View Full Version : Aflq News
Pages :
[
2]
Is there anyone else here that plays for a div 2 side..... just interested in any developments of other teams. Im expecting a tough battle for a top 4 spot with a few of the lower teams spending a bit of money building their sides and a few guys leaving the top sides.
morphous
23 Feb 2006, 11:10
Is there anyone else here that plays for a div 2 side..... just interested in any developments of other teams. Im expecting a tough battle for a top 4 spot with a few of the lower teams spending a bit of money building their sides and a few guys leaving the top sides.
My brother in law and a couple other other friends play in div 2 (Alex Hills, Beenleigh and Yeronga)
Sorry i meant pinneapple cup (if its still called that) surfers, springwood, noosa, cooly, palm beach, burleigh, maroochy, aspley, sandgate, magpies, mayne and wilston grange.
bigblackalsation
23 Feb 2006, 16:56
I haven't heard anything about Shane Morrison.
Is playing for Port Maggies (SANFL)
Thanks for that news.
far canal
23 Feb 2006, 21:32
Sorry i meant pinneapple cup (if its still called that) surfers, springwood, noosa, cooly, palm beach, burleigh, maroochy, aspley, sandgate, magpies, mayne and wilston grange.did noosa win the flag last year? also whats the average football wage per game in divvy 2?
did noosa win the flag last year? also whats the average football wage per game in divvy 2?
No burleigh won by a few points....... Noosa lost in prelim i think that or semis. As to footballers wage well every club would be different some are minimal whilst some players of the wealthier clubs might be paid a few hundred a game hard to tell unless you are one i guess. I know their is a minimum salary cap for div 1 but in terms of div 2 not sure if theres any rules of any kind. Is something i wouldnt mind knowing for myself really.
Lenny29
24 Feb 2006, 18:12
No burleigh won by a few points....... Noosa lost in prelim i think that or semis. As to footballers wage well every club would be different some are minimal whilst some players of the wealthier clubs might be paid a few hundred a game hard to tell unless you are one i guess. I know their is a minimum salary cap for div 1 but in terms of div 2 not sure if theres any rules of any kind. Is something i wouldnt mind knowing for myself really.
Minimum for Div 2 is either $12k or $15k in total, with the alleged maximum being $25k, which is allegedly fairly heavily audited.
In saying that, if half the stories floating around about what some players are on is true, then there's some under-the-table stuff going around too.
Lenny29
24 Feb 2006, 19:08
Plenty of action at Pineapple Hotel Cup Clubs
Just two months out from the first round of games and there’s action aplenty at a number of the State League Division Two Clubs.
One of the most proactive has been the Springwood Puma’s under new coach former Mt Gravatt and Morningside forward Troy Moncur. There is definitely a Redlands feel at Lowe Oval with Bombers Nathan Sullivan, Jeff Heath, Nick Atkins, the enigmatic Geoff Buswell, and Nick Aldridge all being touted as possible recruits. Add to that Troy Easton (Mt Gravatt) and Luke Mugavin (Morningside) plus Tasmanian recruit Nathan Winter and the Pumas should certainly be in the mix come finals time. Early evening trackwatchers have noticed former Brisbane Bear/Carlton/Morningside/Mt Gravatt champion Tony Lynn in attendance which would add greatly to the Springwood list.
Coolangatta are always big players in the pre season market and they look to have added to their stocks with the signing of State Under 21 players David Lynch and big Jason Smith from Southport. Add the Palm Beach pair of Paul Fairlie and Wayne Barker and new Coach Scott Lawton should certainly have a playing list capable of achieving better than last years seventh. Look for some more interstate signings as the season draws closer.
There has been little news from Burleigh or Palm Beach. The loss of Fairlie and Barker will hurt PBC as will the return to Victoria by Burleighs Queensland Country rep Andrew “Dickie” Knee.
Surfers Paradise aiming to improve on their non finals participation performance in 2005 have recruited Victorian Amateur pair Brett Nagel and Ryan Kogelman as well as Charles Wellington from Beenleigh. Simon Cooper from Dunnstown will also pull on the Red and Blue this year.
2005 was certainly a disappointing year on field for the boys from Hickey Park but they haven’t been Gorillas in the mist during the off season with key recruits Andrew Morrison (Southport/Port Adelaide) and Neil Marshall (Subiaco) set to be quality additions. Add Jarad Marsh (SAAFL) and Nick Dempster (Rockhampton) as well as some potential internal recruits and the playing stocks have certainly risen at Wilston Grange.
The Mayne Tigers have welcomed Sydney FL pair Jarrad Mickan and Brenton East to Everton Park. Outside of that the comings and goings of the other member clubs have been fairly quiet. Both Sunshine based clubs Maroochy North Shore and Noosa are playing their cards close to their chests however both clubs have always shown a capacity to capture players from the southern market.
Likewise the drums haven’t been beating out Sherwood way. The Western Magpies are going about their business quietly and should continue to push the opportunity for youth on the western side of town. Aspley are a key player on the north side of town who underachieved in 2005. Look for improved showings from both Aspley and the newly O’Callaghan Park domiciled Sandgate Seahawks.
From the AFLQ site.
Minimum for Div 2 is either $12k or $15k in total, with the alleged maximum being $25k, which is allegedly fairly heavily audited.
In saying that, if half the stories floating around about what some players are on is true, then there's some under-the-table stuff going around too.
With the names mentioned im sure your side must be close to going past that mark. Reserve players dont get paid in your team do they?
Lenny29
24 Feb 2006, 19:42
Nope, only senior players. In all honesty, most (ie 15+ out of each senior 22) will play for base payments - most of the new blokes are either players taht have played here before, or good mates of blokes that are already here.
As far as i know our senior side for each week gets the same amount i think that good... i guess if i was a stand out id think otherwise but i mean payment is really irrelevant as div 2 is more playing because you love it.
Lenny29
24 Feb 2006, 20:30
Yeah, you don't got to tell me that.
far canal
25 Feb 2006, 09:42
Yeah, you don't got to tell me that.aflq divvy 2 standard
what is it like? can you compare it to any leagues in vic? whats the difference between divvy 1 and 2 re bottom of divvy 1 versus top of divvy 2? do you have relagation?
aflq divvy 2 standard
what is it like? can you compare it to any leagues in vic? whats the difference between divvy 1 and 2 re bottom of divvy 1 versus top of divvy 2? do you have relagation?
Im afraid i cant compare it to any of the Vic country or city footy leagues, but in terms of difference between div 1 and div 2 in queensland there i think is not a massive difference in my mind between probably the top 4-5 sides in div 2 and the likes of redland, labrador and perhaps mt gravatt last year. The good skill level is fairly similar between them however the consistency is where the two can be seperated. No doubt that the physicality and proffessionalism is no different really (still talking about top 4-5 div 2 teams vs bottom of div 1).
With regards to the relegation topic, at the moment there are 8 teams in div 1 and 12 div 2 teams. I think that the aflq realize that an 8 team comp just wont work and am lead to believe (whispers around my club) that from 2007 there will be a re-jig of the competition with i would say 3 or so more div 1 sides and likewise div 2. The only worry is that as it stands there is a salary cap of min 70K and max 120K (something i think is needed to improve aflq quality) which a few of the top div 2 teams (of which would be most competitive in div 1) would struggle to afford. A relegation system is something that would help improve competitiveness however 5-6 teams that could afford the cap payments i am not aware of.
I hope that helps you understand, that is just a brief overview of the current situation that the aflq finds itself in trying to bring the quality up close to wafl, sanfl and the vic country leagues.
overtheline
25 Feb 2006, 20:51
Im afraid i cant compare it to any of the Vic country or city footy leagues, but in terms of difference between div 1 and div 2 in queensland there i think is not a massive difference in my mind between probably the top 4-5 sides in div 2 and the likes of redland, labrador and perhaps mt gravatt last year. The good skill level is fairly similar between them however the consistency is where the two can be seperated. No doubt that the physicality and proffessionalism is no different really (still talking about top 4-5 div 2 teams vs bottom of div 1).
With regards to the relegation topic, at the moment there are 8 teams in div 1 and 12 div 2 teams. I think that the aflq realize that an 8 team comp just wont work and am lead to believe (whispers around my club) that from 2007 there will be a re-jig of the competition with i would say 3 or so more div 1 sides and likewise div 2. The only worry is that as it stands there is a salary cap of min 70K and max 120K (something i think is needed to improve aflq quality) which a few of the top div 2 teams (of which would be most competitive in div 1) would struggle to afford. A relegation system is something that would help improve competitiveness however 5-6 teams that could afford the cap payments i am not aware of.
I hope that helps you understand, that is just a brief overview of the current situation that the aflq finds itself in trying to bring the quality up close to wafl, sanfl and the vic country leagues.
Have heard that Uni of QLD are flying under their new coach. Huge numbers at training and massive increase in fitness levels. Aslo, a couple of very handy recruits. A big improver.
I played under their coach damien carroll a few years back when he coached at western magpies. I am lead to believe that he has got a few of the guys who were perhaps not in senior contention and got them to make the move. Is a good coach, however he did get a few players offside in his 2 year stint at western magpies. With the players that they got from western magpies i think they should be competitive in what i think is the equivalent to 3rd division not sure of its official name.
overtheline
26 Feb 2006, 09:38
I played under their coach damien carroll a few years back when he coached at western magpies. I am lead to believe that he has got a few of the guys who were perhaps not in senior contention and got them to make the move. Is a good coach, however he did get a few players offside in his 2 year stint at western magpies. With the players that they got from western magpies i think they should be competitive in what i think is the equivalent to 3rd division not sure of its official name.
Yes well, all good coaches get people off side as they get you to do things you dont want to. I can assure you they have picked up more than the western magpies guys as they have 4 guys from A grade ammos in melbourne who will dominate. Get on them!
FootyFreak69
26 Feb 2006, 11:49
Yes well, all good coaches get people off side as they get you to do things you dont want to. I can assure you they have picked up more than the western magpies guys as they have 4 guys from A grade ammos in melbourne who will dominate. Get on them!
we must have the same contacts, overtheline. i've heard exactly the same info as you. apparently the new coach has got them firing along beautifully. there are a number of new recruits who can really play apart from the western magpies players. they're fit and the game plan will trouble a lot of the other sides.
i concur - when clubs want to stay in their comfort zone and be happy with their lot in life, coaches will always get individuals off side when changes are made. i've got a mate who knows carroll and some of the stuff he had to put up with at the western magpies was incredible!!
but in terms of difference between div 1 and div 2 in queensland there i think is not a massive difference in my mind between probably the top 4-5 sides in div 2 and the likes of redland, labrador and perhaps mt gravatt last year. .
That is a terribly inaccurate statement. Labrador, Redland and Mt Gravatt would absolutely rape any team from Div 2. Your rep team struggled to beat the Cairns rep team and that competition is a mile below State League level. The professionalism between competitions and depth of playing talent is like chalk and cheese.
we must have the same contacts, overtheline. i've heard exactly the same info as you. apparently the new coach has got them firing along beautifully. there are a number of new recruits who can really play apart from the western magpies players. they're fit and the game plan will trouble a lot of the other sides.
i concur - when clubs want to stay in their comfort zone and be happy with their lot in life, coaches will always get individuals off side when changes are made. i've got a mate who knows carroll and some of the stuff he had to put up with at the western magpies was incredible!!
Im sorry but your mate may not have the same idea as i did playing under him....dont get me wrong i had no problem with him at all and i thought his coaching was quite good even had a good chat with him not so long ago and i think his proffessionalism that he would bring from coaching in victoria i think and even state league will be invaluable but i guess my point is he certainly didnt have to put up with anything during his two years.
overtheline
26 Feb 2006, 20:58
Im sorry but your mate may not have the same idea as i did playing under him....dont get me wrong i had no problem with him at all and i thought his coaching was quite good even had a good chat with him not so long ago and i think his proffessionalism that he would bring from coaching in victoria i think and even state league will be invaluable but i guess my point is he certainly didnt have to put up with anything during his two years.
say, for instance committee telling him what nights he could/couldn't train????
Kick It To Me!!
27 Feb 2006, 12:47
Whats cairns footy like,thinking of playing there.Also is it a good place to live,compared to say port douglas?Who are the good clubs (dont want to go to the club who started that brawl last year) Is it too hot up there?
Whats cairns footy like,thinking of playing there.Also is it a good place to live,compared to say port douglas?Who are the good clubs (dont want to go to the club who started that brawl last year) Is it too hot up there?it's unreal
Krakour Magic
1 Mar 2006, 19:46
That is a terribly inaccurate statement. Labrador, Redland and Mt Gravatt would absolutely rape any team from Div 2. Your rep team struggled to beat the Cairns rep team and that competition is a mile below State League level. The professionalism between competitions and depth of playing talent is like chalk and cheese.
I agree generally, Mikes4, in that there's a reasonable difference in the professionalism of the 2 grades. However, I'm not convinced that the previous statement is "terribly inaccurate".
Western Magpies and Mayne went down to Div 2 last year and certainly didn't "rape" teams. In fairness, players will have been lost in the move (similar to the impact of Vic amateur clubs when they are relegated and vice verca when promoted).
Rep teams are an indication at best. I do agree, of course, that the best 20 from Div 1 would account for the best 20 in Div 2 (possibly by some margin).
It's an interesting discussion point. Southport's incredible professionalism under Dare is a long way from what the most professional clubs in Div 2 would be.
Krakour Magic
1 Mar 2006, 19:54
aflq divvy 2 standard
I went down to watch the GVFL grand final in Shepparton last year, Far Canal, and the standard was very high. Finals are a different story when it comes to standard. The Burleigh v Palm Beach GFs of the past 2 years have also been of a fantastic standard. Good quality players performing at their best.
As a somewhat controversial statement, I'd rate GVFL above AFLQ Div 1, given the depth in all teams, number of teams, access to VFL and AFL players and my overall perception of the quality in GVFL.
Division 2 AFLQ is therefore a good way behind GVFL in the Vic. However, I'd still think Div 2 is up there above (although not above by too much) the Central Goulburn league (I could have the name wrong, following restructures over the years - Shepp. East, Rumbalara etc.).
In Metro Vic terms, perhaps Southern League standard (St. Pauls EB, Oakleigh Districts etc.).
monkey33
1 Mar 2006, 20:50
I think that Div 2 State League would be on a par with Mildura footy (sunraysia league). What do others think?
Also i do believe the top Div 2 sides in 2005 would have been quite competitive with the likes of Labrador, Mt Gravatt & Redlands.
Fair comment?
Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 20:57
What about cairns v div 2 qld? Not rep result ,but league in general,as rep games can be misleading.
What is peoples opinions on how to improve the aflq standards?? I believe to start there needs to be more teams in div 1. A promotion/relegation system has been suggested is there any ideas?
More teams would only serve to thin the spread of talent would it not?
no left foot
2 Mar 2006, 08:26
Good GVFL players seem to slot into AFLQ footy pretty well tamburro, maddox etc but i wouldnt say GVFL better. I doubt any GVFL side would have the facilities, money and players that Southport have. I haven't played footy in Queensland but have in GVFL and the standard is very good but I would imagine the top AFLQ sides may just have the edge.
More teams would only serve to thin the spread of talent would it not?
Yes but i just think an 8 team comp doesnt work.... maybe add 2 maybe three sides. Instead of attracting interstate players due to money restrictions utilize young queenslanders coming through system (of which there has never been more) and scout the other leagues in qld for example cairns.
morphous
2 Mar 2006, 10:19
Yes but i just think an 8 team comp doesnt work.... maybe add 2 maybe three sides. Instead of attracting interstate players due to money restrictions utilize young queenslanders coming through system (of which there has never been more) and scout the other leagues in qld for example cairns.
A few clubs are currently scouting leagues such as Cairns. They had two extra sides in West Magpies and Mayne a couple years ago but these sides went down because they were not in accordance with AFLQ's review of all teams in the league.
Anyone got any news on practice matches in Div 2?
How are the Gold Coast teams looking? Are Springwood going to be a threat? Come on guys get back on the forum.
morphous
30 Mar 2006, 15:59
Anyone got any news on practice matches in Div 2?
How are the Gold Coast teams looking? Are Springwood going to be a threat? Come on guys get back on the forum.
I have heard but can't confirm that Burliegh have folded.
That would be massive news if true - the reigning back to back premier. Would also make the other coast sides stronger.
Lenny29
30 Mar 2006, 21:17
I have heard but can't confirm that Burliegh have folded.
Certainly haven't even heard whispers of that. The last two pre-seasons I've heard plenty about them being in financial trouble - but this year nothing. Would be very very surprised if true, especially this close to the season.
As for augie's question - I'd love to say we will. ;) But I guess everything will be a little clearer come the end of this weekend - not crystal clear, but people will know where clubs are at.
Thank God footy's back!
CoastBhoy
31 Mar 2006, 10:21
Some praccy games results from the weekend.
AFLQ Div 1
Zillmere Eagles 6-7, 6-8, 8-11, 10-14 (74)
Broadbeach 2-2, 6-7, 7-10, 10-12 (72)
Goals: Eagles: M Skubis 3, A Evans 2, L Crane, M Payne, P Wolfe, J Weller, B Nuss 1. Broadbeach: D Round 3, P Crawford 2, K Fulton 2, M Dillon, A Lohrey, D Dyson 1.
Best: Eagles: A Pratt, J Weller, A Evans, L Crane, B Dawson. Broadbeach: B Walters, W Fenner, D Round, A Hall, C Jacotine
Mt Gravatt 1-2, 5-4, 9-7, 10-9 (69)
Morningside 2-4, 5-6, 6-7, 9-10 (64)
Goals: Mt Gravatt: D Poynton 3, J Morris 2, R Lake, T Plummer, B Riordan, M Munyard, S Plummer 1. Morningside: M Rootsey 2, S Mugavin, M Ward, K Abey, G Conroy, T Tarrant, A Browning, N Kinch 1.
Best: Mt Gravatt: J Vearing, D Poynton, R Magarry, G Dosser, R Bail. Morningside: N Tomlinson, T Tarrant, A Browning, M Rootsey, K Abey
Southport 1-1, 5-6, 8-6, 11-10 (76)
Labrador 3-3, 5-4, 11-6, 11-7 (73)
Goals: Southport: J Pate 2, B McEntee 2, G Waters 2, G Van der Werken 2, B Merrett, R Finlay, J Burge, C Miller 1: Labrador: T Hodgkin 3, M Brewster 2, T Featherstone, J Miller, B Burkinshaw, J Geale, M Wellington, C Cole 1
Pat Bateman
1 Apr 2006, 08:29
Can anyone tell me what Damian Truslove is like as a player? Played in the QAFL in at least 2004, not sure which club. Sorry for the vague details but any info would be appreciated. Thanks.
Did anyone see any practice matches on the weekend for Pineapple Cup teams?
Saw Maroochy play Grange on Saturday. Very scrappy game with the usual cyclone at Fisherman's Road. Both teams had a lot of new faces. Maroochy got up by about a goal, but I wouldn't take too much from it. Bloody hot day and the wind contributed to a swag of skill errors.
If either side plays the way they did during the season proper they will have a long winter ahead. Good news is that both sides looked to be playing a few young blokes.
Would love to hear any other reports. How good is it having the footy back?
mr incredibe
5 Apr 2006, 18:19
hey dont know if im on the right thread or not, but one of my mates from Tassie has moved up and is playing for Cairns, his name is John Ferguson just wondering if anyone knows how he is playing or where i could find out any info?
cheers
Did anyone see any practice matches on the weekend for Pineapple Cup teams?
Saw Maroochy play Grange on Saturday. Very scrappy game with the usual cyclone at Fisherman's Road. Both teams had a lot of new faces. Maroochy got up by about a goal, but I wouldn't take too much from it. Bloody hot day and the wind contributed to a swag of skill errors.
If either side plays the way they did during the season proper they will have a long winter ahead. Good news is that both sides looked to be playing a few young blokes.
Would love to hear any other reports. How good is it having the footy back?
Springwood played Surfers. Don't know how Surfers are travelling, but they looked a lot more structured than we did - in saying that we had a few out and were able to get up.
Kingy-dons
9 Apr 2006, 21:45
Go Sandgate in 2006.
stmookeyj
10 Apr 2006, 12:32
hey dont know if im on the right thread or not, but one of my mates from Tassie has moved up and is playing for Cairns, his name is John Ferguson just wondering if anyone knows how he is playing or where i could find out any info?
cheers
Will endeavour to find him for you.
I can tell you though that former Saint Caydn Beetham is running around for Port Douglas and former Ess/Port player Che Cockatoo-Collins and ex-Tasmania VFL Tim Geappen are playing for Cairns City Cobras.
mr incredibe
10 Apr 2006, 13:26
thanks im quite sure that Ferguson is playing for Cairns aswell
catters05
10 Apr 2006, 21:38
What is the closest club to the Brisbane CBD? but not the Suncoast Lions.
Closest to CBD - in the Balfour Cup (Div 1) would be Morningside. In the Pineapple Hotel Cup (Div 2) probably Wilston Grange.
Toucan Soup
11 Apr 2006, 16:55
Reckon the overall closest of any senior clubs is Yeronga or University of Queensland. Years ago, maybe Coorparoo, maybe Mayne - but no more.
Any further practice match results for AFLQ Div 2? Having waited so long, you blokes must be itching to get a game started!
johno_07
13 Apr 2006, 16:12
RE DIV 2- Who are looking the threats this year? TO early to tell? What clubs have recruited well etc?
I hear West Magpies are struggling with players...
RE DIV 2- Who are looking the threats this year? TO early to tell? What clubs have recruited well etc?
I hear West Magpies are struggling with players...
the magpies are going to be very strong again this year not sure where the struggling with players came from.
CoastBhoy
17 Apr 2006, 14:40
Weekend Results APRIL 16/17
DIV 1
Mt Gravatt 6.5 10.9 11.12 18.14-122
Zillmere Eagles 8.1 13.3 22.5 27.8-170
Mt Gravatt
Goal Kickers: R Lake 3, D Poynton 3, D White 3, B Riordan 2, M Stinear 2, A Van Rooyen, R Tilley, R Magarry, J Morris , T Plummer 1
Best Players: C Smith, M Edwards, A Van Rooyen, J Vearing;
Zillmere Eagles
Goal Kickers: T Zantuck 12, M Payne 5, D Dickfos 4, D Dzufer, P Wolfe, L Weller, A Pratt, S Brittain, B Zeidler 1
Best Players: T Zantuck, P Wolfe, M Payne, D Dzufer;
Morningside 6.3 8.9 11.11 13.13-91
Suncoast Lions 2.3 6.6 17.10 24.11-155
Morningside
Goal Kickers: A Rodrigues 4, S Mugavin 2, M Ward 2, K Abey 2, J Gough 2, K Jahnke 1
Best Players: T Tarrant, J Silvester, B McGuckin, T Upton, J Brown
Suncoast Lions
Goal Kickers: M Allen 5, A Corrie 3, R Magin 2, D Merrett 2, C Keating 2, C Wood 2, B McDonald 2, B Passfield, S Reid, J Macdonald, M Pask, C begley, J Roe 1
Best Players: J Macdonald, M Moody, A Corrie, M Allen, C Begley
Broadbeach 11.3 15.7 26.12 33.14-212
Redland 1.0 6.0 8.1 12.1-73
Broadbeach
Goal Kickers: K Fulton 12, M Dillon 4, D Greene 3, D Round 2, W Fenner 2, B Walters 2, B Tanton 2, S Walters, B Fisher, D Lyon, P Evans, J Drake, A Knight 1
Best Players: S Walters, A Hall, B Tanton, K Fulton;
Redland
Goal Kickers: C Millar 3, B Webb 2, A Mueller, J Taranto, S Bonnitcha, J Campbell, M Thompson, J Beatie, P O''Shea 1
Best Players: J Campbell, T Bell, M Thompson;
Southport 3.5 4.9 5.12 12.15-87
Labrador 5.0 5.1 8.5 8.7-55
Southport
Goal Kickers: T Knight 4, H Kiel 2, G Waters 2, M Van Rossum, J Burge, C Miller, B Gordon 1
Best Players: K Tippett, G Screech, P Knight, F Pope, B Hawkins
Labrador
Goal Kickers: N Tresize 3, C Munson 3, M Brewster, P Featherstone 1
Best Players: C Munson, S Folan, R Alleway, Ben Walker, T Featherstone
This weeks AFLQ Div 2 round one fixture.... thought id see who people believe would win each game (my picks are in red).
2:10 PM Sat 22/Apr
(Lowe Oval) Springwood AFC vs Palm Beach Currumbin AFC
-Picked Springwood basically going on last year as well as signings theyve made and those that Palm Beach have lost.... will be a close game for sure.
(Peak Oval) Coolangatta Tweed AFC vs Surfers Paradise AFC
-Have picked Coolangatta Tweed largely on the fact that when i saw them they were competitive and will be bolstered by some recruits, surfers on last years form were in the bottom few teams.
(Weyba Rd) Noosa AFC vs Sandgate AFC
-Saw Noosa last week in Practise game and were good in the 2nd and 3rd quarters but ran out of legs, will no doubt get some players back for this week and will be too strong for a sandgate side who in my view will be down the bottom again.
2:10 PM Sun 23/Apr
(Aspley) Aspley AFC vs Wilston Grange AFC
-Both sides proved to be competitive in bursts in games i saw them last year, have picked Wilston Grange on news of recruiting they have done in the off season, will be close for 3 quarters or so with grange running over the top late.
(Bill Godfrey Oval) Burleigh AFC vs Western Magpies AFC
-Have tipped the Western Magpies as i saw them beat Burleigh 2 weeks ago at Burleigh obviously with both sides without key players, but the fitness level of the magpies seemed too much for burleigh, will be a tight game with last years premiers just falling short.
(Everton) Mayne AFC vs Maroochy/Northshore AFC
-Hardest game to tip this one havent seen too much of either side but very similar finish last year, I am going with mayne only due to the home ground advantage.
catters05
18 Apr 2006, 01:21
What sort of crowds get down to the local comp? Do Southport Sharks get some okay crowds for the footy at their home ground?
I havent seen too much of the 1st division for 2 years or so but im certain that the suncoast lions would draw crowds of 500+. Most div 2 games ive been to draw 200+ depending on the sides id say div 1 would be a fair bit more.
Toucan Soup
18 Apr 2006, 10:35
You'll be waiting a long time for big crowds in Queensland.
Here are some tips for AFLQ Div 2:
Springwood over Palm Beach by five goals - but PBC will improve when they start their late season recruiting.
Coolangatta will thump Surfers first up.
Noosa will have no troubles against Sandgate, as the Hawks face a future of oblivion (How long can they last playing at the same ground as Zillmere?).
I reckon Grange might get over Aspley, but I haven't heard anything about Aspley's new players.
Burleigh and the Magpies might be the match of the round first up, and as a sign of support for Grentell, Mouse, Sounda, etc, I think the Magpies will get first points. Reckon Burleigh might be set to start crumbling this year - nothing too bad, but just not three premierships in a row.
Mayne and Northshore - who knows? Don't think either club is going to be bothering the scoreboard attendants in September. Just to be different to Toddy, I'll suggest Northshore.
It'd be great to see some practice match form - but a lot of these clubs seem to have been fairly secretive so far this year.
Here's my crack at Div 2 predictions.
Springwood v PBC
The Pumas seem to have done pretty well in the praccy matches and reportedly have recruited well. PBC have lost a few but are always competetive. Springwood by 25 points.
Cooly v Surfers
If the hype is to be believed Cooly are in for a big one. From what I have seen Surfers are not. Cooly by 40 points
Noosa v Sandgate
Is it true that Travis McLean is on the Coast but not playing? Regardless, Sandgate look like they will struggle again this year. Nossa by 56 points.
Aspley v Grange
Haven't heard much about the Aspley recruits, so it is a bit hard to say. Grange look to have recruited pretty well, but also lost probably their best 2 from the last few years. Grange by 10 points.
Burleigh v Western Magpies
The two best sides last year. Burleigh have lost Knee who was super for them. Not too sure about the Magpies - one report says they have lost plenty the next says they are as strong as last year. They always seem to be able to bring in good young players. Burleigh are at home so will go for them by 10 points.
Mayne v Maroochy
Saw Maroochy play one praccy match - looked okay but not spectacular. Not sure how they have recruited - heard they'd picked up a couple from Koroit in the Hampden league who would give them a bit more bite. I know nothing about how Mayne have been travelling. Again will have to base this on the home ground and say Mayne by 14 points.
Now lets have a crack at the top 8. This is a pretty hot topic given that the "Northern" sides are at a distinct advantage due to the weaker teams.
Magpies
Springwood
Cooly
Burleigh
Grange
Noosa
PBC
Maroochy.
Good luck to all
Here's Div 2 predictions.
Springwood v PBC
Cant see PCB getting over springwood going on practice match form Springwood by 6 goals
Cooly v Surfers
Cooly have had a great preparation along with some big signings look out for them this year cant see surfers getting within 10 goals
Noosa v Sandgate
Noosa to strong for Sandgate another long year for them Noosa by a big margin
Aspley v Grange
The Grange will be improvers this year with some signings from Vic ill take them by 4 goals
Burleigh v Western Magpies
The lose of knee will hurt the bombers I think the pies by 2 goals
Mayne v Maroochy
could go either way if Purcel plays ill take the Roos just !
TOP 8
Magpies
Cooly
Burleigh
Springwood
Grange
Noosa
PBC
Maroochy.
thought id also do my top 8:
Magpies
Burleigh
Springwood
Grange
Noosa
Cooly
Palm Beach
tough call but ill go with Maroochy as first round final losers
top 7 will be closer than last year, palm beach went further than expected but the winner was always gonna come from the top 4 plus Palmy as the one to watch.
Toucan Soup
19 Apr 2006, 11:52
Looks like its unanimous that nobody rates Surfers, Sandgate, Aspley, or Mayne. None of these teams appear in anyone's Top 8's.
Are there too many teams in AFLQ Div 2? Should 2 (or 4) be dropped back down into the Association after the moratorium ends after this season? If Sandgate and/or Mayne were dropped back, would they fold or fight on?
Some interesting questions facing Div 2 this year!
(By the way, I reckon Coolangatta look good early on for a shot at the flag - and even if they don't have the players they need straight away, they'll go and find them.)
I like the idea of a 10 team comp - mainly for the purposes of making the draw more fair, and getting rid of the ridiculous final 8.
If you look at who has been tipped to make the top eight this year there are 5 "southern" teams and 3 "northern" teams. To put that in a bit better perspective, if there was a top 5 (as there should be), from our picks (and hey, we might be wrong) only Grange would be there. And I think it is fair to say that Grange are there because they have the weaker draw - playing northern sides twice and southern sides once.
But if the comp drops to 10 teams who goes? Sandgate look an obvious choice given their current problems, but gee they have a pretty good junior program. Mayne are probably the next most likely, but made the finals last year and would probably dominate the Association at the moment.
For mine the best approach would be for 10 teams in the Association and Div 2, with a promotion/relegation system. I know there are issues here re finances etc, but I think it provides a great incentive and a source of pride for clubs who can make the climb. Having spent a bit of time in the VAFA I know the excitement and drama that promotion/relegation brings. Dead games at the end of the year between poor performing sides suddenly become the most important of the year. The next year, the pride in being able to compete at a higher level is a real boost for a club. And for those that have struggled and probably copped a few beltings, there is the ability to drop back, have a good year as a club and start over again.
I think financially a promotion/relegation system for Div 1 is out of the question at the moment. But it really should be what the league is looking for as an ultimate result. Just might take a bit of time.
Doug_Hondo
20 Apr 2006, 15:18
Pumas To Pulverise Palmy and show the comp they are the real deal.
Springwood by 10 goals at the Lair!
Lenny29 to kick 8 in the twos!
10 goals ?
Doug_Hondo
20 Apr 2006, 17:36
Palmy have lost their coach, captain (and CHF) and several solid younger blokes. Pumas have lost nothing and gained nothing but quality plus with the younger blokes improving by the year, we should be looking at a top 2 finish.
Pumas by 10 goals minimum. Best forward line in the comp.
Palmy have lost their coach, captain (and CHF) and several solid younger blokes. Pumas have lost nothing and gained nothing but quality plus with the younger blokes improving by the year, we should be looking at a top 2 finish.
Pumas by 10 goals minimum. Best forward line in the comp.
Best forward line in the comp is a big call
Considering Cooly have James Cook (ex AFL Forward) , Paul Fairly (State CHF), Anthony McKee (Sate Half forward) , Tate Day (Ex AFL Forward) & Mark Lynch (Southport & State Forward ) :confused:
Doug_Hondo
20 Apr 2006, 17:51
Cook plays half the games and really is getting on...Mckee played down back against us last year. Fairlie is an overrated sook...Not too sure about Day...But the lynch boys are a constant menace. I won't say too much about the make up of the Pumas forward line... I'll let the results on the weekend speak for themselves. But I will say its such an embarassment of riches Bear Wallin is struggling for a start.
Bear is a massive unit need to loose a few kg's but your right he would walk into most teams the yous must have a fair line up.
but as far as Cook gos his the captin his year lost 10 kg's looking Dangerous
Thought id see if those who have an interest in div 2 footy would like to have a tipping competition (for fun of course). A few people have already suggested their thoughts this week.
Its about time we started hearing some big predictions and a bit of niggle between our AFLQ Bigfooty posters. Looking at us compared to the other threads it has been very tame.
I'd be surprised if Springwood beat PBC by 10 goals. My prediction is for a big year for Springwood, but you just can't discount Palmy. They always have a couple of solid on ballers, and lets face it, in this comp that is where the games are really decided. I do think Springwood will win but also think you might be getting a bit carried away early there Doug_Hondo. Not saying they won't have a big year but we have a long season ahead, and really no-one knows what anyone else has got.
Can't wait for it to start and to hear what we all have to say on Monday.
I like it Toddy. As you can see I have nothing better to do with my time than post on this site so lets get it going. Anyone who hasn't made their selections get on it.
Gee i reckon ive got the 6 from 6 wrapped up this week.
Lenny29
20 Apr 2006, 22:22
From full back? Would be a fair effort.
If I don't give away 8 I'll take it.
Doug_Hondo
21 Apr 2006, 14:42
Ah is that where u got named...not sure where they were going to play you. Pumas by 15 goals then does that sound right?
In other insignificant games...
Coolie to pulverise Surfers
Noosa to hammer Sandgate
Grange to do enough over Aspley
Magpies to get over the line against Burleigh
Maroochy to beat Mayne in the closest of the round.
Toucan Soup
22 Apr 2006, 01:20
I'll stand by my selections for Round 1 from a few messages ago.
Can't wait until Sounda and Bear match up against each other in Reserve grade for Magpies and Targets (as if!).
Did the Springwood blokes know they were originally called the Targets? Does that rate as the worst "mascot" ever?
Best of luck to all teams this weekend - no injuries, close results. Good to see games starting finally!
Lenny29
22 Apr 2006, 22:00
10 goals ?
No, you're right, rubbish call. What were you thinking Dougie?
Lenny29
22 Apr 2006, 22:01
Did the Springwood blokes know they were originally called the Targets? Does that rate as the worst "mascot" ever?
Probably. Who cares? It was a hundred years ago.
A few blow outs in games today hopefully we see some close ones tomorrow.
Toucan Soup
23 Apr 2006, 00:42
Yeah! Well I figured Sandgate would be struggling, especially with the travel.
But I really thought Palm Beach would be closer than that! And Easton played in the two's (that's what the AFLQ site showed - is it correct?).
Perhaps we'll get responses of "Who cares!" - but Yeronga, victors by 95 points - winning is good.
Ever noticed you never get any AFLQ Div 1 input on this thread? Be great to discuss why that might be some time.
Reckon Magpies & Burleigh game will be huge. But might check out Aspley and Grange tomorrow - Gorillas might have something special about to happen this season. Or I could be hopelessly mistaken (again).
Magpies vs Burleigh was a good game to watch saw the first 3 qtrs Magpies won by 60 points apparently if thats right it must have been some sought of last quarter coz it was close at 3QT... (5 from 6 in tips i believe).
Doug_Hondo
23 Apr 2006, 19:52
Go and eat some humble Pie Rayza....right on the money. 10 goals. Pumas all the way.
Springwood AFC vs Palm Beach Currumbin AFC (21.18-144 - 11.4-70)
Sat 22/Apr 2:10 PM at Lowe Oval
Q1G Q1B H1G H1B Q3G Q3B FTG FTB
Springwood AFC 7 4 10 8 15 14 21 18
Palm Beach Currumbin AFC 2 0 6 1 7 3 11 4
Springwood AFC
Goal Kickers: A Wallin 7, T Wilson, G Buswell, C Cant, L Moriarty 2, S Easdown, D Taylor, N Sullivan, M Shannon, N Winter 1
Best Players: T Wilson, S Easdown, M Button, A Wallin, B Lynn
Palm Beach Currumbin AFC
Goal Kickers: G Pires 3,B Dew, N Purdey 2, M Dwyer, J Chapman, T Dubelaar, M Carroll 1
Best Players: J O''Sullivan, R Scott, B Dew, D Faulkner
Coolangatta Tweed AFC vs Surfers Paradise AFC (17.17-119 - 8.10-58)
Sat 22/Apr 2:10 PM at Peak Oval
Coolangatta Tweed AFC 2 6 6 8 13 15 17 17
Surfers Paradise AFC 3 5 5 7 5 7 8 10
Coolangatta Tweed AFC
Goal Kickers: J Cook 5, T Duku 3, W Barker 2, M Lynch 2, B Taylor 2, G McKenzie, P Fairlie, B Johnson
Best Players: T Duku, J Cook, B Johnson, W Barker
Surfers Paradise AFC
Goal Kickers: B Nagle 2, A Schumacher 2, D Coggins, D Richardson, T Drtdon, D Jones
Best Players: D Jones, P Oldham, B Nagle;
Noosa AFC vs Sandgate AFC (23.13-151 - 11.6-72)
Sat 22/Apr 2:10 PM at Weyba Rd
Noosa AFC 6 0 9 5 14 7 23 13
Sandgate AFC 4 3 5 4 10 5 11 6
Noosa AFC
Goal Kickers: T Duke 6, R Evans 5, C Isles 3, Z Smith 2, G Wallace, M Hicks, R Langan, N Winter, R Sawers, L Matthews, R Jeffery
Best Players: not supplied
Sandgate AFC
Goal Kickers: S Cannan 3, A Widt 2, S Suitor 2, B Ayton, M Hill, S Forbes, T Morrissey
Best Players: M Brady, A Craft, T Morrissey, S Cannan
Aspley AFC vs Wilston Grange AFC (8.7-55 - 32.14-206)
Sun 23/Apr 2:10 PM at Aspley
Aspley AFC 1 3 4 4 7 5 8 7
Wilston Grange AFC 5 3 15 6 20 9 32 14
Aspley AFC
Goal Kickers: R Pert 2, T McIvor 2, D Reeves 2, R Grealy 2
Best Players: R Grealy, T McIvor, R Pert;
Wilston Grange AFC
Goal Kickers: N Marshall 7, P Thomas 5, B Avery 5, B Conway 3, L Stevenson 3, G Sawyer 2, S WOOD 2, M Schultz, A Morrison, J McMahon, J Molan, B Kelly 1
Best Players: B Kelly, S Thomas, N Marshall;
Burleigh AFC vs Western Magpies AFC (10.13-73 - 20.13-133)
Sun 23/Apr 2:10 PM at Bill Godfrey Oval
Burleigh AFC 0 0 0 0 0 0 10 13
Western Magpies AFC 0 0 0 0 0 0 20 13
Mayne AFC vs Maroochy/Northshore AFC (12.9-81 - 21.10-136)
Sun 23/Apr 2:10 PM at Everton
Mayne AFC 3 3 5 6 10 8 12 9
Maroochy/Northshore AFC 5 4 12 6 16 7 21 10
Mayne AFC
Goal Kickers: P Spurling 3, A Housego 2, D McKay 2, M Silman, T Ingram, C Brown, M Dennis, L Ferguson
Best Players: D Weller, T Banfield, C Azzopardi, C Brown;
Maroochy/Northshore AFC
Goal Kickers: B Stanley 6, C Lavery 3, B Stefanovic 3, T Mills 3, B Wulf 3, E Hohenhaus 2, P Rowe
Best Players: M Britt, B Wulf, B Stefanovic, B Stanley
For those of you who tipped this week it seems either the games were easy to pick or everyone has got good form guides..
Ladder
Toucan Soup
Rayza
Doug Hondo all 6/6 (WELL DONE!)
Myself 5/6 (i should have known picking mayne is like picking fremantle)
Augie 4/6
stmookeyj
23 Apr 2006, 20:36
Ever noticed you never get any AFLQ Div 1 input on this thread? Be great to discuss why that might be some time.
Well, here are the results
SUNCOAST LIONS 15.17.107
BROADBEACH 10.14.74
GOALS
SUN: Clark 5, McGrath 3, Patfull 2, Corrie, Allan, Harding
BRO: Fulton, Walters 2, Jacotine, Dillon, Lohrey, Round
BEST
SUN: Roe, Pask, Selwood, Harding, Clark
BRO: Burgess, Rynehart, Lyons, Fenner, Spencer
MORNINGSIDE 13.11.89
MT.GRAVATT 12.15.87
GOALS
MOR: Spurr 4, Rodrigues 2, Rootsey, Mugavin, Ralph, Tomlinson, Abey, Brown, Lillico
MT.G: Van Rooyen 3, Lake 2, Vearing, Edwards, Smith, Poynton, White, Spencer, Riordan
BEST
MOR: Spurr, Abey, Ralph, Clarke, Browning
MT.G: Stinear, Vearing, Lake, Riordan
ZILLMERE EAGLES 17.17.119
LABRADOR 9.8.62
GOAL
ZIL: Zantuck 6, Dickfos (game 250) 3, Crane, Payne 2, Evans, Wolfe, Weller, Brittain
LAB: Slattery 3, Munson 2, Burkinshaw, Doyle, Talbot, Tamburro
BEST
ZIL: Lee, Lambert, Crane, Wolfe
LAB: Tamburro, Munson, Brewster, Slattery
REDLAND 4.3.27
SOUTHPORT 37.23.245
GOALS
RED: Millar, Ackerley, Hackett, Wirth
SOU: Knight 6, McEntee, Wise 5, Waters, Hawkins 3, James, O'Brien, White, VanRossum, Pope 2, Duryea, Devine, Burgess, Miller, Johnson
BEST
RED: Mueller, Campbell, Conroy, Millar
SOU: Knight, Hawkins, Wise, James
Go and eat some humble Pie Rayza....right on the money. 10 goals. Pumas all the way.[/quote]
Can’t dispute that mate well done!!!! I thought palm beach would have made more of a go of it that’s all, I noticed Bear took his spot in the line up don’t think he has noting to be worried about after booting 7 ?
One other games Cooly v Surfers was not as one sided as the scoreboard suggested
The Dees had a good start to lead at the first change and show that they will be no easy beats this year, but the second half was all Cooly even after both the Lynch brothers left the game at half time.
Burleigh v Western Magpies was a close encounter up until the last change there was some good hard footy played from both sides and a bit of feeling init with some old fashion 80’s BIFFO but the class of the pies got them over the line in the end they look better than last year should be hard to beat!
Doug_Hondo
24 Apr 2006, 16:25
Moncur didnt play, Dave Bennet didnt have his kicking boots on...and another surprise recruit who is due to resume from injury mid-year the boys from Springwood are looking mighty impressive.
CoastBhoy
24 Apr 2006, 17:29
Good call champ , would'nt of picked that.
Wayne Weideman
24 Apr 2006, 18:17
just wondering if a bloke by the name of shane dupay still plays in this league. if so who or and how does he go?
morphous
24 Apr 2006, 18:38
just wondering if a bloke by the name of shane dupay still plays in this league. if so who or and how does he go?
Nah Duey retired at the end of last season.
Wayne Weideman
24 Apr 2006, 19:38
Nah Duey retired at the end of last season.
who did he play for? started at mt.gravatt and then went to N.S.W but notsure where he played when he went back to queensland. goes alright?
morphous
24 Apr 2006, 19:48
who did he play for? started at mt.gravatt and then went to N.S.W but notsure where he played when he went back to queensland. goes alright?
He came from my gravatt over to Redlands for a couple years then went to sydney and played for balmain for a year then moved back and played with redlands again last season. great player, can play almost anywhere, another couple inches and could also play in the ruck.
Lenny29
26 Apr 2006, 17:04
Yeah! Well I figured Sandgate would be struggling, especially with the travel.
But I really thought Palm Beach would be closer than that! And Easton played in the two's (that's what the AFLQ site showed - is it correct?).
Perhaps we'll get responses of "Who cares!" - but Yeronga, victors by 95 points - winning is good.
Reckon Magpies & Burleigh game will be huge. But might check out Aspley and Grange tomorrow - Gorillas might have something special about to happen this season. Or I could be hopelessly mistaken (again).
Bomber Easton played twos and played very well, but unless injuries or dramatic loss of form of other blokes occur I don't reckon there's a spot for him in the ones - and the same can be said for a lot of quality players that are playing twos at the moment.
Doug_Hondo
27 Apr 2006, 12:18
Did anyone check on Grange V Aspley on sunday? Are aspley the worst side in QLD or are Grange vastly improved?
Lenny29
27 Apr 2006, 14:08
I'd probably reckon a bit of both.
Pearce off Jack
27 Apr 2006, 14:43
Anyone seen Craig Millar play for Redlands? Played with him last year and rate him very highly?
Doug_Hondo
27 Apr 2006, 17:37
I watched him in round 1 V Mt Gravatt. First game back from a hamstring injury in pre season so looked a little under done and unfit. But looks to be a smart footballer. Hard to tell playing in a team that is getting hammered by 100+ every week, poor bloke.
morphous
27 Apr 2006, 19:42
I watched him in round 1 V Mt Gravatt. First game back from a hamstring injury in pre season so looked a little under done and unfit. But looks to be a smart footballer. Hard to tell playing in a team that is getting hammered by 100+ every week, poor bloke.
Funky has been improving with each game hes played getting match fitness and i agree he is a smart footballer.
Toucan Soup
28 Apr 2006, 11:09
Better think about some tips for Div 2 before its too late.
Palm Beach will put in an improved performance this week, but will still go down to the Magpies.
Noosa will give Mayne a miserable drive home.
Wilston Grange's scoreline flattered them last week - and it will again this week. No joy for Sandgate at Babarra Street.
Maroochydore aren't that bad - Aspley are. Northshore to win here.
I'm going to tip Surfers over Burleigh this week - just got a feeling they could be a chance (but I've been wrong before).
Am I going to annoy anyone if I suggest Coolangatta will defeat Springwood this week? Could be a preview of games later in the season though.
Those last two games are big contests - I wouldn't be surprised if I'm proven wrong in those matches.
Doug_Hondo
28 Apr 2006, 11:16
Magpies to hammer Palmy
Noosa to smash Mayne (once again forgiving draw for Noosa)
Grange to pulverise Sandgate (another favourable draw again)
Maroochydore to rape Aspley
Burleigh to beat Surfers by around 20-30 points.
Springwood (with some solid inclusions) to get the better of Coolangatta
another 6 coming up.
Pearce off Jack
28 Apr 2006, 11:20
Funky has been improving with each game hes played getting match fitness and i agree he is a smart footballer.
Dont tell me funky has missed some of the pre season! How unusual!
morphous
28 Apr 2006, 12:51
Dont tell me funky has missed some of the pre season! How unusual!
It's our first year witih him so we're learning. Any other things we should know about Funky? lol
Tips for the weekend
Magpies
Burleigh
Northshore
Noosa
Grange
Coolie
Coolie v Springwood should be an absolute cracker. Going for Coolie just because they are at home. Could be a preview of bigger things later in the year.