View Full Version : Aflq News

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

morphous
31 May 2006, 14:13
How has timmy hardens been goin this year???

Timmy Harders? hes playing at Southport, only seen him play once and he did ok.

Eagle Eye
31 May 2006, 16:32
From the aflq site.

Zantuck gets all-clear at AFLQ tribunal

Zillmere Eagles full forward Ty Zantuck is clear to represent Queensland in the 10 June clash with the ACT in Canberra after getting the all-clear from the AFLQ tribunal tonight.

In a marathon hearing, he was found not guilty on two separate striking charges and fined $100 for an abusive gesture towards an umpire.

So, he is clear to play for Zillmere this week against Labrador, and is eligible for the State side that will defend the Phil Harper Cup in the national capital.

Zantuck, the former Richmond and Essendon player who has been a boom addition to the Eagles ranks this year, was sent off in the second quarter of last Saturday's big win over Broadbeach at O'Callaghan Park.

He was booked on two charges of striking the Cats' Brendan Trew and Damien Lyon, and making a threatening gesture towards an umpire.

But in a hearing which lasted more than two hours, he beat the two striking charges and was found guilty on the offensive gesture.

One of my spies tell me that this whole report was one of the greatest jokes of modern times. Apparently, Lyon was "belting" Zantuck throughout the first qtr with Zantuck getting no protection from the umpires.

When Zantuck finally reacted in the 2nd qtr, then the two "Cats" got into him. The word is that Zantuck was very unlucky to be the one reported.

morphous
31 May 2006, 16:49
One of my spies tell me that this whole report was one of the greatest jokes of modern times. Apparently, Lyon was "belting" Zantuck throughout the first qtr with Zantuck getting no protection from the umpires.

When Zantuck finally reacted in the 2nd qtr, then the two "Cats" got into him. The word is that Zantuck was very unlucky to be the one reported.

That wouldn't suprise me.

Eagle Eye
31 May 2006, 17:22
He is due to be released out of hospital today. :)

It's interesting to note the the big news on the AFL Qld website is all about Zantuck being reported and the result of that report.

There is no comment about or suggestion of any investigation into the incident involving the Redland player. If it was a "king-hit" as suggested on another post, then I would hope that something is happening to either punish the guilty party or clear the situation as not a "king-hit".

morphous
31 May 2006, 17:48
It's interesting to note the the big news on the AFL Qld website is all about Zantuck being reported and the result of that report.

There is no comment about or suggestion of any investigation into the incident involving the Redland player. If it was a "king-hit" as suggested on another post, then I would hope that something is happening to either punish the guilty party or clear the situation as not a "king-hit".

It was a king-hit, I was at the game and there are witness'. I believe the AFLQ are conducting an investigation into what happened and probably want to make sure they have all their facts straight before they take any action.

Toucan Soup
2 Jun 2006, 13:12
Here we go, Round 6 in the AFLQ Div 2:

* Palm Beach will have nothing to show for their petrol bills this week, Noosa to win
* Something makes we want to tip Maroochydore this week, but I stepped on it and killed it, Sherwood to win
* Sandgate to take the points over Surfers
* Springwood V Aspley? Strewth, is that a serious question? Just in case it is, Springwood.
* Its a big field Burleigh. Probably dead, hard, and dry. Grange aren't going to like it this week. Burleigh to win.
* I notice that Mayne V Coolangatta has been moved to Coorparoo. Does that mean that Everton has been condemned again? Does anyone know? With this drought continuing, how many more grounds are on the verge of being shut down? Oh yeah, a tip - Coolangatta by 24 points.

Good luck everyone.

augie
2 Jun 2006, 15:01
Very interesting round this one.

I'm with the Toucan man on Maroochy. Something is making me want to tip them, and I'm not going to squash it. The Roos to win.

Sandgate to post an important win against Surfers.

I would have liked the Pumas v Hornets game as the margin tip this week. 120, 150, 200, does anybody want to raise me? Pumas in a canter.

Grange to get over Burleigh in a tight one.

Noosa will be too good for Palmy. They look like they might be mounting something this year.

And in the margin match I will go for Mayne to win by 17 points.

toddy
2 Jun 2006, 17:36
ok lets get off the bottom now!!!

Magpies
Surfers
Springwood
Noosa
Burleigh
Coolangatta by 35 points

Rayza
2 Jun 2006, 17:41
Noosa v Palm Beach Currumbin: Nossa Easy

Maroochy Northshore v Western Magpies: The Ross

Sandgate v Surfers Paradise: The Dees Just

Springwood v Aspley: Sprinwood By 20 goals

Burleigh v Wilston Grange: Burleigh At Home

Mayne v Coolangatta: The Blues By 40 points

Doug_Hondo
3 Jun 2006, 12:14
Noosa v Palm Beach Currumbin: Noosa

Maroochy Northshore v Western Magpies: Magpies...maroochydoore are overrated

Sandgate v Surfers Paradise: Demons are :D:D:D:D, sandgate are a bunch of goers- Seahawks

Springwood v Aspley: HAHAHA.....oh Aspley of course (with a 30 goal head start.) nah Pumas to win with players returning.

Burleigh v Wilston Grange: Burleigh

Mayne v Coolangatta: Mayne by 25 points.

bloods05
4 Jun 2006, 11:50
Noosa v Palm Beach Currumbin: Noosa

Maroochy Northshore v Western Magpies: Magpies...maroochydoore are overrated

Sandgate v Surfers Paradise: Demons are :D:D:D:D, sandgate are a bunch of goers- Seahawks

Springwood v Aspley: HAHAHA.....oh Aspley of course (with a 30 goal head start.) nah Pumas to win with players returning.

Burleigh v Wilston Grange: Burleigh

Mayne v Coolangatta: Mayne by 25 points.
Can any-one tell me if Ben Avery is still playing up in your way and if so how has he been playing for the last few years:cool:

Kingy-dons
4 Jun 2006, 18:21
The sandgate boys are happy.......

toddy
4 Jun 2006, 19:03
Well TS what a round 6 from 6 and the Bonus Point, with that he takes the outright lead and more importantly i am no longer on the bottom!!

TIPPING LEADERBOARD

Toucan Soup - 6/6 + BP...30
Doug Hondo - 5/6............29
Rayza - 4/6....................28
Toddy - 5/6...................26
Augie - 3/6....................25

Kingy-dons
4 Jun 2006, 19:20
Maynes ground is too hard and dry. They have to see some water management people or something. Going to cost them a bit of money to get it up and going again i think....

Doug_Hondo
5 Jun 2006, 14:08
Can any-one tell me if Ben Avery is still playing up in your way and if so how has he been playing for the last few years:cool:

Playing for Wilston Grange this year after having last year off...

Kingy-dons
5 Jun 2006, 20:03
Playing for Wilston Grange this year after having last year off...

After he dogged sandgate.

Doug_Hondo
5 Jun 2006, 20:15
Who wouldnt dog that bunch of grubby, half witts....

stmookeyj
11 Jun 2006, 11:27
REP GAME

QLD 10.10.70
ACT 5.11.41

GOALS: Zantuck, Fulton 3, Weller, Payne, Mugavin, Vearing
BEST: Payne (Zane Taylor Medallist), Crane, Stinear, White, Tarrant, Wise, Sylvester

DIV 1 RESULT

REDLAND 13.12.90
SUNCOAST LIONS 12.9.81

morphous
11 Jun 2006, 12:28
REP GAME

QLD 10.10.70
ACT 5.11.41

GOALS: Zantuck, Fulton 3, Weller, Payne, Mugavin, Vearing
BEST: Payne (Zane Taylor Medallist), Crane, Stinear, White, Tarrant, Wise, Sylvester

DIV 1 RESULT

REDLAND 13.12.90
SUNCOAST LIONS 12.9.81

And the under 21's
QLD Under 21’s 10.11 71
VAFA Under 19’s 6.4 40

QLD – Goals: C Constable 3, S Brown 2, A Mueller 2, J Burge, C Lambart, A Browning 1
Best: C Constable, M Spencer, A Scott, A Browning, J Burge

and finally GO THE BOMBERS!

Doug_Hondo
12 Jun 2006, 12:18
Let's not forget the Div.2 Rep side:

State League Div 2 5.2 11.6 16.10 17.14 (116)
AFL Cairns 2.4 2.4 6.5 9.8 (62)
Division 2 – Goals; T Moncur 6, A Morrison 3, J Butt 2, T Duku 2, M Lynch, L Scott, M Hendry, P Hay 1
Best: M Lynch, L Matthews, T Power, S Easdown, A Morrison
Cairns – Goals: M Walsh 5, J Coatsworth 2, K Rundle, M Shaw 1
Best: D Ipaviz, J Fewkes, A Willis, J Hyde, M Walsh

Good to see the Springwood boys getting a kick...

morphous
12 Jun 2006, 13:27
Let's not forget the Div.2 Rep side:

State League Div 2 5.2 11.6 16.10 17.14 (116)
AFL Cairns 2.4 2.4 6.5 9.8 (62)
Division 2 – Goals; T Moncur 6, A Morrison 3, J Butt 2, T Duku 2, M Lynch, L Scott, M Hendry, P Hay 1
Best: M Lynch, L Matthews, T Power, S Easdown, A Morrison
Cairns – Goals: M Walsh 5, J Coatsworth 2, K Rundle, M Shaw 1
Best: D Ipaviz, J Fewkes, A Willis, J Hyde, M Walsh

Good to see the Springwood boys getting a kick...

All round great weekend for SEQ footy.

Pearce off Jack
13 Jun 2006, 10:59
Can any body confirm or deny that Chris Hemley will play the rest of the season for Redlands?If so that would be a great addition to their team if he can get up and firing.He is a thumping kick and has a great set of hands!

Doug_Hondo
13 Jun 2006, 11:27
Wait Morphous will just have to go ask his brother....

morphous
13 Jun 2006, 11:37
Wait Morphous will just have to go ask his brother....

I cant, hes at school :(

But no Chris is not likely to play again this year, his knee is playing up again.

Doug_Hondo
13 Jun 2006, 11:40
Nice try champion...:thumbsd: Hammer will play mate....

morphous
13 Jun 2006, 11:47
Nice try champion...:thumbsd:

Dont believe me if you dont want to but he is at school.

morphous
13 Jun 2006, 11:49

I hope so.

Pearce off Jack
13 Jun 2006, 11:59
So is that a yes or a no?

morphous
13 Jun 2006, 12:20
So is that a yes or a no?

From what I was told on Saturday afternoon no but maybe Doug has heard something since.

augie
16 Jun 2006, 10:01
Good to have the footy back after a week off.

Again I'm not sure what the margin game is but I suggest Noosa v Magpies would be a good choice.

Burleigh to account for Aspley by 64

Noosa in an upset of sorts over the Magpies by 22

Grange to account for the disappointing PBC by 29

No surprises for the Pumas - will get home by 43

Cooly over Sandgate by 17

Maroochy to take care of Surfers by 31

Toucan Soup
16 Jun 2006, 16:22
Let's get AFLQ News back to the top of the Regional Leagues section again, at least for a moment.

* Burleigh will keep Aspley's year of misery uninterrupted - Burleigh by 48.
* On the smaller ground at Sherwood, the Magpies will win by 10 points - and I am also tipping a report or two.
* Wilston Grange will roll Palm Beach by 40.
* Springwood over the Mayne nomads by 61 (gotta love a prime number).
* Coolangatta will surprise everyone with a 56 point win over Sandgate.
* And a 25 point win to Maroochydore over Surfers.

Or, I might be completely wrong.

toddy
16 Jun 2006, 17:17
Sorry guys noosa vs magpies is the margin game.

Magpies over Noosa by 15
Burleigh over Aspley
Wilston over Palmy
Springwood to smash Mayne
Cooly over Sandgate
and Maroochy over Surfers

Rayza
16 Jun 2006, 18:01
Noosa 15 points
Burleigh
Wilston
Springwood
Cooly
Maroochy

Doug_Hondo
16 Jun 2006, 20:02
Magpies to beat Noosa by 25 points
Burleigh to beat aspley
Grange to get Palmy...Just
Pumas again....love it
Cooly to pummel sandgate
Maroochy at home to hammer sloppy surfers

toddy
17 Jun 2006, 02:18
seems not much will change this week everyone has gone for grange, springwood, burleigh, cooly and maroochy just magpies v noosa the differences.

Doug_Hondo
17 Jun 2006, 19:44
Let's get AFLQ News back to the top of the Regional Leagues section again, at least for a moment.

* Burleigh will keep Aspley's year of misery uninterrupted - Burleigh by 48.
* On the smaller ground at Sherwood, the Magpies will win by 10 points - and I am also tipping a report or two.
* Wilston Grange will roll Palm Beach by 40.
* Springwood over the Mayne nomads by 61 (gotta love a prime number).
* Coolangatta will surprise everyone with a 56 point win over Sandgate.
* And a 25 point win to Maroochydore over Surfers.

Or, I might be completely wrong.

Pumas by 61 hahaha double it champ....loving it...

toddy
18 Jun 2006, 02:34
Pumas by 61 hahaha double it champ....loving it...

i think he meant 61 goals

toddy
18 Jun 2006, 02:34
Toucan Soup stole my Bonus Point he picked 10 points i went 15 and it turned out to be 12!!!

toddy
18 Jun 2006, 02:36
TIPPING LEADERBOARD

Toucan Soup - 6/6 + BP...37
Doug Hondo - 6/6............35
Rayza - 5/6....................33
Toddy - 6/6....................32
Augie - 5/6.....................30

augie
23 Jun 2006, 15:54
Only four games for the weekend with the Gold Coast rain problems, so a quality tipster like me should be looking at maybe 2 points.

Magpies by 55
Pumas by 78
Noosa by 45
Grange by 25

toddy
23 Jun 2006, 17:49
Noosa vs Cooly is the margin game!!

Noosa by 34
Magpies
Springwood
Grange

Rayza
23 Jun 2006, 17:51
Coolangatta by 3 goals

Western Magpies by 100 points

Wilston Grange by 5 Goals

Springwood by 6 Goals

Rayza
23 Jun 2006, 17:53
Test for noosa this week they have only played 1 good side so far and where beat although cooly arnt up the top they have played every one above them should be a good game

Doug_Hondo
23 Jun 2006, 17:56
Noosa by 41
Magpies by 52
Grange by 21
Springwood by 70

Toucan Soup
24 Jun 2006, 12:33
Real rush this week.

Noosa by 3 points.
Magpies
Grange
Springwood

toddy
26 Jun 2006, 16:52
TIPPING LEADERBOARD:

Toucan Soup - 4/4...........41
Doug Hondo - 4/4.............39
Toddy - 4/4 + BP..............37
Rayza - 3/4.....................36
Augie - 4/4......................34

augie
30 Jun 2006, 12:26
Round 9 tips

Magpies by 44
Sandgate by 12
Grange by 15
Surfers by 40
Noosa by 15
Burleigh by 16

Gone for a few upsets to try to fall further back in last place.

toddy
30 Jun 2006, 17:34
noosa vs springwood is the obvious choice for Margin tip.

MY SELECTIONS:

Magpies
Springwood by 15
Surfers
Cooly
Palmy
Burleigh

Rayza
30 Jun 2006, 18:18
Springwood 40
Maroochy Northshore
Surfers Paradise
Coolangatta
Sandgate
Western Magpies

Toucan Soup
1 Jul 2006, 09:14
Here we go:

* Sherwood over Mayne by 28 points
* Sandgate over PBC by 28 points
* Wilston Grange over Coolangatta by 28 points
* Surfers over Aspley by 28 points
* Maroochydore over Burleigh by 28 points
* And Springwood over Noosa by a surprising 28 points.

toddy
4 Jul 2006, 17:33
Gave DH 1/6 as that was the home teams (what a terrible round for home ground advantage).

TIPPING LEADERBOARD:

Toucan Soup - 4/6...........45
Toddy - 5/6 + BP..............43
Doug Hondo - 1/6.............40
Rayza - 4/6.....................40
Augie - 4/6......................38

morphous
4 Jul 2006, 20:59
Gave DH 1/6 as that was the home teams (what a terrible round for home ground advantage).

TIPPING LEADERBOARD:

Doug Hondo - 1/6.............40

I thought normally you get the away teams if you don't put your tips in?

Doug_Hondo
4 Jul 2006, 21:40
yeah bloody oath away teams should be given ya cheat...even though i thought i did submit my tips my computer must of stuffed up i got 5/6 from what i can remember but i wouldnt of got the BP...so 5/6 for the away teams seems fair neway.

toddy
4 Jul 2006, 23:59
fair enough ill make the adjustment btw when will those 2 games from last week be played?

toddy
5 Jul 2006, 00:00
Well picked up morphous!!

TIPPING LEADERBOARD:

Doug Hondo - 5/6.............44

morphous
5 Jul 2006, 09:34
TIPPING LEADERBOARD:

Doug Hondo - 5/6.............45

Sorry to pick again toddy but you gave dh an extra point there, in your previous ladder he got 1 tip and was on 40 so for 5 he should be on 44.

Don't want people to think were friends now dh :P

Doug_Hondo
5 Jul 2006, 19:06
I dont associate with people from redlands :D

morphous
5 Jul 2006, 22:10
I dont associate with people from redlands :D

awwwwwwwwwww :P

augie
6 Jul 2006, 14:01
DH or Lenny29 - how was the game against Noosa. I've seen you blokes play but haven't had a look at the Tigers. A close finish, so must have been a bit of a scare. Do you think they are right in the mix this year, or was it more a matter of playing on that terrible ground of theirs bringing you guys back to them? I really rated them last year, but thought that the loss of McLean would really hurt. It seems they are going along quite nicely.

I think it might be down to 3 chances at the moment - Springwood, Western Magpies and Noosa. Can anyone see any other team gathering a bit of momentum over the rest of the season?

Doug_Hondo
6 Jul 2006, 15:28
After being unceremoniously dropped I had a great view from the sideline of the seniors game. Noosa raced out of blocks kicked the first 5 or 6 before the Pumas awoke from their slumber and dominated for the next 2 quarters before surviving a late scare in the last (mind you it was a 34 minute quarter.) It was a great match and they are a very competitive team especially considering they were missing Luke Matthews on Saturday(BOG in the rep game.) They don't play grand finals in Noosa and I doubt they can perform at that same level away from home as the drive certainly takes it out of you, however if they can lookout. That young bloke Hicks goes alright, excellent kick and takes a good grab.

I agree Augie its out of the top 3 teams- Pumas, Noosa and Maggies, we haven't played Burleigh yet but i reckon we should be able to get over the top of them comfortably.

morphous
6 Jul 2006, 17:53
After being unceremoniously dropped I had a great view from the sideline of the seniors game. Noosa raced out of blocks kicked the first 5 or 6 before the Pumas awoke from their slumber and dominated for the next 2 quarters before surviving a late scare in the last (mind you it was a 34 minute quarter.) It was a great match and they are a very competitive team especially considering they were missing Luke Matthews on Saturday(BOG in the rep game.) They don't play grand finals in Noosa and I doubt they can perform at that same level away from home as the drive certainly takes it out of you, however if they can lookout. That young bloke Hicks goes alright, excellent kick and takes a good grab.

I agree Augie its out of the top 3 teams- Pumas, Noosa and Maggies, we haven't played Burleigh yet but i reckon we should be able to get over the top of them comfortably.

At least you guys (and probably the whole division) had better umpiring then we did in our game.

toddy
6 Jul 2006, 20:05
I wouldnt write off burleigh but certainly with cooly and grange's poor start to the season it would appear to be down to three. Mind you Palmy came from 7th to be a finalist, beating pumas and maggies at home. I must say that i have enjoyed the fact that cooly and grange arent doing as well as they expected because they talked themselves up big time.... while magpies, springwood and noosa just went about their business.

Doug_Hondo
7 Jul 2006, 12:10
I wouldnt write off burleigh but certainly with cooly and grange's poor start to the season it would appear to be down to three. Mind you Palmy came from 7th to be a finalist, beating pumas and maggies at home. I must say that i have enjoyed the fact that cooly and grange arent doing as well as they expected because they talked themselves up big time.... while magpies, springwood and noosa just went about their business.

They came from 5th last year.

augie
7 Jul 2006, 12:58
They came from 5th last year.

Gee DH I thought you might also correct Toddy re Springwood quitely going about their business, given your tooting of the Puma train's horn.

Have they rushed you back into the 1s for the game this week? I would hope that you spent the week letting everyone at the club know that Noosa wouldn't have got near you had you been out there.

I reckon this week presents the biggest challenge so far re tips. There are probably only two, maybe three, games that are givens - the rest should be very interesting. I get the impression that everyone waits for my tips and whenever there is a game that might be close to a 50/50 just does the opposite to what I do. I'd have to say that is not a bad way to go about it - terrible tipster me.

But here goes anyway.

Grange to upset the Pumas by 13 points (using the George Costanza theory of doing the exact opposite of what you think)
Mayne to get over Surfers by 22
Burleigh over Noosa by 17 - the long drive after the tough game last week might be too much for the Tigers
PBC v Maroochy I have no idea - maybe PBC by 23
The other two should be fairly straight forward (and I'm not prepared to extend the Costanza theory this far)- Cooly to win by 56 and the Magpies by 63.

Doug_Hondo
7 Jul 2006, 15:03
[QUOTE=augie]Gee DH I thought you might also correct Toddy re Springwood quitely going about their business, given your tooting of the Puma train's horn.

Have they rushed you back into the 1s for the game this week? I would hope that you spent the week letting everyone at the club know that Noosa wouldn't have got near you had you been out there.
QUOTE]

The Puma train steams on I dont need to point it out everyone can see the dominance of our performances.

Despite my talkings and performances I have again been overlooked despite a few injuries from the Nossa game, seem to be a bit out of flavour at the lair.

Tips:
Pumas over Grange by 42
Surfers over Mayne by 57
Noosa over Burleigh by 6
Palm Beach over Maroochydoore by 10
Coolie to beat aspley by 60
Magpies over Sandate by 81

Eagle Eye
7 Jul 2006, 15:55
Can we please change the name of this thread to:

The "Pineapple Hotel Cup Crap" thread - (no criticism of the Pineapple Hotel intended)

Who cares about Burleigh, Coolly or Grange or for that matter Aspley!

So what if Springwood wins the flag - if Buswell and Lynn can still get a kick the competition all but shot!

Get into the the real AFLQ - Morningside, Eagles, Southport, etc.

What about the important stuff:

How is Zantuck's fitness?

Has Lillico "sniped" another 17 y.o. recently?

How will Southport go without B. McEntee?

Is it true that David Round could beat "Boonie's" record and still fly the plane?

The real issues!

augie
7 Jul 2006, 16:13
Can we please change the name of this thread to:

The "Pineapple Hotel Cup Crap" thread - (no criticism of the Pineapple Hotel intended)

Who cares about Burleigh, Coolly or Grange or for that matter Aspley!

So what if Springwood wins the flag - if Buswell and Lynn can still get a kick the competition all but shot!

Get into the the real AFLQ - Morningside, Eagles, Southport, etc.

What about the important stuff:

How is Zantuck's fitness?

Has Lillico "sniped" another 17 y.o. recently?

How will Southport go without B. McEntee?

Is it true that David Round could beat "Boonie's" record and still fly the plane?

The real issues!

Would love to chat about those things Eagle Eye but it would appear that the Balfour Cup followers aren't interested. But hey, feel free every couple of months to throw out a line and hope someone bites. Maybe you could start running internet for imbeciles classes with the Morningside, Southport, Zillmere etc people. Once all of you get the knack of typing with the 6 fingers that you have on each hand caused by being the product of relationships between family members you could start up your own thread.

Try to read slowly and sound out the words that have more than 5 letters.

morphous
7 Jul 2006, 16:28
Once all of you get the knack of typing with the 6 fingers that you have on each hand caused by being the product of relationships between family members you could start up your own thread.

Try to read slowly and sound out the words that have more than 5 letters.

Careful there Augie you do support collingwood after all :P

In regards to Round and Boonies record eagle eye lets remember Round is a good 4 times the size of Boonie and I'll let you know on Monday if Lillico snipes anyone.

augie
7 Jul 2006, 17:43
[quote=morphous]Careful there Augie you do support collingwood after all :P

Everytime I try to sledge someone that always comes back to bite me.

morphous
7 Jul 2006, 17:54
[quote=morphous]Careful there Augie you do support collingwood after all :P

Everytime I try to sledge someone that always comes back to bite me.

Just say your parents are pie supports and they brainwashed you :P

morphous
7 Jul 2006, 18:00
From the Redland Bombers website.

WIRTH Plays 100th Game for Redland

DEREK Wirth will play his 100th State League match for the Redland Bombers this Sunday against Morningside at the Redland Football Club.

The long-serving tall begun his career with Springwood AFC before moving to MtGravatt for three seasons. Wirth was then recruited to the Brisbane Bears in 1996 playing senior AFL football in 1998. Wirth played a season with Geelong in 1999 before settling back in Queensland with the Redland Football Club in 2000.

Making the move with former Vulture team-mates in Dion Scott, Brad Jones, Shane Dupay, Jamie Dobbs, Shaun Ellis, Ben Harman and current teammate Travis Bell, Wirth came to the newly formed State League side in the Redland Bombers. ‘Deka’ has seen many changes at Redland since being among the best at centre half forward in the 2001 finals series.

Wirth explains “Our current group of players are young but very talented and will no doubt develop quickly with more senior experience. It is an honour to play 100 games with this club and I know we are heading in the right direction as a group under new coach Gary Odgers”

Wirth’s mobility as a key position and accuracy as a tap ruckman has seen the 27 year old become one of the leagues most consistent performers. As the big No.18 enjoys his sixth season with Redland he would no doubt be looking for improved success in years to come and to continue leaving his mark on state league football. Best Wishes Deka.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dereks has had probably his best year for us this year and has been great for our young players always there giving advice and encouragement. Even running 40 yards to pat a young kid on the back for a good 2nd effort tackle etc.

Good luck Big D.

toddy
7 Jul 2006, 21:28
margin tip of the week is: Burleigh vs Noosa

MY TIPS:

Springwood
Surfers
Burleigh by 19
Palmy
Cooly
Magpies

Toucan Soup
8 Jul 2006, 01:57
Its okay with me if you want to change the name of the thread.

Hell, I don't know this week - its the wrong time of night to do this, but here goes:

* Springwood over the Gorillas 6-3, 6-1, 6-7, 6-2
* Surfers Paradise over Mayne by 6 lengths
* PBC over Maroochydore by 4 wickets
* Coolangatta over Aspley 0-0, but 6-5 after penalty shoot-out
* Sherwood over Sandgate, King's Knight takes Rook, Checkmate (I don't even know if that's the correct terminology)
* And serious now (the bonus point is at stake), a huge boilover with Burliegh winning at home by 37 points, and consequently making a move on the Top Three.

Here's to "real" Queensland football - the AFLQ, QFL, QAFNL, QAFL, QSFL, SQAFA, BAFL, AFLSQ, GCAFL, SCAFL, DDAFL. The rest of you are just kidding yourselves!

No injuries anywhere this week. Good luck everyone!

stmookeyj
8 Jul 2006, 21:53
Here's to "real" Queensland football - the AFLQ, QFL, QAFNL, QAFL, QSFL, SQAFA, BAFL, AFLSQ, GCAFL, SCAFL, DDAFL. The rest of you are just kidding yourselves!

Well come up here and see why AFL CAP. have beaten Mt Isa, BWB and Mackay in the last 3 seasons....

RESULTS

DIV 2
Wilston Grange by 19 over Springwood
Surfers by 44 over Mayne
Noosa by 43 over Burleigh
Maroochy/Nthshore by 56 over PBC
Other games are played tomorrow

DIV 1
Broadbeach by 53 over Labrador
Southport by 50 over Lions
Other games are played tomorrow

Brutal
9 Jul 2006, 10:19
Anyone let us know how Craig "Funky" Miller is going at Redlands, he used to play at our club in the Diamond Valley Football League in Melbourne (Lower Plenty F.C), no one here`s much from him down here.

morphous
9 Jul 2006, 20:31
Anyone let us know how Craig "Funky" Miller is going at Redlands, he used to play at our club in the Diamond Valley Football League in Melbourne (Lower Plenty F.C), no one here`s much from him down here.

He's doing as well as can be expected with the service hes recieving.

And for Eagle Eye no sniping by Lillico today just a good solid game.

Here It Is
10 Jul 2006, 00:33
Is Scotty Easdown still going around at Morningside, and if so, how is he going?

And for those bagging this Div 2 comp - I'd have to say I didn't know it existed, but ALL football is important.

That's right, ALL football.

Just because you don't follow it, doesn't make it any less so for the 240-odd players that run out to play for the 12 clubs involved every week.
What would you say when people said the club you support or play for 'isn't important' or 'who cares'?

Stick with it fellas, it's great to see that there is a lot more footy being played in Queensland than just the AFLQ Division One that we hear (little) about down here in Sydney.

augie
10 Jul 2006, 14:39
A couple of interesting results on the weekend with the Pumas losing their first of the season and Noosa belting Burleigh. The Pumas just looked to me like they were missing a bit of their spark. I admit I have only seen them play twice this year, but there was definitley a lot more fire about them the first time I saw them than they had on Saturday. Given that they are a very good side I would suggest that the loss might not be too bad a thing for them. It could be that they set themselves for the game against Noosa, had a good win and let Grange sneak under the radar.

Did anyone catch Noosa v Burleigh? I don't think Noosa having a win was too much of a shock, but the margin certainly was.

So are Burleigh gone? And has Grange come into calculations? We could get an insight into both issues this weekend, with Grange travelling to the mudhole to face Noosa and Burleigh facing the huge task of travelling to face a Pumas outfit on the rebound.

Not much talk of reserves footy on this thread, but given one of our key posters tells us he has been dropped to the 2s for Springwood I can't let this pass. I saw the Pumas 2s for the second time this year and they are incredible for a reserves side. I have never seen a reserves team deliver the ball to their forwards the way the Pumas did on Saturday. I reckon on what I saw they would beat a few of the senior teams running around. So DH - were you one of those putting the ball lace out or where you up forward taking the easy marks and having the rest of the team make you look good?

toddy
10 Jul 2006, 18:13
Those who are unaware of the skill level in reserves football (in div2) are suprised by hitting of targets when watching the games. It has been something ive pondered whether some of the top reserve sides would fair against the likes of Aspley, Sandgate, Mayne and PBC. I think that the only thing about the reserve competition is that after the top 4-5 sides there is a drop in class. Having played against the Springwood reserves side of which would have changed since that time, they have a number of players who would be senior starters in most other sides.

Lenny29
10 Jul 2006, 23:40
Here It Is, Easy's now a Springwood player, has been the last couple of years. Gets his 70 touches a game :)

We've had a ridiculously strong twos team for probably four of the last five weeks, I'd reckon the top 8-10 in it could be interchangeable with the bottom 8-10 of the senior side and there would be no discernable dropoff in class. I'd dare say, augie, that the reason we looked so impressive hitting our forwards was that we didn't have retards that can't kick (ie me) running off half back! :)

Doug_Hondo
11 Jul 2006, 01:20
Not much talk of reserves footy on this thread, but given one of our key posters tells us he has been dropped to the 2s for Springwood I can't let this pass. I saw the Pumas 2s for the second time this year and they are incredible for a reserves side. I have never seen a reserves team deliver the ball to their forwards the way the Pumas did on Saturday. I reckon on what I saw they would beat a few of the senior teams running around. So DH - were you one of those putting the ball lace out or where you up forward taking the easy marks and having the rest of the team make you look good?

Well Augstar glad you made the effort to come watch the great man in action, I was minutes away from being recalled to the seniors with a Dave Bennet pulling out with injury only to be denyed as Lingy was rushed in...So I played my 2s game and as you said Augie the delivery from the half back line into the forwards (in particular from one bloke wearing a yellow sweat band) was nothing short spectacular (don't you agree monk?)...So with my 3rd consecutive appearence in the 'best' list on the website im sure to be knocking on the seniors door...

P.S- It did help that Lenny didnt play, i much prefer receiving the ball on the chest rather then having to pick up half volleys or skied kick outs with the opposition bearing down on me...

Lenny29
11 Jul 2006, 11:20
Harsh but fair.

augie
11 Jul 2006, 13:42
Gee you know things are changing in footy when people are wearing yellow sweatbands and various bright coloured boots.

And how the 2s pre-game uniform at Springwood has changed over the last few years. Flannelette shirts and mocassins turfed out for slacks and black shoes. Must drive the wives and girlfriends mad that you dress as well for a game of footy as you do for a wedding!

Lenny29
11 Jul 2006, 14:30
Tried buying a pair of comfortable black boots lately? Nigh on impossible!

morphous
11 Jul 2006, 17:40
Gee you know things are changing in footy when people are wearing yellow sweatbands and various bright coloured boots.

And how the 2s pre-game uniform at Springwood has changed over the last few years. Flannelette shirts and mocassins turfed out for slacks and black shoes. Must drive the wives and girlfriends mad that you dress as well for a game of footy as you do for a wedding!

Now now augie you're a Collingwood supporter remember, 3 piece suite to all Collingwood supporters is the flanney shirt, stubbie shorts with the builders crack exposed and the mocassins....

Doug_Hondo
11 Jul 2006, 20:35

One red, One white....works beautifully...as you witnessed.

fondest tozzy
12 Jul 2006, 21:21
can we stop this div 2 crap and get to the real stuff of top level balfours cup. redland would beat repside frm div 2 by 120+ points.

Lenny29
12 Jul 2006, 23:28
can we stop this div 2 crap and get to the real stuff of top level balfours cup. redland would beat repside frm div 2 by 120+ points.
Hahahahahahaha.

Doug_Hondo
13 Jul 2006, 11:35

Ur a joke champ redlands are a div 2 side at best...really if you want to talk about div 1 footy i am happy to, instead of rubbishing on and insulting others about talking about the div 2 comp bring up something relevant for us all to discuss...

morphous
13 Jul 2006, 11:36
I wonder what Eddie will say with Southport running around this weekend in the black and white stripes.

Full story (http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=109370)

http://www.aflq.com.au/_content/image/00073768-image.jpg

'Southport will wear Collingwood jumpers, Broadbeach are in Geelong’s heritage jumper, and the Suncoast Lions are in red and yellow of the Sunshine Coast.

Morningside are in white with a red V, Redland are in the old red, white and black Sharks jumpers, Mt.Gravatt in blue with a white sash, Zillmere in blue with a yellow sash, and Labrador in yellow with a black yoke.'

Doug_Hondo
13 Jul 2006, 11:39
Good to see Jaran is achieving his dream of becoming a male model!

morphous
13 Jul 2006, 12:10
Good to see Jaran is achieving his dream of becoming a male model!

I'm suprised the old jumper doesn't bring back bad memories for Springwood doug.

OldMelburnian28
13 Jul 2006, 12:55
Has anybody on here have the QLD list (to be cut down) that is going to take on us boys from VIC???

matchwinner
13 Jul 2006, 13:33
Just wondering how Burleigh are looking this year? Bloke playing with us in Victoria this year played with them last couple of seasons, and was just wondering if they're any chance for three in a row?

Toucan Soup
13 Jul 2006, 14:14
Burleigh has had a slow start - but they're not that far off the pace now. There's a few really dominant teams (Springwood, Sherwood, Noosa, maybe even Grange now) - but get to the finals, and the whole season can change quickly. Given their recent past, I wouldn't rule them out completely - but they are up against it this year.

Morphous, would have liked if Redlands went even further back than the premiership jersey, back to the original SQAFA gear. Always kinda looked very close to Morningside's gear from memory. Or what about Victoria Point? (Everyone in the BAFL in 98/99 would be a little nervous seeing a Redlands jersey though.)

Toucan Soup
13 Jul 2006, 14:27
At the risk of hurting the feelings of anyone who would rather only the eight clubs of the AFLQ Div 1 ever be discussed on this thread, I'm going to take things a division further down to the State Association to say:

Congratulations to University of Queensland who celebrate their milestone of 50 years of Senior Football this weekend. An excellent achievement in the "rise-and-fold" environment of SE Queensland football.

The game against Yeronga will be the 105th time the two clubs have met in Seniors since 1956. Its quite a history that is either ignored or lost in obscurity.

Well done to the Red Lions - hope you have a great night, but not too great a day!

morphous
13 Jul 2006, 14:33
Morphous, would have liked if Redlands went even further back than the premiership jersey, back to the original SQAFA gear. Always kinda looked very close to Morningside's gear from memory. Or what about Victoria Point? (Everyone in the BAFL in 98/99 would be a little nervous seeing a Redlands jersey though.)

We wore that jumper last year. In 98/99 Springwood were the only side to beat us, how times change.

Doug_Hondo
13 Jul 2006, 14:38
I'm suprised the old jumper doesn't bring back bad memories for Springwood doug.

Im suprised you havent found out who i am yet, considering your embarassing false accusations on sunday.

morphous
13 Jul 2006, 14:43
Im suprised you havent found out who i am yet, considering your embarassing false accusations on sunday.

I didn't find anything embarassing about it.

Doug_Hondo
13 Jul 2006, 14:45
Sure thing, certainly had me in stitches...