View Full Version : Aflq News
Pages :
[
17]
damochandler
26 Jun 2008, 12:01
apparently it was actually the umpire at the other end of the field who paid a free kick to Fulton after he copped a punch in the guts while a Sandgate player was kicking for goal ... just to clear it up ... :thumbsu:
the question is. should it have been a free kick were the ball was, instead of up the field
a free kick shall be paid where the incident occurs, or where the ball is at the time of the incident whatever is the greatest penalty to the offending team. so yeah the free kick was paid in the right spot ... i would say that the Sandgate defender who punched him has alot more questions to answer than the umpires in this one ...
chopper_hates_palm
26 Jun 2008, 13:41
Lets just hope and pray if palmy beat the streak then lets hope they chock in the granny after the siren to make it even better.
But we will have to wait and c.
They deserve some bad luck and lets hope sooner than later!!!!!!
Oddball
26 Jun 2008, 17:21
Anyway a very interesting read on the Points system that you linked. I wonder how Zillmere Eagles would go with that system seems they have very few juniors,do'nt bother to have an Under 18 team and recruit most of their players from Aspley and other northside teams....and still have no money!
An old chestnut rears it's ugly head regarding - Eagles recruiting from the northside, suppose the recruiting by Mt Gravatt from anywhere in S/East Qld (inc other State League clubs) doesn't count because they have juniors & U/18's. Southport have pillaged the Gold Coast for years, but that doesn't count because they have juniors & U/18's.
Most State League clubs don't have to "recruit" from local clubs because the best young players in the area go there anyway, to play the best footy and get the best coaching. It's the structure of football in Qld, and it can't be compared with a Local Country region comp in Victoria which set up a points system to stop strong wealthy towns filling their team up with imports from all over the state to the detrement of the competition and their local players, which was once the case.
Not sure what the "and still have no money" comment has to do with it, the only football club on the Northside who is apparently flush with funds appears to spend most of it on "washed-up" ex-State league players or those that couldn't cut it at the next level in the first place.
Despite throwing big $ around they still can't win enough games to be in the top half of the 2nd Division ladder.
damochandler
26 Jun 2008, 19:46
i just had a look at sports bet website and the vultures are $1.75. the siders are $3.45. southport are at $4 i reckon that might be a good bet that one.the eagles are at $9 this is the bet to have a look at, seeing they are playing some good footy this year. suncoast are at $9 as well, but they always fade. the rest are at $40, $250 and poor old labrador at $501. the would be some good value bets there
Oddball wrote.....
"Seems you are almost on the inside 4444 - you give yourself up by knowing to much sometimes.
Some average admisinstrat ion/ors at the Hornets - he was a good operator with a plan and no support. Someone must have recruited the 2's team.
You are right about 1 sided games they are a reality at all levels - being storng requires enormous administrative/recruiting efforts to be at the top. Some clubs plan to be strong and others hope to be."
I'm not sure who you think i am Oddball,but as one Saints supporter to another, I can assure you I am an unpaid,unconnected nobody...just a Hornets supporter. If i was a real insider i could tell you who the new coach is going to be!
Jackson7
26 Jun 2008, 20:52
My question would be...why would a defender punch a forward in the guts when there team has the ball ...150 metres from the play.
Maybe he was provoked ...theres a thought
particuarly against PBC who everybody knows are the biggest nigglers/snipers in the competition
stinger_21
26 Jun 2008, 21:43
Oddball, seeing as you have the inside info on the eagles, could you divulge on the rumour that the eagles have now lost their liquor and gaming licencing?? surely its just a matter of time now before the ship has to sink?
goalkicker11
26 Jun 2008, 22:25
Oddball wrote.....
"Seems you are almost on the inside 4444 - you give yourself up by knowing to much sometimes.
Some average admisinstrat ion/ors at the Hornets - he was a good operator with a plan and no support. Someone must have recruited the 2's team.
You are right about 1 sided games they are a reality at all levels - being storng requires enormous administrative/recruiting efforts to be at the top. Some clubs plan to be strong and others hope to be."
I'm not sure who you think i am Oddball,but as one Saints supporter to another, I can assure you I am an unpaid,unconnected nobody...just a Hornets supporter. If i was a real insider i could tell you who the new coach is going to be!
Marto is coaching the hornets for the rest of the year, why didn't the twos coach get a go
Open Forward Line
26 Jun 2008, 22:38
Marto is coaching the hornets for the rest of the year, why didn't the twos coach get a go
Is that because he is your brother Goalkicker 11
Didnt the old coach recruit all the 2's coaches players for him - so who is the good operator.
Will Garton and co. stay or go to Sandgate
Open Forward Line
26 Jun 2008, 22:42
Morningside will unveil their new Ruckman this weekend - Trav Ronaldson the former Coburg Captain last year and State VFL Ruckman. Good pick up - will they put him straight in even though he hasnt been playing? Add him and the runner Russ and they certainly look stronger. Zillmere will have some work to do this weekend.
Northern_kid
27 Jun 2008, 09:12
i just had a look at sports bet website and the vultures are $1.75. the siders are $3.45. southport are at $4 i reckon that might be a good bet that one.the eagles are at $9 this is the bet to have a look at, seeing they are playing some good footy this year. suncoast are at $9 as well, but they always fade. the rest are at $40, $250 and poor old labrador at $501. the would be some good value bets there
Which website can u access these odds?
Vultures aren't much value there. Having said that they have beaten southport twice this year. Although Southport tend to fire up second half of the year.
Southport are the value at $4. It looks to be a 2 horse race for mind out of Vlutures and Southport. Might as well take the $4 in a 2 horse race. Rather then the $2 you will get grandfinal day.
Eagles at $9 is about right. They may cause a few headaches if they get there. Quality fwd line when all there players are back and firing. Young list, that's on the up. Have lost to Southport twice though this year, but beaten Gravatt/Lions/Morningside.
damochandler
27 Jun 2008, 09:31
Which website can u access these odds?
Vultures aren't much value there. Having said that they have beaten southport twice this year. Although Southport tend to fire up second half of the year.
Southport are the value at $4. It looks to be a 2 horse race for mind out of Vlutures and Southport. Might as well take the $4 in a 2 horse race. Rather then the $2 you will get grandfinal day.
Eagles at $9 is about right. They may cause a few headaches if they get there. Quality fwd line when all there players are back and firing. Young list, that's on the up. Have lost to Southport twice though this year, but beaten Gravatt/Lions/Morningside.
the website is sportsbet.com.au it dosent have betting on games though.
Oddball
27 Jun 2008, 12:34
Oddball wrote.....
Sorry 4444, but I didn't write that.
morphous
27 Jun 2008, 12:40
My tips -
Vultures
Suncoast
Magpies (now Sharks) :p
Panthers
Oddball
27 Jun 2008, 12:44
Morph & Hack,
I'll go first:
Vultures (:mad:) v Tigers - Vultures (:mad:)
Cats v Lions - tough one, Lions to fight back and win after last weeks disappointment
Bomber s v Sharks - sorry Bombers you have no chance even at home
Panthers v Eagles - Eagles apparently have injury worries, the Panthers just
Oddball
27 Jun 2008, 12:47
My tips -
Vultures
Suncoast
Magpies (now Sharks) :p
Panthers
That's amazing timing - I promise I didn't copy your tips
morphous
27 Jun 2008, 13:04
That's amazing timing - I promise I didn't copy your tips
Great minds think alike.
Vultures v Tigers - Labrador will struggle to even win the coin toss against Mounties
Cats v Lions - wanting to hold onto the glimmer of finals chances will be enough to get the Cats the chocolates
Bombers v Sharks - Southport are to Redlands what a Canadian Sailor is to a Seal, wont be pretty
Panthers v Eagles - Eagles with too many injuries and Morningside with a few new recruits ... too strong
Morningside will unveil their new Ruckman this weekend - Trav Ronaldson the former Coburg Captain last year and State VFL Ruckman. Good pick up - will they put him straight in even though he hasnt been playing? Add him and the runner Russ and they certainly look stronger. Zillmere will have some work to do this weekend.
Ronaldson is a gun! He will be the best player in the League by a fair margin. It will be interesting to see if former Lions and Hawthorn Rookie, Coburg 2007 best and fairerst winner and ex Morninside junior Paul Shelton returns to the Panthers next season. He and Ronaldson had a great combination at Coburg.
Oddball,
I owe you an apology. My reply should have been directed to Open Forward Line. Anyway, i'm not the insider Open Foward Line thinks i am.
I thought the Hornets were competitive early,but Palm Beach-Labrador are without doubt are very good football team....and as an outsider seemed to show plenty of mateship and team spirit.
Ronaldson is a gun! He will be the best player in the League by a fair margin. It will be interesting to see if former Lions and Hawthorn Rookie, Coburg 2007 best and fairerst winner and ex Morninside junior Paul Shelton returns to the Panthers next season. He and Ronaldson had a great combination at Coburg.
he played yesterday ... i wouldnt say he showed League Best form but i'd imagine he'd be a bit rusty, did a few good things and certainly showed alot of passion for the footy and for the club also. he's a massive unit ... i think he might work at Birch Carrol and Coyle ... as a projection screen ...
Oddball
30 Jun 2008, 11:45
Vultures v Tigers - Labrador will struggle to even win the coin toss against Mounties
Cats v Lions - wanting to hold onto the glimmer of finals chances will be enough to get the Cats the chocolates
Bombers v Sharks - Southport are to Redlands what a Canadian Sailor is to a Seal, wont be pretty
Panthers v Eagles - Eagles with too many injuries and Morningside with a few new recruits ... too strong
Great work Hack on taking out this weeks prize.
Sorry to say that myself and Morphous came equal 2nd (or last if you like).
Great win by the Cats which gives them a chance of playing finals.
Open Forward Line
30 Jun 2008, 22:31
Thats a fair rap acuguy - best player in the comp - better than Payne, Lilico off a standing start. Have you followed him a bit - share some info. He is a dead set unit - dosnt run real well though.
Shelton is a gun with a reputation for delivering - will he come home?
hardnut69
3 Jul 2008, 17:11
Thats a fair rap acuguy - best player in the comp - better than Payne, Lilico off a standing start. Have you followed him a bit - share some info. He is a dead set unit - dosnt run real well though.
whikst i havent seen lillico play for years, ronaldson used to play for the tassie devils and is a gun. massive rig, good ruckman who just has a crack. as i said havent seen the others play for years but this guy could be one of the best in the comp. could be hard coming in with no training and games though.
Can anyone tell me how these guys are travelling if they still are?
Matt rankin - mt gravatt
reid dobson??
Andrew housego - mayne
What a great round this weekend - no matter what happens the SC Lions and Redland can't influence their respective positions on the ladder.
Southport and Morningside will be a cracker with the Panthers wanting to put themselves clear of the SC Lions and Eagles.
The Cats need to win the local derby to stay in touch with the finals and the Eagles face a massive challenge against the Vultures at their "home" ground up the coast.
Selections:
Sharks v Panthers - Sharks, but the Panthers showed they are in form and will be thereabouts
Tigers v Cats - Cats have more to play for, however the Tigers could climb off bottom spot
Eagles v Vultures - Vultures will be too strong for the young Eagles
morphous
4 Jul 2008, 15:12
What a great round this weekend - no matter what happens the SC Lions and Redland can't influence their respective positions on the ladder.
Southport and Morningside will be a cracker with the Panthers wanting to put themselves clear of the SC Lions and Eagles.
The Cats need to win the local derby to stay in touch with the finals and the Eagles face a massive challenge against the Vultures at their "home" ground up the coast.
Selections:
Sharks v Panthers - Sharks, but the Panthers showed they are in form and will be thereabouts
Tigers v Cats - Cats have more to play for, however the Tigers could climb off bottom spot
Eagles v Vultures - Vultures will be too strong for the young Eagles
I'll go Panthers, Cats and Vultures.
Ronaldson was the Victorian Ruckman in last years state game and also the Coburg captain. Apparently had a great combination with Shelton last year and it is no surprise that Shelton won the b and f at Coburg partially due to the great service Ronaldson gave him.
Lillico is an excellent footballer, he is a real ball magnet and hard nut, he did struggle as a youngster to regularly play senior football for Central Districts though they were an amazingly strong team at the time.
All of Sheltons family live in Brisbane and I know Morningside have been keen to get him back, i am sure Ronaldson is playing there under his recommendation.
Sharks
Cats
Vultures
theres a couple of big week coming up ... will be interesting to watch the Final 4 unfold
damochandler
4 Jul 2008, 21:02
morningside broke the hoodu down there last year and i remember the boys singin the song outside the juniors dressing sheds. it was loud and proud thats for sure. i reckon they will knock them off again tomorrow. i saw them play last wek and i was impressed. if they kicked straight. the smargin would have been larger. kinch has been there best this year by a mile
Sharks
Cats
Vultures
theres a couple of big week coming up ... will be interesting to watch the Final 4 unfold
This weeks results:
Hack: 3/3
Oddball: 3/3
Morphous: 2/3
Interesting thread on "Nugget" Sheldon - he was also very good mates with David Lake - don't put money on him returning to the Panther Den just yet! :cool:
morphous
7 Jul 2008, 11:04
This weeks results:
Interesting thread on "Nugget" Sheldon - he was also very good mates with David Lake - don't put money on him returning to the Panther Den just yet! :cool:
I do believe his parents live in the Redlands:)
dunkarob
7 Jul 2008, 11:40
Wondering how Tyson Williams goes as a footballer, seen he's been cleared to country victoria.
I do believe his parents live in the Redlands:)
ooo a bidding war!!
i almost hate to bring it up ... but Southport can never be counted out of luring big names ... or more acurately ... their cheque book ...
morphous
7 Jul 2008, 13:26
ooo a bidding war!!
i almost hate to bring it up ... but Southport can never be counted out of luring big names ... or more acurately ... their cheque book ...
True.
hotpies12
7 Jul 2008, 19:04
Wondering how Tyson Williams goes as a footballer, seen he's been cleared to country victoria.
Im guessing your talking about the one from Maroochydore?
If so, he is a ruckman who (from what i understand) held down the number 1 ruck position at Maroochydore, in the Pineapple Cup. Rugged type player who loves physical contact. Suprisingly pretty fit. Dont think he has a massive leap. Good contested mark. About 200cm tall. Good guy and is about 20 years old.
Is there an issue between Shelton and Blair?
notsoyoung
7 Jul 2008, 21:24
He's come on in leaps and bounds in the past few years. Popped a shoulder in round one this year which left a massive hole in the Roos' ruck stocks. Got great endurance for such a big fella. Should go well wherever he's headed.
chopper_hates_palm
8 Jul 2008, 11:34
This weeks results:
Just like p.b.c. in div 2 with the broadbeach players the if the vultures go for shelton which they probally will they be the mt grvatt panthers with the tarrent brothers lake jr and co.
But isint it true that in brisbane footy alone arent they arch rivals?
demon magic 1
8 Jul 2008, 12:02
Here are the early predictions of this rounds results.
Div 1
Morningside
Eagles
Southport
Labrador
Div 2
Surfers
Burleigh
Grange
Sandgate
Mayne/Aspley Draw
Western:thumbsu:
Remember social footy is the best footy:p
demon magic 1
8 Jul 2008, 12:12
Lets see how good all our desk experts are.
Which Queensland players will be drafted this year?
Remember social footy is the best footy:p
i would say some older aged draft chances would be Dane Zorko and Rohan Bail, both have been playing some great footy ...
whisper...
9 Jul 2008, 10:03
Gday there guys,
Looking to venture up to qld maybe next year from tassie. looking to find a club to play with.
am looking at moving to gold coast area or brisbane.
Which clubs are around those areas and would be good club to get involved with??
cheers
demon magic 1
9 Jul 2008, 17:16
Gday there guys,
Looking to venture up to qld maybe next year from tassie. looking to find a club to play with.
am looking at moving to gold coast area or brisbane.
Which clubs are around those areas and would be good club to get involved with??
cheers
Depending on your ability / level you wish to play at would determine where you should / would end up. If you are into the coast and the gear then Southport / PBC is your place. If you like the oldies and a shandy then try Labrador / Springwood. Like the ladies and the city Nothern Eagles / Aspley. Or if ugg boots and johnny on the rocks is your thing try Caboolture / Ipswich.:D
That's pure gold!!! :thumbsu:
However you missed - If you love your Chia Latte's then it's Morningside and if you just love yourself head down to the Vultures.
demon magic 1
9 Jul 2008, 17:47
Sorry i new i would forget someone. Oh if you are missing a few barry beef and have a half decent three wheeler then Strathpine is the place for you.
Oddball
11 Jul 2008, 09:42
A big weekend in AFLQ footy - all potentially close games - think I need to see who's selected
Eagles v Cats - a close one
Tigers v Bombers - a close one
Sharks v Vultures - a close one
Panthers v Lions - a likely close one
Thinking the home ground advantages might be a wnner this week
morphous
11 Jul 2008, 09:48
A big weekend in AFLQ footy - all potentially close games - think I need to see who's selected
Eagles, Bombers, Vultures, Panthers.
pretty much every game could go either way here ... but i'm going with ...
Eagles
Tigers
Vultures
Panthers
Oddball
11 Jul 2008, 11:42
Alright I wont wait for the teams!
Eagles v Cats - Eagles
Tigers v Bombers - Bombers
Sharks v Vultures - Sharks
Panthers v Lions - Panthers
haha, well it would have been pretty soft of you Oddy ... and really the only game you need to wait for the teams for is Morningside v Lions ... and you can usually tell from the Senior team anyway
damochandler
11 Jul 2008, 13:09
a good weekend of footy in both divisions. the game of the round in the vsc. has to be the southportv vultures game and that will be a cracker. the game of the year in the phc. is the palmy and magpies game. i moght go watch that one. the lions panthers game will be a good game of footy. in the coresponding game last year. the panthers kcked 11-8 to 0 in the second qtr to run out 12 goal winners and the lions had 16 listed players in that day
Oddball
11 Jul 2008, 14:49
haha, well it would have been pretty soft of you Oddy ... and really the only game you need to wait for the teams for is Morningside v Lions ... and you can usually tell from the Senior team anyway
Yeah, I admit it was very soft of me to wait for you guys to select your tips.
It's gonna be a great weekend though as it won't matter which game you go to it should be tight, I reckon my selections could easily be zero out of four.
The Panthers v Lions and Eagles v Cats results could almost settle the top 4. The loser of the Eagles v Cats can almost wave goodbye to their finals chance (almost that is). The Lions have a tough run home and can't afford to drop this game or they are at risk.
A big weekend
Northern_kid
11 Jul 2008, 14:53
Broadbeach V Eagles game is a huge one.
Gravatt V Southport is also a cracker and should be prelude to the granny.
I think Southport will just get up, they are travelling very well at the moment, they lose this one and Gravatt will have massive physciological hold over them come finals.
Broadbeach V Eagles. Eagles must stand up, tipping Eagles in a thriller.
Other games who cares.
2 massive games over the weekend, should be a cracker.
damochandler
12 Jul 2008, 20:38
what a win by the magpies today. i watched the game and they smashed the all over the park. this has been brewing for a month i reckon and it has come to a head. palmy should have been beaten by sandgate. they didnt look that flash against aspley and they only had 1 good qtr against noosa. well done magies. i am glad some on smashed them
demon magic 1
13 Jul 2008, 11:34
wow looks like i picked the magies i hate to say it but i am good.
Cant believe my draw didn't come off. Looks like marto is doing a great job at the hornets fixing the wreck that it was.
Havn't done so well with MtG winning and the Eagles going down hope the the siders get up to give me 2
The problem with PBC is that they are an AFLQ standard team playing in the Pineapple Hotel Cup comp. They are about 10 goals better than the next team (Western Magpies) who in turn are several goals better than the next team. Seems a bit one sided. Perhaps both teams should be promoted into the AFLQ for 2009? A pity the Hornets wo'nt worry them to much this weekend as PBC continue towards making the whole Pineapple Hotel cup a big yawn.
After this weekends results I am trying to figure out who is the 10 goal better side!! I am sure that the Pineapple Hotel Cup won't be such a big yawn this final series....:D
Maybe for once AFLQ got it right by elevating only 1 team to Division 1 in 2009 and even better that the Western Magpies are achieving this on local young talent and not ex-Div 1 players chasing the $$$$...
Oddball
14 Jul 2008, 09:39
pretty much every game could go either way here ... but i'm going with ...
Eagles
Tigers
Vultures
Panthers
H you win with an outstanding 2 out of 4
Won't be discussing the other results, particularly my effort
Oddball
14 Jul 2008, 09:41
Yeah, I admit it was very soft of me to wait for you guys to select your tips.
It's gonna be a great weekend though as it won't matter which game you go to it should be tight, I reckon my selections could easily be zero out of four.
The Panthers v Lions and Eagles v Cats results could almost settle the top 4. The loser of the Eagles v Cats can almost wave goodbye to their finals chance (almost that is). The Lions have a tough run home and can't afford to drop this game or they are at risk.
A big weekend
Do I get a bonus point for this prediction?
H you win with an outstanding 2 out of 4
Won't be discussing the other results, particularly my effort
alright then ... i will :D
Oddball - 0/4
Morphous - 1/4
ho ho ho ....
oh and
Do I get a bonus point for this prediction?
no you dont ... ;)
Jackson7
14 Jul 2008, 22:44
Interested in everybodys thoughts on what they think the final 5 in the PHC will be and the eventual champs
I reckon
PBC
Magpies
Surfers
Burleigh
Sandgate
with Magpies to beat PBC in the granny
demon magic 1
15 Jul 2008, 10:14
Palm Beach
Western Magpies
Surfers
Noosa
Sandgate
Western Magpies to take on Noosa. Magpies by 4 goals.
demon magic 1
15 Jul 2008, 10:20
Here are the early selections for this weeks footy
Magpies
Aspley
Sandgate
Burleigh
Palmmy
Noosa
Eagles
Mt G
Lions
Morningside
chopper_hates_palm
15 Jul 2008, 10:32
what a win by the magpies today. i watched the game and they smashed the all over the park. this has been brewing for a month i reckon and it has come to a head. palmy should have been beaten by sandgate. they didnt look that flash against aspley and they only had 1 good qtr against noosa. well done magies. i am glad some on smashed them
Nah i wish i saw that game. Palmy have used to many get out of jail cards. Nah Magpies winning standing there ground to get ready for div 1 next year.
Its a shame that it wasent the grand final though. LOL.
Oddball
17 Jul 2008, 12:28
Let me be brave this week and make my selections today - who knows why, I guess it's a slow day at work.
Tigers v Eagles: Another must win for Eagles, but Tigers might have awoken - Tigers
Vultures v Cats: Cats came home strongly last week, but should still be "pickings" for the Vultures
Lions v Sharks: Lions list looking OK assuming Brown and Black are right - Lions
Bombers v Morningside: Bombers showed little last week against Tigers, but the Panthers didn't show much more against the Lions, but the Panthers will bounced back
morphous
17 Jul 2008, 12:55
Let me be brave this week and make my selections today - who knows why, I guess it's a slow day at work.
Tigers v Eagles: Another must win for Eagles, but Tigers might have awoken - Tigers
Vultures v Cats: Cats came home strongly last week, but should still be "pickings" for the Vultures
Lions v Sharks: Lions list looking OK assuming Brown and Black are right - Lions
Bombers v Morningside: Bombers showed little last week against Tigers, but the Panthers didn't show much more against the Lions, but the Panthers will bounced back
Eagles, Vultures, Sharks and Bombers.
Geez wasting no time at all boys!
Tigers v Eagles - Eagles have too much at stake ... i'm expecting some performances like Broady a few weeks back ... standing up when they need to
Vultures v Cats - 5 goal better team ... Broadys speed is easily accounted for
Lions v Sharks - even with a few injures to the seniors i noticed alot of listed and rookie listed guys wandering around Morningside last week, so they've got plenty up their sleave
Bombers v Panthers - Siders will be wanting to bounce back ... and will probably take it out on the young Bombers
Oddball
21 Jul 2008, 12:27
Weekends results:
Eagles, Vultures, Sharks, Panthers
Morphous - 3 from 4
Hack - 3 from 4
Oddball - 2 from 4
Open Forward Line
27 Jul 2008, 21:39
Wonder how the Magpies will go in State League, where will there players come from to be competitive, how many will they need. Are there juniors any good? Are they financial? Who will coach them - is Grentell capable? Is the ground State league level? Can blokes like Mihoploulos play at the level? Does anyone know the answers out there?
Open Forward Line
27 Jul 2008, 21:45
Is NT definitely coming in?
Redalnd, Mt Gvt and Morningside all compete for the same players and are competitive - Zillmere have the whole North they should dominate the comp like Southport. Why dont they?
demon magic 1
29 Jul 2008, 14:04
Redalnd, Mt Gvt and Morningside all compete for the same players and are competitive - Zillmere have the whole North they should dominate the comp like Southport. Why dont they?
Could it be a financial reason that they struggle to dominate. Appear to get the best local talent from the north side.
However when a big pre season signing from Adelaide turns out to be a local north side boy there is reason for concern.
Perhaps there is a north side club that has financial backing to buy more true recruits. Reality is the best north side players will go to any state league club on the north side. Don't think they have any real loyalty to the Eagles as not sure any played juniors there.
Southport dont dominate the comp because they get all the good gold coast players ... it helps of course, but the main factor would be the money they can offer good quality players from anywhere.
i think the fact that Zillmere are a competitive side year in year out means that they're doing a good job with their pick of the northside talent, and they'd be alot closer to domination they werent raped and pilliged each year by the AFL draft.
perrie winkle
29 Jul 2008, 18:30
hey guys im down in victoria, i just want to know the difference between aflq and aflsq and how it all works? could someone help me out
morphous
29 Jul 2008, 18:46
hey guys im down in victoria, i just want to know the difference between aflq and aflsq and how it all works? could someone help me out
There is no more AFLSQ. There's AFLQ State League div 1 and 2 then there's AFLQ State Association div's. Fair step down between State League div 1 to State Assoc div 1. I would say State League div 1 in comparison to GVFL would be a little quicker but not as skillful or physical.
demon magic 1
30 Jul 2008, 12:35
Southport dont dominate the comp because they get all the good gold coast players ... it helps of course, but the main factor would be the money they can offer good quality players from anywhere.
i think the fact that Zillmere are a competitive side year in year out means that they're doing a good job with their pick of the northside talent, and they'd be alot closer to domination they werent raped and pilliged each year by the AFL draft.
Out of interest how many Zillmere players are in the AFL. Surely there are no more than what could be at other state league sides. (Oh how would they be able to pay for these players should they still be there?) That is no excuse to be middle of the road.
They just don't have the money. Do they even have a ground to play on next year. Word is it has or is about to be sold to either a developer or a large League Club.
morphous
30 Jul 2008, 13:29
Out of interest how many Zillmere players are in the AFL. Surely there are no more than what could be at other state league sides. (Oh how would they be able to pay for these players should they still be there?) That is no excuse to be middle of the road.
They just don't have the money. Do they even have a ground to play on next year. Word is it has or is about to be sold to either a developer or a large League Club.
I thought the council owned the land.
campbell
31 Jul 2008, 13:26
I heard on the TV the other night they were, and magic would be the coach. I hope that its true.
sandshoes
31 Jul 2008, 14:19
Off top of my head, Lions: C.Stiller, R.Copeland, J.Drummond, J. Charman and rookie D.Dzufer. Bombers: R. Magin. Bulldogs: M. Hahn, S. Reid. Hawks: B. Whitecross. Kangaroos: D. Pratt, B. Warren.
It is no excuse, and i didn't think playing off in 2006 Grand final, and losing almost all of that team, and being n contention to make 4 team finals was middle of the road, but i don't know things may have changed recently.
For a club with minimal money they do pretty well.
morphous
31 Jul 2008, 15:00
Off top of my head, Lions: C.Stiller, R.Copeland, J.Drummond, J. Charman and rookie D.Dzufer. Bombers: R. Magin. Bulldogs: M. Hahn, S. Reid. Hawks: B. Whitecross. Kangaroos: D. Pratt, B. Warren.
It is no excuse, and i didn't think playing off in 2006 Grand final, and losing almost all of that team, and being n contention to make 4 team finals was middle of the road, but i don't know things may have changed recently.
For a club with minimal money they do pretty well.
In all fairness how many of these player are actually from the Eagles, most if not all moved from the country for a year or 2 in order to better their chances of being drafted.
blueboy87
1 Aug 2008, 11:51
Wonder how the Magpies will go in State League, where will there players come from to be competitive, how many will they need. Are there juniors any good? Are they financial? Who will coach them - is Grentell capable? Is the ground State league level? Can blokes like Mihoploulos play at the level? Does anyone know the answers out there?
I think they already have the players to be competitive. There seems to be a lot of good young homegrown talent there, which should serve them well over the next few years. Also when they go back up into state league they wont be losing their best youngsters to Mt. Gravatt or Morningside (Hamill, Davis, Holman etc) like they have the last few years. As long as a few of the young 17/18 yo's that have been performing very well for them this year don't get drafted (Jainke-Cain, Moore, Fowler, Pennycuik, Friis) they will become very important players for the Magpies. Grentell seems to be more than capable at getting the best out of this team and should at least be given the first chance at taking them into the top level. This year players like Wenham, Pope, Heffernan-Roper and Scott really look like they've grown into mature players who seem ready to take them up into state league and be competitive. Last time I was there the ground was terrible though, so that might be the only concern.
In all fairness how many of these player are actually from the Eagles, most if not all moved from the country for a year or 2 in order to better their chances of being drafted.
And the ones who havn't moved from the country and only played for the Eagles for a year or two were just picked up from other clubs and only played there for a year (i.e. Warren - Aspley, Whitecross - Kedron), so they can't really lay claim to actually producing much AFL talent
And this weeks selections:
Panthers v Tigers: Panthers easy
Cats v Sharks: Cats have a lot to play for but the Sharks will get over them
Vultures v Lions: Tough one - the Lions have a full list with a few players having something to prove - Lions just
Bombers v Eagles: Bombers can be tough at home, but the Eagles must win - Eagles just
And the ones who havn't moved from the country and only played for the Eagles for a year or two were just picked up from other clubs and only played there for a year (i.e. Warren - Aspley, Whitecross - Kedron), so they can't really lay claim to actually producing much AFL talent
This is probably the case with most State League clubs - for example I sure Reiwoldt wasn't a Southport junior, Armitage, Dempsey & Urquhart came from the country, not just Morningside, etc. I guess in most cases the State League clubs give them the opportunity to show their wares at senior level at a young age which impresses Recruiters.
morphous
1 Aug 2008, 12:45
And this weeks selections:
Panthers v Tigers: Panthers easy
Cats v Sharks: Cats have a lot to play for but the Sharks will get over them
Vultures v Lions: Tough one - the Lions have a full list with a few players having something to prove - Lions just
Bombers v Eagles: Bombers can be tough at home, but the Eagles must win - Eagles just
I'll go the Panthers, Vultures, Sharks and the old Sharks (Redland 98 premiership reunion this Sunday so the boys will be in our old Shark strip).
Panthers by a long way
Vultures within a goal
Sharks within 2 a goals
Eagles very comfortably ...
This weeks selections:
Panthers v Tigers: Panthers easy - wrong (badly)
Cats v Sharks: Cats have a lot to play for but the Sharks will get over them - right
Vultures v Lions: Tough one - the Lions have a full list with a few players having something to prove - Lions just - right, but not good on "pick the margin"
Bombers v Eagles: Bombers can be tough at home, but the Eagles must win - Eagles just - right but can't pick a margin
OB - 3 from 4
Morph - 1 from 4
H - 2 from 4.
The finals race contiues to hot up - any thoughts on 4th place? Lions now look secure, Sharks safe, but Vultures might drop another game or two. Who out of the Eagles, Cats and Panthers can get there?
damochandler
4 Aug 2008, 11:45
This weeks selections:
Panthers v Tigers: Panthers easy - wrong (badly)
Cats v Sharks: Cats have a lot to play for but the Sharks will get over them - right
Vultures v Lions: Tough one - the Lions have a full list with a few players having something to prove - Lions just - right, but not good on "pick the margin"
Bombers v Eagles: Bombers can be tough at home, but the Eagles must win - Eagles just - right but can't pick a margin
OB - 3 from 4
Morph - 1 from 4
H - 2 from 4.
The finals race contiues to hot up - any thoughts on 4th place? Lions now look secure, Sharks safe, but Vultures might drop another game or two. Who out of the Eagles, Cats and Panthers can get there?
the panther have the toughest run in. they got broadie this week down there. zillmere at zillmere and southport at home in the last round. i think who ever gets in can cause a heap of trouble. the lions dont have a great finals record
The Cable Guy
4 Aug 2008, 14:17
The only reason the Suncoast Lions don't have a good finals record, is because they only want to win while the seniors are still playing. Once Brisbane are knocked out of finals...if they make it....there is no reason for the reserves players to continue playing.
Northern_kid
5 Aug 2008, 09:45
Spot on. It's simple if the Lions are still in the 8 come AFLQ finals, LOOK OUT!!
If the Lions don't make(lets hope they don't) then reserves players will book early appointments for surgeons/holidays etc, they normally just shut up shop.
Aaron Gove is a hard at it,can anyone tell me how he is going at Coloundra .He played at Gisborne and Woodend in Victoria
Another big weekend in AFLQ State League,
Sharks v Tigers - Tigers to push them hard, but Sharks will get up
Vultures v Bombers - Bombers might just upset the "winged" Vultures
Eagles v Lions - Must win game for the Eagles, but the Lions are near full strength, might be a draw
Cats v Panthers - Cats are hard to beat at home, the Panthers will be desperate to win but will just fall short.
Gone for a couple of roughies this week - wonder what odds a Velocity Bookie would give on these 4 getting up? :D
Geez Oddy the odds on all those would be longer than my ... well they'd be really long ...
and the Winners ...
Tigers vs Sharks - Good win by the Tiges last week but Southport too strong all over the ground. Shark by 10 goals
Vultures vs Bombers - Vultures wont be in cruise control for this one after a massive loss last week, Mounties by at least 100
Eagles vs Lions - With a full 16 listed players they'll do it by 10 goals
Cats vs Panthers - Despite the loss last week, Siders are a very balanced team and Broady have no forward line, they've relied on their runners from the middle to do alot but they're (or at least Zorko) are being tagged out of the game these days. by 4 goals
hotpies12
9 Aug 2008, 11:08
Aaron Gove is a hard at it,can anyone tell me how he is going at Coloundra .He played at Gisborne and Woodend in Victoria
Yeah govey is going pretty good. Named on the bench this week in the 1's. Makes it hard for himself when he rarely trains, but i think work commitments have a bit ot do with it. But as you said real hard nut, excels in the wet!!
Oddball
11 Aug 2008, 13:07
Another big weekend in AFLQ State League,
Sharks v Tigers - Tigers to push them hard, but Sharks will get up
Vultures v Bombers - Bombers might just upset the "winged" Vultures
Eagles v Lions - Must win game for the Eagles, but the Lions are near full strength, might be a draw
Cats v Panthers - Cats are hard to beat at home, the Panthers will be desperate to win but will just fall short.
Gone for a couple of roughies this week - wonder what odds a Velocity Bookie would give on these 4 getting up? :D[/quote]
I would personally like to congratulate myself on the worst tipping performance of the year! :p
The only thing I know is that based on no submission this week, our good friend Morph did worse than me (:D)
Not only was I wrong, my "pick the margins" would have been a massive negative. I would like to talk to the Stewards regarding the Vultures though! The Lions aren't that good and the Bombers that bad.
well Oddy i'll just take this opportunity to pump up my own tyres ... not only did i pick 4 from 4 ... my margins are pretty close to spot on ... i called Sharks by 60 (48) Vultures by 100+ (120) Lions by 60 (56) and Panthers by 24 (24) ... hitting some big tipping form at the end of the season!
Oddball
11 Aug 2008, 15:59
well Oddy i'll just take this opportunity to pump up my own tyres ... not only did i pick 4 from 4 ... my margins are pretty close to spot on ... i called Sharks by 60 (48) Vultures by 100+ (120) Lions by 60 (56) and Panthers by 24 (24) ... hitting some big tipping form at the end of the season!
Honestly can't believe anyone can be that lucky - not once, but 4 times :thumbsu:
Well Done!
Honestly can't believe anyone can be that lucky - not once, but 4 times :thumbsu:
Well Done!
Luck? ... what is this Luck of which you speak? :p ;)
rockstarr
14 Aug 2008, 18:36
Hey boys just after a bit of info about Burleigh Football Club. Club culture? Is it run well? Coaches? Good Blokes that play there? Just any general info about the club as a whole.
Cheers lads.
Oddball
15 Aug 2008, 12:33
And this weeks pathetic attempt at making a selection:
Tigers vs Vultures: Vultures easy
Sharks vs Bombers: Sharks easy
Lions vs Cats: Lions easy
Eagles vs Panthers: What a game, well worth the price of free admission - a draw!
morphous
15 Aug 2008, 12:52
And this weeks pathetic attempt at making a selection:
Tigers vs Vultures: Vultures easy
Sharks vs Bombers: Sharks easy
Lions vs Cats: Lions easy
Eagles vs Panthers: What a game, well worth the price of free admission - a draw!
Was away last week and forgot to tip.
This week Vultures, Bombers, Lions and Panthers.
and my winning tips for this weekend ... taking alot of confidence in from last week ...
Tigers v Vultures - Vultures by 83
Sharks v SharkBombers - Sharks by 137
Lions v Cats - Lions by 58
Eagles v Pathers - Panthers by 7
i've a feeling my amazing luck with picking the margins probably wont extend itself to this week ... but thought i'd give it a crack ...