View Full Version : Aflq News

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19]

Oddball
14 Oct 2008, 10:39
full forward is mugavin, he will be stayiing

That's not the whisper coming out of the Panthers.

BigE
14 Oct 2008, 12:10
That's not the whisper coming out of the Panthers.

whats the whisper oddball?

demon magic 1
14 Oct 2008, 14:22
Perkins also spent some time at Redlands.

Not sure that he will be doing the job alone as i believe the club has 3 football mangers including the football manager of Zillmeres last year.
Good on the club for taking him on.

I have heard lots about panters but untill it comes from damo i cant see any truth to it.

demon magic 1
14 Oct 2008, 14:27
Copeland would be a very dominant player in the state league aspley would be doing very well to secure his services. Payne ive never seen play but from all reports, gun midfielder in state league. those two would be great acquisitions to Aspley FC. Evans may be a too old for state league?

Well if Evo is too old to play State league midfield then maybe he could be the target up forward. Has some speed, great set of hands, good below his feet and if you have seen his kicking would make for a good score line. (unlike Geelong)

BigE
14 Oct 2008, 17:21
Perkins also spent some time at Redlands.

Not sure that he will be doing the job alone as i believe the club has 3 football mangers including the football manager of Zillmeres last year.
Good on the club for taking him on.

I have heard lots about panters but untill it comes from damo i cant see any truth to it.

you seem to have a lot of inside info....

astronomy class
14 Oct 2008, 21:15
i am trying to find out some info, is sandgate in your league, has anyone heard of a rob mcclusky and did he coach up there? what was he like?

Rob was coach in 02 at sandgate.. i think he played a few seasons before that but i was still comin thru 18s and didnt have alot to do with the senior team... pretty hard at it on the field from memory and good speaker at training.

bananabenda
15 Oct 2008, 14:49
ok it's Oct but i will give you some info let me know how i go in 6 months time
rumours for 2009

The sharks leading goal kicker to move to surfers paradise for a reported 15k salary cap my ass
Mugavin and ward to the panthers
Aspley wooden spoon
D Hawkins from the sharks will be over seas next year
A morrision won't be coaching grange next year
M Davis will be apart of the GC17/u18's in 2009
Ferrit Wilson will shop himslef around but will end up at the panthers
The NT will be top of the table by round 5 but will miss the finals.

and this is the one thing i know is for true is The Bomber's on the coast haven't paid there players for last half of 2008

if anyone else has a rumour put it on here it's good to read, to see what the footy world has to say.
White lo leaveMelbourne and play for Redlands Bombers.
AFL to cost-cut and some high profile AFLQ employees to get the chop.

QLDFOOTY
15 Oct 2008, 22:50
Mr Davis has been offered with co coaching job at the panthers, good move them to get some players Lucy has spoke to them as well. Aspley are targeting Payne from the eagles as they think he will bring a few with him.

Jorge Horatio
16 Oct 2008, 03:47
i am trying to find out some info, is sandgate in your league, has anyone heard of a rob mcclusky and did he coach up there? what was he like?

Yeah Sandgate is here mate. Mcclusky was senior coach for like two seasons back like 6-7 years ago. He played prior to that as well. Not to bad a bloke,,,bit full on himself lol

acuguy
16 Oct 2008, 07:22
Evans will be 31 next year, the bloke is as pure a footballer as you can find, remember he was the vice captain at Port Melbourne in the VFL not all that long ago. Class footballers like Evans will simply adjust to the senior AFLQ level very simply. They may use him across half back or in the mid field. When he first came to Morningside nearly 10 years ago he was used predominantly as a leading target in the first half of the year. Aspley will need to recruit heavily. Copeland will make a huge difference to the team.

campbell
16 Oct 2008, 21:39
Anyone get a letter to attend the Lions Rookie List day at Coorparoo this coming Monday?

A friend has, go Ryce. Slay em with your speed buddy.

sussel12
18 Oct 2008, 17:22
Aspley should have recruited D.Dickfos. They were silly not to, seems to be happy at Sandgate. Wonder if they can afford to pay him. Who will be the coaches at the Hornets?

Heard on the grape vine - Adam Yze possible move to the Hornets.

Jorge Horatio
18 Oct 2008, 18:35
Aspley should have recruited D.Dickfos. They were silly not to, seems to be happy at Sandgate. Wonder if they can afford to pay him. Who will be the coaches at the Hornets?

More then happy. People forget the Dickfos boys were all Sandgate juniors before moving across to zillmere. Im pretty sure at this stage of his career he is quiet happy playing with family and friends.

Open Forward Line
19 Oct 2008, 22:36
What about looking at it another way - what players do clubs need based on their deficiencies.
Do Morningside need a Lucy style player?
Where is Jake Myles in all this - word is Mt Gravatt
Mt Gravatt are about to pull another big ex AFL card just like Southport will the word is.
Have the Magpies got Pasky coming back like the rumours say
When does Ed McDonnell arrive.
Vearing is back at the Vultures - great pick up
Redlands????? any good news

Aspley wont be the poor relation - I agree they will be a power over the next 10 years. Tucker runs a good ship out there - love him or hate him
Doc Tomlinson and Spurr back to Panthers????
Where has Wade Mills ended up?

Jorge Horatio
24 Oct 2008, 21:27
from all reports things are looking good out sandgate way. Some talk of a thirds team and from what i hear some new recruits already as well with more news to come

sussel12
25 Oct 2008, 15:18
I hope Sandgate do better than last year, very dissapointing I thought compare to the talk they did.

Jorge Horatio
25 Oct 2008, 16:56
I hope Sandgate do better than last year, very dissapointing I thought compare to the talk they did.

Talk????? mate this is a team kicked out of their home ground season before last and with the second youngest side on the park this year did very very well. Consistency at times was lacking but I think your being a bit harsh. Dont worry, things are going a little differently for next season champ and those players recruited will suprise some. that and the fact the money making clubhouse will be back open again early next year will help put the northerners back up the PHC ladder

damochandler
25 Oct 2008, 17:12

it wasnt a disspointing year for them last season. god the year before they were getting smashed. i watched them play in the first game of 2007 and nearly got beaten by 200 points. they played well last season. they should have beaten pbc. they went all the way with the maggies. they just ran out of luck. they needed to win there last game by 40 goals to make the finals. well they ran into a red hot hornets side on that day. they had a good year and they could be the team to beat out of the brisbane sides in the phc now that aspley and the maggies are out

sussel12
25 Oct 2008, 18:53
Make your own luck in footy Chandler, you should know that seeing how much footy you watch.

Jorge Horatio
25 Oct 2008, 22:45
yet Damo's point is a valid one. To go from being smashed week in , week out to a team within a dubious penalty kick away from breaking PBC's winning streak, i wouldnt say a disappointing year. Nor would i suggest coming from almost dead last too being within a shot at the finals in the last week with a growing, young team would be considered by many as disappointing. Although i appreciate good opinions, i unfortunately dont subscribe to your theory here.

QLDFOOTY
26 Oct 2008, 00:03
all i can say is sandgate are a shithole and aspley need to stop baring players after winning a gf. i know one thing one club on the northside will be down about 15 players for the seniors next year after what they have done to players this year.
also on the rumour trail O'Brien will be at the gorillas next but only playing B grade as he will drive back on the weekend.

so boys get your rumours correct as half of the blokes on here are just duds and probably don't even lace there boots up and at least damo can talk facts beacuse he speaks to people he doesn't just write shit

Lenny29
26 Oct 2008, 11:54
I don't think sussel's saying that Sandgate had a disappointing year overall, just that in comparison to the talk and arrogance eminating from the place that results didn't quite match up. I agree, although I also acknowledge that the club has done tremendous things to get a side up and fighting for a finals spot.

And I'd expect the same criticism next year if similar events happen at Pumaland.

Jorge Horatio
26 Oct 2008, 13:10
I don't think sussel's saying that Sandgate had a disappointing year overall, just that in comparison to the talk and arrogance eminating from the place that results didn't quite match up. I agree, although I also acknowledge that the club has done tremendous things to get a side up and fighting for a finals spot.

And I'd expect the same criticism next year if similar events happen at Pumaland.

Im not sure i understand..... you acknowledge the club for having done tremendous things, yet they are still classed as disappointing because people talked them up????????? & arrogance, im unsure how that works lenny, but as usual we will agree to disagree. The difference with your club Lenny, is the fact you werent turfed out of your home ground and club and had to survive using another teams facilities, yet still had a season that would go done as one of the worst in PHC history. Im sure there are reasons for this but pretty sure one should get there own place in order before having a crack at others..... seems this is a well worn path with us. I for one would not be having at crack at pumaland as you put it if talk starts, as i would appreciate the mood swing in the guys from actually being competitive week in wek out next season. You will appreciate the feeling and i hope you guys do have a much better year next year.

In regards to people posting rumours and not having sources or dont play, im sure whilst QLD FOOTY is sure he knows all, without knowing who is behind the user names, i would suggest maybe not having a crack at someone whom you really arent sure of their credentials to post their opinion. In saying that, this is a public forum and if you didnt get all sorts of people, it wouldnt be classified as so

Lenny29
26 Oct 2008, 15:42
Im not sure i understand..... you acknowledge the club for having done tremendous things, yet they are still classed as disappointing because people talked them up????????? & arrogance, im unsure how that works lenny, but as usual we will agree to disagree. The difference with your club Lenny, is the fact you werent turfed out of your home ground and club and had to survive using another teams facilities, yet still had a season that would go done as one of the worst in PHC history. Im sure there are reasons for this but pretty sure one should get there own place in order before having a crack at others..... seems this is a well worn path with us. I for one would not be having at crack at pumaland as you put it if talk starts, as i would appreciate the mood swing in the guys from actually being competitive week in wek out next season. You will appreciate the feeling and i hope you guys do have a much better year next year.

In regards to people posting rumours and not having sources or dont play, im sure whilst QLD FOOTY is sure he knows all, without knowing who is behind the user names, i would suggest maybe not having a crack at someone whom you really arent sure of their credentials to post their opinion. In saying that, this is a public forum and if you didnt get all sorts of people, it wouldnt be classified as so
I wasn't having a crack, as you said I"m in the worst position to be able to do so.

But the arrogance - both onfield from the players, as well as from the fans, was almost at Palmy levels. I accept that being 200 points down means you're going to cop shit, but Sandgate as a whole were almost as bad as Palmy both times we played.

Please also don't take this as a "complaint" - I'm not complaining, because showmanship, gloating, and giving shit to the opposition (especially from the crowd) is obviously a part of footy, I just think they're over-the-top in comparison with their recent onfield results.

Palmy have earned the right to do it IMO because they've dominated the comp for 2 years. I'm not so sure Sandgate have, but agree to disagree.

Up North
26 Oct 2008, 19:51
I wasn't having a crack, as you said I"m in the worst position to be able to do so.

But the arrogance - both onfield from the players, as well as from the fans, was almost at Palmy levels. I accept that being 200 points down means you're going to cop shit, but Sandgate as a whole were almost as bad as Palmy both times we played.

Too true there. Jorge, I give full credit (see my previous post) to Sandgates turnaround but gotta say playing in front of that crowd on the hill at sandgate
Is about as bad as it gets in football

clarkofan
26 Oct 2008, 20:29
thats about all obrien is up to these days.not fit enough anymore.

Up North
26 Oct 2008, 21:08
thats about all obrien is up to these days.not fit enough anymore.

I saw 3 Wilston-grange games this year and reckon Bazza was in best 2-3 in all 3. Easily got 30 odd touches against Aspley on a Friday night game. (by no means am I a gorillas supporter)

vicbasedfan
27 Oct 2008, 09:02

There is a lot of talk about how some teams under performed in the 08 season - what about Ladbrador - so much talent so little result - any thoughts as to what went wrong?

damochandler
27 Oct 2008, 18:28
There is a lot of talk about how some teams under performed in the 08 season - what about Ladbrador - so much talent so little result - any thoughts as to what went wrong?

from what i heard during the year. the players werent happy with the way the coach went about it every week. i dont know if its true, but he got the arse as soon as the season finished.

i saw today benny mac is retiring from southport. i think everyone knows he is more than likely going to surfers. he is a big loss for them. but they got sinclair who was a really good recruit for them this year

astronomy class
27 Oct 2008, 19:47

Too true there. Jorge, I give full credit (see my previous post) to Sandgates turnaround but gotta say playing in front of that crowd on the hill at sandgate
Is about as bad as it gets in football

It would be going abit far saying we are up there with palmy in regards to the crowd, but obviously with what we have been through and to finally be winning more often lifts the spirits and obviously the faithful find abit more voice.. The aspley boys would surely agree there because they have a pretty passionate couple of ute loads in that scoreboard pocket most home games. Also I dont recall any clubs holding back on us when we where on the end of our many hidings over last few seasons.. I am interested to no what makes it 'as bad as it gets in football', from being either on the field or on the hill i can't really recall anything that would have been out of line at other clubs.

Oddball
28 Oct 2008, 13:02
Don't we spend a great deal of time discussing the 2nd div comp on this forum. It's probably due to the apathy of Velocity cup supporters (other than damo). :thumbsd: :D

What are the real issues in AFLQ footy - lets talk about them.

- Will Labrador pick themselves off the mat?
- Can the Southport Sharks cope without Ben Mc, Doggy and Jenkins?
- Who is coaching Broadbeach?
- Are Redland rejoicing at the introduction of Wests & Aspley?
- Is Jeff White joining his brother or playing down the coast?
- Can Aspley attract most of the Eagles group and at least be competitive?
- Will Wests have an impact in 2009?
- Where do we think the NT boys will finish in 2009?
- Will Copeland stay in Qld and who with?
- Can Mt Gravatt keep all those egos in control, plus possibly Chris Smith & Vearing and again dominate the comp?
- Will Morningside pick-up Ferret, the Doc and Spurr from SA?
- Where will Murray Davis be in 2009?

2009 is shaping as a big year

demon magic 1
28 Oct 2008, 19:00
Don't we spend a great deal of time discussing the 2nd div comp on this forum. It's probably due to the apathy of Velocity cup supporters (other than damo). :thumbsd: :D

- Will Labrador pick themselves off the mat? Wouldn't count on that happening sounds like some egos need to be sorted before they improve
- Can the Southport Sharks cope without Ben Mc, Doggy and Jenkins? yes look for a new list jam packed with quality bubbling on the edge of the cap
- Who is coaching Broadbeach? ???? any chance it could be M.Davis
- Are Redland rejoicing at the introduction of Wests & Aspley? Need to make sure they improve before they will be rejoicing as wests and aspley will get a strong starting list
- Is Jeff White joining his brother or playing down the coast? Coast is my tip
- Can Aspley attract most of the Eagles group and at least be competitive? This one is interesting could make it for Aspley or could create a year of eating from a wooden spoon perhaps.
- Will Wests have an impact in 2009? not to sure they will make finals but will be competitive
- Where do we think the NT boys will finish in 2009? top of the table and loose the granny to Mount Gravatt
- Will Copeland stay in Qld and who with? if he doesn't get drafted count on him at aspley
- Can Mt Gravatt keep all those egos in control, plus possibly Chris Smith & Vearing and again dominate the comp? egos are harder to control than two pitbulls and a rat dog stuck in the middle. not sure what Smith is doing but could end up anywhere. QLD lions or aspley did play some juniors and has mates playing there.
- Will Morningside pick-up Ferret, the Doc and Spurr from SA? if you say yes i believe you oddball
- Where will Murray Davis be in 2009? Does murry have a job with an U18s rep side? Can coach and will get a job with a club just not sure where. Morningside for me.

One thing for sure carlton will make the finals, if not i will buy you all a beer

BigE
29 Oct 2008, 12:30
looks like aspley wont be attracting Payne. heading to SA

Up North
29 Oct 2008, 14:13
I am interested to no what makes it 'as bad as it gets in football', from being either on the field or on the hill i can't really recall anything that would have been out of line at other clubs.

Yes you do have passionate supporters, but when it comes to racially taunting the PNG boys we had playing for us, it becomes pretty ordinary. Some of the things players/supporters said to some of them were out of line.

BigE
29 Oct 2008, 17:29
racial taunting is taking it a bit far, but other than that a little bit of crowd involvemnet can be fun, some supporters come up with some interesting stuff

astronomy class
29 Oct 2008, 17:59
Yes you do have passionate supporters, but when it comes to racially taunting the PNG boys we had playing for us, it becomes pretty ordinary. Some of the things players/supporters said to some of them were out of line.

That is pretty serious, why wasn't anything reported during the game if that happened? im guessing ur a cooly boy as they have a few of the PNG lads playing there?

Up North
30 Oct 2008, 10:23
That is pretty serious, why wasn't anything reported during the game if that happened? im guessing ur a cooly boy as they have a few of the PNG lads playing there?

When the boys react the way they do by getting angry, the umpires see them as starting a fight. It's the old case of the retaliator that gets caught. One bloke certainly got a smack in the mouth for his trouble. Anyway, that's all in the past, I'm sure there's better things to talk about.

Jorge Horatio
30 Oct 2008, 22:58
When the boys react the way they do by getting angry, the umpires see them as starting a fight. It's the old case of the retaliator that gets caught. One bloke certainly got a smack in the mouth for his trouble. Anyway, that's all in the past, I'm sure there's better things to talk about.

Up North hahahaha i know thats not the only reason, surely, that they tend to play with a bit of anger. The boys love their footy , no doubt about it, but they do show control issues onfield as well, not only against opposition but umpires and there own players,, am i correct or is this an outsiders naive view? Having played against coolie many times, whilst i in no way advocate racism, im sure there has been a two way street???

Like you said though, im sure things will stay amicable in the future, but will have to agree to disagree and wonder if this highlighted issue is something faced against all clubs your team has faced or an indication of only one small pocket of people from one club??? I would be offended to hear those comments levelled at players without some sort of proof that this matter was only instigated by one party. After all, how many clubs in our comp tend to screen local "supporters", as i know rogue people will turn up to all grounds every weekend with eskies, utes and hung over people looking to kick start saturday night festivities and no better way to start then bagging the opponents of a mate who plays for the local side

Up North
2 Nov 2008, 19:01
Up North hahahaha i know thats not the only reason, surely, that they tend to play with a bit of anger. The boys love their footy , no doubt about it, but they do show control issues onfield as well, not only against opposition but umpires and there own players,, am i correct or is this an outsiders naive view? Having played against coolie many times, whilst i in no way advocate racism, im sure there has been a two way street???

Like you said though, im sure things will stay amicable in the future, but will have to agree to disagree and wonder if this highlighted issue is something faced against all clubs your team has faced or an indication of only one small pockett of people from one club??? I would be offended to hear those comments levelled at players without some sort of proof that this matter was only instigated by one party. After all, how many clubs in our comp tend to screen local "supporters", as i know rogue people will turn up to all grounds every weekend with eskies, utes and hung over people looking to kick start saturday night festivities and no better way to start then bagging the opponents of a mate who plays for the local side

You're right, anger has been a problem with a couple of them at times. My comment was never aimed at putting allegations toward a player. It was only to state, that in my opinion, the crowd at Sandgate was the worst I'd played in front of. I'm sure many would disagree with me.

chopper_hates_palm
3 Nov 2008, 15:06
has anyone heard who is coaching labrador next year? With some of the players they got it could be a nice job to take on. Anyone???

damochandler
3 Nov 2008, 16:40
has anyone heard who is coaching labrador next year? With some of the players they got it could be a nice job to take on. Anyone???

the job has already been taken. it was announced in the footy record on gf day for qld.

BigE
5 Nov 2008, 10:38
the job has already been taken. it was announced in the footy record on gf day for qld.

Who is it Dammo?

damochandler
5 Nov 2008, 11:45
Who is it Dammo?

well if you went to the game. you would already know. its jarrod field

BigE
5 Nov 2008, 12:17
well if you went to the game. you would already know. its jarrod field

was there but a tad hungover dammo was a big weekend that one i think i was sitting with you

BigE
5 Nov 2008, 12:17
nerver heard of him by the way .. who is he?

damochandler
5 Nov 2008, 13:01
nerver heard of him by the way .. who is he?

he has been the gold coast stingrays coach since 2003. he played for burleigh and down south

BenBal Plugger
5 Nov 2008, 14:36
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?

Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.

Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, good social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.

Send any queries to my mailbox.

demon magic 1
6 Nov 2008, 12:43

Interesting read in the courier mail last week. intesting to see that Yze has been linked to Aspley. Did anyone else read that.
If it is in the paper it must be true.

morphous
6 Nov 2008, 12:51
Interesting read in the courier mail last week. intesting to see that Yze has been linked to Aspley. Did anyone else read that.
If it is in the paper it must be true.

Yze is going to the Shepp Swans in the GVFL

BigE
7 Nov 2008, 11:18

- Will Labrador pick themselves off the mat?
- Can the Southport Sharks cope without Ben Mc, Doggy and Jenkins?
- Who is coaching Broadbeach?
- Are Redland rejoicing at the introduction of Wests & Aspley?
- Is Jeff White joining his brother or playing down the coast?
- Can Aspley attract most of the Eagles group and at least be competitive?
- Will Wests have an impact in 2009?
- Where do we think the NT boys will finish in 2009?
- Will Copeland stay in Qld and who with?
- Can Mt Gravatt keep all those egos in control, plus possibly Chris Smith & Vearing and again dominate the comp?
- Will Morningside pick-up Ferret, the Doc and Spurr from SA?
- Where will Murray Davis be in 2009?

ive read that mathew argus has signed with aspley and a few more. do you think the zillmere boys will follow them to aspley?

rockstarr
7 Nov 2008, 12:09
hey boys, just wondering who is coaching Burleigh next year and if they have lost or picked up any new recruits. Cheers

demon magic 1
7 Nov 2008, 13:11
word is most young players have signed or about to sign.

They just need to get a few more big names to put pen to paper. verbals don't mean a great deal in the world of footy.

any word from the hornets camp as to the State ass coaches and/or if the sides will go ahead.

Supastar Cotch#9
7 Nov 2008, 19:41
word is most young players have signed or about to sign.

They just need to get a few more big names to put pen to paper. verbals don't mean a great deal in the world of footy.

any word from the hornets camp as to the State ass coaches and/or if the sides will go ahead.

mmm... so whats the go here mate???

any signings lately??:thumbsu:

Open Forward Line
7 Nov 2008, 22:43
Will Pratt and Myles sign with Morningside or Aspley?
Where is Lucy?
Murray Davis - did he get NT job?or take Sturt 2's.
Tapp was a good signing for Aspley.
Word is the cheque book has opened up as it has got tougher to sign the northside boys
Gavin Grose is back at the Vultures
Tomlinson is back at the Panthers after he finishes in Darwin
Shelton have we heard anymore?
Is Rogers coming to Aspley
Charlsworth from Tassie to Redlands??
Rix from St Kilda is apparently talking to the Vultures
Tate Pearson from St Bernards is at the Magpies they say
Any truth Broc Macauley is heading South?

demon magic 1
8 Nov 2008, 07:08
I will be going to whatch aspley train at some stage soon just to see how hard it has been to sign the northside kids.
33 attending their meeting not so long ago and i feel the larger part of that will be playing there.
more players signed on friday and meeting with more this weekend.
Rogers?????? tell me more.

LOOK FOR A NO.23 TO DOMINATE THE COMP THIS YEAR.

Supastar Cotch#9
8 Nov 2008, 09:38
I will be going to whatch aspley train at some stage soon just to see how hard it has been to sign the northside kids.
33 attending their meeting not so long ago and i feel the larger part of that will be playing there.

Are yeah!!!...not bad at all mate..

BigE
8 Nov 2008, 09:40

rogers please

BigE
8 Nov 2008, 09:41
Where is Lucy?
Word is the cheque book has opened up as it has got tougher to sign the northside boys

i know rixy he would dominate this comp.. a man mountain

BigE
8 Nov 2008, 09:59
Where is Lucy?

northside boys in good position talking to a club with a shitload of money

damochandler
8 Nov 2008, 17:26
Where is Lucy?

magic is coaching the nt side and doc was alway coming back to the siders. from what i heard this year. he was close to playing for the club this year

catsprowler09
9 Nov 2008, 12:53
any one got any news on sam folan from labrador.
horrifically broke his leg at the gabba round two i think this year.
will he be back at the tigers in 09 and fully fit??
cheers

BigE
10 Nov 2008, 15:41
is rix a rumour or is he really talking to vultures. from what i hear dont know if he is keen to move to QLD