In Div 1

Morningside by 12 goals over Labrador
Mt Gravatt by 7 goals over Southport
Broadbeach by about 150 points against Redland
Lions play Eagles tomorrow morning

And Calder have beaten Qld 18's.

Lenny29
6 May 2006, 23:26
Springwood by 3 goals over the Magpies, surviving a late scare after being eight goals up at half time.

Those who got there early would've seen an absolute hanger by some Springwood bloke in the reserves in the second quarter. "Brad Ottens like" it was described by some observers.

stmookeyj
6 May 2006, 23:46
Surfers over PBC by 10 points

toddy
7 May 2006, 02:35
Springwood by 3 goals over the Magpies, surviving a late scare after being eight goals up at half time.

Those who got there early would've seen an absolute hanger by some Springwood bloke in the reserves in the second quarter. "Brad Ottens like" it was described by some observers.

Some say the guy dropped it......i wouldve seen it but i was the stepladder!!!

toddy
7 May 2006, 02:50
Tipping Leaderboard:

Congradulations to Augie for getting the bonus point picking 19 to be the difference just 1 point off getting the bonus 2 points (something i just introduced for a perfect margin pick).

1st... Doug Hondo 4/6.....15
2nd... Rayza 4/6.............14
3rd... Toddy 3/6.............13
... Toucan Soup 3/6....13
Last... Augie 3/6 + (BP)...12

Lenny29
7 May 2006, 04:12
Some say the guy dropped it......i wouldve seen it but i was the stepladder!!!
Haha could've been either way - but I'm gonna claim it, especially given the umpire killed me a few other times!

Wayne Weideman
7 May 2006, 10:27
shane dupay was a gun in this league a very good mate talking here.

toddy
7 May 2006, 13:14
Haha could've been either way - but I'm gonna claim it, especially given the umpire killed me a few other times!

I made sure i got you back with that tackle later on mind you next time i wont lead with my head as my jaw is a bit sore from that. I couldn't believe that i got a yellow card for calling that head count thing!! The runner came out to me from the coaches telling me to call for it and when nothing was wrong i got reported, yellow carded and the 50m penalty. I knew about the 50m but reported and that you could imagine what i felt like saying to the coaches considering at that stage we were 14 points down and still close enough to make a contest of it. But other than that you guys played well and deserved it in both grades (despite the fact i missed all but the first qtr of the 1's).

Lenny29
7 May 2006, 14:48
I made sure i got you back with that tackle later on mind you next time i wont lead with my head as my jaw is a bit sore from that. I couldn't believe that i got a yellow card for calling that head count thing!! The runner came out to me from the coaches telling me to call for it and when nothing was wrong i got reported, yellow carded and the 50m penalty. I knew about the 50m but reported and that you could imagine what i felt like saying to the coaches considering at that stage we were 14 points down and still close enough to make a contest of it. But other than that you guys played well and deserved it in both grades (despite the fact i missed all but the first qtr of the 1's).
Haha that head count worked beautifully. I couldn't get down to the goal square quick enough to take advantage of the 50!

Doug_Hondo
7 May 2006, 15:50
By JP you mean Jack Pekin?

No Juan Parthenidis....

Nice grab Alan but not as good as BUZZZ!!!!!!
Geoff Buswell took one of the marks of the century...would of surely won almost football legends.

Lenny29
7 May 2006, 16:34
No Juan Parthenidis....

Nice grab Alan but not as good as BUZZZ!!!!!!
Geoff Buswell took one of the marks of the century...would of surely won almost football legends.
And I missed it! Looked down for half a second and the crowd went up. Filthy.

In fairness to myself, though, his was one-on-one (I believe). :cool:

Doug_Hondo
7 May 2006, 18:53
So whos going to stop the Puma train?

mute
7 May 2006, 21:16
So whos going to stop the Puma train?
didnt get to watch on sat i suppose it was a good game.any injuries i heard the big bear is:mad:

Lenny29
7 May 2006, 22:26
The big Bear is what? Injured? Angry? What are you talking about?

johno_07
7 May 2006, 22:54
I was surprisedby the Wilston V Mayne game. I didn't give Mayne that much credit...

augie
8 May 2006, 09:24
Good to see a weekend with a few surprises - and how bad did I need that bonus point!

Saw a bit of the Magpies v Springwood game - both 2s and 1s. Very impressed with the way the Pumas played in both grades (although I did leave before half time in the 1sts so didn't see the Magpies revival).

The way the Springwood 2s played said more about where the club is at the moment than anything else. Very well structured and very disciplined. Lots of run and lots of voice. When the 2s are playing like that you just know that there will be no problems with the 1s.

I didn't think the Magpies played very well (from what I saw anyway). They look like they have a fair bit of improvement in them - they will be right in it at the business end of the year. I was impressed with the speech the Magpies Reserves coach made when accepting the Premiership Flag - nice dig at the League.

Doug_Hondo
8 May 2006, 18:56
Former Saint Gary Odgers is the new coach at redlands...You heard it here first.

Barge
8 May 2006, 20:48
I was impressed with the speech the Magpies Reserves coach made when accepting the Premiership Flag - nice dig at the League.

For the uninitiated, what did he say?

For those interested, former Redlands player Michael Thompson kicked 4 for New Norfolk on his return to Hobart last Saturday. What were your opinions on him?

Doug_Hondo
8 May 2006, 20:56

For those interested, former Redlands player Michael Thompson kicked 4 for New Norfolk on his return to Hobart last Saturday. What were your opinions on him?

He was a gun from what i saw of him...too bad i didnt get to see more of him... took a ripper hanger in round 1 V Mt Gravatt.

morphous
8 May 2006, 20:58

He was great, looked really good apart for his last 2 games, looked a little lost.

johno_07
8 May 2006, 21:21
Former Saint Gary Odgers is the new coach at redlands...You heard it here first.

Gary is a good coach, i wish him well. Even though i think a big clean out is required (Administration) for Redlands to move forward. I guess you can't see it when your "inside the circle".

Barge
8 May 2006, 21:32
Well there's the opinions of Thommo out of the way, now what did the Magpies 2's coach say when accepting the flag?

Which team are the Magpies out of curiosity?

morphous
9 May 2006, 08:37
Gary is a good coach, i wish him well. Even though i think a big clean out is required (Administration) for Redlands to move forward. I guess you can't see it when your "inside the circle".

Which admin do you mean?

augie
9 May 2006, 09:16
Just a bit of a dig at the league over the Magpies missing a spot in 1st Division. He said something along the lines of they know that they belong in 1st Division and look forward to getting back up there.

Pearce off Jack
9 May 2006, 10:07
Great to see funky millar kick 6 for redlands on the weekend! Keep watching boys he will only get better!!!!!

morphous
9 May 2006, 10:44
Great to see funky millar kick 6 for redlands on the weekend! Keep watching boys he will only get better!!!!!

He should have had 9 or 10 with the amount of times his jumper was held.

Pearce off Jack
9 May 2006, 15:24
He should have had 9 or 10 with the amount of times his jumper was held.
Something he can do every week if given the opportunity!

johno_07
9 May 2006, 15:55
didnt get to watch on sat i suppose it was a good game.any injuries i heard the big bear is:mad:

Do you mean injured? Will he play this week?

johno_07
9 May 2006, 15:56
Which admin do you mean?
Redlands Admin, thats where the problem must be, surely?

Pearce off Jack
9 May 2006, 16:03
Redlands Admin, thats where the problem must be, surely?
Craig Millar has only been there a short time and if he can do for Redlands what he did at Myrtleford in the Ovens & Murray then the club will soon be in a better position off the ground in no time, not only is he a great footballer but also a fantastic administrator!

toddy
9 May 2006, 16:41
This weeks round:

SATURDAY

Aspley vs Noosa (@ Aspley)

- Aspley had a poor week last week losing by 99 points to fellow bottom dweller Sandgate will do the confidence no good and with Noosa undefeated (with admittedly an easier start to the draw) this should be a comfortable game for the tigers, despite (going by the scores) an unconvincing win over maroochy last week.

MY SELECTION: Noosa by 6-7 goals

Maroochy/Northshore vs Wilston Grange (@ Fishermans Rd)

- Both sides had a loss last week, Wilston Grange an unexpected loss to Mayne at home by 5 goals, and Maroochy a close loss to their northern neighbour Noosa, albeit 4-5 goals, the margin was predicted to be more. Will be a close game, one that might seperate the punters.

MY SELECTION: Wilston Grange by 4 goals

Springwood vs Surfers Paradise (@ Lowe Oval)

- Springwood were impressive in the first half of the big game vs the Western Magpies, before letting them back in, to hold off the Magpies by 3 goals in what was a game of two potential top 4 sides. Surfers Paradise held off Palm Beach by 10 points last week and a draw with last years premiers the previous week, showing their big improvement on last year.

MY SELECTION: Springwood by 7 goals

SUNDAY

Burleigh vs Palm Beach Currumbin (@ Bill Godfrey Oval) [GAME OF THE WEEK]

- Grand Final preview there will be a big crowd at this game, despite both teams winning just 1 game between them so far this season expect a good close game with a lot of feeling. Both sides have suffered close losses or draws during the season and have played some top sides, a win could kick start their season.

MY SELECTION: Burleigh by 14 points

Western Magpies vs Coolangatta Tweed (@ Chelmer)

- Coolangatta Tweed after a promising first game has been dissapointing losing their last two games including a big loss to Springwood at home, whilst the Magpies have been impressive in the first two games of the season before allowing Springwood to jump out to an 8 goal half time lead before dragging the score back to a respectable 3 goal loss.

MY SELECTION: Western Magpies by 4 goals

Mayne vs Sandgate (@ Everton)

- Both had impressive wins last week Sandgate by 99 points over Aspley and Mayne with the upset of the year to date with a 5 goal win over Wilston Grange away from home. Before last week would have been a toss of the coin, but a young Sandgate will need to be on fire to challenge this week.

MY SELECTION: Mayne by 6 goals

These are my selections for our tipping competition (note. Burleigh vs Palmy is the game of the round and all other margins are there to cure my boredom).

BIGANT
9 May 2006, 16:54
While skimming through goulburn valley clearances i noticed one JOSH WILSON in for shep swans in '06, (1) Was he the premier big man in cairns football for however long he was up there !? (2) Is he coaching material !? (3) how old is he !? Please any feedback would be welcome

akka dakka
10 May 2006, 13:41
You may be able to tell me Lenny, How is Matt Hendry going up there for Springwood?

OldMelburnian28
10 May 2006, 13:57
Just curious how redland will go this year. Heard they lost some players over summer?? any news or clarification?

morphous
10 May 2006, 14:37
Just curious how redland will go this year. Heard they lost some players over summer?? any news or clarification?

We're struggling on the bottom of the ladder. Lost a lot of players over the summer and a few things that are documented earlier in this thread. Things are looking up at the club and the mood is good so fingers crossed for the rest of the year.

OldMelburnian28
10 May 2006, 17:56
Who are the players you lost??

Lenny29
10 May 2006, 18:38
You may be able to tell me Lenny, How is Matt Hendry going up there for Springwood?
Been very good. Was probably our best (up there with one or two others) vs Coolangatta. Just plays out on a wing and gets 25 kicks a game.

morphous
10 May 2006, 18:45
Who are the players you lost??

Heres the list from the league website.
http://qfl.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=106074

augie
12 May 2006, 09:41
Weekend Tips

Noosa to demolish Aspley

Maroochy and Grange to be a very tight one. I will go with the Gorillas just.

Springwood over Surfers - but could be a bit closer than most would expect

Magpies to account for Coolie

Mayne to be a bit big up forward for Sandgate

Match of the round - Burleigh by 32 points over Palmy.

Toucan Soup
12 May 2006, 10:49
Here's my selections this week:

* No joy for Aspley at home - Noosa to win easily.
* Here's my reckless tip of the week: Maroochy to win at home over the Gorillas who I still can't believe lost that last one.
* Springwood will enjoy the beers after taking care of Surfers.
* Burleigh to keep PBC winless for another week.
* Sherwood to pound Coolangatta in a Mother's Day Massacre (by five points)
* And I still can't believe Mayne defeated Grange, so I will tip them this week to defeat Sandgate who had a great win over Aspley (but I get the feeling that most teams will this year).

I was going to say Burleigh by 31 points, but it would be a weak act to say that now following Augie's tip - so I will go with 25 points.

Doug_Hondo
12 May 2006, 13:15
Noosa Over Aspley
Maroochydoore to repeat the trial result over Grange
Mighty Pumas to remain undefeated whoever they play
Burleigh to beat Palmy by 10 points..will be close
Sherwood to bounce back over Coolangatta
Mayne to beat Sandgate.

OldMelburnian28
12 May 2006, 14:57
Heres the list from the league website.
http://qfl.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=106074

Some big losses there, can't see Redland being competitive anytime soon unfortunantly. The Sullivan from Redland rings a bell...is that Nathan Sullivan originally from Melbourne?

Rayza
12 May 2006, 15:04
Some big losses there, can't see Redland being competitive anytime soon unfortunantly. The Sullivan from Redland rings a bell...is that Nathan Sullivan originally from Melbourne?

Nothing personal but who gives a toss about Redland i'm over there trobles they should just fold, they have had far to much air time on this thread :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

All In favour ?
Rayza :D

morphous
12 May 2006, 15:15

I'm not sure where hes from, Doug_Hondo and Lenny29 might be able to help you out because hes playing at Springwood now.

Nothing personal but who gives a toss about Redland i'm over there trobles they should just fold, they have had far to much air time on this thread

All In favour ?

Same could be said about North Melbourne.....

Rayza
12 May 2006, 15:52
Rayza’s Round 4 Preview / Tips

Aspley vs Noosa
Noosa to really do a number on the worst team in Queensland at the moment ! Has anyone else had the experience of watching Aspley? I would be interested to hear your thoughts, Better still does anyone play for Aspley perhaps they could explain there objective for the year as I cant seem to understand why they even bother.

Maroochy/Northshore vs Wilston Grange

I’m going to take the Roos not a real bad effort on the weekend kicked 16 goals and lost, does anyone know if Kane Purcel is still playing for the Roos this year? No 5 if that helps anyone he plays on the ball and has some of the best skills I have seen

Springwood vs Surfers Paradise

Springwood will account for the Dee’s with ease just to many options up forward for the Dee’s defenders to worry about.
Any thoughts on who would win a fight between Schuiee and the bear I know they play at opposite ends of the ground but it would be great viewing to watch the two big boys go at it perhaps the puma’s and he Dee’s could raise some money for the footy trip by getting the 2 oiled up in a sludge fight and sell $3 cans let me know if it go’s ahead

Burleigh vs Palm Beach Currumbin

Burleigh should beat Palm Beach but when these to team meet its always close PBC had the flag stolen of them last year they will be keen on a bit of revenge but I cant see them getting it

Burleigh 18 points

Western Magpies vs Coolangatta Tweed

I Have to take Coolangatta only for pride reasons not form related if it where id take the Pie’s by 10 goals. But what people need to realise is that the Blues have 12 new senior players they need time to gel and at the moment the draw isn’t letting them playing all the topsides in 4 weeks.

Mayne vs Sandgate

Good to see Sandgate got there first win of the season even though it was against the worst team in Qld even there strip in terrible and there mascot the hornets worts mascot in the comp. but getting back to my tip ill take Mayne.

Rayza
12 May 2006, 15:56
I'm not sure where hes from, Doug_Hondo and Lenny29 might be able to help you out because hes playing at Springwood now.

Same could be said about North Melbourne.....

Don’t think I’m in any position to be arguing with a crows supporter at the moment you’s are flying !

bigdogg
12 May 2006, 16:16
hows ricky petterd going from broadybeach??

Doug_Hondo
12 May 2006, 18:19

Nath hails from around the Geelong area i think...

Kingy-dons
14 May 2006, 20:11
go sandgateeeeeeeeeeeeee!

stmookeyj
14 May 2006, 20:22
RESULTS

DIV 1
Broadbeach over Labrador by about 22 goals
Suncoast over Southport by 13 goals
Morningside over Redland by 32 goals (And by 37 goals in the Reserves....)
Zillmere over Mt Gravatt by 14 goals

DIV 2
Noosa over Aspley by 19 goals
Maroochy/Northshore over Wilston Grange by 45 points
Springwood over Surfers by 22 goals
Burleigh over PBC by 8 goals
Magpies over Coolangatta by 52 points
Don't know Mayne vs Sandgate....

Doug_Hondo
14 May 2006, 20:31
All aboard the Puma train....

toddy
14 May 2006, 21:28
Congradulations to Augie who made it 2/2 with the bonus point which closed the gap, though DH is flying as are springwood but for the rest of us a round can make a big difference. We now have a two week break will certainly be welcomed.

TIPPING LEADERBOARD

Doug Hondo - 5/6.....20

Rayza - 4/6.............18
Toucan Soup - 4/6...18

Toddy - 4/6.............17
Augie - 4/6 + BP......17

sorry about the mistake

madpie
14 May 2006, 21:33
Can anyone tell me if a corey russell is playing in this league??

toddy
14 May 2006, 21:40
go sandgateeeeeeeeeeeeee!

good win wouldve been a good match to watch

Kingy-dons
14 May 2006, 21:40
sandgate won. 114 to 111.

they were around 50 points up at half time and mayne came storming home. sandgate kicked a goal with about 20 seconds to go to come home with a deserving win.

augie
15 May 2006, 09:32
Madpie, Corey Russell played for Palm Beach up until 2 years ago. Not sure where he is now.

As for the results of the weekend, can I change my prediction re Grange finishing in the top 5? Looks like they are really struggling after the last two weeks.

Toddy can you confirm the count on the tipping? I am not down on the list but am assuming that I sit last on the ladder.

Jackson7
16 May 2006, 16:27
Sandgate winning is that a big surprise ?

Who goes well for Sandgate ?

Doug_Hondo
17 May 2006, 18:35
The QLD State Squad for the match against ACT:

Brad Fisher, Korey Fulton, Matt Dillon, Damien Lyon, James Drake, David Round (B’beach), Travis Tamburro (Labrador); Shaun Mugavin, Kent Abey, Jacob Gough, Julian Silvester, Nick Tomlinson, David Lillico, Tom Tarrant (M’side); Mick Stinear, Josh Vearing, Rory Lake, Darryl White (Mt.Gravatt); Adam Mueller (Redland); Darren O’Brien, Clint Watts, Danny Wise, Ben McEntee, Dan McEntee (S’port); Luke Crane, Matthew Payne, Ash Evans, Luke Weller, Ty Zantuck, Jake Weller, Garry Lee (Zillmere).

No real suprises but check out the tall forwards: Zantuck, Weller, Fulton, Round, Abey, White, Both McEntees....How they going to fit all those blokes in the side!

stmookeyj
22 May 2006, 00:36
DIV 2 SQUAD vs Cairns

Western Magpies – Val Pope, Ian Carroll, Tom Power, Chris Mihalopoulos, Todd Dunn
Wilston Grange – Geoff Sawyer, Leigh Stevenson, Neil Marshall, Andrew Morrison
Surfers Paradise – Simon Fenton, Peter Hay
Coolangatta – Mark Lynch, Brent Taylor, Tate Duku, David Janson
Springwood – Troy Moncur, Scott Easdown, Matt Hendry, Jeff Heath, Nick Aldridge
Mayne – Andrew Housego, Caleb Brown, Nick Reid
Palm Beach Currumbin – Matt Carroll, Matt Derrick
Noosa – Luke Matthews, Zac Smith, Caleb Isles, Nathan Winter
Maroochydore Northshore – James Page, Elliott Hohenhaus, Justin Blair, Ryan White
Burleigh – Jesse Butt, John Chenhall, Paul Branchflower, Shaun Wells, Luke Rowe, Adam Thornley
Sandgate – Simon Cannan, Alex Craft, Trent Morrisey

No matches this week.

toddy
22 May 2006, 01:43
The QLD State Squad for the match against ACT:

Brad Fisher, Korey Fulton, Matt Dillon, Damien Lyon, James Drake, David Round (B’beach), Travis Tamburro (Labrador); Shaun Mugavin, Kent Abey, Jacob Gough, Julian Silvester, Nick Tomlinson, David Lillico, Tom Tarrant (M’side); Mick Stinear, Josh Vearing, Rory Lake, Darryl White (Mt.Gravatt); Adam Mueller (Redland); Darren O’Brien, Clint Watts, Danny Wise, Ben McEntee, Dan McEntee (S’port); Luke Crane, Matthew Payne, Ash Evans, Luke Weller, Ty Zantuck, Jake Weller, Garry Lee (Zillmere).

No real suprises but check out the tall forwards: Zantuck, Weller, Fulton, Round, Abey, White, Both McEntees....How they going to fit all those blokes in the side!

Gee that team looks strong will look forward to the games it plays.

*Crash*
22 May 2006, 08:49
PNG boy makes state U16 squad, first of many in the future? Article here (http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php?story=20060518091837794).

Toucan Soup
23 May 2006, 10:40
Comment in The Ear by Mark Oberhardt from the Courier Mail yesterday (the best section of the Courier Mail each week):

"Rugby Union isn't the only code worried about the strength of its second-tier competitions. It was highlighted when the standard of opposition was questioned in Jason Akemanis' AFLQ appearance. Don't be surprised if a cashed-up AFL looks at ways of introducing a second-tier national competition."

Now it could just be a flippant throw-away comment - but there is some merit in it especially from a Queensland point of view.

I can see many clubs in other substantial leagues (particularly VFL, SANFL, and WAFL) giving opposition to the concept. I can also understand how many people will criticise the suggestion, pointing to structure, participants, supporters, financial viability, etc as major problems (which of course they are).

But from a purely conceptual view of the local scene, consider this:

* there is an opportunity for Southport to advance its cause
* there is an opportunity for the Lions to administer a second-tier regional side of its own, separate from the AFLQ, possibly based on the northside, maybe Zillmere (before it is lost to rugby), maybe Maroochydore.
* ground development can be enhanced, particularly Carrara, but others too
* solves a problem of having a semi-major game played in developing areas every weekend
* gives choice to the market and promotes some local rivalries which can stimulate some forms of revenue
* put an end to the AFLQ as a "Lions franchise collective"

I know I will get shot down for the last comment, but I have felt that since mid-90s perhaps, that many AFLQ clubs are sustained on life-support to ensure there is a strong underlying competition supporting the Lions structure. Changes would necessitate a massive restructure of the AFLQ leagues, and possibly produce a return to a more "club-orientated" competition. It could revitalise the AFLQ and give them better opportunities too. Don't be too sensitive about this point - its only an opinion.

From a Queensland perspective, what are your thoughts of a national second-tier competition? Be great to hear some opinions.

fishmonger
23 May 2006, 12:31
Comment in The Ear by Mark Oberhardt from the Courier Mail yesterday (the best section of the Courier Mail each week):

"Rugby Union isn't the only code worried about the strength of its second-tier competitions. It was highlighted when the standard of opposition was questioned in Jason Akemanis' AFLQ appearance. Don't be surprised if a cashed-up AFL looks at ways of introducing a second-tier national competition."

Now it could just be a flippant throw-away comment - but there is some merit in it especially from a Queensland point of view.

I can see many clubs in other substantial leagues (particularly VFL, SANFL, and WAFL) giving opposition to the concept. I can also understand how many people will criticise the suggestion, pointing to structure, participants, supporters, financial viability, etc as major problems (which of course they are).

But from a purely conceptual view of the local scene, consider this:

* there is an opportunity for the Lions to administer a second-tier regional side of its own, separate from the AFLQ, possibly based on the northside, maybe Zillmere (before it is lost to rugby), maybe Maroochydore.
* solves a problem of having a semi-major game played in developing areas every weekend
* gives choice to the market and promotes some local rivalries which can stimulate some forms of revenue
* put an end to the AFLQ as a "Lions franchise collective"

I know I will get shot down for the last comment, but I have felt that since mid-90s perhaps, that many AFLQ clubs are sustained on life-support to ensure there is a strong underlying competition supporting the Lions structure. Changes would necessitate a massive restructure of the AFLQ leagues, and possibly produce a return to a more "club-orientated" competition. It could revitalise the AFLQ and give them better opportunities too. Don't be too sensitive about this point - its only an opinion.

From a Queensland perspective, what are your thoughts of a national second-tier competition? Be great to hear some opinions.

To be honest, I don't think that Akermanis stood out that much. I don't think you're giving due credit to a great player. Sav Rocca continually pulls 8 goal hauls in the VFL, but Dean Laidley keeps knocking him back, and the VFL is supposed to be the strongest state league !

I honestly think that a second tier national league is possible, but I wouldn't want to see the AFL run with the concept or ruin it.

Best bet is for the North and South Tasmania, Darwin and Southport to enter an expanded SANFL, where crowds, interest and standard outside of the AFL are aready quite high ....

Toucan Soup
23 May 2006, 12:45
Yeah, fair comment, fishmonger (however the opinion about Akermanis was Oberhardt's reporting, not me).

So your view would be to leave the VFL alone, and bring in the developing areas into the SANFL. I remember a few years ago there were rumours of both Southport and Darwin doing just that - but it never went anywhere (as far as I know). Perhaps at the end of each season, the two winners could play each other in a type of challenge game.

One issue would be the ability to sell or market a competition that was essentially still a South Australian league across the whole country.

I can also see a second-tier competition having limitations on the number of "senior" players listed, especially if the AFL (who after all have the money) control it. It would be primarily development, youth- or rookie-based. And that would raise another issue with regards to players such as Sav Rocca.

Its all intriguing stuff! Maybe has practical problems, but still something worth pursuing at the conceptual level only (for now).

MightyFighting
23 May 2006, 13:38
* put an end to the AFLQ as a "Lions franchise collective"What do you mean by "Lions franchise collective"?

Toucan Soup
23 May 2006, 14:39
Probably not the best description I could have used, MightyFighting - but in my opinion, the club culture of the local competition has deteriorated over time.

There seems to be a number of clubs that are kept viable to ensure a competitive league is maintained underpinning the Lions. If a second-tier competition was introduced, perhaps two South-East Queensland teams would be involved - a Lions-backed team (eg, Suncoast Lions) and a Gold Coast team (eg Southport).

This could mean that those two clubs would no longer compete in the local league. The immediate impact is to reduce the quality of the competition (which is precisely the impact a national second-tier comp would have anyway). But over time, I believe (ie, I am guessing) that as remaining clubs would not have to compete with the Lions or Southport (who are both far too strong, not purely in results, but also in management, resources, and administration), a more competitive league could develop as clubs worked within their resources, focussing their attention on their own facilities and areas.

Local clubs would no longer be competing against such elite behemoths, giving a chance to stabilise and build their individual strengths. If those clubs prove to be sustainable, then a league based on a culture of "Club V Club" will emerge again, rather than "Club V Corporate Entity".

Of course, its all based on a three sentence newspaper article - and everything I say could be utter crap - but it gives something to think about regarding the direction of football in SEQ. It could strengthen the "grassroots football" of the area, to really take advantage of football's growing stature - or if it was handled badly, it could be an absolute disaster. Or it could just be complete fantasy.

MightyFighting
23 May 2006, 15:00
I like your idea, TS. A league for NSW, ACT, Queensland and possibly the NT, with the Swans and Lions reserves in it.

Sydney reserves
Brisbane reserves
Southport
Campbelltown
Canberra
Darwin

Needs more teams. Even so, the travel costs would probably make the venture unworkable. Campbelltown's tenure in the ACTAFL had to end because of their travel costs. How could they afford to travel as far as Brisbane or Darwin?

Toucan Soup
23 May 2006, 16:57
The structure, funding, and participants would require a lot of thought - and there would be stacks of arguing before anything got started. Teams from Wagga and Cairns too perhaps?

But I could see many benefits for the teams involved AND the local leagues underneath. Rugby Union talks of it from time to time, but can't seem to overcome some Sydney opposition.

But the money has to come from somewhere. Strategic sponsorship would help cover costs - maybe not the Virgin Shield, perhaps the JetStar Cup (something like that).

From a selfish Queenslander's perspective, I think it could provide advantages for our Leagues.

MightyFighting
23 May 2006, 17:26
Wagga's a possibility. Several AFL players came from there. I think Townsville, Cairns, Newcastle, Wollongong are all possible places for expansion if the league succeeds. There's also no reason to think that Sydney, Canberra, Brisbane, Gold Coast should only have one or two teams each.

If the league was guaranteed to be a Northern Australian Football League, then it might avoid any serious VFL, SANFL, WAFL opposition to its founding.

Aussie rules could really use a regional league of this sort. It would mean that the game would not be relying on AFL exhibition matches for its expansion into regional areas.

But... costs are an issue, as well as promotion. Commercial TV would probably not cover it (except possibly in Wagga, Canberra and Darwin), and the AFL is not about to create its own competitor. They might be able to get some radio coverage in some areas, but that won't help very much. It would also be difficult to get the local media to report on it, especially in Sydney and Brisbane.

Also, what do they do with their reserves? Southport's seconds would probably have to play in the AFLQ, and so we're back to our original problem again.

morphous
24 May 2006, 11:42
Wagga's a possibility. Several AFL players came from there. I think Townsville, Cairns, Newcastle, Wollongong are all possible places for expansion if the league succeeds. There's also no reason to think that Sydney, Canberra, Brisbane, Gold Coast should only have one or two teams each.

If the league was guaranteed to be a Northern Australian Football League, then it might avoid any serious VFL, SANFL, WAFL opposition to its founding.

Aussie rules could really use a regional league of this sort. It would mean that the game would not be relying on AFL exhibition matches for its expansion into regional areas.

But... costs are an issue, as well as promotion. Commercial TV would probably not cover it (except possibly in Wagga, Canberra and Darwin), and the AFL is not about to create its own competitor. They might be able to get some radio coverage in some areas, but that won't help very much. It would also be difficult to get the local media to report on it, especially in Sydney and Brisbane.

Also, what do they do with their reserves? Southport's seconds would probably have to play in the AFLQ, and so we're back to our original problem again.

I doubt any side from Darwin and the NT in genereal could play home games in Darwin as it is currently their wet season, that is why their league runs over the summer months.

fishmonger
25 May 2006, 14:01
One issue would be the ability to sell or market a competition that was essentially still a South Australian league across the whole country.

Why not, isn't that what Allen Aylett did with a certain Victorian league starting in 1982 when South moved to Sydney....

all it takes is a SANFL CEO with a bit of vision.

OldMelburnian28
25 May 2006, 23:33
Watched Redland Bombers not long ago and feel they are really on the rebound, watch carefully as you may see a surprise finals contender.

Doug_Hondo
25 May 2006, 23:34
Watched Redland Bombers not long ago and feel they are really on the rebound, watch carefully as you may see a surprise finals contender.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA...theyll be lucky to get within 100 points of any team.

stmookeyj
26 May 2006, 03:43
I doubt any side from Darwin and the NT in genereal could play home games in Darwin as it is currently their wet season, that is why their league runs over the summer months.

Wrong way around. It's currently the DRY Season. They run the NTFL in the WET Season which is our summer. Obviously never been to the Territory I bet.

morphous
26 May 2006, 08:39
Wrong way around. It's currently the DRY Season. They run the NTFL in the WET Season which is our summer. Obviously never been to the Territory I bet.

Nope I never had but would love to go and have a look around one day.

I think we will improve but I doubt as much as getting into the finals.

Toucan Soup
26 May 2006, 11:01
Okay, time to demonstrate my lack of football knowledge again.

Here are the AFLQ Div 2 winners for Round 5:

* Burleigh will get the win against Mayne, and then be happy to leave Everton.
* Springwood could win by an embarrassing margin this week.
* The bye will help Aspley this week who will rebound after the break to get within twenty goals of PBC (who will notch up their first win of the season!).
* I reckon Coolangatta will have Maroochydore covered.
* Not real confident, but I will tip Noosa over Surfers Paradise (at least, its not a night game)
* Expect Sherwood to win over Grange - but maybe not by as much as everyone might think.

And obviously, we get an indication of the standard of the North and South divisions this week - that will probably be the most interesting thing to come out of the round. Could be a few comments posted come Monday!

Not sure which game is the Match Of The Round - I'll check back later to see which one I have to tip the margin on.

OldMelburnian28
26 May 2006, 11:22
I hear springwood recruited some quality footballers over the summer, and news on them?

johno_07
26 May 2006, 11:48

yeah.....and Aspley will win the Div 2 premiership!
Get real!

augie
26 May 2006, 12:03
Not sure which game is the match of the round so I will give tips and margins for all.

Burleigh by 34
Springwood by 46
Palm Beach by 78
Cooly by 10 - my vote for match of the round
Noosa by 26
Magpies by 13

For the Northern teams this is where things start to become a bit clearer. From my picks Noosa is the only Northern team likely to win. I would be interested to see how Sandgate go against Springwood. We all know how well the Pumas are travelling, but Sandgate look a real team of the future.

Can't wait to see the results of this round.

toddy
26 May 2006, 17:36
sorry everyone i have nominated the surfers vs noosa game as the margin tip....sometimes i might not choose the closest game but will try to get all teams in one at some stage.

toddy
26 May 2006, 17:40
MY TIPS:

Surfers- 13 points
Palmy
Western Magpies
Springwood
Burleigh
Coolangatta

Rayza
26 May 2006, 17:55
Berleigh
Springwood
Coolangatta
Sherwood
Noosa 32 points
Palm beach

Doug_Hondo
26 May 2006, 18:33
Burleigh
Pumas (with quite a few missing will be closer then alot of people think)
Coolangatta
PBC
Sherwood
Surfers by 8 points.

Toucan Soup
27 May 2006, 09:27
Right, Noosa by 18 points then.

Looks like only one northside team capable of winning according to the "experts". And I don't mean Sandgate, Doug. The results this weekend will be interesting stuff.

Good luck everyone - no injuries, no Robert Murphy's (poor bugger!).

Doug_Hondo
27 May 2006, 11:24
Considering I play for springwood there is no way i would be saying Sandgate will win...

Lenny29
27 May 2006, 18:37
Pumas (with quite a few missing will be closer then alot of people think)
Or not.

Another 100 point win to the Pumas.

Doug_Hondo
27 May 2006, 21:30
It was closer than i thought...i expected Springwood to win by 200!

Get on the Puma Train!

toddy
27 May 2006, 23:05
magpies get over grange by a goal the only game im unsure of is burleigh vs mayne

Chasing the Dream
28 May 2006, 10:22
Cooly's win over Maroochydore by 7 points was a very ordinary affair.

James Cook seemed to be injured in the second quarter when he hit the ground hard in the goal square and took quite a while to get up. He did return toi the field during the last quarter when Maroochy hit the lead to steady Cooly for their 7 point win.

The Gold Coast teams are not as strong as pervious years. Burleigh's loss to Mayne was an upset and Surfers were Surfers again and got smashed by Noosa. Palmy have gone from back to back grand finals to notching their first win of the season in round 5 over the hapless Aspley.

Chasing the Dream
28 May 2006, 10:30
In Div 1 news, it was a dissapointing effort by Broadbeach over Zillmere. Brfoady not kicking a goal in the first half.

In bad news for Zillmere, Ty Zantuck was reported and then gave an almighty serve to the umpire allegedly. Must be something in the water at Zillmere.

morphous
28 May 2006, 10:47
In Div 1 news, it was a dissapointing effort by Broadbeach over Zillmere. Brfoady not kicking a goal in the first half.

In bad news for Zillmere, Ty Zantuck was reported and then gave an almighty serve to the umpire allegedly. Must be something in the water at Zillmere.

In other bad div 1 news Redland Bomber Josh Beatie is in a induced coma after being king hit in the game vs Mt Gravatt. Fingers crossed for the kid.

morphous
28 May 2006, 19:43
Good news.

Josh is out of the coma, was feard to have spinal damage but hes in the all clear as far as that goes, still in intensicve care.

Chasing the Dream
28 May 2006, 20:24
Good news.

Josh is out of the coma, was feard to have spinal damage but hes in the all clear as far as that goes, still in intensicve care.

That is seriously bad news. Hope he makes a full recovery, and also hope that whoever did that gets what is due.:mad:

toddy
29 May 2006, 17:00
Congradulations to Rayza for getting the bonus point which takes him to equal leader. It is official i am last!!! Need to pick up my game this week.

TIPPING LEADERBOARD

Doug Hondo - 4/6.....24
Rayza - 5/6 + BP......24
Toucan Soup - 5/6...23
Augie - 5/6..............22
Toddy - 4/6.............21

toddy
29 May 2006, 17:02
Early nomination of margin tip of the week, it will be Mayne vs Cooly at Everton on sunday.

morphous
29 May 2006, 18:38
That is seriously bad news. Hope he makes a full recovery, and also hope that whoever did that gets what is due.:mad:

He is due to be released out of hospital today. :)

OldMelburnian28
31 May 2006, 13:04
Anyone tipping my boys from redland this week???

had a really good traning session last night and have promoted some young blokes into the seniors. feel as though they are ready to turn it all round with this induction of youth.

morphous
31 May 2006, 13:17
Anyone tipping my boys from redland this week???

had a really good traning session last night and have promoted some young blokes into the seniors. feel as though they are ready to turn it all round with this induction of youth.

I would love to tip them but we are playing Southport this weekend away and we have never beaten them but with whats happened in the last week who knows. fingers crossed.

morphous
31 May 2006, 13:19

From the aflq site.

Zantuck gets all-clear at AFLQ tribunal

Zillmere Eagles full forward Ty Zantuck is clear to represent Queensland in the 10 June clash with the ACT in Canberra after getting the all-clear from the AFLQ tribunal tonight.

In a marathon hearing, he was found not guilty on two separate striking charges and fined $100 for an abusive gesture towards an umpire.

So, he is clear to play for Zillmere this week against Labrador, and is eligible for the State side that will defend the Phil Harper Cup in the national capital.

Zantuck, the former Richmond and Essendon player who has been a boom addition to the Eagles ranks this year, was sent off in the second quarter of last Saturday's big win over Broadbeach at O'Callaghan Park.

He was booked on two charges of striking the Cats' Brendan Trew and Damien Lyon, and making a threatening gesture towards an umpire.

But in a hearing which lasted more than two hours, he beat the two striking charges and was found guilty on the offensive gesture.

OldMelburnian28
31 May 2006, 13:57
How has timmy hardens been goin this year???