View Full Version : Aflq News
Pages :
[
18]
Break The Lines
15 Aug 2008, 18:51
Hey boys just after a bit of info about Burleigh Football Club. Club culture? Is it run well? Coaches? Good Blokes that play there? Just any general info about the club as a whole.
Cheers lads.
Burleigh really is a top club mate. The culture it has is pretty unique, bit like a family, once your a Burleigh boy you don't leave.. sounds generic but its the truth, all the guys make you feel welcome and do anything for you. Good coach who I think is respected in the league and support staff are ok too. Good senior list, just struggle to keep on park at same time though.
New rooms are being planned with conjuction with Burleigh Bears Leagues club too.
Hope that helped.
rockstarr
15 Aug 2008, 22:14
Burleigh really is a top club mate. The culture it has is pretty unique, bit like a family, once your a Burleigh boy you don't leave.. sounds generic but its the truth, all the guys make you feel welcome and do anything for you. Good coach who I think is respected in the league and support staff are ok too. Good senior list, just struggle to keep on park at same time though.
New rooms are being planned with conjuction with Burleigh Bears Leagues club too.
Hope that helped.
Thanks mate thats real good info, just moved up here and looking for a game next year and a bloke i used to play with down south said to check out Burleigh and everything sounds good especially the new clubrooms.:thumbsu:
Cheers
Lenny29
16 Aug 2008, 18:43
Gearing up for a big finals series for the Hawks, Jorge?
Oddball
18 Aug 2008, 14:00
And this weeks "lucky" winner was:
Hack - 4 from 4 (two weeks in a row)
OB - 3 from 4
Morph - 3 from 4
you beauty ... another great week ... my margins didnt work out too well ... but would believe that i accidently put a few of them around the wrong way ...
swap my margin for the Sharks v Sharkbombers of 137 to the Lions v Cats game ... where the margin was 137 ...
and then swap the lions v cats margin of 58 ... for the lab v mounties margin of 57 ...
and whe u look at it that way ... i still had a pretty good day ...
Open Forward Line
19 Aug 2008, 22:46
Now that we know that it is Mt Gravatt, Southport, Lions and Morningside where will it end up.
Who will be Minor premiers, can Zillmere beat the Vultures after last weeks mess, can the Panthers continue there run of form or will Southport flex their muscle? An interesting week ahead. What are the Lions thinking going forward - who is eligible? what is the eligibility?
How bad was Lilico's injury, where is their big recruit gone? Has McEntee really signed with Surfers for next year? Are he and Sinclair at loggerheads? Will Cleary, Evans and Turton get back?
Where are the finals being played this year - Coorparoo or Carrara?
The 2's competition reflects the Senior comp a lot with its top teams. Do they all have good depth? Who should win that - Southport look dominant.
love the speculation post ...
i think the ladder will stay the way it is ... Mt Gravatt will do it pretty easily over Zillmere this week. last week showed that alot of Zillmere players have been playing a bit above themselves in the games they've won well. Apparently the Vultures have 3 or 4 players to try and squeeze into the line up over the next few weeks, which you would assume would include the likes of Cleary, Evans and Turton, so thats not really a dilema you'd be upset about.
the Morningside v Southport game at the Jack Esplen this weekend will be a cracker ... as bad as Zillmere were last week, Morningside were as good and i'm backing them to beat the Sharks on their home turf as they did earlier in the year. Lillico's injury wasnt that bad, he just coped an knock to his arm and i figure with the game already well and truely decided they decided to rest him, and with the form he was in, it'll do him and the team nothing but good.
As for the Lions finals campaign ... i heard that they are keen to breed a winning culture into their strong list of young players, so are keen to have a good crack at winning the flag this year, so with the list of players they have eligable to play, the Mt Gravatt v Southport Grand Final might not be the foregone conclusion we all thought it would be.
Jorge Horatio
20 Aug 2008, 17:23
Gearing up for a big finals series for the Hawks, Jorge?
No unfortunately Lenny, lost too many close games but im sure you know what thats like hey lol lol. Mate if possible im thinking we could maybe borrow your backline for next season, i honestly reckon being smashed by 300 points in one game and over 200 in 2 or 3 others will propel us towards the finals. In all seriousness when your throwing stones, you should have alook how you for and against is compared to decent teams mate, honestly as a full back ( yeah we know who you are) id be disgusted to know we leaked 3000 points for a season and only scored 700, but im sure both your teams had plenty to celebrate on silly sunday, i mean jeez, you guys were probably the worst team in the 5 years of PHC, which is something to crow about. Even after being booted from our ground and losing players to zillmere, we never stooped that low. Hope you like your glass house Chump
Lenny29
20 Aug 2008, 20:58
No unfortunately Lenny, lost too many close games but im sure you know what thats like hey lol lol. Mate if possible im thinking we could maybe borrow your backline for next season, i honestly reckon being smashed by 300 points in one game and over 200 in 2 or 3 others will propel us towards the finals. In all seriousness when your throwing stones, you should have alook how you for and against is compared to decent teams mate, honestly as a full back ( yeah we know who you are) id be disgusted to know we leaked 3000 points for a season and only scored 700, but im sure both your teams had plenty to celebrate on silly sunday, i mean jeez, you guys were probably the worst team in the 5 years of PHC, which is something to crow about. Even after being booted from our ground and losing players to zillmere, we never stooped that low. Hope you like your glass house Chump
clearly I wasn't in any way implying we were anything other than shit, just that I thought your new gun side would be playing in the finals, that's all
Jorge Horatio
21 Aug 2008, 12:09
clearly I wasn't in any way implying we were anything other than shit, just that I thought your new gun side would be playing in the finals, that's all
Yawn, like i said, dont throw stones when your house is so glassy my boy
Oddball
22 Aug 2008, 11:09
And for the penultimate round:
Should be relatively easy with probably only the game at Esplen oval in the balance - however stranger things have happened.
The Vultures won't want to give up top spot, but have some injury issues.
The Panthers appear to be in good form and at home could knock the Sharks over.
Lions v Bombers - Lions are making a statement, expect a very big win
Vultures v Eagles - Eagles after some lost pride, but will not be enough as the Vultures want top spot. Vultures by 40 points
Panthers v Sharks - tight game with the winners being ...............?????, maybe Sharks, maybe not :confused:
Cats v Tigers - Cats at home - just.
Next week it's finals, might add the Ressie's to the tipping to keep it interesting.
morphous
22 Aug 2008, 11:51
And for the penultimate round:
Should be relatively easy with probably only the game at Esplen oval in the balance - however stranger things have happened.
The Vultures won't want to give up top spot, but have some injury issues.
The Panthers appear to be in good form and at home could knock the Sharks over.
Lions v Bombers - Lions are making a statement, expect a very big win
Vultures v Eagles - Eagles after some lost pride, but will not be enough as the Vultures want top spot. Vultures by 40 points
Panthers v Sharks - tight game with the winners being ...............?????, maybe Sharks, maybe not :confused:
Cats v Tigers - Cats at home - just.
Next week it's finals, might add the Ressie's to the tipping to keep it interesting.
I'm going the same tips as you.
Vultures v Eagles - few players back for the Vultures will be too much for an Eagles team with a bruised ego 5 goals
Cats v Tigers - Tigers have shown some good form of late and will be alot more hungry for a win than the Cats 4 goals
Panthers v Sharks - on the tighter confinds of the Esplen oval, Siders coming off a very good victory will be in a better mindset than the Sharks who've just completed the bottom of the ladder double. 2 goals
Lions v Sharkbombers - it will be a close contest until the game starts ... Lions by 170
QLDFOOTY
23 Aug 2008, 21:33
Vultures v Eagles - few players back for the Vultures will be too much for an Eagles team with a bruised ego 5 goals
Cats v Tigers - Tigers have shown some good form of late and will be alot more hungry for a win than the Cats 4 goals
Panthers v Sharks - on the tighter confinds of the Esplen oval, Siders coming off a very good victory will be in a better mindset than the Sharks who've just completed the bottom of the ladder double. 2 goals
Lions v Sharkbombers - it will be a close contest until the game starts ... Lions by 170
I was at the magpies noosa game today and i think the league has made a bad decision with the magpies, they will get belted all year, Redlands will be happy the magpies are in
Lenny29
24 Aug 2008, 13:44
I was at the magpies noosa game today and i think the league has made a bad decision with the magpies, they will get belted all year, Redlands will be happy the magpies are in
The side's basically an under 25 side. They'll recruit a few (Pask is signed already I believe) and they'll finish around 7th-8th first year IMO.
Oddball
26 Aug 2008, 10:07
Hack,
On behalf of Morph and myself I would like to thank you for allowing us to catch up a bit this week! :D
haha you're welcome guys ... just getting that neccessary loss out of the way before finals ... thats my story and i'm sticking to it!
very disappointed in the Panthers and Tigers ... i expected bigger things from them.
Oddball
29 Aug 2008, 14:47
OK now the serious stuff begins:
AFLQ State League: 1st Semi
1's - Lions v Panthers - Lions will just have too much, unless they are thinking about "Mad Monday"
2's - Eagles v Panthers - Bad day for the Panthers, Eagles should win
Pineapple Cup:
1st Semi: Wests v Burleigh - Burleigh in good form, but Wests will be too strong at home
2nd Semi: PBC v Noosa - I think the home ground will be the decider in a much closer game than some expect - PBC
damochandler
29 Aug 2008, 17:16
the siders want this more than the lions do i reckon. they ill get some good players back for this game and i am confident they will knock the lions off in this one. the lions havent had a good finals record in the past few years. who ever wins this game can knock of the vultures or the sharks in the prelim final.
the ressies. the eagles should be to strong for the siders. the are the reining premiers and i am sure they want to defend that title till the end
the pinapple hotel cup
the magpies would be rattled by that loss to noosa and i think burlieh can exploit it. so the bombers to win and to knock the div 1 bound team out of the finals race. aspley to win the 2's as well
noosa are looking stronger and stronger every week. i reckon they will knock off those. well you know what i mean. and it will be a cracker.
OK now the serious stuff begins:
AFLQ State League: 1st Semi
1's - Lions v Panthers - Lions will just have too much, unless they are thinking about "Mad Monday"
2's - Eagles v Panthers - Bad day for the Panthers, Eagles should win
Pineapple Cup:
1st Semi: Wests v Burleigh - Burleigh in good form, but Wests will be too strong at home
2nd Semi: PBC v Noosa - I think the home ground will be the decider in a much closer game than some expect - PBC
Watched the Suncoast Lions game - no doubt they were thinking of "Mad-Monday" - not to take anything away from a great performance by the Panthers, but I think it's a shame that the Lions don't take it (the AFLQ Comp) seriously.
damochandler
1 Sep 2008, 18:43
Watched the Suncoast Lions game - no doubt they were thinking of "Mad-Monday" - not to take anything away from a great performance by the Panthers, but I think it's a shame that the Lions don't take it (the AFLQ Comp) seriously.
its better that suncoast didnt win. they only fielded 21 players out there yesterday and they finished the game with only 16 men on the field. what if they did win the comp. what would they do. what they have been doing the last 7 years since they won there first flag. just run around in the comp do well in the h&a season and dont bother about the finals. if they had won the flag this year. they would have done that. the reson why is. if they keep winning flags. they will have to play in the vfl. the lions dont want to do that. they should be playing in the vfl any way. gee i am glad they didnt win the comp this year
BearGrills16
1 Sep 2008, 19:20
can anybody tell me how ipswich went this year???? my brother used to play4 the mighty eagles and i was just wonderin how they went this year??? any news would be great:thumbsu:
Toucan Soup
5 Sep 2008, 11:32
Although I didn't see any Ipswich games this season, I can let you know that they missed the finals for the first time in a few years, finishing fifth.
Their percentage was quite good, but just not enough wins. Not sure of the reasons for the struggle - perhaps injuries, and then there are always availability problems with the RAAF.
But I'm sure they'll bounce back stronger again next year.
Toucan Soup
5 Sep 2008, 11:43
Good luck to both the Caloundra and Wynnum teams in this Sunday's Association Division 1 Grand Final at Coorparoo.
Caloundra has been the gun team all year, so will probably feel very confident about their chances. They've played Wynnum three times this year for three wins - but the margins have never been that great to call it convincing.
Wynnum has the ability to produce some great performances from their team. They certainly warrant respect from their opponents - underestimate them at your peril.
Even though Caloundra has not played much football over the past four weeks, if a choice had to be made, I would expect them to triumph this Sunday.
But I've been wrong before.
Good luck to both clubs and all players and officials involved.
damochandler
5 Sep 2008, 12:32
another big weekend in footy. i am going to go with the sharks in the big one sat coorparoo on saturday. they could have and should have beaten the vultures in all 3 games they played against eachother this year. david james and and watts will be influencial in this game. it will be a cracker
i reckon the magpies will get noosa in the pineapple hotel cup prelim final. i reckon last weeks semi final against pbs would have taken a fair bit out of noosa and they might have a couple missing through suspension as well. it will be a cracking game, but it might be an absolute bog up at caloundra as well and that might favor noosa. seeing they get plenty of rain up there and there ground always seems to be wet and boggy. aspley to win the 2's as well.
i havent watched any of the state association division 1 this year. but i have looked at the results over the year and the mighty panthers are the cut above. i have a bit of a soft spot for this mob and i think they will win and win big. this will be there first flag in 16 years. they beat noosa on that day as well
BearGrills16
5 Sep 2008, 12:43
Although I didn't see any Ipswich games this season, I can let you know that they missed the finals for the first time in a few years, finishing fifth.
Their percentage was quite good, but just not enough wins. Not sure of the reasons for the struggle - perhaps injuries, and then there are always availability problems with the RAAF.
But I'm sure they'll bounce back stronger again next year.
thanks heaps mate, my brother played back in 05 when rhan hooper played. i watched a few games that year and hey looked the goods very good club with nice ppl, if i ever moved up to queeny thats who id play with, the mighty eagles. who won the comp this year???
The State League 2nd Semi:
Vultures v Sharks in both grades
One's: Vultures
Two's: Sharks
In Pineapple cup:
One's: Noosa v Wests - close one, maybe Noosa
Two's: Aspley v Surfers - long way to Caloundra from Surfers - Aspley to win
I win last week because Morph and Hack went missing :D
Also to the Suncoast Lions - lucky there's no stewards in AFLQ footy, if the game had of been played at Eagle Farm you would be in trouble. (not taking anything away from Panthers who had a far dinkum crack, but really) :(
Good wishes to the Caloundra boys this weekend
Toucan Soup
5 Sep 2008, 15:59
Redcliffe ended up winning the comp, defeated Beenleigh by about 4 goals (I think).
Robina were undefeated up until about Round 10, and then fell away quickly (injuries again).
Redcliffe ended up winning the comp, defeated Beenleigh by about 4 goals (I think).
Robina were undefeated up until about Round 10, and then fell away quickly (injuries again).
Beenleigh were up by 5 goals at quarter time with the breeze, then never looked like it after that.
And from what I've heard from a multiple of sources, it wasn't so much injuries as the truckloads of cash that was promised but wasn't paid to a few blokes!
One for you TS - are Caloundra any chance to go up to the PHC? Obviously with the Magpies going up you'd assume they'd promote (or relegate) a side to keep things even.
Toucan Soup
8 Sep 2008, 10:23
Lenny, I reckon it is a very good question - but the short answer I believe is "No".
The League seems to have an inflexible attitude to relegating/promoting clubs between the League and Association. This might be an exaggeration on my behalf, but I think the League would almost let a Div 2 club fall over before making any changes.
I've suggested it before, and it doesn't get a lot of support here - but I think the Div 2 comp should comprise ten teams. We would then have a balanced season of 18 games, playing each other club twice. No way in the world will I nominate a club though - if I suggest anyone, I'll just cop abuse.
As for Caloundra, perhaps they would be competitive against a few clubs - but the burden of travel, and the impact of copping major losses against the top teams, would dismantle their resolve quickly. I don't think there is a lot of value for Caloundra (or for that matter, Wynnum) to seek promotion.
Of course, I could be completely wrong. An eleven team comp with 18 rounds certainly does not make a lot of sense. Its really anybody's guess! What is your opinion on the best structure of local comps?
Also, a very entertaining Grand Final yesterday. Caloundra had beaten Wynnum three times from three games for the year - but Wynnum played a good close-checking game, pressuring the Coast team on all occasions. Caloundra certainly had their chances, but a one point victory to Wynnum kept everyone on edge until the final second!
Another Grand Final loss would have been crushing to Wynnum (I know, we've been there before) - so congratulations to them on their unexpected, but well constructed success. There'd be some sore heads out their way today!
I saw that Wynnum didn't even score in the last quarter and still held on - ridiculous! Still, glad for the old Springwood boys that are there that did well!
The reason for the inflexibility between League/Association has been that there was a three year moratorium placed on promotion and relegation between the two when the AFLSQ disbanded at the end of 2005. That's gone now so leaves the door open. I completely agree with you that a 10 team 18 round comp is the way to go, but that leaves Springwood in the firing line.
Will be interesting, I'm sure.
damochandler
8 Sep 2008, 11:09
I saw that Wynnum didn't even score in the last quarter and still held on - ridiculous! Still, glad for the old Springwood boys that are there that did well!
The reason for the inflexibility between League/Association has been that there was a three year moratorium placed on promotion and relegation between the two when the AFLSQ disbanded at the end of 2005. That's gone now so leaves the door open. I completely agree with you that a 10 team 18 round comp is the way to go, but that leaves Springwood in the firing line.
Will be interesting, I'm sure.
caloundra blew that game yesterday. i think they another 5 shots on goal after kicking the first 3 goals in quick time
i think matty payne will win the j.a grogan medal tonight and he might win it by a country mile. a roughie for the medal tonight imo is. nathan kinch. he could take the medal
congrats to wynnum yesterday and well done to the hornets, magpies , southport and the vultures for making it through to the gf
Toucan Soup
8 Sep 2008, 17:00
You're both right about Caloundra having their chances - but here's one thing I did not realize until looking at the quarter-by-quarter scores this morning:
Kicking with the breeze (only a slight advantage), Caloundra scored a combined total in the second and fourth quarters of 3 goals 13 behinds.
Wynnum set the game up well with a three goal to nil second quarter. Even at three quarter time, I said to the people around me that whilst Caloundra were down by 26 points, they could still kick six goals to nil in the final quarter to win. It almost worked out that way - but inaccurate kicking (and excruciating hit posts) left them one point short.
It was an intriguing game overall.
Oddball
11 Sep 2008, 11:44
This week in:
State League -
1's: Vultures v Panthers - Vultures
2's: Sharks v Eagles - Eagles
Pineapple Cup GF -
1's: PBC v Wests - PBC
2's: Wests v Aspley - Wests
damochandler
11 Sep 2008, 16:37
a massive weekend in footy this one.
the prelim final in the vsc will be a cracker. i am going to go with the mighty siders. i just think they are clicking well and they want this bad. i am sure they dont want to beaten 3 years in a row in a prelim final. if they can get over the vultures midfield, it will go along way to winning this game of footy and thats were southport won the game last week. conroy, clarke, kinch and h wilson have been the key over the last 2 months of the season for the sider and they will be the key again on sunday. morison wont be an influence in this game and thats not unsual against the siders. he hasnt been a factor in the last 3 games he has played against them. i just think the fact they have been beaten in the last 2 prelim finals and the fashion they were beaten. they dont want it to happen again.
the phc gf. this game wont be close sadly. the magies really put the cleaners through pbc last time they played and i was one who thought they would knock them off this year for the flag. but a week off helps heaps and pbc will have to many guns firing in this one for the magpies to knock off pbc
the 2's for both vsc and the phc. the eagles should win in the vsc ressies and god i hope aspley can beat the magpies. i reckon aspley can do it
The Cable Guy
12 Sep 2008, 11:51
The word on the street is that the Panthers may have had a helping hand this week at training from a recently retired AFL coach with premiership success...any truth to the rumour in that one damo?
damochandler
12 Sep 2008, 14:58
The word on the street is that the Panthers may have had a helping hand this week at training from a recently retired AFL coach with premiership success...any truth to the rumour in that one damo?
i am stuffed if i know.
Lenny29
13 Sep 2008, 19:22
You will never, ever, see a better local league grand final that the PHC decider today.
Still can't believe the Magpies won.
You will never, ever, see a better local league grand final that the PHC decider today.
Still can't believe the Magpies won.
Ripping game. Thought Palmy played like premiers during the 3rd quarter, started to muck around with the footy and gave the Maggies a sniff.
Unbelievable finish, PBC were shattered after dominating the entire season.
Chasing the Dream
14 Sep 2008, 19:27
What a weekend of upsets.
If the Palm Beach result was not a big enough upset, then Morningside defeating Mt Gravatt today certainly added to that.
Coming from fourth to make the Grand Final is an impressive effort.
So it is Southport v Morningside. Sound familiar anyone:o
BearGrills16
16 Sep 2008, 14:37
What a weekend of upsets.
If the Palm Beach result was not a big enough upset, then Morningside defeating Mt Gravatt today certainly added to that.
Coming from fourth to make the Grand Final is an impressive effort.
So it is Southport v Morningside. Sound familiar anyone:o
whos your tip brother??
damochandler
18 Sep 2008, 19:42
the grand final is finally here at last. i am glad the sharks and the siders are in. it will be a better game than ifit was between the vultures and the sharks. these 2 teams are the biggest rivals and they have played in plenty of grand finals against each other. i love an old school grand final and this one wont dissapoint.
my tip is the siders. this side wants this bad. it will be a great grand final and the best players on both sides all year will peroform again on sunday. if the siders can shut david james down. it will go a long to winning the game. this bloke has been a ball magnet for years.
in the 2's. i think the sharks will get the chocalates in a classic.
Oddball
19 Sep 2008, 10:53
Interesting thoughts DC, but I will have to disagree. After getting everything wrong last week I'm on a roll.
I think the Panthers will have a real crack and given the Sharks missed a game last week they could be suspect if it's tight late in the game, but they did get some game time into a few players in the 2's who may push for senior selection (i.e. Jenkins & Headland). Lillico has been great but is not 100% and he will find out about it early in the game I suspect. I think the Panthers have been just sensational and I'm sure they will give a good account of themselves, but unfortunately I think the Sharks will get through again.
In the 2's my guess is that the Vultures will be strengthened by a few who played last week and the Sharks were shown up last week to be suspect against the footy being moved quickly. Should be a quality contest with the Vultures to ruin the Sharks double celebration.
BenBal Plugger
19 Sep 2008, 12:24
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?
Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.
Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, strong social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.
Send any queries to my mailbox.
damochandler
19 Sep 2008, 16:37
sundays game will be a cracker
the key players for both teams imo are
david james. this bloke seems to bring his own footy to every game. if the siders can keep him quiet, it will go along way to winning the game
clint watts. its his last game and he is a big game player. he has won a joe grant medal before and his drive off the back line will be crucial
danny wise. his run and carry will be important. we saw last year how much he was missed in last years grand final. it wouldnt suprise me if lawler went to him
mcentee and sinclair. they were shut down last time they met and the worry is who will get the goals if they both struggle. the dont have dan mcentee this year
the siders
nick clark. he has been arguably the siders best player over the last month and a half. he could turn it it on win the game for the siders
ben gibson. this kid has been outstanding this year and the roles he has had to do. he has nearly won everyone. he will go to sinclair again i reckon and i beat him well last time
glenn conroy. he has been great the last 2 months of the season and he has been brilliant in the clinches and his quick handballs have been important
sam brown and mathew logan. they could be the key for the sider to win the game. they need to kick goals when needed and they to present and not alow abey to be the only target for the siders
it will be a great grand final
joe grant medal winner: ben gibson for the siders and clint watts for the sharks
Doug_Hondo
20 Sep 2008, 15:24
Don't like the vultures much do ya Damo?
Doe's anyone know where I can listen to this game online ??
James_37
21 Sep 2008, 19:23
Southport up in an absolute beauty, looked down and out late in the 3rd and early in the 4th, going against a strong breeze in the last quarter, however managed to come back from a 4 goal(?) deficit to win by about 10 points. The Southport ressies lost by 12 goals to the Vultures(?), never came close apparently.
damochandler
22 Sep 2008, 00:39
it was a classic game of footy and its typical of this rivalry between the 2 clubs. david james hardly got a touch and the 2 pronged full forwards stood up at the end. danny wise was outstanding and southports full back could count himself a bit unlucky with the joe grant medal. goughy had a great game though. well done southport
Who was playing full back for Southport ??
damochandler
22 Sep 2008, 13:47
Who was playing full back for Southport ??
kurt niklaus. he kept kent abey to 2 behinds. i think its time they move the grand final away from carrara. they need to have a good look at some local grounds. this leauges grand final isnt suited to the big stadiums. 2 years in a row now. the crowd hasnt been that good. look at last week at broadie. it was great atmosphere and there plenty of people watching
hankevans
23 Sep 2008, 00:56
Seemed to be more spectators at Merrimac last week than Carrara this week... accurate DC?
The Cable Guy
23 Sep 2008, 12:22
Seemed to be more spectators at Merrimac last week than Carrara this week... accurate DC?
I think it's safe to say that Hank, the lower leagues generally have a bit more patriotic feel for the home town. Although I thought the crowd on Sunday at Carrara had it's moments, still a good atmosphere
sussel12
6 Oct 2008, 08:27
Are the eagles out of the AFLQ? Who is likely to step up and where are the Eagles players going?
demon magic 1
6 Oct 2008, 13:00
Are the eagles out of the AFLQ? Who is likely to step up and where are the Eagles players going?
Will there be a north side club in the state league, you would have to think so.
If a north side club Aspley, Sandgate, Mayne etc go up then most local players would make the move there. The local boys are a close group and are there to further their football so i cant see many if any not playing state league next season.
I am sure the club that steps up would welcome most if not all that wanted to join.
As for the recruited players i am sure they will chase the cash and move on like they do.
If no club moves up this year could see massive population increase in the western districs?
the only northside club that could step up would be Aspley. Have the facilities just need some players
whisper...
7 Oct 2008, 22:10
So have the eagles folded? some news ive heard about them going back to north brissy??
sandshoes
8 Oct 2008, 09:42
Aspley are kidding themselves.
we will see
demon magic 1
8 Oct 2008, 14:30
In what way are they kidding themselves.
Have a look at the facilities, juniors, past juniors playing state league, past players playing AFL and Money they do have.
They are as good a club as those in the state league.
Moving into the new comp means they will gain the best of the northside talent. Not to mention that a larger cap that i am sure they can afford unlike others.
sandshoes can you tell me if there is a club north of the river that is in a better position?
In what way are they kidding themselves.
Have a look at the facilities, juniors, past juniors playing state league, past players playing AFL and Money they do have.
They are as good a club as those in the state league.
Moving into the new comp means they will gain the best of the northside talent. Not to mention that a larger cap that i am sure they can afford unlike others.
sandshoes can you tell me if there is a club north of the river that is in a better position?
spot on demon magic
rumour is aspley have been awarded state licence for 2009. Zillmere gone
Jorge Horatio
8 Oct 2008, 17:08
rumour is aspley have been awarded state licence for 2009. Zillmere gone
Not a rumour. The only northside license has been handed to Aspley. Zillmere eagles gone. They cant afford to pay bills or player payments. It's a real shame as there will be quite a few people upset about this decision. They have been throwing money around phc for years and have nothing to show for it. Kinda funny when AFLQ could have got on this months ago but instead go against their own guidelines of a years notice before upgrading or dowgrading teams. Helps them out of there situiation of an 11 team PHC.
sandshoes
8 Oct 2008, 17:35
its not that aspley dont have the facilities, money or juniors. its the people they have in charge of the club that ruin the place.
because of this good luck to them getting a half decent list together for '09. they can't even get a team together to do any good in the PHC, what hop are they in the number one comp?
hope they don't expect they'll get the entire eagles list to show up, my mail is that they won't, most can't stand the place, including their former juniors, and this is due to the attitude of their top echelon.
good to them
damochandler
8 Oct 2008, 17:37
once shaw sports pulled out. it was the start of the end imo. its sad it has to end for the eagle. its such a great club and great players have come from the eagles. aspley are more than capable of being a good team in dv 1. there facilities are pretty good
Why?
Their facilities rival the best in Brisbane.
Why?
Their facilities rival the best in Brisbane.
Possibly the worst shaped field in all of Australia
sussel12
8 Oct 2008, 19:45
Aspley should be able to get some good players if they get a good football manager. Not sure who they have now but he definently pulled some not so great players the last few years. A lot of ex Aspley boys at the Eagles however. Inside info tells me it seems a lot of these boys think they are to good for Aspley. Bit of a shame seeing that is were they grew up. No other team on the North side stood a chance. Aspley need to recruit some Lions rejects to pull numbers. Use the $$$ you have!
whate shape is the oval lenny???
One half is round, the other half has ridiculously deep pockets then cuts straight up the boundary line, like hte side of a rectangle!
sandshoes
9 Oct 2008, 09:42
why would they go back to aspley, when all aspley do is bag anyone who goes up the road to further their football with zillmere. its been ongoing for almost 20 years, and aspley wonder why noone wants to play for them.
i think they will go back to aspley for the same reason they went to Zillmere. to play at highest level..
the way i see it, thats why zilmere have survived for the last few years because the best northern juniors only had one option of where. to play on the northside. the option now will be Aspley.
Thoughts?
astronomy class
9 Oct 2008, 19:26
The option will be aspley, but i think that with the rivalry every other north side club has with aspley may keep some of the fringe 17 and 18 year olds that aren't quite up to state league but would otherwise have had a crack in the past at there original club to play senior footy... but money talks i guess, good luck to them..
Jorge Horatio
9 Oct 2008, 20:21
The option will be aspley, but i think that with the rivalry every other north side club has with aspley may keep some of the fringe 17 and 18 year olds that aren't quite up to state league but would otherwise have had a crack in the past at there original club to play senior footy... but money talks i guess, good luck to them..
IMO i seriously think there will be a great benefit to all northern sides in a way. I honestly think obviously Aspley has benefitted in regards to a step up but i reckon Sandgate will be the big winner from this. many people mention Aspley juniors going to Zillmere but forget about the juniors from sandgate. Sandgate and Zillmere have an amicable relationship and ive heard already of several players interested in working with new coach/captain Ben Long (ex eagles player) Danny Dickfos and a host of other ex eagles. With another 60 odd players now looking around it will be hard to see Aspley hold onto all, on top of the already 3 teams fielded by Aspley, which means alot of players will be heading to Sandgate. Mayne is in disarray, Grange is a far hike for players in traffic at training times and i believe your point on prospective juniors staying put is a fair argument. You cant tell me all Sandgate juniors who grew up hating Aspley will head down there to play to be treated differently then they would at their junior home????? Your thoughts????
Up North
9 Oct 2008, 20:41
IMO i seriously think there will be a great benefit to all northern sides in a way. I honestly think obviously Aspley has benefitted in regards to a step up but i reckon Sandgate will be the big winner from this. many people mention Aspley juniors going to Zillmere but forget about the juniors from sandgate. Sandgate and Zillmere have an amicable relationship and ive heard already of several players interested in working with new coach/captain Ben Long (ex eagles player) Danny Dickfos and a host of other ex eagles. With another 60 odd players now looking around it will be hard to see Aspley hold onto all, on top of the already 3 teams fielded by Aspley, which means alot of players will be heading to Sandgate. Mayne is in disarray, Grange is a far hike for players in traffic at training times and i believe your point on prospective juniors staying put is a fair argument. You cant tell me all Sandgate juniors who grew up hating Aspley will head down there to play to be treated differently then they would at their junior home????? Your thoughts????
I'm relatively new to QLD footy, and don't know much about the rivalries etc. I do know a few of the senior Zillmere boys, and know that a lot of them will not be going to Aspley. I know of about 4 that have said they'd rather go to Morningside or Sandgate.
Jorge Horatio
9 Oct 2008, 20:57
I'm relatively new to QLD footy, and don't know much about the rivalries etc. I do know a few of the senior Zillmere boys, and know that a lot of them will not be going to Aspley. I know of about 4 that have said they'd rather go to Morningside or Sandgate.
Too true Up North. Just to fill you, the rivalries on the northside do not get much bigger then Sandgate V aspley. But to be honest no-one playing footy for a northside team unless they have been aspley players previously really have much time for the club. Alot of boys at Aspley will get noses out of joint to when being made to step aside. Interesting times, considering its now from what ive heard an intention of Sandgate to field a 3rds team next season. Is there a new player surplus expected on top of the 60 odd player numbers this year?????????????
astronomy class
9 Oct 2008, 21:09
i think that aspley will throw money around as they usually do and in the end that might get some of the kids to go there, but whether they play for the right reasons is another questions.. sandgate looking good jorge??
Up North
9 Oct 2008, 22:09
Too true Up North. Just to fill you, the rivalries on the northside do not get much bigger then Sandgate V aspley. But to be honest no-one playing footy for a northside team unless they have been aspley players previously really have much time for the club. Alot of boys at Aspley will get noses out of joint to when being made to step aside. Interesting times, considering its now from what ive heard an intention of Sandgate to field a 3rds team next season. Is there a new player surplus expected on top of the 60 odd player numbers this year?????????????
Too true. I think Redland will be happy that Aspley are going up. Jorge, having played against you guys, I was quite impressed by Sandgate this year. You have definitely made huge improvement
QLDFOOTY
10 Oct 2008, 01:15
Too true. I think Redland will be happy that Aspley are going up. Jorge, having played against you guys, I was quite impressed by Sandgate this year. You have definitely made huge improvement
Ok lets face it Sandgate will get a couple of players that don't want to play state league footy,but any player that wants to play state league footy will talk to all state leagues clubs to see whats on offer and Lakey has already been on the phone so has Blairy to mugavin and ward these 2 will play at the panthers next year, aspley will battle for the next 3 years but with the juniors they have will be a force in 5 years time. we all hate them but in the end aspley are the best chance of a flag heading to northside in the next 10 years in state league.
also they are putting a team in div 1 so how many players will just play in that from the phc this year could be a strong team.
QLDFOOTY
10 Oct 2008, 01:35
ok it's Oct but i will give you some info let me know how i go in 6 months time
rumours for 2009
The sharks leading goal kicker to move to surfers paradise for a reported 15k salary cap my ass
Mugavin and ward to the panthers
Aspley wooden spoon
D Hawkins from the sharks will be over seas next year
A morrision won't be coaching grange next year
M Davis will be apart of the GC17/u18's in 2009
Ferrit Wilson will shop himslef around but will end up at the panthers
The NT will be top of the table by round 5 but will miss the finals.
and this is the one thing i know is for true is The Bomber's on the coast haven't paid there players for last half of 2008
if anyone else has a rumour put it on here it's good to read, to see what the footy world has to say.
Toucan Soup
10 Oct 2008, 09:37
also they are putting a team in div 1 so how many players will just play in that from the phc this year could be a strong team.
G'day QLDFOOTY,
I didn't understand exactly what you meant by this line. Could you provide some more details of what you intended please.
Thanks.
Also, everyone is talking about Aspley moving up - and fair enough. But what is happening to Zillmere as a club? Have they dissolved completely?
QLDFooty. what makes you so sure mugavin is heading back to morningside???
i think that aspley will throw money around as they usually do and in the end that might get some of the kids to go there, but whether they play for the right reasons is another questions.. sandgate looking good jorge??
if you are going to throw money around dont you think they will go for some experienced players, maybe players with AFL experience. Like labrador have done??
Jorge i agree aspley will not hoild onto all of the players. im sure they will be targeting a number of there quality players.
in regards to the juniors if they want to play at the highest level and dont want to travel, i believe they will go to aspley, Dave Martin is the coach, who has coached at Zillmere and with a lot of new players required to compete i think their opinions of aspley may change.
So long has been appointed coach, what happened to this years coach?
Jorge Horatio
10 Oct 2008, 20:22
Jorge i agree aspley will not hoild onto all of the players. im sure they will be targeting a number of there quality players.
in regards to the juniors if they want to play at the highest level and dont want to travel, i believe they will go to aspley, Dave Martin is the coach, who has coached at Zillmere and with a lot of new players required to compete i think their opinions of aspley may change.
So long has been appointed coach, what happened to this years coach?
Nah nothing mate, happily retired after the last seasons game. Ben Long was brought back to his junior club with the full intention of taking over the reigns after serving a somewhat apprenticeship under Bomber Adams. Any avid watches of the team this season would have noticed him taking the midfield team aside prior to the main coach talk each break in a game.He apparently ran alot of drill at team training too. His is an inspirational leader as captain and sandgate really missed him in the last few games this season. Having Dickfos and co is not bad for an up and coming coach as further help.
whisper...
10 Oct 2008, 23:04
Bit of different things going around...
Has zillmere merged? or completely gone :confused:
Whats the general feeling with players and coaches and so on at eagles? aspley? or moving elsewhere?
coaching jobs next year? any clubs coachless or looking at replacing last seasons coach? m davis?
QLDFOOTY
11 Oct 2008, 05:32
G'day QLDFOOTY,
I didn't understand exactly what you meant by this line. Could you provide some more details of what you intended please.
Thanks.
Also, everyone is talking about Aspley moving up - and fair enough. But what is happening to Zillmere as a club? Have they dissolved completely?
this is what I meant ASPLEY ARE FEILDING A TEAM AGAINST YOUR TEAM THE DEVILS mr corless and are paying 30 a game (but I know you pay more don't you TOUCAN SOUP)
LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR REPLY
sandshoes
11 Oct 2008, 11:36
Bit of different things going around...
Has zillmere merged? or completely gone :confused:
Whats the general feeling with players and coaches and so on at eagles? aspley? or moving elsewhere?
coaching jobs next year? any clubs coachless or looking at replacing last seasons coach? m davis?
Eagles are completely gone. List is dirty on Aspley for not appointing M Davis. Most will be playing elsewhere next year, some of the young ones and the fringe players that wont get a game anywhere else will be at the bumble bees for next year.
sussel12
11 Oct 2008, 11:53
I don't know about you guys, but does this seam like the Eagles players are a little bit cocky. Would Aspley really want that? If M.Davis is such a good coach he will get appointed elsewhere. So what clubs are going up into the PHC? Could be a short league this year...
sandshoes
11 Oct 2008, 12:03
Not cocky at all. Eagles is no more, players will get to choose where they decide to play. And I dont think aspley is at the top of the list for most of the regular senior players. Aspley have made no attempt at keeping the list together which should have been a priortiy for them considering they need a playing list. So good luck to them winning a game next year. Redlands and Magpies will be stoked.
sandshoes,
what do you mean aspley have made no attempt at keeping the list together. they have already met with a few players and have a meeting next week with the playing list of 2008. i think you have a vendetta against aspley and i find your comments to be unreliable
sussel12
12 Oct 2008, 14:41
Well the word is Robby Copeland to Aspley.... could be a decent midfield with possibly Payne along side him. Evo should play midfield too. They just need someone to kick to up forward. What do you think about that midfield BigE? I bet you'd want to be part of that!
Copeland would be a very dominant player in the state league aspley would be doing very well to secure his services. Payne ive never seen play but from all reports, gun midfielder in state league. those two would be great acquisitions to Aspley FC. Evans may be a too old for state league?
Aspley should be able to get some good players if they get a good football manager. Not sure who they have now but he definently pulled some not so great players the last few years. A lot of ex Aspley boys at the Eagles however. Inside info tells me it seems a lot of these boys think they are to good for Aspley. Bit of a shame seeing that is were they grew up. No other team on the North side stood a chance. Aspley need to recruit some Lions rejects to pull numbers. Use the $$$ you have!
Aspley's football manager is mark perkins, great bloke and does a great job
demon magic 1
13 Oct 2008, 13:46
whate shape is the oval lenny???
the oval is not the best however drove past to see there is work happening (again) looks like the oval maybe changing a little.
A bit more shape to the wings could be good.
demon magic 1
13 Oct 2008, 14:13
Not sure you have the right mail. i think you will find that Aspley have been very busy working with the Eagles payers and coaches of 2008.
To those that say Aspley are negative toward any player that leaves to play higher in the past, that was a long time ago. Over the last 3 years players that have made their return have stayed and will continue on next year. Attitudes can change, perhaps these kids just need to visit Graham road.
To any ex player that has come back to the hornets as a social visit or to play let us know if you were welcome.
IMO Aspley will not finish bottom this year.
Look out for a strong side in the State Association.
sussel12
13 Oct 2008, 19:43
Not sure about Evans being too old for state league, saw him play 1 game this year and was very handy. Would have been better in the midfield but thats life when you need to play a role for your team. Is the bald full forward sticking around for Aspley? Oh ok Mark Perkins aye, hes been around a bit, was at Sandgate for a bit wasn't he?
footies changed
14 Oct 2008, 09:44
i am trying to find out some info, is sandgate in your league, has anyone heard of a rob mcclusky and did he coach up there? what was he like?
Not sure about Evans being too old for state league, saw him play 1 game this year and was very handy. Would have been better in the midfield but thats life when you need to play a role for your team. Is the bald full forward sticking around for Aspley? Oh ok Mark Perkins aye, hes been around a bit, was at Sandgate for a bit wasn't he?
perko did coach sandgate a few years back..
full forward is mugavin, he will be stayiing