May 2008, 19:01
4/4!!
I'm already thinking of next week - can't beat that
Oddball
28 May 2008, 10:41
Sad day for both AFL footy and the AFLQ with the passing of the "Galloping Gasometer" last night. Mick was a great servant of football in Queensland, an immortal at North Melbourne and more importantly a really nice fella.
Condolances to Nettie, Ricky, Danny and Dale. :(
tigertiger
28 May 2008, 10:47
Im up on the Gold Coast on Sunday (Broadbeach) can anyone reccomend a AFL friendly pub I could watch the Richmond v Sydney Game at?
Mat the Cat
28 May 2008, 14:56
Im up on the Gold Coast on Sunday (Broadbeach) can anyone reccomend a AFL friendly pub I could watch the Richmond v Sydney Game at?
Try the Liars' Bar (beach end of the Oasis Shopping Centre). They usually have at least one tv showing the footy.
damochandler
29 May 2008, 19:14
another good weekend of footy coming up this weekend. i hope mayne win on saturday and smash palmy. mick will help. mick was a great bloke, i have known for a while now and he will be misse. i give my best wishes to dale, danny, ricky and nettie. go the tigers sing the song on saturday with gusto
hardballgets05
30 May 2008, 10:13
Dynamo....any truth to the rumour that Hart introduced drug or alcohol testing and that may have caused a bunch of players to pick up their bat and ball and go elsewhere where the regulations (ie testing etc) are not as stringent?? - or perhaps that type of behaviour is not even discouraged???
Just a rumour I've heard...
Also, a shame when the AFLQ has an article on its own website declaring that picking up Fulton "guarantees the premiership to PBC" after 7 rounds. Great work AFLQ - salary cap is working beautifully...so here's a suggestion - what about giving the points system that was half-heartedly tried a couple of years ago another shot?? works in other leagues quite well I'm told.
Lenny29
30 May 2008, 11:08
Dynamo....any truth to the rumour that Hart introduced drug or alcohol testing and that may have caused a bunch of players to pick up their bat and ball and go elsewhere where the regulations (ie testing etc) are not as stringent?? - or perhaps that type of behaviour is not even discouraged???
Just a rumour I've heard...
Also, a shame when the AFLQ has an article on its own website declaring that picking up Fulton "guarantees the premiership to PBC" after 7 rounds. Great work AFLQ - salary cap is working beautifully...so here's a suggestion - what about giving the points system that was half-heartedly tried a couple of years ago another shot?? works in other leagues quite well I'm told.
Something along the lines of that the points system doesn't encourage clubs (and, therefore, the league) to recruit better players and therefore become a higher standard of play.
I don't agree with that reasoning at all but that's what I heard when they withdrew the system.
Oddball
30 May 2008, 11:18
Hey Morph,
You smashed me last week with outstanding tipping and I've gone from the Penthouse to the Outhouse.
This week:
LABRADOR v MORNINGSIDE: Tigers hard to beat at home and must win, but Panthers will prevail
SOUTHPORT v BROADBEACH: Cats are getting better every week, but can't beat a Sharks side that has been having such a bad run and will now be angry
REDLAND v ZILLMERE EAGLES: Eagles are going great, but Redland have been hard to beat at home - who will adapt to the wet conditions? A draw!
SUNCOAST v MT GRAVATT: A sloppy Gabba and a full-strength Lions. Lions to start well but will tire to allow the Vultures a win (bugger)
morphous
30 May 2008, 11:23
Hey Morph,
You smashed me last week with outstanding tipping and I've gone from the Penthouse to the Outhouse.
This week:
LABRADOR v MORNINGSIDE: Tigers hard to beat at home and must win, but Panthers will prevail
SOUTHPORT v BROADBEACH: Cats are getting better every week, but can't beat a Sharks side that has been having such a bad run and will now be angry
REDLAND v ZILLMERE EAGLES: Eagles are going great, but Redland have been hard to beat at home - who will adapt to the wet conditions? A draw!
SUNCOAST v MT GRAVATT: A sloppy Gabba and a full-strength Lions. Lions to start well but will tire to allow the Vultures a win (bugger)
Panthers
Sharks
Redland
Lions (now being played at Coorparoo 2pm due to the wet weather)
hardballgets05
30 May 2008, 11:45
Something along the lines of that the points system doesn't encourage clubs (and, therefore, the league) to recruit better players and therefore become a higher standard of play.
I don't agree with that reasoning at all but that's what I heard when they withdrew the system.
mmmm...yes good excuse for " the rich clubs didn't want it"!!
encourages clubs to develop their own players but still allows for clubs to recruit - its a balance thing...the one thing it does do is stop the boom-bust "buy a flag, broke the next" cycle..
hankevans
30 May 2008, 12:13
100mm of Rain on the Sunshine Coast last night.... the teams would be hoping its low tide at Maroochy and Noosa...
Lenny29
30 May 2008, 14:11
100mm of Rain on the Sunshine Coast last night.... the teams would be hoping its low tide at Maroochy and Noosa...
Apparently some chance of the games being called off - will wait and see.
Does anyone know what's happening with the Burleigh/Noosa game that was called off earlier in the season? Are they re-scheduling or just giving them both 2 points?
damochandler
30 May 2008, 16:48
Apparently some chance of the games being called off - will wait and see.
Does anyone know what's happening with the Burleigh/Noosa game that was called off earlier in the season? Are they re-scheduling or just giving them both 2 points?
i think its being played the weekend of the country carnival. i might be wrong
morphous
1 Jun 2008, 12:23
Panthers
Sharks
Redland
Lions (now being played at Coorparoo 2pm due to the wet weather)
3/4 vs your 2/4
Too good again!
Am already studying the form for two weeks time
Home Truth
2 Jun 2008, 21:33
Hey does anyone know what has happened to thornton from mt gravatt? he must be injured because he isnt even in the 2s, although thats probably where he is most suited.
dynamo backman
3 Jun 2008, 19:54
damo, unfortunately you didnt get your wish for mayne to smash palmy but they certainly surprised a few down at palmy, they came out very fired up and they do have a pretty good forward line with some quality talls, they will stretch a few teams throughout the year... sandgate seems to have fallen off a bit now that they have played a few of the better teams,
Open Forward Line
4 Jun 2008, 01:23
Hey does anyone know what has happened to thornton from mt gravatt? he must be injured because he isnt even in the 2s, although thats probably where he is most suited.
Has taken a few weeks off to get his body right apparently - was playing good footy. Just got into 1's and had a few body issues his brother said. Super bloke - looked like a senior player I thought
Home Truth
5 Jun 2008, 20:37
Has taken a few weeks off to get his body right apparently - was playing good footy. Just got into 1's and had a few body issues his brother said. Super bloke - looked like a senior player I thought
Yes I'm mates with Rory Lake and he said Thorton kicked 2 against zillmere and lakey thought he was going good.
Oddball
14 Jun 2008, 15:43
Weekly Tipping Comp for Round 10:
Suncoast vs Redland - Suncoast by 79 points :D
B/beach vs Redland - Cats by 35 points
Mt Gravatt vs M/side - Vultures (:() by 20 points
Labrador vs Suncoast - Lions by 35 points
Zillmere vs Southport - Eagles by 15 points
morphous
14 Jun 2008, 16:12
B/beach vs Redland
Mt Gravatt vs M/side
Labrador vs Suncoast
Zillmere vs Southport
Oddball
15 Jun 2008, 22:12
Cats by 84 points
Vultures by 36 points
Lions by 39 points
Sharks by 38 points
Is that 3 each?
morphous
16 Jun 2008, 09:04
Cats by 84 points
Vultures by 36 points
Lions by 39 points
Sharks by 38 points
Is that 3 each?
yep we tied.
Great time to jump into this tipping comp and take the Bronze!
Oddball
16 Jun 2008, 22:51
Great time to jump into this tipping comp and take the Bronze!
More than welcome to take up the third spot. However given our tipping skills to suggest you will only take the Bronze tells me you might be an underachiever. :D
Will have to have a special GM to decide on anymore starters (just in case I come 4th)
damochandler
18 Jun 2008, 19:42
suncoast will fade. they allways do.
TheBrownDog
18 Jun 2008, 19:54
suncoast will fade. they allways do.
They didn't in 2001.
They success of Suncoast depends on injuries to Brisbane Lions players, which haven't been too bad this year, touch wood.
They didn't in 2001.
They success of Suncoast depends on injuries to Brisbane Lions players, which haven't been too bad this year, touch wood.
Spot on. Copeland kicked 7 on the weekend, I think in probably 50% AFL teams in the comp he would be in their best 22, so of course he's going to dominate the QAFL. Cheynee Stiller is also far too good for the comp, and he's had to play a few games down there this year as well.
majority of the time for the players dropping back to play for Suncoast, they can tear the game appart ... but they just dont care ... Copeland is probably one of the worst offenders ... tho he seems to have realised now that he's going to have to earn his call up.
damochandler
19 Jun 2008, 15:05
last year morningside played the 3 times. them siders won 2 and the lions won the first game. in the second game the siders beat them by 13 goals i think it it was and they had 16 listed players in that day. i think they were running 4rd at that time. they got smashed in the qualifying final by 15 goals last year. if they were a fair dinkum side in this comp. they could have wone the last 8 flags. the only year i reckon they might not have gotten close on grand final day was in 2003
Oddball
19 Jun 2008, 17:52
Morph & Hack,
I’m going to take it seriously this week because I don’t want to come third.
Will need to see the selected squads on the website before I choose – even if they are dodgy teams :cool:
This weeks games:
Panthers v Cats
Sharks v Tigers
Lions v Eagles
Bombers v Vultures
morphous
19 Jun 2008, 18:00
Morph & Hack,
I’m going to take it seriously this week because I don’t want to come third.
Will need to see the selected squads on the website before I choose – even if they are dodgy teams :cool:
This weeks games:
Panthers v Cats
Sharks v Tigers
Lions v Eagles
Bombers v Vultures
No worries, I'll go first.
Panthers v Cats
Sharks v Tigers
Lions v Eagles
Bombers v Vultures
Panthers v Cats
Sharks v Tigers
Lions v Eagles
Bombers v Vultures
thought i'd try and make some points up by going for the Eagles ...
Oddball
20 Jun 2008, 14:43
Panthers v Cats
Sharks v Tigers
Lions v Eagles
Bombers v Vultures
thought i'd try and make some points up by going for the Eagles ...
That's what I was going to do, Based on some Lions outs I think the Eagles will sneak in.
Panthers v Cats
Sharks v Tigers
Lions v Eagles
Bombers v Vultures
TheBrownDog
20 Jun 2008, 15:20
Henderson and Stiller have been late additions to the Brisbane Lions side... weakens Suncoast's forward line and midfield considerably... Zillmere should get up.
chopper_hates_palm
23 Jun 2008, 06:19
this fiasco.
Well i can tell you alot about broadpalm.
Since former cats coach Craig O,brien signed as senior coach of the lions he new former players will join.
The best thing that ever happaned for former cats coach denis knight (who on my opion the best coach ever broadbeach has ever had why did they get rid of him) because of those misfits all wanted out and that was the best thing and the commitie didnt hesitate to let them go.
My sources tell me that Broadbeach was known as the "family club" but those players destroyed that meaning. They were the Cancer of the cats.
Even though that Palmy won the flag by a country mile against the 2nd best team western magpies, they could never ever come close to winning the velocity sports cup.
So let them blast in there glory but the bottom line is the Palm Beach Currumbin F.C those guys are your problem now.
Oddball
23 Jun 2008, 10:41
Hack - 4 out of 4
Oddball - 4 out of 4
Morphous - 3 out of 4
Not bad tipping, the Lions v Eagles game was always going to be the toughest to pick - got to the Gabba to see the 2nd half of this game and it was a cracker. A bit of spite, alot of run and a big bag of goals.
Both teams had a few out and Harding didn't come back after half-time for the SC, but the Eagles lost Kiem and Lucas even earlier. Good game to watch.
dynamo backman
23 Jun 2008, 16:04
well chopper you certainly seem like a disgruntled player who couldnt quite make it at any club, so i will start by telling you that d.knight certainly was not the best coach broady has ever had, the players certainly didnt play for him, unlike Craig O'Brien, who every player at PBC loves playing for. There certainly is no "cancer" at palmy i can tell you that, every single player gets along with everyone from the president all the way down to the volunteers, its what i would like to call club harmony at its best, hence the success the lions seem to be having. A big game coming up this week against Aspley, if the lions get up this week then they can rightfully claim to be the most successful team in south east Qld. Instead of bagging them why dont you come along and marvel at the way this team goes about their footy.
The problem with PBC is that they are an AFLQ standard team playing in the Pineapple Hotel Cup comp. They are about 10 goals better than the next team (Western Magpies) who in turn are several goals better than the next team. Seems a bit one sided. Perhaps both teams should be promoted into the AFLQ for 2009? A pity the Hornets wo'nt worry them to much this weekend as PBC continue towards making the whole Pineapple Hotel cup a big yawn.
damochandler
24 Jun 2008, 11:36
if pbc are so good. why did they struggle to win a flag without theses broadbeach players and when the those players played in the top division for broadie. they struggeled to win a flag in that comp every year. if obrien is such a good coah why didnt he win a flag with broadie than.
chopper_hates_palm
24 Jun 2008, 13:17
well dynamo explain this. Last year after round 1 the pbc orginals vs the broady boys had a punch on the in the carpark after one game they cant stand each other.
Punch ons bewteen the playing list yeah great club, real team bonding hey.
And dont get me wrong they have easily the greatest list ever, but for the pineapple cup?
So is palmy trying to get into the velocity sports cup or do they wanna win 2nd grade state leauge flag year after year after year.
So fill me in whats the goss down at the palmy army?
dynamo backman
24 Jun 2008, 17:35
chopper, let me start by explaining the punch on, it wasnt exactly all the broady boys v all the palmy boys. as you would probably know there were a few people down at the footy club proir to the broady contingent who were not the sort of people you want around a footy club. So there was a bit of a clean out at the start of last season because the coach and the pres wanted the club to have a clean image and there still is very strict rules in place that if you step out of line at the club you will be turfed out, so after that a few of the boys who got turfed were not happy and came to the club looking for trouble..the original palmy boys that are still there, and believe it or not there are still some, get along very well with all the players who have come to palmy.. secondly the reason the boys from broady went to palmy from div 1..as you would know the training demands in state league are a lot more than what is required in the PHC, some of the boys can only train one night a week, and i cant see that being accepted at broady..and all the boys honestly just want to have fun, play with there mates and have some success along the way, i dont think that is such a crime..
hardballgets05
24 Jun 2008, 17:56
The problem with PBC is that they are an AFLQ standard team playing in the Pineapple Hotel Cup comp. They are about 10 goals better than the next team (Western Magpies) who in turn are several goals better than the next team. Seems a bit one sided. Perhaps both teams should be promoted into the AFLQ for 2009? A pity the Hornets wo'nt worry them to much this weekend as PBC continue towards making the whole Pineapple Hotel cup a big yawn.
You can't blame Palmy...they are just taking advantage of a league administration that aren't doing anything meaningful to provide a half even competition for clubs to compete in.
Here's an idea - why don't clubs in the PHC rotate down a level each year in turns so that they can smash the association Div 1 teams and win a flag in a comp that they are too strong to be playing in!!
As I have said here before - salary caps don't work, the only way to even any competition is to have a transparent and officially sanctioned and regulated points system - as so many victorian leagues have found.
check out this discussion about the West Gippsland LaTrobe league system...interesting reading.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=448698&highlight=recruiting+points+system
It may need some tweaking to get right but the league should stick at it and make it work in the interests of grassroots footy (they use that term a lot but don't really seem to understand what it means)...
Of course this would require the league to disagree with the all powerful cashed up coastal bloc in the best interests of an even competition - something they have shown zero interest in.
Hey Hardballgets05,
No point having the PHC teams drop down and belting the Association teams. We should try to have even footy comps (hey even the AFL has one sided games like Geelong belting West Coast last weekend).
Anyway a very interesting read on the Points system
that you linked. I wonder how Zillmere Eagles would go with that system
seems they have very few juniors,do'nt bother to have an Under 18 team and recruit most of their players from Aspley and other northside teams....and still have no money!
sniff12
24 Jun 2008, 21:12
saw PBC play a few weeks ago and admittedly they did have a few out but I can tell you this as gospel if the current PBC side played in the Cairns comp they would be no higher than 3rd position. Most of you southerners will find that hard to believe but it is the truth.
Lenny29
24 Jun 2008, 21:21
chopper, let me start by explaining the punch on, it wasnt exactly all the broady boys v all the palmy boys. as you would probably know there were a few people down at the footy club proir to the broady contingent who were not the sort of people you want around a footy club. So there was a bit of a clean out at the start of last season because the coach and the pres wanted the club to have a clean image and there still is very strict rules in place that if you step out of line at the club you will be turfed out, so after that a few of the boys who got turfed were not happy and came to the club looking for trouble..the original palmy boys that are still there, and believe it or not there are still some, get along very well with all the players who have come to palmy.. secondly the reason the boys from broady went to palmy from div 1..as you would know the training demands in state league are a lot more than what is required in the PHC, some of the boys can only train one night a week, and i cant see that being accepted at broady..and all the boys honestly just want to have fun, play with there mates and have some success along the way, i dont think that is such a crime..
So when the Broady guys leave in a few years you're left with less than you started with.
Sounds good.
Expect to hear Aspley Hornets announce a new Seniors Coach before this weeks game against PBC.
Open Forward Line
25 Jun 2008, 22:19
Expect to hear Aspley Hornets announce a new Seniors Coach before this weeks game against PBC.
Seems you are almost on the inside 4444 - you give yourself up by knowing to much sometimes.
Some average admisinstrat ion/ors at the Hornets - he was a good operator with a plan and no support. Someone must have recruited the 2's team.
You are right about 1 sided games they are a reality at all levels - being storng requires enormous administrative/recruiting efforts to be at the top. Some clubs plan to be strong and others hope to be.
Jackson7
25 Jun 2008, 22:45
For all the talk about Palm Beach...they were very lucky to beat Sandgate last week
Some very helpful umpiring including one appalling 12 point turnaround freekick...maybe the umpires were protecting the precious "streak"
Oddball
26 Jun 2008, 09:56
With respect, in reality only Fulton and Drake could be truely classed as AFLQ State League standard players (and good one's at that), the rest of the ex-Broadie crew are senior "fringe" players at best. Given that PBC have been so dominate it basically shows the significant gap in the quality between the State League and Pineapple cup competitions.
As for the game between PBC and Sandgate the word is a certain bald headed Netball Referee who double's as an AFLQ Umpire gave and absolute shocker late in the game, which resulted in a 12 point turnaround in PBC's advantage. All but cost the Seahawks the game. :thumbsd:
While I'm on the soapbox I will also agree with the comments about the lack of quality administrators at Aspley who burn coaches as a result of their own incompetence. :(
damochandler
26 Jun 2008, 10:48
For all the talk about Palm Beach...they were very lucky to beat Sandgate last week
Some very helpful umpiring including one appalling 12 point turnaround freekick...maybe the umpires were protecting the precious "streak"
sandgate got hosed. i heard obrien complained about the free kick count. thats not unusual for him. he complains about them when his team gets thumped as well
As for the game between PBC and Sandgate the word is a certain bald headed Netball Referee who double's as an AFLQ Umpire gave and absolute shocker late in the game, which resulted in a 12 point turnaround in PBC's advantage. All but cost the Seahawks the game. :thumbsd: :(
apparently it was actually the umpire at the other end of the field who paid a free kick to Fulton after he copped a punch in the guts while a Sandgate player was kicking for goal ... just to clear it up ... :thumbsu: